Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >
One Minnesota 2010 Legislative Policy Conference

One Minnesota 2012

January 25, 2012

McNamara Alumni Center, University of Minnesota
200 Oak St. SE, Minneapolis, 55455

Conference is closed to the public.

7:30 and 7:40 a.m.
Shuttle buses leave from front of State Office Building
Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd

Parking is also available in University Avenue Ramp (preferred) or Oak Street Ramp at the University of Minnesota. Bring your ramp ticket for validation.

8:00 a.m.
Continental breakfast

8:30 a.m.
Program overview and introduction of speakers
Morning sessions held in A.I. Johnson Room

Speaker Kurt Zellers, House of Representatives

8:35 - 9:45 a.m.
Budget, Jobs, and Taxes in Minnesota: 50 State perspective

Moderated by Speaker Kurt Zellers

Scott Pattison, Executive Director, National Association of State Budget Officials Show Biography
      PowerPoint Presentation: Scott Pattison presentation

Harley Duncan, Tax Managing Director, KPMG; Former Executive Director, Federation of Tax Administrators Show Biography
      PowerPoint Presentation: Harley Duncan presentation

Inez Wildwood, Chair, Governor’s Workforce Development Council Show Biography

9:45 - 10:15 a.m.
Accountability: Insisting on Value

Moderated by Minority Leader Tom Bakk

Peter Heegaard, Author, More Bang for Your Buck; Founder, Urban Adventure Show Biography
     Peter Heegaard talk Peter Heegaard ROI conclusions

Steve Rothschild, President, Invest in Outcomes Show Biography

10:15 - 10:30 a.m.

10:30 - 11:15 a.m.
From Chalkboard to Reality: Government Redesign in Minnesota

Moderated by Majority Leader Dave Senjem

Carolyn Parnell, State CIO, Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology Show Biography
      PowerPoint Presentation: Carolyn Parnell presentation

Tony Murphy, County Administrator, Beltrami County Show Biography
      PowerPoint Presentation: Tony Murphy presentation

11:15 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Growing Jobs: Minnesota Perspectives

Moderated by Minority Leader Tom Bakk

Teresa Spaeth, Executive Director, Agricultural Utilization Research Institute (AURI) Show Biography
      PowerPoint Presentation: Teresa Spaeth presentation

Kim Nelson, Senior Vice President of External Relations and President of the General Mills Foundation Show Biography

12:00 - 1:30 p.m.
Higher Education and Minnesota’s Economy

Welcome by Speaker Kurt Zellers
Moderated by Professor Larry Jacobs

Luncheon held in Memorial Hall.
Your table number is on your name badge.
After lunch, return to Johnson Room.

MaryAnn Baenninger, Chair, Minnesota Private College Council; President, College of St. Benedict Show Biography

Eric Kaler, President, University of Minnesota Show Biography

Steven Rosenstone, Chancellor, MNSCU Show Biography

1:45 - 2:30 p.m.
Conflict Resolution: A Starting Point for Reform

Moderated by Majority Leader Dave Senjem

David Landis, former Nebraska legislator; Director of Urban Development, City of Lincoln, Nebraska Show Biography
      PowerPoint Presentation: Catalyic Leader- David Landis

2:30 - 3:00 p.m.
Legislating Government Operations Reform

Moderated by Minority Leader Paul Thissen

David Wilson, Managing Director, State, Provincial & Local Government practice, Accenture Show Biography
     NGA Report - State Gov Redesign
     NGA Report - State Gov After Big Recession

3:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Legislator Work Groups: Developing Bill Ideas

Moderated by Speaker Kurt Zellers

Breakout sessions on:
  • Administrative Transformation - Maroon and Gold Room (Facilitators: Mark Howard & Matt Bailey)
  • Procurement Transformation - Minnesota Room (Facilitator: Bernie Donachie)
  • Human Services Transformation - Ski-U-Mah Room (Facilitator: Jerry Friedman)
  • Cross-Jurisdiction Collaboration - A.I. Johnson Room (Facilitator: Antonio Oftelie)
          PowerPoint Presentation: Cross-Jurisdiction Collaboration Break-Out Session

5:00 - 5:15 p.m.

House and Senate Leadership

5:15 - 6:45 p.m.
Reception and casual dinner
First bus leaves for Capitol, 5:30 p.m.
Second bus leaves for Capitol, 6:45 p.m

Many thanks to our sponsors:

Blandin Foundation The McKnight Foundation Medtronic Foundation The Minneapolis Foundation
Community Leadership Fund

Center for the Study of Politics and Governance
Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota

For questions about the conference contact Kate Cimino (Humphrey Institute), or 612-625-8330.