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TRESPASS LAW

The trespass law applies to all outdoor recreation, including but not limited to:
hunting, boating, fishing, trapping, hiking, and camping. When taking part in any
outdoor recreation, you may not enter legally posted land or agricultural land without
permission.

Landowners, lessees, or authorized managers need only post their land once a year.
The signs must be placed at intervals of 1,000 feet (500 feet in wooded areas) or signs
may be placed at primary corners and at access points to the property. Signs must
state “No Trespassing,” or similar words, in 2-inch-high letters and have the signature or
name and telephone number of the landowner, lessee, or manager.

There can be civil or criminal penalties for violation of the trespass laws with maximum
fines up to $3,000 and license revocation. All conservation officers and peace officers
enforce trespass laws.

See page 60 for more information on road right-of-way.

Rules of thumb for water access and recreational use

These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all water access and
recreational use situations. If you have doubts about whether you may be trespassing
on private land, you should ask the landowner for permission.

What is lawful access?

A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or if public land or a
public road right-of-way borders the surface of the water, or if you have permission
to cross private land to reach the surface of the water. This includes walking in the
water or on the ice in connection with such activities regardless of who owns the land
beneath the surface of the water.

What waters are open to recreational use?

A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it is capable of
recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water that will float a canoe is
capable of recreational use, but other waters may also qualify depending upon the
circumstances.

Can | take my dog with me on an Aquatic Management Area?

On an Easement Aquatic Management Area (AMA), a person must always get
permission from the landowner to take a dog with them, unless otherwise posted.

You may not enter a Restricted or General Use Aquatic Management Area with a dog
except (1) under permit by the commissioner or (2) the dog is accompanied by or under
control of the owner. Dogs must be on a leash from April 16 through July 14.

6 2017 Minnesota Fishing Regulations



AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES

Aquatic Invasive Species (AlS) are nonnative animals and plants that do not naturally
occur in our waters and cause ecological or economic harm. See below for images of
some AlS that have been found in Minnesota.

You can help prevent the introduction and spread of AlS by following both the required
and recommended actions listed on page 8 before moving your boat, bait or other
equipment from one waterbody to another.

Report new infestations: If you suspect a new infestation of an AlS, note the
exact location, take a photo or keep the specimen, and call a DNR AlS Specialist:
888-MINN-DNR.

Invasive carp captures must be immediately reported to the DNR. Call 651-587-2781
or email invasivecarp.dnr@state.mn.us. Please take a photo and make arrangements
with the DNR to transport the carp to the nearest area fisheries office. You may keep
invasive carp for personal use with a special permit, which is available on the DNR
website at www.mndnr.gov/invasive-carp.

Red swamp crayfish
2 to 5" long. Raised
bright red
spots on
claws.

Zebra and
quagga mussel

The only freshwater
mollusks that attach
to objects with byssal
threads (up
to 14"); larvae
float in water
and are too
small to see.

Starry stonewort
Grass-like algae with

a small, star-shaped 7.~ ™

structure called a "j TN
“bulbil” less than - ‘)(’* e
Y-inch in diameter. &/

Faucet snail

Up to 4" long, light
brown to black,
4-5 whorls.

New Zealand mudsnail

Up to 4" long, light to dark £
brown, cone-shaped shell, %

5-6 whorls.

Spiny waterflea
Long tail, white with black
spots, looks like gelatinous
globs on fishing line, small
(up to ¥%". f

Eurasian watermilfoil
12 to 21 leaflet pairs
per leaf.

Ruffe

Spots between
rays of dorsal
fin, no gap
between fins.

Bighead and silver carp

Eye located at lower part of head below
the mouth; adults can weigh 60 pounds
or more and be 30-45"; Silver can jump
more than 10 feet high.

Round goby
Single
scallop-shaped
pelvic fin, fish is
usually 3-6" long.

e _ ¢

Carp illustrations
©C. Iverson, MN DNR

Agquatic Invasive Species 7


mailto:invasivecarp.dnr%40state.mn.us?subject=Report%20Invasive%20Carp
http://mndnr.gov/invasive-carp

. . TS Y
Required Actions—It’s the law! 0\’EAN I
Most anglers and boaters follow \ __/ -
Minnesota’s Clean, Drain, Dispose laws to

help prevent the spread of aquatic invasive —

species: - '

Clean all visible aquatic plants, zebra
mussels and other prohibited invasive
species® from watercraft, trailers and other OL _,,\)«
water-related equipment before leaving
any water access or shoreland. It is illegal
to transport prohibited invasive species—
including zebra mussels—whether dead or
alive.

Drain water-related equipment (boat,
ballast tanks, portable bait container,
motor) and drain bilge, livewell and baitwell
by removing drain plugs before leaving any
water access or shoreland property.

Keep drain plugs out and water-draining
devices open while transporting watercraft.

Dispose of unwanted bait, including minnows, leeches and worms, in the trash. It is
illegal to release bait into a waterbody or release aquatic animals from one waterbody
to another. If you want to keep your live bait, you must drain all lake or river water and
refill the bait container with bottled or tap water.

Recommended Actions—Protect Your Waters
To further decontaminate your watercraft

and equipment, it’s important to spray,

rinse or dry everything before going to

another waterbody, especially if your boat

has been in the water or moored for more

than 24 hours—or if you have recently been

in zebra mussel or spiny waterflea infested

waters. Do one or more of the following:

« Spray with high-pressure water
+ Rinse with very hot water**
« Dry for at least 5 days

*Prohibited Invasive Species: A complete list of prohibited invasive species can be found at
www.dnr.state.mn.us/invasives/laws.html#prohibited or by calling the DNR information line.

**To reduce the risk of spreading zebra mussels, use water that is 120° F at the point
of contact and spray each area for at least 2 minutes, or use 140° F water for at least
10 seconds on each area.
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Watercraft Inspections

The Minnesota DNR has had a watercraft inspection program since 1992 to help
prevent the spread of AIS. With the help of our partners, today nearly 1,000 authorized
watercraft inspectors are working at lakes and rivers across Minnesota. The information
below will help you prepare for a watercraft inspection. In 2016, 96 percent of boaters
surveyed by inspectors arrived following Minnesota’s Clean, Drain, Dispose laws.

What should | expect from an inspection?
Inspectors are trained to:

« Introduce themselves as a watercraft inspector.

+ Provide you tips on how to inspect your own equipment (see page 8).

+ Physically inspect your boat, trailer and any other water-related equipment—
meaning they may touch your boat or trailer to feel for tiny attached zebra mussels
or other invasive species.

« Physically inspect compartments that may hold water, such as live wells
or bilge areas.

« Deny launch if: (1) the inspector finds invasive species or any plants attached, and
until the invasive species or plants are removed; or (2) you refuse an inspection.

» Although inspectors have the authority to deny launch, they will work with you to
try to bring your watercraft into compliance.

» Inspectors will not deny launch based solely on where, or when, you last used
your watercraft.

« Ask you questions to help improve the DNR’s inspection program. You are not
required to answer these questions.

How should | prepare for an inspection?
When entering an access:

« Always follow all state laws regarding AlIS and arrive in compliance with Clean, Drain
and Dispose laws (see page 8).

+ Open the lids of closed compartments that could hold water, like live wells, so the
inspector can see they are drained. Your drain plugs should all be open while you
transport your boat.

« Remember to install the drain plug after the inspection and before launching.

When exiting an access:

» Remove any plants, mud, and invasive animals.

« Pull all drain plugs.

+ Open water-holding compartments to allow inspection.

What about on-site watercraft decontamination?

An inspector may require your watercraft to be decontaminated prior to launching
or before leaving an access, if a unit is on-site. Most decontaminations can be done
quickly. Trained inspectors use hot water to target areas to kill AIS. An inspector may
also use high-pressure water.

How do | find a decontamination station?

The DNR posts decontamination unit locations online at www.mndnr.gov/decon.
At these sites, inspectors will perform a courtesy inspection and determine if any
decontamination is required.

Tell us how we’re doing at wip.dnr(@state.mn.us.

Agquatic Invasive Species 9
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DEFINITIONS

Designated stream trout lakes — These waters have been listed in Minnesota Rule and
have been stocked with trout that are typically found in streams: rainbow, brown, or
brook trout. Some also have splake, a cross between a lake trout and a brook trout.

Inland waters - Lakes and rivers within Minnesota not bordering Canada or another
state.

Immediately released or returned to the water - Fish must not be retained longer than
is needed at the site of capture to unhook, identify, measure, and photograph. Placing
the fish in any type of container or on a stringer is not immediately released. Any fish
not immediately released is considered to be “reduced to possession.”

Daily and possession limits (bags) - For most species of fish, daily and possession limits
are the same. One exception would be the inland limit on yellow perch, which is 20 per
day and 40 in possession. The daily and possession limits include fish possessed by the
person at all locations including such places as livewell, cold storage, at home, or at a
resort. Daily limit is the number of fish an angler can take in one calendar day. Eating
those fish or gifting them away on the same day does not allow an angler to possess
additional fish taken in the same calendar day.

Harvest slot limit — Allows the harvest of fish from a designated size range.

Maximum size limit — Prohibits the harvest of fish from some specified length and
larger.

Minimum size limit - Prohibits harvest of fish less than a specified length.

Minnows - Members of the minnow family, except carp and goldfish; bullheads, cisco
(tullibee), lake whitefish, goldeyes, and mooneyes (not over 7 inches long); suckers (not
over 12 inches long); mud minnows, leeches, tadpole madtoms and stonecats. Border
water regulations may vary.

One-over the size limit - Allows the harvest of one fish over a set size limit as part of
the daily or possession limit.

Protected slot limit — Prohibits harvest of fish from a designated size range. Fish within
this size range must be immediately released.

Rough fish - Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco (tullibee), gar,
goldeye, and bullhead. Border waters regulations may vary.

Under-utilized fish - Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco, gar,
goldeye, and redhorse.

Culling (sorting) — The act of replacing one fish with another fish (see possession
information on pages 31-32). See border waters with North Dakota on page 58.
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"'NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2017

New Statewide Regulations for 2017
- Updated list of infested waters (see pages 71-82).

Modified Special Regulations
+ The special protected slot limit on walleye for Lake Vermilion (St. Louis County) has
been changed from 18-26" to 20-26". The possession limit of four walleye remains
unchanged.

New Special Regulations

» New bag limits for sunfish on Lake Thirteen, and for sunfish and black crappie on
Little Webb and Moccasin lakes, all in Cass County.

« Additional opportunities to catch-and-release trout during the late fall have been
added to rivers within the cities of Chatfield (Mill Creek), Spring Valley (Spring
Valley Creek), Preston and Lanesboro (South Branch Root River).

Dropped Regulations

« Special regulations on northern pike in Bowstring and Round lakes (ltasca County)

have been dropped.
Border Waters

« Culling regulations on border waters with Wisconsin, lowa, and South Dakota are
now the same as inland waters.

Regulations may change after this booklet goes to print. Check online at www.

mndnr.gov/regulations/fishing and www.mndnr.gov/fishmn for updated regulations,
announcements and corrections.

FREE FISHING WEEKENDS

Take A Mom Fishing Weekend

May 13-14, 2017

Minnesota resident moms fish free.

Take A Kid Fishing Weekend

June 9-11, 2017

Minnesota residents 16 and older fish free with children younger than 16.

Take A Kid Ice Fishing Weekend
January 13-15, 2018
Minnesota residents 16 and older fish free with children younger than 16.

New Regulations for 2017 11
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FISHING LICENSES

« Prices do not include additional issuing fees.

+ Purchase online at www.mndnr.gov/buyalicense.

« Duplicate licenses and stamps can be purchased from any ELS agent for
$2.50 each.

+ License year begins March 1and ends last day of February unless otherwise noted.

+ Resident youth younger than 16 do not need a fishing license.

« A fishing license continues to be valid for the balance of the license period if the
licensee's age, residency, or student qualification status changes.

+ CODE refers to the license identification code.

RESIDENT ANGLING LICENSES
cooe [ucae Josscnmon e

YOUTH Youth Annual  Youth Individual Angling (exempt from  $5
ANGLING (Age 16 &17)  trout/salmon stamp and spearing
Resident license)
Individual
Age 16 & 17
m Adult Annual  Individual Angling $22
10 24-Hour Individual Angling (no Trout Stamp $10
required) Consecutive 24-hour
140 72-Hour Individual Angling (no Trout Stamp $12
required) Consecutive 72-hour
141 3-Year Individual Angling Consecutive 3-years  $63
ADULT 105 . Bag Limit Individual Angling ' bag limits $15
ANGLING Conservation
Res.ld.ent 216 Sports Individual Angling and Small Game $38
Individual ($31.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid
Ages 18 by hunters for the acquisition and
through 89

development of wildlife lands”)

142 Super Sports  Individual Angling including Trout/ $93*
Salmon Stamp, Small Game including
pheasant and waterfowl stamps, a deer
tag (archery, firearms or muzzleloader)
($86.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid
by hunters for the acquisition and
development of wildlife lands”)

Continued...

*Of this price, credits go to: 50 cents wolf management; $1.00 deer/bear management
account; 50 cents emergency feeding and wild cervidae-deer health management; and
$2.00 deer management.
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CODE | LICENSE DESCRIPTION E

Walleye Voluntary Individual Validation
135 Stamp Pictorial Stamp mailed Add
$0.75
128 Trout and Individual Trout and Salmon Validation $10
Salmon Stamp  (required for designated trout lakes,
(required for  Lake Superior and to harvest trout)
129 anglersage  pictorial Stamp mailed Add
18-64; see $0.75
page 1€ for
exemptions)
130 Sturgeon Tag  Required to harvest a sturgeon $5
13 Spearing/ Individual dark house spearing $5
ANGLING Annual (angling license required for ages 18
LICENSES through 89)
Additional
Options 19 House or Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if $15
Shelter left unattended overnight*
Annual
131 House or Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if $42
Shelter 3-Year left unattended overnight*
120 House or Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if $30
Shelter left unattended overnight*
Rented
Annual
132 House or Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if $87
Shelter left unattended overnight*
Rented 3-Year
15 Netting Whitefish and cisco** $10
12 Married Married Couple Angling $35
Combination
Annual
MARRIED 106 Married Married ' bag limit Conservation $23
ANGLING % bag limit Combination
Resident Conservation
Married Combination
Couple 217 Married Two Angling and one Small Game $52
Combination ($45.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid
Sports by hunters for the acquisition and
development of wildlife lands™)
Continued...

*License valid March 1to April 30 of the following year (or 3-year period).

** A list of lakes open to sport gillnetting, status of the seasonal openings and closures, and
netting regulations are online at www.mndnr.gov/regulations/fishing or by calling the DNR
Information Center Toll-free at 888-646-6367.
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MARRIED
ANGLING
Resident
Married
Couple

Continued

LIFETIME
ANGLING
Resident
Individual

CODE | LICENSE DESCRIPTION FEE |

Married A combination angling license $117**
Combination including 2 trout/salmon stamps, and
Super Sports  for the primary licensee an individual
small game including pheasant and
state waterfowl| stamps and a single
individual deer tag (archery, firearm
or muzzleloader) ($110.50 plus $6.50
surcharge “paid by hunters for the
acquisition and development of wildlife
lands™)
41 Lifetime Renewal FREE
Angling Age 3 and younger $304
Age 4to 15 $415
Age 16 to 50 $508
Age 51 and older $335
407 Lifetime Renewal FREE
Anglir?g and Age 3 and younger $380
Spearing
Age 4to 15 $509
Age 16 to 50 $596
Age 51 and older $386
413 Lifetime Renewal FREE
Sports Age 3 and younger $485
Age 4to 15 $659
Age 16 to 50 $861
Age 51 and older $560

**Of this price, credits go to: 50 cents wolf management; $1.00 deer/bear management
account; 50 cents emergency feeding and wild cervidae-deer health management; and
$2.00 deer management.

FISHING SEASON OPENER DATES
Near  waueve  Jeass  wusce |

2017
2018
2019

May 13
May 12
May 11

May 13 June 3
May 12 June 2
May 11 June 1
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NONRESIDENT ANGLING LICENSES

CODE [LICENSE

Youth age 16 and 17 Youth Individual Angling (exempt ~ $5
from trout/salmon stamp and

YOUTH 205
ANGLING
Nonresident
Individual age

16 & 17

121

ADULT 139
ANGLING
Nonresident ¥4
Individual age

18 and over

126

134
135

128

129
ANGLING
LICENSES =Y
Nonresident EFE]
additional

options

16

"7
133

124

COUPLE

ANGLING
Nonr'e5|dent 125
Married

Couple

415
LIFETIME

ANGLING
Nonresident
Individual

Annual

Annual

24-Hour

72-Hour

7-Day

Walleye Stamp

Trout and Salmon
Stamp (required for
anglers age 18-64)

Sturgeon Tag

Spearing Annual
Age 18 and over

House or Shelter
Annual

House or Shelter
7-Day

House or Shelter
3-Year
Combination
Annual Family

Combination
14-Day

Lifetime Angling

DESCRIPTION

spearing license)

FEE

Individual Angling ($40 plus $45

$5 surcharge)

Individual Angling (no Trout Stamp ~ $12
Required) Consecutive 24-hour
Individual Angling (no Trout Stamp  $32
Required) Consecutive 72-hour

($27 plus $5 surcharge)

Individual Angling Consecutive $38
7-day ($33 plus $5 surcharge)

Voluntary Individual Validation $5
Pictorial stamp mailed Add

75 cents
Individual Trout and Salmon $10
Validation
Pictorial stamp mailed Add

75 cents
Required to harvest a sturgeon $5

Individual Dark house Spearing $15
(angling license required) ($10 plus

$5 surcharge)

Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter $37
if left unattended overnight*

Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter $21
if left unattended overnight

Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter $111
if left unattended overnight*

One or Both Parents and $60
Dependent Children under age 16

($55 plus $5 surcharge)

Married Couple Consecutive $48
14-Day Angling ($43 plus $5

surcharge)
RENEWAL

Age 3 and under
Age 4 to age 15
Age 16 to age 50
Age 51 and over

FREE
$726
$925
$1,054
$702

*License valid March 1to April 30 of the following year (or 3-year period).
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Electronic Licensing Information

The Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses and stamp validation through
1,600 license agent locations statewide. Agents charge an issuing fee for each license
and stamp sold.

Instant Licenses (except lifetime and stamp validations)

Customers may purchase instant licenses online or by telephone at 888-665-4236. An
additional convenience fee is added for sales via the website or telephone (see website
for details).

Lifetime Licenses

First-time purchase of lifetime license is only available at DNR License Center in

St. Paul. Application forms are available online or through the DNR Information Center
888-646-6367. A lifetime license holder who is required by law to have a game and fish
license, must authorize their participation by obtaining an annual license each year the
lifetime license is used. These annual licenses are issued at no fee.

Conservation Licenses

» Conservation Licenses are available only to residents of Minnesota.

« Daily and possession limits are half of what can be taken with a standard angling
license. Fractions are rounded down to next whole number (see chart on page 19
for list).

+ People bowfishing, spearing, or using other approved harvest methods under a
Conservation License are limited to % of the daily and possession limit for that
method.

« Sturgeon harvest tag may not be used with a Conservation License.

Trout and Salmon Stamp

Trout and salmon stamp validations are printed on the ELS license. This is the only
verification needed to prove purchase of the trout and salmon stamp. Purchasers may
request the actual pictorial stamp for an additional 75 cents.

Except as noted, anglers need a Minnesota trout and salmon stamp validation and a
fishing or sports license when fishing in designated trout streams, designated trout
lakes, Lake Superior, or when possessing trout on waters that are not designated trout
water. All trout and salmon in possession require a trout and salmon validation, unless
received as a gift. Trout and salmon stamps are not required for children younger than
18 years old, adults who are 65 and older, people fishing

with a 24-hour or 72-hour license or people who are

exempt from fishing license requirements or who receive a

fishing license at no charge.

Walleye Stamp

« Purchase of a walleye stamp is voluntary; it is not
needed for fishing.

« Revenues from the sale of walleye stamps are used for 2017 Trout Stamp, Timothy Turenne
stocking walleyes purchased from the private sector.

» Walleye stamp validations are printed on the ELS
license. Purchasers may request the actual pictorial
stamp for an additional 75 cents.

2017 Walleye Stamp, Timothy Turenne
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LICENSE GUIDE

Do | need a fishing license?

To legally fish in Minnesota, all residents of Minnesota, age 16 to 89, must have a
current Minnesota fishing license unless an exemption applies (see Who doesn’t need
a fishing license?). You must carry your license when fishing or traveling from an

area where you were fishing. All nonresidents need a license except those age 15 and
younger do not need a license if a parent or guardian is licensed. Residents receiving
disability benefits under the Federal Railroad Retirement Act or U.S. Postal Service are
no longer eligible for free licenses.

Did you buy a 3-year license in 2014?

Three-year angling licenses bought in 2014 are due for renewal. Stop by any license
agent, buy on your smartphone at www.mndnr.gov/fishmn, visit the main DNR fishing
license page or call 888-665-4236 (888-MNLICENSE) to buy your new license today.

What is a resident?
Minnesota residents are:

+ People who maintain a legal residence in Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive
days prior to purchasing a license and if older than 21 must present a current
Minnesota Driver’s License or Identification Card.

« A person younger than 21 who is a child of a resident.

What is a nonresident?
Nonresidents include anyone who does not meet the definition of a resident.

Who doesn’t need a fishing license?

+ Residents younger than 16.

+ Residents 90 and older.

« Minnesota residents enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces, stationed outside the
state, and home on leave (you must carry leave or furlough papers while fishing or
transporting fish).

+ A Minnesota resident who has served in federal active service outside the U.S.
during the preceding 24 months and is now discharged from overseas duty (you
must carry discharge papers while fishing or transporting fish).

+ Anin-patient of a U.S. Veterans Administration hospital (877-348-0498).

» Aresident of a Minnesota licensed nursing or boarding care home (877-348-0498).

Do | need a free fishing license?
Anglers who meet certain qualifications must obtain a free license from 888-646-6367.
These licenses are required for:

« Foreign exchange students may receive a free annual angling license with proof of
their foreign exchange student status. Available from any agent.

+ A Minnesota resident older than 16 who is developmentally disabled or a veteran
with a 100 percent service-connected disabilty. Available only from the DNR.

+ A Minnesota resident who is legally blind, receiving SSI or SSDI, receiving worker’s
compensation for total and permanent disability, a ward of the Commissioner of
Human Services or a resident of a state institution that has an approved application.
Available from any agent. SSI or SSDI benefit verification is available online at www.
socialsecurity.gov, by calling 1-800-772-1213 or at your local Social Security office.
Must have current letter from Social Security stating disability or SSI benefits.
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Do | need a license to fish in Minnesota State Parks?
Minnesota residents may fish without a license for any species except trout when:
« Shore fishing or wading on state-owned land within a state park.
» Fishing from a boat or on the ice on water bodies that are completely inside the
boundaries of a state park.
« People who want to keep trout or fish in waters specifically managed for trout, must
have a fishing license and trout stamp validation.

What if I'm helping a child fish?
If an adult is showing a child younger than 16 how to bait, cast, and remove fish, no
license is needed. The child must hold the rod, set the hook and reel in the fish.

What if I'm helping a disabled person fish?

You do not need a license to assist a disabled person, who must have a valid license
unless an exemption applies. You may only fish with the number of lines allowed for all
licensed or exempt anglers fishing.

What if | don’t have a paper license because it was purchased on a mobile device?
Licenses purchased on a mobile device are issued in electronic format. Purchasers
choose to receive an email, text message or both. The email and/or text message
stored electronically on your mobile device serves as your license. You must carry your
mobile device or a printed copy of the email or text message you received when fishing
or traveling from an area where you were fishing.

Can | get a refund?
Check your license for accuracy prior to leaving the license agent location. All sales are
final. Refunds can only be issued if the:

« Licensee dies before the opening of the licensed season;

» Licensee is unable to participate in the licensed activity because the licensee is
called to active military duty or military leave is cancelled during the entire open
season of the licensed activity; or

« Licensee purchased two licenses for the same license season in error.

What are license requirements for nonresident youth?

Nonresident youth younger than 16 may fish without a license if a parent or guardian
has a valid Minnesota nonresident fishing license. Youth may possess their own limit
of fish if a parent or guardian has a Minnesota family license or the youth purchases a
nonresident youth license. Otherwise, fish caught by a youth must be counted as part
of their parent or guardian’s limit allowed by their individual nonresident license.

What if | lose or can’t find my license?
You can go to any license agent and have them print a duplicate license. The cost is
$2.50, which includes a 50-cent fee charged by the vendor.

What if I'm not a state resident but am a full-time student at a Minnesota
school, college or university?

By showing a fee statement, you may purchase fishing licenses and stamps at the
resident rate.

What if I'm not a state resident but serve in the U.S. Armed Forces and am
stationed in Minnesota or the spouse of a Minnesota resident on active
military duty?

By showing proof, you may purchase fishing licenses and stamps at the resident rate.
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How can my license be revoked?

« Fishing privileges may be revoked for 1 year for two or more convictions of fishing
violations in 3 years. Violations of fishing laws in other states may affect your ability
to fish in Minnesota.

+ Under the gross over-limits penalty provisions, privileges can be revoked for 3 or
5 years, depending on the number of fish involved in the violation.

« Failure to pay fines or to appear in court on a violation can result in revocation of all
game and fish licenses until the fines are paid.

How to Figure Your Bag Limit for a Conservation License
« Applies to bag limits established for

inland lakes, experimental and special 1fish M Catch-and-
management waters, and border 4 release
waters. N 2 fish G 1fish

+ Does not apply to size restrictions, but s s
may only have up to the corresponding 6' 3 fish é 1fish
bag limit. For example: five fish with 2 @
three over 10 inches for a Conservation Fq < fish § 2 fish

. . > 3
License .would be two fish with only two ﬁ 5 fish S .
over 10 inches. n x

7 o .

« Round odd numbers down to the O | @ik =y 3fish
nearest even number. For example: 3 8 fish g 4 fish
nine fish regular limit would be a four > r4

L S 10 fish (OBN 5 fish

fish conservation limit. g =
N 20 fish I 10 fish
z 4
w w
38 25 fish (2B 12 fish
> 5
Gl sofish R 25 fish

For Your Information: Total Length

To determine the legal length of a fish, lay it flat on its side, squeeze the tail from
tip to tip, and measure from the nose or jaw, whichever is longer, to the farthest
tip of the tail when fully extended.

mouth closed

1717777,

,_

push tip
of tail
down

| |
[t [2[3T4s5Je[7[8[owl[ufr]n] Sturgeon image by Maynard Reece
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nglers contribute to
ood fishing every time
they purchase a rod, reel or

most other manufactured
fishing products.

Not apparent at the
checkout counter,
these purchases quietly raise
revenue through a 10 percent

federal excise tax paid by the
manufacturers.

ranting these dollars to
Minnesota and other
states is the responsibility
of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service through its Wildlife
and Sports Fish Restoration
program.

I ast year, the Minnesota
DNR received $13

million through this
program.

Every one of these dollars
is used to maintain and

improve fishing, boating
and angling access, and help
create the next generation of
environmentally enlightened
anglers.

Read more about this
important funding
source at wsfrprograms.fws.
gov.

pread the word, too, so

more people know how
manufacturers, anglers and
natural resource agencies
work together.
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SEASONS AND LIMITS—INLAND

AND LAKE SUPERIOR

« All calendar dates are for 2017 unless noted otherwise.

+ Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted.

+ Most species have experimental or special regulations on some waters. See pages
36-52.

- For Canada, Wisconsin, lowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota border water
regulations see pages 53-63. For Lake Superior see pages 25-27.

« Different limits for Conservation License apply (see chart on page 19).

« Cook County: Gull Lake, Sea Gull River and Cross River from County Road 12 to
Gunflint Lake are closed to fishing April 1-May 26.

INLAND WATERS

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and sauger May 13, 2017 - 6 (Not more than 1 walleye over 20" in

(either or combined)  Feb. 25, 2018 possession)

Northern pike May 13, 2017 - 3 (Not more than 1 over 30" in possession.)
Feb. 25,2018

Muskellunge/hybrid ~ June 3 - Dec. 1 1 combined (Minimum size 54")

muskellunge

EXCEPTION on lakes listed below in Twin Cities metropolitan area counties:

Carver: Hennepin: Bryant,

Eagle, Pierson, Bush, Calhoun,

Wasserman Cedar, Crystal,

Dakota: Isles, Nokomis, . - .
Weaver 1 combined (Minimum size 40")

Crystal, Orchard

Ramsey: Gervais, Scott: Cedar

Island, Johanna, Washington:
Phalen, Silver Clear, Elmo

Largemouth bass Statewide (except ~ Catch-and-release only
Northeast)
May 13 - May 26

May 27, 2017 - Six combined largemouth or smallmouth bass
Feb. 25,2018

Northeast* Six combined largemouth or smallmouth bass
May 13, 2017 -
Feb. 25,2018

Continued...

*Northeast is defined as north and east of U.S. Hwy. 53 from Duluth to International Falls
and Pelican and Ash lakes in St. Louis County.
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SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Smallmouth bass Statewide (except Catch-and-release only
Northeast)
May 13 - May 26
May 27 - Sept. 10 Six combined largemouth or smallmouth bass
Sept. 11,2017 -

Catch-and-release only

Feb. 25,2018
Northeast* Six combined largemouth or smallmouth bass
May 13, 2017 -
Feb. 25,2018
Crappie (Combined ~ Continuous 10
white or black and
their hybrids)
Sunfish** Continuous 20
(Either or combined)
Rock bass Continuous 30
White bass Continuous 30
Channel catfish Continuous 5 total in combination. No more than 2 can
Flathead catfish April 1 - Nov. 30 be flathead catfish. Only 1 fish over 24"
Perch Continuous 20 daily, 40 in possession
Bullhead Continuous 100
Whitefish and Continuous No limit

under-utilized fish

EXCEPTION: On Leech Lake Indian Reservation whitefish limit 25 and cisco (tullibee)
limit 50. Sport netting regulations effective each fall are available on the DNR website.

Smelt Continuous No limit
EXCEPTION: On Grindstone Lake in Pine County (see special regulations on page 41).

Lake or shovelnose ~ March 1- April 14 Catch-and-release only; no tag needed.

sturgeon*** .

(Including Lake April 15 - June 15 Closed

Superior and the June 16, 2017 - Catch-and-release only; no tag needed.
St. Louis River) April 14,2018

Paddlefish No open season

Lake trout Statewide 2

SUMMER May 13 - Oct. 1

Continued...

*Northeast is defined as north and east of U.S. Hwy. 53 from Duluth to International Falls
and Pelican and Ash lakes in St. Louis County.

**Includes bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids.

***See pages 53-63 for other sturgeon waters and regulations.
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SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Lake trout Outside or partly 2
WINTER outside the BWCA

Jan. 14,2017 -
March 31, 2017

Jan. 13,2018 -

April 1,2018

Lakes entirely 2
within the BWCA

Dec. 31, 2016 -
March 31, 2017

Dec. 30, 2017 -
April 1,2018

STREAM TROUT

The following regulations apply only to stream trout (splake, brook, brown, and rainbow
trout) in inland lakes and streams. They do not include lake trout which are listed under
Inland Waters (page 22). Lake Superior tributaries (pages 25-27) and Experimental and

Special Regulations (pages 36-52) are also not covered in this section.

Calendar dates refer to 2017 unless noted otherwise. Daily and possession limits are
the same.

Trout fishing is a sport for everyone. You don’t need a boat and motor, a depth locator,
a pH meter or any expensive tackle. All you need is a spinning or bait-casting outfit in
working order, a box of hooks, some night crawlers and—optionally—a pair of hip boots.

Learn more about stream trout fishing basics on the DNR website at www.mndnr.gov/
areas/fisheries/crystalsprings_hatchery/basic_tactics.html. Trout stream maps are on
the DNR website at www.mndnr.gov/fishing/trout_streams.

Stream Trout Regulations

« Fishing hours for stream trout on inland waters are from 1 hour before sunrise to
11 p.m.

+ Only one line is allowed winter or summer when fishing on designated stream trout
lakes and designated trout streams.

» Possessing live minnows or using them for bait on designated stream trout lakes
is prohibited. Only dried, frozen, or pickled (brined) minnows are allowed. Live
leeches and worms are legal to use.

« Taking of any species, including catch-and-release angling, in designated trout
waters during the closed trout season is prohibited.

« Taking minnows or leeches from designated trout waters, except under special
permit, is prohibited.

« All stream trout must have head, tail, fins, and skin intact when being transported.

+ Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in designated
trout lakes or streams.

+ The list of Designated Trout Lakes and Streams can be found on the DNR website
www.mndnr.gov/fishing/trout_lakes/index.html
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OPENSEASON | POSSESSION LIMIT (S1Z6)

Streams April 15 - Oct. 1 5 combined (Not more than 1 over 16")

Statewide except
Houston, Fillmore,
Mower, Dodge, Olmsted,
Winona, Wabasha and
Goodhue counties

EXCEPTIONS: Jan. 1- April 14 Catch-and-release only
Streams April 15 - Sept. 14 5 combined (Not more than 1 over 16")
Houston, Fillmore, Sept. 15 - Oct. 15 Catch-and-release only
Mower, Dodge, Olmsted,
Winona, Wabasha and .Jan.'1, 2018 - Catch-and-release only
Goodhue counties April13, 2018
Streams Sept. 15, 2016 - Catch-and-release only
April 14, 2017

Within Beaver Creek

Valley, Forestville and
Whitewater state parks: April 15 - Sept. 14 5 combined (Not more than 1 over 16")

East Beaver Creek;
Forestville, Canfield

areeles s Seuidh Bremel Sepjt. 15, 2017 - Catch-and-release only
Root River; Trout Run April 13,2018
Creek and Middle Branch
Whitewater River
Lakes May 13 - Oct. 31 5 combined (Not more than 3 over 16")
SUMMER
Statewide
Lakes Outside or partly
WINTER outside the BWCA
Jan. 14,2017 - . "
March 31, 2017 5 combined (Not more than 3 over 16")
Jan. 13,2018 -
April 1,2018
Lakes entirely
within the BWCA
Dec. 31,2016 - . "
March 31, 2017 5 combined (Not more than 3 over 16")
Dec. 30, 2017 -
April 1,2018
EXCEPTIONS: Little Andrus (Snowshoe), Winter season closed for stream trout.
Cass County; Allen and Pleasant, Crow Wing Lake trout fishing allowed.

County; Bad Medicine, Becker County.
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LAKE SUPERIOR AND ITS TRIBUTARIES

The following regulations have been expanded to clarify for anglers the fishing seasons
and limits for Lake Superior and the streams and rivers flowing into it.

« Daily and possession limits are the same.

« All other species not named are subject to inland regulations.

+ Posted upstream boundaries on Lake Superior tributaries generally correspond to
the areas accessible to anadromous trout and salmon. The upstream boundaries,

as well as fish sanctuary areas, are marked with signs. (For boundary locations,

see maps on DNR website titled “Trout Angling Opportunities in Northeastern
Minnesota.”)

Anyone fishing on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior must possess a Minnesota
angling license and a Minnesota trout and salmon stamp validation except as listed
on page 1€.

A person cannot fish on Wisconsin waters of Lake Superior with only a Minnesota
angling license.

Two lines may be used on Lake Superior and on the St. Louis Estuary, except only
one is allowed within 100 yards from where a tributary stream enters the lake. Also,
only one line may be used in tributary streams.

Anglers are restricted to a single hook or fly only—no treble hooks—on

Lake Superior tributary streams and rivers up to the posted boundaries. Excep-
tions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton counties) and the Pigeon River
(Cook County).

Angling hours on Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries are from

1 hour before sunrise to 1 hour after sunset. Exceptions are the St. Louis River

(St. Louis and Carlton counties) and the Pigeon River (Cook County).

Special regulations on North Shore streams include posted sanctuaries on the
French, Knife, Little Knife, Devil Track, and Kadunce rivers and on Gauthier Creek.
(See Experimental and Special Regulations, pages 49-52.)

Unclipped steelhead (rainbow trout) must be Clipped Adipose Fin
immediately released on Lake Superior and its Adipose fin
tributaries. A clipped adipose fin, used to identify — (no rays)
stocked trout, must show a healed scar (see diagram }j\ O,-}— gﬁiled
below). Marking, tagging, or finclipping fish and then o

releasing them without a DNR permit is unlawful. = %“‘_

From the mouth of Chester Creek to the outermost

portion of the northwest arm of the Duluth ship channel is closed to fishing from
boats from October 9 through November 30.

While on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior, persons may possess only one
daily limit of fish.

While fishing or while on the water, brook, brown and rainbow trout, splake, salmon,
muskellunge, and catfish must be transported with head and tails intact.

While transporting fish on land, (1) rainbow, brown and brook trout, and splake must
be transported with head and tail intact; and (2) salmon, lake trout, and walleye
may be filleted but must retain a 1-inch square patch of skin with scales. See pages
32-33 for additional general information on transporting fish.
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A guide’s license is required to operate a charter boat for the purpose of guiding
or assisting anglers on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior and the St. Louis
River estuary.

« Eggs of trout harvested from Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted

boundaries may be used as bait (spawn bags). Spawn bags from Lake Superior trout
may only be used on Lake Superior and its tributaries below the posted boundaries,
and no other locations in the state.

Spawn bags can be bought or sold only if they are made from either (1) fish eggs
from a licensed aquaculture facility or (2) fish eggs taken from a source outside
Minnesota that has been certified disease free and are preserved and labeled
under a Minnesota bait preservation permit. These spawn bags may only be used in
Lake Superior.

Smelt may be taken night or day. Artificial lights may not be used to lure or attract
smelt. There is no limit on smelt, and smelt from Lake Superior may be bought or
sold; however, live smelt may not be possessed or transported.

Dip nets may be used for taking smelt. Minnow seines not more than 25 feet long
or 4 feet deep may be used to take smelt in the St. Louis River and in Lake Superior
when more than 100 feet from the mouth of any stream.

- Taking of smelt at any time is prohibited in the following Lake Superior Tributaries:

French River, Sucker River, Little Sucker River (St. Louis County); Silver Creek,
Encampment Creek, Crow Creek (Lake County).

On Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries, a fish that is hooked

in any part of the body, except the mouth, must be immediately returned to

the water.

No fish taken from Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted boundaries, or
the St. Louis River downstream of the Fond du Lac dam, may be used as bait, except
cisco or smelt taken from Lake Superior can be used: 1) fresh or frozen in Lake
Superior or its tributaries below the posted boundaries; or 2) on other waterbodies,
but only after being preserved under a DNR-issued bait preservation permit. Permit
applications are available from the DNR, 500 Lafayette, St. Paul, MN 55155-4020.

For Your Information: Lead Tackle
The tackle industry, recognizing a growing awareness
and concern about lead in the environment, has begun
to create tungsten, glass, copper, steel, tin, bismuth, or
plastic sinkers. Consider using non-lead tackle when you
go fishing.
Here’s what you can do to help:
« Ask local sporting good stores to stock non-lead fishing tackle.
« Spread the word by telling other anglers about the problem.
« Dispose of old lead sinkers and jigs properly by locating a drop-off location.
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GENERAL REGULATIONS
TACKLE AND LINES

How many lines can | fish with?
+ You may use only one line during the open water season.
« You may use two lines through the ice except on designated trout lakes and streams.
+ On designated trout lakes and streams, only one line is allowed at any time.
+ Border waters (page 53) and Lake Superior (page 25) may allow more than one line.

How many hooks can | use on the end of line?
« You may use up to three single or multiple-pronged hooks on the end of one
fishing line.
« If you use more than one hook, the total length from the first hook to the last hook
must be 9 inches or less.
» On a designated trout stream or lake, you can’t use more than one hook on the
end of your line. However, you may use an artificial lure or bait that has more than

one hook.
Single Tackle Configuration Examples
9" maximum distance Total length of both sides cannot exceed 9"
r- - - - — — — — - —
[ ! - - =~ -
r 1

How many hooks can be used on an artificial lure or bait?

You may add one additional single or multiple hook on a line as part of a single artificial
lure or bait. The hook must be within 3 inches of the artificial lure or bait. However,

on designated trout streams and lakes, you can’t add extra hooks to an artificial lure
or bait.

Artificial Lure/Baits Examples

©MNDNR

How many artificial flies may | use?
You may have up to three artificial flies on one fishing line when you are fishing for
trout, crappie, sunfish and rock bass.
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BAIT

Can | use bait in Minnesota waters?

« You can fish with a variety of live or dead bait including worms, night crawlers,
insects and larva. If you are fishing with minnows or leeches, a number of
restrictions apply.

« If you chose to keep your bait when done fishing, you must exchange water in bait
buckets with tap or bottled water prior to leaving any water body, except when
you are fishing through the ice. The exception for ice fishing does not apply when
fishing on Lake Superior.

« You can’t dispose of unwanted minnows and leeches in Minnesota waters. Unused
bait, including night crawlers, should be put in the garbage.

« You can’t use whole or parts of game fish, goldfish or carp for bait.

What are the rules for live minnows and leeches?
+ You can’t import live minnows or leeches into Minnesota from outside the state.
+ You can’t transport more than 12 dozen minnows or leeches without a commercial
minnow license.

Can | take my own minnows and leeches?
Yes, if you have a fishing license, you can take an unlimited number of minnows and
leeches for personal use only. However, you can only transport up to 12 dozen at a time.

Where can | take minnows and leeches?
With some exceptions, you can take them from all waters of the state where you can
legally access the water. Exceptions include:

« Most infested waters

« All streams and connected waters in Lincoln, Pipestone, Murray, Rock and
Nobles counties south of U.S. Hwy. 14 and west of U.S. Hwy. 59 to the South
Dakota border.

« A harvest permit is required to take madtoms and stonecats in Dodge, Freeborn
and Mower counties.

When can | harvest bait from infested waters?

+ Minnows and leeches may be taken for personal use from waters infested solely
with Eurasian watermilfoil using a cylindrical trap not exceeding 16 inches in
diameter and 32 inches long.

Bullhead, sucker, mooneye, goldeye and sheepshead may be taken by hook and
line from infested rivers or streams for personal use as bait for fishing on the same
river or stream where the bait was taken. This bait may not be transported live from

or off the river or stream. Where the river or stream is divided by barriers such

as dams, fish for bait must be caught and used on the same section of the river

or stream.

The exclusion listed above allowing bait to be taken by hook and line from infested

rivers and streams and used in that same river or stream does not apply to the

St. Louis River in Carlton and St. Louis counties downstream of the Fond du Lac dam.
You can obtain a DNR permit to take gizzard shad by cast net for personal use as
bait for fishing from Minnesota portions of the Mississippi River downstream of

St. Anthony Falls and the St. Croix River downstream of the dam at Taylors Falls.
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How can | take minnows and leeches?
You can use dip nets, seines and traps. See restrictions below:

+ Seines must be not more than 25 feet long or more than 37 inches deep
constructed with either %-inch bar mesh or %s-inch bar mesh.

« Traps may not exceed a width and length of 30 inches, height may not exceed
15 inches, the diameter or width of the opening may not exceed 1% inches, and
mesh size may not exceed %-inch bar measure. Traps must have a waterproof tag
bearing the name and address of the owner.

« Certain rough fish may be taken from rivers using hook and line (see page 29).
At these waters, harvested bait may only be used on the water where taken. The
harvest and use of bait from other infested waters is prohibited.

+ You can’t use throw nets except a cast net may be used to harvest gizzard shad (see
page 29).

Do | have to bring in fresh or bottled water to transport minnows from a
water body?

Yes. You can’t transport water from a lake or stream at any time in Minnesota.
See the transportation section on page 32 of these regulations.

After I've kept minnows, leeches or bait, can | dispose of what | don’t want back
into the lake or stream?

No you can’t dispose of unused or unwanted minnows or leeches in any Minnesota
water. For more information see the bait section on page 29 of these regulations.

When do | need to get a commercial license to take and sell minnows and leeches?
- If you want to transport more than 12 dozen.
- If you want to sell minnows or leeches at retail or wholesale.

What are the rules for live suckers?

Suckers 12 inches and shorter are considered minnows and regular bait rules for
minnows apply. However, suckers longer than 12 inches may only be transported alive if
they are in containers that are not livewells or other parts of a boat and only if bought
from a licensed commercial vendor. You must have a valid sales receipt from the
vendor on your person.

What are the rules for live bullheads?

« Live bullheads, regardless of size, may not be transported north of Minnesota
Hwy. 210.

+ Bullheads must be transported in a container with a locking lid to prevent escape.

» Bullheads less than 7 inches in length are considered minnows and may be
possessed in any quantity but may not be transported north of Minnesota Hwy. 210.

+ You may take and possess bullheads, 7-10 inches in length, for use as live bait. They
are counted as part of your daily and possession limit of 100.

» Legal methods of taking bullhead are dip net, angling or minnow seines.

What rules apply to dead bait from Minnesota?

- Dead bait originating in Minnesota and harvested under a commercial minnow
license must be labeled if it is smelt, cisco or a VHS-susceptible species. You must
keep the labeling on your person when angling with that bait.

« If you are using rainbow smelt, cisco, or a VHS-susceptible species as bait, it must
be preserved or have been harvested, packaged and labeled under a commercial
license from a water body that has tested negative for VHS.
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« To legally preserve bait, you must have a bait preservation permit from the
Minnesota DNR.

« You must keep labeling from preserved bait on your person when angling
with that bait.

« Freezing is not a bait preservation method.

What rules apply to dead bait from a state other than Minnesota?

All imported dead bait must be labeled, and you must keep the labeling on your person
when angling with that bait. Bait includes fish such as cisco or smelt, aquatic worms,
amphibians, invertebrates and insects that are lawful to use for bait.

You can only use imported dead bait if:
« The bait is from water bodies with negative fish health certification or the bait has
been preserved under a Minnesota DNR bait preservation permit.
+ You keep labeling from imported bait on your person when angling with that bait.

Where can | get more information about bait?
Check the Other Species section of the online regulations or contact the Minnesota
DNR Information Center at 651-296-6157.

METHODS

What if people are fishing together from a boat or on shore?

A party is two or more people fishing together from a single watercraft or on shore
while maintaining unaided visual and vocal contact.

The number of fish your party possesses can’t be more than the combined limits of all
party members. However, you can only transport your individual limit of fish.

What fishing methods are illegal?

« Intentionally fishing for a species during its closed season.

« Using an artificial light to lure, attract or spot fish. However, you may use a lighted
artificial lure. Batteries used in lighted fishing lures must not contain mercury.

« Leaving your fishing rod or any type of line with hooks attached unattended.

« Using explosives, firearms, chemicals (not including a scented bait), spring devices
or electricity to take fish.

« Taking fish by hand (noodling) or by snagging.

POSSESSION

How many fish can | keep?

« Your daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted.

+ Afish is in your possession once you have caught and kept it. Your possession limit
includes any fish you have kept that day plus any fish in storage from a previous day.

« Once you reach your daily or possession limit of fish, you can’t release fish already
caught and kept and replace them with other fish. See culling definition on page 10.

+ While fishing on Mille Lacs Lake or North Dakota border waters, you may not
release fish already caught and kept and replace them with other fish even before
you reach your daily or possession limit.
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What are length limits?

Some waters have fish length restrictions, such as slot limits, that require fish to be
immediately released if they are not within a certain size range. There also can be
maximum size limits or minimum size limits.

You can’t possess any fish outside the legal length limits of the waters on which you are
traveling or fishing. However, you may possess fish outside the legal length limits if all
of the following conditions are true:
« The fish was legally taken from a connected water body or packaged by a licensed
fish packer;
+ You are traveling back to your lodging or docking and taking the most direct route;
and
+ You are not fishing while you are in transit.

What if I’ve caught fish on waters with size restrictions different from

statewide regulations?

If you are on or fishing in waters with size restrictions that are different from the
statewide size restrictions, all of the fish that have size restrictions must be kept so that
they can be examined, measured and counted. The fish must have their heads, tails, fins
and skin intact and be measurable.

When I’'m on waters with size restrictions different from statewide regulations,
can | eat fish that | caught and kept?
You may do so if:

« If you are on the ice, docked or moored to shore, and you are in the act of
preparing and using the fish for a meal, you can fillet the fish but must retain the
intact carcass, which must contain the head, dorsal fin and tail.

» You also may prepare a meal of fish using fillets packaged by a licensed fish packer.

+ Any fish caught and eaten on the same day count toward your daily bag limit.

Can | give away fish that I've kept?
If you have kept a fish and want to transfer it as a gift, it must be accompanied by a
receipt that must remain with the gift. The person receiving the gift can’t possess
more than the statewide limit including your gift. The receipt must contain all of the
following information:

» Name and address of the owner.

« Name and address of recipient.

« Date of transfer.

« Description of the gift.

+ License number (DNR number or transaction number) under which the

fish was taken.

TRANSPORTATION

Can | transport live fish other than bait?

In most instances, the answer is no.
+ You may not transport fish over land in enough water to keep them alive.
+ You can’t transfer or stock live fish or fish eggs from one body of water to another.
« You can never transport water taken from any lake or stream.
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What about fish for an aquarium?

If you are older than 16, you can transport live fish for display in a home aquarium only
if you purchase the fish from an authorized licensee and have documents such as a
sales receipt to prove it.

Youth age 16 and younger can legally transport certain live fish for display in a home
aquarium if:

« They have legally caught the fish from among the following species: largemouth,
smallmouth or rock bass; yellow perch; black or white crappie; bluegill,
pumpkinseed, green or orange-spotted sunfish; black, yellow, and brown bullhead

» No more than four fish of each species are transported at any one time.

- All fish are 10 inches or less in length.

« Fish are not transported in water taken from any lake or stream. You must bring
bottled or tap water for transport.

How do | prepare fish I've caught for transport?
« You must package and transport fish in such a way that

/f"//@

One of the best ways to
brook, brown and rainbow trout, you must transport them transport your fish so they

with the head and tail intact so the fish can be measured. can be counted and
« Bullhead, sunfish and crappie may be filleted without identified is in clear plastic
. . freezer bags.
leaving a patch of skin.
» Fillets from all other species must have a 1-inch square

they can be readily unwrapped, separated, identified and
counted.

« A fish may not be cut into more than two fillets.

« If you are transporting muskellunge, catfish, splake or

Fillets and dressed fish
must show at least a 1-inch
square patch of skin with

other than the belly. scales so fish species can
- Sauger without head and tail intact will be counted as be identified.

walleye unless they are packaged by a licensed fish packer.

patch of skin with scales intact from a portion of the body

OTHER SPECIES
Crayfish

Can | take my own crayfish?

Yes, people with a fishing license and children younger than 16 can take and possess up
to 25 pounds of live crayfish for personal use. However, you cannot possess red swamp
crayfish, as they are a prohibited invasive species (see page 7).

When can | take crayfish?

From April 1to November 30. Traps may be left overnight but may only be tended from
1 hour before sunrise through 1 hour after sunset.

Where can | use crayfish as bait?
» You can use them in all waters of the state, with some exceptions, but you can only
use them as bait in the water where they were captured.
+ You can’t use them as bait in the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway north or
upstream of the St. Croix Boom Site boat launch, or within Voyageurs National Park.

Do | need a DNR permit to sell or move crayfish?
You need a DNR permit to transport them in water, sell them or import them.
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Frogs
Can | take my own frogs?
In most cases, yes:
« People with a fishing license and children younger than 16 can take, use, buy and sell
an unlimited number of frogs up to 6 inches long for bait.
« A special frog license is required to take frogs for any purpose other than bait.
+ You must have a permit to possess Blanchards cricket frogs.

When can | take frogs for bait?
From May 16 to March 31.

Can | release frogs or tadpoles?
No. Unused frogs or tadpoles can’t be released in any Minnesota water.

Mussels (Clams)

Can | take live mussels?

No. All of Minnesota’s 50 mussel species are protected by law. Twenty of those 50
species are endangered or threatened.

Can | take dead mussel shells?
People with a fishing license and children younger than 16 may hand-pick or possess
up to 24 whole shells or 48 half shells from dead mussels of species that are not
endangered or threatened.

« Shell collection is allowed from May 16 through the last day in February.

» You can’t take mussel shells from the St. Croix River.

« You can’t possess zebra mussels.

» Mussel shells can’t be bought or sold.

Turtles

Can | take my own turtles?

Residents with a resident fishing license and resident children younger than 16 can take,
possess and transport turtles for personal use.

What kind of turtles can | take?
+ Western painted, maximum size limit is 5% inches in shell length, except those used
in turtle races may be any length greater than 4 inches.
+ Snapping, minimum size is 12 inches in shell length, possession limit is three. You can
take snapping turtles from July 1 through April 30.
« Spiny softshell, minimum size is 12 inches in shell length. You can take spiny softshell
turtles from July 16 through May 31.

What about turtle races?
Residents younger than 18 may take, possess, rent or sell up to 25 turtles for use in a
non-profit turtle race. Each turtle must be greater than 4" in length.

How do you measure turtle shell length?

Measure the top shell length (the hard upper shell of the turtle) from above the neck to
above the tail. The measuring device should measure a straight line above the curvature
of the shell.

How can | take turtles?

If you want to use traps, nets or other commercial equipment, you will need a
recreational turtle license in addition to an angling license. You may not use explosives,
drugs, poisons, lime or other harmful substances to take turtles.
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Can | take turtle eggs?
A DNR permit is required to take turtle eggs.

Can | release turtles in Minnesota?
No. Unused or unwanted turtles can’t be released in any Minnesota water.

Where do | get a recreational turtle license?
Licenses and permit applications are available from the Minnesota DNR, 500 Lafayette
Road, St. Paul, MN, 55155-4020. Phone 888-646-6367.

ILLEGAL ACTIVITIES

« You can’t drag boat anchors or other weights through aquatic vegetation with a
motor-propelled boat.

You can’t dispose of any rubbish (including parts of fish, fish guts or other animals),
poisonous substances, fish line or chemicals harmful to aquatic life into public

waters, onto ice, or onto lake and stream shores.

You can’t deposit fish parts or other material into public waters (chumming) to

attract fish.

You can’t possess or transport white perch, ruffe, round goby, black carp, bighead

carp, grass carp or silver carp, unless you are taking them to a DNR office. If you

catch a black, bighead, grass or silver carp, you must report it to the DNR within

7 days and, if possible, provide a picture of it.

You can’t buy or sell game fish, whitefish, or cisco unless one of the following

applies:

> You may buy or sell smelt taken from Lake Superior

» You may buy or sell fish obtained under a commercial, private hatchery, or
aquatic farm license.

If you catch a fish and you don’t intend to use it for anything, you must return it
immediately back into the water alive. You can’t purposely waste a fish by leaving it,
or any usable portion of it, on the ice, on the bank, or by intentionally killing it and
returning it back into the water.

+ You must remove drain plugs from bilges and livewells at the water access. Drain
plugs must be out and all other water draining devices must remain open while
trailering or transporting boats.

PERMITS

What are some of the fishing- or water-related activities that require a permit?
A Minnesota DNR permit is required to:
« Transplant aquatic plants, apply chemicals and perform certain types of cutting to
control vegetation in any public water.
» Mark or tag fish and then release them.
» Harvest minnows from designated trout lakes or streams.
+ Harvest minnows from most infested waters.
» Conduct some fishing contests. For more information and permit costs, review the
information on the DNR website.
A permit from the county sheriff is required for most organized events on the water or
ice, including fishing contests.
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SPECIAL REGULATIONS

INTENSIVE MANAGEMENT LAKES

A number of lakes in Minnesota are managed under both treaties and DNR regulations.
Angling harvest on these intensive management lakes may change throughout the
year to maintain sustainable fish populations. If regulations change, information will be
posted at public boat ramps, the DNR website, and in newspapers.

Mille Lacs Lake including tributaries to posted boundaries (Aitkin, Crow Wing and
Mille Lacs counties).

Walleye, Northern pike, Smallmouth bass, Tullibee (cisco), and other fishing rules: these
regulations and any future changes will be posted at public access sites and the DNR
website at www.mndnr.gov/fishing/millelacs.html.

Red Lake, Upper including Shotley Brook and Tamarac River (Beltrami County).
Northern pike: all from 26-44 inches must be immediately released. Only one over
44 inches allowed in possession. Walleye: Restrictions or changes will be posted at
public access sites and on the DNR website.
« A person’s statewide bag limit may not include more than current daily bag limit of
Red Lake walleye.
« Those portions of Red Lake located within the Red Lake Indian Reservation are
closed to non-band members except by special authorization of the tribal council.
« The fish carcass retention requirements for these water bodies are still in effect—
see page 32.

National Wildlife Refuges may have differing regulations. Please check with the U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service.

Voyageurs National Park

In response to the threat of nonnative/AlS species introductions, the park only allows
artificial bait in the interior lakes and prohibits the use of privately owned watercraft
and the landing of float planes in these lakes. These regulations do not apply to Rainy,
Kabetogama, Namakan, Crane, and Sand Point lakes. Contact Voyageurs National Park
for more information.

Superior National Forest
Off-highway vehicle policy. See www.fs.usda.gov/superior for maps and details.

WATERS WITH EXPERIMENTAL AND
SPECIAL REGULATIONS

These regulations differ from statewide or border water regulations for those species
identified and take precedence. Unless otherwise specifically mentioned, all general
regulations, seasons, limits, border water regulations, possession, and transportation
regulations apply to these waters. Please check regulation booklets from other states
and other sections of this booklet.

Regulations are posted at access sites. Your compliance is needed to ensure that these
regulations are successful. The regulations help improve fishing quality, protect unique
fisheries, provide additional fishing opportunities, or protect threatened species. The
DNR regularly evaluates regulations to determine their success.
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LAKES
A

ADA LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36".

AGNES LAKE (Douglas County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

AITKIN LAKE including area known as Aitkin Flowage (Aitkin County): see Big Sandy Lake
(page 38).

ALEXANDER LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

ANN LAKE (Carver County) largemouth bass: catch-and-release only. Northern pike: all
from 24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

ANNIE BATTLE LAKE including inlet to Molly Stark Lake and outlet to Blanche Lake (Otter
Tail County) Use of gas and electric motors, underwater cameras, augers, and other
electronic fish-finding devices is prohibited. Sunfish: possession limit five. Northern pike,
largemouth and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only. Black crappie: possession
limit five.

ASH LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36".

B

BALM LAKE (Beltrami County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

BALSAM LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36".

BASS LAKE near Cohasset (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit five.
BASS LAKE near Burtrum (Todd County) north of Long Lake. Walleye: possession limit

two. Largemouth bass: possession limit one. Northern pike: minimum size limit 40"
Possession limit one.

BASSWOOD LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36". Protected slot and possession limit
applies to all Minnesota waters of Basswood Lake.

BATTLE LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. Walleye: all from 17-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

BATTLE LAKE, West (Otter Tail County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

BEAR CREEK RESERVOIR (Chester Woods) (Olmsted County) see Rochester-Olmsted
County Area Lakes on page 45.

BECKER LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).

BELTRAMI LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

BIG BASS LAKE (Beltrami County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only.

BIG LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36".
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BIG CARNELIAN LAKE (Washington County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be
immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

BIG FISH LAKE (Stearns County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

BIG MANTRAP (Hubbard County) crappie: possession limit five. Northern pike: all from
24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

BIG SAND LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: all from 20-28" must be immediately released.
One over 28" allowed in possession.

BIG SANDY LAKE and connected waters (Aitkin County): Aitkin Lake including area known
as Aitkin Flowage, Davis Lake including bay known as Steamboat Lake, Flowage Lake,
Sandy River Lake, Prairie River from confluence with Tamarack River downstream
to confluence with Big Sandy Lake, Sandy River from State Hwy. 210 downstream to
confluence with the Mississippi River, and West Savanna River from County Hwy. 14
downstream to confluence with the Prairie River. Sunfish: possession limit five. Walleye:
all less than 14" or greater than 18" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed
in possession.

BIG SWAN LAKE (Todd County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit six, only one over 36".

BIRCH LAKE RESERVOIR (includes the South Kawishiwi River upstream to the first rapids
north of Minnesota Hwy. 1 bridge). Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

BLACKDUCK LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: possession limit five.
BLACKWATER LAKE (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

BLACK BASS LAKE (Mille Lacs County) Use of gas or electric augers, underwater cameras,
and other electronic fish-finding devices is prohibited. Largemouth and smallmouth
bass: catch-and-release only. Northern pike: catch-and-release only. Sunfish: possession
limit five.

BLUEBERRY LAKE (Wadena County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

BOLFING LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).

C

CARNELIAN LAKE (Stearns County) sunfish: possession limit five.

CASCADE LAKE (Cascade Ponds) (Olmsted County) see Rochester-Olmsted County Area
Lakes on page 45.

CEDAR LAKE (Morrison County) walleye: possession limit two. Black crappie: possession
limit five. Northern pike: minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one.

CEDAR ISLAND LAKE (Stearns County) cee Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 45).

CENTER LAKE, North and South (Chisago County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be
immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

CHARLEY LAKE (Ramsey County) closed to fishing.

CHILD LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36".

CHISAGO LAKE (Chisago County) largemouth bass: all 12" and larger must be immediately
released.
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CHRISTINA LAKE (Douglas County) Closed to fishing.

CLEAR LAKE (Waseca County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only.

CLEAR LAKE (Washington County) walleye: minimum size limit 17". Possession limit three.

CLITHERALL LAKE (Otter Tail County) smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

COON LAKE (Anoka County) walleye: minimum size limit 17"

COON-SANDWICK LAKE (ltasca County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be
immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

CRANE LAKE including Vermilion Gorge and Echo River from mouth upstream to County
Hwy. 424 bridge (St. Louis County) walleye: all from 17-28" must be immediately
released. One over 28" allowed in possession. Sauger/walleye: possession limit six
combined, only four may be walleye.

CRAWFORD LAKE (Wright County) largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.
Sunfish: possession limit five. Crappie: possession limit five. Walleye: possession limit
two. Yellow perch: possession limit 10.

CROOKED LAKE (Anoka County) largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.

CROOKED LAKE (Stearns County) largemouth bass: all from 12-20" must be immediately
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

CROW WING LAKES, 5th and 6th (Hubbard County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be
immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

CROW WING LAKES, 8th, 9th, and 10th (Hubbard County) northern pike: minimum size
limit 40". Possession limit one.

CUT FOOT SIOUX and Little Cut Foot Sioux (Itasca County): walleye: see Winnibigoshish on
page 48.

D

DAVIS LAKE (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 38).
DEEP LAKE (Ramsey County) closed to fishing.

DEER LAKE (Beltrami County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only.
Northern pike: all from 24" through 36" must be immediately released. Possession limit
three, only one over 36".

DEER LAKE near Effie (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. Walleye: all from 17-26"
must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

DEMONTREVILLE LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.

DIXON LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit five. Walleye: see Winnibigoshish on
page 48.

DYERS LAKE (Cook County) crappie: possession limit five. Sunfish: possession limit five.

E

EDEN LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).

ELEPHANT LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: minimum size limit 40". Possession
limit one.

ELK LAKE (Clearwater County) muskellunge: catch-and-release only. Northern pike:
minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one.
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EUNICE LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: possession limit five. Black crappie: minimum size
limit 10". Possession limit five. Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Northern pike: all from
24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

F

FARM LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36". Walleye: (includes the North Branch Kawishiwi
River from Farm Lake 4.8 miles east to the long portage) All from 17-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

FARM ISLAND LAKE (Aitkin County) walleye: all from 16-19" must be immediately released.

FISH LAKE RESERVOIR (St. Louis County) walleye: all less than 13" or larger than 17" must be
immediately released, except one over 26" allowed in possession. Possession limit three.

FISH TRAP LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

FLADMARK LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: possession limit 10. Northern pike,
largemouth and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only. Crappie: possession limit five.

FLOUR LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: all 12" and larger must be immediately
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

FLOWAGE LAKE (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 38).

FOSTER AREND LAKE (Olmsted County) trout: Continuous season. Possession limit
three. One over 16" allowed in possession. Sunfish, black and white crappie, yellow
perch, largemouth and smallmouth bass, see Rochester-Olmsted County Area Lakes on
page 45.

FOX LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36".

FRANKLIN LAKE (Otter Tail County) crappie: minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five.

G

GAMEHAVEN (Boy Scout Lake WILLOW RESERVOIR NO. 4) (Olmsted County).
see Rochester-Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 45.

GARDEN LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: all from 24"-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36". Walleye: all from 17"-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" is allowed in possession.

GEORGE LAKE (Hubbard County) northern pike: all from 24"-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36". Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all
14-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

GILBERT LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie: possession limit five. Sunfish: possession
limit five.

GIRL LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: all from 24"-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36".

GOODRICH LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie: possession limit five. Sunfish: possession
limit five.

GOOSE LAKE (Chisago County) crappie: possession limit five. Walleye: minimum size
limit 17"

GRAVE LAKE (ltasca County) sunfish: possession limit five.

GREAT NORTHERN LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).
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GREEN LAKE (Chisago County) walleye: minimum size limit 17".
GREEN PRAIRIE LAKE (Morrison County) sunfish: possession limit 10.

GRINDSTONE LAKE (Pine County) smelt: seines may not be used within 100’ of any outlet
or stream that empties into or out of the lake.

GULL LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: possession limit five.
GULL LAKE (Cook County) walleye: see Saganaga Lake (page 4€).

H

HENRY LAKE (Douglas County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

HORSESHOE LAKE (Cass County) near Backus. Sunfish: possession limit five.

HOVDE LAKE (Cass County) largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.

HORSESHOE LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).

HUBERT LAKE (Crow Wing County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all 12" and larger
must be immediately released.

HUNGRY JACK LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must be immediately
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

INGUADONA LAKE and connected Rice Lake (Cass County) sunfish: possession limit 10.
Crappie: possession limit five.

ISLAND LAKE near Northome (ltasca County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be
immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36" Walleye: all from 17-26"
must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

ITASCA LAKE (Clearwater County) crappie: possession limit five. Sunfish: possession

limit 10.
J

JANE LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.

K

KABEKONA LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: all from 20-26" must be immediately released.
Possession limit four, only one over 26",

KABETOGAMA LAKE including Sullivan Bay and Ash River to Ash River Falls (St. Louis
County) walleye: all from 17-28" must be immediately released. One over 28 allowed in
possession. Sauger/walleye: possession limit six combined, only four may be walleye.

KALMAR RESERVOIR (Olmsted County) see Rochester-Olmsted County Area Lakes on
boge 49
KNAUS LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).

KNIFE LAKE (Kanabec County) walleye: all from 18-24" must be immediately released.
One over 24" allowed in possession. Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36",

KRAUT LAKE (Cook County) trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a
single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.

KRAYS LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).
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L

LA SALLE LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: possession limit two. Largemouth and
smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only. Crappie: possession limit five. Sunfish:
possession limit five. Yellow perch: possession limit 10.

LAC QUI PARLE LAKE upstream to Marsh Lake Dam, including the Watson Sag upstream to
the diversion dam (Lac qui Parle and Chippewa counties). walleye: possession limit four.
One 20" or larger allowed in possession.

LAKE OF THE WOODS including the Rainy River from the mouth upstream to the dam
in International Falls, northern pike: all from 30-40" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 40". Walleye and sauger: see page 55.

LEECH LAKE (Cass County) walleye: all from 20-26" must be immediately released.
Possession limit four, only one over 26". (See page 22 for whitefish.)

LESTER LAKE (Hubbard County) all species: catch-and-release only.

LIDA LAKE SOUTH and NORTH including connecting Mud Lake (Otter Tail County) crappie:
minimum size limit is 11". walleye: all from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over
26" allowed in possession.

LIND LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: possession limit five.
LITTLE BOY LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

LITTLE CASCADE LAKE (Cook County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

LITTLE CORMORANT LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: possession limit five. Black crappie:
minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. Walleye: minimum size limit 17",

LITTLE FLOYD LAKE (Becker County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

LITTLE MANTRAP LAKE (Hubbard County) largemouth bass: all from 12-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

LITTLE MCDONALD LAKE including Kerbs Lake (Otter Tail County) walleye: all from 17-26"
must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

LITTLE SAUK LAKE (Todd County) walleye: possession limit two. Largemouth bass:
possession limit one. Sunfish: possession limit five. Crappie: possession limit five. Yellow
perch: possession limit 10.

LITTLE SPLITHAND LAKE (ltasca County) sunfish: possession limit five.

LITTLE TOAD LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: possession limit 10. Northern pike: all from
24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

LITTLE TROUT LAKE (St. Louis County) lake trout: catch-and-release only.

LITTLE VERMILION LAKE including Loon River to Loon River Falls portage (St. Louis

County). Walleye: all from 17-28" must be immediately released. One over 28" allowed in
possession. Sauger/walleye: possession limit six combined, only four may be walleye.

LITTLE WEBB LAKE (Cass County) black crappie: possession limit five. Sunfish: possession
limit five.

LITTLE WOMAN LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".
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LONG LAKE near Glen (Aitkin County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

LONG LAKE near Hawick (Kandiyohi County) largemouth bass: all from 14-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

LONG LAKE (Stearns County near Clearwater) largemouth bass: all from 12-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

LONG LAKE (Stearns County south of Richmond) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).

LONG LAKE near Burtrum (Todd County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be
immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

LONG LAKE near Spaulding (Todd County) sunfish: possession limit 10.

LOON LAKE (Cook County) northern pike: minimum size limit 30". Possession limit one.

M

MANDALL LAKE (Chisago County) crappie: possession limit five. Walleye: minimum size
limit 17",

MANOR WOODS POND (Country Club Pond) (Olmsted County) see Rochester-Olmsted
County Area Lakes on page 45.

MAPLE LAKE (Douglas County) crappie: minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five.

MAPLE LAKE (Todd County) sunfish: possession limit 10.

MARY LAKE (Hubbard County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only.
Crappie: possession limit five. Sunfish: possession limit five.

MAUD LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: possession limit five. Black crappie: minimum size
limit 10". Possession limit five. Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Northern pike: all from
24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

MEDICINE LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

MELISSA LAKE (Becker County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

MIDDLE LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth bass: all from 12-20" must be immediately
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
MILLE LACS (see page 3€.)

MINK-SOMERS LAKE near Maple Lake (Wright County) sunfish: possession limit five.
Crappie: possession limit five. Walleye: minimum size limit 17". Possession limit three.
Largemouth bass: all from 12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed
in possession. Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. Possession
limit three, only one over 36". Possession or use of live minnows is prohibited.

MINNEWASHTA LAKE (Carver County) largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.

MINNIE BELLE LAKE (Meeker County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

MISSION LAKE, Lower and Upper (Crow Wing County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must
be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

MITCHELL LAKE (Crow Wing County) northern pike: minimum size limit 40". Possession
limit one.
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MOCCASIN LAKE (Cass County) largemouth bass: catch-and-release only. Black crappie:
possession limit five. Sunfish: possession limit five.

MOODY LAKE (Crow Wing County) Closed to fishing.

MOOSE LAKE near Deer River (Itasca County) walleye: all from 17-26" must be immediately
released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

MOOSE LAKE (Todd County) largemouth bass: all 12" and larger must be immediately

released. Sunfish: possession limit 10.

MOVIL LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

MUD LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).
MUKOODA LAKE (St. Louis County) lake trout: catch-and-release only.

MULE LAKE (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Walleye: possession limit three.

N

NAMAKAN LAKE (St. Louis County) walleye: all from 17-28" must be immediately released.
One over 28" allowed in possession. Sauger/walleye: possession limit six combined, only
four may be walleye.

NORTH BROWNS LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).

NORTH SHADY LAKE (Cook County) trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies
with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.

NORTH STAR LAKE including Little North Star Lake (Itasca County) northern pike: all from

24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

NORTH TURTLE LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20"
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Crappie: minimum
size limit 10"

NORTH TWIN LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

NORWAY LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20 must
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Crappie: minimum size
limit 10". Possession limit five. Sunfish: possession limit five.

@)

OLSON LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.

OSAKIS and Little Osakis lakes (Douglas and Todd counties) walleye: minimum size limit 15",

OTTER TAIL LAKE (Otter Tail County) northern pike: minimum size limit 30". Possession
limit one.

OX YOKE LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: possession limit 10.

OZAWINDIB LAKE (Clearwater County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 12-20"
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Crappie: minimum
size limit 10"

P

PEANUT LAKE (Cook County) trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a
single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.
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PEARL LAKE (Stearns County) walleye: minimum size limit 17". Possession limit three. Northern
pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

PELICAN LAKE (St. Louis County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Northern pike: all from
24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

PICKEREL LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. Walleye: all from 17-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

PIERZ LAKE (Fish) (Morrison County) largemouth bass: all from 14-20" must be immediately
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

PIMUSHE LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: possession limit five.

PINE LAKE, Big and Little (Otter Tail County) walleye: all from 18-26" must be immediately
released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

PIATTE LAKE (Crow Wing County) sunfish: possession limit 10.
PLEASANT LAKE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing.
PLEASANT LAKE (Stearns County) sunfish: possession limit five.

PORTAGE LAKE north of Ten Mile Lake (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass:
catch-and-release only.

PRAIRIE LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: minimum size limit 30". Possession limit one.

QUARRY HILL NATURE CENTER POND (Olmsted County) see Rochester-Olmsted
County Area Lakes on page 45.

R

RABBIT LAKES, Big and East Big (Crow Wing County) northern pike: all from 24 to 36" must
be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

RABOUR LAKE (Chisago County) crappie: possession limit five. Walleye: minimum size limit 17",

RACHEL LAKE and Little Rachel Lake (Douglas County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must
be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

RAINY LAKE including the Rainy River above the dam at International Falls, all of Rainy
Lake to the dam at Kettle Falls, Black Bay including Gold Portage below the rapids, all
of the Rat Root River, and Rat Root Lake (Koochiching and St. Louis counties) walleye
and sauger: possession limit eight (not more than four can be walleye). All walleye from
18-26" must be immediately released. One walleye over 26" allowed in possession.

RED LAKE (see page 3€).

RED WING POTTERY POND (Goodhue County) trout: Continuous season. Possession limit
three. One over 16" allowed in possession.

RICE LAKE and connected Inguadona Lake (Cass County) sunfish: possession limit 10.
Crappie: possession limit five.

ROCHESTER-OLMSTED COUNTY AREA LAKES (Olmsted County) includes: Bear
Creek Reservoir (Chester Woods), Cascade Lake (Cascade Ponds), Foster Arend Lake,
Gamehaven Lake (Boy Scout Lake or Willow Reservoir No. 4), Kalmar Reservoir, Quarry
Hill Nature Center Pond, Manor Woods Pond (Country Club Pond), Silver Lake, Silver
Creek Reservoir, Willow CREEK Reservoir. The daily and possession limits for the
following species apply to the waters listed above as a whole, that is, only one daily and
possession limit may be taken from the group of waters that comprise the Rochester-
Olmsted County Area Lakes. Sunfish, crappie, yellow perch: combined possession limit 10,
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and only five may be crappie. Largemouth or smallmouth bass: possession limit of one.
Northern pike: daily and possession limit one applies collectively to a subset of the
Rochester-Olmsted County lakes: Cascade Lake, Game Haven Lake, Manor Woods, Silver
Lake, Silver Creek Reservoir.

ROGERS LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie: possession limit five. Sunfish: possession
limit five.

ROUND LAKE (Crow Wing County) northern pike: minimum size limit 30". Possession
limit one.

ROUND LAKE near Squaw Lake including the Popple River downstream to State Hwy.
Bridge 46 (Itasca County) walleye: all from 17-26" must be immediately released.
One over 26" allowed in possession.

RUSH LAKE, East and West (Chisago County) northern pike: all from 26-40" must be
immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 40".

S

SAGANAGA LAKE including Gull Lake and the Sea Gull River (Cook County) walleye:
minimum size limit 17". Possession limit three, only one over 20".

SALLIE LAKE (Becker County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36".

SANBORN LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: possession limit 10.

SAND LAKE including connecting Birds Eye Lake, Little Sand Lake, Portage Lake and
Bowstring River upstream to County Road 35 bridge and downstream to the County
Road 145 bridge (Itasca County). Northern pike: all from 22-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit nine, only one over 36". Wal leye: all 17-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

SAND LAKE (Lake County) sunfish: possession limit five.

SAND POINT LAKE (St. Louis County) walleye: all from 17-28" must be immediately
released. One over 28" allowed in possession. Sauger/walleye: possession limit six
combined, only four may be walleye.

SANDY RIVER LAKE (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 38).

SAUK RIVER CHAIN OF LAKES (Stearns County) from Hwy. 23 downstream to the
Cold Spring Dam include connecting lakes Becker, Bolfing, Cedar Island, Eden, Great
Northern, Horseshoe, Knaus, Krays, Long, Mud (Vails), North Browns, Schneider and
Zumwalde. Channel catfish and flathead catfish: combined possession limit 10 of which
not more than two may be flathead catfish. Only one over 24" allowed in possession.

SCHNEIDER LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).

SEA GULL LAKE including ALPINE RIVER between ALPINE LAKE and SEA GULL LAKE
(Cook County) walleye: minimum size limit 17". Possession limit three, only one over 20".

SEWELL LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

SHAMINEAU LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

SILVER CREEK RESERVOIR (Olmsted County) see Rochester-Olmsted County Area Lakes
on page 45.

SILVER LAKE (Olmsted County) see Rochester-Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 45.
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SISSABAGAMAH LAKE (Aitkin County) northern pike: all from 20-30" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 30"

SOUTH FARM LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36". Walleye: all from 17-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

SOUTH LINDSTROM LAKE (Chisago County) largemouth bass: all 12" and larger must be
immediately released.

SOUTH TWIN LAKE (Beltrami County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only.

SPIDER LAKE (Hubbard County) crappie: minimum size limit 10",

SPIDER LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36"

SPLITHAND LAKE (Itasca County) including Moody’s Creek upstream to County Road.
432 walleye: all from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in
possession. Black crappie: possession limit five. Sunfish: possession limit five.

SQUASH LAKE (Cook County) trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a
single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.

ST. OLAF LAKE (Waseca County) northern pike: minimum size limit 30". Possession limit one.

STAR LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: possession limit 10.

STEIGER LAKE (Carver County) northern pike and largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.

STUART LAKE (Otter Tail County) black crappie: minimum size limit 10",

STURGEON LAKE (Pine County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36".

SUGAR LAKE (Wright County) crappie: possession limit five. Northern pike: all from 24-36"
must be immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

SULLIVAN Lake (Morrison County) sunfish: possession limit 10.

SWAN LAKE (ltasca County) walleye: all from 17-26" must be immediately released.
One over 26" allowed in possession.

SYLVAN LAKE (Cass County) near Pillager. Crappie: possession limit five. Sunfish:
possession limit five.

SYLVIA LAKE, East and West (Wright County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be
immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

T

TEN MILE LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

TEN MILE LAKE, North and South (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all
from 14-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

THIRTEEN LAKE (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Sunfish: possession limit five.

THOMPSON LAKE (Cook County) trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies
with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.

THREE ISLAND LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be
immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

THRUSH LAKE (Cook County) trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a
single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.
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TOMATO LAKE (Cook County) trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a
single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.

TROUT LAKE Near Coleraine (Itasca County) walleye: all from 17-26" must be immediately
released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

TURNIP LAKE (Cook County) trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a
single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.

TURTLE LAKE (Itasca County) smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must be immediately
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

TURTLE LAKE (Ramsey County) largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.

TURTLE, BIG AND LITTLE LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be
immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

TURTLE RIVER LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36"

TWENTYONE LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: possession limit 10. Northern pike,
largemouth and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only. Crappie: possession limit five.

TWO ISLAND LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must be immediately
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

\4

VENSTROM LAKE (Otter Tail County) crappie: minimum size limit 11". walleye: all from
17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

VERMILION LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately
released. Possession limit three, only one over 36". Walleye: all from 20-26" must be
immediately released. Possession limit four, only one over 26",

w

WABEDO LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36".

WACONIA LAKE (Carver County) walleye: minimum size 16".
WHITE IRON LAKE (St. Louis and Lake counties) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be

immediately released. Possession limit three, only one over 36". Walleye: all from 17-26"
must be immediately released. Only one over 26" allowed in possession.

WILKINSON LAKE (Anoka and Ramsey counties) closed to fishing.
WILLOW CREEK RESERVOIR (Olmsted County) see Rochester-Olmsted County Area
Lakes on page 45.

WINNIBIGOSHISH LAKE and connected waters (Beltrami, Cass, Itasca counties): mississippi
River to Knutson Dam, Third River Flowage to Little Dixon Lake, Pigeon River to Pigeon
Lake Dam, First River, Egg Lake through Cut Foot Sioux Lake, Raven Flowage to Raven
Lake, and Sugar Lake. Walleye: all from 18-23" must be immediately released. One over
23" allowed in possession.

WOMAN LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released.
Possession limit three, only one over 36".

Z

ZUMWALDE LAKE (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).
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STREAMS AND RIVERS
A

ASH RIVER see Kabetogama Lake page 41.

B

BEAVER CREEK, EAST (Houston County) trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately
released on the entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley State Park). See page 24 for special
angling seasons within the boundaries of Beaver Creek Valley State Park.

BELLE CREEK (Goodhue County) trout: catch-and-release on a 7.3 mile posted section from
the confluence with the Cannon River upstream to Hwy. 19.

BOWSTRING RIVER see Sand Lake (page 4€).

C

CAMP CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: catch-and-release on a 2.7-mile posted section from
0.8 miles above the confluence with the Root River, South Branch upstream 2.7 miles.
Artificial lures and flies only. On the third Saturday in May, statewide regulations apply to
the posted section of the stream.

CANFIELD CREEK (South Branch Creek) (Fillmore County) trout: all from 12-16" must be
immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. See page 24 for
special angling seasons within the boundaries of Canfield Creek in Forestville/Mystery
Cave State Park.

D

DEVIL TRACK RIVER (Cook County) fish sanctuary: mile 1.1 to Mile 1.6 open to fishing from
June 1-August 31.

E

EAGLE CREEK (Scott County) trout: catch-and-release only.
ECHO RIVER (St. Louis County) see Crane Lake page 3.

F

FIRST RIVER see Winnibigoshish Lake (page 48).

FORESTVILLE CREEK (North Branch Creek) (Fillmore County) trout: all from 12-16" must
be immediately released on the entire stream. See page 24 for special angling seasons
within the boundaries of Forestville/Mystery Cave State Park.

FRENCH RIVER (St. Louis County) Fish sanctuary: all fishing closed from the river’s mouth
at Lake Superior to the State Hwy. 61 four-lane expressway, including that portion of old
Hwy. 61 that crosses the French River.

G

GARVIN BROOK (Winona County) trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released from
the Hwy. 14 crossing to the source. Artificial lures and flies only.

GAUTHIER CREEK (Cook County) fish sanctuary: entire stream open to fishing from
June 1-August 31 only.

GRIBBEN CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released on
the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only.
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H

HAY CREEK (Goodhue County) trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released on a
4-mile posted section from 325th Street downstream. Artificial lures and flies only

K

KADUNCE RIVER (Cook County) fish sanctuary: mile 0.2 (lower falls) to mile 0.4 open to
fishing from June 1-August 31.

KEDRON CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: catch-and-release only on the entire stream.
Artificial lures and flies only.

KNIFE RIVER (St. Louis and Lake counties) fish sanctuary: between the signs from the top of

the second falls 100 feet downstream, and from State Hwy. 61 bridge downstream to the
sign below the fish trap is permanently closed to fishing.

L

LAWNDALE CREEK (Wilkin County) brook trout: catch-and-release only for brook trout on
a 3.5-mile posted section within Atherton Wildlife Management Area. Artificial lures and
flies only. All hooks must be barbless.

LESTER RIVER (St. Louis County): immediately downstream from the Superior Street bridge
to the bottom of the first falls is closed to fishing.

LOGAN CREEK (Olmsted County) trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released
on the entire stream from the confluence with the Whitewater River, North Branch,
upstream to the source. Artificial lures and flies only.

LOON RIVER see Little Vermilion Lake (page 42).

M

MAHOODS CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released on
the entire stream.

MILL CREEK (Fillmore and Olmsted Counties) trout: special catch-and-release season
Oct. 16 - Dec. 31 on posted reach in Chatfield from the confluence with the North
Branch Root River upstream to Sprau’s tributary.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER (Dakota County) from the Hastings dam downstream to the
Minnesota-Wisconsin border (inland waters of Pool 3) walleye: minimum size 15".

MISSISSIPPI RIVER VALLEY (Ramsey, Washington, Hennepin, and Dakota counties) walleye,
sauger, smallmouth bass, and largemouth bass: catch-and-release with a continuous
season in the following stretches: a) Minnesota River downstream from the Mendota
Bridge; b) Minnehaha Creek downstream from Minnehaha Falls; and c) Pool 2 of the
Mississippi River between the Hastings Dam and the Ford Dam, including all backwater
lakes and connecting waters except Crosby, Pickerel, Upper, Little Pigs Eye, and North
Star Steel lakes.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER from Blandin Dam downstream to Coon Rapids Dam (ltasca, Aitkin,
Crow Wing, Morrison, Benton, Sherburne, Wright, Anoka, and Hennepin counties)
muskellunge: catch-and-release only.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER (Sherburne, Stearns and Wright counties) smallmouth bass: all from
12-20" must be immediately released from the confluence of the Crow River upstream
to the St. Cloud Dam, including tributaries to the posted boundaries. Possession limit is
three, with one over 20",

MISSISSIPPI RIVER see Winnibigoshish Lake (page 48).
new
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o)

OTTER TAIL RIVER (Otter Tail, Becker, and Wilkin counties) smallmouth bass: catch-and-
release from Wilkin County Road 19 crossing upstream to the Friberg Dam including all
impoundments, and from Otter Tail County Hwy. 51 upstream to the Hubbel Pond Dam
including Mud, Rice, and Town lakes.

P

PIGEON RIVER see Winnibigoshish Lake (page 48).
PRAIRIE RIVER (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 38).

PRAIRIE RIVER from Prairie Lake Dam downstream to Mississippi River (Itasca County)
muskellunge: catch-and-release only.

R

RAINY RIVER northern pike: see Lake of the Woods (page 42). Walleye and sauger: see
Rainy Lake (page 45) and border waters (page 54).

RAT ROOT RIVER see Rainy Lake (page 45).

RAVEN FLOWAGE see Winnibigoshish Lake (page 48).

RED LAKE TRIBUTARIES see Red Lake (page 3€).

ROOT RIVER, MIDDLE BRANCH (Fillmore County) trout: catch-and-release on the
entire stream.

ROOT RIVER, SOUTH BRANCH (Fillmore County) trout: all from 12-16" must be
immediately released on a 4.8-mile posted section within Forestville State Park. See
page 24 for special angling seasons within the boundaries of Forestville/Mystery Cave
State Park. Trout: special catch-and-release season Oct. 16 - Dec. 31 on posted reach in
Preston from the River Place West bridge downstream to the U.S. Hwy. 52 bridge. Trout:
special catch-and-release season Oct. 16 - Dec. 31 on posted reach in Lanesboro from
the Lanesboro Dam downstream to the confluence with the Root River.

ROOT RIVER, SOUTH FORK (Fillmore County) trout: catch-and-release on a 7.7 mile
section from County Road 12 upstream to the source. Artificial lures and flies only.

S

SANDY RIVER (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 38).

SAUK RIVER (Stearns County) see Sauk River Chain of Lakes (page 4€).

SEA GULL RIVER (Cook County) walleye: see Saganaga Lake (page 4€).

SHOTLEY BROOK (from Hwy. 72 West to Upper Red Lake): see Red Lake (page 3€).
ST. CROIX RIVER (see pages 61-63).

ST. LOUIS RIVER (St. Louis County) fish sanctuary: no fishing allowed at any time from the
Fond du Lac Dam downstream to the Minnesota-Wisconsin boundary cable. No fishing
allowed from the boundary cable downstream to the Hwy. 23 bridge from Feb. 28 - May 18.
Muskellunge: minimum size limit 50" on only the Minnesota-Wisconsin border waters.

STONEY BROOK (Cass County) brook trout: all must be immediately released on the posted
section beginning at the mouth at Upper Gull Lake upstream to the road crossing at
County Road 29 (Minor’s Corner).
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SPRING VALLEY CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately
released on a 6.8-mile posted section from Deer Creek upstream to Fillmore Township
Road 359. Trout: special catch-and-release season Oct. 16 - Dec. 31 on posted reach in
Spring Valley from West Park Street downstream to Minnesota State Hwy. 16 bridge.

T

TAMARACK RIVER (from the Beltrami County line west to Upper Red lake) see Red Lake
(page 36€).

THIRD RIVER FLOWAGE see Winnibigoshish Lake (page 48).

TROUT RUN CREEK (Fillmore and Winona counties) trout: all from 12-16" must be
immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only.

TROUT RUN CREEK (in Whitewater State Park) see page 24 for special angling seasons
within the boundaries of Whitewater State Park.

TROUT VALLEY CREEK (Winona County) brook trout: minimum size limit 12". Possession
limit one. Artificial lures and flies only.

\4

VERMILLION GORGE see Crane Lake (page 39).

VERMILLION RIVER within a 19.5-mile reach from the Highland Avenue bridge in
Eureka Township in Farmington to the posted boundary 1.1 miles downstream from
the U.S. Hwy. 52 bridge, including all tributaries to their source (Dakota County).
Brown trout: catch-and-release only. Rainbow trout: Regular statewide regulations
apply. From Sept. 15 - Oct. 15, angling for brown trout and rainbow trout is allowed but
catch-and-release only (all trout must be immediately released).

w

WATSON SAG see Lac qui Parle (page 42).

WEST INDIAN CREEK (Wabasha County) trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released
from the upstream Wabasha County Road 4 crossing to the source.

WEST SAVANNA RIVER (Aitkin County): see Big Sandy Lake (page 38).

WHITEWATER RIVER, MIDDLE BRANCH (Winona and Olmsted counties) trout:
catch-and-release on a 9.2-mile posted section from the group camp in Whitewater
State Park upstream to the source. Artificial lures and flies only. See page 24 for special
angling seasons within the boundaries of Whitewater State Park.

WHITEWATER RIVER, NORTH BRANCH (Wabasha, Olmsted and Winona counties) trout:
all from 12-16" must be immediately released on a 12.1 mile posted section from Township
Road 29 upstream to County Road 4. Artificial lures and flies only.

WISEL CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released on the
entire stream.

Z

ZUMBRO RIVER, NORTH FORK (Goodhue and Wabasha counties) trout: catch-and-release
on an 11.9 mile posted section from the Zumbro River, Main Branch upstream to Hwy. 10.

ZUMBRO RIVER (Wabasha County) smallmouth bass: catch-and-release along a 12-mile
posted section from Hwy. 63 at Zumbro Falls upstream to the Zumbro Lake Dam.
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BORDER WATERS

This section covers Minnesota’s border waters with Wisconsin, lowa, North Dakota, and
South Dakota, as well as the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Manitoba. It does not
include the waters of Lake Superior, which are not covered under border water rules. See
pages 25-27 for Lake Superior. All calendar dates refer to 2017 unless noted otherwise.

LICENSING

What license do | need to fish border waters?

» Minnesota residents must have a Minnesota license.

« Residents of a bordering state must have their state’s resident license.

+ Other nonresidents may purchase a Minnesota or the bordering state’s
nonresident license.

Can | fish anywhere on the border waters with a Minnesota license?

« In Canadian border waters, Minnesota residents or nonresidents fishing with a
Minnesota nonresident license, may only fish the Minnesota portion of the Canadian
border waters. To fish the Canadian portion, you must have a Canadian license.

« In other border waters, Minnesota residents or nonresidents fishing with a
Minnesota nonresident license, may fish throughout the defined waters bordering
the two states.

What if | don’t see a particular regulation listed in this section?

Unless otherwise noted, all general regulations relating to angling methods, licensing,
season, limits, fish possession and transportation apply to border waters (see pages
28-35). Also, all fish must be within length limits regardless of where caught (see

page 32). Please check the Experimental and Special Regulations section (pages 36-52)
for different regulations that may apply.

If fishing regulations differ between the border states, what regulations

do | follow?

You must obey the regulations of the state in which you are fishing. More permissive
regulations are limited to that state’s waters. Using number of lines as an example:

In Wisconsin waters anglers may use 3 lines, but in Minnesota waters anglers may only
use two lines.

Can | launch my boat or transport my catch back home from the adjacent state’s
boat launch?

Yes, you can both launch your boat and transport your catch by the most direct route
back to the state that you are licensed.

Do bowfishing regulations allowed for inland waters apply to border waters?
The bow fishing regulations covered on page 64 are only allowed on Minnesota’s
portion of the border waters. If the bordering state’s bowfishing regulations are the
same, bowfishers may take legal fish shore to shore under a Minnesota license.

LAKE STURGEON TAGS

Lake sturgeon tags and mail-in registration cards are required for anyone who wishes
to harvest and possess a lake sturgeon. However, a tag is not required to catch-and-
release lake sturgeon.
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The following requirements apply:

« An angler may take and possess only one lake sturgeon per calendar year.

+ Lake sturgeon may not be possessed or transported without a tag.

+ Validate and attach the tag immediately upon reducing the fish to possession.

+ Tag must be attached to the narrow portion of the body in front of the tail fin.

» Tags must be attached so that they cannot be easily removed.

- Tags are not transferable and no duplicate tags will be issued.

« Registration cards must be completed and mailed within 48 hours after harvesting a
fish. Send to: Regional Fisheries, 2115 Birchmont Beach Road NE, Bemidji, MN 56601.

« Lake sturgeon must be transported intact (gills and internal organs may be removed).

+ Members of a fishing party may not take sturgeon for other anglers’ limits.

CANADA-MINNESOTA

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the Minnesota portions of the
following waters:

Cook County: Clove Lake, Devils Elbow Lake, North Fowl Lake, South Fowl Lake,
Gneiss (Round) Lake, Granite Lake, Granite River, Gunflint Lake, Little Gunflint Lake,
Lily Lake (Fan, Vaseux), Magnetic Lake, Marabaeuf Lake, Moose Lake, Mountain Lake,
North Lake, Little North Lake, Pigeon River, Pine River, Rat Lake, Rose Lake, Rove Lake,
Saganaga Lake, South Lake, and Watap Lake.

Koochiching and Lake of the Woods counties: Rainy River.

Koochiching and St. Louis counties: Rainy Lake (including Black Bay).

Lake County: Basswood Lake (except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and Back Bays, which are
considered inland waters), Basswood River, Birch Lake, Carp Lake, Cypress Lake, Knife
Lake (except South Arm), Little Knife Lake, Knife River, Melon Lake, Seed Lake, Sucker
Lake, and Swamp Lake.

Lake and St. Louis counties: Crooked Lake.

Lake of the Woods and Roseau counties: Lake of the Woods.

St. Louis County: Bottle Lake, Iron Lake, Lac La Croix, Loon Lake, Loon River to
Loon River Falls, Namakan Lake, Sand Point Lake, and Little Vermilion Lake.

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted.

Canada-Minnesota Regulations

+ One line per angler is allowed, except two lines may be used when ice fishing.

- Saganaga Narrows is closed to fishing April 1-May 26.

- Saganaga Falls (Granite River mouth) and the channel between Little Gunflint and
Little North lakes are closed to fishing April 1-May 31.

« Dark houses, fish houses and shelters. See pages 66-70.

» While in Minnesota, anglers may not possess more than a Minnesota limit of fish
from Canada-Minnesota border waters. Fish from Canadian inland waters may
be possessed in Minnesota in excess of the Minnesota limit only if the angler has
proof—such as lodging receipts or verification through U.S. Customs—that the fish
were taken from inland Canadian waters.

+ A person cannot possess or use a gaff while fishing on the Rainy River.

+ Dressed sauger count as walleye (see page 33).

« Bowfishing (Minnesota’s portion of the waters only) see page 64.
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SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and May 14, 2016 - 6 (Not more than 1 over 20" in possession.)
sauger (either or April 14, 2017
combined) May 13, 2017 -
April 14,2018
EXCEPTIONS: May 13 - Nov. 30 6 (Not more than 4 can be walleye; only 1
Lake of the Woods walleye over 28"; walleye 197" through 28"
must be immediately released.)
Dec. 1,2016 - 8 (Not more than 4 can be walleye; only 1
April 14, 2017 walleye over 28"; walleye 19%" through 28"
Dec. 1, 2017 - must be immediately released.)
April 14,2018
Four Mile Bay March 1 - April 14 2 (Walleye 197" and larger must be
(SE bay of Lake of  each year immediately released.)
the Woods) May 13 - Nov. 30 6 (Not more than 4 can be walleye; only 1

walleye over 28"; walleye 19%" through 28"
must be immediately released.)

Dec. 1, 2017 - 8 (Not more than 4 can be walleye; only 1
Feb. 28, 2018 walleye over 28"; walleye 197" through 28"
must be immediately released.)
Namakan, Sand May 14, 2016 - 6 (Not more than 4 can be walleye; walleye
Point and Little April 14, 2017 from 17" through 28" must be immediately
Vermilion May 13, 2017 - released; only 1 walleye over 28")
April 14,2018
Rainy Lake May 14, 2016 - 8 (Not more than 4 can be walleye; walleye
April 14, 2017 from 18" to 26" must be immediately
May 13, 2017 - released; only 1 walleye over 26")
April 14, 2018
Rainy River March 1 - April 14 2 (Walleye 19'" and larger must be
each year immediately released.)
May 13, 2017 - 6 (Not more than 4 can be walleye; only 1
Feb. 28, 2018 walleye over 28"; walleye 19%" through 28"
must be immediately released.)
Saganaga Lake May 13, 2017 - 3 (17" minimum size limit. Only 1 walleye
April 14,2018 over 20")
Northern pike Continuous 3 (Only 1 over 30" in possession.)
EXCEPTIONS: Continuous 3 (All from 30" through 40" must be
Lake of the Woods immediately released. Only one over 40"
and the Rainy allowed in possession.)

River to the dam at
International Falls

Basswood Lake May 13, 2017 - 3 (All northern pike from 24" through 36"
Including Jackfish ~ Feb. 25, 2018 must be immediately released. Only 1 over
Pipestone, Hoist, 36" allowed in possession.)

and Back bays Continued...
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SPECIES OPEN SEASON | POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Muskellunge June 17 - Nov. 30 1 (minimum size 50").

Largemouth and smallmouth bass  Continuous 6
(either or combined)

Lake sturgeon Oct. 1, 2016 - Catch-and-release only.
April 23,2017 No tag needed.

April 24 - May 7 1* per calendar year, fish must
be 45-50" inclusive, or over 75"

May 8 - 15 Catch-and-release only.
No tag needed.

Closed: May 16 - Closed
June 30

July1-Sept. 30 1* per calendar year, fish must
be 45-50" inclusive, or over 75"

Oct. 1, 2017 - Catch-and-release only.
April 23,2018 No tag needed.
Crappie Continuous 10
Lake trout May 13 - Oct. 1 2
WINTER: Jan. 14, 2017 - 2

Lakes outside or partly outside March 31, 2017
the Boundary Waters Canoe Area

13,2018 -

Wilderness (BWCAW) includes f”r” 13’2(())188
all of Clearwater, East Bearskin, prith
Magnetic, Saganaga, Seagull, and
Snowbank.
Lakes entirely within the BWCAW. Dec. 31,2016 - 2

March 31,2017

Dec. 30, 2017 -

April 1-2018
Stream trout April 29 - Oct. 1 5 (not more than 3 over 16").
All other species Continuous Inland limits apply.

*Harvested lake sturgeon: immediately upon reducing a fish to possession, you must
validate and attach your sturgeon tag. Harvested sturgeon must be registered within
48 hours. See page 53-54 for more details.
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IOWA-MINNESOTA

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:
« Jackson County: Little Spirit Lake.
« Jackson and Nobles counties: lowa Lake.
« Martin County: Okamanpeedan (Tuttle), lowa, and Swag lakes.

Daily and possession limits are the same. All species not listed are covered by the inland
regulations of the state where taken.

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye Continuous 3
Northern pike Continuous 3
Largemouth and Continuous 3

smallmouth bass (either
or combined)

Muskellunge May 21 - Nov. 30 1 (minimum size 40")

Channel catfish Continuous 8 total or combined (when
Flathead catfish April 1-Nov. 30 flathead catfish season is open)
Sunfish* (either or Continuous 25

combined)

Perch Continuous 25

White bass and yellow Continuous No limit

bass (either or combined)

Bullhead Continuous No limit

Unprotected fish** Continuous No limit

*Bluegill, crappie, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids.

**Carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo, burbot, bowfin, gar, and quillback.

lowa-Minnesota Regulations
«+ Anglers may use up to two lines with two hooks per line.
« Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful.
« Spearing may be used anytime to take carp, buffalo, sheepshead, dogfish, gar,
or quillback.
« Spearing game fish is unlawful.
- Bowfishing regulations, see page 64.
« Dark house, fish house, and shelters, see pages 66-70.
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NORTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA

Seasons and regulations apply to the Bois de Sioux River and the Red River of the
North. Daily and possession limits are the same. All species not listed are covered by
the inland regulations of the state where taken.

SPECIES OPEN SEASON | POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and sauger (either or Continuous g

combined)

Northern pike Continuous 3

Sunfish Continuous 30

Perch Continuous 50

Crappie Continuous 30

Largemouth and smallmouth Continuous 3

bass (either or combined)

Lake sturgeon March 1- April 14 Catch-and-release only; no tag
June 16,2017 - needed:
April 14,2018

Muskellunge Continuous 1 (minimum size 50")

Rock bass Continuous 20

Bullhead Continuous 100

Catfish Continuous 5 (only 1 over 24")

Unprotected fish* Continuous No limit

*Carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo, burbot, bowfin, gar, white bass.

North Dakota-Minnesota Regulations

+ Two lines are permitted, and two hooks are permitted on each line.

« Dark house spearing is legal; however, catfish may not be speared at any time.
For other rules, see pages 66-70.

« It is unlawful to possess a spear or bow and arrow on or adjacent to any water body
where the spearing and archery season is closed.

+ Rough fish, except burbot (eelpout), may be taken by spearing or archery between
sunrise and sunset from May 1through December 31. The bowfishing regulations on
page 64 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion of the border waters when they
differ from those of the border state. If the bowfishing regulations are the same,
then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

+ Once you possess a fish caught by angling, you cannot replace it with another fish.
However, at the end of your fishing day you may release live fish before leaving
the water.

- Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 66-70.

« Check North Dakota regulations regarding fishing from North Dakota’s shore.
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SOUTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:
« Big Stone County: Big Stone Lake.
+ Lincoln County: Hendricks Lake.
« Traverse County: Lake Traverse, Mud Lake, Bois de Sioux River to North Dakota
border, and Mustinka River from the mouth to the Minnesota State Hwy. 117 bridge.

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. All species not listed
are covered by the inland regulations of the state where taken.

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and sauger
(either or combined)

Northern pike

Largemouth and
smallmouth bass
(either or combined)

Crappie

Sunfish* (either or
combined)

Rock bass
Bullhead

Perch

Channel catfish
Flathead catfish

Sturgeon

Unprotected fish**

April 22,2017 - Feb. 28, 2018

April 22,2017 - Feb. 28, 2018
April 22,2017 - Feb. 28, 2018

Continuous

Continuous

Continuous

Continuous

Continuous

Continuous

April 1- Nov. 30

March 1 - April 14

June 16, 2017 - April 14, 2018

Continuous

4 (only 1 walleye 20" or larger)

6 (spearing limit 3)
6

10
10

20
100
15 daily and 30 in possession

5 combined (when flathead
catfish is open). Only 1 over 24",

Catch-and-release only; no tag
needed.

No Limit

*Bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

**Carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo, burbot, bowfin, gar, white bass.

South Dakota-Minnesota Regulations
« Anglers may use two lines with up to three hooks per line.

- Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful.

+ Unprotected fish, except white bass, may be taken by spearing from sunrise to

sunset from May 1, 2017 through February 28, 2018.
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« The bowfishing regulations on page 64 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion of
the border waters when they differ from those of South Dakota. If the bowfishing
regulations are the same, then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

« It is unlawful to possess a spear, spring gaff, or bow and arrow on or adjacent to any
body of water where the spearing and archery season is closed.

+ Spearing game fish is unlawful except northern pike and catfish may be speared
from a dark house.

« Northern pike limit for dark house spearing is 3. See pages 66-70 for other rules.

« Catfish may not be taken by spearing anytime on the Bois De Sioux River from
White Rock Dam to the North Dakota border.

« Dark house, fish house, and shelters (see pages 66-70).

» Once you possess a fish caught by angling, on the Bois de Sioux River from the
White Rock Dam to the North Dakota border, you cannot replace it with another
fish. However, at the end of your fishing day you may release live fish before leaving
the water.

Road Right-of-Way

Some road right-of-ways are not owned by a unit of government. In these
instances the landowner has granted an easement for vehicle and foot travel.
The landowner generally retains authority to restrict access for angling and may
prohibit trespass by posting the land or by verbally directing anglers to leave the
easement. It’s always best to ask permission if in doubt about the ownership of a
road ditch area. County or township offices also may be able to help determine
the ownership status of a road ditch.

Helpful examples of road right-of-way ownership and public use include:

« Interstate highways are normally owned by the government, but hunting is not
allowed.

- State highways are most often owned by the state, but there may be a mix of
easements and state ownership.

» County roads may be owned by the county, or there may be easements.
Roadways with easements tend to be gravel, while roads owned by the county
tend to be paved. Road surface is a visual indicator of the ownership but is not
an absolute condition.

« Township roads are generally easement and not owned by the township, but
some township roads are owned by the township. As is the case with county
roads, road surface can be a visual indicator of the ownership.

« The ownership or easement status can vary on any one stretch of road, and
can vary from road to road.

Visually, the road right-of-way is improved and maintained, and you will normally
notice a change in the property—including such things as ditches, fence lines, etc.
The actual distance from the center of the road that is improved and maintained
can vary under ownership or easement, and from one location to another.

new
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WISCONSIN-MINNESOTA

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:

Mississippi River (downstream of the Hwy. bridge in Prescott, Wisconsin and all waters
between the Burlington Northern [Wisconsin] and Canadian Pacific [Minnesota]
railroad tracks). Lake Pepin, St. Croix River, Lake St. Croix, St. Louis River, St. Louis Bay,
and Superior Bay.

Daily and possession limits are the same. All species not listed are covered by the inland
regulations of the state where a fish is taken.

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and sauger (either or combined)

St. Louis River May 13, 2017 - 2 (15" minimum size for walleye)
March 1, 2018
St. Croix River April 29, 2017 - 6 (15" minimum size for walleye)

March 1, 2018

Mississippi River and
Lake Pepin

Continuous

6 (15" minimum size for walleye)

Largemouth and smallmouth bass (either or combined)

St. Louis River

May 27,2017 -
March 1, 2018

5 (14" minimum size)

St. Croix River
Upstream of Taylors
Falls Dam

May 27 - Sept. 10

5 (14" minimum size)

Sept. 11,2017 -
March 1, 2018

Catch-and-release only

Downstream of
Taylors Falls Dam
to U.S. Hwy. 10 Bridge

May 27,2017 -
March 1, 2018

5 (14" minimum size)

Mississippi River and Continuous 5 (14" minimum size)
Lake Pepin
Northern pike
St. Louis River May 13, 2017 - 2
March 1, 2018
St. Croix River April 29,2017 - March 5
1,2018
Mississippi River and Continuous S)

Lake Pepin
Muskellunge

Perch

May 27 - Nov. 30

Continuous

1(50" minimum size)

25

Continued...
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SPECIES OPEN SEASON | POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Channel catfish Continuous 10 total in combination (when flathead
Flathead catfish April1- Nov.30  catfish season is open)

Bullhead Continuous No limit

Rough fish Continuous No limit

White bass and yellow Continuous 25

bass (either or combined)

Crappie Continuous 25

Rock bass Continuous 25

Sunfish (either or Continuous 25

combined) (sunfish include
bluegill, pumpkinseed,
green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

Paddlefish No open season

Lake sturgeon March 1 - April 14

St. Louis River and the June 16, 2017 - Catch-and-release only; no tag needed.
Mississippi River below April 14, 2018

the Red Wing dam and

Lake Pepin

Mississippi River above June 16, 2017 - Catch-and-release only; no tag needed.
the Red Wing dam March 1, 2018

to the mouth of the
St. Croix River

St. Croix River above June 16, 2017 - Catch-and-release only; no tag needed.
Taylors Falls March 12018
St. Croix River from June 16 - Sept. 1 Catch-and-release only; no tag needed.

Taylors Falls to mouth
including Lake St. Croix

Sept. 2 - 30 1* per calendar year (60" minimum size)

Oct. 1. 2017 - Catch-and-release only; no tag needed.
March 1, 2018

Shovelnose sturgeon June 16, 2017 - Catch-and-release only
St. Croix River including March 1, 2018

Lake St. Croix and

Mississippi River above

Red Wing dam

Mississippi River below Continuous 10
Red Wing dam

* Sturgeon tag needed to harvest a lake sturgeon. See page 53-54 for details.
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Wisconsin—-Minnesota Regulations

« Two lines with a single lure or bait on each are permitted. If fishing with one line,
you may use two baits.

« Fish hooked in any part of the body, except the mouth, must be returned to the
water immediately.

+ Angler must be within 400 feet of their tip-ups.

+ Rough fish may be taken by spearing and dip-netting between sunrise and sunset
from April 29, 2017, through March 1, 2018. Dip net hoops cannot exceed 24 inches
in diameter.

+ Spearing game fish is prohibited. It is unlawful to have a spear on or adjacent to any
body of water where the spearing season is closed.

« The bowfishing regulations on page 64 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion
of the border waters when they differ from those of Wisconsin. If the bowfishing
regulations are the same, then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

+ No fishing allowed within 300 feet below Mississippi River Lock and Dam 3
(near Red Wing) and Lock and Dam 4 (Alma, WI) from March 1-April 30.

+ No fishing from Taylors Falls (St. Croix Falls on the St. Croix River) dam to 50 feet
downstream from the pier in center of river.

« Dark house, fish house, and shelters (see pages 66-70).

Licenses by phone. Purchase an e-license today!

Minnesota fishing licenses can be purchased via most mobile devices. No more
waiting in line. No more stops on the way to your favorite fishing spot.

Purchasing an e-license on your smartphone or tablet means that you won’t receive
a paper copy of your license. Instead, you elect to receive a text

message, email or both that displays your valid license.

Only fishing and hunting licenses that don’t require a

tag can be purchased as e-licenses. The text or email

confirming your valid license must be presented to

a conservation officer upon request.

o www.mndnr.gov/buyalicense

Visit exploreminnesota.com/
things-to-do/fishing-hunting

« Sign up for free fishing

updates delivered anywhere!
» Download the Minnesota
Fishing Guide

1
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SPEARING, ARCHERY AND DIP NETS

BOWFISHING

SPECIES POSSESSION SEASONS (DAY AND NIGHT)
LIMIT

Bullhead 100 2017 Early Season*: south of Hwy. 210 only on
lakes and on Minnesota, Mississippi, or St. Croix

Sucker 50 . )
rivers, from boats only:
Redhorse 50 Feb. 27 - April 28, 2017
Other rough No limit Regular Statewide: April 29, 2017 - Feb. 25, 2018
fish species 2018 Early Season*: Feb. 26 - April 27,2018

*During the early season, a person may bowfish only on waters south of Hwy. 210 and only
from a boat and only while on a lake or on the Mississippi, Minnesota, or St. Croix rivers.

Can | fish with a bow and arrow?
You can bowfish for rough fish over open water or through the ice in a fish house or
shelter, day or night, with or without lights, during the open season.

« You need a fishing license if you’re 16 or older unless you qualify for an angling
license exclusion.

« Arrows must have a barb and be attached to the bow with a tethered line.

« To possess a bow, you need to follow all local firearms and archery ordinances.
You can transport and use a bow while taking rough fish from a watercraft with or
without a motor.

« From sunset to sunrise you cannot discharge a bow within 300 feet of a campsite
or within 150 feet of an occupied structure.

« You cannot make more than 65 decibels of noise on the “A” scale measured at a
distance of 50 feet from the boat.

« If you shoot a fish you have to try to retrieve the fish and your arrow.

« You can’t shoot a fish and throw it back in the water, leave it on any bank of any
waterway or any access site or otherwise illegally dispose of the fish.

« You can’t bowfish in designated trout lakes and streams.

+ You can’t bowfish in posted spawning areas.

Can | fish with a crossbow?
You cannot unless:
« You are age 60 or older; or
« You are disabled and have a valid crossbow permit. Permit applications are available
from the DNR website.

What species may | take when bowfishing?
You may only bowfish for rough fish, which include carp, buffalo, sucker, redhorse,
sheepshead, bowfin, burbot (eelpout), cisco (tullibee), gar, mooneye and bullhead.

If | take fish by bowfishing can | also take fish by spearing, harpooning,

dip netting or seining?

Yes but you cannot exceed the daily limit for each species taken with any combination
of archery, spearing, harpooning, dip netting or seining equipment to reach the limit.
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SPEARING, HARPOONING AND DIP NETTING

SPECIES POSSESSION SEASONS (FROM SUNRISE TO SUNSET)
LIMIT

Sucker 50 Spearing: April 29, 2017 -
Feb. 25,2018
Bullhead 100 Spearing: April 29, 2017 - Harpooning, dip net
Feb. 18,2018 e el
Redhorse 50 Spearing: April 29, 2017 - May1,2017 -
Feb. 18,2018 Feb. 18,2018
Other rough No limit Spearing: April 29, 2017 -
fish species Feb. 18,2018

Can | spear, harpoon or dip net for rough fish?
You can harpoon or dip net for fish from all inland waters, except where taking fish is
not allowed, from sunrise to sunset provided:
+ You have a fishing license if you're 16 or older unless you qualify for an angling
license exclusion.
+ Speared or dead rough fish are not returned to the water or left on the banks or ice
of any water.

What equipment can | use for rough fish?

« You can only use spears, underwater harpoons, dip nets, seines used for taking
smelt, traps used for taking minnows for bait or angling equipment and nets
associated with angling.

« You can use any spear.

+ You can use an underwater harpoon or spear that is discharged by a
rubber-powered gun, spring gun or air gun and attached with a tethered line not
more than 20 feet long and discharged only when the equipment and the operator
are entirely under water.

» Harpoons may not be carried in a cocked position while out of the water.

+ The hoops on hand-held dip nets cannot exceed 24 inches in diameter.

+ During a closed season, you cannot possess spears, traps, dip nets, seines or
harpoons on or near any waters.

Where can | spear, harpoon or dip net for fish?
« All inland waters except Baby Lake (Cass County) and where taking fish is prohibited.
+ You cannot harpoon within 1,000 feet of swimming beach.
« You can’t spear, harpoon or dip net in a designated trout stream.

Can | sell or buy rough fish?
Yes. All rough fish except cisco (tullibee) can be bought or sold.

Can | take a limit of fish for each method?

No. You cannot exceed the daily limit for each species taken with any combination of
spearing, harpooning, dip netting or seining equipment to reach the limit. Fish taken by
archery (bowfishing) also are included in this limit.
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DARK HOUSE SPEARING,

ICE ANGLING AND ICE SHELTERS

DARK HOUSE SPEARING

SPECIES* | SPEARING POSSESSION LIMIT
SEASON

:i::;them From sunrise to 3 (only 1 over 30" (unless special regulations apply)
sunset Nov. 15,

Catfish 2017 - Feb. 25 5 (only 1 over 24") (not more than 2 flathead); flathead
2018 except season closed Dec. 1 through end of spearing season

Whitefish  [RSIEIRIRIEECN N [imit

*For other species see table on page 64.

What is a dark house?
Any structure that is darkened to view fish under the ice. Holes in the ice are cut inside
these structures so fish can be speared.

Do | need a license to spear from a dark house?

You need a dark house spearing license and an angling license if you are age 18 to 89.
If you are 16 or 17 years old, you need an angling license but do not need a dark house
spearing license.

When can | spear fish from a dark house?

From sunrise to sunset, November 15 to the last Sunday in February, except where
not allowed. Check border waters regulations for each state or province if on
border waters.

What methods can | use while spearing in a dark house?

+ You can use spears.

« You also may take fish by angling or with a tip-up if you use only one line. All fish
you catch must be immediately released or placed on the ice and not dangled in
the water.

« You cannot use artificial lights to see or attract fish when spearing.

« You can use lighted decoy fish but any battery in the lighted decoy must not
contain mercury.

What species of fish can | spear from a dark house?
Northern pike, channel catfish, whitefish and rough fish.

If more than one person is spearing in a dark house, how many fish

can you spear?

Party fishing does not apply to dark house spearing. Each person can only spear their
own fish.
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Where can | spear fish in a dark house?
Most inland waters of the state. If you are on border waters, check border water
regulations.

What lakes are closed to dark house spearing?
Baby (Cass County)

ICE ANGLING

How many lines can | use through the ice?
Two, except on designated trout lakes and streams you can only use one line.

How far away can | go from my lines?
You must remain within sight of your line. If you’re using a tip-up (a device with spooled
line and a flag that pops up to indicate when a fish bites) you need to be within 200 feet.

Does ice fishing have any other regulations that differ from open water fishing
besides the number of lines | can use?
No, but anglers must follow all general and special regulations.

ICE SHELTERS

Do I need a license for my fish house or dark house?

« All shelters in inland waters need a license if left unattended any time between
midnight and 1 hour before sunrise.

« The fish house license tag must be attached to the outside in a readily visible
location on the shelter.

« A shelter license is not required on the border waters between Minnesota or
Wisconsin, lowa and North and South Dakota.

« A shelter license is valid from March 1 through April 30 of the following year.

Do | need any kind of identification on my shelter?
All shelters need identification, except portable shelters that are occupied. Occupying
a shelter means staying within 200 feet of it. |dentification means one of the following:
« Owner’s name and address; owner’s driver’s license number; or owner’s Minnesota
DNR identification number.
« |dentification must be on the outside of the shelter with characters at least
2 inches high.

Where can | place my shelter?
« Anywhere on Minnesota waters.
« Shelters must be no closer than 10 feet apart.
+ In the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness (BWCAW) you can use a shelter but
must remove it from the ice each night and each time you leave the BWCAW.

Are there any regulations about shelter design?
+ The door must open outward toward the outside.
« If you leave your shelter out overnight, you need at least 2 square inches of
reflective material on each side.
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The following types of heaters are
recommended for heating fish houses:

Vent Gasses

Conventional Vent Space Heater
This heater has a vent that goes up
through the roof of a fish house and
requires fresh air for combustion to be
brought in from the outside.

Fresh Air |

Conventional Vent Heater

Direct Vent Heater - (DV)

This heater has a sealed combustion
chamber that vents all combustion
products through the sidewall and uses
combustion air from outside the fish

house.
Direct Vent Heater

Vent Free Heaters with

Oxygen Depletion Sensor (ODS)

This heater usually uses infrared

technology for the heating element. The
vent Free Heater ODS will shut off the heating unit if
with ODS System oxygen levels get low.
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Thousands of Minnesotans take to
the ice for recreational fishing every
year. However, every year ice anglers
are needlessly injured or Killed by
the improper use of heaters in fish
houses. These injuries and deaths

are often caused by carbon monox-
ide from unvented or poorly vented
propane heaters. Used correctly,
propane is a safe and efficient fuel

for home and recreational use.

NEVER USE - Sunflower type heaters
are not recommended for use in fish
houses. Most are approved for outdoor
use only and have no safety systems to
prevent carbon monoxide poisoning.
Use outdoors only!

Only use heaters that are listed as or
approved for indoor use in your fish
house.

Follow manufacturers’ installation
recommendations.

Check all gas connections for leaks.

Keep propane cylinders OUTSIDE.

A message from the Minnesota
Propane Association

Paid Advertisement

Happy Fishing!
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Are there different shelter regulations for border waters for adjacent states?
If you are on border waters between Minnesota and Wisconsin, lowa or North and
South Dakota, the regulations for the state that issues your fishing license apply for
your shelter.

Does the trailer | use to haul my fish house, fishing equipment or fish house on
wheels need to be registered?
Yes. See your local Deputy Registrar for trailer registration.

Can | use a fish shelter after the removal date?
Yes but the fish shelter must be removed at the end of fishing. You can use it overnight,
but it must be occupied between midnight and 1 hour before sunrise.

What happens if | don’t remove my shelter before the deadline?
The owners of the shelter will be prosecuted, and the structure and contents may be
confiscated or destroyed by a conservation officer.

Can | leave my shelter on a public access site after | take it off the ice?
No.

What happens if | don’t remove fish house blocking materials placed under a
fish house to keep it from freezing to the ice surface or trash that was generated
during ice fishing activities?
« Anglers are required to remove all litter or trash generated during ice fishing
activities.
« Anglers can be issued a citation for littering or a civil citation for a solid waste
violation or products left on the ice due to ice fishing activities.

Shelter Removal Dates

All shelters must be off the ice no later

than midnight for each of the dates given

in the following categories below.

Inland waters
March 20, 2017
March 19, 2018

Inland waters

Dates of removal are determined by

an east-west line formed by U.S. Hwy. 10,
east along Hwy. 34 to Minnesota

Hwy. 200, east along Hwy. 200 to

U.S. Hwy. 2, and east along Hwy. 2 to

the Minnesota-Wisconsin border.
Inland waters

Border waters March 6, 2017
» Minnesota-lowa, Feb. 20 March 5, 2018
« Minnesota-Wisconsin, March 1
« Minnesota-North and South Dakota,
March 5
« Minnesota-Canada, March 31
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AIS-INFESTED WATERS

« The DNR lists lakes and rivers as “infested” with certain aquatic invasive species.

« If you are harvesting bait, commercial fishing, or diverting or taking water, you
might need to follow special regulations in infested waters.

« 95% of Minnesota’s more than 11,000 lakes are not on the infested waters list.

«» On the following pages, you can find the infested waters list as of December 2016.
Water bodies are listed alphabetically by the name of the water body followed by
the county and the invasive species for which the water body is listed.

« The DNR lists additional waters throughout the year—look for orange Invasive
Species Alert signs at the access. You can also use LakeFinder to find out if a
particular lake is listed as infested: www.mndnr.gov/lakefind. For more information
about infested waters, including an up-to-date infested waters list and additional
location information, visit www.mndnr.gov/invasives.

Future fishing regulations booklets may not contain a full infested waters list.

A

Adley (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Adley Creek from Big Birch to the Sauk
River (Todd and Stearns) zebra mussel

Alexander (Morrison) Eurasian watermilfoil

Alice (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Alimagnet (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Alvin (Douglas) zebra mussel

Amelia (Anoka) flowering rush

Anderson’s Marsh (Jackson) bighead carp,
silver carp

Andrew (Douglas) zebra mussel

Andrusia (Beltrami) zebra mussel

Ann (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Arbor North (Hennepin) Eurasian
watermilfoil (DOW 27114000)

Arbor South (Hennepin) Eurasian
watermilfoil (S %, SW %, S23, TI19N,
R22W)

Arbor West (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 27113000)

Arrowhead (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Arrowhead (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Artlip (Lake) zebra mussel

Ash River downstream of the northern
section line of S8 T68N, R19W (St. Louis
spiny waterflea

Auburn (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Augusta (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Bald Eagle (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil,
flowering rush

Ballantyne (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil

Bass (Anoka) flowering rush

Bass or Ray (Cass) zebra mussel (DOW
11022000)

Bass (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Bass (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Basswood (Lake) spiny waterflea

Basswood River between Basswood Lake
and Crooked Lake (Lake) spiny waterflea

Baudette River from 500 feet upstream of
Hwy. 11 downstream to the Rainy River
(Lake of the Woods) spiny waterflea

Bavaria (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Bay (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil

Bear (Carlton) Eurasian watermilfoil

Beaver (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Beebe (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Bertha (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Big (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil

Big Birch (Todd and Stearns) zebra mussel

Big Cormorant (Becker) zebra mussel

Big Fork River from 500 feet upstream
of the public water access on Hwy.
11 downstream to the Rainy River
(Koochiching) spiny waterflea

Big Marine (Washington) Eurasian
watermilfoil

Big Pine (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Big Rice (Beltrami) zebra mussel

Big Sandy (Aitkin) flowering rush

Big Trout (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Birch (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Bird’s Eye (ltasca) zebra mussel

Bishop Creek between North Long and
Round, also known as Sugar Bush Creek
(Crow Wing) zebra mussel
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Bishop Creek between Round and Gull
(Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Black Bear (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Black River the south branch downstream
of Hwy. 11 and the west branch
downstream of Hwy. 147 (Koochiching)
spiny waterflea

Blackwater (Itasca) faucet snail

Bone (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Boom (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Bottle (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Bottle River between Bottle and Lac La
Croix (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Bowstring (Itasca) faucet snail

Bowstring River from Sand downstream to
Rice (Itasca) zebra mussel

Breckenridge (Wilkin) zebra mussel

Bridge (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Brophy (Douglas) zebra mussel

Brownie (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Bryant (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Buck (Becker) flowering rush, zebra mussel

Buck (Beltrami) zebra mussel

Bucks Mill Pond (Becker) zebra mussel

Buffalo (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Burandt (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Burntside (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Burntside River between Burntside and
Shagawa (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Bush (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Byllesby (Dakota) flowering rush

C

Calhoun (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Calhoun (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Camp (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Camp Galilee (Washington)
Eurasian watermilfoil
Cannon (Rice) flowering rush
Cannon River from Wells Lower Sakatah to
the confluence with the Straight River
(Goodhue, Rice) flowering rush
Caribou (Cook) spiny waterflea
Carlos (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Caroline (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cass (Beltrami) starry stonewort,
zebra mussel
Cate’s (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cedar (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cedar (McLeod) Eurasian watermilfoil

Cedar (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cedar (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cenaiko (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Centerville (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Charley (Douglas) zebra mussel
Charley (Ramsey) zebra mussel
Charlotte (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Chisago (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Christmas (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Chub (Carlton) Eurasian watermilfoil
Circle (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clamshell (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
Clear (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp
Clear (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clear (Waseca) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clear (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clearwater (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clearwater (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Clearwater River downstream of Clearwater,
including 500 feet upstream into its
tributaries (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clearwater River downstream of Clearwater
to the Mississippi River (Wright)
zebra mussel
Cloquet River from Island Lake to the
St. Louis River (St. Louis) spiny waterflea
Cobblestone (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Colby (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Comfort (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Constance (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Coon (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Coon-Sandwick (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil
County ditches connected to designated
infested waters in Jackson County
(Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp
Courthouse (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cowdry (Douglas) zebra mussel
Crane (St. Louis) spiny waterflea
Crooked (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Crooked (Lake) spiny waterflea
(DOW 38081700)
Crooked (Lake) zebra mussel
(DOW 38002400)
Cross (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
Cross (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil
Crow Wing River downstream of the
confluence with the Long Prairie River
to the Mississippi River (Cass, Morrison)
zebra mussel
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Crow Wing River from Hwy. 87 in Hubbard
County downstream to the confluence
with the Mississippi River, including
500 feet upstream into its tributaries

(Cass, Hubbard, Morrison, Todd, Wadena)

faucet snail
Crystal (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Crystal (Otter Tail) zebra mussel
Curfman (Deadshot Bay) (Becker)
flowering rush
Cut Foot Sioux (ltasca) faucet snail,
zebra mussel

D

Daggett (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
Darling (Douglas) zebra mussel
Dayton Hollow Reservoir (Otter Tail)
zebra mussel
Dead River (St. Louis) spiny waterflea
Deer (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
DeMontreville (Washington)
Eurasian watermilfoil
Detroit (Becker) flowering rush,
zebra mussel
Devil Track (Cook) spiny waterflea
Devilfish (Cook) spiny waterflea
Dutch (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Dutch (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

E

Eagle (includes North and South) (Blue
Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil
Eagle (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Eagle (includes Pike) (Hennepin)
Eurasian watermilfoil
Eagle (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil
Earley (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
East Jefferson (Le Sueur)
Eurasian watermilfoil
East Spirit (Otter Tail) zebra mussel
East Sylvia (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
East Twin (St. Louis) spiny waterflea
Edina Mill Pond (Hennepin) zebra mussel
Egg (ltasca) faucet snail, zebra mussel
Ellen (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Elmo (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Emily (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Emily (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Emma (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Erie (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Eunice (Becker) zebra mussel

F

Faille (Todd) zebra mussel

Fall (Lake) spiny waterflea

Firemen’s (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

First Crow Wing (Hubbard) faucet snail

First River Lake (Itasca) faucet snail,
zebra mussel

Fish (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil

Fish (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Fish (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Fish (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Fish (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Fish (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Fish Trap (Morrison) zebra mussel

Fish Trap Creek from Fish Trap to the Long
Prairie River (Multiple) zebra mussel

Florida (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil

Flour (Cook) spiny waterflea

Forest (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Forest (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil,
flowering rush, zebra mussel

Fox (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil

Franklin (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

French (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil

French (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

G

Galpin (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Games (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil
Geneva (Douglas) zebra mussel
George (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
George (Olmsted) Eurasian watermilfoil
George Watch (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
German (Le Sueur) Eurasian watermilfoil
Gervais (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Gervais Mill Pond (Ramsey)
Eurasian watermilfoil
Gilbert (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
Gilbert Pit (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Gilchrist (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil
Goodview (Winona) Eurasian watermilfoil
Goose (Chisago) Eurasian water milfoil
Goose (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Granite (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Grass (Wright) zebra mussel
Gray’s Bay Outlet wetland (Hennepin)
zebra mussel
Green (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Green (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil
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Green (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Green’s (Cass) zebra mussel

Greenwood (Cook) spiny waterflea

Grill (Douglas) zebra mussel

Grovers (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

Guernsey (Todd) zebra mussel

Gull (Cass) zebra mussel

Gull River (Cass) zebra mussel

Gunflint (Cook) spiny waterflea

H

Hale (ltasca) Eurasian watermilfoil
Half-Moon (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
Ham (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Harriet (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Hart (Itasca) flowering rush
Hiawatha (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Holland (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Holman (ltasca) flowering rush
Hooper Creek from 500 feet upstream
of State Hwy. 172 downstream to
the Rainy River (Lake of the Woods)
spiny waterflea
Horseshoe (Le Sueur) flowering rush
Horseshoe (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil
Horseshoe (Washington)
Eurasian watermilfoil
Houghtaling Creek downstream of the
mouth of the unnamed creek draining
Artlip (Lake) zebra mussel
Howard (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Hubert (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
Hunt (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
Huntington Mine (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
Husen Marsh (Jackson) bighead carp, silver
carp (DOW 32004200)
Hydes (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ice (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ida (Becker) zebra mussel

Ida (Douglas) zebra mussel

lllinois (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

Independence (Hennepin) Eurasian
watermilfoil, zebra mussel

Indian (Nobles) bighead carp, silver carp

Indian (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Irene (Douglas) zebra mussel

Iron (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Island, Island-Loon (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Island (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Island (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

J

Jane (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Jefferson (Le Sueur) Eurasian watermilfoil
Jessie (Douglas) zebra mussel
Johanna (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
John (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Johnson Creek from the Rainy River
upstream to 500 feet beyond the first
road crossing (Lake of the Woods)
spiny waterflea
Jonathan known as Upper Lake Grace
(Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Josephine (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Judicial Ditch No. 35 from S14, TI02N, R36W
to Rush (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp
Judicial Ditch No. 8 between Clear and Loon
(Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp
Judicial ditches connected to designated
infested waters in Jackson County
(Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

K

Kabetogama (St. Louis) spiny waterflea
Keller (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Keller (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Kelser’s Pond (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Kerbs (Otter Tail) zebra mussel
Kimball (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Kitchi (Beltrami) zebra mussel
Knife (Kanabec) Eurasian watermilfoil,
faucet snail
Kohlmans (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Koronis, including Mud (Stearns)
starry stonewort
L

Lac La Croix (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Lac Lavon (Dakota) brittle naiad,
Eurasian watermilfoil

Lac qui Parle (Lac qui Parle, Chippewa, Swift)
zebra mussel

Lake of the Isles (Hennepin)
Eurasian watermilfoil

Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods)
spiny waterflea

Lakewood Cemetery (Hennepin)
Eurasian watermilfoil

Langton (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Latoka (Douglas) zebra mussel

Le Homme Dieu (Douglas) Eurasian
watermilfoil, zebra mussel
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Leech (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Leech Lake River between Mud Lake and
Mississippi River (Cass) faucet snail
Libbs (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Lida (North and South) (Otter Tail)
zebra mussel
Lily (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Linwood (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Birch (Todd) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel
Little Cut Foot (ltasca) faucet snail,
zebra mussel
Little Elk (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Fork River from 100 feet upstream of
Hwy. 11 downstream to the Rainy River
(Koochiching) spiny waterflea
Little Hanging Horn (Carlton)
Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Horseshoe (Chisago)
Eurasian watermilfoil
Little John (Cook) spiny waterflea
Little Long (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Mary (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little McDonald (Otter Tail) zebra mussel
Little Mud (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Osakis (Todd) zebra mussel
Little Pelican (Otter Tail) zebra mussel
Little Pine (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
Little Rabbit (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
Little Rice (Beltrami) zebra mussel
Little Rock (Benton) zebra mussel
Little Rock Lake Channel (Benton)
zebra mussel
Little Sand (Itasca) zebra mussel
Little Sioux River and its tributaries (Jackson)
bighead carp, silver carp
Little Spirit (Jackson) bighead carp,
silver carp
Little Vermilion (St. Louis) spiny waterflea
Little Waverly (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Winnibigoshish (Itasca) faucet snail,
zebra mussel
Lizzie (Otter Tail) zebra mussel
Lobster (Douglas) zebra mussel
Locke (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Loeb (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long (Douglas) zebra mussel
Long (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 82002100)

Long (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 82011800)

Long (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 82013000)

Long (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 82003000)

Long known as Tame Fish (Crow Wing)
Eurasian watermilfoil (DOW 18000200)

Long Prairie River, including 500 feet
upstream into its tributaries (Cass,
Douglas, Todd) zebra mussel

Loon (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Loon (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

Loon (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Loon Creek between Loon and Spirit
(Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

Lottie (Douglas) zebra mussel

Lotus (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Louise (Douglas) zebra mussel

Louise Mine Pit (Crow Wing) Eurasian
watermilfoil

Love (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Lower Cullen (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Lower Hay (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Lower Mission (Crow Wing) Eurasian
watermilfoil

Lower Prior (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Lower Spunk (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil

Lower Twin (Wadena) faucet snail

Lower Watab (Stearns) zebra mussel

Lucy (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Lura (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil

M

Madison (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil
Magda (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Mangan Mine Pit (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
Manuella (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Maple (Douglas) zebra mussel
Maple (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Maple (Upper Maple) (Wright)

flowering rush
Margaret (Cass) zebra mussel
Marion (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Marshan (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Mary (Douglas) zebra mussel
Mary (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Maud (Becker) zebra mussel
Mazaska (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
McCarron (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
McColl (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
McCormack (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil

AlS-Infested Waters 75



McCraney (Mahnomen) faucet snail

McDonough (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

McFarland (Cook) spiny waterflea

McKinney (ltasca) Eurasian watermilfoil

McMahon (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil

Meadowbrook (Hennepin) zebra mussel

Medicine (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Melissa (Becker) flowering rush, zebra mussel

Middle Jefferson (Le Sueur)
Eurasian watermilfoil

Middle Spunk (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil

Mill (Becker) flowering rush

Mill (Douglas) zebra mussel

Mill Pond (Becker) zebra mussel

Mill Pond (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Mille Lacs (Mille Lacs) Eurasian watermilfoil,
spiny waterflea, zebra mussel

Mille Lacs tributaries from their mouths
upstream to the posted boundaries
(Aitkin, Crow Wing, and Mille Lacs)
Eurasian watermilfoil, spiny waterflea,
zebra mussel

Miller (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Miller Creek from 500 feet upstream of
State Hwy. 172 downstream to the Rainy
River (Lake of the Woods) spiny waterflea

Miltona (Douglas) zebra mussel

Mina (Douglas) zebra mussel

Mink (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil (DOW
86008800)

Mink (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil (DOW
86022900)

Minnehaha Creek (Hennepin) Eurasian
watermilfoil, flowering rush

Minnehaha Creek between Minnetonka and
Nokomis (Hennepin) zebra mussel

Minnehaha Marsh (Hennepin) zebra mussel

Minnesota River pool behind Granite Falls,
MN dam (Yellow Medicine) zebra mussel

Minnetonka (Hennepin) Eurasian
watermilfoil, flowering rush, zebra mussel

Minnewashta (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Minnewaska (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Minnie-Belle (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil

Mississippi River between Wolf, Andrusia,
Cass and Winnibigoshish (Beltrami, Cass,
Itasca) zebra mussel

Mississippi River downstream of St. Anthony
Falls to the Minnesota-lowa border
(Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin, Houston,
Ramsey, Wabasha, Washington, Winona)

bighead carp, Eurasian watermilfoil,
grass carp, silver carp

Mississippi River from Lock and Dam 1 (Ford
Dam) downstream to Lock and Dam 2
(Pool 2) (Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
Washington) flowering rush

Mississippi River from Lock and Dam 6 to
the Minnesota-lowa border (Houston,
Winona) faucet snail

Mississippi River from the Knutson Dam
downstream to Little Winnibigoshish
(Beltrami, Cass, Itasca) zebra mussel

Mississippi River from 500 feet upstream
of the mouth of the Pine River in Crow
Wing County to the Minnesota-lowa
border, including 500 feet upstream
into its tributaries (Anoka, Benton, Crow
Wing, Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin,
Houston, Morrison, Ramsey, Sherburne,
Stearns, Wabasha, Washington, Winona,
Wright) zebra mussel

Mississippi River from the Knutson Dam
downstream to Lake Winnibigoshish,
and between Lake Winnibigoshish and
the confluence of the main channel of
the Mississippi River and White Oak
Lake branch of the Mississippi River in
the SE % of the NW ' of S13, T144N,
R25W, including 500 feet upstream into
its tributaries (Beltrami, Cass, Itasca)
faucet snail

Mississippi River Pools 4-9 (Multiple
counties) faucet snail

Mitchell (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Mitchell (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil

Moose (Beltrami) starry stonewort

Mud (St. Louis) zebra mussel

Mud (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Muskrat (Becker) flowering rush

N

Namakan (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Newton (Lake) spiny waterflea

Niccum’s Pond (Hennepin) Eurasian
watermilfoil (NW %, SW ', S10, TI17N,
R24W)

Nisswa (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Nokomis (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

North Center (Chisago)
Eurasian watermilfoil

North Fowl (Cook) spiny waterflea
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North Lindstrom (Chisago)
Eurasian watermilfoil
North Long (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
North Twin (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil,
flowering rush
North Twin (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
North Union (Douglas) zebra mussel
Norway (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil

o)

O'Brien (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

O’Dowd (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ogechie (Mille Lacs) zebra mussel

Olson (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Onamia (Mille Lacs) zebra mussel

Orwell Reservoir (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Osakis (Todd and Douglas) zebra mussel

Oscar (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ossawinnamakee (Crow Wing) Eurasian
watermilfoil, zebra mussel

Otter (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil

Otter (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Otter Tail (Otter Tail)zebra mussel

Otter Tail River from 500 feet upstream
of the confluence of the Pelican River
downstream to the Bois De Sioux
River, including 500 feet upstream
into its tributaries (Otter Tail, Wilkin)
zebra mussel

Outlet Creek from Minnewaska to Emily
(Pope) zebra mussel

Owasso (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

P

Parker’s (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Parley (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Paul (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Pearl (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

Peavey (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Pelican (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Pelican (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Pelican (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Pelican Brook from the source at
Ossawinnamakee to the Pine River (Crow
Wing) zebra mussel

Pelican River from Detroit to Muskrat
(Becker) flowering rush

Pelican River from Bucks Mill Drive
downstream to the Otter Tail River,
including 500 feet upstream into
its tributaries (Becker, Otter Tail)
zebra mussel

Peltier (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pepin (Goodhue, Wabasha) bighead carp,
Eurasian watermilfoil, silver carp,

zebra mussel

Phalen (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Pickerel (Becker) flowering rush,
zebra mussel

Pickerel (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Pierson (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Pig (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Pigeon River downstream of South Fowl
(Cook) spiny waterflea

Pigeon River from the Pigeon Dam Lake
dam to Winnibigoshish (Itasca) faucet
snail, zebra mussel

Pike (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil

Pike (St. Louis) zebra mussel

Pike Bay (Cass) zebra mussel

Pike River from Pike River Dam at CSAH
77 near Peyla to Vermilion (St. Louis)
spiny waterflea

Pine (Cook) spiny waterflea

Pine River from the base of Cross Lake Dam
to the confluence with Pelican Brook
(Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Pine River from 500 feet upstream of
the mouth of Pelican Brook to the
Mississippi River, including 500 feet
upstream into its tributaries (Crow
Wing) zebra mussel

Pleasant (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Pletz Marsh (Jackson) bighead carp,
silver carp (DOW 32002700)

Plum (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

Pocket (Douglas) zebra mussel

Pokegama (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil

Pond Six (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 62027100)

Pond Three (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 62027900)

Portage (Itasca) zebra mussel

Portage located in Lebanon Hills Regional
Park (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Powderhorn (Hennepin)
Eurasian watermilfoil

Powers (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Prairie (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Pug Hole (Beltrami) zebra mussel

Pulaski (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
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Quarry (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Quarry (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil

R

Rabbits (Itasca) faucet snail, zebra mussel

Rainy (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Rainy River from Rainy Lake to Lake of the
Woods (Koochiching, Lake of the Woods)
spiny waterflea

Ramsey (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rapid River from 500 feet upstream of
Hwy. 11 to Clementson Bay of the
Rainy River (Lake of the Woods)
spiny waterflea

Raven (ltasca) faucet snail, zebra mussel

Ravens Flowage (Itasca) faucet snail,
zebra mussel

Ray’s (Le Sueur) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rebecca (Dakota) zebra mussel

Rebecca (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Red River (Clay, Kittson, Marshall, Norman,
Polk, Wilkin) zebra mussel

Reeds (Waseca) Eurasian watermilfoil

Reitz (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Reno (Pope) zebra mussel

Rice (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Rice (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rice (Itasca) zebra mussel

Rice (Stearns) starry stonewort

Riley (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ripley (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ripple River between Bay and Tame Fish
(Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rock (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Roosevelt (Cass and Crow Wing) Eurasian
watermilfoil

Rose (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Rossier (Stearns) zebra mussel

Round (Aitkin and Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Round (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Round (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil

Round (Hennepin) brittle naiad,
Eurasian watermilfoil

Round (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

Round (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Round (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Roy (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Royal (Cook) spiny waterflea

Royal River between Little John and North
Fowls (Cook) spiny waterflea

Rum River including 500 feet upstream into
its tributaries (Anoka, Isanti, Mille Lacs,
Sherburne) zebra mussel

Rusch (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Rush (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rush (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp
(DOW 32003100)

Rush (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp
(DOW 32006300)

Rush (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rush-Hen (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Ruth (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

S

Saganaga (Cook) spiny waterflea

Sallie (Becker) flowering rush, zebra mussel

Sand (Itasca) zebra mussel

Sand (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil

Sand Point (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Sarah (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Sauk (Todd) Eurasian watermilfoil,
flowering rush

Sauk River from Juergens to Mud (Todd)
flowering rush

Sauk River from Osakis to Guernsey (Todd)
zebra mussel

Saunders (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Scandinavian (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil

Schmidt (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Schmidt (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Schultz (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Schutz (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Second Crow Wing (Hubbard) faucet snail

Sensky Creek from 500 feet upstream
of State Hwy. 172 downstream to
the Rainy River (Lake of the Woods)
spiny waterflea

Shagawa (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Shagawa River between Shagawa Lake and
Fall Lake (St. Louis, Lake) spiny waterflea

Shakopee (Mille Lacs) zebra mussel

Shallow Pond (Pope) zebra mussel

Shamineau (Morrison) Eurasian watermilfoil

Shell River from Upper Twin to Crow Wing
River, including 500 feet upstream into
its tributaries (Hubbard and Wadena)
faucet snail

Shields (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil

Signalness also known as Mountain (Pope)
zebra mussel

Silver (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Silver (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
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Silver Creek from 500 feet upstream of
Hwy. 11 to the Rainy River (Lake of the
Woods) spiny waterflea

Skoglund Slough (Douglas) zebra mussel

Skogman (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil

Skunk (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

Snail (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Snake River between Pokegama and Cross,
including 500 feet upstream into its
tributaries (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil

Snelling (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Somers (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

South Center (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil

South Coon (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil

South Fowl (Cook) spiny waterflea

South Lindstrom (Chisago)

Eurasian watermilfoil

South Twin (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil,
flowering rush

Spectacle (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil

Spider (Cass) zebra mussel

Spider (Itasca) flowering rush

Spirit (Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

Spoon Creek between Keller and Phalen
lakes (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Sprague (Rice) flowering rush

St. Anna (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil

St. Croix River (Washington)

Eurasian watermilfoil

St. Croix River downstream of the dam at
Taylors Falls (Chisago, Washington)
bighead carp, grass carp, silver carp

St. Croix River downstream of the St.Croix
Boomsite Recreation Area at river mile
25.4 (Washington) zebra mussel

St. Louis River downstream of the Cloquet
River (Carlton, St. Louis) spiny waterflea

St. Louis River downstream of the Fond du
Lac dam (Carlton, St. Louis) faucet snail,
New Zealand mud snail, round goby,
ruffe, VHS, white perch

St. Louis River downstream of the mouth of
the White Pine River in St. Louis County
(Carlton, St. Louis) zebra mussel

Staring (Hennepin) brittle naiad,

Eurasian watermilfoil

Steiger (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Stella (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Stone (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Stoney (Stony) (Douglas) zebra mussel

Sturgeon (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil

Sucker (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Sugar (Itasca) faucet snail, zebra mussel

Sugar (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Sunset (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Sunset Pond (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Superior (Cook, Lake, St. Louis) Eurasian
watermilfoil, faucet snail, New
Zealand mud snail, round goby, ruffe,
spiny waterflea, VHS, white perch,
zebra mussel

Superior tributaries (Cook, Lake, St. Louis)
round goby, ruffe, VHS, white perch

Susan (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Swan (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
(NW %, NW %, S4, TN7N, R23W)

Swede (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Swede’s Bay (part of Jefferson chain)
(Le Sueur) Eurasian watermilfoil

Swift Ditch from 500 feet upstream of
Hwy. 12 downstream to Lake of the
Woods (Roseau) spiny waterflea

Sybil (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Sylvia (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

T

Tanager (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Tetonka (Le Sueur) Eurasian watermilfoil,
flowering rush

Third River downstream of Hwy. 33 (Itasca)
faucet snail, zebra mussel

Third River Flowage (ltasca) faucet snail,
zebra mussel

Thole (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil

Thomas (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Threemile Creek between Otter and
Clearwater (Stearns) zebra mussel

Tilde (Clay) red swamp crayfish

Town Line (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil

Trout (Cook) spiny waterflea

Trout (Itasca) flowering rush

Turtle (Douglas) zebra mussel

Turtle (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Turtle known as Big Turtle (Beltrami) starry
stonewort

Twin (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Twin Lakes (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

U

Union (Polk) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
(DOW 18023500)
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Unnamed (Douglas) zebra mussel
(DOW 21047900)

Unnamed (Douglas) zebra mussel
(DOW 21044000)

Unnamed known as Grace (Carver)
Eurasian watermilfoil

Unnamed (Stearns, Wright) zebra mussel
(DOW 73031200)

Unnamed creek between Anderson’s Marsh
and Pearl (Jackson) bighead carp,
silver carp

Unnamed creek between Crooked Lake and
Houghtaling Creek (Lake) zebra mussel

Unnamed creek between Pearl and Loon
(Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp

Unnamed creek between Rush and
Anderson’s Marsh (Jackson) bighead
carp, silver carp

Unnamed gravel pit located in the S % of S14,

T41IN, R21W (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil

Unnamed gravel pit located in S16, T108,
R20W (Steele) Eurasian watermilfoil

Unnamed lake (Dakota) flowering rush
(DOW 19006400)

Unnamed lake (Jackson) bighead carp,
silver carp (DOW 32006100)

Unnamed lake (Jackson) bighead carp,
silver carp (DOW 32006200)

Unnamed lake (Jackson) bighead carp,
silver carp (DOW 32009300)

Unnamed lake in Springbrook Nature
Center (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 02068800)

Unnamed lake on Little Sioux River
(Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp
(DOW 32005500)

Unnamed lake on Little Sioux River
(Jackson) bighead carp, silver carp
(DOW 32009600)

Unnamed pond (Pope) zebra mussel
(DOW 61051100)

Unnamed pond known as Black Tern
Pond (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 62012900)

Unnamed pond (Hennepin) zebra mussel
(DOW 27072100)

Unnamed pond (Valley) in Valley Park
(Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 19034800)

Unnamed pond (Becker) faucet snail
(DOW 03023000)

Unnamed pond (Becker) faucet snail
(DOW 03023100)

Unnamed pond (Becker) faucet snail
(SE %, SW %, S14, T142, R39W)
Unnamed pond (Becker) faucet snail
(SW %, SE %, S15, T142N, R39W)
Unnamed pond (Becker) faucet snail
(NE %, NW %, S22, T142N, R39W)
Unnamed pond (Becker) faucet snail
(NE %, SE %, S15, T142N, R39W)
Unnamed pond (Becker) faucet snail
(NW %, NE %, S22, T142N, R39W)
Unnamed pond (Becker) faucet snail
(SE %, SW %, S15, T142N, R39W)
Unnamed pond (Becker) faucet snail
(SW %, SW %, S14, T142N, R39W)
Unnamed pond north of East Spirit and
south of County Road 4 (Otter Tail)
zebra mussel (NE % of the SW ' of S4,
T136N, R41W)
Unnamed river from the outlet of Irene to
Miltona (Douglas) zebra mussel
Unnamed river from the outlet of Lake
Miltona to Ida (Douglas) zebra mussel
Unnamed stream connecting Big Rice,
Little Rice and Kitchi Lakes (Beltrami)
zebra mussel
Unnamed stream connecting Kitchi,
Pug Hole and Cass Lakes (Beltrami)
zebra mussel
Unnamed stream connecting Pike Bay and
Cass Lakes (Cass) zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland (Hennepin) Eurasian
watermilfoil (DOW 27090000)
Unnamed wetland (Scott) Eurasian
watermilfoil (DOW 70015300)
Unnamed wetland known as Heine
Pond (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 19015300)

Unnamed wetland (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

(NE %, NE %, S33, T135N, R27W)

Unnamed wetland (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

(NE %, SW %, S3, T135N, R27W)
Unnamed wetland (Anoka) flowering rush
(NE %, NE %, S33, T31N, R22W)

Unnamed wetland (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

(NE %%, SE %, S2, T46N, R30W)

Unnamed wetland (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

(NW %, NE ', S33, T46N, R30W)
Unnamed wetland known as Purgatory
wetland (Hennepin) brittle naiad
(DOW 27099700)
Unnamed wetland along Clearwater
River (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil
(DOW 73031200)

80 2017 Minnesota Fishing Regulations



Unnamed wetland connected to Paul Lake

(Otter Tail) zebra mussel (DOW 56164000)

Unnamed wetland (Hennepin) zebra mussel
(DOW 27066200)

Unnamed wetland (Hennepin) zebra mussel
(DOW 27071600)

Unnamed wetland (Hennepin) zebra mussel
(DOW 27077900)

Unnamed wetland (Hennepin) zebra mussel
(DOW 27072000)

Unnamed wetland (Hennepin) zebra mussel
(DOW 27066300)

Unnamed wetland (Crow Wing) zebra mussel
(NE %, SW %, S2, T46N, R30W)

Unnamed wetland (Pope) zebra mussel
(DOW 61042200)

Unnamed wetland (Pope) zebra mussel
(DOW 61042000)

Unnamed wetland (Pope) zebra mussel
(DOW 61050500)

Unnamed wetland (Pope) zebra mussel
(DOW 61023100)

Unnamed wetland (Norman) faucet snail
(DOW 54000100)

Unnamed wetland (Hennepin) zebra mussel
(DOW 27071500)

Upper Gull (Cass) zebra mussel

Upper Hay (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Upper Mission (Crow Wing) Eurasian
watermilfoil

Upper Prior (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Upper Red (Beltrami) starry stonewort
(DOW 04003501

Upper Sakatah (Le Sueur) flowering rush

Upper Twin (Hubbard) faucet snail

\

Vadnais (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Venstrom (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

Vermilion (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Vermilion River from Vermilion to Crane
(St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Victoria (Douglas) zebra mussel

Virginia (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

w

Wabasso (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Wabanica Creek from 500 feet upstream of
State Hwy. 172 downstream to the Rainy
River (Lake of the Woods) spiny waterflea

Waconia (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Warroad River from 500 feet upstream
of Hwy. 11 downstream to Lake of the
Woods (Roseau) spiny waterflea

Washburn (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil

Washington (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Wasserman (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Watab (Stearns) zebra mussel

Watab River from Watab Lake to the
Mississippi River (Stearns) zebra mussel

Waverly (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Weaver (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Weigand (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil,
zebra mussel

Wells (Rice) flowering rush

West Battle (Otter Tail) zebra mussel

West Fork Little Sioux River and its
tributaries (Jackson) bighead carp,
silver carp

West Jefferson (part of Jefferson chain)
(Le Sueur) Eurasian watermilfoil

West Sylvia (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil,
starry stonewort

West Twin (St. Louis) spiny waterflea

Whaletail (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

White Bear (Washington) Eurasian
watermilfoil, zebra mussel

White Pine River (St. Louis) zebra mussel

White Sand (Crow Wing) Eurasian
watermilfoil

Whitefish (Crow Wing) zebra mussel

Wilmes (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Winnibigoshish (Cass) faucet snail, starry
stonewort, zebra mussel

Winona (Winona) Eurasian watermilfoil

Winter Road River from 500 feet upstream
of State Hwy. 172 downstream to
the Rainy River (Lake of the Woods)
spiny waterflea

Wirth (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Wolf (Beltrami) zebra mussel

Wolf (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil

Wolfe (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Z

Zumbra (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Zumbro (Olmsted) zebra mussel

Zumbro River downstream of Lake Zumbro,
including 500 feet upstream into its
tributaries (Wabasha) zebra mussel
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“l should have gotten a warning!
This is a statement that our Conservation Officers are
hearing all too often by persons who have been issued
citations for transporting their watercraft with the plug in
place, transporting aquatic macrophytes, or transporting
invasive species.

It is critical that all boaters and anglers clean plants and
invasive species off watercraft, drain water from the boat
and leave the drain plug open when transporting and dispose
of unwanted bait in the trash.

Each of us needs to take personal responsibility to prevent the spread of invasive
species! See pages 71-82 for the list of AlS-infested waters.

Aquatic Plant Permit Requirements

Water plants such as bulrushes are essential for lake ecosystems. They reduce
wave erosion, provide fish and wildlife habitat, and purify water. Because lake
plants can interfere with swimming and boating by lakeshore owners—but are also
vital to lake health—the DNR allows removal under the following conditions.

DNR permit is NOT required to cut or pull underwater plants as long as:
» The area does not extend along more than 50 feet of your shoreline or
one-half the length of your frontage, whichever is less;
« The total area is less than 2,500 square feet (except for boat channels); and
+ The plants are immediately and permanently disposed of on high ground where
they can’t re-enter the water.

DNR permit IS required to:
» Remove emergent plants (such as bulrushes, cattails, and wild rice).
» Use herbicides or algicides in Minnesota lakes.
« Install or use an automated device such as the Crary WeedRoller®
+ Remove water lilies (other than in a narrow channel extending to open water).
+ Remove plants in an area larger than 2,500 square feet or wider than 50 feet.

A person who illegally destroys plants can be cited and made to pay for the
restoration of those plants.

For more information, call your regional DNR office (page 94) or visit our
website at www.mndnr.gov/aboutdnr.
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ILLUSTRATED FISH OF MINNESOTA

Knowing what fish species you are catching is not only fun, but in many cases it’s
required by law. It is particularly important to know how to distinguish walleye
from sauger, to know the difference between northern pike and muskellunge,
and to be able to tell what species of trout or salmon you catch.

Walleye and Sauger

No spots on dorsal fin

Dark area at base of dorsal fin
Walleye /
White spot on
bottom of tail
Maynard Reece
Spots on dorsal fin
Sauger / No dark area at base of dorsal fin

Duane Raver, USFWS

Walleye/sauger (saugeye) hybrid fillets are counted as part of a walleye possession limit
during transportation.

Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass

Largemouth
Duane Raver, USFWS
Back of mouth goes
way beyond back of eye
Smallmouth

Duane Raver, USFWS
Back of mouth goes

only to middle of eye
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Northern Pike and Muskellunge

Muskellunge
Clear
Paired fins having
more pointed tips
6 or more pores on each Spotted

side under jaw

Barred

Coloration with vertical dark markings on a light background
(Juvenile pattern similar to that of adults)

Muskie illustrations
courtesy of
Muskies Inc.

Tail with
pointed tips

Tiger (hybrid) Muskellunge (Esox masquinongy X Esox lucius)

Coloration having irregular narrow vertical dark markings on a light
background with stripes merging onto the back in an interlocking pattern

Paired fins having
rounded tips

Tail with rounded
tips

Northern Pike (Esox lucius)

Coloration with pattern of horizontal rows of
light round to oval spots on a dark background

5 or fewer pores on each

side under jaw Paired fins having

more rounded tips
(Juvenile pattern has white, oblique bars
(e which extend from the white belly)
Catfish

Flathead Catfish

Channel Catfish
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Trout and Salmon

Rainbow Trout
Pinkish stripe
on silvery body

Brown Trout

Large dark spots
and red dots on
brown body

Brook Trout

White leading edge

on lower fins

Small black dots throughout the
body that extend into tail

Duane Raver, USFWS

Square
tail

Duane Raver, USFWS

Light, wormlike markings on dark upper body

/ To tell a brookie
from a splake

from a lake trout,
look at the tail:

Duane Raver,USFWS

Lake Trout
White spots on
grayish body Forked tail
White leading edge on lower fins — Carlyn Iverson
Usually a pink stripe on silvery body
Steelhead
(Rainbow Trout)

. Small spots
Inside mouth .
. . throughout tail
is white

Chinook Salmon
Inside mouth

is dark ™~

Coho Salmon
Inside mouth
is gray

Pink Salmon
Spawning male
has hump on
back.

Green and white /

blotches on spawning fish

-

Joseph TomeHeri1O raysin anal fin

Spots throughout
tail

Joseph Tomelleri 15-17 rays in anal fin

\ Spots in top half of tail only

T~ 1315 rays in anal fin
Tim Knepp, USFWS

Small scales

x Some eye-sized spots in

tail and on back
Tim Knepp, USFWS
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Rainbow Trout and Salmon Identification Guide

The shape of the anal fin is another way to identify these
species. This can easily be seen by depressing the front edge
of the anal fin to its base as shown below.

Rainbow trout:
white mouth

Coho salmon and base
chinook salmon:
grayish to black mouth anal fin

front edge

Rainbow trout: tail has Rainbow trout: tip falls to or beyond end of base

many small spots in

distinct rows. —_—

Coho salmon: tail has
some large spots mostly
on the upper half.

Coho salmon: tip falls slightly past middle

. . —_—
Chinook salmon: Tail has
large spots throughout,
especially in the silver Chinook salmon: tip falls short of middle
area at the base of
the tail. —_—

Weigh Your Fish With a Ruler

Fish are sometimes injured when weighed. With this chart, you can quickly
determine the approximate weight of your fish using a ruler or tape measure.

CRAPPIE TROUT BASS WALLEYE NORTHERN
length weight  length weight  length weight  length weight length weight
(inches) (Ibs.) (inches) (Ibs.) (inches) (Ibs.) (inches) (Ibs.) (inches) (Ibs.)
8 03 8 0.2 12 1.0 14 1.0 24 32
9 04 9 03 13 13 15 1.2 25 36
10 0.6 10 04 14 17 16 15 26 4.0
11 0.8 1 0.6 15 21 17 1.8 27 46
12 11 12 0.8 16 25 18 22 28 52
13 14 13 09 17 3.0 19 25 29 58
14 1.8 14 11 18 3.6 20 3.0 30 64
15 2.2 15 14 19 42 21 3.5 31 7.1
16 27 16 1.6 20 5.0 22 41 32 78
17 33 17 1.8 21 5.7 23 47 33 86
18 23 22 6.6 24 54 34 94
23 76 25 6.1 35 10.3
Sunfish Muskie 2% 6.9 36 11.2
length weight length  weight 27 18 37 122
(inches) (Ibs.) (inches)  (Ibs.) 28 838 38 133
8 04 48 29 29 98 39 144
9 06 49 32 40 15.6
10 0.8 50 34 41 16.8
| 1.1 51 36 42 181
:g :g gg i? Note: These figures are rough estimates only.
14 24 54 44 Actual weights vary slightly by lake and stream.
15 3.0 55 47
16 3.7 56 50
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

See www.mndnr.gov for more information.

Boat and Water Safety

Everyone on your boat needs to have an accessible, U.S. Coast Guard-approved life
vest of the proper size and type. In addition, if the boat is 16 feet or longer, there must
also be an approved throwable device such as a boater’s seat cushion or ring buoy.

Children under the age of ten must wear a life jacket on board any boat underway.
Underway means not attached to a permanent mooring or tied to a dock. There are
exceptions to the law for: children who are below the top deck, or in an enclosed
cabin, or on a boat operated by a licensed captain, or on a boat that is anchored for the
purpose of swimming or diving.

It's always a good idea to wear your life jacket. Most fatal boating mishaps occur

when boats capsize or people fall overboard, especially on small boats. These types of
accidents can happen even on calm waters, while traveling at slow speed or stopped.

For a complete summary of the boating regulations and safety information, contact the
DNR Information Center for a copy of the Minnesota Boating Guide, or find it online.
For rules pertaining to the use of motorboats within Wildlife Management Areas, refer
to the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook or call the DNR.

Aquatic Management Areas

The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and streams to provide
fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat. These areas, known as Aquatic
Management Areas (AMAs), are posted with signs to indicate allowable uses. Each sign
is marked with a letter to easily identify permitted activities. It is always unlawful to
leave personal equipment, such as tree stands, unattended on AMA’s.

Catch-and-Release

Improved fishing technology and increasing fishing pressure have caused fishing
quality to decline in many waters. Catch-and-release fishing offers anglers a way
to enjoy their sport with less harm to the resource. Find more information online.

» Do not plan to release fish that have been on a stringer or in a livewell.

» Play and land the fish quickly.

» Don’t angle for fish in very deep water, unless you plan to keep what you catch.
Fizzing of fish, or the act of inserting a needle into a fish intended to deflate the gas
bladder, caught from deep water can do more harm than good and is not legal.

+ Handle the fish gently and keep it in the water as much as possible.

+ Do not hold the fish by the eye sockets or gills, but rather by the lower lip or under
the gill plate and also support the belly of the fish.

» Wet your hands before touching a fish to prevent removing its protective coating.

« If a hook is deeply imbedded, cut the line so that at least 1inch hangs out of the
mouth. This helps the hook to lay flush when the fish takes in food.

+ Circle hooks may help in reducing deeply hooked fish. They are made to hook fish in
the mouth.

« A fish that can be legally kept should not be released if it is bleeding heavily,
which indicates its chance of survival is poor.

« You cannot practice catch-and-release for a species during its closed season.
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Managing Minnesota’s Fisheries

The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife is responsible for managing the state’s diverse
fisheries resources (5,400 fishable lakes and 15,000 miles of fishable streams). Each year,
roughly 2 million people fish in Minnesota, and sport fishing generates approximately
$2.4 billion in direct expenditures, making angling one of the state’s largest industries.

Much of Minnesota’s fisheries program is reimbursed by the Federal Aid in Sport
Fish Restoration Program (federal excise tax), administered by the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service.

Master Angler Program
The Fishing Hall of Fame of Minnesota in partnership with DNR recognizes anglers who
catch large fish of various species. Categories include adult, youth, and catch-and-release.

For more information on becoming a Master Angler, visit the DNR website or
www.fishinghalloffamemn.com

Conservation Partners Legacy Grant Program
Habitat Money Available. Funding for projects to restore, enhance, and protect
Minnesota's fish, game, and wildlife habitat. See www.mndnr.gov/cpl for details.

STATE RECORD FISH PROGRAMS

Catch-and-Release Length

What is this program for?

To track and record angler catches based on the measured total length of a fish rather
than the certified weight, allowing anglers to preserve large fish by immediately
releasing them.

What fish are eligble?

Muskellunge, lake sturgeon and flathead catfish. These fish are large, typically targeted
as trophies and commonly caught and released by anglers. Records are updated at the
end of each calendar year.

How do | submit an application?

Complete rules and an application are available on the DNR website at www.mndnr.
gov/recordfish. Each application must include a photo of the fish being measured next
to a ruler and be witnessed.

For Your Information: Fishing Ethics
As fishing pressure continues to grow, the DNR offers these suggestions to make
fishing safe and enjoyable for all anglers:
«» Don't litter with fishing line, Styrofoam, plastic bags, six-pack holders, and other
plastics (can kill fish and wildlife that eat or get tangled up in these products).
« Prepare your boat and trailer before you are on the ramp so that you can
launch quickly.
« Ask for permission before entering private land.
« Keep only the amount of fish you can use.
+ Release some medium-sized fish so they can grow larger and be caught
in the future.

88 2017 Minnesota Fishing Regulations


http://mndnr.gov/recordfish
http://mndnr.gov/recordfish
http://www.fishinghalloffamemn.com
http://mndnr.gov/cpl

Certified Weight

If you catch and keep a fish that you think could be a record weight, follow these steps:

+ Take the fish to a DNR fisheries office for positive identification and a state record

fish application.

+ Weigh the fish on a state-certified scale (found at most bait shops and butcher
shops), witnessed by two observers.
« Complete the application and send it along with a clear, full-length photo of your
fish to the address listed on the form.
DNR does not keep line class records.

The following is a complete list of Minnesota’s state record certified weight fish and
where they were caught. Weights given are in pounds and ounces (example: 55-5
is 55 pounds, 5 ounces). No additional species or hybrids are being considered for
certified weight state record fish.

Bass, Largemouth: 8-15,
Auburn Lake (Carver). Bass,

Rock: 2-0, Osakis Lake (Todd);

and 2-0, Lake Winnibigoshish
(Cass). Bass, Smallmouth:
8-0, West Battle Lake (Otter

Tail). Bass, White: 4-8, Vadnais

Lake (Ramsey). Bowfin: 12-9,
Mississippi River (Wabasha).
Buffalo, Bigmouth: 41-11,
Mississippi River (Goodhue).
Buffalo, Black: 20-0,
Minnesota River (Nicollet).
Buffalo, Smallmouth: 20-0,
Big Sandy (Aitkin). Bullhead,

Black: 3-13, Reno Lake (Pope).

Bullhead, Brown: 7-1, Shallow
Lake (Itasca). Bullhead,
Yellow: 3-10, Osakis Lake
(Todd). Burbot: 19-10, Lake
of the Woods (Lake of the

Woods). Carp, Common: 55-5,

Clearwater Lake (Wright).
Carpsucker, Quillback: 7-4,
Upper Red Lake (Beltrami).
Carpsucker, River: 4-6,
Minnesota River (Carver).
Catfish, Channel: 38-0,
Mississippi River (Hennepin).
Catfish, Flathead: 70-0,

St. Croix River (Washington).

Crappie, Black: 5-0, Vermillion

River (Dakota). Crappie,
White: 3-15, Lake Constance
(Wright). Drum, Freshwater
(Sheepshead): 35-3,

Mississippi River (Winona). Eel,
American: 6-9, St. Croix River

(Washington).

Gar, Longnose: 16-12,

St. Croix River (Washington).
Gar, Shortnose: 4-9,
Mississippi River (Hennepin).
Goldeye: 2-13, Root River
(Houston). Hogsucker,
Northern: 1-15, Sunrise River
(Chisago). Mooneye: 1-15,
Minnesota River (Redwood).
Muskellunge: 54-0, Lake
Winnibigoshish (Itasca).
Muskellunge, Tiger: 34-12,
Lake Elmo (Washington).
Perch, Yellow: 3-4, Lake
Plantagenet (Hubbard).
Pike, Northern: 45-12,
Basswood Lake (Lake).
Redhorse, Golden: 4-1, Root
River (Fillmore). Redhorse,
Greater: 12-11, Sauk River
(Stearns). Redhorse, River:
12-10, Kettle River (Pine).
Redhorse, Shorthead:

7-15, Rum River (Anoka).
Redhorse, Silver: 9-15,
Bigfork River (Koochiching).
Salmon, Atlantic: 12-13,

Baptism River (Lake). Salmon,

Chinook: 33-4, Poplar River
(Cook); and 33-4, Lake
Superior (St. Louis). Salmon,
Coho: 10-6, Lake Superior
(Lake). Salmon, Kokanee:
2-15, Caribou Lake (Itasca).
Salmon, Pink: 4-8, Cascade
River (Cook). Sauger: 6-2,
Mississippi River (Goodhue).
Saugeye (Walleye-Sauger
Hybrid): 9-13, Mississippi

River (Goodhue). Sturgeon,
Lake: 94-4, Kettle

River (Pine). Sturgeon
Shovelnose: 6-7, Mississippi
River (Goodhue). Sucker,
Blue: 14-3, Mississippi
River (Wabasha). Sucker,
Longnose: 3-10, Brule
River (Cook). Sucker,
White: 9-1, Big Fish Lake
(Stearns). Sunfish Bluegill:
2-13, Alice Lake (Hubbard)
Sunfish, Green: 1-4, North
Arbor Lake (Hennepin).
Sunfish, Green Bluegill
Hybrid: 1-12, Zumbro
River (Olmsted). Sunfish,
Pumpkinseed: 1-5, Leech
Lake (Cass). Trout, Brook:
6-5, Pigeon River (Cook).
Trout, Brown: 16-12, Lake
Superior (St. Louis). Trout,
Lake: 43-8, Lake Superior
(Cook). Trout, Rainbow
(Steelhead): 16-6, Devil
Track River (Cook). Trout,
Splake: 13-5, Larson Lake
(Itasca).Trout, Tiger: 2-9,
Mill Creek (Olmsted).
Tullibee (Cisco): 5-13, Sybil
Lake (Otter Tail). Walleye:
17-8, Seagull River (Cook).
Warmouth: 0-9, Bartlet
Lake (Winona). Whitefish,
Lake: 12-4, Leech Lake
(Cass). Whitefish,
Menominee: 2-7, Lake
Superior (Cook).
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HEALTH ADVISORY AND FISH

EATING GUIDELINES

Most fish are healthful to eat and fish are a great way to get low-fat protein, but any
fish (store-bought or sport-caught) could have contaminants such as mercury and
PCBs that can harm human health—especially children and fetuses. The Minnesota
Department of Health lets people know how often fish can be safely eaten.

The guidelines on the following page are based on mercury measured in fish from
lakes across the state. Guidelines for waters where fish have been tested are on the
DNR website. For more information, call the Minnesota Department of Health at
651-201-4911, toll-free at 800-657-3908 or visit www.health.state.mn.us/fish

Tips for safe fish eating
« Eat smaller fish. Bigger fish have more contaminants.
« Eat more panfish (sunfish, crappies) and less fish that eat other fish (walleyes,
northern pike, lake trout).
« Trim skin and fat, especially belly fat. Also, eat fewer fatty fish such as carp, catfish,
and lake trout.

Consejos para el consumo saludable de pescado
» Coma pescados mas pequefos. Pescados grandes pueden contener mas
contaminantes.
» Coma mas peces como Pomosios y Pez Sol y menos pescados que comen otros
peces como Lucioperca, Lucio Nortefio y Trucha de Lago.
+ Remueva la piel y la grasa, especialmente la grasa alrededor de la barriga. También
coma menos pescados que tienen mas grasa como Bagre, Carpa y Trucha de lago.

Tej yam ghia noj ntse kom txhob muaj teeb meem

+ Yuav tsum noj cov ntse me. Cov ntse loj muaj ntau yam tsis huv. Txheem rau lawv
lub cev lawm.

+ Noj cov ntse pluav xws lis (xafiv = sunfish, kabpib = crappies) thiab yog cov ntse uas
tom lwm yam ntse no ces noj kom tsawg xws lis (vaulais = walleyes, novtaw phaij =
northern pike, lej rhauj = lake trout).

» Yim cov tawv thiab roj, ghov tseem ceeb tshaj yog cov roj tawm npluag plab. Tsis
tag lis xwb yuav tsum noj cov ntse rog kom tsawg lis tsawg tau xws lis pamnais, ntse
tuajkub, thiab (lej rhauj = lake trout).

Vai loi nén chu y khi an ca dé duoc an toan
+ Nén &n ca nho. Ca I6n chifa nhiéu chét 6 nhiém.
« Nén an loai ca nho ¢& cé thé chién trong chao nhu ca sunfish, séng & ho
(lake trout).

« Bo khong nén &n da va md ca, nhat la phan mé & bung ca. Mat khéc,

nén an it nhiing loai ca c6 nhiéu m& nhu ca chép, ca tré hodc ca béng
lau, va ca hdi séng & ho.
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CONSUMPTION GUIDELINES FOR FISH

CAUGHT IN MINNESOTA

Children and Women of Child-bearing Age:

Other Adults:

- Sunfish
« Crappie
« Perch

« Bullhead

» Walleye

« Northern

« All sizes of other
species

» Muskellunge

« Sunfish
« Crappie
« Perch

« Bullhead

« All sizes of other
species

One meal per week
Una comida por semana
Ib as thiv, ib pluag

Mét tuan 3n mét lan

One meal per month
Una comida por mes
Ib hli, ib pluag

Mbt tuan #n moét lan

Do not eat

No comer

Tsis txhob noj hlos lis
Khéng nén dn

Unrestricted

No tiene restricciones
Tsis txwv hlos lis
Khéng han ché

One meal per week
Una comida por semana
Ib as thiv, ib pluag

Mbt tuan #n moét lan

Fish Illustrations ©C. Iverson, MN DNR
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CONTACT INFORMATION

Licenses U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
DNR License Center 612-713-5360
500 Lafayette Road

Boundary Waters Canoe Area
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026

Wilderness
Watercraft registration: Permits and reservations are not under
800-285-2000 DNR jurisdiction. This is a national

Phone license sales: forest wilderness area. For information,

888-665-4236 contact:

Superior National Forest
8901 Grand Avenue Place
Duluth, MN 55808

Lake Maps Information 218-626-4300

Minnes.ota Bookstore Reservations 877-444-6777
660 Olive Street www.recreation.gov

St. Paul, MN 55155 . .
651-297-3000 or Information on and Reporting Harmful

800-657-3757 Invasive Species
www.minnesotasbookstore.com 651-259-5100 or 888-646-6367

Voyageurs National Park
218-283-6600

Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge
218-847-2641

Internet sales:
www.mndnr.gov

Conservation Officer Locator
www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas

Connect instantly to the
conservation officer locator
web page by scanning this
code with your smart phone.

Find Your Local Conservation Officer on the Web
The DNR has developed a new web page to make finding your local conservation officer
easier than ever at: www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas

For your convenience, complete this page and take it with you when you are in the field.

Officer’s name:

Telephone number:
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If you witness a violation in progress or need to contact a conservation officer
immediately—call Turn in Poachers (TIP) at 800-652-9093 or the nearest state patrol
dispatch center.

Turn in Poachers
24-hour hotline, 800-652-9093. At&T, Midwest Wireless, Unicel
and Verizon users can report violations by typing #TIP.

State Patrol

- Brainerd 651-582-1543 « Marshall 507-285-7410
« Detroit Lakes 651-582-1415 + Rochester 507-285-7410
« Duluth 651-582-1455 « St. Cloud 651-582-1292
« Metro East 651-582-1500 « Thief River Falls 651-582-1341

+ Metro West 651-582-1502 + Virginia 651-582-1544

« Mankato 507-285-7410

DNR Fisheries Headquarters and Offices
TDD 651-296-5484 or MN toll free TDD 800-657-3929
Duluth and Lake

Northwest Region Little Falls Area

Bemidji Headquarters
218-308-2623

Baudette Area
218-634-2522

Bemidji Area
218-308-2339

Detroit Lakes Area
218-846-8290

Fergus Falls Area
218-739-7576 ext. 238

Glenwood Area
320-634-7321

Park Rapids Area
218-732-4153

Walker Area
218-547-1683

Northeast Region

Grand Rapids Headquarters

218-327-4414

Aitkin Area
218-429-3033

Brainerd Area
218-203-4302

Superior Area
218-302-3267

Finland Area
218-353-8840

Grand Marais Area

218-387-6021

Grand Rapids
Area Office
218-327-4430

International Falls

Area Office
218-286-5220

Tower Area

218-753-2580 ext. 221

Central Region

Central Headquarters

651-259-5831

Hinckley Area
320-384-7721

Lake City Area
651-345-3365

Lanesboro Area
507-467-2442
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320-616-2450 ext. 225

Metro East Area
651-259-5831

Metro West Area
952-496-4141

Sauk Rapids Area
320-223-7878

South Region
South Headquarters
507-359-6047

Hutchinson Area
320-234-2550

Ortonville Area
320-839-2656

Spicer Area
320-796-2161

Waterville Area
507-362-4223

Windom Area
507-831-2900 ext. 232



» Clean aquatic plants and
prohibited invasive species
from watercraft.

« Drain lake or river water from
all equipment and keep drain

plugs out during transport.

- Dispose of unwanted bait in the
_‘\) trash, not in the water.

EAN &

. FYY) CEPARTMENT OF
mndnr.gov/ais NATURAL RESOURCES

Protect Minnesota Waters from Aquatic Invasive Species
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LICENSE
DOLLARS

WORK

Minnesota has some

of the best outdoor
opportunities in the
country. Mother Nature
gave us a uniquely diverse
canvas, but world-class
outdoor recreation exists
because the state’s anglers
and hunters are passionate
about the outdoors and
support it with their time,
commitment and dollars.

HOW DNR SPENDS
A LICENSE DOLLAR

Fisheries - 32 cents

Wildlife - 31 cents
Conservation officers - 29 cents
Clean water - 4 cents

Boat ramps & accesses - 2 cents

Sustainable forests - 1 cent

License dollars create outdoor
recreation opportunities

Your license dollars pay for fish and
wildlife management, public land
infrastructure maintenance and habitat
management that DNR fish and wildlife
staff perform across Minnesota.

Their work creates some of the
nation’s most sought-after outdoor
experiences. You'll find them fishing or
boating on one of Minnesota’s 5,500
fishing lakes, paddling or wading its
18,000 miles of fishable rivers and
streams or a foot in field or forest at
one of its 1,500 Wildlife Management
Areas.

Visit mndnr.gov/LicenseDollarsAtWork
to discover how the biologists who
staff area fisheries and wildlife offices
across Minnesota use their knowledge
and expertise to manage fish, wildlife
and habitat for the benefit of 1.5 million
anglers, 600,000 hunters and 500,000
bird and wildlife watchers.

Lottery and legacy dollars off limits
Minnesota State Lottery and Legacy
Amendment dollars are not available
for basic year-to-year fish and wildlife
management or conservation officer
funding. Those dollars can only be used



for specifically approved projects.
Since state law prohibits lottery
and legacy dollars from paying
the regular costs of doing
enforcement, fish, wildlife

and habitat management and
maintenance work across
Minnesota, license fee dollars
have to support the necessary
and growing amount of work DNR
staff must do to allow lottery and
legacy funds to be put to use.

Strict rules on spending; citizens
oversee what’s spent

Hunting and fishing license dollars
are kept separate from other
DNR funds in a dedicated state
treasury account called the Game
and Fish Fund. These dollars can
only be used for fish, wildlife, law
enforcement and certain other
related activities.

State law requires that the
Legislature allocate dollars from
this special state fund to DNR
for specific expenses detailed

in a governor’s budget request.
DNR cannot access dollars from
this fund without legislative
authorization and gubernatorial
approval.

As DNR spends these dollars,
groups of citizens who serve on

the fisheries, wildlife and budget
oversight committees monitor
why and how the DNR spends
your license dollars on game,
fish and habitat management
and maintenance.

License fees leverage more
dollars for the outdoors

Maintaining an adequate

flow of license dollars allows
Minnesota to get more bang for
its conservation buck. Federal
excise taxes paid on certain types
of outdoor gear and marine fuels
are allocated to each state based
on the number of people who buy
hunting and fishing licenses and
the geographic size of the state.
Minnesota deposits its federal
dollars into the Game and Fish
Fund.

For every $100 Minnesota

spends on allowed game and fish
expenses, the federal government
reimburses $75, effectively
allowing DNR to spend three
times more than it could if it

only used money from license
sales for fish, game and habitat
management and maintenance.

DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES

m

LEARN HOW YOUR LICENSE DOLLARS

« Improve fishing, hunting, wildlife and habitat.
» Maintain and create outdoor recreation opportunities.

mndnr.gov/LicenseDollarsAtWork



WIPE ‘EM OFF.

WIPE ‘EM OUT!

Clean. Drain. Dry.

Help Prevent The Spread
Of Invasive Plants And Animals.

* REMOVE plants, animals & mud from boots, gear, pets &

vehicle.
o CLEAN your gear before entering & leaving the recreation

site.
® STAY on designated roads & trails. STOP INVASIVE SPECIES
¢ USE CERTIFIED or local firewood & hay. IN YOUR TRACKS.

PlayCleanGo.org
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ANYONE

CAN REGISTER TO BE AN

ORGAN, EYE &
TISSUE DONOR

il

NEW IN 2017

Register as a

donor when you
get your DNR
fishing license
online.

Share hope with the
nearly 3,000 Minnesotans
waiting for an organ transplant.

DONATE

BIEE| I conenst,

www.DonateLifeMN.org



CALL US
New longer hours

M-F 8 a.m.-8 p.m., Sat. 9 a.m.-1 p.m.
888-MINNDNR

n mnfish u mn_fish

TURN IN POACHERS
24-hour hotline, 800-652-9093

m DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES

500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4040
888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157
www.mndnr.gov

The Minnesota DNR prohibits discrimination in its programs and services based on race,
color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, public assistance status, age, sexual orientation
or disability. Persons with disabilities may request reasonable modifications to access or
participate in DNR programs and services by contacting the DNR ADA Title || Coordinator
at info.dnr(@state.mn.us or 651-259-5488. Discrimination inquiries should be sent to
Minnesota DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4049; or Office of Civil Rights,
U.S. Department of the Interior, 1849 C. Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20240.

©2017, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources.
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