Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links >

Frequently Asked Questions About the Minnesota Legislature

How long are terms for Minnesota Representatives and Senators?

Senators are elected for a four-year term and representatives are elected for a two-year term. However, in election years ending in 0, such as 2010 or 2020, Senators serve for a two-year term in order to provide for the redistricting process done in conjunction with the United States census.

For more information on the members of the House and the Senate, see State Lawmakers: Minnesota State Government Series.