Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links >

Frequently Asked Questions About the Minnesota Legislature

How many members are in the Minnesota Legislature? How many are in the House of Representatives and how many are in the Senate?

The Minnesota Legislature has 67 senators and 134 representatives for a total of 201 members.

The State of Minnesota is divided into 67 legislative districts, with about 85,172 people in each district. Voters elect one senator from each of these districts. Each senate district is divided into two sections. Voters elect one House member, or representative, from each section, making a total of 134 representatives. These districts, which are made up of about 42,586 people each, are identified with an "A" or a "B."

Please see the Geographic Information Services pages for more information.