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Deborah Dyson Updated: January 2017 

Compensation Limits for Local Government Employees 

State law limits 
compensation for 
local government 
employees 

State law determines 
what is included. in 
"compensation" 

The statute contains 
a process and criteria 
for granting 
exemptions 

State law lifi1:its the compensation for an employee of a political subdivision to no 
more than $167,978 for 2017 unless a waiver of the limit applies to the position. 
Minn. Stat.§ 43A.17, subd. 9. 

The compensation limit for local government employees applies to employees of 
statutory and home rule charter cities, counties, towns, metropolitan and regional 
agencies, and other political subdivisions. The compensation limit does not apply 
to school distr.jcts, hospitals, clinics, or health maintenance organizations owned 
by a governmental unit, or to medical doctors and doctors of osteopathy. 

The statute specifies what is considered compensation for purposes of the limit. 
For political subdivision employees, compensation includes certain benefits as 
well as salary. The statute determines what is included and excluded for purposes 
of the compensation limit. 

Included 
• All deferred compensation 
• All direct and indirect items of compensation that are not specifically 

excluded by the statute (e.g., cash allowance for personal use of a car is 
included) 

Excluded 
• Benefits that are provided for the majority of all other full-time 

employees of the political subdivision, vacation and sick leave, health and 
dental insurance, disability insurance, term life insurance, and pension 
benefits 

• Dues paid to civic, professional, educational, or governmental 
organizations 

• Reimbursement for actual expenses that are directly related to the job 

The Commissioner of Management and Budget may increase the compensation 
limit for a position that the commissioner determines requires special expertise 
necessitating a higher salary to attract or retain a qualified person. In making this 
determination, the commissioner must consider salary rates paid to other people 
with similar responsibilities in the state and nation. Before granting an exception 
to the salary limit, the commissioner also must seek the advice of the Legislative 
Coordinating Commission. Any increase must also be adjusted annually by any 
increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) from the prior year. Minn. Stat. § 
43A.17, subds. 3 and 9. 

This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library 
as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp 



The legislature has 
been addressing the 
issue of political 
subdivision salary 
caps since 19 77 

The local government 
limits do not apply to 
state employees 

According to Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB), as of January 1, 2017, 
a local government may increase by 1.6 percent the compensation of an 
employee with an existing waiver for compensation that exceeds the current 
limit. If the existing approved waiver amount is below the current limit, the local 
government may increase an employee's compensation to the limit without a 
waiver. 

In 1977, the legislature provided that no political subdivision employee could be 
paid more than the Commissioner of Finance. The 1980 Legislature repealed the 
political subdivision salary cap. In 1983, the legislature enacted something 
similar to the current cap-compensation for local government employees was 
limited to 95 percent of the governor's salary. There have been various 
refinements to the law since 1983. Most significantly, in 1993 the legislature 
clarified what types of compensation are to be included when comparing a 
political subdivision employee's compensation to the governor's salary. 

In 2005, the legislature debated repealing the cap altogether but decided to 
increase the cap to 110 percent of the governor's 2005 salary, with an annual 
adjustment for inflation using the CPI for all urban consumers in the prior year. 
The reference to 110 percent of the governor's salary is still in law, but is not 
currently relevant because the inflationary increases prescribed by law have made 
the current limit of $167,978, much higher than 110 percent of the governor's 
salary. (Since 2016, 110 percent of the governor's salary is $140,392.) For a chart 
on the current limits with CPI increases, see the MMB website at 
https :/ /mn.gov/mmb/employee-relations/compensation/laws/local-gov/comp­
limits/lgcomplimitsbyyear .j sp. 

The statute limiting political subdivision salaries does not cover state employees. 
State law assigns executive branch agency heads to two salary ranges, which are 
capped at 133 percent and 120 percent of the governor's salary. Minn. Stat.§ 
15A.0815, subds. 2 and 3. (These limits are adjusted annually for inflation.) Until 
2013, the salary of employees of executive branch agencies was limited to the 
salary of the agency head, but this limit was repealed in 2013. Salaries for these 
employees are set by collective bargaining agreements or compensation plans 
that are approved by the legislature. 

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Deborah Dyson at deborah.dyson@house.mn. Also see 
the House Research publications State Agency Head Salaries, June 2016, and State Elected Officials' 
Compensation, January 2016. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.he>use.mn/hrd/ 
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State Regulation of Health-Related Occupations 

Who regulates health­
related occupations in 
Minnesota? 

How are health-related 
occupations regulated? 

At least 56 health-related occupations are regulated by the state. Health­
related occupations regulated by the state are overseen by either the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) or by a health-related licensing 
board. As of December 2016, there were 16 health-related licensing boards 
and two divisions in MDH that oversee health-related occupations. Some 
licensing boards regulate a single occupation, while others regulate a range 
of related occupations. For example, the Minnesota Board of Optometry 
only regulates optometrists, while the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice 
regulates acupuncturists, athletic trainers, genetic counselors, naturopaths, 
osteopaths, physician assistants, physicians, respiratory care practitioners, 
and traditional midwives. MDH regulates various allied health professionals, 
such as speech-language pathologists and audiologists; various 
environmental health professionals, such as lead workers; and unlicensed 
complementary and alternative health care practitioners. 

Health-related occupations may be regulated in one of several ways. Where 
necessary and appropriate, state law allows two or more of these methods of 
regulation to be utilized at the same time. The title a provider uses cannot 
always be relied upon to determine how the provider is regulated. For 
instance, a registered nurse is actually licensed, not registered. What follows 
are some methods of occupational regulation. 

• Li censure is the most stringent form of regulation. Under licensure, a 
person cannot practice in an occupation unless the person has satisfied 
predetermined qualifications for practicing and has been recognized by 
the state as having met those qualifications. Minn. Stat. § 214.001, subd. 
3, cl. (4). This is also known as "scope of practice protection." A person 
may demonstrate that the required qualifications have been met by 
passing a licensing examination, graduating from an accredited 
educational institution with a relevant degree, or working in the field 
while under supervision. Example: dentists. 

• With registration, only registered persons who have met predetermined 
qualifications for practicing are allowed to use a designated title ("title 
protection") and are listed on an official roster. Minn. Stat. § 214.001, 
subd. 3, cl. (3). Under a registration system, it is possible for a person to 
practice in an occupation without being registered, as long as the person 
does not use any protected titles. Occupations that are licensed generally 
also prohibit nonlicensed persons from using protected titles. Example: 
athletic trainers. 

• To obtain certification, a person must satisfy the qualification 
requirements specified in statute or rule. It may be possible for a person 



How does the 
legislature decide if a 
health-related 
occupation should be 
regulated? 

What information must 
be submitted to the 
legislature regarding 
proposals to regulate a 
new occupation or 
expand regulation of 
an already-regulated 
occupation? 

to practice in an occupation without being certified, but other laws may 
allow only a certified professional to be on-site at a specific program, 
perform certain functions, or supervise other personnel. Example: food 
managers. 

• Some occupations are not licensed, registered, or certified, but providers 
are required to conform to a client bill of rights and not engage in 
prohibited conduct. A regulatory body has authority to investigate 
complaints against these providers and take and enforce disciplinary 
actions against providers for engaging in prohibited conduct or violating 
the client bill of rights. The regulatory body may revoke or suspend the 
provider's right to practice. Example: unlicensed complementary and 
alternative health care practitioners. 

• Criminal and civil penalties exist to punish or prevent illegal acts by 
providers. Laws imposing criminal or civil penalties are enforced by 
consumers or prosecutors. 

No occupation may be regulated by the state unless its regulation is required 
for the safety and well-being of Minnesotans. Minn. Stat. § 214.001, subd. 2. 
This standard applies to both health-related occupations and nonhealth­
related occupations. When the legislature determines whether an occupation 
should be regulated, it must consider the following factors: 

1. Whether the unregulated practice of the occupation may harm the 
health, safety, and welfare of Minnesotans in a recognizable way 

2. Whether practicing the occupation requires special skills or training, 
and whether the public would benefit from being assured of the 
person's ability to practice the occupation 

3. Whether Minnesotans may be protected more effectively by �eans 
other than occupational regulation 

4. Whether the overall cost-effectiveness and economic impact of 
regulation would be positive for the state 

If a bill is introduced in the legislature to regulate a new occupation or to 
expand regulation of an already-regulated occupation, supporters of the 
proposal must submit to the legislature evidence supporting the new or 
expanded regulation. Minn. Stat.§ 214.002, subd. 1. The information must 
be submitted in written form and must be provided to the chairs of the House 
and Senate committees with jurisdiction over the occupation at issue. The 
subjects that must be covered in the report are specified in statute. Minn. 
Stat. § 214.002, subd. 2. Some of them include specifying the harm to the 
public caused by the unregulated practice of the occupation or continued 
practice at its current level of regulation; explaining why the proposed level 
of regulation is being proposed; and discussing how the proposed regulation 
would impact the supply of providers and the cost of the provider's services. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sarah Sunderman at 651-296-8079 or Elisabeth 
Klarqvist at 651-296-5043. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd 
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Federal Taxable Income, the starting point for calculating 
Minnesota income tax 

What is federal 
taxable income 
(FT/)? 

What kinds of 
income are included 
in FAG/? 

What kinds of 
income are 
excluded from 
FAG/? 

What deductions 
are allowed from 
FT/? 

How much is the 
standard 
deduction? 

Federal taxable income is the tax base used to calculate federal income tax 
liability. It is also the starting point for calculating Minnesota taxable income, the 
tax base used to calculate Minnesota income tax liability. Federal taxable income 
equals federal adjusted gross income (F AGI) after deductions and exemptions. 

Federal 
adjusted 
gross income 
{FAGI) 

Standard 
or 

Itemized 
deductions 

Personal 
and 
Dependent 
exemptions 

Federal 
taxable 
income 
{FTI) 

FAGI includes most kinds of cash income: wages, salaries, and tips; taxable 
interest; dividends; alimony received by the taxpayer; business income or loss; 
capital gains or losses; other gains or losses; taxable IRA distributions; taxable 
pens1on and annuity distributions (the taxable portion excludes recovery of 
amounts that were included in F AGI when the contributions were made); income 
from rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, and trusts; farm 
income or loss; unemployment compensation; and taxable Social Security 
benefits (the amount taxable depends on the individual's income level; at most, 
85 percent of benefits are included in F AGI). F AGI does not include child 
support received by the taxpayer. 

FAGI excludes: deductible IRA, SEP, SIMPLE, and other retirement 
contributions; nontaxable employee fringe benefits; deductible student loan 
interest payments; Health Savings Account contributions and investment income; 
moving expenses; one-half of self-employment tax; health insurance premiums 
(for self-employed taxpayers only); penalty on early withdrawal of savings; 
alimony paid by the taxpayer; and $250 of teacher classroom expenses. F AGI 
does not exclude child support paid by the taxpayer. 

Taxpayers may claim either the standard deduction or itemized deductions. In tax 
year 2014, the most recent year for which data is available, 64 percent of 
Minnesotans claimed the standard deduction and 36 percent itemized. 

In tax year 2017, the standard deduction is as follows: 
• $12,700 for married couples filing joint returns 
• $6,350 for married couples filing separate returns 
• $9,350 for head of household filers 
• $6,350 for single filers 



What itemized 
deductions are 
allowed? 

What personal and 
dependent 
exemptions are 
allowed? 

Are there limits on 
deductions and 
exemptions? 

In tax year 2017 itemized deductions are allowed for the following: 
• Payments of state and local property taxes and either income or sales taxes 
• Mortgage interest 
• Charitable contributions 
• Medical expenses and health insurance premiums in excess of 10 percent 

of FAGI 
• Casualty and theft losses in excess of 10 percent of income 
• Job expenses and miscellaneous expenses (most only allowed in excess of 

2 percent of income) 

Taxpayers may claim one personal exemption each and one dependent exemption 
for each dependent claimed. For tax year 2017, the personal and dependent 
exemptions are $4,050 each. A family of four qualifies for four exemptions, 
totaling $16,200. 

The federal American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 (ATRA) revived and made 
permanent the limitation on itemized deductions and phaseout of personal and 
dependent exemptions for taxpayers with incomes over a threshold. 

The limit takes away some of the benefit of the deduction for higher income 
taxpayers. Taxpayers subject to the limit have their deductions reduced by 3 
percent of their F AGI over the applicable thresholds. But they are always 
guaranteed 20 percent of the deductions, no matter how high their F AGis are. 

ATRA also provides for personal and dependent exemptions to be phased out for 
taxpayers with incomes over a threshold. Affected taxpayers lose 2 percent of 
their total exemption amount for each $2,500 of income over the threshold. 

The table shows the income thresholds for the itemized deduction limitation and 
the personal and dependent exemption phaseout in effect in tax year 2017. The 
income thresholds are adjusted annually for inflation. 

Itemized deduction limit and personal and 
Tax year 2017 dependent exemption phaseout begins at 

Married joint filers $313,800 
Married separate filers $156,900 
Single filers $261,500 
Head of household filers $287,650 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651-
296-5057. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, July 2015. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota Individual Alternative Minimum Tax 

What is the 
alternative 
minimum tax? 

What is the history 
of the AMT? 

How is Minnesota's 
AMT structured? 

Who pays the 
AMT? 

How are the federal 
and state AMTs 
different? 

The federal and state alternative minimum taxes (AMT) require taxpayers who 
benefit heavily from some tax preferences to pay a minimum amount of tax 
relative to their incomes. The AMT requires taxpayers to pay tax under an 
"alternative" tax with a broader base and lower tax rates, if that results in higher 
tax liability than the regular tax. 

The first version of the federal tax was enacted in 1969 in response to the 
revelation that a number of ''millionaires" were paying no federal income tax. 
Minnesota first enacted an AMT in 1977. For some time during the 1970s and 
1980s, both the federal and state taxes were levied as "add-on minimum" taxes, 
rather than alternative minimum taxes, and required certain taxpayers to pay a 
fraction of some preferences as an add-on minimum tax. The current structure of 
the two taxes (as alternative, rather than add-on, taxes) has been in place since the 
1986 federal reform and 1987 state reform. Both Congress and the legislature have 
made many changes, both in defining the base of the taxes and their rates. 

Minnesota's AMT roughly follows the federal AMT. Both require taxpayers to 
compute a tentative liability under a second tax structure. This second tax 
structure, the AMT, has a broader tax base ( due to fewer deductions, exemptions, 
and credits) and lower rates than the regular tax. If the tentative tax is higher than 
the taxpayer's regular tax liability, the taxpayer pays the difference. In effect, the 
AMT takes away part of the benefit of tax preferences that lowered the regular tax. 

AMT filers fall into three main groups: 
• Those who have large amounts of deductions or credits that are allowed 

under the regular tax but not under the AMT 
• Taxpayers with large families whose personal exemptions and standard 

deduction ( or typical itemized deductions) under the regular tax exceed the 
flat exemption amount allowed under the AMT 

• Taxpayers with income above the level at which the AMT exemption is 
fully phased out 

The federal and state AMTs have two major differences. 
• The federal AMT allows the deduction of home mortgage interest; the 

Minnesota AMT does not. 
• The Minnesota AMT has one flat rate, while the federal tax has two rates. 



How are the 
Minnesota regular 
taxandAMT 
different? 

The Minnesota AMT uses a broader tax base than the regular tax does and applies 
a single 6.75 percent rate against that base. The following table outlines the 
parameters of the Minnesota regular and alternative minimum tax. 

Comparison of Minnesota's Regular Income Tax and AMT 
($ amounts are for the 201 7 tax year) 

Feature Regular Tax AMT 
Tax base Federal adjusted gross income Federal adjusted gross income 
Rules carried Less generous depreciation rules 
over from Incentive stock options 
federal AMT Depletion 
that add to tax Intangible drilling costs 
base Tax-exempt interest from private 

activity bonds 
Standard $12,700 (married joint) $74,280 for married joint (phased 
deduction $6,350 (single) out for income from $150,000 to 

$9,350 (head of household) $447,120) 
$55,710 for single and head of 
household (phased out for income 
from $112,500 to $335,340) 

Personal $4,050 per taxpayer, spouse, and None 
exemptions dependents 
Itemized Home mortgage interest Not allowed (federal allows, with 
deductions limits) 

Charitable contributions Allowed 
Property taxes Not allowed (same as federal) 
Medical expenses Allowed 
Miscellaneous deductions ( e.g., Not allowed 
employee business expenses) 
Casualty losses Allowed 

Tax rates 5.35%; 7.05%; 7.85%; 9.85% 6.75% (federal is 26%; 28%) 
Tax credits Credit for taxes paid to other states Allowed 

Transit passes Not Allowed 
Other nonrefundable credits (long- Allowed 
term care insurance, marriage 
credit, past milit� service, health 
insurance premiums) 
Refundable credits (working Allowed, but the K-12 credit is 
family, dependent care, K-12 reduced by AMT liability 
education, combat zone service, 
bovine tuberculosis, angel 
investment, historic structure 
rehabilitation) 

How much revenue The Minnesota AMT is estimated to raise about $23.6 million in tax year 2017, 
does the AMT from about 9,500 taxpayers. The amount of revenue and the number of taxpayers 
raise? paying the AMT are expected to increase in future years. Although the exemption 

is indexed annually for inflation, the AMT will tend to increase as real income 
increases and as AMT prefere11ce items, such as home mortgage interest and 
property taxes, increase more rapidly than inflation. 

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
j oel.michael@house.mn. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Penalties for Underreporting Minnesota Individual Income Tax 

What is the civil 
penalty for failure 
to pay Minnesota 
income tax by the 
due date? 

Is there a 
reasonable cause 
exception? 

What is the 
"additional tax 
charge"? 

What is the civil 
penalty for failure 
to file a return? 

For calendar year taxpayers, final payments are due on April 15 following the close 
of the tax year. (Most taxpayers pay on a calendar-year basis; a small number use 
fiscal years instead.) Income tax not paid by April 15 is subject to a late payment 
penalty equal to 4 percent of the amount not paid. 

An additional 4 percent penalty applies to amounts owed due to an assessment 
order from the commissioner of revenue if the taxpayer either does not pay the 
amount assessed within 60 days of the order or does not appeal the assessment. 

An additional extended delinquency penalty of 5 percent of the tax due applies to 
income tax not paid within 180 days of an order from the commissioner or the date 
a return is filed. 

Yes. A taxpayer is presumed to have reasonable cause for underpayment if the 
taxpayer paid 90 percent of the amount due by the April 15 due date, filed the 
return by October 15, and paid the balance of the tax due when the return was filed. 
In this situation, the 4 percent late-payment penalty does not apply. 

Individuals who expect to owe $500 or more after withholding and credits must 
make estimated payments, which are due in four installments: April 15, June 15, 
and September 15 during the tax year, and January 15 following the close of the tax 
year. If estimated payments and withholding do not equal at least 90 percent of the 
tax due, or 100 percent ofliability for the preceding tax year (110 percent if 
adjusted gross income exceeds $150,000), the taxpayer is subject to an additional 
tax charge. The additional tax charge equals 4 percent of the amount underpaid, 
prorated by the number of days elapsed between the due dates of the four 
installments and the date of the final payment. 
The additional tax charge does not apply if the individual was a Minnesota resident 
in the preceding tax year but did not have tax liability. 

For calendar year taxpayers, income tax returns are due by April 15 following the 
close of the tax year, but there is no late filing penalty if the return is filed by 
October 15. Taxpayers who fail to file an individual income tax return by October 
15 must pay a penalty equal to 5 percent of the tax not paid by October 15. 

If an individual is required to file a return and does not file it by October 15 and 
receives a written demand to file from the Department of Revenue, the individual 
must file within 60 days or face an additional "extended late file" penalty. The 



What other civil 
penalties are there? 

Does interest apply 
to underreported 
tax liability and 
penalties? 

How are the 
penalties applied? 

Are failing to file 
and underreporting 
liability criminal 
offenses in 
Minnesota? 

extended-late-file penalty equals the greater of 5 percent of the tax not paid or 
$100. 

• Failure to report changes to the federal return: 10 percent. When a 
federal return is amended by the taxpayer or corrected by the Internal 
Revenue Service, a copy of that return or a letter of explanation must be 
reported to Minnesota within 180 days. An amended Minnesota return is 
also required within 180 days. If federal changes are not reported, a penalty 
of 10 percent of the underpayment of Minnesota tax attributable to the 
federal change applies. 

• Intentional disregard of laws: 10 percent. A 10 percent penalty applies if 
the taxpayer has been negligent or shown intentional disregard of the law or 
rules for determining liability, but didn't intend to defraud. 

• Substantial understatement of liability: 20 percent. "Substantial 
understatement" means underreporting of the correct tax that exceeds the 
greater of $5,000 or 10 percent of the tax actually owed. A penalty of 20 
percent applies to a substantial understatement of liability. 

• Filing a frivolous return: greater of 25 percent or $1,000. A return is 
considered frivolous if it is substantially incorrect on its face or lacks 
information needed to judge the accuracy of the return, and consists of 
inappropriate conduct or reflects a desire to impede the tax process. 

• Filing a false or fraudulent return: 50 percent. A penalty of 50 percent 
applies to the underreported liability and overstated refund claimed if the 
commissioner can prove the return was fraudulent in order to evade the tax, 
or if failure to file a return was intended to evade the tax. The 50 percent 
penalty also applies to fraudulently claimed refundable credits (the 
dependent care credit, the working family credit, the K-12 education credit, 
the military service combat zone credit, and the property tax refund). 

In addition to the penalties listed, taxpayers who underreport individual income tax 
liability must pay interest on the amount underpaid and on the associated penalty 
from the date the tax was due. Penalties and underreported liability bear interest at 
an annual rate tied to the prime rate. This rate is adjusted annually and is set at 4 
percent for 2017; it was at 3 percent for 2010 to 2016. 

The penalties for underreporting of individual income tax liability are imposed -and 
collected in the same manner as the original taxes. 

In certain circumstances, failing to file and underreporting tax liability are criminal 
offenses. It is a gross misdemeanor to knowingly fail to file a return or pay tax. It 
is a felony to willfully fail to file a return or pay tax, with intent to evade the tax, 
and a felony to file a false return concerning a material matter. Penalties for these 
criminal offenses are in addition to civil penalties. 

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
joel.michael@house.mn. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, legal, 
and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Minnesota and Federal 
Dependent Care Tax Credits: An Overview 

What are the 
credits? 

Are the credits 
refundable? 

Who is eligible for 
the credits? 

What are qualifying 
expenses? 

How are the credits 
calculated? 

The Minnesota and federal dependent care credits partially offset the cost of child 
care for certain workers. The maximum Minnesota credit is $720 for one child and 
$1,440 for two or more children. The maximum federal credit is $1,050 for one 
child and $2, 100 for two or more children. 

The Minnesota credit is fully refundable. If an individual qualifies for a credit that 
is greater than his or her tax liability, the excess is paid as a refund. The federal 
credit is not refundable and may only be used to offset federal income tax liability. 

Anyone who incurs expenses related to the care of a dependent and related 
household expenses may be eligible to claim the credits. The claimant must: 

• maintain a household that includes the dependent; 
• pay for care for a dependent under age 13, or a disabled spouse or adult 

dependent; and 
• pay for care in order to work or look for work. 

Qualifying expenses are amounts paid for the care of a dependent under age 13, or 
a disabled spouse or adult dependent, but do not include amounts paid to the 
claimant's spouse or another dependent. 

Qualifying expenses may not exceed the claimant's earned income (for married 
couples filing joint returns, expenses may not exceed the earned income of the 
lesser earning spouse). Maximum allowable qualifying expenses are reduced by 
amounts paid through dependent care pre-tax accounts. 

The federal credit equals 35 percent of up to $3,000 of qualifying expenses for one 
dependent ($6,000 of qualifying expenses for two or more dependents). The 
maximum federal credit is $1,050 for one dependent and $2,100 for two or more 
dependents. The federal credit percentage rate begins to phase down when income 
exceeds $15,000, with the credit percentage decreasing as income increases. 
Claimants with incomes over $43,000 qualify for the minimum federal credit rate 
of 20 percent of qualifying expenses, or up to $600 for one dependent and $1,200 
for two or more dependents. For example, a claimant with $50,000 of income and 
$1,000 of expenses will qualify for a credit of $200 (20 percent of $1,000). 

The state credit equals the lesser of the federal credit, or $720 for one dependent 
($1,440 for two or more dependents). The state credit is calculated by reference to 
the federal credit for which the claimant is eligible, not the amount the claimant 
could have used to offset federal liability. 

The state credit is subject to an income phaseout. (By contrast, the federal credit 
rate phases down to a minimum percentage but is never totally phased out.) In tax 



How do filers claim 
the credits? 

How many 
Minnesotans claim 
the credits? 

How much is paid 
out in credits? 

How does 
Minnesota compare 
with other states? 

year 2017, the state phaseout begins when income exceeds $26,070, and the state 
credit is fully phased out when income exceeds $39,720. The income threshold for 
the phaseout is adjusted each year for inflation. 

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by 
completing a separate schedule-Form 2441 for the federal credit and schedule 
Ml  CD for the state credit. 

In tax year 2014, 151,220 Minnesotans claimed the federal dependent care credit 
and 34,135 claimed the state credit. These claims represent 5.6 percent of all 
federal returns filed by Minnesotans and 1.2 percent of all state returns filed. 

Because the federal credit is nonrefundable and can only be used to offset tax 
liability, most of the federal credits are claimed by middle- and upper-income filers 
who have income over $43 ,000 and qualify for the minimum credit amount. 

Because the state credit is refundable and subject to an income-based phaseout 
(from $25,350 to $39,000 in tax year 2014, the year of the data), most of the state 
credits are claimed by low-income filers. 

In tax year 2014, Minnesotans claimed $72.8 million of federal dependent care 
credits. The average federal dependent care credit was $482. 

In tax year 2014, Minnesotans claimed $14. l million of state dependent care 
credits. The average state dependent care credit was $414. 

Nationwide, 4.3 percent of all income tax returns claimed the federal dependent 
care credit, compared to 5. 6 percent in Minnesota. South Dakota had the highest 
percentage of returns claiming the federal credit at 6.3 percent, and West V1rginia 
had the lowest at 2.2 percent. 

The average federal dependent care credit in 2014 was $546 nationwide and $482 
in Minnesota. New York had the highest average credit at $595, and Montana had 
the lowest at $470. Minnesota's average credit amount may be lpwer than the 
national averages because state residents have above-average incomes, or because 
Minnesotc1:ns are more likely to receive child care assistance or use pre-tax 
dependent care accounts, reducing the amount of qualifying expenses. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House 
Research information brief The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits, February 2014. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Bui lding I St. Paul , MN 551 55 I 651 -296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The K-12 Education Deduction and Credit: An Overview 

What is the K-12 
deduction? 

What expenses 
qualify for the 
deduction? 

What is the K-12 
education credit? 

A state income tax deduction is allowed for K-12 education-related expenses. The 
deduction allows up to $2,500 to be deducted for each dependent in grades 7-12 
and up to $1,625 for each dependent in grades K-6. 

In tax year 2015 (fiscal year 2016) an estimated 207,000 returns claimed the 
deduction. The Department of Revenue estimates that the deduction will reduce 
income tax revenues by $18.4 million in tax year 2017 (fiscal year 2018). 

Qualifying expenses for the deduction include payments for: 
• tuition, including nonpublic school, after-school enrichment, academic 

summer camps, music lessons, and tutoring; 
• textbooks, including instructional materials and supplies, musical 

instrument rental and purchase, and up to $200 of computer hardware and 
educational software; and 

• transportation (paid to others for transporting children to school). 

A state income tax credit is allowed for 75 percent of K-12 education-related 
expenses. The credit is for up to $1,000 for each child in grades K-12. For 
taxpayers with two or more qualifying children, the $1,000 per child maximum is a 
family limit; credits may be claimed up to the maximum without regard to the 

- qualifying child or children for whom the expenses were paid. The credit begins to 
phase out when income exceeds $33,500 at a 25-percent rate for families with one 
child and at 50 percent for families with two or more children. In other words, each 
$4 dollar of income over the limit reduces the maximum credit by $1 for a family 
with one child or by $2 for a family with two or more children. For families 
claiming the credit for one or two children, it is fully phased out when income 
reaches $37,500. The phaseout extends for an additional $2,000 of income for 
each additional child claimed (i.e., to $39,500 for three children, $41,500 for four 
children, etc.). 

In tax year 2014, 51,317 Minnesota returns claimed a total of $13.3 million in K-
12 education credits. The average credit was $259. In tax year 2017 (fiscal year 
2018), the Department of Revenue estimates that Minnesota will claim $13 .1 
million in K-12 education credits. 

What ex.penses The same expenses qualify for the credit as for the deduction, except payment of 
qualify for the credit? nonpublic school tuition does not qualify for the credit. 

What are the tax 
benefits of the 
deduction and 
credit? 

The deduction reduces an individual's taxable income. The tax benefit of the 
deduction depends on the taxpayer' s  marginal tax rate and the total amount 
deducted. Minnesota has four marginal tax rates : 5.35, 7.05, 7.85, and 9.85 
percent. A taxpayer in the 5.35 percent bracket who claims a $2,500 deduction 



Can parents obtain 
loans to pay for 
educational services 
that qualify for the 
credit? 

How do taxpayers 
claim the deduction 
and credit? 

Has the 
constitutionality of 
Minnesota 's credit 
and deduction been 
challenged in 
court? 

will pay $ 133.75 less in state income taxes (5.35% x $2,500) . A taxpayer in the 
9.85 percent bracket with the same deduction will pay $246.25 less in taxes. A 
taxpayer with too little income to have tax liability will not benefit from the 
deduction. In tax year 20 1 7, a typical married couple with two dependents would 
need to have $28,900 of gross income before owing any state income tax. 
The credit, in contrast, directly reduces tax liability and is fully refundable. If an 
individual's credit exceeds his or her liability, the excess is paid as a refund. 

Parents may assign payment of the credit to participating financial institutions and 
tax-exempt foundations. In exchange, parents receive a loan that is paid directly to 
a third-party provider of educational services and programs. This allo_ws very low­
income families to purchase educational products and services in anticipation of 
receiving a credit when they file their tax return the following year, with the credit 
paid directly to the financial institution or foundation that accepted the assignment. 

Taxpayers claim the deduction on form M- 1 M, income additions and subtractions. 
Taxpayers claiming the credit must complete form Ml ED and attach it to their 
state tax return. 

The constitutionality of state income tax benefits for education expenses have 
regularly been challenged in court under the First Amendment and the education 
clauses of state constitutions. 
The Minnesota dependent education deduction was upheld by the U.S. Supreme 
Court in a 1 983 decision, Mueller v. Allen. An earlier Minnesota tax credit that 
applied to private school tuition was invalidated by the Minnesota Supreme Court 
in 1 974. 

Minnesota's current K-12 education credit has not been subject to legal challenge. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 65 1 -296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Deductions and Credits for 
Public and Nonpublic Education in Minnesota, September 201 1 .  

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the ·entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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What is Minnesota 
taxable income? 

What are 
Minnesota 
additions to taxable 
income? 

What subtractions 
does Minnesota 
allow from taxable 
income? 

Updated: January 2017 

Minnesota Taxable Income 

Minnesota taxable income (MTI) is the tax base used to calculate Minnesota 
income tax liability. Minnesota taxable income equals federal taxable income 
(FTI) after Minnesota additions and subtractions. 

Minnesota requires various additions to federal taxable income for tax year 2016. 
These items are subject to Minnesota tax, but not federal tax. 

• State income tax deduction. Filers who claimed a federal itemized deduction 
for state income taxes paid must add that amount to Minnesota taxable income. 
Taxpayers making this addition are always allowed to claim at least the full 
standard deduction for the tax year. 

• Bond interest and mutual fund interest dividends paid by non-Minnesota 
state and local governments 

• 80 percent of the difference between federal and state allowances for 
bonus depreciation and section 179 expensing 

• Net operating losses allowed at the federal level under a different schedule 
than at the state level 

• Expenses relating to income not taxed by Minnesota 
• Capital gain part of lump-sum distributions from qualified retirement 

plans 
• Fines and penalties allowed as deductions from federal taxable income 
• Domestic production activities income allowed as a deduction from federal 

taxable income 

Minnesota allows various subtractions from federal taxable income for tax year 
20 16. The estimated reductions in revenue shown below are taken from the 
Department of Revenue's Tax Expenditure Budget for 2016-2019, unless otherwise 
noted. Subtractions for tax year 201 6  include: 

• State income tax refund. The federal income tax allows an itemized 
deduction for state income taxes. Minnesota requires itemizers to add back the 
amount deducted and allows a subtraction for amounts refunded in order to 
avoid twice taxing the same income. 

• Subtractions required by federal law. Federal law prohibits state taxation of 
these three types of income received by residents: 

o U.S. bond interest 
o Railroad retirement benefits 
o On-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members 

• Military retirement pay, including payments to survivors of military retirees 
($22.6 million in fiscal year 2017). 

• K-12 dependent education expenses ($ 18. 1 million in fiscal year 2017). The 
deduction applies to school-related expenses, including tuition, textbooks, 
academic tutoring and camps, and instructional materials and supplies. The 



maximum deduction is $1,625 for each child in grades K-6 and $2,500 for 
each child in grades 7 -12. 

• Compensation for military active service performed by Minnesota 
residents, including training ($12.4 million in fiscal year 2017). 

• 50 percent of charitable contributions in excess of $500 ($9 .3 million in 
fiscal year 2017). Allowed only for filers who do not claim federal itemized 
deductions-those who itemize have already deducted their charitable 
contributions in computing federal taxable income. 

• Compensation for Minnesota National Guard and reserve service ($6.0 
million in fiscal year 2017). Allowed for state active service, federally funded 
state active service (generally floods, other disasters, and airport security), and 
training pay. 

• Minnesota elderly/disabled exclusion ($0.6 million in fiscal year 2017). 
Equals up to $12,000 for low-income elderly and disabled filers with low 
amounts of Social Security and nontaxable pensions. 

• Job Opportunity Building Zone (JOBZ) income ($200,000 in fiscal year 
2017). Allowed for net income from a qualified business in a JOBZ, for net 
income from renting property for use by a qualified business, and for gain from 
the sale of property used by a qualified business. 

• National service education awards ($200,000 in fiscal year 2017). Allowed 
for scholarships received for AmeriCorps service. 

• Railroad maintenance expenses ($200,000 in fiscal year 2017). Allowed for 
amounts claimed as a credit at the federal level ( estimate derived from 
Department of Revenue processing report). 

• Foreign subnational income taxes (less than $100,000 in fiscal year 2017). 
Allowed for taxes paid to a foreign governmental unit, to the extent the 
taxpayer did not claim the federal foreign tax credit for the subnational taxes 
(estimate derived from Department of Revenue processing report). 

• Gain on sale of farm property for insolvent taxpayers (less than $50,000 in 
fiscal year 2017). This subtraction is allowed for taxpayers who use the 
proceeds of the sale of a farm to pay off a mortgage, contract for deed, or lien 
on the property. 

• Organ donation expenses (less than $50,000 in fiscal year 2017). Allowed 
for up to $10,000 of expenses related to organ donation by the taxpayer or a 
dependent, including lost wages. 

• Bonus depreciation, section 179 expensing, income from the discharge of 
indebtedness, and net operating losses. Allowed for amounts included in 
Minnesota taxable income, but not federal taxable income, in earlier tax years. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House 
Research publications Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, August 2014; and Minnesota 's Elderly 
Exclusion (web only) on the income tax page of the House Research website: www.house.mn/hrd/. 

The Research Department of the Min nesota House of Representatives is a non partisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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What is section 1 79 
expensing? 

What businesses 
can use section 1 79 
and what property 
qualifies? 

Section 179 Expensing under the 

Federal and Minnesota Income Tax 

Income tax laws generally require businesses to spread deductions of capital 
expenditures over the useful lives of the purchased property. Section 179 
expensing, which takes its name from a section of the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC), allows businesses to deduct the entire amount of the cost of qualifying 
property in the tax year the property is placed in service, rather than claiming 
depreciation deductions over a number of years. This allows the business to 
accelerate recognition of the expense from future tax years into the present year. 
The number of years over which property would otherwise be depreciated ranges 
from three to 15 years, depending on the type of property and its useful life as 
classified under the IRC. 

A business is allowed to use section 179 based on the amount of its qualifying 
capital expenditures in a taxable year. Purchases of most equipment and other· 
personal property qualify, including many leasehold improvements by businesses 
renting their facilities. Improvements to land (real estate) typically do not qualify. 
Businesses making more than $2.5 million in expenditures in a tax year cannot use 
section 179. Other businesses may deduct up to $500,000 in expenditures (reduced 
dollar for dollar by amounts over $2 million). Congress has changed these dollar 
limits multiple times in recent years, often for temporary periods of time (see table 
below). In 2015, Congress made the $500,000 amount and the $2 million phaseout 
floor permanent, and indexed both for inflation beginning in 2016. 

Year 
2003 

2004 

2006 

2007 

2008 and 
2009 
20 1 0  to 
20 14  
20 1 5  
20 1 6  

Summary of Federal Section 179 Legislation 
2003-2016 

Maximum 
deduction Phaseout Indexine 

$25 ,000, $200,000, Yes for 2004 
increased to increased to and 2005 
$ 100,0000 $400,000 
No change No change Extended to 

2006 and 2007 
No change No change Extended to 

2008 and 2009 
Increased to Increased to Yes for 2008 to 
$ 1 25,000 $500,000 20 1 0  
Increased to Increased to No 
$250,000 $800,000 
Increased to Increased to No 
$500,000 $2 million 
$500,000 $2 million Yes 
$500,000 $2.0 1 million Yes 

Expiration 
2006 

Extended to 
2008 
Extended to 
20 1 0  
20 1 1 

20 1 0  

20 14  

None 
None 



What are the 
section 1 79 
expensing 
allowances under 
the Minnesota 
income tax? 

What are the 
federal and state 
allowances? 

What is the recent 
history of section 
1 79 expensing in 
Minnesota? 

In 2002 businesses could claim up to $24,000 in section 179 expensing, and this 
phased out for businesses with total expenses from $200,000 to $224,000. The 
$24,000 allowance was scheduled to increase to $25,000 in 2003, but Congress 
temporarily increased the allowance to $100,000. This was the first of a series of 
congressional actions that provided temporary increases in the maximum 
allowance and the "phaseout" limit; Congress also periodically indexed for 
inflation the temporarily increased amounts. 

In tax year 20 17, a business may claim up to $25,000 in expensing on its 
Minnesota return. This amount is reduced dollar for dollar by the cost of property 
placed in service over $200,000, so that a business that places in service more than 
$225,000 in qualifying property is ineligible. 

If a business claims more than $25,000 in section 179 expensing under federal law 
it must add 80 percent of the additional amount claimed to Minnesota taxable 
income on its Minnesota return. It is then allowed to subtract one-fifth of the 
amount added back in each of the next five tax years. In that way, the full amount 
claimed at the federal level is ultimately allowed at the state level-20 percent in 
tax year 2016 and 16 percent per year in tax years 201 7 through 2021. 

Under federal law, in 2016 the maximum deduction is $500,000 and begins to 
phase out at $2,010,000 in expenditures. Under state law, the maximum deduction 
is $25,000 and begins to phase out at $200,000. 

Section 179 Allowances under Federal and Minnesota Law 
Federal Minnesota 

Tax year Maximum Start of Maximum Start of 
deduction phaseout deduction phaseout 

2002 $24,000 $200,000 $24,000 $200,000 

2003 1 00,000 400,000 1 00,000 400,000 

2004 1 02,000 4 1 0,000 1 02,000 4 10,000 

2005 105,000 420,000 105,000 420,000 

2006 108,000 430,000 25,000 200,000 

2007 125,000 500,000 25,000 200,000 

2008-2009 250,000 800,000 25,000 200,000 

20 1 0-20 1 5  500,000 2,000,000 25,000 200,000 

20 1 6  500,000 2,0 1 0,000 25,000 200,000 

Prior to 2006, Minnesota conformed to the federal allowances, allowing businesses 
to claim the same amount under the Minnesota tax as they could under the federal 
tax. Since then, the legislature has elected not to conform to the higher federal 
allowances. From 2006 to the present, Minnesota allowed the $25,000 section 179 
expensing amount in effect before tax year 2003, when the federal government first 
began allowing increased section 1 79 expensing. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
651-296-5057. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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What is the angel 
investment credit? 

What investors 
qualify for the 
credit? 

What small 
businesses qualify 
under the credit? 

Minnesota Angel Investment Credit 

The Minnesota Small Business Investment Credit ( commonly referred to as the 
angel investment credit) provides qualified investors in certified small businesses 
with a refundable income tax credit equal to 25 percent of their investments up to a 
maximum of $125,000 ($250,000 for married joint filers). The maximum credits 
for investments in a business cannot exceed $1 million. The credit took effect for 
tax year 2010 and expires for investments made after tax year 2017. 

Three key sets of requirements apply under the credit : 
• Rules that govern which investors qualify to make investments 
• Rules specifying the types of businesses that qualify to receive investments 
• Limits on which investments qualify 

The angel credit allows two different types of investors to qualify for the credit: 
• Individual investors qualify either by being accredited investors under 

Securities and Exchange Commission Regulation D or by certifying that 
they will only invest in an offering that is exempt from registration under 
state law. Accredited investors must have net worth of at least $1 million 
(excluding the value of their homes) or annual income of at least $200,000 
($300,000 for married couples). Beginning in tax year 2015, individuals 
who are officers of or who in combination with their family members own 
or control 20 percent or more of the business cannot claim the credit. 

• Qualified funds are pass-through tax entities that invest in qualifying small 
businesses and have three or more investors who each meet the 
requirements for individual investors. These funds pass through the credit 
to their owners, who claim it on their tax returns. 

Investors must apply to and be certified by the Department of Employment and 
Economic Development (DEED) before making the investment for which they are 
claiming the credit. However, individuals who are not accredited investors but 
who qualify because the offering is a small corporation that is exempt from 
registration may apply up to 30 days after making the investment. 

The credit only applies to investments in a small business that DEED certifies: 
• Has its headquarters and 51 percent of its employees and payroll in 

Minnesota; 
• Is engaged in a specified field of business involving proprietary technology 

or product; 
• Has fewer than 25 employees; 
• Pays most of its employees wages equal to at least 175 percent of the 

federal poverty guideline for a family of four; 
• Has not been in operation for more than ten years (20 years for businesses 

developing drugs or medical devices that require FDA approval); and 
• Has not received more than $2 million in private equity investment. 



What types of 
investments qualify 
for the credit? 

How much will the 
credit reduce state 
tax revenues? 

Has the demand for 
credits exceeded the 
limits? 

How many 
businesses and 
individuals 
benefited from the 
credits? 

Do clawback 
provisions apply? 

To qualify for the credit, an investment must: 
• Receive DEED credit certification from the annual credit cap; 
• Be made in cash; 
• Satisfy minimums of either $10,000 (individuals) or $30,000 (fund); and 
• Receive in return an equity-type interest (e.g., common stock, partnership 

interest, preferred stock, or debt with a mandatory conversion to equity). 

The law imposes an annual dollar limit or cap on the total amount of credits. Some 
of these credits may be paid as refunds (rather than reducing tax liability), since the 
credit is refundable. The total limit over the life of the credit is $91.9 million: 

• $11 million for tax year 2010 
• $12 million per year for tax years 2011 through 2013, except the 2013 

amount is reduced by $100,000 to fund a program evaluation 
• $15 million per year for tax years 2014 through 2016 
• $10 million for tax year 2017 

DEED administers the limits by certifying dollar amounts of credits to applicant 
investors on a first-come, first-served basis. 

Applications for tax years 2011 through 2016 used up the full allocations and the 
amount carried over before the end of the year, requiring DEED to reject 
applicants in all three years. 

The table shows the number of investors (including those investing in funds) and 
businesses for 2010 through 2015. 

Calendar year: 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 

Number of businesses 67 1 13 1 17 128 1 10 1 14 

Number in metro area 62 102 109 122 1 02 10 1  

Percentage of $ in  metro area 94% 80% 95% 95% 86% 92% 

Number of investors 290 758 656 65 1 8 12  8 17 

Beginning in tax year 2015 half the allocation is reserved for investments in 
Greater Minnesota and in women- and minority-owned businesses; any reserved 
amounts not allocated by September 30 become available for other qualifying 
investments. Of the reserved amount, $4.35 million in tax year 2015 and $2.4 
million in tax year 2016 was used for the specified investments by September 30, 
and the balance was allocated to other investments. 

The law provides for revocation and repayment of the credit if the small business 
does not maintain at least 51 percent of its employees and payroll in Minnesota for 
five years starting the year after the investment was made. The required repayment 
declines by 20 percentage points per year (100 percent in year one, 80 percent in 
year two, etc.). The business, not the investors, must make the repayment. 
In addition, investors or funds that do not maintain their investment in the small 
business for at least three years must repay the credit. 

What reporting Investors, funds, and small businesses must annually report to DEED on their 
requirements apply? compliance with the law. DEED annually reports to the legislature. 

For more information: See "Angel Tax Credit" under the "Financing a Business" area on the DEED 
website: http://www.positivelyminnesota.com. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota allow? 
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Minnesota's Individual Income Tax 

Minnesota's income tax revenues equaled $10. 7 billion in fiscal year 2016, about 
4 7 percent of state tax collections and 41 percent of all state revenues. 

Minnesota's income tax applies to a base of Minnesota taxable income (MTI). The 
starting point for calculating MTI is federal taxable income (FTI), which is the 
income measure used in determining federal income tax liability. In calculating 
MTI, taxpayers are required to add certain types of income to FTI and allowed to 
_subtract other kinds of income. Some of the subtractions are required under 
federal law. For more detail on these adjustments, see the House Research 
publication Minnesota Taxable Income, January 2017. 

Minnesota's  income tax is a graduated tax, with four rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05 
percent, 7.85 percent, and 9.85 percent. The rates are applied to income brackets 
that vary by filing status. Married couples filing joint returns are allowed the most 
generous (widest) brackets, followed by head of household filers (single parents 
maintaining a household), unmarried single filers, and married separate filers. 

The table shows the income tax brackets in effect for each rate in tax year 2017 
(brackets for married taxpayers, filing separately, are half the width of the married 
joint brackets) : 

Married Joint Single Head of Household 
5.35% $0 to $37,110 $0 to $25,390 $0 to $31,260 
7:05% $37,711 to $147,450 $25,391 to $83,400 $31,261 to $125,600 
7.85% $147,451 to $261,510 $83,401 to $156,910 $125,601 to $209,210 
9.85% Over $261,510 Over $156,910 Over $209 ,210 

A married couple filing a joint return owes income tax equal to 5.35 percent of 
their first $37,110 of taxable income, 7.05 percent of income from $37,111 to 
$147,450, 7.85 percent of taxable income from $147,451 to $261,510, and 9.85 
percent of taxable income over $261,510. The income tax brackets are adjusted 
each year for inflation. 

Minnesota allows taxpayers to claim several credits against tax liability. Credits 
that may be used only to reduce liability, called nonrefundable credits, include the 
following (and the amount claimed most recently): 

• Credit for taxes paid to other states ($257 million in tax year 2014) 
• Marriage credit ($87.3 million in fiscal year 2017) 
• Credit for past military service ($400,000 in fiscal year 2017) 
• Long-term care insurance credit ($9.0 million in fiscal year 2017) 
• Research and development credit ($18.5 million in fiscal year 2017) 



• Employer transit pass credit (less than $50,000 in fiscal year 2017) 

In addition, in tax year 201 7 Minnesota allows nine refundable credits, which are 
paid as refunds to taxpayers even if the credit amount is greater than their income 
tax liability (and the amount refunded most recently) : 

• Working family (earned income) credit ($259.5 million in fiscal year 2017) 
• Dependent care credit ($13 .5 million in fiscal year 2017) 
• K-12 education credit ($13 .1 million in fiscal year 201 7) 
• Military combat zone credit ($0.8 million in fiscal year 2017) 
• Stillbirth credit ($0.8 million in fiscal year 2017) 
• Job opportunity building zone (JOBZ) credit (less than $50,000 in fiscal 

year 2017) 
• Enterprise zone credit ($300,000 in fiscal year 2017) 
• Angel investment credit ($15.0 million in fiscal year 2017) 
• Historic structure rehabilitation credit ($49.6 million in fiscal year 2017) 

o The historic credit is available to both corporate and individual 
taxpayers; to date most claims have come from corporate taxpayers. 

Minnesota also allows a refundable credit for bovine tuberculosis testing expenses. 
Since the federal government currently considers Minnesota to be free of bovine 
tuberculosis no testing is required and the credit is not in effect. 

. Credit amounts are from the Minnesota Department of Revenue's Tax Expenditure 
Budget, Fiscal Years 2016-2019, and income tax return processing data. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the House Research publications, Minnesota Taxable Income, January 
2017; The Minnesota Income Tax Marriage Credit, November 2013; The Minnesota and Federal 
Dependent Care Tax Credits, February 2014; The Federal Earned Income Credit and the Minnesota 
Working Family Credit, March 2013; Income Tax Deductions and Credits for Public and Nonpublic 
Education in Minnesota, September 2011; and Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, July 2015. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Bui lding I St. Paul, MN 551 55 I 651 -296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 



HOUSE RESEARCH Short Subjects 
Mary Mullen Updated: January 2017 

The Tribal Law and Order Act and Minnesota 

The Tribal Law and Order Act of 2010 allows reservations in Public Law 280 states, where criminal 
jurisdiction is handled by the state and county prosecutors, to apply for concurrent federal jurisdiction. The 
purpose of the law is to increase the resources available to tribes for the investigation and prosecution of 
crimes in Indian country. 

How does the Tribal The United State Department of Justice has recently accepted requests from two 
Law and Order Act Minnesota tribes providing concurrent federal j urisdiction over crimes on those 
(TLOA) affect reservations. 
Minnesota? 

How does the law 
work? 

Does the TLOA 
change the state 's 
criminal 
jurisdiction? 

• The White Earth Band was granted concurrent jurisdiction, which took 
effect on June 1, 2013 . 

• The Mille Lacs Band of Oj ibwe was granted concurrent jurisdiction, 
which took effect January 1, 201 7. 

The TLOA allows tribes to request concurrent federal jurisdiction over crimes on 
reservations, and once that request has been approved, the federal prosecutor can 
investigate .and prosecute crimes on the reservation in the same way those crimes 
are prosecuted on reservations where Public Law 280 does not apply. (See more 
about Public Law 280 below.) 

On the White Earth Reservation and the Mille Lacs Band Reservation, the Major 
Crimes Act and the General Crimes Act will apply. The Major Crimes Act allows 
for federal prosecution of the following crimes : murder, manslaughter, rape, 
assault with intent to kill, arson, burglary, larceny, kidnapping, incest, assault with 
a dangerous weapon, assault resulting in serious bodily injury, assault with intent 
to commit rape, robbery, and felonious sexual molestation of a minor (18 U.S.C. § 
1153). The General Crimes Act includes the general federal criminal laws, including 
many of the same crimes included in the Maj or Crimes Act (18 U.S.C. § 1152). 

After a tribe has had concurrent federal jurisdiction granted, the state's criminal 
jurisdiction will not change, but the federal government will also have jurisdiction 
over the crimes covered by the Maj or Crimes Act and the General Crimes Act. It is 
important to note that the federal government always has jurisdiction over certain 
crimes that occur anywhere in the United States, including Indian country, 
pursuant to federal laws of general applicability such as the Controlled Substances 
Act. 

A federal law passed in 1953, commonly called Public Law 280, gave Minnesota 
criminal jurisdiction over all the reservations located in the state, except the Red 
Lake Reservation. In 1973, Minnesota approved the retrocession of the Bois Forte 
Reservation in northeastern Minnesota from Public Law 280. Other than the Red 



Does the TLOA 
change the tribe 's 
criminal 
jurisdiction? 

How is the TLOA 
funded? 

Lake and Bois Forte (Nett Lake) Reservations, all of the other federally recognized 
tribes (http://mn.gov/indianaffairs/tribes.html) in Minnesota are subject to state 
criminal jurisdiction (18 U.S.C. § 1162). 

The TLOA does not change the state's criminal jurisdiction. Tribal members are 
still �ubject to state and tribal criminal laws. The difference is that on the White 
Earth Reservation and on the Mille Lacs Reservation, members of federally 
recognized tribes may be subject to federal prosecution for certain crimes. 

The criminal jurisdiction the tribe has over members of federally recognized 
American Indian Tribes did not change under the TLOA. Those tribes still have the 
ability to arrest and prosecute individuals to the extent allowed by the Indian Civil 
Rights Act of 1968, which allows tribes to impose a fine up to $5,000 and up to 
one year in jail. However, the TLOA has now created an opportunity for tribes to 
implement enhanced sentencing powers. 

The TLOA created the potential to enhance criminal sentencing for tribal courts 
when the courts have met certain requirements (25 U.S.C. § 1302(6)). Under 
TLOA, a tribal court must: 

• guarantee the right to defense counsel for indigent clients; 
. • provide a judge who is licensed to practice law; 
• be a court of record; 
• make the tribal criminal code be publicly available; and 
• have rules of evidence and rules of criminal procedure (25 U.S.C. § 1302). 

Currently, no Minnesota tribes have the enhanced criminal sentencing authority 
provided for under the TLOA. The National Congress of American Indians has a 
list of tribes that have begun using enhanced sentencing or who are close to 
implementing programs in other states 
(http://tloa.ncai.org/tribesexercisingTLOA.cfm). 

The TLOA does not change the tribe's criminal jurisdiction over non-Indians. 
Tribes have very limited jurisdiction over non-Indians, however the Violence 
Against Women's Act (VA WA) provides some exceptions. (See the House 
Research publication American Indians, Indian Tribes, and State Government, 
January 201 7, for more information.) 

The TLOA provided increased federal funding for a number of programs 
administered by the Department of Justice and other federal agencies, as well as 
funding grants for criminal justice related programs for American Indian Tribes. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mary Mullen at 651-296-9253. Also see the House 
Research publication American Indians, Indian Tribes, and State Government, January 2017. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit and 
Minnesota Working Family Credit: An Overview 

What are the 
credits? 

Who is eligible for 
the credits? 

How are the 
credits calculated? 

How do filers 
claim the credits? 

How many 
Minnesotans claim 
the credits? 

The federal earned income tax credit (EITC) and Minnesota working family credit 
(WFC) equal a percentage of the earnings of low-income individuals. The credits 
are refundable; if the credit exceeds a filer's tax liability, the rest is paid as a refund. 
Since these credits increase their recipients' earnings, they act as wage supplements 
and are thought to provide a work incentive. 

Anyone with wages or self-employment income may be eligible to claim the EITC 
and the WFC. In tax year 20 17, individuals with more than $3,450 in interest income, 
dividends, rental and royalty income, and �apital gain income do not qualify. 

The credits equal a percentage of earned income, up to a maximum credit amount, 
and are phased out when the claimant's  total income exceeds a threshold. The 
maximum credit amounts and income levels at which the credits are phased out vary 
depending on the number of children in the household and whether the claimants are 
married. Both the maximum credit and the phaseout threshold are adjusted annually 
for inflation. In tax year 20 1 7, the maximum credits, phaseout threshold, _and 
income level at which the credits are no longer allowed are as follows: 

· Income at which 
Phaseout credit fully 

Maximum credit threshold phased out 
EITC WFC EITC WFC EITC WFC 

Unmarried claimants 
No children $5 1 0  $ 1 34 $8,340 $8,360 $ 1 5,0 10  $ 1 5,005 
1 child $3 ,400 $ 1 ,070 $ 1 8,340 $2 1 ,800 $39,6 17  $39,568 
2 children $5,6 1 6  $2,064 $ 1 8,340 $25, 850 $45,007 $44,922 
3 or more children $6,3 1 8  $2,064 $ 1 8,340 $25 ,850 $48,340 $44,922, 
Married claimants 
No children $5 10  .$ 134  $13 ,930 $ 1 3 ,950 $20,600 $20,595 
1 child $3 ,400 $ 1 ,070 $23 ,930 $27,390 $45,207 $45, 1 58 
2 children $5,6 1 6  $2,064 $23 ,930 $3 1 A4o $50,597 $50,5 12 
3 or more chi ld ren $6,3 1 8  $2,064 $23 ,930 $3 1 ,440 $53,930 $50,5 12 

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by 
completing a schedule or worksheet. 

In tax year 20 1 4, 357,41 0  Minnesota returns claimed the EITC and 345 ,858 claimed 
the WFC. These claims represent 13.3 percent of all federal returns filed by 
Minnesotans and 12.3 percent of all state returns filed by Minnesota residents. The 
number of EITC claims exceeds the number of WFC claims mostly because in 
20 14, the high'?r.EITC rate for families with three or more children resulted in the 



How much is paid 
out in credits? 

How are the 
credits distributed 
among different 
types off amilies? 

How are the 
credits distributed 
geographically? 

How does 
Minnesota 
compare with 
other states? 

EITC for large families extending to higher incomes than did the WFC, which did 
not have a higher rate for families with three or more children. 

In tax year 2014, Minnesotans claimed $761 million in EITC, of which $94 million 
offset tax liability, and the remaining $667 million was paid as a refund. The 
average EITC claimed by Minnesotans was $2,130. 

Minnesota returns claimed $256 million in WFC, of which $42.5 million offset tax 
liability, and the remaining $213.6 million was paid as a refund. The average WFC 
was $741. 

Seventy-three percent of all working family credits went to families with one or 
more children.· These families received about 97 percent of the total amount of 
credits paid in 2014 . Individuals without children filed 27.3 percent ofreturns 
claiming credits, but received only 2.7 percent of the total amount of credits. 
Claimants with children received most of the total amount of credits because these 
families qualify for a higher maximum credit than do claimants without children. 
The distribution of earned income tax credits is similar. 

Number of WFC Claimants Dollars of WFC 

2 or more children 65.0% 

1 child 

no children 

In 2014, jusrover half (51 percent) of the returns claiming credits were in the Twin 
Cities metropolitan area and just under half ( 49 percent) in Greater Minnesota; 20 
percent of return� in Wadena County claimed credits, compared with only 7 percent 
in Carver County. The highest average credit went to Norman County claimants, at 
$852, and the lowest to Winona County claimants, at $642. 

Nationwide, 19 .1 percent of all income tax returns claimed the EITC, compared to 
13.3 percent in Minnesota. The average EITC nationwide in 2014 was $2,399; it 
was $2,130 in Minnesota. Minnesota' s  number of recipients and credit amounts are 
lower than the national averages because state residents have above-average 
mcomes. 

In tax year 2015, 25 other states and the District of Columbia provided a state version 
of the EITC. In most cases the state credit equals a percentage of the federal EITC. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House 
Research information brief The Federal Barned Income Tax Credit and the Minnesota Working Family 
Credit, December 2016. 
The Research Department of the Min nesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the enti re House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office B·ui lding I St. Pau l ,  MN 55 1 55 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Major State Aids and Taxes: An Overview of the 2013 Update 

This provides a brief overview of the report Major State Aids and Taxes: A Comparative Analysis, 2013 
Update, which highlights major aids provided to the local governments and people in Minnesota and lists 
the major taxes collected. The per capita amounts were calculated using 2012 population. Some aids are 
presented on a different basis in other settings (e.g., per pupil for education aid); however, in the report 
they are presented on a per capita basis to allow comparison of different aids. 

STATE AIDS 

Program Year Amount (millions) Per Capita 
Education aid 20 12/20 13  $7,138.2 State $1,318 State 

Aid paid to school districts for all K-12 educational (school $4,006.0 Metro $ 1 ,358 Metro 

expenses year) $3, 1 32.2 Nonmetro $ 1 ,270 Nonmetro 

Human services aid 20 1 3  $5,154.1 State $951 State 

State 's share of human services aid for various income $2,896.4 Metro $982 Metro 

and medical assistance programs $2,257'.7 Nonmetro $9 1 5  N onmetro 

Highway aid 20 1 3  $721.3 State $133 State 

Distributed to counties, cities, and towns for highway $23 7 . 1  Metro $80 Metro 
$484.2 Nonmetro $ 196 Nonmetro purposes 

Local government aid 20 1 3  $427.5 State $79 State 

Provides property tax relief by providing general $ 1 33 .6 Metro $45 Metro 

purpose financial support to cities $293 .9 Nonmetro $ 1 19  Nonmetro 

Disparity reduction aid 20 1 3  $18.3 State $3 State 

Provides aid to jurisdictions (counties, towns, and school $ 1 .4 Metro - Metro 

districts) that had inordinately high tax rates in 1988 $ 1 6.9 Nonmetro $7 Nonmetro 

County program aid 20 1 3  $165.6 State $31 State 

County general purpose aids: includes former homestead $77.0 Metro $26 Metro 

and agricultural credit, county criminal justice aid, $88 .6 Nonmetro $36 Nonmetro 

family preservation aid, and attached machinery aid 

Community corrections fu�ding 20 1 3  $84.5 State $16 State 

Aid that provides a portion of counties ' costs for $40.9 Metro $ 14  Metro 

community correctional services $43 .6  Nonmetro $ 1 8  Nonmetro 

Property tax refund ( excludes targeting) 20 12  (filed $450.9 State $83 State 

Reimburses homeowners and renters for a portion of in 20 13) $309.2 Metro $ 104 Metro 

property taxes if those taxes exceed a household income $ 14 1.7 Nonmetro $58 Nonmetro 

threshold 

Targeting 20 12  (filed $0.7 State $0 State 

Additional homeowner property tax refund if property 
in 20 13) $0.4 Metro - Metro 

tq,xes increased a certain percentage threshold over 
$0.3 Nonmetro - Nonmetro 

previous year (no income limits) 



MAJOR TAXES 
Year Amount (millions) 

Individual income tax 20 12  $8,360.7 Total 

Imposed on income of state residents and income (filed in $7,882.6 Residents 

derived from state sources of nonresidents 20 1 3) $5,242.9 Metro 
$2,639 .8  Nonmetro 

Sales and use tax 20 1 3  $5,247.4 (After refunds) 

Imposed on gross receipts of people who sell, lease, or $4,381.9 Residents 
$2,844. 1 Metro rent tangible personal property at retail at a rate of 6. 5 $ 1 ,537.7 Nonmetro percent (does not include local sales taxes) 

Motor vehicle sales tax 20 13  $621.9 State 

Imposed on new and used motor vehicles at the time of $326.2 Metro 

sale at the same rate of state sales tax $295 .7- Nonmetro 

Motor vehicle registration tax 20 1 3  $636.0 State 

Imposed annual(y on vehicles licensed in the state $344.4 Metro 
$29 1 .  7 N onmetro 

Motor vehicle fuels tax (gas tax) 20 1 3  $869.1 State 

Imposed on gasoline, diesel fuel, and other motor fuels $409. 8 Metro 

used by vehicles and on aviation fuels $459.3 Non�etro 

Corporate franchise (income) tax 20 13  $1,057.1 State 

Imposed at a rate of 9. 8 percent on the net income of $744.6 Metro 

corporations (or alternative minimum tax) $3 12.5  Nonmetro 

State general property tax 20 1 3  $839.9 State 

Imposed on commercial/industrial/public utility $533 . 8  Metro 

property and seasonal recreational property $306.2 Nonmetro 

PROPERTY TAX DATA, PAYABLE 2013 

Market Value 

Total statewide: $545.8 billion 

Net Property Tax 

Total statewide: $8.5* billion 

* Includes state general property tax 

Per capita 

$1,455 State 
$ 1 ,777 Metro 
$ 1 ,070 Nonmetro 

$809 State 
$964 Metro 
$623 Nonmetro 

$115 State 
$ 1 1 1  Metro 
$ 120 Nonmetro 

$117 State 
$ 1 1 7 Metro 
$ 1 1 8  Nonmetro 
$160 State 
$ 1 39 Metro 
$ 1 86 Nonmetro 

$195 State 
$252 Metro 
$ 127 Nonmetro 

$155 State 
$ 1 8 1  Metro 
$ 124 Nonmetro 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. See Major State Aids 
and Taxes: Comparative Analysis, 2013 Update (March 2017) for further details about each aid program 
and tax and data by county and economic development region. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Revenue recapture 
allows state and 
some local 
governments to 
collect debts by 
intercepting tax 
refunds 

A variety of debts 
qualify for 
collection using 
recapture 

Some types of 
refunds are subject 
to recapture 

The claimant must 
notify debtor about 
revenue recapture 

Revenue Recapture Program 

Revenue recapture authorizes the Department of Revenue (DOR) to intercept or 
offset part or all of a state tax refund or other payment to collect a debt that the 
taxpayer owes to a government agency or other authorized creditor. The 
following agencies may use the Revenue Recapture Program: 

• State agencies 
• University of Minnesota 
• Minnesota district courts 
• Counties 
• Cities, including for public library debts 
• Governmentally owned hospitals and Regions Hospital 
• Agencies responsible for child support enforcement 
• Agencies that administer low-income housing programs 
• Licensed ambulance services 

The debt (minimum amount of $25) must be owed to or collectable by one of the 
qualifying governmental agencies. The debtor must be an individual; the law 
does not apply to corporations. The creditor does not need to obtain a court 
judgment or order to enforce the debt. Qualifying debts include the following: 

• Contractual or statutory obligations 
• Criminal fines and fines for petty misdemeanors 
• Court-ordered restitution for a crime 
• Child support obligations 
• Overpayment of public assistance 
• Unpaid MinnesotaCare insurance premiums 

Obligations of low-income individuals (incomes between $12,560 and $23,730 
for care provided in 2015, depending upon family size) to repay debts for 
medical care, including hospitalization, cannot be recaptured. Debts barred by 
the statute of limitations also cannot be recaptured. 

Tax refunds are applied first to unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties before 
revenue recapture takes effect to offset qualifying debts. 

Revenue recapture applies to the following: 
• Individual income tax refunds 
• Property tax refunds 
• Sustainable forest incentive payments 
• Lottery prizes 

Under revenue recapture, a claimant (creditor) agency submits the claim (debt) 
to DOR for offset. Within five days after doing so, it must notify the debtor­
taxpayer in writing of the debt(s) that will be subject to revenue recapture. The 
taxpayer then has 45 days to request a hearing, which the claimant agency 



Child support has 
first priority for 
collection 

A $15 
administrative fee 
applies 

Over $68 million 
was recaptured in 
2015 

initiates; the hearing is conducted as a contested case under the Administrative 
Procedures Act. 

When more than one debt is submitted, the debts are applied in the following 
order of priority: 

• Child support obligations 
• Restitution obligations 
• Claims submitted for a hospital or ambulance service 
• Other debts based on the order in which DOR received the claims 

DOR accounts receivable (e.g., unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties) are offset 
before claims under revenue recapture. 

A fee of $15 per claim is first deducted from the refund, and the claimant agency 
receives the balance of the refund or the claim amount, whichever is less. Of 
this $ 15, $4 is set aside in a dedicated, revolving fund to pay DOR's cost of 
operating the program; the rest goes to the state's  general fund. 

The table to the right shows the number 
of revenue recapture offsets and amount 
of refunds offset for calendar years 201 1  
to 2015. 

The graph below shows the percentage 
of revenue recapture amounts and tax 
debts offset for calendar years 201 1  to 
201 5  by four of the major types of debts 
for which the law sets priorities. 

Revenue Recapture Amounts 
CY2011-2015 

Number of Amount of 
Offsets Recapture 

2011 1 93 ,629 $63,23 1 ,794 
2012 23 1 ,085 $7 1 ,699,789 
2013 228,262 $67,983, 1 44 
2014 238, 1 54 $68,557,048 
2015 225,722 $68,203 ,645 
Data exclude offsets to satisfy federal 
debts and taxes, and for unpaid state taxes. 
In 2015,  $15,649,065 in federal debt and 
taxes was offset, and there were 111,617 
offsets for $35,220,923 in unpaid state 
taxes. 
Source: DOR 

Revenue Recapture 
and State Tax 

Offset Amounts 
CY2011-2015 

Child Support 12. 1 % 

Unpaid MN Taxes 32.9% 

General, including hospital 
and ambulance 

54.2% 

For more information: See www.revenue.state.mn.us/collections/Pages/Revenue_Recapture.aspx for more 
information, or contact the Department of Revenue at 65 1 -5 5 6-3 03 7; or email at 
revenue.recapture@state.mn.us. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, legal, 
and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 551 55 I 651 -296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota Family Investment Program 

The Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) is a jointly funded, federal-state program that provides 
income assistance to eligible low-income families . MFIP is the state' s  response to the 1996 federal welfare 
reform law, which replaced the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program with Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), a block grant program to states. 

Who is eligible for 
MFIP? 

How much are 
monthly. benefits? 

A family must have income and assets below the program's limits. The income 
limit increases with family size. Families do not exit MFIP until their income 
reaches 1 1 5  percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG).  The 201 7  FPG for a 
family of three is $20, 160 (1 1 5  percent of FPG for a family of three equals 
$23 , 1 84). Assets are limited to $ 1 0,000 for applicants and participants, excluding 
certain items. In addition, families must meet the following eligibility 
requirements: 

• have a minor child or pregnant woman in the home 
• be residents of Minnesota 
• be a U.S .  citizen, qualified noncitizen, or noncitizen otherwise lawfully 

residing in the United States 
• assign rights to child support to the state 
• have received fewer than 60 months assistance total from any state 
• satisfy any other eligibility requirements of the program 

Families are subject to a lifetime limit of 60 months of assistance. Some families 
may be eligible for assistance extensions past the 60-month limit if they meet 
specific criteria for one of the following extension categories :- ill or incapacitated, 
hard-to-employ, and employed participants. 

MFIP participants may be eligible for other benefits such as child care assistance 
and Medical Assistance. 

The MFIP grant is based on a transitional standard that increases with family size. 
For example, a family of three's standard benefit in 20 1 7  is $99 1 per month; a 
family of four's monthly standard is $ 1 ,207. For families without earnings, the 
monthly grant equals the transitional standard. For families with earnings, the 
monthly grant equals the "family wage level" (1 1 0  percent of the transitional 
standard minus the family' s net earned income). The MFIP grant is composed of a 
cash portion and a food portion, both of which are issued by counties in electronic 
debit card form. 



What are the work 
requirements? 

How do sanctions 
work? 

What are MF/P's 
funding streams 
and expenditures? 

How many families 
receive MFIP? 

MFIP caregivers (i.e., persons who live with and provide care and support to minor 
children) are required to spend a specified number of hours every week engaged in 
work or work activities. Examples of acceptable activities include job search 
activities, unsubsidized employment, and on-the-job training. 

Employment plans must be tailored to recognize the special circumstances of 
MFIP participants who meet certain criteria, such as being over age 60, being ill or 
incapacitated, caring for a disabled child, or being the victim of family violence. 

Participants who are interested in participating in postsecondary education as part 
of their employment plan must discuss their education plans with their job 
counselor. Job counselors must work with participants to evaluate options. 

Special requirements exist for caregivers under age 20. In most cases, education is 
the first priority for teen MFIP participants. 

MFIP participants who do not meet the program requirements may be sanctioned 
through reduction of their monthly grant. Sanctions last until one month after a 
participant comes into compliance. An MFIP case must be closed after the seventh 
occurrence of noncompliance. 

MFIP is funded with a combination of federal funds and state appropriations. 
Minnesota received approximately $268 million annually in T ANF block grant 
funding in federal fiscal years 1998 to 2017 (this amount is subject to federal 
reauthorization). In addition, federal law includes a maintenance of effort (MOE) 
provision that requires a state to spend 75 percent to 80 percent of the amount it 
spent in 1994 under its old AFDC and related programs to assist needy families. In 
fiscal year 2017 the state's required MOE amount was $176.7 million per year. 
The MOE requirement is met through state spending on programs such as MFIP, 
child care assistance, and the working family tax credit. T ANF is used for MFIP 
and a variety of other programs that assist low-income families. 

According to the Department of Human Services, for state fiscal year 2016, total 
expenditures were $102.3 million for the cash portion and $135.8 million for the 
food portion of the MFIP grants. In terms of funding, $56.6 million was financed 
with federal TANF funds, $135.2 million was from federal Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program funds, and $45.7 million was from state appropriations. 

In fiscal year 2016, in an average month 32,776 families and a total of 91,159 
participants were receiving MFIP assistance. In fiscal year 201 7, in an average 
month an estimated 33,789 families and a total of 94,966 participants were 
receiving MFIP assistance. 

For more information: See the House Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, February 2016, 
and the following Short Subjects: Noncitizens on MFIP, December 2014, and MFIP Cases Reaching the 60-
Month Time Limit, August 2013. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Minnesota and Federal 
Dependent Care Tax Credits: An Overview 

What are the 
credits? 

Are the credits 
refundable? 

Who is eligible for 
the credits? 

What are qualifying 
expenses? 

How are the credits 
· calculated? 

The Minnesota and feder.al dependent care credits partially offset the cost of child 
care for certain workers. The maximum Minnesota and federal credit is $1,050 for 
one child and $2,100 for two or more children. 

The M�nnesota credit is fully refundable. If an individual qualifies for tfcredit that 
is greater than his or her tax liability, the excess is paid as a refund. The federal 
credit is not refundable and may only be used to offset federal income tax liability. 

Anyone who incurs expenses related to the care of a dependent and related 
household expenses may be eligible to claim the credits. The claimant must: 

• maintain a household that includes the dependent; 
• pay for care for a dependent under age 13, or a disabled spouse or adult 

dependent; and 
• pay for care in order to work or look for work. 

Qualifying expenses are amounts paid for the care of a dependent under age 13, or 
a disabled spouse or adult dependent, but do not include amounts paid to the 
claimant's spouse or another dependent. 

Qualifying expenses may not exceed the claimant's earn�d income (for ·married . 
couples filing joint returns, expenses may not exceed the earned income of the 
lesser earning spouse). Maximum allowable qualifying expenses are reduced by 
amounts paid through dependent care pre-tax accounts. 

The federal credit equals 3 5 percent of up to $3,000 of qualifying expenses for one 
dependent ($6,000 of qualifying expenses for two or more dependents). The 
maximum federal credit is $1,050 for one dependent and $2,100 for two or more 
dependents. The federal credit percentage rate begins to phase down when income 
exceeds $15,000, with the credit percentage decreasing as income increases. 
Claimants with incomes over $43,000 qualify for the minimum federal credit rate 
of 20 percent of qualifying expenses, or up to $600 for one dependent and $1,200 
for two or more dependents. For example, a claimant with $50,000 of income and 
$1,000 of expenses will qualify for a credit of $200 (20 percent of $1,000). 

The state credit equals the federal credit for which the claimant is eligible, subject 
to an income-based phaseout. 

(By contrast, the federal credit rate phases down to a minimum percentage but is 
never totally phased out.) In tax year 2017, the phaseout begins when adjusted 
gross income exceeds $50,000 and the state credit is fully phased out when income 
reaches $62,000 for claimants with one dependent, and $74,000 for claimants with 



How do filers claim 
the credits? 

How many 
Minnesotans claim 
the credits? 

How much is paid 
out in credits? 

What are recent 
changes to the state 
credit? 

How does 
. Minnesota compare 
with other states? 

two or more dependents. The income threshold for the phaseout is adjusted each 
year for in�ation. 

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by 
completing a separate schedule-Form 2441 for the federal credit and schedule 
M l  CD for the state credit. 

In tax year �014, 151,220 Minnesotans claimed the federal dependent care credit 
and 34,135 claimed the stclte credit. These claims represent 5.6 percent of all 
federal returns filed by Minnesotans and 1.2 percent of all state returns filed. 

In tax year 2014, Minnesotans claimed $72.8 million of federal dependent care 
credits. The average federal dependent care credit was $482. 

In tax year 20J4, Minnesotans claimed $14.'1 million of state dependent care 
credits. The · average state dependent care credit was $414. 

The 2017 Legislature: 
► tied the state credit directly to the federal credit; 
► changed the income measure used for_ the credit phaseout from 

household income to adjusted gross income; and 
► increased the phaseout floor to $50,000, with the credit extending to 

$62,000 for those with one dependent and $74,000 for those with two 
or more dependents. 

The Department of Revenue estimates that the changes will increase credits by 
$16.9 million in tax year 2017, and that 42,800 individuals will receive larger 
credits of $342 on average. Additionally, 16,900 individuals who were not 

• previously eligible for the credit would become eligible. 

Nationwide, 4.3 percent of all income tax returns claimed the federal dependent 
care credit, compared to 5.6 percent in Minnesota. South Dakota had the highest 
percentage of returns claiming the federal credit at 6.3 percent, and West Virginia 
had the lowest at 2.2 percent. 

The average federal dependent care credit in 2014 was $546 nationwide and $482 
. . 

in Minnesota. New York had the highest average credit at $595, and Montana had 
the lowest at $470. Minnesota's average credit amount may be lower than the 
national averages because state residents have above-average incomes, or because 
Minnesotans are more likely to receive child care assistance or use pre-tax 
dependent care accounts, reducing the amount of qualifying expenses. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House 
Research information brief The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits, February 2014. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Child Care Assistance 

Child care assistance programs subsidize the child care expenses of eligible low­
income families. The Minnesota Department of Human Services administers 
two child care assistance programs: Minnesota Family Investment Program 
(MFIP) child care assistance and Basic Sliding Fee (BSF) child care assistance. 
MFIP child care subsidizes the child care costs of families receiving cash 
assistance through MFIP and provides child care assistance for eligible families 
for the first 12 months after the family leaves MFIP cash assistance (transition 
year child care). BSF child care provides a child care subsidy to low-income 
working families who are not receiving cash assistance from MFIP. 

To be eligible for child care assistance, both parents ( or one parent in single­
parent households) must participate in an authorized work, education, or training 
activity, cooperate with child support enforcement, and meet income eligibility 
guidelines. The maximum income limit to be eligible for child care assistance is 
4 7 percent of state median income at program entry and 67 percent or less of 
state median income at program exit. (For fiscal year 2017, 47 percent of state 
median income was $37,264, and 67 percent of state median income was 
$53,122 for a family of three.) 

Children. up to age 12 are eligible for child care assistance (up to age 14 for 
disabled children). During fiscal year 2016, there were an average of two 
children per family receiving MFIP child care assistance and 1.9 children per 
family receiving BSF child care assistance. 

County agencies or their contractors must determine eligibility within 30 days of 
receiving a request for child care assistance. Direct reimbursement is the only 
method of receiving child care assistance. 

In fiscal year 2016, the estimated average annual subsidy for a family receiving 
MFIP child care assistance was $18,900, and the estimated average annual 
subsidy for a family receiving BSF child care assistance was $12,540. 

Maximum reimbursement rates paid for child care assistance are set by the 
legislature. The 2011 Legislature decreased provider reimbursement rates by 2.5 
percent, effective October 31, 2011. The 2013 Legislature modified 
reimbursement rates effective February 3, 2014, and created a provider rate 
differential for child care providers that hold a three- or four-star quality rating 
under the Parent A ware quality improvement and rating system. 
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There is a family co-payment requirement based on family size and income. 
The maximum family co-payment is about 14  percent of gross monthly income. 
Families with incomes below 75 percent of the federal poverty level are exempt 
from making co-payments ($ 1 5, 1 19  and below for a family of three in 201 7). 

The child care assistance programs receive funding from a variety of sources, 
including the federal Child Care Development Fund (CCDF), federal Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) funds, the state general fund, and county 
funds. 

Total estimated fiscal year 201 7  annual direct service payments are $ 1 57 .2 
million for MFIP and transition year child care and $ 1 1 2.2 million for BSF child 
care assistance. 

During fiscal year 201 7, an estimated average of 7,738 families received MFIP 
child care assistance and 8 ,334 families received BSF child care assistance per 
month. 

Not all families who apply for child care assistance receive it. MFIP child care is 
a forecasted, fully funded program, while BSF child care receives a capped 
allocation. As of March 3 1 ,  201 7, there w:ere 4,997 families on the waiting list 
for BSF child care assistance. 

Minnesota has a voluntary child care and early learning program quality rating 
system called Parent Aware. The rating system is available in all 87 counties. 

During previous legislative sessions, there were several proposals to consolidate 
the child care assistance programs into one program to reduce administrative and 
program complexity. However, none of these proposals have been passed by the 
legislature. There may be future attempts to consolidate the child care assistance 
programs. 

There have also been proposals to make BSF child care a forecasted, fully 
funded program to eliminate the waiting list. 

Finally, the federal child care development block grant was reauthorized by 
Congress in 201 4. This reauthorization requires the state to make changes to the 
child care assistance programs to comply with federal laws and regulations. 

Minnesota has enacted changes to child care licensing, background study 
provisions, and family-friendly eligibility policies to comply with the federal 
law. In order to be in full compliance, the state still needs to enact changes to 
health and safety requirements and provider reimbursement. 

For more information: See the House Research publications Funding to Support Child Care Assistance, 
December 201 1 ,  and Minnesota Family Assistance, February 201 6. 

The Research Department of the M innesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office provid ing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 551 55 I 651 -296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Minnesota Estate Tax 

Minnesota imposes a tax on the estates of individuals who are residents of the 
state when they die or who own tangible property (typically real estate) in 
Minnesota when they die. The tax is imposed under a graduated rate schedule 
on the taxable estate. The taxable estate is generally the fair market value of the 
estate on the day the decedent died, less deductions ( e.g., transfers to a surviving 
spouse and charitable bequests) and an exemption amount. 

Legislation in 201 4  increased the 
exemption amount in steps to $2 million 
by.20 1 8 and provided that calculation of 
the tax would be based on a state tax rate 
schedule, rather than the state credit under 
prior federal law. Before the increases 
enacted in 201 4  fully took effect, 
legislation enacted in 201 7 further 
increased the exemption to $3 million for 
2020 (see table for details of changes in 
exemption amounts). Tax rates range from 
1 2  percent to 16  percent for 201 7 deaths; 
bottom rate increases to 13  percent in 

History of Exemption Amount 

CY of Death 
2006 - 20 1 3  

20 14  
20 1 5  
20 16  
20 1 7  
20 1 8  
20 1 9  
2020 

Exemption 
$ 1 ,000,000 

1 ,200,000 
1 ,400,000 
1 ,600,000 
2, 1 00,000 
2,400,000 
2,700,000 
3 ,000,000 

201 8. The top rate applies to the amount of the taxable estate over $10,1 00,000. 

The 201 3  Legislature enacted a gift tax to complement the estate tax. This 
legislation also subjected gifts made within three years of death to the estate tax; 
this rule only applies to gifts that are subject to the federal gift tax (i.e., that are 
above the annual per-recipient exemption, currently $1 4,000 indexed for 
inflation). The 201 4  Legislature repealed the gift tax, but the three-year rule 
remains in effect, subjecting these gifts to the estate tax. 

Legislation passed in 201 1 provided two exclusions for qualifying small 
business property and homestead farmland, effective for decedents dying after 
June 30, 201 1 .  The combined value of these exclusions and the general 
exemption amount cannot exceed $5 million. As the general exemption 
increases, the _maximum amount of these special exemptions decline (i.e., the 
overall $5 million maximum continues to apply). 

The decedent or spouse must have owned the qualifying property for three years 
before the date of death, and the heirs must own and use the property in the 
business ( or the land must continue to be classified as agricultural property for 
property tax purposes) for three years after the date of death. Failure to do so 
triggers a recapture tax equal to 1 6  percent of the value of the property. 
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Fewer than 2 percent of estates pay the estate tax. The small number of estates 
paying tax results from the exemption amount and the fact that amounts left to 
surviving spouses are deductible. 

Based on Department of Revenue's  (DOR) Tax Incidence Study, the tax is the 
most "progressive" state tax. Decedents with taxable estates are some of the 
most affluent individuals in the state. Most evidence also suggests that 
recipients of bequests from taxable estates have above-average incomes. 

Revenues from the tax are deposited in the general fund. (See the table for the 
last five years of collections. ) Revenues from 
the tax are volatile. Fiscal year 20 1 5  revenues 
were 1 8  percent lower than the prior year and, 
then, increased by 26 percent in the following 
fiscal year (20 1 6) .  If one very wealthy 
individual dies, collections can soar. In other 
years, revenues may fall below estimates. For 
example in August 2005, DOR received tax 
revenues of $ 1 1 2  million from one estate; total 
collections were $73 million in the prior year. 

DOR estimates the $ 1  million increase in the 

Estate Tax Revenues 
FY 2012 - 2016 

20 12  
20 1 3  
20 14  
20 1 5  
20 1 6  

(thousands) 
$ 1 65,277 
$ 1 58,928 
$ 177,433 
$ 145 ,292 
$ 1 83 ,2 1 6  

Source: Minnesota Dept. of 
Revenue 

exemption, enacted in 20 1 7, will reduce revenues by about 25 percent when 
fully effective. The number of estates owing tax will drop from about 1 , 1 00 to 
between 200 and 250. 

From 1985 to 200 1 ,  Minnesota imposed a "pickup" estate tax equal to the now:. 

repealed federal credit for state death taxes. Under this system, the federal 
treasury bore the effective burden of the tax-the state tax reduced federal tax 
dollar-for-dollar. As a result, Minnesota residents had no reason fo move to 
another state to avoid the tax. However, with the repeal of the federal credit in 
200 1 ,  the state tax became a "real" tax that reduces the amount of property that 
can be left to heirs. 

A voiding the tax requires changing one's permanent home (domicile) to another 
state or reducing the amount of Minnesota property owned. Affluent individuals 
may be willing to change their domiciles to avoid paying potentially 
multimillion-dollar state estate tax liabilities .  The fact that many of these 
individuals have second homes in states without estate or inheritance taxes 
increases their ease of moving. Most states (3 3 in 20 1 8) do not have estate or 
inheritance taxes .  Several of these states also have no income tax, allowing 
individuals who change their domiciles to those states to avoid both taxes .  

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at j oel.michael@house.mn. Also see the 
House Research short subject Estate and Inheritance Taxation: An Overview of the States, December 201 6  
and Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minnesota Estate Tax Study (20 14) for more information. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 551 55 I 651 -296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 



HOUSE RESEARCH I Short Subjects 
Cristina Parra Updated: July 2017 

Conditions of Continuing Employment for K-12 Teachers 
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Two sections of Minnesota Statutes govern conditions of continuing employment 
for licensed K-12 teachers in Minnesota's public schools. Section l 22A.40 
contains general provisions for all teachers' continuing c_ontract rights except those 
teachers teaching in the four first-class city school districts of Minneapolis, St. 
Paul, Rochester, and Duluth. Section 122A.41, which contains similar provisions, 
governs the tenure rights of teachers teaching in the four first-class city school 
districts. The terms "continuing contract rights" and "tenure rights" mean that a 
school district may not dismiss a teacher from a teaching position without first 
demonstrating the cause for that dismissal. The two terms are equivalent in the 
procedural protections they afford and are used - interchangeably. 

After a newly licensed probationary teacher completes three years of continuous 
employment, she or he becomes a continuing contract teacher if employed by a 
nonfirst-class city school district, or a tenured teacher if employed by a first-class 
city school district. A probationary teacher may interrupt the three-year period of 
consecutive employment for maternity, paternity, or medical leave. During the 
probationary period, a school district has considerable discretion in deciding 
whether or not to renew the probationary teacher's employment contract. A school 
district under section 122A.40 must notify a -probationary teacher before July 1 that 
it will not renew the teacher's contract. A school district under section 122A.41 
must provide a probationary teacher at least 30 days' notice of a discharge or 
demotion. A teacher that has received a continuing contract or tenure is entitled to 
certain employment-related protections, including bumping rights, and just cause 
and due process guarantees. 

The continuing contracts of teachers in school districts under section 122A.40 
remain in full force and effect unless the school board and the teacher modify the 
contract, or the school board: 

• terminates the teacher effective at the close of the school year, as long as 
the board provides the teacher an opportunity to remedy the deficiency; 

• places the teacher on an unrequested leave of absence before July 1; 
• temporarily suspends the teacher and places the teacher on a leave of 

absence for health reasons; or 
• immediately discharges the teacher for conduct that is not remediable. 

A teacher may resign from the contract before April 1 or, if a collective bargaining 
agreement is not settled, the teacher may resign within -30 days of when an 
agreement is ratified or July 15, whichever is first. 
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Tenured teachers in school districts under section 1 22A.4 1 may be discharged or 
demoted for: 

• immoral character, conduct unbecoming a teacher, or insubordination; 
• failure to teach; 
• inefficiency in teaching or in management of a school; 
• affliction with a communicable disease; and 
• discontinuance of position or lack of pupils . 

A school board that intends to terminate a teacher must provide the teacher with 
written notice of the grounds for the proposed termination and the teacher' s  right to 
request a hearing.  A teacher may request a public or private hearing before the 
school board or an arbitrator. The board and the teacher may have counsel, who 
can examine witnesses and present arguments. The teacher may appeal a board 
decision to the state courts. An arbitrator who conducts a hearing must decide, 
based upon a preponderance of the evidence, whether to terminate, discharge, or 
demote the teacher. The arbitrator's decision is final and binding on the parties, 
and may be reversed on only limited grounds . 

There are two principal differences between the procedures for districts under 
sections 1 22A.40 and 1 22A.4 1 .  A school board under section 1 22A.40 must 
provide written notice of a termination that is to be effective at the end of the 
school year by April 1 ,  or else must wait a year to initiate the process, while a 
school �oard under section 1 22A.41 has no similar deadline. Additionally, a 
suspension pending a final decision on the termination must be paid in a district 
under section 1 22A.40, but may be unpaid in a district under section 122A.41 ;  
however, in a district under section 122A.4 1 ,  a teacher who is reinstated following 
a hearing must receive full back wages. 

A school board may place a teacher on an unrequested leave of absence, without 
pay or fringe benefits, when the board discontinues the teacher's  position, lacks 
sufficient students, faces financial limitations, or merges classes as a result of 
consolidating districts. A board must hold a public hearing on unrequested leaves 
before July 1 .  Statutory terms governing resignations, leaves, certification, 
experience, bumping rights, and districts ' ability to realign positions affect staff 
reduction decisions. 

Under current law, if the school board and the teachers ' exclusive bargaining 
representative fail to negotiate an unrequested leave of absence plan, state law 
provides default terms. Teachers are placed on leave based on the inverse order of 
their employment and on their areas of certification. Seniority applies to each area 
in which a teacher is certified. Teachers must be recalled to their positions, or other 
available positions, in the inverse order in which they were placed on leave; most 
senior teachers are recalled first. However, the seniority-based statutory default 
will not apply to collective bargaining agreements that go into effect July 1 ,  201 9, 
or later. Such agreements must include a plan for unrequested leaves. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Cristina Parra at 65 1 -296-8036. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651 -296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota Speed Limits 

Default Minnesota speed limits are set by state statute, and there are various 
circumstances where they can be modified. The statutory speed limits are: 65 
m.p.h. or 70 m.p.h. for interstates (depending on whether it is, respectively, 
within. or outside an urbanized area of at least 50,000); 65 m.p.h. on divided 
highways with controlled access; 30 m.p.h. in an "urban district," which is any 
segment of a city street or town road with structures spaced less than 100 feet 
apart for a minimum distance of a quarter-mile; 1 0  m.p.h. for alleys, mobile 
home parks, and campgrounds; and a 55  m.p.h: default on other roads. Minn. 
Stat.§§ 1 69.0 1 1 ;  1 69. 1 4, subd. 2; 327.27, subd. 2. 

The limit increases by 10  m.p.h. when passing on two-lane highways posted at 55 
m.p.h. or higher. Other limits apply for some specific vehicles. Minn. Stat. §§ 
169. 1 4, subd. 2a; 1 69.80 1 . A 40-m.p.h. minimum speed applies on interstates. 

State law also mandates that "no person shall drive a vehicle on a highway at a 
speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions." Minn. Stat. § 
1 69. 1 4, subd. 1 .  The provision can obligate a motorist to lower the speed of travel 
below the limit, particularly if there are dangerous conditions such as snow. 

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) has authority to 
establish speed zones in which the speed limit is higher or lower than those set in 
statute. Zones can be established after MnDOT conducts an engineering and 
traffic investigation, which analyzes factors like roadway design and 
characteristics, traffic volume, crash history, and observed speeds. While 
accounting for other conditions, MnDOT' s policy is that the limit should 
normally be set near the 85th percentile of vehicle speeds (that is, the speed at or 
below which 85 percent of vehicles travel). Minn. Stat. § 169. 14, subd. 5 .  

Cities, counties, and towns have limited power to set speed limits on streets and 
highways under their own jurisdiction; If requested by a local road authority, 
MnDOT performs an engineering and traffic study of the road. However, 
MnDOT-not the local authority-determines the safe and reasonable speed 
limit as well as whether to establish a speed zone. 

There are some exceptions that provide for adjusting the statutory speed limits. 
• If MnDOT sets a speed zone for a city street or town road in an "urban 

district" ( defined above) that is at least a quarter-mile long, the city or 
town can lower the limit to 30 m.p.h. Minn. Stat.§ 169. 1 4, subd. 5b. 

• On a residential roadway, a local road authority may reduce the speed 
limit to 25 m.p.h. A "residential roadway" is a city street or town road 
whose total length is up to a half-mile. Minn. Stat.§ 169.01 1 ,  subd. 64. 

• In a rural residential district, a local road authority may reduce the speed 
limit to 35 m.p.h. A "rural residential district" is a city street or town road 
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segment with residential houses spaced less than 300 feet apart for a 
minimum distance of a quarter-mile. Minn. Stat. § 169.0 1 1 ,  subd. 69a. 

• In school zones a local road authority may, based on an engineering 
study, prescribe a speed limit that is as low as 1 5  m.p.h. and no more than 
3 0  m.p.h. below the surrounding limit. Minn. Stat. § 1 69. 14, subd. 5a. 

• Subject to various requirements, speed limits can also be adjusted on 
other roadways, including: ( 1 )  park roads (at no less than 15 m.p.h. and 
no more than 20 m.p.h. below the surrounding limit, and subject to a 
MnDOT engineering and traffic study); (2) on- streets that have a 
designated bicycle lane (at no less than 25 m.p.h.) ;  (3) in alleys; and (4) in 
mobile home parks (at over 1 0  m.p.h. but no more than 30  m.p.h.). Minn. 
Stat. §§  1 60.263, subd. 4; 1 69. 14, subds. 5c and 5e; 327.27. 

Speed limits are adjusted in work zones. Minn. Stat. § 1 69 . 14, subd. 5d. 

• An existing speed limit of 50 m.p.h. or higher is adjusted down to 45 
m.p.h. when a least one lane of traffic is closed and workers are present, 
although there are various exceptions to the provision. 

• Without an engineering and traffic study, both MnDOT and local road 
authorities can reduce the limits when workers are present, with 
restrictions on the extent of a reduction that depend on the existing limit. 

Speeding is generally a petty misdemeanor, carrying a base fine that normally 
ranges from $40 to $ 1 50, and no prison sentence. The fine is $300 for a violation 
in a work zone. The fine is doubled if the violation ( 1 )  occurs in a school zone, 
(2) involves speeds of20 m.p.h. or more above the posted limit, or (3) occurs 
when passing a parked emergency vehicle with flashing lights. If a speeding 
violation is committed in a manner that endangers persons or property, it can be 
charged as a misdemeanor. In addition to the base fine, a $75 court surcharge is 
imposed for speeding convictions and there can be a law library fee. Minn. Stat. 
§ §  1 69 . 1 4; 1 69 .89, subd. 1 ;  357.02 1 ,  subd. 6. 

A driver' s  license will be revoked for at least six months for driving over 1 00 
m.p.h. Minnesota does not use a point system that triggers removal of driving 
privileges. However, multiple speeding or other traffic violations within a year 
can lead to loss of a license. Minn. Stat. § §  1 69. 14, subd. l a; 169. 89; 1 7 1 . 17 .  

A provision ( originally known as the "Dimler amendment") governs when 
speeding violations are recorded on the motorist' s driving record maintained by 
the Department of Public Safety (DPS). Minn. Stat. § 1 7 1 . 12 ,  subd. 6. Records 
are accessible to insurance companies. The courts keep records separately. 

Speeding violations stay off of a DPS driving record if the driver did not exceed: 

• 1 0  m.p.h. over the speed limit in a 55 m.p.h. zone; or 
• 5 m.p.h. over the limit in a 60 m.p.h. zone (which had temporarily 

increased to 1 0  m.p.h. above the limit during part of 20 12  to 2014). 

The prohibition on recording violations does not apply if: (1 ) the speed limit is 
below 55  m.p.h. or is 65 m.p.h. or higher; (2) the speeding violation occurred in a 
commercial motor vehicle; or (3) the driver holds a commercial driver's license 
or learner' s  permit. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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As required by law, anyone born during or after 1980 must have a firearms safety 
certificate in order to get an annual license to take wild animals with a firearm in 
Minnesota. Or instead of the firearms safety certificate, a hunter can have an 
equivalent certificate issued by Minnesota or another state. An advanced hunter 
education certificate suffices as an equivalent certificate. (Minn. Stat. §§ 97B.015 
and 97B.020) 
As defined in statute, wild animals include any type of wild mammal, bird, or 
waterfowl for which hunting is regulated under Minnesota law and/or Department 
of Natural Resources (DNR) rules. The terms "taking" and "firearms" are also 
broadly defined. (Minn. Stat.§ 97A.015) 

A person is exempt from having to have a firearms safety certificate if the person 
has completed military basic training and is serving in active military service in 
any branch or unit of the U.S. Armed Forces, including while on regular leave or 
terminal leave. 
Following active military service, the firearm safety certificate is again required. 
However, anyone who has completed basic military training is exempt from the 
shooting and field exercise portion of the instruction for that certificate and may 
take the remainder of the instruction online through the DNR. (Minn. Stat. 
§§ 97B.015 and 97B.020) 

"Active duty" is defined broadly to include federal active service (U.S.C. Title 10), 
federally funded state active service (U.S.C. Title 32), or state active service 
(Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5). 

While on any type of military leave, a Minnesota resident serving in the U.S. 
Armed Forces stationed outside of or returning to Minnesota may hunt and fish in 
Minnesota without a hunting or fishing license. The person must keep on his or her 
person while hunting official military leave papers and/or a current valid military 
ID card showing the person's transitional status or leave. However, the resident 
must obtain any required seals, tags, and coupons, which must be furnished by the 
license agent without charge. This requirement does not apply to the taking of 
moose or elk. (Minn. Stat. § 97 A.465, subd. 1.) 

The Commissioner of Natural Resources may grant statutorily specified groups of 
Minnesota resident service members and veterans, first preference in drawings for 
antlerless deer permits and turkey permits. (Minn. Stat. § 97 A.465, subd. 5) 
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Getting a License 

A Minnesota resident who is discharged from active military service during, or 
within ten days before the firearms deer season begins, can purchase a firearms 
deer license during the season. The license is valid immediately upon issuance. 
(Minn. Stat. § 97 A.465, subd. 4) Normally, a deer hunting license issued during the 
season is not valid unless it was issued prior to legal shooting hours on the day of 
its first use. (Minn. Stat. § 97A.411, subd. 3) In order to get the license, the hunter 
must show his or her official discharge papers. 

A disabled veteran can get a permanent fishing license free from the DNR Central 
Office and free annual licenses to hunt deer and small game from any licensing 
agent. The veteran must be a Minnesota resident who is a military veteran with a 
100-percent service-connected disability rating from the U.S. Department of 
Veterans Affairs. (Minn. Stat.§§ 97A.441 and 197.447) 

No trout stamp is required for the fishing license. In addition, a disabled veteran 
does not need to get a pheasant stamp or Minnesota waterfowl stamp to hunt 
pheasants or waterfowl, but must have a turkey stamp to hunt turkeys and a federal 
duck stamp to hunt waterfowl. (Minn. Stat. §§ 97B.715, 97B.721, 97B.801, and 16 
u.s.c. 718) 

Nonresident military personnel training at Camp Ripley may purchase a resident 
fishing license. (Minn. Stat § 97 A.465, subd. 2) Nonresident military personnel 
stationed anywhere in Minnesota may purchase resident hunting and fishing 
licenses (but not for moose or elk). (Minn. Stat. § 97 A.465, subd. 3) 

Any current Minnesota resident who has served in federal active military service 
outside the United States within the past two years, as shown by official discharge 
papers, is eligible to receive one free deer-hunting license from any DNR licensing 
agent. In addition, any such person may also hunt small game or fish in Minnesota 
without a license, provided he or she obtains any seals, tags, or coupons that may 
be required for such hunting or fishing. (Minn. Stat. §97 A.465, subd. 1 b) 

The spouse of any Minnesota resident currently serving in active military duty is 
entitled to any Minnesota hunting or fishing license at the resident rate, irrespective 
of whether the spouse is a Minnesota resident. (Minn. Stat. §97 A.465, subd. la) 

When renewing a Minnesota driver's license, a veteran or other person with a 
firearms safety certificate or an equivalent certificate, may request that the driver's 
licensing agency code that fact onto the person's new driver's license. The person 
must show proof of certification to the licensing agency upon application. (Minn. 
Stat. § 171.07, subd. 13) 

To learn more about these special privileges, active military personnel and veterans 
should contact the DNR via its website, www.dnr.state.mn.us, or by phone, 651-
296-6753. Information and licenses can also be obtained through DNR's local field 
licensing agents (e.g., sporting goods stores). 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jeff Diebel at 651-296-5041. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act 

The Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act (MCIAA) prohibits smoking in many indoor places (Minn. Stat.§§ 
144.411 to 144.417). The legislation was enacted in 1975 in an effort to protect public health, comfort, and 
the environment by prohibiting smoking around children and ill or injured persons. The MCIAA was 
amended by the Freedom to Breathe Act of 2007 (Laws 2007, ch. 82), which substantially expanded the 
prohibition on smoking to nearly all indoor areas to provide protection from secondhand smoke. The 
MCIAA was further amended in 2014 to prohibit the use of electronic cigarettes in certain settings. 

Where is smoking 
prohibited? 

Where is smoking 
permitted? 

The MCIAA prohibits smoking in public places, at public meetings, in places of 
employment, and in public transportation. Places of employment are indoor areas 
where two or more persons perform services, whether or not the persons are paid. 
Public places and places of employment include the following: 

• Arenas 
• Auditoriums 
• Banquet facilities 
• Bars and other food or liquor 

establishments 
• Bowling establishments 
• Common areas of rental apartment 

buildings 
• Employee cafeterias 
• Factories 
• Libraries 

• Lounges 
• Museums 
• Offices 
• Restaurants 
• Retail stores and other commercial 

establishments 
• Theaters 
• Vehicles used for work purposes 

during the hours of operation if more 
than one person is present 

• Warehouses 

Smoking is also specifically prohibited in day care centers, in day care homes 
during their hours of operation, in certain health care facilities and clinics, and in 
public transportation vehicles, with certain exceptions. In addition, all tobacco 
products are prohibited in public schools, except for tobacco lit by an adult as part 
of a traditional Indian spiritual or cultural ceremony. 

Smoking is permitted in the following places: 
• A family home or group family day care provider home, outside of its hours of 

operation 
• Public transportation vehicles when they are being used for personal use 
• Specified rooms in residential health care facilities 
• Separated, well-ventilated areas of locked psychiatric units 
• Specified areas for use in peer-reviewed scientific studies related to smoking 
• Private residences and automobiles·when not used as a place of employment 
• Hotel and motel guest rooms 
• Tobacco products shops for the purpose of sampling products 
• Heavy commercial vehicles 
• Farm vehicles and construction equipment 



How is the use of 
electronic cigarettes 
treated under the 
MCIAA? 

What are the 
responsibilities of 
proprietors? 

Who enforces the 
Minnesota Clean 
Indoor Air Act? 

Can local 
governments enact 
stricter ordinances? 

• Buildings on family farms 
• A disabled veterans' rest camp in Washington County 

Smoking is permitted by Native Americans as part of a traditional Native 
American spiritual or cultural ceremony and by actors as part of a theatrical 
performance. The MCIAA also permits smoking outside, unless it is limited or 
prohibited by local government. 

The MCIAA's definition of smoking does not include the use of electronic 
cigarettes, so the act does not broadly prohibit the use of electronic cigarettes in 
public places, at public meetings, at places of employment, or in public 
transportation. The use of electronic cigarettes is prohibited in day care centers; 
family home and group family day care provider homes during their hours of 
operation; health care facilities and clinics, with certain exceptions; any building 
owned or operated by the state or a political subdivision; any facility owned by a 
public college or university; any facility licensed by the commissioner of human 
services, or licensed by the commissioner of health if also governed by federal 
licensing requirements; and public schools. 

Proprietors or other people or entities who control the use of a public place, public 
transportation, place of employment, or a public meeting must make reasonable 
efforts to prevent smoking inside of these places, including: 
• posting signs or employing other appropriate means of prohibiting smoking; 
• asking smokers to refrain from smoking; 
• asking smokers who do not refrain from smoking to leave the premises; 
• handling smokers who refuse to leave in a manner consistent with other persons 

acting in a disorderly manner or as a trespasser; 
• not providing ashtrays or matches in areas where smoking is prohibited; and 
• in a restaurant or bar, not serving an individual who smokes in an area where it 

is prohibited. 

The Department of Health (MDH) enforces the MCIAA and can delegate 
enforcement to community health boards. MDH can use the enforcement 
procedures in the Health Enforcement Consolidation Act to. ensure CQmpliance 
with the MCIAA, including issuing fines of up to $10,000 against proprietors for 
violations. Also, peace officers can cite proprietors and individuals who violate the 
MCIAA. It is a petty misdemeanor to smoke, or to permit someone to smoke, in an 
area where smoking is prohibited or restricted by the MCIAA. 

The MCIAA authorizes local units of government to enact and enforce more 
stringent measures than those provided in the MCIAA to protect individuals from 
secondhand smoke, including limiting or prohibiting smoking in outdoor areas. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Klarqvist at 651-296-5043. Additional 
information is also available from the Minnesota Department of Health at 
http://www.health.state.mn. us/ divs/ eh/indoorair/mciaa/ftb/index.html. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Distracted Driving: 
Texting and Sending or Receiving Other Electronic Messages 

Is texting while 
driving illegal 
under Minnesota 
law? 

What is the penalty 
for texting while 
driving? 

What if a person 
causes an accident 
while texting? 

Composing, reading, or sending an electronic message while driving is a petty 
misdemeanor under Minnesota law. 
The law prohibits actions that require typing or reading from a phone, tablet, 
laptop, or similar device. Electronic messages include texts, e-mails, instant 
messages, accessing the Internet, and any similar actions. 
It is not a violation to: 

• use a phone or other device in a hands-free mode; 
• make a cellular phone call; 
• obtain emergency assistance for an accident or medical emergency, or to 

prevent a crime that is about to be committed; or 
• send or read an electronic message in the reasonable belief that a person's 

life or safety is in immediate danger. 

It is also not a violation for the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle to send 
or read an electronic message while driving as part of official duties. Minn. Stat. § 
1 69.475. 

Violation of the texting while driving law can be punished by a fine. The law 
allows the Judicial Council to set the amount of that fine; the current fine for a first 
offense is $50. 

A second offense must add $225 to the amount of the fine for a first offense. At 
this time, a second offense would result in a fine of $275. Tickets for texting while 
driving are also subject to the surcharge on all criminal and traffic offenses, which 
increases the amount an offender must pay by at least $75. 

Payable offenses are not technically crimes under Minnesota law and do not 
require a court appearance. A person receiving a ticket may pay the citation 
online. Failure to pay a fine can result in the suspension of a driver's license. 

If texting results in some other dangerous driving conduct, prosecutors can charge 
a person with a more serious crime. Under certain circumstances, composing or 
reading an electronic message while driving may be so likely to endanger another 
person that it would rise to the level of careless or reckless driving. 

Driving a vehicle carelessly in a manner likely to endanger another person is 
careless driving. Driving while aware of a substantial risk to another's safety and 
in disregard of that risk is reckless driving. Both careless driving and reckless 
driving are misdemeanors, which can be punished by up to 90 days in jail, a $1 ,000 



What are the laws 
and penalties in 
other states? 

Does making 
texting while 
driving illegal 
reduce the number 
of crashes? 

fine, or both. If a person driving recklessly causes the death of another, the penalty 
increases to a gross misdemeanor, which can be punished by up to a year in jail, a 
$3 ,000 fine, or both. Minn. Stat. § 169.13. 

Currently, 46 states ban texting while driving and 14 ban talking on a hand-held 
cell phone. 

In every state that bans texting, the initial penalty is a fine. Fines for a first 
violation range from $20 to $500 and, like Minnesota, most states include an 
escalated penalty for subsequent violations. A few states also suspend a violator's 
license. 

Five states (Alaska, Illinois, Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Utah) explicitly state 
that a person who is texting and causes an accident resulting in serious injury or 
death is guilty of a criminal offense that can be punished with jail or prison. 

There is no clear answer to this question. Several studies have addressed whether 
banning texting while driving reduces accidents, and the results are inconclusive. 
The Highway Loss Data Institute conducted studies in 2009, 2010, and 2013 , and 
those studies found that there was no reduction in crashes after laws banning 
texting went into effect. High visibility enforcement efforts did reduce the number 
of drivers using hand-held cell phones. However, the program did not reduce the 
total number of accidents. 

Other studies have produced inconclusive results. A 2014 article attempted to 
coordinate data from 11 different studies. It concluded that bans on hand-held 
phone conversations resulted in reductions of hand-held phone use. But the study 
also found that there was no clear answer as to whether laws banning texting while 
driving were effective in reducing crashes. (A. T. McCartt, D. G. Kidd, and E. R. 
Teoh, "Driver Cellphone and Texting Bans in the United States: Evidence of 
Effectiveness," Annals of Advances in Automotive Medicine, 58 (2014): 99-1 14 .) 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Ben Johnson at 651-296-8957. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing leg islative, 
legal ,  and information services to the enti re House. 
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Female Genital Mutilation 

In 201 7, the Minnesota House considered legislation to address the practice of female genital mutilation. 
This short subject provides an introduction for legislators on the practice of female genital mutilation and 
restrictions under current Minnesota law. 

What is female 
genital mutilation? 

Why is female 
genital mutilation 
performed? 

Have medical 
professionals 
identified any 
medical risks or 
benefits to female 
genital mutilation? 

Female genital mutilation is a general term for any procedure that intentionally 
alters or injures the female genital organs for nonmedical reasons. 
The World Health Organization divides different types of female genital mutilation 
into four categories: 

• Type 1, also called circumcision or clitoridectomy, is the partial or total 
removal of the clitoris. 

• Type 2, excision, involves the partial or total removal of the clitoris and the 
labia minora. 

• Type 3, called infibulation, involves the narrowing of the vaginal opening 
by creating a covering seal which typically involves cutting and 
repositioning the labia minora, labia majora, or both. 

• Type 4, includes any other harmful procedure to the female genitalia 
performed for a nonmedical purpose such as pricking, piercing, scraping, 
and cauterizing. 

Female genital mutilation is usually performed on minors. 

A wide range of communities originating in Africa, the Middle East, and Asia 
perform female genital mutilation. The reasons for performing the procedure vary 
among the communities, but include a mixture of social and cultural reasons. 
Many cultures see female genital mutilation as a social norm and an important rite 
of passage for young girls. Some communities associate it with cultural ideals of 
modesty and femininity. For some communities, female genital mutilation is 
considered a religious procedure, though it is not particular to any religious faith. 
The practice exists in Muslim, Christian, and Jewish communities, but it predates 
the origins of Christianity and Islam. Female genital mutilation is also seen as a 
way to control female sexuality. 

Female genital mutilation has no identified medical benefits. 
The procedure can cause a variety of short- and long-term medical complications. 
Comprehensive studies identified consequences that range from severe pain and 
bleeding to infections, urinary problems, and even death. (See: R. C. Berg, V. 
Underland, J. Odgaard-Jensen, et al. , "Effects of female genital cutting on physical 
health outcomes: a systematic review and meta-analysis," BMJ Open (2014); and 
A. Kaplan, S. Hechavarria, M. Martin, and I. Bonhoure, "Health consequences of 
female genital mutilation/cutting in the Gambia, evidence into action," 



Is female genital 
mutilation legal in 
Minnesota? 

Can a parent be 
prosecuted for 
allowing a child to 
undergo female 
genital mutilation? 

ls female genital 
mutilation a sexual 
assault? 

Is female genital 
mutilation illegal 
under federal law? 

What action does 
child protective 
services take when 
it learns that female 
genital mutilation 
has been performed 
on a child? 

What outreach 
efforts are done to 
reduce female 
genital mutilation? 

Reproductive Health, 8 (20 1 1 ) : 26.) In many communities, traditional 
circumcisers perform the procedures without the benefit of medical facilities. In 
some cases, medical professionals perform the procedure. Some medical 
professionals choose to perform female genital mutilation to minimize the 
probability of infection and other complications under the theory that a lay person 
will perform the procedure if the medical professional refuses to do so. 

It is illegal to perform Type 1 ,  2, or 3 female genital mutilation in Minnesota 
unless it is medically necessary and performed by a licensed or certified medical 
professional. A person who performs a circumcision, excision, or infibulation may 
be sentenced to up to five years in prison. A parent's  consent to the procedure is 
not a defense. Minn. Stat. § 609.2245. 

Minnesota's  law criminalizing female genital mutilation does not directly address 
the actions of a parent. Parents who arrange or knowingly allow the procedure to 
take place may be charged with aiding and abetting the crime of female genital 
mutilation or with neglect or endangerment of a child. Both offenses are felonies. 

Under Minnesota law, a sexual assault is an action performed with sexual intent. 
While one purpose of female genital mutilation may be to control female sexuality, 
the procedure itself is not performed with a sexual intent. Therefore it would be 
unlikely to meet the definition of sexual assault under Minnesota law. 

Female genital mutilation is illegal under U.S. federal law. The crime is nearly 
identical to what is in Minnesota law but includes a provision that makes it illegal 
to knowingly transport a person from the United States to another country for the 
purpose of having a female genital mutilation procedure performed on that person. 
1 8  U.S.C. § 1 16. 

Minnesota law does not require child protective services to take any specific action 
if officials become aware that female genital mutilation was performed on a child. 
However, the agency can take action based on evidence that a child has been 
abused or neglected. Specific cases of female genital mutilation would be assessed 
on a case-by-case basis to determine if there was abuse or neglect. Child 
protection workers would consider a variety of factors including the age of a child, 
the amount of time since the procedure occurred, and evidence of any other abuse 
or neglect of the child in assessing what, if any, intervention was appropriate. 
Action may include a full family assessment, removing a child on a temporary 
basis, and terminating parental rights. 

Minnesota law requires the Department of Health to carry out education, 
prevention, and outreach activities in communities that traditionally practice 
female genital mutilation to inform them of the health and psychological risks of 
the procedure. In addition, the department must inform community members and 
the medical community about the criminal penalties associated with performing 
female genital mutilation. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Ben Johnson at 651 -296-8957 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Bui lding I St. Paul, MN 551 55 I 651 -296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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What is an ex post 
facto law? 

Can the state pass 
ex post facto laws? 

How do courts 
determine whether 
a law involves a 
punishment or a 
regulation? 

Updated: August 2017 

Prohibition Against Ex Post Facto Laws 

Laws that reach back in time and make conduct punishable in a way it was not 
punishable for when it was done are ex post facto laws. Such a law (1) applies to 
events occurring before its enactment and (2) disadvantages the person affected by 
it. A law creates a disadvantage if it: 

• creates a new crime; 
• increases the punishment for an existing crime; 
• deprives a defendant of a defense available when the act was committed; or 
• otherwise renders an act punishable in a different, more disadvantageous 

manner than when the person committed the act. 

A law is not ex post facto if it merely changes trial procedures or rules of evidence 
and operates in a limited and unsubstantial manner to the accused's disadvantage. 
In addition, a law is not ex post facto if it is a civil, regulatory law and is not 
sufficiently punitive in purpose or effect to negate the civil label. 

No. Article I, section 10, of the United States Constitution and Article I, section 11, 
of the Minnesota Constitution prohibit the state from enacting ex post facto laws. 
The purpose of the ban is to ensure that individuals have fair warning of changes in 
law and to protect people from a government's unjust or oppressive use of power. 

A law is punitive if the legislature intended to punish an offender for a past act and 
the law actually functions as punishment. When the legislature does not state 
whether it intends a statute to be punitive or regulatory, the court considers a 
number of factors. These factors are whether: 

• the sanction involves an affirmative disability or restraint, 
• the sanction has historically been regarded as a punishment, 
• the sanction comes into play only on a finding of either intent or knowledge 

of wrongdoing, 
• the sanction's operation will promote the traditional aims of punishment­

retribution and deterrence, 
• the behavior to which the sanction applies is already a crime, 
• an alternative purpose to which the sanction may rationally be connected is 

assignable for it, and 
• the sanction appears excessive in relation to the alternative purpose 

assigned. 

Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. 144, 168-69 (1963). 



What types of laws 
have been found to 
violate the ex post 
facto clause? 

What types of laws 
have survived an ex 
post facto 
challenge? 

The following cases are examples of laws found by Minnesota courts to violate the 
ex post facto clause or potentially raise ex post facto concerns: 

• An 1 8-year-old may not be prosecuted in adult court for a crime committed 
when 1 8-year-olds were under juvenile court jurisdiction. 

• An offender's "criminal history score" may not include a felony point for a 
previous out-of-state crime which, at the time it was committed, was 
equivalent to a gross misdemeanor crime under Minnesota law. 

• An offender's sentence may not include court-ordered restitution in 
addition to an executed sentence because the law in effect at the time of 
defendant's crime did not authorize the imposition of both sanctions. 

• A statutory defense to a crime may not be eliminated retroactively. 

The following cases describe situations where the court found no violation. 

• Previous DWI convictions may be used to elevate a defendant's current 
DWI offense from a misdemeanor to a gross misdemeanor under a new law 
increasing penalties for repeat offenders. 

• Criminal statute of limitations may be lengthened and applied to crimes 
committed before the effective date of the change if prosecution of that 
crime was not time-barred when the new limitation took effect. 

• A law allowing the docketing of court-ordered restitution orders as civil 
judgments may be applied to a defendant who committed the crime before 
the law took effect but was sentenced after that date. 

• A law limiting the medical privilege in child abuse cases applies in 
prosecutions of crimes committed before the law took effect because it 
neither creates a new crime nor changes the standard of proof. 

• New state procedures for imposing federal firearms restrictions on 
convicted off enders were allowed because ( I )  the provision did not create a 
new crime or impose a harsher punishment, and (2) the defendant was on 
constructive notice that he would be subject to even harsher federal 
restrictions if convicted for his ongoing criminal acts. 

• A new law requiring a defendant to pay extradition costs was permissible 
because it sought to reimburse the state, not punish defendants. 

• Laws permitting the civil commitment of sexually dangerous persons and 
requiring sex offenders to register their living address with law 
enforcement authorities are civil, regulatory laws that are not sufficiently 
punitive in purpose or effect so as to negate their civil label. 

• A law allowing courts to extend an order for protection for up to 50 years is 
not an ex post facto law even though courts can consider events that 
occurred before passage of the law because orders for protection are civil · 
remedies, not criminal penalties. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Ben Johnson at 651 -296-8957. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Income Taxation of Residents and Nonresidents 

How does 
Minnesota 
individual income 
taxation of residents 
and nonresidents 
differ? 

Who is a resident 
for income tax 
purposes? 

What is domicile? 

What evidence is 
used to show 
Minnesota is an 
individual 's 
domicile? 

States have broader constitutional power to tax residents than nonresidents. 
Minnesota, like most states, has chosen to exercise that authority and imposes 
more extensive or higher income taxes on its residents: 

• Residents are subject to tax on all of their income-both that earned from 
Minnesota and non-Minneso�a sources. Since another state may also tax 
non-Minnesota source income, a credit applies for taxes paid on that 
income to another state to avoid double taxation. 

• Nonresidents, by contrast, are subject to tax only on the income they earn 
from Minnesota sources, such as from working in Minnesota or income 
derived from property and businesses located in Minnesota. 

• Part-year residents pay tax under residency rules for the time they are 
residents and as nonresidents for the time they are nonresidents. 

Minnesota law provides two alternative tests or methods to determine if an 
individual is subject to tax as a resident: 

• The domicile test: Does the individual intend to make Minnesota his or her 
permanent home? 

• The statutory or physical presence test: Does the taxpayer have a . 
Minnesota home and was he or she physically present in the state for more 
than half of the tax year? 

Domicile is the traditional or common law test that is widely used to determine 
residence for many legal purposes. It is determined by case law and focuses on 
intent: Does the taxpayer intend Minnesota to be his or her permanent home? If 
so, the taxpayer is a resident. 

Since the domicile test relies on the taxpayer's intent, the key question is what 
evidence the Department of Revenue (DOR), in its role as tax enforcement agency, 
and the courts will use to determine that intent. Since residency typically will 
result in higher taxes, DOR and the courts cannot simply accept taxpayers' 
assertions of their intent. A series of court decisions and a DOR administrative 
rule set out relevant factors used to determine taxpayer intent. The administrative 
rule lists 26 factors that are relevant to determining intent. These can be grouped 
into several categories: 

• Employment: Where was the individual employed; was it permanent; in 
what state were they licensed; and so forth? 



Wit.at is the 
statutory residency 
test? 

Wit.at days count 
under the statutory 
residency test? 

• Homes and living arrangements: Where was the individual's home; was 
it homesteaded; how long did he or she spend in the state; and so forth? 

• Business relationships: Where did the individual primarily do business, 
own property, conduct other business, and so forth? 

• Social and civic relationships: Where was the individual registered to 
vote, drive, hunt, and fish; did he or she maintain memberships and 
participate in social clubs and religious organizations; and so forth? 

• Miscellaneous factors: Where did children attend school; was the 
individual a student; and so forth? 

A law enacted in 2017 prohibits DOR and the courts from considering the location 
of one's lawyer, certified public accountant, or financial adviser in determining 
domicile, as well as where certain banking relationships were initiated. A 1999 
law similarly prohibits considering where an individual makes charitable 
donations. 

Since 1987 Minnesota law has provided an alternative test in statute to determine 
the residency of taxpayers who are not domiciled in Minnesota. This test is based 
on physical presence in the state and has two elements : 

• The individual must "maintain" a "place of abode" in Minnesota-i.e., a 
dwelling or home that he or she owns or occupies (e.g., he or she can rent it 
or share quarters with someone else, such as a relative). 

• The individual is physically present in Minnesota for more than half of the 
tax year. This test is calculated or applied on a per-day basis. 

In general, any day in which the individual is physically present in Minnesota, for 
any part of the day counts as a Minnesota day. The administrative rule provides, 
however, that days in transit ( e.g., changing planes or passing through in a train, 
bus, or car) between two points outside Minnesota do not count. Taxpayers with 
Minnesota residences, thus, need to maintain records (e.g., calendars, financial 
records, airline tickets, and so forth) to be able to demonstrate the number of days 
that do not count as Minnesota days. 

What special rules Federal law provides special rules for certain categories of individuals-
apply under federal particularly members of the military and nonresident employees of various 
law? transportation sector businesses. For service members, federal law prohibits states 

from taking into account presence in the state under military orders in determining 
domicile or residency. Taxation of employees of various transport sectors (air, rail, 
and motor carriers ·and the merchant marine) is limited to the employees' states of 
residence. Federal law also prohibits states from taxing the qualified retirement 
income of nonresidents. These federal law rules preempt state law. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651 -296-
5057. Also see the House Research publication Individual Income and Estate Taxation: Residence, Domicile, 
and Taxation, September 2017. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, legal, 
and information services to the entire House. 
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Disability Determinations for Public Assistance and Health Care 

In order to qualify as disabled for federal and state cash assistance and health care programs, an individual must 
receive a disability determination by the U.S. Social Security Administration (SSA) or a State Medical Review 
Team (SMRT). The SMRT uses the same criteria for disability and blindness as the SSA but disregards income. ·  
The processes described below apply to disability determinations for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), 

- Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Medical Assistance (MA), and Minnesota Supplemental Assistance (MSA). 

Who is considered 
disabled in the 
federal process? 

· What factors are 
considered in the 
determination 
process? 

What is the process 
for proving a 
disability? 

\Jnder the SSA definition of disability, an adult is considered disabled if he or she 
is unable to engage in any substantial gainful activity due to a medically 
determinable physical or mental impairment that is expected to result in death or to 
last continually for at least 1 2  months. An adult who is earning more than a certain 
monthly amount ($1 ,950 per month for blind individuals and $ 1 , 170 per month for 
nonblind disabled individuals in 2017) is considered to -be engaging in substantial 
gainful activity. 

A child under age 1 8  is considered by the SSA to be disabled ifhe or she has a 
medically determinable physical or mental impairment, which results in marked 
and severe functional limitations, that is expected to result in death or to last 
continually for at least 1 2  months. 

Disability applications made to the SSA are processed through local Social 
Security field offices and state agencies responsible for evaluating disability claims 
(in Minnesota, this is the Department of Employment and Economic 
Development). ·The disability evaluation is completed under a procedure called the 
"sequential evaluation process." For adults, this process requires sequential review 
of the claimant's current work activity, the severity of his or her impairments, a 
determination of whether his or her impairments meet or medically equal SSA 
impairment listings, the claimant's residual functional capacity, his or her past 
work, and his or her age, education, and work experience. For children applying 
for SSI, the process requires sequential review of the child's current work activity 
(if any), the severity of his or her impairments, and an assessment of whether his or 
her impairments result in marked and severe functional limitations. The evaluation 
stops if a person is found disabled or not disabled at any point in the process. 

Once an individual has been found to be disabled, the local Social Security field 
office is responsible for verifying nonmedical eligibility requirements for the 
federal SSDI and SSI programs, which may include age, employment, marital 
status, citizenship/residency, and Social Security coverage information. 

Each individual who files a disability claim is responsible for providing medical 
evidence showing that he or she has an impairment and the severity of the 
impairment. The SSA, with the claimant's permission, will help the claimant 
obtain his or her medical reports. The SSA has a Listing of Impairments that 
describes impairments severe enough to prevent an individual from engaging in 



What is the state 
process for 
determining 
disability? 

How do people 
prove they have a 
disability for the 
state process? 

any gainful activity. The SSA also has a list of compassionate allowances that 
quickly identify diseases and other medical conditions that invariably qualify under 
the Listing of Impairments. 

If an individual disagrees with an initial determination, the individual can appeal 
the determination to the SSA. 

For individuals found to be disabled by the SSA, the disability determination must 
be reviewed periodically (once every one to seven years). 

In addition to the federal SSA process, there is an alternative state-level process for 
receiving a disability determination. However, most individuals applying for a 
disability determination through the state-level process should also be applying 
through the federal SSA process. 

The SMRT is a unit at the state Department of Human Services (DHS) that 
determines disability in consultation with medical professionals. The SMRT 
reviews an individual 's medical and social history to determine that individual's 
disability within the scope of SSA regulations (Minn. Rules 9505.0015, subp. 45). 
The primary function of the SMRT is certifying disability for people who are 
applying for, or appealing the denial of, SSA disability benefits so that they may 
qualify for MA if they have no other basis of eligibility. The SMRT disability 

· determination process is intended to be quicker than the SSA process. However, 
individuals found to be disabled under either process must then meet all other 
program requirements in order to receive benefits through the relevant programs. 

Each individual who files a state disability application must provide medical 
evidence showing that he or she has an impairment and the severity of the 
impairment. Applications are initially processed by the county where the applicant 
resides. Counties and tribes are responsible for helping applicants to obtain the 
necessary medical evidence. If an applicant does not have the necessary medical 
evidence, DHS will pay for any necessary medical evaluations if there is no other 
coverage. The county or tribe must then send all medical evidence to DHS to 
review for completeness. If an application is not complete, DHS must seek 
additional information from medical providers and the applicant to support the 
determination of disability where necessary (Minn. Stat. § 256.01, subd. 29). Once 
the application is complete, it is referred to the SMRT medical review agent for 
review and determination. 

For individuals found to be disabled, SMRT disability determinations must be 
reviewed periodically (once every one to seven years). In fiscal year 2016, the 
SMRT received 5,001 referrals and the average length of time from referral to a 
decision was 98 days. 

If an individual's disability application is denied by the SMR T, the individual can 
appeal that decision through the DHS fair hearing process. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Survey of State and Local Gasoline Taxes 

This short subject shows state and local gasoline taxes in each state as of July 1, 2017. Because of the 
interrelationship in some states between per-gallon gasoline taxes and gasoline sales taxes, and between state 
and local gasoline taxes, a compilation of all such taxes is necessary to reflect each state's total tax burden. 
While all states impose per-gallon taxes, seven states also impose sales taxes (which fluctuate based on 
price), and 13 states allow local gas or sales taxes to be imposed. Minnesota's total tax burden on gasoline, 
which includes the 28.5-cent per-gallon excise tax and 0.1-cent inspection fee, places it 24th highest based on 
state taxes and 27th highest based on total state and local taxes. (The 2-cent per-:gallon Petrofund cleanup fee 
did not apply on July 1, 2017; this fee is imposed periodically based on the balance in the fund.) 

Gasoline taxes 
include state and 
local taxes 

The columns in the table below represent the following: 
• State excise tax: Per-gallon tax on gasoline imposed at the state level 
• State sales tax: State retail sales tax applied to gasoline; in some states, the 

sales tax rate is prefigured and prepaid at the wholesale level rather than 
being calculated and paid at the pump 

• Other state tax/fee: Leaking underground storage fees, inspection fees, . 
various environmental fees; in some states, including Minnesota, these are 
"blink-on" taxes that are imposed whenever a specified fund reaches a 
certain level; the table applies these fees, if they applied on July 1, 2017 

• Total state taxes: Combined per-gallon tax, sales tax, other state taxes and 
fees 

• Local excise tax: Locally imposed per-gallon taxes in the largest city in the 
state 

• Local sales tax: Local retail sales taxes that apply to gasoline in the largest 
city in the state 

• · Total local tax: Combined local gas taxes and sales taxes 
• Total tax: Combined state and local taxes 

. For price-based taxes, U.S. Energy Information Administration price data for the 
week of July 3, 2017, was used for the applicable region, state, or city. This price 
was adjusted in those states that impose a sales tax on gasoline, but excludes state 
or federal per-gallon taxes from the taxable price. 

Total State and Local Taxes on Gasoline as of July 1, 2017 
State State Other Total Local Local Total Total State 

Excise Sales State State State Excise Sales Local and Local 
Tax Tax Tax/Fee Tax Rank Tax Tax Tax Tax 

Alabama $0.180 $0.030 $0.210 39 $0.010 $0.010 $0.220 
Alaska 0.080 0 .010 0.090 50 0.090 
Arizona 0.180 0.010 0. 190 42 0.190 
Arkansas 0.215 0.003 0.218 37 0.218 
California 0 .297 0.067 0 .072 0.436 3 0.059 0.059 0.495 

Total 
Taxes 
Rank 

37 
50 
44 
39 
4 



State State Other Total Local Local Total Total State Total 
Excise Sales State State State Excise Sales Local and Local Taxes 

Tax Tax Tax/Fee Tax Rank Tax Tax Tax Tax Rank 
Colorado 0.220 · 0.220 36 0.220 37 
Connecticut 0.250 0.133 0.383 7 0.383 11 
Delaware 0.230 0.016 0.246 31 0.246 33 
Florida 0.040 0.134 0.001 0.175 46 0.134 0.134 0.309 21 
Georgia 0.263 0.263 28 0.095 0.095 0.358 12 
Hawaii 0.160 0.107 0 .054 0.320 17 0 .165 0.013 0.178 0.499 3 
Idaho 0.320 0.010 0.330 13 0.330 17 
Illinois 0.190 0.130 0.011 0.331 12 0.110 0.069 0.179 0.510 2 
Indiana 0.280 0 .129 0.010 0.419 4 0.419 8 
Iowa 0.305 0.305 18 0.305 22 
Kansas 0.240 0.010 0.250 30 0.250 32 
Kentucky 0.246 0.014 0.260 29 0.260 31 
Louisiana 0 .200 0.001 0.201 40 0.201 42 
Maine 0.300 0.300 22 0.300 26 
Maryland 0.338 0.338 11 0.338 16 
Massachusetts 0.240 0.026 0.266 · 27 0.266 30 
Michigan 0.263 0.122 0.009 0.394 6 0.394 10 
Minnesota 0.285 0.001 0.286 24 0.286 27 
Mississippi 0.180 0 .004 . 0.184 45 0.184 47 
Missouri 0.170 0.003 0. 173 47 0.173 48 
Montana 0.315 0.008 0.323 16 0.323 20 
Nebraska 0.270 0.009 0.279 26 0.279 29 
Nevada 0.230 0.008 0.238 34 0.214 0.214 0.452 6 
New Hampshire 0.222 0.016 0.238 33 0.238 35 
New Jersey 0.105 0 .266 0 .040 0.411  5 0.411 9 
New Mexico 0.170 0.019 0.189 43 0.189 45 
New York 0.081 0 .088 0.162 0.330 14 0.112 0 .112 0.442 7 
North Carolina 0 .340 0.003 0.343 9 0.343 14 
North Dakota 0.230 0.230 35 0.230 36 
Ohio 0.280 0.280 25 0.280 28 
Oklahoma 0.160 0.010 0.1,70 48 0.170 49 
Oregon 0.300 0.300 22 0 .030 0 .030 0.330 18 
Pennsylvania 0.582 0 .011 0.593 1 0.593 1 
Rhode Island 0.330 0.010 0.340 10 0.340 15 
South Carolina 0.180 0 .008 0.188 44 . 0.188 46 
South Dakota 0.280 0.020 0.300 21 0.300 25 
Tennessee 0.200 0.014 0.214  38 0.214 40 
Texas 0.200 0.200 41 0.200 43 
Utah 0.294 0.007 0.301 20 0.301 24 
Vermont 0.121 0.184 0.305 19 0.305 23 
Virginia 0.162 0.006 0.168 49 0 .034 0.034 0.202 41 
Washington 0.494 0.494 2 0.494 5 
West Virginia 0.205 0.152 0.357 8 0.357 13 
Wisconsin 0.309 0.020 0.329 15 . 0.329 19 
Wyoming 0.230 0.010 0.240 32 0.240 34 
Note: The table does not include special tax rates for alcohol-gasoline blends or for gasoline used in commercial vehicles. 
Sources: Federation of Tax Administrators; American Petroleum Institute; U.S. Energy Information Administration; and state 
revenue agency websites. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. 
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Minnesota Research and Development Tax Credit 

What is the 
Minnesota research 
and development 
credit? 

What is the policy 
rationale for the 
research credit? 

What types of 
research expenses 
qualify? 

Is the credit 
incremental? 

Minnesota allows businesses conducting research and development to claim 
research credits against their corporate franchise taxes or individual income taxes 
(for pass-through tax entities, such as LLCs and S corporations). The credit's 
computations are based on definitions under the federal tax credit for increasing 
research activities, except the research must be done in Minnesota. 

There are two basic rationales for research credits : 

• It is widely recognized that businesses under-invest in research and 
development, because some of benefits of research go to society generally and 
cannot be captured solely for the business and its owners. Others can copy or 
build on their research, siphoning off some of the benefit. Research credits, 
including the federal and Minnesota credits, help overcome this barrier by 
providing tax benefits for qualifying research. 

• State credits, such as Minnesota's, have a general "economic development" 
purpose-· that is, they seek to encourage businesses to do more research in 
Minnesota to create jobs and other economic benefits for Minnesota residents. 
The credits help the state to compete for research investment by businesses. 
Some published academic research supports the view that state credits help to 
achieve this end. 

Under the federal definition used by Minnesota, "qualifying research expenses" 
must be made to discover technological information that is applied to develop a 
new or improved business component (e.g., a product or process). The 
expenditures could be intended to improve quality, performance, reliability or 
something similar. The expenditures typically are for wages of the business's 
employees, supplies purchased, · or amounts paid to contractors to do research for 
the business. Expenditures on equipment do not qualify, but instead qualify for 
separate expensing benefits under federal and state tax law. 

The credit applies to research over a base amount. The federal definition of 
"qualified research expenses" is limited to the increase in research expenditures 
over a "base amount," making the credit an "incremental" credit. This base 
amount is expressed as a percentage of the business's gross receipts (Minnesota 
gross receipts for the Minnesota credit). The percentage is determined for each 
business based on the percentage its research spending was of its 1984-1988 gross 
receipts (for the businesses starting up after 1988, 3 percent is used) with a 
maximum of 16 percent. This incremental credit structure is intended to make the 
credit more cost effective in stimulating research by disallowing the credit for the 



How is the credit 
computed? 

Is the credit 
refundable? 

How much does the 
credit reduce tax 
revenues? 

How does 
Minnesota's credit 
compare to credits 
in other states? 

normal or basic research the business would otherwise do. For example, a business 
whose research is a constant percentage of its gross receipts would not be allowed 
the credit, because it had not increased its research "effort." 

SO-percent limit applies. The credit cannot exceed 50 percent of the business's 
research expenditures and many businesses' credits are determined under that rule, 
because their research is well above their base amount. This typically occurs for 
Minnesota-based multistate businesses, because their base amounts are calculated 
using Minnesota gross receipts, a relatively low amount, while their Minnesota 
research often relates to their entire operations. Since these businesses qualify for 
a credit based on 50 percent of their research spending, their credits are really not 
incremental or dependent on increasing their research. 

The Minnesota credit has a two-tiered rate structure; a higher rate (10 percent) 
applies to the first $2 million of Minnesota qualified research expenses and a lower 
rate ( 4 percent) for the amount over that. The 2017 Legislature increased the lower 
tier rate to 4 percent from 2.5 percent, effective for tax year 2017. 

The credit is not refundable; it cannot exceed the liability for tax. (For three tax 
years, 2010 through 2012, the credit was refundable.) However, a unitary business 
(that is, a business with two_ or more corporations or other entities that are part of 
one business) may allocate the credit among its individual corporations to fully use 
the credit. If the credit still exceeds the liability for tax, it can be carried o·ver and 
used to reduce taxes in later tax years (for up to 15 tax years). 

The Minnesota Department of Revenue's (DOR) Tax Expenditure Budget 
(February 2016) estimated that for fiscal year 2017, $50.2 million in corporate 
franchise tax credits will be allowed and $18.5 million in individual income tax 
credits. The Tax Expenditure Budget also reports that expensing of research and 
development costs provides tax expenditures for fiscal year 2017 of $16 million 
(under the corporate franchise tax) and $600,000 (under the individual income tax) 
for research and development expenditures. 

Minnesota was the first state to enact a research and development credit in 1981. 
Most states with corporate taxes now have credits for some types of research 
expenditures. These credits vary considerably and it is difficult to generalize about 
them. Some states, like Minnesota, follow the basic federal credit. Other states 
use different-both more expansive or narrower-definitions of the types of 
research that qualify for their credits. Some states target their credits to specific 
types ·of businesses (e.g., high technology companies), while others follow the 
alternative, as well as the basic, federal research credit rules. Several states have 
credit rates that are higher than Minnesota's first tier (10 percent) rate and most 
allow rates higher than second tier ( 4 percent) rate. Finally, some state credits are 
not incremental, but rather apply to all qualifying research done in the state. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 551 55 I 651 -296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 



HOUSE RESEARCH I Short Subjects 
Ben Johnson September 2017 

Fireworks for Personal Use: 
The Laws in Minnesota and Surrounding States 

Minnesota and its surrounding states-Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin-have varying 
laws on the personal use of fireworks. State laws generally regulate who can sell, buy, and use different types 
of fireworks. 

Comparison of State Laws 
Policy MN IA ND SD WI 
Novelties (sparklers, snakes, smoke devices) are generally legal to sell, buy, and X X X X X 
use 
Most consumer-grade fireworks (firecrackers, etc.) are legal for adults to use X X X 
around the Fourth of July and New Year' s Eve 
Most bottle rockets are expressly prohibited X 
Consumer-grade fireworks are legal to use only with a permit X 
State residents, subject to age restrictions, can purchase consumer-grade X X X 
fireworks around the Fourth of July and New Year's Eve 
Nonresidents can purchase consumer-grade fireworks only around the Fourth of X X 
July and New Year's Eve 
Restrictions on sales to nonresidents are identical to restrictions on sales to X X 
residents 
Nonresidents can purchase consumer-grade fireworks at any time under the X X 
assumption that the fireworks will be taken out of the state 
Municipalities can adopt additional restrictions, including prohibiting the use of X X X X 
consumer-grade fireworks. 

Minnesota 

Iowa 

Personal use of consumer-grade fireworks in Minnesota is illegal. (Minn. Stat. §§ 
624.20-624.25) "Fireworks" in Minnesota include firecrackers, bottle rockets, 
roman candles, and similar items. The definition does not include novelty items 
like sparklers, snakes, or smoke devices. Novelty items can only be sold to adults, 
and a local unit of government can impose a license fee on their sale. 

Most violations are a misdemeanor for which a court can impose a sentence of 90 
days in jail, a $1,000 fine, or both. Violations involving a large amount of 
fireworks (3 5 pounds · gross container weight or more) can be punished as a gross 
misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of one year in jail, a $3,000 fine, or both. 

Iowa legalized the sale and use of consumer fireworks in 2017. (Iowa Code 2017, 
chs. 100.19-100.19A) 
The law, reversing a ban dating to 1938, adopted the definitions used by the 
American Pyrotechnics Association. Both "consumer fireworks" (firecrackers, 
bottle rockets, roman candles, etc.) and "novelties" (sparklers, snakes, and smoke 
devices) are legal. 



North Dakota 

South Dakota 

Wisconsin 

Purchasers must be 18, and it is only legal to buy and use consumer fireworks from 
June 1 through July 8, and December 10 through January 3. 

Cities can limit or prohibit the use of fireworks, but cannot prohibit the sale of 
fireworks by licensed sellers. Some cities have also made it illegal to set off 
fireworks if a person has been drinking and has an alcohol concentration that 
would make it illegal to operate a motor vehicle. 

North Dakota permits the sale and use of most consumer-grade fireworks from 
June 27 through July 5, and December 26 through January 1. (NDCC 23-15-01 
through 23-15-06) 

The list of legal fireworks is similar to the American Pyrotechnics Association 
definition of consumer fireworks, but does not include most bottle rockets. 
Purchasers must be at least 12 years old, and local governments can prohibit or 
regulate the use of fireworks. 
North Dakota's law does not apply to the · sale of any kind of fireworks for 
shipment directly out of the state. In practice, this means that nonresidents may 
purchase fireworks at any time and sellers require identification to show that a 
purchaser is from out of state. 

Consumer fireworks, as defined by the American Pyrotechnics Association, are 
legal in South Dakota within specific date ranges. Fireworks can only be set off in 
South Dakota from June 27 through the first Sunday after the Fourth of July, and 
from December 28 through January 1. (SDCL 34-37-1 through 34-37-20) 
Sellers can obtain two licenses: one for selling to South Dakota residents only and 
one that permits sales to nonresidents. Residents can purchase fireworks from June 
27 through July 5, and December 28 through January 1. Sellers can obtain one or 
-both licenses 'for sales to nonresidents covering May 1 through July 5; or July 6 
through August 31, and December 28 through January 1 � 

Municipalities can limit or prohibit the use of consumer fireworks. Counties can 
. regulate or prohibit the use of fireworks outside the boundaries of a municipality 
where the fire danger is extreme. County regulations do not apply after July 2. 

Wisconsin permits the use and sale of novelties, but limits the sale and use of other 
fireworks. (Wis. Stat. § 167 .10) 
State residents must have a permit to purchase, possess, or use consumer fireworks. 
A permit is only valid in the municipality that issued it, and it must be provided to 
the local fire or law enforcement official at least two days before authorized use. 
Nonresidents can purchase consumer fireworks in Wisconsin, but cannot use them 
in the state without a permit. 
Local governments can establish additional restrictions or prohibitions. They 
cannot ban the right to transport legal fireworks as long as a person transporting 
fireworks does not remain in a municipality for more - than 12 hours. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Ben Johnson at 651-296-8957. 
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Retention of Government Records 

Government entities in Minnesota are required to create records documenting their official activities and 
maintain those records pursuant to an approved retention schedule. Ultimately, all records will either be 
permanently retained by a government entity, destroyed, or transferred to the State Archives. 

A government entity 
must create and 
maintain records of 
its official activities 

The records must be 
preserved according 
to a retention 
schedule that has 
been appro_ved by 
the Records 
Disposition Panel 

All officers and agencies within state and local government are required to create 
and preserve all records necessary to provide complete and accurate knowledge of 
their official activities. The term "official activities" refers to the government 
entity's formal actions, decisions, and transactions. A government entity is not 
required to keep records documenting the deliberations or thought processes that 
underlie, but are not themselves part of, an official activity. 

Records may be any type of physical or digital media ( documents, maps, 
photographs, recordings, etc.). Reproductions may be maintained instead of the 
original documents, and it is not necessary for an entity to retain multiple copies of 
the same record. "Electronic records" (those existing only in digital format) are 
permitted and subject to the same statutory requirements as physical records. Also, 
all government records must be kept in an arrangement and condition that makes 
them easily accessible for convenient .use by the public. 

Ultimately, the chief administrative officer of a government entity is responsible 
for maintaining the entity's records. But individual government officials must, 
upon leaving office, deliver all records in their custody to their successors in office. 

A government entity must adopt a retention schedule that covers all of the entity's 
records and states how long each type of record must be preserved. Document 
retention periods may be expressed in terms of time ("retain for four years". or 
"retain permanently"), in- terms of a certain event ("retain until audit"), or a 
combination of the two ("retain six months after audit"). 

Before a government entity is permitted to adopt a retention schedule, however, the 
schedule must be reviewed and unanimously approved by the state's Records 
Disposition Panel. The Records Disposition Panel oversees the disposition of 
government records statewide. Its members include the attorney general, the 
director of the Minnesota Historical Society, the legislative auditor in the case of 
state records, and the state auditor in the case of local records. The panel reviews 
and evaluates proposed retention schedules for legal, fiscal, and historical 
considerations, and can approve a schedule as submitted or request changes and 
further review. 

A government entity may choose to create an entirely new retention schedule 
based on an audit of the entity's existing records. Usually, however, an entity will 



After the applicable 
retention period has 
expired, records 
must be archived or 
destroyed 

Criminal penalties 
exist for the 
unauthorized 
destruction of 
records 

The legislature may 
exempt certain 
recordsfrom these 
general rules 

use or adapt a model schedule that has been pre-approved by the Records 
Disposition Panel and made available by the state archives. 

When a record is no longer in use and its retention period has expired, the record 
must be disposed of in the manner prescribed by the retention schedule. Other than 
an approved retention schedule, the only way that a government entity may dispose 
of a record is if it applies for and receives a special order from the Records 
Disposition Panel. The unauthorized disposal of a government record is a 
misdemeanor offense, and a government entity must maintain a list of the records 
it has disposed of. 

A government record may only be disposed of in two ways. If the record has some 
historical value, it may be transferred to the state archives of the Minnesota 
Historical Society. Other valueless records must be destroyed. 

There is no mandated method for record destruction. However, records containing -
data classified as "not public" under the Minnesota Data Practices Act must be 
destroyed in a way that prevents their contents from being determined. This may 
entail the shredding of ppysical media or sanitization of electronic storage devices. 

The unauthorized destruction of government records is a misdemeanor offense. A 
person who intentionally destroys a government record, or a public employee who 
knowingly permits someone to do so, may be subject to criminal liability. 

The attorney general is also empowered to petition a court to return or "replevin" 
government records that have been unlawfully transferred or removed out of their 
proper office. 

The legislature may exempt certain types of government records from this general 
framework. For example, a county auditor is permitted-with the consent and 
approval of the county board and a district court judge-to destroy certain 
financial documents within specified periods of time. Other exemptions exist in 
statute, especially for highly sensitive government records such as those relating to 
juvenile criminal offenders and data submitted to . the criminal- gang investigative 
data system. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nathan Hopkins at 65 1 -296-5056. 
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Minnesota's  Tax Credit and Deduction for 529 Contributions 

What federal and 
state tax advantages 
are available to 
Minnesotans with 
529 plans? 

How does 
Minnesota's 529 
Plan Credit work? 

Wltat is a 
nonrefundable 
credit? 

How is the 
maximum credit 
phased out? 

Investment income on 529 accounts is exempt from both federal and Minnesota 
income taxes, if the income is used for qualifying higher education expenses. 
Qualifying expenses include tuition, fees, room and board, books, and some other 
education expenses. Investment income on the accounts that is used for 
nonqualifying purposes is taxed as ordinary income, plus a 10 percent penalty. 529 
plans also provide special estate and gift tax benefits. Beginning in tax year 201 7, 
Minnesota will allow both a nonrefundable income tax credit and an income tax 
subtraction for contributions to any state's 529 plan. 

Minnesota's Section 529 Plan Credit 

Minnesota's Section 529 Plan Credit is a nonrefundable credit for contributions to 
a college savings account established by any state under section 529 of the Internal 
Revenue Code. The credit equals 50 percent of contributions, up to a maximum 
of $500. The maximum credit is phased out as income increases with varying 
thresholds for individuals and married joint filers. 

A nonrefundable credit may be used only to offset Minnesota income tax liability; 
an individual benefits only to the extent of his or her tax liability. An individual 
with no state income tax liability does not benefit from the credit. 

For individual filers, the maximum credit is phased out by 2 percent of federal 
adjusted gross income (F AGI) in excess of $75,000. The credit is fully phased out 
for individual filers at $100,000 of FAGI. 
F AGI is a broad definition of income that includes most kinds of income. F AGI is 
calculated after allowance of business expenses and retirement contributions, but 
before reductions for itemized or standard subtractions and dependent and personal 
exemptions. 

I ncome R anee (FAGI) M "  ax1mum re It me. e 1 ers C d" (S" I F"I ) 
Up to $75,000 $500 
$75,00 1 to $ 1 00,000 $500 minus 2 percent of AGI in excess of $75,000 
$ 1 00,00 1 and above 0 

For married couples filing joint'retums, the maximum credit is phased out in two 
stages and is fully phased out when AGI reaches $160,000. 

Maximum Credit 
Income Ranee (F AGI) (Married Couples Filin2 Joint Returns) 

Up to $75,000 $500 
$75,00 1 to $ 1 00,000 $500 minus 1 percent of AGI in excess of $75,000 
$ 1 00,00 1 to $ 1 35,000 $250 
$ 1 3 5 ,00 1 to $ 160,000 $250 minus 1 percent of AGI in excess of $ 1 35,000 
$ 1 60,00 1 and above $0 



How does 
Minnesota 's 529 
Plan subtraction 
work? 

What are the policy 
differences between 
the credit and the 
subtraction? 

What tax benefits 
do other states offer 
for 529 plan 
contributions? 

What are the 
revenue reductions 
due to the credit 
and subtraction? 

Minnesota's Section 529 Plan Subtraction 

Minnesota additionally offers a subtraction for contributions to any state's section 
529 Plan. A taxpayer may subtract up to $1,500 ($3,000 for married joint filers) of 
contributions to any state's section 529 college savings plan or prepaid tuition plan. 
The subtraction excludes any amounts that are rolled-over from other college 
savings plans. Taxpayers who claim the credit cannot take the subtraction. 

(1) For the same contribution amount, the credit will typically provide a 
larger tax benefit than the subtraction. A credit reduces tax liability dollar-for­
dollar, while the value of a subtraction depends upon the taxpayer's marginal tax 
rate. The maximum benefit of the subtraction for a married joint filer is $295.50 
(top tax rate of 9.85% * $3,000 maximum contribution) compared with $500 under 
the credit for a smaller contribution ($1,000). Individuals in the credit phase-out 
range will need to compute the tax benefits under both the credit and subtraction to 
determine which is higher. Typically it will be the credit, but not always. 

(2) Income limits apply to the credit, but not the subtraction. Single filers who 
earn more than $100, 000-and married couples filing jointly who earn more than 
$160,000-are not eligible for the credit. Any taxpayer who makes a qualifying 
contribution to a section 529 plan may claim the subtraction, without regard to 
their income. 
(3) The credit can result in a marriage penalty or bonus, while the subtraction 
can only provide a bonus. (For more information, see the House Research 
Information Brief, The Minnesota Income Tax Marriage Credit.) 

• 29 states other than Minnesota and the District of Columbia allowed tax 
deductions in tax year 2016. 

• Three states other than Minnesota (Indiana, Vermont, and Utah) offered 
· credits for 529 plan contributions. 

• Eight states with income taxes don't offer 529 plan deductions or credits. 
• Most states limit deductions to contributions to the state's own plan, but 

seven states (including Minnesota) provide deductions for contributions 
to any state plan. 

The Minnesota Department of Revenue estimates that the credit and subtraction 
result in revenue reductions of the following amounts (in millions): 

Fiscal Year Credit Subtraction Total 
201 8  $7.5 $2.5 $ 10.-0 

20 19  7.8 2 .6 1 0 .4 
2020 8.0 2.6 10 .6 

2021 8.3 2.7 1 1 .0 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sean Williams at 651-296-5053 or Joel Michael at 651-
296-5057. See also the House Research short subject, Saving for College: 529 Plans, September 2017. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Minnesota Student Loan Tax Credit 

What is the student 
loan tax credit? 

What is a 
nonrefundable 
credit? 

Who is eligible for 
the credit? 

Which higher 
education loan 
payments are 
counted toward the 
credit? 

How is the credit 
calculated? 

The Minnesota Student Loan Tax Credit is a nonrefundable credit for payments of 
principal and interest on eligible higher education loans. Individuals with one or 
more qualified education loans may claim the credit to reduce their Minnesota 
income tax liability by up to $500. The credit was enacted by the 2017  Legislature, 
and takes effect beginning in tax year 201 7. 

A nonrefundable credit may be used only to offset Minnesota income tax liability; 
it cannot reduce tax liability to less than zero. An individual with no state income 
tax liability does not benefit from the credit. 

An individual with one or more qualified education loans may claim the credit. For 
married couples, each spouse is eligible for the credit. Individuals who are not full­
or part.:.year residents of Minnesota may not claim the credit. 

There is no limit on the number of years in which a taxpayer may claim the credit; 
the taxpayer may claim the credit any year the taxpayer made qualified education 
loan payments. 

"Eligible loan payments" are payments of principal and interest on "qualified 
education loans" incurred on behalf of the eligible individual. The loan payments 
must be related to an undergraduate or graduate degree program at a public or 
nonprofit postsecondary institution. If the institution is located in Minnesota, it 
must be eligible for the Minnesota State Grant program; if the institution is in 
another state, it must participate in the federal Pell Grant program. 

"Qualified education loan" is defined by reference to the Internal Revenue Code. 
Although the federal definition includes both parent loans and the loans of a 
taxpayer's spouse, the Minnesota Student Loan Credit specifically excludes those 
loans from eligibility for the credit, so that only loans an individual takes out for 
his or her own education are eligible. 

The initial credit amount depends on the amount of the individual's eligible loan 
payments and federal adjusted gross income (F AGI), subject to three limits. F AGI 
is a federal definition of income that includes most kinds of cash income, including 
wages, salaries, tips, taxable interest, dividends, capital gains, and business 
mcome. 

Loan payments are reduced by 10 percent of F AGI in excess of $10,000. This 
means that, as income increases, the initial credit amount decreases. The formula 
for the initial credit is as follows: 

Student Loan Credit = Eligible Loan Payments - .1 * (FAG/ in excess of $10,000) 



How is the credit 
limited? 

How could a credit 
vary by income and 
loan payment 
amounts? 

Example 
Calculation 

How much is the 
credit estimated to 
cost? 

An individual' s  credit amount is subject to three limits. The credit cannot be more 
than: 

1. The Maximum Credit: $500; 
2. The Individual's Earned Income: wages, salaries, tips, and net earnings 

from self-employment; or 
3. 10% of the Individual's Original Balance, plus Interest paid in the tax 

year. 
Since the credit is nonrefundable, the credit is also implicitly limited to the 
individual's income tax liability. 

Estimated Credit by F AGI and Eligible Loan Payments 
(A . I' . d b  d . h . . 1 1  b I ) ssumes taxpayer 1s not IIDite y eame mcome, or t e ongma oan a ance 

Income (FAGI) $2,750 in Loan Payments $7,500 in Loan Payments 

$ 1 5 ,000 $500 $500 

$3 5,000 ' $250 $500 

$55 ,000 $0 $500 

$75,000 $0 $500 

$95,000 $0 $0 

Example Taxpayer Situation: 
• Eligible Loan Payments: $4,700 ($1,800 interest, $2,900 principal) 
• Income: $55,000 in F AGI and $45,000 in Earned Income 
• Original Loan Value: $38,000 

The initial credit equals $200-eligible loan payments, reduced by 10 percent of 
FAGI in excess of $10,000. 

• Federal adjusted gross income minus $10,000 = $45,000 
• 10 percent of $45,0Q0 = $4,500 
• $4,700 in payments minus $4,500 = $200 

The initial credit is subject to three limits, none of which apply to the example: 
• Maximum Credit: $500 
• The Individual's Earned Income: $45,000 
• 10 percent of the Individual's Original Balance, plus Interest paid in 

the tax year: $5,600 ($3,800 plus $1,800 in interest paid) 

The Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR) estimated that 65,000 returns will 
claim the credit in tax year 2017, with an average credit of $414. DOR estimated 
the credit would result in the following revenue reductions per fiscal year: 

• Fiscal Year 2018: $26.9 million 
• Fiscal Year 201 9: $27.8 million 
• Fiscal Year 2020: $28.8 million 
• Fiscal Year 2021: $29.8 million 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sean Williams at 651-296-5053. Also see the House 
Research web page Income Tax Benefits for Higher Education Costs, 
http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/issinfo/hetaxben.aspx?src=20. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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What are 529 
plans? 

Do income or 
contribution limits 
apply to the plans? 

What tax benefits 
are available for 
529 plans? 

Does Minnesota 
have a 529 plan? 

Can a Minnesotan 
participate in other 
state plans? 

Saving for College: 529 Plans 

529 college savings plans allow parents and others ( e.g., grandparents or the 
student him or herself) to save for college costs in accounts. that qualify for 
special tax treatment. The plans are operated by states. (Higher education 
institutions may operate pre-paid tuition plans, which are not discussed in this 
short subject.) Each account has an "owner" (usually the person contributing) 
and a "beneficiary" (the individual whose education costs will be paid). The 
owner retains ownership and control of the account and can change the 
beneficiary. Under federal law, investment of the accounts must be done by the 
state or the investment company it contracts with to operatt: its plan, but account 
owners can choose from among state plans offering an array of investment 
options and have limited authority to transfer funds once per year among plans. 
Thus, they indirectly have some investment control. 

Unlike most other tax incentives and aid programs for higher education, no 
income limits apply to 529 plans. Even the highest income families qualify to 
use them. Contributions must be made in cash. Each state plan sets its 
contribution limit, but federal law limits this to the amount necessary to provide 
for the qualifying higher education expenses of the beneficiary. Most states set 
this limit higher than $300,000. Minnesota limits account balances to $425,000. 

Investment income on 529 accounts is exempt from both federal and Minnesota 
income taxes, if the income is used for qualifying higher education expenses. 
Qualifying expenses include tuition, fees, room and board, books, and some 
other education expenses. Investment income on the accounts that is used for 
nonqualifying purposes is taxed as ordinary income, plus a lO percent penalty. 
529 plans also provide special estate and gift tax benefits. Beginning in tax year 
201 7, Minnesota will allow both a nonrefundable income tax credit and an 
income tax subtraction for contributions to any state's 529 plan. 

Yes, 1997 legislation authorized the Minnesota College Savings Plan, and the 
plan began operating in 2001. TIAA-CREF, a large national financial 
institution, provides administration and investment management services for the 
plan. As of December 31, 2016, the Minnesota plan had about $1.24 billion in 
assets and 63,839 accounts. Nationally, at the end of December 2016, total 529 
plan assets were about $275 billion for about 12.9 million accounts. 

Yes, most state plans allow nonresidents to participate, although special 
preferences may be provided for residents. The federal and Minnesota tax 
benefits apply equally to investments in other state plans. Although precise 
evidence is not available, it appears that Minnesota residents have invested more 
money in other states' 529 plans than in the Minnesota College Savings Plan. 



Who participates in 
529 plans? 

Do other states 
provide additional 
state tax benefits for 
529 plans? 

Do states provide 
other incentives for 
participation? 

Available evidence suggests that most 529 plan assets are held by families in the 
top income groups. The table below shows the distribution of 529 plan and 
Education Savings Account (ESA) assets by income group, based on data from . 
the Federal Reserve' s  20 1 3  Survey of Consumer Finance. About 77.7 percent of 
these assets are held by the top population decile (the 1 0  percent of the 
population with the highest incomes) and about 87 percent by the top quintile. 

529 Plan and ESA Assets by Income of Account Owners 
(amounts in 2013 dollars) 

Median 529 plan and % of total Income group income* ESA assets assets (millions of $) 
1st quintile (0 - 20%) $3 83 0.2% 

% of 
households 
with assets 

0.2% _ _  $13,1_89 _____ _ __ _ _ _ _ _ . ·--------•-·-···------ • ·  ·-·--------------------

2nd quintile (20% - 40%) 1.0% 0.5% 
-·-jrd--quintile ( 40% --60%) 

- ·- --- - - - 27,3.92 __ __ _ _ __ ... · - -- _ __ l ,8_10 _ __ ___ ..... · ·-------·- --•·-•· .. ···--· ··-·----- ..... ---- ----------··- -------······-·-·-·--·· 

45,654 
4th quintile (60% - 80%) 76,090 

• 9th decile (80% - 90%) 121,947 
Top decile (90% - 100%) 230,502 

Total $46,668 

2.9% ··--·- ····-···-··•--· _ __ )_,_��8-. - - - -- ---•- •--•-•-•- ···-·· ····· -••- -------··• ----- ---- ----··· . . .... 

·-·-··•····-

16,449 
·-•-·--····-····--· ··-···-·· 

17,028 _ __ __ _ _ ____ 
142,972 

--•- - ------·- -• 

$183,890 

··--

8 .9% 
----------- -

9.3% 
77.7% -····---

100% 
* Median income of all households in income group, not just those with assets. 

0.9% 
2.8% 
7.4% 

14.0% 

3.0% 

Source: House Research calculations using Federal Reserve Board, Survey of Consumer 
Finance (2013). Estimates are less precise for subgroups, particularly those with fewer assets. 

- -

Many states with income taxes provide deductions or credits for contributions to 
529 plans. In tax year 20 1 6, 29 states and the District of Columbia allowed tax 
deductions and three states (Indiana, Vermont, and Utah), credits for 529 plan 
contributions. Minnesota will offer a tax credit and deduction for 529 
contributions beginning in tax year 20 1 7 .  

Nevada and Illinois allow a credit for employers who make matching 
contributions for their employees. Eight states with income taxes do not provide 
529 plan deductions or credits. Most states limit deductions to contributions to 
the state' s  own plan, but six states provide deductions for contributions to any 
state plan. Starting in tax year 201 7, Minnesota' s  deduction and credit will be 
available for contributions to any state plan. Most of the deductions and all 
three credits are subject to dollar caps; four states allow deduction of the full 
amount contributed. 

Nine states provide ongoing matching grants of some type; most are subject to 
income limits. Five states offer a onetime grant upon the opening of an account 
or the birth of the child. Three states provide college scholarships to 529 
beneficiaries. Minnesota, Michigan, and Missouri previously operated but 
discontinued matching grant programs. Matching grants are not subject to 
federal tax, while state tax deductions or credits reduce the federal itemized 
deduction for state income taxes, diluting their benefits to many recipients by 1 0  
percent to 3 9 .  6 percent. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sean Williams at 65 1 -296-5053 or Joel Michael at 65 1 -
296-5057. See also House Research short subject, Minnesota 's Tax Credit and Deduction for 529 
Contributions, September 20 1 7. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 551 55 I 651 -296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota's Nongame Wildlife Checkoff 

What is the 
nongame wildlife 
checkoff? 

How much do 
taxpayers contribute 
to the nongame 
wildlife checkoff? 

Minnesota's nongame wildlife checkoff allows individuals to make contributions 
on their individual income tax or property tax refund return to the state's nongame 
wildlife fund. Corporate taxpayers may also contribute on their corporate 
franchise tax returns. Taxpayers who wish to contribute fill in the amount of their 
contribution on their income tax or property tax refund form. The amount of the 
contribution is then either added to their tax due or subtracted from their refund. 
The checkoff was enacted and first appeared on tax forms in 1980. 

On tax year 2015 returns, filed in calendar year 2016, over 52,000 individuals used 
the nongame wildlife checkoff to contribute over $900,000 to the nongame wildlife 
fund on their individual income tax or property tax refund forms. The average 
contribution was about $18. About 1.4 percent of all filers made contributions-
1.5 percent of income tax filers and 1.1 percent of property tax refund filers. Since 
1998, taxpayers have contributed about $1 million per year through the checkoff, 
but the share of filers making contributions has trended downward from 3 percent 
in the early 2000s to 1.4 percent in 2015.  

N ongame W"ldl'fi Ch k ff C t "b f I I e ec o on n u 10ns, t ax years 1998 t 2015 0 

Tax Year % contributing $ contributed Average contribution 
1 998 2.9% $972,996 $ 1 1 .4 1  
1 999 2.0 1 ,003,72 1 12 .0 1 
2000 2.9 1 ,028,790 12 . 1 6  
200 1 3 .0 1 , 1 34,3 19  13 .23 
2002 3 .0 1 , 1 60,5 1 8  13 .07 
2003 3 .0 1 , 1 54,574 13 . 1 1  
2004 2 .8  1 , 1 7 1 ,942 1 3 .75 
2005 2 .6 1 ,098,3 1 0  14. 12  
2006 2. 1 1 ,030,2 19  . 15 .3 1 
2007 2. 1 1 ,075,785 1 5 .34 
2008 2. 1 1 ,093 , 1 13 1 5 .46 
2009 2. 1 1 ,086,545 1 5 .72 
20 1 0  1 .9 1 ,06 1 , 1 64 17 .09 
20 1 1  1 .9 1 ,052,25 1 1 6 . 12  
20 12  1 . 8  1 ,049,809 1 7.03 
20 1 3  1 .7 1 ,029,906 17 .62 
20 14  1 .5 963,959 17.33 
20 1 5  1 .4 932,889 1 7.68 
Source: Minnesota Department of Revenue 



What are 
contributions to the 
checkoff used for? 

What are some 
recent projects 
funded through the 
nongame wildlife 
checkoff? 

How many other 
states have a 
nongame wildlife 
checkoff? 

In calendar year 20 1 5, the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) received 
$977,3 57 in contributions through the checkoff. This total differs from the amount 
shown in the table above because it represents amounts on all returns processed by 
the Department of_Revenue in calendar year 20 1 5 , including tax year 20 12, 201 3 ,  
and 20 1 4  individual income tax returns, and 20 1 3  and 20 1 4  property tax refund 
returns. 

Contributions to the nongame wildlife checkoff go into the nongame wildlife 
account and are appropriated to the DNR for the benefit of nongame wildlife 
through the nongame wildlife program. Donations from the nongame wildlife 
checkoff are matched equally by the critical habitat matching account from funds 
raised by the sale of conservation license plates. 

The nongame wildlife program focuses on nongame wildlife species that have been 
identified as being rare, declining; or vulnerable in the state; these species are 
known as "species of greatest conservation need." . The program supports four 
regional wildlife specialists and other staff who work toward supporting the 
program' s mission to "protect, maintain, enhance, and restore native nongame 
wildlife resources for their intrinsic values, ecosystem functions, and long term 
benefits." 

The nongame wildlife program has supported a number of projects in recent years, 
'including the eagle and falcon webcams and Project WILD program, which is an 
environmental and conservation education program designed to train K-1 2  and 
other youth and environmental educators on how to develop awareness of and 
foster responsible actions towards wildlife and related natural resources. Other 
projects have included surveys, management, and educational efforts _ benefiting 
loons, bald eagles, golden eagles, frogs, white pelicans, ospreys, Blanding's turtles, 
wood turtles, butterflies, and dragonflies, and the acquisition or donation of lands 
designated as wildlife management areas and aquatic management areas across the 
state to provide habitat benefiting both game and nongame wildlife species. 

In tax year 201 6, 35 of the 42 states (and the District of Columbia) that have an 
individual income· tax also have a nongame wildlife or similar checkoff. Most 
states have more than one checkoff; Oregon has the most, with 29 directed toward 
a wide range of purposes. Only two states offer only the nongame wildlife 
checkoff-Minnesota and Nebraska. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 65 1-296-5204 or Janelle Taylor at 
65 1 -296-5039.  

The Research Department of  the M innesota House of  Representatives is  a nonpartisan office providing leg islative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul ,  MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 



HOUSE RESEARCH Short Subjects 
Christopher Kleman 

Federal law may 
limit state authority 
over online 
gambling 

Wire Act applies to 
telecommunication 
use for gambling 

Professional and 
Amateur Sports 
Protection Act 
governs sports 
betting 

Updated: October 2017 

Online Gambling: Federal Law 

Internet gambling has been historically regulated at the federal level. Federal law 
prohibits and regulates certain types of betting, as well as policing some aspects of 
interstate gambling. In general, aside from sports betting, states may authorize any 
form of online gambling. 

The Wire Act was originally passed in 1 96 1  to police illegal bookmaking 
operations associated with organized crime syndicates, and was focused on the use 
of interstate communications for the purpose of placing wagers. 1 8  U.S.C. § 1 084. 
As time went on however, questions arose regarding the applicability of the law to 
all online gambling operations or just those that conduct sports betting. 

In 2002, the U.S .  Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit affirmed a lower court 
holding that the Wire Act only applied to sports betting. In re Mastercard 
International, 3 1 3 F .3d 257 (2002). Yet in 2007, in the tenth circuit, the U.S.  
District Court for the District of Utah rejected the fifth circuit's  ruling and held that 
the Wire Act was not solely limited to sports betting. U S.  v Lombardo, 639 F.  
Supp. 2d 127 1  (2007). Until 201 1 ,  the U.S .  Department of Justice (DOJ) 
maintained that the law prohibited all forms of internet gambling. 

In D_ecember 20 1 1 ,  the DOJ reversed course and issued a memorandum opinion on 
the Wire Act, stating that interstate transmissions "of wire communications that do 
not relate to a ' sporting event or contest' fall outside the reach of the Wire Act." 
This was a significant change in the DOJ's position, which had previously held 
that the law prohibited all forms of internet gambling. In response, Delaware, 
Nevada, and New Jersey passed laws authorizing some form of internet gambling, 
including online blackjack and poker, and various casino games. 

The 20 1 1  DOJ opinion does not have the force of law, but it is unclear whether 
others (besides the DOJ) would have standing to file legal challenges to enforce the 
Wire Act in a broader and more prohibitive manner. 

The Professional and Amateur Sports Protection Act (P ASP A) is a complementary 
federal law aimed at ensuring the integrity of professional and collegiate sporting 
events by prohibiting states from authorizing wagering on those events. 28 U.S .C. 
§ 370 1 -04. When the bill was under consideration by Congress, a handful of 
states, such as Nevada, already had sports wagering systems set up. The law 
grandfathered in these states, allowing them to continue their activity. 

New Jersey, one of the states that was allowed to grandfather in its sports betting 
system, chose not to at the time, but later passed a series of laws seeking to 
establish sports wagering in some form. These laws have been subject to legal 



Interstate Horse 
Racing Act permits 
some interstate 
wagers on horse 
racing 

Unlawful Internet 
Gaming 
Enforcement Act 
regulates gambling­
related payments 

The legality of daily 
fantasy sports 
contests under 
PASPA 

challenge. Most recently, the U.S. Supreme Court has agreed to hear the state's  
appeal from an adverse 201 6  ruling by the third circuit court of appeals. NCAA v. 
Christie, 832 F.3d 389 (20 16). 

The Interstate Horse Racing Act regulates wagers on horse racing. 15 U.S.C. § 
3001-07. It was amended in 2000 to expressly allow pari-mutuel wagers 
transmitted between states by the use of phone or other electronic media. This law 
requires both the bettor and the betting · operator to be in states that authorize 
betting on horse races. The World Trade Organization found this law to 
discriminate against off-shore betting operators, and the DOJ has asserted that the 
Wire Act prohibits all cross-border horse racing, but has never taken enforcement 
action associated with this. In 2016, the Minnesota Legislature authorized 
advanced deposit wagering, which allows people to remotely place bets on horse 
races in other states. 

In 2006 Congress passed the Unlawful Internet Gaming Enforcement Act 
(UIGEA). 3 1  U.S.C. § 5361 . This law was aimed at regulating the payment 
processes associated with gambling, rather than gambling itself. The law prohibits 
a gambling business from accepting payment from a person engaged in "unlawful 
internet gambling," which is defined as placing, receiving, or transmitting a bet in 
violation of state, tribal, or federal law. Notably, the UIGEA excludes fantasy 
sports from its definition of "bet or wager," thus allowing fantasy sports operators 
to bypass the law's prohibitions. 

In recent years, the legality of daily fantasy sports (DFS) contests under various 
state and federal laws has come into question. While DFS contests most likely do 
not violate the UIGEA, as explained above, questions remain about whether 
P ASP A prohibits them. 

In a typical DFS contest, contestants select a group of real world athletes to 
compete on virtual teams, which are then pitted against an opposing contestant's 
teams. The DFS operator awards points based on the statistical output of the 
selected athletes in real world games. 

P ASP A prohibits a person from operating-and a state from authorizing-betting, 
gambling, or wagering schemes that are based on the performance of amateur or 
professional athletes in competitive games. Because the performance of these 
athletes determine the points awarded by a DFS operator in a typical DFS contest, 
DFS contests may violate PASPA, although .no federal court has yet weighed in on 
the issue. 

In the absence of clear federal and state prohibitions on DFS contests, some states 
have expressly authorized them. While no bill authorizing DFS contests has so far 
been enacted in Minnesota, DFS operators continue to offer the contests in the 
state. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at christopher.kleman@house.mn. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 



HOUSE RESEARCH I Short Subjects 
Matt Burress Updated: October 2017 

Small Cities Assistance 

Established in 2015, the Small Cities Assistance program provides formula-based transportation aid for 705 
smaller cities in Minnesota that do not receive municipal state-aid street funding. Minn. Stat. § 162.145. 
Funds are for construction and maintenance of roads. Aid in fiscal year 2018 totals $8.0 million. 

Background 

Funding 

Requirements 

Administration 

The main state program for transportation-related assistance to cities is municipal 
state-aid street (MSAS) funding, which is part of a constitutional framework. 
However, under the constitution the funds are limited to cities having a population 
of at least 5,000. Minn. Const. art. XIV, § 8. The vast majority of Minnesota's 
cities fall below this population threshold and do not receive MSAS funds. 

From 2005 to 2013, supplemental aid for cities under 5,000 population had been 
provided as part of the local government aid (LGA) formula. Aid amounts were 
calculated on a per capita basis, and in later years, an offset was determined based 
on a city's taxing capacity. The aid component was eliminated in 2013 in 
conjunction with adopting a new LGA formula. Laws 2013 , ch. 143 , art. 2, § 36. _ 

The program was first funded in fiscal year 2016 through a $12.5 million general 
· fund appropriation, with no funding provided in fiscal year 201 7. The legislature 
subsequently enacted appropriations of $8.0 million from the general fund for each 
of fiscal years- 2018 and 2019 (again with no base appropriation for future years). 
Laws 2017, pt spec. sess., ch. 3 ,  art. 1, § 2, subd. 4. 

Aid conditions and characteristics include the following: 
• Eligibility is limited to cities that are not receiving MSAS street funds, 

which mostly means those that have a population of under 5,000 
• Aid is restricted to construction and maintenance of roads and bridges on 

projects located at least partially within the city 
• Funds can be used for various aspects of a road project, such as land 

acquisition as well as design and engineering work, and can be put towards 
a city's share on county or state road projects 

• There is not a specified timeline for when funds must be used 
• Except for work on state-aid system streets or highways, the state-aid 

design and engi!leering standards do not apply 
• Funds are distributed as block grants rather than on a reimbursement basis 
• The city must comply with required financial reporting to the State Auditor 

and maintain records on aid spending ( otherwise, funds can be withheld) 

Assistance is jointly administered by two state agencies. Formula calculations are 
handled by Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT), while aid is 
distributed by the Department of Revenue in conjunction with administration of 



Aid formula 

Allocation of aid 

LGA. Payments are generally made in two equal installments, by July 20 and 
December 26 in the fiscal year in which the funds are appropriated. 

The aid is formula based, so that cities. do not apply or compete for funds. The 
distribution formula contains four components: 

• 10 percent of the funds available in each year is divided equally among all 
eligible cities 

• 3 5 percent is allocated proportionally based on each city's population 
• 3 5 percent is allocated proportionally based on each city's municipal street 

lane miles 
• 25 percent is split proportionally in an amount that declines based on lane­

miles of county state-aid highway (CSAH) located within each city, so that 
this aid under this component drops ( down to $0) as a city's CSAH lane­
miles increases 

Another feature of the formula is a distribution cap, so that a city cannot receive 
more than 3.5 times the average aid being provided. For fiscal year 2018, the cap 
amounts to $39,716 per city. 
Funds are distributed among 705 cities throughout Minnesota. For fiscal year 2018, 
the average amount is around $11,300, or $12.05 per capita. Financial assistance 
ranges from about $3,800 to the cap of nearly $40,000. About 78 percent of cities 
receive less than $15,000 in aid, and nine cities are at the distribution cap. 
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst Matt Burress at 651-296-5045. Also see the House 
Research publication Municipal State-Aid Street System, October 2017. 
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·Municipal State-Aid Street System 

Some cities receive assistance from the state for construction and maintenance of streets that are part of the 
municipal state-aid street system. The aid is funded via a portion of transportation-related taxes and is 
distributed following a statutory formula. Aid distributed in calendar year 2017 is $ 1  73 .2 million. 

System overview 

Constitutional 
framework for aid 

Eligibility based on 
population 

Other assistance to 
ineligible cities 

Program 
administration 

The municipal state-aid street (MSAS) system is a collection of key streets located 
in 148 Minnesota cities. They comprise many of the higher traffic volume and key 
connecting roads in each city. At roughly 3,700 miles, state-aid streets constitute a 
little under a quarter of all miles of city streets. There are restrictions on the size of 
the MSAS system within each city. Minn. Stat. § 162.09. 

The Minnesota Constitution establishes a basic framework for state highway 
finance. Among its features, the constitution dedicates specific transportation­
related taxes to transportation purposes; allocates tax revenues by formula among 
state, county, and municipal roads; and creates a MSAS fund for financial 
assistance to cities. Minn. Const. art. XIV. 

The constitution requires that a city has a population over 5,000 to qualify for 
MSAS aid. Minn. Const. art. XIV,§ 8. Population is determined by the last federal 
decennial census or most recent estimates. However, statutory provisions allow 
some cities whose populations drop below 5,000 to receive aid, including: 

• an exception for Chisholm, whose population fell below the cutoff with the 
2000 census but is permanently grandfathered in; and 

• a transition period that provides continuation of aid to a city that had been 
receiving assistance but whose population dropped below the cutoff in a 
decennial census (for this decade, 2015 was the last transition year under 
the provision). Minn. Stat. § 162.09, subd. 4 (f); Laws 2001, 1st spec. sess., 
ch. 8, art. 2, § 6; Laws 2002, ch. 364, § 29. 

While cities having a population under 5,000 are not eligible for MSAS funds, the 
legislature established a small cities assistance program (most recently funded at 
$8.0 million in each of fiscal years 2018  and 2019). Minn. Stat.§ 162.145. Such 
smaller cities are also assisted indirectly through state aid to counties: a share of 
state funds for the county state-aid highway system must be allocated to a 
municipal account for use on those county state-aid highways located within 
smaller cities. Minn. Stat. § 162.08, subd. 1. 

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) administers the state-aid 
program. MnDOT determines amounts annually based on a combination of tax 
receipts and future estimates. Aid apportionment amounts are released·each 
January and distributed on a calendar-year basis. 



MnDOT also adopts administrative rules governing the program, which cover 
topics such as minimum roadway design and engineering standards, design 
variance procedures, apportionment between construction and maintenance, and 
contract and bidding requirements. Minn. Rules, ch. 8820. While the department 
oversees aid distribution and provides technical assistance, both prioritization of 
road projects and their development are under the purview of each city. 

Allocation of funds MSAS funds are allocated as aid and for related purposes (such as administrative 
costs) based on multiple formulas in state law. Calendar year 2017 funding is at 
$177.6 million, but a cap on the amount held in a disaster account yielded about 
$53) 00 in additional funds. Allocations consist of: 

Aid apportionment 
formula 

Distribution to 
cities 

• $173 .2 million apportioned by formula as direct aid to cities; 
• $3 .6 million for MnDOT agency expenses; and 
• $868,100 to a research account. Minn. Stat. §§ 162.12, 162.13. 

Money in the MSAS fund apportioned among cities as direct aid follows a formula 
created in state statute, so that: 

• 50 percent is divided proportionally based on the population of each city 
(compared to the total for all municipal state-aid cities); and 

• 50 percent is divided proportionally based on construction needs for each 
city. Minn. Stat. § 162.13. 

The needs calculation under the formula is structured to enable comparison across 
the cities ( and does not identify total costs to bring municipal state-aid streets up to 
state standards). Calculations submitted by cities are reviewed by a: screening board 
composed of city engineers. 

Calendar year 2017 direct aid ranged from about $176,000 to just under $16.0 
million, or $29.50 to $82.50 on a per capita basis). The average per city was nearly 
$1.2 million, with 46 cities receiving up to $500,000 each and 20 cities receiving 
over $2 million. Because of the weight of population in the aid formula, larger 
cities tend to receive greater shares of the aid. 
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For more information: See the House Research publications Highway Finance, February 2016, and Small 
Cities Assistance, October 2017. 
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The Dislocated Worker Program 

The Dislocated Worker Program provides assistance to eligible individuals who 
are displaced from their employment or source of support and require assistance in 
returning to or entering the workforce (Minn. Stat. § 116L.1 7). 

Several kinds of workers are eligible for assistance under the program. · They 
include those who: 

• were separated or have received a notice of permanent separation from their 
employment, are eligible for or have exhausted their unemployment 
benefits, and are unlikely to return to their previous industry or occupation; 

• have been long-term unemployed and have limited opportunities for similar 
reemployment in the area where they live, including older individuals who 
may have substantial barriers to employment by reason of age; 

• were terminated or have been notified of impending termination as part of a 
plant closing or other large layoff; 

• have been self-employed (including as farmers or ranchers) and are 
unemployed as a result of economic conditions _or natural disasters; 

• are veterans discharged or released from active duty under honorable 
conditions and are unemployed or earning less than what they could 
verifiably earn; 

• have be_en determined by the U.S; Department of Labor to be covered by 
trade adjustment assistance under United States Code, title 19, sections 
22 71 to 23 31, as amended; or 

• are displaced homemakers, meaning they have spent a number of years 
providing homemaking service while dependent on another person and that 
person is no longer providing support as a result of the other person's 
disability or death, or because of a divorce. "Displaced homemaker" can 
also include a person who previously was supported by public assistance 
because of the presence of a dependent in the household who is no longer 
present. 

The program provides basic employment services such as job counseling, testing, 
skills assessment,job search,-and placement assistance. It provides money for 
training, including classroom training, on-the-job training, skills training, and basic 
education. In some cases, it offers support services, including temporary help with 
expenses such as emergency housing assistance and rent, health care, 



How is the money 
distributed? 

Where does the 
money come from? 

How do individuals 
apply/or 
assistance? 

transportation, child care, work-related tools and clothing, and similar costs that 
may need to be covered while a person is in training. 

Under the Converting Layoffs into Minnesota Businesses (CLIMB) program, a 
special component of the Dislocated Worker Program, dislocated workers can also 
receive assistance in starting or growing their own business. Assistance may 
include entrepreneurial training, business consulting, and technical assistance. 
Participating individuals create a business plan and remain eligible for 
unemployment insurance benefits while working towards that plan. 

Funds are appropriated to the Job Skills Partnership Board and then allocated to 
workforce service areas or other eligible organizations, which may include labor 
organizations, business organizations, state or local government agencies, or 
nonprofit agencies. These areas and organizations often in turn contract with 
individual service providers to deliver services to individuals .  

Employers pay a special assessment along with their unemployment insurance 
taxes that goes into a separate fund called the Workforce Development Fund. 

Not all the money in the Workforce Development Fund goes to fund the Dislocated 
Worker Program. The legislature appropriates some of the money in the fund to 
support other employment and training programs. Whatever money remains after 
these appropriations are made is available for the Dislocated Worker Program. 
Under certain circumstances, if there is more money in the fund than is necessary 
to meet the needs of dislocated workers, the Job Skills Partnership Board can use 
the extra money for other workforce training programs. 

In addition to the state money, there are federal funds appropriated for the federal 
Dislocated Worker Program, which is similar to the state program, as well as funds 
available through federal National Dislocated Worker Grants. These funds are 
administered by the same state agency that runs Minnesota' s Dislocated Worker 
Program. 

As soon as individuals receive a notice of permanent layoff or termination, they 
can contact their local W orkF orce Center for assistance. Staff at the local site will 
help determine what services that worker qualifies· for under the state and federal 
dislocated worker programs. Workforce Centers are listed on Department of 
Employment and Economic Development website, https://mn.gov/deed/job­
seekers/workforce-centers/workforce-center-locations/. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Anna Scholin at anna.scholin@house.mn. 
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County State-Aid Highway System 

The county state-aid highway system is a network of key highways under the 
jurisdiction of Minnesota's counties. It covers roughly 30,700 miles of roadway 
throughout all counties, composing over two-thirds of county highway miles. 
Counties receive formula-based state money to assist in the construction, 
improvement, and maintenance of highways included in the state-aid system. 

Aid is provided through the County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) fund, which is 
established by the Minnesota Constitution. Revenue mainly comes from a share of 
taxes on motor fuels, vehicle registration, vehicle sales, and vehicle leases. 

Money in the CSAH fund is administered by the Minnesota Department of 
Transportation (MnDOT). Using a combination of tax receipts and future 
estimates, aid apportionments are released each January with distribution on a 
calendar-year basis. MnDOT also adopts administrative rules governing the 
program ( covering topics such as �esign standards). Road project prioritization, 
selection, and construction management are under the purview of each county. 

Among the requirements of the aid, counties typically expend 60 percent on 
bonstruction projects and 40 percent on maintenance efforts. Minn. Rules, part 
8820.1400. Counties must also expend a share of aid on stretches of state-aid 
highways located within "small cities'' having a population under 5,000, generally 
in amounts proportional to the share of construction needs for county state-aid 
highway segments located in the small cities. Minn. Stat. § 162.08, subd. 1. 

Total state funding is $660.8 million in calendar year 2017, allocated as follows. 

• Following statutory requirements, $17.5 million in net deductions 
are set aside for county highway purposes, consisting of: ( 1) 

CSAH Breakdown 
CY 20 17  ($660.8 million) 

MnDOT administrative costs, · (2) a disaster account, (3) a research 
account, and (4) a state park roads account. Minn. Stat.§ 162.06. 

• A portion of general sales tax revenue, known as motor vehicle 
lease sales tax (MVLST), is allocated by formula to Twin Cities 
metropolitan area counties. The distribution excludes Hennepin 
and Ramsey and is in proportion to the population of each county 
(it is also distinct from core aid, discussed below). Minn. Stat. § 
297 A. 815. Funds in calendar year 2017 amount to $3 3 .2 million. 

Excess MVLST 
26.9% 

Deduct. 
2.6% 

• $54.7 million from a "set-aside" in the flexible highway account 
is provided for county road tumbacks (generally, trunk highway 
segments that are improved and turned over to become part of the 
county state-aid highway system). Minn. Stat. § 161.081. 

• Core aid in calendar year 2017 is $555.5 million. It is divided 
into two categories for distribution among the counties by 
formula: the apportionment sum and the excess sum. 



Apportionment and 
excess sum 

Apportionment suin 
formula 

Excess sumformula 

Aid amounts 

700 

600 

(/) 500 
.9 

400 

.s 300 

{,A-

200 

1 00 

0 

2008 

Core aid to counties had been allocated under one formula until 2008, when the 
excess sum was created as a second component with a separate but similar 
statutory distribution formula. The excess sum was calculated in a manner 
essentially designed to handle increased funding for transportation due to finance 
changes made over 2006 to 2008 (so that the additional funding was largely 
allocated through the excess sum formula). 

Legislation in 2015 eliminated the calculation methodology used to identify excess 
sum revenue, replacing it with straight percentages. Laws 2015, ch. 75, art. 2, § 12. 
Starting with calendar year 2016, core aid dollars are provided 68 percent through 
the apportionment sum formula, and 32 percent through the excess sum formula. 
Minn. Stat. § 162.07. 

The formula to distribute the apportionment sum among counties is as follows: 
• 10 percent of the apportionment sum is divided equally 
• 10 percent is proportional based on the number of motor vehicles registered 

in each county ( compared to the total for all counties) 
• 30 percent is proportional based on a county's state aid lane-miles 
• 50 percent is proportional based on construction needs for each county, the 

calculation of which is structured to enable comparison across the counties 
( and does not identify total costs to bring county state-aid highways up to 
state standards). Needs calculations submitted by counties are reviewed by a 
screening board composed of county engineers. Minn. Stat.§ 162.07. 

The excess sum is also distributed by formula: 
• 60 percent is. in proportion to each county's share of construction needs 
• 40 percent of funds are allocated in proportion to each county's share of the 

total number ofmotor vehi�les registered. Minn. Stat. § 162.07. 
The chart below summarizes aid distribution, excluding deductions, by calendar 
year. 
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For more information: See the House Research publication Highway Fin_ance, February 2016. 
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Child Care Licensing 

To protect the health, safety, and welfare of children in child care settings, state law requires child care 
programs to be licensed. Licensure of child care programs is primarily governed by Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 245A, and Minnesota Rules, chapters 9502 and 9503. 

Who must be 
licensed? 

What are the roles of 
state and local 
governments in the 
licensing process? 

Any individual, corporation, or organization providing child care services must be 
licensed. Operating a program without a license is a misdemeanor, and both child 
care centers and family child care programs must be licensed. In late 2017, the 
Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) will begin phasing in a 
certification process for license-exempt child care centers participating in the 
Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP)·. 

The following types of child care are considered to be legal nonlicensed or 
license-exempt, under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 2: 

• care provided to children who are related to the child care provider 
• ' care provided by an unrelated individual to children from a single family 
• programs operated by a public school for children 3 3  months or older 
• services provided for children for less than three hours a day. while the 

child's parent or legal guardian is in the same or contiguous building 
• recreation programs operated or approved by a -park and recreation board 
• programs operated by a school, YMCA, YWCA, or JCC whose primary . 

purpose is providing child care or services to school-age children 
• Head Start programs that operate for less than 45 days a year 
• programs for children such as scouting, boys and girls clubs, arts, and 

sports, provided for a total of less than 30 days in any 12-month period 
• religious instruction of school-age children; Sabbath or Sunday schools; or 

care by a church, congregation, or religious society during regular worship 
• programs operated by an accredited nonpublic school serving only 

children who are age 3 3  months or older, for no more than four hours per 
day per child, with no more than 20 children at any one time 

• programs operated by a nonprofit organization that provide structured; 
supervised youth development and K-12 educational opportunities 

Both state and local governments have child care licensing duties. The state : 
• issues licenses to all child care programs; 
• conducts licensing inspections and investigates alleged licensing 

violations or child maltreatment in child care centers; and 
• conducts background studies of child care staff in licensed child care 

centers and licensed family and group family child care programs. If a 



What recent licensing 
changes have been 
made? 

background study reveals certain crimes, conduct, or maltreatment, the 
commissioner may disqualify the individual from child care service. 

The local county social services or human services agency: 
• performs specified licensing functions for family and group family child 

care programs; and 
• conducts licensing inspections and investigates alleged licensing 

violations or child maltreatment in family and group family child care 
settings. 

Background Studies. All licensed child care center and family child care staff 
and household members 13 or older must undergo a new fingerprint-based 
background study. The study will review state criminal records, predatory 
offender and abuse and neglect registries, and FBI criminal records data (for 
individuals 18 or older). DHS will contact providers and counties about the 
timeline for implementation. 

Training, Health, and Safety Requirements 
• For the purposes of family child care training, "annual" now means the 

12-month period starting on the license date or annual anniversary of the 
date and ending one day before the anniversary of the license date. 

• Protocols were modified to comply with federal block grant requirements 
in the following areas: 

o Parental access 
o Orientation training 
o Child growth and development and behavior guidance training 
o First aid and CPR training 
o In-service training completion and documentation 
o Allergy prevention and response · 
o Handling and disposal of bodily fluids 
o Emergency planning and preparedness 

Inspections and Correction Orders (implementation dates to be determined) 
• Counties and DHS will inspect licensed family child care programs and 

child care cente�s annually, likely beginning with 02018 inspections. 
• DHS will issue a fix-it ticket in lieu ofa correction order for certain minor 

licensing violations. 
• DHS and county licensing agencies must offer an exit interview before 

completing a licensing inspection. 
• DHS will issue amended correction orders if reversed or rescinded. 
• Licensed family child care providers may request expedited review of a 

correction order in certain circumstances. 

For more information: Providers can refer to the DHS website, which has both a Q&A page and an FAQ 
page. For other family child care questions, individuals should contact their local county agency. F9r questions 
about child care center licensing, individuals should call the DHS licensing division, at 651-431-6500. 
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Medicaid Home- and Community-Based Waivered Services 

· What are 
Minnesota's 
Medicaid home­
and community­
based waivers? 

What is the purpose 
of the waivers? 

How does a state 
receive a waiver? 

Who administers 
the HCBS waivers? 

Minnesota currently administers the following five home- and community-based 
(HCBS) waiver programs: 

• Developmental Disabilities (DD) Waiver. This waiver is for people with 
developmental disabilities or a related condition who need the level of care 
provided at an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental 
disabilities (ICF /DD). 

• Community Alternative Care (CAC) Waiver. This waiver is for people who 
have a chronic illness and need the level of care provided at a hospitar . .  

• Community Access/or Disability Inclusion (CADI) Waiver. This waiver is 
for people who have a disability and require the level of care provided in a 
nursing home. 

• Brain Injury (BI) Waiver. This waiver is for pe9ple with a traumatic or 
acquired brain injury who need the level of ·care provided in a nursing home 
or neurobehavioral hospital. 

• Elderly Waiver. This waiver is for people who are over 65 years old and 
need the level of care provided at a nursing facility. 

· HCBS waivers allow for federal Medicaid reimbursement for certain services 
provided to the chronically ill, disabled, and elderly, which are not otherwise 
covered under the Medicaid program in the state plan (receipt of a "waiver" allows 
a state to waive certain federal Medicaid rules governing institutional care). 

The purpose of these waivers is to help people remain in their homes and 
communities, rather than be institutionalized. These waivers allow Minnesota: 
( 1 )  an alternative to placing Medicaid-eligible individuals in hospitals, nursing 
facilities, or ICF /DDs; and (2) to provide services that are not covered or are 

. limited under the traditional Medicaid program. 

In order to participate in and receive federal reimbursement for home- and 
community-based Medicaid expenditures, states must make special application to 
the federal Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), seeking approval 
for each home- and community-based waiver program. Each state must assure 
DHHS that it will protect each consumer's  health and welfare, and assure the 
consumer' s right to choose HCBS or services in an institutional setting. 

The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) oversees the waivers and 
the distribution of funding to counties. The counties administer the waiver 
programs and develop individualized service plans with recipients. 



What are the 
eligibility 
requirements for an 
individual to receive 
waivered services? 

How many people 
receive services 
through 
Minnesota 's HCBS 
waivers? 

In order to receive services under one of the home- and community-based waiver 
programs, an individual must be MA-eligible and choose to receive services in the 
community. Each waiver program also has additional criteria to be .eligible for 
services, such as meeting the specified level of care requirement and having an 
assessed :µ.eed for supports and services over and above those available through the 
MA state plan. 

Waiver Pro2ram Recipients in 2016 Recipients in 2017 (est.) 
DD waiver 1 7,488 19,005 
CAC waiver 494 549 
CADi waiver 24,0 12 28, 1 52 
Bl waiver 1 ,42 1 1 ,404 
Elderly waiver 32,2 1 1 34,573 

Source: Minnesota Department of Human Services, Background Data Tables for End-
of-Session 2017 Forecast 

How are the HCBS As with Minnesota' s other Medicaid services, the waiver programs receive half of 
waivers funded? their funding from the federal government and half from the state general fund. 

What are some 
potential legislative 
issues? 

States must assure that the expenditures under the home- and community-based 
waiver program, on average, will not exceed the cost of care for the identical 
population if they would have been in an institution. 

2017 2017 Avg. 
Waiver 2016 2016 Avg. Expenditures Cost/Recipient 

Pro2ram Expenditures Cost/Recipient (est.) (est.) 
DD waiver $ 1 ,232,746,086 $70,49 1 $ 1 ,294,875,564 $68, 132 
CAC waiver 32,257,45 1 65,298 36,374,235 66,305 
CADI waiver 721 ,435 , 197 30,045 836,409,696 29,7 10  
BI  waiver 1 00,652,385 70,832 1 02,959,293 73,3 17 
Elderly 
waiver* 356,425, 122 13 ,636  324,848, 128 1 1 ,477 

Source: Minnesota Department of Human Services, Background Data Tables for End-of-Session 
2017 Forecast 
* Managed care only, ·does not include fee-for-service 

The 201 7  Legislature directed DHS to conduct a study on consolidating the four 
disability HCBS waivers into one p�ogram. DHS must make recommendations to 
the legislature by January 1 5, 20 19. 

The 201 7 Legislature directed the Revisor' s Office and others to prepare 
legislation for the 201 8  legislative session to recodify laws governing the elderly 
waiver program. 

The Legislative Auditor' s  Office published an evaluation ofHCBS financial 
oversight in February 20 16. Some of the recommendations included in the report 
were enacted in 20 17, but some recommendations related to documentation of 
services provided were not. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell A. Punelli at 65 1 -296-5058. See also the House 
Research publication Medicaid Home- and Community-Based Waiver Programs, October 20 16. 
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Minnesota Building Code 

The building code is a collection of state laws and rules that apply a uniform set of standards to the 
construction and modification of buildings in order to enhance safety, energy efficiency, and accessibility. 

What is the state 
building_ code? 

Who administers 
and enforces the 
building code? 

How is the code 
changed? 

Under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.121, the Minnesota Building Code, or the 
code, is the "standard that applies statewide for the construction, reconstruction, 
alteration and repair of buildings and other structures." It is the same throughout 
Minnesota and supersedes any county or municipal rules. 

While there is a single state building code, it is composed of many smaller codes 
each focused on a particular technical area or type of structure, such as plumbing, 
electrical, elevators, accessibility, energy, or residences. A list of all of these codes 
is available on the Department of Labor and Industry website, 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/codes 15 .asp. 

Most of the language of the code comes directly from national and international 
standards, such as the International Building Code, that are incorporated in whole 
or in part into the Minnesota Building Code via rulemaking. 

The code is administered by the state Department of Labor and_ Industry's  (DOLI) 
Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD) in conjunction with cities, 
townships, and counties throughout the state. 

For public buildings, state-licensed facilities, and places of public accommodation, 
state officials at DOLI enforce the code or delegate enforcement to local building 
officials. For definitions of these types of buildings see Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 326B.103, subdivisions 11 and 13, and 326B.108. 

For other types of buildings in counties and municipalities where the code has been 
formally adopted, enforcement is done by local building officials. For details on 
code enforcement in a specific area, see DOLI's code enforcement database, 
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction/. 

For other types of buildings in jurisdictions that have not formally adopted the 
code, there may be no government entity actively monitoring code enforcement. 
Nevertheless, the code still applies to buildings in these areas. Further, compliance 
may be required by contracts with lending institutions or insurance providers. 

The code is modified regularly by DOLI, after consultation with committees of 
technical experts, in conjunction with semi-annual updates to national and 
international standards. The code may also be amended by the legislature. 

Members of the public may propose code changes to DOLI using the form 
provided on the DOLI website, http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/rm/doc/change.doc. 



How can the 
legislature affect 
the code? 

Does the code apply 
to agricultural 
buildings? 

Does the state 
building code 
include the state fire 
code? 

Where can people 
find a copy of the 
building code? 

. Who can answer 
code questions? 

The legislature can write laws that alter the code, either by adding new regulations 
or by changing how the existing code� will apply within Minnesota. For instance, 
because of legislative action, state law directs that the code cover several broad 
areas including elevators, electricity, plumbing, accessibility, manufactured homes, 
prefabricated homes, and industrialized and modular buildings. 

Examples of recent legislative changes to the code include laws affecting the rules 
that apply to fire sprinklers, smoke detection, automatic garage door openers, 
radon control, and window fall prevention. 

Agricultural buildings generally are not covered by the code. Agricultural 
buildings are those used only for agricultural purposes and situated on agricultural 
land. For more detailed information on exempt agricultural buildings, see 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.103, subdivision 3, and 273.13, subdivision 23. 

The State Fire Code is a separate set of standards. The Minnesota Department of 
Public Safety (DPS) and the State Fire Marshal administer the State Fire Code. For 
additional information about the State Fire Code see the DPS website, 
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/sfm/fire-code/Pages/default.aspx. 

The DOLI website provides free digital copies of all parts of the state building 
code, as well as links for purchasing code books and to helpful fact sheets, 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/codes15.asp. 

If people have questions about how the code might apply to a specific situation, the 
best sources for interpretation are local building officials or the CCLD. 

Contact information for local officials can be found in this database from DOLI, 
http://workplace.do li. state.mn. us/jurisdiction/. 

The CCLD's list of contact numbers by topic of question may be found on the 
DOLI website, http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/PDF/topic.pdf. 

For m9re information: Contact legislative analyst Anna Scholin at anna.scholin@house.mn. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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The current 
formula was 
enacted in 2013 

Updated: November 2017 

The City LGA Program 

The city local government aid (LGA) program has existed since 1972. The current 
formula for the program was enacted in 2013. The new formula addresses a 
number of criticisms of the previous formula, such as complexity, volatility, and 
amount of aid distributed "off-formula." The formula calculates increases and 
decreases in each city's aid based on the gap between its "unmet need" and its 
current aid level. Cities with large gaps will get larger aid increases, and cities 
whose aid is more than their current "unmet need" will gradually lose aid over 
time. The only major change to the formula since 2013 was the addition of a 
sparsity adjustment in 2017 to the small and medium city need measures. 

Virtually all of the The city LGA appropriation is $519 .4 million for aids payable in 2016 and 2017 
LGA appropriation and $534.4 million for aids payable in 2018 and thereafter. Beginning with aids 
is distributed via the payable in 2015, only $310,000 is distributed as nonformula aid. Prior to 2014, 
formula $24 million was distributed to various cities outside of the formula. 

There are three 
need formulas for 
cities-based on a 
city 's size 

A city's aid changes 
based on 

· differences between 
its unmet need and 
its previous aid 

Annual aid 
fluctuations will be 
minimized 

The measure of a city's "need" depends on its population: 
• For small cities (population less than 2,500): need per capita is based solely 

on the city's population, including a sparsity adjustment 
• For medium-size cities (population between 2,500 and 10,000): need per 

capita is based on (1) percent of housing built before 1940, (2) household size, 
(�) population decline from a city's peak population in the last 40 years, and 
(4) a sparsity adjustment 

• For large cities (population over 10,000): need per capita is determined by 
(1) jobs per capita, (2) age of housing stock (both housing builtbefore 1940 
and housing built between 1940 and 1970), and (3) a sparsity adjustment for 
cities with a population less than 150 per square mile 

Each city's unmet need is equal to the difference between (1) its need per capita 
multiplied by its population, and (2) its equalized net tax capacity multiplied by the 
average tax rate for all cities in the previous year. If the city's "unmet need" is 
greater than the amount of aid it received in the previous year, its aid will increase. 
The increase equals a percentage of the gap between the_ city's unmet need and its 
previous aid amount. The percentage is the same for all cities and depends heavily 
on annual appropriation increases. For aid payable in 2018, this percentage is 5.5. 

If a city's aid in the previous year is greater than its unmet need, its aid will 
decrease; either to the unmet need amount or by the maximum allowed annual 
decrease ( see next page). 

A city whose current aid is far below its "unmet need" measure will see larger 
dollar increases tp.an a city whose aid is close to its "unmet need." Over time all 
cities will gradually move toward receiving aid equal to their unmet need amount. 
Because aid is based on each city's need rather than on changes in need for all 
cities, payments to individual cities will be more stable. 



Funding level 

Nonformula aid 

"Formula need"1 

"Unmet need" 

Formula aid 

Final aid 

Limits on annual 
decreases 

Characteristics of the Current LGA Program 

$5 19.4 million in Payable 20 17, $534.4 million thereafter 

• Warroad - $ 1 50,000/year for five years 
• Mahnomen -:- $ 160,000/year permanently 

For cities with a population of less than 2,500: 
Need per capita = $41 0  + .0367 x 

(city population - 100) up to a maximum of $630 + (200 if the city population 
density is less than 30 persons/sq. mile) 

For cities with a population of at least 2,500 but less than 10,000: 
Need per capita = 1 . 1 5  x 

{$572.62 + (5 .026 x percent of housing built before 1940) -
(53 .768 x average household size) + (14.022 x population decline from the 
city's  peak census population) + (200- if the city population density is less than 
30  persons/sq. mile)} 

For cities with a population of 1 0,000 or more: 
Need per capita = 1 . 1 5  x 

{307.664 + ( 4.59 x percent of housing built before 1940) 
(0.622 x percent of housing built between 1940- and 1970) + 
+ ( 1 69.4 15  xjobs per capita in city) 
+ ( 100 if the city population density is less than 150  person/sq. mile)} 

= ("Formula need" x population) - (city net tax capacity x average city tax rate) 

For cities whose unmet need is less than its previous year aid: 
Formula aid = "Unmet Need" 

For cities whose unmet 11-eed is greater than its previous year aid: 
Formula aid = last year's formula aid + X¾ of the difference between its "unmet 
need" and its aid in the previous year 

= Formula aid + nonformula aid; subject to the maximum annual decrease 

No city's aid can decrease from the previous year' s amount by more than an amount 
equal to the lesser of: 

• $ 1 0  multiplied by the city population; or 
• 5% of the city's levy in the previous year 

1 To avoid sudden changes in city formula need measures, a city with a population between 2,500 and 3,000 or between 10,000 
and 10,500, has a formula need based partially on the formula for its current size and partially on the formula for the cities of the 
next smaller size. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, legal, 
and information services to the entire House. 
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Motor vehicle leases 
are subject to the 
6. 875 percent 
general sales tax 

Most short-term 
leases are also 
subject to an 
additional 9.2 
percent tax and 5 
percent fee 

Vehicles rented 
from a nonprofit 
car-sharing 
company are 
exemptfrom the 
extra tax and fee 

The total sales tax is 
due upfront on most 
long-term motor 
vehicle leases 

November 2017 

Taxation of Motor Vehicle Leases 

While the sale of a motor vehicle is subject to the 6.5 percent motor vehicle sales 
tax imposed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 297B, the lease of a motor vehicle 
is subject to the general sales tax of 6.875 percent imposed under Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 297 A. (The general sales tax is a 6.5 percent tax, plus an 
additional 0.375 percent imposed under the state constitution until July I ,  2034.) 
The general sales tax is imposed on all motor vehicle leases regardless of duration. 
There are also some additional taxes and fees imposed on short-term leases of 
certain motor vehicles under the general sales tax chapter. The timing of the 
payment of the sales tax depends on the length of the motor vehicle lease. 

Short-term rentals of 28 days or less of passenger motor vehicles are subject to a 
tax of 9.2 percent in addition to the general 6.875 percent tax. They are also 
subject to a fee of 5 percent. (A lessor with no more than 20 vehicles for lease and 
no more than $50,000 in gross receipts in the previous calendar year may opt out 
of charging the 5 percent fee.) Motor vehicles subject to this tax and fee include 
automobiles, passenger vans with a carrying capacity of three-fourths of a ton or 
less, and pickup trucks with a carrying capacity of no more than three-fourths tons 
or a gross vehicle weight of less than I 0,000 pounds. It does not apply to a 
taxicab, hearse or limousine used for funerals, or cargo vans. The total taxes plus 
fees on a short-term lease is 21.075 percent of the lease price. 

A nonprofit corporation that runs a short-term vehicle rental service for members 
only (often known as a car-sharing company) is exempt from the additional tax and 
fee on short-term motor vehicle leases provided that: 

• the charge to members is priced based on intervals of one hour or less, and 
the rate does not decline with increased use (measured by time or distance); 

• vehicles are parked at unstaffed self-service spots that are accessible 24 
hours a day; and 

• the nonprofit corporation insures the vehicle on the members' behalf, and 
pays for all fuel. 

Afar-profit car-sharing company is still subject to the additional short-term tax 
and fee. 

Generally the sales tax on a leased item is due incrementally at the time of each 
lease payment. However the total sales tax owed over the entire lease agreement is 
due at the time that the lease is executed for long-term leases of most motor 
vehicles. This upfront sales tax payment does not apply to a motor vehicle lease if: 

• the lease agreement is for 28 days or less; or 



• the motor vehicle has a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating of more 
than 10,000 pounds (this excludes large commercial vehicles). 

The state receives the revenue at the time of the lease agreement, either because the 
lessee pays the tax when the lease is executed or the lessor pays the tax at the time 
of the agreement and builds the amount of the tax into the periodic lease payments. 

Most sales tax 
revenue on motor 
vehicle leases goes 
to dedicated funds 

Most of the sales taxes imposed on long- and short-term motor vehicle leases goes 
to dedicated transportation funds. The exceptions are the sales tax ·paid on 
primarily commercial motor vehicle leases that are not subject to either the extra 
short-term lease tax and fee or the upfront sales tax payment requirement, and the 
revenue from the extra 0.375 percent general tax that is constitutionally dedicated 
to other funds. As indicated below the short-term lease fee mainly remains with 
the lessor. 

Distribution of Taxes and Fees Im osed on Motor Vehicle Leases 

6. 5% general tax For revenues from vehicles leases subject to the upfront sales 
tax payment: 
• 3 8% to the county state-aid highway fund 
• 3 8% to the greater Minnesota transit account 
• 1 3  % to the Minnesota state transportation fund 
• 1 1  % to the highway user tax distribution fund (HUTDF) 

For revenues from vehicles leases subject to the extra short­
term tax and fee: 
• 1 00% to the HUTDF 

For revenues on all other motor vehicle leases: 
• 1 00% to the eneral fund 

0 .375% additional All revenue is allocated as follows: 
general tax • 33% to the outdoor heritage fund 

• .33% to the clean water fund 
• 1 4.25% to the parks and trails fund 
• 1 9 .75% to the arts and cultural heritage fund 

9 .2% short-term lease 1 00% to the HUTDF 
tax 
5 .0% short-term fee The lessor of the vehicle retains the fee to cover the motor 

vehicle registration fee on the leased vehicle; any fee collected 
in excess of that amount is remitted to the state with 1 00% going 
to the HUTDF 

$94.5 million 

$17 .2 million 

Not available 

$5.4 millfon 

$24.4 million 

$2.0 million 
(Amount transferred 

to the HUTDF) 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Pat Dalton at 651-296-4472. Also see the House 
Research publication Motor Vehicle Sales Tax, February 2016. 
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Food Safety System: An Overview 

This short subject describes state laws and activities that protect Minnesota's  food supply from 
contamination by filth, vermin, disease-causing bacteria or viruses, or other adulterants. The state food safety 
system includes activities that identify foods and beverages responsible for foodbome illness outbreaks. 

What is the state 's 
role? 

State law requires licensing and periodic inspection of many participants in the 
commercial food industry. This includes most food manufacturers, processors, 
distributors, transporters, and retailers. Licensing requirements, food-handling and 
facility-sanitation standards, and inspection frequency vary based on the type of 
food operation and the perceived level of risk posed to public health. The state also 
has a role in monitoring, detecting, and investigating foodbome illness. 

Which state 
agencies are 
involved? 

Agency 
Minnesota 
Department of 
Agriculture 
(MDA) 

Minnesota 
Department of 
Health (MD H) 

The Departments of Agriculture and Health share primary responsibility for 
administering the state's food safety laws. Both agencies enforce the state food 
code (Minn. Rules, ch. 4626). Each agency's jurisdiction is established in law and 
summarized in the table below. A food business that prepares and serves food 
under the jurisdiction of both agencies is licensed by the agency responsible for the 
majority of the entity's business. 

Agencies Responsible for Food Safety 
Role 

MDA l icenses and inspects food manufacturers, 
wholesalers, transporters, and retailers. Inspectors 
enforce state standards relating to food quality, 
condition, labeling, and advertising as wel l  as the 
sanitation of premises, equipment, and vehicles used in 
the sale, storage, or distribution of foods and beverages. 

MDA also investigates complaints regarding 
questionable food products or sales practices, 
participates in foodbome i llness investigations involving 
MDA-regulated facilities, and educates regulated entities 
and citizens about safe food-handling practices. 
MDH l icenses and inspects food service entities and 
provides food safety information to the public and 
industry via its website, an interactive education 
program, and professional development courses. 

MDH also tracks and monitors foodborne illness through 
di sease outbreak detection activities, including active lab 
surveil lance for reportable diseases, uti l ization of the 
Minnesota Foodbome and Waterborne Il lness Hotline, 
and inspection of identified facil ities to ensure safe food 
hand l ing. 

Regulated Entities 
Grocery stores; bakeries; 
convenience stores; meat or 
poultry processors; egg handlers; 
dairy farms, processing plants, 
and haulers; food manufacturers; 
vending machines; food del ivery 
vehicles; fair stands; certain 
mobile food units ( depending on 
menu); wholesale food 
distributors; and feed mills 

Cafes; restaurants; bars and 
lounges; bed and breakfasts; 
hotels; motels; resorts; delis; 
caterers; workplace and school 
cafeterias; coffee shops; clubs; 
concession stands; conference 
centers; food carts; certain  
mobi le food un its (depending on 
menu); and special event food 
stands 



What role do other 
levels of 
government play? 

How are food safety 
activities funded? 

How frequently are 
food establishments 
inspected? 

Are there any 
· constraints on state 
food safety policy? 

How arefoodborne 
illness outbreaks 
detected in 
Minnesota? 

Many Minnesota laws are based on federal food safety laws, model codes, and 
national facility, equipment, and sanitation standards. In fact, several federal laws 
and interstate standards are explicitly incorporated in state law. Federal regulators 
also have a physical presence in the state. As required by federal law, inspectors 
with the U.S .  Department of Agriculture (USDA) examine all meat, poultry, and 
related products produced in Minnesota that may be sold in other states. In 
addition, state employees inspect small meat and poultry processors and other food 
businesses under agreements with the USDA or the Food and Drug Administration 
(FDA) within the U.S .  Department of Health and Human Services. Additionally, 
the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) coordinates the national 
foodborne illness surveillance network and provides funding to ensure state 
participation. 

Both MDA and MDH exercise statutory authority to delegate certain retail facility 
licensing and inspection activities to eligible, participating local units of 
government. For example, some larger cities carry out their own restaurant 
licensing and inspection programs under agreements with MDH. 

Activities at both MDA and MDH are funded by a combination of fees paid by 
regulated entities, federal funds, and state general fund appropriations. The relative 
importance of each source varies significantly by program. 

The frequency of inspection depends upon the type of operation as well as the 
food-handling methods employed at the site. For example, federal law and USDA 
cooperative agreements require MDA inspectors to be present whenever small, 
intrastate operations are slaughtering livestock or producing meat or poultry 
products for sale. MDA and MDH--or a local entity under a delegation 
agreement-inspect other regulated entities once a year, once every 1 8  months, or 
once every 24 months, depending on the operation' s risk to public health. 

Yes. Federal laws, delegation agreements, and interstate food safety ordinances 
that provide for a degree of uniformity across the nation effectively limit state food 
safety policymaking in certain areas. 

MDH detects foodborne illness outbreaks by utilizing mandatory reporting of 
communicable diseases, reports made to the Minnesota Foodborne and Waterborne 
Illness Hotline, emails to a dedicated reporting address, and reports to the 
Foodborne and Waterborne Illness Report (an online survey). Reported cases 
confirmed by MDH are quickly investigated to identify potential sources of illness. 
Once a source is identified, the regulatory divisions of MDA and MDH are 
notified in order to address the food item of concern and to identify and correct 
food-handling practices that led to contamination. 

For more information: For licensing questions, food-handling guidance, foodborne illness concerns, or 
other related matters, contact the Minnesota Department of Agriculture at 1 -800-967-AGRI or the 
Minnesota Department of Health at 65 1 -20 1 -4500. For legislative matters, contact legislative analyst 
Elisabeth Klarqvist (public health) at 65 1 -296-5043 or Colbey Sullivan (agriculture) at 65 1 -296-5047. 
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Medical Assistance Estate Recovery and Liens 

The Medical Assistance (MA) program is Minnesota's Medicaid program, providing assistance for basic 
health care services for low-income individuals. Federal and state law require the Department of Human 
Services (DHS) and local county or tribal agencies to recover costs that MA paid for specified health care 
services provided to certain enrollees, through estate recovery processes. Minnesota recently enacted 
changes to limit some MA estate recoveries. MA estate recovery is governed by federal law and Minnesota 
Statutes, section 256B.15. 

What costs are 
recovered? 

To which estate 
claims do the new 
limitations apply? 

How do DHS and 
local agencies 
recover the costs? 

Are there 
protections for 
surviving spouses 
and children? 

For MA enrollees receiving services at age 55 or older, local agencies will now 
recover only the costs of long-term services_ and supports received by a deceased 
enrollee. Costs for these services received prior to age 55 are not subject to estate 
recovery. Long-term services and supports include: 

• nursing facility services; 
• home and community-based services; 
• personal care assistance; and 
• hospital and prescription drug services received along with nursing facility 

and home and ·community-based services. 

If a person at any age received General Assistance Medical Care ( GAMC) or MA 
services while permanently residing in a medical institution (including a nursing 
home), all MA and GAMC service costs may be recovered from their estate upon 
death. The GAMC program ended in 2011. 

MA estate recovery for only the costs of long-term services and supports applies to 
estate claims pending on or after July 1, 2016, or to estates· of people who die on or 
after July 1, 2016. Previous estate claims were subject to estate recovery for the 
costs of all MA services provided to enrollees at or after age 5 5. 

· Local agencies assert an MA claim against an enrollee's estate after requesting a 
claims history report from DHS and determining the final claim amount. The 
process for filing a claim depends on how the estate's property is distributed. There 
is no statute of limitations for when local agencies may file MA claims. 

DHS does not directly recover from estates, but asserts liens against real property 
to collect MA costs, if necessary. DHS only asserts liens if an enrollee permanently 
resides in a medical institution, or after an enrollee's death. 

If a deceased enrollee is survived by a spouse or a child who is under 21 years old, 
blind, or permanently disabled, local agencies will delay estate recovery and the 
spouse or qualifying child will inherit. After the spouse dies or a child no longer 
qualifies, local agencies will attempt to recover costs for the deceased enrollee's 
care from the spouse's estate. 



How are funeral 
expenses affected? 

How arefunds in 
trusts treated? 

DHS cannot file a real property lien on a property that is the enrollee's spouse's or 
qualifying child's home. 

Undue hardship waivers may be granted when an MA claim can only be satisfied 
by the sale of a particular estate asset and the following is true: 

1) the waiver applicant ( other than surviving spouse) has continuously 
occupied the property since at least 180 days before the MA enrollee's 
death, and will continue to do so; 

2) the waiver applicant had an ownership interest in the real property and 
continues to have an interest; or 

3) the waiver applicant uses the property to produce income in a trade, 
profession, or ·occupation. 

Reasonable funeral expenses are paid from a deceased enrollee's  estate before a 
local agency can recover MA costs. According to DHS guidelines, reasonable 
funeral and funeral-related costs include the following: 

• Up to two death certificates 
• Expenses for cremation or embalming, clothing, and the lowest-cost casket 
• Ground transportation of the body 
• -Costs of internment in a cemetery plot or vault, including lowest-cost grave 

marker and engraving 
• One public visitation service,- funeral service, or grave site service, 

including fees for one officiant and one musician or vocalist 
• One 24-line obituary, without a photo, for one day 

Funeral expenses not paid before a local agency may recover MA costs include: 
family travel and lodging; flowers; food and beverages; clothing; police escort; 
stationery; and charitable donations. 

Any funds in a prepaid burial trust or life insurance policy intended to pay funeral 
expenses will be distributed for those expenses and are not subject to MA 
recovery. After funeral expenses are paid, any funds remaining in the trust or · 
policy are distributed to the estate and are then subject to MA recovery. If funeral 
expenses exceed the amount in the trust or policy, reasonable funeral expenses are 
paid from the estate before a local agency may recover MA costs. 

If a deceased enrollee has a special needs trust or pooled trust, the OHS Special 
Recovery Unit works with the trust administrator to determine which funeral 
expenses will be allowed prior to MA recovery. Minnesota law does not prioritize 
reasonable funeral expenses before MA claims for these trusts. 

For more information: Private attorneys or legal aid organizations can answer questions and provide 
planning assistance. For legislative issues, contact legislative analyst Sarah Sunderman at 651-296-8079. 
See also the House Research Department publication, Medical Assistance, November 2016. 
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Revenue recapture 
allows state and 
some local 
governments to 
collect debts by 
intercepting tax 
refunds 

A variety of debts 
qualify for 
collection using 
recapture 

Some types of 
refunds are subject 
to recapture 

The claimant must 
notify debtor about 
revenue recapture 

Revenue Recapture Program 

Revenue recapture authorizes the Department of Revenue (DOR) to intercept or 
offset part or all of a state tax refund or other payment to collect a debt that the 
taxpayer owes to a government agency or other authorized creditor. The 
following agencies may use the Revenue Recapture Program: 

• State agencies 
• University of Minnesota 
• Minnesota district courts 
• Counties 
• Cities, including for public library debts 
• Governmentally owned hospitals and Regions Hospital 
• Agencies responsible for child support enforcement 
• Agencies that administer low-income housing programs 
• Licensed ambulance services 

The debt (minimum amount of $25) must be owed to or collectable by one of the 
qualifying governmental agencies. The debtor must be an individual; the law 
does not apply to corporations. The creditor does not need to obtain a court 
judgment or order to enforce the debt. Qualifying debts include the following: 

• Contractual or statutory obligations 
• Criminal fines and fines for petty misdemeanors 
• Court-ordered restitution for a crime 
• Child support obligations 
• Overpayment of public assistance 
• Unpaid MinnesotaCare insurance premiums 

Obligations of low-income individuals (incomes between $12,620 and $23,8401 

for care provided in 2016, depending upon family size) to repay debts for 
medical care, including hospitalization, cannot be recaptured. Debts barred by 
the statute of limitations also cannot be recaptured. 

Tax refunds are applied first to unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties before 
revenue recapture takes effect to offset qualifying debts. 

Revenue recapture applies to the following: 
• Individual income tax refunds 
• Property tax refunds 
• Sustainable forest incentive payments 
• Lottery prizes · 

Under revenue recapture, a claimant ( creditor) agency submits the claim (debt) 
to DOR for offset. Within five days after doing so, it must notify the debtor­
taxpayer in writing of the debt(s) that will be subject to revenue recapture. The 
taxpayer then has 45 days to request a hearing, which the claimant agency 



Child support has 
first priority for 
collection 

A $15 
administrative fee 
applies 

Over $66 million 
was recaptured in 
2016 

initiates; the hearing is conducted as a contested case under the Administrative 
Procedures Act. 

When more than one debt is submitted, the debts are applied in the following 
order of priority: 

• Child support obligations 
• Restitution obligations 
• Claims submitted for a hospital or ambulance service 
• Other debts based on the order in which DOR received the claims 

DOR accounts receivable (e.g., unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties) are offset 
before claims under revenue recapture. 

A fee of $15 per claim is first deducted from the refund, . and the claimant agency 
receives the balance of the refund or the claim amount, whichever is less. Of 
this $15, $4 is set aside in a dedicated, revolving fund to pay DOR's cost of 
operating the program; the rest goes to the state's general fund. 

The table to the right shows the number 
of revenue recapture offsets and amount 
of refunds offset for calendar years 2012 
to 2016. 

The graph below shows the percentage 
of revenue recapture amounts and tax 
debts offset for calendar years 2012 to 
2016 by four of the major types of debts 
for which the law sets priorities. 

Revenue Recapture Amounts 
CY2012-2016 

Number of Amount of 
Offsets Recapture 

2012 23 1 ,085 $71 ,699,789 
2013 228,262 $67,983 , 144 
2014 238, 1 54 $68,557,048 
2015 225,722 $68,203 ,645 
2016 2 14,030 $66,433 ,954 
· Data exclude offsets to satis_fy federal 
debts and taxes, and for unpaid state taxes. 
In 2016, $16,998,209 in federal debt and 
taxes was offset, and there were 91,530 
offsets for $30,612,243 in unpaid state 
taxes. 
Source: DOR 

Revenue Recapture 
and State Tax 

Offset Amounts 
CY2012-2016 

Child Support 12. 1  % 

Unpaid MN Taxes 32.8% 

General, including hospital 
and ambulance 

54.4% 

For more information: See www.revenue.state.rnn.us/collections/P�ges/Revenue_Recapture.aspx for more 
information, or contact the Department of Revenue at 651-556-3037; or email at 
revenue.recapture@state.mn. us. 
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MinnesotaCare: An Overview 

MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DRS) under federal 
guidance as a Basic Health Program that provides subsidized health care coverage to low-income 
individuals. DRS, in cooperation with MNsure, the state's health insurance exchange, is responsible for 
processing applications and determining eligibility. 

Eligibility 

Covered services 

Most MinnesotaCare enrollees are parents and caretakers, children ages 19 to 
20, and adults without children. 

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, an individual must meet the following 
criteria: 

• Have gross income that is greater than 13 3 percent of the federal poverty 
guidelines (FPG) ($16,039 for a household of one) but does not exceed 
200 percent of FPG ($24, 120 for a household of one). Exceptions to the 
income floor are made for certain children under age 19 and legal 
noncitizens, who are not eligible for MA. 

• Not be eligible for Medical Assistance (MA). This requirement has the 
effect of shifting the vast majority of pregnant women and children from 
MinnesotaCare to MA. 

• Not have access to subsidized health coverage that, as defined in the 
federal Affordable Care Act (ACA), is affordable (the employee pays no 
more than 9.56 percent of income for self-only coverage for 2018) and 
provides minimum value (pays for at least 60 percent of medical expenses 
on average). 

• Not have minimum essential health coverage (defined in the ACA as 
coverage under Medicare, Medicaid and other government programs, 
employer-sponsored coverage, individual market coverage, and other 
specified coverage). 

• Be a resident of Minnesota. Enrollees must meet the residency 
requirements of the MA program. 

Enrollees age 21 and over are covered for most, but not all, services covered 
under MA. Covered services include physician care, hospitalization, prescription 
drugs, therapy services, and a wide range of other health care services. Services 
not covered include personal care attendant services, private duty nursing, 
nursing home care, ICF/DD (intermediate care facility for persons with 
developmental disabilities), and special transportation services. 

Children ages 19  and 20, and certain children under age 19, receive coverage for 
a broader range of services than adults. 
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Enrollees age 21 and older pay monthly, per-person premiums based on a sliding 
scale. Persons under age 21, and persons with incomes less than 35 percent of 
FPO, are not charged premiums. Adult enrollees are subject to copayments and 
other cost-sharing for specified services. 

Enrollees receive health care services through prepaid health plans. The 
MinnesotaCare program pays prepaid health plans a monthly capitation payment 
for each MinnesotaCare enrollee. MinnesotaCare does not set provider 
reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation between 
health care providers and the prepaid health plan. 

Under the ACA, states have the option of operating a basic health program to 
provide health coverage to persons with incomes greater than 133 percent but 
not exceeding 200 percent of FPO. The 2013 Legislature directed DHS to seek 
federal approval to operate MinnesotaCare as a basic health program. Federal 
approval was received December 15, 2014, and implementation began January 
1, 2015. The legislature also made changes in MinnesotaCare eligibility, covered 
services, and service delivery necessary to meet federal requirements for a basic 
health program; many of these changes took effect January 1, 2014. 

In fiscal year 2016, the MinnesotaCare program paid $479.9 million for medical 
services provided to enrollees. About 24 percent of this cost was paid for by the 
state, 70 percent by the federal government, and 6·percent by enrollees through 
premium payments (this last category also includes enrollee cost-sharing). 

Through 2014, the state received federal funding at the MA match rate for health 
care services provided to enrollees under a federal waiver. Since January 1, 
2015, the state has received froni the federal government a basic health program 
payment for each enrollee equal to 95 percent of the subsidy that the individual 
would have otherwise tecei ved through MN s·ure. 

State funding for MinnesotaCare and other health care access initiatives is 
provided by a tax of 2 percent on the gross revenues of health care providers and 
a tax of 1 percent on the premiums of nonprofit health plan companies. The tax 
on health care provider revenues is scheduled to sunset January 1, 2020. Prior to 
that date, the Commissioner of Management and Budget is required to reduce 
the rate of the tax on health care provider revenues if certain financial criteria 
are met. 

As of August 2017, 92,421 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare 
program. 

MinnesotaCare applications can be obtained by calling the Department of 
Human Services (1 -800-657-3672) or MNsure, the state's health insurance 
exchange (1-855-366-7873). Applications are also available at county human 
services agencies and other locations. 

For more information: See the House Research information brief MinnesotaCare. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Medical Assistance: An Overview 

Medical Assistance (MA), the state's Medicaid program, is a federal-state program that pays for healt� 
care services for low-income individuals. The program is administered by counties, under the 
supervision of the state Department of Human Services (DHS). Federal Medicaid law allows states 
considerable flexibility in designing their Medicaid programs. 

Eligibility To be eligible for MA, an individual must meet the following criteria: 
• Be a member of a group for which MA coverage is mandatory under 

federal law or a member of an optional group that the state has chosen to 
cover. Covered groups include families, children, pregnant women, the 
elderly, persons with disabilities, and adults without children. 

• Meet program income and any applicable asset limits. Certain types·of 
income and specified assets are excluded when determining eligibility. 
Income and asset limits for selected groups are described below. 

• Be a U.S. citizen or a noncitizen who meets specified immigration 
criteria. 

• Be .a resident of Minnesota. 
• Meet other program eligibility requirements. 

Net income limit, as % of federal 
Eligibility group poverty guidelines (FPG) 

Children < age 2 283 

Children 2 through 18 275 

Children 19 through 20 133 

Pregnant women 278 

Parents and caretakers 133 

Age 65 or older, blind, or 100 
have a disability 

Adults without children 133 

Asset limit* 

None 

None 

None · 

None 

None, unless on 
spenddown 

$3,000 for one/$6,000 for 
two/$200 each additional 

None 

* The homestead, household goods, a vehicle, a burial plot and certain assets for burial expenses, 
and other specified items are not counted as assets. 

Some individuals with incomes over these limits can also qualify for MA 
through a spenddown. Under a spenddown, an individual must incur medical 
bills in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount by which the 
individual's income exceeds the spenddown limit of 133 percent of FPG for 
families and children and 80 percent of FPG for individuals who are age 65 or 
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older, blind, or have a disability. There is no spenddown for adults without 
children. 

Minnesota provides all federally mandated services and most services 
designated by the federal Medicaid program as optional. These services include, 
but are not limited to: physician care, hospitalization, therapy and rehabilitation, 
dental, medical equipment and supplies, home health care, health clinic services, 
mental health, prescription drugs, medical transportation, nursing home, and 
intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities (ICF/DD) 
services. Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to copayments for 
certain services. 

The state has also received federal approval to provide home and community­
based "waivered services" not normally covered by Medicaid that are intended 
to allow individuals to remain in the community, rather than reside in a hospital, 
nursing home, or intermediate care facility for persons with development 
disabilities (ICF /DD). 

The MA program reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service system and 
a managed care system ( composed of the Prepaid Medical Assistance Program 
or PMAP, county-based purchasing initiatives, and programs for the elderly and 
persons with disabilities). In recent years. DHS has used competitive bidding to 
select managed care and county-based purchasing plans to deliver services to 
MA enrollees who are families and children. 

In state fiscal year 2016, total state and federal MA expenditures for services 
were $11.192 billion. The federal share of MA costs is determined by a formula 
based on state. per capita income. In most fiscal years, the federal government 
has paid 50 percent of the cost of MA services, with Minnesota responsible for 
the remaining 50 percent. The federal government is providing an enhanced 
federal match, initially 100 percent of the cost of services and phasing down to 
90 percent, for services provided to adults without children. 

During state fiscal year 2016, an average of 1,079,407 individuals were eligible 
for MA services each month. As of July 2017, 846,115 MA recipients received 
services through the MA managed care system, with the remaining enrollees 
served through fee-for-service. 

Individuals interested in applying for MA should contact their county human 
services agency or MNsure, the state's  health insurance exchange. 

For more information: See the House Research information brief Medical Assistance. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 551 55 I 651 -296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Major State Aids and Taxes: An Overview of the 2014 Update 

This provides a brief overview of the report Major State Aids and Taxes: A Comparative Analysis, 2014 
Update, which highlights major aids provided to the local governments and people in Minnesota and lists 
the major taxes collected. The per capita amounts were calculated using 2013 population. Some aids are 
presented on a different basis in other settings ( e.g., per pupil for education aid); however, in the report 
they are presented on a per capita basis to allow comparison of different aids. 

STATE AIDS 
Program Year Amount (millions) Per Capita 
Education aid 20 13/20 14 $7,901 .2 State $1,449 State 

Aid paid to school districts for all K-12 educational (school $4,509 .6  Metro $ 1 ,5 14 Metro 
year) $3,39 1 .6 Nonmetro $ 1 ,3 7 1  Nonmetro expenses 

Human services aid 20 14 $5,737.9 State $1,052 State 

State 's share of human services aid for various income $3 ,249.7 Metro $ 1 ,09 1 Metro 

and medical assistance programs $2,488 .0 Nonmetro $ 1 ,006 N onmetro 

Highway aid 20 14 $721 .1  State $132 State 

Distributed to counties, cities, and towns for highway $235 .5 Metro $79 Metro 
$485 .6  Nonmetro $ 196 Nonmetro purposes ----

Local government aid 2014 $507.6 State $93 State 

Provides property tax relief by providing general $ 1 72.3 Metro $58 Metro 

purpose financial support to cities $33 5 . 3  Nonmetro $ 1 36  Nonmetro 

Disparity reduction aid 2014 $18.0 State $3 State 

Provides aid to jurisdictions (counties, towns, and school $ 1 .4 Metro - Metro 

districts) thathad inordinately high tax rates in 1988 $ 1 6.6  Nonmetro $7 Nonmetro 

County program aid 20 14  $205.5 State $38 State 

County general purpose aids: includes former homestead $98 . 1  Metro $33 Metro 

and agricultural credit, county criminal justice aid, $ 1 07.4 N onmetro $43 Nonmetro 

family preservation aid, and attached machinery aid 

Community corrections funding 20 14 $86.3 State $16 State 

A id that provides a portion of counties ' costs for $4 1 .7 Metro $ 14  Metro 

community correctional services $44.6 Nonmetro $ 1 8  Nonmetro 

Property tax refund ( excludes targeting) 20 13  (filed $584.1 State $107 State 

Reimburses homeowners and renters for a portion of in 20 14) $403 .5 Metro $ 1 3 5  Metro 

property taxes if those taxes exceed a household income $ 1 80.6 Nonmetro $73 N onmetro 

threshold 

Targeting 20 13  (filed $1.5 State - State 

Additional homeowner property tax refund if property in 20 14) $0. 8 Metro - Metro 

taxes increased a certain percentage threshold over $0.7 Nonmetro - Nonmetro 

previous year (no income limits) 



MAJOR TAXES 
Year Amount (millions) 

Individual income tax 20 13  $8,781.7 Total 

Imposed on income of state residents and income (filed in $8,225.3 Residents 

derived from state sources of nonresidents 20 14) $5,5 17 .9 Metro 
$2,707.4 Nonmetro 

Sales and use tax 20 14  $5,436.5 (After refunds) 

Imposed on gross receipts of people who sell, lease, or $4,510.0 Residents 
$2,9 19 . 8  Metro rent tangible personal property at retail at a rate of 6. 5 $ 1 ,590.2 Nonmetro percent (does not include local sales taxes) 

Motor vehicle sales tax 20 14 $746.4 State 

Imposed on new and used motor vehicles at the time of $3 93 .3 Metro 

sale at the same rate of state sales tax $353 . 1  Nonmetro 

Motor vehicle registration tax 20 14  $666. 7 State 

Imposed annually on vehicles licensed in the state $3 63 .3 Metro 
$303 .4 Nonmetro 

Motor vehicl� fuels tax (gas tax) 20 14 $882. 7 State 

Imposed on gasoline, diesel fuel, and other motor fuels $4 1 8 .0 Metro 

used by vehicles and on aviation fuels $464. 7 Nonmetro 

Corporate franchise (income) tax 20 14 $1,177.0 State 

Imposed at a rate of 9. 8 percent on the net income of $83 8 . 1  Metro 

corporations (or alternative minimum tax) $338 .9 Nonmetro 

State general property tax 20 14 $846. 7 State 

Imposed on commercial/industrial/public utility $533 .9 Metro 

property and seasonal recreational property $3 12 .8 Nonmetro 

PROPERTY TAX DATA, PAYABLE 2014 

Market Value 

Total statewide: $546.0 billion 

Metro Metro 

Net Property Tax 

Total statewide: $8.7* billion 

* Includes state general property tax 

Per capita 

$1,508 State 
$ 1 , 852 Metro 
$ 1 ,094 N onmetro 

$827 State 
$980 Metro 
$643 Nonmetro 

$137 State 
$132  Metro 
$ 143 Nonmetro 

$122 State 
$ 122 Metro 
$ 123 Nonmetro 
$162 State 
$ 140 Metro 
$ 1 88 Nonmetro 

$216 State 
$28 1 Metro 
$ 137  Nonmetro 

$155 State 
$ 1 79 Metro 
$ 126 Nonmetro 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sean Williams (sean.williams@house.mn). See Major 
State Aids and Taxes: Comparative Analysis, 2014 Update (December 2017) for further details about each 
aid program and tax and data by county and economic development region. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St: Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Budget Forecasts, Surpluses, and Deficits 

When are economic 
fore casts prepared? 

How are the 
forecasts used? 

What if a forecast 
predicts a general 
fund deficit? 

The commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) must prepare a 
forecast of general fund revenues and expenditures twice each year-in February 
and November. Employment levels, wages, sales of taxable goods and services, 
health care costs, the number of children enrolled in public schools, and numerous 
other-factors influence state expenditures and receipts. The forecast attempts to 
predict how these factors will collectively impact the state budget during the 
forecast period.· 

The forecasts inform the governor' s  budget proposals and the legislature's 
development of tax and spending laws. In this way, the legislature and governor 
use the forecasts to develop and enact a balanced general fund budget in which 
total biennial revenues meet or ex?eed total expenditures. 

The November forecast in even-numbered years informs the governor's  initial 
biennial budget recommendations to the legislature. For example, the November 
2016 forecast provided the revenue and expenditure projections for Governor Mark 
Dayton's preliminary budget proposal for the fiscal year 2018-2019 .biennium, 
which runs from July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019. The same November 2016 forecast 
projected that the state was on track to finish the fiscal year 2016-2017 biennium 
with a positive general fund balance. 

The February forecast updates the preceding November forecast with any new 
economic, revenue, and spending data. Following the February 2017 forecast, 
Governor Dayton submitted revised budget recommendations informed by the 
latest revenue and expenditure estimates. Similarly, the February 2017 forecast 
provided the revenue and expenditure projections that the 2017 Legislature used to 
enact a state budget for the fiscal year 2018-2019 biennium. It also provided the 
final comprehensive update on the status of general fund revenues and 
expenditures in the remaining months of the fiscal year 2016-2017 biennium . ..  

The November forecast in odd-numbered years and the February forecast in even­
numbered years update revenue and expenditure estimates for the current 
biennium. Using the projections in the November 2017 and February 2018 
forecasts, Governor Dayton may propose modifications to the enacted fiscal year 
2018-2019 budget. The 2018 Legislature will use the latest projections in the 
February 2018 forecast to determine whether budgetary changes are needed for the 
fiscal year 2018-2019 biennium to close with a balanced general fund budget. 

If a balanced budget is enacted but a subsequent forecast projects a general fund 
deficit in the current biennium, the commissioner of MMB may access funds in the 
budget reserve account as needed to pay for all enacted expenditures. If there is not 



What if the fore cast 
predicts a general 
fund surplus? 

What are recent 
changes to the 
treatment of budget 
surpluses? 

enough money in the budget reserve to balance the general fund in the current 
biennium, the commissioner may also selectively reduce or delay existing 
appropriations, commonly referred to as "unalloting." Before reducing the budget 
reserve or unalloting general fund appropriations, the commissioner must obtain 
the approval of the governor and consult the Legislative Advisory Commission. If 
the legislature is in session or will soon convene, the governor typically makes 
recommendations to the legislature on how to resolve the shortfall before 
approving use of the budget reserve or unallotment. 

If a forecast projects a general fund surplus for the current biennium, the 
commissioner of MMB must allocate the surplus in priority order as follows: 

1 .  to the cash flow account, until it reaches $350 million ( currently 
satisfied) 

2. to the budget reserve account, until it reaches $ 1 ,596,522,000 
( currently surpassed) 

3 .  to increase the school aid payment schedule to 90 percent, in 
increments of one-tenth of 1 percent with any residual amount 
remaining in the budget reserve ( currently satisfied) . 

4 .  to restore previous school aid reductions and reduce the property tax 
recognition shift accordingly ( currently satisfied) 

5 .  to the Clean Water Fund until $22 million has been transferred 
( unsatisfied - no money transferred to the Clean Water Fund to date) 

If a November forecast projects a surplus and priorities ( 1 )  to (5) have been 
satisfied, MMB must transfer 33 percent of the remainder to the budget reserve 
until it reaches the balance recommended by MMB. No later than September 30 
each year, MMB must assess the volatility of state tax revenues and report to the 
legislature any corresponding change in the agency' s  budget reserve benchmark. 

Any surplus remaining after satisfying the five statutorypriorities and transferring 33 
percent of any remainder to the budget reserve is  reported in the forecast as a 
positive general fund balance. For the fiscal year 201 8-20 19  biennium, as of the 
November 2017  forecast there is a projected deficit, or negative balance, in the 
general fund. 

Laws 20 14, chapter 1 50, required MMB to recommend a budget reserve level 
(specified as a percentage of general fund revenues for the current biennium), to 
update this percentage each January, and to transfer 3 3 percent of .a November 
forecast surplus to the reserve. Laws 20 1 5, chapter 77, pushed the commissioner' s  
annual update back to September. Laws 20 1 7 ,  first special session, chapter 1 ,  
added the requirement to transfer $22.million of  general fund surplus dollars to the 
Clean Water Fund. 

For morejnformation: Contact legislative analyst Colbey Sullivan at 65 1 -296-5047. Also see the House 
Research publication Unallotment: Executive Branch Power to Reduce Spending to Avoid a Deficit, 
December 2010 .  

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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What is a disaster? 

What is the state 's 
role? 

What is the effect of 
a state or local 
declaration? 

When is a special · 
session warranted? 

Are special sessions 
and DACA the only 
avenues for disaster 
relief funding? 

December 2017 

State Response to Disasters 

State and federal law generally define "disaster" as any catastrophe, including but 
not limited to a tornado, storm, high water, wind-driven water, earthquake, 
landslide, mudslide, snowstorm, drought or, regardless of cause, any fire, flood, or 
explosion. 

A flowchart on the following page identifies key steps and decisions in the disaster 
response process. When disaster strikes, local government employees and 
volunteers are typically the first to respond. Staff with the state Department of 
Public Safety may provide early technical support and assistance. If the scope or 
cost of the disaster overwhelms local resources, the local government may declare 
an emergency and formally request assistance from the state. In response, the 
governor may declare a state of emergency and direct state agencies and the 
Minnesota National Guard to provide assistance. If the event exceeds the state's 
ability to respond, the governor may request assistance from the Federal 
Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) of the Department of Homeland 
Security. In coordination with the legislature, the governor may also .convene a 
special legislative session to provide additional money for disaster relief. 

In addition to activating state and local disaster response and recovery plans, by 
law these formal declarations also activate certain statutory relief programs. Some 
programs are activated by local declarations ( e.g., state-paid property tax 
abatements for certain damaged property), while others are activated only by a 
state or federal declaration ( e.g., state agencies may temporarily waive fees in 
those counties included in a presidential disaster declaration). 

Whether or not to convene a special session for disaster relief is largely a 
subjective decision based on the scope and severity of the damage. Prior to 2014, if 
a significant disaster occurred when the legislature was not in session, the governor 
typically would call the legislature into special session. In 2014, the legislature 
established the Disaster Assistance Contingency Account (DACA) to proactively 
set aside money to pay for certain disaster relief activities without additional 
legislative approval. There has been no special · session for disaster relief since the 
DACA was established. However, the governor and legislature could determine 
that a special session is necessary, particularly if the DACA balance or eligible 
uses are not sufficient to provide adequate relief before the next regular session 
begins. 

No, during a subsequent regular session the legislature may appropriate money for 
a specific disaster event. For example, during the 2016 and 2017 regular sessions, 
the legislature appropriated money to help the city of Madelia recover from a 
downtown fire that occurred in February 2016. 
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Contingent Funding for Disaster Relief 

Contingent funding is money set aside by the legislature and appropriated to the 
executive branch as needed for eligible emergencies or other unanticipated events. 

In 2014, the legislature established the Disaster Assistance Contingency Account 
(DACA) so that state money would be available to promptly respond to and 
recover from a qualifying disaster when the legislature was not in session. The 
state constitution requires the legislature to adjourn each regular session before the 
end of May, but natural disasters often occur in the spring and summer months. 
Contingent disaster relief funding may obviate the need for the governor to call a 
special legislative session because DACA money is statutorily appropriated to the 
Department of Public Safety in the event of a qualifying disaster event. 

The table below identifies the four eligible uses of DACA dollars and briefly 
describes how DACA dollars are used in each case. 

Presidentially declared major disaster or 
emergency 

State public disaster assistance (Minn. 
Stat. ch. 12B) 

Federal Highway Administration 
emergency relief 

Provides state dollars to fully match 
Federal Emergency Management Agency 
(FEMA) cost-share assistance to eligible 
state agencies, local units of government, 
Native American tribal governments, and 
private utility cooperatives. FEMA 
typically pays 75% of eligible disaster 
response and recovery costs; DACA 
dollars reimburse eligible entities for the 
remaining 25%. 

Provides state funding for grants to 
eligible state agencies, local units of 
government, Native American tribes, and 
private utility cooperatives when FEMA 
aid is not available. Reimburses 75% of an 
applicant's  eligible costs; the applicant is 
responsible for the remaining 25%. 

Provides state funding to match federal aid 
to repair or reconstruct eligible federal-aid 
highways and roads on federal or tribal 
lands that either were damaged by a 
natural disaster or that experienced a 
catastrophic failure due to another external 
cause. 



What about other 
state disaster relief 
programs? 

What nonprofits are 
eligible for DA CA 
funds? 

How is the DACA 
funded? 

Who administers it? 

What if there is 
insufficient money 
in the DACA? 

United Sta�es Department of Agriculture 
emergency watershed protection 

Provides state funding to match federal aid 
to state agencies, local units of 
government, Native American tribes, and 
private landowners for emergency erosion· 
and flood control projects that protect life 
or property from an imminent threat. 

DACA funds may only be used for the four purposes described above. If the 
legislature determines that a specific disaster event requires a more comprehensive 
relief effort, it may appropriate additional money for relief, including grants or 
loans to affected businesses, school districts, homeowners, and others. To activate 
and fund these other programs quickly, the governor may need to call a special 
legislative session. 

When the president declares a major disaster, certain private nonprofit 
organizations are eligible for federal assistance through FEMA's Public Assistance 
Program. Under federal law, qualifying ·nonprofits are those that provide a critical 
government-like service in the disaster area. Beginning July 1, 2017, utility 

- coop�ratives that receive FEMA aid are also eligible for DACA-funded state 
reimbursement of the remaining 25 percent of the cooperative' s eligible costs. 
Previously the state did not pay this "nonfederal share" for any private 
organizations. 

The DACA is funded through two sources: money allocated by law and the 
automatic rollover of any unused money previously appropriated for disaster relief. 
By law, the governor's biennial budget proposal must recommend funding for 
DACA that reflects the executive branch's estimate of the amount of money that 
will be required during the next two-year budget cycle to fully match FEMA 
assistance to_ eligible entities and to provide state-only disaster assistance under 
chapter 12B. 

By law, DACA money is appropriated to the Department of Public Safety, which 
has statutory authority to award this money to other state agencies and eligible 
recipients. 

If there is not enough money·in the DACA, the governor could call a special 
session of the legislature and the legislature could appropriate additional money for 
disaster relief. Alternatively, the legislature could allocate additional money to the 
DACA duringthe next regular legislative session. 

For more information: See the House Research publications State Response to Disasters (December 
2017) and State Disaster Aid for Public Entities and Utility Cooperatives (December 2017). For legislative 
issues contact Colbey Sullivan at 651 -296-5047. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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State Disaster Aid for Public Entities and Utili!Y Coo_peratives 
- - - - -- ---

What is the state 
public disaster 
assistance 
program? 

When is federal 
assistance 
unavailable? 

Is the state program 
similar to FEMA 's 
Public Assistance 
Program? 

Who is eligible for 
state public disaster 
assistance? 

· Are private 
individuals or 
businesses eligible? 

The state public disaster assistance program reimburses eligible applicants for 
costs incurred to prepare for, respond to, and recover from a significant disaster. 
The program is administered by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety -
Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) and is 
invoked only when federal aid is not available for the same purposes. 

The legislature established the program in 2014  in cooperation with officials from 
the executive branch and local emergency managers. The legislature funds the 
·program by allocating contingent funding to the Disaster Assistance Contingency 
Account in the Special Revenue Fund. 

Under federal law, when a disaster event is so significant that it is beyond the 
capabilities of the state and affected local units of government to effectively 
respond, the governor may request assistance from the Federal Emergency 
Management Agency (FEMA). FEMA financial aid takes two main forms: ( 1 )  aid 
to public entities and certain private nonprofits under the FEMA Public Assistance 
Program; and (2) aid to private individuals and households. 

An applicant is not eligible for aid under the FEMA Public Assistance Program if 
the governor does not request a federal disaster declaration, the president denies 
the governor' s request, or the president' s declaration does not include the 
applicant' s county. A presidential declaration may exclude a county when total 
eligible damages and costs in that county do not exceed a predetermined threshold. 

The state program borrows several features from the FEMA Public Assistance 
Program, including the use of co1J11ty-based eligibility determinations. One 
important difference is that the damage threshold that must be met is significantly 
lower under the state program(i.e., 50 percent of the county's  FEMA damage 
threshold). 

With one exception, only public entities are eligible for assistance under the state 
public disaster assistance program. Eligible public entities include state agencies; 
counties, cities, townships, school districts, and other local units of government; 
and Native American tribal governments. As of July 20 17, private utility 
cooperatives are also eligible. 

No, with the exception of utility cooperatives. However private individuals, 
households, and businesses may be eligible for other state or federal disaster relief 
programs to the extent of available funding. 

What is a qualifying To qualify for the state program, all of the following conditions must be met: 
disaster? 



What activities 
qualify for state 
assistance? 

Does the state fully 
reimburse? 

• the governor or the chair of the applicable county board of commissioners 
formally declares a disaster or emergency during the incident period; 

• federal disaster assistance is not available for the same purposes; and 
• eligible entities in the applicant' s county have collectively incurred eligible 

costs and damages that meet or exceed the following amount: 
o 50% x CPCI x CPOP, where: 

• CPCI = the county per capita impact indicator under FEMA' s 
Public Assistance Program ($3 .68/person for federal FY 201 8) 

• CPOP = county population as of the latest decennial U.S. cen�us 

For example, Ramsey County's population was 508,640 in 20 10 .  For a given 
disaster event during federal FY 201 8, the City of Saint Paul is eligible for state 
public disaster assistance only when all eligible damages and costs in Ramsey 
County total $935,898 (i.e., 50% x _$3 .68 x 508,640) or more. When calculating 
Ramsey County's eligible damages and costs, HSEM would include amounts 
reported by all eligible entities in the county (e.g., the State of Minnesota; Ramsey 
County; the Capitol Region Watershed District; the cities of Maplewood, 
Roseville, North St. Paul, Saint Paul, etc.). 

Activities eligible for reimbursement are the same activities that would receive 
funding under the FEMA Public .Assistance Program .if federal aid were available 
to the recipient. Eligible activities fall within the following categories: 

Emergency work: activities undertaken before, during, or after a disaster to save 
lives, protect public health and safety, or prevent damage to improved public and 
private property 

Category A:  Debris removal (e.g., branches, sand, mud, silt, demolition debris) 
Category B: Emergency protective measures ( e.g. , sandbagging, evacuation and 

sheltering) 

Permanent work: work required to restore a facility to its predisaster design (size 
and capacity) and function, according to applicable codes and standards 

Category C: Roads and bridges (e.g. ,  paved, gravel or dirt roads; culverts) 
Category D: Water control facilities (e.g. ,  dams, storm water retention ponds) 
Category E: Public buildings and equipment ( e.g. , court houses, vehicles, 

school buildings, file recovery) 
Category F: Public utilities (e.g., sewage treatment, a co-op's  transmission 

lines) 
Category G: Parks, recreational, and other facilities ( e.g. , playground 

equipment, tennis courts, picnic tables) 

State assistance is limited to 75 percent of the applicant' s eligible and documented . 
costs. The applicant is responsible for the remaining 25 percent. 

For more information: See the House Research publications State Response to Disasters (December 
2017) and Contingent Funding for Disaster Relief(December 201 7) .  For legislative issues, contact Colbey 
Sullivan at 65 1 -296-5047. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing leg islative, 
legal , and information services to the entire House. 

House Research· Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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