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Did you know?

New Fees for Snowmaobile Registration for 2017-2018 season, See page 7.

The definition of a snowmobile is a self-propelled vehicle originally
manufactured and designed for travel on snow or ice steered by skis or
runners.
Snowmobile does not include the following vehicles equipped with
aftermarket ski and track configurations:

ATV, OHM, ORV, Mini Truck, “utility task vehicle” (per

MN statute 169.011) and any other vehicle being

operated off road.

A Message from MN DNR Conservation Officers: @

During the 2016-2017 snowmobile season, 5 people who were operating snowmobiles
lost their lives in a snowmobile accident. All of those who died did not have the required
snowmobile safety certification. The top four factors involved included; driving too fast
for conditions (inability to recognize that stopping distance increases with speed), alcohol
use, operators thrown from the snowmobile and striking a fixed object. Avoid alcohol
and slow down when riding at night. Stay alert and aware of others when riding on trails,
lakes and road ditches.

2016 Snowmobhile Safety Instructor of the Year

Duane (Marv) Hill of Virginia has been the lead instructor for snowmobile safety class
taught at the Mesabi Sno Voyageurs snowmobile club for 47 years. It is estimated that Hill
has instructed and assisted teaching more than 2,000 students over the years as well as
recruited numerous other volunteer instructors. Marv has served a number of volunteer
leadership positions including Mesabi Sno Voyageurs snowmobile club, Range Trail
Committee, and is a current member of the Minnesota United Snowmaobiler’s Association
(MnUSA).

“Marv genuinely cares about teaching students the ways to legally, responsibly and safely
operate snowmobiles,” said DNR Conservation Officer Matt Frericks.

[

If you are interested in hecoming a volunteer DNR youth instructor:
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/instructors/become.html

This publication is paid for through the sale of advertising. The State of Minnesota and the Department of Natural Resources can neither endorse products or
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to MN DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4031 or the Equal Opportunity Office, Department of the Interior, Washington, DC 20240.
Copyright 2017, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources.
RECYCLABLE: This coated paper protects your regulations from water and the wear and tear of constant use.
To recycle, remove the staples and then recycle.
This information is available in an alternative format upon request.
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WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING

Minnesota has over 22,000 miles of snowmaobile trails. Access to trails depends on the
cooperation of landowners, non-motorized trail users, other recreationists, and local units
of government. The vast majority of trails are groomed and maintained by snowmobile
club volunteers.

Be aware that trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against snow-
mobilers. Trespass seriously impacts the ability of clubs to get private landowners to allow
grant-in-aid trails on their property. We recommend that all recreational users ask first
before entering private lands, even if the land is not posted.

When you ride:

e No alcohol or drugs.

e Stay to the right on trails and use your headlight and taillight.

e Maintain adequate spacing between machines to avoid collision.

¢ Reduce your speed when riding at night to less than 40 MPH. Studies have
shown speed over 40 MPH results in overdriving your headlights.

e Always yield to other motor vehicles.

e Stay clear of thin ice and lake inlets — never cross open water.

e Never ride alone, use the buddy system.

e Stay on groomed area of trails.

e Wear a helmet, eye protection, and proper clothing.
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Registering Your Snowmobile

Snowmobiles operated or transported in Minnesota must be registered with the DNR.
If your snowmobile is not registered, you may not operate, transport, or permit it to be
operated. You must be at least 18 years old to register a snowmobile.

A majority of the revenue generated from snowmobile registration will be used for
snowmobile grant-in-aid trails, trail maintenance, grooming, and easement acquisition.

How to Register Your Snowmobile

Register your snowmobile in person at any deputy registrar or at the DNR License Center in St.
Paul. When you register you will need the make, model, year, serial number, engine size, and
sales receipt that shows the proof of sales tax payment. Sales between private parties do not
require payment of sales tax.

Purchase from a Private Party: A person may not sell a snowmobile without furnishing the
buyer with a bill of sale that includes the signature of the registered owner and the serial
number of the snowmobile. Transfers and registration renewal fees are the responsibility of
the new owner.

Purchase from a Dealership: Snowmobiles purchased from a retail dealer must be
registered by the purchaser at the dealer. The dealer will issue a 21-day temporary registration.

Snowmobile registration fees:

Type of Registration Fee

Trail Use Registration $105.50 plus filing fees
[3yrs] Non-trail Registration $ 53.50 plus filing fees
[3yrs] Duplicate Registration $16.00

Card Duplicate Decal $ 6.00

Transfer — Trail use registration only $13.50

Dealer [annual] $ 58.50 every year
Manufacturer [annual] $158.50 every year
Collector Unlimited Use $14.50

Expiration, Renewal, and Duplicate
The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the registration validation
decal. All snowmobile registrations expire on June 30 of the last year the registration
expires. Example: June 30, 2019

You should receive a notice by mail to renew your registration. Please notify the DNR
of any address change. Whether you are notified or not, you are responsible for renewing
your snowmobile registration. You may renew your registration at http://licenses.dnr.state.
mn.us/.

To obtain a duplicate registration card or decal, contact or your local deputy registrar
or the DNR License Center (800-285-2000).
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Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration is available for snowmabilers who do not operate
on state or grant-in-aid state trails. A unique non-trail registration number will be
assigned which will need to be displayed on the snowmobile.

* Non-trail registration does not allow for operation on state or grant-in-aid state trails
even if you have a one-year trail sticker on the snowmobile.

e |f a road right-of-way is part of a state or grant-in-aid state trail, you
cannot operate a non-trail registered snowmobile on it.

e |f a non-trail registered snowmobile is changed to the regular trail registration, new
registration numbers will be assigned which will need to be displayed on the
snowmobile.

¢ Non-trail snowmobile registrations are non-transferrable.

e Snowmobiles with 125cc or less engine displacement do not need registration
(including Non-Trail registration) if NOT operated on state and grant-in-aid trails.

Registration Numbers and Validation Decals

When you register your snowmobile, you will be assigned a snowmobile registration
number and receive a registration card. When you receive your registration card, sign it
and keep it handy. You do not have to carry it with you, but if an enforcement officer asks
to see it, you must produce it within a reasonable amount of time. The current registration
number and validation decal must be displayed.

Display of Registration Number and Validation Decals

e Display in the 3” x 7” space provided by the manufacturer on the cowling or pan, or

e If no space is provided, place on each side of the snowmobile on the upper half, forward
of the handlebars in a visible location.

Reading from left to right: The letters and numbers must be 1- 7/8” high with 3/16”
stroke in width and in the English language.

Note: Letters and
numbers must be
contrasting color
of the snowmobile
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Snowmobiles do not need to be registered with the DNR if

e heing used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

e owned and used by the federal government, an Indian tribal government, another state

e 0or a political subdivision

e if the snowmobile is registered by tribal members through the tribal government

e registered in a country other than the U.S. being used temporarily in Minnesota

e currently registered in another state and not kept in Minnesota for more than 30
consecutive days

e used exclusively in organized track-racing events

e in transit by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer

e at least 15 years old in transit by an individual for use on land owned or leased by the
individual

e used exclusively for agricultural purposes

e a snowmobile with an engine displacement that is 125 cubic centimeters or less and
the snowmobile is not operated on a state or grant-in-aid trail.

Transfer of Ownership
If you buy a snowmaobile that is currently registered for trail use in Minnesota, you may
use a transferred registration for the time remaining on the previous owner’s registration.
Simply obtain a bill of sale that includes the serial number of the snowmobile from
the previous owner and send it, along with a transfer application and the transfer fee, to
the DNR License Center or a deputy registrar. Transfer applications must be made within
15 days after the transfer or sale actually occurs. A transferred registration is only valid
until the previous owner’s registration expires. Non-trail registration is non-transferrable.
If you buy a snowmabile that is currently registered for non-trail use, you must either
apply for a new non-trail or trail registration.

TRANSFER OR TERMINATION OF SNOWMOBILE OWNERSHIP: Within 15 days

after the transfer of ownership, an application for transfer must be executed by the
registered owner and the purchaser using a bill of sale that includes the vehicle serial
number. An owner must report the destruction or abandonment of any snowmobile by
written notice to the commissioner in such form as the commissioner shall prescribe.
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Collector Snowmobile

¢ Special Permit

A special permit may be issued to a person or organization to operate or transport a
collector snowmobile without registration for parades or organized group outings, such as
races, rallies, and other promotional events, and for up to ten days each year for personal
transportation. “Collector snowmobile” means a snowmobile that is 25 years old or older,
was originally produced as a separate identifiable make by a manufacturer, and is owned
and operated solely as a collector’s item.

e Collector Registration (Optional)

Snowmobiles 25 years old or older may be registered for unlimited use. This registration
is non-transferable. The collector registration does not expire and is valid until the
ownership of the snowmobile is transferred. A snowmobile state trail sticker is required
if you operate on a state or grant-in-aid trail.

Destroyed, Abandoned, or Stolen Snowmobile

If your snowmaobile is destroyed, abandoned, or stolen or you no longer register it in
Minnesota, notify the DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette Rd, St. Paul, MN 55155-4026,
(651) 296-2316 or 1-800-285-2000 within 15 days.

Dealer and Manufacturer Registration
Dealers must register snowmobiles they own and use for demonstration purposes. A
registration plate will be issued along with a registration certificate that must be displayed
conspicuously in the place of business. Additional plates are available for $4.00, plus filing
fees.
Manufacturers must register snowmobiles they own and operate for research,
testing, experimentation, or demonstration. A registration plate will be issued along with a
registration certificate that must be displayed conspicuously in the place of manufacture.
A valid registration number plate must be displayed on snowmobiles operated,
or permitted to be operated, by a dealer or manufacturer. The registrations are not
transferable. Dealer and manufacturer registrations are valid from July 1 - June 30.

IEEXIEA
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State Trail Stickers

Snowmobile State Trail Sticker

Snowmobiles registered in another state or country must have a Snowmobile State Trail
Sticker when operating on state and grant-in-aid trails. A Snowmobile State Trail Sticker
is valid November 1 — June 30 of each year. Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation
of this law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker for $71.00 in addition to
any ticket or fine.

These stickers are available at Deputy Registrar locations, Game and Fish Licensing
agents, DNR License Center, Online www.mndnr.gov or by phone 1-888-MNLICENSE

One Year Trail Sticker - $51.00

Penalty Annual Trail Sticker - $71.00

(Required to buy if found operating on state or grant-in-aid trail without a sticker)
Dealer/Manufacturer Trail Sticker - $16.00

Duplicates - $2.50

Note: For Online purchases, add 3% plus a $1.65 service fee. For phone purchases,
add $3.50

The Snowmobile State Trail Sticker must be displayed in one of the following ways:
e on the forward half of the snowmobile, directly above or below the headlight

e above the expiration year on the top portion of the registration validation decal

e on the lower right corner of a dealer or manufacturer plate

A Snowmobhile State Trail Sticker is not required for:

e a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

¢ a snowmobile owned by the federal government, Indian tribal government, state, and
political subdivisions

e operating a collector snowmobile with a permit

e operating a snowmaobile on portions of a trail owned by the person or the person’s
spouse, child, or parent
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Rules of the Road and Trail

Passing / -
When overtaking another snowmaobile
going in the same direction, always pass
on the left.
w5 CE e CEES

Meeting % &
When meeting another snowmobile, M —
always slow down and stay to the right. < 5

& LB«

Meeting at an intersection
When meeting at an intersection,
the operator to the right has the

-

- ol

right of way.
Operation Along State and Gounty Roads
Public Road Right-of-way
z z
Q Q
) . 1 &
& | Snowmobile Snowmobsile Riding Prohibited Snowmobile &
@ | Riding Riding Q
E Permitted Permitted E
& &
. y~
™
Ditch Ditch

It is illegal to operate on the inside slope,
shoulder, and roadway of state or county roads.
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Signs

Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the
following trail signs.

Informational sign:
indicates intersections or major changes in trail direction.

Directional blazer:
indicates changes in trail direction.

Reassuring blazer:
placed at intervals along the trail reassures users that they
are still on the trail.

Stop sign: / \
placed at a road or highway crossing indicates a snowmobile must ‘
come to a complete stop. ‘

No-snowmobiling sign:
indicates a trail or area where snowmobiling is prohibited.

Asphalt Trail

No Studded
Tra

No-studded tracks sign:
indicates no metal traction devices allowed on trail.

Two-way trail sign:
indicates trails with permitted two-way travel during
nighttime hours within the public road right-of-way.
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Equipment Requirements

All snowmobiles operated on public lands, waters, or roadways must be equipped
as follows:

Helmet

e Operators or riders under 18 years of age must wear an approved helmet,
except when participating in a parade or operating on land belonging to a parent,
grandparent, sibling, uncle, or aunt.

An approved helmet must meet federal law, which requires the helmet to display
the symbol DOT. DOT is the manufacturer’s certification that the helmet conforms to
motor vehicle safety standards. Standard bicycle and hockey helmets are not legal
helmets for snowmobiling.

Lights

¢ Headlights and taillights must be on during hours of darkness.

e Headlights must be able to reveal people and vehicles 100 feet ahead and
aimed so they will not blind an oncoming snowmobiler.

e Colored lenses on headlights are NOT lawful when the snowmobile is operated
on roads or road rights-of-way, including crossing roads and operating in
ditches or outside slopes.

e Red taillights must be visible for 500 feet to the rear of the snowmobile.

Brakes
e Brakes must be able to control movement and to stop and hold the snowmabile track.

Reflector Material

e Snowmobiles must have at least 16 square inches of reflector material on each
side forward of the handle bars.

¢ Any sled, trailer, or other device that is towed by a snowmobile during hours of
darkness must display visible reflector material on each side and at the rear.

Mufflers

e Snowmobiles must be equipped with mufflers that are in good working order and
that do not produce sharp popping or cracking sounds or excessive or unusual noise.
After-market exhaust systems may not meet this requirement and may not be lawful
to operate.

¢ You may not operate or sell a snowmobile built on or after April 1, 1975, that
exceeds 78 decibels on the A scale at 50 feet, except under a permit of the DNR or
county sheriff.

¢ No snowmobile shall be modified by any person in any manner that shall amplify
or otherwise increase total noise level above that emitted by the snowmobile as
originally equipped, regardless of date of manufacture.
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Safety Training Requirements

Residents born after December 31, 1976, must complete a snowmobile safety training
course to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. While operating a snowmobile you must
have either:

¢ asnowmobile safety certificate in your possession or

¢ a snowmobile safety certificate indicator on your driver’s license or on your Minnesota
ID card

Youth ages 11 to 15 yrs can complete safety certification by selecting one of the
choices below: Note: Either choice will have a required “hands on” snowmobile
riding course.

Choice 1: Attend a Traditional classroom snowmobile course:
¢ Course fee $5.00

8 hour course provided by DNR Instructors

Meets two or more times in a classroom setting

Required “hands on” snowmobile riding course**

Choice 2: Select and complete one of the online courses:

¢ Snowmobilecourse.com [*course fee $29.95]
*Family/group pricing available

¢ Snowmobile-ed.com [course fee $29.50]

e Required “hands on” snowmobile riding course™*

**Additional fees may apply attending the Hands-On course. Contact the Instructor.

Where do I find a training course?

0On the DNR website www.mndnr.gov, click on education & safety and then under
recreational vehicle safety classes find snowmobile Safety training. You may also call the
DNR Information Center 1-888-646-6367.

Adult Snowmobile Safety Training (16 years and older)

Complete one of the online courses listed above and pay with credit card to obtain Safety
certificate via online portal. Adults are not required to participate with the “hands on” riding
course.

Offender Snowmobile Safety Training

A person who is convicted of careless or reckless operation, or two or more speeding
violations in a snowmaobile season, must successfully complete a snowmobile safety training
course before operating a snowmobile.

Non-residents certificate in snowmobile safety training in another state will be
recognized in Minnesota.
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Youth Operation Requirements

e The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is jointly responsible for
laws broken by a minor on that snowmobile.

¢ Anyone under 18 years old must wear an approved helmet.

Snowmobile Safety Certificate

Minnesota Residents

Any resident of Minnesota born after December 31, 1976, must have a snowmobile
safety certificate to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. Youth must be 11 years old
to take a snowmaobile safety course, the certificate is not valid until the 12th birthday.

Under Age12 <  May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid
(Without safety trails if accompanied by an adult*
certificate) May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads

e May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality

Ages12&13 e«  May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-
aid trails IF Accompanied by an adult* OR In possession of a valid
snowmobile safety certificate

e May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads
e May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality

Ages 14 e May drive a snowmobile across state or county roads IF in possession
to 18 of a snowmobile safety certificate or driver’s license or ID card with
valid snowmobile indicator
e May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid
trails WITH a snowmobile safety certificate
e May drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in municipalities, if not
contrary to ordinance

Over Age18 *  Residents born after December 31, 1976, who operate a snowmobile
in Minnesota must possess a valid snowmobile safety certificate or a
driver’s license or ID card with a valid snowmobile indicator.

*Accompanied by an adult means a parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated by the
parent or guardian who needs to be close enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile.

Exception for Residents and Non-Residents

Without a snowmobile safety certificate, a person under the age of 14 years may
operate a snowmobile only if they are supervised or accompanied by one of the
following: parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated
by the parent or guardian. The supervising or accompanying adult needs to be close
enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile. This exception
does not allow an operator under the age of 14 to cross a public road.

Non-residents who are 18 years old and older do not need a snowmobile safety certificate.
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General Operation

Where You May Ride

¢ in the bottom or outside slope of a ditch of a county or state road (see page
15)

¢ in the same direction as road traffic in the ditch from one-half hour after
sunset to one-half hour before sunrise (other than this time, you can ride in
either direction)

e one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise on two-way
snowmobile trails that are located within the ditches or adjacent to streets
or highways when specifically permitted by the road authority (look for
posted two-way signs, see page 16)

* on a bridge, other than a bridge that is part of the main-traveled lanes of an
interstate highway, in order to avoid obstructions to travel when absolutely
necessary (the snowmobile must be operated in the extreme right-hand
lane, the entrance to the roadway must be made within 100 feet of the
bridge, and crossing must be made as quickly as possible)

e on state and local trails (see pages 12-14 for Snowmobile State Trail Sticker
requirements)

e on iced-over waters that have legal access (if not restricted by law or local
ordinances)

e on township roads when not restricted by local ordinance

* on public lands that are open to motorized vehicles. Land uses vary. Be sure
to check all federal, state, and local ordinances.

e on your own land

Inside the seven-county metro area, you may ride:

e on land that is posted with signs stating “snowmobiles allowed”

e on land other than your own, with written or verbal permission of the
landowner, occupant, or lessee

e on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.

Outside the seven-county metro
area, you may ride:

e on agricultural land with permission of the
landowner

e on land, other than agricultural land, that you have
not been told verbally, by written warning, or by
posted signs, that riding is prohibited

e on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.
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When making a direct crossing of a street or road, you must:

e bring the snowmobile to a complete stop before crossing, whether there is a
stop sign or not

e yield to all oncoming traffic

e have both front and rear lights on when crossing between one-half
hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, or during periods of reduced
visibility (see page 30 for sunrise/sunset table)

e cross at a 90-degree angle with respect to the road

e cross a divided road at an intersection

State forest lands classified as “closed” are open to off-trail snowmobile use unless
specifically posted closed to snowmobiling.

Where You May NOT Ride

e on the roadway, shoulder, or inner slope of the ditch of a state or county road

e on the median of a four-lane roadway

e within the right-of-way of any interstate

e on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic

e ggainst traffic at night within the road right-of-way *Except when two way trail
travel signs permit use

e at airports

e in any state park, state recreation area, state historic site, wildlife management
area, or state scientific and natural area with the exception of posted
snowmaobile trails and areas

e in any wildlife management area south of U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks east
to Bemidji, then south along U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along
U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of
the state, without written permission from the DNR

e on any iced-over waters located in a restricted area or iced-over waters where
you don’t have legal access

e in any areas restricted by local ordinances or municipalities

e in a tree nursery or planting area

e on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to snowmobiling

e on state forest lands located in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness,
including all of Lake Isabella and Insula; and portions of Lake Jeanette and
Burntside State Forests.

e in National Wildlife Refuges, Waterfowl Production Areas, or the Boundary
Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. For more information, contact your local U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service.

Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or state agencies
may impose further restrictions on snowmobiling on property not owned by the operator.
Check local ordinances where you want to ride.
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Inside the seven-county metro area, you may
NOT ride:

¢ on land that you do not own, unless given written or
verbal permission to ride on that land by the owner,
occupant, or lessee, or unless signs are posted stating
snowmobiling is allowed.

Washington

Outside the seven-county metro area, you may
NOT ride:

¢ on land that you have been told not to verbally, in
writing, or by posted signs

e on agricultural land without the permission of the owner.

Other Prohibitions
It is unlawful to:
e operate your snowmobile in a careless, reckless, or heedless manner
that endangers the operator, or property of another, or causes injury or damage
(intentionally driving over open water, or water skipping, may be considered
careless or reckless unless done as an event under special permit issued by the
local sheriff’s office)
o |itter
e enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence
e mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any shelter, comfort station, or facility on
any state or grant-in-aid trail
e post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are the
landowner, occupant, or lessee of the property
e operate on state forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting,
damages or destroys trees or growing crops
e operate on a state forest trail that is posted for non-motorized use
Special Provision - Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest: Motor
vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads that are not
posted closed and on forest trails that are designated for motorized use. No
motorized travel is allowed off designated trails under any circumstances.
e operate a snowmobile with metal traction devices on paved public trails when
posted closed by state or local government.
Metal traction device means any metal device, or array of metal devices, attached to
a snowmobile track to enhance traction. This includes metal components that extend
more than one-fourth inch from the bottom of the track. Note: Metal cleats affixed
perpendicular to the direction of travel of a 1981 or earlier snowmobile are not
considered a metal traction device.
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Sunken Snowmobiles

Minnesota law requires snowmobiles and motor vehicles (including cars, trucks,
watercraft and ATVs) that sink in a lake or river, be removed by the owner within 30
days. Owners must also notify the county sheriff within 48 hours. If the snowmobile
or vehicle is not removed, the local unit of government can remove it and charge the
owner two to five times the cost of removal.

Snowmobhiling While Intoxicated (SWI)

Operating a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled
substance or its metabolite, or other hazardous substance is unlawful. Operators
who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by an enforcement officer
to determine the presence of these substances. There is a separate additional
criminal penalty for refusal to submit to the tests, and the person’s snowmobiling
privileges will be suspended for one year upon refusal. SWI convictions and
refusals are recorded on the violator’s driver’s license record and may affect their
driver’s license privileges.

An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration of
.08 or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony
level Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). Persons convicted of a misdemeanor will be
subject to: up to $1,000 fine (plus surcharges); possible jail sentence; and loss of
snowmobile operating privileges for one year.

In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following gross misdemeanor
penalty provisions may apply if the person has any prior DWI violations, has an
alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit, or has a child under 16 years of age
with them on the snowmobile:

e up to $3,000 fine with longer mandatory jail time

e chemical use assessment and long-term monitoring programs

¢ |oss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges

e motor vehicle plate impoundment of all motor vehicles owned or leased
individually or jointly by the person

e forfeiture of the snowmaobile

*If a person has three or more DWI convictions or revocations in the last 10 years, or
has a prior felony conviction, he or she can be sentenced to 3-7 years in jail, up to
$14,000 fine, or both. Longer license revocations also would be imposed.

Open Bottle Law
It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when operating a
snowmobile on a roadway or shoulder of a roadway that is not a part of a designated
snowmobile trail.
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Speed Limits
It is unlawful to operate a snowmobile in excess of:
e 50 MPH on any public lands or waters
e the posted speed limits on a trail
e a speed greater than various conditions dictate for the trail, terrain and visibility
e the posted road speed limit or 50 MPH, whichever is LOWER, while operating in
the ditch
e any governmental unit snowmobile speed limit. Governmental units include any
city, county, municipality, township, or conservation district.

Speed on frozen lake surfaces: A county may enact a daytime 65 MPH speed limit
for marked trails on frozen lakes that are over 10,000 acres. The county would
need to pass an ordinance and receive approval by the DNR Commissioner.
Individual counties will have more information on the location and status of any
designated 65 MPH trails.

Accidents

Minnesota has worked hard to reduce snowmobiling accidents, injuries, and fatalities
through education and safety training programs. The largest contributing factor to
crashes is excessive speed, followed by alcohol usage.

Reporting Requirements: If you are involved in a snowmobile accident that results
in injury requiring medical attention, death, or damage of more than $500, you must
file an official accident report with the Department of Natural Resources within 48
hours of the accident. Accident reporting forms are available on the DNR website at
www.mndnr.gov/enforcement or call 1-800-366-8917.

Your Guide to Minnesota’s Woods, Waters, and Wildlife

Minnesota Conservation Volunteer magazine is
uniquely supported by contributions from readers.
Subscribe and donate today at mndnr.gov/
mcvmagazine or call 844-245-7115.
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Enforcement

Conservation officers, state troopers, deputy sheriffs, police officers and other peace
officers are responsible for the enforcement of Minnesota’s snowmobile laws.
Whenever an enforcement officer signals you, you must stop. Fleeing an enforcement
officer is a felony and the snowmobile used may be forfeited.

Part of a conservation officer’s duty is to ensure your safety while snowmobiling. If
you need an enforcement officer, contact your nearest State Patrol dispatch center. Your
local conservation officer can also be found at www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas.

Penalties

Violation of most snowmobile statutes and rules are misdemeanors and carry a fine

of up to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to 90 days. Youth violations may result in
snowmobile safety certificate suspension. Also, snowmobiles used in burglaries, fleeing
a peace officer, or a DWI, may be subject to seizure and confiscation or forfeiture.

The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is subject to penalties if
he or she knowingly allows the snowmobile to be operated by someone physically or
mentally unable to drive the vehicle safely, or is under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

A person operating a snowmobile with metal traction devices on any paved trail is
guilty of a petty misdemeanor punishable by a civil penalty or criminal fine of $50 for
the first offense, $200 for the second offense, and $500 for the third or subsequent
offense. Criminal fine will be subject to court surcharges and fees in addition to this
penalty amount.

Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation of the Snowmaobile State Trail Sticker
law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker for $71.00, in addition to any
ticket or fine.

Minnesota Law on Registration

“A person may not operate or transport a snowmobile unless the snowmobile has been
registered.” Violation of this law is a misdemeanor. Punishable by fines up to

$1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days.

STAY RIGHT! Trails are two-way, always watch out for others!
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Minnesota Trespass Laws

Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have
against snowmobilers. Always ask for permission before
entering private land.

Respect
Private
Property

e

Just because property isn’t posted that doesn’t mean you
have a right to enter someone else’s private property. The
posted signs indicate the landowner’s intention to prevent unauthorized entry.
If you violate Minnesota’s trespass laws, you will be guilty of a misdemeanor or gross
misdemeanor, or may be charged with a civil penalty. A misdemeanor is punishable by
fines of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days. Civil penalties range from
$50 for a first time violation to $500 and loss of registration for a third violation.
You are guilty of a gross misdemeanor when you:

e knowingly disregard signs prohibiting trespass

e trespass after the landowner tells you not to

e violate the trespass law twice in three years.
If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor, you will be subject to fines up to
$3,000 and up to one year in jail, your snowmobile registration will be null and void,
and you will lose all hunting privileges for two years.

You must have permission to:
e Enter posted land

e Enter Agricultural land is land that is plowed or tilled; has standing crops or
crop residue; is within a maintained fence for enclosing domestic livestock; is
planted native or introduced hay land or grassland; or is planted to short rotation
woody crops (harvested within 15 years of planting).

e All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody crop land meet the
definition of agricultural land, grass land enrolled in the federal Conservation
Reserve Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP),
or the state Reinvestment in Minnesota Reserve program (RIM), Walk In Access
areas. These lands do not need to be posted to prevent trespass.

It’s unlawful to:
e wound or kill another person’s domestic animal or destroy private property
e pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position
e stray off the groomed portions of marked state trails.
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Game Laws Related to Snowmobiling

General Restrictions
A person licensed to take deer must not operate a snowmobile or an off-highway
vehicle on public or private property in an area open for the taking of deer by firearms
on a day that they are licensed to take deer in that area except:

e Before legal shooting hours (1/2 hour before sunrise)

e From 11am until 2pm.

o After legal shooting hours (1/2 hour after sunset).

e On property that they own.

e On private property with the landowner’s permission.

e Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles in an

emergency, medical, or other unusual situation during the restricted hours.

Recreational Snowmobile and OHV Riders
During the firearms deer season, option A season, snowmobile trails and OHV trails and
routes on state forest lands are closed to ALL recreational snowmobile and off-highway
vehicle riding (ATV, OHM, & ORV) where deer may be taken by rifle only (see MN
Hunting & Trapping Regulations booklet):

e Series 100 permit areas (November 4-19, 2017)

e Portions of series 200 permit areas (November 4 -12, 2017)

e Forest roads remain open to snowmobile and OHV use

Firearms Transportation in Motor Vehicles
A person may transport unloaded, uncased firearms (excluding pistols)
in a motor vehicle, including snowmobiles:
e While at a shooting range with permission
e While lawfully hunting on private or public land or while traveling to or from a
site the person intends to hunt or trap or has lawfully hunted that day.

Firearms must be transported unloaded and cased:

e Within Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties

e Within boundaries of a home rule charter, or statutory city with population of
2,500 or more

e 0On school grounds

e As otherwise restricted in game refuges, shining, thermal imagining
or night vision laws

¢ A handgun/pistol cannot be transported uncased without a valid permit to carry.

It is unlawful to:
e use a snowmobile to chase, run over, or kill a wild animal
e shoot or attempt to shoot a wild animal from a snowmobile.
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TURN IN POACHERS 24-hour hotline, 800-652-9093

To find your local conservation officer, visit:
Website: http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/officerpatrolareas/index.html

Connect instantly to the conservation officer
locator webpage by scanning this code

ﬁ

Special Permits for Disabled Hunters

A permit may be issued to shoot from a standing motor vehicle including a snowmobile
to a licensed hunter who has a permanent physical disability and is unable to step from
a vehicle without the aid of mechanical support, prosthetic device or is required to use

supplemental oxygen to assist breathing because they are unable to walk any distance
because of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal disease. For more details contact
the Department of Natural Resources Information Center.

For More Information on snowmobile trails; maps of state parks, forests, and state
trails; weekly snow reports; and other information, contact:

DNR Information Center
500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4040
www.mndnr.gov

Call US 1-888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157

New Longer Hours

License, titling and registration: M-F 8 am - 4:30 pm

General information: M-F 8 am - 8 pm, Sat. 9 am - 1 pm

For information about snowmobile registration, contact:
DNR License Bureau

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4026

(651)296-2316 e Toll-free: 1-800-285-2000
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For information on scheduled snowmobhile safety classes statewide:
Website: http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/vehicle/snowmobile/index.html

DNR Safety Training center
15011 State HWY 115
Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN
1-800-366-8917

Grant-In-Aid Program

The Grant-in-Aid Program is a cooperative effort between the Minnesota DNR, local
governments, local snowmobile organizations, and private landowners who provide the
majority of Minnesota’s 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails. Funded through snowmobile
registration and Snowmobile State Trail Sticker fees and gas taxes, the grant-in-aid
program helps local groups and clubs develop and maintain trails.

e Grant-in-aid trails are open each year from December 1 through April 1.

e Many grant-in-aid trails throughout the state run through private property. Stay
on good terms with these landowners by staying on marked trails. Don’t
jeopardize your ability to use private lands.

e Remember you need a Trail Use Registration sticker when operating on grant-
in-aid trails

Sunrise/Sunset Tahle
To find the sunrise and sunset times in your area. See the link to the U.S. Naval
Observatory website:

http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php

Note: Sunrise and sunset times are shown in a table format and can be printed for
viewing or saved to your computer’s desktop.

Daylight Time
Daylight time is not implemented in time tables. When daylight time is in use, add one
hour to the times listed in the tables.



Proctor Minnesota is just two hours north of the Twin Cities with endless
snowmobile trails and plenty of trailer parking. At the end of the day,
come home to Proctor’s superior hotels.

}\Q\ -
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn AmerlCIIlli

Americas Best Value Inn Hotel and Suites
Black Woods Convention
Center with Grill & Bar attached

VisitProctorMn.com
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LA LDIR RIS W R IR TN Introducing the ultimate machine for snow-hungry youth.

Trail certified and perfect for kids who have outgrown their ZR 120, it’s the first sled of its kind. And it's snappy, up to
30 mph to keep up with the rest of the clan. It's time for a family snow trip, into Tye LIID{ WOK\D 0F M\CT,C CAT-"

See your dealer or visit ARCTICCAT.COM today to see the entire 2018 lineup.
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	The definition of a snowmobile is a self-propelled vehicle originally manufactured and designed for travel on snow or ice steered by skis or runners.  
	The definition of a snowmobile is a self-propelled vehicle originally manufactured and designed for travel on snow or ice steered by skis or runners.  
	Snowmobile does not include the following vehicles equipped with aftermarket ski and track configurations:
	 ATV, OHM, ORV, Mini Truck, “utility task vehicle” (per 
	 MN statute 169.011) and any other vehicle being 
	 operated off road.

	A Message from MN DNR Conservation Officers: 
	A Message from MN DNR Conservation Officers: 
	Figure

	During the 2016-2017 snowmobile season, 5 people who were operating snowmobiles 
	During the 2016-2017 snowmobile season, 5 people who were operating snowmobiles 
	lost their lives in a snowmobile accident.  All of those who died did not have the required 
	snowmobile safety certification.  The top four factors involved included; driving too fast 
	for conditions (inability to recognize that stopping distance increases with speed), alcohol 
	use, operators thrown from the snowmobile and striking a fixed object.  Avoid alcohol 
	and slow down when riding at night.  Stay alert and aware of others when riding on trails, 
	lakes and road ditches.

	2016 Snowmobile Safety Instructor of the Year
	2016 Snowmobile Safety Instructor of the Year

	Duane (Marv) Hill of Virginia has been the lead instructor for snowmobile safety class 
	Duane (Marv) Hill of Virginia has been the lead instructor for snowmobile safety class 
	taught at the Mesabi Sno Voyageurs snowmobile club for 47 years. It is estimated that Hill 
	has instructed and assisted teaching more than 2,000 students over the years as well as 
	recruited numerous other volunteer instructors. Marv has served a number of volunteer 
	leadership positions including Mesabi Sno Voyageurs snowmobile club, Range Trail 
	Committee, and is a current member of the Minnesota United Snowmobiler’s Association 
	(MnUSA).

	“Marv genuinely cares about teaching students the ways to legally, responsibly and safely 
	“Marv genuinely cares about teaching students the ways to legally, responsibly and safely 
	operate snowmobiles,” said DNR Conservation Officer Matt Frericks.

	If you are interested in becoming a volunteer DNR youth instructor:
	If you are interested in becoming a volunteer DNR youth instructor:

	http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/instructors/become.html
	http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/instructors/become.html
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	WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING
	WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING
	WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING

	Minnesota has over 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails.  Access to trails depends on the 
	Minnesota has over 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails.  Access to trails depends on the 
	cooperation of landowners, non-motorized trail users, other recreationists, and local units 
	of government. The vast majority of trails are groomed and maintained by snowmobile 
	club volunteers.

	Be aware
	Be aware
	 that trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against snow
	-
	mobilers. Trespass seriously impacts the ability of clubs to get private landowners to allow 
	grant-in-aid trails on their property. We recommend that all recreational users ask first 
	before entering private lands, even if the land is not posted.

	When you ride:
	When you ride:

	 • No alcohol or drugs.
	 • No alcohol or drugs.

	 • Stay to the right on trails and use your headlight and taillight.
	 • Stay to the right on trails and use your headlight and taillight.

	 • Maintain adequate spacing between machines to avoid collision.
	 • Maintain adequate spacing between machines to avoid collision.

	 • Reduce your speed when riding at night to less than 40 MPH. Studies have 
	 • Reduce your speed when riding at night to less than 40 MPH. Studies have 

	    shown speed over 40 MPH results in overdriving your headlights.
	    shown speed over 40 MPH results in overdriving your headlights.

	 • Always yield to other motor vehicles.
	 • Always yield to other motor vehicles.

	 • Stay clear of thin ice and lake inlets — never cross open water.
	 • Stay clear of thin ice and lake inlets — never cross open water.

	 • Never ride alone, use the buddy system.
	 • Never ride alone, use the buddy system.

	 • Stay on groomed area of trails.
	 • Stay on groomed area of trails.

	 • Wear a helmet, eye protection, and proper clothing.
	 • Wear a helmet, eye protection, and proper clothing.


	Zero Alcohol logo
	Snowmobiling takes place in unpredictable and uncontrollable natural 
	Snowmobiling takes place in unpredictable and uncontrollable natural 
	Snowmobiling takes place in unpredictable and uncontrollable natural 
	settings. Statewide and nationwide reports show the consumption of 
	alcohol is a contributing factor in many snowmobile fatalities. 

	That’s why DNR conservation officers strongly encourage every 
	That’s why DNR conservation officers strongly encourage every 
	snowmobiler to practice 
	‘Zero Alcohol’ 
	as part of their own regular 
	safe riding habits. Many snowmobilers already choose to ride alcohol 
	free. Practicing 
	‘Zero Alcohol’
	 before and during your ride will save 
	lives and reduce injuries.

	‘Zero Alcohol,’ it’s your smart choice for safer snowmobiling.
	‘Zero Alcohol,’ it’s your smart choice for safer snowmobiling.
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	Registering Your Snowmobile
	Registering Your Snowmobile
	Registering Your Snowmobile

	Snowmobiles 
	Snowmobiles 
	operated
	 or 
	transported
	 in Minnesota must be registered with the DNR. 
	If your snowmobile is not registered, you may not operate, transport, or permit it to be 
	operated. You must be at least 18 years old to register a snowmobile.

	A majority of the revenue generated from snowmobile registration will be used for 
	A majority of the revenue generated from snowmobile registration will be used for 
	snowmobile grant-in-aid trails, trail maintenance, grooming, and easement acquisition.

	How to Register Your Snowmobile
	How to Register Your Snowmobile

	Register your snowmobile in person at any deputy registrar or at the DNR License Center in St. 
	Register your snowmobile in person at any deputy registrar or at the DNR License Center in St. 
	Paul. When you register you will need the make, model, year, serial number, engine size, and 
	sales receipt that shows the proof of sales tax payment. Sales between private parties do not 
	require payment of sales tax.

	Purchase from a Private Party: 
	Purchase from a Private Party: 
	A person may not sell a snowmobile without furnishing the 
	buyer with a bill of sale that includes the 
	signature of the registered owner
	 and the 
	serial 
	number
	 of the snowmobile. Transfers and registration renewal fees are the responsibility of 
	the new owner.

	Purchase from a Dealership:
	Purchase from a Dealership:
	 Snowmobiles purchased from a retail dealer must be 
	registered by the purchaser at the dealer. The dealer will issue a 21-day temporary registration.

	Snowmobile registration fees:
	Snowmobile registration fees:

	Type of Registration 
	Type of Registration 

	Trail Use Registration 
	Trail Use Registration 

	[3yrs] Non-trail Registration 
	[3yrs] Non-trail Registration 

	[3yrs] Duplicate Registration 
	[3yrs] Duplicate Registration 

	Card Duplicate Decal
	Card Duplicate Decal

	Transfer – Trail use registration only 
	Transfer – Trail use registration only 

	Dealer [annual]
	Dealer [annual]

	Manufacturer [annual]
	Manufacturer [annual]

	Collector Unlimited Use
	Collector Unlimited Use


	Fee
	Fee
	Fee

	$105.50 plus filing fees
	$105.50 plus filing fees

	$ 53.50 plus filing fees
	$ 53.50 plus filing fees

	$ 16.00
	$ 16.00

	$  6.00
	$  6.00

	$ 13.50
	$ 13.50

	$ 58.50 every year
	$ 58.50 every year

	$158.50 every year
	$158.50 every year

	$ 14.50
	$ 14.50


	Expiration, Renewal, and Duplicate
	Expiration, Renewal, and Duplicate
	Expiration, Renewal, and Duplicate

	The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the registration validation 
	The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the registration validation 
	decal. All snowmobile registrations expire on June 30 of the last year the registration 
	expires. Example: June 30, 2019

	You should receive a notice by mail to renew your registration. Please notify the DNR 
	You should receive a notice by mail to renew your registration. Please notify the DNR 
	of any address change. Whether you are notified or not, you are responsible for renewing 
	your snowmobile registration. You may renew your registration at http://licenses.dnr.state.
	mn.us/.

	To obtain a duplicate registration card or decal, contact or your local deputy registrar 
	To obtain a duplicate registration card or decal, contact or your local deputy registrar 
	or the DNR License Center (800-285-2000).
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	Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration
	Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration
	Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration
	 is available for snowmobilers who do not operate 
	on state or grant-in-aid state trails. A unique non-trail registration number will be 
	assigned which will need to be displayed on the snowmobile.

	• Non-trail registration does not allow for operation on state or grant-in-aid state trails   
	• Non-trail registration does not allow for operation on state or grant-in-aid state trails   
	 even if you have a one-year trail sticker on the snowmobile.

	• If a road right-of-way is part of a state or grant-in-aid state trail, you
	• If a road right-of-way is part of a state or grant-in-aid state trail, you

	 cannot operate a non-trail registered snowmobile on it.
	 cannot operate a non-trail registered snowmobile on it.

	• If a non-trail registered snowmobile is changed to the regular trail registration, new   
	• If a non-trail registered snowmobile is changed to the regular trail registration, new   
	 registration numbers will be assigned which will need to be displayed on the 

	 snowmobile.
	 snowmobile.

	• Non-trail snowmobile registrations are non-transferrable.
	• Non-trail snowmobile registrations are non-transferrable.

	• Snowmobiles with 125cc or less engine displacement do not need registration   
	• Snowmobiles with 125cc or less engine displacement do not need registration   
	 (including Non-Trail registration) if NOT operated on state and grant-in-aid trails.


	Registration Numbers and Validation Decals
	Registration Numbers and Validation Decals
	Registration Numbers and Validation Decals

	When you register your snowmobile, you will be assigned a snowmobile registration 
	When you register your snowmobile, you will be assigned a snowmobile registration 
	number and receive a registration card. When you receive your registration card, sign it 
	and keep it handy. You do not have to carry it with you, but if an enforcement officer asks 
	to see it, you must produce it within a reasonable amount of time. The current registration 
	number and validation decal must be displayed.

	Display of Registration Number and Validation Decals
	Display of Registration Number and Validation Decals

	• Display in the 3” x 7” space provided by the manufacturer on the cowling or pan, or
	• Display in the 3” x 7” space provided by the manufacturer on the cowling or pan, or

	• If no space is provided, place on each side of the snowmobile on the upper half, forward  
	• If no space is provided, place on each side of the snowmobile on the upper half, forward  
	 of the handlebars in a visible location.

	Reading from left to right:
	Reading from left to right:
	 The letters and numbers must be 1- 7/8” high with 3/16” 
	stroke in width and in the English language.


	Note: Letters and 
	Note: Letters and 
	Note: Letters and 
	numbers must be 
	contrasting color 
	of the snowmobile


	Image of snowmobile (computer created)
	Adverisement
	Paid Advertisement
	Paid Advertisement
	Paid Advertisement
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	Snowmobiles do not need to be registered with the DNR if
	Snowmobiles do not need to be registered with the DNR if
	Snowmobiles do not need to be registered with the DNR if

	• being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail
	• being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

	• owned and used by the federal government, an Indian tribal government, another state
	• owned and used by the federal government, an Indian tribal government, another state

	• or a political subdivision
	• or a political subdivision

	• if the snowmobile is registered by tribal members through the tribal government
	• if the snowmobile is registered by tribal members through the tribal government

	• registered in a country other than the U.S. being used temporarily in Minnesota
	• registered in a country other than the U.S. being used temporarily in Minnesota

	• currently registered in another state and not kept in Minnesota for more than 30   
	• currently registered in another state and not kept in Minnesota for more than 30   
	 consecutive days

	• used exclusively in organized track-racing events
	• used exclusively in organized track-racing events

	• in transit by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer
	• in transit by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer

	• at least 15 years old in transit by an individual for use on land owned or leased by the   
	• at least 15 years old in transit by an individual for use on land owned or leased by the   
	 individual

	• used exclusively for agricultural purposes
	• used exclusively for agricultural purposes

	• a snowmobile with an engine displacement that is 125 cubic centimeters or less and   
	• a snowmobile with an engine displacement that is 125 cubic centimeters or less and   
	 the snowmobile is not operated on a state or grant-in-aid trail.

	Transfer of Ownership
	Transfer of Ownership

	If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered for trail use in Minnesota, you may 
	If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered for trail use in Minnesota, you may 
	use a transferred registration for the time remaining on the previous owner’s registration.

	Simply obtain a 
	Simply obtain a 
	bill of sale
	 that includes the serial number of the snowmobile from 
	the previous owner and send it, along with a transfer application and the transfer fee, to 
	the DNR License Center or a deputy registrar. Transfer applications must be made 
	within 
	15 days
	 after the transfer or sale actually occurs. A transferred registration is only valid 
	until the previous owner’s registration expires. Non-trail registration is non-transferrable. 
	If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered for non-trail use, you must either 
	apply for a new non-trail or trail registration.

	TRANSFER OR TERMINATION OF SNOWMOBILE OWNERSHIP:
	TRANSFER OR TERMINATION OF SNOWMOBILE OWNERSHIP:
	 Within 15 days

	after the transfer of ownership, an application for transfer must be executed by the 
	after the transfer of ownership, an application for transfer must be executed by the 
	registered owner and the purchaser using a bill of sale that includes the vehicle serial 
	number. An owner must report the destruction or abandonment of any snowmobile by 
	written notice to the commissioner in such form as the commissioner shall prescribe.
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	Collector Snowmobile
	Collector Snowmobile
	Collector Snowmobile

	• 
	• 
	Special Permit

	A 
	A 
	special permit
	 may be issued to a person or organization to operate or transport a 
	collector snowmobile without registration for parades or organized group outings, such as 
	races, rallies, and other promotional events, and for up to ten days each year for personal 
	transportation. “Collector snowmobile” means a snowmobile that is 25 years old or older, 
	was originally produced as a separate identifiable make by a manufacturer, and is owned 
	and operated solely as a collector’s item.

	•
	•
	 Collector Registration (Optional)

	Snowmobiles 25 years
	Snowmobiles 25 years
	 old or older may be registered for unlimited use. This registration 
	is non-transferable. The collector registration does not expire and is valid until the 
	ownership of the snowmobile is transferred. A 
	snowmobile state trail sticker
	 is required 
	if you operate on a state or grant-in-aid trail.

	Destroyed, Abandoned, or Stolen Snowmobile
	Destroyed, Abandoned, or Stolen Snowmobile

	If your snowmobile is destroyed, abandoned, or stolen or you no longer register it in 
	If your snowmobile is destroyed, abandoned, or stolen or you no longer register it in 
	Minnesota, notify the DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette Rd, St. Paul, MN 55155-4026, 
	(651) 296-2316 or 1-800-285-2000 within 15 days.

	Dealer and Manufacturer Registration
	Dealer and Manufacturer Registration

	Dealers must register snowmobiles they own and use for demonstration purposes. A 
	Dealers must register snowmobiles they own and use for demonstration purposes. A 
	registration plate will be issued along with a registration certificate that must be displayed 
	conspicuously in the place of business. Additional plates are available for $4.00, plus filing 
	fees.

	Manufacturers must register snowmobiles they own and operate for research, 
	Manufacturers must register snowmobiles they own and operate for research, 
	testing, experimentation, or demonstration. A registration plate will be issued along with a 
	registration certificate that must be displayed conspicuously in the place of manufacture.

	A valid registration number plate must be displayed on snowmobiles operated, 
	A valid registration number plate must be displayed on snowmobiles operated, 
	or permitted to be operated, by a dealer or manufacturer. The registrations are not 
	transferable. Dealer and manufacturer registrations are valid from July 1 - June 30.

	 
	 


	Advertisement
	Advertisement
	Paid Advertisement
	Paid Advertisement
	Paid Advertisement
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	State Trail Stickers
	State Trail Stickers
	State Trail Stickers


	Snowmobile State Trail Sticker
	Snowmobile State Trail Sticker
	Snowmobile State Trail Sticker

	Snowmobiles registered in another state or country must have a Snowmobile State Trail 
	Snowmobiles registered in another state or country must have a Snowmobile State Trail 
	Sticker when operating on state and grant-in-aid trails. A Snowmobile State Trail Sticker 
	is valid November 1 – June 30 of each year. Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation 
	of this law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker for $71.00 in addition to 
	any ticket or fine.

	These stickers are available at Deputy Registrar locations, Game and Fish Licensing 
	These stickers are available at Deputy Registrar locations, Game and Fish Licensing 
	agents, DNR License Center, Online www.mndnr.gov or by phone 1-888-MNLICENSE


	One Year Trail Sticker 
	One Year Trail Sticker 
	One Year Trail Sticker 
	- $51.00

	Penalty Annual Trail Sticker
	Penalty Annual Trail Sticker
	 - $71.00 

	(Required to buy if found operating on state or grant-in-aid trail without a sticker)
	(Required to buy if found operating on state or grant-in-aid trail without a sticker)

	Dealer/Manufacturer Trail Sticker 
	Dealer/Manufacturer Trail Sticker 
	- $16.00

	Duplicates 
	Duplicates 
	- $2.50

	Note: 
	Note: 
	For Online purchases, add 3% plus a $1.65 service fee. For phone purchases, 

	          add $3.50
	          add $3.50


	The Snowmobile State Trail Sticker must be displayed in 
	The Snowmobile State Trail Sticker must be displayed in 
	The Snowmobile State Trail Sticker must be displayed in 
	one
	 of the following ways:

	• on the forward half of the snowmobile, directly above or below the headlight
	• on the forward half of the snowmobile, directly above or below the headlight

	• above the expiration year on the top portion of the registration validation decal
	• above the expiration year on the top portion of the registration validation decal

	• on the lower right corner of a dealer or manufacturer plate  
	• on the lower right corner of a dealer or manufacturer plate  

	A Snowmobile State Trail Sticker is not required for:
	A Snowmobile State Trail Sticker is not required for:

	• a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail
	• a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

	• a snowmobile owned by the federal government, Indian tribal government, state, and   
	• a snowmobile owned by the federal government, Indian tribal government, state, and   
	 political subdivisions

	• operating a collector snowmobile with a permit
	• operating a collector snowmobile with a permit

	• operating a snowmobile on portions of a trail owned by the person or the person’s   
	• operating a snowmobile on portions of a trail owned by the person or the person’s   
	 spouse, child, or parent


	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	•
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	Image of Snowmobile Passing on trail
	Snowmobile Meeting on Trail
	Rules of the Road and Trail
	Rules of the Road and Trail
	Rules of the Road and Trail


	Snowmobiles meeting at Intersection
	Passing
	Passing
	Passing

	When overtaking another snowmobile 
	When overtaking another snowmobile 
	going in the same direction, always pass 
	on the left. 


	Meeting
	Meeting
	Meeting

	When meeting another snowmobile, 
	When meeting another snowmobile, 
	always slow down and stay to the right.


	Meeting at an intersection
	Meeting at an intersection
	Meeting at an intersection

	When meeting at an intersection, 
	When meeting at an intersection, 
	 
	the operator to the right has the 
	 
	right of way. 


	Operation Along State and County Roads
	Operation Along State and County Roads
	Operation Along State and County Roads


	Public Road Right-of-way
	Public Road Right-of-way
	Public Road Right-of-way


	Operation of snowmobile in road right of way
	Snowmobile Riding Prohibited
	Snowmobile Riding Prohibited
	Snowmobile Riding Prohibited


	It is illegal to operate on the inside slope,
	It is illegal to operate on the inside slope,
	It is illegal to operate on the inside slope,

	shoulder, and roadway of state or county roads.
	shoulder, and roadway of state or county roads.
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	Signs
	Signs
	Signs


	Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the 
	Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the 
	Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the 

	following trail signs.
	following trail signs.


	Snowmobile Trail Sign
	Informational sign:
	Informational sign:
	Informational sign:

	indicates intersections or major changes in trail direction. 
	indicates intersections or major changes in trail direction. 


	Snowmobile Trail Sign
	Directional blazer:
	Directional blazer:
	Directional blazer:

	indicates changes in trail direction.
	indicates changes in trail direction.


	Snowmobile Trail Sign
	Reassuring blazer:
	Reassuring blazer:
	Reassuring blazer:

	placed at intervals along the trail reassures users that they 
	placed at intervals along the trail reassures users that they 

	are still on the trail.
	are still on the trail.


	Snowmobile Trail Sign
	Stop sign:
	Stop sign:
	Stop sign:

	placed at a road or highway crossing indicates a snowmobile must 
	placed at a road or highway crossing indicates a snowmobile must 
	come to a complete stop.


	Snowmobile Trail Sign
	No-snowmobiling sign:
	No-snowmobiling sign:
	No-snowmobiling sign:

	indicates a trail or area where snowmobiling is prohibited.
	indicates a trail or area where snowmobiling is prohibited.


	Snowmobile Trail Sign
	No-studded tracks sign:
	No-studded tracks sign:
	No-studded tracks sign:

	indicates no metal traction devices allowed on trail.
	indicates no metal traction devices allowed on trail.


	Snowmobile Trail Sign
	Snowmobile Trail Sign
	Snowmobile Trail Sign
	Two-way trail sign:
	Two-way trail sign:
	Two-way trail sign:

	indicates trails with permitted two-way travel during 
	indicates trails with permitted two-way travel during 
	nighttime hours within the public road right-of-way.


	Advertisement
	18
	18
	18
	 
	•
	 2017-2018 Winter Season


	Equipment Requirements
	Equipment Requirements
	Equipment Requirements

	All snowmobiles operated on public lands, waters, or roadways must be 
	All snowmobiles operated on public lands, waters, or roadways must be 
	equipped 

	as follows:
	as follows:

	Helmet
	Helmet

	• Operators or riders under 18 years of age must wear an approved helmet, 
	• Operators or riders under 18 years of age must wear an approved helmet, 
	except when participating in a parade or operating on land belonging to a parent, 
	grandparent, sibling, uncle, or aunt.

	An approved helmet must meet federal law, which requires the helmet to display 
	An approved helmet must meet federal law, which requires the helmet to display 
	the symbol DOT. DOT is the manufacturer’s certification that the helmet conforms to 
	motor vehicle safety standards. Standard bicycle and hockey helmets are not legal 
	helmets for snowmobiling.

	Lights
	Lights

	• Headlights and taillights must be on during hours of darkness.
	• Headlights and taillights must be on during hours of darkness.

	• Headlights must be able to reveal people and vehicles 100 feet ahead and  
	• Headlights must be able to reveal people and vehicles 100 feet ahead and  
	   aimed so they will not blind an oncoming snowmobiler.

	• Colored lenses on headlights are NOT lawful when the snowmobile is operated
	• Colored lenses on headlights are NOT lawful when the snowmobile is operated

	   on roads or road rights-of-way, including crossing roads and operating in   
	   on roads or road rights-of-way, including crossing roads and operating in   
	   ditches or outside slopes.

	• Red taillights must be visible for 500 feet to the rear of the snowmobile.
	• Red taillights must be visible for 500 feet to the rear of the snowmobile.

	Brakes
	Brakes

	• Brakes must be able to control movement and to stop and hold the snowmobile track. 
	• Brakes must be able to control movement and to stop and hold the snowmobile track. 

	Reflector Material
	Reflector Material

	• Snowmobiles must have at least 16 square inches of reflector material on each  
	• Snowmobiles must have at least 16 square inches of reflector material on each  
	   side forward of the handle bars.

	• Any sled, trailer, or other device that is towed by a snowmobile during hours of  
	• Any sled, trailer, or other device that is towed by a snowmobile during hours of  
	   darkness must display visible reflector material on each side and at the rear.

	Mufflers
	Mufflers

	• Snowmobiles must be equipped with mufflers that are in good working order and  
	• Snowmobiles must be equipped with mufflers that are in good working order and  
	   that do not produce sharp popping or cracking sounds or excessive or unusual noise.  
	   After-market exhaust systems may not meet this requirement and may not be lawful  
	   to operate.

	• You may not operate or sell a snowmobile built on or after April 1, 1975, that      
	• You may not operate or sell a snowmobile built on or after April 1, 1975, that      
	   exceeds 78 decibels on the A scale at 50 feet, except under a permit of the DNR or  
	   county sheriff. 

	• No snowmobile shall be modified by any person in any manner that shall amplify 
	• No snowmobile shall be modified by any person in any manner that shall amplify 

	   or otherwise increase total noise level above that emitted by the snowmobile as    
	   or otherwise increase total noise level above that emitted by the snowmobile as    
	   originally equipped, regardless of date of manufacture.


	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
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	Safety Training Requirements
	Safety Training Requirements
	Safety Training Requirements

	Residents born after December 31, 1976, must complete a snowmobile safety training 
	Residents born after December 31, 1976, must complete a snowmobile safety training 
	course to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. While operating a snowmobile you must 
	have either:

	•   a snowmobile safety certificate in your possession or
	•   a snowmobile safety certificate in your possession or

	•   a snowmobile safety certificate indicator on your driver’s license or on your Minnesota 
	•   a snowmobile safety certificate indicator on your driver’s license or on your Minnesota 
	ID card

	Youth ages 11 to 15 yrs can complete safety certification by selecting one of the 
	Youth ages 11 to 15 yrs can complete safety certification by selecting one of the 
	choices below: Note: Either choice will have a required “hands on” snowmobile 
	riding course.


	Choice 1:  Attend a Traditional classroom snowmobile course: 
	Choice 1:  Attend a Traditional classroom snowmobile course: 
	Choice 1:  Attend a Traditional classroom snowmobile course: 

	•   Course fee $5.00
	•   Course fee $5.00

	•   8 hour course provided by DNR Instructors
	•   8 hour course provided by DNR Instructors

	•   Meets two or more times in a classroom setting
	•   Meets two or more times in a classroom setting

	•   Required “hands on” snowmobile riding course**
	•   Required “hands on” snowmobile riding course**

	Choice 2:  Select and complete one of the online courses:
	Choice 2:  Select and complete one of the online courses:

	•   
	•   
	Snowmobilecourse.com
	  [*course fee $29.95]

	 *Family/group pricing available 
	 *Family/group pricing available 

	•   
	•   
	Snowmobile-ed.com
	   [course fee $29.50]

	•   Required “hands on” snowmobile riding course**
	•   Required “hands on” snowmobile riding course**


	**Additional fees may apply attending the Hands-On course. Contact the Instructor.
	**Additional fees may apply attending the Hands-On course. Contact the Instructor.
	**Additional fees may apply attending the Hands-On course. Contact the Instructor.


	Where do I find a training course? 
	Where do I find a training course? 
	Where do I find a training course? 

	On the DNR website www.mndnr.gov, click on 
	On the DNR website www.mndnr.gov, click on 
	education & safety
	 and then under 
	r
	ecreational vehicle safety classes
	 find snowmobile Safety training.  You may also call the 
	DNR Information Center 1-888-646-6367.

	Adult Snowmobile Safety Training (16 years and older)
	Adult Snowmobile Safety Training (16 years and older)

	Complete one of the online courses listed above and pay with credit card to obtain Safety 
	Complete one of the online courses listed above and pay with credit card to obtain Safety 
	certificate via online portal. Adults are 
	not 
	required to participate with the “hands on” riding 
	course.

	Offender Snowmobile Safety Training
	Offender Snowmobile Safety Training

	A person who is convicted of careless or reckless operation, or two or more speeding 
	A person who is convicted of careless or reckless operation, or two or more speeding 
	violations in a snowmobile season, must successfully complete a snowmobile safety training 
	course before operating a snowmobile.

	Non-residents certificate in snowmobile safety training in another state will be 
	Non-residents certificate in snowmobile safety training in another state will be 
	recognized in Minnesota.


	20
	20
	20
	 
	•
	 2017-2018 Winter Season


	Youth Operation Requirements
	Youth Operation Requirements
	Youth Operation Requirements

	• The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is jointly responsible for  
	• The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is jointly responsible for  
	 laws broken by a minor on that snowmobile.

	• Anyone under 18 years old must wear an approved helmet.
	• Anyone under 18 years old must wear an approved helmet.

	Snowmobile Safety Certificate
	Minnesota Residents
	Minnesota Residents

	Any resident of Minnesota born after 
	Any resident of Minnesota born after 
	December 31, 1976
	,
	 
	must have a snowmobile 
	safety certificate to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. Youth must be 11 years old 
	to take a snowmobile safety course, the certificate is not valid until the 12th birthday.

	Residents and Non-Residents
	Residents and Non-Residents

	Under Age 12
	Under Age 12
	Under Age 12
	Under Age 12
	Under Age 12
	Under Age 12

	(Without safety 
	(Without safety 
	certificate)


	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 

	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid 
	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid 
	trails if accompanied by an adult*


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads
	May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality
	May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality





	Ages 12 & 13
	Ages 12 & 13
	Ages 12 & 13
	Ages 12 & 13


	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 

	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-
	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-
	aid trails 
	IF
	 Accompanied by an adult* 
	OR
	  In possession of a valid 
	snowmobile safety certificate


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads
	May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality
	May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality





	Ages 14 
	Ages 14 
	Ages 14 
	Ages 14 
	 
	to 18


	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 

	May drive a snowmobile across state or county roads 
	May drive a snowmobile across state or county roads 
	IF
	 in possession 
	of a snowmobile safety certificate or driver’s license or ID card with 
	valid snowmobile indicator


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid 
	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid 
	trails 
	WITH
	 a snowmobile safety certificate 


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in municipalities, if not 
	May drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in municipalities, if not 
	contrary to ordinance





	Over Age 18
	Over Age 18
	Over Age 18
	Over Age 18


	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 

	Residents born after December 31, 1976, who operate a snowmobile 
	Residents born after December 31, 1976, who operate a snowmobile 
	in Minnesota must possess a valid snowmobile safety certificate or a 
	driver’s license or ID card with a valid snowmobile indicator.  







	* Accompanied by an adult means a parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated by the 
	* Accompanied by an adult means a parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated by the 
	parent or guardian who needs to be close enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile.

	Exception for Residents and Non-Residents
	Exception for Residents and Non-Residents

	Without a snowmobile safety certificate, a person under the age of 
	Without a snowmobile safety certificate, a person under the age of 
	14 years
	 may 
	operate a snowmobile only if they are supervised or accompanied by one of the 
	following: parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated 
	by the parent or guardian. The supervising or accompanying adult needs to be close 
	enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile. This exception 
	does not allow an operator under the age of 14 to cross a public road.

	Non-residents who are 
	Non-residents who are 
	18 years old and older
	 do not need a snowmobile safety certificate.


	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
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	General Operation
	General Operation
	General Operation

	Where You May Ride
	 • in the bottom or outside slope of a ditch of a county or state road (see page 
	 • in the bottom or outside slope of a ditch of a county or state road (see page 

	  15)
	  15)

	 • in the same direction as road traffic in the ditch from one-half hour after  
	 • in the same direction as road traffic in the ditch from one-half hour after  
	  sunset to one-half hour before sunrise (other than this time, you can ride in  
	  either direction)

	 • one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise on two-way  
	 • one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise on two-way  
	  snowmobile trails that are located within the ditches or adjacent to streets 

	  or highways when specifically permitted by the road authority (look for  
	  or highways when specifically permitted by the road authority (look for  
	  posted two-way signs, see page 16)

	 • on a bridge, other than a bridge that is part of the main-traveled lanes of an  
	 • on a bridge, other than a bridge that is part of the main-traveled lanes of an  
	  interstate highway, in order to avoid obstructions to travel when absolutely  
	  necessary (the snowmobile must be operated in the extreme right-hand  
	  lane, the entrance to the roadway must be made within 100 feet of the  
	  bridge, and crossing must be made as quickly as possible)

	 • on state and local trails (see pages 12-14 for Snowmobile State Trail Sticker  
	 • on state and local trails (see pages 12-14 for Snowmobile State Trail Sticker  
	  requirements)

	 • on iced-over waters that have legal access (if not restricted by law or local  
	 • on iced-over waters that have legal access (if not restricted by law or local  
	  ordinances)

	 • on township roads when not restricted by local ordinance
	 • on township roads when not restricted by local ordinance

	 • on public lands that are open to motorized vehicles. Land uses vary. Be sure  
	 • on public lands that are open to motorized vehicles. Land uses vary. Be sure  
	  to check all federal, state, and local ordinances.

	 • on your own land
	 • on your own land

	 Inside the seven-county metro area, you
	 Inside the seven-county metro area, you
	 
	may
	 
	ride:

	 • on land that is posted with signs stating “snowmobiles allowed”
	 • on land that is posted with signs stating “snowmobiles allowed”

	 • on land other than your own, with written or verbal permission of the  
	 • on land other than your own, with written or verbal permission of the  
	  landowner, occupant, or lessee

	 • on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.
	 • on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.

	 Outside the seven-county metro
	 Outside the seven-county metro

	 area, you
	 area, you
	 
	may 
	ride:

	 • on agricultural land with permission of the   
	 • on agricultural land with permission of the   
	 landowner

	 • on land, other than agricultural land, that you have  
	 • on land, other than agricultural land, that you have  
	  not been told verbally, by written warning, or by  
	  posted signs, that riding is prohibited

	 • on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.
	 • on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.
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	 When making a direct crossing of a street or road, you 
	 When making a direct crossing of a street or road, you 
	 When making a direct crossing of a street or road, you 
	must
	:

	 • bring the snowmobile to a complete stop before crossing, whether there is a  
	 • bring the snowmobile to a complete stop before crossing, whether there is a  
	  stop sign or not

	 • yield to all oncoming traffic
	 • yield to all oncoming traffic

	 • have both front and rear lights on when crossing between one-half
	 • have both front and rear lights on when crossing between one-half

	  hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, or during periods of reduced  
	  hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, or during periods of reduced  
	  visibility (see page 30 for sunrise/sunset table)

	 • cross at a 90-degree angle with respect to the road
	 • cross at a 90-degree angle with respect to the road

	 • cross a divided road at an intersection
	 • cross a divided road at an intersection


	State forest lands classified as “closed” are open to off-trail snowmobile use unless 
	State forest lands classified as “closed” are open to off-trail snowmobile use unless 
	State forest lands classified as “closed” are open to off-trail snowmobile use unless 
	specifically posted closed to snowmobiling.


	Where You May NOT Ride
	Where You May NOT Ride
	 • on the roadway, shoulder, or inner slope of the ditch of a state or county road
	 • on the roadway, shoulder, or inner slope of the ditch of a state or county road

	 • on the median of a four-lane roadway
	 • on the median of a four-lane roadway

	 • within the right-of-way of any interstate
	 • within the right-of-way of any interstate

	 • on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic
	 • on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic

	 • against traffic at night within the road right-of-way *Except when two way trail  
	 • against traffic at night within the road right-of-way *Except when two way trail  
	  travel signs permit use

	 • at airports
	 • at airports

	 • in any state park, state recreation area, state historic site, wildlife management  
	 • in any state park, state recreation area, state historic site, wildlife management  
	  area, or state scientific and natural area with the exception of posted   
	  snowmobile trails and areas

	 • in any wildlife management area south of U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks east  
	 • in any wildlife management area south of U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks east  
	  to Bemidji, then south along U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along

	  U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of  
	  U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of  
	  the state, without written permission from the DNR

	 • on any iced-over waters located in a restricted area or iced-over waters where  
	 • on any iced-over waters located in a restricted area or iced-over waters where  
	  you don’t have legal access

	 • in any areas restricted by local ordinances or municipalities
	 • in any areas restricted by local ordinances or municipalities

	 • in a tree nursery or planting area
	 • in a tree nursery or planting area

	 • on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to snowmobiling
	 • on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to snowmobiling

	 • on state forest lands located in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness,  
	 • on state forest lands located in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness,  
	  including all of Lake Isabella and Insula; and portions of Lake Jeanette and  
	  Burntside State Forests.

	 • in National Wildlife Refuges, Waterfowl Production Areas, or the Boundary  
	 • in National Wildlife Refuges, Waterfowl Production Areas, or the Boundary  
	  Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. For more information, contact your local U.S.  
	  Fish and Wildlife Service.


	Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or state agencies 
	Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or state agencies 
	Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or state agencies 
	may impose further restrictions on snowmobiling on property not owned by the operator. 
	Check local ordinances where you want to ride.


	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations
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	Enlarged Map image of Twin Cities Metro area
	Inside the seven-county metro area,  you may
	Inside the seven-county metro area,  you may
	Inside the seven-county metro area,  you may
	 
	NOT
	 
	ride:

	• on land that you do not own, unless given written or
	• on land that you do not own, unless given written or
	verbal permission to ride on that land by the owner, 
	occupant, or lessee, or unless signs are posted stating 
	snowmobiling is allowed.

	Outside the seven-county metro area, you may
	Outside the seven-county metro area, you may
	 
	NOT
	 
	ride:

	•on land that you have been told not to verbally, in
	•on land that you have been told not to verbally, in
	writing, or by posted signs

	•on agricultural land without the permission of the owner.
	•on agricultural land without the permission of the owner.

	Other Prohibitions 
	It is unlawful to:
	It is unlawful to:

	•operate your snowmobile in a careless, reckless, or heedless manner
	•operate your snowmobile in a careless, reckless, or heedless manner

	that endangers the operator, or property of another, or causes injury or damage  
	that endangers the operator, or property of another, or causes injury or damage  
	(intentionally driving over open water, or water skipping, may be considered  
	careless or reckless unless done as an event under special permit issued by the 
	local sheriff’s office)

	•litter
	•litter

	•enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence
	•enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence

	•mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any shelter, comfort station, or facility on
	•mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any shelter, comfort station, or facility on
	any state or grant-in-aid trail

	•post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are the
	•post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are the
	landowner, occupant, or lessee of the property

	•operate on state forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting,
	•operate on state forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting,
	damages or destroys trees or growing crops

	•operate on a state forest trail that is posted for non-motorized use
	•operate on a state forest trail that is posted for non-motorized use
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	Special Provision
	 
	- Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest:
	 Motor  
	vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads that are not  
	posted closed and on forest trails that are designated for motorized use. No 
	motorized travel is allowed off designated trails under any circumstances.

	•operate a snowmobile with metal traction devices on paved public trails when
	•operate a snowmobile with metal traction devices on paved public trails when
	posted closed by state or local government.
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	Metal traction device means any metal device, or array of metal devices, attached to a snowmobile track to enhance traction. This includes metal components that extend more than one-fourth inch from the bottom of the track. Note: Metal cleats affixed perpendicular to the direction of travel of a 1981 or earlier snowmobile are not considered a metal traction device.
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	Sunken Snowmobiles
	Sunken Snowmobiles
	Sunken Snowmobiles

	Minnesota law requires snowmobiles and motor vehicles (including cars, trucks, 
	Minnesota law requires snowmobiles and motor vehicles (including cars, trucks, 
	watercraft and ATVs) that sink in a lake or river, be removed by the owner within 30 
	days. Owners must also notify the county sheriff within 48 hours. If the snowmobile 
	or vehicle is not removed, the local unit of government can remove it and charge the 
	owner two to five times the cost of removal.


	Snowmobiling While Intoxicated (SWI)
	Snowmobiling While Intoxicated (SWI)
	Operating a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled 
	Operating a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled 
	substance or its metabolite, or other hazardous substance is unlawful. Operators 
	who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by an enforcement officer

	to determine the presence of these substances. There is a separate additional 
	to determine the presence of these substances. There is a separate additional 
	criminal penalty for refusal to submit to the tests, and the person’s snowmobiling 
	privileges will be suspended for one year upon refusal. SWI convictions and 
	refusals are recorded on the violator’s driver’s license record and may affect their 
	driver’s license privileges.

	An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration of 
	An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration of 
	.08 or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony 
	level Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). Persons convicted of a misdemeanor will be 
	subject to: up to $1,000 fine (plus surcharges); possible jail sentence; and loss of 
	snowmobile operating privileges for one year.

	In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following gross misdemeanor 
	In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following gross misdemeanor 
	penalty provisions may apply if the person has any prior DWI violations, has an 
	alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit, or has a child under 16 years of age 
	with them on the snowmobile:

	•up to $3,000 fine with longer mandatory jail time
	•up to $3,000 fine with longer mandatory jail time

	•chemical use assessment and long-term monitoring programs
	•chemical use assessment and long-term monitoring programs

	•loss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges
	•loss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges

	•motor vehicle plate impoundment of all motor vehicles owned or leased
	•motor vehicle plate impoundment of all motor vehicles owned or leased
	individually or jointly by the person

	•forfeiture of the snowmobile
	•forfeiture of the snowmobile

	*If a person has three or more DWI convictions or revocations in the last 10 years, or
	*If a person has three or more DWI convictions or revocations in the last 10 years, or
	has a prior felony conviction, he or she can be sentenced to 3-7 years in jail, up to

	$14,000 fine, or both. Longer license revocations also would be imposed.
	$14,000 fine, or both. Longer license revocations also would be imposed.

	Open Bottle Law
	Open Bottle Law

	It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when operating a 
	It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when operating a 
	snowmobile on a roadway or shoulder of a roadway that is not a part of a designated 
	snowmobile trail.


	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
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	Speed Limits
	Speed Limits
	It is unlawful to operate a snowmobile in excess of:
	It is unlawful to operate a snowmobile in excess of:

	•50 MPH on any public lands or waters
	•50 MPH on any public lands or waters

	•the posted speed limits on a trail
	•the posted speed limits on a trail

	•a speed greater than various conditions dictate for the trail, terrain and visibility
	•a speed greater than various conditions dictate for the trail, terrain and visibility

	•the posted road speed limit or 50 MPH, whichever is LOWER, while operating in
	•the posted road speed limit or 50 MPH, whichever is LOWER, while operating in
	the ditch

	•any governmental unit snowmobile speed limit. Governmental units include any
	•any governmental unit snowmobile speed limit. Governmental units include any
	city, county, municipality, township, or conservation district.
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	Speed on frozen lake surfaces: A county may enact a daytime 65 MPH speed limit for marked trails on frozen lakes that are over 10,000 acres. The county would need to pass an ordinance and receive approval by the DNR Commissioner. Individual counties will have more information on the location and status of any designated 65 MPH trails.

	Accidents
	Accidents

	Minnesota has worked hard to reduce snowmobiling accidents, injuries, and fatalities 
	Minnesota has worked hard to reduce snowmobiling accidents, injuries, and fatalities 
	through education and safety training programs. The largest contributing factor to 
	crashes is excessive speed, followed by alcohol usage.
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	Reporting Requirements: If you are involved in a snowmobile accident that results in injury requiring medical attention, death, or damage of more than $500, you must file an official accident report with the Department of Natural Resources within 48 hours of the accident. Accident reporting forms are available on the DNR website at www.mndnr.gov/enforcement or call 1-800-366-8917.


	Minnesota Coservation Volunteer magazine
	Your Guide to Minnesota’s Woods, Waters, and Wildlife
	Your Guide to Minnesota’s Woods, Waters, and Wildlife
	Your Guide to Minnesota’s Woods, Waters, and Wildlife

	Minnesota Conservation Volunteer magazine is 
	Minnesota Conservation Volunteer magazine is 
	uniquely supported by contributions from readers. 
	Subscribe and donate today at mndnr.gov/
	mcvmagazine or call 844-245-7115.
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	Enforcement
	Enforcement
	Conservation officers, state troopers, deputy sheriffs, police officers and other peace 
	Conservation officers, state troopers, deputy sheriffs, police officers and other peace 
	officers are responsible for the enforcement of Minnesota’s snowmobile laws.

	Whenever an enforcement officer signals you, you must stop. Fleeing an enforcement 
	Whenever an enforcement officer signals you, you must stop. Fleeing an enforcement 
	officer is a felony and the snowmobile used may be forfeited.

	Part of a conservation officer’s duty is to ensure your safety while snowmobiling. If 
	Part of a conservation officer’s duty is to ensure your safety while snowmobiling. If 
	you need an enforcement officer, contact your nearest State Patrol dispatch center. Your 
	local conservation officer can also be found at www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas.

	Penalties
	Violation of most snowmobile statutes and rules are misdemeanors and carry a fine 
	Violation of most snowmobile statutes and rules are misdemeanors and carry a fine 
	of up to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to 90 days. Youth violations may result in 
	snowmobile safety certificate suspension. Also, snowmobiles used in burglaries, fleeing 
	a peace officer, or a DWI, may be subject to seizure and confiscation or forfeiture.

	The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is subject to penalties if 
	The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is subject to penalties if 
	he or she knowingly allows the snowmobile to be operated by someone physically or 
	mentally unable to drive the vehicle safely, or is under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

	A person operating a snowmobile with metal traction devices on any paved trail is 
	A person operating a snowmobile with metal traction devices on any paved trail is 
	guilty of a petty misdemeanor punishable by a civil penalty or criminal fine of $50 for 
	the first offense, $200 for the second offense, and $500 for the third or subsequent 
	offense. Criminal fine will be subject to court surcharges and fees in addition to this 
	penalty amount.

	Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation of the Snowmobile State Trail Sticker 
	Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation of the Snowmobile State Trail Sticker 
	law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker for $71.00, in addition to any 
	ticket or fine.

	Minnesota Law on Registration
	“A person may not operate or transport a snowmobile unless the snowmobile has been 
	“A person may not operate or transport a snowmobile unless the snowmobile has been 
	registered.” Violation of this law is a misdemeanor. Punishable by fines up to

	$1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days.
	$1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days.


	Image of Minnesota Conservation Officer Patch logo
	STAY RIGHT! 
	STAY RIGHT! 
	STAY RIGHT! 
	Trails are two-way, 
	always
	 watch out for others!
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	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
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	Minnesota Trespass Laws
	Minnesota Trespass Laws
	Minnesota Trespass Laws

	Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have 
	Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have 
	against snowmobilers. Always ask for permission before 
	entering private land.

	Just because property isn’t posted that doesn’t mean you 
	Just because property isn’t posted that doesn’t mean you 
	have a right to enter someone else’s private property. The 
	posted signs indicate the landowner’s intention to prevent unauthorized entry.

	If you violate Minnesota’s trespass laws, you will be guilty of a misdemeanor or gross 
	If you violate Minnesota’s trespass laws, you will be guilty of a misdemeanor or gross 
	misdemeanor, or may be charged with a civil penalty. A misdemeanor is punishable by 
	fines of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days. Civil penalties range from 
	$50 for a first time violation to $500 and loss of registration for a third violation.

	You are guilty of a gross misdemeanor when you:
	You are guilty of a gross misdemeanor when you:

	•knowingly disregard signs prohibiting trespass
	•knowingly disregard signs prohibiting trespass

	•trespass after the landowner tells you not to
	•trespass after the landowner tells you not to

	•violate the trespass law twice in three years.
	•violate the trespass law twice in three years.

	If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor, you will be subject to fines up to
	If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor, you will be subject to fines up to

	$3,000 and up to one year in jail, your snowmobile registration will be null and void, 
	$3,000 and up to one year in jail, your snowmobile registration will be null and void, 
	and you will lose all hunting privileges for two years.

	You must have permission to:
	You must have permission to:

	•Enter posted land
	•Enter posted land

	•Enter  Agricultural  land is land that is plowed or tilled; has standing crops or
	•Enter  Agricultural  land is land that is plowed or tilled; has standing crops or
	crop residue; is within a maintained fence for enclosing domestic livestock; is
	planted native or introduced hay land or grassland; or is planted to short rotation
	woody crops (harvested within 15 years of planting).

	•All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody crop land meet the
	•All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody crop land meet the
	definition of agricultural land, grass land enrolled in the federal Conservation
	Reserve Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP),
	or the state Reinvestment in Minnesota Reserve program (RIM), Walk In Access
	areas. These lands do not need to be posted to prevent trespass.

	It’s unlawful to:
	It’s unlawful to:

	•wound or kill another person’s domestic animal or destroy private property
	•wound or kill another person’s domestic animal or destroy private property

	•pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position
	•pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position

	•stray off the groomed portions of marked state trails.
	•stray off the groomed portions of marked state trails.
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	Game Laws Related to Snowmobiling
	Game Laws Related to Snowmobiling
	Game Laws Related to Snowmobiling

	General Restrictions
	General Restrictions

	A person licensed to take deer must not operate a snowmobile or an off-highway 
	A person licensed to take deer must not operate a snowmobile or an off-highway 
	vehicle on public or private property in an area open for the taking of deer by firearms 
	on a day that they are licensed to take deer in that area except:

	•Before legal shooting hours (1/2 hour before sunrise)
	•Before legal shooting hours (1/2 hour before sunrise)

	•From 11am until 2pm.
	•From 11am until 2pm.

	•After legal shooting hours (1/2 hour after sunset).
	•After legal shooting hours (1/2 hour after sunset).

	•On property that they own.
	•On property that they own.

	•On private property with the landowner’s permission.
	•On private property with the landowner’s permission.

	•Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles in an
	•Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles in an
	emergency, medical, or other unusual situation during the restricted hours.

	Recreational Snowmobile and OHV Riders
	Recreational Snowmobile and OHV Riders

	During the firearms deer season, option A season, snowmobile trails and OHV trails and 
	During the firearms deer season, option A season, snowmobile trails and OHV trails and 
	routes on state forest lands are closed to ALL recreational snowmobile and off-highway 
	vehicle riding (ATV, OHM, & ORV) where deer may be taken by rifle only (see MN 
	Hunting & Trapping Regulations booklet):

	•Series 100 permit areas (November 4-19, 2017)
	•Series 100 permit areas (November 4-19, 2017)

	•Portions of series 200 permit areas (November 4 -12, 2017)
	•Portions of series 200 permit areas (November 4 -12, 2017)

	•Forest roads remain open to snowmobile and OHV use
	•Forest roads remain open to snowmobile and OHV use

	Firearms Transportation in Motor Vehicles
	Firearms Transportation in Motor Vehicles

	A person may transport unloaded, uncased firearms (excluding pistols)
	A person may transport unloaded, uncased firearms (excluding pistols)

	in a motor vehicle, including snowmobiles:
	in a motor vehicle, including snowmobiles:

	•While at a shooting range with permission
	•While at a shooting range with permission

	•While lawfully hunting on private or public land or while traveling to or from a
	•While lawfully hunting on private or public land or while traveling to or from a
	site the person intends to hunt or trap or has lawfully hunted that day.

	Firearms must be transported unloaded and cased:
	Firearms must be transported unloaded and cased:

	•Within Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties
	•Within Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties

	•Within boundaries of a home rule charter, or statutory city with population of
	•Within boundaries of a home rule charter, or statutory city with population of
	2,500 or more

	•On school grounds
	•On school grounds

	•As otherwise restricted in game refuges, shining, thermal imagining
	•As otherwise restricted in game refuges, shining, thermal imagining

	or night vision laws
	or night vision laws

	•A handgun/pistol cannot be transported uncased without a valid permit to carry.
	•A handgun/pistol cannot be transported uncased without a valid permit to carry.

	It is unlawful to:
	It is unlawful to:

	•use a snowmobile to chase, run over, or kill a wild animal
	•use a snowmobile to chase, run over, or kill a wild animal

	•shoot or attempt to shoot a wild animal from a snowmobile.
	•shoot or attempt to shoot a wild animal from a snowmobile.
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	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
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	TURN IN POACHERS   24-hour hotline, 800-652-9093
	TURN IN POACHERS   24-hour hotline, 800-652-9093
	TURN IN POACHERS   24-hour hotline, 800-652-9093

	To find your local conservation officer, visit:
	To find your local conservation officer, visit:

	Website:  http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/officerpatrolareas/index.html
	Website:  http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/officerpatrolareas/index.html

	Connect instantly to the conservation officer 
	Connect instantly to the conservation officer 

	locator webpage by scanning this code
	locator webpage by scanning this code

	Special Permits for Disabled Hunters
	Special Permits for Disabled Hunters

	A permit may be issued to shoot from a standing motor vehicle including a snowmobile 
	A permit may be issued to shoot from a standing motor vehicle including a snowmobile 
	to a licensed hunter who has a permanent physical disability and is unable to step from 
	a vehicle without the aid of mechanical support, prosthetic device or is required to use 
	supplemental oxygen to assist breathing because they are unable to walk any distance 
	because of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal disease.  For more details contact 
	the Department of Natural Resources Information Center.

	For More Information
	For More Information
	 on snowmobile trails; maps of state parks, forests, and state 
	trails; weekly snow reports; and other information, contact:
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	DNR Information Center 
	DNR Information Center 

	500 Lafayette Road 
	500 Lafayette Road 

	St. Paul, MN 55155-4040
	St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

	www.mndnr.gov
	www.mndnr.gov

	Call US
	Call US
	  1-888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157

	    New Longer Hours
	    New Longer Hours

	License, titling and registration: 
	License, titling and registration: 
	M-F 8 am - 4:30 pm

	General information:
	General information:
	 M-F 8 am - 8 pm, Sat. 9 am - 1 pm

	For information about snowmobile registration, contact:
	For information about snowmobile registration, contact:

	DNR License Bureau
	DNR License Bureau

	500 Lafayette Road
	500 Lafayette Road

	St. Paul, MN 55155-4026
	St. Paul, MN 55155-4026

	(651)296-2316 • Toll-free: 1-800-285-2000
	(651)296-2316 • Toll-free: 1-800-285-2000
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	For information on scheduled snowmobile safety classes statewide:
	For information on scheduled snowmobile safety classes statewide:
	For information on scheduled snowmobile safety classes statewide:

	Website:  http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/vehicle/snowmobile/index.html
	Website:  http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/vehicle/snowmobile/index.html

	DNR Safety Training center 
	DNR Safety Training center 

	15011 State HWY 115
	15011 State HWY 115

	Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN
	Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN

	1-800-366-8917
	1-800-366-8917
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	Grant-In-Aid Program
	Grant-In-Aid Program

	The Grant-in-Aid Program is a cooperative effort between the Minnesota DNR, local 
	The Grant-in-Aid Program is a cooperative effort between the Minnesota DNR, local 
	governments, local snowmobile organizations, and private landowners who provide the 
	majority of Minnesota’s 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails. Funded through snowmobile 
	registration and Snowmobile State Trail Sticker fees and gas taxes, the grant-in-aid 
	program helps local groups and clubs develop and maintain trails.

	•Grant-in-aid trails are open each year from December 1 through April 1.
	•Grant-in-aid trails are open each year from December 1 through April 1.

	•Many grant-in-aid trails throughout the state run through private property. Stay
	•Many grant-in-aid trails throughout the state run through private property. Stay
	on good terms with these landowners by staying on marked trails. Don’t
	jeopardize your ability to use private lands.

	•Remember you need a Trail Use Registration sticker when operating on grant- 
	•Remember you need a Trail Use Registration sticker when operating on grant- 
	  in-aid trails

	Sunrise/Sunset Table
	Sunrise/Sunset Table

	To find the sunrise and sunset times in your area. See the link to the U.S. Naval 
	To find the sunrise and sunset times in your area. See the link to the U.S. Naval 
	Observatory website:

	http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php
	http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php

	Note:
	Note:
	 Sunrise and sunset times are shown in a table format and can be printed for 
	viewing or saved to your computer’s desktop.

	Daylight Time
	Daylight Time

	Daylight time is not implemented in time tables. When daylight time is in use, add one 
	Daylight time is not implemented in time tables. When daylight time is in use, add one 
	hour to the times listed in the tables.
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