TRESPASS

This is only a summary of the Minnesota Trespass Law relating to taking wild
animals. The complete text of this law is found in Minnesota Statutes Sections
97B.001 and 97A.315. In addition, there are other state laws pertaining to trespass
that may apply. Consult local law enforcement authorities if you have questions.

GENERAL RESTRICTIONS (Note: See below for exceptions,
definitions, and posting requirements.)

1. Permission Required to Enter Agricultural Land. A person may not enter
agricultural land to hunt or trap or to operate 2 motor vehicle for pleasure pur-
poses, without permission.

2. Entering Land Prohibited After Notice. A person may not enter any private
land to take a wild animal after being orally notified not to do so.

3. Entering Posted Land Prohibited. A person may not enter any legally posted
land to take a wild animal, without permission.

4. Taking With Firearms Near Occupied Buildings or Corrals.

(A) On another person’s agricultural land or on a public right-of-way, a person
may not take a wild animal with a firearm within 500 feet of a building occupied
by a human or livestock, without written permission.

(B) On land other than agricultural land, a person may not take a wild animal
with a firearm within 200 feet of a building occupied by a human, without oral
permission.

(C) On any land a person may not take a wild animal with a firearm within
500 feet of a stockade or corral containing livestock, without permission.

5. Destruction of Property. A person may not wound or kill another person’s
domestic animal or destroy, cut, or tear down another person’s fence, building,
grain, crops, live tree or sign legally posting the land.

6. Gate Closing. A person may not pass through another person’s closed gate
without closing the gate. '

EXCEPTIONS TO GENERAL RESTRICTIONS

1. Retrieving Wounded Game From Agricultural Land. A hunter, on foot,
may retrieve wounded game, during the season for the game, from agricultural
land that is not legally posted, unless the person has been orally notified not to
enter the land. The hunter must leave immediately after retrieving the game.

2. Retrieving Dogs From Private Land. A person may, without permission,
enter private land on foot to retrieve a dog that has treed or is at bay with a rac-
coon, bobcat, coyote or fox. This includes private agricultural land, legally posted
land, and land the person has been orally notified not to enter. After retrieving
the dog, the person must immediately leave the premises. Note: This exception
does ot authorize the taking of the raccoon, bobcat, coyote or fox without
permission. ;

DEFINITIONS AND POSTING REQUIREMENTS

Agricultural Land means land: (1) that is plowed or tilled; (2) that has standing
crops or crop residues; or (3) within a maintained fence for enclosing domestic
livestock. ¢

Permission To or Notification Not To enter private land or take wild animals

near occupied buildings or corrals may only be given by the owner, occupant,
or lessee.

Legally Posted Land. The owner, occupant or lessee of private land, or an
authorized manager of public land may prohibit unauthorized hunting, trapping,
fishing, or trespassing on the land by posting signs that: (1) display letters at least
two inches high; (2) are signed by the owner, occupant, lessee or authorized
manager; and (3) are at intervals of 1,000 feet or less along the boundary of the
area, or in a wooded area where boundary lines are not clear, at intervals of 500
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Special Notes

1. Election Day - Tues., November 8. Please use
an absentee ballot if you will be away from home
on this date. Absentee ballots are available from
county auditors.

2. The ANTLERLESS PERMIT APPLICATION
deadline is Thurs., September 8.

3. License agent must provide this synopsis to
anyone requesting it. Purchase of a license is not
required.

4. Public input meetings for hunting and trapping
are held each March throughout the state. Details
will be announced in January.
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feet or less. A person may not erect a sign that states “no hunting”, *no trapping”,
“no fishing”, “no trespassing”, or another sign that prohibits trespass on land or
water where the person does not have a property right, title, or interest to use
the land.

PENALTIES

Criminal Penalties. A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the person:
(1) knowingly disregards signs prohibiting trespass; or (2) trespasses after per-
sonally being notified by the landowner or lessee not to trespass. A person who
violates any other provision of this law relating to trespass is guilty of a misde-
meanor, except a person convicted of violating this law more than once in a three-
year period is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

License Revocations. If a person is convicted under this law of trespassing while
exercising or attempting to exercise an activity licensed under the game and fish
laws or requiring snowmobile registration, the applicable license and registration
are null and void. A person convicted of a gross misdemeanor under this law may
not be issued a license to take game for two years after the conviction.

ENFORCEMENT

Conservation Officers and peace officers must enforce the trespass laws.

DEER LICENSE PURCHASE

— A person may not take deer without a license. A person must have a firearms
deer license to take deer with firearms and an archery deer license to take deer
by archery.

— A person may not purchase more than one firearm deer license and one bow
and arrow deer license in any one calendar year, except for “bonus deer” areas.

— A person under the age of 16 may not obtain a license to take big game unless
the person possesses a firearms safety certificate. A certificate may not be issued
to a person under age 12. A person under the age of 14 must be accompanied
by a parent or guardian to hunt big game.

— “Guardian” is a legal guardian or any person age 18 or over selected by the
parent or legal guardian to supervise the person under age 16.

— Resident licenses may be issued only to (1) citizens of the United States or resi-
dent aliens who have maintained a legal residence in the state at least the im-~
mediately preceding 60 days; (2) a nonresident under the age of 21 who is the
child of a resident; or (3) a person in the armed forces of the United States
that is stationed in the state.

— Nonresidents attending schools in Minnesota are tequired to purchase a non-
resident license for hunting deer or bear in Minnesota except a non-resident
that is a full-time foreign exchange student at a high school in the state and
resides with persons in the state may obtain a resident license to take deer by
archery by providing proof of foreign exchange student status as prescribed by
the commissioner.

MILITARY AND VETERANS
— A resident that is in the armed forces of the United States, stationed outside
of the state, and in the state on leave, may hunt deer or bear without a license
if the resident possesses official military leave papers. The resident must ob-
tain from a county auditor the seals, tags, and coupons required of a licensee
which must be furnished without charge. See Commissioner’s Order
re: antlerless deer.

— A resident that is discharged from the United States armed forces during, or
within ten days before, the firearms deer season may, upon showing the official
discharge paper, obtain a firearm deer license during the season.

— A person authorized to issue licenses must issue, without a fee, a license to
take deer with firearms or by archery to a resident that is a veteran and that
has a 100 percent service connected disability as defined by the United States
Veterans Administration upon being furnished satisfactory evidence.

DEER LICENSE FEES

NON-
LICENSE RESIDENT  RESIDENT
Bow & Arrow Deer License ...................... $2000 $100.00
Firearms Deer License . . ... .. ooiaionmnsvonsisunses 20060 10000

AGENT’S FEE—An additional charge of $1.00 will be made for issuing a deer
license.

— All firearms deer licenses including those for the special muzzleloader season
and bow and arrow deer licenses must be purchased on or before November
4, 1988.

— Licenses are obtainable from County Auditors or their agents. Each applicant
for a license must appear in person before the agent.

LEGAL FIREARMS

— A person may take big game with a firearm only if: (1) the rifle, shotgun, and
handgun used is a caliber of at least .23 inches; (2) the firearm is loaded only
with single projectile ammunition; (3) a projectile used is a caliber of at least
.23 inches and has a soft point or is an expanding bullet type; (4) the ammuni-
tion has a case length of at least 1.285 inches; (5) the muzzleloader used is
incapable of being loaded at the breech; (6) the smooth-bore muzzleloader used
is a caliber of at least .45 inches; and (7) the rifled muzzleloader used is a
caliber of at least .40 inches.

— A person may not take big game with a .30 caliber M-1 carbine cartridge.

— Only metallic open and “peep” type sights are legal during the Special
Muzzleloader Hunt.

— Rifled barrels on shotguns are legal statewide.

HANDGUNS: State law provides that persons 18 years of age or older may carry
a handgun in the woods or fields or upon the waters of this state for the purpose
of hunting or target shooting. The carrying of handguns elsewhere in the state or
in motor vehicles or by persons under the age of eighteen years is subject to special
restrictions and may require a handgun permit. Questions concerning the carrying
of handguns and handgun permits should be directed to your local police or coun-
ty sheriff.

All species of big game may be taken with a handgun, except deer may not be
taken with a handgun (including muzzleloading handguns) at any time in the
Shotgun Zone. A person suffering from a physical disability rendering him/her
incapable of using a shoulder fired gun but capable of using a handgun and possess-
ing a doctor’s statement to this effect may take deer with a handgun in the Shotgun
Zone.

RIFLE—SHOTGUN BOUNDARY: See small inset map on reverse side.
POSSESSION OF FIREARMS

— A person may not possess a firearm or ammunition outdoors during the period
beginning the tenth day before the open firearms season and ending the second
day after the close of the season within an area where deer may be taken by
a firearm, except: (1) during the open season and in an area where big game
may be taken, a firearm and ammunition authorized for taking big game in
that area may be used to take big game in that area if the person has a valid
big game license in possession; (2) an unloaded firearm that is in a case or
in a closed trunk of a motor vehicle; (3) a shotgun and shells containing
No. 4 buckshot or smaller diameter lead shot or steel shot; (4) a handgun or
rifle and only short, long, and long rifle cartridges that are caliber of .22 in-
ches; (5) handguns possessed by a person authorized to carry a handgun under
sections 624.714 and 624.715 for the purpose authorized; and (6) on a target
range operated under a permit from the commissioner.

This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an
ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/Irl/Irl.asp
(Funding for document digitization was provided, in part, by a grant from the Minnesota Historical & Cultural Heritage Program.)

TRANSPORTATION OF FIREARMS

— A person may not transport a firearm in a motor vehicle unless the firearm
is: (1) unloaded and in a gun case expressly made to contain a firearm, and
the case fully encloses the firearm by being zipped, snapped, buckled; tied,
or otherwise fastened, and without any portion of the firearm exposed; (2)
unloaded and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or (3) a handgun carried
in compliance with sections 624.714 and 624.715.

— “Unloaded™ means, with reference to a firearm, without ammunition in the
barrels and magazine, if the magazine is in the firearm. A muzzle loading
firearm with a flintlock ignition is unloaded if it does not have priming powder
in a pan. A muzzle loading firearm with percussion ignition is unloaded if it
does not have a percussion cap on a nipple.

LEGAL BOW AND ARROW
— A person may not take big game by archery while in possession of a firearm.
— Bows must have a pull of no less than 40 pounds at or before full draw.

— Arrowheads used for taking big game must be sharp and have a minimum of
two metal cutting edges, be of a barbless broad head design, and must have
a diameter of at least seven-eighths inch.

— A person may not hunt with a bow drawn, held, or released by a mechanical
device, except with a disabled hunter permit issued under MS. Sec. 97B.106
or as provided by the following: A person may use a mechanical device attached
to the bowstring if the person’s own strength draws, holds, and releases the
bowstring.

— A person may not hunt deer or turkey with a crossbow except by special permit
issued to persons unable to hunt by archery because of a permanent disability
that is verified in writing by a licensed physician.

TRANSPORTATION OF BOWS

— A person may not transport an archery bow in a motor vehicle unless the bow
is (1) unstrung; (2) completely contained in a case; or (3) in the closed trunk
of a motor vehicle.

USE OF ARTIFICIAL LIGHT
WITH FIREARMS AND BOWS

— A person may not cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight, or other artificial light
on a highway, or in a field, woodland, or forest, to spot, locate, or take a wild
animal (except pursuant to 97B.621 and 97B.931), while having in possession,
either individually or as one of a group of persons, a firearm, bow, or other
implement that could be used to kill big game.

— This subdivision does not apply to a firearm that is: (1) unloaded; (2) in a gun
case expressly made to contain a firearm that fully encloses the firearm by be-
ing zipped, snapped, buckled, tied, or otherwise fastened without any portion
of the firearm exposed; and (3) in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle.

— This subdivision does not apply to a bow that is: (1) completely encased or
unstrung; and (2) in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle.

— If the motor vehicle does not have a trunk, the firearm or bow must be placed
in the rearmost location of the vehicle.

WITHOUT FIREARMS OR BOWS

— Between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. from September 1 to December
31, a person may not cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight, or other artificial
light in a field, woodland, or forest to spot, locate, or take a wild animal except
pursuant to 97B.621 and 97B.931. It is not a violation of this subdivision for
a person to carry out any agricultural, occupational, or recreational practice,
including snowmobiling that is not related to spotting, locating or taking a wild
animal.
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SAFETY PROVISIONS

— A person may not hunt or trap during the open season in a zone or area where
deer may be taken by firearms, unless the visible portion of the person’s cap
and outer clothing above the waist, excluding sleeves and gloves, is bright red
or blaze orange. Blaze orange includes a camouflage pattern of at least 50 per-
cent blaze orange within each foot square.

— A person may not discharge a firearm or an arrow from a bow on, over, or
across an improved public highway at a big game animal. A person may not
discharge a firearm or bow and arrow within the right-of-way of an improved
public highway at a big game animal.

— A person may not take protected wild animals with a firearm or by archery
while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.

HUNTING METHOD RESTRICTION

— A person may not take deer from a man-made platform or other structure higher
than sixteen feet above the ground. The restriction does not apply to a portable
stand that is chained, belted, clamped or tied with rope. On Wildlife Manage-
ment Areas, only portable stands may be used and they must not be left
overnight.

— A person may not use radio equipment to take a protected wild animal, or to
take unprotected wild animals without a permit.

— A person may not shoot any wild animal from a motor vehicle. Disabled per-
SOns possessing a permit are excepted.

REGULATIONS FOR ‘PARTY’ HUNTING

1. A party is any group of two or more licensed deer hunters all of whom are
afield hunting together at the same time all using firearms or all using bow and
arrow. Therefore, a mixed weapons group would be two separate parties.

2. Any member of a party may kill a legal buck for any other member of the party
who has an unused tag. Any member of a party may tag a legal buck killed by
any other member of the party.

3. Any member of a party may kill an antlerless deer for any other member of
the party who has an unused tag valid for an antlerless deer. Antlerless deer may
only be tagged by party members licensed to take antlerless deer.

LICENSE REVOCATION

Upon conviction for any big game hunting violation, the license relating thereto
is immediately revoked.
In addition, no big game license of any kind shall be issued to the violator for
a period of three years from the date of conviction if the conviction is:
1. For a big game violation which is classified as a gross misdemeanor;
2. For doing an act without a big game license for which a big game license
is required.
3. For a second violation within a three year period for any other big game
violation.
The Trespass Law, which is summarized in panel 1, also contains penalty provi-
sions which can result in license and registration revocation.

REPORTING VIOLATIONS

If you witness a violation or find an illegally taken animal leave it where you
find it and contact a Conservation Officer, Sheriff’s Office, or the Highway Patrol.
Turn In Poachers. You can remain anonymous — a code number will be used in-
stead of your name. Call 1-800-652-9093, Metro Area: 297-3999. Please do not
call these numbers to obtain hunting regulation information.



REGULAR FIREARMS DEER SEASON

LAST SEASON’S RESULTS

FIREARMS LICENSES SOLD. ..........c.oiuiniaeninnannnn. 416,341

REGISTERED DEER HARVEST ...........cccovioeonenann... 135,003

FIREARMS HUNTER SUCCESS .........ccoouivuiunanninns 32 percent
GENERAL

SHOOTING HOURS — One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.
LIMIT — One deer per person per calendar year.
Exception — See panels 11-12.
LEGAL BUCK — A deer having at least one antler not less than 3 inches long.
Fawn bucks, sometimes called nubbin bucks or button bucks, are not legal bucks.

ANTLERLESS DEER — Does and fawns, including male fawns with nubbins
or antlers less than 3 inches long.

REGISTRATION — You must register the deer you have tagged within 48 hours
after your deer hunting license expires.

WHERE HUNTING IS ALLOWED — Deer season regulations permit hunting
statewide with the following provisions.

1. Zones, areas, and time periods for various kinds of hunts are limited by these
regulations. Please read all of this synopsis.

2. Refuges and state parks are closed to hunting except as specifically opened by
these regulations.

3. Cities, villages, and some townships have ordinances prohibiting the discharge
of weapons. Variance may be only by permit. Check with the office of your
local government unit — expecially if you are within or adjacent to a
metropolitan area.

4. The owners of property — private, corporate, or public agency — have the right
to prohibit hunting on their land.

FIREARM SEASON CHOICES

— The firearms deer hunter has several options from which to select a hunting
period and zone. A hunter’s choice will be indicated by a hole punched in his
license at the time of purchase. All of the alternatives are mutually exclusive
and do not allow hunting under any choice other than the one selected and
punched on the license.

— All of the options fall within the month of November except the Special
Muzzleloader Season. That is a special hunt on designated lands and allows
for taking deer of either sex. Details of that season are given on panels 15-16
of this folder.

— Hunters who choose any of the November options may hunt with muzzleloading
guns but must follow regular firearms rules and cannot hunt in the Special
Muzzleloader Season. '

— A firearms deer hunter may apply for an Antlerless Permit or a Special Area
Permit for the area of his choice within the zone he is licensed for. The various
permit areas are listed on the map side of this folder and on panels 15-16 and
21-24. The separate procedures to be followed in applying for either Antlerless
Permits or Special Area Permits are described on panels 8-10.

See map on reverse side for season choice details.

TYPES OF PERMITS AVAILABLE

— Antlerless Deer Permit. . .required to take an antlerless deer (either sex)
. . .issued by a drawing that recognizes several levels of preference. Preference
levels are determined by the number of unsuccessful applications since last
receiving a permit. Some applicants will receive permits two years in a row
if some permits remain after higher levels are filled. Some top level applicants
can fail to receive a permit if a drawing at the highest level is necessary.

— Special Area Permit. . .required to enter certain areas for hunting. . .issued
by a random (no preference) drawing.

INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLICANTS

Some requirements are the same for both types of permit. They are listed below.
In addition, each type of permit has some special requirements. They are listed
below the general requirements and on panels 9 and 10.

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS — ALL PERMITS

To apply for either an Antlerless Permit or Special Area Permit —

— You must first purchase a 1988 deer license to obtain the application card re-
quired to make application for any permit. This means you must hunt in the
option chosen regardless of whether or not you receive a permit.

— You may NOT apply for both an Antlerless Permit and a Special Area Permit.
You may apply for only one Antlerless Permit or only one Special Area Per-
mit. Bow and arrow permits are not included in this restriction.

— Your application for a permit must be filled out as requested or it will not be
accepted.

— Both Minnesota residents and nonresidents are eligible for permits.
— A permit is not transferable between persons or between permit areas.

— Special requirements that differ between Antlerless Permit applications and
Special Area Permit applications are listed below and on panels 9 and 10.

—ANTLERLESS DEER PERMITS—
GENERAL REQUIREMENTS — See above.
SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR ANTLERLESS PERMITS —

— Antlerless Permits limit the number of people who are allowed to take does
and fawns within a permit area. The number of buck hunters is not limited.

— Antlerless Permit applicants may NOT apply as a party. The volume of ap-
plications requires processing which cannot handle variable size groups to be
treated as one. Do NOT mail application in envelope.

AREAS OPEN FOR ANTLERLESS PERMITS

The permit areas are identified on the firearms deer season map (other side of
sheet) by white numbers within a solid white boundary line. Note that some per-
mit areas are subdivided into registration blocks by white dotted lines and have
several numbers within the solid line boundary. This subdivision of permit areas
has been done only to allow deer registration from the hunting map and does not
affect where you can hunt within the permit area. These permit areas have a single
antlerless permit quota as shown by a bracket within the permit table on the upper
right corner of the map. You may use any one of the numbers within the same
solid boundary to apply for an antlerless permit. The permit will be valid for all
blocks within that solid boundary and bracketed together in the permit table.
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APPLICATION DEADLINE - SEPTEMBER 8, 1988
— Application cards must be postmarked or hand delivered to the DNR License
Center, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, 55155 no later than September 8, 1988.

NOTE

Information regarding the Antlerless Permit drawing and individual applications
will not be available until after October 26.

WINNER SELECTION AND NOTIFICATION—

— If applications for permits exceed the area quotas, computerized drawings will
be held to determine who will be issued permits.

— For Permit Areas requiring a drawing the following procedures will be in effect.

— All applicants for antlerless permits who will reach their 18th birthday by
September 8 must provide their Minnesota Driver’s License or Minnesota Iden-
tification Card number. Also, anyone under 18 who wishes to gain preference
for the 1989 or any future drawings, if they are unsuccessful in the 1988 draw-
ing, must provide one of these numbers.

— However, people who will not reach their 18th birthday by September 8, 1988,
can be in a special drawing for an antlerless permit by providing their Firearms
Safety Training Certificate number. These people will not gain any preference
for the 1989 drawing if unsuccessful in the 1988 drawing. Neither will they
be excluded from the 1989 drawing if they are drawn in 1988.

— This special youth drawing is being held to accommodate young people who
cannot obtain a driver’s license or who do not wish to purchase the I.D. card.
They are being allowed to enter the special drawing until they are 18 years old
at which time they must either obtain a driver’s license or I.D. number to apply
for an antlerless permit.

— The number of antlerless permits available for the special youth drawing will
be determined by the proportion of youths applying for a permit using their
Firearms Safety Training Certificate number versus the total number of antlerless
permits available for that area, as follows:

No. With Firearms Safety No.

— X No. of Permits for Area = No. of Youth
All applications for the Area

Permits for Area

— Although the youths will not gain any preference, this system gives them the
opportunity to apply and be drawn on the same basis as they would have had
prior to the preference system because they are all competing for the youth share
of the permits each year,

— Only successful applicants will be notified. Permits will be drawn and mailed
no later than October 26, 1988.

CONDITIONS OF PERMIT USE —

— A hunter receiving an Antlerless Permit is allowed to hunt antlerless deer only
in the area for which he has received a permit. However, he may hunt bucks
throughout the zone and during the time punched on his license.

— An Antlerless permit is not transferable between persons or between Antlerless
Permit areas.

PARTY HUNTING WITH ANTLERLESS PERMITS—
— See panel 6.

—SPECIAL AREA PERMITS—
GENERAL REQUIRENIENTS — See panel 8.

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR SPECIAL PERMITS—

~ Special Area Permits limit the number of people who are allowed to hunt within
a designated Special Permit Area. Deer of either sex may be taken under such
permits.

— Special Area Permit applicants (1 to 4 persons) are allowed to apply as parties.
Properly completed applications which are submitted in a single envelope will
all be selected or none selected.

— Your application for a Special Area Permit must follow the instructions given
below or it will not be eligible.

AREAS OPEN — (Special Areas are not shown on map.)
— See panels 21-24 (Muzzleloader hunters see panels 15-16).

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS/SPECIAL AREAS—

(Except special bow hunt areas — see panel 14)

— Application for Special Permits must be made on the Antlerless Permit appli-
cation provided with the deer license.

— Write “Special” above the Zone arrow on the form and write the number of
the Special Area you choose in the spaces at the point of the Permit Area arrow.

— Indicate your choice of hunt periods available by writing the dates in the space
above birth date.

— Cross out the address on the back of the application.

— MAIL IN AN ENVELOPE (up to four persons may apply as a party) to the
address given where the Special Area is described.

APPLICATION DEADLINE —

— Envelopes containing application cards must be postmarked or hand delivered
no later than September 8, 1988.

WINNER SELECTION AND NOTIFICATION

— If applications for permits exceed the number allowed, drawings will be held
to determine who will be issued permits.

— Since a Special Area Permit restricts who can enter an area to hunt, allowing
applications by party (1 to 4 persons) is an essential feature. Currently, preference
cannot be given in drawings with party applications because of the complex-
ities of the preference system and limited computer capability. Therefore, the
Special Area Permit drawings will be separate from the preference system. Suc-
cess or failure in either an Antlerless Permit or a Special Area Permit drawing
in some previous year will have no effect on an applicant’s chances for a Special
Area Permit this year.

— Only successful applicants will be notified. Special Area Permits will be drawn
and mailed no later than October 26, 1988.

CONDITIONS OF PERMIT USE —

— A hunter receiving a Special Area Permit is allowed to hunt deer of either sex
or any age within the designated area and time by regular firearms, or
muzzleloader depending upon the type of hunt for which the permit is valid.

The permit holder with a regular firearms license may also hunt bucks in the -

zone for which his license is valid. Muzzleloader permit hunters in the special
season may hunt in the area for which they receive a permit as well as in any
area open without special permits. Only one deer may be taken per hunter,
except as provided in panels 11-12. 10

BONUS DEER REGULATIONS

A Bonus Deer is a legal second deer permitted by the 1988 season regulations.
A second license at the regular fee must be purchased.

BONUS DEER LICENSES WILL BE AVAILABLE—

— in some undersubscribed Antlerless Permit Areas
— in some Special Permit -Areas
— in the Metro Bonus Bow Area

PURCHASE IS AUTHORIZED—

— by a certificate issued to randomly drawn antlerless permit holders in under-
subscribed areas,

— by all permit holders for Special Areas where Bonus Licenses are available,

— as a second bow hunting license for the Metro Bonus Bow Area.

RESTRICTIONS

— All bonus licenses are valid for antlerless deer only. )

— No person may hunt deer by any means in firearms Zone 1 who is in any way
licensed to tag two deer. This applies to firearms, bow and arrow, and
muzzleloader hunters.

— No person may tag more than two deer in any calendar year.

— No person may tag two deer by using the regular Bow and Arrow Deer Hunting
License tag and the regular Firearms Deer Hunting License tag.

NOTES

— If you receive a certificate for a Bonus Deer License you are not required to
purchase that second license unless you wish to hunt for a Bonus deer.

— Either the bonus or the regular license tag may be used first but if you wish
to tag a deer on your regular Firearm Deer Hunting License (as a buck elsewhere
in the zone) or on your regular Bow and Arrow Deer Hunting License you should
use your Bonus Deer License tag first. If you use your regular license tag for
your first deer in a Bonus Deer area you must also take the second deer in
that area because the Bonus Deer tag is not valid elsewhere.

UNDERSUBSCRIBED ANTLERLESS PERMIT AREAS

After the Antlerless Permit drawings, Bonus Deer Licenses may be authorized
where the number of applications is less than the quota. Persons authorized to
purchase a Bonus Deer License will be drawn from the original antlerless permit
applications. Therefore, no separate application is necessary. Applicants selected
will receive, in addition to an Antlerless Permit, a nontransferable certificate that
may be presented at a County Auditor’s Office to purchase a Bonus Deer License
and tag at the regular deer license fee.

The Bonus Deer License is valid only in your Antlerless Permit Area and is
valid for antlerless deer only.

In 1987 the following areas were undersubscribed and had bonus licenses
available.

202 208 210 343 402 405 407
206 209 338 401 403 406 408

SPECIAL PERMIT AREAS

Bonus Deer Licenses are available for certain state parks and other special areas
where drawings for permits are held. Applications for permits to hunt must be
made as explained in panel 10.

Applicants drawn for a Special Permit Area will be offered a Bonus Deer License
when they register for the hunt at the Special Area Headquarters but purchase
of a Bonus License is not required. The Special Area Permit allows taking a deer

n

of either sex within the special area. If the Bonus Deer license is purchased, it
is valid only for an antlerless deer. This Bonus License is valid only within the
special area and will be so marked.

Special Areas Open For Bonus Deer

Lalie Bronson: State PATK. ..cccvvussnmw smmmse sioimisismismonsioaiosiorsce See panel 22
Metro Bonus Bow HONE ...« coev e o saisioe sisainie o siwine o nisie See panel 14
Nerstrand Woods State Park and Game Refuge ............... See panel 16
Zippel Bay ‘State PACK ...« s vaicois s s v s Fp sl sisimie s-siess See panel 22
S ]
SUNRISE AND SUNSET TIME SCHEDULE
LONGITUDE OF MINNEAPOLIS

Variations approximately 4 minutes to each degree or 1 minute for each 12 miles.
Add to determine time for points west, and subtract for points east of Minneapolis.

Times shown are Central Daylight Savings Time through OCTOBER 29, 1988 and
Central Standard Time thereafter. The schedules shown are the ones to be used
for hunting purposes.

SEPT. OCT. NOV. DEC.

Rise  Set Rise  Set Rise  Set Rise  Set
16:35 7:51 17:11 6:54 1 6:51 5:02 17:31 4:33
2 6:36 7:49 2 7:12 6:52 2 6:53 5:00 2 7:32 4:33
3 6:37 7:47 3 7:13 6:51 3 6:54 4:59 3 7:33 4:33
4 6:38 7:45 4 7:14 6:49 4 6:55 4:58 4 7:34 4:32
5 6:39 7:44 5 7:16 6:47 5 6:57 4:56 5§ 7:35 4:32
6 6:41 7:42 6 7:17 6:45 6 6:58 4:55 6 7:36 4:32
7 6:42 7:40 7 7:18 6:43 7 6:59 4:54 7 7:37 4:32
8 6:43 7:38 8 7:19 6:41 8 7:01 4:53 8 7:38 4:32
9 6:44 7:36 9 7:21 6:40 9 7:02 4:51 9 7:39 4:32

10 6:45 7:34 10 7:22 6:38 10 7:04 4:50 10 7:40 4:32
11 6:47 7:32 11 7:23 6:36 11 7:05 4:49 11 7:41 4:32
12 6:48 7:30 12 7:25 6:34 12 7:06 4:48 12 7:42 4:32
13 6:49. 7:28 13 7:26 6:32 13 7:08 4:47 13 7:43 4:32
14 6:50 7:27 14 7:27 6:31 14 7:09 4:46 14 7:44 4:32
15 6:51 7:25 15 7:28 6:29 15 7:10 4:45 15 7:44 4:32

16 6:53 7:23 16 7:30 6:27 16 7:12 4:44 16 7:45 4:32
17 6:54 7:21 17 7:31 6:25 17 7:13 4:43 17 7:46 4:33
18 6:55 7:19 18 7:32 6:24 18 7:14 4:42 18 7:46 4:33
19 6:56 7:17 19 7:34 6:22 19 7:16 4:41 19 7:47 4:33
20 6:57 7:15 20 7:35 6:20 20 7:17 4:40 20 7:48 4:34

21 6:59 7:13 21 7:36 6:19 21 7:18 4:39 21 7:48 4:34
22 7:00 7:11 22 7:38 6:17 22 7:20 4:39 22 7:49 4:35
23 7:01 7:09 23 7:39 6:16 23 7:21 4:38 23 7:49 4:35
24 7:02 7:08 24 7:40 6:14 24 7:22 4:37 24 7:50 4:36
25 7:03 7:06 25 7:42 6:12 25 7:24 4:36 25 7:50 4:37
26 7:05 7:04 26 7:43 6:11 26 7:25 4:36 26 7:50 4:37
27 7:06 7.:02 27 7:44 6:09 27 7:26 4:35 27 7:51 4:38
28 7:07 7:00 28 7:46 6:08 28 7:27 4:35 28 7:51 4:39
29 7:08 6:58 29 7:47 6:06 29 7:28 4:34 29 7:51 4:39
30 7:09 6:56 30 6:48 5:05 30 7:30 4:34 30 7:51 4:40

31 6:50 5:03 31 7:51 4:41
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BOW & ARROW DEER SEASON

SPECIAL MUZZLELOADER SEASON

TRANSPORTATION & REGISTRATION

LAST SEASON’S RESULTS

BOW & ARROW LICENSES SOLD ........c.coviuiiniiinennnnns 69,410
REGISTERED DEER HARVEST . ....cvuuvssasnssamns sunisswesins 7,715
BOW HUNTER: SUCCESS) o vusumy v sustas sumis vasis 3ae 11 percent

SHOOTING HOURS — One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

NOTE: All licensed big game hunters who are hunting with bow and arrow shall
have their bows unstrung or cased during the time they are licensed to take big
game while in the field between 30 minutes after the close of shooting hours and
30 minutes before the start of shooting hours, daily. The 30 minute period before
and after shooting hours is not extra hunting time.

— No licensed bow hunter shall occupy any elevated deer stand between sunset
and one hour before sunrise.

LICENSING RESTRICTIONS —

— A license to take deer by archery issued after the opening of the archery deer
season is not valid until the fifth day after it is issued.

— No license to take deer may be issued after November 4, 1988 except for bonus
deer in Special Permit Areas.

BOW SEASON
ZONES DAYS OPEN
SOUTHWEST MINNESOTA
That part of Zone 4 south of the
highways from Fargo to St. Cloud
(I-94 and State Hwy. 23)
NORTHERN MINNESOTA
All of Zone 1 plus that part of
Zone 2 north of State Hwy. 95
and that part of Zone 4 north of
highways from Fargo to St. Cloud
(I-94 and State Hwy. 23)
EXCEPTION: In Registration Blocks
115-118 and 126-130 and 194
SOUTHEAST MINNESOTA
All of Zone 3 and that part of Zone 2
south of highways from St. Cloud either sex, except
to Taylors Falls (State Hwys. 95 and 23) see NOTE below.
NOTE: Bow hunting for either sex permitted, except that only legal bucks may
be taken within a regular firearms zone when there is a regular firearms season
open therein, except for bonus licenses or as otherwise specifically authorized.
Where an area is closed to firearms hunting within a firearms zone that is open,
bow and arrow hunters are still limited to bucks only hunting within the area closed
to firearms.

STATE GAME REFUGES OPEN TO HUNTING

DEER AND BEAR BY BOW AND ARROW ONLY

NOTE: Most game refuges contain privately owned land upon which the right
to hunt (if open) may be prohibited by the landowner.

Sept. 17 - Nov. 30,
either sex, except
see NOTE below.

Sept. 17 - Dec. 4,
either sex, except
see NOTE below.

Sept. 17 - Nov. 20

Sept. 17 - Dec. 31,

Unit County Unit County
Bemidji Beltrami East Minnesota Blue Earth
Claremont Dodge (Except during the and LeSueur
Cross Lake Crow Wing firearms season)
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Unit County Unit County

Hiawatha Pipestone Polk-Clearwater Polk and

Paul Bunyan Hubbard Clearwater

(Sept. 17 - Oct. 31 only) Sandstone Pine

Pine County Pine Schoolcraft Hubbard
Units 1, 2, 3 (Sept. 17 - Oct. 31 only)

— Also see Game Refuges listed as open on panel 19.

SPECIAL AREAS OPEN TO HUNTING
DEER WITH BOW ONLY BY PERMIT

PERMIT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS —

— Application for a special bow hunt area permit must be made on a form sup-
plied separately by each special bow hunt area. No other form of application
will be accepted.

— Send your request for the application form with a stamped, self-addressed
business envelope to the address listed for the special bow hunt area where
you wish to hunt.

SPECIAL BOW PERMIT AREAS OPEN

Camp Ripley — details announced separately.

*Fort Snelling State Park, Minnesota Valley NWR, Carver State Wayside
and Louisville Swamp — see panel 22 and panel 24.

*Crow-Hassan Park Reserve in Hennepin County is open to either sex deer bow
hunting. Hunters may apply through Sept. 8, 1988. One hundred forty (140)
permits will be issued for Oct. 29-30 and Nov. 17-18. Requests for application
forms should be addressed to Hennepin Parks Bow Hunt, 3800 County Road
24, Maple Plain, MN 55359.

*Murphy-Hanrehan Park Reserve and Cleary Lake Regional Park in Scott
County are open to either sex deer hunting Nov. 11-13. Hunters may apply
through Sept. 8, 1988. Two hundred (200) permits will be issued for Murphy-
Hanrehan and fifty (50) will be issued for Cleary Lake. Hunters will be selected
for each hunt from the same application list. The orange/red clothing require-
ment must be met. Requests for application forms should be addressed to Hen-
nepin Parks Bow Hunt, 3800 County Road 24, Maple Plain, MN 55359.

METRO BONUS BOW HUNT

— A bonus (second) bow and arrow deer license may be purchased to take a
second deer by bow and arrow within certain parts of the seven county Metro
Area during the regular bow season.

— Hunters who wish to participate in this hunt must obtain permission to hunt
on private land (as usual) and must comply with all local ordinances, including
obtaining any local permits that may be required (as usual).

— Licenses, a map of the Metro Bow Area boundary, and special instructions
are available at the Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Scott and Washington
County Auditor’s offices, and from the DNR License Bureau at 500 Lafayette
Road, St. Paul. For additional information, write: Metro Bonus Bow Hunt,
Carlos Avery Game Farm, Forest Lake, MN 55025.

*Metro Bonus Bow Licenses are valid for permittees in these hunts.
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LAST SEASON’S RESULTS

EST. MUZZLELOADER LICENSE ...............c.c0iviveeen., 2,073
REGISTERED DEER HARVEST ..................oooiiiiiin.n, 535
MUZZLELOADER SUCCESS ..........coiiiiiiinnna. 26 percent

NOVEMBER 26 through DECEMBER 11, 1988
SHOOTING HOURS — One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

— Antlerless deer and legal bucks may be taken by hunters who have selected
this option at the time of license purchase.

— The Special Muzzleloader Season is open only within the boundaries of the
following listed areas. Except for the Richard Dorer Forest all land within the
statutory boundaries of listed State Forests is open for Muzzleloader hunting.
However, agricultural or posted private land within a State Forest may be hunted
only with permission of the owner.

CILOTHING — All hunters and trappers using the special muzzleloader hunt
areas Nov. 26 to Dec. 11, 1988 must meet the legal requirements for wearing
bright red or blaze orange. See panel 6.

AREAS OPEN WITHOUT SPECIAL PERMITS

Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area (WMA) in Anoka and Chisago Counties
(see Special Note below)

Chengwatana State Forest (SF) in Pine and Chisago Counties

Cloquet Valley SF in St. Louis County

Elm Lake and Eckvoll WMA in Marshall County

George Washington SF in Itasca County

Gores Pool WMA in Dakota and Goodhue Counties

McCarthy Lake WMA in Wabasha County

Meadowbrook WMA in Cass County

Mille Lacs WMA in Kanabec and Mille Lacs Counties

Nemadji SF in Carlton and Pine Counties

Paul Bunyan Game Refuge in Hubbard County

Red Lake WMA and Beltrami Island SF in Beltrami, Lake of the Woods and
Roseau Counties

Richard Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest tracts posted as State Forest and shown
on the Memorial Hardwood Forest map available from DNR offices in St. Paul
and SE Minnesota.

Roseau River WMA in Roseau County

Rum River SF in Kanabec and Mille Lacs Counties

Savanna SF in Aitkin and St. Louis Counties

Thief Lake WMA in Marshall County

Whitewater WMA in Olmsted, Wabasha, and Winona Counties

Special Note: Some private land surrounding the Carlos Avery WMA will be

open to taking deer by muzzleloader from Nov. 26 to Dec. 11. Maps will be

available at the Carlos Avery Wildlife office. Hunters must have landowner’s per-

mission before hunting on private lands.
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SPECIAL PERMIT AREAS

See Special Instructions on Panel 10
Sanctuary Area - Carlos Avery WMA in Anoka County. Twenty (20) permits
will be issued for Nov. 26-Dec. 2 and Twenty (20) permits will be issued for
Dec. 3-11. This is Special Area No. 297.
Address: Deer Hunt, Carlos Avery Sanctuary, Carlos Avery Game Farm, 5463
W. Broadway, Forest Lake, MN 55025.
Danvers WMA in Swift County. Fifteen (15) permits will be issued for each of
two separate periods Nov. 26-Dec. 2 and Dec. 3-11. This is Special Area No. 488.
Address: Muzzleloader Hunt, Wildlife Office, Civic Center, Appleton, MN 56208.
Lac qui Parle WMA and Big Stone National Wildlife Refuge in Big Stone,
Chippewa, Lac qui Parle and Swift Counties except Rosemoen Island and the area
posted ‘‘No Trespass from September 20 to December 1>’ are not open to
muzzleloader deer hunting at any time except by special authorization. The federal
Waterfowl Production Area located in Sec. 4, Township 119N, Range 43 W. is
included in the open area. Unlimited permits will be issued for each of two separate
hunt periods Nov. 26-Dec. 2 and Dec. 3-11, but hunters must apply for either
the first or the second period. Additional private acreage will be open. Please
contact address for details and map. This is Special Area No. 432. .
Address: Lac Qui Parle WMA, Rt. 1, Box 23, Watson, MN 56295.
Lake Shetek State Park in Murray County is open for either sex deer hunting
by muzzleloader. Forty (40) permits will be issued for Nov. 26-Dec. 2. This is
Special Area No. 495.
Address: Muzzleloader Hunt, Lake Shetek State Park, Rt. 1, Currie, MN 56123.
Permittees must register at park office before hunting.
Talcot Lake WMA (except the Sanctuary Area) in Cottonwood and Murray Coun-
ties. Fifty (50) permits will be issued for each of two separate periods Nov. 26-Dec.
2 and Dec. 3-11. This year a large acreage outside the WMA will be open for the
Special Muzzleloader season. This has a different boundary than Antlerless Permit
Area No. 455. A map will be sent upon request. This is Special Area No. 455.
Address: Muzzleloader Hunt, Talcot Lake WMA, Dundee, MN 56126. Permit-
tees must register at the WMA office before hunting.
Walnut Lake WMA in Fairbault County. Twenty (20) permits will be issued
for each of two separate periods Nov. 26-Dec. 2 and Dec. 3-Dec. 11. This is
Special Area No. 489. A large acreage outside the WMA will be open for the
Special Muzzleloader season. A map will be sent upon request.
Address: Muzzleloader Hunt, Nichols Office Center, 410 Jackson, Suite 180,
Mankato, MN 56001.
Nerstrand Woods State Park and Game Refuge in Rice County. Fifty (50) per-
mits will be issued for Nov. 26-29. Bonus licenses will be available. Permittees
must register at park office before hunting. This is Special Area No. 497.
Address: Nerstrand Deer Hunt, DNR Hdqtrs., Box 6247, Rochester, MN 55903.
Glacial Lakes State Park and the Waterfowl Production Area in Sec. 25-26,
T124N, R39W, in Pope County. Thirty (30) permits will be issued for Dec. 7-11.
This is Special Area No. 487.
Address: Glacial Lakes ML Hunt, DNR Hdgtrs., 2115 Birchmont Rd. NE,
Bemidji, MN 56601.
Lake Bronson State Park in Kittson County. Thirty (30) permits will be issued
for Dec. 7-11. This is Special Area 292. Permittees must register at the park of-
fice before hunting.
Address: Lake Bronson ML Hunt, Box 9, Lake Bronson, MN 56734 16

DEER LEG TAG

The tag must be attached to the deer when: (1) the animal is in a camp, or a
place occupied overnight or the yard surrounding the place; or (2) the animal is
on a motor vehicle (self-propelled vehicle or any vehicle propelled or drawn by
a self-propelled vehicle). Therefore you must —

. Detach the leg tag from the deer license.

. Scratch off the date of kill.

. Insert the tag between the tendon and the bone of a hind leg.
. Remove the tag’s adhesive backing, and

. Seal the adhesive side of the tag together around the leg bone.

—IMPORTANT—

Mark the date on the leg tag carefully, more than one date marked makes the tag
invalid.

(S S

POSSESSING BIG GAME
— Every person taking a big game animal must retain the license, tag, permit,
and registration tag that make it legal as long as any part of the meat is in
possession.

TRANSPORTATION PERIOD RESTRICTED
— A person may transport lawfully taken and possessed deer, bear, or moose during
the open season and the two days following the season.
— When such deer, bear, or moose is transported by other than common carrier
(commercial transportation) the licensee must accompany it, except as provided
below:

TRANSPCRTATION BY PERSON
OTHER THAN LICENSEE

— A person other than the licensee may transport deer, bear, or moose that the
licensee has registered as prescribed by the commissioner. A tag must be at-
tached to the animal and marked in ink with the address, license number,
signature of the licensee, and the locations from which and to which the animal
is being transported.

HEADS, HIDES AND CLAWS

— A resident that has a license to take deer, bear, or moose may transport the
head or hide of the animal within or out of the state for mounting or tanning.
The hides of deer, bear, and moose, and the claws of bear legally taken and
with the tags that are required, may be bought, sold, and transported at any time.

TRANSPORTATION CAUTIONS

— The head of the deer must remain attached to the carcass until the deer is
registered.

— All deer must be transported before and after registration so that inspection
by enforcement officers is readily accomplished.

WANTON WASTE

— Unless expressly allowed, a person may not wantonly waste or destroy a usable
part of a protected wild animal.
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Your deer will be illegal unless registered.
SEE LICENSE AGENTS or COUNTY AUDITORS

For a complete listing of registration stations for—
— Firearms Deer

— Muzzleloader Deer

— Bow and Arrow Deer

KILL REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS
Every person taking a deer shall present the deer for registration at an official
deer registration station and obtain a POSSESSION TAG before any of the follow-
ing occur —
— before the deer is removed from the zone in which it is taken*
— before the deer is processed either privately or commercially,
— before 48 hours after the expiration of his/her firearms deer hunting license;
or for deer taken by bow, within 48 hours after taking.
— A person may not process a deer unless it has been registered as attested by
an attached POSSESSION TAG.

Registration is required. Registration will be certified by a POSSESSION TAG
that will be issued at the time of registration. The hunter’s license number and
the year of issue will be written on the POSSESSION TAG by the registration agent.

POSSESSION TAG must be attached around the deer’s leg just as the license
tag is. This must be done immediately after receiving the TAG.

The hunter registering the deer must sign the statement on the back of the registra-
tion slip certifying: 1) that he has personally presented the animal for registration;
2) that his license number appears on the license tag and possession tag; and
3) that both tags are affixed to the animal as specified for the license tag. It is
the hunter’s responsibility to insure that the deer is properly registered.

DEER MUST BE REGISTERED BY THE NUMBERED
REGISTRATION BLOCKS SHOWN ON THE MAP IN
THIS SYNOPSIS.

*Deer may also be presented for registration at an official station within a city
or village through which a zone boundary passes or at an official station across
the road but adjacent to the zone where taken. Bow and arrow deer registration
is not restricted to location except where so designated for special area hunts.

USE OF SNOWMOBILES, OTHER VEHICLES

No person who has a valid deer license shall operate a snowmobile, three-wheel
cycle or any other all-terrain vehicle, during legal shooting hours in any area open
for the taking of deer by firearms on any day when the person is licensed to take
deer within that area except during the period 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. each day. All-
terrain vehicles include trail bikes, Cushman 6 wheelers, Cushman Tracksters,
Bombadier J-5’s and other similarly manufactured and homemade vehicles. This
regulation applies to all lands and waters regardless of ownership, except that anyone
using an all-terrain vehicle while pursuing his or her occupation on their own land
and not in posession of a firearm is exempt. A permit to operate these restricted -
vehicles between one half hour before sunrise and sunset (other than during the
period 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.) may be issued by a Conservation Officer in the event
of an emergency or other unusual condition.




STATE GAME REFUGES

A state game refuge is closed to firearms hunting of deer and bear unless listed
below:

NOTE: Most game refuges contain privately owned land upon which the right
to hunt (if opened by the state) may be prohibited by the landowner.

The following game refuges are open to hunting of deer and bear during establish-
ed seasons for the zones in which they are located. (See Small Game Hunting
and Trapping regulations for refuges open to small game hunting and trapping and
waterfowl hunting.)

REFUGES OPEN TO
DEER AND BEAR HUNTING

Unit County
RIBCIE LB 0.0 vt ot s et b & e o s i pge o v Freeborn
CICBEDIOOK <. a5 omvvivivins wiosmio 5 acmime oo asm monosnin s @ wsa e i S5n Clearwater
Collegeville and St. Joseph Tsp ............... Stearns (closed to archery)

(Except the refuge around St. John’s University)
Elizabeth LAk ..o s o nmen s sy cusmns ves 5 o8s ) (EREReao s Isanti
BIbatd's GEOME: i « ssoiie s siemmmims swines Sasss Otter Tail (closed to archery)
ERR] TR0 s 5-vi0n = .05 e M Bl B BT IS 5 RO B B mein St. Louis
FROEEARD. n v weart s trmc & (k5 SR SRR 5 b S B s somong: ws o w5 Martin
GO LaKB . oo v oooiim b b ivonin beimin & amon s v goniace scmmimen x womstimn eimiamms eom Isanti
1ADE DKL & cosin bbomm Bogrwguns,s v @iwiogs wavbiom s hisimss SRsuss wi6zssse # Chisago
LOBE LBEE ' ;conii soimor g amumss & sonivinns eniorn s o sy & €HeSI8 WouRied e Fillmore
Lol PIGEOn LR .5 » coin o cwm & owmmn & swnws ¢ s e & o pas Itasca
MaAyWood. .5 s & sures s saes & KE8% 3 DRELE §EEYE & HEDES KOPRE DG Benton

IMIDBIONER. - - 5 oo s saivinn s s e & Lolelis & doies 0 4w & 64 Hennepin and Carver
WEOBEOW cvx s x e s wontie n Biitn = SEBS% 8 BEET 8 LUGHE N Kol § Kbuscron = a0t Freeborn
Pigeon River Flowage ...............coiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinennenns Itasca
BROCEESIEE «.c...y « 135 & ©arah wforinn & kit Dinsormn mwsarman » vommmm:n wowousan wonsd Olmsted
Rothsay WMA SSICHIALY .- .. vcuoa o vsans sisms o sivan o wassa « s » Wilkin
Bt DABEE. ; v v smows vnmss seams vevmns seEn ¢ pwpss LOWHS § 5 Sherburne
Stearns County (near Kimball) .................coiiiiiniiinnn. Stearns
SHUWREE o0 5 o & susman saoms S 7 varomin SRHEE MO S50 54 Washington
SE. ICT0IK RIVEE. ...« oo s 25RG03 §8m L a5 Geie SEEN 43 Washington
SWAN LK NO. D ccsvist orgevs e it Sl 8 Moedis eilioe nmagmecs Nicollet

*Most land in this refuge is governed by local ordinance. Local authorities should
be contacted for specific regulations.

STATE GOOSE REFUGES AND

STATE WATERFOWL REFUGES
State goose refuges and waterfow] refuges are closed to hunting of geese or water-
fowl as indicated. Other forms of hunting and trapping are permitted during the
established seasons and in the zones in which they are located. )

STATE FORESTS
The public land within State Forests is open to hunting. State Game Refuges
within State Forests are not open to big game hunting unless listed as open in this
synopsis. Agricultural or posted private land within a State Forest may be hunted
only with permission of the owner.

STATE SCIENTIFIC AND NATURAL AREAS
These areas are ciosed to hunting unless opened by Commissioner’s Order. In
1988 the following areas are open:
FTASCA WILDERNESS SANCTUARY in Itasca Park is open to firearms deer
hunting under Itasca State Park Regulations.

IRON SPRINGS BOG SNA in Clearwater County is open to firearms and bow

deer hunting, consistent with regulations.

STATE WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS

All areas identified as wildlife management areas, except any portion thereon
which may be posted against entry by “State Game Refuge,” or “No Trespassing”
signs, are open to big game hunting during established seasons for the zones in
which they are located.

However, specific regulations will apply to certain areas as follows:

For Special Muzzleloader Hunts — See Muzzleloader Section.

The Lac qui parle Game Refuge in Chippewa and Lac qui Parle Counties is open
as follows: Those portions of the refuge within the Lac qui Parle Recreation Reserve,
Lac qui Parle Mission Site, or which are posted with “Do Not Trespass” signs,
are closed to hunting or the carrying or possession of firearms or bows and arrows
unless the firearm is unloaded and completely encased or unloaded and contained
in the trunk of a car and the trunk door closed and the bow is unstrung or com-
pletely contained in a case or contained in the trunk of the car with the trunk door
closed. The remainder of the refuge is open to the hunting of deer during
the established seasons therefor in the zones in which it is located. From
September 20 to December 1, both dates inclusive, no unauthorized person shall
trespass for any purpose whatsoever on any part of the refuge which is posted with
signs prohibiting trespass during this period. No unauthorized person shail
trespass on Rosemoen Island at any time during the year.

The Bayport Wildlife Management Area in Washington County and the Raguet
WMA in Scott and Carver Counties are closed to the possession of all firearms
unless unloaded and contained in a case, except for designated hunting areas dur-
ing the season for the taking of small game when shotgun with fine shot only is
permitted. Possession and use of bow and arrow is limited to the designated hunting
areas during established hunting seasons.

MOTOR VEHICLES

The following regulations apply to the use of motor vehicles on Wildlife
Management Areas other than on Federal, State, County or Township roads:

On the following wildlife management areas motor vehicles may be operated,
not in excess of 20 mph, only on established roads, and no vehicle may be driven
beyond a sign prohibiting vehicular use or beyond any man-made vehicle barrier:
Carlos Avery (Anoka and Chisago Counties), Hubbel Pond (Becker County), Mille
Lacs (Kanabec and Mille Lacs Counties), Red Lake (Beltrami and Lake of the
Woods Counties), Roseau River (Roseau County), and Thief Lake (Marshall
County).

On all other wildlife management areas vehicles are prohibited except vehicles
may be operated, not in excess of 20 mph, only on those routes designated by
signs as being for travel purposes.

No vehicle may be parked where it obstructs travel.

No person may operate an all-terrain vehicle, all-terrain cycle, hang glider, air
boat or hover craft in a wildlift management area. No person may operate a
snowmobile in any wildlife management area without the written permission of
the agent in charge thereof in that part of the state lying south and west of a line
described as follows: U.S. Highway No. 2 from East Grand Forks easterly to Bemid-
ji; thence southerly along U.S. Highway No. 71 to Wadena; thence easterly along
U.S. Highway No. 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway No. 210 to the eastern boun-
dary of the state.

Unauthorized use of aircraft below 1000 feet AGL (above ground level) over
a wildlife management area is prohibited except in emergencies.
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Wildlife Management Areas - continued

No part of any wildlife management area may be entered or used during the
hours of 10:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m., if so posted at the major access points.

Camping is prohibited except in designated areas or by permit from the Area
Wildlife Manager.

Target, skeet, trap or promiscuous shooting is prohibited.

Signs, posts, fences, buildings, trees, shrubs, vines, plants or other property
may not be destroyed or removed except that marsh-vegetation may be used to
build blinds on the area, and edible and decorative portions of plants may be pick-
ed for personal use.

Disposal or abandonment of garbage, trash, spoil, sludge, rocks, vehicles, or
other debris or personal property on any wildlife management area is prohibited.
Boats, decoys, and other equipment must not be left unattended overnight except
traps on those wildlife areas open to trapping.

No person may construct or maintain any building, dock, fence, billboard, sign,
or other structure on any wildlife management area, except that duck blinds may
be erected but shall not become private property or be used to pre-empt hunting
rights. It is unlawful to construct, occupy or use any elevated scaffold or other
elevated device for the purpose of hunting, watching for or killing big game, except

_that portable tree stands may be used for this purpose provided they are removed

each day at the close of hunting hours and do no permanent damage to trees in
which they are placed.

Livestock, horses and other domestic animals, except dogs being used for hunt-
ing purposes, are not permitted on wildlife management areas except under
cooperative agreement or permit prepared by the wildlife manager.

STATE PARKS
For Bonus License Hunts — See Bonus Section (panels 11-12).
For Special Muzzleloader Hunts — See Muzzleloader Section (panels 15-16).
State Park vehicle permits are required on all vehicles taken into Minnesota State
Parks.
All State parks are refuges by law but may be opened by Commissioner’s Order.
In 1988 the following regulations apply:

STATE PARKS OPEN WITH ZONE REGULATIONS
ITASCA STATE PARK in Becker, Clearwater and Hubbard Counties is open to
firearms hunting for legal bucks only by Zone 2 license holders and for antlerless
deer by Area 287 permit holders, except where posted as closed, during the Zone
2 firearms season.

STATE PARKS OPEN ONLY WITH SPECIAL PERMIT

Certain parks are open to a limited number of deer hunters by Special Area
Permits and the proper license. In each state park thus opened a permit holder
must first register at the park office before beginning to hunt and he/she must
register any deer taken at the park office before leaving the park. Parks open by
Special Permit for bow and arrow hunting are listed on panel 14. Parks open by
Special Permit for muzzleloader hunting are listed on panel 16. The parks listed
below are open as described for legal firearm hunting. See panel 10 for ap-
plication instructions.

ZONE 2

LAKE BRONSON STATE PARK in Kittson County is open for either sex deer
hunting by special permit. Forty (40) permits will be issued for Nov. 57. Bonus
Deer Licenses will be available, see panels 11-12. This is Special Area No. 294.

Address: Lake Bronson Deer Hunt, Box 9, Lake Bronson, MN 56734

(continued)
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State Parks - continued

ZIPPEL BAY STATE PARK in Lake of the Woods County is open for either
sex deer hunting by special permit. Fifty (50) permits will be issued for Nov. 5-7.
This is Special Area No. 298. Bonus licenses will be available.

Address: Zippel Bay Deer Hunt, DNR Hdgtrs., 2115 Birchmont Beach Rd. N.E.,
Bemidji, MN 56601.

ZONE 4

GLACIAL LAKES STATE PARK in Pope County is open for either sex deer
hunting by special permit. Forty (40) permits will be issued for November 12-15.
This is Special Area No. 496.

Address: Glacial Lakes Deer Hunt, DNR Hdqtrs., 2115 Birchmont Rd. N.E.,
Bemidji, MN 56601.

NERSTRAND WOODS - Muzzleloader season - panel 16.

OTHER SPECIAL AREAS
Fort Snelling State Park and Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge deer
hunting regulations were not yet established at presstime. Information will be
available after August 15, 1988 from DNR Metro Region Hdgtrs: (612-296-3572)
or Minnesota Valley NWR (612-854-5900).

ADVANCED HUNTER EDUCATION PROGRAM

If you are 16 or older join the over 30,000 adult Minnesotans who have experienc-
ed this program. Learn how to protect your future hunting and open up more private
lands to hunting. For more information call or write: Advanced Hunter Educa-
tion, Box 46, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-0890.

NON-DISCRIMINATION
Minnesota receives federal aid in fish and/or wildlife restoration. Under Title VI
of the 1964 Civil Rights Act and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,
the U.S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race,
color, national origin or handicap. If you believe that you have been discriminated
against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or if you desire
further information please write to:

Affirmative Action Director
Box 36

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4036
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COUNTY PARKS

SPECIAL BOW PERMIT AREAS OPEN
CROW-HASSAN PARK RESERVE in Hennepin County is open to either sex
deer hunting. See panel 14.

MURPHY-HANREHAN PARK RESERVE and CLEARY LAKE REGIONAL
PARK in Scott County are open to either sex deer hunting. See panel 14.

COUNTY PARK FIREARMS HUNTS

See panel 10 for detailed information on Special Area Hunts.

ELM CREEK PARK RESERVE — Hennepin County. Open to either sex deer
hunting by legal firearms on Nov. 19-20 by permit only. Hunters applying for Elm
Creek should purchase a license for Zone 3B. Hunters who elect to hunt in Elm
Creek may only hunt bucks elsewhere in Zone 3 during the Nov. 19-25 season.
One hundred sixty-five (165) permits will be issued. This is Special Permit Area
No. 398.

Address: Elm Creek Park Reserve Deer Hunt, Hennepin Parks, 3800 County Road
24, Maple Plain, MN 55359. Telephone 612/476-4665.

FEDERAL AREAS-
FEDERAL WATERFOWL PRODUCTION AREAS
AND NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES

Federal Waterfow! Production Areas are open in the fall to public hunting ex-
cept where posted otherwise. Migratory birds, upland game birds, small game
and big game may be hunted and furbearers trapped in accordance with applicable
State and Federal regulations.

Overnight camping and overnight parking are prohibited on all Waterfowl Pro-
duction Areas, including designated parking areas. Additional information, in-
cluding maps of open and closed areas, is available from U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service, Route 1, Box 26A, Fergus Falls, Minnesota 56537.

Motorized vehicles and motorized watercraft are prohibited on National Wildlife
Refuges and Waterfow] Production Areas Except: (1) On access roads and parking
areas designated by sign: (2) on public roads; or (3) by permit obtained from U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service Refuge and Wetland Management District Offices.
Motorized watercraft are allowed without permit on the Tamarac and Upper
Mississippi River National Wildlife Refuges. '

VOYAGEURS NATIONAL PARK
Hunting and trapping wild animals on public land, within the boundaries of
Voyageurs National Park is prohibited.
Maps showing the boundaries of the park are available from Box 50, Interna-
tional Falls, Minnesota 56649.

NOTE

Lands belonging to the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians in Beltrami,
Koochiching, Lake of the Woods and Roseau Counties are closed to non-Band-
members except by special authorization of the tribal council.
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NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES
GENERAL — The following National Wildlife Refuges are open to big game hunt-
ing as hereinafter provided, in accordance with State and Special Federal regula-
tions. A Minnesota State Hunting License punched with the appropriate option
is required. Hunting maps and regulations are available through each refuge of-
fice or by writing to: Regional Director, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Federal
Building, Fort Snelling, Twin Cities, MN S55111.

NOTE: Some of these refuges are Special Permit Areas, some are Antlerless
Permit Areas, and some are both, and one requires only a regular deer license
for the appropriate hunt. Please read details carefuily.

AGASSIZ NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Marshall County is open only
to firearms deer hunting in accordance with established State seasons in all areas
except those designated by “Area Closed” signs or as deli d on a map availabl

at Refuge Headquarters, Middle River, MN 56737. This is in Antlerless Permit
Area number 203 which includes the Elm Lake, Eckvoll and Mud Lac State Wildlife

Areas.

BIG STONE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Big Stone and Lac qui Parle
Counties is open to bow and arrow and firearms deer hunting in accordance with
established State seasons on areas posted as “Public Hunting Area” or as delineated
on a map available at Refuge Headquarters, 25 N.W. 2nd Street, Ortonville, MN
56278. See Muzzleloader section for Special Area Permits. This is part of Antlerless
Permit Area No. 432-433-434.

MINNESOTA VALLEY NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE is open to bow and
arrow deer hunting by special permit during the established state seasons and ac-
cording to local ordinances on areas (including Louisville Swamp and Carver Rapids
State Wayside) delineated on a map available at Refuge Hdgtrs., 4101 East 80th
St., Bloomington, MN 55420. Permits will be issued from August 15-September
16, 1988, at Refuge Hdqtrs.; or call (612) 854-5900.

RICE LAKE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Aitkin County is open on-
ly to firearms either sex deer hunting only on November 12-14, 1988 to those per-
sons with a valid Special Area Permit (see panel 10 on Special Area Permits for
application procedures). A total of 100 Special Permits will be issued. Maps
delineating the open areas are available at Refuge Headquarters, Route 2, McGregor,
MN 55760. This is Special Permit Area No. 151.

SHERBURNE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Sherburne County is open’
to bow and arrow deer hunting in Areas A and B during the established State
seasons. Daily entrance fees are charged. Firearms deer hunting is allowed in Areas
A, B and C for legal bucks and antlerless deer by permit during the established
State season. This is Antlerless Permit Area No. 224. Maps delineating hunting
areas are available at Refuge Headquarters, Route 2, Zimmerman,
MN 55398 or call 612/389-3323.

TAMARAC NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Becker County is open to
bow and arrow and firearms deer hunting during the established State seasons.
This is Antlerless Permit Area No. 251. Maps delineating the open areas are
available at Refuge Headquarters, Rural Route, Rochert, MN 56578.

UPPER MISSISSIPPI RIVER NATIONAL WILDLIFE AND FISH REFUGE
is open to bow and arrow and firearms deer hunting during the established State
seasons on areas posted as “Public Hunting Area.” Hunting is permitted on those
portions of the Refuge posted as “Area Closed™ beginning with the first day follow-
ing the close of the duck season. Maps delineating the open areas are available
at Refuge Headquarters. Rm. 101, 51 East 4th St., Winona, MN 55987.




1988 ANTLERLESS PERMIT AREA QUOTAS

Note: Some permit areas on the map are subdivided by white dotted lines and have several numbers within a solid white boundary.

These Permit areas have a single antlerless quota, as shown by a bracket in this table. You may use any one of the numbers within
the solid boundary to apply for an antlerless permit. A permit is valid across dotted lines. If a numbered area is not listed in this
table there are no antlerless permits available.
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PLEASE CHECK DETAILS ON REVERSE SIDE
ANTLERLESS PERMIT APPLICATION DEADLINE SEPTEMBER 8
SUCCESSFUL APPLICANT PERMITS WILL BE MAILED BY OCTOBER 26

Information on Antlerless Permits and drawings will not be available until after October 26.
BOUNDARY DESCRIPTIONS FOR PERMIT AREAS NOT WELL DEFINED ON THE MAP

Antlerless Permit Area 197-198 —

£ en That portion of the state within the boundaries of the Leech Lake Indian Reservation except where the Reser-
vation boundary intercepts the boundary separating Zone 1 and Zone 2. See inset map above for this boundary.

Antlerless Permit Area 201 —
W 4 - , 1) Beginning at the injunction of the west boundary of Roseau County and the north boundary of the state; thence
o= ; ‘ i along the west boundary of Roseau County to its junction with County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 7, Roseau County;
\ . ‘ thence along CSAH 7 to CSAH 10, Roseau County; thence along CSAH 10 to CSAH 3, Roseau County; thence
along CSAH 3 to the southwest corner of Section 31, T. 165 N.R. 41 W.; thence due north along the section lines

0 : o ‘ L | to a junction with the north boundary of the state; thence along the north boundary of the state to the point of beginning.
‘- e o 4% 4 1 ; Antlerless Permit Area 202 —
L ‘ Y & . - Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 32 and County State Aid
Highway (CSAH) 6, Marshall County; thence along CSAH 6 to the junction with STH 89;
thence along County Road (CR) 133, Marshall County, to the junction with CSAH 54, Marshall
County; thence along CSAH 54 to the junction with CR 134, Marshall County; thence along
CR 134 to the junction with STH 89, thence along STH 89 to the junction with CSAH 48,
Marshall County; thence along CSAH 48 to the junction with CSAH 49, Marshall County;
thence along CSAH 49 to the Marshall-Roseau County boundary; thence along the Marshall-
Roseau County boundary to the junction with STH 32; thence along STH 32 to the point
of beginning.
Antlerless Permit Area 203 —
That portion of the state within the boundaries of Agassiz National Wildlife Refuge plus
the Elm Lake, Eckvoll, and Mud Lac Wildlife Areas.
Antlerless Permit Area 224 —
e That portion of the state known as the Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge.
Antlerless Permit Area 235 —
That portion of the state known as the Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area in Anoka
and Chisago Counties.
Antlerless Permit Area 251 —
That portion of the state known as the Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge.
Antlerless Permit Area 296 —
it o - " f That portion of the state known as the White Earth Indian Reservation except four
Daer Cras northeastern townships (Townships 143N to 146N; Range 37W).
Antlell;laess Permit Area 455 —
That portion of the state within the following described boundaries:
LEGAL DESCRIPTIONS 94° 93° geginning at the junction of the County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 6, Murray County, and
inti : A . L SAH 42, Murray County; thence along CSAH 42 to CSAH 3, Murray County; thence due
Legal descriptions of the deer hunting zones are contained in the Commissioner’s south to the south boundary of Murray County; thence east to the southwest corner of Cot-
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TRESPASS

This is only a summary of the Minnesota Trespass Law reiating to taking wild
animals. The complete text of this law is found in Minnesota Statutes Sections
978B.001 and 97A.315. In addition, there are other state laws pertaining to trespass
that may apply. Consult local law enforcement authorities if you have questions.
GENERAL RESTRICTIONS (Note: See below for exceptions, de-
finitions and posting requirements.)

1. Permission Required to Enter Agricultural Land. A person may not
enter agricultural land to hunt or trap or to operate a motor vehicle for pleasure
purposes, without permission.

2. Entering Land Prohibited After Notice. A person may not enter any
private land to take a wild animal after being orally notified not to do so.

3. Entering Posted Land Prohibited. A person may not enter any legally
posted land to take a wild animal, without permission.

4. Taking With Firearms Near Gccupied Buildings or Corrals.

(A) On another person’s agricultural land or on a public right-of-way, a person
may not take a wild animal with a firearm within 500 feet of a building occupied
by a human or livestock, without written permission.

(B) On land other than agricultural land, a person may not take a wild animal
with a firearm within 200 feet of a building occupied by a human, without oral
permission.

{C) On any land a person may not take a wild animal with a fireacm within 500
feet of a stockade or corral containing livestock, without permission.

5. Destruction of Property. A person may not wound or kill another person’s
domestic animal or destroy, cut, or tear down another person’s fence, building.
grain, crops, live tree or sign legally posting the land.

6. Gate Closing. A person may not pass through another person’s closed gate
without closing the gate.

EXCEPTIONS TO GENERAL RESTRICTIONS

1. Retrieving Wounded Game From Agricuitural Land. A hunter, on foot,
may retrieve wounded game, during the season for the game, from agricuitural
land that is not Jegally posted, unless the person has been orally notified not to
enter the land. The hunter must leave immediately after retrieving the game.

2. Retrieving Dogs From Private Land. A person may, without permission,
enter private land on foot to retrieve a dog that has treed or is at bay with a
raccoon, bobcat, coyote or fox. This includes private agricultural land, legally
posted land, and land the person has been orally notified not to enter. After
retrieving the dog, the person must immediately leave the premises. Nete: This
exception does not authorize the taking of the raccoon, bobcat, coyote or fox
without permission.

DEFINITIONS AND POSTING REQUIREMENTS
Agricultural Land means land: (1) that is plowed or tilled; (2) that has
standing crops or crop residues; or (3) within a maintained fence for enclosing
domestic livestock.
Permission To or Notification Net To enter private land or take wild animais
near occupied buildings or corrals may only be given by the owner, occupant, or
lessee.

Legally Posted Land. The owner, occupant or lessee of private land, or an
authorized manager of public land may prohibit unauthorized hunting, trapping,
fishing, or trespassing on the land by posting signs that: (1) display letters at lzast
two inches high; (2) are signed by the owner, occupant, lessee or authorized
manager; and (3) are at intervals of 1,000 feet or less along the boundary of the
area, or in a wooded area where boundary lines are not clear, at intervals of 500

(continued on page 3) 1
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Special Notes

Zone 1 deer hunting is no longer prohibited
for those who have a bonus license. For ex-
ample: Metro Bonus Bow License.

The ANTLERLESS PERMIT APPLICA-
TION deadline is Thurs., September 7.

This year there are separate antlerless permit
quotas for Zones 4A and 4B.

Public input meetings for hunting and trap-
ping are held each March throughout the
state. Details will be announced in January.

Division of Fish & Wildlife
Department of Natural Resources
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-4007

feet or less. A person may not erect a sign thar states ‘‘no hunting’’, “‘no
trapping’’. “*no fishing™’, “‘no trespassing’’, or another sign that prohibits tres-
pass on land or water where the person does not have a property right, title, or
interest to use the iand.

PENALTIES

Criminal Penalties. A person is guilty of a gross misdemearnor if the person:
(1) knowingly disregards signs prohibiting trespass; or {2) trespasses after perso-
nally being notified by the landowner or lessee not to trespass. A person who
violates any other provision of this law relating to trespass is guilty of a misde-
meanor, sxcept a person convicted of violating this law more than once in a
three-year period is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

Licenss Revocations. If a person is convicted under this law of trespassing
while exercising or attempting to exercise an activity licensed under the game and
fish laws or requiring snowmobile registration, the applicable license and reg-
istration are null and void. A person convicted of 2 gross misdemeanor under this
law may not be issued a license to take game for two years after the conviction.

ENFORCEMENT

Conservation Officers and peace officers must enforce the trespass laws.

DEER LICENSE PURCHASE

— A person may not take deer without a license. A person must have 3 fircarms
deer license to take deer with firearmns and an archery deer license (o take deer
by archery.

— A person may not purchase more than one firearm deer license and one bow
and arrow deer license in any one calendar year, except for “‘bonus deer’
areas.

— A person under the age of 16 may not obtain a license to take big game unless
the person possesses a firearms safety certificate. A ceriificate may not be
issued 0 a person under age 12. A person under the age of 14 must be
accompanied by a parent or guardian to hunt big game.

— **Guardian’’ is a legal guardian or any person age i8 or over selected by the
parent or legal guardian to supervise the person under age 16.

— Resident licenses may be issued only to (1) citizens of the United States or
resident aliens who have maintained a legal residence in the state at least the
immediately preceding 60 days; (2) a nonresident under the age of 21 who is
the chiid of a resident; or (3) a person in the armed forces of the United States
that is stationed in the state.

— Noaresidents attending schools in Minnesota are required to purchase a non-
resident license for hunting deer or bear in Minnesota except a non-resident
that is a full-time foreign exchange student at a high school in the state and
resides with persons in the state may obtain a resident license to take deer by
archery by providing proof of foreign exchange student status as prescribed by
the commissioner.

MILITARY AND VETERANS

— A resident that is in the armed forces of the United States, stationed outside of
the state, and in the state on leave, may hunt deer or bear without a license if
the resident possesses official military leave papers. The resident must obtain
from a county auditor the seals, tags, and coupons reguired of a licensee
which must be fernished without charge. See Commissioner’s Order re: an-
tlerless deer.

— A resident that is discharged from the United States armed forces during, or
within ten days before, the fircarms deer season may, upon showing the
official discharge paper, obtain a firearm deer license during the season.

— A person authorized to issue licenses must issue, without a fee, a license to
take deer with firearms or by archery to a resident that is a veteran and that has
a 100 percent service connected disability as defined by the United States
Veterans Administration upon being furnished with satisfactory evidence.

DEER LICENSE FEES

NON-
LICENSE RESIDENT RESIDENT
Bow & Arrow Deer LIcense. .. ... ouvvesssvivines $20.00  $100.00
Firearms Deer License. ... .. s 26 et o e BilE S 200400 100.00

AGENT’S FEE—An additional charge of $1.00 will be made for issuing a deer
license.

— Al firearms deer licenses including those for the special muzzleloader season
and bow and arrow deer licenses must be purchased cn or before November 3,
1989.

— Licenses are obtainable from County Auditors or their agents. Each applicant
for a license must appear in person before the agent.

LEGAL FIREARMS

— A person may take big game with a firearm only if: (1) the rifle, shotgun, and
handgun used is a caliber of at least .23 inches; (2) the firearm is loaded only
with single projectile ammunition; (3) a projectile used is a caliber of at least

3 inches and has a soft point or is an expanding bullet type; (4) the ammuni-
non has a case fength of at Jeast 1.285 inches; exception: 10 mm. cariridge
that is at least 0.95 in. long; (5) the muzzleloader used is incapable of being
loaded at the breech; (6) the smooth-bore muzzleloader used is a caliber of at
ieast .45 inches; and (7) the rifled muzzleloader used is a caliber of at least .40
inches.

— A person may not take big game with a .30 caliber M-1 carbine cartridge.

— Only metallic open and ‘‘peep’’ type sights are legal during the Special
Muzzleloader Hunt.

— Rifled barrels on shotguns are legal statewide.

HANDGUNS: State law provides that persons }8 years of age or older may carry
a handgun in the woods or fields or upon the waters of this state for the purpose of
hunting or target shooting. The carrying of handguns elsewhere in the state or in
motor vehicles or by persons under the age of cighteen years is subject to special
restrictions and may require a handgun permit. Questions concerning the carrying
of handguns and handgun permits should be directed fo your local police or
county sheriff.

All species of big game may be taken with a handgun, except deer may not be
taken with a handgun (including muzzicloading handguns) at any time in the
Shotgun Zone. A person suffering from a physical disability rendering him/her
incapable of using a shouider fired gun but capable of using a handgun and
possessing a doctor’s staterent to this effect may take deer with a handgun in the
Shotgun Zone.

RIFLE—SHOTGUN BOUNDARY: See small inset map on reverse side.
POSSESSION OF FIREARMS

— A person may not possess a firearm or ammunition outdoors during the period
beginning the tenth day before the open fircarms season and ending the second
day after the close of the season within an area where deer may be taken by a
firearm, except: (1) during the open season and in an area where big game
may be taken, a firearm and ammunition authorized for taking big game in
that area may be used to take big game in that area if the person has a valid big
game license in possession; (2) an unloaded firearm that is in a case or in a
closed trunk of a motor vehicle; (3) a shotgun and shells containing No. 4
buckshot or smaller diameter lead shot or steel shot; (4) a handgun or rifle and
only short, long, and long rifle cartridges that are caliber of .22 inches; (5)
handguns possessed by a person authorized to carry a handgun under sections
624.714 and 624.715 for the purpose authorized; and (6) on a target range
operated under a permit from the commissioner.
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TRANSPORTATION OF FIREARMS

— A person may not transport a fircarm in a motor vehicle unless the firearm is:
(1) unloaded and in a gun case expressly made to contain a firearm, and the
case fully encloses the firearm by being zipped. snapped, buckled: tied, or
otherwise fastened, and without any portion of the firearm exposed: (2) un-
loaded and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle: or (3) a handgun carried in
compliance with sections 624,714 and 624.715.

— "‘Unloaded means, with reference to a firearm, without ammunition in the
barrels and magazine, if the magazine is in the firearm. A muzzle loading
firearm with a flintlock ignition is unloaded if it does not have priming powder
in a pan. A muzzle loading firearm with percussion |gnmon is unloaded if it
does not have a percussion cap on a nipple.

LEGAL BOW AND ARROW
— A person may not take big game by archery while in possession of a firearm.
— Bows must have a pull of no less than 40 pounds at or before full draw.

— Arrowheads used for taking big game must be sharp and have a minimum of
two metal cutting edges, be of a barbless broad head design, and must have a
diameter of at least seven-eighths inch.

— A person may not hunt with a bow drawn, held, or released by a mechanical
device, except with a disabled hunter permit issued under MS. Sec. 97B.106
or as provided by the following: A person may use a mechanical device
attached to the bowstring if the person’s own strength draws, holds, and
reicases the bowstring.

— A person may not hunt deer or turkey with a crossbow except by special
permit issued to persons unable to hunt by archery because of a permanent
disability that is verified in writing by a licensed physician.

TRANSPORTATION OF BOWS

— A person may not transport an archery bow in a motor vehicle unless the bow
is (1) unstrung; (2) completely contained in a case: or (3) in the closed trunk of
a motor vehicle.

USE OF ARTIFICIAL LIGHT
WITH FIREARMS AND BOWS

— A person may not cast the rays of a spotlight. headlight, or other artificial light
on a highway, or in a field, woodland, or forest. to spot, locate, or take a wild
animal (except pursuant to 97B.621 and 97B.931), while having in posses-
sion, either individually or as one of a group of persons, a firearm, bow, or
other implement that could be used to kill big game.

— This subdivision does not apply to a firearm that is: (1) unloaded; (2) in a gun
case expressly made to contain a firearm that fully encloses the firearm by
being zipped, snapped, buckled, tied, or otherwise fastened without any por-
tion of the firearm exposed; and (3) in the closed trunk of a motor vehicie.

— This subdivision does not apply to a bow that is: (1) completely encased or
unstrung; and (2) in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle.

— If the motor vehicle does not have a trunk, the firearm or bow must be placed
in the rearmost location of the vehicle.

WITHOUT FIREARMS OR BOWS

— Between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. from September | to Decem-
ber 31, a person may not cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight, or other
artificial light in a field, woodland, or forest to spot, locate, or take a wild
animal except pursuant to 97B.621 and 97B.931. It is not a violation of this
subdivision for a person to carry out any agricultural, occupational, or recrea-
tional practice, including snowmobiling that is not related to spotting, locating
or taking a wild animal.
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SAFETY PROVISIONS

— A person may not hunt or trap during the open season in a zone or area where
deer may be taken by firearms, unless the visible portion of the person’s cap
and outer clothing above the waist, excluding sleeves and gloves, is bright red
or blaze orange. Blaze orange includes a camouflage pattern of at least 50
percent blaze orange within each foot square.

~— A person may not discharge a firearm or an arrow from a bow on, over, or
across an improved public highway at a big game animal. A person may not
discharge a firearm or bow and arrow within the right-of-way of an improved
public highway at a big game animal.

— A person may not take protected wild animals with a firearm or by archery
while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.

HUNTING METHOD RESTRICTION

— A person may not take deer from a man-made platform or other structure
higher than sixteen feet above the ground. The restriction dees not apply to a
portable stand that is chained, belted, clamped or tied with rope. On Wildlife
Management Areas, only portable stands may be used and they must riot be
left overnight.

— A person may not use radio equipment to take a protected wild animal, or to
take unprotected wild animals without a permit.

— A person may not shoot any wild animal from a motor vehicle. Disabled
persons possessing a permit are excepted.

REGULATIONS FOR ‘PARTY’ HUNTING

L. A party is any group of two or more licensed deer hunters all of whom are
afield hunting together ar the same time all using firearms or all using bow and
arrow. Therefore, a mixed weapons group would be two separate parties.

2. Any member of a party may kill a legal buck for any other member of the party
who has an unused tag. Any member of a party may tag a legal buck killed by any
other member of the party.

3. Any member of a party may kiil an antlerless deer for any other member of the
party who has an unused tag valid for an antlerless deer. Antlerless deer may only
be tagged by party members licensed to take antlerless deer.

REPORTING VIOLATIONS

If you witness a violation or find an illegally taken anima! leave it where you
find it and contact a Conservation Officer, Sheriff's Office, or the Highway
Patrol. Turn In Poachers. You can remain anonymous — a code number will be
used instead of your name. Call 1-800-652-9093. Please do not call this rumber
to obtain hunting regulation information.

ADVANCED HUNTER EDUCATION PROGRAM

If you are 16 or older join the over 30,000 adult Minnesotans who have
experienced this program. Learn how to protect your future hunting and open up
more private lands to hunting. For more information call or write: Advanced
Hunter Education, Box 47, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-
0904.

NON-DISCRIMINATION

Minnesota receives federal aid in fish and/or wildlife restoration. Under Title V1
of the 1964 Civil Rights Act and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,
the U.S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race,
color, national origin or handicap. If you believe that you have been discrimin-
ated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or if you
desire further information please write to: Affirmative Action Director, Box 36,
500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4036.
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REGULAR FIREARMS DEER SEASON

BONUS DEER

LAST SEASON’S RESULTS

FIREARMS LICENSES SOLD ... ..o 412,526

REGISTERED DEER HARVEST ... .....o0iiiiieiiiiins, 138.946

FIREARMS HUNTER SUCCESS .. ...........ooooiiininnn 34 percent
GENERAL

SHOOTING HOURS -— One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.
LIMIT — One deer per person per calendar year.
, Exception — See panel 11.

LEGAL BUCK — A deer having at least one antler not less than 3 inches long.

Fawn bucks, sometimes called nubbin bucks or button bucks, are not legal bucks.

ANTLERLESS DEER — Does and fawns, including male tawns with nubbins

or antiers less than 3 inches long.

REGISTRATION — You must register the deer you have tagged within 48

hours after your deer hunting license expires.

WHERE HUNTING IS ALLOWED — Deer season regulations permait hunting

statewide with the following provisions.

1. Zones, areas, and time periods for various kinds of hunts are limited by these
regulations. Please read all of this synopsis.

2. Refuges and state parks are closed to hunting except as specifically opened by
these regulations.

3. Cities, villages, and some townships have ordinances prohibiting the dis-
charge of weapons. Variance may be only by permit. Check with the office of
your local government unit — especially if you are within or adjacent to a
metropolitan area.

4. The owners of property — private, corporate, or public agency — have the
right to prohibit hunting on their land.

FIREARM SEASON CHOICES

—- The firearms deer hunter has several options from which to select a hunting
period and zone. A hunter’s choice will be indicated by a hole punched in his
license at the time of purchase. All of the alternatives are mutually exclusive
and do not allow hunting under any choice other than the one selected and
punched on the license.

— All of the options fall within the month of November except the Special
Muzzleloader Season. That is a special hunt on designated lands and allows
for taking deer of either sex. Details of that season are given on panels 15-16
of this folder.

— Hunters who choose any of the November options may hunt with muzzieload-
ing guns but must foilow regular firearms rules and cannot hunt in the Special
Muzzleloader Season.

~— A firearms deer hunter may apply for an Antlerless Permit or a Special Area
Permit for the area of his choice within the zone he is licensed for. The various
permit areas are listed on the map side of this folder and ‘on panels 15-16 and
21-24, The separate procedures to be followed in applying for either Antler-
less Permits or Special Area Permits are described on panels 8-10.

See map on reverse side for season choice details.

TYPES OF PERMITS AVAILABLE

— Aantlerless Deer Permit . . . required to take an antlerless deer (either sex)

. . issued by a drawing that recognizes several levels of preference. Preference

levels are determined by the number of unsuccessful applications since last

receiving a permit. Some applicants will receive permits two years in a row if

some permits remain after higher levels are filled. Some top level applicants can
fail to receive a permit if a drawing at the highest level is necessary.

— Special Area Permit . . . required to enter certain areas for hunting . . .
issued by a random (no preference) drawing.

INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLICANTS

Some requirements are the same for both types of permit. They are listed
below. In addition, each type of permit has some special requirements. They are
listed below the general requirements and on panels 9 and 10.

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS — ALL PERMITS

To apply for cither an Antlerless Permit or Special Area Permit —

-— You must first purchase a 1989 deer license to obtain the application card
required to make application for any permit. This means you must hunt in the
option chosen regardless of whether or not you receive a permit.

— You may NOT apply for both an Antlerless Permit and a Special Area Permit.
You may apply for only one Antlerless Permit or only one Special Area
Permit. Bow and arrow permits are not included in this restriction.

— Your application for a permit must be filled out as requested or it will not be
accepted.

-— Both Minnesota residents and nonresidents are eligible for permits.
— A permit is not transferable between persons or between permit areas.

— Special requirements that differ between Antlerless Permit applications and
Special Area Permit applications are listed below and on panels 9 and 10.

— ANTLERLESS DEER PERMITS —
GENERAL REQUIREMENTS —- see above.
SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR ANTLERLESS PERMITS —

— Antlerless Permits limit the number of people who are allowed to take does
and fawns within a permit area. The number of buck hunters is not limited.

— Antlerless Permit applicants may NOT apply as a party. The volume of
applications requires processing which cannot handie variable size groups to
be treated as one. Do NOT mail application in envelope.

AREAS OPEN FOR ANTLERLESS PERMITS

The permit areas are identified on the firearms deer season map (other side of
sheet) by white numbers within a solid white boundary line. Note that some permit
areas are subdivided into registration blocks by white dotted lines and have several
numbers within the solid line boundary. This subdivision of permit areas has been
done only to allow deer registration from the hunting map and does not affect where
you can hunt within the permit area. These permit areas have a single antlerless
permit quota as shown by a bracket within the permit table on the upper right corner
of the map. You may use any one of the numbers within the same solid boundary to
apply for an antlerless permit. The permit will be valid for all blocks within that solid
boundary and bracketed together in the permit table. 8

APPLICATION DEADLINE - SEPTEMBER 7, 1989

— Application cards must be postmarked or hand delivered to the DNR License
Bureau, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, 55155-4026 no later than September 7.
1989,

NOTE

Information regarding the Antlerless Permit drawing and individual applications
will not be available until after October 26.

WINNER SELECTION AND NOTIFICATION —

— If applications for permits exceed the area quotas, computerized drawings will
be held to determine who will be issued permits.

FOR PERMIT AREAS REQUIRING A DRAWING THE
FOLLOWING PROCEDURES WILL BE IN EFFECT:

— Al applicants for antlerless permits who will reach their 18th birthday by
September 7 must provide their Minnesota Driver’s License or Minnesota
Identification Card number. Also. anyone under 18 who wishes to gain prefer-
ence for the 1990 or any future drawings. if they are unsuccessful in the 1989
drawing, must provide one of these numbers.

— However, people who will not reach their 18th birthday by September 7,
1989, can be in a special drawing for an antlerless permit by providing their
Firearms Safety Training Certificate number. These people will not gain any
preference for the 1990 drawing if unsuccessful in the 1989 drawing. Neither
will they be excluded from the 1990 drawing if they are drawn in 1989.

— This special youth drawing is being held to accommodate young people who
cannot obtain a driver’s license or who do not wish to purchase the [.D. card.
They are being allowed to enter the special drawing until they are {8 years old
at which time they must either obtain a driver’s license or 1.D. number to
apply for an antlerless permit.

— The number of antlerless permits available for the special youth drawing will
be determined by the proportion of youths applying for a permit using their
Firearms Safety Training Certificate number versus the total number of antler-
less permits available for that area, as follows:

No. With Firearms Safety No.

All applications for the Area

~— Although the youths will not gain any preference, this system gives them the
opportunity to apply and be drawn on the same basis as they would have had
prior to the preference system because they are all competing for the youth
share of the permits each year.

— Only successful applicants will be notified. Permits will be drawn and mailed
no later than October 26. 1985.

CONDITIONS OF PERMIT USE —

— A hunter receiving an Antlerless Permit is allowed to hunt antlerless deer only
in the area for which he has received a permit. However, he may hunt bucks
throughout the zone and during the time punched on his license.

— An Antlerless permit is not transferable between persons or between Antler-
iess Permit areas.

PARTY HUNTING WITH ANTLERLESS PERMITS —

— See panel 6.

X No. of Permits for Area = No. of Youth
Permits for Area

— SPECIAL AREA PERMITS —

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS -— See panel 8.

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR SPECIAL PERMITS —

— Special Area Permits limit the number of people who are allowed to hunt
within a designated Special Permit Area.

— Special Area Permit applicants (1 to 4 persons) are allowed to apply as parties.
Properly compieted applications which are submitted in a single envelope will
all be selected or none selected.

~— Your application for a Special Area Permit must follow the instructions given
below or it will not be eligible.

AREAS OPEN — (Special Areas are not shown on map.)

— See panels 21-24 (Muzzleloader hunters see panels 15-16).

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS/SPECIAL AREAS —

(Except special bow hunt areas — see panel 14}

— Application for Special Permits must be made on the Antleriess Permit ap-
plication provided with the deer license.

— Write *“Speciai’’ above the Zone arrow on the form and write the number of the
Special Area you choose in the spaces at the point of the Permit Area arrow.

— Indicate your choice of hunt periods available by writing the dates in the space
above birth date.

— Cross out the address on the back of the application.

— MAIL IN AN ENVELOPE (up to four persons may apply as a party) to the
address given where the Special Area is described.

APPLICATION DEADLINE —

— Envelopes containing application cards must be postmarked or hand delivered
no later than September 7. 1989.

WINNER SELECTION AND NOTIFICATION

— 1f applications for permits exceed the number allowed, drawings will be held
to determine who will be issued permits.

— Since a Special Area Permit restricts who can enter an area te hunt, allowing
applications by party (1 to 4 persons) is an essential feature. Currently, prefer-
ence cannot be given in drawings with party applications because of the
complexities of the preference system and Jimited computer capability. There-
fore. the Special Area Permit drawings will be separate from the prefercnce
system. Success or failure in either an Antlerless Permit or a Special Area
Permit drawing in some previous year will have no effect on an applicant’s
chances for a Special Area Permit this year.

— Only successful applicants will be notified. Special Area Permits will be
drawn and mailed no later than October 26, 1989.

CONDITIONS OF PERMIT USE —

— A hunter receiving a Special Area Permit is allowed to hunt deer within the
designated area and time by regular firearms, or muzzleloader depending
upon the type of hunt for which the permit is valid. The permit holder with a
regular firearms license may also hunt bucks in the zone for which his license
is valid. Muzzleloader permit hunters in the special season may hunt in the
area for which they receive a permit as well as in any area open without
special permits. Only one deer may be taken per hunter, except as provided in

panel 11.
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A Bonus Deer is a legal second deer permitted by the 1989 season regulations.
A second license at the regular fee must be purchased.

BONUS DEER LICENSES WILL BE AVAILABLE —

-— in some undersubscribed Antlerless Permit Areas

— in some Special Permit Areas

— in the Metro Bonus Bow Area

PURCHASE IS AUTHORIZED —

— by a certificate issued to randomly drawn antlerless permit holders in under-
subscribed areas,

— by all permit holders for Special Areas where Bonus Licenses are available.

— as a second bow hunting license for the Metro Bonus Bow Area.

— All bonus licenses are valid for antlerless deer only.

-— No person may tag more than two deer in any calendar year.

—- No person may tag two deer by using the regular Bow and Arrow Deer
Hunting License tag and the regular Firearms Deer Hunting License tag.

NOTES

— If you receive a certificate for a Bonus Deer License you are not required to
purchase that second license unless you wish to hunt for a Bonus deer.

— Either the bonus or the regular license tag may be used first but if you wish to
tag a deer on your regular Firearm Deer Hunting License (as a buck elsewhere
in the zone) or on your regular Bow and Arrow Deer Hunting License you
should use your Bonus Deer License tag first. If you use your regular license
tag for your first deer in a Bonus Deer area you must also take the second deer
in that area because the Bonus Deer tag is not valid elsewhere.

UNDERSUBSCRIBED ANTLERLESS PERMIT AREAS

After the Antlerless Permit drawings, Bonus Deer Licenses may be autherized
where the number of applications is less than the quota. Persons authorized to
purchase a Bonus Deer License will be drawn {rom the original antlerless permit
applications. Therefore, no separate application is necessary. Applicants
selected will receive, in addition to an Antlerless Permit. 2 noniranslerable cer-
tificate that may be presented at a County Auditor’s office to purchase a Bonus
Deer License and tag at the regular deer license fee.

The Bonus Deer License is valid only in your Antlerless Permit Area and is
valid for antlerless deer only.

In 1988 the following areas were undersubscribed and had bonus licenses
available: 339, 343, 401, 405, 406, and 407.

SPECIAL PERMIT AREAS

Bonus Deer Licenses are available for certain state parks and other special
areas where drawings for permits are held. Applications for permits to hunt must
be made as explained in panel 10.

Applicants drawn for a Special Permit Area may be offered a Bonus Deer
License when they register for the hunt at the Special Area Headquarters but
purchase of a Bonus License is not required. If the Bonus Deer license is purch-
ased, it is valid only for an antlerless deer. This Bonus License is valid only
within the special area and will be so marked.
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SUNRISE AND SUNSET TIME SCHEDULE
LONGITUDE OF MINNEAPOLIS

Variations approximately 4 minutes to each degree or ! minute for each 12
miles. Add to determine time for points west, and subtract for points cast of
Minneapolis.

Times shown are Central Daylight Savings Time through OCTOBER Z8, 1989
and Central Standard Time thereafter. The schedules shown are the ones te be
used for hunting purposes.

SEPT. OCT. NOV. DEC.
Rise  Set Rise  Set Rise  Set Rise  Set
1 635 751 1 711 654 1 651 502 1 7:31 4:23
2 636 749 2 T2 652 2 653 5:00 2 7:32 433
3 637 747 3 7113 651 3 6:54 459 3 T7:33 4:23
4 638 745 4 T:14 6:49 4 655 458 4 T34 4:32
5§ 639 744 5 7116 647 5 657 456 5 735 432
6 641 742 6 747 645 6 6:58 455 6 736 432
7 642 740 7 7:18 643 7 659 454 7 737 432
8 643 738 8 7:19 641 8 7.01 453 8 7:38 4:32
9 644 736 9 T:21 640 9 T:02 451 9 7:39 432
10 6:45 7:34 10 7:22 638 10 7:04 450 16 740 4:32
11 6:47 7:32 11 7:23 636 11 7.05 449 11 7:41 4:32
12 6:48 7:30 12 7:25 634 12 7:06 448 12 7:42 4:32
13 649 7:28 13 7:26 632 13 708 447 13 7.43 432
14 650 7:27 14 727 631 14 709 446 14 744 432
IS 651 725 15 7:28 6229 15 7:10 445 15 744 432
16 653 7:23 16 7:30 627 16 7:12 444 16 745 4:32
17 6:54 7:21 17 7:31 625 17 7:13 443 17 746 4:33
i8 655 7:19 18 732 6:24 18 7T:14 442 18 T:46 4:33
19 6:56 7:17 19 7:34 622 19 7:16 441 19 747 433
20 6:57 7:15 20 735 620 20 T7:17 440 20 748 434
21 659 713 21 7:36 6:19 Z1 718 439 21 7:48 434
22 700 T:11 22 T:38 617 22 720 4:39 22 749 435
23 701 7:09 23 7:39 6:16 23 721 438 23 749 435
24 702 708 24 740 6:14 24 722 437 24 7:50  4:36
25 7:03 7:06 25 742 6:12 25 7:24 436 25 750 437
26 7:05 7:04 26 7:43 6:11 26 T:25 436 26 7.50 4:37
27 7:06 7:02 27 T44 609 27 726 4535 27 751 4:38
28 7.07 7.00 28 746 6:08 28 7:27 4:35 28 751 439
29 7:.08 6:58 29 647 5:06 29 7:28 434 29 751 4:39
30 7:09 656 30 648 505 30 730 434 3 751 440
31 650 5:03 31 751 441

TURN IN POACHERS —

1-800-652-9093: You can remain anonymous — a code number will be used
instead of your name. Note: Please do not use this telephone number to obtain
hunting regulation information.
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BOW & ARROW DEER SEASON

SPECIAL MUZZLELOADER SEASON

LAST SEASON’S RESULTS

BOW & ARROW LICENSES SOLD . .....ooviiiiiiiiiiiaene. 67,946
REGISTERED DEER HARVEST ..« o covi s o suies « siessy » s § vaias + 5 866 8,762
BOW HUNTER SUCCESS oo s a w5 5 vwimn & s s gws a5 ou 13 percent

SHOOTING HOURS — One-half hour before suarise to sunset.
NOTE: All licensed big game hunters who are hunting with bow and arrow shall
have their bows unstrung or cased during the time they are licensed to take big
game while in the field between 30 minutes after the close of shooting hours and
30 minutes before the start of shooting hours, daily. The 30 minute period before
and after shooting hours is not extra hunting time.

— No licensed bow hunter shall occupy any elevated deer stand between sunset
and one hour before sunrise.

LICENSING RESTRICTIONS —

— A license to take deer by archery issued after the opening of the archery deer
season is not valid until the fifth day after it is issued.

— No license to take deer may be issued after November 3, 1989 except for
bonus deer in Special Permit Areas.

BOW SEASON
ZONES DAYS OPEN
SOUTHWEST MINNESOTA
That part of Zone 4 south of the
highways from Fargo to St. Cloud
(1-94 and State Hwy. 23)
NORTHERN MINNESOTA
All of Zone | plus that part of
Zone 2 north of State Hwy. 95
and that part of Zone 4 north of
highways from Fargo to St. Cloud
(1-94 and State Hwy. 23)
EXCEFTION: In Registration Blocks
115-118 and 127, 130 and 194
SOUTHEAST MINNESOTA
All of Zone 3 and that part of Zone 2
south of highways from St. Cloud either sex, except
to Taylors Falls (State Hwys. 23 and 95) see NOTE below.
NOTE: Bow hunting for either sex permitted, except that only legal bucks may
be taken within a regular firearms zone when there is a regular firearms season
open therein, except for bonus licenses or as otherwise specifically authorized.
Where an area is closed to firearms hunting within a firearms zone that is open,
bow and arrow hunters are still limited to bucks only hunting within the area
closed to fircarms.,

STATE GAME REFUGES OPEN TO HUNTING
DEER AND BEAR BY BOW AND ARROW ONLY

NOTE: Most game refuges contain privately owned land upon which the right to
hunt (if open) may be prohibited by the landowner.

Unit County Unit County

Bemidji Beltrami East Minnesota {except Biue Earth
Claremont Dodge during the firearms season) and leSueur
Cross Lake  Crow Wing Hanley Falis Yellow Medicine
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Sept. 16 - Nov. 30,
cither sex, except
see NOTE below.

Sept. 16 - Dec. 3,
either sex, except
see NOTE below.

Sept. 16 - Nov. 19

Sept. 16 - Dec. 31,

Unit County Unit County

Hiawatha Pipestone Polk-Clearwater Polk and

Paul Bunyan Hubbard Clearwater

(Sept. 16 - Qct. 31 only) Sandstone Pine

Pine County Pine Schoolcraft Hubbard
Units 1, 2, 3 (Sept. 16 - Oct. 31 only)

— Also see Game Refuges listed as open on panel 19.

SPECIAL AREAS OPEN TO HUNTING
DEER WITH BOW ONLY BY PERMIT

PERMIT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS —

— Application for a special bow hunt area permit must be made on a form
supplied separately by each special bow hunt area. No other form of applica-
tion will be accepted.

— Send your request for the application form with a stamped, self-addressed
business envelope to the address listed for the special bow hunt area where
you wish to hunt.

SPECIAL BOW PERMIT AREAS OPEN

Camp Ripley — see panel 22.

*Fort Snelling State Park, binnesota Valley NWR, Carver State Wayside
and Louisville Swamp — see panel 22 and panel 24.

*Crow-Hassan Park Reserve in Hennepin County is open to either sex deer bow
hunting. Hunters may apply through Sept. 7, 1989. One hundred forty (140)
permits will be issued for Oct. 28-29 and Nov. [6-17. Requests for application
forms should be addressed to Hennepin Parks Bow Hunt, 3800 County Road 24,
Maple Plain, MN 55359.

*Murphy-Hanrehan Park Reserve and Cleary Lake Regional Park in Scott
County are open to either sex deer hunting Nov. 10-12, Hunters may apply
through Sept. 7, 1989. Two hundred (200) permits will be issued for Murphy-
Hanrehan and forty-five (45) will be issued for Cleary Lake. Each hunt requires
a separate application form. The orange/red clothing requirement must be met.
Requests for application forms should be addressed to Hennepin Parks Bow
Hunt, 3800 County Road 24, Maple Plain, MN 55359.

METRO BONUS BOW HUNT

— A bonus (second) bow and arrow deer license may be purchased to take a
second deer by bow and arrow within certain parts of the seven county Metro
Area during the regular bow season.

—- Hunters who wish to participate in this hunt must obtain permission to hunt on
private land (as usual) and must comply with all local ordinances, including
obtaining any local permits that may be required (as usual).

— Licenses, a map of the Metro Bow Area boundary, and special instructions are
available at the Anoka, Carver, Dakota. Hennepin, Scott and Washington
County Auditor’s offices, and from the DNR License Bureau at 500 Lafayette
Road, St. Paul. For additional information, write: Metro Bonus Bow Hunt,
Carlos Avery Game Farm, Forest Lake, MN 55025.

*Metro Bonus Bow Licenses are valid for permittees in these hunts,
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LAST SEASON’S RESULTS

EST. MUZZLELOADER LICENSES SOLD . ...................... 2,475
REGISTERED DEER HARVEST ..., 686
MUZZLELOADER SUCCESS (7o siws oo vnnes vnia s onionssnos 28 percent

NOVEMBER 25 through DECEMBER 10, 1989
SHOOTING HOURS — One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

— Antlerless deer and legal bucks may be taken by hunters who have selected
this option at the time of license purchase.

— The Special Muzzleloader Season is open only within the boundaries of the
following listed areas. Except for the Richard Dorer Forest all land within the
statutory boundaries of listed Siate Forests is open for Muzzleloader hunting.
However, agricultural or posted private land within a State Forest may be
hunted only with permission of the owner.

CLOTHING -— All hunters and trappers using the special muzzleloader
hunt areas Nov. 25 to Dec 10, 1989 must meet the legal requirements for wearing
bright red or blaze orange. See panel 6.

AREAS OPEN WITHGUT SPECIAL PERMITS

Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area {WMA) in Anoka and Chisago Coun-
ties (see Special Note below)

Chengwatapa State Forest (SF) in Pine and Chisago Counties

Cloguet Valley SF in St. Louis County

George Washington SF in Itasca County

Gores Pool WMA in Dakota and Goodhue Counties

Land-O-Lakes SF in Cass County — north of Cass Co. Road #58 and east of
State Highway #6 only

McCarthy Lake WMA in Wabasha County

Meadowbrook WMA in Cass County

Mille Lacs WMA in Kanabec and Mille Lacs Couaties

Nemadji SF in Cariton and Pine Counties

Paul Bunyan Game Refuge in Hubbard County

Red Lake WMA and Beltrami Island SF in Beltrami, Lake of the Woods and
Roseau Counties

Richard Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest tracts posted as State Forest and
shown on the Memoria! Hardwood Forest map available from DNR offices in
St. Paul and SE Minnesota.

Roseau River WMA in Roseau County

Rum River SF in Kanabec and Mille Lacs Counties

Savanna SF in Attkin and St. Louis Counties

Thief Lake WMA in Marshall County

Whitewater WMA in Olmsted. Wabasha, and Winona Counties

Special Note: Some private land surrounding the Carlos-Avery WMA will be

open to taking deer by muzzleloader from Nov. 25 to Dec, 10. Maps will be

available at the Carlos Avery Wildlife office. Hunters must have landowner’s

permission before hunting on private lands,
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SPECIAL PERMIT AREAS

See Special Instructions or Panel 10
Sanctuary Area - Carlos Avery WMA in Ancka County. Twenty (20) permits
will be issued for Nov. 25-Dec. i and Twenty (20) permits will be issued for
Dec. 2-10. This is Special Area No. 297,
Address: Deer Hunt, Carlos Avery Sanctuary, 5463 W. Broadway, Forest Lake,
MN 55025. ’
Cedar Rock WMA in Redwood County. Fifteen (15) permits will be issued for
Nov. 25-Dec. 1. This is Special Area No. 475.
Address: Muzzleloader Hunt, 231 E. 2nd St., Redwood Falls, MN 56283,
Panvers WMA in Swift County. Fifteen (15) permits will be issued foreach of two
separate periods Nov. 25-Dec. | and Dec. 2-10. This is Special Area No. 488.
Address: Muzzleloader Hunt, Wildlife Office. Civic Center. Appleton. MN
56208,
Helmer Myre State Park in Freeborn County. Forty (40) permits will be issued
for Nov. 25-28. Bonus licenses will be available at the park office. This is
Special Area No. 499.
Address: Myre ML Hunt, DNR Hdqtrs., Box 6247, Rochester, MN 55903,
Lac Qui Parle WMA and Big Stone National Wildlife Refuge in Big Stone,
Chippewa, Lac Qui Parle and Swift Counties except Rosemoen Island and the
area posted “*No Trespass from September 20 to December i°" are not open to
muzzleloader deer hunting at any time except by special authorization. The
federal Waterfowl Production Area located in Sec. 4, Township [19N. Range 43
W. is included in the open area. Unlimited permits will be issued for each of two
separate hunt periods Nov. 25-Dec. 1 and Dec. 2-10, but hunters must apply for
either the first or the second period. Additional private acreage will be open.
Please contact address for details and map. This is Special Area No. 432.
Address: Lac Qui Parle WMA, Rt. 1. Box 23, Wartson, MN 56295.
Lake Shetek State Park in Murray County is open for antlerless only deer
hunting by muzzieloader. Forty (40) permits will be issued for Dec. 2-10. This is
Special Area No. 495.
Address: Muzzleloader Hunt. Lake Shetek State Park, Rt. |, Currie, MN 56123,
Permittees must register at park office before hunting.
Talcot Lake WMA (except the Sanctuary Area) in Cottonwood and Murray
Counties. Fifty (50) permits will be issued for each of two separate periods Nov.
25-Dec. 1 and Dec. 2-10. This yeara large acreage outside the WM A will be open for
the Special Muzzleloader season. This has a different boundary than Antlerless
Permit Area No. 455. A map will be sentuponrequest. Thisis Special AreaNo. 455.
Address: Muzzleloader Hunt, Talcot Lake WMA, Dundee, MN 56126, Permit-
tees must register at the WMA office before huniing.
Walnut Lake WMA in Fairbault County. Twenty (20) permits will be issued for
each of two separate periods Nov. 25-Dec. | and Dec. 2-Dec. 10. This is Special
Area No. 489. A large acreage outside the WMA will be open for the Special
Muzzleloader season. A map will be sent upon request.
Address: Muzzleloader Hunt, Nichols Office Center, 410 Jackson, Suite 180,
Mankato, MN 56001 .
Glacial Lakes State Park and the Waterfow] Production Area in Sec. 25-26,
TI24N. R39W, in Pope County. Thirty (30) permits will be issued for Dec. 6-10.
This is Special Area No. 487. .
Address: Glacial Lakes ML Hunt, DNR Hdgtrs., 2115 Birchmont Rd. NE,
Bemidji, MN 56601 16

TRANSPORTATION & REGISTRATION

DEER LEG TAG

The tag must be attached to the deer when: (1) the animal is in 4 camp, or a
place occupied overnight or the yard surrounding the place; or (2) the animal is on
a motor vehicle (self-propelled vehicle or any vehicle propelled or drawn by a
self-propelled vehicle). Therefore you must —

. Detach the leg tag from the deer license.

. Scratch off the date of kill.

. Insert the tag between the tendon and the bone of a hind leg.
. Remove the tag's adhesive backing, and

. Seal the adhesive side of the tag together around the leg bone.

LB Wb —

— IMPORTANT —

Mark the date on the leg tag carefully, more than one date marked makes the tag
invalid.

POSSESSING BIG GAME

— Every person taking a big game animal must retain the license. tag. permit,
and registration tag as long as any part of the meat is in possession.

—- A Jegally registered animal may be transported any time during or after the
deer hunting season.

-— When such deer, bear. or meose is transported by other than common carrier
(commercial transportation) the licensee must accompany it, except as pro-
vided below:

TRANSPORTATION BY PERSON
OTHER THAN LICENSEE

— A person other than the licensee may transport deer. bear, or moose that the
licensee has registered as prescribed by the commissioner. A tag must be
attached to the animal and marked in ink with the address. license number,
signature of the licensee, and the locations from which and to which the
animal is being transported.

HEADS, HIDES AND CLAWS
- A resident that has a license to take deer, bear, or moose may transport the
head or hide of the animal within or out of the state for mounting or tanning.
The hides of deer. bear. and moose. and the claws of bear legally taken and
with the tags that are required. may be bought, sold. and transported at any
time.

TRANSPORTATION CAUTIONS
— The head of the deer must remain attached to the carcass until the deer is
registered.
— All deer must be transported before and after registration so that inspection by
enforcement officers is readily accomplished.

WANTON WASTE

— Unless expressly allowed, a person may not wantonly waste or destroy &
usable part of a protected wild animal.
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YOUR DEER WILL BE ILLEGAL UNLESS REGISTERED.
See License Agents or County Auditors
for a complete listing of registration stations.

DEER MUST BE REGISTERED BY THE NUMBERED
REGISTRATION BLOCKS SHOWN ON THE MAP IN
THIS SYNOPSIS.

KILL REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS

Every person taking a deer shall present the deer for registration at an official
deer registration station and obtain a POSSESSION TAG before any of the
following occur —

— before the deer is removed from the zone in which it is taken,*

— before the deer is precessed either privately or commercially.

— before 48 hours after the expiration of his/her fircarms deer hunting license; or
for deer taken by bow, within 48 hours after taking.

— A person may not process a deer unless it has been registered as attested by an
attached POSSESSION TAG.

Registration is required. Registration will be certified by a POSSESSION ]
that will be issued at the time of registration. The hunter’s license number and the
year of issue will be written on the POSSESSION TAG by the registration agent.

POSSESSION TAG must be attached around the deer’s leg just as the license

tag is. This must be done immediately after receiving the TAG.
*Deer may also be presented for registration at an official station within a city or
village through which a zone boundary passes or at an official station across the
road but adjacent to the zone where taken. Bow and arrow deer registration is not
restricted to location except where so designated for special area hunts.

USE OF SNOWMOBILES, OTHER VEHICLES

No person who has a valid deer license shall operate a snowmobile, three-
wheel cycle or any other all-terrain vehicle, during legal shooting hours in any
area open for the taking of deer by firearms on any day when the person is
licensed to take deer within that area except during the period i{ a.m. te 2 p.m.
cach day. All-terrain vehicles include trail bikes, Cushman 6 wheelers, Cushman
Tracksters, Borbadier J-5’s and other similarly manufactured and homemade
vehicles. This regulation applies to all lands and waters regardless of ownership,
except that anyone using an all-terrain vehicle while pursuing his or her occupa-
tion on their own land and not in possession of a firearm is exempt. A permit fo
operate these restricted vehicles between one haif hour before sunrise and sunset
(other than during the period 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.) may be issued by a Conservatiorn
Officer in the event of an emergency or other unusual condition.

NOTE — All-terrain vehicle use is not allowed in state parks.

NOTE
License agent must provide this synopsis to
anyone requesting it. Purchase of a license is
not required.
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STATE GAME REFUGES

A state game refuge is closed to firearms hunting of deer and bear unless listed
below:
NOTE: Most game refuges contain privately owned land upon which the
right te hunt (if opened by the state) may be prohibited by the landowner.

The following game refuges are open to hunting of deer and bear during
established seasons for the zones in which they are located. (See Small Game
Hunting and Trapping regulations for refuges open to small game hunting and
trapping and waterfowl hunting.)

REFUGES OPEN TO
DEER AND BEAR HUNTING

Unit County
ATDETEERH | o oc s ch 5 ¥ 0% 3 3 500 § Bastie 3 ol § SR 5 SR04 1 vl 5 v Freeborn
CIAY COUDLY s v+ o vmie s sevenn o § i o maiie & 540k 3 aiaiale o a0 0§ @b s o s00d n s Clay
Cleatbrook .. ..............ooone. Clearwater
Collegeville and St. Joseph Twp. .............. Stearns (closed to archery)

(Except the refuge around St. John's University)
Elizabeth Lakeis . ¢ cums o o 5 « s s wems 3 5 s x wimose s viom o o ome s o = Isanti
BOHArd’ s (GIOVE . .« s s 5 voes o 5 simin « simias & wwis s = sommncs sommix s soxcmn v = Otter Tail
Fayal TOWNSIID o« « ¢ sioie s v vieis 3 1 o o 0o 5 5 s o smiess s v 3 wist o o St. Louis
FOK LBKE ..o o wcmse x wmosion s 5 570 5 § Ll § G500 T 50l 4 ¥ iauis i otors % & Grarm's wrsh Martin
GEITNAN LAKE . - oo o coe s g v 2 5 5iolh 4 5 sieis o Fo@s o wass s 8 sbesi b 8 e ¢ saien Isanti
TIn0 BRE v« comr = o mimss = o0 min s 1 st 5 5 G050 i SR ® B T AN E SR 3 @S Chisago
oSt LAKE . .« vve v ieiee st et e e s e e b e Fillmore
Lower Pigeon Lake . ..o vvvtnvivnennneine e tnmnevaraiaes Ttasca
MBYWOOE <o & mrorpre s vt & wmsars & soss o @ warem o sisce € wmis o Suggess v pisis o 2eoe Benton

WIVEINHBLONKA « o siass ¢ aves 5 s s # srsm & emsn 4 somse ¥ w0 atave Hennepin and Carver
IVIOSEOW, = o5 5 weers 5 Sfies § o © § S0 5 & o5ek @ & SN % & W0ei & WLATAID 3 FAR 5 8 Freeborn
Pigeon River FIOWAZE. . .. ..vivovnionnsiminenineionieioie . Itasca
ROCHESIEE vcin o onsin = msiinis 3 somssie o coklfod § H3006 § HEES 54000 & HER0 < Wi @ 5 Olmsted
Rothsay WMA Sancfuary . .. .........ouoertnenearienraeeiiin s Wilkin
Sand DUNES . . ..ottt e Sherburne
Stearns County (near Kimball). ...... ..o Stearns
SOIWEEE i » sesawin 5 5 s 5 8 5 © 3 4@ & ivisn ® wasn s & siusrs w wAgs & stans Washington
St CEOIX RIVET w5 5 suis 5 sodoon ¥ 5 9% § & 0iws 5 S0alhns & avesasa w svas & v Washington
Swan Eake M0 2 4« wmins poan 5 7 68 ¢ 5 0065 5 ReeE T SEa § v ¥ s e s Nicollet

*Most land in this refuge is governed by local ordinance. Local authorities
should be contacted for specific regulations.

STATE GOOSE REFUGES AND
STATE WATERFOWL REFUGES
State goose refuges and waterfow! refuges are closed to hunting of geese or
waterfow] as indicated. Other forms of hunting and trapping are permitted during
the established seasons and in the zones in which they are located.

STATE FORESTS
The public land within State Forests is open to hunting. State Game Refuges
within State Forests are not open to big game hunting unless listed as open in this
synopsis. Agricultural or posted private land within a State Forest may be hunted
only with permission of the owner.

STATE SCIENTIFIC AND NATURAL AREAS
Scientific and Natural Areas (SNAs) are closed to hunting unless opened by
Commissioner’s Order.
In 1989 the following areas are open:
ITASCA WILDERNESS SANCTUARY in Itasca Park is open to firearms deer
hunting under Itasca State Park Regulations.
IRON SPRINGS BOG SNA in Clearwater County is open to firearms and bow
and arrow deer hunting, consistent with regulations. g 19

STATE WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS

All areas identified as wildlife management areas, except any portion thereon
which may be posted against entry by *State Game Refuge.”™ or “"No Trespas-
sing’* signs, are open to big game hunting during established seasons for the
zones in which they are located.

However, specific regulations will apply to certain areas as follows:

For Special Muzzleloader Hunts — See Muzzleloader Section.

The Lac qui Parle Game Refuge in Chippewa and Lac qui Parle Counties is
open as follows: Those portions of the refuge within the Lac qui Parle Recreation
Reserve, Lac qui Parle Mission Site. or which are posted with “"Do Not Tres-
pass” signs, are closed to hunting or the carrying or possession of firearms or
bows and arrows unless the firearm is unloaded and completely encased or
unloaded and contained in the trunk of a car and the trunk door closed and the
bow is unstrung or completely contained in a case or contained in the trunk of the
car with the trunk door closed. The remainder of the refuge is open to the
hunting of deer during the established seasons in the zones in which it is
located. From September 20 to December 1. both dates inclusive, no unautho-
rized person shall trespass for any purpose whatsoever on any part of the refuge
which is posted with signs prohibiting trespass during this period. No unautho-
rized person shall trespass on Rosemoen Island at any time during the year.

The Bayport Wildlife Management Area in Washington County and the
Raguet WMA. in Scott and Carver Counties are closed to the possession of all
firearms unless unloaded and contained in a case. except for designated hunting
areas during the season for the taking of small game when shotgun with fine shot
only is permitted. Possession and use of bow and arrow is limited to the desig-
nated hunting areas during established hunting seasons.

ELEVATED STANDS IN WMAs

It is unlawful to construct, occupy or use any elevated scaffold or other ele-
vated device for the purpose of hunting, watching for or kiiling big game, except
that portable tree stands may be used for this purpose provided they are removed
each day at the close of hunting hours and do no permanent damage to trees in
which they are placed.

OTHER USES OF WMAs

Motor vehicles, camping, and other uses of Wildlife Management Areas are
regulated. Please read the regulation signs posted on WMAs to avoid violating.

STATE PARKS

For Bonus License Hunts — See Bonus Section (panel 11).
For Special Muzzleloader Hunts — See Muzzleloader Section (panels 15-16).
State Park vehicle permits are required on all vebicles taken into Minnesota
State Parks.
All State parks are refuges by law but may be opened by Commissioner’s
Order.

ELEVATED STANDS IN STATE PARKS

It is unlawful to construct, occupy or use any clevated scaffold or other ele-
vated device for the purpose of hunting. watching for or killing big game, except
that portable tree stands may be used for this purpose provided they are removed
each day at the close of hunting hours and do no permanent damage to trees in
which they are placed.

ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES

All-terrain vehicle use is not allowed in state parks.
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STATE PARKS OPEN WITH ZONE REGUILATIONS
ITASCA STATE PARK in Becker, Clearwater and Hubbard Counties is open to
firearms hunting for Jegal bucks only by Zone 2 license holders and (or antlerless
deer by Area 287 permit holders, excepi where posted as closed, during the Zone
2 firearms season.

STATE PARKS OPEN ONLY WITH SPECIAL PERMIT
Certain parks are open to a limited number of deer hunters by Special

Area Permits and the proper license. In each state park thus opened a permit

holder must first register at the park office before beginning to hunt and he/she

must register any deer taken at the park office before lzaving the park.

Parks open by Special Permit for bow and arrow hunting are listed on pane} 14.

Parks open by Special Permit for muzzleloader hunting are listed on panet 16.

The parks listed below are open as described for legal firearm hunting.

See panel 10 for application instructions.

ZONE 1

ST. CROIX STATE PARK in Pine County is open for either sex deer hunting

November 11 & 12 by special permit. Six hundred (600) permits will be issued.

This is Special Area No. 153.

Address: St. Croix State Park, Route 3, Box 174, Hinckley, MN 55037

ZONE 2

LAKE BRONSON STATE PARK in Kittson County is open for either sex deer

hunting by special permit. Twenty-five (25) permits wili be issued for Nov. 4-6.

Bonus Deer Licenses will be available, see panels 11-12. This is Special Area

No. 294.

Address: Lake Bronson Deer Hunt, Box 9, Lake Bronson, MN 56734.

WILD RIVER STATE PARK in Chisago County is open for either sex deer

hunting November 11 and 12; by special permit within the area posted as state

park. One hundred twenty-five (125) permits will be issued. This is Special Area

No. 295.

Address: Wild River State Park, 29755 Park Trail. Center City, MN 55012.

ZIPPEL BAY STATE PARK in Lake of the Woods County is open for either

sex deer hunting by special permit. Fifty (50) permits will be issued for Nov.

4-12. This is Special Area No. 298. Bonus licenses will be available.

Address: Zippel Bay Deer Hunt, DNR Hdqtrs., 2115 Birchmont Beach Rd.

N.E., Bemidji, MN 56601.

ZONE 3

FORESTVILLE STATE PARK in Fillmore County is open for either sex deer

hunting Nov. 18-20 by speciai permit. One hundred (100) permits wili be issued.

This is Special Area No. 397. Bonus licenses will be availabie. See panel 11.

Address: Forestville Deer Hunt, DNR Headguarters, Box 6247, Rochester, MN

55903.

FRONTENAC STATE PARK in Goodhue County is open for either sex deer

hunting Nov. 18-20 by special permit. Thirty (30) permits will be issued. This is

Special Area No. 390. Bonus licenses will be available.

Address: Frontenac Deer Hunt, DNR Headquarters, Box 6247, Rochester, MN

55903.

LAWRENCE AND BELLE PLAINE STATE WAYSIDES (MN Valley State

Park) in Scott County are open for either sex deer hunting by special permit.

Sixty (60) permits will be issued for Nov. 18-20. This is Special Area No. 392.

Bonus licenses will be available.

Address: Minnesota Valley SP Deer Hunt, 19825 Park Boulevard, Jordan, MN

55352.
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O.L. KIPP STATE PARK in Winona County is open for either sex deer hunting
Nov. 18-20 by special permit. One hundred (100) permits will be issued. This is
Special Area No. 393. Bonus licenses will be available.

Address: O.L. Kipp Deer Hunt. DNR Hdgtrs., Box 6247, Rochester, MN 55903.

ZONE 4

GLACIAL LAKES STATE PARK and the Waterfow! Production Area in
Secs. 25 and 26, T124-R39 in Pope County are open for either sex deer hunting
by special permit. ‘Forty (40) permits will be issued for November 11-12. This is
Special Area No. 496.

Address: Glacial Lakes Deer Hunt, DNR Hdqtrs., 2115 Birchmont Rd. N.E.,
Bemidji. MN 56601.

MAPLEWOOD STATE PARK in Otter Tail County is open for either sex deer
hunting Nov. 11-12 by special permit. Two hundred (200) permits will be issued.
This is Special Area No. 498.

Address: Deer Hunt, Maplewood State Park, Rt. 3, Box 281, Pelican Rapids,
MN 56572.

OTHER SPECIAL AREAS
FORT SNELLING STATE PARK —— The park area in Dakata County will be
open by special permit for antlerless only deer hunting by shotgun November
4-12. Up to-seventy-five (75) permits wiil be issued by a drawing.
MINNESOTA VALLEY NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE — The Long
Meadow Lake and Black Dog units will be open by special permit for antierless
enly deer hunting by shotgun and bow and arrow. Thirty-six (36) permits will be
issued for shotgun and twenty-nine (29) permits will be issued for bow and arrow
for November 4-12. Shotgun and bow hunters will be in separate areas.
BOTH THE PARK AND THE REFUGE will have bonus licenses available.
An evening orientation session is required for permittees selected by a drawing.
A special hunt fee will be charged. This is Special Area 394. Bow hunters must
purchase a bow and arrow deer license. Shotgun hunters must purchase a ZONE
3A firearms deer license. Additional information from Fort Snelling Deer Hunt,
1200 Warner Rd., St. Paul 55106 or call (612) 296-2553 after August 15. The
deadline for drawing applications is September 7, 1989,

CAMP RIPLEY BOW HUNT

Two thousand (2000) permits will be issued for each of two hunting periods:
Oct. 17-18 and Oct. 28-29. Preprinted applications have been sent to all who
applied in the past two years. Others may obtain official application forms by
writing: Archery Hunt, R.R. #4, Box 19A, Little Falls, MN 56345. Requests for
forms mustinclude a stamped, self-addressed business-size envelope for return of
the application form. When applications are submitted they must include a $5.00
application fee. Application must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on August
15, 1989.
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COUNTY PARKS

SPECIAL BOW PERMIT AREAS OPEN
CROW-HASSAN PARK RESERVE in Hennepin County is open to either sex
deer hunting. See panel 14.

MURPHY-HANREHAN PARK RESERVE and CLEARY LAKE REGION-
AL PARK in Scott County.are open to either sex deer hunting. See panel 14.

COUNTY PARK FIREARMS HUNTS
See panel 10 for detailed information on Special Area Hunts.

BAKER PARK RESERVE in Hennepin County. Open to either sex deer hunt-
ing by legal firearms on Nov. 18-19, 1989, by permit only. Hunters applying for
Baker should purchase a license for Zone 3B. Hunters who elect to hunt in Baker
may hunt only bucks elsewhere in Zone 3 during the November 18-24 season.
Eighty (80) permits will be issued. This is Special Permit Area No. 391,
Address: Baker Park Reserve Deer Hunt, Hennepin Parks, 3800 County Road 24,
Maple Plain, MN 55359. Telephone 612/476-4665.

FEDERAL AREAS
FEDERAL WATERFOWL PRODUCTION AREAS
AND NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES

Federal Waterfowl Production Areas are open in the fall to public hunting
except where posted otherwise. Migratory birds, upland game birds, small game
and big game may be hunted and furbearers trapped in accordance with applic-
able State and Federal regulations.

Ovemight camping and overnight parking are prohibited on all Waterfow!
Production Areas, including designated parking areas. Additional information,
including maps of open and closed areas, is available from U.S. Fish and Wild-
life Service, Route 1, Box 26A, Fergus Falls, Minnesota 56537.

Motorized vehicles and motorized watercraft are prohibited on National Wild-
life Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas Except: (1) On access roads and
parking areas designated by sign: (2) on public roads; or (3) by permit obtained
from U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Refuge and Wetland Management District
Offices. Motorized watercraft are allowed without permit on the Tamarac and
Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife Refuges.

VOYAGEURS NATIONAL PARK
Hunting and trapping wild animals on public land. within the boundaries of
Voyageurs National Park is prohibited.
Maps showing the boundaries of the park are available from Box 50, Interna-
tional Falls, Minnesota 56649,

NOTE

Lands belonging to the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians in Beltrami,
Koochiching, Lake of the Woods and Roseau Counties are closed to non-Band-
members except by special authorization of the tribal council.
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NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES

GENERAL — The following National Wildlife Refuges are open to big game
hunting as hereinafter provided. in accordance with State and Special Federal
regulations. A Minnesota State Hunting License punched with the appropriate
option is required. Hunting maps and regulations are available through each
refuge office or by writing to: Regional Director, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service,
Federal Building, Fort Snelling, Twin Cities, MN S5111.

NOTE: Some of these refuges are Special Permit Areas, some are Antlerless
Permit Areas, and some are both, and one requires only a regular deer
license for the appropriate hunt. Please read details carefully.

AGASSIZ NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Marshail County is open
only to firearms deer and moose hunting in accordance with established State
seasons in all areas except those designated by ‘‘Area Closed’ signs or as
delineated on a map available at Refuge Headquarters, Middle River, MN 56737.
This is in Antlerless Permit Area No. 203 which includes the Elm Lake, Eckvoli
and Mud Lac State Wildlife Areas.

BiG STONE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Big Stone and Lac gui
Parle Counties is open to bow and arrow and firearmis deer hunting in accordance
with established State seasons on areas posted as *‘Public Hunting Area’" or as
delineated on a map available at Refuge Headquarters, 25 N.W. 2nd Street,
Ortonville, MN 56278. See Muzzleloader section for Special Area Permits. This
is part of Antlerless Permit Area No. 432-433-434.

MINNESOTA VALLEY NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE is open to shot-
gun and bow and arrow deer hunting by special permit. An unlimited number of
full season bow and arrow permits will be issued for the Wilkie and Louisville
units. Permits for those units will be issued from August 28 through September
11, 1989. For additional information contact the refuge headguarters at 4101 East
80th St., Bloomington, MN 55425 or call 854-6486. Permits to hunt antlerless
only deer by shotgun or bow on the Long Meadow Lake and Black Dog units will
be issued by a drawing. Thirty-six (36) shotgun and 29 bow and wrrow permits
will be issued for Nov. 4-12. Permittees will be charged a special hunt fee.
Details can be obtained from Minnesota Vailey Deer Hunt, 120¢ Warner Rd., St.
Paul 55106 or call 296-2553 after August 15. The deadline for drawing applica-
tions is September 7, 1989. Bonus licenses will be available.

RICE LAKE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Aitkin County is open
only to firearms either sex deer hunting only on November 11-13, 1989 to those
persons with a valid Special Area Permit (see panel 10 on Special Area Permits
for application procedures). A total of 100 Special Permits will be issued. Maps
delineating the open areas are available at Refuge Headquarters, Route 2.
McGregor, MN 55760 or call (218) 768-2402. This is Special Permit Area No.
151.

SHERBURNE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE ir Sherbume County is
open to bow and arrow deer hunting in Areas A and B during the established State
seasons. Daily entrance fees are charged. Firearms deer huating is allowed in
Areas A, B and C for legal bucks and antlerless deer by pernut during the
established State season. This is Antlerless Permit Area No, 224. Maps deiineat-
ing hunting areas are available at Refuge Headquarters, Route 2. Zimmerman,
MN 55398 or call 612/389-3323.

TAMARAC NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Becker County is open to
bow and arrow and firearms deer hunting during the established State seasons.
This is Antlerless Permit Area No. 251. Maps delineating the open areas are
available at Refuge Headquarters, Rural Route, Rochert, MN 56578.

UPPER MISSISSIPPI RIVER NATIONAL WILDLIFE AND FISH REF-
UGE — Public hunting is allowed in the refuge, except in “‘Closed Areas’", from
the opening of respective State fall hunting seasons until the end of February. In
Closed Areas, all hunting is prohibited from March 1 until the close of duck
season. Beginning the day after duck season until the end of February, all legal
species except geese may be hunted in Closed Areas. For additional information
address:
Refuge Headquarters, Rm. 101, 51 East 4th St., Winona, MN 55987. 2
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MINNESOTA

ANTLERLESS PERMIT AREA QUOTAS

Note: Soym- permit areas on the map are subdivided by wnite_do‘tted Iines. and have several numbers within a solid white boundary. These permit areas have a single antlerless quota, as shown by a
bracket in this table. You may use any one of the numbers within the solid boundary to apply for an antlerless permit. A permit is valid across dotted lines. If a2 numbered area is not listed in this
table there are no antlerless permits available.

Area No.. Area No.. Area No.. Area No. Area No. Area No. Area No. Area No.
No. Permits No. Permits No. Permits No. Permits No. Permits No. Permits No. Permits No. Permits
ZONE 1 157 — 1000 ZONE 2 24 — 3000 ZONE 4
104 158 201 — 150 245 401 — A-350 B- 350 417 — A-350 B-850 436}_ A-100 B-300 *355 — A- 50 B- 50
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES s ¢ — 700 | 159 —1000 | 202 — 700 | 246" —2000 f 402 300 B2 a00 | 418 = 8200 paso | 4 456 — A.200 B.200
106 167 *¥203 — 350 247 — 750 | 403 — A-250 B- 250 419 — A-350 B-400 438 457 — A-100 B-100
107 168 ¢ — 1750 204 — 1300 248 — 250 | 404 — A-500 B- 600 | 420 — A-250 B-350 | 4394~ A- 30 B-70 | 45 4100 B-150
DIVISION OF FISH & “ ILDLIFE 108 — 1700 169 205 — 500 2-_1_9 — 500 | 405 — A-650 B- 650 421 — A-100 B-300 442 459 — A-250 B-350
i NO I E RSt e 109 ¥ 170 206 — 1000 *251 — 200 | 406 — A-300 B- 600 422 — A-150 B-300 443 53— A-250 B-400 461 — A-100 B-200
A TTE RO AD : 195 171 207 — 800 284 407 — A-500 B- 700 | 423 — A-150 B-350 | 444 462 — A-200 B-400
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4dird " ) =l ¥ 1 b
] R % - L[ <@ sones Antlerless Permit Area 197-198 —
- - ST That portion of the state within the boundaries of the Leech Lake Indian Reservation except where the Reservation boundary intercepts the
: ": boundary separating Zone 1 and Zone 2. See inset map above for this boundary.
Sy r -——- e g — LS e oo Antlerless Permit Area 202 —
= : & 13 v on Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 32 and County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 6, Marshall County; thence along CSAH
on Fiegmen Wosthck & ey — 6 to the junction with STH 89: thence along County Road (CR) 133, Marshall County, to the junction with CSAH 54, Marshall County; thence along
[ : v o 61 r \ CSAH 54 to the junction with CR 134, Marshall County; thence along CR 134 to the junction with STH 89, thence along STH 89 to the junction with
o 67 gl 19 | 19 1 e - 5 CSAH 48, Marshall County; thence along CSAH 48 to the junction with CSAH 49, Marshall County; thence along CSAH 49 to the Marshall-Roseau
i i Lo > [ County boundary; thence along the Marshall-Roseau County boundary to the junction with STH 32; thence along STH 32 to the point of beginning.
e i 7 3 Antlerless Permit Area 203 — N
\ i 3 Lo = That portion of the state within the boundaries of Agassiz National Wildlife Refuge plus the Elm Lake, Eckvoll, and Mud Lac Wildlife Areas.
o i A‘ s jhosas Antlerless Permit Area 224 —
“ ' S = That portion of the state known as the Sherbume National Wildlife Refuge.
! 'd \ Antlerless Permit Area 226 — ) ) ) )
I ; ¥ 68 That part of the state within the following described boundaries, but exclusive of that
T I e P e eer gan comprising Block 235. § .
14 £ eginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 95 and U.S. H|ghw?¥ 169 at
n!' Princeton; thence southerly along U.S. Highwai"l 169 to County State Aid Highway
it 14 ¥ ! 57 (CSAH) 4, Sherburne County: thence along CSAH 4 to CSAH 8, Isanti County; thence
L g o i’ A along CSAH 8 to CSAH 7, Tsanti County; thence along CSAH 7 to CSAH 28, Anoka
5 = A County; thence along CSAH 28 to CSAH 24, Anoka County; thence along CSAH 24 to
] 2 A v v \ o State Trunk Highway (STH) 65; thence along STH 65 to CSAH 9, Isanti County; thence
¢ 2 A along CSAH 9 to CSAH 17, Chisago County; thence along CSAH 17 to Interstate 35
S a Y ta Ci (l-35g); thence southward along I-35 to STH 97; thence along STH 97 to STH 95; thence
3 2 P g o 51 due east to the eastern boundary of the state; thence alon%{thc eastern boundary of the state
& i - ¥ 5 - 2 to U.S. Highway 8; thence along U.S. Highway 8 to STH 95; thence along STH 95 to the
[ I D t s point of beginning.
= / ¢ . 43 Antlerless Permit Area 227 — ) y
v 59 b That part of the state within the following described boundaries but exclusive of that
i i 1 ¥ gan comprising Block 235.
T Canm : i eginning at the intersection of County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 4, Sherburne County
1 & 3 0L glto g 3 and U.S. Highway 169; thence along CSAH 4 to CSAH 8, Isanti County; thence along
: < 30 30 30 foen / CSAH 8 to gSAII?. Isanti County; Thence along CSAH 7 to CSAH 28 Anoka County;
] - B 30 2 thence along CSAH 28 to CSAH 24, Anoka County; thence along CSAH 24 to State
o - = 30 ’ = Trunk Highway (STH) 65 thence along STH 65 to CSAH 9, Isanti County; thence along
3 P 63 o CSAH 9 to CSAH 17, Chisago County; thence along CSAH 17 to Interstate 35 (I-35);
. 5 ! 16 thence southward along 1-35 to the point where it crosses CSAH 14, Anoka County;
- \ o thence along CSAH 14 to STH 242; thence along STH 242 to U.S. Highway 52; thence
A a ! i e along U.S. 52 to the easterly bank of the Mississippi River; thence along the easterly bank
. B s i of said river to STH 101; thence along STH 101 to U.S. Highway 169; thence along U.S.
o ! i <4 . 169 to the point of beginning.
P o Antlerless Permit Area 235 —
g That portion of the state known as the Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area in
: Anoka amehisago Counties.
3t i s 63 . Antlerless Permit 236 — i
0 L . Beginning at the intersection of U.S. Hi hwaK 52 and the easterly bank of the
— o 5 e Mississippi River; thence along U.S. 52 to State Trunk Highway (STH) 242; thence along
: e = o g STH 242 to CSAH 14, Anoka County; thence along CSAH 14 to Interstate 35 (I-35);
i % Tedreionn thence along 1-35 to State Trunk Highway (STH) 97; thence along STH 97 to STH 95;
! thence due east to the eastern boundary of the state; thence along the eastern boundary of
96° 920 the state to the junction of the St. Croix and Mississippi Rivers: thence along the easterly
95° 94° 93° bank of the Mississippi Rivers; thence along the easterly bank of the Mississippi River to

LEGAL DESCRIPTIONS

Legal descriptions of the deer hunting zones are contained in the Commission-
er’s Order establishing the 1989 Minnesota Deer Seasons.

Legal descriptions of the boundaries of Deer and Bear Registration Blocks that
make up the Antlerless Permit Areas are contained in the Commissioner’s
Order entitled Establishment and Description of Deer and Bear Registration
Blocks plus amendments thereto.

These Orders may be read at County Auditor’s offices.

You are advised to check such descriptions if you are in doubt about a bound-
ary.

USE THIS MAP FOR DEER AND BEAR REGISTRATION

A HUNTER MUST BE PREPARED TO TELL THE REGISTRATION AGENT —
1. Block number where the deer was killed. 2. County where the deer was Kkilled.
3. Date of kill. 4. Sex and age of deer. 5. Whether hunter has doe permit.

the point of beginning
Antlerless Permit Area 251 —
That portion of the state known as the Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge.

Antlerless Permit Area 297 and 298 —
That portion of the state known as the White Earth Indian Reservation except four
nortkeastern townships (Townships 143N to 146N; Range 37W) and Area 251.

Antlerless Permit Area 455 —
That portion of the state within the following described boundaries:

Beginning at the junction of the County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 6. Murray County,
and CSAH 42, Murray County; thence along CSAH 42 to CSAH 3, Murray County;
thence due south to the south boundary of Murray County; thence east to the southwest
corner of Cottonwood County; thence along the south bounda% of Cottonwood County to
CSAH 5, Cottonwood County; thence along CSAH 5 to CSAH 13, Cottonwood County;
thence along CSAH 13 to CSAH 6, Murray County; thence along CSAH 6 to the point of
beginning.
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