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MinnesotaCare provides subsidized health care coverage to low-income individuals. The
program is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) under federal
guidance as a basic health program under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). DHS, in cooperation
with MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange, is responsible for processing applications
and determining eligibility.

Eligibility
Most MinnesotaCare enrollees are parents and caretakers, children ages 19 to 20, and adults without
children. To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, an individual must meet the following criteria:

= Have gross income that is greater than 133 percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG)
(517,130 for a household of one) but does not exceed 200 percent of FPG ($25,760 for a
household of one). Exceptions to the income floor are made for certain groups of
individuals.

= Not be eligible for Medical Assistance (MA). This requirement has the effect of shifting the
vast majority of pregnant women and children from MinnesotaCare to MA.

= Not have access to subsidized health coverage that, as defined in the ACA, is affordable (the
employee pays no more than 9.12 percent of income for self-only coverage for 2023) and
provides minimum value (pays for at least 60 percent of medical expenses on average).

= Not have minimum essential health coverage (defined in the ACA as coverage under
Medicare, Medicaid and other government programs, employer-sponsored coverage,
individual market coverage, and other specified coverage).

= Be aresident of Minnesota. Enrollees must meet the residency requirements of the MA
program.

Covered services

Enrollees age 21 and over are covered for most, but not all, services covered under MA. Covered
services include physician care, hospitalization, prescription drugs, therapy services, and a wide range of
other health care services. Services not covered include personal care attendant services, private duty
nursing, nursing home care, ICF/DD (intermediate care facility for persons with developmental
disabilities), and special transportation services.

Children ages 19 and 20, and certain children under age 19, receive coverage for a broader range of
services than adults.

Premiums and cost-sharing

Enrollees age 21 and older pay monthly, per-person premiums based on a sliding scale. The premiums
for 2021 through 2025 are lower than the premiums that applied for 2020, as part of compliance with
federal legislation that increased premium tax credits under the ACA. Persons under age 21, persons
with incomes less than 160 percent of FPG (for coverage for 2021 through 2025), and American Indians
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and Alaska Natives are not charged premiums. Adult enrollees are subject to copayments and other
cost-sharing for specified services.

Provider reimbursement

Enrollees receive health care services through prepaid health plans. The MinnesotaCare program pays
prepaid health plans a monthly capitation payment for each MinnesotaCare enrollee. MinnesotaCare

does not set provider reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation between

health care providers and the prepaid health plan.

Expenditures and funding

In fiscal year 2021, the MinnesotaCare program paid $536.1 million for medical services provided to
enrollees. Eighty-eight percent of this cost was paid for by the federal government, 6 percent by the
state, and 6 percent by enrollees through premium payments and cost-sharing.

Since January 1, 2015, the state has received from the federal government a basic health program
payment for each enrollee equal to 95 percent of the subsidy that the individual would have otherwise
received through MNsure.

State funding for MinnesotaCare and other health care access initiatives is provided by a tax of 1.8
percent on the gross revenues of health care providers and a tax of 1 percent on the premiums of
nonprofit health plan companies. The Commissioner of Management and Budget is required to reduce
the rate of the tax on health care provider revenues if certain financial criteria are met.

Recipients

As of July 2022, 107,943 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program.

Application procedure

MinnesotaCare applications can be obtained by calling the Department of Human Services (1-800-657-
3672) or MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange (1-855-366-7873). Applications are also
available at county human services agencies and other locations.

For more information: See the longer House Research Department publication MinnesotaCare for more
on the administration, eligibility, benefits, premiums, funding and expenditures, recipients, and other
aspects of the program.
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