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Introduction 
 
 This report is prepared and submitted to the Legislature to satisfy the requirements of Minn. 

Stat. § 244.09, subds. 6, 11, and 14: 

 

 To “make recommendations to the legislature regarding changes in the Criminal Code, 

criminal procedures, and other aspects of sentencing”; 

 To “identif[y] and explain[] all modifications made during the preceding 12 months and all 

proposed modifications that are being submitted to the legislature” in 2016; and 

 To “summar[ize] and analy[ze] … reports received from county attorneys under section 

609.11, subdivision 10.” 

 

As in past years, the Commission also takes this opportunity to highlight topics that may be of 

interest to the Legislature, including sentencing and departure trends, and updates on 

Commission and staff activities. 

 

 In 1980, Minnesota became the first state to implement a sentencing guidelines structure. 

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is a legislatively created body whose 

purpose is to maintain the Guidelines, evaluate outcomes of changes in sentencing policy, 

analyze trends and make appropriate recommendations, and provide education on sentencing 

law and policy.  

  

When establishing and modifying the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines, the Commission’s 

primary consideration is public safety. Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 5. Other considerations are 

current sentencing and release practices; correctional resources, including, but not limited to, 

the capacities of local and state correctional facilities; and the long-term negative impact of 

crime on the community. Id. The Commission has stated that the purpose of the Sentencing 

Guidelines is to establish rational and consistent sentencing standards that reduce sentencing 

disparity and ensure that the sanctions imposed for felony convictions are proportional to the 

severity of the conviction offense and the offender’s criminal history. Minn. Sentencing 

Guidelines § 1.A. The Sentencing Guidelines embody principles including that sentencing be 

neutral, rational, consistent, and uniform, and that departures from the presumptive sentences 

should only be made when substantial and compelling circumstances can be identified and 

established. 

In 2014, Minnesota’s imprisonment rate—194 prisoners per 100,000 Minnesota residents—

was less than half the national state imprisonment rate.1 Minnesota’s imprisonment rate grew by 

2.5 percent from 2013 to 2014, and is now at its highest level since the Sentencing Guidelines 

were established.2  From 2013 to 2014, nine states’ imprisonment rates grew by a higher 

percentage than Minnesota's; 12 states’ imprisonment rates grew by a lower percentage; and 

                                                           
1 The national state imprisonment rate was 412 prisoners per 100,000 U.S. residents. Neither rate includes inmates 
of federal prisons or local correctional facilities. See note 3. 
2 Minnesota’s imprisonment rate was 49 per 100,000 in 1980. See note 4. 
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28 states’ imprisonment rates fell. The national state imprisonment rate fell by 1.1 percent.3 

From 1980 until 2013, Minnesota’s imprisonment rate ranked among the three lowest in the 

nation. In 2014, Minnesota was fourth lowest.4 

 This report details the work of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission in 2015, 

and provides an overview of sentencing practices and trends in the criminal justice system. The 

sentencing data included in this report are from calendar year 2014, the most recent full year of 

sentencing data. Additional reports on overall data trends in 2014 and sentencing practices for 

specific offenses—including assaults and violations of restraining orders, controlled substances, 

criminal sexual conduct, criminal vehicular homicide and injury, dangerous weapons, failure to 

register as a predatory offender, and felony DWI, as well an unranked offense report and a 

probation revocation report—are available on the Commission’s website at 

http://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/reports/.

                                                           
3 Carson, E. Ann. Bureau of Justice Statistics. Prisoners in 2014 (NCJ 248955). September 2015. Retrieved Dec. 1, 
2015, at http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/p14.pdf. 
4 Carson, E. Ann. Bureau of Justice Statistics. Imprisonment Rate of Sentenced Prisoners under the Jurisdiction of 
State or Federal Correctional Authorities per 100,000 U.S. Residents, Dec. 31, 1978-2014. July 30, 2015. Retrieved 
Dec. 1, 2015, at http://www.bjs.gov/nps/resources/documents/QT_imprisonment%20rate_total.xlsx. 
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Executive Summary 
 

Recommendations to the Legislature (p. 6): In this Report, the Commission makes two 

recommendations to the Legislature, both related to controlled substance crimes. First, the 

Commission recommends that the Legislature create enhanced crimes for possession of drugs 

in quantities significantly greater than those reflected in the existing first-degree thresholds. 

Second, the Commission recommends that the Legislature reduce possession of a trace 

amount of a controlled substance from a felony to a gross misdemeanor. 

   

Commission's 2015 Guidelines Modifications (p. 10): The Commission made a number of 

changes to the Guidelines in 2015. The new felony offense of wrongful employment at a child 

care center, over $5,000 and $5,000 or less, was ranked at severity levels 3 and 2, respectively. 

The Commission made decisions to modify, or not to modify, the Guidelines to conform to 

changes to the following crimes: fourth-degree assault (extending protections to employees 

supervising and working directly with mentally-ill and dangerous patients); engaging in, hiring, or 

agreeing to hire a minor to engage in prostitution; fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct; certain 

persons not to have firearms (to include ammunition); firearm silencer (to be entitled “firearm 

suppressor”); financial transaction card fraud (to include trafficking of supplemental nutrition 

assistance benefits); reckless driving (new gross misdemeanor offense proposed to be treated 

like non-traffic gross misdemeanors for purposes of criminal history score); and terroristic 

threats (to be entitled “threats of violence”). The Commission ranked medical assistance fraud 

over $35,000 at severity level 6; added language in the Guidelines and commentary clarifying 

the application of the Guidelines upon the revocation of stay of adjudication; added language in 

Guidelines and commentary classifying a sentence executed pursuant to an offender’s right to 

demand execution as not a dispositional departure; and amended the nonexclusive list of 

mitigating factors in the Guidelines and commentary to include particular amenability to 

probation. The Commission adopted modifications to update offense titles for damage to 

property and to delete expired statutory language related to expunged records. 

 

Commission's 2016 Guidelines Modifications, Subject to Legislative Review (p. 14): On 

December 23, 2015, the Commission held a public hearing on proposed comprehensive 

modifications to drug sentencing in the Sentencing Guidelines, and adopted those modifications 

on December 30, 2015. Specifically, the Commission adopted a new drug sentencing grid that 

establishes new presumptive sentences for first-degree drug sales of 65 to 125 months, 

depending on the criminal history score of the offender, and reduces the severity levels for 

first-degree drug possession and second-degree drug possession controlled substance crimes. 

The Commission also adopted new aggravating factors and a new mitigating factor applicable to 

controlled substance crimes. The modifications are the culmination of many years of discussion 

at the Commission, and reflect its collective judgment of the changes needed in drug sentencing 

that not only promote public safety, but also address the different culpabilities of drug dealers 

and drug users. On the one hand, the modifications give prosecutors the tools to seek greater 

sentences against drug dealers. On the other hand, they give the parties and the courts tools to 

send drug users who are truly chemically dependent to obtain the treatment they need. 
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Additionally, the modifications will promote greater uniformity in sentencing. The details and 

explanation of the modifications are set forth on pages 14-17 of this Report. 

 

The Commission also adopted proposed modifications relating to consecutive sentencing policy. 

The Commission adopted uniform standards establishing how consecutive supervised release 

terms are to be served when two sentences are consecutively executed at the same time, at 

different times, or when the offender had already been placed on supervised release for the 

earlier sentence. The adopted modifications also limit the circumstances under which 

consecutive sentences are presumptive. Finally, the Commission adopted technical and 

clarifying changes to the Guidelines and commentary with respect to consecutive sentencing 

policy. 

 

These proposed modifications will take effect August 1, 2016, unless the Legislature by law 

provides otherwise. 

 

Staff Activities (p. 19): The staff performed the following activities: answered over 2,000 phone 

calls and email inquiries; trained 500 practitioners in traditional classroom and online settings; 

provided 43 fiscal impact statements for introduced legislation; compiled sentencing information 

for almost 250 individual data requests; worked with the Department of Corrections to generate 

prison bed projections; participated in various criminal justice boards, forums and committees; 

processed and ensured the accuracy of over 16,000 sentencing records; published the annual 

edition of the Guidelines and commentary; and provided reports on sentencing practices to the 

public. 

 

Sentencing Trends (p. 22): Minnesota courts sentenced 16,145 felony offenders in 2014, an 

increase of 5.4 percent. Of the total volume, person offenses accounted for 30.4 percent (4,905 

offenders), property offenses accounted for 28.4 percent (4,589 offenders), and drug offenses 

accounted for 27 percent (4,363 offenders). Significant growth occurred from 2010 to 2014, 

when the overall volume of felony offenders sentenced increased by 13 percent. This is 

attributable to the growth in drug offenders at 31 percent, non-CSC sex offenses5 at 17 percent, 

and “other”6 offenders at 18 percent. The specific offense that contributed to the growth in the 

“other” category the most was possession of a firearm by a felon convicted of a crime of 

violence, which grew by 59 percent from 2010 to 2014—from 234 offenders to 371 offenders. In 

2014, 92 percent of felony offenders served some time in a local correctional facility or prison 

setting: 66 percent served time in a local correctional facility as part of their stayed sentence, 

while 26 percent were sentenced to state prison. The average pronounced prison sentence was 

45.5 months, which is a slight increase over 2013. Statewide, 72 percent of felony offenders 

received the presumptive Guidelines sentence. The rate varied by gender, race/ethnicity, 

judicial district, and offense type. 

 

                                                           
5 “Non-CSC sex offenses” are offenses on the sex offender grid other than criminal sexual conduct (chiefly failure to 
register as a predatory offender and possession and dissemination of child pornography). 
6 “Other” category includes: Possession of a firearm by a felon convicted of a crime of violence, fleeing police, 
escape, discharge of a firearm, and other offenses of less frequency. “Other” included DWI before 2004 and non-
CSC sex offenses before 2010. 
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County Attorney Firearms Reports (p. 39): County attorneys collect and maintain information 

on crimes for which a defendant is alleged to have possessed or used a firearm. The 

Commission is required to include in its annual report a summary and analysis of the reports 

received. Since 1996, when the mandate began, county attorneys have annually reported an 

average of 769 cases allegedly involving a firearm. The total number of reported firearms cases 

for fiscal year 2015 was 1,211. This number has risen every year since 2010, and represents an 

increase of 11 percent (122 cases) over fiscal year 2014.   
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Recommendations to the Legislature 
 

 The Legislature invites the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission to provide it, from 

time to time, with recommendations regarding changes to criminal law, criminal procedure, and 

other aspects of sentencing. Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6. The Commission makes the 

following recommendations to the Legislature: 

 

 Recommendation One. The Commission passed a motion on a vote of 7 to 2 to 

recommend that the Legislature amend Minn. Stat. § 152.021 to add two offenses—enhanced 

possession of controlled substance in the first degree; and more enhanced possession of 

controlled substance in the first degree—with drug quantity thresholds two and three times 

greater, respectively, than the threshold quantities reflected in the existing first-degree 

possession statute. 

 

 Recommendation One – Discussion. The author of the motion indicated the following 

reasoning in support of the motion. The Commission was informed by law enforcement and 

prosecutors that the U.S. Attorney’s decision to focus its resources on the prosecution of drug 

offenses involving more than 100 grams has resulted in more law enforcement responsibility 

falling to the State. Currently, the presumptive sentence for first-degree possession is the same 

whether the offender possesses 25 grams or a significantly higher amount. The proposed 

amendments to the criminal code will aid the State’s efforts in prosecuting drug king-pins. 

Specifically, the amendments to the criminal code create two new offenses for possession of 50 

grams or more, and 75 grams or more. These enhanced possession offenses allow law 

enforcement to seek higher sentences for offenders conviction of possessing these higher 

amounts. 

 

 Recommendation One – Statutory Language: It is recommended that Minn. Stat. 

§ 152.021 be amended to read: 

152.021 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE CRIME IN THE FIRST DEGREE. 

Subdivision 1. Sale crimes. A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the first degree if: 

(1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures 

of a total weight of ten grams or more containing cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine; 

(2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures 

of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, or 

methamphetamine; 

(3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures 

of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the 

controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 200 or more dosage units; or 

(4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures 

of a total weight of 50 kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols, or one or more 
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mixtures of a total weight of 25 kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols in a 

school zone, a park zone, a public housing zone, or a drug treatment facility. 

Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of a controlled substance crime in the first degree if: 

(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams or more 

containing cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine; 

(2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 500 grams or more 

containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine; 

(3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 500 grams or more 

containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in 

dosage units, equaling 500 or more dosage units; or 

(4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 100 kilograms or more 

containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols. 

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may not be considered 

in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture contains four or more fluid ounces 

of fluid. 

(c) A person is guilty of enhanced possession of a controlled substance in the first-degree if: 

(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more 

containing cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine; 

(2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 1000 grams or more 

containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine; 

(3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 1000 grams or more 

containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in 

dosage units, equaling 1000 or more dosage units; or 

(4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 200 kilograms or more 

containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols. 

(d) A person is guilty of more enhanced possession of a controlled substance in the first-degree if: 

(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 75 grams or more 

containing cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine; 

(2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 1500 grams or more 

containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine; 

(3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 1500 grams or more 

containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in 

dosage units, equaling 1500 or more dosage units; or 

(4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 300 kilograms or more 

containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols. 
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Subd. 2a. Methamphetamine manufacture crime. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 1, sections 

152.022, subdivision 1, 152.023, subdivision 1, and 152.024, subdivision 1, a person is guilty of controlled 

substance crime in the first degree if the person manufactures any amount of methamphetamine. * * * 

Subd. 3. Penalty. (a) A person convicted under subdivisions 1 to 2a, paragraph (a), may be sentenced 

to imprisonment for not more than 30 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000,000, or both. 

(b) If the conviction is a subsequent controlled substance conviction, a person convicted under 

subdivisions 1 to 2a, paragraph (a), shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for not less than 

four years nor more than 40 years and, in addition, may be sentenced to payment of a fine of not more than 

$1,000,000. 

(c) In a prosecution under subdivision 1 involving sales by the same person in two or more counties 

within a 90-day period, the person may be prosecuted for all of the sales in any county in which one of the 

sales occurred. 

 

 Recommendation Two. The Commission passed a motion on a vote of 8 to 2 to 

recommend that the Legislature reduce Controlled Substance Crime in the Fifth Degree – 

Possession, Minn. Stat. § 152.025, subd. 2, in a case involving possession of a trace amount of 

a controlled substance, to a gross misdemeanor rather than a felony. 

 

 Recommendation Two – Discussion: Trace cases are prosecuted inconsistently across 

the state. Some jurisdictions do not prosecute any trace amount cases, while other jurisdictions 

charge them zealously and impose mandatory minimum periods for subsequent offenses. This 

creates an onerous sentence for defendants who are very likely addicts and would receive no 

criminal intervention if they committed the offense in a different county. Because these are 

considered low-level offenses, few probation resources are allocated to these offenders who 

with frequency either fail on probation and are revoked or grow so frustrated with probation 

violations that they opt for execution of their sentence. These offenders are often committed to 

the custody of the Commissioner of Corrections for periods too short to allow for chemical 

dependency services within the Department of Corrections (DOC). By treating these cases as 

gross misdemeanors, the Legislature would eliminate the possibility of a prison commit for a 

trace amount of drugs and blunt the inequity across district and county lines. In fiscal year 2015, 

the DOC had 501 inmates serving sentences for 5th Degree Controlled Substance crimes. The 

DOC would see a decrease in short-term beds and supervised-release clients. County 

corrections programs may see an increase in local incarceration, though the typical 180-day 

mandatory minimum is already being served locally. 

 

 Recommendation Two – Statutory Language: It is recommended that Minn. Stat. 

§§ 152.025 and 388.051, subd. 2(c), be amended to read: 

 

152.025 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE CRIME IN THE FIFTH DEGREE. 

* * * Subd. 2. Possession and other crimes. (a) A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in 

the fifth degree and if convicted may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to 

payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both if: 
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(1) the person unlawfully possesses a measurable amount of one or more mixtures containing a 

controlled substance classified in Schedule I, II, III, or IV, except a small amount of marijuana; * * * 

Subd. 3. Possession of trace amounts. A person is guilty of a controlled substance crime in the fifth 

degree and if convicted may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a 

fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the person unlawfully possesses a trace amount of one or more 

mixtures containing a controlled substance classified in Schedule I, II, III, or IV, except a small amount of 

marijuana. 

 

388.051 DUTIES.  

 * * * Subd. 2 * * * (c) The county attorney shall prosecute failure to report physical or sexual child 

abuse or neglect as provided under section 626.556, subdivision 6, violations of fifth-degree criminal 

sexual conduct under section 609.3451, and environmental law violations under sections 115.071, 

299F.098, and 609.671, and controlled substance crime in the fifth degree, possession of trace amounts, 

as provided under section 152.025, subdivision 3. * * * 

The Commission’s Activities in 2015 
  

 The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is an eleven-member body created by 

the Legislature. Eight members are appointed by the Governor: the Commissioner of 

Corrections, one peace officer, one prosecutor, one defense attorney, one probation officer, and 

three public members, one of whom must be a crime victim. The Chief Justice of the Supreme 

Court also appoints three members representing the District Court, Court of Appeals, and 

Supreme Court.   

 

 Currently, the Chief Justice’s designee is the Associate Supreme Court Justice Christopher 

Dietzen, whom the Governor appointed to serve as Chair. The Court of Appeals judge is Judge 

Heidi Schellhas and the district court judge is Judge Caroline Lennon, First Judicial District. The 

remaining Commission members are selected by the Governor. The public defender member is 

Cathryn Middlebrook, Chief Appellate Public Defender; the county attorney member is Jeffrey 

Edblad, Isanti County Attorney; Tom Roy is the Commissioner of Corrections; the peace officer 

member is Sgt. Paul Ford; the probation officer seat is currently vacant; and the public members 

are Angela Champagne-From, Yamy Vang, and Senior Judge Mark Wernick. 

 

 One of the fundamental responsibilities of the Commission is to maintain the Guidelines by 

annually amending them in response to legislative changes, case law, and issues raised by 

various parties. In order to meet this responsibility, the Commission met eleven times during 

2015 and held two public hearings, on July 15 and December 23, 2015. The Guidelines 

modifications made in 2015 are described below. A description of the proposed 2016 Guidelines 

modifications now submitted to the Legislature—including the modifications to drug 

sentencing—begins on page 14. 
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1. Adopted Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary – 

Effective August 1, 2015 

 

The Commission adopted modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary 

resulting from amended and new legislation, and other non-legislative policy considerations. 

These modifications took effect August 1, 2015. All modifications are set forth in Appendix 2.1. 

 

A. New Legislation (New Offense from the 2015 Legislative Session) 

 

The Commission reviewed one felony offense that was enacted by the 2015 Legislature, 

and adopted severity-level rankings, as follows. 

 

 Wrongful Employment at a Child Care Center 

 

Description: A new felony for wrongful employment at a child care center was codified 

at Minn. Stat. § 609.816. This applies to persons who require child care center 

applicants or employees to have one or more children who are eligible for or receive 

child care assistance. The crime is punishable under the theft penalty provisions in Minn. 

Stat. § 609.52, subd. 3, clauses (1) to (5), which range from misdemeanor to felony 

depending on the monetary value of the theft. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Add “609.816, Wrongful Employment at a Child Care Center” 

to the Theft Offense List in § 7, and reference the new offense in § 5.B at Severity Level 

3 (Over $5,000) and Severity Level 2 ($5,000 or less). 

 

 

B. Modified Legislation—Modified Offenses from the 2015 Legislative Session 

 

The following are felony offenses (unless otherwise noted) modified by the 2015 Legislature. 

In some cases, the modifications expanded definitional statements; in others, the 

modifications expanded the scope of the offense. For each item listed below, taking the 

modification into consideration, the Commission decided if the Guidelines needed amending 

including whether offenses should be re-ranked and whether there should be any 

modifications to the permissive consecutive offense list in Guidelines § 6. 

 

1. Extended Protection and Mandatory Minimum, Fourth-Degree Assault 

 

Description: Fourth-degree assault protections were extended to employees 

supervising and working directly with mentally-ill and dangerous patients by modifying 

Minn. Stat. § 609.2231, subd. 3a.  
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Adopted Modifications: 1) Maintain Severity Level 1 ranking in § 5 because the 

statutory maximum remained two years; 2) keep assault in the fourth degree on the list 

of offenses in § 6 which are eligible for permissive consecutive sentences; 3) update 

fourth-degree assault offense titles, as listed in § 5.B, to reflect statutory changes to 

fourth-degree assault enacted since 2004; 4) update Appendix 1; and 5) revise the 

footnote in § 5.B pertaining to fourth-degree assault. 

 

2. Engage or Hire Minor to Engage in Prostitution Elements Revised 

 

Description: The prostitution statute was modified making the hiring of an adult 

prostitute a felony if the patron reasonably believes the prostitute to be a child under 

Minn. Stat. § 609.324, subd. 1(c). The fact that an undercover operative or law 

enforcement officer was involved is not a defense.  

 

No modifications to the Guidelines were proposed. 

 

3. Fifth-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct Elements Revised 

 

Description: Fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct (CSC 5) under Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.3451, subd. 1, was expanded to include intentionally touching the body or clothing 

with semen.  

 

No modifications to the Guidelines were proposed. 

 

4. Change Offense Title to Include Ammunition, Certain Persons Not to Have 

Firearm 

 

Description: A definition for ammunition under Minn. Stat. § 609.02, subd. 17, was 

added. Persons who are not allowed to possess firearms are not allowed to possess 

ammunition, and felons previously convicted of a crime of violence who do so are 

subject to the five-year mandatory minimum prison sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.11.  

 

Adopted Modifications: Modify § 5.A, 5.B, comment 2.E.03, and Appendix 2, to add “or 

Ammunition” after “Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms” in the existing offense titles. 

 

5. Change Offense Title, Firearm Suppressor 

 

Description: The bill permits firearm suppressors (formerly known as “silencers”) to be 

possessed if lawfully possessed under federal law. The bill also amends the title of the 

reckless discharge offense under Minn. Stat. § 609.66 by striking “silencers” and 

inserting “suppressors.” The law clarifies that it is lawful to carry a firearm in the Capitol 

area provided there was an issuance of a permit to carry. 
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Adopted Modifications: Modify § 5.A and 5.B to strike “silencer” and add “suppressor” 

in the existing offense titles. 

 

6. Financial Transaction Card Fraud Expanded to Include Trafficking of SNAP 

Benefits 

 

Description: Financial Transaction Card Fraud was amended to include trafficking of 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits.  

 

No modifications to the Guidelines were proposed. 

 

7. Treat New Gross Misdemeanor Reckless Driving Like Non-Traffic Gross 

Misdemeanors for Purposes of Criminal History Score 

 

Description: The crime of reckless driving under Minn. Stat. § 169.13, subd. 1(a) was 

amended to read: “A person who drives a motor vehicle while aware of and consciously 

disregarding a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the driving may result in harm to 

another or another’s property is guilty of reckless driving. The risk must be of such a 

nature and degree that disregard of it constitutes a significant deviation from the 

standard of conduct that a reasonable person would observe in the situation.” A new 

gross misdemeanor was established if a person causes great bodily harm or death to 

another person. 

 

Adopted Modifications: 1) An offender will receive a custody status point for being in a 

custody status for gross misdemeanor reckless driving; and 2) an offender will receive 

one unit for a prior conviction of gross misdemeanor reckless driving. 

 

8. Change Offense Title, Terroristic Threats 

 

Description: The modification did not affect the criminal provisions, but created the 

need to change several references in the Guidelines. The headnote of Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.713 was changed from “Terroristic Threats” to “Threats of Violence.” 

 

Adopted Modifications: Authorized technical changes to the Guidelines. 

 

 

C. Non-Legislative Modifications 

 

The following non-legislative modifications to the Guidelines were adopted by the 

Commission. 
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1. Rank Medical Assistance Fraud Over $35,000 at Severity Level 6 

 

Description: The Guidelines rank particular theft offenses that exceed $35,000, at a 

severity level higher than Severity Level 3. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Rank medical assistance fraud over $35,000 at Severity Level 

6, and remove it from the Theft Offense List. 

 

2. Clarify Application of Guidelines Upon Revocation of Stay of Adjudication 

 

Description: If the initial sentence following felony conviction is commitment to the 

Commissioner of Corrections and the Guidelines recommend a stayed sentence, the 

decision to sentence to prison is an aggravated dispositional departure. This is true even 

if the felony conviction results from the revocation of a previously granted stay of 

adjudication. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Modify the Guidelines to make it explicit that a revocation of a 

stay of adjudication to a prison commitment is an aggravated dispositional departure if a 

stayed sentence is presumptive. 

 

3. Classify Sentence Executed Pursuant to Offender’s Right to Demand for 

Execution As Not a Dispositional Departure 

  
Description: An offender generally has the right to demand execution of sentence.  
 
Adopted Modifications: Modify the Guidelines making it explicit that a sentence that is 

executed pursuant to an offender’s right to demand execution is not an aggravated 

dispositional departure. 

 

4. List Particular Amenability to Probation as Mitigating Factor 

  

Description: The Minnesota Supreme Court emphasized that mere amenability to 

probation does not justify a departure, but that a defendant must be particularly 

amenable to probation. State v. Soto, 855 N.W.2d 303 (Minn. 2014).  

 

Adopted Modifications: Add “particularly amenable to probation” to § 2.D.3 regarding 

mitigating factors that may be used as reasons for departure. 

 

 

D. Technical Modifications 

 

The following technical modifications to the Guidelines were adopted by the Commission.    
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1. Update Offense Titles for Criminal Damage to Property 

 

Description: Absent a risk of bodily harm, felony criminal damage to property in the first 

degree is ranked at Severity Level 2. Criminal damage to property in the second degree 

involves the intentional causes to damage because of the property owner's or another's 

actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability. Because the 

descriptive titles in § 5 are incomplete, they may cause confusion. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Update offense titles for damage to property in § 5. 

 

2. Delete Expired Statutory Language Related to Expunged Records 

 

Description: A portion of a comment in § 2.B related to access to expunged records is 

no longer in effect.  

 

Adopted Modifications: Delete the reference to expired statutory language. 

 

 

2. Adopted Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary – 

Effective August 1, 2016 

 

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 244.09, the Commission adopted proposed modifications to the 

Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary related to controlled substance offenses and 

consecutive sentences. These modifications become effective August 1, 2016, unless the 

Legislature by law provides otherwise. All modifications are set forth in Appendix 2.2. 

 

A. Non-Legislative Modifications to Controlled Substance Offenses 

 

Description: The Commission adopted a motion on a vote of 7 to 3 to create a new 

drug sentencing grid that establishes new presumptive sentences for first-degree sales 

of 65 to 125 months, depending on the criminal history score of the offender, and 

reduces the severity levels for first-degree and second-degree possession controlled 

substance crimes. Additionally, the Commission adopted both new aggravating factors 

and a mitigating factor applicable to controlled substance crimes. The new Drug 

Offender Grid is found in Appendix 2.2 at page 80. For comparison, the old sentencing 

grid is on page 79 and in Appendix 3. The new aggravating factors and the new 

mitigating factor are found on pages 70-71. The remaining modifications to the text of 

the Guidelines resulting from the changes are found on pages 71-78.  

 

Discussion: The Commission has considered the topic of drug sentencing for many 

years. Between 1989 and 1998, through a series of legislative and Guidelines changes, 

the severity of Minnesota’s criminal drug penalties grew significantly. The Commission 

began examining options for drug sentencing reform as early as 1995, and repeatedly 
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thereafter. In 2003, the Legislature directed the Commission to report drug sentencing 

findings and recommendations.7 In 2007, the Legislature directed the Commission to 

propose changed rankings for drug offenses.8 In 2008, the Legislature created a working 

group on controlled substance laws, with directions to report its findings and 

recommendations.9 During these years, neither the Commission nor the Legislature 

made policy changes related to drug sentencing reform. 

 

MSGC staff presented a summary of recent statistical data which indicates that the 

downward dispositional and durational departure rates for sentences imposed for first- 

and second-degree drug offenses are quite high, particularly in Hennepin County. For 

example, in 2013, only 37 percent of the defendants statewide received the presumptive 

for a first-degree controlled substance conviction. See “Drug Sentencing Reform 

Compromise Proposal,” Attachment 1 (bar graph of actual sentencing practices in first- 

and second-degree offenses from 2011 to 2013).10 

 

In October 2013, the Commission held a round table to discuss the most recent data on 

first- and second-degree controlled substances and to seek feedback from various 

stakeholders in the criminal justice community. The explanation given for these 

downward departures was that the prosecutor settled the case (1) in exchange for help 

in pursuing a drug case against a dealer, or (2) to resolve a case that had evidentiary 

issues. The net result, however, is a perceived lack of uniformity in that an offender in 

Hennepin County gets a better deal than an offender in greater Minnesota.11 Since the 

workshop, the Commission has discussed the topic of drug sentencing at several 

meetings. During the 2015 legislative session, the drug reform proposals set forth in 
House File 2107 and Senate Files 773 and 1382 never made it out of committee. 

Several legislators have indicated that they intend to renew these proposals during the 

2016 legislative session. 

 

When the Legislature failed to act on drug sentencing reform, the Commission more 

earnestly discussed the topic. At its August 2015 meeting, the Commission decided it 

would formally discuss drug sentencing reform at its September and October meetings 

and determine what formal action, if any, should be taken. The Commission, at its 

meeting on November 18, 2015, voted 7 to 3 in favor of the modifications set forth in the 

new Drug Offender Grid, the new aggravating factors, a new mitigating factor, and 

related changes, all of which are set forth in Appendix 2.2. The majority adopted the 

modifications on the basis that they promote the goals of the Commission “to assure 

public safety, promote uniformity and proportionality in sentencing, provide greater 

                                                           
7 2003 Minn. Laws ch. 2, art. 1, § 14. 
8 2007 Minn. Laws ch. 54, art. 1, § 15. The Commission did not propose the requested changes at that time for 
reasons described in its 2008 Report to the Legislature. 
9 2008 Minn. Laws ch. 299, § 27. The report is at: http://archive.leg.state.mn.us/docs/2009/mandated/090252.pdf. 
10 This document, dated Nov. 10, 2015, is available on the MSGC website under the meeting materials pertaining to 
the November 18, 2015, MSGC meeting, and was retrieved Jan. 4, 2016, at http://mn.gov/sentencing-
guidelines/assets/4C%20Dietzen%20Submission_tcm30-91000.pdf. 
11 See “Sentencing Practices: Controlled Substance Offenses Sentenced in 2014,” figures 19 and 20 (available on 
the MSGC web site under annual summary reports). 
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honesty or ‘truth in sentencing,’ and coordinate sentencing practices with correctional 

resources.” Taylor v. State, 670 N.W.2d 584, 586 (Minn. 2003) (citations omitted). The 

author of the motion presented four reasons in support of this conclusion. 

 

First, the modifications add a new mitigating factor that allows a judge who finds the 

offender truly chemically dependent to put the person on probation and send him or her 

to receive treatment. Currently, when an offender is convicted of first-degree controlled 

substance crime—sale and possession with a zero criminal history score—the 

presumptive sentencing disposition is incarceration. The proposal adds a new mitigating 

factor that allows a judge who finds the offender truly chemically dependent to put the 

person on probation and send him or her to drug treatment under Minn. Stat. § 152.152. 

For second-degree controlled substance crime, the presumptive disposition is changed 

from incarceration to probation. 

 

Importantly, the modifications for the first time set forth separate presumptive sentences 

for first-degree drug possession and first-degree drug sale. Currently, individuals who 

are convicted of first-degree drug possession or sale receive the same presumptive 

executed sentence of 86 months. The proposal separates the sentences for first-degree 

drug possession and sale on the basis that drug possession is less culpable than drug 

dealing. The sentence for first-degree drug possession is reduced from 86 months to 48 

months.  

  

Most people agree that long prison sentences for drug users who are chemically 

dependent do not help them get better. Recent data indicate that, with respect to first-

time drug users, long prison sentences not only fail to deter the drug users’ short-sighted 

and impulsive behavior, but also long sentences transform first-time drugs users into 

hardened career criminals. Moreover, as one writer observed, over-imprisonment of first-

time drug users impacts the building blocks of our society by “excessively disrupt[ing] 

work, families and communities.” Stephanos Bibas, “Prisoners without Prisons: 

Incarceration is Important, but Sometimes Alternatives Work Better,” National Review, 

Sept. 21, 2015.   

 

Second, the modifications promote both truth in sentencing and uniformity in sentencing. 

The modifications adjust the presumptive sentence for first-degree drug sale from 86 

months to 65 months to reflect the sentence actually given to first-time drug dealers. The 

adjustment is necessary to achieve the goal of truth in sentencing. MSGC staff studied 

the sentence actually given for a first-time drug offender with a zero criminal history 

score and determined that, when an executed sentence was imposed, it was 

significantly lower than the Guidelines recommendation. Therefore, the presumptive 
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sentence was adjusted.12 Further, the adjustment was necessary to correct a geographic 

disparity in sentencing. 

 

To offset for the adjustment, the modifications add several aggravating factors that allow 

the court to significantly increase the sentence. For example, if the offender is convicted 

of first-degree sale and the State proves two or more of the aggravating factors, the 

sentence could be increased from 65 to 130 months. In short, the presumptive sentence 

for first-degree drug sale is adjusted from 86 to 65 months, but the new aggravating 

factors give the prosecutors the tools to secure an upward durational departure that 

would increase the sentence to 130 months.  

 

Third, the proposal will positively affect public safety. A scheme that allows persons to 

address their chemical dependency benefits not only the individual, but also the State.  

Currently, drug users are convicted of drug possession offenses, and the related 

offenses of theft and burglary to support their habit. The downhill spiral of the drug user’s 

life takes down the family through job loss and often abuse and neglect of their children. 

The proposal will give drug users who are truly chemically dependent the treatment they 

need to get better, and to take their lives back. The benefit to public safety is clear. The 

drug user who stops using drugs will be able to rebuild his or her life and become a 

productive member of society. When this happens the overall number of drug users and 

the crime rate attributable to drug use will drop. In sum, offenders need to be punished 

for the crimes they commit. But longer prison sentences don’t help those who are 

chemically dependent get better, and become productive members of society. 

Additionally, the proposal will give law enforcement and prosecutors additional tools to 

go after drug dealers. The new aggravating factors allow the prosecutors to seek high 

sentences against drug dealers. Moreover, we request that the Legislature amend the 

criminal code to add two enhanced first-degree possession offenses to increase the 

sentences for those found with higher amounts of drugs. 

 

Fourth, we have seen an increase in the number of individuals who are incarcerated for 

drug offenses. Minnesota’s prison population has increased from 5,485 in 1995 to 

10,090 in 2015, which is an 84 percent increase. During the same time period, the prison 

population for drug offenses increased from 704 to 1,911, which is a 171 percent 

increase.13 Commissioner Roy has indicated that our state prison facilities are full.  

 

Impact: MSGC staff estimates that the adopted proposal would have a long-term prison-

bed savings of 523 beds, and that 76 offenders would shift from a prison sentence to 

probation supervision. The complete impact analysis is in Appendix 2.3, on page 91. 

 

                                                           
12 For a detailed explanation of how the adjusted severity level’s sentences were derived from actual sentencing data, 
refer to “Explanation of Staff-Proposed Durations in Proposed Severity Level D9,” retrieved January 11, 2016, at 
http://go.usa.gov/cnFXe.  
13 See “Drug Sentencing Reform Compromise Proposal,” Attachment 4, showing Minnesota’s prison population by 
offense type from 1998 to 2015. Source: Minn. Dep’t of Corrections adult inmate profiles, retrieved July 30, 2015, at 
http://www.doc.state.mn.us/PAGES/index.php/about/statistics/. 
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B. Non-Legislative Modifications to Consecutive Sentencing Policies 

 

Description: The Commission adopted a motion on a vote of 9 to 1 to modify the 

consecutive sentencing policy. 

 

Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted uniform standards establishing how 

consecutive supervised release terms are to be served when two sentences are 

consecutively executed at the same time, at different times, or when the offender had 

already been placed on supervised release for the earlier sentence. The adopted 

modifications also limit the circumstances under which consecutive sentences are 

presumptive. Finally, the Commission adopted technical and clarifying changes to the 

Guidelines and commentary with respect to consecutive sentencing policy. 

 

Discussion: The Guidelines provide circumstances in which two sentences may be 

sentenced consecutively to each other. Consecutive terms of imprisonment are 

straightforward: one is served immediately after the other. Consecutive supervised 

release terms are less straightforward. Currently, Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines 

comment 2.F.02 describes the manner in which consecutive supervised release terms 

were intended to be served: aggregated, and served after the end of the aggregated 

term of imprisonment. The Commission learned, however, that the Department of 

Corrections, unable to construe mere commentary as binding, enforces consecutive 

supervised release terms in a different manner, resulting in actual sentences that differ 

from what sentencing courts—relying on the Guidelines—may have anticipated. To 

eliminate this confusion, the Commission adopted proposed modifications to the 

Guidelines. 

 

In cases where two consecutive sentences are imposed on the same day by the same 

sentencing court, the modifications move the existing policy—to aggregate the 

consecutive terms of imprisonment and the consecutive supervised release terms—from 

the commentary to the Guidelines themselves. The modifications also establish separate 

policies for those situations when consecutive sentences are imposed and executed at 

different times, or when the offender is given a consecutive sentence after already 

starting to serve the first term of supervised release. 

 

The Commission made other changes to consecutive sentencing policy as well. Most of 

these were technical, but one change limited the circumstances under which 

consecutive sentences would be presumptive. Under the current rule, when an offender 

commits an offense on supervised release, consecutive sentencing is presumptive 

unless concurrent sentencing is longer. By requiring the sentencing court to determine 

which sentence would be longer, this rule puts the court in the difficult (and arguably 

improper) position of speculating as to what disciplinary sanction the Department of 

Corrections will impose for committing the new offense while on supervised release. The 
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new rule will remove this conflict by eliminating presumptive consecutive sentencing for 

offenders on supervised release or conditional release. 

 

Impact: If the changes to consecutive supervised release policies are permitted to take 

effect, preliminary estimates from the Department of Corrections (DOC) do not project 

an appreciable impact to prison beds and/or supervision caseloads within the next four 

years. The impact to prison beds and/or supervision caseloads beyond the next four 

years has not been estimated. 

 

DOC staff are projecting an immediate fiscal impact on the DOC to ensure accurate 

reflection of court-imposed sentences, as they relate to release and supervision dates, in 

the DOC Correctional Operations Management System (COMS). The significant 

information-technology programming changes required could take an estimated 9 to 18 

months to complete, at an estimated cost between $196,000 and $392,000, with a mid-

range estimate of $294,000, distributed between FY2017 and FY2018. 

 

 

Staff Activities 
 

The following provides a summary of the activities performed by staff, in addition to 

providing support and research for the Guidelines modifications detailed in this report, to further 

the goals and purpose of the Commission. 

 

Monitoring Sentencing Data 

 

 One of the primary functions of the Sentencing Guidelines Commission staff is to monitor 

sentencing practices. The monitoring system is designed to maintain data on all offenders 

convicted of a felony and sentenced under the Guidelines.14 A case is defined when a 

sentencing worksheet is received from the probation officer and matched with sentencing data 

from the District Court. As part of the agency’s core functions, Commission staff collected and 

analyzed data for over 16,000 felony offenders. Additionally, staff published its annual edition of 

the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary, Report to the Legislature, and various reports on 

sentencing practices and trends. 

 
Training and Assistance 

 

The staff provides assistance with the Guidelines in a variety of ways: traditional training 

seminars, website training materials and informational publications, and email and telephone 

assistance for judges, attorneys, and probation officers in determining appropriate presumptive 

                                                           
14 Beginning in 2006, first-degree murder offenses were included in the Commission’s data. Previously, only 
attempted first-degree murder and conspiracy to commit first-degree murder had been included. First-degree murder 
has a mandatory life sentence; the presumptive sentence is not determined by the Sentencing Guidelines. It was 
decided to include first-degree murder in the Commission’s data following the Legislature’s creation of life sentences 
for certain sex offenses in 2005. The MSGC now maintains data on all life sentences pronounced. 
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sentences. On average, the staff fielded nearly 200 phone calls per month in 2015; the majority 

of which were questions from practitioners about the application of the Guidelines. 

 

 In 2015, staff trained 300 practitioners in eight traditional classroom trainings. In additional to 

fulfilling training requests from probation agencies, public defenders, and prosecutors, this 

year’s classroom trainings included the annual conference of Public Defenders, and training for 

new prosecutors conducted by the Minnesota Association of County Attorneys.  

 

Nearly 200 additional practitioners were trained statewide via the online training service 

WebEx. These trainings allow Commission staff to focus the training on a single topic, giving 

practitioners a more in-depth view of advanced policies. It also allowed Commission staff to train 

large groups in Greater Minnesota while avoiding the time and expense of travel. MSGC training 

staff has also made available recorded training sessions that practitioners can access when 

their schedule permits, making the training more accessible to all practitioners. MSGC staff also 

served as faculty at the 2015 Criminal Justice Institute. All of the above services are offered in 

an effort to promote the accurate application of the Guidelines. 

 

Website 

  

 The Commission’s website receives an average 3,800 visits each month, up 34 percent over 

the previous year. The website includes easily accessible email signup for upcoming trainings, 

public hearing notices, and Commission meeting notices. One-click data requests makes getting 

sentencing information quick and easy.  

  

Data Requests 

 

One of the important ways in which the Commission’s staff works with fellow agencies and 

criminal justice practitioners across the state is researching and compiling statistical data in 

response to information requests. In 2015, MSGC staff responded to over 250 data requests 

totaling a little more than 600 hours. These requests are most often made by lawyers or 

corrections agents to show specific sentencing practices to the court. However, the requests are 

also made by academics, students, other state agencies, legislative staff, law enforcement, and 

the press for other purposes. The topics range from departure data for a single type of offense 

within a given county to comparative data on how an offense has been sentenced from one 

jurisdiction to another.  

 

Collaboration with Criminal Justice Agencies 

 

The staff’s knowledge of felony sentencing and practice makes it a valued contributor to 

criminal justice policy discussions. Each year, Commission staff works with the Department of 

Corrections to generate prison bed projections. MSGC staff also serves on the Criminal and 

Juvenile Justice Information Task Force and the Prison Population Task Force.  
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Fiscal/Racial-Impact Statements 

 

During the 2015 Legislative Session, staff provided 43 fiscal impact statements for 

introduced legislation during the 2015 Legislative Session. These impact statements include 

details as to any increase or decrease in adult offender populations, the estimated net increase 

in state correctional facility beds, and the impact on confinement in local correctional facilities. 

Staff provided the requested information within the time requirements set by the Legislature. 

 

 In 2008, the staff of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission began providing the 

Minnesota Legislature racial-impact notes on proposed crime bills when a disparate impact was 

anticipated. When MSGC staff identifies a disparate racial impact in the course of preparing a 

required fiscal impact statement, it sends a racial-impact note to the chairs of the crime 

committees in the Senate and the House. This is done separately from the required fiscal-

impact statements. In April 2015, staff formalized the criteria and process for conducting racial 

impact statements.15   

  

 During the 2015 Legislative Session, one legislative policy change met the new criteria for 

preparing a racial-impact statement: Senate File 878, Amendment SCS0878A550, added 

ammunition to the provisions prohibiting certain persons from possessing firearms. For felons 

with a prior conviction for a crime of violence, possession of ammunition is now subject to the 

same 5-year mandatory minimum as possession of a firearm. The policy change was enacted 

May 22, 2015.16  

  

 The racial-impact statement17 concluded that, compared to the racial disparity now existing 

in Minnesota’s felony and prison populations, it appeared the enacted amendment will 

exacerbate the racial disparity of both the offender population and the prison population for 

black offenders. 

                                                           
15 The document describing the agency’s criteria and process for conducting racial impact statements is available at 
http://go.usa.gov/cNEPe (retrieved Jan. 5, 2016). 
16 Amendment SCS0878A550 was a floor amendment to an amendment to Senate File No. 878, 89th Minnesota 
Legislature, adopted Apr. 23, 2015, which, as further amended, was enacted on May 22, 2015. The provisions 
relevant to this statement are 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 3, §§ 18, 26, & 28. 
17 The full statement is available at http://go.usa.gov/cNmaA (retrieved Jan. 5, 2016). 
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2014 Sentencing Practices Data Summary 
 

 The following data summarize information about sentencing practices and case volume and 

distribution. The recommended sentence under the Guidelines is based primarily on the severity 

of the offense of conviction and secondarily on the offender’s criminal record. The majority of 

offenders receive the recommended sentence. 

 

 In Minnesota, sentencing of felony offenders is governed by the Sentencing Guidelines. It is 

important, therefore, to be aware of the effect of differences in offense severity and criminal 

history when evaluating sentencing practices. This is particularly important when comparing 

groups of offenders (e.g. by gender, race/ethnicity, and judicial district). For example, if in a 

particular district the proportion of serious person offenders is fairly high, the imprisonment rate 

for that district will likely be higher than for districts with predominantly lower severity-level 

offenses. 

 

Case Volume, Distribution, and Percent Change: Overall and by Offense Type 
 

Minnesota courts sentenced 16,145 felony offenders in 2014, an increase of 5.4 percent 

from 2013. As a proportion of all offenders sentenced, person offenders accounted for 30.4 

percent (4,905 offenders) and property accounted for 28.4 percent (4,589 offenders) (Figure 1). 

* See note 18 below. 

** See note 19 below. 
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The number of offenders sentenced for felony convictions grew significantly between 2001 

and 2006 (Figure 2). This growth can be attributed to the implementation of the felony driving 

while impaired (DWI) law and increases in the number of drug crimes sentenced, particularly 

methamphetamine cases. Significant growth also occurred from 2010 to 2014 (Figure 2), when 

the overall volume of felony offenders increased by 13 percent. This is attributable to the growth 

in drug offenders at 31 percent (again, particularly methamphetamine cases), non-CSC sex 

offenders18 at 17 percent, and “other”19 offenders at 18 percent (Figure 3). The specific offense 

that contributed the most to the growth in the “other” category was possession of a firearm by a 

felon convicted of a crime of violence, which grew from 234 offenders in 2010 to 371 offenders 

in 2014, a 59 percent growth rate.  

 

 

 

By comparison, the overall crime rate for “index crimes”20 has fluctuated over time. It had 

declined in the five years prior to 2012, then grew by 0.7 percent. The rates in both 2013 and 

2014 represented declines. The 2014 rate—2,531 crimes per 100,000 residents—represents a 

decrease of 4.6 percent from the 2013 rate.21 In 2014, 12,352 “violent crimes”20 were reported in 

Minnesota, a decrease of 0.1 percent from the 12,469 violent crimes reported in 2013.  

 

                                                           
18 “Non-CSC sex offenses” are offenses on the sex offender grid other than criminal sexual conduct (chiefly failure to 
register as a predatory offender and possession and dissemination of child pornography). 
19 “Other” category: Possession of a firearm by a felon convicted of a crime of violence, fleeing police, escape, 
discharge of a firearm, and other offenses of less frequency. 
20 “Index Crimes” are Murder, Forcible Rape, Robbery, Aggravated Assault, Burglary, Larceny, Motor Vehicle Theft, 
and Arson. “Violent Crimes” are Murder, Forcible Rape, Robbery, and Aggravated Assault. Obtained July 2015, at 
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/bca-divisions/mnjis/Documents/2014-MN-Crime-Book.pdf, p.11. 
21 State of Minnesota, Department of Public Safety. 1995 to 2014 Uniform Crime Reports. Obtained July 2015, at 
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/bca-divisions/mnjis/Pages/uniform-crime-reports.aspx.  
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Figure 3 shows the percent change, by offense type, in the number of offenders sentenced 

between 2001 and 2014. Between 2013 and 2014, the number of offenders sentenced 

decreased slightly for non-person sex offenses, while the number of offenders sentenced 

increased for all other categories. Felony DWI offenses grew the most, with an increase of 28.6 

percent.  

 

Figure 3.  Year-by-Year Percent Change by Offense Type, 2001-2014  
 

Year 
Sentenced 

Total 
(All 

Offenses) 
Person Property Drug 

Felony 
DWI 

Non-CSC 
Sex 

Offenses22 

Other 
23,24 

2001 3.9% 3.8% 4.2% 0.0%     13.3% 

2002 20.2% 10.4% 17.9% 31.9%     16.3% 

2003 11.7% 6.2% 2.4% 13.8%     2.2% 

2004 1.8% 1.1% -0.8% 3.6% 6.2%   6.2% 

2005 4.8% 6.4% 2.0% 8.1% -3.0%   7.6% 

2006 6.4% 13.7% 7.9% 2.7% -5.5%   1.1% 

2007 -1.7% 7.3% -4.0% -7.1% -6.7%   3.7% 

2008 -4.8% 2.9% -11.5% -6.9% 6.0%   -0.1% 

2009 -3.6% 6.6% -7.0% -7.7% -9.6%   -7.0% 

2010 -3.6% 2.0% -6.8% -7.0% -5.3% 3.1% -2.7% 

2011 1.8% 1.7% -2.4% 2.5% -1.0% 9.9% 17.1% 

2012 4.4% 3.5% 8.8% 4.2% -4.4% 4.0% -2.8% 

2013 0.7% -0.1% -1.7% 7.6% -19.2% 4.6% 2.0% 

2014 5.4% 1.4% 1.3% 14.2% 28.6% -2.1% 1.8% 

 

 

Distribution of Offenders by Gender, Race/Ethnicity and Judicial District 
 

Males have always accounted for more than 80 percent of the felony offenders in Minnesota 

(Table 1). In 2014, 82 percent of the offenders sentenced were male and 18 percent were 

female, a slight increase from 2013 (16.5%). Figure 6 shows the racial and ethnic composition 

of the felony offender population from 1981 through 2014. The percentage of offenders who are 

white has decreased by roughly 25 percent since 1981. This is largely due to an increase in the 

percentage of black offenders, though the percentage of other non-white offenders (particularly 

Hispanic offenders) has also increased over time. 

 

The percent of offenders who are black decreased slightly from 26.4 percent in 2013 to 25.8 

percent in 2014. The percent who are white increased slightly from 58 percent to 58.5 percent. 

The percent who are American Indians increased, while the percent who are Hispanic or Asian 

remained similar to that seen in 2013. 

                                                           
22 See note 18. 
23 See note 19. 
24 “Other” includes DWI before 2004 and non-CSC sex offenses before 2010. 
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Figure 7 displays the 2014 distribution of the racial and ethnic composition by Minnesota 

Judicial District. The largest populations of black offenders are in the Second Judicial District 

(Ramsey County) and the Fourth Judicial District (Hennepin County). These districts include the 

cities of St. Paul and Minneapolis.  
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Figure 6. Distribution of Felony Offenders by Race/Ethnicity, 
1981-2014

White Black American Indian Hispanic Asian Other

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th Total

Other 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.1% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0%

Asian 3.3% 8.7% 1.7% 3.1% 2.6% 0.3% 0.7% 0.0% 0.3% 1.7% 2.7%

Hispanic 6.4% 5.8% 8.2% 3.6% 9.2% 0.9% 3.6% 16.0% 3.3% 3.3% 5.0%

American Indian 3.3% 2.9% 1.0% 4.4% 3.3% 17.4% 13.1% 8.1% 31.3% 4.1% 8.0%

Black 18.1% 47.3% 18.4% 56.2% 11.1% 14.3% 13.1% 4.7% 3.2% 13.9% 25.8%

White 68.9% 35.3% 70.6% 32.7% 73.7% 67.1% 69.4% 71.2% 61.9% 77.1% 58.5%
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Figure 7. Distribution of Felony Offenders by Race and 
Judicial District, 2014
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Incarceration Rates 
 

 Under Minn. Stat. § 609.02, a felony sentence must be at least 366 days long.   

 

 The Guidelines presume who should go to state correctional institutions (prison) and for how 

long. Imprisonment rates are related to the Guideline recommendations and are based on the 

seriousness of the offense and the offender’s criminal history score. In cases in which prison 

sentences are stayed, the court usually places the offender on probation. As a condition of 

probation, the court may impose up to one year of incarceration in a local correctional facility. 

Probationers usually serve time in a local correctional facility and are often given intermediate 

sanctions such as treatment (residential or nonresidential), restitution, and fines. There are no 

specific Guidelines to the court regarding the imposition of these intermediate sanctions.25 

 

 In 2014, 92.2 percent of felony offenders served some time in a local correctional facility or 

prison setting (Total Incarceration, Figure 8). Slightly over 66 percent served time in a local 

correctional facility as part of their stayed sentence (Local Correctional Facility, Figure 8) while a 

little over 26 percent were sentenced to a Minnesota Department of Corrections (DOC) prison 

facility (State Prison, Figure 8), which is reflected in the overall incarceration rate of 92.2 

percent. The imprisonment rates for 2012 to 2014 were the three highest rates observed since 

the Guidelines were implemented. 

 

                                                           
25 While the Commission is authorized to establish, within the Sentencing Guidelines, sanctions for offenders for 
whom imprisonment is not proper (Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 5), it has chosen not to develop specific Guidelines for 
the sanctions and other conditions of stayed sentences. The determination of such sanctions and conditions is left to 
district courts, with general guidance provided in Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines § 3.A.2.  
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 When comparing imprisonment rates across various groups (sex, race or judicial district) it is 

important to note that much of the variation is directly related to the proportion of offenders in 

any particular group who are recommended a prison sentence by the Guidelines based on the 

severity of the offense and the offender’s criminal history. 

 

 Table 1, below, provides total incarceration information for offenders sentenced in 2014.  

The total incarceration rate describes the percentage of offenders who received a sentence that 

included incarceration in a state prison or local correctional facility, following conviction. 

 
Race/Ethnicity 
 

 The total incarceration rate varies somewhat across racial groups (ranging from 91% for 

white offenders to 94.5% for black offenders). Greater variation by race exists in the separate 

rates for prison and local confinement. White offenders were imprisoned at the lowest rate 

(22.7%) whereas black offenders were imprisoned at the highest rate (31.9%). 

 

Judicial District 

 

Variation was also observed in incarceration rates by Judicial District. (Refer to Appendix 1 

for a map of the state’s ten judicial districts.) The Second Judicial District (Ramsey County) had 

the highest total incarceration rate (99.3%) and the Third Judicial District (southeast Minnesota) 

had the lowest total incarceration rate (81.1%). This variation continues with respect to the 

separate rates for prison and local confinement. The Fourth Judicial District (Hennepin County) 

had the highest imprisonment rate (31%), and the First Judicial District (south metro) had the 

lowest imprisonment rate (20.8%). With regard to use of local confinement, the Tenth Judicial 

District (north metro) had the highest rate (72.7%), and the Third Judicial District had the lowest 

rate (55.5%). 

 
Table 1. Total Incarceration Rates by Gender, Race / Ethnicity, and Judicial District, 

2014 
 

  Total 
Cases 

Total 
Incarceration 

State  
Prison 

Conditional 
Confinement 

Gender 
Male 13,219 12,352 93.4% 3,839 29.0% 8,517 64.4% 

Female 2,926 2,540 86.8% 379 13.0% 2,161 73.9% 

Race/ 
Ethnicity 

White 9,443 8,592 91.0% 2,140 22.7% 6,455 68.4% 

Black 4,163 3,933 94.5% 1,328 31.9% 2,606 62.6% 

American Indian 1,296 1,198 92.4% 401 30.9% 797 61.5% 

Hispanic 802 754 94.0% 241 30.0% 513 64.0% 

Asian 439 413 94.1% 108 24.6% 305 69.5% 

Other/Unknown 2 2 100.0% 0 0.0% 2 100.0% 

Judicial 
District 
 
 

First 1,864 1,688 90.6% 388 20.8% 1,300 69.7% 

Second 2,008 1,994 99.3% 538 26.8% 1,456 72.5% 

Third 1,264 1,025 81.1% 324 25.6% 701 55.5% 
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  Total 
Cases 

Total 
Incarceration 

State  
Prison 

Conditional 
Confinement 

 
 
Judicial 
District 

Fourth 3,192 2,975 93.2% 988 31.0% 1,988 62.3% 

Fifth 871 807 92.7% 198 22.7% 609 69.9% 

Sixth 967 820 84.8% 224 23.2% 596 61.6% 

Seventh 1,708 1,657 97.0% 500 29.3% 1,158 67.8% 

Eighth 430 403 93.7% 107 24.9% 298 69.3% 

Ninth 1,510 1,286 85.2% 408 27.0% 878 58.1% 

Tenth 2,331 2,237 96.0% 543 23.3% 1,694 72.7% 

Total  16,145 14,892 92.2% 4,218 26.1% 10,678 66.1% 

 
 

Average Pronounced Prison Sentences and Confinement in a Local Correctional Facility 
 

The average pronounced prison sentence in 2014 was 45.5 months, a slight increase over 

2013 (Figure 9). Numerous changes in sentencing practices and policies, as well as changes in 

the distribution of cases, can affect the average. The average prison sentence increased after 

1989, when the Commission increased—in some cases, doubled—recommended prison 

sentences for higher severity-level offenses. The average amount of local confinement 

pronounced as an interim sanction was 107 days in 2014, compared to 106 days in 2013 

(Figure 9). The average has remained largely constant since 1988. 
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Departures from the Guidelines 

 
A “departure” is a pronounced sentence other than that recommended in the appropriate cell 

of the applicable Guidelines Grid. There are two types of departures – dispositional and 

durational – as further explained below. Since the presumptive sentence is based on “the typical 

case,” the appropriate use of departures by the courts when substantial and compelling 

circumstances exist can actually enhance proportionality by varying the sanction in an atypical 

case. 

 

While the court ultimately makes the sentencing decision, most sentences pronounced by 

the court are based on judicial acceptance of plea agreements between prosecutors and 

defendants after victim input. Probation officers make recommendations to the courts regarding 

whether a departure from the presumptive sentence is appropriate, and prosecutors and 

defense attorneys commonly arrive at agreements regarding acceptable sentences for which an 

appeal will not be pursued. In 2014, prosecutors did not object to at least 61 percent of 

mitigated dispositional departures, nor to at least 75 percent of mitigated durational 

departures.26 Victims are provided an opportunity to comment regarding the appropriate 

sentence as well. Therefore, these departure statistics should be reviewed with an 

understanding that, when the court pronounces a particular sentence, there may be agreement 

or acceptance among the other actors that the sentence is appropriate. Only a small percent of 

cases (1% to 2%) result in an appeal of the sentence pronounced by the court. 

 

When there is departure from the presumptive sentence, the court is required to submit 

substantial and compelling reasons for the departure to the Commission.27 Along with reasons 

for departure, the court may supply information about the position of the prosecutor regarding 

the departure. In 2014, the Commission received departure reasons and/or information about 

the position of the prosecutor—disclosed in either a departure report or a sentencing order—in 

95 percent of the cases involving a departure. In 2014, 97 percent of felony convictions were 

settled without a trial. The Commission recognizes the need to balance the importance of plea 

agreements with the goals of the Guidelines. In the case of a plea agreement, the Commission 

asks courts to explain the underlying reasons for the plea agreement or for the court’s 

acceptance of it.28 

 

                                                           
26 See figures 13 and 15 on pages 34 and 37. 
27 Minn. R. Crim. P. 27.03, subd. 4(C). The reasons for departure may also be stated in the sentencing order. The 
reasons must disclose the particular substantial and compelling circumstances that made the departure more 
appropriate than the presumptive sentence. Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 2.D.1.(c).  
28 See Minn. Sentencing Guidelines comment 2.D.104 (“Plea agreements are important to our criminal justice system 
because it is not possible to support a system where all cases go to trial. However, it is important to have balance in 
the criminal justice system where plea agreements are recognized as legitimate and necessary and the goals of the 
Guidelines are supported. If a plea agreement involves a sentence departure and no other reasons are provided, 
there is little information available to make informed policy decisions or to ensure consistency, proportionality, and 
rationality in sentencing. Departures and their reasons highlight both the success and problems of the existing 
Guidelines. When a plea agreement involves a departure from the presumptive sentence, the court should cite the 
reasons that underlie the plea agreement or explain its reasons for accepting the negotiation.”). 
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In 2014, 72 percent of all felony offenders sentenced received the presumptive Guidelines 

sentence. The remaining 28 percent received some type of departure (Figure 10). 

 

 

 
 
 

 
Dispositional Departures 
 

A “dispositional departure” occurs when the court orders a disposition other than that 

recommended in the Guidelines. There are two types of dispositional departures: aggravated 

dispositional departures and mitigated dispositional departures. An aggravated dispositional 

departure occurs when the Guidelines recommend a stayed sentence but the court pronounces 

an executed prison sentence. A mitigated dispositional departure occurs when the Guidelines 

recommend a prison sentence but the court pronounces a stayed sentence. 

 

In 2014, the combined mitigated and aggravated dispositional departure rate was 

approximately 16 percent: 12 percent mitigated and almost four percent aggravated (Figure 11). 

Most aggravated dispositional departures (87% in 2014) occur when an offender with a 

presumptive stayed sentence requests an executed prison sentence or agrees to the departure 

as part of a plea agreement. This request is usually made in order for the offender to serve the 

sentence concurrently with another prison sentence. The Commission has historically included 

these cases in the departure figures because, for the given offense, the sentence is not the 

presumptive Guidelines sentence.29 If requests for prison are not included in the analysis, the 

aggravated dispositional departure rate—as a measure of judicial compliance—is less than one 

percent (Figure 11, Inset). Because aggravated dispositional departures represent such a small 

                                                           
29 Effective with the 2015 modifications to Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines § 2.D.1, a sentence that is executed 
pursuant to an offender’s right to demand execution will no longer be considered an aggravated dispositional 
departure. None of the cases in this report fell within the scope of the amended rule. 

No Departure,
72%

Aggravated 
Departure, 4%

Mitigated 
Departure, 

23%

Mixed 
Departure, 1%

Figure 10. Combined Dispositional and Durational Departure 
Rates, 2014 
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percentage of cases, the remainder of this analysis will focus on mitigated dispositional 

departures. 

 

 

 

 
 
  
 
Table 2 illustrates dispositional departure rates based on presumptive disposition by gender, 

race, and judicial district. The aggravated dispositional departure rate for offenders 

recommended a stayed sentence (“Presumptive Stays”) was 5.7 percent. The mitigated 

dispositional departure rate for offenders who were recommended prison (“Presumptive 

Commits”) was 34.9 percent. 

 

The mitigated dispositional departure rate for presumptive prison cases is higher for women 

(54%) than men (32.9%). When examined by racial composition, the mitigated dispositional 

departure rate ranged from a low of 27.9 percent for American Indian offenders to a high of 38.5 

percent for white offenders. There was also variation in the rate by Minnesota Judicial District, 

ranging from lows of 28.8 percent in the Eighth District (includes the City of Willmar) and 29.2 

percent in the Seventh District (includes the cities of Moorhead and St. Cloud) to a high of 42.7 

percent in the Sixth Judicial District (includes the cities of Duluth, Hibbing, and Virginia). When 

reviewing Table 2, note that the observed variations may be partly explained by regional 

differences in case volume, charging practices, and plea agreement practices, as well as 

differences in the types of offenses sentenced and criminal history scores of offenders across 

racial groups or across regions. 
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Figure 11. Dispositional Departure Rates
with and without Requests for Prison from Defendant, 2014
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Table 2.  Dispositional Departure Rates by Gender, Race/Ethnicity, and Judicial 
District, 2014 

 

   Presumptive Stays Presumptive Commits 

  
Total 
Cases 

Total 

Aggravated 
Dispositional 

Departure 
Total  

 

Mitigated 
Dispositional 

Departure 

No. Rate No. Rate 

Gender 
Male 13,219 8,204 473 5.8% 5,015 1,649 32.9% 

Female 2,926 2,389 132 5.5% 537 290 54.0% 

Race/ 
Ethnicity 

White 9,443 6,585 383 5.8% 2,858 1,101 38.5% 

Black 4,163 2,368 112 4.7% 1,795 579 32.3% 

American 
Indian 

1,296 834 68 8.2% 462 129 27.9% 

Hispanic 802 493 26 5.3% 309 94 30.4% 

Asian 439 311 16 5.1% 128 36 28.1% 

Other/ 
Unknown 

2 2 0 0.0% 0 0 0.0% 

Judicial 
District 

First 1,864 1,330 72 5.4% 534 218 40.8% 

Second 2,008 1,245 51 4.1% 763 276 36.2% 

Third 1,264 863 58 6.7% 401 135 33.7% 

Fourth 3,192 1,845 97 5.3% 1,347 456 33.9% 

Fifth 871 612 44 7.2% 259 105 40.5% 

Sixth 967 623 27 4.3% 344 147 42.7% 

Seventh 1,708 1,099 69 6.3% 609 178 29.2% 

Eighth 430 305 18 5.9% 125 36 28.8% 

Ninth 1,510 1,038 91 8.8% 472 155 32.8% 

Tenth 2,331 1,633 78 4.8% 698 233 33.4% 

Total  16,145 10,593 605 5.7% 5,552 1,939 34.9% 

 

 

Dispositional departure rates vary for the type of offense. Figure 12 displays the offenses 

with the highest rates of mitigated dispositional departure compared to the overall rate of 35 

percent, and Figure 13 displays the position of the prosecutor as cited by the court.30 In all 

offense categories, amenability to probation and amenability to treatment were the most 

frequently cited substantial and compelling reasons for departure recorded. 

 

In 61 percent of all mitigated dispositional departures in 2014, the court stated that the 

prosecutor agreed to the departure, recommended the departure, or did not object to the 

departure. In 14 percent of these cases, the court stated that the prosecutor objected to the 

                                                           
30 The offenses were selected based on criteria that there were 50 or more “presumptive commitment” cases and the 
mitigated dispositional departure rate was over 40 percent. 
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departure (Figure 13, “Overall”). The court did not supply information on the prosecutor’s 

position in 25 percent of these departures.  

 

 
 

Two of the selected31 offenses in Figures 12 and 13, assault in the second degree and 

failure to register as a predatory offender, have mandatory minimum sentences specified in 

statute, with provisions allowing for departure from those mandatory minimums.  

 

Assault in the second degree, by definition, involves the use of a dangerous weapon and 

therefore carries a mandatory minimum prison sentence (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subds. 4, 5 & 9). 

The second-degree assault statute proscribes a broad range of misbehavior: Injury to the victim 

may or may not occur, and the type of dangerous weapon involved can vary widely, from a pool 

cue to a knife to a firearm. Circumstances surrounding the offense can also vary significantly, 

from barroom brawls to unprovoked confrontations. The mandatory minimum statute specifically 

permits the court to sentence without regard to the mandatory minimum, provided that 

substantial and compelling reasons are present (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 8). It is perhaps 

unsurprising to find many departures in the sentencing of a crime that can be committed in 

many different ways.  

 

Failure to register as a predatory sex offender also has a statutory mandatory minimum 

sentence, accompanied by a statutory provision that allows for sentencing without regard to the 

mandatory minimum (Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 5(d)). 

                                                           
31 See note 30 for selection criteria. 
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Note: Departure reports do not always include information on the prosecutor’s position, which is why the colored 
segments do not add up to 100% for each offense. 
 

 

Durational Departures 

 

A “durational departure” occurs when the court orders a sentence with a duration that is 

other than the presumptive fixed duration or range in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid.  

There are two types of durational departures: aggravated durational departures and mitigated 

durational departures. An aggravated durational departure occurs when the court pronounces a 

duration that is more than 20 percent higher than the fixed duration displayed in the appropriate 

cell on the applicable Grid. A mitigated durational departure occurs when the court pronounces 

a sentence that is more than 15 percent lower than the fixed duration displayed in the 

appropriate cell on the applicable Grid. 

 

In 2014, the mitigated durational departure rate for offenders receiving executed prison 

sentences was lower than observed in 2013, at approximately 26 percent (26.1% compared to 

27.3%). The aggravated durational departure rate increased slightly, from 2.5 percent in 2013 to 

2.8 percent. The trend in lower aggravated durational departure rates since the mid-2000s likely 

reflects the impact of increased presumptive sentences over the past years and issues related 

to the U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296 (2004), which required 

a jury to find all facts—other than the fact of a prior conviction or those facts agreed to by the 

defendant—used to enhance a sentence under mandatory sentencing guidelines.32 

 

                                                           
32 The Minnesota Supreme Court determined that Blakely’s jury requirements applied to aggravated departures under 
the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines. State v. Shattuck, 704 N.W.2d 131 (Minn. 2005). For a discussion of the 
mechanics of aggravated departures, see page 38. 
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In response to the Blakely decision, the 2005 Legislature widened the ranges on the 

Standard Grid to 15 percent below and 20 percent above the presumptive fixed sentenced, 

within which the court may sentence without departure. In 2006, a Sex Offender Grid was 

adopted. The Sex Offender Grid introduced higher presumptive sentences for repeat offenders 

and offenders with prior criminal history records.33 

 

Table 3 illustrates durational departure rates for executed prison sentences by gender, 

race/ethnicity, and Minnesota Judicial District. The mitigated durational departure rate for males 

sentenced in 2014 was higher than for females (26.7% vs. 20.3%). When the departure rate is 

examined by racial and ethnic composition, the rate varies from a low of 17.7 percent for 

American Indian offenders to a high of 38.0 percent for Asian offenders. There is also 

considerable variation in mitigated durational departure rates by Minnesota Judicial District, 

ranging from a low of 6.5 percent in the Eighth Judicial District to a high of 51.1 percent in the 

Fourth Judicial District. 

 

When reviewing the information in Table 3, it is important to note that the observed 

variations may be partly explained by regional differences in case volume, charging practices, 

and plea agreement practices, as well as differences in the types of offenses sentenced and 

criminal history scores of offenders across racial groups or across regions. 

 
Table 3.  Durational Departures by Gender, Race, and Judicial District, Executed 

Prison Sentences Only, 2014 
 

 

 
Executed 

Prison 

Total 
Durational 
Dep. Rate 

Executed Prison Sentences Only 

No Departure 
Aggravated 
Durations 

Mitigated 
Durations 

Gender 
Male 3,839 29.5% 2,705 70.5% 110 2.9% 1,024 26.7% 

Female 379 22.2% 295 77.8% 7 1.8% 77 20.3% 

Race/ 
Ethnicity 

White 2,140 22.5% 1,659 77.5% 52 2.4% 429 20.0% 

Black 1,328 41.1% 782 58.9% 43 3.2% 503 37.9% 

American 
Indian 

401 20.9% 317 79.1% 13 3.2% 71 17.7% 

Hispanic 241 26.6% 177 73.4% 7 2.9% 57 23.7% 

Asian 108 39.8% 65 60.2% 2 1.9% 41 38.0% 

Other/Unk. 0 --- --- --- --- --- --- --- 

Judicial 
District 

 

First  388 20.6% 308 79.4% 14 3.6% 66 17.0% 

Second 538 37.7% 335   62.3% 14 2.6% 189 35.1% 

Third 324 11.4% 287 88.6% 4 1.2% 33 10.2% 

Fourth 988 55.1%  444  44.9% 39 3.9% 505 51.1% 

Fifth 198 20.7% 157 79.3% 5 2.5% 36 18.2% 

Sixth 224 25.4% 167 74.6% 10 4.5% 47 21.0% 

Seventh 500 22.6% 387 77.4% 3 0.6% 110 22.0% 

Eighth 107 7.5% 99 92.5% 1 0.9% 7 6.5% 

Ninth 408 11.3% 362 88.7% 6 1.5% 40 9.8% 

Tenth 543 16.4% 454 83.6% 21 3.9% 68 12.5% 

Total  4,218 28.9% 3,000 71.1% 117 2.8% 1,101 26.1% 

                                                           
33 For a deeper examination of the effect of the Blakely decision on sentencing practices, see the MSGC special 
report:  Impact of Blakely and Expanded Ranges on Sentencing Grid, at: http://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/reports/. 



Report to the Legislature 2016 

 

36 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  
 

As with dispositional departures, it can be helpful to look at offenses with higher than 

average durational departure rates. Figure 14 displays offenses with the highest durational 

departure rates and Figure 15 displays the position of the prosecutor as cited by the court.34  

 

Aggravated durational departure rates were highest for assault in the first degree and 

murder in the second degree. Mitigated durational departure rates were highest for controlled 

substance crime in the first degree, failure to register as a predatory offender, aggravated 

robbery in the first degree, terroristic threats (a crime now known as “threats of violence”), and 

certain persons prohibited from possessing a firearm (“Felon with Gun”). 

 

In 75 percent of all mitigated durational departures in 2014, the court stated that the 

prosecutor agreed to the departure, recommended the departure, or did not object to the 

departure (Figure 15, “Overall”). In six percent of these cases, the court stated that the 

prosecutor objected to the departure. In 19 percent of the mitigated durational departures, the 

court did not provide information on the position of the prosecutor. 

 

In 64 percent of all aggravated durational departures in 2014, the court stated that the 

prosecutor agreed to the departure, recommended the departure, or did not object to the 

departure. In 36 percent of the aggravated durational departures, the court did not provide 

information on the position of the prosecutor. There were no cases in which the court stated that 

the prosecutor objected to the aggravated durational departure. 

 

The discussion on page 33 regarding mandatory minimums applies here: The mandatory 

minimum provisions applicable to two of the high-durational-departure crimes—certain persons 

prohibited from possessing a firearm (“Felon with Gun”) and failure to register as a predatory 

offender—allow for sentencing without regard to the mandatory minimum prison term (Minn. 

Stat. §§ 609.11, subd. 8, & 243.166, subd. 5(d)), and the wide variety of ways in which both 

crimes can be committed may lend themselves to the application of discretion in prosecutorial or 

judicial sentencing practice. 

 

                                                           
34 Selected based on criteria that there were 40 or more executed prison sentences and the aggravated durational 
departure rate was 10 percent or more, or the mitigated durational departure rate was 34 percent or more. 
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Note: Departure reports do not always include information on the prosecutor’s position, which is why the colored 
segments do not add up to 100% for each offense.  
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Mechanics of Aggravated Departures 
 

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines contain a list of aggravating factors that may be used, 

under substantial and compelling circumstances, as reasons to support an aggravated 

departure. The non-exclusive list contains fifteen different aggravating factors.35 Two of those 

factors—major economic offense and major controlled substance offense—contain their own 

lists of circumstances that support that particular factor. 

 

In terms of procedural protections afforded to a criminal defendant, an aggravating factor is 

treated much like an element of the crime itself.36 The prosecutor must notify the defendant of 

the aggravating factor, disclose evidence related to the aggravating factor, and prove the 

existence of the aggravating factor to a jury.37 The defendant may challenge the aggravating 

factor before trial, and, unless a jury finds the aggravating factor at trial, must admit the facts 

supporting the aggravating factor, or permit the judge to find those facts, before the aggravating 

factor may be used to sentence.38 As a result of these procedural requirements, the rates of 

aggravated departures—demands for executed sentence excepted—have been quite low, as 

discussed on page 34. 

 

For example, in 2000, the Commission amended the list to include the following bias-related 

aggravating factor, now found in § 2.D.3.b.(11) of the Sentencing Guidelines: 

 

The offender intentionally select[ed] the victim or the property against which the 
offense [was] committed, in whole or in part, because of the victim’s, the property 
owner’s[,] or another’s actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, 
disability, age or national origin. 

 

In the fifteen years since this bias-related aggravating factor was created, the Commission 

has record of its use in only two aggravated departures.39 The first sentencing occurred in 2002, 

and the second in 2004, a few months after the Blakely decision. 

 
  

                                                           
35 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 2.D.3.b.  

36 For legal background, including a discussion of the Blakely case, see note 32 and accompanying text. 
37 Minn. R. Crim. P. 7.03, 9.01, subd. 1(7), & 26.03. 
38 Minn. R. Crim. P. 11.04, subd. 1, & 26.01. 
39 The factor may have been used in other cases in which the prosecution ultimately did not obtain an aggravated 
departure. It is also possible that the factor was used, but omitted from the departure report, by the sentencing court. 
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County Attorney Firearms Reports 
 

Current law requires all county attorneys in Minnesota, by July 1 of each year, to submit to 

the Commission its data regarding felony cases in which defendants allegedly possessed or 

used a firearm and committed offenses listed in Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subdivision 9.40 The 

Commission is required to include in its annual Report to the Legislature a summary and 

analysis of the reports received. Memoranda describing the mandate, along with forms on which 

to report, are distributed by MSGC staff to County attorneys. Although MSGC staff clarifies 

inconsistencies in the summary data, the information received from the county attorneys is 

reported directly as provided. 

 

Since the mandate began in 1996, the average number of cases involving firearms 

statewide has been 769 yearly. Between July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2015 (FY 2015), there were 

1,211 cases allegedly involving a firearm (Figure 17). This was an 11 percent increase (122 

cases) over the 1,089 cases reported in FY 2014. As shown in Figure 18, of those 1,211 cases, 

prosecutors charged 1,141 cases (94%) while 70 cases (6%) were not charged. 

 

 
 

  

                                                           
40 The statute provides a mandatory minimum sentence of 36 months for the first conviction of specified offenses, and 
60 months for a second.  Offenses include murder in the first, second, or third degree; assault in the first, second, or 
third degree; burglary; kidnapping; false imprisonment; manslaughter in the first or second degree; aggravated 
robbery; simple robbery; first-degree or aggravated first-degree witness tampering; some criminal sexual conduct 
offenses; escape from custody; arson in the first, second, or third degree; felony drive-by shooting; aggravated 
harassment and stalking; felon in possession of a firearm; and felony controlled substance offenses. 
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Of the 1,141 cases charged, 806 (71%) were convicted of offenses designated in Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.11; 147 (13%) were convicted of offenses not covered by the mandatory minimum (e.g., 

threats of violence under Minn. Stat. § 609.713); 145 (13%) had all charges dismissed; 29 (2%) 

were acquitted on all charges; and 14 (1%) were “other” cases including federal prosecutions 

and stays of adjudication (Figure 19). 
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Not Charged, 
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Figure 18. Cases Charged, 2015
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In 715 (89%) of the 806 cases in which there was a conviction for a designated offense, use 

or possession of a firearm was established on the record (Figure 20). The fact-finder, i.e., the 

judge or jury, must establish whether the defendant or an accomplice used or possessed a 

firearm in the commission of the offense at the time of conviction. Minn. Stat. § 609.11, 

subdivision 7. 

 

In the cases in which the firearm was established on the record, 434 offenders (61%)41 were 

sentenced to the mandatory minimum prison term (Figure 20, inset). The statute specifically 

allows the prosecutor to file a motion to have the defendant sentenced without regard to the 

mandatory minimum. The prosecutor must provide a statement as to the reasons for the motion. 

If the court finds substantial mitigating factors, with or without a motion by the prosecutor, the 

defendant may be sentenced without regard to the mandatory minimum. Minn. Stat. § 609.11, 

subdivision 8. 

 

 

 

Figure 20. Cases Convicted of Designated Offense, 
Firearm Established on the Record (Inset), 2015 

 

 
 

 
 

 
                                                           
41  County attorneys’ data for fiscal year 2015 (ending June 30, 2015). According to MSGC monitoring data from 
calendar year 2014, of those offenders whose sentencing worksheets reflected the use or possession of a firearm 
requiring a mandatory prison sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.11, 43 percent (297 offenders) received both the 
mandatory prison disposition and the mandatory minimum duration. In addition, 19 percent (129 offenders) received 
the mandatory prison disposition, but less than the mandatory minimum duration. 
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Table 4.  County Attorney Firearms Reports on Criminal Cases Allegedly, Involving a 
Firearm by MN County, Cases Disposed from July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015 

 

County 

Cases 
Allegedly 

Involving a 
Firearm 

Cases 
Charged 

Cases 
Convicted – 
Designated 

Offense 

Cases in which 
a Firearm was 
Established  

on the Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 

Imposed and 
Executed 

Aitkin 10 10 7 7 5 

Anoka 49 49 31 31 22 

Becker 7 3 1 1 0 

Beltrami 19 12 11 11 11 

Benton 13 12 6 5 5 

Big Stone 1 1 0 0 0 

Blue Earth 6 6 4 2 2 

Brown 9 9 6 1 0 

Carlton* --- --- --- --- --- 

Carver 1 1 1 1 1 

Cass 13 13 5 3 2 

Chippewa 4 4 2 2 2 

Chisago 2 2 1 1 1 

Clay 2 2 1 0 0 

Clearwater 7 7 6 6 5 

Cook 1 1 0 0 0 

Cottonwood 1 1 0 0 0 

Crow Wing 0 0 0 0 0 

Dakota 50 48 35 35 23 

Dodge 0 0 0 0 0 

Douglas 8 8 4 4 4 

Faribault 0 0 0 0 0 

Fillmore 3 3 2 2 2 

Freeborn 0 0 0 0 0 

Goodhue 4 4 2 2 0 

Grant 0 0 0 0 0 

Hennepin 382 382 281 281 175 

Houston 1 1 1 1 0 

Hubbard 1 1 1 1 1 

Isanti 3 3 2 2 0 

Itasca 27 20 14 14 4 

Jackson 0 0 0 0 0 

Kanabec 20 6 3 1 0 

Kandiyohi 7 5 4 4 3 

Kittson 0 0 0 0 0 

Koochiching 0 0 0 0 0 

Lac Qui Parle 1 1 1 1 0 

Lake 3 2 2 2 1 

                                                           
* Not reported as of January 11, 2016. 
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County 

Cases 
Allegedly 

Involving a 
Firearm 

Cases 
Charged 

Cases 
Convicted – 
Designated 

Offense 

Cases in which 
a Firearm was 
Established  

on the Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 

Imposed and 
Executed 

Lake of the Woods 4 4 3 3 2 

Le Sueur 4 4 4 3 1 

Lincoln* --- --- --- --- --- 

Lyon* --- --- --- --- --- 

McLeod 4 4 2 2 2 

Mahnomen 0 0 0 0 0 

Marshall 10 10 10 10 5 

Martin 1 1 1 1 0 

Meeker 70 67 49 0 0 

Mille Lacs 36 35 15 11 7 

Morrison 7 7 7 7 2 

Mower 11 11 9 7 6 

Murray 0 0 0 0 0 

Nicollet 1 1 0 0 0 

Nobles 5 4 1 0 0 

Norman 1 1 1 1 1 

Olmsted 20 12 5 4 4 

Otter Tail 3 1 1 1 0 

Pennington 4 4 1 1 1 

Pine 2 2 1 0 0 

Pipestone 1 1 0 0 0 

Polk 12 12 12 12 5 

Pope 2 2 2 0 0 

Ramsey 144 144 110 110 59 

Red Lake 3 3 1 1 1 

Redwood 0 0 0 0 0 

Renville 2 0 0 0 0 

Rice 17 17 11 9 3 

Rock 0 0 0 0 0 

Roseau 9 9 2 0 0 

Scott 14 14 12 12 10 

Sherburne 20 20 14 11 11 

Sibley 0 0 0 0 0 

St. Louis 50 48 36 34 20 

Stearns 29 29 24 22 11 

Steele 3 3 1 1 1 

Stevens 0 0 0 0 0 

Swift 1 1 0 0 0 

Todd 0 0 0 0 0 

Traverse* --- --- --- --- --- 

Wabasha 4 4 3 1 1 

Wadena 17 4 4 4 1 

                                                           
* Not reported as of January 11, 2016. 
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County 

Cases 
Allegedly 

Involving a 
Firearm 

Cases 
Charged 

Cases 
Convicted – 
Designated 

Offense 

Cases in which 
a Firearm was 
Established  

on the Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 

Imposed and 
Executed 

Waseca 1 1 0 0 0 

Washington 23 23 19 16 9 

Watonwan 1 1 1 1 1 

Wilkin 0 0 0 0 0 

Winona 11 11 7 7 0 

Wright 9 9 3 2 1 

Yellow Medicine 0 0 0 0 0 

Total 1,211 1,141 806 715 434 
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First  
Carver 
Dakota 
Goodhue 
LeSueur 
McLeod  
Scott 
Sibley 

 Second 
Ramsey 

 Third 
Dodge 
Fillmore 
Freeborn 
Houston 
Mower 
Olmsted 
Rice 
Steele 
Wabasha 
Waseca 
Winona 

 Fourth 
Hennepin 

 Fifth 
Blue Earth 
Brown  
Cottonwood 
Faribault 
Jackson 
Lincoln 
Lyon 
Martin 
Murray 
Nicollet 
Nobles  
Pipestone 
Redwood 
Rock 
Watonwan 

 Sixth 
Carlton 
Cook 
Lake 
St. Louis 
 

 Seventh 
Becker 
Benton 
Clay 
Douglas 
Mille Lacs 
Morrison 
Otter Tail 
Stearns  
Todd  
Wadena 
 

 Eighth 
Big Stone 
Chippewa 
Grant 
Kandiyohi 
LacQuiParle 
Meeker 
Pope 
Renville 
Stevens 
Swift  
Traverse 
Wilkin 
Yellow Medicine 

 Ninth 
Aitkin 
Beltrami 
Cass 
Clearwater 
Crow Wing 
Hubbard  
Itasca 
Kittson 
Koochiching 
Lake-Woods 
Mahnomen 
Marshall 
Norman  
Pennington 
Polk 
Red Lake 
Roseau 

 Tenth 
Anoka 
Chisago 
Isanti 
Kanabec 
Pine 
Sherburne 
Washington 
Wright 
 
 

 

Appendix 1.  Minnesota Judicial District Map  

  

Source:  Minnesota Judicial Branch at http://mncourts.gov/?page=238 
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Appendix 2. Adopted Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and 
Commentary 

 

Appendix 2.1. Adopted Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and 
Commentary – Effective August 1, 2015 

 
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission adopted the following modifications to 

the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary resulting from amended and new legislation, 

and other non-legislative policy considerations. 

 

A. New Legislation (New Offense from the 2015 Legislative Session)  

 

The Commission reviewed one felony offense that was newly enacted by the 2015 

Legislature, and adopted severity-level rankings, as follows. 

 

 Wrongful Employment at a Child Care Center 

 

 Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 78, § 59; Minn. Stat. § 609.52 (2014). 

 

Description: A new felony for wrongful employment at a child care center was codified 

at Minn. Stat. § 609.816. This applies to persons who require child care center 

applicants or employees to have one or more children who are eligible for or receive 

child care assistance. The crime is punishable under the theft penalty provisions in Minn. 

Stat. § 609.52, subd. 3, clauses (1) to (5), which range from misdemeanor to felony 

depending on the monetary value of the theft. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Add “609.816, Wrongful Employment at a Child Care Center” 

to the Theft Offense List in § 7, and reference the new offense in § 5.B at Severity Level 

3 (Over $5,000) and Severity Level 2 ($5,000 or less), as follows. 

 

Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 

* * * 
 

 Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.816 Wrongful Employment at a Child Care 
Center (Over $5,000) 

3 

609.816 Wrongful Employment at a Child Care 
Center ($5,000 or Less) 

2 

 
 

* * * 
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Section 7.  Theft Offense List 

 

It is recommended that the following property crimes be treated similarly. Below 

is the Theft Offense List cited for the Theft Crimes ($5,000 or less and over 

$5,000) in section 5.A Offense Severity Reference Table. The severity level for 

these offenses is based on the monetary amount of the conviction offense. The 

monetary amount is contained in the penalty statute as cited below:  

 

 Severity Level 2. When the monetary value of the Theft Crime is $5,000 or 

less, the penalty statute is Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subdivision 3(3)(a).  

 Severity Level 3. When the monetary value of the Theft Crime is over 

$5,000, the penalty statute is Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subdivision 3(2).  

 

* * * 

 

Statute Number Offense Title 

609.816 Wrongful Employment at a Child Care Center 

 

* * * 

 

B. Modified Legislation—Modified Offenses from the 2015 Legislative Session 
 

The following are felony offenses (unless otherwise noted) modified by the 2015 Legislature. 

In some cases, the modifications expanded definitional statements; in others, the 

modifications expanded the scope of the offense. For each item listed below, taking the 

modification into consideration, the Commission decided if the Guidelines needed amending 

including whether offenses should be re-ranked and whether there should be any 

modifications to the permissive consecutive offense list in Guidelines § 6. 

 

1. Extended Protection and Mandatory Minimum, Fourth-Degree Assault 

 

 Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 23 § 1; Minn. Stat. § 609.2231 (2014). 

 

Description: Fourth-degree assault protections were extended to employees 

supervising and working directly with mentally-ill and dangerous patients by modifying 

Minn. Stat. § 609.2231, subd. 3a. 
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Adopted Modifications: 1) Maintain Severity Level 1 ranking in § 5 because the 

statutory maximum remained two years; 2) keep assault in the fourth degree on the list 

of offenses in § 6 which are eligible for permissive consecutive sentences; 3) update 

fourth-degree assault offense titles, as listed in § 5.B, to reflect statutory changes to 

fourth-degree assault enacted since 2004; 4) update Appendix 1; and 5) revise the 

footnote in § 5.B pertaining to fourth-degree assault. The adopted modifications follow. 

 

Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
 

 Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.2231 subd. 1 Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, Peace 
Officer) 

1 

609.2231 subd. 2 Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, 
Firefighters and Emergency Medical 
Personnel) 

1 

609.2231 subd. 3 Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, 
Corrections Employee, Prosecutor, Judge, 
Probation Officer) 

1 * 

609.2231 subd. 3a Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, Secure 
Treatment Facility Personnel) 

1 * 

 
* See section 2.C and Appendix 1 to determine the presumptive disposition for a felony assault 
committed by an State prison inmate serving an executed term of imprisonment or for assault on 
secure treatment facility personnel by persons committed to the Minnesota Sex Offender 
Program. 

 
* * * 

 

Appendix 1.  Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences Reference Table 
 
This table is for convenience when applying mandatory sentences (section 2.E) 
and presumptive sentences (section 2.C).  It is not exhaustive. 
 

* * * 
 

Statute Offense Prerequisite or 
Conditions 

Minimum 
Duration 

609.221, 609.222, 
609.223, – 
609.2231or 
609.224 

Assault 1st through 5th 
Degree 

Committed by 
State prison inmate 
while confined 
(609.2232) 
Must commit 
during “Term of 

Grid Time, 
Consecutive 
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Statute Offense Prerequisite or 
Conditions 

Minimum 
Duration 

Imprisonment” 
portion of 
executed sentence 

609.2231, subd. 
3a(b) 

Assault 4th Degree Committed by 
person committed 
to the Minnesota 
Sex Offender 
Program 

Grid Time 

 
 
* * * 
 

 

2. Engage or Hire Minor to Engage in Prostitution Elements Revised 

 

Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 6, §§ 11-12; Minn. Stat. § 609.324 (2014). 

 

Description: The prostitution statute was modified making the hiring of an adult 

prostitute a felony if the patron reasonably believes the prostitute to be a child under 

Minn. Stat. § 609.324, subd. 1(c). The fact that an undercover operative or law 

enforcement officer was involved is not a defense. 

 

No modifications to the Guidelines were proposed. 

 

 

3. Fifth-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct Elements Revised 

 

Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 6, § 14; Minn. Stat. § 609.3451 (2014). 

 

Description: Fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct (CSC 5) under Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.3451, subd. 1, was expanded to include intentionally touching the body or clothing 

with semen. 

 

No modifications to the Guidelines were proposed. 

 

 

4. Change Offense Title to Include Ammunition, Certain Persons Not to Have 

Firearms 

 

Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 3, §§ 16-20, 26, & 33; Minn. Stat. §§ 609.02, 

609.11, 609.165, 624.713, & 624.715 (2014). 
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Description: A definition for ammunition under Minn. Stat. § 609.02, subd. 17, was 

added. Persons who are not allowed to possess firearms are not allowed to possess 

ammunition, and felons previously convicted of a crime of violence who do so are 

subject to the 5-year mandatory minimum prison sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.11.  

 

Adopted Modifications: Modify §§ 5.A, 5.B, comment 2.E.03, and Appendix 2, to add 

“or Ammunition” after “Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms” in the existing offense 

titles, as follows. 

 

Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 

* * * 
 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

6 
Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms 
or Ammunition 

624.713, subd. 2(b); 
609.165, subd. 1b 

3 
Dangerous Weapons/Certain Persons 
Not to Have Firearms or Ammunition 

609.67, subd. 2; 
624.713, subd. 2(a) 

 
* * * 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 

 
Statute Number Offense Title Severity 

Level 

609.165 subd. 1b Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms or 
Ammunition 

6 

624.713 subd. 2(a) Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms or 
Ammunition 

3 

624.713 subd. 2(b) Certain Persons Not to Have Firearms or 
Ammunition 

6 

  
* * * 
 
2.E.03.  Some offenses by statutory definition involve a dangerous weapon, and 

therefore the mandatory minimum provision dealing with dangerous weapons 

always applies: Assault in the Second Degree under Minn. Stat. § 609.222; Certain 

Persons Not to Have Firearms or Ammunition under Minn. Stat. §§ 624.713, subd. 

2(b) and 609.165, subd. 1b; Drive-By Shootings under Minn. Stat. § 609.66; and 

Stalking (Aggravated Violations) and Possessing a Dangerous Weapon under 
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Minn. Stat. § 609.749, subd. 3(a)(3). The presumptive disposition for these types 

of offenses is imprisonment and the presumptive duration is the mandatory 

minimum sentence prescribed for the conviction offense or the cell time, 

whichever is longer. * * * 

 

Appendix 2.  Dangerous Weapons Offense Reference Table 

 
* * * 

 

Dangerous Weapons – Minn. Stat. § 609.11 

Statute Offense Prerequisite or 
Conditions 

Minimum 
Duration 

609.11, 
subd. 5(b) 

Certain Persons not to 
have Firearms or 
Ammunition 

Current conviction under 
Minn. Stat. § 609.165 or 
Minn. Stat. § 624.713 
subd. 1(2) 

60 
Months  

 
* * * 
 

 

5. Change Offense Title, Firearm Suppressor 

 

Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 3, §§ 19-20; Minn. Stat. § 609.66 (2014). 

 

Description: The bill permits firearm suppressors (formerly known as “silencers”) to be 

possessed if lawfully possessed under federal law. The bill also amends the title of the 

reckless discharge offense under Minn. Stat. § 609.66 by striking “silencers” and 

inserting “suppressors.” The law clarifies that it is lawful to carry a firearm in the Capitol 

area provided there was an issuance of a permit to carry. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Modify §§ 5.A and 5.B to strike “silencer” and add “suppressor” 

in the existing offense titles, as follows. 

 

 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 

 
* * * 
 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

2 Firearm Silencer Suppressor 609.66 subd. 1a(a)(1) 
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Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

3 Firearm Silencer Suppressor (Public 
Housing, School or Park Zone) 

609.66 subd. 1a(a)(1) 

 

* * * 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.66 subd. 1a(a)(1) Firearm Silencer Suppressor 2 
609.66 subd. 1a(a)(1) Firearm Silencer Suppressor (Public 

Housing, School or Park Zone) 
3 

  

  
* * * 

 
 

6. Financial Transaction Card Fraud Expanded to Include Trafficking of SNAP 

Benefits 

 

 Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 78 § 60; Minn. Stat. § 609.52 (2014). 

 

Description: Financial Transaction Card Fraud was amended to include trafficking of 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits. 

 

No modifications to the Guidelines were proposed. 

 

7. Treat New Gross Misdemeanor Reckless Driving Like Non-Traffic Gross 

Misdemeanors for Purposes of Criminal History Score 

 

 Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 65, art. 6, § 3; Minn. Stat. § 169.13, subd. 1 (a) (2014). 

 

Description: The crime of reckless driving under Minn. Stat. §169.13, subd. 1 (a) was 

amended to read: “A person who drives a motor vehicle while aware of and consciously 

disregarding a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the driving may result in harm to 

another or another’s property is guilty of reckless driving. The risk must be of such a 

nature and degree that disregard of it constitutes a significant deviation from the 

standard of conduct that a reasonable person would observe in the situation.” A new 

gross misdemeanor is established if a person causes great bodily harm or death to 

another person. 
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Adopted Modifications: 1) An offender will receive a custody status point for being in a 

custody status for gross misdemeanor reckless driving; and 2) an offender will receive 

one unit for a prior conviction of gross misdemeanor reckless driving. The adopted 

modifications are as follows. 

 

Section 2.B. Criminal History 

 
* * * 

 

1. Custody Status at the Time of the Offense. 

 

a. One Custody Status Point.  Assign one custody status point when the 

conditions in paragraphs (1) through (3) are met: 

* * * 

(1) The offender was under one of the custody statuses in paragraph 

(1) for one of the following: 

(i) a felony; 

(ii) extended jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction; 

(iii) non-traffic gross misdemeanor; 

(iv) gross misdemeanor driving while impaired, or refusal to 

submit to a chemical test, or reckless driving; or 

(v) targeted misdemeanor. 

* * * 

 

2. Prior Gross Misdemeanors and Misdemeanors.  Prior gross misdemeanor 

and misdemeanor convictions count as units comprising criminal history 

points. Four units equal one criminal history point; give no partial point for 

fewer than four units.  Determine units as specified in this section.  

 

a. General Assignment of Units.  If the current conviction is for an offense 

other than criminal vehicular homicide or operation or felony driving 

while impaired (DWI), assign the offender one unit for each prior 

conviction of the following offenses provided the offender received a 
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stayed or imposed sentence or stay of imposition for the conviction 

before the current sentencing:  

* * * 

(4) gross misdemeanor refusal to submit to a chemical test; 

 

(5) gross misdemeanor reckless driving; 

 

(6) a felony conviction resulting in a misdemeanor or gross 

misdemeanor sentence. * * * 

 

* * * 

2.B.205.  The custodial statuses covered by this policy are those occurring after 

conviction of a felony, non-traffic gross misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor 

driving while impaired or refusal to submit to a chemical test, gross misdemeanor 

reckless driving, or misdemeanor on the targeted misdemeanor list provided in 

Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e). Thus, an offender who commits a new felony 

while on pre-trial diversion or pre-trial release on another charge does not get a 

custody status point.  Likewise, offenders serving a misdemeanor sentence for an 

offense not on the targeted misdemeanor list provided in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, 

subd. 1(e), do not receive a custody status point, even if the court imposed the 

misdemeanor sentence upon conviction of a gross misdemeanor or felony. * * * 

 

* * * 

2.B.303.  The Commission placed a limit of one point on the consideration of 

misdemeanors or gross misdemeanors in the criminal history score. This was 

done because, with no limit on point accrual, offenders with lengthy, but 

relatively minor, misdemeanor records could accrue high criminal history scores 

and thus be subject to inappropriately severe sentences upon their first felony 

conviction. The Commission limited consideration of misdemeanors to 

particularly relevant misdemeanors under existing state statute. Offenders whose 

criminal record includes at least four prior sentences for misdemeanors on the 

targeted misdemeanor list provided in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e), non-
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traffic gross misdemeanors, gross misdemeanor reckless driving, and gross 

misdemeanor driving while impaired or refusal to submit to a chemical test are 

considered more culpable and are given an additional criminal history point. * * * 

 
8. Change Offense Title, Terroristic Threats 

 

Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 21, art. 1, § 109, subd. 10; Minn. Stat. § 609.713 

(2014). 

 

Description: The modification did not affect the criminal provisions, but created the 

need to change several references in the Guidelines. The headnote of Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.713 was changed from "Terroristic Threats" to "Threats of Violence.” 

 

Adopted Modifications: Authorized technical changes to the Guidelines, as follows. 

 

Section 2.C. Presumptive Sentence 
 

* * * 

2.C.06. There are rare instances where the presumptive sentence length exceeds 

the statutory maximum sentence. If this situation occurs, the statutory maximum 

sentence becomes the presumptive sentence. For example, Terroristic Threats of 

Violence under Minn. Stat. § 609.713, subd. 3(a)(1) or (2) carries a statutory 

maximum sentence of 12 months and 1 day. * * * 

 
Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines 

 
* * * 

2.D.105. Under Minn. Stat. § 609.13, if a court pronounces a misdemeanor or 

gross misdemeanor sentence for a felony conviction, that conviction is deemed a 

gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor. The sentence is a departure because it is 

outside the appropriate range on the applicable Grid. Because courts sometimes 

fail to issue departure reports in these cases, section 2.D was amended to clarify 

that if the court stays or imposes a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor sentence 

for a felony conviction, the sentence is a departure. 

 

In contrast, if the prosecutor amends the charge to a gross misdemeanor or 

misdemeanor offense prior to conviction, a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor 
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sentence will not be a departure because the sentence will be consistent with the 

level of the charge. When the prosecutor amends the charge, the prosecutor 

must amend it to an existing offense. For example, there is no gross 

misdemeanor version of terroristic threats of violence (Minn. Stat. § 609.713) in 

statute, so a terroristic threats charge of threats of violence cannot be amended 

from a felony to a gross misdemeanor. * * * 

 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 

 
* * * 

 
Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

4 
Terroristic Threats of Violence 
(Terror/Evacuation) 

609.713, subd. 1 

2 
Terroristic Threats of Violence (Bomb 
Threat) 

609.713, subd. 2 

1 
Terroristic Threats of Violence 
(Replica Firearm) 

609.713, subd. 3(a) 

 
* * * 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 

 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.713, subd. 1 Terroristic Threats of Violence - Violence 
Threat (Terror/Evacuation) 

4 

609.713, subd. 2 Terroristic Threats of Violence – (Bomb 
Threat) 

2 

609.713, subd. 3(a) Terroristic Threats of Violence – (Replica 
Firearm) 

1** 

 
 ** See section 2.C.2 and Appendix 3 to determine the presumptive duration. Depending on the offender’s 

criminal history score, the presumptive duration may exceed the statutory maximum. * * * 

 
 
Section 6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences 

 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title 

609.713, subd. 1 Terroristic Threats of Violence - Violence Threat 
(Terror/Evacuation) 

609.713, subd. 2 Terroristic Threats of Violence – (Bomb Threat) 

609.713, subd. 3(a) Terroristic Threats of Violence – (Replica Firearm) 
  
* * * 
 
Appendix 3. Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory 
Maximum Sentence Reference Table 

 
* * * 
 

Statute Offense 
Severity 
Level 

Statutory 
Maximum 
(Months) 

Exceeds 
Statutory 
Maximum 
At: 

609.713, 
subd. 3(a) 

Terroristic Threats of 
Violence – (Replica 
Firearm) 

1 12, and 1 
Day 

CHS 3 

 
* * * 

 

C. Non-Legislative Modifications 
 

The following are non-legislative modifications to the Guidelines that were adopted by the 

Commission. 

 

1. Rank Medical Assistance Fraud Over $35,000 at Severity Level 6 

 

Description: The Guidelines rank particular theft offenses that exceed $35,000, at a 

severity level higher than Severity Level 3. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Rank medical assistance fraud over $35,000 at Severity Level 

6, and remove it from the theft offense list, as follows. 

 

Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 

* * * 
 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

6 Medical Assistance Fraud (Over $35,000) 609.466 
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Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

3 Medical Assistance Fraud (Over $5,000) 609.466 

2 Medical Assistance Fraud ($5,000 or Less) 609.466 

 

 
* * * 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 

 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.466 Medical Assistance Fraud (Over $35,000) 6 
609.466 Medical Assistance Fraud (Over $5,000) 3 
609.466 Medical Assistance Fraud ($5,000 or Less) 2 

  

  
* * * 

 

Section 7. Theft Offense List 

 

It is recommended that the following property crimes be treated similarly. Below 

is the Theft Offense List cited for the Theft Crimes ($5,000 or less and over 

$5,000) in section 5.A Offense Severity Reference Table. The severity level for 

these offenses is based on the monetary amount of the conviction offense. The 

monetary amount is contained in the penalty statute as cited below: 

 

 Severity Level 2.  When the monetary value of the Theft Crime is $5,000 or 

less, the penalty statute is Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subdivision 3(3)(a). 

 

 Severity Level 3.  When the monetary value of the Theft Crime is over $5,000, 

the penalty statute is Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subdivision 3(2). 

 

 

* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title 

609.466 Medical Assistance Fraud 

 

* * * 

 

 

2. Clarify Application of Guidelines Upon Revocation of Stay of Adjudication 

 

Description: If the initial sentence following felony conviction is commitment to the 

Commissioner of Corrections and the Guidelines recommend a stayed sentence, the 

decision to sentence to prison is an aggravated dispositional departure. This is true even 

if the felony conviction results from the revocation of a previously granted stay of 

adjudication. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Modify the Guidelines to make it explicit that a revocation of a 

stay of adjudication to a prison commitment is an aggravated dispositional departure if a 

stayed sentence is presumptive, as follows. 

 

Section 2.C. Presumptive Sentence 
 
* * * 
 

2.C.10.  Because a stay of adjudication is not a felony conviction, the Guidelines 

do not apply unless and until the stay is vacated and conviction is entered.* * * 

 
Note: The modifications in the first paragraph of § 2.D.1, below, are intended to clarify 
the general departure language and are unrelated to stays of adjudication. 

 

Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines 
 

1. Departures in General.  The sentences ranges provided in the Grids are 

presumed to be appropriate for the crimes to which they apply. The court 

must pronounce a sentence of the applicable disposition and within the 

applicable range unless there exist identifiable, substantial, and compelling 

circumstances to support a departuresentence outside the appropriate 

range on the applicable Grid. 

* * * 

e. Revoked Stay of Adjudication. When a felony stay of adjudication is 
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vacated and conviction is entered, the Guidelines must be applied.  To 

the extent that the sentence pronounced immediately following a 

revocation of a stay of adjudication is contrary to the Guidelines 

presumptive sentence, that sentence is a departure.* * * 

 
2.D.106.  The Guidelines do not apply to a stay of adjudication because it is not a 
conviction (see Section 1.A and Comment 2.C.10). If the initial sentence following 
felony conviction is commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections, and the 
Guidelines disposition is a presumptive stayed disposition, it is contrary to the 
Guidelines presumption. Accordingly, the sentence is an aggravated dispositional 
departure from the Guidelines, and “revocation of a stay of adjudication” will be 
noted as the reason for departure, unless the court offers another explanation. 
* * * 

 
 

3. Classify Sentence Executed Pursuant to Offender’s Right to Demand for 

Execution As Not a Dispositional Departure 

  

Description: An offender generally has the right to demand execution of sentence.  

 

Adopted Modifications: Modify the Guidelines making it explicit that a sentence that is 

executed pursuant to an offender’s right to demand execution is not an aggravated 

dispositional departure, as follows: 

 
Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines 

 

1. Departures in General.* * * 

 

f. Offender’s Demand for Execution. A sentence that is executed pursuant 

to an offender’s right to demand execution is not an aggravated 

dispositional departure. * * * 

 
2.D.107.  An offender generally has the right to demand execution of sentence. 
State v. Rasinski, 472 N.W.2d 645, 651 (Minn. 1991); see also Minn. Stat. 
§ 609.135, subd. 7. The Commission does not regard the execution of a 
presumptively stayed sentence as a departure from the Guidelines if the record, 
or the Court’s communication to the Commission, reflects that the sentence was 
executed upon the offender's peremptory demand.* * * 

 
3.A.202.  While the Commission has resolved not to develop guidelines for 

nonimprisonment sanctions at this time, the Commission believes it is important 
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for the sentencing courts to consider proportionality when pronouncing a period 

of local confinement as a condition of probation. This is particularly important 

given Minn. Stat. § 609.135, subd. 7, which states that when an offender may not 

demand execution of sentence. The period of local confinement should be 

proportional to the severity of the conviction offense and the criminal history 

score of the offender. Therefore, the period of local confinement should not 

exceed the term of imprisonment that would be served if the offender were to 

have received an executed prison sentence according to the presumptive 

Guidelines duration. * * * 

 
 
4. List Particular Amenability to Probation as Mitigating Factor 
  
Description: The Minnesota Supreme Court emphasized that mere amenability to 
probation does not justify a departure, but that a defendant must be particularly 
amenable to probation. State v. Soto, 855 N.W.2d 303 (Minn. 2014).  
 
Adopted Modifications: Add to § 2.D.3 regarding mitigating factors that may be used 
as reasons for departure, as follows. 
 

Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines 

 

3. Factors that may be used as Reasons for Departure.  The following is a 

nonexclusive list of factors that may be used as reasons for departure: 

a. Mitigating Factors. * * * 

 

(7) The offender is particularly amenable to probation. This factor may, 

but need not, be supported by the fact that the offender is particularly 

amenable to a relevant program of individualized treatment in a 

probationary setting.* * * 

 

2.D.303.  The requirement that a defendant be “particularly” amenable to 

probation ensures that the defendant's amenability to probation distinguishes 

the defendant from most others and truly presents the substantial and 

compelling circumstances necessary to justify a departure. State v. Soto, 855 

N.W.2d 303, 309 (Minn. 2014).  While social or economic factors cannot justify a 

departure, such facts may be relevant to determining whether a defendant is 

particularly amenable to probation.  Id at 312.  In determining whether a 
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defendant is particularly suitable to individualized treatment in a probationary 

setting, for example, a court is permitted to consider the defendant’s age, prior 

record, remorse, cooperation, attitude before the court, and social support.  State 

v. Trog, 323 N.W.2d 28, 31 (Minn. 1982). * * * 

 

2.D.303304.  * * * 

2.D.304305.  * * * 

2.D.305306.  * * * 

2.D.306307.* * * 

 

D. Technical Modifications 
 

The following are technical modifications to the Guidelines that were adopted by the 

Commission.    

 

1. Update Offense Titles for Criminal Damage to Property 

 

Description: Absent a risk of bodily harm, felony criminal damage to property in the first 

degree is ranked at Severity Level 2. Criminal damage to property in the second degree 

involves the intentional causes to damage because of the property owner's or another's 

actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability. Because the 

descriptive titles in § 5 are incomplete, they may cause confusion. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Update offense titles for damage to property in § 5, as follows. 

 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 

* * * 
 

Severity 

Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

2 

Damage to Property (Over 

$500/Service to Public, Over $1,000, 

Over $500 and Subsequent) 

 

609.595, subd. 1(2), 

(3), & (4) 

 

Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 

* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 

Level 

609.595 subd. 

1(2)(3)(4) 

Damage to Property (Over $500/Service 

to Public, Over $1,000, Over $500 and 

Subsequent) 

2 

 

* * * 

 
 
2. Delete Expired Statutory Language Related to Expunged Records 

 

Description: A portion of a comment in § 2.B related to access to expunged records is 

no longer in effect.  

 

Adopted Modifications: Delete the reference to expired statutory language, as follows. 

 
Section 2.B. Criminal History 

 
* * * 

2.B.03. Effective before January 1, 2015, Minn. Stat. § 609A.03, subd. 7(b) applies 

to expungement orders subject to its limitations, and provides that:  

Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:  

(1) an expunged record may be opened for purposes of a criminal investigation, 

prosecution, or sentencing, upon an ex parte court order;  

. . . 

Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution, or corrections authorities, an 

agency or jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall inform the 

requester of the existence of a sealed record and of the right to obtain access to 

it as provided by this paragraph....  

 

Effective January 1, 2015, Minn. Stat. § 609A.03, subd. 7a(b), provides, in part that:  

 

Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:  

(1) except as provided in clause (2), an expunged record may be opened, used, or 
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exchanged between criminal justice agencies without a court order for the 

purposes of initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or 

prosecution or for sentencing purposes or providing probation or other 

correction services; 

(2) when a criminal justice agency seeks access to a record that was sealed under 

section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), after an acquittal or a 

court order dismissing for lack of probable cause, for purposes of a criminal 

investigation, prosecution, or sentencing, the requesting agency must obtain an 

ex parte court order after stating a good-faith basis to believe that opening the 

record may lead to relevant information ; … .  

* * * 
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Appendix 2.2. Adopted Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and 
Commentary – Effective August 1, 2016 

 
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission adopted the following modifications to 

the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary related to controlled substance offenses and 

consecutive sentences. 

 

A. Non-Legislative Modifications to Controlled Substance Offenses 
 

Description: The Commission adopted proposed modifications to the Guidelines 

relating to the sentencing of drug offenses. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Established a new Drug Offender Grid with recommended 

prison sentences for first-degree controlled substance (sale) between 65 and 125 

months, depending on criminal history. Reduced the severity levels assigned to first-

degree controlled substance (possession) and second-degree controlled substance 

offenses. Added new aggravating factors and a new mitigating factor applicable to 

controlled substance crimes. The adopted modifications are as follows. 

 

Section 1.B. Definitions 
 

As used in these Sentencing Guidelines (or “Guidelines”), the following terms 

have the meanings given. 

 

* * * 

15. Sentencing Guidelines Grids.  The “Sentencing Guidelines Grids” (or 

“Grids”) display presumptive sentences for felony offenses according to 

the severity level of the offense (vertical axis) and offender’s criminal 

history score (horizontal axis). 

 

a. Sex Offender Grid.  The “Sex Offender Grid” displays the presumptive 

sentences for criminal sexual conduct, failure to register as a predatory 

offender, and related offenses as shown on the Sex Offender Grid. 

 

b. Drug Offender Grid.  The “Drug Offender Grid” displays the 

presumptive sentences for controlled substance crime, failure to affix 

stamp, and related offenses as shown on the Drug Offender Grid. 
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c. b. Standard Grid.  The “Standard Grid” displays the presumptive 

sentences for felony offenses not on the Sex Offender Grid or Drug 

Offender Grid. * * * 

 

17. Severity Level.  The “severity level” is a ranking assigned to each felony 

offense by the Sentencing Guidelines Commission to indicate the 

seriousness of the offense. The vertical axis on the applicable grid 

represents the severity of the conviction offense. Felony offenses, other 

than sex and drug offenses, are arranged on the Standard Grid into eleven 

levels of severity, ranging from high (Severity Level 11) to low (Severity 

Level 1). Sex offenses are arranged on the Sex Offender Grid into eight 

severity levels, ranging from high (Severity Level A) to low (Severity Level 

H). Drug offenses are arranged on the Drug Offender Grid into ten levels 

of severity, ranging from high (Severity Level D10) to low (Severity Level 

D1). Offenses listed within each severity level are deemed equally serious. 

 
* * * 

Section 2.B Criminal History 
 
* * * 

1. Prior Felonies.  Assign a particular weight, as set forth in paragraphs a and 

b, to each extended jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction and each felony 

conviction, provided that a felony sentence was stayed or imposed before 

the current sentencing or a stay of imposition of sentence was given 

before the current sentencing. 

 

The severity level ranking in effect at the time the current offense was 

committed determines the weight assigned to the prior offense. 

 

a. Current Offense on Standard Grid or Drug Offender Grid.  If the current 

offense is not on the Sex Offender Grid, determine the weight assigned 

to each prior felony sentence according to its severity level, as follows: 
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 SEVERITY LEVEL POINTS 

1 – 2, D1 – D2 ½ 

3 – 5, D3 – D5  1 

6 – 8, D6 – D8 1 ½ 

9 – 11, D9 – D10 2 

Murder 1st Degree 2 

A 2 

B – E 1 ½ 

F – G 1 

H 
½ (for first offense); 

1 (for subsequent offenses) 

 

b. Current Offense on Sex Offender Grid.  If the current offense is on the 

Sex Offender Grid, determine the weight assigned to each prior felony 

sentence according to its severity level, as follows: 
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SEVERITY LEVEL POINTS 

1 – 2, D1 – D2 ½ 

3 – 5, D3 – D5  1 

6 – 8, D6 – D8 1 ½ 

9 – 11, D9 – D10 2 

Murder 1st Degree 2 

A 3 

B – C 2 

D – E 1 ½ 

F – G 1 

H 
½ (for first offense); 

1 (for subsequent offenses) 

 

  * * * 
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Section 2.C Presumptive Sentence 
 

1. Finding the Presumptive Sentence.  The presumptive sentence for a felony 

conviction is found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid located 

at the intersection of the criminal history score (horizontal axis) and the 

severity level (vertical axis). The conviction offense determines the severity 

level. The offender’s criminal history score is computed according to 

section 2.B above. For cases contained in cells outside of the shaded areas, 

the sentence should be executed. For cases contained in cells within the 

shaded areas, the sentence should be stayed unless the conviction offense 

carries a mandatory minimum sentence. 

 

Each cell on the Standard Grid and the Sex Offender Grids provides a fixed 

sentence duration. Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines 

provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitments. For cells 

above the solid line, the Guidelines provide both a fixed presumptive 

duration and a range of time for that sentence. The shaded areas of the 

grids do not display ranges. If the duration for a sentence that is a 

presumptive commitment is found in a shaded area, the standard range – 

15 percent lower and 20 percent higher than the fixed duration displayed 

– is permissible without departure, provided that the minimum sentence is 

not less than one year and one day, and the maximum sentence is not 

more than the statutory maximum. * * * 

  * * * 

Section 2.D Departures from the Guidelines 
 

3. Factors that may be used as Reasons for Departure.  The following is a 

nonexclusive list of factors that may be used as reasons for departure: 

 

a. Mitigating Factors. 

 

(1) The victim was an aggressor in the incident. 
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(2) The offender played a minor or passive role in the crime or 

participated under circumstances of coercion or duress. 

 
(3) The offender, because of physical or mental impairment, lacked 

substantial capacity for judgment when the offense was committed. 

The voluntary use of intoxicants (drugs or alcohol) does not fall 

within the purview of this factor. 

 

(4) The offender’s presumptive sentence is a commitment but not a 

mandatory minimum sentence, and either of the following exist: 

 

(a) The current conviction offense is at Severity Level 1 or 

Severity Level 2 and the offender received all of his or her 

prior felony sentences during fewer than three separate 

court appearances; or 

(b) The current conviction offense is at Severity Level 3 or 

Severity Level 4 and the offender received all of his or her 

prior felony sentences during one court appearance. 

 

(5) Other substantial grounds exist that tend to excuse or mitigate the 

offender’s culpability, although not amounting to a defense. 

 

(6) The court is ordering an alternative placement under Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.1055 for an offender with a serious and persistent mental 

illness. 

 

(7) The offender is particularly amenable to probation. This factor may, 

but need not, be supported by the fact that the offender is 

particularly amenable to a relevant program of individualized 

treatment in a probationary setting. 
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(8) In the case of a controlled substance offense conviction, the 

offender is found by the district court to be particularly amenable 

to probation based on adequate evidence that the offender is 

chemically dependent and has been accepted by, and can respond 

to, a treatment program in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 152.152 

(2014). 

 

b. Aggravating Factors. 

 

* * * 

(4) The offense was a major economic offense, identified as an illegal 

act or series of illegal acts committed by other than physical means 

and by concealment or guile to obtain money or property, to avoid 

payment or loss of money or property, or to obtain business or 

professional advantage. The presence of two or more of the 

circumstances listed below are is an aggravating factors with 

respect to the offense: 

 

* * * 

(5) The offense was a major controlled substance offense, identified as 

an offense or series of offenses related to trafficking in controlled 

substances under circumstances more onerous than the usual 

offense. The presence of two or more of the circumstances listed 

below are is an aggravating factors with respect to the offense: 

 

(a) the offense involved at least three separate transactions 

wherein in which controlled substances were sold, 

transferred, or possessed with intent to do so sell or transfer; 

(b) the offense involved an attempted or actual sale or transfer 

of controlled substances in quantities substantially larger 

than for personal use offender or an accomplice possessed 

equipment, drug paraphernalia, or monies evidencing the 
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offense was committed as part of wholesale trafficking of a 

controlled substance; 

(c) the offense involved the manufacture of controlled 

substances for use by other parties; 

(d) the offender or an accomplice knowingly possessed a firearm 

or other dangerous weapon, as defined by Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.02, during the commission of the offense; 

(e) the circumstances of the offense reveal the offender to have 

occupied a high position in the drug distribution hierarchy; 

(f) the offense involved a high degree of sophistication or 

planning or occurred over a lengthy period of time or 

involved a broad geographic area of disbursement; or 

(g) the offender used his or her position or status to facilitate 

the commission of the offense, including positions of trust, 

confidence or fiduciary relationships (e.g., pharmacist, 

physician or other medical professional).;  

(h) the offense involved separate acts of sale or possession of a 

controlled substance in three or more counties; 

(i) the offender has a prior conviction for a crime of violence, as 

defined in Minn. Stat. § 609.1095, subd. 1(d), other than a 

violation of a provision under Minn. Stat. chapter 152, 

including attempt or conspiracy, or was convicted of a similar 

offense by the United States or another state; 

(j) the offense involved the sale of a controlled substance to a 

minor or vulnerable adult; and   

(k) the defendant, or an accomplice, manufactured, possessed 

or sold a controlled substance in a school zone, park zone, 

public housing zone, federal, state, or local correctional 

facility, or drug treatment facility. * * * 

 

2.D.304.  The Commission recognizes that in the medical field the diagnosis 

“chemically dependent” has been superseded by the diagnosis “substance use 
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disorder, mild, moderate or severe.” See The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders 5th ed.; (DSM-5); American Psychiatric Association, 

2013.  Because the chemically dependent diagnosis language remains prevalent 

in Minnesota Statutes, the Commission has not adopted the new substance use 

disorder diagnosis language. In the event that the Legislature changes the 

statutory language, the Commission will take appropriate action.  * * * 

 

2.D.304305.  * * * 

2.D.305306.  * * * 

2.D.306307.  * * * 

2.D.307308.* * * 

 

Section 2.E Mandatory Sentence 
 

* * * 

2. Specific Statutory Provisions.  The following mandatory minimum 

provisions should be imposed as indicated. 

* * * 

c. Subsequent Drug Offenses Involving a Dangerous Weapon.  If an 

offender is sentenced for a second or subsequent drug offense and is 

subject to Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5a, the presumptive duration is 

the longer of either: 

 

(1) the mandatory minimum sentence for the subsequent drug offense 

added to the mandatory minimum sentence for the dangerous 

weapon involvement; or 

 

(2) the presumptive duration for the subsequent drug offense provided 

in the appropriate cell on the Standard Drug Offender Grid. * * * 

 
* * * 
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2.E.05.  Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5a, states that for a subsequent drug offense 

involving a weapon, the mandatory minimum duration for the drug offense and 

the mandatory minimum duration for the weapon offense are added 

together. The Guidelines presumptive duration is determined by comparing the 

total sum of the combined mandatory minimums and the duration found in the 

appropriate cell on the Standard Drug Offender Grid for the subsequent drug 

offense; the presumptive duration is the longer of the two. For example:  A third-

degree drug offender with a Criminal History Score of 3 is convicted of a 

subsequent controlled substance offense and was in possession of a firearm. 

 
Mandatory Minimums:  24 months Mand. Min. (Minn. Stat. § 152.023, subd. 3(b)) 

 + 36 months  Mand. Min (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 5(a)) 
= 60 months 

vs. 
 

Grid Cell:  =39 months (Severity Level D6; Criminal History Score of 3).  

 

* * * 

 

Section 5.A.  Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
Offenses subject to a mandatory life sentence, including first-degree murder and 

certain sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subdivision 2, are excluded 

from the Guidelines by law. * * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute 
Number 

9 Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree 152.021 

9 

 

Manufacture Any Amount of 
Methamphetamine 

152.021, 
subd. 2a(a) 

9 Importing Controlled Substances Across State 
Borders 

152.0261 

8 Controlled Substance Crime 2nd Degree 152.022 
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6 Controlled Substance Crime 3rd Degree 152.023 

6 Failure to Affix Stamp on Cocaine 297D.09, 
subd. 1 

6 Failure to Affix Stamp on Hallucinogens or PCP 297D.09, 
subd. 1 

6 Failure to Affix Stamp on Heroin 297D.09, 
subd. 1 

6 Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining Schedule I 
& II Narcotics 

297D.09, 
subd. 1 

5 Possession of Substances with Intent to 
Manufacture Methamphetamine 

152.0262 

-4   Controlled Substance Crime 4th Degree 152.024 

3 Anhydrous Ammonia (Tamper/Theft/Transport) 152.136 

3 Methamphetamine Crimes Involving Children 
and Vulnerable Adults 

152.137 

2 Controlled Substance in the 5th Degree 152.025 

2 Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining Schedule I, 
II, & III Non-Narcotics  

297D.09, 
subd. 1 

2 Medical Cannabis Violations (Submission of 
False Records) 

152.33, subd. 
4 

2 Sale of Synthetic Cannabinoids 152.027, 
subd. 6(c) 

1 Failure to Affix Stamp on 
Marijuana/Hashish/Tetrahydrocannabinols 

297D.09, 
subd. 1 

1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Schedule IV 
Substances 

297D.09, 
subd. 1 

1 Medical Cannabis Violations (Intentional 
Diversion) 

152.33, subd. 
1 

1 Medical Cannabis Violations (Diversion by 
patient, registered Designated Caregiver, or 
Parent) 

152.33, subd. 
2 
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1 Sale of Simulated Controlled Substance 152.097 

 

* * * 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute 
Number 

D10 Manufacture Any Amount of 
Methamphetamine 

152.021, 
subd. 2a(a) 

Importing Controlled Substances Across State 
Borders 

152.0261 

D9 Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree (Sale) 152.021, 
subd. 1 

D8 Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree 
(Possession) 

152.021, 
subd. 2(a) 

D7 Controlled Substance Crime 2nd Degree 152.022 

D6 

 

 

 

 

Controlled Substance Crime 3rd Degree 152.023 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Cocaine 297D.09, 
subd. 1 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Hallucinogens or PCP 297D.09, 
subd. 1 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Heroin 297D.09, 
subd. 1 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining Schedule I 
& II Narcotics 

297D.09, 
subd. 1 

D5 Possession of Substances with Intent to 
Manufacture Methamphetamine 

152.0262 

D4 Controlled Substance Crime 4th Degree 152.024 

D3 

 

Anhydrous Ammonia (Tamper/Theft/Transport) 152.136 

Methamphetamine Crimes Involving Children 
and Vulnerable Adults 

152.137 

D2 Controlled Substance Crime 5th Degree 152.025 
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D2 

 

 

 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining Schedule I, 
II, & III Non-Narcotics  

297D.09, 
subd. 1 

Medical Cannabis Violations (Submission of 
False Records) 

152.33, subd. 
4 

Sale of Synthetic Cannabinoids 152.027, 
subd. 6(c) 

D1 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Failure to Affix Stamp on 
Marijuana/Hashish/Tetrahydrocannabinols 

297D.09, 
subd. 1 

Failure to Affix Stamp on Schedule IV 
Substances 

297D.09, 
subd. 1 

Medical Cannabis Violations (Intentional 
Diversion) 

152.33, subd. 
1 

Medical Cannabis Violations (Diversion by 
patient, registered Designated Caregiver, or 
Parent) 

152.33, subd. 
2 

Sale of Simulated Controlled Substance 152.097 

 

* * * 

 

Section 5.B.  Severity Level by Statutory Citation 

 

Offenses subject to a mandatory life sentence, including first-degree murder and 

certain sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subdivision 2, are excluded 

from the Guidelines by law. * * * 

 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

152.021, subd. 1 Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree 
(Sale) 

D9 

152.021, subd. 2(a) Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree 
(Possession) 

9D8 
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152.021, subd. 2a(a) Manufacture Any Amount of 
Methamphetamine 

9D10 

152.022 Controlled Substance Crime 2nd Degree 8D7 

152.023 Controlled Substance Crime 3rd Degree D6* 

152.024 Controlled Substance Crime 4th Degree D4 

152.025 Controlled Substance Crime 5th Degree D2 

152.0261 Importing Controlled Substances Across 
State Borders 

9D10 

152.0262 Possession of Substances with Intent to 
Manufacture Methamphetamine 

D5 

152.027, subd. 6(c) Sale of Synthetic Cannabinoids D2 

152.097 Sale of Simulated Controlled Substance D1 

152.136 Anhydrous Ammonia 
(Tamper/Theft/Transport) 

D3 

152.137 Methamphetamine Crimes Involving 
Children and Vulnerable Adults 

D3 

152.33, subd. 1 Medical Cannabis Violations (Intentional 
Diversion) 

D1 

152.33, subd. 2 Medical Cannabis Violations (Diversion 
by patient, registered Designated 
Caregiver, or Parent) 

D1 

152.33, subd. 4 Medical Cannabis Violations (Submission 
of False Records) 

D2 

297D.09 subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Cocaine D6 

297D.09 subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Hallucinogens 
or PCP (Angel Dust), Incl. LSD 

D6 

297D.09 subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Heroin D6 

                                                           
* See section 2.C and Appendix 1 to determine the presumptive disposition. 
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297D.09 subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining 
Schedule I and II Narcotics 

D6 

297D.09 subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Remaining 
Schedule I, II, & III Non Narcotics 

D2 

297D.09 subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on 
Marijuana/Hashish/ 
Tetrahydrocannabinols 

D1 

297D.09 subd. 1 Failure to Affix Stamp on Schedule IV 
Substance 

D1 

 

* * * 
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Section 4.A.  Sentencing Guidelines Grid 

 
Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range within 

which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may 

be subject to local confinement. 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

more 

Murder, 2nd Degree  
(intentional murder; drive-by-        
shootings) 

11 
306 

261-367 
326 

278-391 
346 

295-415 
366 

312-439 
386 

329-463 
406 

346-480 2 

426 
363-480 2 

Murder, 3rd Degree 
Murder, 2nd Degree  
   (unintentional murder)  

10 
150 

128-180 
165 

141-198 
180 

153-216 
195 

166-234 
210 

179-252 
225 

192-270 
240 

204-288 

Assault, 1st Degree  
Controlled Substance Crime,  

1st Degree 
9 

86 
74-103 

98 
84-117 

110 
94-132 

122 
104-146 

134 
114-160 

146 
125-175 

158 
135-189 

Agg.ravated Robbery, 1st 
Degree; Controlled Substance 
Crime, 2nd Degree 
Burglary, 1st Degree (w/ 

Weapon or Assault) 

8 
48 

41-57 
58 

50-69 
68 

58-81 
78 

67-93 
88 

75-105 
98 

84-117 
108 

92-129 

Felony DWI; Financial 
Exploitation of a Vulnerable 
Adult  

7 36 42 48 
54 

46-64 
60 

51-72 
66 

57-79 
72 

62-84 2, 3 

Controlled Substance Crime, 3rd 
Degree Assault, 2nd Degree 

Burglary, 1st Degree (Occupied 
Dwelling) 

6 21 27 33 
39 

34-46 
45 

39-54 
51 

44-61 
57 

49-68 

Residential Burglary;       
Simple Robbery 

5 18 23 28 
33 

29-39 
38 

33-45 
43 

37-51 
48 

41-57 

Nonresidential Burglary  
 

4 
 

121 15 18 21 
24 

21-28 
27 

23-32 
30 

26-36 

Theft Crimes  (Over $5,000) 3 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 
21 

18-25 
23 

20-27 

Theft Crimes  ($5,000 or less)     
Check Forgery  ($251-$2,500) 

2 121 121 13 15 17 19 
21 

18-25 

Sale of Simulated 
   Controlled Substance Assault, 

4th Degree 
Fleeing a Peace Officer 

1 121 121 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 

1  121=One year and one day         

 Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. First-degree murder has a mandatory life sentence and is excluded from 
the Guidelines under Minn. Stat. § 609.185.  See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law. 

 
 
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can 
be imposed as conditions of probation.  However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a 
presumptive commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 

2 Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state 
imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one 
year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2. 
3 The stat. max. for Financial Exploitation of Vulnerable Adult is 240 months; the standard range of 20% higher than the fixed duration 

applies at CHS 6 or more.  (The range is 62-86.)       Effective August 1, 2016
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Section 4.C Drug Offender Grid 
 
Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denotes range within which a court may 
sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may be subjected to 
local confinement. 

 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

more 

Manufacture Any Amount of 
Methamphetamine 

D10 
86 

74-103 
98 

84-117 
110 

94-132 
122 

104-146 
134 

114-160 
146 

125-175 
158 

135-189 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
1st Degree Sale 

D9 
65 

56-78 
75 

64-90 
85 

73-102 
95 

81-114 
105 

90-126 
115 

98-138 
125 

107-150 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
1st Degree Possession 

D8 
48 

41-57 
58 

50-69 
68 

58-81 
78 

67-93 
88 

75-105 
98 

84-117 
108 

92-129 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
2nd Degree 

D7 36 42 48 
54 

46-64 
60 

51-72 
66 

57-79 
72 

62-86 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
3th Degree 

Failure to Affix Stamp 
D6 21 27 33 

39 
34-46 

45 
39-54 

51 
44-61 

57 
49-68 

Possess Substances with 
Intent to Manufacture Meth 

D5 18 23 28 
33 

29-39 
38 

33-45 
43 

37-51 
48 

41-57 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
4th Degree 

 
D4 

 
121 15 18 21 

24 
21-28 

27 
23-32 

30 
26-36 

Meth Crimes Involving 
Children and Vulnerable 
Adults 

D3 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 
21 

18-25 
23 

20-27 

Controlled Substance Crime, 
5th Degree 

D2 121 121 13 15 17 19 
21 

18-25 

Sale of Simulated Controlled 
Substance 

D1 121 121 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 

1  121=One year and one day         

  
Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.  
 

 

 
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can 
be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a presumptive 
commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 
 

 
 

 

Effective August 1, 2016 
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Examples of Executed Sentences (Length in Months) Broken Down by:  
 
Term of Imprisonment and Supervised Release Term  
 

Under Minn. Stat. § 244.101, offenders committed to the Commissioner of Corrections for crimes committed on or after 

August 1, 1993 will receive an executed sentence pronounced by the court consisting of two parts:  a specified minimum 

term of imprisonment equal to two-thirds of the total executed sentence and a supervised release term equal to the 

remaining one-third. The court is required to pronounce the total executed sentence and explain the amount of time the 

offender will serve in prison and the amount of time the offender will serve on supervised release, assuming the offender 

commits no disciplinary offense in prison that results in the imposition of a disciplinary confinement period. The court 

must also explain that the amount of time the offender actually serves in prison may be extended by the Commissioner if 

the offender violates disciplinary rules while in prison or violates conditions of supervised release. This extension period 

could result in the offender's serving the entire executed sentence in prison. 

 

Executed 
Sentence 

Term of 
Imprisonment 

Supervised 
Release Term 

Executed 
Sentence 

Term of 
Imprisonment 

Supervised 
Release Term 

12 and 1 day 8 and 1 day 4     58 38 2/3 19 1/3 

13 8 2/3 4 1/3 60 40     20     

15 10     5     65 43 1/3 21 2/3 

17 11 1/3 5 2/3 66 44     22     

18 12     6     68 45 1/3 22 2/3 

19 12 2/3 6 1/3 72 48     24     

21 14     7     75 50     25     

23 15 1/3 7 2/3 78 52     26     

24 16     8     85 56 2/3 28 1/3 

27 18     9     86 57 1/3 28 2/3 

28 18 2/3 9 1/3 88 58 2/3 29 1/3 

30 20     10     95 63 1/3 31 2/3 

33 22     11     98 65 1/3 32 2/3 

36 24     12     105 70     35     

38 25 1/3 12 2/3 108 72     36     

39 26     13     110 73 1/3 36 2/3 

42 28     14     115 76 2/3 38 1/3 

43 28 2/3 14 1/3 122 81 1/3 40 2/3 

45 30     15     125 83 1/3 41 2/3 

48 32     16     134 89 1/3 44 2/3 

51 34     17     146 97 1/3 48 2/3 

54 36     18     158 105 1/3 52 2/3 

57 38     19        
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B. Non-Legislative Modifications to Consecutive Sentencing Policies 
 

Description: The Commission adopted proposed modifications relating to consecutive 

sentencing policy. 

 

Adopted Modifications: Supervised release terms must be served consecutively by an 

offender sentenced consecutively in the same court proceeding, and the longest 

supervised release term must be served by an offender sentenced consecutively in 

separate court proceedings. Further, supervised release and conditional release 

statuses are removed from the criteria for imposing a presumptive consecutive 

sentence. The Court may sentence permissively under qualifying conditions. The 

adopted modifications are as follows. 

 

Section 1.B. Definitions 
 

As used in these Sentencing Guidelines (or “Guidelines”), the following terms 

have the meanings given. 

 

1. Commitment. “Commitment” occurs when the offender is sentenced to the 

custody of the Commissioner of Corrections.  

 

2. Concurrent Sentence. When the court orders sentences to be “concurrent,” 

the court is ordering that multiple sentences be served at the same time.  

 

3. Consecutive Sentence. When the court orders sentences to be 

“consecutive,” the court is ordering that multiple sentences be served one 

after the other in the manner described in section 2.F. 

 

* * * 

 
2.F. Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences 

 

Generally, when an offender is convicted of multiple current offenses, or when 

there is a prior felony sentence that has not expired or been discharged, 

concurrent sentencing is presumptive.  
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This section sets forth the criteria for imposing consecutive sentences. Imposition 

of consecutive sentences in any situation not described in this section is a 

departure. When the court imposes consecutive sentences, the court must 

sentence the offenses in the order in which they occurred.  

 

If two or more sentences are consecutively executed at the same time and by the 

same court, the Commissioner of Corrections must aggregate the sentence 

durations into a single fixed sentence. The aggregate term of imprisonment must 

be served before the aggregate supervised release period.   

 

If a sentence is executed consecutively to an earlier executed sentence (executed 

at an earlier time or by a different court), and the offender has not yet been 

placed on supervised release for the earlier executed sentence, the Commissioner 

of Corrections must aggregate both terms of imprisonment into a single, fixed 

term of imprisonment. The offender will serve the longer of the two supervised 

release terms. 

 

If a sentence is executed consecutively to an earlier executed sentence after the 

supervised release date for the earlier sentence, any remaining supervised release 

term from the earlier executed sentence is tolled while the offender serves the 

consecutive term of imprisonment. The offender will serve what remains of the 

previously tolled supervised release term or the supervised release term for the 

consecutive sentence, whichever is longer. * * * 

 

* * * 

2.F.02.  The service of the consecutive sentence begins at the end of any 

incarceration arising from the first sentence. T When a sentence is executed 

consecutively to another executed sentence on the same day and before the 

same court, the Commissioner of Corrections aggregates the separate durations 

into a single fixed sentence. The two-thirds terms of imprisonment are 

aggregated and served consecutively; then, the one-third and the periods of 

supervised release terms are aggregated and served consecutively as well. For 
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example, if a court executes a 44-month fixed sentence, and a 24-month fixed 

sentence to be served consecutively to the first sentence, the Commissioner of 

Corrections aggregates the sentences into a single 68-month fixed sentence, with 

a specified minimum 45.3-month term of imprisonment and a specified 

maximum 22.7-month period of supervised release. 

44 months (first sentence) 

+24 months consecutive (second sentence) 

=68 months (fixed sentence) 

45.3 months (2/3 – term of imprisonment) 

22.7 months (1/3 – supervised release) 

For example, if a court executes a 60-month fixed sentence, and, at the same 

time, executes a 21-month fixed sentence to be served consecutively to the first 

sentence, the Commissioner of Corrections must aggregate the 40-month and 

14-month terms of imprisonment into a single 54-month fixed term of 

imprisonment, and must aggregate the supervised release terms of 20 months 

and 7 months into a single 27-month fixed term of supervised release to be 

served consecutively, as illustrated below: 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

2.F.03.  When two sentences are executed on different days or before different 

courts, the second sentence is consecutive to the first, and the offender has not 

yet been placed on supervised release for the first sentence at the time the 

second sentence is executed, then the terms of imprisonment will be aggregated. 

The first supervised release term will not run during the aggregate term of 

1st: 40-mo. term of imprisonment 
1st: 20-mo. super-
vised release term 

2nd: 14-mo. 
term of imp. 

= 54-mo. aggregate term of imprisonment 

2nd: 7-
mo. s.r.t. 

= 27-mo. agg. sup. rel. term 
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imprisonment, but the supervised release terms will run at the same time as each 

other. 

 

For example, Judge A sentences an offender to a 60-month executed sentence. 

Judge B later sentences the offender to a 21-month executed sentence, 

consecutive to the 60-month sentence. Neither of the offender’s two supervised 

release terms will begin until the offender has completed the term of 

imprisonment (including disciplinary confinement) for both offenses. When the 

supervised release terms do begin, they will not be aggregated, as they would 

have been if the consecutive sentences were executed by the same judge at the 

same time. Instead, the longer supervised term release will effectively control the 

duration and they will run simultaneously, as illustrated below: 

 

 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 

 

2.F.04.  When an offender has already been placed on supervised release by the 

time the second, consecutive sentence is executed, the terms of imprisonment 

cannot be aggregated. In such a case, the first supervised release term stops 

running during the second term of imprisonment. When the offender is placed 

on supervised release for the consecutive sentence, the first supervised release 

term will resume; the offender will serve the remaining balance on the first 

supervised release term and the second supervised release term at the same 

time. 

 

For example, Judge A sentences an offender to a 60-month executed sentence. 

The offender serves a 40-month term of imprisonment and is placed on 

supervised release for 20 months. Five months after being placed on supervised 

1st: 40-mo. term of imprisonment 
1st: 20-mo. super-
vised release term 

2nd: 14-mo. 
term of imp. 

2nd: 7-
mo. s.r.t. 

= 54-mo. aggregate term of imprisonment = 20-mo. s.r.t. 
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release, Judge B sentences the offender to a 21-month executed sentence, 

consecutive to the 60-month sentence. During the ensuing 14-month term of 

imprisonment (and any disciplinary confinement thereafter), the first sentence’s 

supervised release term is tolled. Upon release, the offender will serve the 

remaining balance of the original supervised release term (now 15 months) 

simultaneous to the service of the consecutive sentence’s supervised release 

term. The longer supervised release term will effectively control the duration, as 

illustrated below: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1. Presumptive Consecutive Sentences.  

 

a. Criteria for Imposing a Presumptive Consecutive Sentence.  

Consecutive sentences are presumptive (required under the Guidelines) 

when: 

(1) the offender is was, at the time of the current offense:  

(i) serving an executed prison sentence; term of 

imprisonment, disciplinary confinement, or 

reimprisonment; or 

(ii) on escape status from an executed prison sentence term of 

imprisonment, disciplinary confinement, or 

reimprisonment; 

(iii) on supervised release; or 
(iv) on conditional release following release from an executed 

prison sentence (see conditional release terms in section 

2.E.3); and 

(tolled sup. 
release) 

1st: 40-mo. term of imprisonment 5 mo. 

2nd: 14-mo. 
term of imp. 

7-mo. 
s.r.t. 

15 mo. sup. 
release 

= 40-mo. term of imprisonment = 5 
mo. 

= 14-mo. t.i. = 15 mo. s.r.t. 

20-mo. supervised release term 
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(2) the presumptive disposition for the current offense(s) is 

commitment. The presumptive disposition for an escape from an 

executed sentence or for a felony assault committed by an inmate 

serving an executed term of imprisonment is always commitment. 

b. Finding the Presumptive Disposition.  The presumptive disposition for 

an escape from an executed sentence or for a felony assault committed 

by an inmate serving an executed term of imprisonment is always 

commitment. In all other cases, the presumptive disposition is 

determined using the criteria in section 2.C. 

 

c. b. Finding the Presumptive Duration.  For each offense sentenced 

consecutively to another offense(s) under this section, the presumptive 

duration is the duration in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid 

at a Criminal History Score of 1, or the mandatory minimum for the 

offense, whichever is longer. 

 

d. c. Exception When Presumptive Concurrent Sentence is Longer.  If the 

criteria in paragraph 2.F.1.a have been met but the total time to serve 

in prison would be longer if a concurrent sentence were imposed, a 

concurrent sentence is presumptive. Otherwise, a concurrent sentence 

is a departure. 

 

e. Consecutive Sentences for Multiple Offenses.  When the court 

pronounces presumptive consecutive sentences for multiple offenses, 

each new offense will be sentenced at a Criminal History Score of 1.  

The new offenses will run concurrently to each other, but consecutive 

to the prior offense.  Permissive consecutive sentencing under section 

2.F.2 is not a departure if it would result in a longer sentence than the 

sentence resulting from this rule. 
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f. d. Departure Factor.  If there is evidence that the defendant has 

provided substantial and material assistance in the detection or 

prosecution of crime, the court may depart from the presumptive 

consecutive sentence and impose a concurrent sentence. 

 

g. e. Felony Driving While Impaired (DWI).  Minn. Stat. § 169A.28 subd. 1 

requires a consecutive sentence when the court sentences an offender 

for a felony DWI and: 

 

(1) the offender has a prior unexpired misdemeanor, gross 

misdemeanor or felony DWI sentence; and 

(2) the disposition for the current offense will be probation; but not 

(3) when the disposition for the current offense will be commitment.  

 

If the court pronounces a consecutive sentence, the presumptive 

duration is based on a Criminal History Score of 1.  Any pronounced 

probationary jail time should be served consecutively to any remaining 

time to be served on the prior DWI offense. * * * 

* * * 

2.F.103.  A concurrent sentence is presumptive if the result is that an offender 

will serve longer in prison. For example, an offender inmate with a Criminal 

History Score of 6 assaults a prison guard during his term of imprisonment and 

has only one month remaining until his supervised release term is scheduled to 

begin. is on supervised release. The offender has one month remaining until the 

sentence expires when the offender commits a theft over $5,000 (Severity Level 

3). The Guidelines would typically recommend that the theft assault run 

consecutively to the unexpired prior except that a concurrent sentence is longer; 

therefore, a concurrent sentence is presumptive.  

1 month (before expiration of sentence scheduled supervised release date) 

 +13 months (Severity Level 3; Criminal History Score of 1) 

=14 months consecutive  

vs. 
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23 months concurrent (Severity Level 3; Criminal History Score of 6) 

+12 mos. and 1 day (Severity Level 1; Criminal History Score of 1) 

=13 mos. and 1 day, consecutive  

vs. 

19 months, concurrent (Severity Level 1; Criminal History Score of 6). 

 

2.F.104.  If the offense is an attempt under Minn. Stat. § 609.17, or a conspiracy 

under Minn. Stat. § 609.175, and the court pronounces a presumptive consecutive 

sentence, the presumptive duration for each offense sentenced consecutively to 

another offense is determined by first locating the duration in the appropriate 

cell on the applicable Grid at a Criminal History Score of 1, then applying the 

rules for attempts and conspiracy set forth in section 2.G.2.  For example, for an 

attempted aggravated robbery offense sentenced presumptive consecutive to 

another offense, the duration found at Severity Level 8 and Criminal History Score 

of 1 (58 months), is divided in half – making the presumptive duration 29 months. 

 

2. Permissive Consecutive Sentences.  

 

a. Criteria for Imposing a Permissive Consecutive Sentence.  Consecutive 

sentences are permissive (may be given without departure) only in the 

situations specified in this section. For each felony offense sentenced 

consecutively to another felony offense(s), the court must use a 

Criminal History Score of 0, or the mandatory minimum for the offense, 

whichever is longer, to determine the presumptive duration.  A 

consecutive sentence at any other duration is a departure. 

 

(1) Specific Offenses; Presumptive Commitment.  Consecutive 

sentences are permissive if the presumptive disposition for the 

current offense(s) is commitment, as outlined in section 2.C, and 

paragraph (i), (ii), or (iii) applies. If the court pronounces a 

consecutive stayed sentence under one of these paragraphs, the 

stayed sentence is a mitigated dispositional departure, but the 
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consecutive nature of the sentence is not a departure. The 

consecutive stayed sentence begins when the offender completes 

the term of imprisonment and is placed on supervised release. 

* * * 

b. Finding the Presumptive Duration.  For each felony offense sentenced 

consecutively to another felony offense(s), the court must use a 

Criminal History Score of 0, or the mandatory minimum for the offense, 

whichever is longer, to determine the presumptive duration.  A 

consecutive sentence at any other duration is a departure. 

 

* * * 

2.F.203.  If the offense is an attempt under Minn. Stat. § 609.17, or a conspiracy 

under Minn. Stat. § 609.175, and the court pronounces a permissive consecutive 

sentence, the presumptive duration for each offense sentenced consecutively to 

another offense is determined by first locating the duration in the appropriate 

cell on the applicable Grid at a Criminal History Score of 0, then applying the 

rules for attempts and conspiracy set forth in section 2.G.2.  For example, for in 

the case of an attempted aggravated robbery offense sentenced permissive 

consecutive to another offense, the duration found at Severity Level 8 and 

Criminal History Score of 0 (48 months), is divided in half – making the 

presumptive sentence 24 months. * * *
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Appendix 2.3. Impact of Proposed Controlled Substance Sentencing 
Modifications 

 
Description 

 

The following analysis is an estimate by MSGC research staff of the fiscal impact of the proposed 

modifications to the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines in the area of drug sentencing, as shown in 

Part A of Appendix 2.2. This analysis was designed to assist the MSGC as it made the considerations 

required in Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 5, and was intended to replicate the standards applicable to an 

agency fiscal note that MSGC research staff might provide for a bill pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 3.98. 

 

If permitted to take effect, this proposal would make the following modifications to controlled 

substance provisions:  
 

1. A drug grid would be created for controlled substance offenses. First-degree sale of a controlled 

substance crime would be ranked at Severity Level D9 on the Drug Offender Grid, with new 

presumptive durations beginning at 65 months. First-degree possession of a controlled substance 

crime would be ranked at Severity Level D8 on the Drug Offender Grid, for which the presumptive 

sentences are the same as those at Severity Level 8 on the Standard Grid. Other offenses 

currently ranked at Severity Level 9 (e.g., first-degree manufacture of methamphetamine) would 

be ranked at Severity Level D10 on the Drug Offender Grid, for which the presumptive sentences 

are the same as those at Severity Level 9 on the Standard Grid. Second-degree controlled 

substance crime would be ranked at Severity Level D7 on the Drug Grid, for which the 

presumptive sentences are the same as those at Severity Level 7 on the Standard Grid. The drug 

grid would contain no changes to the existing presumptive sentences for other controlled 

substance-related offenses.  

 

2. New aggravating factors would be added to the list of aggravating factors that can be cited when 

determining that an offense qualifies as a major controlled substance offense.  

 

3. A new mitigating factor would be added to allow judges to impose downward dispositional 

departures if an offender is found to be chemically dependent.  

 

Assumptions 

 

The projected prison bed impact presented here is based on sentences imposed for controlled 

substance offenses sentenced in 2014. This analysis assumes that drug offenders sentenced in the 

future will resemble the drug offenders sentenced in 2014 with regard to the number of offenders 

sentenced at first and second degrees.   

 

It is assumed that offenses that received dispositional departures when sentenced would continue to 

do so under the proposed changes. Similarly, it is assumed that offenses that move to a severity level 

with lower presumptive sentences will receive the applicable presumptive sentence based on the 

offender’s Criminal History Score unless the offender currently received a mitigated durational 

departure resulting in a sentence that is less than what the new presumptive sentence would be.  

 

It is assumed that the modifications would take effect for offenses committed on and after August 1, 

2016. 
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First-Degree Offenses 

 

Under the proposal, all first-degree drug offenders would continue to have a presumptive disposition 

of imprisonment, and therefore none would move from a presumptive prison sentence to a 

presumptive probation sentence. Of the 278 offenders sentenced for first-degree offenses in 2014, 11 

were sentenced for manufacture of methamphetamine and those presumptive sentences would not 

change. First-degree sale offenses (146 in 2014) would move to a severity level with presumptive 

durations ranging from 64 months to 125 months, depending on criminal history score. First-degree 

possession offenses (121 in 2014) would move to a severity level with presumptive sentences 

ranging from 48 months to 108 months. It is assumed that any offenders who received a mitigated 

dispositional departure would continue to do so in the future. Of the 267 offenders who would move to 

a severity level with lower presumptive durations, 105 (39%) received a mitigated dispositional 

departure and, thus, would not contribute to the bed savings.  

 

It is assumed that the 162 offenders who received prison sentences would receive the presumptive 

duration on the new drug grid corresponding to the applicable criminal history score, unless they 

currently received a mitigated durational departure resulting in a sentence that is less than the new 

presumptive sentence. Of those 162 offenders, 78 (48%) received a mitigated durational departure 

and 55 of those departures resulted in a sentence equal to, or less than, the sentence they would 

receive at the proposed severity levels and, thus, would not contribute to prison bed savings. In sum, 

under the provisions of this bill, 107 of the 278 first-degree offenders sentenced in 2014 (38%) would 

receive a prison sentence that is less than what they received in 2014. 

 

 

Second-Degree Offenses 

 

Under this proposal, all second-degree drug offenders would move to a severity level equivalent to 

Severity Level 7 on the Standard Grid. At that severity level, offenders with a criminal history of 0, 1, 

or 2 have a presumptive disposition of probation. Of the 427 offenders sentenced for a second-

degree drug offense in 2014, 268 were located in cells that would have a presumptive stayed 

sentence under the proposed drug grid. However, any offenders who are subsequent drug offenders 

would continue to have a presumptive prison sentence because of the statutory mandatory minimum. 

Of the 268 offenders who would move to cells with a presumptive stayed sentence, 72 were 

subsequent offenders and therefore would continue to have a presumptive prison disposition. Of the 

196 offenders remaining, 120 received a mitigated disposition and therefore would not contribute to 

prison bed savings. The remaining 76 offenders would have a presumptive probation disposition.  In 

sum, of the 427 offenders sentenced for second-degree offenses in 2014, 76 (18%) would move from 

presumptive prison to presumptive probation who did not already receive probation.  

 

Of the 427 second-degree offenders sentenced in 2014, 231 would continue to have a presumptive 

prison sentence. Of those 231 offenders, 42 received probation and therefore would not contribute to 

prison bed savings. It is assumed that the 189 offenders who received prison sentences would 

receive the presumptive duration on the new drug grid corresponding to the applicable criminal 

history score, unless they currently received a mitigated durational departure resulting in a sentence 

that is less than the new presumptive sentence. Of those 189 offenders, 70 (37%) received a 

mitigated durational departure and 54 of those departures resulted in a sentence equal to, or less 

than, the sentence they would receive at the proposed severity levels and, thus, would not contribute 

to prison bed savings.  
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In sum, of the 427 second-degree drug offenders sentenced in 2014, 76 (18%) would no longer 

receive a prison sentence and 135 (32%) would receive shorter prison sentences as a result of this 

proposal. 

 

 

Estimated Prison Bed Impact  

 

MSGC projects that the proposed modifications to the sentencing grids will eventually result in a prison 

bed savings of 523 beds each year: 38 beds in FY2017 and 523 beds in FY2028 and every year after. 

Table 1 displays the total bed savings, as well as the number of cases that shift from prison to probation, 

and the number of prison cases receiving shorter sentences. Tables 2 and 3 display the projected bed 

savings by race. Allowing a six-month delay for implementation, the timing of the projected bed savings 

is displayed in Table 4.  

  

No estimate is made for the impact of the adoption of additional mitigating and aggravating departure 

factors. In 2014 5 (1%) of the 434 first- and second-degree offenders who received an executed prison 

sentence received an aggravated durational departure. If the number of offenders receiving such a 

departure in the future increases, the projected prison savings could be less than that estimated here. 

On the other hand, if the mitigated dispositional departure rate increases, that may offset any loss in 

projected beds due to increases in aggravated durational departures.   

 

 
Table 1: Projected Prison Bed Savings 

 

Offense 
# of 

Cases  

# Cases 
No 

Change 

# Cases 
Shift to 

Probation 

Prison 
Beds 

# Cases 
Shorter 

Sentences 

Prison 
Beds 

Total 
Prison Bed 

Savings 

Meth Manufacture  11 11 (100%) 0 0 0 0 0 

First-Degree-Sale 146 96 (66%)  0 0 50 (34%) 81 81 

First-Degree-Poss. 121 64 (53%) 0 0 57 (47%) 81 81 

First-Degree Total 278 171 (62%) 0 0 107 (38%) 162 162 

Second-Degree 427 216 (51%) 76 (18%) 212 135 (32%) 148 361 

Totals  705 387 (55%) 76 (11%) 212      242 (34%) 311 523 

 
 

Table 2: First- and Second-Degree Cases Affected Annually, by Race 
 

Race Total Cases No Change 
Cases Shifting to 

Probation 
Cases With 

Shorter Sentences 

White 423 232 (55%)  43 (10%) 148 (35%) 

Black  152   93 (61%) 13 (9%)   46 (30%) 

American Indian  26  14 (54%) 2 (8%)   10 (39%) 

Hispanic  86  40 (47%) 17 (20%) 29 (34%) 

Asian 18 8 (44%) 1 (6%)   9 (50%) 

Totals  705 387 (55%) 76 (11%)  242 (34%) 
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Table 3: Projected Prison Bed Savings by Race 
 

Race 

Total Beds, 1st & 2nd 
Degree Offenses* 

Shift to Probation Shorter Sentences 
Total Prison Bed 

Savings 

# of Beds % of Beds # of Beds % of Beds # of Beds % of Beds # of Beds % of Beds 

White 1,027 56% 126 24% 182 35% 308 59% 

Black  462 25% 33 6% 70 13% 104 20% 

American 
Indian  

59 3% 5 1% 10 2% 15 3% 

Hispanic 221 12% 45 9% 38 7% 83 16% 

Asian 50 3% 2 <1% 11 2% 14 3% 

Totals  1,820 100% 212 41% 311 59% 523 100% 

 

* Estimate, calculated as ⅔ of all executed sentences, in years, pronounced in 2014. 

 

 

Table 4: Timing of Projected Prison Bed Savings 
 

Fiscal Year Total Prison Bed Savings 

2017 38 

2018 108 

2019 170 

2020 255 

2021 345 

2022 391 

2023 421 

2024 463 

2025 487 

2026 506 

2027 519 

2028 523 

 
 

Local Government Fiscal Impact 

 

It is estimated that this bill will result in the shifting of 76 offenders from a prison sentence to probation 

supervision. In 2014, the average pronounced period of probation supervision for second-degree 

offenders who received probation was 149 months (excluding three cases that received unusually 

long pronounced probation lengths). Of the 162 second-degree offenders placed on probation, 86% 

received local confinement time as a condition of felony probation with an average pronounced 

duration of 199 days (serve 133 days i.e., two-thirds of the pronounced duration). Thus, it is estimated 

that there will be an increase in probation caseloads of 76 offenders each year, and the need for 24 

additional jail beds statewide each year. Table 5 displays the distribution by county of the offenders 

sentenced in 2014 who would shift to probation under this proposal. It is meant to be illustrative, 

rather than predictive as the number of offenders sentenced in a particular county for second-degree 

offenses with the applicable criminal history scores is likely to vary from year to year. 
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Table 5: Distribution of Offenders Moving From Prison to Probation by County 
 

County Number Percent 

  Anoka 2 2.6 

 Beltrami 3 3.9 

 Benton 1 1.3 

 Blue Earth 1 1.3 

 Brown 1 1.3 

 Chisago 1 1.3 

 Clay 1 1.3 

 Clearwater 1 1.3 

 Crow Wing 1 1.3 

 Dakota 3 3.9 

 Douglas 2 2.6 

 Faribault 2 2.6 

 Freeborn 1 1.3 

 Goodhue 1 1.3 

 Hennepin 11 14.5 

 Isanti 4 5.3 

 Itasca 1 1.3 

 Kandiyohi 2 2.6 

 Lyon 1 1.3 

 McLeod 2 2.6 

 Martin 1 1.3 

 Meeker 1 1.3 

 Mower 3 3.9 

 Olmsted 5 6.6 

 Polk 4 5.3 

 Ramsey 6 7.9 

 Redwood 1 1.3 

 Renville 1 1.3 

 St. Louis 3 3.9 

 Scott 1 1.3 

 Stearns 3 3.9 

 Steele 1 1.3 

 Todd 1 1.3 

 Washington 1 1.3 

 Watonwan 2 2.6 

Total 76 100.0 

 

 
 

 

 



Appendix 3: Section 4.A. Sentencing Guidelines Grid 
 
Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range 
within which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed 
felony sentences may be subject to local confinement. 

 96 Effective August 1, 2015 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

more 

Murder, 2nd Degree  
(intentional murder; drive-by-        
shootings) 

11 
306 

261-367 
326 

278-391 
346 

295-415 
366 

312-439 
386 

329-463 
406 

346-480 2 

426 
363-480 2 

Murder, 3rd Degree 
Murder, 2nd Degree  
   (unintentional murder)  

10 
150 

128-180 
165 

141-198 
180 

153-216 
195 

166-234 
210 

179-252 
225 

192-270 
240 

204-288 

Assault, 1st Degree  
Controlled Substance Crime,  

1st Degree 
9 

86 
74-103 

98 
84-117 

110 
94-132 

122 
104-146 

134 
114-160 

146 
125-175 

158 
135-189 

Aggravated Robbery, 1st Degree 
Controlled Substance Crime,  

2nd Degree 
8 

48 
41-57 

58 
50-69 

68 
58-81 

78 
67-93 

88 
75-105 

98 
84-117 

108 
92-129 

Felony DWI; Financial Exploitation 

of a Vulnerable Adult 
7 36 42 48 

54 
46-64 

60 
51-72 

66 
57-79 

72 
62-84 2, 3 

Controlled Substance Crime,  
3rd Degree 

6 21 27 33 
39 

34-46 
45 

39-54 
51 

44-61 
57 

49-68 

Residential Burglary       
Simple Robbery 

5 18 23 28 
33 

29-39 
38 

33-45 
43 

37-51 
48 

41-57 

Nonresidential Burglary  
 

4 
 

121 15 18 21 
24 

21-28 
27 

23-32 
30 

26-36 

Theft Crimes  (Over $5,000) 3 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 
21 

18-25 
23 

20-27 

Theft Crimes  ($5,000 or less)     
Check Forgery  ($251-$2,500) 

2 121 121 13 15 17 19 
21 

18-25 

Sale of Simulated 
   Controlled Substance 

1 121 121 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 

1  121=One year and one day 

 

 

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. First-degree murder has a mandatory life sentence and is excluded from 
the Guidelines under Minn. Stat. § 609.185. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law. 

 

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can 
be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a presumptive 
commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 

2 Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state 

imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one 
year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2.  
3 The stat. max. for Financial Exploitation of Vulnerable Adult is 240 months; the standard range of 20% higher than the fixed duration 

applies at CHS 6 or more.  (The range is 62-86.)
  



Appendix 4. Section 4.B. Sex Offender Grid 
 

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range 
within which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed 
felony sentences may be subject to local confinement. 

 97 Effective August 1, 2015 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF 

CONVICTION OFFENSE 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

More 

CSC 1st Degree 
A 

144 

144-172 

156 

144-187 

168 

144-201 

180 

153-216 

234 

199-280 

306 

261-360 

360 

306-360 2 

CSC 2nd Degree–(c)(d)(e)(f)(h) 
Prostitution; Sex Trafficking 3 
1st Degree–1(a) 

B 
90 

90 3-108 
110 

94-132 
130 

111-156 
150 

128-180 
195 

166-234 
255 

217-300 
300 

255-300 2 

CSC 3rd Degree–(c)(d) 
(g)(h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n)(o) 

Prostitution; Sex Trafficking 
2nd Degree–1a 

C 
48 

41-57 
62 

53-74 
76 

65-91 
90 

77-108 
117 

100-140 
153 

131-180 
180 

153-180 2 

CSC 2nd Degree–(a)(b)(g)  
CSC 3rd Degree–(a)(e)(f) 

or(b)with ref. to subd. 2(1) 
Dissemination of Child 

Pornography (Subsequent 
or by Predatory Offender) 

D 36 48 
60 

51-72 
70 

60-84 
91 

78-109 
119 

102-142 
140 

119-168 

CSC 4th Degree–(c)(d) 
(g)(h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n)(o) 

Use Minors in Sexual 
Performance 

Dissemination of Child 
Pornography 2 

E 24 36 48 
60 

51-72 
78 

67-93 
102 

87-120 
120 

102-120 2 

CSC 4th Degree–  
(a)(b)(e)(f); CSC 5th Degree; 
Possession of Child 

Pornography (Subsequent 
or by Predatory Offender) 

F 18 27 36 
45 

39-54 
59 

51-70 
77 

66-92 
84 

72-100 

CSC 3rd Degree–(b) with subd. 
2(2); Indecent Exposure 

Possession of Child 
Pornography; Solicit Child 
for Sexual Conduct 2 

G 15 20 25 30 
39 

34-46 
51 

44-60 
60 

51-60 2 

Registration Of Predatory 
Offenders 

H 
121  

12 1-14 
14 

12 1-16 
16 

14-19 
18 

16-21 
24 

21-28 
30 

26-36 
36 

31-43 

1  121=One year and one day. 

 

 

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. Sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 2, have mandatory life 
sentences and are excluded from the Guidelines. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law, 
including conditional release terms for sex offenders. 

 

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can be 
imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenders in the shaded area of the Grid may qualify for a mandatory life 
sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 4. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 

2  Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state 

imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one 
year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2. 
3  Prostitution; Sex Trafficking is not subject to a 90-month minimum statutory presumptive sentence so the standard range of 15% 

lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration applies. (The range is 77-108.) 
 


