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Employers play an important role in Minnesota’s child support efforts and make
a valuable contribution to the lives of Minnesota’s children. Employers help the
child support program by reporting new hires and by withholding income from

people whom the court orders to pay support.

Through new hire reporting, employers help match employees with child
support obligations. Through income withholding, employers collect more than
70 percent of all the child support disbursed. Cooperation between employers
and child support agencies encourages parental responsibility, reduces taxpayer
costs for public assistance and helps families provide for their children.







New hire reporting

Federal and state laws require all employers to
report newly hired and rehired employees to a state
new hire directory whether the employee owes child
support or not. All states transmit information to the
National Directory of New Hires so child support
agencies nationwide can access employment
information quickly and easily.

New hire reporting laws improve child support
collections, prevent fraudulent welfare claims, and
reduce fraudulent unemployment insurance and
workers’ compensation payments.

Hires and rehires include employees who are:

® Full time

B Part time

B Temporary

B Seasonal (if employed more than two months)
B |ndependent government contractors.

Employer reporting requirements

Every employer must report newly hired and rehired
employees to the Minnesota Department of Human
Services New Hire Reporting Center within 20
calendar days. They must report:

B Every employee, whether or not they owe
child support

B Every employee’s name, address, Social Security
number, date of hire and, if available, date of birth

B Their company name, address and federal employer
identification number.

Payroll companies can report new hire information
for employers. Employers who do business in more
than one state may designate one state for all of their
new hire reporting.

Minnesota New Hire Reporting Center

All new hire reporting is handled by the Minnesota
New Hire Reporting Center. Information, forms and
answers to questions about new hire reporting are
available at:

www.mn-newhire.com

800-672-4473

Employers have three reporting options:

1. By visiting
www.mn-newhire.com to use:

B SFTP (secure file transfer protocol)
B File uploads
® Manual entry

2.By faxing the following items to 800-692-4473:
B New hire reporting forms
B W-4s (with blocks 8 and 10 completed)
B Printed lists

3. By mailing the following items to the Minnesota
New Hire Reporting Center, P.O. Box 64212, St.
Paul, MN 55164-0212:

B New hire reporting forms

B W-4s (with blocks 8 and 10 completed)
B Printed lists

B Diskettes

Failure to report

New hire reporting is important. If an employer fails
to report new employees, the county child support
agency sends a notice of noncompliance by certified
mail to the employer. In addition:

B Employers who fail to report a newly hired or
rehired employee after receiving a notice of
noncompliance may be ordered to pay a $25
civil penalty for each intentionally unreported
employee.

B Employers who conspire with an employee to
avoid reporting or who supply incomplete or
false information may be fined $500 for each
intentionally unreported employee.
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Income withholding

Most child support orders require employers or
payors of funds, hereafter referred to as employer,
to automatically withhold basic support, medical
support and child care support obligations from an
obligor’s pay. Employers may also be required to
withhold other financial obligations such as spousal
support and child support arrears. This means that

if a parent has been ordered to pay child support
and is employed, even in another state, that parent’s
employer, when notified, must withhold child support
from that parent’s paycheck. The employer can mail
a check to the state payment center, electronically
transfer the funds to the state or make an electronic
payment using Minnesota Child Support Online.

Employers should withhold support from employees’
income when notified to do so by the child support
agency. Orders and notices will specify the types of
support and the amounts due.

Most court orders for child support are based on a
monthly child support obligation. Unless a court order
specifically addresses how an employer or payor of
funds should withhold income, employers may choose
to withhold from one check per month or to withhold
a portion from multiple checks throughout the
month. Based on the number of times per month the
employer withholds money, the custodial parent will
receive child support weekly, biweekly or monthly.
Employers must send child support to the location
listed on the notice or order to withhold, within seven
business days of paying an employee.

Legal requirements

Since Jan. 1,1994, nearly all Minnesota court orders
for child support require employers or payors of
funds to withhold support from employees’ income.

State and federal laws require employers and payors
of funds to comply with court orders to withhold
basic support, child care support, medical support
and spousal support. Payors of funds include
trustees, self-employed people, financial institutions,
unemployment insurance, workers’ compensation
insurers, unions, individuals or companies paying
independent contractors, and others who make
periodic payments.

Under Minnesota law, all employee income, including
commissions and lump sum payments, is subject to
withholding. Lump sums include, but are not limited
to, accumulated vacation or sick pay, severance pay,
bonuses, commissions and profit sharing.

To offset the administrative cost of withholding,
employers may charge their employees up to $1for
each payment withheld.

Employers may not fire, refuse to hire or discipline
employees because they must withhold child support
for them.

Notice to withhold

Employers are notified to withhold income when they
receive a copy of an order or a notice to withhold
support from a Minnesota county child support
agency, another state’s child support agency,

a private attorney, an employee or an obligee.

Employers may choose to receive notices
electronically by signing up for the Electronic Income
Withholding Orders (e-IWO) program with the
Federal Office of Child Support Enforcement.

To learn more about this option, go to http:/www.acf.
hhs.gov/programs/css/employers/e-iwo.

When an employer receives an order or notice

to withhold support, the employer must comply

with the terms of the document and begin income
withholding. Employers who receive an order or a
notice from another state should send the support to
the payment center designated in the order or notice.

Employers who receive documents from an employee
may want to verify the information in the order with
the county child support agency in case there have
been any cost-of-living adjustments or modifications.
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Requirements to startincome withholding

Employers have 14 days to process an order or notice
to withhold. Employers must begin withholding no
later than the first pay period following this 14-day
time period. Employers must continue withholding
income until the originating child support agency
notifies them in writing of any changes to the order.

Employers must:

B Comply with an order or notice of withholding

B Start income withholding even if an employee is
willing to make payments directly to the custodial
parent or to the child support agency

® Withhold the court-ordered amount within the
designated time period

Hm Continue to withhold the court-ordered amount
until the child support agency notifies them to stop
or to withhold a different amount

B Verify that adequate income remains after the
withholding, as defined by the Consumer Credit
Protection Act

B Forward the payments as ordered.

Instructions for sending payments

Employers who withhold child support should
promptly send the money they withhold to the child
support agency. Employers should:

B Send the money they withhold to the Minnesota
Child Support Payment Center or to the child
support agency designated in the order or notice

B Send the money they withhold no later than seven
business days after the day they pay the employee
the remainder of the income

B |dentify the money they send as child support
payments by including an employee’s:
® Name
B Social Security number
B Case number
B Date remainder of income was paid.

Employers who withhold child support from more
than one employee may combine all support withheld
during the same pay period into one payment.
Employers should identify the payments and note
the amount to be credited to each employee’s

child support obligation. Unless directed otherwise,
employers should send child support withholding to:

Minnesota Child Support Payment Center
P.O. Box 64306
St. Paul, MN 55164-0306

Electronic funds transfer

Employers may send the child support they withhold
by electronic funds transfer rather than by check

to the Minnesota Child Support Payment Center.
Employers who want to begin sending income
withholding by electronic funds transfer should
contact Minnesota Department of Human Services
Child Support Division at 651-478-5905 or
800-657-3890.

MN Child Support Online

Employers may also send the child support they
withheld by online payment. Employers who want to
make online payments should register with Minnesota
Child Support Online (MCSQO) at https:/www.
childsupport.dhs.state.mn.us/Action/Welcome.

Multiple withholding orders

Some employees may have more than one child
support order requiring income withholding.
Employers must comply with all notices to withhold
to the greatest extent possible.

Minnesota law requires basic support, spousal
support, medical support, child care support and
support arrears or debts take priority over other
attachments, executions, garnishments or

wage assignments.

Amount to withhold
Employers should:

B Withhold the amount of support set in the
court order or notice

B Decide in which pay period to withhold the funds
or split withholding into more than one pay period
as long as the court-ordered amount is withheld
within the set time period

B Send the maximum amount allowed under the
Consumer Credit Protection Act if employees
do not have sufficient income per paycheck to
withhold the entire court-ordered amounts.

Consumer Credit Protection Act

The Consumer Credit Protection Act limits the total
amount of child support that employers may withhold
from an employee’s pay. The act does not apply to
independent contractors.

The act allows an employer to withhold up to:

B 50 percent of an employee’s disposable earnings
for child support or spousal support if the
employee is supporting another spouse or child

B 60 percent if the employee is not supporting
another spouse or child
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B An additional 5 percent for support payments
more than 12 weeks in arrears.
More information about the Consumer Credit
Protection Act is available from the U.S.
Department of Labor at http://www.dol.gov/whd/
garnishment/index.htm.

Lump sum payments

Lump sum payments need special attention. If an
employer pays a lump sum of $500 or more to an
employee when income withholding is in place,
the employer must:

® Notify the child support agency about the payment

® Hold the entire lump sum for 30 days beyond
the date they would have paid the lump sum to
the employee

B Send the lump sum to the Child Support Payment
Center or to the employee as directed by the child
support agency.

Lump sum payments are held to Consumer Credit
Protection Act limits. Employers who receive an order
or affidavit from a child support agency regarding a
lump sum must follow the requirements of that order
or affidavit.

Notification upon ending employment

If income withholding was in place, the employer
must notify the child support agency of an employee
ending employment within 10 days of the ending date.
The employer must notify the child support agency of
the:

B Date employment ended
B Employee’s last known address
B Name and address of the new employer, if known.

The employer must withhold support from the last
payment made to the employee, including any lump
sum payments such as sick pay, vacation pay, tax
deferred savings pay or severance pay.

If an employee returns to work, employers must
resume income withholding immediately.

Requirements to stop income withholding

Employers should continue to withhold income until
they receive a notice to stop from the child support
agency or a court order stopping income withholding.

Employees who owe child support but are not
ordered to have the support withheld from their
income may voluntarily ask their employer to
withhold child support from their pay.

Failure to withhold

State and federal laws require employers to comply
with court orders for child support income with-
holding. If employers intentionally fail to comply,

a court may:

B Hold them in contempt and fine them for failure
to comply with withholding provisions

B Hold them responsible for the amounts of
child support they should have withheld plus
interest as it accumulates from the date of the
withholding notification

Medical support

Minnesota law requires employees to disclose their
medical support obligations to their employer.
Employers are not required to ask their employees
about medical support obligations.

When an employer receives a National Medical
Support Notice or a copy of a court order requiring
medical support, the employer must comply with the
order. Orders may require an employer to:

® Withhold medical support payments from the
employee’s income

B Enroll an employee’s dependents in a health plan.
Health plans may include, but are not limited to,
medical, dental and vision plans.

National Medical Support Notice

The National Medical Support Notice is an
administrative notice issued by the county child
support agency to enforce the health care coverage
plan provisions of a support order regardless of where
the order originated. Employers should treat these
notices the same as court orders requiring employees
to provide health care coverage for their dependents.
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Enrollment required

Employers must forward the National Medical
Support Notice to their health plan within 20 business
days after the date on the notice. Employers must
forward this information even if their employees
refuse to enroll their dependents.

Employees may contest enrollment within 15

days after their employer notifies them of their
dependents’ enrollment. Employers are required to
continue enrollment for an employee’s dependents
while an employee contests enrollment.

Once the employer’s health plan administrator
determines that an employee’s dependents may

be covered under the health plan, employers

must, immediately and not dependent upon open
enrollment, enroll the dependents as beneficiaries in
the health plan at the employee’s expense. If a plan
requires the employee to be enrolled in the plan to
get coverage for their dependents, the employer
must also enroll the employee in the plan.

Multiple health plans

If an employee is enrolled in a health plan, dependents
should be enrolled in the same plan. If an employee

is not enrolled and an employer offers more than

one health plan, the plan administrator must notify
both parents and the child support agency. The child
support agency will select the plan in consultation
with the custodial parent.

Income withholding for premiums

Employers must withhold any required premiums
for an employee’s dependent health plan from the
employee’s income or wages. The health plan may
include, but is not limited to, medical, dental and
vision insurance.

Health care coverage information

If dependent health care coverage is in place,
employers must give information about health care
coverage to both parents and the child support
agency. This information includes the name of the
insurer, insurance identification cards, policy numbers,
the effective date of the coverage and all other
written information necessary to use the benefits. If
the employer does not have an address for a parent,
the employer may send the information to the child
support agency.

If health care coverage is not in place, employers
must give the child support agency information
regarding all dependent health coverage available to
their employee. Health care coverage information
includes, but is not limited to, all available plan
options, any geographic service restrictions and
location of service providers.

Length of coverage

Health care coverage for an employee’s dependents
must continue as long as coverage is available to
the employee, is consistent with the terms of the
coverage, or until:

B The dependent emancipates
B Further order of the court.

Notification upon employment ending

When an order for dependent coverage is in effect,
employers must do the following when coverage
is terminated.

B Notify both parents and the child support agency
within 10 days of the termination date.

B Provide information about conversion privileges
under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act of 1985. Information is available
online from the U. S. Department of Labor at
http:/www.dol.gov/dol/topic/health-plans/cobra.
htm.

Process to end health care coverage
Employers cannot disenroll or eliminate coverage for
an employee’s dependents unless the:

B Employee does not pay the required premiums

B Dependents are or will be enrolled in comparable
coverage through another health or dental plan
effective no later than the date of disenrollment

B Employee is no longer eligible for dependent
coverage
B County child support agency notifies the employer
in writing that the court-ordered medical support
is no longer in effect.
In situations in which an employer may disenroll or
eliminate coverage for an employee’s dependents,
the employer must provide a 30-day written notice to
the:

B Employee
B Other parent of the employee’s dependents
B Child support agency.

After 30 days, the employer may disenroll the
dependents or eliminate the health care coverage.
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Failure to comply

An employer or union that fails to comply with a
National Medical Support Notice or an order to
withhold is responsible for:

B Any uninsured medical expenses incurred by an
employee’s dependent during the period of time
the dependent was eligible, but was not enrolled
in the health plan

B Any other premium costs incurred because of a
failure to comply.

An employer or union that fails to comply with a
National Medical Support Notice or an order to
withhold may be found in contempt of court. If found
in contempt of court, the employer is subject to:

mA $250 fine

m A $500 civil penalty to be paid to the other
parent of the employee’s dependent or the
public authority.

Self-insured employers

Self-insured employers must comply with medical
support laws. They are not exempt from laws
governing dependent health care coverage.

Self-insured employers cannot deny coverage to an
employee’s dependents.

All self-insured businesses covered by the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 must honor a
Qualified Medical Child Support Order. These orders
do not require self-insured employers to provide

any additional benefits beyond the coverage offered
through their employer’s health care plan. These
orders also require the employer to:

B Provide the child support agency the name and last
known mailing address of the employee and each
dependent covered by the order

B Describe the type of coverage to be provided
to each dependent.

Under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act
and Minnesota law, a National Medical Support Notice
is a Qualified Medical Child Support Order.

Child care support

Child support orders sometimes require employers
to withhold child care support from an employee’s
pay. Child care support obligations may be separate
from, or in addition to, withholding for other types
of child support.

Spousal support

Support orders sometimes require employers to
withhold spousal support from an employee’s pay.
Spousal support may be separate from, or in addition
to, other types of support.

Garnishment

By law, a garnishment is not the same as income
withholding. An employee’s wages may be garnished
to pay child support arrears or court expenses.
Income withholding for current support has priority
over a garnishment. A garnishment for child support
arrears has priority over garnishments to private
creditors.

More information

General information about child support, including
county telephone numbers, addresses and employer
responsibilities is available online at mn.gov/dhs/.

Employers who have specific questions about a case
should call the county agency that manages the case
or the Minnesota Department of Human Services
Child Support Division at 651-431-4400 or
800-657-3890. Contact information for county
child support offices is available online at https:/
mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/
services/child-support/contact-us/county-offices.jsp.

Employers who have questions about the

Consumer Credit Protection Act should visit the
U.S. Department of Labor website for information at
http://www.dol.gov/whd/garnishment/index.htm.

Employees who have questions about their case
should contact their county child support officer.

Employees who want to verify child support payments
should contact the Child Support Division’s payment
line at 651-431-4340, 800-657-3512, or online at
http:/www.childsupport.dhs.state.mn.us/Action/

Welcome.
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Definitions

Arrears: The terms arrears, and arrearage, mean
obligation amounts that are overdue and unpaid.

Basic support: Basic support is for expenses
relating to the child’s care, housing, food, clothing,
and transportation. The amount is determined by
applying the parent’s combined parental income for
determining child support (PICS) and the number
of joint children to the basic support guidelines
table. The basic support obligation does not include
payment toward arrears.

Child care support: Child care support is contributing
to the cost of work- or education-related child care
costs.

Child support: Child support is money parents pay for
the care, support, and education for their child. It may
include a monthly court-ordered amount, for basic
support, child care support, and medical support.

Child support agency: The term child support agency
means county offices that provide child support
services and the state office that supervises the
county offices.

Contempt: A person may be found in contempt of
court if the person fails to do something that the
court ordered that person to do, or if that person
does some thing in court that the court orders the
person not to do. The child support agency may ask
the court to find an obligor in contempt of court for
not making support payments. If the court finds the
obligor in contempt, the court may order the obligor
to serve a jail sentence unless the obligor begins

to meet certain conditions, such as making regular
support payments.

Custodial parent: The custodial parent is the person
or entity who has primary care and custody of a minor
child.

Health care coverage: Health care coverage means
health care benefits provided by a health plan and
does not include any form of public coverage such as
Medical Assistance or MinnesotaCare.

Income withholding: Income withholding is the
deduction of the current basic support, child
care support, medical support or spousal support
obligation, and arrears from an obligor’s wages or
other sources of income.

Lump sum: A lump sum payment is an amount
of money paid as a single payment instead of as
installment payments.

Medical support: Medical support is the providing
of health care coverage for a joint child by carrying
health care coverage for the joint child or by

contributing to the cost of health care coverage,
public coverage, unreimbursed medical expenses and
uninsured medical expenses.

National Medical Support Notice: The National
Medical Support Notice is a federally-mandated
administrative notice issued by the public authority to
enforce health care coverage provisions of a support
order in cases where the public authority provides
support enforcement services.

Noncustodial parent: The noncustodial parent (NCP)
is the parent who does not have primary care of a
minor child.

Obligee: The obligee is a person to whom payments
for maintenance or support are owed.

Obligor: The obligoris a person obligated to pay
maintenance or support. For purposes of ordering
medical support, a parent who has primary physical
custody of a child may be an obligor subject to a
payment agreement.

Payor of funds: A payor of funds (POF) is any person
or entity that provides funds to an obligor including
an employer, an independent contractor, payor of
workers’ compensation or unemployment insurance
benefits, or a financial institution.

Public assistance: Public assistance is a benefit or
benefits from a state or federal program. A support
case is public assistance when any child on the case
receives public assistance. Public assistance arrears
are owed to the state, not to the obligee. Public
assistance programs include the former Aid to
Families with Dependent Children program (AFDC);
the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP),
which is Minnesota’s Temporary Assistance to Needy
Families (TANF) program; the work first program;
Child Care Assistance; Medical Assistance (MA);
MinnesotaCare; and IV-E Foster Care services.

Spousal support: Spousal support refers to a court-
ordered amount one party pays for the support and
maintenance of a current or former marriage partner.
Spousal support is also called spousal maintenance.

Uninsured medical expenses: Uninsured medical
expenses are reasonable and necessary health-related
expenses incurred while the joint child is not covered
by a health plan or public coverage.

Unreimbursed medical expenses: Unreimbursed
medical expenses are reasonable and necessary
health-related expenses not covered by the child’s
health plan, such as deductibles, co-payments,
orthodontia, prescription eyeglasses and contact
lenses. Unreimbursed medical expenses do not
include the cost of premiums or over-the-counter
medications.
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