April 10, 2017 01:21 PM

238.28

238.29

Senate Language S0800-3

Health Licensing Boards

House Language UES0800-2

430.7 ARTICLE 11	430.7
430.8 HEALTH LICENSING BOARDS	430.8
430.9 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147.01, subdivision 7, is amended to read:	430.9
Subd. 7. Physician application fee and license fees. (a) The board may charge a the following nonrefundable application and license fees processed pursuant to sections 147.02, 147.03, 147.037, 147.0375, and 147.38:	430.11
430.13 (1) physician application fee of, \$200-;	430.13
430.14 (2) physician annual registration renewal fee, \$192;	430.14
430.15 (3) physician endorsement to other states, \$40;	430.15
430.16 (4) physician emeritus license, \$50;	430.16
430.17 (5) physician temporary licenses, \$60;	430.17
430.18 <u>(6) physician late fee, \$60;</u>	430.18
430.19 (7) duplicate license fee, \$20;	430.19
430.20 (8) certification letter fee, \$25;	430.20
430.21 (9) education or training program approval fee, \$100;	430.21
430.22 (10) report creation and generation fee, \$60;	430.22
430.23 (11) examination administration fee (half day), \$50;	430.23
430.24 (12) examination administration fee (full day), \$80; and	430.24
430.25 (13) fees developed by the Interstate Commission for determining physician qualification to register and participate in the interstate medical licensure compact, as established in rules authorized in and pursuant to section 147.38, not to exceed \$1,000.	430.26
431.1 (b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to 431.2 pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fee must be deposited 431.3 in an account in the state government special revenue fund.	431.2

ARTICLE 5
HEALTH OCCUPATIONS

431.4	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
431.5	Subdivision 1. United States or Canadian medical school graduates. The board shall
431.6	issue a license to practice medicine to a person not currently licensed in another state or
431.7	Canada and who meets the requirements in paragraphs (a) to (i).
431.8	(a) An applicant for a license shall file a written application on forms provided by the
431.9	board, showing to the board's satisfaction that the applicant is of good moral character and
431.10	satisfies the requirements of this section.
	•
431.11	(b) The applicant shall present evidence satisfactory to the board of being a graduate of
431.12	a medical or osteopathic medical school located in the United States, its territories or Canada
431.13	and approved by the board based upon its faculty, curriculum, facilities, accreditation by a
431.14	recognized national accrediting organization approved by the board, and other relevant data,
431.15	or is currently enrolled in the final year of study at the school.
431.16	(c) The applicant must have passed an examination as described in clause (1) or (2).
	., ., .,
431.17	(1) The applicant must have passed a comprehensive examination for initial licensure
431.18	
431.19	Medical Boards, the Medical Council of Canada, the National Board of Osteopathic
431.20	Examiners, or the appropriate state board that the board determines acceptable. The board
431.21	shall by rule determine what constitutes a passing score in the examination.
431.22	(2) The applicant taking the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE)
431.23	or Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examination (COMLEX-USA) must
431.24	
431.25	five years of passing step or level two, or before the end of residency training. The applicant
431.26	
431.27	
431.28	
431.29	
431.30	
431.31	all examinations are completed prior to the year 2000.
431.32	(d) The applicant shall present evidence satisfactory to the board of the completion of
431.33	one year of graduate, clinical medical training in a program accredited by a national
432.1	accrediting organization approved by the board or other graduate training approved in
432.2	advance by the board as meeting standards similar to those of a national accrediting
432.3	organization.

432.4	(e) The applicant may make arrangements with the executive director to appear in person
432.5	before the board or its designated representative to show that the applicant satisfies the
432.6	requirements of this section. The board may establish as internal operating procedures the
432.7	procedures or requirements for the applicant's personal presentation.
432.8	(f) The applicant shall pay a nonrefundable fee established by the board by rule. The
432.9	fee may not be refunded. Upon application or notice of license renewal, the board must
432.10	provide notice to the applicant and to the person whose license is scheduled to be issued or
432.11	renewed of any additional fees, surcharges, or other costs which the person is obligated to
432.12	
432.13	(1) state the dollar amount of the additional costs; and
432.13	(1) state the donar amount of the additional costs, and
122.11	
432.14	(2) clearly identify to the applicant the payment schedule of additional costs.
432.15	(g) The applicant must not be under license suspension or revocation by the licensing
432.16	
432.17	occurred.
432.18	(h) The applicant must not have engaged in conduct warranting disciplinary action
432.19	against a licensee, or have been subject to disciplinary action other than as specified in
432.20	paragraph (g). If the applicant does not satisfy the requirements stated in this paragraph,
432.21	the board may issue a license only on the applicant's showing that the public will be protected
432.22	
432.23	(i) If the examination in paragraph (c) was passed more than ten years ago, the applicant
432.24	
132.21	indiversity.
432.25	(1) pass the special purpose examination of the Federation of State Medical Boards with
432.26	
432.20	a score of 73 of better within three attempts, of
122.27	(2) 1
432.27	(2) have a current certification by a specialty board of the American Board of Medical
432.28	Specialties, of the American Osteopathic Association, the Royal College of Physicians and
432.29	Surgeons of Canada, or of the College of Family Physicians of Canada.
432.30	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
432.31	Subdivision 1. Endorsement; reciprocity. (a) The board may issue a license to practice
432.32	medicine to any person who satisfies the requirements in paragraphs (b) to (f)(e).
	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
433.1	(b) The applicant shall satisfy all the requirements established in section 147.02,
433.2	subdivision 1, paragraphs (a), (b), (d), (e), and (f).

PAGE R3-A11

433.3	(c) The applicant shall:
433.4	(1) have passed an examination prepared and graded by the Federation of State Medical
433.5	Boards, the National Board of Medical Examiners, or the United States Medical Licensing
433.6	Examination (USMLE) program in accordance with section 147.02, subdivision 1, paragraph
433.7	(c), clause (2); the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners; or the Medical Council
433.8	of Canada; and
733.0	or Canada, and
433.9	(2) have a current license from the equivalent licensing agency in another state or Canada
433.10	and, if the examination in clause (1) was passed more than ten years ago, either:
	,,,,
433.11	(i) pass the Special Purpose Examination of the Federation of State Medical Boards with
	a score of 75 or better within three attempts; or
433.12	a score of 75 of octor within three attempts, of
433.13	(ii) have a current certification by a specialty board of the American Board of Medical
433.14	
433.15	
155.15	bargeons of canada, of of the conege of family Thysicians of canada, of
433.16	(3) if the applicant fails to meet the requirement established in section 147.02, subdivision
433.17	1, paragraph (c), clause (2), because the applicant failed to pass each of steps one, two, and
433.17	
	license provided the applicant:
433.17	neense provided the applicant.
433.20	(i) has passed each of steps one, two, and three with passing scores as recommended by
433.21	
733.21	the Obivide program within no more than roth attempts for any of the three steps,
433.22	(ii) is currently licensed in another state; and
433.22	(ii) is currently licensed in another state, and
433.23	(iii) has current certification by a specialty board of the American Board of Medical
433.24	
433.25	
	of Canada.
433.20	of Canada.
422.27	(d) The applicant shall pay a fee established by the heard by mile. The fee may not be
433.27	(d) The applicant shall pay a fee established by the board by rule. The fee may not be
433.28	refunded.
122.22	
433.29	$\frac{\text{(e)} (\text{d})}{\text{Cd}}$ The applicant must not be under license suspension or revocation by the licensing
	board of the state or jurisdiction in which the conduct that caused the suspension or revocation
433.31	occurred.
	(A /) m
434.1	(f) (e) The applicant must not have engaged in conduct warranting disciplinary action
434.2	against a licensee, or have been subject to disciplinary action other than as specified in

PAGE R4-A11

Heal	lth	Licensing	Board	1
11cu		Licensing	Dourd	

Senate Language S0800-3

April 10, 2017 01:21 PM

House Language UES0800-2

434.3	paragraph (e)(d). If an applicant does not satisfy the requirements stated in this paragraph,
434.4	the board may issue a license only on the applicant's showing that the public will be protect
434.5	through issuance of a license with conditions or limitations the board considers appropriate.
434.6	(g) (f) Upon the request of an applicant, the board may conduct the final interview of
434.7	the applicant by teleconference.

434.8 Sec. 4. [147A.28] PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT APPLICATION AND LICENSE FEES.

12.1.0	(-) T1 1.		-1	. C. 11	nonrefundable	C
434.9	(a) The bo	nard may	cnarge inc	e tollowing	nonremingable	rees:

- 434.10 (1) physician assistant application fee, \$120;
- 434.11 (2) physician assistant annual registration renewal fee (prescribing authority), \$135;
- 434.12 (3) physician assistant annual registration renewal fee (no prescribing authority), \$115;
- 434.13 (4) physician assistant temporary registration, \$115;

238.30 Section 1. **[147.033] PRACTICE OF TELEMEDICINE.**

239.1	Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "telemedicine" means the
239.2	delivery of health care services or consultations while the patient is at an originating site
239.3	and the licensed health care provider is at a distant site. A communication between licensed
239.4	health care providers that consists solely of a telephone conversation, e-mail, or facsimile
239.5	transmission does not constitute telemedicine consultations or services. A communication
239.6	between a licensed health care provider and a patient that consists solely of an e-mail or
239.7	facsimile transmission does not constitute telemedicine consultations or services.
239.8	Telemedicine may be provided by means of real-time two-way interactive audio, and visual
239.9	communications, including the application of secure video conferencing or store-and-forward
239.10	technology to provide or support health care delivery, that facilitate the assessment, diagnosis,
239.11	consultation, treatment, education, and care management of a patient's health care.
239.12	Subd. 2. Physician-patient relationship. A physician-patient relationship may be
239.13	established through telemedicine.
239.14	Subd. 3. Standards of practice and conduct. A physician providing health care services
239.15	by telemedicine in this state shall be held to the same standards of practice and conduct as
239.16	provided in this chapter for in-person health care services.

434.14	(5) physician assistant temporary permit, \$60;
434.15	(6) physician assistant locum tenens permit, \$25;
434.16	(7) physician assistant late fee, \$50;
434.17	(8) duplicate license fee, \$20;
434.18	(9) certification letter fee, \$25;
434.19	(10) education or training program approval fee, \$100; and
434.20	(11) report creation and generation fee, \$60.
434.21 434.22 434.23	(b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fees must be deposited in an account in the state government special revenue fund.
434.24 434.25	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147B.08, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
434.26 434.27	Subd. 4. Acupuncturist application and license fees. (a) The board may charge the following nonrefundable fees:
434.28	(1) acupuncturist application fee, \$150;
434.29	(2) acupuncturist annual registration renewal fee, \$150;
435.1	(3) acupuncturist temporary registration fee, \$60;
435.2	(4) acupuncturist inactive status fee, \$50;
435.3	(5) acupuncturist late fee, \$50;
435.4	(6) duplicate license fee, \$20;
435.5	(7) certification letter fee, \$25;
435.6	(8) education or training program approval fee, \$100; and

435.7	(9) report creation and generation fee, \$60.
435.8 435.9 435.10	(b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fees must be deposited in an account in the state government special revenue fund.
435.11 435.12	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147C.40, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
435.13 435.14	<u>Subd. 5.</u> Respiratory therapist application and license fees. (a) The board may charge the following nonrefundable fees:
435.15	(1) respiratory therapist application fee, \$100;
435.16	(2) respiratory therapist annual registration renewal fee, \$90;
435.17	(3) respiratory therapist inactive status fee, \$50;
435.18	(4) respiratory therapist temporary registration fee, \$90;
435.19	(5) respiratory therapist temporary permit, \$60;
435.20	(6) respiratory therapist late fee, \$50;
435.21	(7) duplicate license fee, \$20;
435.22	(8) certification letter fee, \$25;
435.23	(9) education or training program approval fee, \$100; and
435.24	(10) report creation and generation fee, \$60.
435.25 435.26	(b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fees must be deposited
435.27	in an account in the state government special revenue fund.

239.17 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.171, subdivision 7b, is amended to read:

239.18	Subd. 7b. Intervention Encumbered. "Intervention" means any act or action, based
239.19	upon clinical judgment and knowledge that a nurse performs to enhance the health outcome
239.20	of a patient "Encumbered" means (1) a license that is revoked, suspended, or contains
239.21	limitations on the full and unrestricted practice of nursing when the revocation, suspension,
239.22	or limitation is imposed by a state licensing board, or (2) a license that is voluntarily
239.23	surrendered.
239.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
239.25	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.171, is amended by adding a subdivision to
239.26	read:
239.27	Subd. 7c. Intervention. "Intervention" means any act or action based upon clinical
239.28	judgment and knowledge that a nurse performs to enhance the health outcome of a patient.
239.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
240.1	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.211, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
240.1	Sec. 1. Willingsom Surfaces 2010, Section 1 10.211, Subdivision 14, is different to read.
240.2	Subd. 1a. Advanced practice registered nurse licensure. (a) Effective January 1, 2015,
240.3	No advanced practice nurse shall practice as an advanced practice registered nurse unless
240.4	the advanced practice nurse is licensed by the board under this section.
240.4	are develoced practice harse is necessed by the board under this section.
240.5	(b) An applicant for a license to practice as an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN
240.6	shall apply to the board in a format prescribed by the board and pay a fee in an amount
240.7	determined under section 148.243.
240.7	determined under section 140.243.
240.8	(a) To be eligible for licensure on applicants
240.8	(c) To be eligible for licensure an applicant:
240.0	(1)t 1-1dt Mit
240.9	(1) must hold a current Minnesota professional nursing license or demonstrate eligibility
240.10	for licensure as a registered nurse in this state;
240.11	(2) must not hold an encumbered license as a registered nurse in any state or territory;
240.12	(3)(i) must have completed a graduate level APRN program accredited by a nursing or
240.13	nursing-related accrediting body that is recognized by the United States Secretary of
240.14	Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation as acceptable to the board.
240.15	The education must be in one of the four APRN roles for at least one population focus. For
240.16	APRN programs completed on or after January 1, 2016, the program must include at least
240.17	one graduate-level course in each of the following areas: advanced physiology and

40.18	pathophysiology; advanced health assessment; and pharmacokinetics and
10.19	pharmacotherapeutics of all broad categories of agents; or
10.20	(ii) must demonstrate compliance with the advanced practice nursing educational
10.21	requirements that were in effect in Minnesota at the time the applicant completed the
10.22	advanced practice nursing education program;
10.23	(4) must be currently certified by a national certifying body recognized by the board in
10.24	the APRN role and population foci appropriate to educational preparation;
	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
10.25	(5) must report any criminal conviction, nolo contendere plea, Alford plea, or other plea
10.26	arrangement in lieu of conviction; and
10.20	arrangement in nea or conviction, and
10.27	(6) must not have committed any acts or amissions which are grounds for disciplinary
10.27	(6) must not have committed any acts or omissions which are grounds for disciplinary
10.28 10.29	action in another jurisdiction or, if these acts have been committed and would be grounds for disciplinary action as set forth in section 148.261, the board has found, after investigation
10.29	that sufficient restitution has been made.
+0.30	mat sufficient restitution has been made.
40.21	
10.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
11.1	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.211, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:
11.2	Subd. 1c. Postgraduate practice. A nurse practitioner or clinical nurse specialist who
11.3	qualifies for licensure as an advanced practice registered nurse must practice for at least
11.4	2,080 hours, within the context of a collaborative agreement, within a hospital or integrated
11.5	clinical setting where advanced practice registered nurses and physicians work together to
11.6	provide patient care. The nurse practitioner or clinical nurse specialist shall submit written
11.7	evidence to the board with the application, or upon completion of the required collaborative
11.8	practice experience. For purposes of this subdivision, a collaborative agreement is a mutually
11.9	agreed upon plan for the overall working relationship between a nurse practitioner or clinical
11.10	nurse specialist, and one or more physicians licensed under chapter 147 or in another state
11.11	or United States territory, or one or more advanced practice registered nurses licensed under
11.12	this section that designates the scope of collaboration necessary to manage the care of
41.13 41.14	patients. The nurse practitioner or clinical nurse specialist, and one of the collaborating physicians or advanced practice registered nurses, must have experience in providing care
11.15	to patients with the same or similar medical problems.
11.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148 211, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

436.2	Subd. 4. Commissioner Board. "Commissioner Board" means the commissioner of
436.3	health or a designee Board of Occupational Therapy Practice established in section 148.6449.
436.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
436.5	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6405, is amended to read:
436.6	148.6405 LICENSURE APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS: PROCEDURES AND
436.7	QUALIFICATIONS.
436.8	(a) An applicant for licensure must comply with the application requirements in section
436.9	148.6420. To qualify for licensure, an applicant must satisfy one of the requirements in
436.10	paragraphs (b) to (f) and not be subject to denial of licensure under section 148.6448.
436.11	(b) A person who applies for licensure as an occupational therapist and who has not
436.12	
436.13	jurisdiction must meet the requirements in section 148.6408.
436.14	(c) A person who applies for licensure as an occupational therapy assistant and who has
436 15	not been credentialed by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy or

436.16 another jurisdiction must meet the requirements in section 148.6410.

436.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6402, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

April 10, 2017 01:21 PM

41.18	Subd. 2. Licensure by endorsement. (a) The board shall issue a license to practice
41.19	professional nursing or practical nursing without examination to an applicant who has been
41.20	duly licensed or registered as a nurse under the laws of another state, territory, or country,
41.21	if in the opinion of the board the applicant has the qualifications equivalent to the
41.22	qualifications required in this state as stated in subdivision 1, all other laws not inconsistent
41.23	with this section, and rules promulgated by the board.
41.24	(b) Effective January 1, 2015, an applicant for advanced practice registered nurse licensure
41.25	by endorsement is eligible for licensure if the applicant meets the requirements in paragraph
41.26	(a) and demonstrates:
41.27	(1) current national certification or recertification in the advanced role and population
41.28	focus area: and
41.29	(2) compliance with the advanced practice nursing educational requirements that were
	() I
41.30	in effect in Minnesota at the time the advanced practice registered nurse completed the
41.31	advanced practice nursing education program.
41 32	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment

436.17	(d) A person who is certified by the National Board for Certification in Occupational
436.18	Therapy may apply for licensure by equivalency and must meet the requirements in section
436.19	148.6412.
436.20	(a) A parson who is gradentialed in another jurisdiction may apply for licensure by
	(e) A person who is credentialed in another jurisdiction may apply for licensure by reciprocity and must meet the requirements in section 148.6415.
436.21	reciprocity and must meet the requirements in section 146.0415.
436.22	(f) A person who applies for temporary licensure must meet the requirements in section
436.22	148.6418.
430.23	140.0410.
436.24	(g) A person who applies for licensure under paragraph (b), (c), or (f) more than two
436.25	and less than four years after meeting the requirements in section 148.6408 or 148.6410
436.26	must submit the following:
430.20	must submit the following.
126 27	(1) a completed and signed application for licensure on forms provided by the
436.27	
436.28	commissioner <u>board</u> ;
126.20	(2) the linear analysis of the manifest and an action 140 (445)
436.29	(2) the license application fee required under section 148.6445;
126.20	(2) if annlying for accountional theremist licensure proof of having most a minimum of
436.30	(3) if applying for occupational therapist licensure, proof of having met a minimum of
436.31	24 contact hours of continuing education in the two years preceding licensure application,
437.1	or if applying for occupational therapy assistant licensure, proof of having met a minimum
437.2	of 18 contact hours of continuing education in the two years preceding licensure application;
127.2	(4) verified documentation of successful completion of 160 hours of supervised practice
437.3	* *
437.4 437.5	approved by the <u>commissioner board</u> under a limited license specified in section 148.6425, subdivision 3, paragraph (c); and
437.3	subdivision 3, paragraph (c), and
127 ((5) additional information as requested by the commissioner board to clarify information
437.6 437.7	(5) additional information as requested by the <u>eommissioner board</u> to clarify information in the application, including information to determine whether the individual has engaged
437.7	in conduct warranting disciplinary action under section 148.6448. The information must be
437.8	submitted within 30 days after the eommissioner's board's request.
437.9	submitted within 30 days after the commissioners boards request.
437.10	(h) A person who applied for licensure under paragraph (b), (c), or (f) four years or more
437.11	after meeting the requirements in section 148.6408 or 148.6410 must meet all the
437.12	requirements in paragraph (g) except clauses (3) and (4), submit documentation of having
437.13	retaken and passed the credentialing examination for occupational therapist or occupational
437.14	therapy assistant, or of having completed an occupational therapy refresher program that
437.15	contains both a theoretical and clinical component approved by the commissioner board,
437.16	and verified documentation of successful completion of 480 hours of supervised practice
437.17	approved by the commissioner board under a limited license specified in section 148.6425,
437.18	subdivision 3, paragraph (c). The 480 hours of supervised practice must be completed in
.57.10	subartision s, paragraph (s). The 100 hours of supervised practice must be completed in

	completed within one year prior to the date of application qualify for approval.
437.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
437.22	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6408, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
437.23 437.24	Subd. 2. Qualifying examination score required. (a) An applicant must achieve a qualifying score on the credentialing examination for occupational therapist.
437.25 437.26 437.27 437.28 437.29 437.30 437.31	(b) The eommissioner board shall determine the qualifying score for the credentialing examination for occupational therapist. In determining the qualifying score, the eommissioner board shall consider the cut score recommended by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, or other national credentialing organization approved by the eommissioner board, using the modified Angoff method for determining cut score or another method for determining cut score that is recognized as appropriate and acceptable by industry standards.
437.32	(c) The applicant is responsible for:
437.33	(1) making arrangements to take the credentialing examination for occupational therapist;
438.1	(2) bearing all expenses associated with taking the examination; and
438.2 438.3	(3) having the examination scores sent directly to the <u>commissioner board</u> from the testing service that administers the examination.
438.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
438.5	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6410, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
438.6 438.7 438.8	Subd. 2. Qualifying examination score required. (a) An applicant for licensure must achieve a qualifying score on the credentialing examination for occupational therapy assistants.
438.9 438.10 438.11 438.12 438.13 438.14	(b) The eommissioner board shall determine the qualifying score for the credentialing examination for occupational therapy assistants. In determining the qualifying score, the eommissioner board shall consider the cut score recommended by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, or other national credentialing organization approved by the eommissioner board, using the modified Angoff method for determining cut score or another method for determining cut score that is recognized as appropriate and acceptable by industry standards.
TJ0.1J	by madding standards.

438.16	(c) The applicant is responsible for:
438.17	(1) making all arrangements to take the credentialing examination for occupational
	therapy assistants;
438.19	(2) bearing all expense associated with taking the examination; and
120.20	
438.20 438.21	(3) having the examination scores sent directly to the <u>commissioner board</u> from the testing service that administers the examination.
436.21	testing service that administers the examination.
438.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
438.23	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6412, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
438.24	Subd. 2. Persons certified by National Board for Certification in Occupational
438.25	Therapy after June 17, 1996. The commissioner board may license any person certified
438.26	
438.27	after June 17, 1996, if the commissioner board determines the requirements for certification
438.28	are equivalent to or exceed the requirements for licensure as an occupational therapist under
438.29	section 148.6408. The commissioner board may license any person certified by the National
438.30	Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy as an occupational therapy assistant after
438.31	June 17, 1996, if the commissioner board determines the requirements for certification are
439.1	equivalent to or exceed the requirements for licensure as an occupational therapy assistant
439.2	under section 148.6410. Nothing in this section limits the commissioner's board's authority
439.3	to deny licensure based upon the grounds for discipline in sections 148.6401 to 148.6450.
439.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
120 5	C 12 M
439.5	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6415, is amended to read:
439.6	148.6415 LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY.
439.7	A person who holds a current credential as an occupational therapist in the District of
439.8	Columbia or a state or territory of the United States whose standards for credentialing are
439.9	determined by the commissioner board to be equivalent to or exceed the requirements for
439.10	licensure under section 148.6408 may be eligible for licensure by reciprocity as an
439.11	occupational therapist. A person who holds a current credential as an occupational therapy
439.12	
439.13	standards for credentialing are determined by the commissioner board to be equivalent to
439.14	·
439.15	,
439.16	
439.17	in sections 148.6401 to 148.6450. An applicant must provide:

439.18	(1) the application materials as required by section 148.6420, subdivisions 1, 3, and 4;
439.19	(2) the fees required by section 148.6445;
439.20 439.21	(3) a copy of a current and unrestricted credential for the practice of occupational therapy as either an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant;
439.22 439.23	(4) a letter from the jurisdiction that issued the credential describing the applicant's qualifications that entitled the applicant to receive the credential; and
	(5) other information necessary to determine whether the credentialing standards of the jurisdiction that issued the credential are equivalent to or exceed the requirements for licensure under sections 148.6401 to 148.6450.
439.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
439.28	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6418, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
439.29 439.30 440.1 440.2	Subdivision 1. Application. The <u>commissioner board</u> shall issue temporary licensure as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy <u>assistant</u> to applicants who are not the subject of a disciplinary action or past disciplinary action, nor disqualified on the basis of items listed in section 148.6448, subdivision 1.
440.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
440.4	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6418, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
440.5 440.6 440.7	Subd. 2. Procedures. To be eligible for temporary licensure, an applicant must submit a completed application for temporary licensure on forms provided by the commissioner board, the fees required by section 148.6445, and one of the following:
440.8 440.9	(1) evidence of successful completion of the requirements in section 148.6408, subdivision 1, or 148.6410, subdivision 1;
440.10 440.11 440.12	
	(3) a copy of a current and unrestricted certificate from the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy stating that the applicant is certified as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant.

440.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
440.17	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6418, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
440.18	Subd. 4. Supervision required. An applicant who has graduated from an accredited
440.19	
440.20	subdivision 1, and who has not passed the examination required by section 148.6408,
440.21	subdivision 2, or 148.6410, subdivision 2, must practice under the supervision of a licensed
440.22	occupational therapist. The supervising therapist must, at a minimum, supervise the person
440.23	working under temporary licensure in the performance of the initial evaluation, determination
440.24	
440.25	plan. The supervising therapist must observe the person working under temporary licensure
440.26	
440.27	
440.28	working under temporary licensure and the supervising therapist must be based on the
440.29	
440.30	
440.31	therapist or occupational therapy assistant working under temporary licensure must provide
440.32	verification of supervision on the application form provided by the eommissioner board.
441.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
441.2	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6418, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
441.3	Subd. 5. Expiration of temporary licensure. A temporary license issued to a person
441.4	pursuant to subdivision 2, clause (1), expires six months from the date of issuance for
441.5	occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants or on the date the eommissioner
441.6	board grants or denies licensure, whichever occurs first. A temporary license issued to a
441.7	person pursuant to subdivision 2, clause (2) or (3), expires 90 days after it is issued. Upon
441.8	application for renewal, a temporary license shall be renewed once to persons who have
441.9	not met the examination requirement under section 148.6408, subdivision 2, or 148.6410,
441.10	subdivision 2, within the initial temporary licensure period and who are not the subject of
441.11	a disciplinary action nor disqualified on the basis of items in section 148.6448, subdivision
441.12	
441.13	1. Upon application for renewal, a temporary license shall be renewed once to persons who
441.14	are able to demonstrate good cause for failure to meet the requirements for licensure under
	are able to demonstrate good cause for failure to meet the requirements for licensure under section 148.6412 or 148.6415 within the initial temporary licensure period and who are not
441.15	are able to demonstrate good cause for failure to meet the requirements for licensure under section 148.6412 or 148.6415 within the initial temporary licensure period and who are not the subject of a disciplinary action nor disqualified on the basis of items in section 148.6448,
	are able to demonstrate good cause for failure to meet the requirements for licensure under section 148.6412 or 148.6415 within the initial temporary licensure period and who are not the subject of a disciplinary action nor disqualified on the basis of items in section 148.6448,
441.15	are able to demonstrate good cause for failure to meet the requirements for licensure under section 148.6412 or 148.6415 within the initial temporary licensure period and who are not the subject of a disciplinary action nor disqualified on the basis of items in section 148.6448,

PAGE R15-A11

441.19	Subdivision 1. Applications for licensure. An applicant for licensure must:
441.20 441.21	(1) submit a completed application for licensure on forms provided by the <u>commissioner</u> <u>board</u> and must supply the information requested on the application, including:
441.22 441.23	(i) the applicant's name, business address and business telephone number, business setting, and daytime telephone number;
441.24	(ii) the name and location of the occupational therapy program the applicant completed;
441.25 441.26	(iii) a description of the applicant's education and training, including a list of degrees received from educational institutions;
441.27 441.28	(iv) the applicant's work history for the six years preceding the application, including the number of hours worked;
441.29 441.30	(v) a list of all credentials currently and previously held in Minnesota and other jurisdictions;
441.31	(vi) a description of any jurisdiction's refusal to credential the applicant;
442.1 442.2	(vii) a description of all professional disciplinary actions initiated against the applicant in any jurisdiction;
442.3 442.4 442.5	(viii) information on any physical or mental condition or chemical dependency that impairs the person's ability to engage in the practice of occupational therapy with reasonable judgment or safety;
442.6 442.7	(ix) a description of any misdemeanor or felony conviction that relates to honesty or to the practice of occupational therapy;
442.8 442.9 442.10	(x) a description of any state or federal court order, including a conciliation court judgment or a disciplinary order, related to the individual's occupational therapy practice; and
442.11 442.12 442.13	(xi) a statement indicating the physical agent modalities the applicant will use and whether the applicant will use the modalities as an occupational therapist or an occupational therapy assistant under direct supervision;
442.14	(2) submit with the application all fees required by section 148.6445;

PAGE R16-A11

Health Licensing Boards

April 10, 2017 01:21 PM

Senate Language S0800-3

House Language UES0800-2

442.15 442.16	(3) sign a statement that the information in the application is true and correct to the best of the applicant's knowledge and belief;
	or me approxime means and cones,
442.17	(4) sign a waiver authorizing the commissioner board to obtain access to the applicant's
442.18	
442.19	for the practice of an occupation, has completed an accredited occupational therapy education
442.20	program, or engaged in the practice of occupational therapy;
442.21	(5) submit additional information as requested by the eommissioner board; and
442.22	(6) submit the additional information required for licensure by equivalency, licensure
442.23	
442.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
442.25	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6420, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
442.26	Subd. 3. Applicants certified by National Board for Certification in Occupational
442.27	
442.28	Occupational Therapy must provide the materials required in subdivision 1 and the following:
442.29	(1) verified documentation from the National Board for Certification in Occupational
442.30	Therapy stating that the applicant is certified as an occupational therapist, registered or
442.31	certified occupational therapy assistant, the date certification was granted, and the applicant's
443.1	certification number. The document must also include a statement regarding disciplinary
443.2	actions. The applicant is responsible for obtaining this documentation by sending a form
443.3	provided by the commissioner board to the National Board for Certification in Occupational
443.4	Therapy; and
	in the property of the propert
443.5	(2) a waiver authorizing the commissioner board to obtain access to the applicant's
443.6	records maintained by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy.
443.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
443.8	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6420, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
443.9	Subd. 5. Action on applications for licensure. (a) The eommissioner board shall
443.10	approve, approve with conditions, or deny licensure. The eommissioner board shall act on
443.11	an application for licensure according to paragraphs (b) to (d).
443.12	(b) The eommissioner board shall determine if the applicant meets the requirements for
443.13	licensure. The eommissioner board, or the advisory council at the eommissioner's board's

PAGE R17-A11

	request, may investigate information provided by an applicant to determine whether the information is accurate and complete.
443.16 443.17 443.18	(c) The <u>commissioner board</u> shall notify an applicant of action taken on the application and, if licensure is denied or approved with conditions, the grounds for the <u>commissioner's board's</u> determination.
443.23 443.24 443.25 443.26 443.27	board's determination, for reconsideration of the eommissioner's board's determination. Individuals requesting reconsideration may submit information which the applicant wants considered in the reconsideration. After reconsideration of the eommissioner's board's determination to deny licensure or grant licensure with conditions, the eommissioner board shall determine whether the original determination should be affirmed or modified. An
443.29 443.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018. Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6423, is amended to read:
443.31	148.6423 LICENSURE RENEWAL.
444.1 444.2	Subdivision 1. Renewal requirements. To be eligible for licensure renewal, a licensee must:
444.3 444.4	(1) submit a completed and signed application for licensure renewal on forms provided by the <u>commissioner board</u> ;
444.5	(2) submit the renewal fee required under section 148.6445;
444.6 444.7	(3) submit proof of having met the continuing education requirement of section 148.6443 on forms provided by the eommissioner board; and

444.14	(b) Each license must state an expiration date. An application for licensure renewal must
	be received by the Department of Health board or postmarked at least 30 calendar days
444.16	before the expiration date. If the postmark is illegible, the application shall be considered
444.17	timely if received at least 21 calendar days before the expiration date.
444.18	(c) If the eommissioner board changes the renewal schedule and the expiration date is
444.19	
444.20	
	•
444.21	(d) An application for licensure renewal not received within the time required under
444.22	paragraph (b), but received on or before the expiration date, must be accompanied by a late
444.23	fee in addition to the renewal fee specified by section 148.6445.
	To in addition to the following to specifically section 1 10.00 Fig.
444.24	(e) Licensure renewals received after the expiration date shall not be accepted and persons
444.25	seeking licensed status must comply with the requirements of section 148.6425.
444.23	seeking needsed status must comply with the requirements of section 146.0425.
444.06	Cold 2 I in the control of the Atlant (0 colored or down before the conjustion date
444.26	Subd. 3. Licensure renewal notice. At least 60 calendar days before the expiration date in subdivision 2, the commissioner board shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee's last
444.27 444.28	known address on file with the commissioner board. The notice must include an application
444.29	
444.30	notice does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to meet the renewal deadline and other
444.31	requirements for licensure renewal.
444.31	requirements for needsure renewar.
444.32	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
777.52	EFFECTIVE DATE: 11113 Section is effective sunday 1, 2010.
445.1	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6425, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
443.1	Sec. 21. Milliesota Statutes 2010, section 148.0423, subdivision 2, is aniented to read.
445.0	
445.2	Subd. 2. Licensure renewal after licensure expiration date. An individual whose
445.3	application for licensure renewal is received after the licensure expiration date must submit
445.4	the following:
445.5	(1) a completed and signed application for licensure following lapse in licensed status
445.6	on forms provided by the commissioner <u>board</u> ;
445.7	(2) the renewal fee and the late fee required under section 148.6445;
445.8	(3) proof of having met the continuing education requirements in section 148.6443,
445.9	subdivision 1; and
445.10	(4) additional information as requested by the commissioner board to clarify information
445.11	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

	in conduct warranting disciplinary action as set forth in section 148.6448. The information
445.13	must be submitted within 30 days after the eommissioner's board's request.
445.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
445.15	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6425, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
445.16	Subd. 3. Licensure renewal four years or more after licensure expiration date. (a)
	An individual who requests licensure renewal four years or more after the licensure expiration date must submit the following:
445.18	date must submit the following.
445.19	(1) a completed and signed application for licensure on forms provided by the
445.20	
445.21	(2) the renewal fee and the late fee required under section 148.6445 if renewal application
	is based on paragraph (b), clause (1), (2), or (3), or the renewal fee required under section
445.23	148.6445 if renewal application is based on paragraph (b), clause (4);
445.24	(3) proof of having met the continuing education requirement in section 148.6443,
445.25	
445.26	preceding application renewal; and
445.27	(4) at the time of the next licensure renewal, proof of having met the continuing education
445.28	
445.29	two-year licensure period.
445.30	(b) In addition to the requirements in paragraph (a), the applicant must submit proof of
445.31	
446.1	(1) verified documentation of successful completion of 160 hours of supervised practice
446.2	approved by the eommissioner board as described in paragraph (c);
446.2	
446.3 446.4	(2) verified documentation of having achieved a qualifying score on the credentialing examination for occupational therapists or the credentialing examination for occupational
446.5	therapy assistants administered within the past year,
446.6	(3) documentation of having completed a combination of occupational therapy courses
446.7	or an occupational therapy refresher program that contains both a theoretical and clinical
446.8	component approved by the eommissioner board. Only courses completed within one year
446.9	preceding the date of the application or one year after the date of the application qualify for approval; or
446.10	approvar, or

446.11	(4) evidence that the applicant holds a current and unrestricted credential for the practice
446.12	of occupational therapy in another jurisdiction and that the applicant's credential from that
446.13	jurisdiction has been held in good standing during the period of lapse.
446.14	(c) To participate in a supervised practice as described in paragraph (b), clause (1), the
446.15	applicant shall obtain limited licensure. To apply for limited licensure, the applicant shall
446.16	submit the completed limited licensure application, fees, and agreement for supervision of
446.17	an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant practicing under limited licensure
446.18	signed by the supervising therapist and the applicant. The supervising occupational therapist
446.19	shall state the proposed level of supervision on the supervision agreement form provided
446.20	by the eommissioner board. The supervising therapist shall determine the frequency and
446.21	manner of supervision based on the condition of the patient or client, the complexity of the
446.22	procedure, and the proficiencies of the supervised occupational therapist. At a minimum, a
446.23	supervising occupational therapist shall be on the premises at all times that the person
446.24	practicing under limited licensure is working; be in the room ten percent of the hours worked
446.25	each week by the person practicing under limited licensure; and provide daily face-to-face
446.26	collaboration for the purpose of observing service competency of the occupational therapist
446.27	or occupational therapy assistant, discussing treatment procedures and each client's response
446.28	to treatment, and reviewing and modifying, as necessary, each treatment plan. The supervising
446.29	therapist shall document the supervision provided. The occupational therapist participating
446.30	in a supervised practice is responsible for obtaining the supervision required under this
446.31	paragraph and must comply with the eommissioner's board's requirements for supervision
446.32	during the entire 160 hours of supervised practice. The supervised practice must be completed
446.33	in two months and may be completed at the applicant's place of work.
447.1	(d) In addition to the requirements in paragraphs (a) and (b), the applicant must submit
447.2	additional information as requested by the commissioner board to clarify information in the
447.3	application, including information to determine whether the applicant has engaged in conduct
447.4	warranting disciplinary action as set forth in section 148.6448. The information must be
447.5	submitted within 30 days after the eommissioner's board's request.
447.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
	<u> </u>
447.7	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6428, is amended to read:
447.8	148.6428 CHANGE OF NAME, ADDRESS, OR EMPLOYMENT.
447.0	140.0420 CHANGE OF NAME, ADDRESS, OR EMILEOTMENT.
447.0	A 1:
447.9	A licensee who changes a name, address, or employment must inform the commissioner
447.10	board, in writing, of the change of name, address, employment, business address, or business
447.11	telephone number within 30 days. A change in name must be accompanied by a copy of a
447.12	marriage certificate or court order. All notices or other correspondence mailed to or served
447.13	on a licensee by the eommissioner board at the licensee's address on file with the
447.14	commissioner board shall be considered as having been received by the licensee.

PAGE R21-A11

447.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
447.16	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6443, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
447.17 447.18	Subd. 5. Reporting continuing education contact hours. Within one month following licensure expiration, each licensee shall submit verification that the licensee has met the
447.19 447.20 447.21	continuing education requirements of this section on the continuing education report form provided by the <u>eommissioner</u> <u>board</u> . The continuing education report form may require the following information:
447.22	(1) title of continuing education activity;
447.23	(2) brief description of the continuing education activity;
447.24	(3) sponsor, presenter, or author,
447.25	(4) location and attendance dates;
447.26	(5) number of contact hours; and
447.27	(6) licensee's notarized affirmation that the information is true and correct.
447.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
448.1	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6443, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
448.2 448.3 448.4 448.5	Subd. 6. Auditing continuing education reports. (a) The commissioner <u>board</u> may audit a percentage of the continuing education reports based on random selection. A licensee shall maintain all documentation required by this section for two years after the last day of the biennial licensure period in which the contact hours were earned.
448.6 448.7	(b) All renewal applications that are received after the expiration date may be subject to a continuing education report audit.
448.8 448.9	(c) Any licensee against whom a complaint is filed may be subject to a continuing education report audit.
448.10 448.11	(d) The licensee shall make the following information available to the eommissioner board for auditing purposes:

448.12	(1) a copy of the completed continuing education report form for the continuing education
448.13	1 61
448.14	required by subdivision 5;
448.15	(2) a description of the continuing education activity prepared by the presenter or sponsor
	that includes the course title or subject matter, date, place, number of program contact hours,
448.17	presenters, and sponsors;
448.18	(3) documentation of self-study programs by materials prepared by the presenter or
448.19	sponsor that includes the course title, course description, name of sponsor or author, and
448.20	the number of hours required to complete the program;
448.21	(4) documentation of university, college, or vocational school courses by a course
448.22	7 1
448.23	
448.24	or goals; and
448.25	(5) verification of attendance by:
448.26	(i) a signature of the presenter or a designee at the continuing education activity on the
448.27	F
448.28	date, and licensee's name;
448.29	(ii) a summary or outline of the educational content of an audio or video educational
448.30	activity to verify the licensee's participation in the activity if a designee is not available to
448.31	sign the continuing education report form;
449.1	(iii) verification of self-study programs by a certificate of completion or other
449.2	documentation indicating that the individual has demonstrated knowledge and has
449.3	successfully completed the program; or
449.4	(iv) verification of attendance at a university, college, or vocational course by an official
449.5	transcript.
449.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
449.7	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6443, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
449.8	Subd. 7. Waiver of continuing education requirements. The eommissioner board may
449.9	grant a waiver of the requirements of this section in cases where the requirements would
449.10	impose an extreme hardship on the licensee. The request for a waiver must be in writing,
449.11	state the circumstances that constitute extreme hardship, state the period of time the licensee

PAGE R23-A11

149.12	wishes to have the continuing education requirement waived, and state the alternative
149.13	measures that will be taken if a waiver is granted. The commissioner board shall set forth,
149.14	in writing, the reasons for granting or denying the waiver. Waivers granted by the
149.15	commissioner board shall specify, in writing, the time limitation and required alternative
149.16	measures to be taken by the licensee. A request for waiver shall be denied if the commissioner
149.17	board finds that the circumstances stated by the licensee do not support a claim of extreme
149.18	hardship, the requested time period for waiver is unreasonable, the alternative measures
149.19	proposed by the licensee are not equivalent to the continuing education activity being waived,
149.20	or the request for waiver is not submitted to the eommissioner board within 60 days after
149.21	the expiration date.
	1
149.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
149.23	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6443, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
149.24	Subd. 8. Penalties for noncompliance. The commissioner board shall refuse to renew
149.25	or grant, or shall suspend, condition, limit, or qualify the license of any person who the
149.26	eommissioner board determines has failed to comply with the continuing education
149.27	requirements of this section. A licensee may request reconsideration of the eommissioner's
149.28	board's determination of noncompliance or the penalty imposed under this section by making
149.29	a written request to the commissioner board within 30 days of the date of notification to the
149.30	applicant. Individuals requesting reconsideration may submit information that the licensee
149.31	wants considered in the reconsideration.
, . , .	
149.32	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
450.1	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6445, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
150.2	Subdivision 1. Initial licensure fee. The initial licensure fee for occupational therapists
150.3	is \$145. The initial licensure fee for occupational therapy assistants is \$80. The commissioner
150.4	board shall prorate fees based on the number of quarters remaining in the biennial licensure
150.5	period.
	F
450.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
450.7	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6445, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
150.0	Subd. 10. Hea of fees. All fees are nonrefundable. The commissioner board shall only
450.8 450.9	Subd. 10. Use of fees. All fees are nonrefundable. The <u>commissioner board</u> shall only use fees collected under this section for the purposes of administering this chapter. The
450.10	legislature must not transfer money generated by these fees from the state government
450.11	special revenue fund to the general fund. Surcharges collected by the commissioner of health

50.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
50.14	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.6448, is amended to read:
50.15	148.6448 GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OF LICENSURE OR DISCIPLINE;
50.16	INVESTIGATION PROCEDURES; DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS.
50.17	Subdivision 1. Grounds for denial of licensure or discipline. The eommissioner board
50.18	may deny an application for licensure, may approve licensure with conditions, or may
50.19	discipline a licensee using any disciplinary actions listed in subdivision 3 on proof that the
50.20	individual has:
50.21	(1) intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the eommissioner board
50.22	or the advisory council;
50.23	(2) failed within 20 days to provide information in regnance to a written request by the
50.23	(2) failed, within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request by the commissioner board or advisory council;
30.24	commissioner board of advisory council,
50.25	(3) performed services of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant in
50.26	an incompetent manner or in a manner that falls below the community standard of care;
50.27	(4) failed to satisfactorily perform occupational therapy services during a period of
50.28	temporary licensure;
50.29	(5) violated sections 148.6401 to 148.6450;
51.1	(6) failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety due to the use
51.2	of alcohol or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment;
	4
51.3	(7) been convicted of violating any state or federal law, rule, or regulation which directly
51.4	relates to the practice of occupational therapy;
51.5	(8) aided or abetted another person in violating any provision of sections 148.6401 to
51.6	148.6450;
31.0	140.0430,
51.7	(9) been disciplined for conduct in the practice of an occupation by the state of Minnesota,
51.8	another jurisdiction, or a national professional association, if any of the grounds for discipline
51.9	are the same or substantially equivalent to those in sections 148.6401 to 148.6450;
	* *
51.10	(10) not cooperated with the commissioner or advisory council board in an investigation
51 11	conducted according to subdivision ?

451.12	(11) advertised in a manner that is false or misleading;
451.13 451.14	(12) engaged in dishonest, unethical, or unprofessional conduct in connection with the practice of occupational therapy that is likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public;
451.15 451.16	(13) demonstrated a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a client;
451.17 451.18	(14) performed medical diagnosis or provided treatment, other than occupational therapy, without being licensed to do so under the laws of this state;
451.19 451.20 451.21	
451.22 451.23 451.24 451.25	(16) engaged in an incentive payment arrangement, other than that prohibited by clause (15), that promotes occupational therapy overutilization, whereby the referring person or person who controls the availability of occupational therapy services to a client profits unreasonably as a result of client treatment;
451.26 451.27 451.28	
451.29 451.30	(18) obtained money, property, or services from a consumer through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales tactics, harassment, duress, deception, or fraud;
451.31	(19) performed services for a client who had no possibility of benefiting from the services;
452.1 452.2	(20) failed to refer a client for medical evaluation when appropriate or when a client indicated symptoms associated with diseases that could be medically or surgically treated;
452.3 452.4 452.5	(21) engaged in conduct with a client that is sexual or may reasonably be interpreted by the client as sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually demeaning to a patient;
452.6 452.7 452.8	(22) violated a federal or state court order, including a conciliation court judgment, or a disciplinary order issued by the <u>commissioner</u> <u>board</u> , related to the person's occupational therapy practice; or
452.9	(23) any other just cause related to the practice of occupational therapy.

PAGE R26-A11

452.10	Subd. 2. Investigation of complaints. The commissioner, or the advisory council when
452.11	authorized by the commissioner, board may initiate an investigation upon receiving a
452.12	complaint or other oral or written communication that alleges or implies that a person has
452.13	violated sections 148.6401 to 148.6450. In the receipt, investigation, and hearing of a
452.14	complaint that alleges or implies a person has violated sections 148.6401 to 148.6450, the
452.15	eommissioner board shall follow the procedures in section 214.10.
452.16	Subd. 3. Disciplinary actions. If the eommissioner board finds that an occupational
452.17	therapist or occupational therapy assistant should be disciplined according to subdivision
452.18	1, the commissioner board may take any one or more of the following actions:
452.19	(1) refuse to grant or renew licensure;
452.20	(2) approve licensure with conditions;
.02.20	(2) approve notions with containing,
452.21	(3) revoke licensure;
732.21	(5) TOVORC HECHSUIC,
452.22	(4) suspend licensure;
432.22	(4) suspend neclisure,
450.00	
452.23	(5) any reasonable lesser action including, but not limited to, reprimand or restriction
452.24	on licensure; or
452.25	(6) any action authorized by statute.
452.26	Subd. 4. Effect of specific disciplinary action on use of title. Upon notice from the
452.27	eommissioner board denying licensure renewal or upon notice that disciplinary actions have
452.28	been imposed and the person is no longer entitled to practice occupational therapy and use
452.29	the occupational therapy and licensed titles, the person shall cease to practice occupational
452.30	therapy, to use titles protected by sections 148.6401 to 148.6450, and to represent to the
452.31	public that the person is licensed by the eommissioner board.
452.1	Clif D'
453.1	Subd. 5. Reinstatement requirements after disciplinary action. A person who has
453.2	had licensure suspended may request and provide justification for reinstatement following
453.3	the period of suspension specified by the commissioner board. The requirements of sections
453.4	148.6423 and 148.6425 for renewing licensure and any other conditions imposed with the
453.5	suspension must be met before licensure may be reinstated.
452.6	Cold (Anthority to contract The commissionary hand shall act to the last to t
453.6	Subd. 6. Authority to contract. The commissioner board shall contract with the health
453.7	professionals services program as authorized by sections 214.31 to 214.37 to provide these
453.8	services to practitioners under this chapter. The health professionals services program does
453.9	not affect the eommissioner's board's authority to discipline violations of sections 148.6401
453.10	to 148.6450.

453.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
453.12	Sec. 31. [148.6449] BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTICE.
453.13	Subdivision 1. Creation. The Board of Occupational Therapy Practice consists of 11
453.14	members appointed by the governor. The members are:
453.15	(1) five occupational therapists licensed under sections 148.6401 to 148.6449;
453.16	(2) three occupational therapy assistants licensed under sections 148.6401 to 148.6449;
453.17	and
453.18	(3) three public members, including two members who have received occupational
453.19 453.20	therapy services or have a family member who has received occupational therapy services, and one member who is a health care professional or health care provider licensed in
453.21	Minnesota.
453.22	Subd. 2. Qualifications of board members. (a) The occupational therapy practitioners
453.23	appointed to the board must represent a variety of practice areas and settings.
453.24	(b) At least two occupational therapy practitioners must be employed outside the
453.25	seven-county metropolitan area.
453.26	(c) Board members shall serve for not more than two consecutive terms.
453.27	Subd. 3. Recommendations for appointment. Prior to the end of the term of a member
453.28	of the board, or within 60 days after a position on the board becomes vacant, the Minnesota
453.29	Occupational Therapy Association and other interested persons and organizations may
453.30	recommend to the governor members qualified to serve on the board. The governor may
453.31	appoint members to the board from the list of persons recommended or from among other
453.32	qualified candidates.
454.1	Subd. 4. Officers. The board shall biennially elect from its membership a chair, vice-chair,
454.2	and secretary-treasurer. Each officer shall serve until a successor is elected.
1512	Cold 5 Executive director The heard shall amoint and appley on accounting director
454.3 454.4	Subd. 5. Executive director. The board shall appoint and employ an executive director who is not a member of the board. The employment of the executive director shall be subject
454.5	to the terms described in section 214.04, subdivision 2a.
454.6	Subd. 6. Terms; compensation; removal of members. Membership terms, compensation
454.7	of members, removal of members, the filling of membership vacancies, and fiscal year and
454.8	reporting requirements shall be as provided in chapter 214. The provision of staff,

454.9	administrative services, and office space; the review and processing of complaints; the
454.10	8
454.11	according to chapter 214.
454.12	Subd. 7. Duties of the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice. (a) The board shall:
454.13	(1) adopt and enforce rules and laws necessary for licensing occupational therapy
454.14	practitioners;
454.15 454.16	(2) adopt and enforce rules for regulating the professional conduct of the practice of occupational therapy;
454.17	(2) i 1: 41:5-1:1:1:
454.17	(3) issue licenses to qualified individuals in accordance with sections 148.6401 to
454.18	<u>148.6449;</u>
454.19	(4) assess and collect fees for the issuance and renewal of licenses;
454.20	(5) educate the public about the requirements for licensing occupational therapy
454.21	practitioners, educate occupational therapy practitioners about the rules of conduct, and
454.22	enable the public to file complaints against applicants and licensees who may have violated
454.23	sections 148.6401 to 148.6449; and
	<u></u>
454.24	(6) investigate individuals engaging in practices that violate sections 148.6401 to
454.25	148.6449 and take necessary disciplinary, corrective, or other action according to section
454.26	148.6448.
7J7.20	10.0110.
454.27	(b) The board may adopt rules necessary to define standards or carry out the provisions
454.28	of sections 148.6401 to 148.6449. Rules shall be adopted according to chapter 14.
434.20	of sections 140.0401 to 140.0447. Rules shall be adopted according to chapter 14.
454.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.

242.1	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.881, is amended to read:
242.2	148.881 DECLARATION OF POLICY.
242.3	The practice of psychology in Minnesota affects the public health, safety, and welfare.
242.4	The regulations in sections 148.88 to 148.98 the Minnesota Psychology Practice Act as
242.5	enforced by the Board of Psychology protect the public from the practice of psychology by
242.6	unqualified persons and from unethical or unprofessional conduct by persons licensed to
242.7	practice psychology through licensure and regulation to promote access to safe, ethical, and
242.8	competent psychological services.

242.9	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.89, is amended to read:
242.10	148.89 DEFINITIONS.
242.11	Subdivision 1. Applicability. For the purposes of sections 148.88 to 148.98, the following
242.12	terms have the meanings given them.
242.13	Subd. 2. Board of Psychology or board. "Board of Psychology" or "board" means the
242.13	
272.17	board established under section 140.70.
242.15	Subd. 2a. Client. "Client" means each individual or legal, religious, academie,
242.16	organizational, business, governmental, or other entity that receives, received, or should
242.17	have received, or arranged for another individual or entity to receive services from an
242.18	individual regulated under sections 148.88 to 148.98. Client also means an individual's
242.19	legally authorized representative, such as a parent or guardian. For the purposes of sections
242.20	148.88 to 148.98, "client" may include patient, resident, counselee, evaluatee, and, as limited
242.21	in the rules of conduct, student, supervisee, or research subject. In the case of dual clients,
242.22	the licensee or applicant for licensure must be aware of the responsibilities to each client,
242.23	and of the potential for divergent interests of each client a direct recipient of psychological
242.24	services within the context of a professional relationship that may include a child, adolescent,
242.25	adult, couple, family, group, organization, community, or other entity. The client may be
242.26	the person requesting the psychological services or the direct recipient of the services.
242.27	Subd. 2b. Credentialed. "Credentialed" means having a license, certificate, charter,
242.28	registration, or similar authority to practice in an occupation regulated by a governmental
242.29	board or agency.
242.30	Subd. 2c. Designated supervisor. "Designated supervisor" means a qualified individual
242.31	who is designated identified and assigned by the primary supervisor to provide additional
242.32	supervision and training to a licensed psychological practitioner or to an individual who is
243.1	obtaining required predegree supervised professional experience or postdegree supervised
243.2	psychological employment.
243.3	Subd. 2d. Direct services. "Direct services" means the delivery of preventive, diagnostic,
243.4	assessment, or therapeutic intervention services where the primary purpose is to benefit a
243.5	client who is the direct recipient of the service.
243.6	Subd. 2e. Full-time employment. "Full-time employment" means a minimum of 35
243.7	clock hours per week.
243.8	Subd. 3. Independent practice. "Independent practice" means the practice of psychology
243.9	without supervision.

243.10	Subd. 3a. Jurisdiction. "Jurisdiction" means the United States, United States territories,
243.11	or Canadian provinces or territories.
243.12	Subd. 4. Licensee. "Licensee" means a person who is licensed by the board as a licensed
243.13	psychologist or as a licensed psychological practitioner.
243.14	Subd. 4a. Provider or provider of services. "Provider" or "provider of services" means
243.15	any individual who is regulated by the board , and includes a licensed psychologist, a licensed
243.16	psychological practitioner, a licensee, or an applicant.
	r-y
243.17	Subd. 4b. Primary supervisor. "Primary supervisor" means a psychologist licensed in
243.18	Minnesota or other qualified individual who provides the principal supervision to a licensed
243.19	psychological practitioner or to an individual who is obtaining required predegree supervised
243.20	professional experience or postdegree supervised psychological employment.
5.20	protessional emportance of postategious supervisora popularios protessional emproyments.
243.21	Subd. 5. Practice of psychology. "Practice of psychology" means the observation,
243.22	description, evaluation, interpretation, or modification of human behavior by
243.23	the application of psychological principles, methods, or procedures for any reason, including
243.24	to prevent, eliminate, or manage the purpose of preventing, eliminating, evaluating, assessing,
243.25	or predicting symptomatic, maladaptive, or undesired behavior; applying psychological
243.26	principles in legal settings; and to enhance enhancing interpersonal relationships, work, life
243.27	and developmental adjustment, personal and organizational effectiveness, behavioral health,
243.28	and mental health. The practice of psychology includes, but is not limited to, the following
243.29	services, regardless of whether the provider receives payment for the services:
243.30	(1) psychological research and teaching of psychology subject to the exemptions in
243.31	section 148.9075;
- 10 10 1	,
243.32	(2) assessment, including psychological testing and other means of evaluating personal
243.33	characteristics such as intelligence, personality, abilities, interests, aptitudes, and
244.1	neuropsychological functioning psychological testing and the evaluation or assessment of
244.2	personal characteristics, such as intelligence, personality, cognitive, physical and emotional
244.3	abilities, skills, interests, aptitudes, and neuropsychological functioning;
211.5	actives, skins, interests, aptitudes, and near opsychological functioning,
244.4	(3) a psychological report, whether written or oral, including testimony of a provider as
244.5	an expert witness, concerning the characteristics of an individual or entity counseling,
244.5 244.6	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
244.0	psychoanalysis, psychotherapy, hypnosis, biofeedback, and behavior analysis and therapy;
2447	
244.7	(4) psychotherapy, including but not limited to, categories such as behavioral, cognitive,
244.8	emotive, systems, psychophysiological, or insight-oriented therapies; counseling; hypnosis;
244.9	and diagnosis and treatment of:

244.10	(i) mental and emotional disorder or disability;
244.11	(ii) alcohol and substance dependence or abuse;
244.12	(iii) disorders of habit or conduct;
244.13	(iv) the psychological aspects of physical illness or condition, accident, injury, or
244.14	disability, including the psychological impact of medications;
244.15	(v) life adjustment issues, including work-related and bereavement issues; and
244.16	(vi) child, family, or relationship issues
244.17	(4) diagnosis, treatment, and management of mental or emotional disorders or disabilities
244.18	substance use disorders, disorders of habit or conduct, and the psychological aspects of
244.19	physical illness, accident, injury, or disability;
244.20	(5) psychoeducational services and treatment psychoeducational evaluation, therapy,
244.21	and remediation; and
244.22	(6) consultation and supervision with physicians, other health care professionals, and
244.23	clients regarding available treatment options, including medication, with respect to the
244.24	provision of care for a specific client;
244.25	(7) provision of direct services to individuals or groups for the purpose of enhancing
244.26	individual and organizational effectiveness, using psychological principles, methods, and
244.27	procedures to assess and evaluate individuals on personal characteristics for individual
244.28	development or behavior change or for making decisions about the individual; and
244.29	(8) supervision and consultation related to any of the services described in this
244.30	subdivision.
245.1	Subd. 6. Telesupervision. "Telesupervision" means the clinical supervision of
245.2	psychological services through a synchronous audio and video format where the supervisor
245.3	is not physically in the same facility as the supervisee.
245.4	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.90, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
245.5	Subdivision 1. Board of Psychology. (a) The Board of Psychology is created with the
2156	nowers and duties described in this section. The board has 11 members who consist of

245.7 245.8	(1) $\frac{\text{three four}}{\text{four}}$ individuals licensed as licensed psychologists who have doctoral degrees in psychology;
245.9 245.10	(2) two individuals licensed as licensed psychologists who have master's degrees in psychology;
245.11 245.12 245.13	(3) two psychologists, not necessarily licensed, one with a who have doctoral degree degrees in psychology and one with either a doctoral or master's degree in psychology representing different training programs in psychology;
245.14 245.15 245.16	(4) one individual licensed or qualified to be licensed as: (i) through December 31, 2010, a licensed psychological practitioner; and (ii) after December 31, 2010, a licensed psychologist; and
245.17	(5) (4) three public members.
245.20 245.21	(b) After the date on which fewer than 30 percent of the individuals licensed by the board as licensed psychologists qualify for licensure under section 148.907, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), vacancies filled under paragraph (a), clause (2), shall be filled by an individual with either a master's or doctoral degree in psychology licensed or qualified to be licensed as a licensed psychologist.
245.23 245.24 245.25 245.26 245.27	paragraph (b), vacancies under paragraph (a), clause (2), shall be filled by an individual with either a master's or doctoral degree in psychology licensed or qualified to be licensed
245.28	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.90, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
245.29	Subd. 2. Members. (a) The members of the board shall:
245.30	(1) be appointed by the governor;
245.31	(2) be residents of the state;
246.1	(3) serve for not more than two consecutive terms;
246.2	(4) designate the officers of the board; and
246.3	(5) administer oaths pertaining to the business of the board.

246.4	(b) A public member of the board shall represent the public interest and shall not:
246.5 246.6	(1) be a psychologist, psychological practitioner, or have engaged in the practice of psychology;
246.7	(2) be an applicant or former applicant for licensure;
246.8 246.9 246.10	(3) be a member of another health profession and be licensed by a health-related licensing board as defined under section 214.01, subdivision 2; the commissioner of health; or licensed, certified, or registered by another jurisdiction;
246.11 246.12	(4) be a member of a household that includes a psychologist or psychological practitioner; or
246.13	(5) have conflicts of interest or the appearance of conflicts with duties as a board member.
246.14	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.905, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
246.15	Subdivision 1. General. The board shall:
246.16 246.17	(1) adopt and enforce rules for licensing psychologists and psychological practitioners and for regulating their professional conduct;
246.18	(2) adopt and enforce rules of conduct governing the practice of psychology;
246.19 246.20 246.21 246.22 246.23	(3) adopt and implement rules for examinations which shall be held at least once a year to assess applicants' knowledge and skills. The examinations may be written or oral or both, and may be administered by the board or by institutions or individuals designated by the board. Before the adoption and implementation of a new national examination, the board must consider whether the examination:
246.24	(i) demonstrates reasonable reliability and external validity;
246.25	(ii) is normed on a reasonable representative and diverse national sample; and
246.26 246.27	(iii) is intended to assess an applicant's education, training, and experience for the purpose of public protection;
246.28 246.29	(4) issue licenses to individuals qualified under sections 148.907 and 148.908, 148.909, 148.915, and 148.916, according to the procedures for licensing in Minnesota Rules;

246.30	(5) issue copies of the rules for licensing to all applicants;
247.1	(6) establish and maintain annually a register of current licenses;
247.2	(7) establish and collect fees for the issuance and renewal of licenses and other services
247.3	by the board. Fees shall be set to defray the cost of administering the provisions of sections
247.4	148.88 to 148.98 including costs for applications, examinations, enforcement, materials,
247.5	and the operations of the board;
247.6	(8) educate the public about on the requirements for licensing of psychologists and of
247.7	psychological practitioners licenses issued by the board and about on the rules of conduct,
247.8	<u>to;</u>
247.9	(9) enable the public to file complaints against applicants or licensees who may have
247.10	violated the Psychology Practice Act; and
247.11	(9) (10) adopt and implement requirements for continuing education; and
247.12	(11) establish or approve programs that qualify for professional psychology continuing
247.13	educational credit. The board may hire consultants, agencies, or professional psychological
247.14	associations to establish and approve continuing education courses.
247.15	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.907, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
247.16	Subdivision 1. Effective date. After August 1, 1991, No person shall engage in the
247.17	independent practice of psychology unless that person is licensed as a licensed psychologist
247.18	or is exempt under section 148.9075.
247.19	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.907, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
247.20	Subd. 2. Requirements for licensure as licensed psychologist. To become licensed
247.21	by the board as a licensed psychologist, an applicant shall comply with the following
247.22	requirements:
247.23	(1) pass an examination in psychology;
247.24	(2) pass a professional responsibility examination on the practice of psychology;
247 25	(3) pass any other examinations as required by board rules:

247.26 247.27	(4) pay nonrefundable fees to the board for applications, processing, testing, renewals, and materials;
247.28 247.29	(5) have attained the age of majority, be of good moral character, and have no unresolved disciplinary action or complaints pending in the state of Minnesota or any other jurisdiction;
248.1 248.2	(6) have earned a doctoral degree with a major in psychology from a regionally accredited educational institution meeting the standards the board has established by rule; and
248.3 248.4 248.5 248.6	(7) have completed at least one full year or the equivalent in part time of postdoctoral supervised psychological employment in no less than 12 months and no more than 60 months. If the postdoctoral supervised psychological employment goes beyond 60 months, the board may grant a variance to this requirement.
248.7	Sec. 14. [148.9075] EXEMPTIONS TO LICENSE REQUIREMENT.
248.8 248.9 248.10 248.11 248.12	Subdivision 1. General. (a) Nothing in sections 148.88 to 148.98 shall prevent members of other professions or occupations from performing functions for which they are competent and properly authorized by law. The following individuals are exempt from the licensure requirements of the Minnesota Psychology Practice Act, provided they operate in compliance with the stated exemption:
248.13 248.14	(1) individuals licensed by a health-related licensing board as defined under section 214.01, subdivision 2, or by the commissioner of health;
248.15 248.16	(2) individuals authorized as mental health practitioners as defined under section 245.462, subdivision 17; and
248.17 248.18	(3) individuals authorized as mental health professionals under section 245.462, subdivision 18.
248.19 248.20 248.21 248.22	(b) Any of these individuals must not hold themselves out to the public by any title or description stating or implying they are licensed to engage in the practice of psychology unless they are licensed under sections 148.88 to 148.98 or are using a title in compliance with section 148.96.
248.23 248.24 248.25 248.26 248.27	for its own personnel purposes or by an employment agency or state vocational rehabilitation agency for the evaluation of the agency's clients prior to a recommendation for employment.

April 10, 2017 01:21 PM

	offer, or provide psychological services as specified in section 148.89, unless the services
248.29	are performed or supervised by an individual licensed under sections 148.88 to 148.98.
248.30	Subd. 3. School psychologist. (a) Nothing in sections 148.88 to 148.98 shall be construed
248.31	to prevent a person who holds a license or certificate issued by the State Board of Teaching
248.32	in accordance with chapters 122A and 129 from practicing school psychology within the
248.33	scope of employment if authorized by a board of education or by a private school that meets
249.1	the standards prescribed by the State Board of Teaching, or from practicing as a school
249.2	psychologist within the scope of employment in a program for children with disabilities.
249.3	(b) Any person exempted under this subdivision shall not offer psychological services
249.4	to any other individual, organization, or group for remuneration, monetary or otherwise,
249.5	unless the person is licensed by the Board of Psychology under sections 148.88 to 148.98.
249.6	Subd. 4. Clergy or religious officials. Nothing in sections 148.88 to 148.98 shall be
249.7	construed to prevent recognized religious officials, including ministers, priests, rabbis,
249.8 249.9	imams, Christian Science practitioners, and other persons recognized by the board, from conducting counseling activities that are within the scope of the performance of their regular
249.9	recognizable religious denomination or sect, as defined in current federal tax regulations,
249.10	if the religious official does not refer to the official's self as a psychologist and the official
249.12	remains accountable to the established authority of the religious denomination or sect.
249.13	Subd. 5. Teaching and research. Nothing in sections 148.88 to 148.98 shall be construed
249.14	to prevent a person employed in a secondary, postsecondary, or graduate institution from
249.15	teaching and conducting research in psychology within an educational institution that is
249.16	recognized by a regional accrediting organization or by a federal, state, county, or local
249.17	government institution, agency, or research facility, so long as:
249.18	(1) the institution, agency, or facility provides appropriate oversight mechanisms to
249.19	ensure public protections; and
249.20	(2) the person is not providing direct clinical services to a client or clients as defined in
249.21	sections 148.88 to 148.98.
249.22	Subd. 6. Psychologist in disaster or emergency relief. Nothing in sections 148.88 to
249.23	148.98 shall be construed to prevent a psychologist sent to this state for the sole purpose of
249.24	responding to a disaster or emergency relief effort of the state government, the federal
249.25 249.26	government, the American Red Cross, or other disaster or emergency relief organization as long as the psychologist is not practicing in Minnesota longer than 30 days and the sponsoring
249.26	organization can certify the psychologist's assignment to this state. The board or its designee,
249.27	at its discretion, may grant an extension to the 30-day time limitation of this subdivision.
217.20	and the supervision of the supervision of the supervision.

Subd. 7. Psychological consultant. A license under sections 148.88 to 148.98 is not
required by a nonresident of the state, serving as an expert witness, organizational consultant,
presenter, or educator on a limited basis provided the person is appropriately trained,
educated, or has been issued a license, certificate, or registration by another jurisdiction.
Subd. 8. Students. Nothing in sections 148.88 to 148.98 shall prohibit the practice of
psychology under qualified supervision by a practicum psychology student, a predoctoral
psychology intern, or an individual who has earned a doctoral degree in psychology and is
in the process of completing their postdoctoral supervised psychological employment. A
student trainee or intern shall use the titles as required under section 148.96, subdivision 3.
•
Subd. 9. Other professions. Nothing in sections 148.88 to 148.98 shall be construed to
authorize a person licensed under sections 148.88 to 148.98 to engage in the practice of any
profession regulated under Minnesota law, unless the individual is duly licensed or registered
in that profession.
Sec. 15. [148.9077] RELICENSURE.
Scc. 13. [140.5017] RELICENSURE.
A. C
A former licensee may apply to the board for licensure after complying with all laws
and rules required for applicants for licensure that were in effect on the date the initial
Minnesota license was granted. The former licensee must verify to the board that the former
licensee has not engaged in the practice of psychology in this state since the last date of
active licensure, except as permitted under statutory licensure exemption, and must submit
a fee for relicensure.
Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.9105, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Application. Retired providers who are licensed or were formerly licensed
to practice psychology in the state according to the Minnesota Psychology Practice Act may
apply to the board for psychologist emeritus registration or psychological practitioner
emeritus registration if they declare that they are retired from the practice of psychology in
Minnesota, have not been the subject of disciplinary action in any jurisdiction, and have no
unresolved complaints in any jurisdiction. Retired providers shall complete the necessary
forms provided by the board and pay a onetime, nonrefundable fee of \$150 at the time of
application.
Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.9105, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Documentation of status. A provider granted emeritus registration shall receive
a document certifying that emeritus status has been granted by the board and that the
registrant has completed the registrant's active career as a psychologist or psychological
practitioner licensed in good standing with the board.

251.1	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.9105, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
251.2 251.3 251.4 251.5 251.6	Subd. 5. Representation to public. In addition to the descriptions allowed in section 148.96, subdivision 3, paragraph (e), former licensees who have been granted emeritus registration may represent themselves as "psychologist emeritus" or "psychological practitioner emeritus," but shall not represent themselves or allow themselves to be represented to the public as "licensed" or otherwise as current licensees of the board.
251.7	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.916, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
251.8 251.9 251.10 251.11 251.12 251.13 251.14 251.15 251.16	to practice in Minnesota for more than seven calendar 30 days, the person shall apply to the board for guest licensure, provided that. The psychologist's practice in Minnesota is limited to no more than nine consecutive months per calendar year. Application under this section shall be made no less than 30 days prior to the expected date of practice in Minnesota and shall be subject to approval by the board or its designee. The board shall charge a
251.17	(b) To be eligible for licensure under this section, the applicant must:
251.18 251.19	
251.20	(2) have a doctoral degree in psychology from a regionally accredited institution,
251.21	(3) be of good moral character;
251.22 251.23	(4) have no pending complaints or active disciplinary or corrective actions in any jurisdiction;
251.24	(5) pass a professional responsibility examination designated by the board; and
251.25	(6) pay a fee to the board.
251.26	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.916, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
251.27 251.28 251.29 251.30	state, and who, at the time of application, is licensed, certified, or registered to practice

252.1	processed if the applicant is of good moral character and has no complaints, corrective, or
252.2	disciplinary action pending in any jurisdiction.
252.3	(b) Application under this section subdivision shall be made no less than 30 days prior
252.4	to the expected date of practice in this state, and must be made concurrently or after
252.5	submission of an application for licensure as a licensed psychologist if applicable.
252.6	Applications under this section subdivision are subject to approval by the board or its
252.7	designee. The board shall charge a fee for guest licensure under this subdivision.
.54.1	designee. The board shall enarge a rector guest needs are under this subdivision.
.50.0	(1) Th. 1 1. 1. 11. 1
252.8	(b) The board shall charge a nonrefundable fee for guest licensure under this subdivision
252.9	(c) A guest license issued under this subdivision shall be valid for one year from the
252.10	date of issuance, or until the board has either issued a license or has denied the applicant's
252.11	application for licensure, whichever is earlier. Guest licenses issued under this section
252.12	subdivision may be renewed annually until the board has denied the applicant's application
252.13	for licensure.
252.14	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.925, is amended to read:
252.15	148.925 SUPERVISION.
.32.13	146.725 SUFERVISION.
252.16	Subdivision 1. Supervision. For the purpose of meeting the requirements of this section
252.17	the Minnesota Psychology Practice Act, supervision means documented in-person
252.18	consultation, which may include interactive, visual electronic communication, between
252.19	either: (1) a primary supervisor and a licensed psychological practitioner; or (2) a that
252.20	employs a collaborative relationship that has both facilitative and evaluative components
252.21	with the goal of enhancing the professional competence and science, and practice-informed
252.22	professional work of the supervisee. Supervision may include telesupervision between
252.23	primary or designated supervisors supervisors and an applicant for licensure as a licensed
252.24	psychologist the supervisee. The supervision shall be adequate to assure the quality and
252.25	competence of the activities supervised. Supervisory consultation shall include discussions
252.26	on the nature and content of the practice of the supervisee, including, but not limited to, a
252.27	review of a representative sample of psychological services in the supervisee's practice.
252.28	Subd. 2. Postdegree supervised <u>psychological</u> employment. Postdegree supervised
252.29	psychological employment means required paid or volunteer work experience and postdegree
252.30	training of an individual seeking to be licensed as a licensed psychologist that involves the
252.31	professional oversight by a primary supervisor and satisfies the supervision requirements
252.32	in subdivisions 3 and 5 the Minnesota Psychology Practice Act.
.52.1	
253.1	Subd. 3. Individuals qualified to provide supervision. (a) Supervision of a master's

253.3	(1) who is a psychologist licensed in Minnesota with competence both in supervision
253.4	in the practice of psychology and in the activities being supervised;
253.5	(2) who has a doctoral degree with a major in psychology, who is employed by a
253.6	regionally accredited educational institution or employed by a federal, state, county, or local
253.7	government institution, agency, or research facility, and who has competence both in
253.8	supervision in the practice of psychology and in the activities being supervised, provided
253.9	the supervision is being provided and the activities being supervised occur within that
253.10	regionally accredited educational institution or federal, state, county, or local government
253.11	institution, agency, or research facility;
253.12	(3) who is licensed or certified as a psychologist in another jurisdiction and who has
253.13	competence both in supervision in the practice of psychology and in the activities being
253.14	supervised; or
253.15	(4) who, in the case of a designated supervisor, is a master's or doctorally prepared
253.16	mental health professional.
233.10	mental freezonal.
253.17	(b) Supervision of a doctoral level an applicant for licensure as a licensed psychologist
253.17	shall be provided by an individual:
233.10	shan be provided by an individual.
252.10	(1) who is a newhologist licensed in Minneseta with a dectoral degree and competence
253.19	(1) who is a psychologist licensed in Minnesota with a doctoral degree and competence both in supervision in the practice of psychology and in the activities being supervised;
253.20	both in supervision in the practice of psychology and in the activities being supervised,
252.21	(2) 1. 1 1
253.21	(2) who has a doctoral degree with a major in psychology, who is employed by a
253.22	regionally accredited educational institution or is employed by a federal, state, county, or
253.23	local government institution, agency, or research facility, and who has competence both in
253.24	supervision in the practice of psychology and in the activities being supervised, provided
253.25	the supervision is being provided and the activities being supervised occur within that
253.26	regionally accredited educational institution or federal, state, county, or local government
253.27	institution, agency, or research facility;
253.28	(3) who is licensed or certified as a psychologist in another jurisdiction and who has
253.29	competence both in supervision in the practice of psychology and in the activities being
253.30	supervised;
253.31	(4) who is a psychologist licensed in Minnesota who was licensed before August 1,
253.32	1991, with competence both in supervision in the practice of psychology and in the activities
253.33	being supervised; or
254.1	(5) who, in the case of a designated supervisor, is a master's or doctorally prepared
254.2	mental health professional.

254.3	Subd. 4. Supervisory consultation for a licensed psychological practitioner.
254.4	Supervisory consultation between a supervising licensed psychologist and a supervised
254.5	licensed psychological practitioner shall be at least one hour in duration and shall occur on
254.6	an individual, in-person basis. A minimum of one hour of supervision per month is required
254.7	for the initial 20 or fewer hours of psychological services delivered per month. For each
254.8	additional 20 hours of psychological services delivered per month, an additional hour of
254.9	supervision per month is required. When more than 20 hours of psychological services are
254.10	provided in a week, no more than one hour of supervision is required per week.
254.11	Subd. 5. Supervisory consultation for an applicant for licensure as a licensed
254.12	psychologist. Supervision of an applicant for licensure as a licensed psychologist shall
254.13	include at least two hours of regularly scheduled in-person consultations per week for
254.14	full-time employment, one hour of which shall be with the supervisor on an individual basis.
254.15	The remaining hour may be with a designated supervisor. The board may approve an
254.16	exception to the weekly supervision requirement for a week when the supervisor was ill or
254.17	otherwise unable to provide supervision. The board may prorate the two hours per week of
254.18	supervision for individuals preparing for licensure on a part-time basis. Supervised
254.19	psychological employment does not qualify for licensure when the supervisory consultation
254.20	is not adequate as described in subdivision 1, or in the board rules.
254.21	Subd. 6. Supervisee duties. Individuals Applicants preparing for licensure as a licensed
254.22	psychologist during their postdegree supervised psychological employment may perform
254.23	as part of their training any functions of the services specified in section 148.89, subdivision
254.24	
	,
254.25	Subd. 7. Variance from supervision requirements. (a) An applicant for licensure as
254.26	
254.27	request a variance from the board from the supervision requirements in this section in order
254.28	to continue supervision under the board rules in effect before August 1, 1991.
	,
254.29	(b) After a licensed psychological practitioner has completed two full years, or the
254.30	equivalent, of supervised post-master's degree employment meeting the requirements of
254.31	subdivision 5 as it relates to preparation for licensure as a licensed psychologist, the board
254.32	shall grant a variance from the supervision requirements of subdivision 4 or 5 if the licensed
254.33	psychological practitioner presents evidence of:
	1
255.1	(1) endorsement for specific areas of competency by the licensed psychologist who
255.2	provided the two years of supervision;
200.2	provided the trib justice of superficients
255.3	(2) employment by a hospital or by a community mental health center or nonprofit mental
255.4	health clinic or social service agency providing services as a part of the mental health service
255.5	plan required by the Comprehensive Mental Health Act;
433.3	plan required by the comprehensive wientar freath Act,

55.6	(3) the employer's acceptance of clinical responsibility for the care provided by the
55.7	licensed psychological practitioner; and
55.8	(4) a plan for supervision that includes at least one hour of regularly scheduled individual
55.9	in-person consultations per week for full-time employment. The board may approve an
55.10	exception to the weekly supervision requirement for a week when the supervisor was ill or
55.11	otherwise unable to provide supervision.
55.12	(e) Following the granting of a variance under paragraph (b), and completion of two
55.13	additional full years or the equivalent of supervision and post-master's degree employment
55.14	meeting the requirements of paragraph (b), the board shall grant a variance to a licensed
55.15	psychological practitioner who presents evidence of:
55.16	(1) endorsement for specific areas of competency by the licensed psychologist who
55.17	provided the two years of supervision under paragraph (b);
55.18	(2) employment by a hospital or by a community mental health center or nonprofit mental
55.19	health clinic or social service agency providing services as a part of the mental health service
55.20	plan required by the Comprehensive Mental Health Act;
	<u> </u>
55.21	(3) the employer's acceptance of clinical responsibility for the care provided by the
55.22	licensed psychological practitioner; and
55.23	(4) a plan for supervision which includes at least one hour of regularly scheduled
55.24	individual in-person supervision per month.
55.25	(d) The variance allowed under this section must be deemed to have been granted to an
55.26	individual who previously received a variance under paragraph (b) or (c) and is seeking a
55.27	new variance because of a change of employment to a different employer or employment
55.28	setting. The deemed variance continues until the board either grants or denies the variance.
55.29	An individual who has been denied a variance under this section is entitled to seek
55.30	reconsideration by the board.
56.1	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.96, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
56.2	Subd. 3. Requirements for representations to public. (a) Unless licensed under sections
56.3	148.88 to 148.98, except as provided in paragraphs (b) through (e), persons shall not represent
56.4	themselves or permit themselves to be represented to the public by:
56.5	(1) using any title or description of services incorporating the words "psychology,"
56.6	"psychological," "psychological practitioner," or "psychologist"; or

256.7	(2) representing that the person has expert qualifications in an area of psychology.
256.8	(b) Psychologically trained individuals who are employed by an educational institution
256.9	recognized by a regional accrediting organization, by a federal, state, county, or local
256.10	government institution, agency, or research facility, may represent themselves by the title
256.11	designated by that organization provided that the title does not indicate that the individual
256.12	is credentialed by the board.
256.13	(c) A psychologically trained individual from an institution described in paragraph (b)
256.14	may offer lecture services and is exempt from the provisions of this section.
256.15	(d) A person who is preparing for the practice of psychology under supervision in
256.16	accordance with board statutes and rules may be designated as a "psychological intern,"
256.17	"psychology fellow," "psychological trainee," or by other terms clearly describing the
256.18	person's training status.
256.19	(e) Former licensees who are completely retired from the practice of psychology may
256.20	represent themselves using the descriptions in paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), but shall
256.21	not represent themselves or allow themselves to be represented as current licensees of the
256.22	board.
256.23	(f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the practice of school psycholog
256.24	by a person licensed in accordance with chapters 122A and 129.
256.25	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148B.53, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
256.26	Subdivision 1. General requirements. (a) To be licensed as a licensed professional
256.27	counselor (LPC), an applicant must provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the
256.28	applicant:
256.29	(1) is at least 18 years of age;
256.30	(2) is of good moral abarrator.
230.30	(2) is of good moral character;
257.1	(3) has completed a master's or doctoral degree program in counseling or a related field,
257.2	as determined by the board based on the criteria in paragraph (b), that includes a minimum
257.3	of 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours and a supervised field experience of not fewer than
257.4	700 hours that is counseling in nature;
257.5	(4) has submitted to the board a plan for supervision during the first 2,000 hours of
257.6	professional practice or has submitted proof of supervised professional practice that is
257.7	acceptable to the board; and

57.8	(5) has demonstrated competence in professional counseling by passing the National
57.9	Counseling Exam (NCE) administered by the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc.
57.10	(NBCC) or an equivalent national examination as determined by the board, and ethical,
57.11	oral, and situational examinations if prescribed by the board.
57.12	(b) The degree described in paragraph (a), clause (3), must be from a counseling progr
57.13	recognized by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Program
57.14	(CACREP) or from an institution of higher education that is accredited by a regional
57.15	accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation
57.16	(CHEA). Specific academic course content and training must include course work in each
57.17	of the following subject areas:
<i>57</i> .10	
57.18	(1) the helping relationship, including counseling theory and practice;
57.19	(2) human growth and development;
37.19	(2) human growth and development,
57.20	(3) lifestyle and career development;
57.20	(5) mosty to und out out do veropment,
57.21	(4) group dynamics, processes, counseling, and consulting;
	() ()
57.22	(5) assessment and appraisal;
	•
57.23	(6) social and cultural foundations, including multicultural issues;
57.24	(7) principles of etiology, treatment planning, and prevention of mental and emotional
57.25	disorders and dysfunctional behavior;
57.26	(8) family counseling and therapy;
57.27	(9) research and evaluation; and
<i>57.</i> 2 0	(10) and foreign 1 and the minutes of all in
57.28	(10) professional counseling orientation and ethics.
57.29	(e) To be licensed as a professional counselor, a psychological practitioner licensed
57.30	under section 148.908 need only show evidence of licensure under that section and is not
57.31	required to comply with paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3) and (5), or paragraph (b).
- , 1	2-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1
58.1	(d) (c) To be licensed as a professional counselor, a Minnesota licensed psychologist
58.2	need only show evidence of licensure from the Minnesota Board of Psychology and is not
58.3	required to comply with paragraph (a) or (b)

258.4	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 150A.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
258.5	Subd. 3. Waiver of examination. (a) All or any part of the examination for dentists or,
258.6	dental therapists, dental hygienists, or dental assistants, except that pertaining to the law of
258.7	Minnesota relating to dentistry and the rules of the board, may, at the discretion of the board,
258.8	be waived for an applicant who presents a certificate of having passed all components of
258.9	the National Board Dental Examinations or evidence of having maintained an adequate
258.10	scholastic standing as determined by the board, in dental school as to dentists, or dental
258.11	hygiene school as to dental hygienists.
	70
258.12	(b) The board shall waive the clinical examination required for licensure for any dentist
258.13	applicant who is a graduate of a dental school accredited by the Commission on Dental
258.14	Accreditation, who has passed all components of the National Board Dental Examinations,
258.15	and who has satisfactorily completed a Minnesota-based postdoctoral general dentistry
258.16	residency program (GPR) or an advanced education in general dentistry (AEGD) program
258.17	after January 1, 2004. The postdoctoral program must be accredited by the Commission on
258.18	Dental Accreditation, be of at least one year's duration, and include an outcome assessment
258.19	evaluation assessing the resident's competence to practice dentistry. The board may require
258.20	the applicant to submit any information deemed necessary by the board to determine whether
258.21	the waiver is applicable.
258.22	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 150A.06, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
258.23	Subd. 8. Licensure by credentials. (a) Any dental assistant may, upon application and
258.24	payment of a fee established by the board, apply for licensure based on an evaluation of the
258.25	applicant's education, experience, and performance record in lieu of completing a
258.26	board-approved dental assisting program for expanded functions as defined in rule, and
258.27	may be interviewed by the board to determine if the applicant:
258.28	(1) has graduated from an accredited dental assisting program accredited by the
258.29	Commission on Dental Accreditation, or and is currently certified by the Dental Assisting
258.30	<u> </u>
230.30	i witoliai Board,
258.31	(2) is not subject to any pending or final disciplinary action in another state or Canadian
258.32	province, or if not currently certified or registered, previously had a certification or
259.1	registration in another state or Canadian province in good standing that was not subject to
259.1	any final or pending disciplinary action at the time of surrender;
239.2	any man of pending disciplinary action at the time of sufferior,
259.3	(3) is of good moral character and abides by professional ethical conduct requirements;
439.3	(3) is of good moral character and address by professional educat conduct requirements,
250.4	(A) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1
259.4	(4) at board discretion, has passed a board-approved English proficiency test if English
259.5	is not the applicant's primary language; and

259.6 259.7	(5) has met all expanded functions curriculum equivalency requirements of a Minnesota board-approved dental assisting program.
259.8 259.9	(b) The board, at its discretion, may waive specific licensure requirements in paragraph (a).
259.10	(c) An applicant who fulfills the conditions of this subdivision and demonstrates the
259.11 259.12	minimum knowledge in dental subjects required for licensure under subdivision 2a must be licensed to practice the applicant's profession.
259.13	(d) If the applicant does not demonstrate the minimum knowledge in dental subjects
	required for licensure under subdivision 2a, the application must be denied. If licensure is
259.15 259.16	denied, the board may notify the applicant of any specific remedy that the applicant could take which, when passed, would qualify the applicant for licensure. A denial does not
259.17	prohibit the applicant from applying for licensure under subdivision 2a.
259.18 259.19	(e) A candidate whose application has been denied may appeal the decision to the board according to subdivision 4a.
207.17	according to subdivision in.
259.20	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 150A.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
259.21	Subd. 4. Restorative procedures. (a) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1, 1a, and 2, a
259.21	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
259.23	procedures:
259.24	(1) place, contour, and adjust amalgam restorations;
259.25	(2) place, contour, and adjust glass ionomer;
259.26	(3) adapt and cement stainless steel crowns; and
259.27	(4) place, contour, and adjust class I and class V supragingival composite restorations
259.28	where the margins are entirely within the enamel; and
250.20	(5) (A) 1
259.29 259.30	(5) (4) place, contour, and adjust class I, II, and elass V supragingival composite restorations on primary teeth and permanent dentition.
237.30	restorations on primary teem and permanent dendrion.
259.31	(b) The restorative procedures described in paragraph (a) may be performed only if:
260.1	(1) the licensed dental hygienist or licensed dental assistant has completed a
260.2	board-approved course on the specific procedures;

April 10, 2017 01:21 PM

55.2	Subd. 2. Health-related licensing board. "Health-related licensing board" means the
55.3	Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators established pursuant to section
55.4	144A.19, the Office of Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care Practice
55.5	established pursuant to section 146A.02, the Board of Medical Practice created pursuant to
55.6	section 147.01, the Board of Nursing created pursuant to section 148.181, the Board of
55.7	Chiropractic Examiners established pursuant to section 148.02, the Board of Optometry
55.8	established pursuant to section 148.52, the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice
55.9	established pursuant to section 148.6449, the Board of Physical Therapy established pursuant
55.10	to section 148.67, the Board of Psychology established pursuant to section 148.90, the Board
55.11	of Social Work pursuant to section 148E.025, the Board of Marriage and Family Therapy
55.12	pursuant to section 148B.30, the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy established by
55.13	section 148B.51, the Board of Dietetics and Nutrition Practice established under section

260.3	(2) the board-approved course includes a component that sufficiently prepares the licensed
260.4	dental hygienist or licensed dental assistant to adjust the occlusion on the newly placed
260.5	restoration;
260.6	(3) a licensed dentist or licensed advanced dental therapist has authorized the procedure
260.7	to be performed; and
200.7	to be performed, and
260.8	(4) a licensed dentist or licensed advanced dental therapist is available in the clinic while
260.9	the procedure is being performed.
260.10	(c) The dental faculty who teaches the educators of the board-approved courses specified
260.11	in paragraph (b) must have prior experience teaching these procedures in an accredited
260.12	
200.12	dental education program.
	C. AT 1404 AOEL HE LYTH CARD DRA COMMISSIONED DESCRIPTION OF COMPANY NEW
	Sec. 27. [181.987] HEALTH CARE PRACTITIONER RESTRICTIVE COVENANTS
260.14	VOID.
260.15	Subdivision 1. Health care practitioner. For the purposes of this section, "health care
260.16	practitioner" means a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician assistant licensed
260.17	under chapter 147A and acting within the authorized scope of practice, or an advanced
260.18	practice registered nurse licensed under sections 148.171 to 148.285.
200.10	practice registered naise needsed ander sections 140.171 to 140.203.
260.19	Subd. 2. Health care practitioner restrictive covenants. Any contract by which a

health care practitioner is restrained from engaging in a lawful profession, trade, or business of any kind, within Wabasha County, is to that extent void and unenforceable.

260.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to a contract in effect on, or entered into on or after, that date.

Health Licensing Boards	April 10, 2017 01:21 PM
Ticalin Licensing Doulds	71pm 10, 2017 01.21 1 W

Senate Language S0800

455.15 455.16	148.622, the Board of Dentistry established pursuant to section 150A.02, the Board of Pharmacy established pursuant to section 151.02, the Board of Podiatric Medicine established pursuant to section 153.02, and the Board of Veterinary Medicine established pursuant to section 156.01.
455.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
455.19	Sec. 33. BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTICE.
455.20 455.21 455.22 455.23	
455.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2017.
455.25	Sec. 34. <u>REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.</u>
455.26 455.27	In Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall replace references to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.6450, with Minnesota Statutes, section 148.6449.
455.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.
455.29	Sec. 35. REPEALER.
455.30 455.31	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 147A.21; 147B.08, subdivisions 1, 2, and 3; 147C.40, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4; 148.6402, subdivision 2; and 148.6450, are repealed.
456.1	(b) Minnesota Rules, part 5600 2500, is repealed

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018.

456.2

anguage UES0800-2
anguage UES0800-2

260.24 Sec. 28	. REVISOR'S	INSTRUCTION
----------------	-------------	-------------

- 260.25 The revisor of statutes shall change the headnote of Minnesota Statutes, section 147.0375, to read "LICENSURE OF EMINENT PHYSICIANS."
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 260.27

Health Licensing Boards April 10, 2017 01:21 PM

Senate Language S0800-3

261.1	Sac	00	DED	FAI	FD
201.1	Sec. 2	49.	KEP	$\mathbf{L}\mathbf{A}\mathbf{L}$	LK.

- Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 147.0375, subdivision 7; 148.211, subdivision 1b;
- 261.3 148.243, subdivision 15; 148.906; 148.907, subdivision 5; 148.908; 148.909, subdivision
- 7; and 148.96, subdivisions 4 and 5, are repealed.
- 261.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.