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Introduction 
 
 The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission submits this report to the Legislature to 

fulfill its two statutory reporting requirements: 

 

 To identify and explain all modifications made during the preceding twelve months and 

all proposed modifications that are being submitted to the Legislature in 2017;1 and 

 To summarize and analyze reports received from county attorneys on criminal cases 

involving a firearm.2  

 

As in past years, the Commission also takes this opportunity to highlight other topics that may 

be of interest to the Legislature, including sentencing trends and updates on Commission and 

staff activities. 

 

 In 1980, Minnesota became the first state to implement a sentencing guidelines structure. 

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is a legislatively created body whose 

purpose is to establish and improve the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines, evaluate outcomes 

of changes in sentencing policy, analyze trends, make appropriate recommendations, and 

provide education on sentencing law and policy.  

  

When establishing and modifying the Guidelines, the Commission’s primary consideration is 

public safety.3 Other considerations are current sentencing and release practices, correctional 

resources—including, but not limited to, the capacities of local and state correctional facilities—

and the long-term negative impact of crime on the community.4 The Commission has stated that 

the purpose of the Sentencing Guidelines is to establish rational and consistent sentencing 

standards that reduce sentencing disparity and ensure that the sanctions imposed for felony 

convictions are proportional to the severity of the conviction offense and the offender’s criminal 

history.5 The Sentencing Guidelines embody principles including that sentencing should be 

neutral, rational, consistent, and uniform, and that departures from the presumptive sentences 

should be made only when substantial and compelling circumstances can be identified and 

articulated.6 

During the first 34 years the Guidelines were in effect—from 1980 through 2013—and again 

in 2015, Minnesota ranked among the states with the three lowest imprisonment rates in the 

nation.7 Compared with other states, Minnesota’s imprisonment rate in 2015—196 prisoners per 

                                                           
1 Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 11. 
2 Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 14 (referencing the reports required by Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 10). 
3 Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 5. 
4 Id. 
5 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 1.A. 
6 Id. 
7 Minnesota had the fourth-lowest imprisonment rate in 2014, and the third-lowest in 2015. Carson, E. Ann. Bureau of 
Justice Statistics. Imprisonment Rate of Sentenced Prisoners under the Jurisdiction of State or Federal Correctional 
Authorities per 100,000 U.S. Residents, Dec. 31, 1978-2015. Sept. 23, 2016. Retrieved Dec. 29, 2016, at 
http://www.bjs.gov/nps/resources/documents/QT_imprisonment%20rate_total.xlsx. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=244.09
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=244.09
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.11
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=244.09
http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/2016%20Guidelines/11_17_2016_Update_August2016_Guidelines.pdf
http://www.bjs.gov/nps/resources/documents/QT_imprisonment%20rate_total.xlsx
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100,000 Minnesota residents—was less than half the national state imprisonment rate.8 

Minnesota’s imprisonment rate rose by 0.9 percent from 2014 to 2015, and is now at its highest 

level since the Sentencing Guidelines were established.9  From 2014 to 2015, 14 states’ 

imprisonment rates grew by a higher percentage than Minnesota's; 3 states’ imprisonment rates 

grew by a lower percentage; and 32 states’ imprisonment rates fell. The national state 

imprisonment rate fell by 2.1 percent.10 

 This report details the work of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission in 2016, 

and provides an overview of sentencing practices and trends in the criminal justice system. 

Sentencing practices reports with more detail, or with a focus on a specific type of crime, are 

available on the Commission’s web site.11 Data are reported from cases sentenced in calendar 

year 2015, the most recent full year of sentencing data.12

                                                           
8 The national state imprisonment rate was 402 prisoners per 100,000 U.S. residents. Neither rate includes inmates 
of federal prisons or local correctional facilities. See note 10. 
9 Minnesota’s imprisonment rate was 49 per 100,000 in 1980. See note 7. 
10 Carson, E. Ann. Bureau of Justice Statistics. Prisoners in 2015 (NCJ 250229) (Table 5). December 2016. Retrieved 
Dec. 29, 2016, at http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/p15.pdf. 
11 More detailed reports on overall data trends in 2015 and sentencing practices for specific offenses—including 
assaults and violations of restraining orders, controlled substances, criminal sexual conduct, criminal vehicular 
homicide and injury, dangerous weapons, failure to register as a predatory offender, and felony DWI—as well an 
unranked offense report and a probation revocation report, are available at 
http://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/reports/. 
12 An exception is the County Attorney Firearms Reports section, beginning on page 31, which reports fiscal year 
(FY) 2016 data. 

http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/p15.pdf
http://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/reports/
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Executive Summary 
 

Legislative Amendments to Controlled Substance Offenses – Adopted July, 2016 (p. 6): 

Due to the enactment of a comprehensive drug-sentencing reform act,13 the Commission made 

several changes related to the sentencing of controlled substance offenses. Although the act 

permitted the Drug Offender Grid—which the Commission had proposed to the Legislature in 

January, 2016—to take effect, it directed changes to some of the proposed Grid’s structure and 

offense rankings. The act also directed the ranking of a newly created offense, Aggravated 

Controlled Substance Crime in the First Degree. The act made a number of other drug-related 

changes, to include— 

 Revising drug quantity thresholds for some first- through third- degree offenses; 

 Creating penalties for possession of marijuana plants; 

 Revising the definition of a subsequent controlled substance conviction for purposes of 

mandatory-minimum sentencing; 

 Abolishing those mandatory minimums for third-, fourth- and fifth-degree offenses; and 

 Establishing a gross misdemeanor fifth-degree offense for first-time drug offenders who 

possess certain small amounts of a controlled substance. 

 

In July, 2016, following a public hearing, the Commission modified the Guidelines as required by 

the act and made other modifications to conform the Guidelines to the act’s various policy 

changes. These modifications became effective August 1, 2016. Additionally, in November, 

2016, the Commission changed a comment to the Guidelines to clarify that the criminal history 

points assigned to prior drug convictions are not to be recalculated using post-act drug 

threshold weights. 

 

Legislative Amendments to Non-Controlled Substance Offenses – Adopted July, 2016 

(p. 8): Also in July, 2016, following a public hearing, the Commission made several changes to 

the Guidelines related to non-controlled substance offenses that were enacted or amended by 

the 2016 Legislature. These changes were all made effective August 1, 2016. 

 The new felony offense of interference with a dead body or scene of death14 is ranked at 

Severity Level 4. 

 The new offense of nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images15 is ranked at 

Severity Level 3 and is added to the list of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive 

sentencing. 

 When criminal vehicular homicide (death16 or death to an unborn child17) is enhanced 

due to a qualified prior conviction, the offense is ranked at Severity Level 8 and the 

presumptive sentence is increased by 50 percent. No misdemeanor units are assigned 

to the qualified prior conviction that enhanced the current offense. 

                                                           
13 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 160. 
14 Minn. Stat. § 609.502, subd. 1(1). 
15 Minn. Stat. § 617.261. 
16 Minn. Stat. § 609.2112, subd. 1(b). 
17 Minn. Stat. § 609.2114, subd. 1(b). 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/laws/?id=160&year=2016
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.502
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=617.261
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2112
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2114
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 For the new felony assault motivated by bias,18 the severity level is determined by the 

underlying felony assault, and the presumptive sentence is increased by 25 percent. 

When this sentencing enhancement is used, the use of the Guidelines’ similar 

aggravating factor involving bias motivation19 is prohibited. 

 

Non-Legislative Modifications – Adopted July, 2016 (p. 9): The Commission reviewed 

potential non-legislative modifications. In July, 2016, as a result of the review and following a 

public hearing, the Commission adopted the following proposals to modify the Guidelines: 

 It is clarified that both a current sex offense and a custody status for a prior sex offense 

are required for the assignment of two custody status points.20 

 It is clarified that that the policy for classifying non-Minnesota prior offenses is based on 

offense definitions and sentencing polices in effect when the current Minnesota offense 

was committed. 

 Both clarifications took effect August 1, 2016.  

 A modification to display only whole numbers on the special grid for Attempt or 

Conspiracy to Commit First-Degree Murder21 is proposed to take effect August 1, 2017.  

 

Legislative Amendments and Non-Legislative Modifications – Adopted December, 2016 

(p. 9): In December, 2016, following a public hearing, the Commission adopted two additional 

modifications to the Guidelines, both proposed to take effect August 1, 2017: 

 The severity ranking of child neglect and endangerment is proposed to be raised from 

severity level 1 to severity level 5. 

 The new felony offense of interference with a dead body or scene of death is proposed 

to be placed on the permissive consecutive list. 

 The Commission also considered, but rejected, a third proposal to change how criminal 

history points are assigned to prior drug offenses. 

 In doing so, the Commission concluded that Guideline Comment 2.B.106, as amended 

by the Commission on November, 17, 2016, is applicable to determine when the criminal 

history score for a prior drug conviction may be recalculated using post new law 

threshold weights. 

 

Staff Activities (p. 10): The staff performed the following activities: 

 Answered nearly 100 phone calls and email per month; 

 Trained 400 practitioners in traditional classroom and online settings; 

 Provided 36 fiscal impact statements for introduced legislation; 

 Compiled sentencing information for an estimated 300 individual data requests; 

 Worked with the Department of Corrections to generate prison bed projections; 

 Participated in various criminal justice boards, forums and committees; 

 Processed and ensured the accuracy of over 16,000 sentencing records; 

                                                           
18 Minn. Stat. § 609.2233. 
19 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 2.D.3.b(11). 
20 These terms are applied in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 2.B.2.b(1) and 2.B.2.b(2). 
21 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 2.G.13. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2233
http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/2016%20Guidelines/11_17_2016_Update_August2016_Guidelines.pdf
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 Published the annual edition of the Guidelines and commentary; and 

 Provided reports on sentencing practices to the public. 

 

Sentencing Trends (p. 14): Minnesota courts sentenced 16,763 felony offenders in 2015, an 

increase of 3.8 percent. This was the highest volume on record, surpassing the previous record 

set in 2006. Of the total volume, person offenses accounted for 29.7 percent (4,982 offenders), 

drug offenses accounted for 29.3 percent (4,913 offenders), and property offenses accounted 

for 27.3 percent (4,575 offenders). The total volume of felony offenders sentenced increased by 

17 percent from 2010 to 2015. This is largely attributable to the growth in drug offenses (48%), 

non-CSC sex offenses22 (9%), weapon offenses (51%), and “other”23 offenses (19%). The 

specific offense that contributed the most to that growth in the “weapon” category was 

possession of a firearm by a felon convicted of a crime of violence, which saw a 56-percent 

growth rate from 2010 to 2015. The 2012 to 2015 imprisonment rates were the highest rates 

observed since the Guidelines were implemented. In 2015, 91.8 percent of felony offenders 

served some time in a local correctional facility or prison setting: 65.6 percent served time in a 

local correctional facility as part of their stayed sentence, while 26.2 percent were sentenced to 

state prison. The average pronounced prison sentence was 45 months. Statewide, 72 percent 

of felony offenders received the presumptive Guidelines sentence. The rate varied by gender, 

race and ethnicity, judicial district, and offense type. 

 

County Attorney Firearms Reports (p. 31): County attorneys collect and maintain information 

on crimes for which a defendant is alleged to have possessed or used a firearm. The 

Commission is required to include in its annual report a summary and analysis of the reports 

received. Since 1996, when the mandate began, county attorneys have annually reported an 

average 789 cases allegedly involving a firearm. The total number of reported firearms cases for 

fiscal year 2016 was 1,195, which is a decrease of one percent from FY 2015.   

                                                           
22 “Non-CSC sex offenses” are offenses on the sex offender grid other than criminal sexual conduct (chiefly failure to 
register as a predatory offender and possession and dissemination of child pornography). 
23 “Other” category: Fleeing police, escape, and other offenses of less frequency including crimes against the 
government such as tax offenses, failure to appear in court, and aiding an offender. 
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The Commission’s Activities in 2016 
  

 The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is an eleven-member body created by 

the Legislature.24 Three members are appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court: the 

Chief Justice’s designee; a judge of the Court of Appeals; and a district court judge. Eight 

members are appointed by the Governor: one public defender; one county attorney; the 

Commissioner of Corrections; one peace officer; one probation officer; and three public 

members, one of whom must be a crime victim. 

 

 The Chief Justice’s designee is Associate Supreme Court Justice (Retired)25 Christopher 

Dietzen, who also serves as Chair by appointment of the Governor. The Court of Appeals judge 

is Judge Heidi Schellhas, who is also the Commission’s Vice-Chair.26 The district court judge is 

Judge Caroline Lennon, First Judicial District. Among the Commission members selected by the 

Governor, the public defender member is Cathryn Middlebrook, Chief Appellate Public 

Defender; the county attorney member27 is Peter Orput, Washington County Attorney; Tom Roy 

is the Commissioner of Corrections; the peace officer member is Saint Paul Police Sgt. Paul 

Ford; the probation officer member28 is Valerie Estrada, Hennepin County Community 

Corrections & Rehabilitation; and the public members are Angela Champagne-From, Yamy 

Vang, and Senior Judge Mark Wernick. 

 

 One of the fundamental responsibilities of the Commission is to maintain the Guidelines by 

annually amending them in response to legislative changes, case law, and issues raised by 

various parties. In order to meet this responsibility, the Commission met ten times during 2016 

and held two public hearings, on July 20, 2016, and December 21, 2016. The Guidelines 

modifications adopted on July 27, 2016, are described in paragraphs A, B, and C, below, and in 

Appendix 2 (beginning on p. 38). Further modifications were adopted on December 30, 2016, 

and are described below in paragraph D (beginning on p. 9) and in Appendix 3 (beginning on 

p. 64). 

 

A. Legislative Amendments to Controlled Substance Offenses – Adopted July, 2016. 

2016 Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 160, revised Minnesota’s drug sentencing laws and 

directed specific changes to the Drug Offender Grid proposed by the Commission in its 

January 15, 2016, Report to the Legislature. The Commission reviewed the act and modified 

the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary accordingly. Modifications were 

effective August 1, 2016, and are set forth in Appendix 2.1. The following is a summary of 

                                                           
24 1978 Minn. Laws ch. 723, art. 1, § 9 (as originally established); Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subds. 1 & 2 (2016) (current). 
25 The Chief Justice appointed Christopher Dietzen to the Commission, as an associate justice of the Minnesota 
Supreme Court, on September 12, 2012. Justice Dietzen retired from the Supreme Court effective August 31, 2016. 
The Chief Justice reappointed him to the Commission, as a retired associate justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court, 
the following day. 
26 The Commission unanimously elected Judge Schellhas to the then-vacant position of Vice-Chair on April 27, 2016. 
27 Isanti County Attorney Jeffrey Edblad was a Commission member until his resignation from the Commission 
effective August 1, 2016. He is now the President of the Minnesota County Attorneys Association. Peter Orput’s 
appointment was effective October 12, 2016. 
28 The probation officer seat was vacant from June 23, 2015, through October 11, 2016. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=160
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=723&year=1978
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=244.09&year=2016
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the resulting policy changes in statute (as a result of the act) and in the Guidelines (as a 

result of the Commission’s action to comply with the act’s requirements, and to conform the 

Guidelines to the act’s policy changes):  

 

 The act permitted the Drug Offender Grid,29 as it was proposed to the Legislature in 

January, 2016, to take effect with the following required modifications: 

o Eliminate proposed Severity Level (SL) D7. 

o Renumber proposed severity levels D10, D9, and D8 as severity levels D9, D8, 

and D7, respectively. 

o Change the presumptive disposition for new SL D7 from executed to stayed at 

criminal history scores of 0 and 1. 

o Rank aggravated first-degree controlled substance crime at new SL D9. 

o Rank first-degree possession of a controlled substance at new SL D8 (with sale). 

o Rank second-degree controlled substance crime at new SL D7. 

o Make conforming changes to the Guidelines. 

 A statutory list of “aggravating factors” was established, and the offense of aggravated 

controlled substance crime in the first degree was created. 

 A mandatory-minimum sentence was established for the aggravated first-degree 

offense, with no waiver provision. 

 A mandatory-minimum sentence was established for first-degree offenses where the 

aggravated amounts are involved, but the offense is not otherwise an aggravated first-

degree offense. 

 The mandatory-minimum provision applicable to subsequent controlled substance 

convictions now applies only to first- and second-degree offenses, and only prior first- 

and second-degree offenses qualify a current first- or second-degree offense as a 

subsequent controlled substance conviction. 

 A prior disposition under Minn. Stat. § 152.18 (“Discharge and Dismissal”) no longer 

qualifies a current conviction as a subsequent controlled substance conviction. 

 Mandatory-minimum penalties under Minn. Stat. § 609.11 (relating to the involvement of 

weapons in the commission of certain offenses) must also be added to the mandatory-

minimum penalties for aggravated first-degree controlled substance crime, but only if the 

crime is aggravated because of two aggravating factors, rather than because of a 

firearm. 

 Cocaine and methamphetamine weight thresholds were increased for first- and second-

degree controlled substance crime, and third-degree possession offenses. Some or all of 

those threshold increases are rolled back if the offense involves a firearm or multiple 

aggravating factors. 

 Marijuana weight thresholds were reduced for first- and second-degree offenses, and 

the marijuana plant is introduced as a new measure of quantity and severity. 

 For offenders with no prior Minn. Stat. chapter 152 convictions, fifth-degree possession 

of certain small amounts of a controlled substance became of a gross misdemeanor. 

                                                           
29 As originally proposed, the Drug Offender Grid may be found on page 80 of the Commission’s January 15, 2016, 
Report to the Legislature. As finally adopted, the Drug Offender Grid may be found at Appendix 5.3 of this Report. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=152.18
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.11
http://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/assets/MN%20Sentencing%20Guidelines%20Comm%202016%20Report%20to%20the%20Legislature1_tcm30-114326.pdf#page=84
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 Eligibility for disposition under Minn. Stat. § 152.18 was expanded to third-degree 

possession offenses. 

 Disposition under Minn. Stat. § 152.18 was made mandatory for eligible fifth-degree 

possession cases with no prior felony record and no prior convictions for gross 

misdemeanor fifth-degree possession. 

 The mandatory-minimum provisions of Minn. Stat. § 609.11 may not be waived for first- 

or second-degree sale while using or possessing, on the person or within the immediate 

reach of the defendant or an accomplice, a firearm. 

 

On November 17, 2016, the Commission made a related change to Comment 2.B.106 of the 

Guidelines. This change clarified that prior drug convictions are not to be recalculated using 

post-act drug threshold weights. The change, which took immediate effect, is set forth in 

Appendix 2.2. 

 

 

B. Legislative Amendments to Non-Controlled Substance Offenses – Adopted July, 

2016. The Commission reviewed laws related to non-controlled substance offenses newly 

enacted or amended by the 2016 Legislature, and adopted a proposal to modify the 

Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary. Modifications were effective August 1, 

2016, and are set forth in Appendix 2.3.  

 

1. The Commission adopted a proposal to increase by 50 percent the presumptive 

sentence duration when an offender is sentenced for a criminal vehicular homicide under 

Minn. Stat. § 609.2112, subd. 1(b) (death, qualified prior conviction), or 609.2114, subd. 

1(b) (death to an unborn child, qualified prior conviction). 

 

2. The Commission adopted a proposal that, for Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death or 

Death to an Unborn Child, Qualified Prior Conviction), no misdemeanor units are 

assigned to the qualified prior driving offense that was used to increase the statutory 

maximum penalty. 

 

3. The Commission adopted a proposal to increase by 25 percent the presumptive 

sentence duration when the statutory maximum was increased under Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.2233 (“Felony Assault Motivated by Bias; Increased Statutory Maximum 

Sentence”) 

 

4. The Commission adopted a proposal to clarify that the use of the aggravating factor 

involving bias motivation under Guidelines § 2.D.3.b(11) is prohibited when the statutory 

maximum was increased under Minn. Stat. § 609.2233. 

 

5. The Commission adopted a proposal to assign a severity-level ranking of 4 to the new 

felony offense of interference with a dead body or scene of death, Minn. Stat. § 609.502, 

subd. 1(1). 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2112
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2114
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2233
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2233
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.502
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6. The Commission adopted a proposal to assign a severity-level ranking of 3 to the new 

offense of nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images, Minn. Stat. § 617.261. 

 

7. The Commission adopted a proposal to add nonconsensual dissemination of private 

sexual images to the list of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive sentences. 

 

8. The Commission adopted a proposal to make technical changes. 

 

C. Non-Legislative Modifications – Adopted July, 2016. Through the course of the year, the 

Commission reviews potential non-legislative modifications to the Guidelines. On July 27, 

2016, as a result of this review and following a public hearing, the Commission adopted a 

proposal to modify the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary. Modifications 

were effective August 1, 2016, unless otherwise noted, and are set forth in Appendix 2.4.  

 

1. The Commission adopted a proposal to clarify that both a current sex offense, as 

described in § 2.B.2.b(1), and a custody status for a prior sex offense, as described in  

§ 2.B.2.b(2), are required for the assignment of two custody status points. 

 

2. The Commission adopted a proposal to clarify that the policy for classifying non-

Minnesota prior offenses is based on offense definitions and sentencing polices in effect 

when the current Minnesota offense was committed. 

 

3. The Commission adopted a proposal to renumber Guidelines § 2.G.11 as § 2.G.13. 

 

4. The Commission adopted a proposal to modify the Attempt or Conspiracy to Commit 

First-Degree Murder Grid in § 2.G.13, to display whole numbers in the lower ranges of 

the Grid at Criminal History Scores 1, 3, and 5, taking effect August 1, 2017. 

 

D. Legislative Amendments and Non-Legislative Modifications – Considered December, 

2016. On December 30, 2016, following a public hearing, the Commission considered three 

additional proposals to modify the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary. The 

Commission adopted two of the proposals and rejected the third. The successful proposals, 

both proposed to take effect August 1, 2017, are summarized below and are set forth in 

Appendix 3. The unsuccessful proposal is summarized below and set forth in Appendix 4, 

together with some of the reasons for the proposal’s defeat. 

 

1. The Commission, after reviewing a practitioner’s request at its October 26, 2016, 

meeting to increase the severity-level ranking of child neglect and endangerment under 

Minn. Stat. § 609.378, adopted a proposal to increase the offense’s severity-level 

ranking from Severity Level 1 to Severity Level 5, modifying Guidelines §§ 5.A and 5.B. 

(See Appendix 3.1, p. 64.) 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=617.261
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.378
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2. The Commission adopted a proposal to add interference with a body or scene of death, 

Minn. Stat. § 609.502, subd. 1(1), to the list of offenses eligible for permissive 

consecutive sentencing in Guidelines § 6. (See Appendix 3.2, p. 65.) 

 
3. The Commission rejected a proposal that, for prior Minnesota controlled substance 

offenses in the first, second, third, or fifth degree committed before August 1, 2016, the 

current felony offense of the same name would determine the offense classification in 

calculating the criminal history score unless it were proven that the facts would have 

supported a conviction of a lesser degree. The proposal would have added Guidelines 

§ 2.B.7.c and Comment 2.B.704. (See Appendix 4, p. 66.) 

 

 

Staff Activities 
 

The following provides a summary of the activities performed by staff, in addition to 

providing support and research for the Guidelines modifications detailed in this report, to further 

the goals and purposes of the Commission. In particular, staff assist the Commission in fulfilling 

its statutory charter to serve as a clearinghouse and information center for the collection, 

preparation, analysis, and dissemination of information on sentencing practices.30 

 

Monitoring Sentencing Data 

 

 One of the primary functions of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission (MSGC) 

staff is to monitor sentencing practices. The monitoring system is designed to maintain data on 

all offenders convicted of a felony and sentenced under the Guidelines.31 A case is defined 

when a sentencing worksheet is received from the probation officer and matched with 

sentencing data from the District Court. As part of the agency’s core functions, MSGC staff 

collected and analyzed data for over 16,000 felony offenders. Additionally, staff published the 

annual edition of the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary and various reports on 

sentencing practices and trends.32 

 
Training and Assistance 

 

The staff provides assistance with the Guidelines in a variety of ways: traditional training 

seminars, website training materials and informational publications, and email and telephone 

assistance for judges, attorneys, and probation officers in determining appropriate presumptive 

sentences. On average, the staff fielded nearly 100 phone calls per month in 2016, the majority 

                                                           
30 The Commission is charged both with its research role, and its role as a clearinghouse and information center on 
sentencing practices, in Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6. 
31 Beginning in 2006, first-degree murder offenses were included in the Commission’s data. Previously, only 
attempted first-degree murder and conspiracy to commit first-degree murder had been included. First-degree murder 
has a mandatory life sentence; the presumptive sentence is not determined by the Sentencing Guidelines. It was 
decided to include first-degree murder in the Commission’s data following the Legislature’s creation of life sentences 
for certain sex offenses in 2005. The MSGC now maintains data on all life sentences pronounced. 
32 See note 11. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.502
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=244.09
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of which were questions from practitioners about the application of the Guidelines to the 

sentencing of a particular felony case. 

 

In an effort to promote the accurate application of the Guidelines, staff trained over 400 

practitioners in sixteen traditional classroom trainings. In additional to fulfilling training requests 

from probation agencies, public defenders, and prosecutors, this year’s classroom trainings 

included a specialized training for new prosecutors conducted by the Minnesota County 

Attorneys Association. The increase in live trainings was due to the significant changes made to 

Minnesota’s drug laws. 

 

 Nearly 250 additional practitioners were trained statewide via the online training service 

WebEx. These trainings allow MSGC staff to focus on a single topic, giving practitioners a 

deeper view into advanced policy topics. It also allowed Commission staff to train large groups 

of practitioners who may have been unable to attend a live training. Additionally, three webinars 

were offered throughout the year to new practitioners, allowing MSGC staff to train these 

practitioners immediately, rather than delaying their training until it could be scheduled in their 

region. 

 

Website 

  

 The Commission’s website receives an average 4,213 visits each month, up 11 percent from 

last year (3,800 visits per month in 2015). The website includes easily accessible email signup 

for upcoming trainings, public hearing notices, and Commission meeting notices. One-click data 

requests makes getting sentencing information quick and easy.  

  

Data Requests 

 

One of the important ways in which the Commission’s staff works with fellow agencies and 

criminal justice practitioners across the state is researching and compiling statistical data in 

response to information requests. MSGC staff responded to an average 25 data requests each 

month for about 300 data requests in 2016. These requests are most often made by lawyers or 

corrections agents to show evidence of specific sentencing practices to the court. However, the 

requests are also made by academics, students, other state agencies, legislative staff, law 

enforcement, and the press for other purposes. The topics range from departure data for a 

single type of offense within a given county to comparative data on how an offense has been 

sentenced from one jurisdiction to another.  

 

Collaboration with Criminal Justice Agencies 

 

The staff’s knowledge of felony sentencing and practice makes it a valued contributor to 

criminal justice policy discussions. Each year, Commission staff works with the Department of 

Corrections to generate prison bed projections. MSGC staff also serves on the Criminal and 

Juvenile Justice Information Advisory Group, and on a committee assisting the Commissioner of 
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Corrections study and make recommendations to the Legislature on the issue of implementing 

an earned compliance credit policy for offenders on probation and supervised release.  

 

Fiscal/Racial-Impact Statements 

 

During the 2016 Legislative Session, staff provided 36 fiscal impact statements for 

introduced legislation. These impact statements include details as to any increase or decrease 

in adult offender populations, the estimated net increase in state correctional facility beds, and 

the impact on confinement in local correctional facilities. Staff provided the requested 

information within the time requirements set by the Legislature. 

 

 In 2008, MSGC staff began providing the Minnesota Legislature racial-impact statement on 

proposed crime bills when a disparate impact was anticipated. When, in the course of preparing 

a required fiscal impact statement, MSGC staff identifies a bill that meets its criteria for 

preparing a racial-impact statement, it prepares such a statement and sends it to the chairs of 

the crime committees in the Senate and the House.33 This is done separately from the required 

fiscal-impact statements. 

  

 During the 2016 Legislative Session, two legislative policy proposals met the new criteria for 

preparing a racial-impact statement: the Public Safety Personnel Protection Act, which was not 

enacted; and the drug-sentencing reform act.  

 

 The Minnesota Public Safety Personnel Protection Act (House File 2557), proposed to 

expand the responders covered in the offense of obstructing legal process, arrest or firefighting. 

It established a 24-month mandatory minimum for the existing felony offense and creates a new 

felony offense, with a 12-month mandatory minimum, for what are now misdemeanor and gross 

misdemeanor offenses. The racial-impact statement34 concluded that, compared to the racial 

disparities now existing in Minnesota’s felony populations, the racial disparity of the felony 

offender population for American Indian offenders and, to a lesser extent, Hispanic offenders 

would be worsened. The bill was not enacted.  

  

 The drug-sentencing reform act, 2016 Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 160 (Senate File 3481, 

3rd Engrossment), amended the Drug Offender Grid adopted by the Commission; revised the 

existing thresholds for some clauses of first- through third- degree controlled substance 

offenses; created penalties for possession of marijuana plants; created aggravated offenses 

with mandatory minimum penalties; revised the definition of a subsequent controlled substance 

conviction under Minn. Stat. § 152.01, subd. 16a, by limiting it to prior convictions for first- and 

second-degree offenses and requiring actual convictions, rather than stays of adjudication; 

abolished mandatory minimums for third-, fourth- and fifth-degree offenses; and established a 

                                                           
33 In April 2015, staff formalized the criteria and process for conducting racial impact statements. The document 
describing the agency’s criteria and process for conducting racial impact statements is available at 
http://go.usa.gov/cNEPe (retrieved Oct. 18, 2016). 
34 The full statement is available at http://go.usa.gov/xkwqH (retrieved Oct. 20, 2016). 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/bill.php?b=House&f=HF2557&ssn=0&y=2015
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=160
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/bill.php?f=SF3481&b=senate&y=2016&ssn=0
http://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/assets/MSGC_Racial_Impact_Statement_Policy_April_2015_tcm30-60156.pdf
http://go.usa.gov/xkwqH
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gross misdemeanor fifth-degree offense for first-time drug offenders who possess certain small 

amounts of a controlled substance. The bill was enacted May 23, 2016.35  

 

 The racial-impact statement36 for the Drug Reform Act made two conclusions: 1) for the 

adult felony population, there would be some alleviation of the existing racial disparity in the 

American Indian population; however, while it is expected to reduce the size of the black and 

Hispanic felony population in absolute terms, it is not expected to alleviate the existing racial 

disparities in the black and Hispanic felony populations; and 2) for the adult prison population, 

there will be some alleviation of the existing racial disparity in the Hispanic prison population; 

however, while it is expected to reduce the size of the black and American Indian prison 

populations in absolute terms, it is not expected to alleviate the existing racial disparities in the 

black and American Indian prison populations.  

                                                           
35 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 160, is available at http://go.usa.gov/xkd2d (retrieved Oct. 18, 2016). 
36 The full statement is available at http://go.usa.gov/xkd2x (retrieved Oct. 18, 2016). 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=160
http://go.usa.gov/xkd2d
http://go.usa.gov/xkd2x
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2015 Sentencing Practices Data Summary 
 

 The following data summarize information about sentencing practices and case volume and 

distribution. The recommended sentence under the Guidelines is based primarily on the severity 

of the offense of conviction and secondarily on the offender’s criminal record. The majority of 

offenders receive the recommended sentence. 

 

 In Minnesota, sentencing of felony offenders is governed by the Sentencing Guidelines. It is 

important, therefore, to be aware of the effect of differences in offense severity and criminal 

history when evaluating sentencing practices. This is particularly important when comparing 

groups of offenders (e.g., by gender, race and ethnicity, and judicial district). For example, if in a 

particular district the proportion of serious person offenders is fairly high, the imprisonment rate 

for that district will likely be higher than for districts with predominantly lower severity-level 

offenses. 

 

Case Volume, Distribution, and Percent Change: Overall and by Offense Type 
 

Minnesota courts sentenced 16,763 felony offenders in 2015, an increase of 3.8 percent. 

This was the highest volume on record, surpassing the previous record set in 2006. Of the total 

volume, person offenses accounted for 29.7 percent (4,982 offenders), drug offenses accounted 

for 29.3 percent (4,913 offenders), and property offenses accounted for 27.3 percent (4,575 

offenders) (Figure 1). 

 

 
 

 

* See note 37. 

** See note 38. 
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The number of offenders sentenced for felony convictions grew significantly between 2001 

and 2006 (Figure 2). This growth can be attributed to the implementation of the felony driving 

while impaired (DWI) law and increases in the number of drug crimes sentenced, particularly 

methamphetamine cases. Significant growth also occurred from 2010 to 2015, when the total 

volume of felony offenders sentenced increased by 17 percent. This is attributable to the growth 

in drug offenders at 48 percent, non-CSC sex offenders37 at 9 percent, and “other”38 offenders 

at 19 percent. 

 

For this report, offenses involving a weapon were moved from the “other” category into their 

own “weapon” 39 category in order to provide more information about the category “other.“ The 

“weapon” category grew by 51 percent from 2010 to 2015. The specific offense that contributed 

the most to that growth in the “weapon” category was possession of a firearm by a felon 

convicted of a crime of violence, which grew from 234 offenders in 2010 to 364 offenders in 

2015 (56% growth rate). Person offenses grew by eight percent from 2010 to 2015, while 

property offenses had the smallest growth rate (6%). The only offense category that showed a 

decline during this time period was felony DWI, which declined by 12 percent.  

 

 

 

                                                           
37 “Non-CSC sex offenses” are offenses on the sex offender grid other than criminal sexual conduct (chiefly failure to 
register as a predatory offender and possession and dissemination of child pornography). 
38 “Other” category: Fleeing police, escape, and other offenses of less frequency including crimes against the 
government such as tax offenses, failure to appear in court, and aiding an offender. 
39 “Weapon” offenses include: possession of a firearm by a felon convicted of a crime of violence, firearm discharge, 

possession of teargas and explosive devices and other weapon related offenses. 
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Figure 2. Percent Change in Number of Offenders Sentenced for 
Felony Convictions, 1982-2015
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According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, the total number of reported “index 

crimes”40 fell 1.2 percent from 2014 (136,989 offenses) to 2015 (135,382 offenses). The number 

of reported “violent crimes”41 (a subset of “index crimes”), on the other hand, rose 7.6 percent 

over the same time period (from 12,357 in 2014 to 13,294 offenses in 2015). 

 

Figure 3 shows the percent change, by offense type, in the number of offenders sentenced 

from 2001 and 2015. Person offenses increased every year from 2001 to 2012, until decreasing 

slightly in 2013. In 2014 and 2015, the number increased slightly. With a 13 percent increase 

over the previous year, drug offenses showed the second highest percent change of the offense 

categories. Property offenses sentenced decreased slightly by 0.3 percent. The number of 

felony DWI offenders sentenced decreased by 12 percent. The fluctuations in this category may 

be due to challenges to procedures for collecting evidence without a warrant. 

 

Figure 3.  Year-by-Year Percent Change by Offense Type, 2001-2015  
 

Year 
Sentenced 

Total Person Property Drug 
Felony 

DWI 

Non-CSC 
Sex 

Offense42 

Weapon
43 

Other44 
45 

2001 3.9% 3.8% 4.2% 0.0%       13.3% 

2002 20.2% 10.4% 17.9% 31.9%       16.3% 

2003 11.7% 6.2% 2.4% 13.8%       2.2% 

2004 1.8% 1.1% -0.8% 3.6% 6.2%     6.2% 

2005 4.8% 6.4% 2.0% 8.1% -3.0%     7.6% 

2006 6.4% 13.7% 7.9% 2.7% -5.5%     1.1% 

2007 -1.7% 7.3% -4.0% -7.1% -6.7%     3.7% 

2008 -4.8% 2.9% -11.5% -6.9% 6.0%     -0.1% 

2009 -3.6% 6.6% -7.0% -7.7% -9.6%     -7.0% 

2010 -3.6% 2.0% -6.8% -7.0% -5.3% 3.1% -1.3% -3.0% 

2011 1.8% 1.7% -2.4% 2.5% -1.0% 9.9% 9.8% 20.3% 

2012 4.4% 3.5% 8.8% 4.2% -4.4% 4.0% 18.8% -11.5% 

2013 0.7% -0.1% -1.7% 7.6% -19.2% 4.6% 13.4% -5.2% 

2014 5.4% 1.4% 1.3% 14.2% 28.6% -2.1% 0.2% 2.6% 

2015 3.8% 1.6% -0.3% 12.6% -10.5% -7.1% 2.1% 15.0% 

                                                           
40 “Index Crimes” are Murder, Forcible Rape, Robbery, Aggravated Assault, Burglary, Larceny, Motor Vehicle Theft, 
and Arson. 1995 to 2015 Uniform Crime Reports, State of Minnesota, Department of Public Safety, obtained 
September 2016, at https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/bca-divisions/mnjis/Pages/uniform-crime-reports.aspx. 
41 “Violent Crimes” are Murder, Forcible Rape, Robbery, and Aggravated Assault. 1995 to 2015 Uniform Crime 
Reports, State of Minnesota, Department of Public Safety, obtained September 2016, at 
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/bca-divisions/mnjis/Pages/uniform-crime-reports.aspx. 
42 “Non-CSC sex offenses” are offenses on the Sex Offender Grid other than criminal sexual conduct (chiefly failure 
to register as a predatory offender and possession and dissemination of child pornography). 
43 “Weapon” category includes: Possession of a firearm by a felon convicted of a crime of violence, discharge of 
firearm, and other weapon related offenses. 
44 “Other” category includes: Fleeing police, escape, voting violations, tax evasion laws, and other offenses of less 
frequency. 
45 “Other” category includes DWI before 2004 and non-CSC sex offenses and weapon offenses before 2010. 

https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/bca-divisions/mnjis/Pages/uniform-crime-reports.aspx
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/bca-divisions/mnjis/Pages/uniform-crime-reports.aspx
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Distribution of Offenders by Gender, Race/Ethnicity and Judicial District 
 

Males have always accounted for more than 80 percent of the felony offenders in Minnesota 

(Table 1). In 2015, 81.3 percent of the offenders sentenced were male and 18.7 percent were 

female. Figure 4 shows the racial and ethnic composition of the felony offender population from 

1981 through 2015. The percentage of offenders who are white has decreased by roughly 25 

percent since 1981. This is largely due to an increase in the percentage of black offenders, 

though the percentage of other non-white offenders (particularly Hispanic offenders) has also 

increased. 

 

The percent of offenders who are black increased from 25.8 percent in 2014 to 26.3 percent 

in 2015. The percent who are white decreased slightly from 58.5 percent to 57.7 percent. The 

percent who are American Indians increased, while the percent who are Hispanic or Asian 

remained similar to that seen in 2014. 

 

 
 
Figure 5 displays the 2015 distribution of the racial and ethnic composition of felony 

offenders by Minnesota judicial district. (See Appendix 1 on page 37 for a map of Minnesota’s 

ten judicial districts.) The largest populations of black offenders were in the Second Judicial 

District (Ramsey County) and the Fourth Judicial District (Hennepin County). These districts 

include the cities of St. Paul and Minneapolis.  
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Incarceration Rates 
 

 Under Minn. Stat. § 609.02, a felony sentence must be at least 366 days long.   

 

 The Guidelines presume who should go to state correctional institutions (prison) and for how 

long. Imprisonment rates are related to the Guideline recommendations and are based on the 

seriousness of the offense and the offender’s criminal history score. In cases in which prison 

sentences are stayed, the court usually places the offender on probation. As a condition of 

probation, the court may impose up to one year of incarceration in a local correctional facility. 

Probationers usually serve time in a local correctional facility and are often given intermediate 

sanctions such as treatment (residential or nonresidential), restitution, and fines. There are no 

specific Guidelines to the court regarding the imposition of these intermediate sanctions.46 

 

 The 2012-15 imprisonment rates were the highest rates observed since the Guidelines were 

implemented. In 2015, 91.8 percent of felony offenders served some time in a local correctional 

facility or prison setting (Total Incarceration, Figure 6): 66.6 percent served time in a local 

correctional facility as part of their stayed sentence (Local Correctional Facility, Figure 6); and 

26.2 percent were sentenced to a Minnesota Department of Corrections (DOC) prison facility 

(State Prison, Figure 6).  

                                                           
46 While the Commission is authorized to establish, within the Sentencing Guidelines, sanctions for offenders for 
whom imprisonment is not proper (Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 5), it has chosen not to develop specific Guidelines for 
the sanctions and other conditions of stayed sentences. The determination of such sanctions and conditions is left to 
district courts, with general guidance provided in Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines § 3.A.2.  

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th Total

Other 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.1% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0%

Asian 3.4% 9.6% 1.3% 2.5% 2.7% 0.3% 0.5% 0.2% 0.5% 1.9% 2.7%

Hispanic 7.6% 5.5% 7.9% 3.4% 9.5% 1.3% 4.0% 16.1% 2.8% 2.7% 5.0%

American Indian 3.3% 3.3% 0.9% 4.9% 5.0% 16.6% 12.9% 5.5% 32.3% 3.6% 8.2%

Black 20.1% 48.4% 18.8% 56.6% 11.3% 14.7% 14.5% 3.9% 4.1% 14.2% 26.3%

White 65.6% 33.2% 71.1% 32.5% 71.5% 67.0% 68.0% 74.3% 60.3% 77.6% 57.7%
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Judicial District, 2015

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=244.09


Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

19 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 

 
 

 When comparing imprisonment rates across various groups (sex, race or judicial district) it is 

important to note that much of the variation is directly related to the proportion of offenders in 

any particular group who are recommended a prison sentence by the Guidelines based on the 

severity of the offense and the offender’s criminal history. 

 

 Table 1, below, provides total incarceration information for offenders sentenced in 2015.  

The total incarceration rate describes the percentage of offenders who received a sentence that 

included incarceration in a state prison or local correctional facility, following conviction. 

 
Race/Ethnicity 
 

 The total incarceration rate varies somewhat across racial groups (ranging from 90.9% for 

white offenders to 93.4% for black offenders). Greater variation by race exists in the separate 

rates for prison and local confinement. White offenders were imprisoned at the lowest rate 

(23.2%) whereas black offenders were imprisoned at the highest rate (32.6%). 

 

Judicial District 

 

Variation was also observed in incarceration rates by Judicial District. The Second Judicial 

District (Ramsey County) had the highest total incarceration rate (98.1%) and the Third Judicial 

District (southeast Minnesota) had the lowest total incarceration rate (82.1%). This variation 

continues with respect to the separate rates for prison and local confinement. The Eighth 

Judicial District (west-central counties) had the highest imprisonment rate (32%), and the Fifth 

Judicial District (southwestern counties) had the lowest imprisonment rate (20%). With regard to 
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use of local confinement, the Second Judicial District had the highest rate (71.7%), and the 

Third Judicial District had the lowest rate (57.6%). See, Appendix 1 on p. 37, for a map of 

Minnesota’s ten judicial districts. 

 
Table 1. Total Incarceration Rates by Gender, Race / Ethnicity, and Judicial District, 

2015 
 

  Total 
Total 

Incarceration 
State 

Prison 
Conditional 

Confinement 

  Cases Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Gender 
Male 13,621 12,627 92.7 3,995 29.3 8,632 63.4 

Female 3,142 2,761 87.9 397 12.6 2,364 75.2 

Race/ 
Ethnicity 

White 9,677 8,792 90.9 2,241 23.2 6,551 67.7 

Black 4,409 4,119 93.4 1,437 32.6 2,682 60.8 

American Indian 1,382 1,277 92.4 364 26.3 913 66.1 

Hispanic 836 773 92.5 236 28.2 537 64.2 

Asian 458 426 93.0 114 24.9 312 68.1 

Other/Unknown 1 1 100.0 0 0.0 1 100.0 

Judicial 
District 

First 2,049 1,831 89.4 430 21.0 1,401 68.4 

Second 2,055 2,016 98.1 542 26.4 1,474 71.7 

Third 1,381 1,134 82.1 339 24.5 795 57.6 

Fourth 3,240 2,972 91.7 1,030 31.8 1,942 59.9 

Fifth 918 834 90.8 184 20.0 650 70.8 

Sixth 919 803 87.4 185 20.1 618 67.2 

Seventh 1,691 1,654 97.8 520 30.8 1,134 67.1 

Eighth 435 414 95.2 139 32.0 275 63.2 

Ninth 1,696 1,476 87.0 440 25.9 1,036 61.1 

Tenth 2,379 2,254 94.7 583 24.5 1,671 70.2 

Total  16,763 15,388 91.8 4,392 26.2 10,996 65.6 

 
 

Average Pronounced Prison Sentences and Confinement in a Local Correctional Facility 
 

The average pronounced prison sentence in 2015 was 45.0 months, a slight decrease over 

2014 (Figure 7). Numerous changes in sentencing practices and policies, as well as changes in 

the distribution of cases, can affect the average. The average prison sentence increased after 

1989, when the Commission increased—in some cases, doubled—recommended prison 

sentences for higher severity-level offenses. The average amount of local confinement 

pronounced as an interim sanction was 105 days in 2015, compared to 107 days in 2014 

(Figure 7). The average has remained largely constant since 1988. 
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Life Sentences 
 

In 2015, five offenders received life sentences, all for first-degree murder. All of those life 

sentences were with no release possible. Those offenders are excluded from the averaged 

pronounced prison sentence reported here. No offenders sentenced for criminal sexual conduct 

offenses received a life sentence. 

 

 

 

 

Departures from the Guidelines 

 
A “departure” is a pronounced sentence other than that recommended in the appropriate cell 

of the applicable Guidelines Grid. There are two types of departures – dispositional and 

durational – as further explained below. Since the presumptive sentence is based on “the typical 

case,” the appropriate use of departures by the courts when substantial and compelling 

circumstances exist can actually enhance proportionality by varying the sanction in an atypical 

case. 

 

While the court ultimately makes the sentencing decision, most sentences pronounced by 

the court are based on judicial acceptance of plea agreements between prosecutors and 

defendants after victim input. Probation officers make recommendations to the courts regarding 

whether a departure from the presumptive sentence is appropriate, and prosecutors and 

defense attorneys commonly arrive at agreements regarding acceptable sentences for which an 

appeal will not be pursued. In 2015, prosecutors did not object to at least 62 percent of 
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mitigated dispositional departures, nor to at least 73 percent of mitigated durational 

departures.47 Victims are provided an opportunity to comment regarding the appropriate 

sentence as well. Therefore, these departure statistics should be reviewed with an 

understanding that, when the court pronounces a particular sentence, there may be agreement 

or acceptance among the other actors that the sentence is appropriate. Only a small percent of 

cases (1% to 2%) result in an appeal of the sentence pronounced by the court. 

 

When there is departure from the presumptive sentence, the court is required to submit 

reasons for the departure to the Commission.48 Along with reasons for departure, the court may 

supply information about the position of the prosecutor regarding the departure. In 2015, the 

Commission received departure reasons or information about the position of the prosecutor 95 

percent of the time. In 2015, 97 percent of felony convictions were settled without a trial. The 

Commission recognizes the need to balance the importance of plea agreements with the goals 

of the Guidelines. In the case of a plea agreement, the Commission asks courts to explain the 

underlying reasons for the plea agreement or for the court’s acceptance of it.49 

 

In 2015, 72 percent of all felony offenders sentenced received the presumptive Guidelines 

sentence. The remaining 28 percent received some type of departure (Figure 8). 

 

 

 
 

                                                           
47 See figures 11 and 13 on pages 27 and 30. 
48 Minn. R. Crim. P. 27.03, subd. 4(C). 
49 See Minn. Sentencing Guidelines comment 2.D.104 (“Plea agreements are important to our criminal justice system 
because it is not possible to support a system where all cases go to trial. However, it is important to have balance in 
the criminal justice system where plea agreements are recognized as legitimate and necessary and the goals of the 
Guidelines are supported. If a plea agreement involves a sentence departure and no other reasons are provided, 
there is little information available to make informed policy decisions or to ensure consistency, proportionality, and 
rationality in sentencing. Departures and their reasons highlight both the success and problems of the existing 
Guidelines. When a plea agreement involves a departure from the presumptive sentence, the court should cite the 
reasons that underlie the plea agreement or explain its reasons for accepting the negotiation.”). 
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/court_rules/rule.php?type=cr&id=27
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Dispositional Departures 
 

A “dispositional departure” occurs when the court orders a disposition other than that 

recommended in the Guidelines. There are two types of dispositional departures: aggravated 

dispositional departures and mitigated dispositional departures. An aggravated dispositional 

departure occurs when the Guidelines recommend a stayed sentence but the court pronounces 

an executed prison sentence. A mitigated dispositional departure occurs when the Guidelines 

recommend a prison sentence but the court pronounces a stayed sentence. 

 

In 2015, the combined mitigated and aggravated dispositional departure rate was 15.4 

percent: 11.2 percent mitigated and 4.2 percent aggravated (Figure 9). Most aggravated 

dispositional departures (84% in 2015) occur when an offender with a presumptive stayed 

sentence requests an executed prison sentence or agrees to the departure as part of a plea 

agreement. This request is usually made in order for the offender to serve the sentence 

concurrently with another prison sentence. The Commission has historically included these 

cases in the departure figures because, for the given offense, the sentence is not the 

presumptive Guidelines sentence.50 If requests for prison are not included in the analysis, the 

aggravated dispositional departure rate—as a measure of judicial compliance—is less than one 

percent (Figure 9, Inset). Because aggravated dispositional departures represent such a small 

percentage of cases, the remainder of this analysis will focus on mitigated dispositional 

departures. 

 

 

 

 
 
  

                                                           
50 Effective with the 2015 modifications to Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines § 2.D.1, a sentence that is executed 
pursuant to an offender’s right to demand execution will no longer be considered an aggravated dispositional 
departure. Four of the cases in this report fell within the scope of the amended rule. 
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Table 2 illustrates dispositional departure rates based on presumptive disposition by gender, 

race, and judicial district. The aggravated dispositional departure rate for offenders 

recommended a stayed sentence (“Presumptive Stays”) was 6.2 percent. The mitigated 

dispositional departure rate for offenders who were recommended prison (“Presumptive 

Commits”) was 33.7 percent. 

 

The mitigated dispositional departure rate is higher for women (52.4%) than men (31.8%). 

When examined by racial and ethnic composition, the mitigated dispositional departure rate 

ranged from a low of 26.2 percent for Asian offenders to a high of 37.0 percent for white 

offenders. There was also variation in the rate by Minnesota Judicial District, ranging from lows 

of 24.6 percent in the Seventh District (includes the cities of Moorhead and St. Cloud) and 27.8 

percent in the Eight District (includes the City of Willmar) to a high of 47.4 percent in the Fifth 

Judicial District (includes the City of Mankato). When reviewing Table 2, note that the observed 

variations may be partly explained by regional differences in case volume, charging practices, 

and plea agreement practices, as well as differences in the types of offenses sentenced and 

criminal history scores of offenders across racial groups or across regions. (See Appendix 1 on 

page 37 for a map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.) 
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Table 2.  Dispositional Departure Rates by Gender, Race/Ethnicity, and Judicial 
District, 2015 

 

   Presumptive Stays Presumptive Commits 

  
Total 
Cases Total 

Aggravated 
Dispositional 

Departure 
Total  

 

Mitigated 
Dispositional 

Departure 

No. Rate No. Rate 

Gender 

Male 13,621 8,579 552 6.4% 5,042 1,602 31.8% 

Female 3,142 2,623 148 5.6% 519 272 52.4% 

Race/ 
Ethnicity 

White 9,677 6,826 443 6.5% 2,851 1,054 37.0% 

Black 4,409 2,528 132 5.2% 1,881 578 30.7% 

American 
Indian 1,382 983 72 7.3% 399 107 26.8% 

Hispanic 836 532 33 6.2% 304 102 33.6% 

Asian 458 332 20 6.0% 126 33 26.2% 

Other/ 
Unknown 1 1 0 0.0% 0 --- --- 

Judicial 
District 

First 2,049 1,489 85 5.7% 560 216 38.6% 

Second 2,055 1,342 57 4.2% 713 228 32.0% 

Third 1,381 922 61 6.6% 459 182 39.7% 

Fourth 3,240 1,904 118 6.2% 1,336 425 31.8% 

Fifth 918 667 52 7.8% 251 119 47.4% 

Sixth 919 625 19 3.0% 294 128 43.5% 

Seventh 1,691 1,097 70 6.4% 594 146 24.6% 

Eighth 435 277 26 9.4% 158 44 27.8% 

Ninth 1,696 1,220 119 9.8% 476 156 32.8% 

Tenth 2,379 1,659 93 5.6% 720 230 31.9% 

Total  16,763 11,202 700 6.2% 5,561 1,874 33.7% 

 

 

Dispositional departure rates vary for the type of offense. Figure 10 displays the offenses 

with the highest rates of mitigated dispositional departure compared to the total rate of 34 

percent, and Figure 11 displays the position of the prosecutor as cited by the court.51  

 

In 62 percent of all mitigated dispositional departures, the court stated that the prosecutor 

agreed to the departure, recommended the departure, or did not object to the departure. In 15 

percent of these cases, the court stated that the prosecutor objected to the departure (Figure 

11, “Total”). The court did not supply information on the prosecutor’s position in 23 percent of 

these departures. In all offense categories, amenability to probation and amenability to 

                                                           
51 The offenses were selected based on criteria that there were 50 or more “presumptive commitment” cases and the 
mitigated dispositional departure rate of 39 percent or more. 
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treatment were the most frequently cited substantial and compelling reasons for departure 

recorded. 

 

 
 

Two of the selected52 offenses in Figures 10 and 11, assault in the second degree and 

failure to register as a predatory offender, have mandatory minimum sentences specified in 

statute, with provisions allowing for departure from those mandatory minimums.  

 

Assault in the second degree, by definition, involves the use of a dangerous weapon and 

therefore carries a mandatory minimum prison sentence (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subds. 4, 5 & 9). 

The second-degree assault statute proscribes a broad range of misbehavior: Injury to the victim 

may or may not occur, and the type of dangerous weapon involved can vary widely, from a pool 

cue to a knife to a firearm. Circumstances surrounding the offense can also vary significantly, 

from barroom brawls to unprovoked confrontations. The mandatory minimum statute specifically 

permits the court to sentence without regard to the mandatory minimum, provided that 

substantial and compelling reasons are present (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 8). It is perhaps 

unsurprising to find many departures in the sentencing of a crime that can be committed in 

many different ways.  

 

Failure to register as a predatory sex offender also has a statutory mandatory minimum 

sentence, accompanied by a statutory provision that allows for sentencing without regard to the 

mandatory minimum (Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 5(d)). 

                                                           
52 See note 51 for selection criteria. 
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.11
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Note: Departure reports do not always include information on the prosecutor’s position, which is why the colored 
segments do not add up to 100% for each offense. 
 

 

Durational Departures 

 

A “durational departure” occurs when the court orders a sentence with a duration that is 

other than the presumptive fixed duration or range in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid.  

There are two types of durational departures: aggravated durational departures and mitigated 

durational departures. An aggravated durational departure occurs when the court pronounces a 

duration that is more than 20 percent higher than the fixed duration displayed in the appropriate 

cell on the applicable Grid. A mitigated durational departure occurs when the court pronounces 

a sentence that is more than 15 percent lower than the fixed duration displayed in the 

appropriate cell on the applicable Grid. 

 

In 2015, the mitigated durational departure rate for offenders receiving executed prison 

sentences was lower than observed in 2014, at approximately 25 percent (24.8% compared to 

26.1%). The aggravated durational departure rate increased slightly, from 2.8 percent in 2014 to 

3.3 percent. The trend in lower aggravated durational departure rates since the mid-2000s likely 

reflects the impact of increased presumptive sentences over the past years and issues related 

to the U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296 (2004), which required 

a jury to find all facts—other than the fact of a prior conviction or those facts agreed to by the 

defendant—used to enhance a sentence under mandatory sentencing guidelines.53 

 

                                                           
53 The Minnesota Supreme Court determined that Blakely’s jury requirements applied to aggravated departures under 
the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines. State v. Shattuck, 704 N.W.2d 131 (Minn. 2005). 
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In response to the Blakely decision, the 2005 Legislature widened the ranges on the 

Standard Grid to 15 percent below and 20 percent above the presumptive fixed sentenced, 

within which the court may sentence without departure. In 2006, a Sex Offender Grid was 

adopted. The Sex Offender Grid introduced higher presumptive sentences for repeat offenders 

and offenders with prior criminal history records.54 

 

Table 3 illustrates durational departure rates for executed prison sentences by gender, race 

and ethnicity, and Minnesota Judicial District. The mitigated durational departure rate for males 

sentenced in 2015 was higher than for females (25.3% vs. 19.9%). When the departure rate is 

examined by racial and ethnic composition, the rate varies from a low of 14.8 percent for 

American Indian offenders to a high of 38.6 percent for Asian offenders. There is also 

considerable variation in mitigated durational departure rates by Minnesota Judicial District, 

ranging from a low of 2.2 percent in the Eighth Judicial District to a high of 48.6 percent in the 

Fourth Judicial District. 

 

When reviewing the information in Table 3, it is important to note that the observed 

variations may be partly explained by regional differences in case volume, charging practices, 

and plea agreement practices, as well as differences in the types of offenses sentenced and 

criminal history scores of offenders across racial groups or across regions. 

 
Table 3.  Durational Departures by Gender, Race, and Judicial District, Executed 

Prison Sentences Only, 2015 
 

 

 
Executed 

Prison 

Total 
Durational 
Dep. Rate 

Executed Prison Sentences Only 

No Departure 
Aggravated 
Durations 

Mitigated 
Durations 

Gender 
Male 3,995 28.6% 2,851 71.4% 135 3.4% 1,009 25.3% 

Female 397 22.4% 308 77.6% 10 2.5% 79 19.9% 

Race/ 
Ethnicity 

White 2,241 22.5% 1,731 77.2% 78 3.5% 432 19.3% 

Black 1,437 38.3% 887 61.7% 40 2.8% 510 35.5% 

American 
Indian 

364 18.7% 296 81.3% 14 3.8% 54 14.8% 

Hispanic 236 24.6% 178 75.4% 10 4.2% 48 20.3% 

Asian 114 41.2% 67 58.8% 3 2.6% 44 38.6% 

Other/Unk. 0 --- --- --- --- --- --- --- 

Judicial 
District 

 

First 430 22.8% 332 77.2% 16 3.7% 82 19.1% 

Second 542 39.7% 327   60.3% 14 2.6% 201 37.1% 

Third 339 9.7% 306 90.3% 9 2.7% 24 7.1% 

Fourth 1,030 53.5%  479  46.5% 50 4.9% 501 48.6% 

Fifth 184 25.5% 137 74.5% 5 2.7% 42 22.8% 

Sixth 185 14.6% 158 85.4% 2 1.1% 25 13.5% 

Seventh 520 20.0% 416 80.0% 11 2.1% 93 17.9% 

Eighth 139 6.5% 130 93.5% 6 4.3% 3 2.2% 

Ninth 440 14.4% 375 85.2% 18 4.1% 47 10.7% 

Tenth 583 14.4% 499 85.6% 14 2.4% 70 12.0% 

Total  4,392 28.1% 3,159 71.9% 145 3.3% 1,088 24.8% 

                                                           
54 For a deeper examination of the effect of the Blakely decision on sentencing practices, see the MSGC special 
report:  Impact of Blakely and Expanded Ranges on Sentencing Grid, at: http://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/reports/. 

http://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/assets/Expanded%20Ranges_tcm30-31412.pdf
http://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/reports/
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As with dispositional departures, it can be helpful to look at offenses with higher than 

average durational departure rates. Figure 12 displays offenses with high durational departure 

rates compared to the total durational departure rate and Figure 13 displays the position of the 

prosecutor as cited by the court.55  

 

Aggravated durational departure rates were highest for assaults in the first and third degree. 

Mitigated durational departure rates were highest for controlled substance crime in the first 

degree, domestic assault, failure to register as a predatory offender, aggravated robbery in the 

first degree, and burglary in the first degree in which there was no assault nor dangerous 

weapon involved (ranked at Severity Level 6). For both mitigated and aggravated durational 

departures, plea agreement or recommendation of the prosecutor were the most frequently 

cited reasons for departure for all offense types. 

 

In 73 percent of all mitigated durational departures, the court stated that the prosecutor 

agreed to the departure, recommended the departure, or did not object to the departure (Figure 

13, “Total”). In five percent of these cases, the court stated that the prosecutor objected to the 

departure. In 22 percent of the mitigated durational departures, the court did not provide 

information on the position of the prosecutor. 

 

In half (50%) of the aggravated durational departures, the court stated that the prosecutor 

agreed to the departure, recommended the departure, or did not object to the departure. In the 

other half of the aggravated durational departures, the court did not provide information on the 

position of the prosecutor. There were no cases in which the court stated that the prosecutor 

objected to the aggravated durational departure. 

 

The discussion on page 26 regarding mandatory minimums applies here: The mandatory 

minimum provisions applicable to one of the high-durational-departure crimes—failure to 

register as a predatory offender—allow for sentencing without regard to the mandatory minimum 

prison term (Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 5(d)), and the wide variety of ways in which the crime 

can be committed may lend itself to the application of discretion in prosecutorial or judicial 

sentencing practice. 

 

                                                           
55 Selected based on criteria that there were 40 or more executed prison sentences and the aggravated durational 
departure rate was 10 percent or more, or the mitigated durational departure rate was above 30 percent. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
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Note: Departure reports do not always include information on the prosecutor’s position, which is why the colored 
segments do not add up to 100% for each offense.  
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County Attorney Firearms Reports 
 

Current law requires all county attorneys in Minnesota, by July 1 of each year, to submit to 

the Commission its data regarding felony cases in which defendants allegedly possessed or 

used a firearm and committed offenses listed in Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subdivision 9.56 The 

Commission is required to include in its annual Report to the Legislature a summary and 

analysis of the reports received. Memoranda describing the mandate, along with forms on which 

to report, are distributed by MSGC staff to County attorneys. Although MSGC staff clarifies 

inconsistencies in the summary data, the information received from the county attorneys is 

reported directly as provided. 

 

Since the mandate began in 1996, the average number of annual cases involving firearms 

statewide has been 789. Between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016 (FY 2016), there were 1,195 

cases allegedly involving a firearm (Figure 14). This was a one percent decrease (down 16 

cases for FY 2015) from the peak number of 1,211 cases reported in FY 2015. As shown in 

Figure 15, of those 1,195 cases, prosecutors charged 1,085 cases (91%) while 110 cases (9%) 

were not charged. 

 

 
 

  

                                                           
56 The statute provides a mandatory minimum sentence of 36 months for the first conviction of specified offenses, and 
60 months for a second. Offenses include murder in the first, second, or third degree; assault in the first, second, or 
third degree; burglary; kidnapping; false imprisonment; manslaughter in the first or second degree; aggravated 
robbery; simple robbery; first-degree or aggravated first-degree witness tampering; some criminal sexual conduct 
offenses; escape from custody; arson in the first, second, or third degree; felony drive-by shooting; aggravated 
harassment and stalking; felon in possession of a firearm; and felony controlled substance offenses. 
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Of the 1,085 cases charged, 758 (70%) were convicted of offenses designated in Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.11; 133 (12%) were convicted of offenses not covered by the mandatory minimum (e.g., 

threats of violence under Minn. Stat. § 609.713); 149 (14%) had all charges dismissed; 24 (2%) 

were acquitted on all charges; and 21 (2%) were “other” cases including federal prosecutions 

and stays of adjudication (Figure 16). 
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In 713 (94%) of the 758 cases in which there was a conviction for a designated offense, use 

or possession of a firearm was established on the record (Figure 17). The fact-finder, i.e., the 

judge or jury, must establish whether the defendant or an accomplice used or possessed a 

firearm in the commission of the offense at the time of conviction. Minn. Stat. § 609.11, 

subdivision 7. 

 

In the cases in which the firearm was established on the record, 430 offenders (60%)57 were 

sentenced to the mandatory minimum prison term (Figure 17, inset). The statute specifically 

allows the prosecutor to file a motion to have the defendant sentenced without regard to the 

mandatory minimum. The prosecutor must provide a statement as to the reasons for the motion. 

If the court finds substantial mitigating factors, with or without a motion by the prosecutor, the 

defendant may be sentenced without regard to the mandatory minimum. Minn. Stat. § 609.11, 

subdivision 8. 

 

 

Figure 17. Cases Convicted of Designated Offense, 
Firearm Established on the Record (Inset), 2016 

 

 
 
 
 

                                                           
57  County attorneys’ data for fiscal year 2016 (ending June 30, 2016). According to MSGC monitoring data from 
calendar year 2015, of those offenders whose sentencing worksheets reflected the use or possession of a firearm or 
prohibited persons from possessing a firearm or ammunition requiring a mandatory prison sentence under Minn. Stat. 
§ 609.11, 52.1 percent (348 offenders) received both the mandatory prison disposition and the mandatory minimum 
duration. In addition, 14.4 percent (96 offenders) received the mandatory prison disposition, but less than the 
mandatory minimum duration. 
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Table 4.  County Attorney Firearms Reports on Criminal Cases Allegedly, Involving a 
Firearm by MN County, Cases Disposed from July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016 

 

County 

Cases 
Allegedly 

Involving a 
Firearm 

Cases 
Charged 

Cases 
Convicted – 
Designated 

Offense 

Cases in 
which a 

Firearm was 
Established  

on the 
Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 

Imposed and 
Executed 

Aitkin 17 12 5 3 3 

Anoka 49 49 32 32 18 

Becker 7 6 4 4 1 

Beltrami 7 2 2 2 0 

Benton 14 13 8 7 7 

Big Stone 0 0 0 0 0 

Blue Earth 14 14 11 8 4 

Brown 4 3 2 0 0 

Carlton 2 2 2 2 2 

Carver 0 0 0 0 0 

Cass 9 9 4 3 3 

Chippewa 6 6 1 0 0 

Chisago 3 3 2 2 1 

Clay* --- --- --- --- --- 

Clearwater 7 7 4 4 2 

Cook 0 0 0 0 0 

Cottonwood 2 2 2 1 1 

Crow Wing 5 5 2 0 0 

Dakota 45 45 30 30 15 

Dodge 3 3 0 0 0 

Douglas 10 9 2 2 0 

Faribault 0 0 0 0 0 

Fillmore 0 0 0 0 0 

Freeborn 2 2 1 1 0 

Goodhue 9 9 6 5 0 

Grant 0 0 0 0 0 

Hennepin 454 454 360 360 222 

Houston 2 2 1 1 0 

Hubbard 0 0 0 0 0 

Isanti 2 2 2 2 1 

Itasca 13 13 11 11 3 

Jackson 0 0 0 0 0 

Kanabec 12 8 0 0 0 

Kandiyohi 5 4 4 4 3 

Kittson 1 1 1 1 0 

Koochiching 2 1 0 0 0 

Lac Qui Parle 1 1 0 0 0 

                                                           
* Not reported as of January 9, 2017. 
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County 

Cases 
Allegedly 

Involving a 
Firearm 

Cases 
Charged 

Cases 
Convicted – 
Designated 

Offense 

Cases in 
which a 

Firearm was 
Established  

on the 
Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 

Imposed and 
Executed 

Lake 3 3 3 2 0 

Lake of the Woods 2 2 1 1 0 

Le Sueur 4 4 3 1 1 

Lincoln* --- --- --- --- --- 

Lyon 11 11 7 7 6 

McLeod 1 1 1 1 0 

Mahnomen 0 0 0 0 0 

Marshall* --- --- --- --- --- 

Martin 3 3 3 2 2 

Meeker 1 1 1 1 1 

Mille Lacs 27 24 8 6 5 

Morrison 6 6 3 3 2 

Mower 8 7 2 2 2 

Murray 1 1 0 0 0 

Nicollet 4 4 2 2 1 

Nobles 6 6 3 2 1 

Norman 0 0 0 0 0 

Olmsted 15 12 10 8 6 

Otter Tail 1 0 0 0 0 

Pennington 3 3 2 2 2 

Pine 1 1 1 1 0 

Pipestone 2 2 1 1 1 

Polk 9 8 2 2 1 

Pope 16 0 0 0 0 

Ramsey 125 125 94 91 53 

Red Lake 1 1 0 0 0 

Redwood 4 4 3 2 2 

Renville 5 4 2 1 1 

Rice 26 15 9 7 5 

Rock 0 0 0 0 0 

Roseau 2 2 0 0 0 

Scott 7 7 6 6 3 

Sherburne 11 11 6 3 3 

Sibley 0 0 0 0 0 

St. Louis 44 40 30 28 19 

Stearns 27 27 22 19 13 

Steele 6 5 2 2 2 

Stevens 1 1 0 0 0 

Swift 0 0 0 0 0 

Todd 0 0 0 0 0 

Traverse 1 1 1 1 1 

                                                           
* Not reported as of January 9, 2017. 
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County 

Cases 
Allegedly 

Involving a 
Firearm 

Cases 
Charged 

Cases 
Convicted – 
Designated 

Offense 

Cases in 
which a 

Firearm was 
Established  

on the 
Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 

Imposed and 
Executed 

Wabasha 7 7 5 3 0 

Wadena 42 2 1 1 0 

Waseca 2 2 1 1 0 

Washington 16 16 11 11 6 

Watonwan 5 5 3 2 1 

Wilkin 0 0 0 0 0 

Winona 20 17 7 3 1 

Wright 7 7 3 3 3 

Yellow Medicine 5 0 0 0 0 

Total 1,195 1,085 758 713 430 
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First  
Carver 
Dakota 
Goodhue 
LeSueur 
McLeod  
Scott 
Sibley 

 Second 
Ramsey 

 Third 
Dodge 
Fillmore 
Freeborn 
Houston 
Mower 
Olmsted 
Rice 
Steele 
Wabasha 
Waseca 
Winona 

 Fourth 
Hennepin 

 Fifth 
Blue Earth 
Brown  
Cottonwood 
Faribault 
Jackson 
Lincoln 
Lyon 
Martin 
Murray 
Nicollet 
Nobles  
Pipestone 
Redwood 
Rock 
Watonwan 

 Sixth 
Carlton 
Cook 
Lake 
St. Louis 
 

 Seventh 
Becker 
Benton 
Clay 
Douglas 
Mille Lacs 
Morrison 
Otter Tail 
Stearns  
Todd  
Wadena 
 

 Eighth 
Big Stone 
Chippewa 
Grant 
Kandiyohi 
LacQuiParle 
Meeker 
Pope 
Renville 
Stevens 
Swift  
Traverse 
Wilkin 
Yellow Medicine 

 Ninth 
Aitkin 
Beltrami 
Cass 
Clearwater 
Crow Wing 
Hubbard  
Itasca 
Kittson 
Koochiching 
Lake-Woods 
Mahnomen 
Marshall 
Norman  
Pennington 
Polk 
Red Lake 
Roseau 

 Tenth 
Anoka 
Chisago 
Isanti 
Kanabec 
Pine 
Sherburne 
Washington 
Wright 
 
 

 

Appendix 1.  Minnesota Judicial District Map  

  

Source:  Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch at http://mncourts.gov/?page=238 

http://mncourts.gov/?page=238
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Appendix 2. Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and 
Commentary – Adopted July and November, 2016 
 

On July 27, 2016, and on November 17, 2016, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines 

Commission adopted the following modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary 

resulting from new and amended legislation and other policy considerations. The modifications 

adopted in July followed a public hearing on July 20, 2016. The modifications adopted in 

November were to commentary only. 

Appendix 2.1. Legislative Amendments to Controlled Substance Offenses – 
Adopted July, 2016 

 
The Commission reviewed laws related to controlled substance offenses newly enacted or 

amended by the 2016 Legislature, and adopted a proposal to modify the Minnesota Sentencing 

Guidelines to add § 4.C (Drug Offender Grid) and comments 2.C.11 and 2.E.05; and to make 

modifications in §§ 1.B.13, 1.B.17, 2.B.1.a, 2.B.1.b, 2.C.1, 2.C.3.c, 2.E.2.c, 5.A, 5.B, and 6; 

comments 2.C.10 and 2.E.06 (currently numbered 2.E.05); and Guidelines Appendix 1. 

 

1. Modification to Guidelines § 1.B. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to modify § 1.B, as a result of legislative amendments 

to controlled substance offenses, to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

Section 1.B. Definitions 
 
As used in these Sentencing Guidelines (or “Guidelines”), the following terms have the 

meanings given. 

* * * 

13. Presumptive Sentence. * * * 

a. Presumptive Disposition. * * * 

b. Presumptive Duration. The “presumptive duration” is the recommended fixed 

sentence length in months found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid. 

c. Presumptive Range. The “presumptive range” is provided for a sentence that is a 

presumptive commitment. Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 5(2), the range 

is 15 percent lower and 20 percent higher than the fixed duration displayed in 

each cell on the Grids. 

d.  Lower Range. The “lower range” is that portion of the presumptive range that is 

shorter than the fixed presumptive duration. * * * 
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17. Severity Level. The “severity level” is a ranking assigned to each felony offense by the 

Sentencing Guidelines Commission to indicate the seriousness of the offense. The 

vertical axis on the applicable grid represents the severity of the conviction offense. 

Felony offenses, other than sex and drug offenses, are arranged on the Standard Grid 

into eleven levels of severity, ranging from high (Severity Level 11) to low (Severity 

Level 1). Sex offenses are arranged on the Sex Offender Grid into eight severity levels, 

ranging from high (Severity Level A) to low (Severity Level H). Drug offenses are 

arranged on the Drug Offender Grid into nine levels of severity, ranging from high 

(Severity Level D9) to low (Severity Level D1). Offenses listed within each severity 

level are deemed equally serious. * * * 

 

2. Modifications to Guidelines § 2.B.1.   

The Commission adopted a proposal to modify § 2.B.1, as a result of legislative 

amendments to controlled substance offenses and legislative amendments that would 

mandate modifications to the Guidelines, to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

Section 2.B. Criminal History 

* * * 

1. Prior Felonies.  Assign a particular weight, as set forth in paragraphs a and b, to each 

extended jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction and each felony conviction, provided 

that a felony sentence was stayed or imposed before the current sentencing or a stay 

of imposition of sentence was given before the current sentencing. * * * 

a. Current Offense on Standard Grid or Drug Offender Grid.  If the current offense is 

not on the Sex Offender Grid, determine the weight assigned to each prior felony 

sentence according to its severity level, as follows: 
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 SEVERITY LEVEL POINTS 

1 – 2, D1 – D2 ½ 

3 – 5, D3 – D5 1 

6 – 8, D6 – D7 1 ½ 

9 – 11, D8 – D9 2 

Murder 1st Degree 2 

A 2 

B – E 1 ½ 

F – G 1 

H 
½ (for first offense); 

1 (for subsequent offenses) 

 

b. Current Offense on Sex Offender Grid.  If the current offense is on the Sex 

Offender Grid, determine the weight assigned to each prior felony sentence 

according to its severity level, as follows: 
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S
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d
e
r 

G
ri
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SEVERITY LEVEL POINTS 

1 – 2, D1 – D2 ½ 

3 – 5, D3 – D5 1 

6 – 8, D6 – D7 1 ½ 

9 – 11, D8 – D9 2 

Murder 1st Degree 2 

A 3 

B – C 2 

D – E 1 ½ 

F – G 1 

H 
½ (for first offense); 

1 (for subsequent offenses) 

 

* * * 

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

41 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 

3. Modifications to Guidelines § 2.C.   

The Commission adopted a proposal to modify § 2.C, as a result of legislative amendments 

to controlled substance offenses, to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

Section 2.C. Presumptive Sentence 

* * * 

1. Finding the Presumptive Sentence.  The presumptive sentence for a felony conviction 

is found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid located at the intersection of 

the criminal history score (horizontal axis) and the severity level (vertical axis). * * *   

Each cell on the Standard Grid and Sex Offender Grids provides a fixed sentence 

duration. Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for 

sentences that are presumptive commitments. For cells above the solid line, the 

Guidelines provide both a fixed presumptive duration and a range of time for that 

sentence except as provided in section 2.C.3.c(1). The shaded areas of the grids do 

not display ranges. If the duration for a sentence that is a presumptive commitment 

is found in a shaded area, the standard range – 15 percent lower and 20 percent 

higher than the fixed duration displayed – is permissible without departure, provided 

that the minimum sentence is not less than one year and one day, and the maximum 

sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. * * * 

3. Finding the Presumptive Sentence for Certain Offenses. * * * 

c. Controlled Substance Offenses. 

(1) Certain First-Degree Offenses. If the current conviction is for controlled 

substance crime in the first degree and the penalty statute is Minn. Stat. 

§ 152.021, subd. 3(c) (related to sale or possession of at least 100 grams or 

500 dosage units of certain controlled substances), or if the current conviction 

is for aggravated controlled substance crime in the first degree, then the 

lower range, although displayed on the Drug Offender Grid, is excluded from 

what would otherwise be the presumptive range for that offense. 

(2) Subsequent Controlled Substance Convictions. If the current conviction 

offense is for a controlled substance crime in the first, or second, or third 

degree and is a “subsequent controlled substance conviction” as defined in 

Minn. Stat. § 152.01, subd. 16a, the presumptive disposition is commitment. A 

stay of adjudication under Minn. Stat. § 152.18 that occurred before August 1, 
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1999 is not a prior disposition under Minn. Stat. §  152.01, subd. 16a. The 

prior dispositions listed in Minn. Stat. § 152.01, subd. 16a, trigger Such a 

conviction triggers the presumptive commitment unless more than ten years 

have elapsed since discharge from sentence or stay of adjudication. The 

presumptive duration for a controlled substance conviction falling under this 

section is the fixed duration indicated in the appropriate cell on the Drug 

Offender Grid, or the mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. * * * 

Comment  * * * 

2.C.10.  Because a stay of adjudication is not a felony conviction, the Guidelines do not 

apply unless and until the stay is vacated and conviction is entered. Minn. Stat. § 152.021, 

subdivisions 3(c) and 3(d), exclude the lower range, as defined in section 1.B.13.d, from 

what would otherwise be the presumptive range. While the mandatory-minimum 

provision of subd. 3(c) may be waived for an offender sentenced for a first-degree 

possession crime who had not previously been convicted of controlled substance crime 

in the first, second, or third degree, a sentence duration that is shorter than the fixed 

presumptive sentence, even if within the lower range, is nevertheless a mitigated 

durational departure if subd. 3(c) applies. Under either subdivision, the presumptive 

disposition is commitment. 

2.C.11.  The special penalty provisions for subsequent controlled substance convictions 

do not apply to current offenses of aggravated controlled substance crime in the first 

degree. * * * 

4. Modifications to Guidelines § 2.E. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to modify § 2.E, as a result of legislative amendments 

to controlled substance offenses, to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

 

Section 2.E. Mandatory Sentences 

* * * 

2. Specific Statutory Provisions. * * * 

c. Subsequent Drug Controlled Substance Offenses Involving a Dangerous Weapon. 

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5a, some drug offenses committed with a 

dangerous weapon may be subject to one of the following two provisions. 
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(1) Certain Aggravated First-Degree Offenses. If an offender is sentenced for 

aggravated controlled substance crime in the first degree under Minn. Stat. 

§ 152.021, subd. 2b(2), and is also subject to Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5a, the 

presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum sentence described in 

section 2.C.3.c(1) added to the mandatory minimum sentence for the 

dangerous weapon involvement found in Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 4 or 5. 

(2) Subsequent Controlled Substance Offenses. If an offender is sentenced for a 

second or subsequent drug controlled substance offense and is subject to 

Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5a, the presumptive duration is the longer of 

either: 

(1) (i) the mandatory minimum sentence for the subsequent drug controlled 

substance offense added to the mandatory minimum sentence for the 

dangerous weapon involvement; or 

(2) (ii) the presumptive duration for the subsequent drug controlled 

substance offense provided in the appropriate cell on the Standard Drug 

Offender Grid and limited, if applicable, by section 2.C.3.c(1). 

* * * 

2.E.05. Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5a, applies to aggravated controlled substance crime 

in the first degree only if the offender is convicted under Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subd. 

2b(2), and the crime was committed with a firearm or other dangerous weapon. Example: 

An offender with a Criminal History Score of 3 possessed 100 grams of cocaine. Because 

two of the aggravating factors listed in Minn. Stat. § 152.01, subd. 24, were present, the 

offender is convicted of aggravated controlled substance crime in the first degree under 

Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subd. 2b(2). It is also proven that the offender was in possession of 

a firearm, although the firearm possession was not an element of the crime. The 

mandatory minimum sentence would be 158 months, calculated as follows: 

122 months Mand. Min. (section 2.C.3.c(1); Severity Level D9, Criminal History Score of 3) 

+ 36 months Mand. Min. for weapon (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5(a)) 

=158 months 

Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5a, does not apply to Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subd. 2b(1), which, 

by definition, involves the use or possession of a firearm. 
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2.E.05 2.E.06. Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5a, states that for a subsequent drug controlled 

substance offense involving a weapon, the mandatory minimum duration for the drug 

offense and the mandatory minimum duration for the weapon offense are added 

together. The Guidelines presumptive duration is determined by comparing the total 

sum of the combined mandatory minimums and the duration found in the appropriate 

cell on the Standard Drug Offender Grid for the subsequent drug controlled substance 

offense; the presumptive duration is the longer of the two. For example: A third second-

degree drug offender with a Criminal History Score of 3 2 is convicted of a subsequent 

controlled substance offense and was in possession of a firearm. 

Mandatory Minimums:  2436 months Mand. Min. (Minn. Stat. § 152.0232, subd. 3(b)) 

    + 36 months Mand. Min (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5(a)) 

  =6072 months 

 vs. 

 Grid Cell:  =3968 months (Severity Level 6D7; Criminal History Score of 3 2) 

 * * * 

5. Addition of Guidelines § 4.C. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to add § 4.C, as a result of legislative amendments 

that would mandate modifications to the Guidelines,58 to take effect August 1, 2016, as 

follows. 

 

 

                                                           
58 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 160, § 18, rejected specific provisions of the Drug Offender Grid as it had been proposed to 
the Legislature by the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission on January 15, 2016; directed specific changes 
to the proposed Drug Offender Grid; and otherwise permitted the proposed Drug Offender Grid to take effect. The 
Drug Offender Grid shown in this report incorporates all changes directed by the Act. 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/laws/?id=160&year=2016
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4.C. Drug Offender Grid 
 
Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denotes range within which a court may 
sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may be subjected to 
local confinement. 

 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

more 

Aggravated Controlled 
Substance Crime, 1st Degree 

Manufacture of Any Amt. Meth 
D9 

86 
74*-103 

98 
84*-117 

110 
94*-132 

122 
104*-146 

134 
114*-160 

146 
125*-175 

158 
135*-189 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
1st Degree 

D8 
65 

56*-78 
75 

64*-90 
85 

73*-102 
95 

81*-114 
105 

90*-126 
115 

98*-138 
125 

107*-150 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
2nd Degree 

D7 48 58 
68 

58-81 
78 

67-93 
88 

75-105 
98 

84-117 
108 

92-129 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
3rd Degree 

Failure to Affix Stamp 
D6 21 27 33 

39 
34-46 

45 
39-54 

51 
44-61 

57 
49-68 

Possess Substances with Intent 
to Manufacture Meth 

D5 18 23 28 
33 

29-39 
38 

33-45 
43 

37-51 
48 

41-57 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
4th Degree 

 
D4 

 
121 15 18 21 

24 
21-28 

27 
23-32 

30 
26-36 

Meth Crimes Involving Children 
and Vulnerable Adults 

D3 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 
21 

18-25 
23 

20-27 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
5th Degree 

D2 121 121 13 15 17 19 
21 

18-25 

Sale of Simulated Controlled 
Substance 

D1 121 121 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 

* Lower range may not apply. See section 2.C.3.c(1) and Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subdivisions 3(c) & 3(d). 

1  121=One year and one day 

 
 
Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.  
 

 

 
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can 
be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a presumptive 
commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 
 

 
 

Effective August 1, 2016 
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Examples of Executed Sentences (Length in Months) Broken Down by:  
 
Term of Imprisonment and Supervised Release Term  
 

Under Minn. Stat. § 244.101, offenders committed to the Commissioner of Corrections for crimes committed on or after 

August 1, 1993 will receive an executed sentence pronounced by the court consisting of two parts:  a specified minimum 

term of imprisonment equal to two-thirds of the total executed sentence and a supervised release term equal to the 

remaining one-third. The court is required to pronounce the total executed sentence and explain the amount of time the 

offender will serve in prison and the amount of time the offender will serve on supervised release, assuming the offender 

commits no disciplinary offense in prison that results in the imposition of a disciplinary confinement period. The court 

must also explain that the amount of time the offender actually serves in prison may be extended by the Commissioner if 

the offender violates disciplinary rules while in prison or violates conditions of supervised release. This extension period 

could result in the offender's serving the entire executed sentence in prison. 

 

Executed 
Sentence 

Term of 
Imprisonment 

Supervised 
Release Term 

Executed 
Sentence 

Term of 
Imprisonment 

Supervised 
Release Term 

12 and 1 day 8 and 1 day 4     58 38 2/3 19 1/3 

13 8 2/3 4 1/3 65 43 1/3 21 2/3 

15 10     5     68 45 1/3 22 2/3 

17 11 1/3 5 2/3 75 50     25     

18 12     6     78 52     26     

19 12 2/3 6 1/3 85 56 2/3 28 1/3 

21 14     7     86 57 1/3 28 2/3 

23 15 1/3 7 2/3 88 58 2/3 29 1/3 

24 16     8     95 63 1/3 31 2/3 

27 18     9     98 65 1/3 32 2/3 

28 18 2/3 9 1/3 105 70     35     

30 20     10     108 72     36     

33 22     11     110 73 1/3 36 2/3 

38 25 1/3 12 2/3 115 76 2/3 38 1/3 

39 26     13     122 81 1/3 40 2/3 

43 28 2/3 14 1/3 125 83 1/3 41 2/3 

45 30     15     134 89 1/3 44 2/3 

48 32     16     146 97 1/3 48 2/3 

51 34     17     158 105 1/3 52 2/3 

57 38     19        
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6. Modifications to Guidelines §§ 5.A and 5.B. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to modify §§ 5.A and 5.B, as a result of legislative 

amendments that would mandate modifications to the Guidelines, to take effect August 1, 

2016, as follows. 

Section 5.A.  Offense Severity Reference Table 

Offenses subject to a mandatory life sentence, including first-degree murder and certain 

sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subdivision 2, are excluded from the 

Guidelines by law. * * * 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

9 Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree 152.021 

9 

 

Manufacture Any Amount of Methamphetamine 152.021, subd. 2a(a) 

9 Importing Controlled Substances Across State 
Borders 

152.0261 

8 Controlled Substance Crime 2nd Degree 152.022 

6 Controlled Substance Crime 3rd Degree 152.023 

6 Failure to Affix Stamp on Cocaine 297D.09, subd. 1 

6 Failure to Affix Stamp on Hallucinogens or PCP 297D.09, subd. 1 

6 Failure to Affix Stamp on Heroin 297D.09, subd. 1 

6 Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining Schedule I & II 
Narcotics 

297D.09, subd. 1 

5 Possession of Substances with Intent to 
Manufacture Methamphetamine 

152.0262 

4 Controlled Substance Crime 4th Degree 152.024 

3 Anhydrous Ammonia (Tamper/Theft/Transport) 152.136 

3 Methamphetamine Crimes Involving Children and 
Vulnerable Adults 

152.137 

2 Controlled Substance in the 5th Degree 152.025 
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2 Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining Schedule I, II, & 
III Non-Narcotics  

297D.09, subd. 1 

2 Medical Cannabis Violations (Submission of False 
Records) 

152.33, subd. 4 

2 Sale of Synthetic Cannabinoids 152.027, subd. 6(c) 

1 Failure to Affix Stamp on 
Marijuana/Hashish/Tetrahydrocannabinols 

297D.09, subd. 1 

1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Schedule IV Substances 297D.09, subd. 1 

1 Medical Cannabis Violations (Intentional Diversion) 152.33, subd. 1 

1 Medical Cannabis Violations (Diversion by patient, 
registered Designated Caregiver, or Parent) 

152.33, subd. 2 

1 Sale of Simulated Controlled Substance 152.097 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

D9 

 

Aggravated Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree 152.021, subd. 2b 

Importing Controlled Substances Across State 
Borders 

152.0261 

Manufacture Any Amount of Methamphetamine 152.021, subd. 2a(a) 

D8 Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree 152.021, subd. 1 or 2 

D7 Controlled Substance Crime 2nd Degree 152.022 

D6 Controlled Substance Crime 3rd Degree 152.023 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Cocaine 297D.09, subd. 1 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Hallucinogens or PCP 297D.09, subd. 1 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Heroin 297D.09, subd. 1 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining Schedule I & II 
Narcotics 

297D.09, subd. 1 

D5 
Possession of Substances with Intent to 
Manufacture Methamphetamine 

152.0262 

D4 Controlled Substance Crime 4th Degree 152.024 

D3 Anhydrous Ammonia (Tamper/Theft/Transport) 152.136 

Methamphetamine Crimes Involving Children and 
Vulnerable Adults 

152.137 
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Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

D2 Controlled Substance Crime 5th Degree 152.025, subd. 4(b) 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining Schedule I, II, 
& III Non-Narcotics  

297D.09, subd. 1 

Medical Cannabis Violations (Submission of False 
Records) 

152.33, subd. 4 

Sale of Synthetic Cannabinoids 152.027, subd. 6(c) 

D1 
Failure to Affix Stamp on 
Marijuana/Hashish/Tetrahydrocannabinols 

297D.09, subd. 1 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Schedule IV Substances 297D.09, subd. 1 

Medical Cannabis Violations (Intentional Diversion) 152.33, subd. 1 

Medical Cannabis Violations (Diversion by patient, 
registered Designated Caregiver, or Parent) 

152.33, subd. 2 

Sale of Simulated Controlled Substance 152.097 

 

   * * * 

   5.B.  Severity Level by Statutory Citation 

Offenses subject to a mandatory life sentence, including first-degree murder and certain 

sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subdivision 2, are excluded from the 

Guidelines by law. 

 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

152.021, subd. 1 or 2 Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree 9D8 

152.021, subd. 2a(a) Manufacture Any Amount of 
Methamphetamine 

D9 

152.021, subd. 2b Aggravated Controlled Substance Crime 1st 
Degree 

D9 

152.022 Controlled Substance Crime 2nd Degree 8D7* 

152.023 Controlled Substance Crime 3rd Degree D6-*- 

152.024 Controlled Substance Crime 4th Degree D4 

                                                           
* See section 2.C and Appendix 1 to determine the presumptive disposition. 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

152.025, subd. 4(b) Controlled Substance Crime 5th Degree D2 

152.0261 Importing Controlled Substances Across State 
Borders 

D9 

152.0262 Possession of Substances with Intent to 
Manufacture Methamphetamine 

D5 

152.027, subd. 6(c) Sale of Synthetic Cannabinoids D2 

152.097 Sale of Simulated Controlled Substance D1 

152.136 Anhydrous Ammonia 
(Tamper/Theft/Transport) 

D3 

152.137 Methamphetamine Crimes Involving Children 
and Vulnerable Adults 

D3 

152.33, subd. 1 Medical Cannabis Violations (Intentional 
Diversion) 

D1 

152.33, subd. 2 Medical Cannabis Violations (Diversion by 
patient, registered Designated Caregiver, or 
Parent) 

D1 

152.33, subd. 4 Medical Cannabis Violations (Submission of 
False Records) 

D2 

297D.09, subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Cocaine D6 

297D.09, subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Hallucinogens or PCP D6 

297D.09, subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Heroin D6 

297D.09, subd. 1 
Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining Schedule I 
& II Narcotics 

D6 

297D.09, subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining Schedule 
I, II, & III Non-Narcotics 

D2 

297D.09, subd. 1 
Failure to Affix Stamp on 
Marijuana/Hashish/Tetrahydrocannabinols 

D1 

297D.09, subd. 1 
Failure to Affix Stamp on Schedule IV 
Substances 

D1 

 * * *   
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7. Modifications to Guidelines § 6. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to modify § 6, as a result of legislative amendments to 

controlled substance offenses, to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

Section 6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences 

 

A. Convictions for attempted offenses or conspiracies to commit offenses listed below 

are eligible for permissive consecutive sentences as well as convictions for completed 

offenses. 

B. Under section 2.F.2(a)(1)(i), it is permissive for a current felony conviction to run 

consecutively to a prior felony sentence from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota if 

the non-Minnesota conviction is for a crime that is equivalent to a crime listed below. 

Statute Number Offense Title 

152.021, subd. 2a(a) Manufacture any Amount of Methamphetamine 

152.021, subd. 2b(2) with 
ref. to 152.01, subd. 24(8) 

Aggravated Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree, 
Sale to a Minor or Vulnerable Adult 

152.022, subd. 1(5)(6) Sells Cocaine/Narcotic to Minor/Employs Minor 

152.023, subd. 1(3) Sells Sch. I,II,III to Minor (not Narcotic) 

152.023, subd. 1(4) Sells Sch. I,II,III Employs Minor (not Narcotic) 

152.024, subd. 1(2) Schedule IV or V to Minor 

152.024, subd. 1(3) Employs Minor to Sell Schedule IV or V 

152.0261, subd. 1a Employing a Minor to Import Controlled Substances 

152.137 
Methamphetamine Crimes Involving Children or 
Vulnerable Adults 

 

* * * 

8. Modifications to Guidelines Appendix 1. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to modify Appendix 1 as a result of legislative 

amendments to controlled substance offenses, to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 
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Appendix 1.  Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences Reference Table 

   * * * 

Statute Offense Prerequisite or Conditions Minimum 
Duration 

152.021 Controlled Substance 
Crime 1st Degree 

Prior felony conviction per chapter 
under Minn. Stat. § 152.021 or 022, 
or similar non-Minnesota offense. 
finding under Minn. Stat. § 152.18 

48 Months 

152.022 Controlled Substance 
Crime 2nd Degree 

Prior felony conviction per chapter 
under Minn. Stat. § 152.021 or 022, 
or similar non-Minnesota offense.   
finding under Minn. Stat. § 152.18 

36 Months 

152.023, 
subd. 3(a) 

Controlled Substance 
Crime 3rd Degree 

Prior felony conviction under Minn. 
Stat. § 152 or finding under Minn. 
Stat. § 152.18   

Grid Time* 

152.023, 
subd. 3(b) 

Controlled Substance 
Crime 3rd Degree 

Prior felony conviction under Minn. 
Stat. § 152 or finding under Minn. 
Stat. § 152.18   

24 months 

 
* Presumptive commitment per Guidelines section 2.C. 

 

 

Appendix 2.2. Modification to Guidelines Commentary – Adopted November, 2016 
 
On November 17, 2016, the Commission decided that, in calculating a Defendant’s criminal 

history score, prior drug convictions are not to be recalculated using post-August 1, 2016 drug 

threshold weights. The rationale was that Guidelines Comment 2.B.106 applies only to added or 

removed elements of the offense and does not apply to modifications of an element. Because 

the changes to the controlled substance laws modified an element, recalculation is not 

necessary. Modifications to Comment 2.B.106, as follows, took effect immediately.   

 

2.B.106. If an offense has been redefined by the Legislature, base the appropriate 

severity level on how the prior felony offense would currently be ranked in consideration 

of any new or removed elements. If the prior offense has been removed from the current 

Severity Offense Reference Table in response to a legislative action that repealed the 

prior offense and created separate offenses with new or removed elements, use the 

current severity level for the newly created offense that has been added to Severity 

Offense Reference Table and encompasses the behavior necessarily proven by the prior 

conviction. It was contemplated that the sentencing court, in its discretion, should make 

the final determination as to the weight accorded prior felony sentences. 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

53 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 

Appendix 2.3. Legislative Amendments to Non-Controlled Substance Offenses – 
Adopted July, 2016 

 
The Commission reviewed laws related to non-controlled substance offenses newly enacted 

or amended by the 2016 Legislature, and adopted a proposal to modify Minnesota Sentencing 

Guidelines to add new §§ 2.G.11 and 2.G.12; and to make modifications in §§ 2.B.3.g, 5.A, 5.B, 

and 6; comments 2.B.304 and 2.D.308; and Guidelines Appendix 1. 

 

1. Modification to Guidelines § 2.B. 

The Commission adopted a proposal that, for Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death or Death 

to an Unborn Child, Qualified Prior Conviction), assign no misdemeanor units to the qualified 

prior driving offense that was used to increase the statutory maximum penalty, by modifying 

§ 2.B.3, to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

Section 2.B. Criminal History 
 
* * * 
3. Prior Gross Misdemeanors and Misdemeanors. * * *   

g. Assignment of Units for Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation or Felony 

Driving While Impaired (DWI).  If the current conviction is for criminal vehicular 

homicide or operation or felony DWI, assign previous violations of Minn. Stat.  

§§ 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129, 360.0752, 609.2112, 609.2113, 

or 609.2114 two units each. There is no limit to the total number of misdemeanor 

points that can be included in the offender’s criminal history score due to 

criminal vehicular homicide or operation or DWI offenses. For DWI offenses, see 

section 2.B.6 for exceptions to this policy relating to predicate offenses used for 

enhancement purposes. For Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death or Death to an 

Unborn Child, and Qualified Prior Conviction), assign no misdemeanor units to 

the qualified prior driving offense that was used to increase the statutory 

maximum penalty. * * * 

 

Comment 

* * * 

2.B.304.  The Commission believes that offenders whose current conviction is for 

criminal vehicular homicide or operation or first-degree (felony) driving while impaired, 

and who have prior violations under Minn. Stats. §§ 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 

169.129, 360.0752, 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114 are also more culpable, and for these 

offenders there is no limit to the total number of misdemeanor points included in the 
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criminal history score due to DWI or criminal vehicular homicide or operation (CVO) 

violations. * * *  

 

When the current offense is a conviction under Minn. Stat. § 609.2112, subd. 1(b) (Death, 

and Qualified Prior Conviction), or § 609.2114, subd. 1(b) (Death to an Unborn Child, and 

Qualified Prior Conviction), the Commission excluded consideration of the qualified prior 

driving offense, if a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor, from the criminal history score 

because, by virtue of the conviction offense, the qualified prior conviction has been 

accounted for in the enhanced penalty. * * * 

 

2. Modification to Guidelines § 2.D. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to clarify that the use of the aggravating factor 

involving bias motivation under Guidelines § 2.D.3.b(11) is prohibited when the statutory 

maximum was increased under Minn. Stat. § 609.2233 by modifying Comment 2.D.308, to 

take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines 
 
* * * 
2.D.308.  The aggravating factor involving bias motivation under section 2.D.3.b(11) 

cannot be used when an offender has been convicted under a statute that sentencing an 

offender for a crime with an increased statutory maximum penalty under Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.2233 (felony assault motivated by bias), or for a crime that was elevated the crime 

to a felony offense because of bias motivation (e.g., Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2231, subd. 4 

(fourth-degree assault); 609.595, subd. 1a(a) (criminal damage to property); 609.749, 

subd. 3(a)(1) (stalking)). The Commission intends that a penalty for a bias-motivated 

offense be subject to enhancement only once. * * * 

 

3. Modification to Guidelines § 2.G. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to increase by 25 percent the presumptive sentence 

duration when the statutory maximum was increased under Minn. Stat. § 609.2233; and to 

increase by 50 percent the presumptive sentence duration when an offender is sentenced 

for a criminal vehicular homicide under Minn. Stat. § 609.2112, subd. 1(b) (death, qualified 

prior conviction), or 609.2114, subd. 1(b) (death to an unborn child, qualified prior 

conviction), by inserting new §§ 2.G.11 & 2.G.12, to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 
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Section 2.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers 

 
* * * 
 
11. Felony Assault Motivated by Bias.  When an offender is sentenced for a crime for 

which the maximum penalty has been increased under Minn. Stat. § 609.2233, the 

presumptive duration found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid for the 

underlying offense must be increased by twenty-five percent.  

 

12. Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death or Death to an Unborn Child, and Qualified Prior 

Conviction).  When an offender is sentenced for a criminal vehicular homicide under 

Minn. Stat. § 609.2112, subd. 1(b) (death, qualified prior conviction), or 609.2114, 

subd. 1(b) (death to an unborn child, qualified prior conviction), the presumptive 

duration found in the appropriate cell on the Standard Grid for the offense must be 

increased by fifty percent.  * * *  

 

4. Modification to Guidelines §§ 5.A and 5.B. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to assign severity-level rankings as a result of new laws 

and conforming modifications as a result of amended laws, by modifying §§ 5A & 5B, to take 

effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

8 Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death)  609.2112, subd. 1(a) 

Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death, and 
Qualified Prior Conviction)  

609.2112, subd. 1(b) 

Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to 
an Unborn Child) 

609.2114, subd. 1(a) 

Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to 
an Unborn Child, and Qualified Prior 
Conviction) 

609.2114, subd. 1(b) 

 
* * * 
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* * * 
 

Severity 

Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

4 Interference with a Dead Body or Scene 

of Death 
609.502 subd. 1(1) 

 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

3 Coercion (Prop. Value $2,500 or More)  
609.27, subd. 1(2),(3), 
(4), & (5), & (6) 

 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

3 
Nonconsensual Dissemination of Private 
Sexual Images 

617.261, subd. 2(b) 

 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

2 Coercion (Prop. Value $301 - $2,499500)  
609.27, subd. 1(2),(3), 
(4), & (5), & (6) 

 
* * * 
 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

1 Assaults 4th Degree Motivated by Bias 609.2231, subd. 4(b) 

 
* * * 
 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.2112, subd. 1(a)  
 

Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death)  8  

609.2112, subd. 1(b)  Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death, and 
Qualified Prior Conviction)  

8* 

609.2113, subd. 1  Criminal Vehicular Operation (Great Bodily 
Harm)  

5  

609.2113, subd. 2  Criminal Vehicular Operation (Substantial 
Bodily Harm)  

3  

609.2114, subd. 1(a)  Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to an 
Unborn Child)  

8  

609.2114, subd. 1(b)  Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to an 
Unborn Child, and Qualified Prior 
Conviction)  

8*  

609.2114, subd. 2  Criminal Vehicular Operation (Injury to an 
Unborn Child)  

5  

 
* See section 2.G.12 to determine the presumptive sentence.  
 

 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.2231, subd. 4(b) Assaults 4th Degree Motivated by Bias 1 ** 

609.2233 Felony Assault Motivated by Bias See Note* 

  
** See section 2.C.2 and Appendix 3 to determine the presumptive duration. Depending on the 
offender’s criminal history score, the presumptive duration may exceed the statutory maximum. 
 
* See section 2.G.11 to determine the presumptive sentence. 

 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.27, subd. 1(2),(3), 
(4), & (5), & (6) 

Coercion (Prop. Value over $2,500 or More)  3 

609.27, subd. 1(2),(3), 
(4), & (5), & (6) 

Coercion (Prop. Value $301 - $2,500)  2 

 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 

Level 

609.502 subd. 1(1) 
Interference with a Dead Body or Scene of 

Death 

4 

 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

617.261, subd. 2(b) 
Nonconsensual Dissemination of Private 
Sexual Images 

3 

  
* * * 

 

5. Modification to Guidelines § 6. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to add nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual 

images to the list of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive sentences, by modifying § 6, 

with the modification to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

 
Section 6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences 

 

* * * 

 
Statute Number Offense Title 

617.261, subd. 2(b) 
Nonconsensual Dissemination of Private Sexual 
Images 

 

6. Modification to Guidelines Appendix 1. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to make technical changes to Appendix 1, to take effect 

August 1, 2016, as follows. 

Appendix 1.  Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences Reference Table 

* * * 
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Statute Offense Prerequisite or Conditions Minimum 

Duration 

169A.24, subd. 1(2) Driving while 

Intoxicated 

Prior Felony DWI Grid Time 

169A.24, subd. 1(3) Driving while 

Intoxicated 

Prior Criminal Vehicular 

Homicide or Operation under 

Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.2112.1(2) thru (6);                    

§ 609.2113.1(2) thru (6);                    

§ 609.2113.2(2) thru (6); 

§ 609.2114.1(2) thru (6); 

§ 609.2114.2(2) thru (6) 

Grid Time 

  

* * * 
 

Appendix 2.4. Non-Legislative Modifications – Adopted July, 2016 

Through the course of the previous year, the Commission reviews potential non-legislative 

modifications. As a result of these reviews, the Commission adopted a proposal to modify 

Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines to make modifications in §§ 2.B.2.b, 2.B.5.b, 5.A, 5.B, and 8; 

and Appendix 2; to renumber Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines § 2.G.11 as § 2.G.13, effective 

August 1, 2016; and to make modifications in Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines § 2.G.13 

(currently numbered § 2.G.11), effective August 1, 2017, unless the Legislature by law provides 

otherwise. 

 
1. Modification to Guidelines § 2.B.2. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to clarify that both a current sex offense, as described 

in § 2.B.2.b(1), and a custody status for a prior sex offense, as described in § 2.B.2.b(2), are 

required for the assignment of two custody status points, with the clarification to take effect 

August 1, 2016, as follows. 

Section 2.B. Criminal History 

 

* * * 

2. Custody Status at the Time of the Offense. 

* * * 

b. Two Custody Status Points.  Assign two custody status points if: 

(1) the current conviction offense is an offense on the Sex Offender Grid other 

than Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender (Minn. Stat. § 243.166); and 
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(2) the offender qualifies for one custody status point, as described in section a, 

above, for an offense currently found on the Sex Offender Grid other than 

Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender (Minn. Stat. § 243.166). 

* * * 

2. Modification to Guidelines § 2.B.5. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to clarify that the policy for classifying non-Minnesota 

prior offenses is based on offense definitions and sentencing polices in effect when the 

current Minnesota offense was committed, with the modification taking effect August 1, 

2016, as follows. 

Section 2.B. Criminal History 

 

* * * 

5. Convictions from Jurisdictions other than Minnesota. 

* * *    

b. How to Count.  Find the equivalent Minnesota offense based on the elements of 

the prior non-Minnesota offense. The section in which to count the non-

Minnesota offense in criminal history depends on: 

 whether the offense is defined as a felony, gross misdemeanor, or 

targeted misdemeanor in Minnesota; and 

 the sentence imposed.   

An offense may be counted as a felony only if it would both be defined as a 

felony in Minnesota, and the offender received a sentence that in 

Minnesota would be a felony-level sentence, which includes the equivalent 

of a stay of imposition. The offense definitions in effect when the current 

Minnesota offense was committed govern the designation of non-

Minnesota convictions as felonies, gross misdemeanors, or misdemeanors. 

* * * 

3. Modification to Guidelines § 2.G. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to renumber Guidelines § 2.G.11 as § 2.G.13 and 

modify the Grid in that section, as shown below, to display whole numbers in the lower 

ranges of the Grid at Criminal History Scores 1, 3, and 5, with the renumbering taking effect 
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August 1, 2016, and the remaining modifications taking effect August 1, 2017, unless the 

Legislature by law provides otherwise, as follows. 

Section 2.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers 

 

* * * 

11.13. Attempt or Conspiracy to Commit First-Degree Murder.  When an offender is 

sentenced for attempt or conspiracy to commit murder in the first degree under 

Minn. Stat. § 609.185 or murder of an unborn child in the first degree under Minn. 

Stat. § 609.2661, the presumptive disposition is commitment. The presumptive 

durations are as follows: 

 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION 

OFFENSE 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

More 

Conspiracy / 
Attempted Murder, 

1st Degree 

180 
153-216 

190 
161.5 

162-228 

200 
170-240 

210 
178.5  

179-240 1 

220 
187-240 1 

230 
195.5 

196-240 1 

240 
204-240 1 

 

1  Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to 
state imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum 
sentence is not less than one year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. 

See section 2.C.1-2. * * * 

 

4. Modification to Guidelines §§ 5.A. and 5.B. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to designate a violation of the corporate political 

contributions law under Minn. Stat. § 211B.15, as “unranked” in Guidelines § 5, with the 

modification to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

UNRANKED Corporate Political Contribution Violations  211B.15 

 

* * * 
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Section 5.B.  Severity Level by Statutory Citation 

* * * 

Statute 
Number 

Offense Title Severity 
Level 

211B.15 Corporate Political Contribution Violations  Unranked 

 

* * * 

 
5. Modification to Guidelines § 8. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to modify the targeted misdemeanor list by putting 

violation of a domestic abuse no contact order under Minn. Stat. § 629.75, in numerical 

order, with the correction to take effect August 1, 2016, as follows. 

 

Section 8. Targeted Misdemeanor List 

(As provided for in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e)) 

Under Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e), a targeted misdemeanor is a misdemeanor 

violation of: 

Statute Number Offense Title 

169A.20 Driving While Impaired 

518B.01; 629.75 Order for Protection Violation 

609.224 Assault 5th Degree 

609.2242 Domestic Assault 

609.746 Interference with Privacy 

609.748 Harassment or Restraining 
Order Violation 

617.23 Indecent Exposure  

629.75 Domestic Abuse No Contact 
Order Violation 
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6. Modification to Guidelines Appendix 2. 

The Commission adopted a proposal to modify Appendix 2 to correctly list the condition that 

must be met for the mandatory minimum to apply under Minn. Stat. § 609.11, to take effect 

August 1, 2016, as follows. 

Appendix 2.  Dangerous Weapons Offense Reference Table 

 
* * * 
 

Dangerous Weapons – Minn. Stat. § 609.11 

Statute Offense Prerequisite or Conditions Minimum 
Duration 

609.11, subd. 4 Dangerous Weapon 
(Other than Firearm) 

Weapon is an element of 
crime or otherwise 
established 

1 Year and 
1 Day 

609.11, subd. 4 Dangerous Weapon 
(Other than Firearm) – 
Subsequent oOffense 

Current dangerous weapon 
(other than firearm) offense 
(other than firearm) with 
prior dangerous weapon 
(other than firearm) offense  

Weapon is an element of 
crime or otherwise 
established 

36 Months 

609.11, subd. 5(a) Firearm Weapon Firearm is an 
element of crime or 
otherwise established 

36 Months 

609.11, subd. 5(a) Firearm – Subsequent 
Offense 

Current firearm offense with 
prior firearm or dangerous 
weapon offense 

Weapon Firearm is an 
element of crime or 
otherwise established 

60 Months 

609.11, subd. 5(b) Certain Persons not to 
have Firearms or 
Ammunition 

Current conviction under 
Minn. Stat. § 609.165 or 
Minn. Stat. § 624.713 subd. 
1(2) 

60 Months  

 

* * * 

 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.11
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.11#stat.609.11.4
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.11#stat.609.11.4
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.11#stat.609.11.5
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.11#stat.609.11.5
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.11#stat.609.11.5
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Appendix 3. Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and 
Commentary – Adopted December, 2016 
 

On December 30, 2016, following a public hearing on December 21, 2016, the Minnesota 

Sentencing Guidelines Commission adopted the following modifications to the Sentencing 

Guidelines and Commentary resulting from new and amended legislation and other policy 

considerations. 

Appendix 3.1. Re-Ranking Severity Level of Child Neglect and Endangerment 
 
The Commission adopted a proposal to modify Guidelines §§ 5.A and 5.B, with a proposed 

effective date of August 1, 2017, as follows. 

 
5.A.  Offense Severity Reference Table 

  

* * * 

 

Severity Level Offense Title Statute Number 

5 Child Neglect/Endangerment 609.378 

1 Child Neglect/Endangerment 609.378 

 
* * * 

 
 

5.B.  Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 

* * * 

  

Statute Number Offense Title Severity Level 

609.378 Child Neglect/Endangerment 5 1 

 
* * * 
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Appendix 3.2. Modifying the Permissive Consecutive Sentencing List 
 
The Commission adopted a proposal to modify Guidelines § 6, with a proposed effective 

date of August 1, 2017, as follows. 
 

Section 6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences 
 

A. Convictions for attempted offenses or conspiracies to commit offenses listed below 

are eligible for permissive consecutive sentences as well as convictions for completed 

offenses. 

B. Under section 2.F.2(a)(1)(i), it is permissive for a current felony conviction to run 

consecutively to a prior felony sentence from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota if 

the non-Minnesota conviction is for a crime that is equivalent to a crime listed below. 

* * * 

 

Statute Number Offense Title 

609.502, subd. 1(1) Interference with a Dead Body or Scene of Death 

 

 
* * * 
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Appendix 4. Proposed Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and 
Commentary – Submitted to Public Hearing but Not Adopted – 
December, 2016 
 

On November 17, 2016, the Commission proposed, on a vote of 6 to 5, to modify the 

Guidelines by adding § 2.B.7.c and Comment 2.B.704. This proposal was given a public hearing 

on December 21, 2016. After receiving oral and written public comments, the Commission 

debated the motion to adopt the proposed modification on December 30, 2016. The motion 

failed on a vote of 5 to 6. The modification that was not adopted is shown in Appendix 4.1. 

Three documents or comments that members of the majority found persuasive are reproduced 

in Appendixes 4.2, 4.3, and 4.4. 

Appendix 4.1. Proposed Modification Regarding Prior Controlled Substance 
Offenses in Criminal History – Submitted to Public Hearing but Not Adopted 

 
The following is the text of the proposed modification to the Minnesota Sentencing 

Guidelines and Commentary that was submitted to public hearing on December 21, 2016, and 

was rejected on December 30, 2016: 

 
[2.B.]7.  Determining Offense Levels for Prior Offenses. 

a. Classification of Prior Offense.  The classification of a prior offense as a petty 

misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony is determined by 

current Minnesota offense definitions (see Minn. Stat. § 609.02, subds. 2-4a) 

and sentencing policies. Offenses that are petty misdemeanors by statute, or 

that are certified as or deemed to be petty misdemeanors under Minn. R. 

Crim. P. 23, must not be used to compute the criminal history score. 

 

b. Monetary Threshold.  When a monetary threshold determines the offense 

classification, the monetary threshold in effect when the prior offense was 

committed, not the current threshold, determines the offense classification in 

calculating the criminal history score. 

 

c. Drug Threshold. When an offender’s criminal history contains a Minnesota 

felony conviction for controlled substance crime in the first, second, third, or 

fifth degree with an offense date prior to August 1, 2016, the current felony 

offense of the same name determines the offense classification in calculating 

the criminal history score, notwithstanding the redefinition of the offense, 

unless the court finds, by a preponderance of evidence, that the facts 
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underlying the prior conviction would have constituted a controlled 

substance crime of a lesser degree, or a gross misdemeanor controlled 

substance crime, if the offense had been committed on or after August 1, 

2016. If the court makes such a finding, then the controlled substance crime 

of the lesser degree, or the gross misdemeanor controlled substance crime, 

determines the offense classification in calculating the criminal history score.  

 
Comment 

* * * 

2.B.704. On August 1, 2016, drug-quantity thresholds changed for various degrees of 

controlled substance crime, and a gross misdemeanor version of Fifth-Degree Controlled 

Substance Crime was created. Despite these elemental changes and the creation of the 

Drug Offender Grid, the essential severity of the various degrees of controlled substance 

crime remained unaltered by the Legislature and the Commission. The Commission 

decided that prior Minnesota felony drug offenses committed before August 1, 2016, 

should receive the same weight as offenses of the same degree committed on or after 

that date. On the other hand, the Commission decided that it was appropriate to permit 

a reduced weight when it could be proven that the facts underlying the prior offense 

comported with an offense that the Legislature now considered to be less serious. To 

illustrate, assume an offender was convicted in 2015 of Fifth-Degree Controlled 

Substance Crime for possessing a residual amount of methamphetamine weighing less 

than 0.25 grams, and that the offender had not been previously convicted of a chapter 

152 offense (or similar crime from another jurisdiction). Because the prior offense was a 

felony Fifth-Degree Controlled Substance Crime, it will be eligible to contribute ½ felony 

point to the offender’s criminal history score, unless it is proven by a preponderance of 

evidence that, under current offense definitions, the prior offense meets the definition of 

gross misdemeanor Fifth-Degree Controlled Substance Crime. In the latter case, the prior 

offense will be eligible to contribute one gross misdemeanor unit to the offender’s 

criminal history score. 
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Appendix 4.2. Memorandum of Associate Justice (Retired) Christopher J. Dietzen 
 

The Commission’s Chair’s memorandum in opposition to the motion is reproduced below.



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

69 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

70 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

71 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

72 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

73 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

74 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

75 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

76 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

77 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

78 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

79 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 

  



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

80 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 

Appendix 4.3. Comments of Judge Heidi Schellhas 
 
The Commission’s Vice-Chair made a statement at the December 30, 2016, meeting, to the 

following effect: 

 

My appointment to this commission is dependent on my position as a Judge on the 

Minnesota Court of Appeals. My contribution to the commission is directly informed by my 

judicial understanding of and adherence to the rule of law. Mindful of that, I 

enthusiastically supported amendments to the Sentencing Guidelines that preceded the 

legislature’s passage of the 2016 Drug Reform Act. But I oppose the current proposed 

Guidelines amendment. I agree with the written and oral reasons stated by Chair Justice 

Dietzen in opposition to the proposed Guidelines amendment, including consideration of 

public safety.  

I offer the following comments in opposition to the proposed amendments: 

First, I mean no disrespect to the author of the proposed Guidelines amendment, but I 

find the language confusing and incomplete particularly in the comment as to who carries 

the burden of proof and what procedure will be followed. I do not think that the amendment, 

if passed, will be easily understood or employed by judges, lawyers, or probation officers. 

Judge Wernick states in his December 20 written submission to the Commission—and 

again today—that the proposed Guidelines amendment is “not intended to be retroactive” 

and creates “no right to a ‘recalculation’ of a criminal history score.” I don’t disagree 

with that, but the Guidelines amendment clearly contemplates that a defendant who 

commits any felony on or after August 1, 2016, will have his or her prior drug convictions 

reweighted under the 2016 Drug Reform Act. In my view, application of the new law to the 

reweighting of final judgments of prior convictions is a retroactive application of the law. 

We know that the Minnesota Supreme Court has four cases pending before it. I am 

familiar with those cases. I have read the briefs in connection with the lead case, State v. 

Otto. I understand that the supreme court is not being asked to directly address the question 

we are now grappling with here—whether or not final judgments of prior convictions be 

reweighted—but I do believe that whatever the supreme court decides with respect to State 

v. Otto, and the other cases that it has accepted for review and stayed, will be greatly 

illuminating with respect to the issue of retroactivity.  

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission has a long history of suspending 

action on matters that are pending before the supreme court. Waiting for the supreme 

court’s disposition of the issue of retroactivity and application to offenses that have 
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occurred prior to August 1, 2016, would be the customary, deferential, and most efficient 

approach for this Commission. 

As to the question of retroactivity, if the Commission will not suspend its action on this 

motion, I will say that I have heard no commissioner explain what in the 2016 Drug Reform 

Act “clearly and manifestly” reflects the Legislature’s intent that the law be applied to 

judgments of final conviction occurring before the effective day of the act. There being no 

compelling rationale to support application of the new Drug Reform Law to judgments of 

final conviction prior to August 1, 2016, I think that supporting the current proposed 

amendment seems disrespectful to the Legislature and perhaps foolhardy, given the 

Commission’s status as a creature of the legislature. 

Last but not least, one purpose of the Guidelines, as noted in comment 2.B.02, is to 

“provide uniform standards for the inclusion and weighting of criminal history 

information.” If the proposed amendments are adopted, uniformity in the weighting of 

prior drug convictions will likely decrease uniformity and increase geographic disparity 

in sentencing. 

For all of these reasons, I urge my fellow commissioners to vote against the proposed 

Guidelines amendments.  
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Appendix 4.4. Letter from the Dakota Co. Attorney and the Ramsey Co. Attorney 
 
Dakota County Attorney James Backstrom and Ramsey County Attorney John Choi 

submitted the following public comment: 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

83 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

84 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 



Report to the Legislature 2017 

 

85 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  

 

 



Appendix 5.1. Section 4.A.  Sentencing Guidelines Grid 

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range within 

which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may 

be subject to local confinement. 

MN Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary, Sentencing Guidelines Grid – Eff. August 1, 2016 |  86 

 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

more 

Murder, 2nd Degree  
(intentional murder; drive-by-        
shootings) 

11 
306 

261-367 
326 

278-391 
346 

295-415 
366 

312-439 
386 

329-463 
406 

346-480 2 

426 
363-480 2 

Murder, 3rd Degree 
Murder, 2nd Degree  
   (unintentional murder)  

10 
150 

128-180 
165 

141-198 
180 

153-216 
195 

166-234 
210 

179-252 
225 

192-270 
240 

204-288 

Assault, 1st Degree  
 

9 
86 

74-103 
98 

84-117 
110 

94-132 
122 

104-146 
134 

114-160 
146 

125-175 
158 

135-189 

Agg. Robbery, 1st Degree;  
Burglary, 1st Degree (w/ 

Weapon or Assault) 
8 

48 
41-57 

58 
50-69 

68 
58-81 

78 
67-93 

88 
75-105 

98 
84-117 

108 
92-129 

Felony DWI;  
Financial Exploitation of a 

Vulnerable Adult  
7 36 42 48 

54 
46-64 

60 
51-72 

66 
57-79 

72 
62-84 2, 3 

Assault, 2nd Degree 
Burglary, 1st Degree (Occupied 

Dwelling) 
6 21 27 33 

39 
34-46 

45 
39-54 

51 
44-61 

57 
49-68 

Residential Burglary;       
Simple Robbery 

5 18 23 28 
33 

29-39 
38 

33-45 
43 

37-51 
48 

41-57 

Nonresidential Burglary  
 

4 
 

121 15 18 21 
24 

21-28 
27 

23-32 
30 

26-36 

Theft Crimes  (Over $5,000) 3 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 
21 

18-25 
23 

20-27 

Theft Crimes  ($5,000 or less)     
Check Forgery  ($251-$2,500) 

2 121 121 13 15 17 19 
21 

18-25 

Assault, 4th Degree 
Fleeing a Peace Officer  

1 121 121 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 

1  121=One year and one day         

 Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. First-degree murder has a mandatory life sentence and is excluded from 
the Guidelines under Minn. Stat. § 609.185.  See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law. 

 
 
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can 
be imposed as conditions of probation.  However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a 
presumptive commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 

2 Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state imprisonment of 

15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one year and one day and 
the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2. 

 3 The stat. max. for Financial Exploitation of Vulnerable Adult is 240 months; the standard range of 20% higher than the fixed duration applies 

at CHS 6 or more.  (The range is 62-86.)  



Appendix 5.2. Section 4.B. Sex Offender Grid 
 

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range within 

which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may 

be subject to local confinement. 
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SEVERITY LEVEL OF 

CONVICTION OFFENSE 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

More 

CSC 1st Degree 
A 

144 

144-172 

156 

144-187 

168 

144-201 

180 

153-216 

234 

199-280 

306 

261-360 

360 

306-360 2 

CSC 2nd Degree–(c)(d)(e)(f)(h) 
Prostitution; Sex Trafficking 3 
1st Degree–1(a) 

B 
90 

90 3-108 
110 

94-132 
130 

111-156 
150 

128-180 
195 

166-234 
255 

217-300 
300 

255-300 2 

CSC 3rd Degree–(c)(d) 
(g)(h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n)(o) 

Prostitution; Sex Trafficking 
2nd Degree–1a 

C 
48 

41-57 
62 

53-74 
76 

65-91 
90 

77-108 
117 

100-140 
153 

131-180 
180 

153-180 2 

CSC 2nd Degree–(a)(b)(g)  
CSC 3rd Degree–(a)(e)(f) 

or(b)with ref. to subd. 2(1) 
Dissemination of Child 

Pornography (Subsequent 
or by Predatory Offender) 

D 36 48 
60 

51-72 
70 

60-84 
91 

78-109 
119 

102-142 
140 

119-168 

CSC 4th Degree–(c)(d) 
(g)(h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n)(o) 

Use Minors in Sexual 
Performance 

Dissemination of Child 
Pornography 2 

E 24 36 48 
60 

51-72 
78 

67-93 
102 

87-120 
120 

102-120 2 

CSC 4th Degree–  
(a)(b)(e)(f); CSC 5th Degree; 
Possession of Child 

Pornography (Subsequent 
or by Predatory Offender) 

F 18 27 36 
45 

39-54 
59 

51-70 
77 

66-92 
84 

72-100 

CSC 3rd Degree–(b) with subd. 
2(2); Indecent Exposure 

Possession of Child 
Pornography; Solicit Child 
for Sexual Conduct 2 

G 15 20 25 30 
39 

34-46 
51 

44-60 
60 

51-60 2 

Registration Of Predatory 
Offenders 

H 
121  

12 1-14 
14 

12 1-16 
16 

14-19 
18 

16-21 
24 

21-28 
30 

26-36 
36 

31-43 

1  121=One year and one day. 

 

 

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. Sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 2, have mandatory life 
sentences and are excluded from the Guidelines. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law, 
including conditional release terms for sex offenders. 

 

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can be 
imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenders in the shaded area of the Grid may qualify for a mandatory life 
sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 4. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 

2  Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state 

imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one 
year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2. 
3  Prostitution; Sex Trafficking is not subject to a 90-month minimum statutory presumptive sentence so the standard range of 15% 

lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration applies. (The range is 77-108.) 



Appendix 5.3. Section 4.C. Drug Offender Grid 
 

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denotes range within which a court may 

sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may be subjected to 

local confinement. 
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SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

more 

Aggravated Controlled 
Substance Crime, 1st Degree 

Manufacture of Any Amt. Meth 
D9 

86 
74*-103 

98 
84*-117 

110 
94*-132 

122 
104*-146 

134 
114*-160 

146 
125*-175 

158 
135*-189 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
1st Degree 

D8 
65 

56*-78 
75 

64*-90 
85 

73*-102 
95 

81*-114 
105 

90*-126 
115 

98*-138 
125 

107*-150 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
2nd Degree 

D7 48 58 
68 

58-81 
78 

67-93 
88 

75-105 
98 

84-117 
108 

92-129 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
3rd Degree 

Failure to Affix Stamp 
D6 21 27 33 

39 
34-46 

45 
39-54 

51 
44-61 

57 
49-68 

Possess Substances with Intent 
to Manufacture Meth 

D5 18 23 28 
33 

29-39 
38 

33-45 
43 

37-51 
48 

41-57 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
4th Degree 

 
D4 

 
121 15 18 21 

24 
21-28 

27 
23-32 

30 
26-36 

Meth Crimes Involving Children 
and Vulnerable Adults 

D3 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 
21 

18-25 
23 

20-27 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
5th Degree 

D2 121 121 13 15 17 19 
21 

18-25 

Sale of Simulated Controlled 
Substance 

D1 121 121 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 

* Lower range may not apply. See section 2.C.3.c(1) and Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subdivisions 3(c) & 3(d). 

1  121=One year and one day 

  
Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.  
 

 

 
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can 
be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a presumptive 
commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 
 

 

 


