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WELCOME TO THE 2019 MINNESOTA

HUNTING SEASONS

New regulations are listed below. Have a safe and enjoyable hunt.

¥ NEW FOR 2019
Deer and Big Game

The metro deer management zone is now deer permit area 701. Several deer permit
area numbers were changed to 600-series numbers to denote CWD management
status. For example, deer permit area 346 became deer permit area 646. See fold-
out map for details.

Antler point restrictions are cancelled in all deer permit areas except 338, 339, 341
and 342. Party-hunting (also known as cross-tagging) for antlered bucks is allowed in
all deer permit areas except 338, 339, 341 and 342.

Hunters are allowed to harvest up to three legal bucks per year in deer permit areas
643, 645, 646, 647,648, 649 and 655. Hunters can take one buck under an archery
license, one buck under a firearms license and one buck under a muzzleloader
license.

Hunters are required to present deer or submit samples for CWD testing on the
same day of harvest during the following seasons in these areas:
« During the first two days of the A and B firearms deer seasons in deer permit
areas 255, 343, and 344, and portions of deer permit areas 219, 277, 283
and 285.
+ During the entire firearms, archery and muzzleloader seasons in deer permit
areas 604, 643, 645, 646, 647, 648, 649 and 655.

Carcass movement restrictions are now in place in CWD-affected areas. See page
65 for details.

A person may use a dog to retrieve a wounded deer or bear. See page 61 for details.

The youth season will be held Oct. 17 - 20 statewide except Deer Permit Area 287
(Itasca State Park).

Crossbows are no longer required to have a 30-inch stock for hunting. See page 61.
The prohibition on deer feeding and attractants has been expanded. See page 86.

Furbearer/small game

A person legally taking coyote or fox may possess and use night vision or thermal
imaging equipment. See page 31.

Legal firearms for taking spring and fall turkey include shotguns or muzzleloaders
10-gauge or smaller.

The fisher/marten season is open Dec. 21 - 29. Fur registration will be Dec. 31. The
bobcat season is open from Dec. 21 - Jan. 26, 2020. Fur registration will be Jan. 28.
The river otter season closes Jan. 26, 2020. Fur registration will be Jan. 28
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TRESPASS LAW

The trespass law applies to all outdoor recreation, including: hunting, boating,
fishing, trapping, hiking, and camping. When taking part in outdoor recreation, you
may not enter legally posted land or agricultural land without permission.

Landowners, lessees, or authorized managers need only post their land once a year.
The signs must be placed at intervals of 1,000 feet (500 feet in wooded areas) or
signs may be placed at primary corners of each parcel and at access points to the
property. Signs must state “No Trespassing,” or similar words, in 2-inch high letters
and have either the signature or the name and telephone number of the landowner,
lessee, or manager.

There can be civil or criminal penalties for violation of the trespass laws with
maximum fines up to $3,000 and license revocation. All conservation officers and
peace officers enforce trespass laws.

Help Find 2. Select Location
Minnesota Springs! s
the exact location.
Springs create and sustain a m
variety of wildlife habitats. Help B
expand the Minnesota Spring Fing address or plac Q

Inventory database.

Send spring information from
your computer or mobile device.
Select the Reporting App and
follow the instructions at:

mndnr.gov/MnSpringinventory

Or send information by email to
MnSpringlnventory@state.mn.us
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Restrictions

« A person may not enter legally posted land for outdoor recreation purposes
without permission.
A person may not enter agricultural land for outdoor recreation purposes
without permission.
A person may not remain on or return within one year to any private land for
outdoor recreation purposes after being told to leave by the owner, occupant
or lessee.
On another person’s private land or a public right-of-way, a person may not
discharge a firearm within 500 feet of a building occupied by humans or
livestock without written permission of the owner, occupant or lessee of the
building.
A person may hunt from the water or from public land that is within 500 feet
of a building occupied by humans or livestock.
A person may not discharge a firearm within 500 feet of a corral confining
livestock for the purpose of normal livestock holding or sorting operations
without permission. This does not apply to persons hunting during an established
season on state or local government-owned land that is not road right-of-way.
A person may not take a wild animal on any land where the person is prohibited
from lawfully entering by this law. This prohibition includes coyote hunters
intentionally running their dogs on posted or agricultural land without
permission of the landowner, occupant, or lessee.
A person may not wound or kill another person’s domestic animal, destroy
private property, or pass through a closed gate without returning it to the
original position.

Exceptions

+ A person on foot may, without permission, enter land that is not posted to
retrieve a wounded wild animal that was lawfully shot, but may not remain on the
land after being told to leave.

+ A person on foot may, without permission, enter private land without a firearm
to retrieve a hunting dog. After retrieving the dog, the person must immediately
leave the premises. This exception does not authorize the taking of the
wild animal.

« A person on foot may, without permission, enter land that is posted with
“Walk-In Access” signs.

Permission is required on agricultural land even if it’s not posted.
Hunters and trappers must always respect private lands. Ask first before entering
lands not posted as being open to hunting and trapping.

Notification to stay off private land, authorization to remove a sign posted to
prevent trespass, or legal permission to enter private land or to take wild animals
near occupied buildings or corrals, may only be given by the owner, occupant,

or lessee.

TRESPASS LAW 9



What is agricultural land?

“Agricultural land” is land that: 1) is plowed or tilled; 2) has standing crops or crop
residues; 3) is within a maintained fence for enclosing domestic livestock (including
horses); 4) is planted to native or introduced grassland or hay land; or 5) is planted
to short-rotation woody crops (hybrid poplar and other woody plants that are
harvested for their fiber within 15 years of planting).

Posting is not required on lands considered agricultural, including:

« All planted grassland and hay land.

« All hybrid popular and other woody plants harvested for fiber within 15 years
of planting.

+ Riparian buffers required by law.

» Land enrolled in Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP) or
Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM).

Land that is brush or trees should be posted. When the agricultural status of land
is not clear, verbal notice should be given to trespassers before enforcement
can occur.

Penalties
Violating the Minnesota Trespass Law can make you subject to either civil or
criminal penalties:

« Civil penalties are: 1) $50 for the first violation; 2) $200 for the second violation
in a 3-year period; 3) $500 and loss of every license and registration being

used for a third or subsequent violation in a 3-year period; and 4) $50 for
unauthorized removal of a sign posted under this law.

Criminal penalties are at least a misdemeanor for violation of this law. In addition,
it becomes a gross misdemeanor to: knowingly disregard signs prohibiting
trespass, trespass after being told not to do so, or to violate the trespass law
twice within a 3-year period. Anyone convicted of a gross misdemeanor violation
of the trespass law while hunting, fishing, trapping, or snowmobiling will have

the applicable license and registration for that activity revoked and will have all
hunting privileges suspended for 2 years.

Rules of thumb for water access and recreational use

These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all water access and
recreational use situations. If you have doubts about whether you may be trespassing
on private land, we recommend that you ask the landowner for permission.

1. What is lawful access?
A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or if public
land or a public road right-of-way abuts the surface of the water, or if you have
permission to cross private land to reach the surface of the water.

2. What is recreational use?
Recreational use includes boating, swimming, fishing, hunting, trapping, and
similar activities. It includes walking in the water in connection with such
activities regardless of who owns the land beneath the surface of the water.

continued
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Rules of thumb for water access and recreational use continued from page 10
3. What waters are open to recreational use?

A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it is
capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water that will
float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters may also qualify
depending upon the circumstances.

Landowner liability

An owner who gives written or oral permission for the use of the land for

recreational purposes without charge does not, by that action:

extend any assurance that the land is safe for any purpose,

confer upon the person the legal status of an invitee or licensee to whom a duty
of care is owed, or

assume responsibility for or incur liability for any injury to the person or

property caused by an act or omission of the person.

Road right-of-way

Some road right-of-ways are not owned by a unit of government. In these instances
the landowner has granted an easement for vehicle and foot travel. The landowner
generally retains authority to restrict access for hunting or trapping and may
prohibit trespass by posting the land or by verbally directing hunters and trappers
to leave the easement. It’s always best to ask permission if in doubt about the
ownership of a road ditch area. County or township offices also may be able to help
determine the ownership status of a road ditch.

Helpful examples of road right-of-way ownership and public use include:

« Hunting is not allowed on Interstate Highway right-of-ways.

State highways are most often owned by the state, but there may be a mix of
easements and state ownership.

County roads may be owned by the county, or there may be easements.
Roadways with easements tend to be gravel, while roads owned by the county
tend to be paved. Road surface is a visual indicator of the ownership but is not an
absolute condition.

Township roads are generally easement and not owned by the township, but
some township roads are owned by the township. As is the case with county
roads, road surface can be a visual indicator of the ownership.

The ownership or easement status can vary on any one stretch of road, and can

vary from road to road.

Visually, the road right-of-way is improved and maintained, and you will normally
notice a change in the property—including such things as ditches, fence lines, etc.
The actual distance from the center of the road that is improved and maintained can
vary under ownership or easement, and from one location to another.

TRESPASS LAW 11



LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

A license to take wild animals continues to be valid for the balance of the license
period even if the licensee’s age, residency, or student qualification status changes.
Prices do not include additional issuing fees.

Youth licenses for wild turkey, deer, bear and elk are qualified by the age of licensee
on the opening day of the season. Youth licenses for species that may be taken under
a small game license are qualified by the age of the licensee on September 1.

There is a $1 agent fee associated with licenses, including some free licenses. The
3-digit number in the second column below refers to the license identification
code. Sport, super sport and deer licenses include $1 for the deer/bear management
account, and 50 cents for emergency feeding and wild cervidae-deer family health.

The 72-hour licenses include $3.75 pheasant stamp account, $3.75 waterfowl stamp
account, and $3.25 small game surcharge.

Resident Hunting
APPRENTICE 199 Born after 12/31/79, Validation to allow an individual to hunt $3.50
Validati 12 small game, bear, and deer without having

alidation age or over completed hunter education firearms

safety, must purchase additional required
licenses. Limited to twice in a lifetime.

SPORTS 216 Individual Sports Individual Angling and Small Game $41
($6.50 surcharge for the acquisition and
development of wildlife lands)

142 Individual Super SpOl‘tS Individual Angling including Trout/Salmon $100
Stamp, Small Game including pheasant
and state waterfowl stamps, one deer
tag (archery, firearms or muzzleloader)
($6.50 surcharge for the acquisition and
development of wildlife lands)

217  Married Combination Two Angling and one Small Game $57
Sport ($6.50 surcharge for the acquisition and
ports development of wildlife lands)

143 Married Combination Combination Angling including two Trout/ $126
Salmon Stamps, Individual Small Game

Super SpOI’tS including Pheasant and Waterfowl Stamps,
Individual Deer tag (archery, firearms or
muzzleloader) ($6.50 surcharge for the
acquisition and development of wildlife
lands)
SMALL NA  Youth under age 16 Small Game License g‘of .
GAME and Annual eaure
TRAPPING
208 Youth age 16-17 Annual ~ Small Game License $5
21 Adult age 18 or over Small Game License ($15.50 plus $6.50 $22

surcharge “paid by hunters for the
acquisition and development of wildlife

and under age 65

Annual lands™)
100  Senior age 65 and over Small Game License ($7 plus $6.50 $13.50
A | surcharge “paid by hunters for the
nnua acquisition and development of wildlife
lands™)
144  Adult age 18 and over Small Game License (72-hour state $19

Consecutive 72-hour waterfowl and pheasant stamps included)
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Resident Hunting continued from page 12

SMALL
GAME and
TRAPPING
continued

STAMPS

TURKEY

WALK-IN
ACCESS

DEER

671
672

218

214

101

229

226

600

619

641

601

655

610
607

650
597
638
613

190

NA

246
247
248

210

209

204

Furbearer site
validation coupons

Junior Trapping Annual

age13to 17

Adult Trapping Annual
age 18 or over and
under 65

Senior Trapping Annual

age 65 or over
Pheasant
State Waterfowl|

Adult Lottery Application
Youth under age 13
Youth under age 13

Youth age 13 or over
and under 18

Youth age 13 or over
and under 18

Adult age 18 or over
Adult age 18 or over

Adult age 18 or over
Change Area Adult
Change Area Adult
Surplus Spring
Access Validation all
ages

Donation

Youth age 10 or over
and under 13

Youth age 13 or over
and under 18

Youth age 13 or over
and under 18

Youth age 13 or over
and under 18

Fisher/Marten (671) or River Otter (672)

Age 13 to 17 trapping license, small game
license also required for 16-17

Age 18 and over trapping license, small
game license also required. Trappers
education may also be required.

Age 65 and over trapping license, small
game license also required

Age 18 to 64 state pheasant validation

Age 18 to 64 state waterfowl validation,
federal migratory bird hunting validation
also needed

Turkey Lottery Application Fee when
needed

Turkey spring any weapon (any permit area
and time period)

Turkey fall any weapon (any permit area and
time period)

Turkey spring any weapon (any permit area

and time period)

Turkey fall any weapon (any permit area and
time period)

Turkey spring archery or firearm (lottery)

Turkey spring archery (non-lottery, all time
periods)

Turkey fall any weapon (no lottery)
Turkey spring change area
Turkey fall change area

Adult over 18 spring surplus, (unsold lottery
permits)

Walk-In Access Hunter Validation

Voluntary donation on small game and deer
licenses, “The small game license donations.
are being paid by hunters for administration
of the Walk-In Access program”

Must obtain a free license to take big game
(code 246 ARCHERY, 247 FIREARMS,
248 MUZZLELOADER)

Deer by FIREARMS
($2 credited to deer management)

Deer by ARCHERY (50 cents is credited to
the management and monitoring account)

Deer by MUZZLELOADER
(50 cents is credited to the management
and monitoring account)

Free

$5

$23

$11.50

$7.50
$7.50

$4
Free
Free

$5

$5

$26
$26

$26
$5
$5
$26

$3

$5$3 %1

Free

$5

$5

$5
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Resident Hunting continued from page 13

DEER
continued

212

213
203
312
422

430

201
625
662
659

ELK
BEAR

674
676
643
644
642

660
664

224

697

PRAIRIE 616
CHICKEN 7

SANDHILL
CRANE

GOOSE

250

520
521
WILD RICE 331

332

Adult age 18 and over

Adult age 18 and over
Adult age 18 and over
Zone Change

Early Season
Antlerless

Bonus

Disease Management
Application
Application

Youth age 10 or over
and under 13

Youth age 10 or over
and under 13

Youth age 10 or over
and under 13

Youth age 13 or over
and under 18

Youth age 13 or over
and under 18

Youth age 13 or over
and under 18

Adult age 18 and over
Adult age 18 and over

Adult age 18 and over

Bear Bait Drum

Application
License

Permit

License
Permit

Season Permit

One-day Permit

Deer by FIREARMS

Deer by ARCHERY
Deer by MUZZLELOADER
Deer Firearms Zone Change

Deer Early Antlerless Season

Bonus Permit (of which $1goes to the
venison donation program)

Disease Management Antlerless Tag
Elk Application
Bear Application

Bear License. Must obtain a free license to
take big game.

Surplus Bear License. Must obtain a free
license to take big game

No Quota Bear License. Must obtain a free
license to take big game

Bear License

Surplus Bear License

No Quota Bear License

Bear License (of which $1 goes to the deer/
bear management accounts)

Surplus Bear License (of which $1goes to
the deer/bear management accounts)

No Quota Bear License (of which $1goes to
the deer/bear management accounts)

Surcharge ($5 per drum)

Prairie Chicken Application
Prairie Chicken License

Sandhill Crane Permit

Goose during a special season
Light Goose during a special season spring

Wild Rice Season Harvest for age 18 and
older

Wild Rice One-day Harvest for age 18 and
older

$34

$34
$34
$5
$8.50

$18

$2.50
$4
$4

Free

Free

Free

$5

$5

$5

$44

$44

$44

$5
$4
$23
$3

$4
$2.50
$25

$15
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Nonresident Hunting

APPRENTICE
Validation

WALK-IN
ACCESS

SMALL GAME
and TRAPPING
(Nonresident)

TURKEY
(Nonresident)

199

190

146

206

221

145

207

600

594

593

602

656

611

608

651

639

597

614

Born after
12/31/79,
age 12 or over

Access Validation
ALL ages

Youth under age
16 Annual

Youth age 16 or
over and under 18
Annual

Adult age 18 or
over Annual

Adult age 18 or
over Consecutive
72-hour

Trapping

Adult Lottery
Application

Youth under age 13
Youth under age 13

Youth age 13 or
over and under 18

Youth age 13 or
over and under 18

Adult age 18 or
over

Adult age 18 or
over

Adult age 18 or
over

Change Area
Adult

Change Area
Adult

Turkey Surplus
Spring

Validation to allow an individual to hunt
small game, bear, and deer without having
completed hunter education firearms
safety, must purchase additional required
licenses. Limited to two in a lifetime

Walk-In Access Hunter Validation

Small Game License

Small Game License

Small Game License

($6.50 surcharge wildlife lands plus $5 for

Walk-In Access program)

Small Game License
(72-hour state waterfowl and pheasant
stamps included)

Trapping (landowner only)

Turkey Lottery Application Fee when
needed

Turkey Spring Archery or Firearm
(any permit area and time period)

Turkey Fall Archery or Firearm
(any permit area and time period)

Turkey Spring Archery or Firearm
(any permit area and time period)

Turkey Fall Archery or Firearm
(any permit area and time period)

Turkey Spring Archery or Firearm
($91 plus $5 Walk-In Access surcharge)

Turkey Spring Archery Only
($91 plus $5 Walk-In Access surcharge)
(non-lottery, all time periods)

Turkey Fall
($91 plus $5 Walk-In Access surcharge)
(no lottery)

Turkey Fall Change Area

Turkey Spring Change Area/Season
License

Adult over 18 Unsold Lottery Tags
($91 plus $5 Walk-In Access surcharge)

$3.50

$3

Not
Required

$5

$102

$75

$84

$4

Free
Free

$5

$5

$96

$96

$96

$5

$5

$96

continued
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Nonresident Hunting continued from page 15

DEER
(Nonresident)

247

231

230

236

222

223

237

322
423
431

201

BEAR
(Nonresident)

662

659

674

676

646

647

645

661

667
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Youth age 10 and
over and under 13

Youth age 13 or
over and under 18

Youth age 13 or
over and under 18

Youth age 13 or
over and under 18

Adult age 18 or
over

Adult age 18 or
over

Adult age 18 or
over

Zone Change
Early Antlerless

Bonus

Disease
Management

Application

Youth age 10 or
over and under 13

Youth age 10 or
over and under 13

Youth age 10 or
over and under 13

Youth age 13 or
over and under 18

Youth age 13 or
over and under 18

Youth age 13 or
over and under 18

Adult age 18 or
over

Adult age 18 or
over

Must obtain a license to take big
game

Deer Firearms

Deer Archery

Deer Muzzleloader

Deer Firearms
(Includes $5 Walk-In Access
surcharge)

Deer Archery
(Includes $5 Walk-In Access
surcharge)

Deer Muzzleloader
(Includes $5 Walk-In Access
surcharge)

Deer Firearms Zone Change
Deer Early Antlerless Season
Bonus Permit

($1 venison donation)

Disease Management
Antlerless Tag

Bear Application

Bear License. Must obtain a free
license to take big game.

Surplus Bear License. Must

obtain a free license to take big
game.

No Quota Bear License. Must
obtain a free license to take big
game.

Bear License

Surplus Bear License

No Quota Bear License

Bear License
($1deer and bear management $5 Walk-In
Access surcharge)

Surplus Bear License
($1deer and bear management $5 Walk-In
Access surcharge)

Free

$5

$5

$5

$185

$185

$185

$5
$45
$91
$2.50
$4

Free

Free

Free

$5

$5

$5

$230

$230

888-MINNDNR



Nonresident Hunting continued from page 16

225  Adult age 18 or No Quota Bear License $230
over ($1 goes to deer and bear management
$5 Walk-In Access surcharge)
RACCOONor 228 License Raccoon or Bobcat $183
BOBCAT ($1 deer and bear management
(Nonresident) plus $5 for Walk-In Access

program) Small game license
also required.

SPECIAL 520 License Goose during a special season $4
GOOSE 521

5 Permit Light Goose during a special $2.50
(Nonresident)

season spring

WILD RICE 333 One-day Permit ~ Wild Rice One-day Harvest for $30
(Nonresident) all ages.
Buy early

Avoid delays by buying hunting and fishing licenses far ahead of deadlines. Fishing
and hunting licenses are available at the DNR building during the State Fair.

Where to buy

DNR’s Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses through 1,500 license
agents in Minnesota, on the DNR website at www.mndnr.gov/buyalicense or by
calling 888-665-4236.

Lifetime license

Lifetime license application forms are available online or by calling the DNR
Information Center at 888-MINNDNR. Lifetime sports or small game license holders
who plan to trap are required to have a free trapping endorsement on their renewal.

Online purchase of tags

Licenses that come with a tag may be purchased online. However, tags must be
received by the licensee through the mail prior to participating in the activity.
Licenses with tags may not be purchased on a mobile device.

Harvest Information Program (HIP) certification is required for resident and
non-resident migratory bird or waterfowl hunters.

Have You Moved or Has Your Driver’s License Number Changed?
If you have recently moved, please request the license agent to update your
address when you purchase your license. If your driver’s license number or
name has changed, please contact the DNR License Center at 877-348-0498
or 651-297-1230.

Advanced Hunter Education Clinics and Seminars

Did you know that the DNR offers a number of clinics and seminars for adults
and youth? It’s a great way to learn about biology and behavior of certain
game species, brush up on skills or become an instructor. For class offerings or
instructor training go to www.mndnr.gov and click on Education/Safety.

License Requirements 17



Lifetime Hunting Resident Individual

Lifetime Sports RENEWAL 413

Lifetime Sports Purchase

Lifetime Small Game 412

RENEWAL

Lifetime Small Game Purchase

Lifetime Deer Hunting 414 Firearm

RENEWAL 410 Archery
409 Muzzle

Lifetime Deer Hunting
Purchase

Frequently Asked Questions About Hunting Licenses

When do | need a hunting license?

One Angling, one
Small Game

Age 3 and under
Age 4 to age 15
Age 16 to age 50
Age 51and over

One Small Game

Age 3 and under
Age 4 to age 15
Age 16 to age 50
Age 51 and over

Deer

Age 3 and under

Age 4 to age 15
Age 16 to age 50
Age 51and over

No charge

$522
$710
$927
$603
No charge

$223
$301
$430
$274
No charge

$458

$607
$741
$528

« A person may not take, buy, sell, transport, or possess protected wild animals
without a license, except as provided in this booklet.
» You are required to have your license in your possession while hunting or
traveling to and from your hunting location.
« If you are ticketed for not having your license in possession, producing your
license later will keep you from having to pay a fine.

| purchased the wrong deer license, can | change it?
Yes. A person who has purchased a regular or lifetime firearm deer license and wishes
to change their season option (A or B) must submit their original license and tags
before the season of the original license opens. There is a fee of $5 (plus a $1issuing
fee) for any change. Replacement licenses are available from any ELS license agent.

« Youth hunters may also change from a regular firearms deer license to a youth

deer license, if they purchased the incorrect license.
« Archery licenses including lifetime licenses may be changed to firearm or
muzzleloader licenses prior to the beginning of archery season. There is a fee of

$5 (plus a $1issuing fee).

« Regular firearm licenses including lifetime licenses may be changed to a

muzzleloader or archery license prior to the beginning of the firearm season.

There is a fee of $5 (plus a $1issuing fee).
18 2019 Minnesota Hunting Regulations
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Do I need my social security number?
Yes. All persons must have their social security number on file with DNR.

How long is my license valid?
Hunting licenses are valid during legal seasons between March 1and the last day
of February.

Can | purchase a deer license after the start of a deer season?
Yes, but it may not be valid immediately. See page 69 for additional information.

Is my license valid if | hunt a lake that borders another state or province?
Persons acting under a Minnesota hunting or trapping license may only take wild
animals on the Minnesota side of the border.

What if | lose or can’t find my license?
You can go to any license agent and have them print a duplicate license. The fee is
$5.75 for a Big Game License and $2.50 for all others.

Can| get a refund if | don’t use my license?

Generally, license sales are final. A refund can only be issued if the licensee is unable
to participate due to active military duty, cancelled military leave or death prior to
opening of the season.

You may also request a refund if:

+ You bought two licenses for the same season.
+ You bought a license that wasn’t required to participate in the activity.

The request for a refund must be received within 90 days of the original license
purchase.

Questions About Firearm Safety Certificates

Do | need a firearms safety certificate?

If you were born after December 31,1979, you must have a firearms safety
certificate to purchase a license to hunt with a firearm.

See page 34 for youth requirements and exceptions.

If you are on active duty and completed basic training in the U.S. Armed Forces,
Reserves, or National Guard you may purchase a license or obtain approval
that authorizes hunting without possessing a firearms safety certificate. Once
discharged, you must obtain a firearms safety certificate.

A replacement for a lost or destroyed firearms safety certificate can be
obtained at any ELS license agent for $3.50.

A permit to carry does not meet requirements for firearms safety.

Firearms safety certificates are required for archery hunters ages 12-15.

| want to try hunting, but | don’t have a firearms safety certificate. How can | go?
» The apprentice hunter validation is a short-term exclusion to the requirement
for completing hunter firearms safety training that can be purchased where
hunting licenses are sold. The validation may be purchased in two license years
in a lifetime. The apprentice hunter must also obtain all applicable licenses
and stamps.

; License Requirements 19
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I want to try hunting, but | don’t have a firearms safety certificate. How can | go?

continued from page 19

+ People who use an apprentice hunter validation must be within sight and hearing
distance of an adult who has a valid license to hunt the same species of game.
The accompanying adult may not use an apprentice hunter validation.

+ When hunting turkey or prairie chicken, the accompanying adult must be
licensed for the same season, but may be licensed for another permit area or
time period. If the accompanying adult is not licensed for the same permit area
or time period, the accompanying adult may not shoot or possess a firearm

or bow.

What is a resident?

+ To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence in Minnesota
for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a license.

+ Residents 21 years of age or older must provide a current Minnesota driver's
license or Minnesota public safety ID card or have a receipt for an application
for a Minnesota driver's license or Minnesota public safety ID that is at least 60

days old.

« Anonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident is considered

aresident.

What is a nonresident?
A nonresident is anyone who does not
meet the definition of a resident.

What licenses do nonresidents need?
» Anonresident under age 18 may
obtain a small game license at the

resident fee if the nonresident
possesses a firearms safety
certificate.

Nonresidents under age 16 are not
required to possess a small game
license.

A nonresident under age 14 must be
accompanied by a parent or guardian
to take small or big game.
Nonresidents may trap in Minnesota
only on their own land and with a
nonresident trapping license.
Nonresidents may not take raccoon
or bobcat without a nonresident

Furbearer Hunting License and a
nonresident Small Game License.
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What if I'm not a state resident but am a full-time student at a Minnesota school,
college or university?

By showing a fee statement and providing proof you live in Minnesota during the
school year, you may purchase a small game, deer or bear license at the

resident rate.

What if I'm a foreign exchange student residing with Minnesota residents?
By showing proof, you may purchase a deer or bear license at the resident rate.

Frequently Asked Questions About Licenses for Military Personnel
What if I'm a resident in the military stationed outside the state?

You may hunt small game without a license while on leave. You also do not need

a Minnesota Waterfowl Stamp or Pheasant Stamp but must have a Federal Duck
Stamp to hunt waterfowl. You may hunt deer, bear, and wild turkeys without charge
after obtaining the appropriate licenses and tags by presenting official leave papers
to a license agent. Deer bonus permits may be purchased. You must carry proof of
residency and official leave papers while hunting. Residents must possess a current
Minnesota driver's license or public safety identification.

What if I'm not a state resident but am the spouse of a Minnesota resident on active
military duty?

By showing proof, you may purchase hunting licenses at the resident rate.

What if I'm a resident home on leave or have been discharged from active service
outside the country in the past 24 months?

» You may take small game and fish without a license. Discharged residents must
carry proof of residency and official discharge papers. Any required tags may be
obtained at no fee.

« You are eligible for a free deer license, valid for a deer of either sex, except in
bucks-only areas. Eligibility is limited to one deer license per person. Discharged
residents must provide a current Minnesota driver’s license or public safety
identification card and a copy of their official discharge papers.

What if | have a 100 percent service-related disability?
Residents may obtain a free small game license and one free firearms, muzzleloader
or archery deer license from an ELS license agent (state stamps not required).

What if I'm a nonresident active National Guard?
A nonresident active member of Minnesota's National Guard may obtain a resident
license to take fish or game. This does not apply to elk.
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STAMPS

Are stamps required to hunt ducks and pheasants?

Yes, for most hunters. Those who do not need pheasant or state waterfowl
stamps include:

Residents with a super sports license (state stamp validations included in
the license).

Residents and nonresidents hunting with a 72-hour license (state stamps
not needed).

Residents on military leave.

Resident 100% service disabled veterans with disability veteran hunting licenses.
Residents and nonresidents hunting on commercial shooting preserves.
Residents and nonresidents that are exempt from small game license
requirements (see page 40).

Residents hunting pheasants on the land where they live.

Residents and nonresidents hunting waterfowl on their own property.
Stamps are not required for hunters age 15 and under.

State Pheasant Stamp (Validation Requirements by Age)
16-17 years old: resident-not required, nonresident-not required
18-64 years old: resident-required, nonresident-required

65 and over years old: resident-not required, nonresident-required

State Waterfowl Stamp (Validation Requirements by Age)

Required for residents and nonresidents age 16 or older

Federal Waterfowl Stamp (Validation Requirements by Age)
16-17 years old: resident-required, nonresident-required

18-64 years old: resident-required, nonresident-required

65 and over years old: resident-required, nonresident-required

Federal Waterfowl Stamps can be purchased at post offices or license agents.
Electronically issued Federal Duck Stamps are available at all of Minnesota’s 1,500
electronic license vendors, beginning July 1. An electronically-issued federal stamp
is valid for 45 days. Pictorial stamps, when received by mail, must be signed and in
the possession of the hunter.
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GENERAL HUNTING INFORMATION

The following are general hunting regulations. Regulations for specific game
species follow.

How do | legally transport my firearm?
A person may not transport a firearm, including a handgun, in or on a motor vehicle
unless the firearm is:
+ unloaded and fastened in a case so that no part of the firearm is exposed
(a holster is not a legal case);
« unloaded and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or
« carried under a permit to carry a pistol or handgun.

Under the following circumstances, a person may transport unloaded, uncased
firearms (excluding pistols) in a motor vehicle, including ATVs:
- while at a shooting range with permission.
« while lawfully hunting on private or public land or while travelling to or from a
site the person intends to hunt or trap or has lawfully hunted that day.

Firearms must be transported unloaded and cased:

within Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties.

within the boundaries of a home rule, charter, or statutory city with a population
of 2,500 or more.

on school grounds.

as otherwise restricted in game refuges, shining, thermal imaging or night
vision laws.

What does “unloaded” mean?

Unloaded means a firearm without ammunition in the barrels or magazine, if the
magazine is in the firearm. A flintlock ignition is unloaded if it does not have priming
powder in a pan. A percussion ignition muzzleloader is unloaded if it does not have

a percussion cap on a nipple.

Can | shoot from my vehicle?
No person may take a wild animal with a firearm or bow from a motor vehicle,
except hunters with a disability permit. See page 26.

How do | legally transport my bow?
Archery bows and crossbows may be transported uncased in a motor vehicle but the
bow cannot be armed with a bolt or arrow.

Can | hunt with a handgun?
+ Persons age 18 or older may carry a handgun to hunt or target shoot.
+ Persons under age 18 who meet firearms safety requirements (see page 33) may
carry handguns for hunting under the supervision of a parent or guardian.

continued
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Can | hunt with a handgun? continued from page 23

+ Unless licensed to carry a weapon under the Minnesota Personal Protection Act,
a person may not possess a firearm while bow hunting for deer.

« A person may take bear and elk by archery while in possession of a firearm.

« Persons with a permit to carry a weapon under the Minnesota Personal
Protection Act may carry their handguns uncased and loaded while hunting
and while traveling to or from hunting locations by motor vehicle.

Who can hunt with a crossbow?

Persons age 60 and over with a valid archery license may take deer or turkey
during the respective regular archery seasons.

Persons hunting under a regular firearms license may take deer, bear or turkey
with a crossbow during the respective regular firearms seasons.

Disabled persons with a valid permit and archery license may also hunt with
crossbows or use a bow with a mechanical device that draws, releases, or holds
the bow at full draw. See page 60.

Otherwise, a person may not hunt with or possess a crossbow in a motor vehicle
during any hunting season unless it is not armed with a bolt or arrow.

If I’'m not hunting deer, can | possess a firearm during the
deer season?
No person may possess a firearm or ammunition outdoors five days before the
firearms deer opener and ending the second day after the close of the season where
deer may be taken by firearms, except:
« A person hunting big game with a valid firearms big game license in possession.
« Possession is also legal under these conditions:
> An unloaded firearm that is cased or in a closed trunk of a motor vehicle.
> A shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller.
> A handgun or rifle with .22 caliber short, long, or long rifle, magnum or
17 caliber rimfire cartridges.
> Handguns by a person with a permit to carry a weapon under the Minnesota
Personal Protection Act.
> On a target range or under a target range permit issued by a
conservation officer.
This section does not apply to the muzzleloader season. Muzzleloaders legal for
deer, may be possessed afield, only by persons with a muzzleloader or firearms deer
license during that season.

What do “taking” and “possession” mean for hunters?

“Taking” means pursuing, shooting, killing, capturing, trapping, snaring, angling,
spearing, or netting wild animals; or placing, setting, drawing, or using a net, trap,
or other device to take wild animals. Taking also includes attempting to take wild

animals or assisting another person in taking wild animals.
continued
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What do “taking” and “possession” mean for hunters?

continued from page 24

“Possession” means game animals are in a person’s possession whether on hand,
in cold storage, in transport, or elsewhere.

What are protected animals?
Protected animals are all birds and mammals that may be taken as authorized during
established hunting seasons.

Nongame bird species

Most bird species, including bobwhite quail, swans, hawks, owls, eagles, herons,
bitterns, cormorants, loons and grebes may not be taken. Only designated game
birds during open hunting seasons and unprotected birds may be taken.

Crows
« Crows may be taken without a license in season or at any time when they are
doing or are about to do damage.
« Electronic calls or sounds may be used for crow hunting.
« Crows may be taken with a legal firearm (shotgun not larger than 10 gauge, rifle,
or handgun), bow and arrow, or by falconry.

Mammals
+ All mammals for which hunting seasons are established in these regulations are
protected mammals, but may be taken as authorized.
« There is no open season on caribou, antelope, lynx, wolverine, cougar, wolf,
moose or spotted skunk (“civet cat”).
« A person may not export or import a live coyote into the state unless authorized
by the Commissioner.

Taking protected species
All protected species must be killed before being removed from the site where taken.

What are unprotected animals?

» Unprotected birds including house sparrows, starlings, common pigeons,
Eurasian collared dove, chukar partridge, quail, other than northern bobwhite,
and monk parakeets may be taken at any time.

Unprotected mammals include: coyotes, plains pocket gophers, porcupines,
striped skunks. Mammals for which there are no closed seasons or other protec-
tion are also unprotected.

Unprotected birds and mammals may be taken in any manner, except with the aid
of artificial lights or by using a motor vehicle to drive, chase, run over, or kill the
animal.

Poisons may be used only when the safety of humans and animals is ensured and
in accordance with state and federal restrictions.

Do I need a license to hunt unprotected species?

No. Residents and nonresidents are not required to have a license to hunt
unprotected species including coyote. Nonresidents do not need a furbearer
hunting license in addition to their small game license to hunt fox. Nonresidents
may trap only on land they own in Minnesota with nonresident trapping and small
game licenses.
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HUNTING WITH DISABILITIES

| have a disability. Can | get a special permit to hunt from a vehicle?
Yes. A disabled person who has the appropriate permit may take a wild animal with
a firearm or by archery from a motor vehicle.

What does the permit allow?

Except in bucks-only areas, a disabled person with a permit to shoot from a
stationary motor vehicle may take a deer of either sex without an antlerless
permit. Other members of the hunting party may not shoot antlerless deer for the
disabled person.

How do | get a permit?

Permits to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may be issued by DNR
Enforcement to a person who has a permanent physical disability that is more
substantial than discomfort from walking.

Who qualifies for permits?

The permit recipient must: be unable to step from a vehicle without aid of a
wheelchair, crutches, braces, or other mechanical support or prosthetic device; or
be unable to walk any distance because of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal
disease that requires the person to use supplemental oxygen to assist breathing.

Do | need to get my disability verified to get a permit?

Yes. The permanent disability must be verified in writing by a licensed physician,
certified nurse practitioner or certified physician’s assistant acting under the
direction of a licensed physician or chiropractor. In addition to providing the medical
evidence, the applicant must possess a valid disability parking certificate or license
plates issued by the Department of Public Safety.

How do | apply?
Permit applications are available online at www.mndnr.gov/licenses/special or from
any DNR regional office. See contact information on page 127.

Are there other permits or exceptions for disabled hunters?
Yes. More information is available on the following pages:
+ Crossbows, pages 60 and 78.
+ Special seasons, page 79.
« Blinds at some major Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs), page 106.
- Deer stands, Agassiz, Rydell, Minnesota Valley and Big Stone National Wildlife
Refuge, pages 120-122.

Find a list of the newest wildlife management areas and additions to existing wildlife
management areas on the DNR's WMA web page at: mndnr.gov/wmas, then select
the "New WMAs" link.

How are all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) defined?

For the purposes of these regulations as all vehicles not requiring Minnesota
Department of Public Safety licensing, including trail bikes, 3-wheelers, 4-wheelers,
6-wheelers, tracked vehicles, and other similarly manufactured or homemade
vehicles.
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What are the restrictions on using off-highway vehicles (OHV) and
all-terrain vehicles (ATV)?

A person may not intentionally operate an OHV:

in most wildlife management areas, a state park, or a scientific and natural area,
except as authorized in this booklet;

in unfrozen public waters (lakes, rivers, streams and certain wetlands), or in
calcareous fens;

on a trail on public land that is designated or signed for non-motorized use only;
on areas within public lands that are posted or where gates or other clearly visible
structures are placed to prevent unauthorized motorized vehicle access; or

to shoot at a wild animal from an OHV.

Are there special restrictions on off-highway vehicle use during

deer season?

To reduce disturbance during the prime deer hunting times, operation of off-highway
vehicles and snowmobiles is restricted during the regular firearms deer season:

Licensed deer hunters
Licensed deer hunters must not operate an off-highway vehicle or snowmobile on
public or private property in an area where their license is valid except:

+ Before legal shooting hours (% hour before sunrise).

« From 11 a.m. until 2 p.m.

« After legal shooting hours (s hour after sunset).

+ On property they own.

+ On private property with the landowner’s permission.

» Under a permit issued by a conservation officer in an emergency or other

unusual situation.

Motor vehicles licensed for and being operated on public highways, or farm tractors
being used for agricultural purposes, are exempt from this restriction.

Recreational off highway vehicle (OHV) riders
During the A deer season, OHV trails and routes on state forest lands are closed to
ALL recreational off-highway vehicle riding (ATV, OHM, and ORV and snowmobiles)
where deer may be taken by rifle (see fold-out deer season map):

+ Series 100 permit areas—November 9-24

+ Portions of Series 200 permit areas—November 9-17

+ Forest roads remain open to OHV use.

OHYV operation in parks, refuges, and other managed areas

ATVs and snowmobiles are not allowed in state parks, national wildlife refuges

(see page 120), scientific and natural areas, or most wildlife management areas

(see page 101). ATV use is regulated in state and national forests. (See rules on using
public lands, pages 113-119.)

Additional regulations on OHV operation can be found on the following pages:
« OHV operation on WMAs, pages 105-106
« OHV operation on state forests, pages 113-115
+ Motor vehicles on federal lands, pages 120-125
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When can | train my dog on public land?

Dogs may not be trained on DNR administered lands from April 16 to July 14. At
other times a person training a dog afield and carrying a firearm may only have blank
cartridges and shells in possession when the season is not open for any game bird,
except by permit.

Dogs Pursuing Big Game

No persons may allow their dog to chase or kill big game.

Between January 1 and July 14, a dog that is observed wounding, killing, or pursuing
in a way that endangers big game may be killed by any person. A peace officer or
conservation officer may kill a dog that endangers big game at any time of the year.
The officer or person is not liable for damages for killing the dog.

Be aware of other hunters

Other hunting seasons are open before, during, and after the deer season. Many
hunters use dogs to hunt upland game, waterfowl, rabbits, raccoons, foxes, and
coyotes. Dogs may not be shot if seen pursuing big game during the fall hunting
seasons, except by a conservation or peace officer.

Hunting While Under the Influence

You may not hunt or be afield with a loaded or uncased firearm or an uncased bow
while under the influence of a controlled substance or with a blood-alcohol level of
.08 or higher.

Wanton Waste
A person may not wantonly waste or destroy a usable part of a protected wild
animal.

Can | use wireless devices to take game?

» No. Using walkie talkies, cell phones, remote control or other radio equipment,
including drones, to take big game or small game is unlawful.

+ A person may use radio equipment without a permit to take unprotected
wild animals.

» Dog training collars are allowed.

+ Motorized decoys controlled by remote may be used for taking migratory
waterfowl or mourning doves where allowed.

« Aremote controlled animal noise caller can be used for crows, furbearing
animals and unprotected animals.

continued
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Game for Consumption at Fund Raising Events

Nonprofit organizations may charge a fee for admission to fundraising events
when lawfully taken and possessed big game and small game (excluding migratory
game birds that cannot be sold under federal law), is donated to the organization
and is served for consumption on the premises where the fundraising event is held.
Records of donations must be kept for 2 years.

Can | give game | harvest as a gift?

Yes, but a receipt containing: name and address of the owner; name and address of
the recipient, date of transfer, description of the gift (for example: “Three, 1-pound
venison steaks”) and the license number must remain with the gift.

Can someone store my game or pelts for me?

Yes, but a person who stores protected wild animals for you must plainly mark the
package, in ink, with your name and address, your license number, and the number
and species in the package.

| found a car-killed animal. Can | keep it?

Yes, but you must have a permit to possess protected wild animals, including deer,
that have been killed by a vehicle. Permits are available from conservation officers
and many local law enforcement agencies. See page 128 for contact information.

Hunter/Trapper Harassment Prohibited

A person may not prevent or disrupt another person from taking or preparing to
take a wild animal. A person may not disturb wild animals with the intent to prevent
or disrupt another person from hunting. Placing bait for the purpose of preventing
or disrupting another person from lawfully hunting deer would be considered
unlawful under the hunter harassment laws.

What parts of animals may legally be bought or sold?
A person may possess, transport, buy, or sell these parts of lawfully taken game
animals except for migratory game birds, which cannot be bought or sold:

+ bones (including skulls) « hooves . antlers
+ sinews . teeth
+ hides . claws

In addition, the flesh of lawfully taken beaver, muskrat, raccoon, rabbits, and hares
may be bought, sold, and transported at any time.

A person may not sell bear meat or organs, including bear gall bladders, and may not
sell bear paws unless attached to the hide.

Who can legally buy and sell pelts?

A hunter or trapper may sell the pelts of lawfully taken furbearers only to a licensed
fur buyer. A person may not buy raw furs without a fur buyer’s license, except a fur
manufacturer or licensed taxidermist may buy raw furs from a licensed fur buyer.
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Is anyone allowed to hunt outside of state established deer seasons?
Indian bands may be hunting big game by firearms before and after state
firearms seasons.

+ Members of the Fond du Lac band may hunt big game from late September until
mid-December in the 1854 ceded territory (Cook, Lake, eastern and southern
St. Louis, most of Carlton, and extreme northern Pine counties).

+ Members of bands signatory to the 1837 Treaty (east-central Minnesota from
Pine and Chisago counties west to the Mississippi River) may hunt deer after
Labor Day through December.

What should | do if there’s an accidental shooting?

A person who shoots and injures another person with a firearm, or believes that
another person might be injured, and any witnesses to a shooting, must immediately
investigate the extent of the person’s injuries and give reasonable assistance,
including calling law enforcement or medical personnel to the scene.

Can | legally use lights to look at deer?

With a firearm or bow

A person may not cast artificial light onto a highway or into a field, woodland, or
forest to locate or take a wild animal while possessing either individually or as one
of a group, a firearm, bow or other implement that could be used to take big game,
small game or unprotected species.

Shining lights generally

Shining is allowed for two hours after sunset without a firearm, bow or other
implement to take wild animals. From two hours after sunset until sunrise, no person
may cast artificial light on a highway or into a field or forest to locate a wild animal.

A person may not cast artificial light on land that is marked with signs prohibiting
the shining of lights. The signs must: 1) display letters that are at least 2 inches

in height and state “no shining” or similar terms; and 2) be placed at intervals of
500 feet or less along the boundary of an area.

A person may not cast an artificial light onto fenced agricultural land or a residential
property or building sites from a motor vehicle.

Exceptions
Without a firearm or a bow, a person who is on foot may use a handheld artificial
light to retrieve wounded or dead big game animals.

A person taking raccoons or tending traps in accordance with all other regulations in
this booklet. See pages 41 and 49.

A person hunting for coyote or fox from January 1 - March 15 may use an artificial
handheld light under all of the following conditions:

+ While on foot and not within a public right of way

+ Using a shotgun

» Using a calling device

+ Not within 200 feet of a vehicle

continued
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Exceptions continued from page 30

It is not a violation of this law to use laser range finders or shine lights without a
firearm while doing any activity not related to spotting, locating or taking a wild
animal. It is also not a violation to use an electronic range finder from one-half hour
before sunrise until one-half hour after sunset while lawfully hunting wild animals.

Can | use night vision equipment when hunting?

A person may not possess any kind of night vision or thermal imaging equipment
while taking wild animals or while possessing a firearm, bow, or other implement that
could be used to take wild animals.

This regulation does not apply to:
. afirearm that is unloaded, cased, and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or
+ a bow that is cased or unstrung, and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle.
3 « NEW—A person legally taking coyote or fox.

If the vehicle does not have a trunk, the firearm or bow must be placed in the
rearmost location of the vehicle.

Can | use a drone when hunting?

Drones cannot be used to take big game or small game. It is also illegal to harass
hunters, trappers or anglers with a drone. No person may use aircraft (including
drones) over a WMA in a manner that chases, herds, scares, or otherwise disturbs
wildlife, except in emergencies or by authorization of the wildlife manager.

Enforcement

+ DNR conservation officers and other peace officers may arrest, without a
warrant, any person detected in the actual violation of wildlife, fish, or water
laws and may enter any lands to carry out these duties.
No person may hinder, resist, or obstruct an enforcement officer or authorized

DNR agent in the performance of official duties.

A person must allow inspection in the field of firearms, licenses, wild animals,
motor vehicles, boats, or other conveyances used while taking or transporting
wild animals.

Wild animals that are unlawfully taken, bought, sold or possessed may be seized
and confiscated. The person may be liable for wildlife restitution in addition to
criminal fines. Personal property such as firearms, traps and archery equipment
that were unlawfully used may be seized and confiscated.

Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration

Minnesota’s rich outdoor heritage is enjoyed by all. When you purchase arifle,
ammunition, archery equipment, and other sporting gear, you pay a federal excise
tax and import duties. Since 1937, this money has been collected by the federal
government and redistributed to the states using a formula based on hunting
license sales and the state’s land area. These funds support projects, c&
habitat management, Wildlife Management Areas, technical guidance, fﬁ )
population management, wildlife inventory and surveys, wildlife land i %ﬁ
acquisition, and hunter education, recruitment and retention. Sropss©
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BLAZE CLOTHING REQUIREMENTS

+ Hunter safety is a top priority. Blaze clothing has been found to be one factor

that has helped make hunting one of the safest sports/activities.

« All hunters and trappers in the field during the open firearms/muzzleloader deer

seasons must display blaze orange or pink on the visible portion of the person’s
cap and outer clothing above the waist, excluding sleeves and gloves.

+ When no firearms/muzzleloader deer season is open, a person may not take

small game unless the visible portion of at least one article of clothing above the
waist is blaze orange or pink. See exceptions noted below.

« Blaze orange or pink camouflage patterns are allowed and must be at least

50 percent blaze orange or pink within each square foot.

Exceptions during a firearms/muzzleloader deer season
+ Area open only to archery hunting (no firearms hunting allowed)
+ Hunting migratory waterfowl while on the water or in a stationary location
+ Trapping while on the water

Exceptions when no firearms/muzzleloader deer
season is open

Taking small game while archery deer hunting in
a stationary location

Hunting turkey

Hunting migratory birds

Hunting raccoons and predators (coyote,
fox, bobcat)

Trapping furbearers

Hunting small game by falconry

Hunting bear

SEASON DATE

Archery Sept. 14 - Dec. 31
Firearm Option Statewide (A) 100 Series Nov. 9 - 24
Firearm Option Statewide (A) 200 Series Nov. 9 -17
Firearm Option Statewide (A) 300 Series Nov. 9 - 17
Firearm Option Late Southeast (B) 300 Series Nov. 23 - Dec. 1
Muzzleloader Nov. 30 - Dec. 15
Metro Deer Management Zone (701) Statewide (A) or Late Nov. 9 - Dec. 1
Season (B) firearms license
North Central CWD (604) Statewide (A) or Late Season (B) Nov. 9 - 24
firearms license (See pages 63 and 64)
Southeast CWD (643, 645, 646, 647, 648, 649, 655) Nov. 9 - 17 and
Statewide (A) or Late Season (B) firearms license (See pages ~ Nov. 23 - Dec. 1
63 and 64)

3 NEW—Youth Season open statewide (see page 35) Oct. 17 - 20
Early Antlerless Season (see page 74) Oct. 17 - 20
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YOUTH HUNTING

(RESIDENTS AND NONRESIDENTS)

Youth Hunting Licenses

Free or reduced price individual youth licenses are available for residents and
nonresidents under age 18 for firearms deer, archery deer, muzzleloader deer, and
small game. See pages 12-18. The individual youth firearms license is valid during the
Youth Deer Season and the Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B) seasons but not
the Muzzleloader Season. There is an issuing fee associated with licenses, including
some that are free.

Youth Antlerless Privilege in Lottery Deer Areas

Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 may take a deer of either sex

in lottery deer areas without having to apply for or obtain an either-sex permit.
Youth age 10 to 17 should not apply for an either-sex permit. Only the youth licensee
may take and tag an antlerless deer in a lottery area without an either-sex permit.
Other members of the hunting party cannot take antlerless deer for the youth.
Youth may not tag antlerless deer taken by another individual. Youth hunters must
take and tag their own antlerless deer. There is no youth antlerless privilege in
bucks-only deer areas.

YOUTH FIREARMS SAFETY TRAINING
REQUIREMENTS

Demand for firearms safety training classes is high, and many classes fill very rapidly
or have waiting lists. Finding a class well in advance of the hunting season is highly
recommended. Youth may attend a class at age 11. Information on classes can be
found online at www.mndnr.gov.

Firearms safety training certificate requirements by age:

9 years old and younger: not required

10 years old: not required

11 years old: not required

12 years old: required for big game, turkey; not required for small game
13 years old: required

14 and 15 years old: required

16 and 17 years old: required

« Firearms safety certificates are required for archery hunters ages 12-15
« Apprentice hunter validation available in lieu of firearm safety certificate
(see page 19)
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YOUTH FIREARMS LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
Big Game

Free or reduced price hunting and trapping licenses may be available for youth 17
and younger. See pages 12-18.

Age 9 and younger:

+ May not hunt
Ages 10 and 11:

« Must possess free license

» Must be within immediate reach of parent or guardian

« Parents or guardians must be licensed if assisting the youth hunter
Age 12:

+ Must possess free license

» Must be accompanied by parent or guardian

« Parents or guardians must be licensed if assisting the youth hunter
Age 13:

» Must possess reduced price youth license

» Must be accompanied by parent or guardian

« Parents or guardians must be licensed if assisting the youth hunter
Ages 14-17:

+ May hunt on own

+ Must possess a reduced price youth license

Small Game
Ages 13 and under:
» May hunt without a license
+ Must be accompanied by parent or guardian
« Parent or guardian must be licensed if assisting the youth hunter
Ages 14 and 15:
+ May hunt on own without a license
Ages 16 and 17:
« Must possess reduced price youth small game license. Stamps may be required
for some hunting seasons

Wild Turkey
Ages 12 and under:
» Must possess a reduced price youth license
» Must be accompanied by parent or guardian
+ Parent or guardian need not be licensed if they do not possess or shoot a
firearm or bow
« Parent or guardian must have a firearm safety certificate if the youth hunter
does not have one
Age 13:
» Must possess a reduced price youth license and be accompanied by parent or guardian
« Parent or guardian need not be licensed if assisting the youth hunter
Ages 14-17:
+ Must possess a reduced price youth license; may hunt on own
« Parent or guardian need not be licensed if assisting the youth hunter ~ continued
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Trapping
Ages 4 and under:
« Fisher/marten, bobcat or otter must be included in the accompanying parent or
guardian’s limit
Ages 12 and under:
+ May trap without a license
Ages 13-15:
+ Must have reduced price youth license
+ Must complete trapper education (page 47)
Ages 16-17:
+ Must have reduced price youth license
+ Must complete trapper education (page 47)
+ Must have reduced price youth small game license

*NEW—-YOUTH DEER SEASON

Youth ages 10-17 may take one either-sex deer by firearms October 17- 20
statewide, including in the Whitewater State Game Refuge. Deer permit area 287
(Itasca State Park) is not open for the youth deer season. Participant numbers are
not limited and there is no special permit.

The following regulations apply to this hunt:

An adult parent/guardian/mentor 18 or older must accompany youth ages 10-13
at all times during the hunt. The adult does not need to be licensed.

Blaze orange/pink requirements apply to all hunters, trappers and adult mentors
in areas open during this season.

The accompanying adult cannot hunt and party hunting is not allowed (youth
must tag their own deer), except during the early antlerless season with the
correct license.

Youth 12 years of age and older must have a firearms safety certificate or
apprentice hunter validation. Participating youth must possess a valid firearm
deer license. Youth age 10, 11, and 12 must possess a free license.

The bag limit is one deer only. Youth may use their regular license or a bonus
permit if they take an antlerless deer, except in “bucks only” deer permit areas.

Bucks must be tagged with the youth’s regular license.

Participation does not affect eligibility for the regular deer season; however,
the harvested deer counts against the youth’s annual statewide bag limit.

Deer permit area designations for the youth season are the same as for the
regular firearms deer season. For example, a deer permit area designated as
hunter choice during firearms season is hunter choice during the youth season.

Youth Firearms Special Deer Hunts

Applicants for youth firearms special deer hunts (see page 37) must be 12-15 years
old at the time of the hunt. Participants must have a firearms safety certificate and
must obtain a license for taking deer by firearms, valid for any zone or season option,
by the beginning date of the respective hunt. Blaze orange/pink requirements are in
effect in areas open during firearms youth deer hunts. The rifle-shotgun boundary is

in effect (see back of the fold-out deer season map).
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Youth Archery Deer Hunts

Firearms Safety Certificates are required for archery hunters ages 12-15

Applicants for special youth archery deer hunts (see page 37) must be 12-17 years old
at the time of the hunt. Hunters must obtain a license for taking deer by archery at
least one day prior to the start of the hunt.

Sand Prairie WMA (Sherburne County)
Open during the regular archery season for youths 10 through 17. Regular archery
deer rules apply.

Youth Small Game Hunts

Other Special Hunts (April)

Mentored youth and adult turkey hunts are tentatively scheduled for April 2020.
Visit www.mndnr.gov/discover for information.

Youth Waterfowl Day (September)
FNEW—Youth Waterfowl Weekend will be held September 7 and 8 this year. See
2019 Waterfowl Regulations for details.

Take-a-Kid Hunting Weekend (September 21 - 22)
Adult residents accompanied by a youth under age 16 may hunt small game without a
license, according to regulations.

Learn to Hunt Upland Birds

Partnering with Pheasants Forever, the DNR is offering “Learn To” upland bird hunts
to introduce youth, adults and families to upland bird hunting. Applications will be
available through early September online at www.mndnr.gov/discover.

Sand Prairie WMA (Sherburne County)
Will be open during the spring turkey season for youths up to age 18. Regular spring
turkey regulations apply.

Learn to Hunt Waterfowl (September)
Working with Ducks Unlimited, this hands-on experience is for 12-15 year olds with
limited hunting opportunities. Apply online at www.mndnr.gov/discover.

SPECIAL YOUTH DEER HUNTS

Special youth deer hunt regulations

All participating youth must attend a mandatory orientation prior to the hunt (details
will be included in notices to successful applicants). An adult mentor, who may

not hunt, must accompany participants during the orientation and the hunt. Each
person must apply at an electronic license sales (ELS) agent or the DNR License
Center at 500 Lafayette Road in St. Paul. Group applications and party hunting are
not allowed. A drawing will be held if applications exceed available permits for each
hunt. Unsuccessful applicants will receive preference for future youth hunt lotteries
of the same type. Applicants may only apply for one youth archery hunt and one
youth firearms hunt. Participation in a youth hunt does not affect one’s eligibility to
participate in the regular deer seasons, but harvested deer count against a youth’s
annual statewide bag limit. The application deadline is August 16.
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SMALL GAME

Important Dates
« For season dates see hunting and trapping season chart, pages 43 and 44.
+ Alicense year runs from March 1 through the end of February.

What license do | need to hunt small game?

« All residents and nonresidents, 16 and older, must have a valid small game
license in possession to take small game. Residents may hunt small game
without a license on land they occupy as their principal residence. There are also
exemptions for military personnel. See page 21.

« Stamps are required to take ducks, geese and pheasants. See page 22.

» A nonresident must have a nonresident furbearer hunting license and a
nonresident small game license to take raccoon and bobcat. A nonresident
furbearer hunting license is not required to take fox and coyote. However,

a small game license is still required to take fox and other small game.

What is HIP certification?

Residents and nonresidents who hunt migratory birds—not just ducks and geese, but
woodcock, snipe, rails and mourning doves too—must become HIP-certified when
they purchase a small game or sports license. It’s free and takes a very short time.

HIP stands for Harvest Information Program, that helps biologists manage
migratory game birds. To comply, hunters must identify themselves as migratory
bird hunters and answer several questions about their hunting during last year’s
season. Please make sure you are signed up for HIP when purchasing a small game
or sports license. The license will have the words: HIP Certification.

HOW TO RELEASE A DOG FROM A BODY-GRIP TRAP

If a dog is caught in a body-grip trap you have a brief time to safely release
the animal. It is important to act as quickly as possible. We encourage dog
owners to learn more about body-gripping traps and practice the techniques
described here:

A body-grip Trigger
trap and its
parts
Safety lock
Safety lock T B e Trap identification tag

38 2019 Minnesota Hunting Regulations 888-MINNDNR



HOW TO RELEASE A DOG FROM A BODY-GRIP TRAP

Step one: Immediately squeeze both springs
and turn the trap so the jaws are not placing
pressure on the dog’s windpipe.

Step two: Compress one spring using two hands or a
setting device until you're able to fasten the safety lock
over the opposite side of each spring.

Step three: Secure the safety lock, which keeps the
spring compressed. Again, use both hands on each
spring if necessary. This relieves the pressure from one
side of the trap.

Step four: Repeat the process for the other spring.

If you cannot squeeze the springs of the trap easily, there are a number of
devices to help increase your leverage.

You can also use a leash, rope or zip ties to compress the springs:

Zip tie: Run it through the eyelets and lock the zip-tie. Pull the free end until the
spring contracts, using one hand to help compress the spring if necessary.

Rope or leash: Loop it two times through the eyelets, leaving enough on both
ends. Secure one end by either stepping on it or placing your foot through the
loop and pull the other end.

Strong nylon zip tie release kits with detailed instructions are available upon
request from the Minnesota Trappers Association at mntrappers.org. If you
purchase your own zip ties, they should have a rated strength of 175 pounds
or more.

DNR staff will demonstrate traps and release techniques to any interested
group. Contact a DNR regional headquarters office (see page 127). Similar
demonstrations are provided by the Minnesota Trappers Association
www.mntrappers.org

See a video demonstration of release techniques and learn how to avoid traps at
https://idfg.idaho.gov/hunt/trap.

Small Game
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SMALL GAME HUNTING

General Restrictions
Do I need blaze orange/pink to hunt small game?
Blaze orange/pink is required for most small game hunting. See page 32.

Party hunting for small game

A “party” is defined as a group of two or more persons maintaining unaided
visual and vocal contact with each other while taking non-migratory small game.
“Party hunting” means that members of a party may take animals for other
members’ limits. A party may lawfully take small game in accordance with the
following regulations:

+ A member of the party may take more than an individual limit, but the total
number of small game taken and possessed by the party may not exceed the
combined limits of members of the party.

- Each party member may transport only an individual limit of small game.

« Party hunting is not allowed for migratory game birds (doves, ducks, geese,
mergansers, coots, woodcock, rail, sandhill cranes, snipe, and gallinules).

Use of lead shot
» No person may take ducks, geese, mergansers, coots, sandhill cranes or gallinules
with lead shot or while having lead shot in possession.
+ Lead shot may be used statewide for hunting other small game in accordance
with firearms restrictions in this booklet, except in federal Wildlife Refuges and
Waterfowl Production Areas.

Prairie chickens

Prairie chicken licenses are allocated to Minnesota residents only by drawing for the
hunting season (September 28 - October 6). Hunters must have a prairie chicken
hunting license; no small game license is required. Applications ($4) are due Friday,
August 16.

Persons who do not have a prairie chicken license may not aid or assist prairie
chicken hunters in any way. It is illegal for someone without a prairie chicken license
to work dogs for someone with a prairie chicken license even if that person is
licensed to take other small game. However, party hunting for prairie chickens is
legal. Licensed prairie chicken hunters can shoot birds for other licensed prairie
chicken hunters as long as they are together and have not exceeded the total
number of birds allowed for the party.

Woodcock, rails, snipe, sandhill cranes and doves

« State or federal migratory waterfowl| stamps are not required to hunt woodcock,
rails, snipe, sandhill cranes, or mourning doves. Sandhill crane hunting is limited to
a northwest zone. See waterfowl regulations for details.

« Compliance with the migratory bird harvest information program is required.
See page 38.

» Shotguns used to hunt must not be capable of holding more than three shells.

+ Shooting hours for rails, snipe and sandhill cranes are %z-hour before sunrise to
sunset except September 21 - October 4 when shooting hours end at 4 p.m.
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Partridge and pheasant

A person may not shoot pheasants or Hungarian partridge with a rifle or handgun
other than a .22 caliber rimfire using short, long, or long rifle ammunition. Shotguns
used for upland birds may hold more than three shells.

Furbearers

+ A person may not disturb the burrow or den of any wild animal between
November 1and April 1, without a permit.

+ A person may not take pine marten, fisher, mink, muskrat, beaver, or otter by
firearms or archery hunting. However, a firearm may be used to dispatch an
animal already taken in a trap.

+ Foxes may be run by use of dogs during the closed season without being taken,
except from March 16 - July 14.

+ Raccoons may be run by the use of dogs during the closed season, without being
taken, and without a license.

Transportation of game birds
Game birds possessed in the field must be transported as follows:
» Except as noted, all game birds must have a fully-feathered wing attached.
« Turkey, pheasant, and Hungarian partridge may have one leg or a fully-feathered
wing attached.
» Doves may be transported fully dressed.

Raccoons

Night hunting
A person may take raccoons between % hour after sunset and % hour before
sunrise only in accordance with the following regulations:
+ Hunters must be on foot.
« Artificial lights may be used to locate, attempt to locate, or shoot a raccoon
only if the raccoon has been treed or put at bay by dogs.
+ Rifles and handguns used must be .17 or .22 caliber rimfire (including
.22 magnum).
+ Shotgun shells may not contain shot larger than No. 4 bird shot.

Other restrictions
« A person may pursue and tree raccoons with dogs, during the closed season
and without a license.
« A person may not take a raccoon in a den or hollow tree, or by cutting down a
tree occupied by a raccoon.

Fox and coyote night hunting
A person hunting for coyote or fox from January 1to March 15 may use an artificial
handheld light if they meet ALL of the following conditions—you are:

+ on foot and not within a public right-of-way,

» using a shotgun,

« using a calling device, and

» more than 200 feet from a vehicle.

Rabbits, hares and squirrels
+ Rabbits, hares, and squirrels may be taken by hunting or trapping.
+ Rabbits and hares may be run by dogs during the closed season without being

taken except from April 16 - July 14 or by permit. Smoll Gome 41



Sharp-tailed grouse area
See map for season dates
and zone boundaries.
The shaded area is closed
to sharp-tailed grouse
hunting, except for
licensed prairie chicken
hunters within their
selected zone.

Ruffed grouse West Nile virus study
Contribute to research on West Nile virus in ruffed grouse by voluntarily
submitting samples from birds you harvest. Participation involves submitting
hearts, a few feathers for sexing and aging, and blood collected on filter
strips. The location of harvest will also be requested (GPS coordinates
preferred and will not be made public). Sampling kits will be available at MN
DNR Wildlife Offices within ruffed grouse range on a first-come first-served
basis during regular office hours beginning 1 September. Contacts for
Wildlife Offices can be found at www.dnr.state.mn.us/areas/wildlife/index.
html. For more information, contact Ted Dick at ted.dick@state.mn.us or
telephone 218-395-0577, or visit www.mndnr.gov/hunting/grouse. Hunters
who drop off fully completed WNV kits and datasheets before Jan. 1 will be
entered in a drawing for prizes donated by sponsors. There is no evidence
that people can contract West Nile virus from handling or consuming

properly cooked birds.

Spruce grouse genetics study

NOI ‘ HWEST
ZONE (SEPT. 14 -
0V]30, 2019)

2019 Sharp-tailed grouse season

Legend

s

[ Open to Sharptaed Grouse
Hunting

] Gosed to Sharp-aied
Grouse Hunting

You can contribute to research on landscape connectivity for spruce

grouse by sending three to five feathers from each bird you harvest. Please
use one envelope for each bird and send feathers to Grouse Research at

1201 East Highway 2, Grand Rapids, MN 55744. Please include your name,
contact information, harvest date, and harvest location (GPS coordinates
preferred for the analysis and will not be made public) for each bird. For more
information, contact Charlotte Roy at Charlotte.roy(@state.mn.us.
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Coyote Hunters—Know Your Target

Wolf and coyote identification

Wolves have been mistakenly shot outside Minnesota’s primary wolf range because
hunters thought they were coyotes. Wolves were once restricted to the northern
part of Minnesota, but they have expanded their range and could show up in any part

of the state. Do not assume that because you are outside Minnesota’s primary wolf
range that the animal in your sights

is a coyote. Wolves and coyotes " Minnesota’s Primary
are closely related, but are well ; Wolf Range
distinguished by their difference

in size and physical characteristics.
Shooting a wolf because you think it
is a coyote is illegal and punishable
by Minnesota game and fish laws.

Photo: Jenni Bidner/Wildlife
Science Center
LJE

Gray wolf (Canis lupus) AKA—Timber wolf
Height: 30 inches average.

Length: 5% feet.

Weight: 50-110 Ibs.

Color: shades of gray or tan, sometimes black, rarely white.

Photo: USFWS
‘e?
S
e

Coyote (Canis latrans) AKA—Brush wolf

Height: 18 inches maximum.

Length: 3 feet.

Weight: 25-35 Ibs.

Color: all shades of gray, tan, buff, rarely black or white.
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Walk-In Access Program 2019-2020
Walk-In Access (WIA) provides public huntingon ~ { ™| i
private land and compensates landowners for — £
providing that access. Through WIA, more than \ =
29,000 acres of private land will be open for public
hunting at 250+ sites in western and south central
Minnesota, September 1to May 31.

Validation required: Hunters must have a Walk-In
Access Validation (ELS Privilege Code 190; $3)
to legally access WIA land. WIA Validations are
available at ELS license vendors.

The $3 fee helps monitor hunter use of WIA land.
It does not cover costs associated with purchasing access, installing boundary signs
or providing maps of the enrolled properties. The program is funded through 2019
with a grant by the Natural Resources Conservation Service, U.S. Department of
Agriculture, under number 69-3A75-16-509. Additional funding includes:

« A one-time appropriation from the Minnesota State Legislature in 2012.

+ A $5 surcharge on nonresident hunting licenses.

« Donations of $1, $3 or $5 made by hunters purchasing deer and small game licenses.

Maps available: A printable atlas of WIA sites, aerial photos of each site and
interactive maps are available online at www.mndnr.gov/walkin. Printed copies of
the WIA Atlas are available at DNR Southern Region Headquarters in New Ulm, area
DNR Wildlife offices, local Soil and Water Conservation District offices, and local
commerce and tourism outlets in the 47-county WIA area. Atlases are also available
by calling the DNR at 888-MINNDNR (646-6367). Map data may not accurately
represent the actual legal or established boundaries of public or private land. They
should be used for reference only.

Uses of WIA land:

« WIA sites are for public hunting only.

+ Motorized vehicles are not allowed on WIAs.

- Target practice, trapping, dog training, camping, horseback riding or fires are
not allowed by the public.
Individuals with a WIA validation can hunt during legal hunting hours and open
seasons from % hour before sunrise to % hour after sunset, during open hunting
seasons, with no landowner contact necessary from September 1to May 31.
The landowner retains the right to engage in, or give written permission for
another individual to engage in, those activities listed above and other limited
activities that do not impede public hunting, at any time of the year.
+ Parking is along roads or in designated parking areas—be sure vehicles do not

block field entrances.
All hunting rules and regulations apply on WIAs, and will be enforced by DNR
conservation officers.

Respect the land: Please be respectful of the land and the people who own the land.
This program depends on landowner participation to be successful. The WIA Code of
Conduct can be found at www.mndnr.gov/walkin.
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TRAPPING

Become a better trapper. Review Best Management Practices for trapping in the
United States online at: fishwildlife.org/afwa-inspires/furbearer-management.

License Requirements

All residents and nonresidents, 16 and over must have a small game and trapping
license to take small game (including furbearers) with traps. Persons may trap
without a small game license on their own land if they occupy it as their principal
residence but that person may still need a trapping license for recreational
trapping. You may trap without a small game and trapping license on land you
own or is your principle residence to remove certain animals causing damage.
Residents age 13 through 17 must have a junior trapping license and residents
age 18 through 64 must have a regular trapping license to trap. Residents age

65 and over must have a regular or reduced-fee trapping license. Residents
under age 13 do not need a trapping license.

included in the limit of the accompanying parent or guardian.

trapping and small game licenses.

have a free trapping endorsement on their renewal.

Trapper Education

Persons born after December 31,1989, who have not been issued a trapping
license in a previous license year may not obtain a trapping license without a
trapper education certificate. The Minnesota Trappers Association conducts

trapper education courses statewide, free of charge to the participants, and issue

certificates that satisfy this requirement.

Contact the MTA at www.mntrappers.org for class information. These courses
include a mandatory field training portion that must be completed before

Fisher, otter, bobcat, or pine marten taken by a resident under age 5 must be
Nonresidents may trap only on land they own in Minnesota with nonresident

Lifetime sports or small game license holders who plan to trap are required to

certification. Please plan to take courses well in advance of the fur trapping season.

If you find a dog in a trap
Other outdoor enthusiasts are afield with dogs during trapping seasons.

Trappers must set and tend traps in strict adherence to all regulations, and take
great care to avoid accidentally capturing dogs. If you find a dog in a trap, or if
your dog is caught in a trap—please contact your local conservation officer and
report the incident. Please see page 128 for information on how to locate your

local conservation officer.

Trapping
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Trap and Snare Identification

You may not set or place a trap or snare, other than on your own property, unless
the following information is affixed: 1) your driver’s license state and number; or 2)
your Minnesota identification card number; or 3) your name and mailing address; or
4) your MNDNR number.

This information must remain legible while the trap or snare is on land or in water.

From April 1 to August 31, the trap identification provisions listed above do not apply
to traps set for the taking of unprotected wild animals.

Trap Size and Design
Modified trapping regulations are in place in the lynx management zone.
See pages 53 and 54.

What does "waterset” mean?
Waterset: A body-gripping trap or snare set so the jaws or snare loop are at
least half-submerged in water.

Completely submerged waterset: A body-gripping trap or snare set so the jaws
or snare loop are completely submerged in water.

A person may not set, place, or operate:

- any foot or leghold trap with a jaw opening greater than 8% inches;

« any body-gripping trap with a jaw opening greater than 7’ inches, except as a
waterset; or I
any body-gripping trap with a jaw opening ' 7" =1
greater than 6% inches and less than 7% |
inches on public lands and waters unless the
trap meets one of the following:

> recessed 7 inches or more from

the top and front of an enclosure
(see diagram at right);
> no bait, lure or other attractants are within 20 feet of the trap; or
> the trap is elevated at least 3 feet from the ground or surface of the
snowpack.
any body-gripping trap with a jaw opening greater than 6% inches in or within
3 feet of the opening of a 6-foot wide or smaller culvert, except as a completely
submerged waterset; or
any body-gripping trap with a jaw larger than 6% inches in the road right-of-way
within 500 feet of a building occupied by human or livestock without written
permission of the landowner, except as a completely submerged waterset.

The diagram above is for illustration only. The DNR recommends cubbies
constructed so the trap is recessed at least 7 inches from all sides of the opening.
Cubbies made from natural materials that comply with regulations may also be used.
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Furbearer Zones
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Trap Setting and Tending o FURBEARER ZONE
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«+ A person may set or tend traps only L llepry/i00DWOD

from 5a.m. to 10 p.m., except opening B =

day for some species. See page 44. i
____SOUTH=-11 G5
A person on foot may use a light to set _FURBEARER ZONE
or tend traps. However, you may not =
possess a bow and arrow or a firearm
other than a handgun or rifle of .17 or
.22 caliber with short, long, or long
rifle rim fire ammunition (including
.22 magnum) while using the light.
You may not set a trap within 50 feet
of any water except temporary surface water within 30 days before the open
season for mink and muskrat.
Traps capable of capturing a protected animal and not capable of drowning it
must be tended at least once each calendar day, except body-gripping traps.
Traps capable of drowning the animal and body-gripping traps must be tended
at least once each third calendar day, except traps set under the ice. A trap may
not be left untended for more than three consecutive days (a trap set or tended
on Saturday would have to be tended again by 10 p.m. Tuesday). When a trap is
tended, any animal must be removed.
Foothold traps with a jaw spread of 4% inches or less and rat type snap traps that
are entirely in a container with an opening no more than 2 inches in height and/
or width that are designed to kill an animal need not be tended more frequently
than once every third calendar day (these are often referred to as weasel boxes).

73| MOOSE LAKE

PINE/CARLTON
COUNTY LINE
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Trap Tampering

No person may remove or tamper with a trap or snare legally set to take
furbearing or unprotected wild animals without authorization by the trapper, a
DNR agent, or the owner or lessee of the land where the trap is located.

A trapper may authorize, in writing, an agent who possesses all necessary
licenses to tend traps set by the trapper, including resetting the trap at the same
set. The agent may remove animals from a trap.

General Trapping Restrictions
Modified trapping regulations are in place in the lynx management zone.
See pages 53 and 54.

50

No trap, either set or unset, may be placed or staked, and no flag, stake, or other
device may be placed to mark or pre-empt a trapping site before the opening of
any trapping season.

During the muskrat trapping season, no flag, stake or other device may be
placed in or on a muskrat house for the purpose of marking or pre-empting a
trap site unless an operational trap is set at the site at the time it is first staked
or marked.

No person may leave any trap for a protected wild animal in place, either set or
unset, after the close of the applicable trapping season.

No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any muskrat house or den, except that
traps may be set at natural entrances to muskrat burrows and openings may be
made in muskrat houses for trapping if all material removed is wetted and used
to plug the opening.

Animals must be killed before being removed from a site.

No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any beaver house, dam, burrow, or den.
No person may set a trap inside any beaver house or upon the outside of any
beaver house above the waterline.

Mink and muskrats may not be taken by digging or with the aid of dogs.
Unattended electronic devices may not be used for taking wild animals.

No person may set or maintain any foothold trap within 20 feet of bait located
in such a way that it may be seen by soaring birds. “Bait” is any animal or animal
parts, including live or dead fish, except that small pieces of fur and feathers
may be used for flagging.

No person may take a bird with a foothold trap, except by special permit.

No person may trap beaver or otter on a state Wildlife Management Area
without a permit from the wildlife manager.
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Snaring Regulations
Snares may be used by licensed trappers for taking all species of protected wild
mammals that may be taken by the use of traps.

Snaring zones

+ In the forest zone, snares are allowed on public land and on private land with
permission of the landowner.

- In the farmland zone, snares are allowed from October 26 - March 31 (north
mink/muskrat/beaver/otter zone) and November 2 - March 31 (south mink/
muskrat/beaver/otter zone) on private land with permission from the landowner.
Snares may also be set as water sets or on the frozen surface of public waters.
Snares may not be set on public lands or waters contained in public lands, road
rights-of-way or in fence lines along road rights of way.

Use of snares
+ See maps on page 49.

Snares may be used as water sets during applicable seasons statewide.

Bears cannot be taken with snares.

The diameter of the snare loop may not exceed 10 inches.

Snare cable or wire may not have a diameter exceeding % inch.

No person may set, place, or operate a snare in a culvert, except as a completely
submerged waterset.

Snares may not be set in deer trails.

Snares may not be used with spring poles or other devices that wholly or partly

lift from the ground an animal caught in the snare.

Snares that operate with springs but do not lift the animal wholly or partially off
the ground are allowable.

No snare may be set in such a way that the top of the loop is more than 20 inches
above the first surface beneath the bottom of the set snare loop.

All snares not capable of drowning the captured animal must be tended at least
once each calendar day.

No snare set for a protected animal may be left in place after the applicable
trapping season has closed.

Site Validation Coupons for Fisher, Pine Marten and River Otter
« Site validation coupons for fisher, pine marten and river otter must be obtained
prior to trapping and are available for free upon request at license vendors.
Trappers will receive one site validation coupon for each animal they could
potentially harvest. For example, a trapper who intended to target fisher, pine
marten and river otter would receive a total of six coupons (two fisher/marten
and four river otter).

Each person age 5 or older who takes a river otter, fisher, or pine marten must
validate their site validation coupon at the site of the kill by cutting out the
appropriate notches with a sharp knife or similar sharp object. The notches
indicate the month, date, time (am/pm) and species (fisher/marten).

Site validation coupons do not need to be attached to the animal, but trappers
must have their coupons in possession while taking or transporting fisher, pine
marten or river otter. continued
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Site Validation Coupons for Fisher, Pine Marten and River Otter
continued from page 51

Fisher, river otter, bobcat or pine marten taken by a resident under age 5 must
be included in the limit of the accompanying parent or guardian. Fisher, pine
marten and river otter must be validated on one of the parent or guardian’s site
validation coupons.

Fisher, pine marten and river otter must not be removed from the kill site
without the trapper’s validated site coupon in possession. Authorized agents
may remove fisher, pine marten, and otter from the trap and the agent must
validate their own site validation coupon at and prior to removing the animal
from the site of the kill.

Site validation coupons are not transferrable. Trappers may acquire site

validation coupons at any time before or during the trapping season.
Replacements for site validation coupons that are lost or destroyed are available
upon request from any license vendor. Replacement site validation coupons are
clearly marked as replacements.

Trappers must present completed site validation coupons for each fisher, pine
marten and river otter when they present the pelts for furbearer registration.

Releasing Protected Species

Every effort should be made to avoid catching fully protected species. If possible,
a trapper should release accidentally captured protected species back into the
wild. If a fully protected species is caught out of season or a daily or possession
limit has been reached and the animal is dead in the trap or otherwise cannot

be released, you must notify a DNR conservation officer. Without authorization
from a conservation officer, a person may not possess or transport a lynx that was
accidentally killed or lawfully killed.

Furbearer Pelting and Transportation

« A person who performs a service by recovering and preserving the pelt of a
protected furbearer (except muskrat) that was accidentally killed or lawfully
killed while doing damage, may be entitled to a pelting fee of up to 50 percent
of the proceeds from the sale of the pelt not to exceed $25 per pelt. Contact
a local DNR conservation officer or regional DNR Enforcement office within
24 hours for authorization to pelt the animal.

« Pelts or unpelted furbearers that were lawfully taken may be sold only to a
licensed fur buyer.

What does "authorized agent” mean?

An individual that a trapper has authorized in writing and who possesses all
necessary licenses to tend traps set by the trapper, including resetting the trap
at the same set.
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Lynx Management Zone Regulations
Trapping regulations in

northeast Minnesota have
been modified to restrict,
modify or eliminate the
incidental take of Canada
lynx. The following
regulations apply only to
that part of Minnesota
lying east and north of
U.S. Highway 53, as shown
on the map:

1.

U.S./

\

All snare cable or wire
must be at least 5/64 Highway 53
inch in diameter when |
set on land.

. Snare loops must be at

least 8 inches in diameter and may not exceed 10 inches in diameter when set
on land.

. All foothold traps, except those set as water sets, must be staked or otherwise

secured by tethering chains or cables not more than 18 inches long with at
least two swivel points.

. All traps and snares must be secured in a manner that prevents captured

animals from removing the trap from the trap site (no drags allowed).

Fresh meat, hare or rabbit or parts of hare or rabbit may not be used as bait.
Other meat may be used as bait if it has been unfrozen and exposed to air for
at least 24 hours.

No suspended flagging or other sight attractant may be used within 20 feet of
the trap or snare.

Any incidentally caught lynx should be immediately released, if possible.

Any trapper who accidentally takes a lynx is required to notify their local
conservation officer as soon as possible or within 24 hours. Persons who know
about the take of a lynx can report it by calling 800-652-9093.

. Body-gripping traps that have a maximum jaw opening, when set, of greater

than Sinches and less than 77 inches measured from the inside edges of the

jaws (generally 160 and 220 sizes), except those set as water sets, must be set

in one of two ways:

a. In a tree of any diameter or on a pole no larger than 6 inches in diameter at
least 3 feet off the ground or surface of the snow.

b. If used on the ground, they must be set in a cubby with the trap inserted a
minimum of 7 inches from the front, with the cubby opening no more than
50 square inches in area as illustrated at the top of page 54.

For general questions about trapping in the lynx management zone, call the DNR
Information Center at 888-MINNDNR.
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Cubby Box Traps Opening not to exceed

This diagram is for illustration 50 square inches

purposes only. Cubby boxes may
be constructed of any material
and openings may be restricted
with wire mesh, wood strips or
other material.

Reporting Incidentally Taken Furbearers
The following regulations apply for reporting incidentally trapped furbearers:

« A person may not possess or transport a lynx that was accidentally killed or was
lawfully killed until the person notifies the local conservation officer, other
authorized department employee, or regional enforcement office of the killing
and receives authorization to possess, transport, or skin the animal.

A person may possess and transport mink, muskrat, beaver, badger, opossum,
fox or raccoon accidentally killed or lawfully killed while causing damage or
threatening injury or damage only if the local conservation officer or other
authorized employee of the department is notified within 24 hours of such
killing and before any skinning has begun.

A person may possess and transport fisher, otter or pine marten that were
accidentally killed, or bobcat that was accidentally killed or lawfully killed while
causing or threatening injury or damage, only after the species is reported

to a local conservation officer or by calling 888-646-6367, option 9 and
providing the required information. After making the required notification
and taking possession of the animal, the person may not skin, transfer
possession or otherwise dispose of the animal without authorization from a
conservation officer.

Trappers should be prepared with the following information when calling
888-646-6367, option 9:

+ The trapper’s name and DNR number as it appears on the trapping license.

« Date and time that the catch was discovered.

+ The number and species taken (example: one otter).

» General location of the catch (example: 5 miles south of Ely off County Road 21).

« Complete address of the location where the carcass is being kept.

+ Atelephone number where you can easily be reached.

Preventing and Handling Accidental Trap Catches

Knowledge of traps can help dog owners feel more comfortable when their dogs are in
the field. The Idaho Department of Fish and Game has developed excellent information
to help dog owners identify traps placed in a natural setting and release dogs that are
accidentally caught in traps. Dog owners can find this information online at:
http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/hunt/?getPage=141

In addition, the Minnesota DNR has kits and information that will be available for
groups who want to handle traps and learn more about how to release dogs from traps.
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Furbearer Registration

+ The pelt of each bobcat, fisher, pine
marten, and otter must be removed
from the carcass and presented for
registration by the person taking it.
The entire carcass of each bobcat
and the head of each pine marten
and fisher must also be surrendered.
Pelts, carcasses, site validation
coupons, and heads must be
presented for registration at a DNR
registration station or area wildlife
office (by appointment in case of
an unavoidable conflict). Before the
peltis sold or removed from the

state and no more than 48 hours
after the season closes for fisher,
marten otter and bobcat.

To speed up registration, please
bring the following written
information for each animal to be
registered: species, sex, method
of take, date taken and county,

township and range where taken.
Forms are available at wildlife
offices and online at www.mndnr.
gov/recreation/hunting/trapping.
Plastic registration tags must remain
affixed to the raw pelt until the pelt
is tanned or mounted. Site validation

coupons need not be attached to
the animal.

Furbearer Registration Stations
Fisher, pine marten, river otter

and bobcat may be registered at
designated DNR offices without an
appointment from noon to 7 p.m. or
3-6 p.m. (depending on the office) on
December 31. River otter and bobcat
may be registered at DNR offices
without an appointment from 3-6 p.m.
on January 28, except at offices listed
as "December 31 only" where an advance
appointment is required. Locations,
dates and hours are listed below. Fisher,

pine marten river otter and bobcat may
be registered at any DNR area wildlife
office throughout open seasons by
appointment.

Furbearer Registration Stations
(City, Address, Hours, Phone)
AITKIN-WILDLIFE

1200 Minnesota Ave S

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-429-3051

BACKUS-FORESTRY

4391 State Hwy 87 NW

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-732-8452

BAUDETTE-WILDLIFE

204 Main St E

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-634-1705 x 222

BEMIDJI-WILDLIFE

2114 Bemidji Ave

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-308-2339

BIG FALLS-FORESTRY

7754 Town Road 293

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-286-5434

BRAINERD-WILDLIFE

1601 Minnesota Dr

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-203-4301
CAMBRIDGE-WILDLIFE

800 Oak Savanna Ln SW

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
763-689-7100 x 224

CLOQUET-WILDLIFE

1604 S Hwy 33

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-878-5662

DETROIT LAKES-WILDLIFE

14583 Cty Hwy 19

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-846-8470

continued
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Furbearer Registration Stations (City, Address, Hours, Phone)

continued from page 55

DULUTH-WILDLIFE
4805 Rice Lake Rd

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.

218-723-4791

EVELETH-FORESTRY
7979 Hwy 37

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.

218-300-7861

FINLAND-FORESTRY
6686 Hwy 1

Dec. 31, 3-6 p.m. only
218-834-1454

FERGUS FALLS-WILDLIFE
1509 1st Ave N

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.

218-739-7576 x 238

FOREST LAKE-WILDLIFE
5463-C W Broadway

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.

651-539-3300

GRAND MARAIS-WILDLIFE
1356 Hwy 61 E

Dec. 31, 3-6 p.m. only
218-834-1453

GRAND RAPIDS-WILDLIFE
1201 East Hwy 2

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.

218-328-8860

HIBBING-FORESTRY
1208 E Howard St

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.

218-300-7861

INTERNATIONAL FALLS-WILDLIFE
392 Hwy N E

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.

218-286-5434

MIDDLE RIVER-WILDLIFE
42280 240th Ave NE

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.

218-222-3747
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NEW LONDON-WILDLIFE
398 Sibley Park Rd NE
Jan. 28,3-6 p.m. 320-354-2154

NICOLLET-WILDLIFE

5019th St

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m
507-225-3572

NORTHOME-FORESTRY

12006 East Highway 1

Dec. 31, 3-6 p.m.; Jan 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-328-8860

ONAMIA-MILLE LACS WILDLIFE
29172 100th Ave

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
320-532-3537

ORR-FORESTRY
4656 Highway 53
Dec. 31, 3-6 p.m. only
218-757-3274

OWATONNA-WILDLIFE

8485 Rose St

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
507-455-5841

PARK RAPIDS-WILDLIFE

603 W 1st St

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-732-8452

ROSEAU-COURTHOUSE

606 5th Ave SW

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-463-1130

ROOSEVELT-WILDLIFE
11536 Faunce-Butterfield Road SW

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-783-6861
ROCHESTER-WILDLIFE

3555 9th St NW

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
507-206-2859
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Furbearer Registration Stations (City, Address, Hours, Phone)

continued from page 56

SAUK RAPIDS-WILDLIFE
1035 South Benton Dr

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.

320-223-7840

SHAKOPEE-WILDLIFE
7050 East Highway 101
Dec 31, 3-6 p.m. only
952-496-4141x 221

TOWER-WILDLIFE
650 Hwy 169

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.

218-300-7861

TWO HARBORS-WILDLIFE
1568 Hwy 2

Dec 31, noon-7 p.m.
218-834-1452 /1453

MOURNING DOVE

Season Dates, Limits and Hours

WADENA-COUNTY BLDG.

221 Harry Rich Dr

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-732-8452

WARROAD-FORESTRY

804 Cherne Drive NW

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-783-6861

WILLOW RIVER-WILDLIFE
85894 County Hwy 61

Dec. 31, noon-7 p.m.; Jan. 28, 3-6 p.m.
218-423-6026

September 1through November 29, from % hour before sunrise to sunset. Daily bag

limit is 15; possession limit 45.

License Requirements

All residents and nonresidents age 16 and over must have a valid small game license

in their possession. Residents may hunt doves without a license on property they

occupy as their principal residence. All licensed dove hunters must be HIP certified.

See page 38.

Party Hunting

Party hunting for mourning doves is prohibited. Individual hunters may not shoot

migratory game birds for other hunters.

Firearm Restrictions

Only shotguns not capable of holding more than three shells may be used to

take doves.

continued

Mourning Dove 57



Agricultural Lands and Baiting
Bait, seeds, or grain may not be placed or brought into a field. Doves may be hunted
on, over or from:

« Lands or areas where seeds or grains have been scattered solely as the result of
normal agricultural operations, which include normal agricultural harvestings,
normal agricultural post-harvest manipulations, or normal agricultural practices.
Lands planted by top-sowing or aerial seeding where seeds have been scattered
solely as the result of a normal agricultural planting, a planting for agricultural
soil erosion control, or a planting for post-mining land reclamation.

Standing crops, and standing or manipulated natural vegetation.

Lands planted as wildlife food plots, provided the seed is planted in a manner
consistent with Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service
recommendations for the planting of wildlife food plots.

Lands planted as pasture improvements or for the purpose of grazing livestock.
A blind or other place of concealment camouflaged with natural vegetation.
Lands or areas where grain or feed has been distributed or scattered solely by
manipulation of an agricultural crop or other feed on the land where grown.
Manipulation means the alteration of natural vegetation or agricultural crops
by activities such as mowing, shredding, discing, rolling, chopping, trampling,
flattening, burning, or herbicide treatments. Manipulation does not include the
distributing or scattering of seeds, grains, or other feed after removal from or
storage on the field where grown.

Although doves may be hunted over manipulated agricultural crops, waterfowl may
not, except after the field has been subject to a normal harvest and at least 10 days
has elapsed since the complete removal of all manipulated grain.

Dove Hunting
This information is provided to help you avoid common mistakes.

» Pre-season scouting is best in the morning and late afternoon, when doves
are most active.
Doves are most abundant in agricultural areas of western and southern
Minnesota.
Hunt in areas between food, water, grit and roosting locations.
Doves often feed in wheat, oat and sunflower fields. Landowner permission
is required to hunt private agricultural fields.
Doves fly 30 to 40 mph and can reach 60 mph. Practice estimating extra
wingshooting lead distance.
Downed doves blend well with vegetation. Mark and retrieve birds
immediately. Dogs can be very useful in retrieving doves.
Hunters who disrupt or damage utility lines taking resting doves could face
legal action.
Motorized decoys controlled by remote may be used to take doves.

58 2019 Minnesota Hunting Regulations 888-MINNDNR



WILD TURKEY

FENEW—Shotguns or muzzleloader shotguns must be 10 gauge or smaller.

Turkey Registration

Turkeys harvested in the spring and fall must be registered within 24 hours of
harvest. A map of turkey permit area boundaries is available online at www.mndnr.
gov/hunting/turkey.

Crossbows can be used for wild turkey
» By any person using a valid firearms license during the spring wild turkey season.
«+ By persons 60 or older under an archery-only license (no disability permit
needed).
» By any person with a disability permit under an archery-only license.

Fall Hunting
Important dates
+ Fall season: September 28 - October 27, 2019

Fall turkey licenses may be purchased online, by telephone or in person (no lottery). Fall
turkey hunters who purchase an over-the-counter license must select a zone and the
following regulations apply:
» One either sex turkey may be taken.
+ Shot must be No. 4 or smaller in diameter.
+ Wild turkey possessed in the field must be transported with one leg or a
fully-feathered wing attached.

Spring Hunting
Important dates

+ Spring season applications available: December 2019
» Spring season applications due: January 24, 2020

Application materials and a turkey hunting regulations book are available online at
www.mndnr.gov/hunting/turkey. Hunters must apply only for A and B season licenses.

2020 SPRING TIME PERIOD DATE

Season A (lottery/surplus) April 15 - 21
Season B (lottery/surplus) April 22 - 28
Season C (hunter selected) April 29 - May 5
Season D (hunter selected) May 6 - 12
Season E (hunter selected) May 13 - 19

Season F (all unfilled licenses valid) May 20 - 31

Licenses for the remaining seasons may be purchased over-the-counter, without
participating in the lottery or drawing. Firearms hunters who purchase an over-the-
counter permit must select and hunt in one permit area. Archery hunters may hunt
throughout the combined time periods and in any permit area. Hunters may not
purchase both a spring firearm and spring archery license.
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BIG GAME

Hunters should select bullets of the proper design and weight for taking big
game. Most manufacturers offer either bonded or all-copper bullets that are
appropriate for taking big game.

What firearms are legal for big game?
At least .220 caliber and has centerfire ignition;
Loaded only with single projectile ammunition;

The projectile has a soft point or is an expanding bullet type.

Muzzleloaders (long gun or handgun) cannot be loaded at the breech (black
powder revolvers are not legal for taking big game if they are loaded through
the cylinden);

Smooth-bore muzzleloader used must be at least .45 caliber

Rifled muzzleloaders are at least .40 caliber;

Muzzleloaders with scopes are legal during the regular firearms and

muzzleloader deer seasons.

Legal Bows and Arrows for Big Game
Bows must have a pull no less than 30 pounds at or before full draw. Bows

with low draw weights may not effectively kill big game. Hunters should select
archery equipment to humanely take big game.

Arrowheads used for taking big game must have a minimum of two metal
cutting edges, be of barbless broadhead design, with a diameter of at least

7 inch.

“Expandable” broadheads may be used to take big game if they meet the

requirements above and: 1) are at least % inch in width and no more than

2 inches in width at or after impact; and 2) are of a barbless design and function
in a barbless manner.

No person may hunt with a bow drawn, held, or released by a mechanical device,
except disabled hunters who have a crossbow permit.

A hand-held mechanical release attached to the bowstring may be used if the
person’s own strength draws and holds the bowstring.

« A person may hunt with a crossbow under the following conditions,

> Big game and small game by special permit issued to hunters unable to hunt
by archery because of a temporary or permanent disability. The disability
must be verified in writing by a licensed physician or chiropractor. The
permit application is available from any DNR regional office or by calling
the DNR Information Center (see page 127), or online at www.dnr.state.
mn.us/licenses/special/index.html.

> Alicensed hunter age 60 or over may use a crossbow during the regular
archery season with the respective archery license.

continued
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Legal Bows and Arrows for Big Game continued from page 60

A licensed hunter may use a crossbow for bear or deer with a regular firearms
license or a crossbow disability permit and an archery license.

FENEW—Crossbows used for hunting must:

> Be shoulder fired

> Deliver at least 42 foot-pounds of energy at 10 feet
> Bolts (arrows) must be at least 10 inches long

> Have a working safety

Shooting Hours

Shooting hours for big game are % hour before sunrise to s hour after sunset.

Shooting Near Roadways

No person may discharge a firearm or an arrow from a bow on or within the
right-of-way of an improved public highway (including but not limited to federal,
state, county, and township road ways) at a big game animal or a decoy of a big game
animal that has been set out by a licensed peace officer.

Use of Horses
A person may not use a horse to take big game.

*NEW—Use of Dogs

A person may use a dog to locate and retrieve a wounded deer or bear as follows:
The person attempting to locate the animal must have in possession a valid
license to take the deer or bear.

Dog handlers who do not have a valid hunting license must be accompanied by a
licensed hunter with the license in possession.

The licensed hunter and dog handler must be on foot and must wear blaze
orange/pink

Any light used must be an artificial light carried in the hand or attached to the

person.
The dog must be on a leash no longer than 30 feet. The hunter or dog handler
must physically control the leash at all times.

The dog owner’s name and telephone number must be on the dog while it is used
to locate a wounded deer or bear.

Possession of Big Game
Any person who takes a big game animal must retain the license, site tag, permit,
and possession (registration) tag for as long as any part of the meat is in possession.
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DEER

Archery Sept. 14 - Dec. 31
Firearm Option Statewide (A) 100 Series Nov. 9 - 24
Firearm Option Statewide (A) 200 Series Nov. 9 -17
Firearm Option Statewide (A) 300 Series Nov. 9 - 17
Firearm Option Late Southeast (B) 300 Series Nov. 23 - Dec. 1
Muzzleloader Nov. 30 - Dec. 15
Metro Deer Management Zone (701) Statewide (A) or Late  Nov. 9 - Dec. 1
Season (B) firearms license
North Central CWD (604) Statewide (A) or Late Season (B) = Nov. 9 - 24
firearms license (See pages 63 and 64)
Southeast CWD (643, 645, 646, 647, 648, 649, 655) Nov. 9 - 17 and
Statewide (A) or Late Season (B) firearms license (See Nov. 23 - Dec. 1
pages 63 and 64)

3 NEW—Youth Season open statewide (See page 35) Oct. 17 - 20
Early Antlerless Season (See page 74) Oct. 17 - 20

*NEW—2019 Deer Hunting Information

62

Special CWD regulations, including mandatory disease testing and carcass
movement restrictions are in effect in a number of areas. See page 63-65.

Due to the expansion of the Southeast CWD Management Zone, antler point
restrictions are cancelled in all deer permit areas except 338, 339, 341 and 342.
Party-hunting (also known as cross-tagging) for antlered bucks is allowed in all
deer permit areas except 338, 339, 341 and 342.

Hunters are allowed to harvest up to three legal bucks per year in deer permit
areas 643, 645, 646, 647, 648, 649 and 655. See page 63.

The prohibition on deer feeding and deer attractants has been expanded. See page 86.
An interactive deer permit area map and updated deer permit area detail reports
are available online at www.mndnr.gov/deermap.

The entry deadline for either-sex/antlerless permits in lottery deer permit areas,
special firearm and special muzzleloader hunts is Thursday, September 5.

Special youth and Camp Ripley archery hunt deadline is Friday, August 16.

A person may use a dog to retrieve a wounded deer or bear.
See page 61 for details.

The youth season will be held Oct. 17 - 20 statewide
this year. Deer permit area 287 (ltasca State Park) is
not open for the youth deer season.

Crossbows are no longer required to have a 30-inch
stock to be legal for hunting. See page 61.
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Chronic Wasting Disease

Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) occurs in deer, caribou, reindeer, elk, and moose.

It belongs to a group of infectious diseases known as “transmissible spongiform
encephalopathies” (TSEs). Typical signs of the disease include drooping head or

ears, incoordination, poor body condition, increased salivation, excessive thirst or
urination. Deer or other cervids can also incubate and test positive for CWD without
showing clinical signs for several years. CWD is always fatal. More information about
CWD is online at www.mndnr.gov/cwd.

CWD sample submission is mandatory in select areas

Locations of CWD sampling stations where tissue samples will be collected are on
pages 66 and 67 and on the DNR website. The following applies to deer permit areas
highlighted in the map on page 64:

» Deer harvested in these areas on the dates indicated must be presented at a
CWD sampling station on the same day of harvest. See pages 66 and 67 for a list
of dates and locations where samples will be taken.

Deer must be registered by telephone, internet, or walk in registration stations
within 48 hours. Deer will not be registered as part of the sampling process.

It is the hunter’s responsibility to register their deer.

The time it takes to receive test results for deer sampled for CWD will vary
depending on the number of samples collected. Process your deer as you
normally would. Keep processed deer separate and identifiable until test results
are received.

Test results for all deer that are sampled will be available online at www.mndnr.gov/
cwdcheck.

Southeast and North Central Chronic Wasting Disease Management Zones
The Southeast and North Central CWD Management Zones were designated
due to the detection of CWD in free-ranging deer. The intent of management
strategies in CWD management zones is to increase hunting opportunities with
liberalized bag limits to reduce deer densities, limit the potential for disease
transmission, and remove any additional positive deer from the landscape.
In CWD management zones:

+ In the Southeast CWD Management Zone only, hunters may harvest up to
three legal bucks per year. Hunters can take one buck under an archery license,
one buck under a firearms license, and one buck under a muzzleloader license.
Bucks taken in the Southeast CWD Management Zone deer permit areas do not
count towards the one buck limit elsewhere in the state, but do count towards
the license limit. For example, a hunter can take one buck with a firearms
license in DPA 643 and another buck with a muzzleloader license in DPA 171.

In the North Central CWD Management Zone, hunters may harvest only one
buck per year.

Hunters must present all deer in person at a CWD sampling station for
mandatory sampling during the firearms seasons; fawns must be presented

to confirm age and will only be tested upon voluntary submission. A special
carcass tag will be attached to the deer to verify sampling and/or age.

During archery and muzzleloader seasons, hunters must submit the heads of
all adult deer (at least 1 year old) at one of the locations on pages 66-67.

continued
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Fall 2019 CWD
Surveillance Areas

—— Road Splitting Permit Area

[_1Deer Permit Areas

CWD Surveillance Areas
North Central CWD Management Zone
Central CWD Surveillance Area
Southeast CWD Control Zone
Southeast CWD Management Zone

Southeast and North Central Chronic Wasting Disease Management Zones
continued from page 63

« Hunters may harvest an unlimited number of antlerless deer.

« Antler point restrictions are canceled in these zones.

- Cross tagging for antlered bucks is allowed in these zones.

« Deer carcass movement restrictions apply during all seasons. See page 65.

+ May use a Statewide (A) or a Late Southeast (B) license during any firearms season.

« May purchase an unlimited number of disease management tags for $2.50 to take

antlerless deer.

3ENEW—Southeast CWD Control Zone
A newly established control zone in southeast Minnesota borders the CWD
management zone to help prevent further spread of disease. The Southeast CWD
Control Zone includes permit areas 255, 343, and 344.

+ Hunters must present all deer, in person, at a CWD sampling location during
the first two days of both the A and B firearms seasons; fawns must be
presented to confirm age and will only be tested upon voluntary submission.
A special carcass tag will be attached to the deer to verify sampling and/
or age.

« During the archery, muzzleloader, and remaining firearms season, hunters
may voluntarily submit deer heads at self-service CWD sampling stations.
See page 66-67 for locations.

+ Hunters may harvest only one buck per hunter per year and may cross-tag bucks.

+ Antler point restrictions are canceled in this zone.

» Hunters must use an A or B license for the respective firearms season.

+ Deer carcass movement restrictions apply during all seasons, see page 65.

Chronic wasting disease central surveillance area
Mandatory CWD surveillance will take place during the first two days of the
firearms season (November 9-10) within approximately 15 miles of the CWD
positive deer farm in Meeker County. The central surveillance includes deer
continued

64 2019 Minnesota Hunting Regulations 888-MINNDNR



Chronic wasting disease central surveillance area continued from page 64
permit areas 277 and 283 east of State Trunk Highway 4, 219 south of State Trunk
Highway 55, and 285 north of State Trunk Highway 7. Internet, phone and walk-in
registration will be active; however, all deer must be presented in person at a
CWD sampling station on the same day of harvest during the first two days of the
firearms season (November 9-10); fawns will not be tested but must be presented
to confirm age, see page 66-67 for locations. There are no carcass movement
restrictions for deer taken in the Central CWD Surveillance Area.

Carcass Movement Restrictions
Cervidae, including deer, elk, and moose species harvested anywhere outside Minnesota
Only the following parts of deer or other cervids may be brought into Minnesota:
1) Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal column or head attached,
2) Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either commerecially or privately),
3) Hides and teeth, 4) Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers
attached, and 5) Finished taxidermy mounts. Nonresidents transporting whole or partial
carcasses on a direct route through Minnesota are exempt from this restriction.

Deer harvested in a CWD management zone

Whole carcasses of all deer, including fawns, taken within a CWD management zone
must remain in the zone until a "not detected"” test is confirmed. The following parts
of deer may leave a CWD management zone before a "not detected" test result is
confirmed: 1) Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal column
or head attached, 2) Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either
commercially or privately), 3) Hides and teeth, and 4) Antlers or clean (no brain
tissue attached) skull plates with antlers attached.

NEW-—Deer harvested in the CWD control zone (deer permit 255, 343, 344)
Whole carcasses of all deer, including fawns, taken within the CWD control zone
must remain either inside the control zone or CWD management zone until a "not
detected” test is confirmed. The following parts of deer may leave a CWD control
zone before a "not detected"” test result is confirmed: 1) Quarters or other portions
of meat with no part of the spinal column or head attached, 2) Meat that is boned
out or that is cut and wrapped (either commercially or privately), 3) Hides and teeth,
and 4) Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers attached.

Deer harvested inside Minnesota, outside CWD management and control zones
There are no carcass movement restrictions for deer harvested outside the CWD
Management and Control Zones in Minnesota.

What to do before coming to a CWD sampling station
Station hours 9 a.m. - 7 p.m.

« If your deer was harvested in a CWD management zone you can go to any station
within the CWD management zone. If your deer was harvested in the CWD control
zone, you can choose a station in the control zone or the CWD management zone.

» Register your deer prior to CWD sampling (online, by phone, or big game station).

+ Know where you harvested your deer (Township, Range, and Section).

» Position your deer with the head towards the tailgate or back of vehicle.
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CWD Sampling Stations

All stations in CWD control or management zones will have self-service sampling

during archery, muzzeloader, and unstaffed portions of the firearms seasons, unless
noted in table. Station hours are 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Southeast CWD Control Zone, Nov. 9-10 and Nov. 23 - 24

CITY STATION LOCATION STATION ADDRESS

Austin

Plainview

Pine Island

Whitewater
WMA

Jay C. Hormel Nature Center

(staffed during firearms

A opening weekend, Nov.
9-10)

Kreofsky Do It Best Building
Supply

Next to Dollar General

and at the intersection of

1st Avenue Northeast and
County Rd. 11/Center Dr.

Whitewater WMA
Wildlife Office

1304 21st Street Northeast,
Austin, MN 55912

865 Enterprise Drive Southwest,
Plainview, MN 55964

222 Center Drive,
Pine Island, MN 55963

15035 Highway 74,
Altura, MN 55910

Southeast CWD Management Zone, Nov. 9 - 17 and Nov. 23 - Dec. 1

CITY STATION LOCATION STATION ADDRESS

Caledonia

Chatfield

Dexter

Houston

Kasson

La Crescent

LeRoy

Mabel

Preston
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Houston County Fairgrounds

1. Strongwell (staffed during
3A/3B opening weekends,
Nov. 9-10 and 23-24) 2.
Magnum Sports (staffed
during remaining days

of entire 3A/3B firearms
seasons)

Hamilton Auction Company
(self-service sampling not
available)

BP Gas Station

Hardware Hank

LaCrescent Joint Public
Works Facility

Lake Louise State Park
Steam Engine Days Park
DNR Forestry Office

1316 East Washington Street,
Caledonia, MN 55921

1. Strongwell, 1610 US-52,

Chatfield, MN 55923

2. Magnum Sports, 20 Main St. South,
Chatfield, MN 55923

130 state Highway 16, Dexter, MN 55926

801 MN-16, Houston, MN 55943

11 Fourth Street Southeast,
Kasson, MN 55944

450 South Chestnut Street
La Crescent, MN 55947

12385 766th Avenue, Le Roy, MN 55951
90 East Alpine Avenue, Mabel MN 55954

912 Houston Street Northwest,
Preston, MN 55965

continued
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Southeast CWD Management Zone, Nov. 9 - 17 and Nov. 23 - Dec. 1

continued from page 66

CITY STATION LOCATION STATION ADDRESS

Rochester DNR shop at Gordon Yeager 2300 Silver Creek Road Northeast
WMA - Southwest Unit Rochester, MN 55906

Rushford Pams Corner Convenience 107 MN-16, Rushford, MN 55971

St. Charles Winona County Fairgrounds 518 West 6th Street, St. Charles, MN
(behind A&W All American 55972

Foods)
Spring City Lot across from Spring 104 S Section St. Spring Valley, MN 55975
Valley Valley Public Utilities
Stewartville  Bear Cave Park 800 10th St NW, Stewartville, MN 55976
Winona Mills Fleet Farm 920 East Highway 61, Winona, MN 55987
Witoka Witoka Tavern 27999 County Road 9,

Winona, MN 55987

North-Central CWD Management Zone (604), Nov. 9-24

STATION LOCATION STATION ADDRESS

Aitkin Aitkin DNR Wildlife Office 1200 Minnesota Ave S Aitkin, MN 56431
Emily Emily Volunteer Fire 20823 County Highway 1,
Department Emily, MN 56447
Brainerd Brainerd DNR Wildlife Office 1601 Minnesota Dr Brainerd, MN 56401
Crosby Croft Mine Historical Park 23150 Minnesota Highway 6, Crosby,
MN 56441 (parking lot 250 yards east of
address)
Nisswa East Side Public Water Access 5056 Nashway Road,
for Gull Lake Nisswa, MN 56468
Pine River Cass County Fairgrounds 525 First Street North,

Pine River, MN 56474

Central CWD Surveillance Area, Nov. 9-10 only

CITY STATION LOCATION STATION ADDRESS

Howard Wright County Fairgrounds 5912 County Road 6 Southwest,

Lake Howard Lake, MN 55349

Hutchinson  Hutchinson DNR Field Office 20596 MN-7, Hutchinson, MN 55350
Kimball Willow Creek Park 210 Main Street South,

Kimball, MN 55353

Litchfield Meeker County Fairgrounds 1230 North Armstrong Avenue,
Litchfield, MN 55355
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Fall 2019 CWD Surveillance Sampling Locations

Central CWD Surveillance Area

Sampling Stations
(Sampling portions of DPA 277 and 283 east of STH 4,
Sampling Stations the portion of DPA 219 south of STH 55
(Sampling all of DPA 604) and the portlon of DPA 285 north of STH 7)

North Central
CWD Management Zone
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For more information about CWD visit the DNR’s website at www.mndnr.gov/cwd
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Deer—General
Legal buck and antlerless deer
+ Legal bucks have one antler at least 3 inches long.
» Fawn bucks, sometimes called button bucks are not legal bucks.
+ Antlerless deer are deer without an antler at least 3 inches long.
+ Legal bucks in deer permit areas 338, 339, 341, 342 must have at least one antler
with four points. See page 76 for a description.

License purchase and validity

All deer licenses (archery, firearms, muzzleloader and bonus permits) may be
purchased at any time before or during the season. After a deer season is open, a
license or bonus permit is valid the same day of purchase if it is purchased before
legal shooting hours. If the license or bonus permit is purchased after legal shooting
hours have begun, it is valid the following day.

+ Residents of Minnesota State Veterans Homes may take deer of either sex
regardless of permit area designation during the firearms and muzzleloader
seasons. Residents who are 84 or older may take deer of either sex regardless of
permit area designation during any deer season.

Residents under 18 or a disabled person who has a permit to shoot from a
stationary vehicle may not take antlerless deer in a bucks-only deer area.
Residents under 18 or a disabled person who has a permit to shoot from a
stationary vehicle and a valid deer license may take a deer of either sex in a lottery
deer area without an either-sex permit. Only authorized youth or disabled hunters
may shoot and tag the antlerless deer in a lottery deer area (no party hunting).

A person may purchase no more than one firearms, muzzleloader, and archery
deer license in a calendar year.

Bonus and early antlerless season permits may be purchased in addition to
regular licenses. Bonus permits may be purchased throughout the season,

but must be in possession when taking deer. After a deer season is open, both
licenses and bonus permits are valid the day of purchase if purchased before
legal shooting hours. Regular licenses and antlerless tags may be used in any
order. Bonus permits may be used during the early antlerless season. Early
antlerless season permits are valid only during the early antlerless season in open
permit areas.

A person may not take or tag deer without the appropriate license or permit. The
term “take” includes attempting to take deer, deer drives, spotting, or otherwise
assisting another person in taking deer.

+ Bonus permits are not valid in bucks-only, lottery or hunter choice deer areas.

Deer licenses and permit types

Hunters may purchase any or all of the following licenses (archery, firearm and/or
muzzleloader):

Regular archery license—except in bucks-only permit areas, a regular archery license
is valid for an either-sex deer statewide in any open area.

Regular firearm license—there are two types of regular firearms deer licenses:

« Statewide (A) season licenses are valid in any area that opens November 9.
Hunters are not obligated to stay in any one zone. For example, you can hunt in
deer permit area 343 (nine-day season) opening weekend, move to deer area 235
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Deer licenses and permit types continued from page 69

(9-day season) the second weekend, and finish up in 184 (16-day season) on the
last weekend.

Late southeast (B) licenses are valid only in late southeast (B) area (300 Series)
and season (November 23 - December 1).

The hunter’s season choice (A or B) will be printed on the license.

Both statewide (A) and late southeast (B) season licenses are valid during all
firearms seasons in the metro deer management zone (701) and the 600-series
permit areas.

A regular firearms license is valid for either sex deer in any hunter choice,
managed, or intensive area or in a lottery area if successful in the lottery.

Regular muzzleloader license—any hunter can buy a muzzleloader license, including
people who have purchased a firearm license. The license is valid for either-sex deer
in any hunter choice, managed, or intensive area. In lottery areas, you must apply
and receive an either-sex permit to take an antlerless deer.

Youth archery, firearm and muzzleloader licenses—Hunters ages 10 to 17 must
obtain a youth deer hunting license (free for youth 10-12).

+ The youth firearm license may be used in the youth deer season, the statewide
(A), and late southeast (B) seasons. A youth muzzleloader license is required for
the muzzleloader season.

« Youth licenses are valid for either-sex deer statewide, except in permit areas
designated bucks only.

» Youth under age 10 may not hunt big game.

Landowner deer license—This free license allows the taking of one additional
antlerless deer in hunters choice, managed, intensive and unlimited antlerless deer
areas. Landowner licenses are valid during any open season; however, the landowner
must use the appropriate weapon for that season and adhere to blaze orange/pink
restrictions. This license allows the taking of one additional antlerless deer per
farm. A resident owner or tenant or a nonresident owner who is actively farming at
least 80 acres of agricultural or grazing land in deer areas: 101,105, 110, 114, 117,133,
155,156, 157,159, 171,172,177,179,182, 183, 184, 201, 208, 209, 210, 213, 214, 215,
218, 219, 221, 222, 223, 225, 227, 229, 230, 232, 233, 236, 239, 240, 241, 246, 248,
249, 254, 255, 256, 257 258, 259, 260, 261, 262, 263, 264, 265, 266, 267, 268, 273,
276,277,281, 285, 290, 292, 293, 297, 298, 338, 339, 341342, 343,344 604, 643,
645, 646, 647, 648, 649, 655 and 701. A person may receive only one landowner
deer license per year. For land with co-owners or co-tenants, only one co-owner or
co-tenant may receive a landowner deer license per year. The license is valid only
on the land owned or leased for agricultural purposes by the license holder within
the deer area where the qualifying land is located. The license holder may give the
license to a spouse or dependent. A license issued under this provision does not
affect the license-holder’s eligibility to purchase additional deer licenses or permits.
Alandowner deer license can be used to purchase bonus permits in managed or
intensive deer areas. Landowners who obtain this license must allow public deer
hunting on their land during the deer hunting season, except for the first Saturday
and Sunday of the season. Hunters must obtain permission, and it is up to the
landowner how much public hunting is appropriate.
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How to Buy a Firearms Deer License
1. Choose either the statewide (A) or late southeast (B) season option.
The option will be printed on your license; and
2. Tell the agent which deer area you hunt most often or if applying for a lottery,
which deer permit area you plan to hunt. This is collected for information or
application purposes and will not print on the license. You are not obligated to
stay in the area you say you hunt most often.

Regular Firearms License (Both statewide (A) and late southeast (B) license are
valid in 600-series and 701 deer permit areas.)

Option 1: Statewide (A), valid in areas: Option 2: Late Southeast (B) Season:
100 Series: Nov. 9 - 24 300 Series: Nov. 23 - Dec. 1

200 Series: Nov. 9 - 17 OR

300 Series: Nov. 9 - 17

Either-sex and Special Hunt Permits

Important dates

The application deadlines for special youth hunts are August 16 and September 5

for the regular either-sex permit lottery and special firearm and muzzleloader hunt
permits. All hunters who purchase a firearms or muzzleloader license, and declare a
lottery permit area by September 5 will be automatically entered into the lottery for
an either-sex permit.

To apply for special firearms and muzzleloader hunts, you must purchase a deer license.
Participation in a special hunt does not preclude hunters from taking a deer in a regular deer
permit area, although statewide bag limits and license requirements apply. See page 72.
Special hunt permits

« Special hunt permits are required to hunt deer where the number of hunters must
be limited to control the harvest or for public safety.
Special hunt permit areas are listed on pages 87-89 (regular firearm hunters),

page 91-92 (muzzleloader hunters), and pages 95-98 (archery hunters) as well as
on the DNR website at www.mndnr.gov/hunting/deer.

Those who receive a special hunt area permit may also hunt deer outside that
special hunt area during the season indicated on the license.

Parties of up to four may apply.

NEW—The DNR strongly encourages the use of non-lead ammunition in state
park special hunts. See page 79 for more information.

How hunters are selected for either sex permits and special hunts:

> If permit applications exceed the number of permits available, computerized
drawings will be used to issue permits.

> Drawings for either-sex or special area permits are based on a preference system.
You accumulate preference by applying without getting drawn. Applicants
receiving an either-sex or special hunt area permit lose their accrued preference.

> Preference is not affected by applying for a different area than the year before
or by not applying for one or more years.

> Preference for group applications is based on the member with the

fewest points. continued
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How hunters are selected for either sex permits and special hunts continued from page 71
> Only successful applicants will be notified.
> Permits are mailed in mid-October. Information about the drawings and
individual applications is not available until after this date. Check the DNR
website (www.mndnr.gov) in mid-October to view results.
> If you are not notified, you can assume your application was not selected, and
that your preference will increase.
> All hunters must apply if they wish to participate in a special hunt.
Bonus permits
Bonus permits are available to archery, firearms, and muzzleloader hunters to
take antlerless deer in designated areas.
Bonus permits may be used in managed areas, intensive areas, the metro (701),
early antlerless, 600-series deer permit areas, and almost all special hunts.

Hunters must have the appropriate regular license for the area, season, and
method they are using.

Bonus permits are not valid in bucks-only, lottery, or hunter choice deer areas.
Bonus permits purchased after the start of shooting hours are valid the next day.

Statewide Bag Limits for Deer

Although hunters can buy archery, firearm and muzzleloader licenses, the bag

limits may not allow all three tags to be filled in a single deer area. It is the hunter’s
responsibility to know the bag limit for the areas they hunt. The statewide bag limit
for deer is five (see below for exception). Deer harvested in special hunts do not
contribute to the bag limit within the surrounding deer permit area; however, they do
contribute to the statewide limit.

Bucks-only Deer Areas—The bag limit is one legal buck total per year, regardless of
license type or season. Except residents of Minnesota State Veterans’ Homes and
hunters who are 84 or older, no antlerless deer may be harvested in a bucks-only
area. If you take a deer in a bucks-only deer area, you cannot take another deer

in another bucks-only, lottery or hunter choice deer area. However, you can take
antlerless deer in managed, intensive or unlimited antlerless deer areas, as well as
some special hunt areas with a valid permit, provided you adhere to the regulations
and bag limits for those areas. Bonus permits are not valid in bucks-only deer areas.

Lottery Deer Areas—The bag limit is one deer total per year, regardless of license
type. An either-sex permit is required to take antlerless deer unless you have a youth
deer license, are 84 or older or are a resident of a Minnesota State Veterans’ Home.
If you take a deer in a lottery deer area, you cannot take another deer in another
bucks-only, lottery or hunter choice deer area. However, you can take deerin
managed, or intensive or unlimited antlerless deer areas, as well as some special hunt
areas with a valid permit, provided you adhere to the regulations and bag limits for
those areas. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas.

Hunter Choice Deer Areas—The bag limit is one either-sex deer total per year,
regardless of license type. If you take a deer in a hunter choice deer area, you
cannot take another deer in another bucks-only, lottery, or hunter choice deer
area. However, you can take deer in managed, intensive or unlimited antlerless deer

continued
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How to Apply for Either Sex or Special Hunt Permits

All hunters who purchase a firearms or muzzleloader license, and declare a lottery
permit area, on or before September 5, will be automatically entered into the
lottery for an either-sex permit. Those who do not wish to receive an either-sex
permit should purchase their license after the lottery deadline.

General instructions

You can apply for either-sex or special hunt permits wherever hunting

and fishing licenses are sold, at the DNR License Center, by telephone or
online. Licenses that include a tag cannot be purchased on a mobile device.
Applications can be completed as part of the process of purchasing your
regular deer license.

You can apply for one firearm (either-sex or special) hunt and one
muzzleloader (either-sex or special) hunt.

Residents and nonresidents are eligible.

A permit is not transferable between persons or between areas.

Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 as of November 9 do not
need to apply for an either-sex permit in lottery areas. They must apply for
special hunts. The deadline is September 5. The deadline for youth-only
hunts is August 16.

All residents 21 or over must present their Minnesota Driver’s License or
Public Safety Identification Card at time of application.

Special hunt tables are available online at www.mndnr.gov/hunting/deer

Antlerless and Special Hunt Permit application instructions

The license agent will ask you a series of questions related to the license you
are purchasing and the deer area you are hunting. You can apply individually
or as a group of up to four people. Immediately check your receipt and deer
license to make sure the agent entered your information correctly. This is the
only time it can be changed.

Hunter Choice Deer Areas—continued from page 72

areas, as well as some special hunt areas with a valid permit, provided you adhere to
the regulations and bag limits for those areas. Bonus permits are not valid in hunter
choice deer areas.

Managed Deer Areas—The bag limit is two deer and hunters can use any
combination of licenses and bonus permits to tag both deer.

Intensive Deer Areas—The bag limit is three deer and hunters can use any
combination of licenses and bonus permits.

Unlimited Antlerless Deer Areas—The bag limit is unlimited and hunters can use any
combination of licenses and bonus permits. The bag limit does not impact special
hunt bag limits or the early antlerless season. The statewide bag limit of 5 deer does
not apply in these areas.

continued
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Statewide Bag Limits for Deer continued from page 73

Other exceptions to the statewide bag limit:
Deer permit areas 604, 643, 645, 646, 647, 648, 649, 655, and 701:—There is no
limit to the number of antlerless deer that may be taken in these areas.

Landowner Licensee Farms—Landowner licensees may take one antlerless deer in
addition to the statewide bag limit for hunter choice, managed, intensive, or unlimited
antlerless deer areas.

Early Antlerless Season—The early antlerless season coincides with the special youth
deer season in some southeast deer permit areas and in deer permit area 604. To
participate hunters must possess at least one valid early antlerless permit. Bonus
permits may be used but hunters must still possess at least one valid early antlerless
permit to participate. This opportunity is offered to provide hunters additional
capability to manage local deer herds. The limit is five deer during the early antlerless
season, which is in addition to the statewide bag limit. Permit areas 343, 604, 643,
645, 646, 647,648, 649, and 655 are open during the early antlerless season.

Statewide antlerless deer information

Bucks-only Deer Areas

No antlerless deer may be taken in deer permit area 119 and 132, except license holders
who are residents of Minnesota State Veterans’ Homes or residents age 84 and older.

Lottery Deer Areas

ALL firearm and muzzleloader hunters age 18 and older must apply for and receive

an either-sex permit if they want to harvest an antlerless deer in a lottery deer area,
except residents of Minnesota State Veterans’ Homes or residents age 84 and older.
A hunter can apply using both a firearm and muzzleloader license. The application
deadline is Thursday, September 5. Information regarding permit allocations is on the
2019 Deer Season Area Map.

Leftover either-sex deer permits will be available first come, first served beginning

at 5 p.m. on October 7. Leftover permits are available to any hunter who has a valid
license but has not been selected. Lottery areas are: 103, 108, 111, 118, 126, 130, 131, 169,
173,176,178,181,197,199, 234, 235, 237, 238, 250, 252, 253, 269, 270, 271, 272, 274,
275,278, 279, 280, 282, 283, 284, 286, 288, 289, 291, 294, 295, 296, and 299.

Hunter Choice Deer Areas

If you hunt in a hunter choice deer area, you may take one deer of either sex per year.
No application for an either-sex deer permit is necessary and bonus permits cannot be
used. These areas are: 110, 114, 117,133,152, 156, 157,159, 171,172,177,179, 183, 203, 208,
210, 218, 224, 230, 246, 248, 249, 251, 259, 262, 266, 277, 281, 285, 290, and 297.

Managed Deer Areas
If you hunt a managed deer area, you may take a deer of either sex. No application for
an either-sex permit is necessary.

In the following areas, firearm, archery, and muzzleloader hunters may take deer of either
sex on their regular license and purchase bonus permits to take antlerless deer: 101, 155,
184, 201, 219, 222, 229, 232, 233, 239, 254, 255, 256, 258, 260, 261, 273, 276, 287, 292,
293,298, 338A, 338B, 339A, 339B, 342A, 342B, 344A, and 344B.

continued
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Intensive Deer Areas

If you hunt an intensive deer area, you may take a deer of either sex. No application
for an either-sex permit is necessary. In the following areas, firearm, archery, and
muzzleloader hunters may take a deer of either sex on their regular license and
purchase bonus permits to take antlerless deer: 105, 182, 209, 213, 214, 215, 221, 223,
225,227,236, 240, 241, 257, 263, 264, 265, 267, 268, 341A, 341B, 343A, and 343B.

Unlimited Antlerless Deer Areas

If you hunt in an unlimited antlerless deer area, you may take a deer of either sex.
No application for an either-sex permit is necessary. In the following areas, firearm,
archery, and muzzleloader hunters may take a deer of either sex on their regular
license and purchase bonus permits to take antlerless deer: 604, 643, 645, 646,
647,648, 649, 655, and 701.

Hunting Method Restrictions—Hunting Deer With Bait is lllegal
Hunters are not allowed to take deer with the aid or use of bait. “Taking”
includes attempting to take.
Definitions
 Bait—includes grains, fruits, vegetables, nuts, hay, or other food that is
capable of attracting or enticing deer and has been placed by a person.
- Baiting—means placing, exposing, depositing, distributing, or scattering
bait that is capable of attracting or enticing deer.

What is bait?
Liquid scents (example: doe in heat), sprays, salt, and minerals are not bait if they
do not contain liquid or solid food products.

Read the ingredient label on all products prior to use. Many products, including
newer liquid, powder and block forms, contain food or attractants such as
grains, fruits, and sugar derivatives (glucose, dextrose, and fructose). If a salt or
mineral product has anything other than salt or mineral in it, it is illegal to use for
hunting. A person otherwise in compliance with this section who is hunting on
private or public property that is adjacent to the property where bait or food is
present is not in violation if the person has not participated in, been involved with,
or agreed to baiting or feeding wildlife on the adjacent property.

Removal of bait
All bait must be completely removed for 10 days prior to hunting.

Agricultural crops from normal or accepted farming, forest management,
wildlife food plantings, orchard management, or other similar land management
activities are not bait. What’s normal? This exclusion does not apply to
agricultural crops that have been reintroduced and concentrated where a
person is hunting.

Example
A person has an abundance of an agricultural crop and intends to use it as
“green manure” or fertilizer. A person may reintroduce the agricultural crop to

continued
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Hunting Method Restrictions—Hunting Deer With Bait is lllegal
continued from page 75

the field by spreading it out over a previously planted field. If the landowner
piles or concentrates the agricultural crop where they hunt deer, it would be
considered bait.

Penalties for baiting violations—revocation and confiscation
+ A person may not obtain any deer license or take deer under a lifetime
license for 1year after the person is convicted of hunting deer with the aid
or use of bait. A second conviction within 3 years would result in a 3-year
revocation. The revocation period doubles if the conviction is for a deer
that is a trophy deer scoring higher than 170 inches.
» Firearms and bows used to take deer with the aid or use of bait will be
seized and are subject to confiscation upon conviction.
Baiting
« Baiting significantly increases the risk of disease transmission by
concentrating animals and promoting nose-to-nose contact.
« Baiting attracts and holds large numbers of deer on private parcels creating
a privatization of the deer herd.
+ Bait piles can be replenished over and over in the same location and alter a
deer’s natural movement. By placing bait, one hunter can effectively nullify
another hunter’s attempt to harvest a deer.

Special Regulations in Deer Permit Areas 338, 339, 341 and 342
Antler point restriction
+ Abuck must have at least one, 4-point antler in order to be legally harvested.
Bucks with less than one 4-point antler are not legal to harvest. Refer to page 77
for examples of a legal buck.
» The regulation is in effect during the archery, 3A, 3B, and muzzleloader seasons.
+ Adult hunters CANNOT tag a buck for a youth hunter.
« Youth hunters aged 10-17 are exempted from this regulation. They can take any
antlered buck.

Buck cross-tagging in deer permit areas 338, 339, 341and 342

This is most commonly referred to as party hunting. The intent of this regulation is
not to break up the hunting party or force hunters to leave the field once they are
successful. This regulation simply requires the hunter to shoot and tag their own
antlered buck. Specifically:

+ A person cannot take and tag an antlered buck for another member of their
party. This applies to all hunters, license types, and seasons in deer permit areas
338, 339, 341and 342.

+ It remains legal to take and tag antlerless deer for members of the party. This is
a population management strategy and may lead to slight increases in antlerless
deer harvest.
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Hunting in Areas With Antler Point Restrictions
How to count points
A deer must have a minimum of four points on one side to be taken.

An antler point, if it is at least 1-inch long
The brow tine, if it is at least 1-inch long
The end of the main beam

Any broken tine that is at least 1-inch long

AwN S

Hunting tips and how to field judge a buck
The antler point restriction regulations are designed
to protect at least half of the yearling (1%2-year old)
buck population.
« When field judging a buck, if it has a small body
and thin neck, it may be a yearling.
« Bring binoculars and take the time to look at the antlers and count the
points before you take a shot.
» Waiting for the deer to turn broadside will make it easier to count points.

Registration

Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is registered.
Hunts with a 4-point regulation

Includes deer areas 338, 339, 341 and 342 and special hunts within those deer
areas.

Legal bucks

The following bucks meet the minimum standards for harvest—bucks with at
least four points on one side.

Seven point buck with four points Side view of a buck with four points
on one side. on each side.

Antler art used with permission. ©Conservation Commission of the State of Missouri.
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Elevated Stands

In Wildlife Management Areas and State Parks open to hunting, only portable
stands may be used. Portable stands may not be left overnight in WMAs,
except in a portion of northwest Minnesota, where a portable stand may be left
overnight on wildlife management areas by a person possessing a deer license

from November 1 through December 31. See the back of the fold-out map for
details.

See pages 83 and 113 for information on elevated stands in state parks and state
forests.

In Scientific and Natural Areas open to hunting, portable stands and elevated
scaffold may be used if removed each day at the close of shooting hours and

no damage to trees or other vegetation is done. Nails, spikes, screws, or other
devices that damage the bark of trees are prohibited.

See pages 101,120 and 125 for information on wildlife management areas,
federal lands and county lands, including the Superior National Forest, Chippewa
National Forest and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Any unoccupied permanent stand or blind on public land is public and not the
property of the person who constructed the stand. Any use of threat or force
against another person to gain possession of a stand is unlawful.

Party Hunting

A “party” is defined as any group of two or more licensed deer hunters who are

all afield; hunting together at the same time; AND all using firearms (including
muzzleloaders) or all using archery.

A mixed group of firearms and archery hunters is considered two

separate parties.

Crossbow hunters may not party hunt with firearms or archery hunters.
Crossbow hunters may party hunt with archery hunters if they possess an
archery license with a crossbow disability or are age 60 or over and hunting with
a crossbow.

Any member of a party meeting this definition may kill a deer for any other
member of the party who has an unused tag valid for that deer.

Some restrictions apply to 300 series deer permit areas. See page 76.

Party members MAY NOT kill an antlerless deer in a lottery deer area for:

1) a member of the party who is a resident under age 18; or 2) a disabled person
authorized to take antlerless deer under a permit to shoot from a motor vehicle.

Party Hunting Regulation

The intent of the party hunting regulation is to prevent parties from shooting
more deer than the available number of tags. The party hunting regulation
requires that all hunters who intend to tag deer for each other be hunting
together, in the field, at the time the deer are taken. Party members who are
not afield hunting with the individual who takes a deer at the time it is taken
may not legally tag that deer. The person whose license is being used on the
deer must be at the site of kill and must validate the site tag before the deer
is moved from the site of the kill. Hunters may not lend licenses to or borrow
licenses from other hunters.
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Special Seasons for Hunters With Physical Disabilities

Special deer hunts for hunters with physical disabilities are tentatively scheduled

at a number of sites. Additional hunts for disabled archers may be organized by
Capable Partners and Midwest Outdoors Unlimited, and are not listed here. For
more information call the DNR Information Center at 888-MINNDNR (646-6367).

Persons who are totally blind may use a laser sight to participate in permitted
assisted special hunting opportunities.

Hunters With Disabilities and Youth Hunters—

Either-sex Deer Hunting

Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 as of November 9 and disabled
persons with a permit to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may take a deer of
either sex in lottery deer areas without having to apply for or obtain an either-sex
permit. Antlerless deer may not be taken by youths or disabled hunters with permits
in a bucks-only area. Residents of a Minnesota State Veterans’ Home or residents
age 84 or older may take an antlerless deer regardless of permit area designation.
Resident youth ages 10-17 who qualify under this provision may not apply for an
either-sex permit or accrue additional preference for these areas. Earn-a-buck rules
apply to youth and disabled hunters in state park special hunts. See page 85 for
earn-a-buck rules.

Lead in Venison

Hunters are encouraged to consider non-lead big game ammunition featuring
expanding copper, brass, and gilding metal bullets. Dozens of such bullets have
been perfected in recent years. They expand reliably and instantly, retain nearly
all their weight, and penetrate better than most lead-core bullets. They are
available as muzzleloader bullets and shotshell slugs, too.

Hunters who try non-lead bullets usually find they perform as well as or better
than lead-core bullets because there are no jackets to separate from the core
and no soft lead to erode or break apart, hindering penetration. Prices for
monolithic, non-lead bullets are comparable to those of premium lead-core
ammo.

Lead is a toxic metal harmful to anyone who ingests it, but especially to children
and pregnant women. It can also cause cognitive issues for older adults. Lead
core bullets can fragment into dozens of pieces and penetrate as far as

18 inches from the wound channel. In several studies, up to 30% of X-rayed,
commercially butchered venison burger contained lead fragments.

Non-lead bullets and slugs also eliminate secondary poisoning of bald eagles
and other raptors that ingest lead fragments when feeding on gut piles.
For more details, visit www.mndnr.gov/lead.
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How to Tag Your Deer and Validate Your Site Tag
Your Deer License and Site Tag comes as a two-part form. The upper half
is the Site Tag for tagging the deer in the field. The lower half is the Deer
License and Registration Slip.
1. At the site of kill, the licensed hunter whose tag is being used on the
deer must:

a. Detach the Site Tag from the
Deer License/Registration Slip.
b. Before moving the deer, the TR, ;at.;t%a:g
hunter whose tag is being used
must validate the tag by using a S
knife or similar sharp object to [ e =i Notch
cut out the appropriate notches g RF 2019 i g%ands;teh
indicating: ] ot ot 3 here
» Month the deer was killed, EI:“:«:‘?:LWWE ;
- date it was killed, and Hplhe e i
« time of day it was killed (a.m. ETRRRNBRNBRTBBRN | oo
or p.m.). Mark carefully—if — here
more than one month, date, or mﬁﬁm“ Part 2:
time is cut out or marked, the ‘:E:;’:“;f‘ﬂm‘ e ?&u: l(ﬁeﬂqzef
tag becomes invalid. B e é retains)
2. A person may move a lawfully E‘.’;é;?‘?:?ﬂi‘;“wﬁ,, =
taken deer from the site of B e T
the kill without attaching the ﬁ;ﬁom Part3:
. . 2 pemeimo s (IINNNMANMIN  Registration
validated tag to the animal only g Slip
while in the act of manually or -
mechanically dragging, carrying,
or carting the animal across the

ground and while possessing the
validated tag on their person.

3. The validated tag must be attached to the deer when the deer is placed
on a motor vehicle or an ATV, a vehicle or a trailer being towed by an
ATV or brought into a camp, yard or other place of habitation.

4. Attach the site tag to the deer:

« Tie or attach a 10- to 12-inch twine, zip tie or wire securely to the
deer around the base of an antler, through a slit cut in either ear, or
between the tendon and bone of a hind leg, leaving the two long ends
of the string or wire free. This will require you to bring a cable tie,
piece of wire or string into the field with you.

« Pull one end of the twine or wire through one of the pre-cut holes
on the Site Tag and tie it together. Tags no longer fold and are not
adhesive.

» The tag must remain attached to the deer until processed for storage.
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Deer Carcass Disposal

Hunters who process their own deer may not dispose of carcasses on public
land, including wildlife management areas, state forests, road rights of way, or
in any water body. Deer carcasses may be disposed of in the following ways:

« On private land with the permission of the landowner.
« Through your refuse hauler after checking on how to properly bag

the carcass.

« At a local landfill.

The use of bait for trapping (carcasses or parts of carcasses) remains legal
within applicable laws, however, the unlawful deposit of carcasses not
associated with legal baiting or field dressing constitutes litter.

Registration and Transportation

Registration

Every deer taken must be registered and antlers must remain attached until

the deer is registered. In all cases, the deer must be registered within 48 hours
after the deer was taken and before the deer is processed either privately or
commercially. Deer may be transported out of the area where taken without first
being registered, except in 600-series deer pemit areas and the CWD control zone
where carcass movement restrictions are in place. There are three registration
options:

1.

Walk-in Big Game Registration Stations—Registration stations display large,
orange “Big Game Registration” signs. The person whose tag is on the deer
must personally present the deer at an official registration station and receive
a big game possession tag. The tag must be attached to the hind leg, ear,

or antler where the site tag was attached. You can find a complete list of all
stations at any DNR wildlife office or on the DNR website.

2. Telephone—You will need a pen to record a confirmation number to complete

the registration. Follow the steps below. They are also printed on your

deer license.

a. Dial 888-706-6367 to get into the system.

b. Enter the nine-digit harvest registration number on the license. This is
the large and bold number printed on your deer license and is NOT your
MNDNR number.

c. Enter the three-digit area where the deer was killed. The system will only
accept valid deer permit areas or special hunt numbers.

d. Enter the date the deer was killed.

e. Enter the type of deer—adult male, adult female, fawn male, fawn female.

f. The system will then give you a confirmation number that must be written
on the license and site tag in the appropriate area.

Internet—Go to www.mndnr.gov/hunting to register your deer. The questions

will be identical to phone registration. You will be given a confirmation

number, which must be recorded on the license and site tag in the

appropriate area.
continued
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Specific information for telephone and internet deer registration
 Persons who register by phone or internet do not receive a separate big game
possession tag.
« Refer to page 80 for site tagging information.
« When the system asks for deer type, please use the following information:
> Adult male—male deer with antlers at least 3" long.
> Fawn male—this is a 6-month-old male deer, more commonly known as a
“button buck” and weigh less than 75 pounds dressed.
> Adult female—this is an adult doe at least 18 months old. Typically, they have
a longer nose and larger body (over 75 pounds dressed weight) than younger
antlerless deer.
> Fawn female—this is a 6-month-old female deer. They typically have a short
nose and weigh less than 75 pounds dressed.
+ A harvest registration number can only be used once. The system will not
accept multiple registrations using the same number.
« Since the system will recognize the license type, it will only ask questions valid
to that license. Here are a few examples:
> Regular Firearms License—Will ask all four deer types but will not ask
season because it’s only valid during the firearm season. The same applies to
muzzleloader, archery, lifetime, etc.
> Bonus Permits—Will only ask three deer types (adult female, fawn male, fawn
female) but will also ask season (archery, firearm, muzzleloader).

Big Game Registration Stations

Big game registration provides essential information for managing deer
populations. Registration station owners in the state donate the use of their
business and the time of their staff to help collect this information. Station
operators are not required to inspect deer or verify registration information.
This is the hunter’s responsibility.

Transportation

+ Alegally registered animal may be transported any time during and after the
deer hunting season. Carcass movement restrictions apply in some CWD areas.
See page 65.
The licensee must accompany the deer in transport except as follows: A deer
that has been registered may be transported by another person, if the signature,
address, and license number of the licensee and the origin and destination of
the transport are written on the back of the possession tag, the site tag, or a
separate tag the licensee provides.
All deer in transport must be readily accessible for inspection by DNR
conservation officers.
The head of a deer must remain attached to the carcass until the deer is
registered. Skin and entrails may be removed before registration. Deer may be
quartered before being registered, but the animal’s head must remain attached
to one of the quarters.
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Deer—Firearms
Season dates

November 9 - 24 (100 Series)
November 9 - 17 (200 Series)
November 9 - 17 (300 Series - Season A)
November 23 - December1 (300 Series - Season B)
November 9 - 24 (deer permit area 604)

November 9 - 17; Nov. 23 - Dec. 1 (deer permit areas 643, 645, 646, 647, 648, 649, and 655)

Next year’s firearms deer opener
November 7, 2020

Rifle/shotgun boundary

In the shotgun zone (see map on the back of the large, fold-out deer season map),
deer hunters may use only legal shotguns loaded with single-slug shotgun shells,
legal muzzleloading long guns, or legal handguns.

FNEW—Metro deer management zone (deer permit area 701)

+ The intent of deer permit area 701 is to increase hunting opportunity around the
Twin Cities to help landowners and local governments control deer populations.
The area is nearly all private land and access is limited.

+ The season dates are:

> Archery: September 14 - December 31

> Youth: October 17 - 20

> Firearm (Statewide A or Late Southeast B licenses are valid): Nov. 9 - Dec. 1.
> Muzzleloader: November 30 - December 15

+ At the time of license purchase, hunters should indicate the area they typically
hunt during the regular deer season. The license is automatically valid in the
metro deer management zone.

+ An unlimited number of bonus permits are available for use in this area.

Itasca State Park

Itasca State Park and the Itasca Wilderness Sanctuary Scientific and Natural Area (deer
permit area 287) are open during the general firearm season and the muzzleloader season
but not during the youth deer season (Oct. 17 - 20). No archery hunting is allowed. Some
other state parks are open to general hunting. See pages 118 and 119 for details.

Elevated stands in state park areas
No permanent stands may be placed in state parks or state recreation areas open
to hunting. Portable tree stands may be used for hunting (in areas open to hunting)
or watching wild animals if the stand is removed each day and does no permanent
damage to the tree in which it is placed. In areas of state parks or state recreation
areas open to hunting by special permit, early placement of portable stands is
allowed under the following conditions:
+ Portable stands may be placed during normal business hours only and no more than seven
days before the hunt. Stands must be removed no more than one day after the hunt.
+ All stands must have owner/hunter identification on them.
+ Only portable stands that do no damage to trees or other vegetation are
allowed. Nails, screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees are
prohibited. No screw in steps are allowed.

+ Only one stand is allowed per hunter. continued
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Bag limit and permit area reminder

Check the 2019 management designations and associated bag limits for your permit
area on the fold-out map or on page 74. If you hunt in a hunter choice, managed,
intensive or unlimited antlerless deer area, your license is valid for an either-sex
deer. Bonus permits may only be used to take antlerless deer in managed, intensive,
early antlerless, unlimited antlerless, and in most special hunt areas.

Lottery deer areas

All adult firearm and muzzleloader hunters must apply for an either-sex permit

if they want to take antlerless deer in a lottery area. Hunters can apply using

both their muzzleloader and firearm license. After the application period ends,
the permits will be allocated in proportion to the license types in the lottery. For
example, if 100 either-sex permits are allocated and 25% of the applicants are
muzzleloader hunters then 25% of the permits will go towards the muzzleloader
season. This has the benefit of having muzzleloader-only hunters compete with
other muzzleloader-only hunters. They will not compete with firearm hunters who
likely have more preference points.

The total number of deer that hunters may kill in a lottery deer area or areas is one,
regardless of license type or whether you were successful in both lotteries. All
adult hunters who hunt a lottery deer area must apply for an either-sex permit by
Thursday, September 5.

Successful applicants will receive a postcard in the mail authorizing them to

take an either-sex deer using their regular license in that lottery deer area. The
authorization will be valid for both the firearm or muzzleloader season; however, you
must still have a valid license for that season. Specific instructions on how to apply
for an either-sex permit are listed in the box on page 73. Bonus permits cannot be
used in lottery areas.

Either-sex permits allow a person to take a deer of either sex within the
specified lottery deer area.

Areas and permit quotas are shown on the large fold-out 2019 Deer Season Area
Map, available separately.

Either-sex permit holders may take antlerless deer only in the area specified on
the permit, but they may hunt deer anywhere during the season indicated on
the license.

Regular firearm—can take a buck or an either-sex deer if successful in the lottery.

Youth firearm and persons with a disability permit to shoot from a stationary
motor vehicle—can take an either-sex deer without applying in the lottery.

Muzzleloader—can take a buck or an either-sex deer if successful in the lottery.

Transporting Firearms

Although firearms transportation laws relating to hunting have changed,
hunters are reminded the safest way to transport firearms is unloaded and
cased. Not only does a case provide an extra measure of protection for
your firearm but it is reminder to ensure that firearms are unloaded before
transporting in or on a motor vehicle.
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Antler point restriction and earn-a-buck regulations

In several special hunts and some 300-series deer areas (southeast Minnesota), special
regulations are in effect this season. For state parks, please refer www.mndnr.gov/
hunting/deer to determine if your hunt has a special regulation. Successful applicants
will be mailed additional information prior to the hunting season.

Hunting in areas with antler point restrictions
Regulations associated with antler point restrictions are described on pages 76-78.
Hunting with earn-a-buck regulations

General information

+ In order to tag a buck, you must tag an antlerless deer in the park or special
hunt area first.

+ You do not have to register the antlerless deer prior to taking the buck, but
you do need to validate your deer license and tag and have them available
for inspection by a conservation officer. If you are found with a buck and no
antlerless deer, you will be in violation of the hunt rules.

« There will be no special validation for buck hunting.

« If you have already filled your buck license elsewhere, you may still hunt
antlerless deer.

« Deer taken in special hunts must be registered under the special hunt
area number.

-« Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is registered.

- Earn-a-buck rules apply to youth and disabled hunters in state park special hunts.

Licenses and permits

» Hunters may want two tags in possession. One tag must be valid for taking an
antlerless deer and the other for taking a buck.

+ Hunters who are only interested in taking an antlerless deer need only bring
one tag.

Party hunting (cross-tagging)

+ Party hunting is legal in earn-a-buck areas.

+ You can shoot a deer for a member of your party; however, only the person
whose tag is on the antlerless deer will be authorized to tag a buck.

« If you shoot an antlerless deer that is tagged by someone else, you cannot tag
a buck with your license. An antlerless deer must be first tagged with your
license before you tag a buck.

« Party hunters should tag their first antlerless deer with their own license. If
they have the opportunity to harvest another antlerless deer, they should then
tag it with another person’s license.

Special firearm deer hunts

The complete list of special firearm deer hunts including updates and corrections

is available online at www.mndnr.gov/deer. This online list includes additional

hunt details including contact information. The deadline for all hunts is Thursday,
September 5. Bonus permits may be used to tag deer in special hunts where
antlerless deer may be taken. Any deer harvested as part of a special deer hunt
should be registered using the special hunt number, if assigned. Secondarily, hunters
should use the surrounding Deer Permit Area number.
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#¥NEW—Deer Feeding Ban Expanded
Feeding deer increases the risk of disease transmission. Deer feeding includes
placement or distribution of salt, minerals, grains, fruits, vegetables, nuts, hay and
other food that is capable of attracting or enticing deer.

Deer attractants are natural or manufactured products that are capable of
attracting or enticing deer, including any product that contains or claims to contain
cervid urine (example “doe in heat”), blood, gland oil, feces or other bodily fluid.

Deer feeding is prohibited in areas where chronic wasting disease was detected in
farmed deer. This includes all of Kandiyohi, McCleod, Meeker, Stearns, and Wright
and the portion of Renville County lying north of U.S. Highway 212.

In addition to deer feeding, deer attractants are prohibited in counties within
proximity to where wild deer have been found positive for CWD. This includes
Aitkin, Cass, Crow Wing, Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Hubbard,
Mille Lacs, Morrison, Mower, Olmsted, Steele, Todd, Wabasha, Wadena, and
Winona Counties.

Counties with Deer Feeding and Attractants Prohibited

/V
e
JJ[‘J
Key
Road Splitting
County
=== Counties impacted
L by ban
Restriction
m No deer feeding
%¢5¢] No deer feeding
or attractants
ha
N
| Winona,
I FEEEEeY: TS e
Freeborn&% Jlllmore’&%{
b Imower|” ., Houston
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Deer—Muzzleloader
Season dates: November 30 - December 15, statewide.
Open areas: Muzzleloader hunters may hunt statewide except for the closed areas
listed below.
» Deer area 224 (Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge).
+ Rice Lake and Rydell National Wildlife Refuges.
» Refuges and other areas closed to firearms hunting are also closed to
muzzleloader hunting.

Muzzleloader regulations (either-sex permit application deadline: Thursday,
September 5)

+ Any hunter may use magnifying or holographic “red dot” scopes during the
muzzleloader deer season without a special permit.

+ Muzzleloader hunters must apply for and receive an either-sex permit to harvest
an antlerless deer in lottery areas. If you are successful in the lottery, your
permit will be valid for an either-sex deer.

» Hunters may buy both a firearm and muzzleloader license.

Bag limit and permit area reminder

Check the management designations and associated bag limits for your permit
area on the large fold-out map or on pages 72-74. If you hunt in a hunter choice,
managed, intensive deer area or unlimited antlerless, your license is valid for an
either-sex deer. Bonus permits may be used to take antlerless deer in managed,
intensive, early antlerless, or unlimited antlerless deer areas.

Lottery deer areas (either-sex permit application deadline: Thursday, September 5)
A list of lottery deer areas is on page 74. All hunters are limited to taking one deer
total and hunters can only take an antlerless deer if successful in the lottery.

Other firearms

Muzzleloading firearms lawful for the taking of deer may be possessed only by
persons with a valid license to take deer by muzzleloader. While muzzleloader
hunting, a person may not possess a firearm other than the following: an unloaded
firearm in a case or closed trunk of a motor vehicle, a shotgun and shells containing
No. 4 buckshot or smaller, a handgun or rifle capable of firing only rimfire
cartridges of .17 or .22 caliber, including .22 magnum or handguns by persons
authorized under a permit to carry.

Special muzzleloader deer hunts (application deadline: Thursday, September 5)
The following are special hunts open during the muzzleloader season. The complete
list of special muzzleloader deer hunts including updates and corrections is available
online at www.mndnr.gov/hunting/deer and includes additional hunt details including
contact information. Application instructions are on page 73.
» The statewide bag limit is five deer. See exceptions page 73.
» Bonus permits may be used to tag deer in special hunts where antlerless deer
may be taken.
+ Any deer harvested as part of a special deer hunt should be registered using the
Special Hunt Number, if assigned. Secondarily, hunters may use the surrounding
Deer Permit Area number.
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Deer—Archery

Season dates: September 14 - December 31.

Open areas: Archery hunters can hunt permit areas statewide except in Itasca State
Park (deer area 287).
«+ Archery hunters in deer area 701 may take an unlimited number of antlerless deer.
+ Except those licensed to carry a concealed weapon, a person may not take deer
by archery while in possession of a firearm.
+ In some 300-series deer permit areas, including special hunts, antler point
restrictions are in effect for bowhunters. Refer to page 76 for information.

October 17 - 20: Blaze orange/pink is required statewide for the youth deer season.
Early antlerless hunting is also open in some areas on these dates.

Bag limit and permit area reminder

Check the management designations and associated bag limits for your permit area
on the large fold-out map or on pages 72-74. If you hunt in a lottery, hunter choice,
managed, intensive deer area, or unlimited antlerless, your license is valid for an
either-sex deer. Bonus permits may only be used to take antlerless deer in managed,
intensive, early antlerless, and unlimited antlerless areas.

Bucks-only areas

Except for residents over age 84, no antlerless deer may be taken with an archery
license in a bucks-only deer area. An archery license is only valid for legal bucks in
these areas.

Crossbows
A licensed hunter age 60 or over may use a crossbow during the regular archery
season with the respective archery license.

Archery special hunt areas

Application dates and methods vary by special hunt. Please refer to the table on
pages 87-89 for basic information regarding the hunt.

Please refer to the website www.mndnr.gov/hunting/deer for details and hunt
administrator contact information. All questions related to archery special hunts
should be directed to the municipality or area conducting the hunt.

Prior to making application, please check with the location you are interested in
hunting. Different special hunt areas have different regulations such as requiring
bonus permit use, taking an antlerless deer first, written permission, and/or
proficiency tests.

Any deer harvested as part of a special deer hunt should be registered using the
Special Hunt Number, if assigned. Secondarily, hunters may use the surrounding
Deer Permit Area number.

The East Minnesota River Refuge is entirely private land. See page 98. Hunters
must register prior to hunting.

How to Apply for Archery Special Area Permits

An application for an archery special area permit must be made on a form supplied
separately by each special hunt area. No other form of application will be accepted.
Send your request for an application form to the hunt administrator listed for the
special area where you wish to hunt or as directed. A person may apply for more than
one archery special hunt area, but not more than once for a specific hunt. There may be
restrictions regarding applications. Please read material carefully before applying.
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BEAR

Regulations
Complete bear hunting regulations are available online at www.mndnr.gov

Important Dates

August 16: start of baiting

September 1- October 13: 2019 Bear Season

April 2020: applications available

May 1, 2020: application deadline for the 2020 season

Licensing

Residents and nonresidents can participate in a drawing for licenses within
bear permit areas, and they may purchase a license over the counter for the
no-quota area.

+ Bear lottery winners must purchase their license by August 1, 2019. Unsold and
any surplus licenses will then become available for purchase starting at noon on
August 6, 2019.

+ Bear hunters who use online or telephone options to purchase licenses should
use extra care to assure their selections are correct.

MOOSE

There will be no state moose season in 2019. More information is available online at
www.mndnr.gov/moose. Tribal moose seasons may be open in some areas.

Northeast Deer Permit Areas

Deer permit areas in the northeast were realigned to better reflect where deer
and moose are on the land, reduce disease and parasite transmission from deer to
moose, and enhance management of both deer and moose. Within primary moose
range, deer will be managed at lower, but stable densities. Outside of primary
moose range, deer will be managed for higher densities.

ELK

The application deadline for the 2019 elk hunt has passed. In total, 27 licenses were
issued in Kittson County.

Season A: Sept. 7 - 15
Season B: Sept. 21- 29
Season C: Oct. 5-13
Season D: December 7 - 15

The application deadline for next year’s elk hunt is June 12, 2020. There is a $4
application fee per hunter and a license for a party of up to two hunters costs $287.
Applications will be accepted at ELS agents statewide.
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WATERFOWL

Consult the Waterfowl Hunting Regulations Supplement available online and
wherever hunting and fishing licenses are sold for full details on waterfowl seasons.

Conservation grazing on wildlife
management areas—good for

the resources

Conservation grazing is an excellent grassland
management tool. Planned grazing can improve
plant diversity and habitat structure which benefits
wildlife. Hunting is allowed when livestock are on a
WMA.

In most cases livestock will be removed by
mid-August. For more information see:

www.dnr.state.mn.us/publications/wildlife/index.html

WILD RICE

Harvesting wild rice is open to Minnesota residents and nonresidents.

All nonresident harvesters are required to be licensed. Residents under 18 do
not need a license accompanied by a licensed harvester. Season dates, hours and
regulations on equipment are available online at www.mndnr.gov/regulations/
wildrice.

Save the Wetlands

Protecting wetlands is crucial to ensuring
healthy populations of ducks, pheasants,
herons, and even deer. Minnesota leads the
nation in protecting wetlands. Let’s not lose
that honor.
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PUBLIC LANDS AND

WILDLIFE REFUGES

STATE LANDS

Aquatic Management Areas

The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and streams to
provide fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat. These areas,

known as Aquatic Management Areas (AMAs), are posted with signs to indicate
allowable uses. It is always unlawful to leave personal equipment, such as tree stands,
unattended on AMAs.

Wildlife Management Areas

All public land in state-owned Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) is open to the
hunting of all species of protected wild animals and trapping of mammals during the
established seasons found in this booklet, except as follows:

General restrictions

Trespass: Portions of WMAs posted closed to trespassing may not be entered
without DNR authorization.

Closed hours: WMAs may not be entered or used during closed hours if posted
with these restrictions at major access points, except by permit.

Camping: Camping is prohibited except in designated overnight-use areas or
with a permit from the wildlife manager. A vehicle, trailer or tent lawfully left
overnight must be occupied or attended.

Alcohol: Alcoholic beverages may not be consumed, except by persons lawfully
occupying an overnight-use area.

Firearms and target shooting: Target, skeet, trap, or indiscriminate shooting

is prohibited. A person may not possess an uncased or loaded firearm or an
uncased or strung bow, except when lawfully taking a wild animal or by permit.
Destruction or removal of property: Signs, posts, fences, gates, buildings,
trees, shrubs, vines, plants, or other property may not be destroyed or removed
(including use of metal detectors to remove property), except as follows:
Wetland vegetation may be used to build blinds on the area, and edible fruits and
seeds, or decorative portions of plants may be removed for personal use.
Garbage disposal and animal abandonment: Disposing of or abandoning live
animals, carcasses, garbage, trash, spoil, sludge, rocks, vehicles, or other debris
or personal property on any WMA is prohibited.

Hunting, fishing and trapping equipment: Boats, decoys, game cameras and
other equipment must not be left unattended overnight, with the exception

of traps in areas open to trapping and fish houses or dark houses in certain
designated WMA:s.

continued
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General restrictions continued from page 101

+ Blinds and structures: A person may not construct or maintain any building,
dock, fence, billboard, sign, or other structure on any WMA, except that
temporary waterfowl blinds may be erected, but may not become private
property or be used to preempt hunting rights. Any materials brought into a
WMA for the construction of a blind must be removed each day at the close of
hunting hours.

Elevated stands: A person may not construct, occupy, or use any elevated

scaffold or other elevated device for the purpose of hunting, watching,

or killing wild animals, except that portable stands may be used if they are

removed each day at the close of hunting hours and do no permanent dam-

age. Prior to the opening day of archery deer season, portable stands may

be left overnight in a wildlife management area by a person with a valid bear

license who is hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site that is legally tagged

and registered. The licensee’s name and address, or drivers license number, or

MNDNR number must be affixed to the stand in such a manner that it can be

read from the ground. In a portion of northwest Minnesota, portable stands

may be left overnight on wildlife management areas from November 1 through

December 31. See the back of the fold-out map for details.

» Dogs: Dogs are permitted on WMAs only when accompanied by or under
the control of the owner. From April 16 through July 14, dogs must be on a
leash. A person training a dog on a WMA may not use live ammunition or blank
cartridges, including the use of blanks in dummy launchers or similar devices.

« Other domestic animals: Livestock, horses, and other domestic animals, are not
permitted on WMAs except under cooperative agreement or permit approved
by the wildlife manager.

+ Unprotected animals: Unprotected wild animals may be taken from September 1
through the last day of February, or by any person legally hunting a protected
species, unless the area is specifically closed.

- Beaver and otter: Beavers and otters may only be taken by permit issued by the
wildlife manager.

» Crows: Crows may be taken during established seasons, unless the area is

specifically closed.

Habitat Money Available

The Conservation Partners Legacy Grant Program is looking for organizations
to submit grant proposals to enhance, restore, or protect habitat for fish,
game, and wildlife in Minnesota. Visit our web page at www.mndnr.gov/cpl for
more information.
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WMAs with special restrictions
Becklin Homestead Park WMA (Isanti County)—Is only open to special
disabled hunts.

Bass Brook WMA (ltasca County) St. Michael Meadow WMA (Wright County)—
Closed to hunting and trapping but open to archery deer hunting.

Bayport WMA (Washington County), Hastings WMA (Dakota County), and Raguet
WMA (Scott and Carver counties)—Closed to trapping unprotected mammals except
during trapping seasons for protected species. Firearms must be unloaded and cased,
except in designated hunting areas during the small game season when shotguns with
No. 4 or smaller shot only are permitted. Archery equipment is limited to designated
hunting areas during established seasons on the Bayport WMA.

Vermillion River AMA/WMA, Gores Pool #3 WMA (Dakota County)—Portions are
posted archery only for deer. On the same portions, all other game restricted to
shotguns with BBB shot or smaller.

Chub Lake WMA (Dakota County)—Portions are posted archery only.

Boerner WMA (Sibley County), Buelow WMA (Steele County), Bryson WMA
(Freeborn County), Chapa Kak-Say-Za WMA (Steele County), and Hutchinson WMA
(McCleod County)—These areas are closed to the hunting and trapping of all species.

Carl and Verna Schmidt WMA (LeSueur County) Bur Oak WMA (LeSueur County)
Hearding Island WMA and Interstate Island WMA (St. Louis County) and Pine City
WMA (Pine County)—Closed to hunting of all species.

Carlos Avery WMA Controlled Hunt Zone—Two waterfowl| hunting areas are available
by drawing on Saturday and Tuesday mornings until the firearms deer opener. For
details go to: www.mndnr.gov/averyhunt, www.mnwaterfowl.com, or call Carlos
Avery WMA Headquarters at 651-539-3323.

Gold Portage WMA (Koochiching and St. Louis counties)—This area is open only to
waterfowl hunting.

Gun Lake WMA (Aitkin County)—A 20-acre posted wildlife sanctuary is closed to
trespass from September 1 through March 31.

Pelican Lake WMA (Wright County)—A 102-acre posted wildlife sanctuary is closed
to trespass from March 1 through November 30.

Hampton Woods WMA (Dakota County)—Open for archery deer hunting and
spring and fall turkey hunting. Small game may be taken through Nov. 30. Trapping
and predator hunting by special permit only. Only shotguns with fine shot (BBB or
smaller diameter) may be used. Some areas are posted "No Hunting." Contact the
Vermillion Complex Wildlife Office for more information (651) 322-4643.

Haverhill WMA (Olmstead County)—Has buffer areas closed to the discharge of
firearms and hunting along the southern boundary and south of the west parking lot.
Closed to waterfowl hunting.

Uppgaard WMA (Crow Wing County)—This area is open to hunting beginning on the
opening day of waterfowl hunting.
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WMAs with special restrictions continued from page 103

Gordon W. Yeager WMA (in the Rochester Refuge, Olmsted County) Eastside WMA
(Olmsted County), and Clare Johnson-Carl Schmidt WMA (Morrison County)—
These areas are closed to waterfowl hunting. Except on the Eastside WMA, firearms
are restricted to shotgun with fine shot only for small game hunting.

Gordon W. Yeager WMA—Open to archery deer hunting only west of County Road
22 (East Circle Drive).

Lac qui Parle, Thief Lake, Talcot Lake, and Orwell WMAs—Small game hunting
(including fall turkey) is restricted in the Controlled Goose Hunting Zones.

Lake Blanche WMA (Ottertail County)—This area is closed to firearms deer hunting.

Mentel WMA (Mower County)—Closed to all firearms hunting, but it is open for
trapping and archery hunting.

Moose Willow WMA (Aitkin County)—The south portion of the Moose Pool has
been posted as a wildlife sanctuary, closed to access, hunting or trapping from
September 1 - March 31.

Talcot Lake WMA—Small and big game hunting is restricted in the controlled
hunting zone.

Ricehaven WMA (St. Louis County)—The posted area is closed to all trespass from
September 15 through November 24. Canoeing, birdwatching, and wild rice harvest
(during the wild rice season) is allowed from May 1 through September 14. Hunting
and trapping for any species for which there is an open season is allowed from
November 25 through April 30 in the posted area.

Sand Prairie WMA (Sherburne County)—Open during the regular archery season for
youth ages 10 through 17.

Sandstone WMA (Pine County)—Open to archery hunting for deer (no firearms
deer hunting). Archery bear hunting by special permit only. Call General Andrews
Field Office (218) 423-6026 for permit. Open to hunting and trapping of all other
species by legal means during designated seasons.

Timber Lake WMA (Jackson County)—A portion of this area is closed to firearms
deer hunting (as posted).

Pike Bay WMA (St. Louis County)—This area is closed to trapping of all species.

Schrafel WMA (Mower County)—This area is closed to trapping and firearms
hunting. Open to falconry and archery hunting for deer and small game.

Dr. Johan C. Hvoslef WMA (Fillmore County)—This area is open to archery hunting
only from September 1 through October 31and during the spring turkey season.

Firearms hunting (no centerfire rifles) is allowed from November 1 through
December 15.

Wesley Olson WMA (Big Stone County)—A portion is closed to all trespass, but the
remaining area is open to hunting.

Tom Cliff WMA (Waseca County), Somsen WMA (Brown County)—Closed to hunting.

Perched Valley WMA (Goodhue County) and Yucatan WMA (Fillmore and Houston
counties)—Has buffer areas posted closed to hunting. continued

104 2019 Minnesota Hunting Regulations 888-MINNDNR



WMAs with special restrictions continued from page 104

Roseau River WMA (Roseau County), The Pool 1 Sanctuary is open for deer hunting
during the muzzleloader season (including archery hunting).

Vermillion Highlands—A Research, Recreation and Wildlife Management Area
(Dakota County) is open to archery, firearms and muzzleloader deer hunting by
special lottery only and is open to late season pheasant and goose hunting and
spring turkey hunting. Pheasant and goose hunting is open from December 16,
2019 through the end of the respective seasons. Predator hunting is allowed from
January 1- March 15 by special permit only. Closed to small game and all other
species not listed above. Contact the Vermillion Complex Wildlife Office for
questions at 651-322-4643.

Trapping permits required

All trappers must, regardless of furbearers taken, obtain a permit from the area
manager on the following WMAs: Carlos Avery (Anoka and Chisago counties),
Hampton Woods (Dakota County), Hubbel Pond (Becker County), Red Lake
(Beltrami and Lake of the Woods counties), Lac qui Parle (Big Stone, Lac qui Parle,
Swift, and Chippewa counties), Mille Lacs (Mille Lacs and Kanabec counties), Roseau
River (Roseau County), Talcot Lake (Cottonwood and Murray counties), Thief Lake
(Marshall County), Vermillion Highlands (Dakota County) and Whitewater (Olmsted,
Wabasha, and Winona counties).

Wild rice
A person may harvest wild rice in a WMA, except where specifically closed. See
page 100 for more information.

Ginseng
A person may not harvest wild ginseng in a WMA, except in the Whitewater WMA by
permit from the area wildlife manager. The season opens September 1.

Motor vehicles and aircraft
The following regulations apply to motor vehicle and aircraft use on WMAs other
than on federal, state, county, or township roads:

+ No person may use aircraft (including drones) over a WMA in a manner that
chases, herds, scares, or otherwise disturbs wildlife, except in emergencies or by
authorization of the wildlife manager.

Motor vehicles licensed for use on a public highway may be operated on
established roads on the following WMAs, but not at speeds over 20 mph, unless
posted otherwise. No vehicles may be driven beyond a sign prohibiting vehicular
use, beyond any constructed vehicle barrier, or in a reckless or careless manner.
The areas are: Carlos Avery (Anoka and Chisago counties), Hubbel Pond (Becker
County), Mille Lacs (Kanabec and Mille Lacs counties), Red Lake (Beltrami and

Lake of the Woods counties), Roseau River (Roseau County), Spring Lake Islands
(Dakota County) for the purpose of ice fishing, and Thief Lake (Marshall County).
Vehicles are prohibited on all other WMAs. The exception is that vehicles may be
operated at speeds of 20 mph or less, on travel routes designated with signs for
travel purposes.

continued
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Motor vehicles and aircraft continued from page 105

No vehicle may be parked in front of any gate or where it obstructs travel.

No person may operate an all-terrain vehicle (ATV), all-terrain cycle (ATC), hang
glider, air boat, personal watercraft (jet-ski), or hovercraft in a WMA unless
specifically authorized.

On Wildlife Management Areas north and west of the line described below, a
snowmobile or an ATV may be used by a licensed firearms deer hunter who does
not possess a firearm (cased or uncased) to retrieve and transport a deer that is
known to be dead from the close of shooting hours to two hours after the close
of shooting hours during the regular firearms deer season and for one day after
the season: beginning at State Highway 1 from the west boundary of the state to
State Highway 89, then north along State Highway 89 to Fourtown, then north
on County State Aid Highway 44 to County Road 704, Beltrami County, then
north on County Road 704 to Dick’s Parkway State Forest Road, then north on
Dick’s Parkway to County State Aid Highway 5, then north on County State Aid
Highway 5 to Warroad, then north on State Highway 11 to State Highway 313,
then north on State Highway 313 to the north boundary of the state.

On wildlife management areas within the area described as follows, a licensed
deer hunter may operate an all-terrain vehicle during the firearms deer

season before and after shooting hours and from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.: from State
Highway 1and the west boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation; then
west to State Highway 219; then north on State Highway 219 to State Highway
89; then north to State Highway 89 to County Highway 6; then east on County
Highway 6 to County Highway 54 and County Highway 1 (Beltrami/Marshall
county line); then north along the Beltrami/Marshall county line to the Roseau
county line; east on the Beltrami/Roseau county line to Dick’s Parkway, then
south on Dick’s Parkway to County Road 704, Beltrami county; then south to
County State-aid Highway 44 to Fourtown; then south on State Highway 89 to
the north boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation, then west and south
following the boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation to the beginning.
Without written permission from the DNR, no person may operate a snowmobile
in a WMA south of a line described as follows: U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks
east to Bemidji, then south along U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along
U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of
the state.

Blinds for hunters with disabilities

The Carlos Avery, Lac qui Parle, Roseau River, Talcot Lake, and Whitewater Wildlife
Management Areas have a limited number of goose hunting blinds for hunters

with disabilities. Talcot Lake WMA and Roseau River WMA each have a wheelchair
accessible deer blind for firearms hunting. Reservations are required for the Roseau
River WMA blind. For more information, contact: Carlos Avery WMA, 5463-C West
Broadway, Forest Lake, MN 55025 P: 651-539-3323; Lac qui Parle WMA, 14047 20th
St. NW, Watson, MN 56295 P: 320-734-4451 Ext 222; Talcot Lake WMA, 40249 Co.
Rd. 7, Dundee, MN 56131 P: 507-468-2248; Roseau River WMA, 27952 400th St.,
Roseau, MN 56751 P: 218-463-1130; or Whitewater WMA, 15035 Highway 74, Altura,
MN 55910 P: 507-796-3281.
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Motorized watercraft

The use of outboard motors (including electric trolling motors) or motorized
water vehicles (including amphibious vehicles) is prohibited on waters within the
boundaries of most state WMAs, except as follows:

Motorized Watercraft Permitted

AREA COUNTY

Gold Portage WMA Koochiching and St. Louis
Gores (Mississippi River Pool 3) WMA Goodhue and Dakota
Hubbel Pond (Hanson Lake) WMA Becker

Lac qui Parle WMA Big Stone, Lac qui Parle,
(except where posted) Chippewa and Swift
Mud-Goose WMA Cass

Motor size is restricted to 10 horsepower or less except during
the waterfowl season, when no motors, including trolling
motors, are allowed.

Orwell Reservoir Otter Tail
Motor size is restricted to 10 horsepower or less.

Roseau River WMA Roseau
There are no motor limits on the main channel and oxbows of the

Roseau River. Elsewhere on the Roseau River WMA, motors of

10 horsepower or less may be used only on days that the waterfowl

season is open.

South Walnut Lake WMA Faribault

Motor size is restricted to 10 horsepower or less.

Swamp River WMA Cook

Spring Lake Islands WMA Dakota

Talcot Lake WMA Cottonwood and Murray

On the Talcot Lake WMA, motors are permitted on the lake
(except on any day that the waterfowl season is open) but are
prohibited on the river and marshes at any time of year.

Thief Lake WMA Marshall

Motor size is restricted to 10 horsepower or less.

State Refuges
Game refuges
A state game refuge is closed to the hunting and trapping of wild animals unless
listed below or in the table (pages 109 - 112). Even though a refuge may be open, it
could contain privately owned land on which the landowner may prohibit access.
General restrictions
« A person may not trap beaver or otter within any state-owned game refuge
without first obtaining a permit from the appropriate wildlife manager.
+ Unprotected wild animals may be taken when there is an open season for any
protected species, but only during the hours and by methods allowed for the

protected species. continued
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General restrictions continued from page 107

+ Firearms must be cased and unloaded and bows must be cased unless lawfully
hunting in a refuge.

Lac qui Parle Game Refuge (Chippewa and Lac qui Parle counties)—Is open

under the following restrictions: the portions of the refuge within the Lac qui
Parle State Park, Lac qui Parle Mission Site, Rosemoen Island, or portions that

are posted with “State Wildlife Sanctuary—Do Not Trespass” signs are closed to
hunting except for permitted participants in disability hunts or those with specific
authorization.

The remainder of the refuge is open to:

+ Deer hunting.

» Waterfowl hunting at designated hunting stations only from
October 17 through the end of the goose season. Stations are available first-
come, first served.

+ Small game (including turkey) other than waterfowl, except from October 12
through November 30. Small game hunting is not allowed on closed Canada
goose hunting days during a split goose season.

No unauthorized person may trespass during the dates posted on any part of the
refuge posted with “State Wildlife Sanctuary—Do Not Trespass” signs.

The exceptions are as follows:
- Ice fishing.
» Open water fishing is permitted in the posted closed area except from
October 12 through the close of the open Canada goose season.

Rochester Refuge (Olmsted County)—Unprotected animals may be taken at any
time and by any legal method.

Talcot Lake Game Refuge (Cottonwood County)—The Talcot Lake Game Refuge
is open to waterfowl hunting only at designated hunting stations only during the
Canada goose season. The Talcot Lake Waterfowl Refuge is closed to waterfowl
hunting, except for persons with disabilities hunting geese at designated
hunting stations.

Ogechie Lake (Mille Lacs County)—The majority of Ogechie Lake lies within Mille
Lacs Kathio State Park, and the remainder lies within tribal land. As such, ALL of
Ogechie Lake is closed to public hunting.

Duck refuges and duck sanctuaries

From September 1 through the final day of the duck season, or as otherwise
posted, a person may not hunt, trap, fish, or trespass on portions of state wildlife
management areas or federal waterfowl production areas that are posted to
prohibit trespass.

Goose or waterfowl refuges

State goose refuges are closed to goose or waterfow! hunting (as posted) except
when specifically opened during special seasons (see page 112). Other forms of
hunting and trapping are permitted during the established seasons.
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State Refuges Open to Goose Hunting

Beltrami Bemidji Game Refuge Early goose Sept. 1-15
(except Lake Bemidji, Miss. River
and Stump Lake)

Clay Clay County Game Refuge Early goose Sept. 1-15
Dakota Vermillion Highlands Research, Goose Dec. 16 - Jan. 2
Recreation and WMA
Dodge Claremont Game Refuge Goose hunting
Douglas Evansville Game Refuge Waterfowl hunting
Early goose Sept. 1-15
Freeborn ~ Moscow Game Refuge Goose hunting
Isanti Elizabeth Lake Game Refuge Youth waterfowl day and Early goose
German Lake Game Refuge season.
Martin Mud-Bardwell Game Refuge. Canada geese Oct. 12 - Jan. 2

No hunting within 100 yards
of Mud and Bardwell lakes.

Nobles Ocheda Lake Game Refuge Youth Waterfowl Day
Early goose Sept. 1 - 15. No hunting
within 100 yards of surface water in
September. Dec. 7 - Jan. 2

Olmsted Rochester Game Refuge Early goose Sept. 1-15
Steele Rickert Waterfowl Refuge except Early goose Sept. 1-15
Myron Buelow Waterfowl
Sanctuary WMA

Stevens Harstad Slough Waterfowl Refuge  Early goose Sept. 1-15
Watonwan  Saint James Game Refuge Goose hunting Sept. 21 - 22

&

Buy Local. > Burn Local.

Only Approved Firewood
is Allowed on DNR Lands
Approved firewood is:
+ Firewood purchased from the DNR.
+ Firewood purchased from an approved vendor (check out www.mndnr.gov/
firewood for a list of approved vendors).
+ Kiln-dried wood, such as unstained, unpainted dimensional lumber free of
metal or other foreign objects.

HELP PROTECT MINNESOTA’S TREES

These restrictions are needed to help prevent the introduction, or slow the
spread, of damaging forest pests, including emerald ash borer, gypsy moth, and
oak wilt. Help protect Minnesota’s forests by leaving firewood at home! Check
with the state park, state forest campground, or other state recreational facility
you will be visiting to get the latest recommendations and restrictions on
firewood movement to and within Minnesota.
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State Forests

State forest lands are generally open for hunting and other types of outdoor
recreation. Hunting on private land within a state forest is subject to state trespass
laws. A partial summary of state forest use regulations is included below. A complete
listing is available from the DNR.

Elevated stands

« The use of portable tree stands is recommended, especially those which
can be secured without driving nails into trees. Nails are a safety hazard for
woodcutters and harm the forest.
Personal property must be removed from State Forest lands.
Itisillegal to destroy state property, including the cutting of trees for
shooting lanes.
Littering and erecting permanent buildings are prohibited.

Any permanent unoccupied stand or blind on public land is public and not the
property of the person who constructed the stand.

Firewood
Wood that is dead and lying on the ground may be gathered for campfire use on site.
Only approved firewood is allowed to be brought onto DNR lands. See page 112.

Campfires
No permit is required for recreational campfires of less than 3 feet in diameter, in an
area cleared of combustible materials for 5 feet around the fire.

Firearms

« Firearms may be discharged in compliance with the law on forest lands that are
not posted closed to firearm discharge.

+ Firearms must be unloaded and cased while in or within 200 feet of a forest
recreation area (campground, day use area, parking area), except that during
open hunting seasons a person may carry an unloaded, uncased firearm or a
strung, uncased bow to hunt outside the recreation area.

Camping
Camping on forest lands outside of developed campgrounds is permitted, with some
conditions.

Personal property
Personal property may not be left or positioned so as to obstruct use of a road or
trail. Personal property left unattended for 14 days shall be deemed abandoned.

Motor vehicle and off-road rules
State forest lands are classified by the commissioner for purposes of motor vehicle
use. Motor vehicle use is regulated as follows:

State forest lands classified as “managed”
Motor vehicles may use forest roads and routes unless they are posted or
designated closed.

Unmarked/unsigned access routes
+ In a MANAGED forest, motor vehicles may operate on all pre-existing, unsigned
access routes on state forest lands. In a LIMITED forest, motor vehicles may not
operate on pre-existing unsigned routes except persons with a valid hunting,
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Unmarked/unsigned access routes continued from page 113
trapping or commercial trapping license may use routes not specifically
designated for other uses per the hunting and trapping exceptions below.
« However, when operating on unsigned routes in Minnesota’s state forests, it is
illegal to cause erosion, rutting, or damage to trees.

State forest hunting/trapping exceptions
Traveling off roads and trails (cross-country travel) in a LIMITED state forest or
off roads, trails and access routes in a MANAGED state forest is prohibited except
persons with a valid hunting, trapping, or commercial trapping license in possession
may use Class | ATVs to travel cross country to:

+ Retrieve big game (September through December).

» Hunt for big game and construct stands (October through December).

« Trap during the open season for protected furbearers.

« Trap for minnows under certain conditions.

State forest lands classified as “closed”
Motor vehicles are not allowed except:
> Vehicles licensed for highway use may only use signed forest roads unless they
are posted or gated closed.
> Vehicles may operate on frozen public waters where it is not otherwise
prohibited.
Limited, closed, and managed state forests
The following state forests are classified as LIMITED: Badoura, Bear Island,
Bowstring, Buena Vista (portions), Burntside (portions outside BWCAW),
Chengwatana, Cloquet Valley (portions), Crow Wing, D.A.R., Emily, Finland
(portions), Fond du Lac, Foothills, General C.C. Andrews, George Washington
(portions), Golden Anniversary, Hill River, Huntersville, Land O’ Lakes, Lake
Jeanette (portions outside BWCAW), Lyons, Mississippi Headwaters, Nemadji,
Pat Bayle, Paul Bunyan, R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood (no areas where big game
hunter/trapper exemption applies), Remer, Rum River, Savanna, St. Croix, Smoky
Hills, Snake River (portions), Solana, Sturgeon River (portions inside SNF), Two
Inlets, Wealthwood, White Earth, Waukenabo.

The following state forests are classified as CLOSED: Battleground, Birch Lakes,
Buena Vista (portions), Burntside (portions inside the BWCAW), Cloquet Valley
(portions), Finland (portions), George Washington (portions), Insula Lake, Lake
Isabella, Lake Jeanette (only portions in BWCAW), Pillsbury, Sand Dunes, Snake
River (portions), Welsh Lake, Whiteface River. Note: these lists are subject to
change as additional forest review is completed. See the following link for the
most current status, or contact the DNR Information Center (see page 127):
www.mndnr.gov/input/mgmtplans/ohv/designation/status.html

The following state forests are classified as MANAGED: Beltrami Island, Big Fork,
Blackduck, Cloquet Valley (portions), Finland (portions), George Washington
(portions), Grand Portage, Kabetogama, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods,

Lost River, Northwest Angle, Pine Island, Red Lake, Smokey Bear, Sturgeon River
(portions outside Superior National Forest).
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Motor vehicle restrictions
(On state forest and county lands within state forests where motor vehicles
are allowed.)

« No motor vehicle operation is allowed on designated nonmotorized trails, unless
also posted open for a motorized use.

+ Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate on forest lands in a manner that
causes erosion or rutting, or that damages or destroys trees or growing crops.
The no-rutting provision does not apply on designated motorized trails.

» Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate within the boundaries of an area
that is posted and designated as closed to such use.

« Motor vehicles on state forest roads must: travel at a reasonable speed; obey
posted speed limits, parking and traffic regulation signs; observe road closures;
and may not damage the road, land or other natural resources.

+ Cross country travel (off roads and trails) is prohibited. Exceptions to the ban
(for both limited and managed forests) are:

> ATV use for big game hunting or constructing stands from October through
December is allowed;

> ATV use for retrieving harvested big game is allowed from September through
December; and

> ATV use for trapping is allowed during open seasons for protected furbearers.

These exceptions apply only to Class 1 All-Terrain Vehicles (ATVs) less than 2000 cc
engine displacement and 2000 pounds total weight—motorcycles, trucks, and class
2 are not allowed to travel cross-country.

Construction of unauthorized permanent trails on forest lands is prohibited.
Areas with Limitations are areas within state forests where the big game hunter/
trapper exceptions do not apply. These are areas of no motorized travel and
provide walk-in hunting opportunities. All ingress points are signed with the
orange sign “Area with Limitations.”

In the Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest, motor vehicles and
snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads that are not posted closed and
on forest trails that are designated for motorized use. No motorized travel is
allowed off of designated trails under any circumstances. Motorized trails are
open to ATVs and OHMs from May 1 through November 1.

Non-motorized trails

Non-motorized trails are open to non-motorized uses, but may be limited by
postings. In the Richard J. Dorer Forest, horses and bicycles may travel only on
designated trails.
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Scientific and Natural Areas
State Scientific and Natural Areas (SNAs) listed here are open to hunting and

trapping as noted below. Also, check the DNR website for changes in SNAs open to
hunting. In these SNAs open to hunting, portable stands and elevated scaffold may
be used if it is removed each day at the close of shooting hours and does no damage
to trees or other vegetation. Nails, spikes, screws or other devices that damage the
bark of trees are prohibited. No motor vehicles are allowed in SNAs. More on SNAs
can be found at mndnr.gov/snas.

SNAs Open to Hunting and Trapping Trapping allowed only where specified.

COUNTY AREA OPEN FOR

Aitkin
Becker

Beltrami

Brown

Carlton

Carver
Chisago
Clay

Clearwater

Cook

Crow Wing

Fillmore

Goodhue

Houston

McGregor Marsh SNA
Dinner Creek SNA

Maurice O’Link Ribbed Fen Unit
SNA

Joseph A. Tauer Prairie SNA
Hemlock Ravine SNA

Seminary Fen SNA
Franconia Bluffs SNA

Felton Prairie SNA, Bicentennial
Unit only

Iron Springs Bog SNA

Itasca Wilderness Sanctuary
SNA

Hovland Woods SNA
Lutsen SNA

Myhr Creek Ridge SNA

Spring Beauty Northern
Hardwoods SNA

Mille Lacs Moraine SNA
Rushford Sand Barrens SNA
Cherry Grove Blind Valley SNA

Cannon River Turtle Preserve SNA

Brownsville Bluff SNA

Mound Prairie SNA
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All hunting
All hunting and trapping

All hunting (wholly within Red Lake
Peatland SNA)

All hunting and trapping

Deer only by permit, in conjunction
with Jay Cooke State Park

Archery hunting only
All hunting

Deer hunting only

Deer hunting only

Firearms deer hunting only, including
muzzleloader season, in conjunction
with Itasca State Park hunts.

All hunting

All hunting; except only deer hunting
in Scherer Conservation Unit. See
SNA website for map.

All hunting
All hunting

All hunting
All hunting
Deer hunting only
All hunting

Deer only, no hunting in posted
sanctuary. See SNA website for map.

All hunting in the portion north of

Hwy 16; deer only in the south portion.
continued
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SNAs Open to Hunting and Trapping continued from page 116

Trapping allowed only where specified.

COUNTY AREA OPEN FOR

Hubbard

Itasca

Koochiching

Lac qui Parle

Lake of the
Woods

Mahnomen

Morrison

Norman
Pine
Pipestone
Polk

Redwood

Renville

Rice

Roseau

Scott

Sherburne
continued

Badoura Jack Pine Woodland
La Salle Lake SNA
Lester Lake SNA

Boltuck-Rice Forever Wild SNA

Chisholm Point Island SNA
Ladies Tresses Swamp SNA
Little Too Much Lake SNA
Lost 40 SNA

Mississippi Oxbow SNA
Potato Lake SNA

Wabu Woods SNA

Caldwell Brook Cedar
Swamp SNA

Watrous Island SNA
Yellow Bank Hills SNA
Gustafson’s Camp SNA

Pine and Curry Island SNA
Santee Prairie SNA
Lake Alexander Woods SNA

Prairie Smoke Dunes SNA
Black Lake Bog SNA

Prairie Coteau SNA

Gully Fen SNA

Cedar Rock SNA

Cedar Mountain SNA

River Warren Outcrop SNA
Prairie Creek Woods SNA

Two Rivers Aspen Prairie
Parkland SNA

Savage Fen SNA
Uncas Dunes SNA

All hunting and trapping
All hunting and trapping
All hunting and trapping
All hunting

Deer only, by archery
All hunting

All hunting

All hunting

All hunting and trapping
All hunting

All hunting

All hunting

All hunting and trapping
All hunting and trapping
All hunting and trapping

Waterfowl only
All hunting and trapping

Portions open to deer hunting.
See SNA website for map.

Antlerless deer hunting only
All hunting and trapping

All hunting and trapping
Deer only, by archery

All hunting and trapping
Deer only, by archery

All hunting and trapping

Muzzleloader deer only by permit in
conjunction with Nerstrand Big Woods
State Park special hunt.

All hunting

Archery hunting only

All hunting
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SNAs Open to Hunting and Trapping continued from page 117

Trapping allowed only where specified.

COUNTY AREA OPEN FOR

St. Louis Big Island SNA Waterfowl hunting only
Moose Mountain SNA Deer only; archery Sept. 14 - Nov. 17,
firearm Nov. 2 - 17
Stearns Avon Hills Forest SNA Deer only, by archery
St. Wendel Tamarack Bog SNA All hunting
Wabasha Zumbro Falls Woods SNA Antlerless deer hunting by permit
Yellow Medicine  Antelope Valley SNA All hunting and trapping
Mound Spring Prairie SNA All hunting and trapping

Peatland SNAs Open to All Trapping and Hunting

COUNTY PEATLAND SNA

Beltrami Red Lake Peatland SNA

Cass Hole-in-the-Bog Peatland SNA (Except Hole-in-the-Bog
Lake, which is a waterfowl refuge)

Koochiching East Rat Root River Peatland SNA

Lost River Peatland SNA

Myrtle Lake Peatland SNA

North Black River Peatland SNA
South Black River Peatland SNA
West Rat Root River Peatland SNA

Lake Sand Lake Peatland SNA
Lake of the Woods/Beltrami  Muligan Lake Peatland SNA
Lake of the Woods Norris Camp Peatland SNA

Winter Road Lake Peatland SNA
Roseau Luxemburg Peatland SNA

Pine Creek Peatland SNA

Sprague Creek Peatland SNA
St. Louis Lost Lake Peatland SNA

State Parks and State Recreation Areas Open to Public Hunting

All or portions of the state parks and state recreation areas (SRA) listed on the
following page are open to public hunting, or public hunting and trapping according
to Minnesota regulations unless otherwise noted. Maps showing the areas where
hunting and trapping is allowed within each of these units are available online at
www.mndnr.gov/parksandtrails. Hunters and trappers should refer to these maps in
the field to ensure they are within the portion of the state park or state recreation

area where these activities are permitted. )
continued
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State Parks and State Recreation Areas Open to Public Hunting

continued from page 118

With the exception of restrictions on firearms and traps, all state park rules remain in
effect throughout the hunting and trapping seasons.

No permanent stands may be placed in state parks or state recreation areas open
to hunting. Portable tree stands may be used for hunting (in areas open to hunting)
or watching wild animals if the stand is removed each day and does no permanent
damage to the tree in which it is placed. In areas of state parks or state recreation
areas open to hunting by special permit, early placement of portable stands is

allowed under the following conditions:

+ Portable stands may be placed during normal business hours only and no more
than seven days before the hunt. Stands must be removed no more than one day

after the hunt.

« All stands must have owner/hunter identification on them.
« Only portable stands that do no damage to trees or other vegetation are allowed.
Nails, screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees are prohibited. No

screw in steps are allowed.

« Only one stand is allowed per hunter.

State Parks and State Recreation Areas Open to Public Hunting

Big Bog State Recreation Area

Most of the northern portion of Big
Bog SRAis open to public hunting and
trapping. Hunting and trapping is not
allowed on Ludlow Island and vicinity
or the boardwalk.

Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area
Much of Cuyuna Country State
Recreation Area is open to public
hunting, but closed to trapping.

Forestville Mystery Cave State Park
Approximately 430 acres of the park
is open to public hunting but closed
to trapping.

Garden Island State Recreation Area
Much of Garden Island State Recreation
Area is open to public hunting but
closed to trapping.

George H. Crosby Manitou State Park
The portion of the park which is east
of the Manitou River and north of
Minnesota Highway 61 (approximately
3,000 acres) is open to public hunting
but closed to trapping.

Geenleaf State Recreation Area
Open to archery deer hunting following

general archery season regulations.

No special permit required. No bonus
permits allowed. Kristy Rice (DNR),
320-234-2550, kristy.rice(@state.mn.us

La Salle State Recreation Area

Most of La Salle SRA is open to public
hunting and trapping of protected
species during open seasons. Hunting and
trapping is not allowed in the vicinity of
the campground and cabins.

Split Rock Lighthouse State Park
Approximately 50 acres in the far
northern part of the park is open to
public hunting but closed to trapping.
See map for location.

Temperance River State Park
Approximately 600 acres of Temperance
River State Park is open to public hunting
but closed to trapping. The area is located
north of Minnesota Highway 61 and
adjacent to the Cross River on both sides.

Tettegouche State Park

Much of the southern half of the park
(approximately 3,700 acres) known as
the Palisade Valley unit is open to public
hunting and trapping.
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FEDERAL LANDS

National Wildlife Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas
Federal Waterfow!| Production Areas (WPAs) are open to public hunting except
where prohibited. National Wildlife Refuges (NWRs) are closed unless expressly
permitted. Please consult the appropriate NWRs and Wetland Management
District (WMDs) managers or www.fws.gov/refuges for specific regulations.

General restrictions

Small game hunters using shotguns, including turkey hunters, are required to
use and possess only non-toxic shot.

Small game hunters must wear an article of blaze orange/pink consistent with
state regulations.

Target shooting is prohibited.

During the small game season, hunting dogs must be under the immediate
control of the hunter. Training and allowing pets off leash are prohibited.
Motorized vehicles are prohibited on all NWRs and WPAs except on
designated parking areas, access roads, and public roads. Permits to operate
vehicles on other roads may be available for hunters with disabilities.
Motorized watercraft are prohibited on all WPAs and are restricted on most
NWRs. Motorized watercraft are allowed without a permit on designated
portions of the Tamarac and Upper Mississippi National Wildlife Refuge.
Camping, campfires and overnight parking are prohibited on all WPAs
including designated parking areas. Camping, campfires, and overnight
parking are restricted on most NWRs.

No permanent stands are permitted. Also prohibited are the use of nails, wire,
screws, or bolts to attach a stand to a tree or hunting from a tree, into which
a metal object has been driven to support a hunter. Portable hunting stands
MUST BE set up and removed each day.

All property brought onto a NWR or WPA must be removed after each day.
This includes all vehicles, boats, decoys, trail cameras and trash.

The use or possession of alcoholic beverages while hunting is prohibited.

The destruction, defacement, disturbance or unauthorized removal of any
natural object or government property is prohibited.

Plants and animals cannot be introduced, liberated or placed on NWRs

or WPAs.

Disposing of animal carcasses, trash, refuse rocks, wood or other debris

is prohibited.

Cutting, mowing, sawing, digging, collecting, injuring or removing vegetation
is prohibited.

Distribution of feed or bait, or hunting over bait is prohibited. This includes
salts and minerals.

Trapping

A person may not trap in a National Wildlife Refuge without a permit from the

refuge manager. Waterfowl Production Areas (WPAs) are open to trapping per
state regulations unless specifically prohibited.
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Artificial lights
A person may not use a spotlight, headlight, or other artificial light to spot, locate,
or take any wild animal in a NWR or WPA.

Specific restrictions
Agassiz National Wildlife Refuge (Marshall County)
22996 290th Street NE, Middle River, MN 56737-9754, 218-449-4115.
Limited small game and deer hunting are allowed as shown on maps available at
refuge headquarters, parking areas, and kiosks along Marshall County Road 7 or
online at www.fws.gov/refuge/Agassiz/

Big Stone National Wildlife Refuge

(Big Stone and Lac qui Parle counties)

44843 County Road 19, Odessa, MN 56276, 320-273-2191.

Small Game and deer hunting are open as posted with “Public Hunting Area” signs
or shown on maps available at parking areas and at the Refuge Headquarters.

The refuge is closed to migratory bird and coyote hunting.

Big Stone Wetland Management District

(Lincoln and Lyon counties)

44843 County Road 19, Odessa, MN 56276, 320-273-2191.
Hunting is allowed throughout the district.

Crane Meadows National Wildlife Refuge (Morrison County)

19502 Iris Road, Little Falls, MN 56534 320-632-1575.

Hunting opportunities are available. Contact the refuge headquarters or consult
the Refuge website for more information at fws.gov/refuge/creane_meadows/.

Detroit Lakes Wetland Management District

(Becker, Clay, Mahnomen, Norman, and Polk counties)

26624 N Tower Road, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-7959, 218-847-4431.

Hunting is allowed throughout the district, except on the Headquarters
Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Becker County, the Hitterdal WPA in Clay
County, and the McIntosh WPA in Polk County.

Fergus Falls Wetland Management District

(Otter Tail, Grant, Douglas, and Wilkin counties)

18965 County Hwy 82, Fergus Falls, MN 56537-7627, 218-739-2291.
Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the Townsend, Mavis,
Gilmore and designated portions of Knollwood Waterfowl Production Areas
(WPA) in Otter Tail County, and Larson WPA in Douglas County.

Glacial Ridge National Wildlife Refuge (Polk County)

Contact Rydell NWR, 17788 349th Street SE, Erskine, MN 56535
218-687-2229.

Deer: Maps showing open areas are available in parking lots throughout the
refuge and at refuge headquarters.

Upland and Migratory Bird: Open areas are also posted with migratory bird
hunting area signs. Turkey hunting is allowed.

continued
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Specific restrictions continued from page 121

Hamden Slough National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)

21212 210th Street, Audubon, MN 56511, 218-847-4431.

Waterfowl: The refuge is open for Youth Waterfowl Day. Contact the Detroit
Lakes WMD 218-847-4431 for information. Deer hunting is only allowed during
the state muzzleloader season.

Litchfield Wetland Management District

(Meeker, Kandiyohi, Stearns, McLeod, Todd, Renville, and Wright counties)
22274 615th Avenue, Litchfield, MN 55355, 320-693-2849.

Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on part of the Phare Lake WPA
in Renville County that lies within the State Game Refuge.

Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge

(Hennepin, Ramsey, Dakota, Scott, Carver, Sibley, and Le Sueur counties)

3815 American Blvd E, Bloomington, MN 55425-1600, 952-854-5900.

Hunting information is available online at fws.gov/midwest/minnesota_valley and
at the refuge headquarters.

Minnesota Valley Wetland Management District

(Hennepin, Dakota, Scott, Carver, Rice, Sibley, Blue Earth, Steele, Le Sueur,
Waseca, Chisago, Goodhue, Washington, Nicollet, and Ramsey counties)
3815 American Blvd E, Bloomington, MN 55425-1600, 952-854-5900.
Hunting and trapping is allowed. Single projectile ammunition prohibited on
Soberg WPA, Dakota County.

Morris Wetland Management District

(Stevens, Traverse, Big Stone, Lac Qui Parle, Yellow Medicine, Lincoln, Pope and
Swift counties)

43875 230th Street, Morris, MN 56267, 320-589-1001.

Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the designated portions of
the Edward-Long Lake Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Stevens County.

Northern Tallgrass Prairie National Wildlife Refuge
44843 County Road 19, Odessa, MN 56276, 320-273-2191.
Call for refuge specific regulations and maps.

Rice Lake National Wildlife Refuge (Aitkin County)

36289 State Hwy 65, McGregor, MN 55760 218-768-2402.

Open areas are posted with “Public Hunting Area” signs or shown on maps
available at Refuge Headquarters. The Refuge will be open for a special deer hunt
for persons with disabilities. Contact the refuge headquarters for applications
and information.

Rydell National Wildlife Refuge (Polk County)

17788 349th Street SE, Erskine, MN 56535 218-687-2229.

Small game hunting is closed on the refuge. Deer hunting is not permitted on
the refuge except information about special hunts for persons with disabilities is
available at 800-726-3692 and youth hunts at 218-687-2229.

continued
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Specific restrictions continued from page 122

Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge (Sherburne County)

17076 293rd Ave, Zimmerman, MN 55398, 763-389-3323.

Hunting brochures are available at refuge kiosks, and online at fws.gov/refuge/
sherburne or at the refuge headquarters.

Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)

35704 County Road 26, Rochert, MN 56578, 218-847-2641.

Refuge hours are 5 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Areas open for small game, waterfowl, and deer hunting are marked on maps
available at Refuge Headquarters or at www.fws.gov/refuge/tamarac.

Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuge

(Wabasha, Winona, and Houston counties)

51E. 4th Street, Winona, MN 55987, 507-452-4232.

Working a dog in refuge waters by tossing a retrieval dummy or object for
out-and-back exercise is allowed. Trapping, including otter, is allowed only by
special use permit issued by the refuge manager. Except for spring turkey hunting
the refuge is closed to hunting from March 16 - August 31. Portions of the refuge
are open to fall hunting. For more information, contact refuge headquarters.

Windom Wetland Management District

(Brown, Cottonwood, Faribault, Freeborn, Jackson, Martin, Murray Nobles,
Pipestone, Redwood, Rock, and Watonwan counties)

49663 County Road 17, Windom, MN 56101, 507-831-2220.

Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the designated portions of
the Wolf Lake Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Cottonwood County.

National Forest Lands in Minnesota

National forest lands in Minnesota are open to many public uses, including camping,
hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and off-highway vehicle (OHV) use with
some restrictions.

» Minnesota State hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and OHV regulations
apply on national forest lands, except as otherwise stated below or in national
forest regulations, 36 CFR Part 261.

« Special designation areas within national forests, such as designated Wilderness
Areas, Semi-Primitive Nonmotorized Areas, and Research Natural Areas may
have additional restrictions:

> Only portable stands or blinds that do not damage natural features and are
removed at the end of the hunting season are permitted.

> Portable stands and blinds left unattended on national forest lands after the
close of the hunting season are subject to impoundment.

> Cross-country or off-road OHV use for any purpose is prohibited. This includes
the use of OHV’s for big game retrieval, bear baiting and trapping.

> Commercial activities such as outfitting and guiding may not be conducted
without a Special-Use Authorization issued by national forest management.

> Cutting or damaging of trees, including the cutting of shooting lanes, is

prohibited. continued
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National Forest Lands in Minnesota continued from page 123

> Constructing, placing, or maintaining any kind of road, trail, structure or other
improvement is prohibited. This includes the use or occupancy of a permanent
stand, blind or OHV trail.

> Storing or abandoning any personal property on national forest lands is
prohibited.

> Discharging a firearm within 150 yards of a residence, building, campsite,
developed recreation site, or occupied area is not allowed on national
forest land.

> Dumping of any refuse, debris, trash or litter on national forest lands is
prohibited.

> Damaging or removing any natural/cultural feature or federal property
is prohibited.

> Fire restrictions must be observed when in effect.

Chippewa National Forest (Beltrami, Cass and Itasca counties)

The Motor Vehicle Use Map (MVUM), is the legal guide for Motor Vehicle use
on Forest Roads, it is updated annually, which could affect your riding. Forest
Roads are identified on the MVUM and on the ground with a three- or four-digit
numbered sign.

Off-highway Vehicles (OHV) and Highway Licensed Vehicles (HLV), may only
operate on Forest Roads designated open on the MVUM, which are available

FREE at the Forest Supervisors or District Ranger Offices.

Roads that are signed, gated, bermed with dirt, rocks, trees etc. or not
designated open on the MVUM are closed to motor vehicles.

Snowmobiles may operate on any unplowed Forest Service roads with

4 or more inches of snow accumulation.

Camping within a developed recreation fee area for a period longer than 14 days
is prohibited. Campers must leave campground for a minimum of 24 hours
before returning.

Camping for a period longer than 21 consecutive days at a single location,
anywhere on National Forest lands (non-fee areas), is prohibited.

Launching or retrieving a boat with a trailer is prohibited except at a designated
boat ramp.

Superior National Forest (Cook, Lake and St. Louis counties)

+ Motorized travel on the Superior National Forest is only allowed on roads
and trails as designated by an annual Motor Vehicle Use Map. Copies of the
map are available at Superior National Forest offices and online at the Forest
website: www.fs.usda.gov/superior

» Snowmobiles may operate off-road in certain areas and on unplowed Forest
Service roads with 4 or more inches of snow accumulation.

« Camping within a developed recreational site for a period longer than 14 days,
except as otherwise posted, is prohibited.

« Camping for a period longer than 14 consecutive days at a single location,
or longer than 30 consecutive days anywhere on National Forest lands,
is prohibited. continued
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Superior National Forest (Cook, Lake and St. Louis counties) continued from page 124
» Permits are required year-round for entry into the Boundary Waters Canoe Area
Wilderness. Wilderness rules and regulations apply to all visitors.
+ Motor vehicles and all other types of motorized and mechanized equipment
are prohibited in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness except in
specified areas.

For additional information, contact: Chippewa National Forest, 200 Ash Ave. NW,
Cass Lake, MN 56633, 218-335-8600, fs.usda.gov/chippewa; or Superior National
Forest, 8901 Grand Ave. Place, Duluth, MN 55808, 218-626-4300,
fs.usda.gov/superior

St. Croix National Scenic Riverway
For information on trapping, which is restricted at the riverway, see
www.nps.gov/sacn/planyourvisit/trapping.htm

County Lands
Cass County managed forest lands
» Tree stands that damage trees are not allowed; no nails, bolts, or screws. All new
tree stands that damage trees will be removed; old tree stands will be removed
as timber sales take place in an area.
» The county encourages portable tree stands, freestanding stands, and any tree
stands that do not damage trees.

Crow Wing County managed forest lands
Permanent hunting stands are prohibited by ordinance.

Tribal Lands

Lands of the Red Lake Chippewa Band

Lands belonging to the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians in Beltrami, Koochiching,
Lake of the Woods, and Roseau counties are closed to non-band members except by
special authorization of the tribal council. Persons taking, tagging, and transporting
deer from reservation lands on the Northwest Angle in accordance with the Red
Lake Band Code do not need a state license.

Other tribal lands

Nett Lake in Koochiching and St. Louis counties is closed to hunting by non-band
members, except for duck hunting when accompanied by a band-member guide.
Other reservation lands may be open for hunting or trapping to non-band
members by authorization of the reservations. All non-band members who are
hunting or trapping on reservation lands must comply with all state regulations,
including licensing.

Public Hunting Land Maps
Find exact boundaries of WMAs, WPAs, state forests, national forests, and national
wildlife refuges using the Recreation Compass online at mndnr.gov/maps/compass
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Venison Donation Program

The venison donation allows hunters to donate deer that they have shot for
distribution to food shelves at no cost to the hunter. Drop off a deer at any
of the participating processors posted on the DNR website. Processing fees
are paid from a $1 fee collected from the sale of bonus permits. The DNR and
the Minnesota Department of Agriculture fully support deer hunting and the
venison donation program. Venison is a healthy source of high-quality protein.
Lead contamination can be avoided by using nontoxic ammunition or reduced
by using ammunition with high weight retention, such as bonded bullets, and
by placing shots in vital areas, away from major muscle groups and liberally
trimming meat around the wound channels.
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CONTACT INFORMATION

DNR Information Center

500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

651-296-6157 or 888-646-6367
For TTY/TDD communication contact us through the
Minnesota Relay Service at 711 or 800-627-3529.

www.mndnr.gov

DNR Wildlife Offices

NORTHWEST REGION
Bemidji Headquarters
218-308-2651
Baudette Area Office
218-634-1705 Ext 222

Bemidji Area Office
218-308-2339

Crookston Area Office
218-687-2294

Detroit Lakes Area Office
218-846-8470

Fergus Falls Area Office
218-739-7576 Ext 238

Glenwood Area Office
320-634-7338

Karlstad Area Office
218-436-2427

Park Rapids Area Office
218-732-8452

Red Lake WMA
218-783-6861

Roseau River WMA
218-463-1130

Thief Lake WMA
218-222-3747

Thief River Falls Area Office
218-681-0946 Ext 222

NORTHEAST REGION
Grand Rapids Headquarters
218-328-8861

Brainerd Area Office
218-203-4301

Aitkin Area Office
218-429-3051

Cloquet Area Office
218-878-5661

Cloquet/Duluth Field
Office
218-723-4768 Ext 224

Cloquet/General Andrews
Field Office
218-423-6026

Grand Rapids Area Office
218-328-8860

International Falls
Area Office
218-286-5434

Orr Field Office
218-757-3274

Tower Area Office
218-300-7861

Two Harbors Area Office
218-834-1453

Two Harbors/Grand Marais

Field Office
218-387-6037

CENTRAL REGION
Regional Headquarters
651-259-5756

Cambridge Area Office
763-284-7230

Carlos Avery WMA
651-539-3323

Little Falls Area Office
320-616-2450 Ext 222

Mille Lacs WMA
320-532-3537

Forest Lake Area Office
651-539-3324

Rochester Area Office
507-206-2859

Sauk Rapids Area Office
320-223-7840

Shakopee Area Office
952-496-4141 Ext 221

Vermillion
Highlands WMA
651-322-4643

Whitewater WMA
507-796-3281

SOUTH REGION
New Ulm Headquarters
507-233-1200

Appleton Area Office/Lac
qui Parle WMA
320-734-4451 Ext 228

Marshall Area Office
507-537-6250

New London Area Office
320-354-2154

Redwood Falls
Field Office
507-637-4076

Nicollet Area Office
507-225-3572

Owatonna Area Office
507-414-6200

Slayton Area Office
507-836-6919

Talcot Lake Field Office
507-468-2248

Windom Area Office
507-832-6017
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Conservation Officer
888-MINNDNR (888-646-6367) P WESo7 4
Call the DNR Information Center for easy access to DNR ENFGRCE{IENT
information and to connect with a Conservation Officer. g Sreetg

&
("e/ Bes®®

Turn in Poachers (TIP)
800-652-9093

If you witness a violation in progress or need to contact a
Conservation Officer immediately, call the Turn in Poachers
24-hour hotline.

Take part in a

CRITICAL SUCCESS

Minnesota -

B8AAOOO

REINVEST IN

B

JI\N 22 cnmggy nABIAL 9

This Critical Habitat license plate Call of the Moose Minnesota is a
features previously unpublished partnership between the Minnesota
work by Minnesota wildlife artist DNR and Les Kouba Outdoors.

Les Kouba. When you purchase Portions of the proceeds from sales
any of Minnesota’s Critical Habitat of Call of the Moose artwork and
license plates, your $30 annual licensed products support DNR
contribution is matched dollar- moose management and research.

for-dollar with private donations
and DNR nongame wildlife
checkoff funds.

www.mndnr.gov
www.leskoubaoutdoors.com

|
128 2019 Minnesota Hunting Regulations 888-MINNDNR



SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE

Nine hunting time zones are shown on the map to the right. Sunrise and sunset
times to be used for hunting purposes in the “In Table” zone are shown in the
table below and at right. To determine times for other zones, add or subtract, as
appropriate, the minutes shown at the top of the map to the times shown in the
table. Times shown are Central Daylight Saving Time through November 2, 2019
and Central Standard Time thereafter.

Sunrise/Sunset Table for 2019

DATE |JULY [JuLy [AuG. [AuG. [sEPT. DEC. [DEC.
SUN- [SUN- |SUN- [SUN- [SUN- SUN- [SUN-

RISE |SET |RISE |SET |RISE RISE |SET
5:30 9:04 5:58 840  6:35 7:31 4:33

2 5:31 9:.03 5159 8:39 6:36  7:49 712 6:52 7:51 6:01 7:32 4:33
3 5:31 9:.03 600 838 6:37 7:47 713 6:51 6:53 5:00 7:33 4:33
4 5:32 9:.03 601 8:36  6:38 745 714 6:49  6:55 458  7:34 4:32
5 5:32 9:.02 6:.03 835 639 744 716 647 657 4:57 7:35 4:32
6 5:33 9:02 6:04 834 641 7:42 717 6:45  6:58 455  7:36 4:32
7 5:34 9:02 605 832 642 740 718 643 659 454 737 4:32
8 5:35  9:.01 6:06  8:31 6:43  7:38 719 6:41 7:01 4:53 738 4:32
9 5:35 9:01 6:07 8:29 644 736 7:21 640  7.02 4:51 7:39 4:32
10 5:36 9:00 6:08 8:28 6:45  7:34 7:22 6:38  7:04 450 740 432
n 5:37 9:00 610 8:26 6:47 7:32 7:23 6:36 7:05 4:49 74 4:32
12 5:38 8:59 6:11 8:25 6:48  7:30 7:25 6:34  7.06 448 742 4:32
13 5:39 8:59 612 8:23 649 728 7:26 6:32 7.08 447 743 4:32
14 5:39 8:58 6:13 8:22 6:50  7:27 7.27 6:31 7:.09 446 744 432
15 5:40  8:57 6:14 820  6:51 7:25 7:28 6:29 710 445 744 432
16 5:41 8:56 616 8:18 6:53 7:23 7:30 6:27 712 444 745 4:32
17 5:42 8:56 617 817 654 721 7:31 625 713 443 746 4:33
18 5:43 8:55 6:18 8:15 6:55 719 7:32 6:24 714 442 746 4:33
19 5:44 854 619 814 656 717 7:34 6:22 716 4:4 7:47 4:33
20 5:45 8:53 6:20 812 6:57 715 7:35 6:20 717 440 748 4:34
21 5:46 8:52 6:22 810 6:59 713 7:36 6:19 718 4:39 7:48 4:34
22 5:47 8:51 6:23 8:09 700 71 7:38 6:17 7:20 4:39 749 4:35
23 5:48 8:50 6:24 8:07 7:01 7:09 7:39 6:16 7:21 4:38 7:49 4:35
24 5:49 8:49  6:25 8:05  7:.02 7.08 7:40 6:14 7:22 4:37 7:50 4:36
25 5:50 8:48 6:26 8:03 7:03 7:06 7:42 6:12 7:24 4:36 7:50 4:37
26 5:51 8:47 6:28 8:02  7:.05 7.04 743 6:11 7:25 4:36 750 4:37
27 5:52 8:46 6:29 8:.00 7:06 7:.02 7:44 6:09 7:26 4:35 7:51 4:38
28 5:54 845 630 758 7.07 7.00 746 6:08  7:27 4:35 7.5 4:39
29 5:55 844  6:31 7:56 7:08 6:58 7:46 6:07 7:28 4:34 7:51 4:39
30 5:56 8:43 6:32 755 7.09 6:56  7:48 6:05  7:30 4:34 751 4:40
31 5:57 8:41 6:33 7:53 7:50 6:03 7:51 4:4
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Add Subtract
—~—

12|81 4|4 8]12
B Times shown in the tables
bE; = j\i\’kyxmy below may vary by specific
Minutes to - location.
add or subtract ™
Lrolm tables For the exact time in your
elow. .
area consult a local airport
*|
In tables below | [ or check online at:
Bishi % mndnr.gov/sunrise-sunset

97° 96°95° 94° 93° 92° 91°90°

Sunrise/Sunset Table for 2020

DATE |/AN. [JAN. FEB. |MAR. [MAR. MAY
SUN- |SUN- SUN- |SUN- |SUN- SUN-

RISE |SET SET |RISE |SET SET
7:52 4:42 5:21 6:52 6:00 818

2 7:52 4:43 732 5:22 6:50  6:02  6:53 742 6:02 820  5:29 8:53
3 7:52 4:44 731 5:24 6:48 6:03 6:51 7:43 6:00  8:21 5:29 8:54
4 7:52 4:45 730 5:25 6:46  6:04 649 744 5:59 8:22 5:28 8:55
5 7:51 4:46  7:29 5:27 6:45 6:06 6:47 7:46 5:57 8:23 5:28 8:56
6 7:51 4:47 727 5:28 6:43 6:07 645 747 5:56 8:24 5:28 8:56
7 7:51 4:48 7:26 5:29 6:41 6:08 6:43 7:48 5:55 8:26 5:27 8:57
8 7:51 449 725 5:31 7:38 7:09 6:42 749 5:53 8:27 5:27 8:58
9 7:51 4:50  7:23 5:32 7:36 7n 6:40  7:51 5:52 8:28 5:27 8:58
10 7:50 4:52 7:22 5:34  7:36 712 6:38  7:52 5:51 8:29 5:26 8:59
n 7:50 4:53 720 5:35  7:34 713 6:36  7:53 5:49 830  5:26 8:59
12 7:50 4:54 719 5:37 7:32 715 6:34  7:54 5:48  8:32 5:26 9:00
13 7:49 4:55 718 5:38 7:30 7:16 6:33 7:56 5:47 8:33 5:26 9:01
14 7:49 4:56 716 5:39 7:28 718 6:31 7:57 5:46 834 526 9:01
15 7:48 4:58 715 5:41 7:26 719 6:29 7:58 5:45 8:35 5:26 9:01
16 7:48 4:59 713 5:42 7:25 7:20 6:27 7:59 5:43 8:36 5126 9:02
17 7:47 5:00 712 5:44 723 7:21 6:26 8:01 5:42 8:37 5:26 9:02
18 7:46 5:01 710 5:45 7.2 7:23 6:24 8:02 541 8:38 526 9:03
19 7:46 5:03 7:08 5:46 719 7:24 6:22 8:03 5:40 8:40 5:26 9:03
20 7:45 5:04  7:.07 5:48 717 7:25 6:21 805  5:39 8:41 5:26 9:03
21 7:44 5:05 7:05 5:49 715 7:27 6:19 8:06 5:38 8:42 5:26 9:03
22 7:43 5:07 7.04 551 713 7:28 6:17 8:.07 537 843 527 9:04
23 7:42 5:08 7:02 5:52 71 7:29 6:16 8:08 5:36 8:44 5:27 9:04
24 7:42 5:10 7.00 553 710 7:30 6:14 810 5:36 845  5:27 9:04
25 74 5:M 6:59 5:55 7:08 7:32 6:12 8:11 5:35 8:46 5:27 9:04
26 7:40 5:12 6:57 5:56 706  7:33 6:11 812 5:34 847 5:28 9:04
27 7:39 514 6:55 5:58 7:04 7:34 6:09 813 5:33 8:48 5:28 9:04
28 7:38 5:15 6:53 5:59  7:.02 7:35 6:08 815 5:32 849  5:29 9:04
29 7:37 5:17 7:00 7:37 6:06 8:16 5:32 8:50 5:29 9:04
30 7:36 5:18 6:58  7:38 6:05 817 5:31 8:51 5:30  9:04
31 7:35 5:19 6:56 7:39 5:30 8:52
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CALL US
Interpreters are available to answer all of your questions.
License, Titling and Registration: M-F 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
DNR Information Center: 888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157

'i mnwildlife u mn_wildlife

TURN IN POACHERS
24-hour hotline, 800-652-9093

m DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157
www.mndnr.gov

The Minnesota DNR prohibits discrimination in its programs and services based on race,
color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, disability, sexual orientation, and
status with regard to public assistance. Individuals with a disability who need a reasonable
accommodation to access or participate in DNR programs and services please contact

the DNR ADATitle Il Coordinator at info.dnr(@state.mn.us, 651-296-6157, or through MN
Relay Service 711. Discrimination inquiries should be sent to Minnesota DNR, 500 Lafayette
Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4049.

This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by contacting
info.dnr@state.mn.us, 651-296-6157. For TTY/TDD communication contact us through the
Minnesota Relay Service at 711 or 800-627-3529.

© 2019, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources.
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CHRONIC
WASTING

DISEASE
IN MINNESOTA

What to Know About Transporting Deer Carcasses

The discovery of chronic wasting disease in Minnesota means that hunters will need
to be more vigilant when transporting deer carcasses. Here’s what you need to
know to keep our deer herd healthy:

Q If I shoot a deer, elk, moose or caribou in any other state or province can | bring it
into Minnesota?

A Not as a whole carcass. However you can bring moose, deer, caribou or elk that
have been processed as described below:
+ Quarters or other meat with no part of the spinal column or head attached;
+ Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped;
« Antlers, clean skull plates with antlers attached, hides and teeth; and
+ Finished taxidermy mounts or products.

Q If | shoot a deer in Minnesota, can | transport it to another area of the state?

A Yes, except for deer harvested in a CWD management or control zone. Deer
harvested in a CWD management or control zone must remain there untila CWD
not detected test is confirmed. Otherwise, there are no movement restrictions
on deer carcasses within Minnesota.

Q I’m a nonresident just passing through Minnesota. Can | transport a whole
carcass through the state?

A Yes. Nonresidents can transport whole or partial carcasses on a direct route
through the state.

Q | processes my own deer. What is the safest way to dispose of bones and
other waste?

A The best way to dispose of deer parts is through your refuse hauler or by limiting
exposure by burying deer carcasses. Deer carcasses cannot be disposed of on
public lands, including road rights of way or water bodies. They also cannot be
disposed on private lands without permission.

Q Can | bring the head of an animal into the state to have a European mount made?

A Only antlers or clean skull plates with antlers attached can be brought into the
state. An intact head with any tissue, hair, etc. would not be allowed.

Q I'm hunting in an area where CWD surveillance is not occurring this fall—can | get
my deer tested for CWD?

A The Veterinary Diagnostic Lab at the University of Minnesota will do individual
CWD testing using IHC (industry standard) for a fee. More information online at
www.vdl.umn.edu or by telephone 612-625-8787.
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SHARE THE PASSION #huntmn
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Interpreters are available to answer all of your questions.
License, titling and registration: M-F 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
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2019 DEER AREA MANAGEMENT DESIGNATIONS

NEW-CWD Related
Buck Harvest

A hunter in the Southeast CWD

one legal buck per year.

KEY ] Bucks-only: 1 deer limit

I Lottery: 1deer limit

[ | Managed: 2 deer limit
[T Intensive: 3 deer limit
B Unlimited Antlerless
—— Early Antlerless Season

Management Zone (DPA 643, 645, 646,
647, 648, 649 and 655) may harvest 1
legal buck per season and up to 3 legal
bucks per year; (1 buck with an archery
license, 1 buck with a firearms license,
and 1 buck with a muzzleloader license).
For the remainder of the state, including
the North Central CWD Management
Zone DPA 604, a hunter may only tag

I Hunter Choice: 1 deer limit

2019 Lottery Antlerless

Number of Permits

Deer Quotas
Area Number

103 1,000
108 100
m 500
18 50
126 150
130 50
131 50
169 500
173 1,500
176 300
178 300
181 2,000
197 750
199 100
234 100
235 75
237 50
238 50
250 300
252 400
253 300
269 350
270 150
271 450
272 200
274 250
275 150
278 400
279 300
280 100
282 25
283 200
284 200
286 300
288 500
289 300
291 1,000
294 300
295 300
296 300
299 400

~

Special Northwest Minnesota Wildlife Management Area
(WMA) Regulations Regarding ATV and Portable Stand
Use During the Deer Season
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Area A: On WMAs within this area, ATVs are permitted on designated ATV trails only,
except during regular firearms deer season ATVs are:

+ Permitted off trail by licensed deer hunters before and after legal shooting hours and
from 11a.m. to 2 p.m.

+ Permitted off trail by licensed deer hunters to retrieve a harvested deer the day after
the end of the season.

Area B: On WMAs within this area, an ATV may be used by a licensed firearms deer
hunter who does not possess a firearm (cased or uncased) to retrieve and transport a
deer that is known to be dead from the close of shooting hours to two hours after the
close of shooting hours during the regular firearms deer season and for one day after
the season.

Area A and B: From Nov. 1 through Dec. 31, a portable stand may be left overnight by
a person possessing a license to take deer. A person leaving a portable stand overnight
must affix a tag with:

1. the person’s name and address;
2. the licensee's driver's license number; or
3. the"MNDNR#" license identification number issued to the licensee.

The tag must be affixed to the stand so that it can be read from the ground and must
be made of a material sufficient to withstand weather conditions. A deer hunter may
not leave more than two portable stands in any one wildlife management area.

Unoccupied portable stands left overnight may be used by any member of the public.
This rule expires Dec. 31, 2019.

NEW-CARCASS MOVEMENT RESTRICTIONS

Cervidae, including deer, elk, and moose species harvested anywhere outside Minnesota

Only the following parts of deer or other cervids may be brought into Minnesota:

1) Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal column or head attached,
2) Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either commercially or privately),

3) Hides and teeth, 4) Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers
attached, and 5) Finished taxidermy mounts. Nonresidents transporting whole or partial
carcasses on a direct route through Minnesota are exempt from this restriction.

—=--= Deer Permit Area Boundary

]

leave, this zone.

Deer harvested in a CWD management zone
Whole carcasses of all deer, including fawns, taken within a CWD management zone must

CWD Deer Carcass Movement Zones

North Central CWD Management Zone - Until a "not detected" test
result is confirmed, whole carcasses cannot leave this zone.

Southeast CWD Management Zone - Until a "not detected" test
result is confirmed, whole carcasses can move within, but cannot

Southeast CWD Control Zone - Until a "not detected" test result is
confirmed, whole carcasses can move within this zone and the SE
CWD Management Zone, but not the rest of the state.

remain in the area until a "not detected” test is confirmed. The following parts of deer may T
leave a CWD management zone before a "not detected” test result is confirmed: ~ 172
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3) Hides and teeth, and 4) Antlers or clean (no braintissue attached) skull plates with . “"‘.__1 £
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Deer harvested in the CWD control zone (deer permit areas 255, 343, 344) j Gentral sy
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remain either inside the control zone or CWD management zone until a "not detected" test Tlake D Manag L
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wrapped (either commercially or privately), 3) Hides and teeth, and 4) Antlers or clean . - S e
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Deer harvested inside Minnesota, outside of the CWD management and control zone 248 ¥ 9

There are no carcass movement restrictions for deer harvested outside the CWD
Management and Control Zones in Minnesota.

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE (CWD)
MANAGEMENT AND SURVEILLANCE AREAS

NEW-The DNR will collect tissue samples
from deer in 15 deer permit areas in 2019.

Hunters must present harvested deer for
CWD sampling during the first two days of
the A and B firearms seasons in deer permit
areas 255, 343, and 344 in the southeast; in
the central surveillance area in portions of
277 and 283 east of STH 4, the portion of 219
south of STH 55 and permit area 285 north of
STH 7. Hunters must present harvested deer

Road splitting county
=

|_____i Counties impacted by ban
Restriction

m No deer feeding

m No deer feeding or deer attractants

Deer Feeding and Attractants Ban Key

for CWD sampling throughout the firearms,
muzzleloader and archery seasons in deer
permit areas 604, 643, 645, 646, 647, 648,
649, and 655. See pages 63-68.
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in areas where chronic wasting disease was
detected in farmed deer. This includes all of
Kandiyohi, McCleod, Meeker, Stearns, and
Wright and a portion of Renville north of U.S.
Highway 212.

CWD Surveillance Key

Road Splitting Permit Area

|:| Deer Permit Areas

CWD Surveillance Areas
North Central CWD Management Zone

Deer feeding and deer attractants are
prohibited in Aitkin, Cass, Crow Wing, Dodge,
Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston,
Hubbard, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Mower,
Olmsted, Steele, Todd, Wabasha, Wadena and
Winona counties.

Central CWD Surveillance Area
Southeast CWD Control Zone
Southeast CWD Management Zone

Please see the 2019 Hunting and Trapping
Regulations Handbook for more information.

> CWD Testing Areas: www.mndnr.gov/cwd > CWD Test Results: www.mndnr.gov/cwdcheck
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RIFLE/SHOTGUN
RESTRICTIONS

In the southern and western portion of the state shown in
the map below, the only legal firearms for deer are shotguns
using slugs, muzzleloaders, and handguns legal for big game.
Muzzleloaders may be used throughout the state during the
regular firearms seasons. For further assistance, see the
detailed boundary on the reverse side or call 888-MINNDNR

(646-6367).
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