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MinnesotaCare

MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services
under federal guidance as a Basic Health Program that provides subsidized health
coverage to eligible Minnesotans. This information brief describes eligibility
requirements, covered services, and other aspects of the program.

Note: Individuals who have questions about MinnesotaCare eligibility or are interested in
applying for MinnesotaCare should call the Minnesota Department of Human Services at
651-297-3862 (in the metro area) or 1-800-657-3672, or MNsure, the state’s health insurance
exchange, at 1-855-366-7873.
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Administration

MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) as a
Basic Health Program (BHP), a state coverage option authorized by the federal Affordable Care
Act (ACA). DHS, in cooperation with MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange, is
responsible for processing applications and determining eligibility for MinnesotaCare. DHS is
also responsible for contracting with participating entities for the provision of MinnesotaCare
services, complying with federal BHP requirements, and submitting an annual report to the
federal government documenting compliance with these requirements.

The federal government is responsible for certifying state Basic Health Programs, ensuring state
compliance with federal laws, regulations, and guidance related to the BHP, and reviewing state
compliance at least annually.

Applicants can apply for MinnesotaCare coverage online through the MNsure eligibility
determination system. Paper applications may also be submitted, and application assistance is
available from county agencies, community organizations serving as navigators, and other
entities.

MinnesotaCare as Basic Health Program

The ACA gives states the option of operating a basic health program to provide health coverage
to persons with incomes greater than 133 percent but not exceeding 200 percent of Federal
Poverty Guidelines (FPG), beginning January 1, 2015. States receive 95 percent of the amount
the federal government would otherwise have spent on premium tax credits and cost-sharing
subsidies for these individuals had they received coverage through the state’s insurance
exchange. BHP enrollees receive coverage through a standard benefit plan, which must include
at least the essential health benefits included in qualified health plans that are offered through the
state’s insurance exchange. Premiums for a BHP enrollee must not exceed the amount the
enrollee would otherwise pay for qualified health plan coverage through the exchange, after
application of advanced premium tax credits.

The 2013 Legislature directed the Commissioner of Human Services to seek federal approval to
operate the MinnesotaCare program as a basic health program. The legislature also authorized
changes in MinnesotaCare eligibility, covered services, and service delivery that were necessary
to meet federal requirements for a basic health program. Many of these MinnesotaCare changes
became effective January 1, 2014. (Laws 2013, ch. 108/H.F. 1233, art. 1)

DHS submitted its proposal to operate MinnesotaCare as a basic health program to the federal
government for approval in November 2014. This proposal, referred to in federal law as the
BHP Blueprint, was approved December 15, 2014, for implementation beginning January 1,
2015.
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Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals must meet income limits, not be eligible for MA,
and satisfy other requirements related to residency and lack of access to health insurance.
MinnesotaCare eligibility must be renewed every 12 months, with renewals occurring during the
open enrollment period of MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange.

Since January 1, 2014, most MinnesotaCare enrollees have been parents and caretakers, children
ages 19 to 20, and adults without children. Most children under age 19, and pregnant women,
who would have been eligible for MinnesotaCare prior to January 1, 2014, are now eligible for
Medical Assistance (MA) and therefore, under the new MinnesotaCare eligibility rules, are not
eligible for MinnesotaCare.

Income Limits

MinnesotaCare coverage is available to persons with incomes greater than 133 percent of FPG
but not exceeding 200 percent of FPG, if other program eligibility requirements are met.
Children under age 19 with household incomes not exceeding 200 percent of FPG are eligible for
MinnesotaCare (even if their income does not exceed the 133 percent of FPG income floor), if
they are ineligible for MA solely due to application of the household composition rule for MA.*
In addition, legal noncitizens ineligible for MA due to immigration status, with household
incomes not exceeding 200 percent of FPG, are eligible for MinnesotaCare.?

Before January 1, 2014, parents and caretakers were eligible if their household income did not
exceed 275 percent of FPG (subject to a maximum income of $57,500), and adults without
children were eligible if their income did not exceed 250 percent of FPG. There was no upper
income limit for children.

Table 1 on the next page lists the minimum and maximum program income limits for different
family sizes.

! The MA household composition rule counts the income of both unmarried parents when determining
eligibility for a minor child in the household. Since January 1, 2014, MinnesotaCare, as part of the switch to the
modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) income methodology, has used the tax definition of household, under
which only the income of one unmarried parent is counted when determining eligibility for a minor child (this is the
income of the parent claiming the child as a dependent). This difference in methodology could lead to situations in
which a child’s income under MA (given the counting of income of both unmarried parents) is too high for that
program, but is too low to qualify for MinnesotaCare (given the counting of income of only one parent and the
program’s income floor). This MinnesotaCare eligibility provision is intended to allow children in this situation to
be eligible for MinnesotaCare.

2 These legal noncitizens are generally nonpregnant adults falling under certain immigration classifications
who have resided in the United States for less than five years. The cost of health care services provided to these
individuals is funded through MinnesotaCare without a federal match (state-only MinnesotaCare).
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Annual Household Inco-rﬁlgleL%mits for MinnesotaCare
Household
Size 133% of FPG 200% of FPG
1 $15,654 $23,340
2 21,186 31,460
3 26,719 39,580
4 32,252 47,700
Each additional person add 5,532 8,120

House Research Department

Note: These dollar amounts are adjusted January 1 of each year to reflect changes in the
Federal Poverty Guidelines.

Since January 1, 2014, modified adjusted gross income (MAGI)? has been the income
methodology used to determine eligibility for MinnesotaCare applicants and enrollees. The use
of MAGI is required by the ACA for state basic health programs. Prior to this date, a state-
specific gross income calculation was applied.

Asset Limits
There are no asset limits for MinnesotaCare enrollees.

Before January 1, 2014, parents and caretakers and adults without children were subject to an
asset limit of $10,000 in total net assets for a household of one person, and $20,000 in total net
assets for a household of two or more persons. Certain items were not considered assets when
determining MinnesotaCare eligibility. Pregnant women and children were exempt from the
MinnesotaCare asset limit.

Not Eligible for Medical Assistance (MA)
Persons who are eligible for MA are not eligible for MinnesotaCare.

Before January 1, 2014, persons eligible for both MA and MinnesotaCare could enroll in either
program. This change had the effect of shifting the vast majority of pregnant women and
children under age 19 from MinnesotaCare to MA, since the MA income limit for these
eligibility groups (275 percent of FPG)* is higher than the MinnesotaCare income limit (200
percent of FPG).

3 MAGI is defined as adjusted gross income increased by: (1) excluded foreign earned income; (2) tax-exempt
interest; and (3) an amount equal to the value of Social Security benefits not subject to tax. (I.R.C. § 36B)

4 The 2013 Legislature increased the MA income limit for children ages 2 through 18 from 150 percent to 275
percent of FPG, effective January 1, 2014.
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No Access to Subsidized Health Coverage

In order to be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a family or individual must not have access to
employer-subsidized health coverage that is affordable and provides minimum value, as defined
in federal regulations.® These regulations define coverage as “affordable” for an employee and
related individuals, if the portion of the annual premium the employee must pay for self-only
coverage does not exceed 9.66 percent of income for 2016.6 Coverage provides “minimum
value” if it pays for at least 60 percent of medical expenses on average.

Before January 1, 2014, in order to be eligible, a family or individual must not have had access
to employer-subsidized health care coverage, and also must not have had access to employer-
subsidized health care coverage through a current employer for 18 months prior to application or
reapplication. Employer-subsidized coverage was defined as health insurance coverage for which
an employer pays 50 percent or more of the premium cost. The requirement of no access to
employer-subsidized coverage did not apply to certain low-income children.

No Other Health Coverage

In order to be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a family or individual must not have minimum
essential health coverage, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code.” The Internal Revenue Code
defines minimum essential coverage as coverage under government-sponsored programs
(including but not limited to Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE and other coverage for members of
the armed services, and veterans health benefits), coverage under an employer-sponsored plan,
individual market coverage, coverage under a grandfathered health plan,® and other coverage
recognized by the federal government.

Before January 1, 2014, enrollees must not have had other health coverage while enrolled and
must not have had health coverage for the four months prior to application or renewal. Low-
income children and children meeting other specified criteria were exempt from these
requirements.

Residency Requirement

MinnesotaCare enrollees must meet the residency requirements of the Medicaid program. The
Medicaid program requires an individual to demonstrate intent to reside permanently or for an
indefinite period in a state, but it does not include a durational residency requirement (a
requirement that an individual live in a state for a specified period of time before applying for the
program).

> See Code of Federal Regulations, title 26, section 1.36B-2.
® This percentage is indexed annually; the percentage for 2015 used by DHS is 9.50.
7 See Internal Revenue Code, section 5000A.

8 Under the ACA, most health insurance plans that existed on March 23, 2010, are eligible for grandfathered
status. Grandfathered plans do not have to meet all of the ACA requirements related to the regulation of health
insurance. However, grandfathered status is lost and compliance with the ACA is required, if significant changes
are made to the plan’s benefits or premiums and cost-sharing.
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Benefits

Parents and adults without children who are not pregnant are covered under MinnesotaCare for
most, but not all, services covered under MA. The $10,000 annual limit on inpatient hospital
benefits that applied to certain parents and caretakers, and adults without children, was
eliminated on January 1, 2014.° Covered services are summarized in Table 2.

Children ages 19 and 20, and children under age 19 not eligible for MA solely due to the MA
household composition rule (described in footnote 1), can access the full range of MA services
without enrolling in MA, except that abortion services are covered as provided under the
MinnesotaCare program.'® These individuals are exempt from MinnesotaCare benefit limitations
and cost-sharing.

Table 2
Covered Services Under MinnesotaCare

Parents;
Service Children Adults without children?

Acupuncture X X

Adult mental health rehab/crisis X X

Alcohol/drug treatment X

Child and teen checkup

X

Chiropractic

Common carrier transportation

Dental®

Emergency room

Eye exams

Eyeglasses

Family planning

Hearing aids

Home care®

Hospice care

Hospital stay

Hospital care coordination

XIXPX|X XX XXX XX X[ X]| X[ X

XIXPX|X X[ XXX X|X]| X

Immunizations

% The Healthy Minnesota Contribution Program, a defined contribution program under MinnesotaCare for
certain adults without children, was also eliminated January 1, 2014. This program provided enrollees with a
defined contribution on a sliding scale to purchase private sector health coverage.

10 Under MinnesotaCare, abortion services are covered “where the life of the female would be endangered or
substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function would result if the fetus were carried to term; or
where the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest” (Minn. Stat. § 256L.03, subd. 1). Under MA, abortion services
are covered to save the life of the mother and in cases of rape or incest (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 16) and,
as a result of a Minnesota Supreme Court decision, for “therapeutic” reasons (Doe v. Gomez, 542 N.W.2d 17
(1995)).
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Service

Children

Parents;
Adults without children?

Interpreters (hearing, language)

X

X

Lab, x-ray, diagnostic

Medical equipment and supplies

Mental health

Mental health case management

X | XX | X

Nursing facility care

Outpatient surgical center

Physicians and clinics

Physicals/preventive care

Prescriptions

Rehabilitative therapies

XX | X[ X | X

School-based services

Transportation: emergency

X

Transportation: special/common carrier

X XXX XX | XX XX X|X]| X

aBenefit limitations and cost-sharing requirements apply.

b MinnesotaCare covers the dental services covered under MA. MA coverage of dental services for adults who are
not pregnant (and therefore MinnesotaCare coverage of dental services for this category of individuals) is limited
to specified services (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 9).

¢ Personal care attendant and private duty nursing services are covered for children, but are not covered for parents

and adults without children.

Cost-sharing for Adults

House Research Department

Parents and adults without children, who are not pregnant, are subject to the following cost-

sharing requirements.

Table 3

Cost-sharing Requirements

Through December | Effective January
31, 2015 1, 2016

Inpatient hospital admission None $150
Outpatient hospital visit None $25

None $50
Ambulatory surgery (per surgery)
Emergency room visit (that does not result in an $3.50 $50
admission)

11 As specified in a November 5, 2015, memo from Nathan Morraco, DHS Assistant Commissioner, to House
and Senate human services committee chairs and ranking members on changes in MinnesotaCare cost-sharing

changes.
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Through December | Effective January
31, 2015 1, 2016

Nonpreventive office visit (does not apply to $3 $15
mental health services)

Radiology None $25
Eyeglasses $25 $25
Prescription drugs (generic) $3 %6
Prescription drugs (brand name) $3 $20
Prescription drug out-of-pocket monthly maximum None $60

The new or higher cost-sharing requirements effective January 1, 2016, reflect the changes made
by DHS to comply with the 2015 Legislature’s requirement that MinnesotaCare cost-sharing be
increased in a manner sufficient to reduce the actuarial value of the MinnesotaCare benefit to 94
percent.®3

Children under age 21 and American Indians are not subject to cost-sharing under
MinnesotaCare.
Enrollee Premiums

Sliding Premium Scale

Effective August 1, 2015, MinnesotaCare enrollees age 21 and older pay monthly, per-person
premiums based upon the following sliding scale.

Table 4
Sliding Premium Scale

Federal Poverty Guideline and Individual Premium
Greater than or Equal to Less than Amount

0% 35% 0

35% 55% $4

55% 80% $6

80% 90% $8

90% 100% $10

12 As specified in a November 5, 2015, memo from Nathan Morraco, DHS Assistant Commissioner, to House
and Senate human services committee chairs and ranking members on MinnesotaCare cost-sharing changes.

13 Actuarial value is an estimate of the percentage of medical expenses incurred by a typical enrollee that will
on average be paid by the insurer. The actuarial value of MinnesotaCare prior to the January 1, 2016, increase in
cost-sharing is estimated to be 98 percent.
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Federal Poverty Guideline and Individual Premium
Greater than or Equal to Less than Amount

100% 110% $12

110% 120% $14

120% 130% $15

130% 140% $16

140% 150% $25

150% 160% $37

160% 170% $44

170% 180% $52

180% 190% $61

190% 200% $71

200% — $80

See Minn. Stat. § 256L.15, subd. 2.

This premium scale reflects a directive from the 2015 Legislature to increase premiums by an
amount sufficient to increase the projected revenue in the Health Care Access Fund by at least
$27.8 million for the biennium ending June 30, 2017. Prior to this increase, premiums for

enrollees with incomes between 150 percent and 200 percent of FPG ranged from $29 to $50.

The premium scale also reflects premium reductions required by the 2015 Legislature to comply
with federal BHP requirements that premiums not exceed what the individual would otherwise
have paid for health coverage through the state’s insurance exchange, after receipt of advance
premium tax credits.

Premium Exemptions

American Indians and Alaska Natives, and members of their households, are exempt from
MinnesotaCare premiums.

Members of the military and their families who are determined eligible for MinnesotaCare
within 24 months of the end of the member’s tour of active duty are exempt from premiums for
12 months.

Nonpayment of Premiums

Unless an exemption applies, nonpayment of premiums results in disenrollment from
MinnesotaCare coverage, effective the calendar month for which the premium was due.
Enrollees who are disenrolled due to nonpayment of premiums may reinstate their coverage



House Research Department Updated: November 2015
MinnesotaCare Page 10

retroactively to the first day of disenrollment by paying all billed premiums within 20 days of
disenrollment.

Prepaid MinnesotaCare

The Commissioner of Human Services contracts on a prepaid basis with participating entities to
deliver health care services to MinnesotaCare enrollees. Participating entities include health
maintenance organizations and other health carriers, county-based purchasing plans, certain
accountable care organizations and county integrated health care delivery networks, and
networks of health care providers (see definition in Minn. Stat. § 256L..01, subd. 7).

MinnesotaCare enrollees receive health care services from these participating entities, rather than
through a fee-for-service system. Participating entities receive a capitated payment from DHS
for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, and in return are required to provide enrollees with all covered
health care services for a set period of time.

The 2014 Legislature required DHS to enter into contracts, as part of a statewide procurement,
with participating entities to serve MinnesotaCare enrollees, beginning January 1, 2016. The
ACA requires MinnesotaCare, as a BHP, to offer enrollees a choice of at least two participating
entities in each county.

Funding and Expenditures

Total payments for health care services provided through MinnesotaCare were $520 million in
fiscal year 2014. Forty-eight percent of this amount was paid for through state payments from
the health care access fund. The remainder was paid from enrollee premiums (this category also
includes enrollee cost-sharing), federal funding received under the Prepaid Medical Assistance
Project Plus (PMAP+) waiver,* and the Minnesota’s Children’s Health Insurance Program
(CHIP)s allotment.

14 The 2015 Legislature, as part of BHP federal compliance, directed DHS to provide enrollees who do not pay
their premiums on time with a grace month, that will replace the 20-day reinstatement provision (coverage would
end the month after the month for which the premium was due). In order to reinstate coverage, persons who are
disenrolled would need to pay premiums for the grace month and a future month, with coverage taking effect the
first day of the month after the month in which these premiums are paid. DHS expects to implement this new grace
month policy in April 2016.

15 The state’s health care reform waiver (now referred to as the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus or
PMAP+ waiver) was approved by the federal government in April 1995. The waiver, and subsequent waiver
amendments, exempts Minnesota from various federal requirements, gives the state greater flexibility to expand
access to health care through the MinnesotaCare and MA programs, and allows the state to receive federal
contributions (referred to as “federal financial participation” or FFP) for services provided to MinnesotaCare
enrollees. The PMAP+ waiver was most recently reauthorized by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services through December 31, 2015.

16 The state was able to make a claim against its CHIP allotment for the difference between the CHIP federal
matching rate for Minnesota (65 percent) and the Medicaid federal matching rate for Minnesota, for the cost of
services provided to children under age 21 whose family income is greater than 133 percent of FPG.
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Since January 1, 2015, the state has received, for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, a payment under
the basic health program payment equal to 95 percent of the subsidy the person would have
received through MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange, had the state not operated
MinnesotaCare as a basic health program. This basic health program payment has replaced the
federal match that had been received for MinnesotaCare enrollees under the PMAP+ waiver.
The federal basic health plan payment is estimated to be $110.2 million for fiscal year 2015 and
$256.3 million or fiscal year 2016.%

Funding for the state share of MinnesotaCare costs, and for other health care access initiatives, is
provided by:

e A 2 percent tax on the gross revenues of health care providers, hospitals, surgical centers,
and wholesale drug distributors (sometimes referred to as the “provider tax”); and

e A1 percent premium tax on health maintenance organizations and nonprofit health
service plan corporations.

Medicare payments to providers are excluded from gross revenues for purposes of the gross
revenues taxes. Other specified payments, including payments for nursing home services, are
also excluded from gross revenues.

MinnesotaCare Funding
(FY 2014)

Federal Share
Under Waiver

46.6%
State Cost

47.5%

Enrollee Premiums
and Cost Sharing
5.9%

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division

17 DHS February 2015 Forecast, Background Tables — MinnesotaCare, page 61, August 22, 2015.
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The tax rate on health care providers can be reduced, if the Commissioner of Management and
Budget determines by December 1 of each year that the ratio of revenues to expenditures and
transfers for the health care access fund for the biennium will exceed 125 percent. If this
determination is made, the commissioner must reduce the rate so that the projected ratio of
revenues to expenditures and transfers for the biennium will not exceed 125 percent. Any rate
reduction expires after one year and the future rate is subject to annual redetermination by the
commissioner.

The MinnesotaCare tax on the gross revenues of health care providers is scheduled to be
repealed, effective for gross revenues received after December 31, 2019.

Recipient Profile

As of August 2015, 120,892 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program. Just over
one-half of enrollees are adults without children. Just under one-half of enrollees are mainly of
parents and children ages 19 and 20 (most children 18 and under being eligible for MA). Under
1 percent of enrollees are legal noncitizens who are not eligible for MA due to immigration
status (see footnote 2).

MinnesotaCare Enrollment
(August 2015)

Adults without Children
54.8%

Legal Noncitizens
0.7%

Families with Children
44 5%

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division
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Application Procedure

There are several ways to obtain MinnesotaCare application forms and to apply for
MinnesotaCare coverage. These include the following:

e Applying for MinnesotaCare through MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange
(1-855-366-7873 or online at www.mnsure.org)

e Calling DHS directly at 1-800-657-3672 or 651-297-3862 (in the metro area)

e Obtaining application forms through county social service agencies, health care provider
offices, and other sites in the community, or from the DHS website

For more information about health care programs, visit the health and human services area
of our website, www.house.mn/hrd/.
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