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The Use Tax and Collection Methods: A Summary 
All states with a general sales tax have also enacted complementary use taxes.  In general, a use 
tax is due on a transaction in which the sales tax is not paid or is paid at a lower rate and the 
good or service is used in the jurisdiction imposing the tax.  The use tax equals the state sales tax 
rate plus the local sales tax rate, if any.  For example, if a Minnesota resident travels to a 
jurisdiction that does not have a sales tax and purchases taxable items to bring home for use in 
Minnesota, or orders taxable items by mail or over the Internet, a use tax is due to Minnesota on 
those purchases.  The tax equals the sales tax that would have applied if the purchase had been 
made in Minnesota, less sales tax actually paid where the purchase was made.  The use tax is 
intended to discourage making purchases outside the state to avoid sales tax and to prevent 
erosion of the tax base.  In addition, it helps to put in-state merchants on an equal competitive 
footing with merchants in lower tax jurisdictions and with merchants who are not required to 
collect sales tax on sales to Minnesota residents.   

Minnesota allows individual taxpayers a de minimis exemption from the use tax.  Individuals 
whose total purchases subject to use tax do not exceed $770 in a calendar year are not subject to 
use tax.1   Minnesota is one of five states with some form of de minimis exemption for 
individuals.2  

Of the 45 states with sales and use taxes, 38 also have an individual income tax.  Of these 38 
states, in 2012 27 provided for taxpayers to report use tax obligations on the individual income 
tax return, and another six, including Minnesota, provide information about the use tax in the 
individual income tax booklets.  The experience in other states and past Department of Revenue 
estimates suggest the following results for eliminating the de minimis exemption and/or 
providing for collection on the individual income tax return: 

• Eliminate de minimis exemption and provide for individuals to pay use tax on the income
tax return.  Estimated revenue raised: between $0.5 million and $22.3 million per year3

1 Minn. Stat. § 297A.67, subd. 21. When enacted in 1997, the $770 exemption equaled the amount of 
purchases necessary to generate $50 of use tax liability at the sales tax rate, which was then 6.5 percent.  At the 
current statewide rate of 6.875 percent, $770 of purchases would result in $53 of use tax liability. 

2 California exempts $800 of purchases made in foreign countries and hand-carried into California (Cal. Rev. 
& Tax. Code § 6405).  Connecticut exempts $25 of purchases hand-carried into Connecticut at one time (Conn. Gen. 
Stat. § 12-413(3)). Michigan does not require taxpayers to pay use tax on purchases valued at less than $10 over the 
course of a month (Mich. Comp. Laws § 205.94).  Missouri does not require a consumer use tax return if purchases 
total less than $2,000 during the year (Mo. Rev. Stat. § 144.655).  Virginia has a de minimis exemption for mail-
order catalog sales totaling $100 or less over the course of a year (Va. Code Ann. § 58.1-604(5)).  Colorado had a de 
minimis exemption of $100 in purchases per year for individuals (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 39-26-203), but the exemption 
was repealed in 2004. 

3 Estimate based on other states’ experience with collecting use tax on income tax returns. 
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• Eliminate de minimis exemption and require individuals with purchases of less than $770
to file use tax returns.  Estimated revenue raised: $100,000 per year4

• Retain de minimis exemption and provide for individuals with purchases greater than
$770 to pay use tax on the income tax return.  Estimated revenue raised: over $1 million5

The Use Tax and Minnesota’s de Minimis Exemption 
The use tax complements the general sales tax and is due on transactions in which the sales tax is 
not paid or is paid at a lower rate, but the good or service purchased is used in the jurisdiction 
imposing the sales tax.6  Use tax typically applies to goods that an individual purchases in one 
state but uses in another, either by traveling to another state, or by purchasing the good remotely 
through mail order or over the Internet.  The use tax rate equals the state sales tax rate plus the 
local sales tax rate in effect at the location where the item is used, if any.7 

An alternative to the use tax would be to require businesses that make sales through catalogs or 
over the Internet to collect the use tax at the time a sale is made.  However, several U.S. Supreme 
Court rulings, most recently Quill Corp. v. Heitkamp (1992), have prevented the states from 
requiring businesses to collect use tax unless the business has a physical presence in the state.8  
Because of the complexity of state sales tax laws, the court considered a collection requirement 
to be an undue burden on interstate commerce. 

Twenty-four states are full members of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement 
(SSUTA),9 a voluntary compact that simplifies sales tax collections among the member states.  
The goal of the agreement is to persuade Congress to intervene and impose a duty on remote 
sellers to collect sales and use tax in member states.  In the meantime, collecting the use tax 

4 Minnesota Department of Revenue, Analysis of 1996 Tax Conference Committee Report, April 11, 1996; if 
this change were proposed now, the revenue estimate would likely increase because of population growth, inflation, 
and the increase in the sales tax rate from 6.5 percent to 6.875 percent. 

5 Estimate based on other states’ average reported purchases per return reporting use tax. 
6 In Minnesota, the use tax applies to taxable tangible personal property and taxable services that were not 

subject to the Minnesota sales tax.  Minn. Stat. § 297A.63, subd. 1.  Thus, even if sales tax is paid to the state in 
which the sale took place, the use tax still technically applies.  However, the rate of the use tax is reduced to the 
difference between the Minnesota rate and sales tax rate in the state in which the tax was paid.  Minn. Stat.  
§ 297A.80.  No tax is owed if the sales tax paid was as high or higher than the Minnesota sales (both state and any
applicable local) tax.  As a practical matter, most remote sales (catalog and Internet) are not subject to sales tax in 
the seller’s state.  Thus, the offset for taxes paid to another state rarely applies. 

7 In Minnesota in 2012, the city of Duluth and Cook County imposed 1 percent local sales taxes; Albert Lea, 
Austin, Baxter, Bemidji, Brainerd, Clearwater, Fergus Falls, Hermantown, Hutchinson, Lanesboro, Mankato, 
Minneapolis, New Ulm, North Mankato, Owatonna, Proctor, Rochester, St. Augusta, St. Cloud, St. Joseph, St. Paul, 
Sartell, Sauk Rapids, Two Harbors, Waite Park, Willmar, and Worthington imposed 0.5 percent local sales taxes; 
Hennepin County imposed a 0.15 percent local sales tax; and Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey and Washington 
counties imposed a 0.25 percent local sales tax for transit improvement. 

8 National Bellas Hess, Inc. v. Department of Revenue of the State of Illinois, 386 U.S. 753 (1967) and Quill 
Corp. v. Heitkamp, 504 U.S. 298 (1992). 

9 For general background on SSUTA, see http://www.streamlinedsalestax.org. 



House Research Department Updated: April 2015 
Use Tax Collection on Income Tax Returns in Other States Page 4 

directly from consumers of goods purchased while traveling, on-line, or through a catalog 
remains the states’ only alternative to simply foregoing tax revenue owed on remote sales. 

States have historically viewed the use tax on individuals as impractical to enforce—the tax 
typically involves small amounts owed on a large number of transactions for which the 
individual has not kept records, and the costs of collection could easily exceed the revenues 
collected.  In 1996, the Sales Tax Advisory Council recommended that Minnesota adopt a de 
minimis exemption from the use tax, recognizing that most taxpayers are unaware of the tax and 
the Department of Revenue is unlikely to collect the tax due to high administrative costs.  The 
legislature adopted the council’s recommendation, and the exemption took effect in 1997. 

Individuals with less than $770 in purchases during a calendar year are exempt from the tax and 
are able to make incidental purchases by 
mail order, over the Internet, or while 
traveling without keeping records for the 
use tax.  This amount, $770, is the 
amount of purchases necessary to 
generate $50 of tax at the 6.5 percent rate 
in effect when the exemption was 
enacted in 1997.  Minnesota’s statewide 
sales and use tax rate is now 6.875 
percent, following passage of the 
constitutional amendment at the 2008 
general election. 

At the same time the de minimis 
exemption went into effect, Minnesota 
began including information on the use 
tax in the individual income tax 
instructions, directing individuals with 
purchases in excess of the de minimis 
exemption amount to file a use tax 
return.  The box on the right reproduces 
some of the information provided in 
Minnesota’s 2013 individual income tax 
form.  

An excerpt from Form M-1 instructions for Minnesota
income tax filers
If you purchased taxable items for your own use without 
paying sales tax, you probably owe use tax.  Here are some 
cases when use tax is due: 

• You buy taxable items over the Internet, by mail
order, from a shopping channel, etc., and the seller
doesn’t collect Minnesota sales tax from you.

• A seller in another state or country does not collect
any sales tax from you on a sale of an item that is
taxed by Minnesota.

• An out-of-state seller properly collects another
state’s sales tax at a rate lower than Minnesota’s.
In this case, you owe the difference between the
two rates.

If your total purchases subject to use tax are less than $770 in 
a calendar year, you are not required to file a use tax return.  
This exemption applies only to items for personal use, not to 
items for business use. 
If your total purchases subject to use tax are $770 or more, 
you owe use tax on all taxable items purchased during the 
year.  
Source: Form M-1 Instructions, Minnesota Department 
of Revenue, Tax Year 2013 
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State Reporting of Use Tax Liability 
Many states have taken steps to make the use tax more visible.  Thirty-eight states impose both a 
sales and use tax and a broad-based individual income tax.  In 2012, 27 of the 38 states provided 
for use tax reporting on individual income tax returns, and an additional six states (including 
Minnesota) provided information about the use tax in the income tax instruction booklet.10  In 
1974, Vermont added a line for use tax reporting to its income tax return, followed by a number 
of states, including Wisconsin, in the early 1980s.  Mississippi is the most recent state to add a 
use tax reporting line on the income tax return, doing so in 2012.  Arizona added a line in 2011 
and then repealed it before the 2012 filing season. 

The following map shows the states that impose both an income tax and a sales tax broken into 
three categories: those that provide neither information about the use tax nor use tax reporting 
(six states), those that provide information in their income tax booklet (six states), and those that 
provide for use tax reporting on the income tax return (27 states). 

10 The states that note use tax requirements in the income tax booklet but do not provide a reporting line are 
Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, and North Dakota. 
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States with Use Tax Reporting on Individual Income Tax Return 

Have both sales and income tax; 
No information in income tax 
booklet; No reporting on income 
tax return (6 states) 

Have both sales and income tax; 
Provide information in income 
tax booklet; No reporting on 
income tax return (6 states) 

Have both sales and income tax; 
Provide information in income 
tax booklet and a line on the 
income tax return (27 states) 

House Research Graphics 

The map shows that most of the states that have an income tax and a sales tax are taking steps to 
make individual taxpayers aware of use tax obligations, either by providing for payment through 
the income tax or by providing information on how to file an individual use tax return. 
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Other States—Collections 
The information in this section is based on tax year 2012 data obtained from the 27 states that 
collect use tax on the income tax return.  Table 1 shows 2012 use tax collections.  

Table 1 
Use Tax Collected on Income Tax Returns, Tax Year 2012 

Use tax reported 
(millions) 

Percent of income tax 
returns reporting use 

tax 

Average use tax  
reported per return 

reporting use tax 
Alabama $1.0 1.3% $41 
California 18.6 0.7 154 
Connecticut11 13.5 0.9 876 
Idaho  0.5 1.4  56 
Illinois 11.9 4.1 49 
Indiana 2.0 0.9 68 
Kansas 1.0 1.2 51 
Kentucky 1.1 0.8 73 
Louisiana 1.3 0.6 99 
Maine 3.9 10.2 60 
Massachusetts 7.0 1.8 108 
Michigan 5.8 2.4 53 
Mississippi 0.3 0.2 95 
Nebraska 0.5 1.2 48 
New Jersey 3.1 0.7 117 
New York 33.5 4.3 82 
North Carolina 6.0 2.7 52 
Ohio 3.0 0.9 60 
Oklahoma 3.2 4.0 54 
Pennsylvania 3.8 1.6 39 
Rhode Island 0.1 0.2 103 
South Carolina 3.0 2.7 42 
Utah 0.7 1.0 62 
Vermont 1.3 5.9 57 
Virginia* 2.0 0.8 70 
West Virginia 0.3 0.5 72 
Wisconsin 4.9 3.1 54 
* Virginia exempts annual mail-order catalog purchases of under $100 from use tax.

11 Connecticut regularly reports large amounts of collections relative to the number of returns reporting 
collections; a significant share of use tax collections come from returns with adjusted gross incomes in excess of $1 
million. In the past Connecticut has specifically audited returns for use tax compliance, which may have had the 
long-term effect of increasing compliance.  
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The amount of use tax collected in the states with use tax reporting varied depending on the 
participation rate and the size of the state.  New York and California had the largest 
collections, at $33.5 and $18.6 million respectively, and New York also had a relatively high 
participation rate, with over 4 percent of all income tax returns reporting use tax liability.  Maine 
had the highest participation rate in 2012, perhaps stemming from a 2006 compliance campaign 
and also from an earlier practice, not long maintained, of assessing use tax liability for taxpayers 
who left the use tax line blank. 

Some states that placed a use tax line on the income tax return reported significant 
increases in collections.  Collections in Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, and Michigan all 
increased substantially in the year following implementation of use tax reporting on the income 
tax return; Louisiana and Michigan had previously included information on the use tax in their 
income tax booklets, while Massachusetts did not. Michigan collections increased from $240,000 
in 1998 to $2.9 million in 1999 and have increased since then, reaching $5.8 million in 2012. 

Illinois’ use tax collections increased from $5.54 million from about 6,000 returns in 2009, to 
$11.9 million reported on over 200,000 individual income tax returns in 2010, the first year there 
was a use tax line on the income tax form. 

Louisiana’s collections via individual filings increased from about $20,000 per year prior to 
2000, to over $500,000 reported on the income tax form in 2000, and nearly $640,000 for tax 
year 2004, and over $1.3 million in 2012. 

In Massachusetts, addition of a use tax line to the income tax return resulted in a sharp increase 
in the number of individuals reporting use tax, from 200 in 2001 to over 11,000 in 2002, the first 
year of reporting, and further increased to almost 40,000 in 2005.  Revenues have increased 
sharply since the reporting line was first added, from about $1 million in 2001 to over $3 million 
per year since 2005 (over $7 million in collections in 2012). 

Other states that have recently added use tax lines do not have data available on personal use tax 
collections for prior years.   

The states that collect use tax on the income tax form use different techniques to try to 
maximize voluntary reporting by taxpayers.  Some specifically require taxpayers to write in 
“zero” if they have no use tax liability.  Others have combined use tax reporting with compliance 
initiatives, and several states provide tables in which taxpayers can “look up” their use tax 
liability based on their income. 

Fourteen states require taxpayers to clearly indicate if no use tax liability is owed, either by 
writing “zero” on the use tax line or by checking a box.12  States with the requirement collect 
use tax revenue from a higher percentage of returns (2.0 percent) than do those that allow 
taxpayers to leave the line blank (1.7 percent), and also collect more use tax revenue per return 
that reports use tax: $83 per return, compared to $56.   

12 States that require taxpayers to indicate when they have no use tax liability are: Alabama, California, 
Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, 
Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. 
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All states with use tax reporting on the income tax return maintain use tax information on 
their revenue or tax departments’ websites. Usually the information takes the form of a fact 
sheet or entries on a “frequently asked questions” (FAQ) page. Some states also provide on-line 
use tax calculators or worksheets. 

A small number of states combine reporting on the income tax return with compliance 
initiatives or education efforts.  Ohio undertook an education campaign in 2012 that focused on 
business use tax liability but also included information on personal use tax. The campaign did 
not result in a substantial increase in personal use tax collections on income tax returns, which 
rose slightly from $2.8 million in 2011 to $3.0 million in 2012. The number of returns reporting 
use tax liability remained about the same, at close to 50,000 in each year.  Maine legislators 
approved a compliance program that took place from July to December of 2006.  The program 
included television commercials, letters sent to individuals and business owners, and interest-free 
payment of past unreported use tax liabilities. Massachusetts sent letters to some taxpayers that 
resulted in unusually high use tax collections for tax year 2005, possibly due to a few taxpayers 
reporting large purchases. Two states have sent information about the use tax to a random sample 
of taxpayers, resulting in higher collections in following years (Indiana13 and Rhode Island14).     

Thirteen states with use tax reporting on the personal income tax return provide taxpayers 
with lookup tables for estimating their use tax liability.15  Lookup tables provide estimates of 
use tax liability by taxpayer income.  The tables typically consist of two columns: taxpayers find 
their income in the left column and read across to the right column to find their estimated use tax 
liability.  Use tax liability is assumed to represent a percentage of income.  The percentage is 
intended to represent average use tax liability of taxpayers.  The first states to use lookup tables 
do not have records of how the percentages they use were determined.  The states that have 
subsequently provided lookup tables appear to have modeled their tables on those used in other 
states. For taxpayers with $50,000 of adjusted gross income, the tax liability shown in the lookup 
tables assume taxable purchases ranging from a low of about $300, in Oklahoma and 
Connecticut, to a high of about $900, in New Jersey and Maine. The tables make compliance 
with the tax more convenient for taxpayers who know they have made untaxed purchases, either 
while traveling, through catalogs, or on-line, but have not maintained records of those purchases.  
Taxpayers with large purchases must report those separately from the use tax calculated using 
the lookup table, and those who did not make any purchases subject to use tax are not required to 
use the lookup table and may report liability equal to $0.  Only one state (Kansas) allows 
taxpayers with purchases over $1,000 to use the lookup table to estimate liability.  

As an example of how the lookup tables work, Michigan’s lookup table gives estimated use tax 
liability by income ranges up to $100,000.  Estimated liability equals 0.08 percent of the 

13 In 1993, Indiana identified taxpayers who had not reported use tax and had incomes above a certain level and 
sent educational letters explaining the use tax to a random sample of taxpayers identified, with the purpose of 
improving compliance. 

14 In 1995, Rhode Island sent letters explaining the use tax to about 15,000 taxpayers who had not reported use 
tax liability in 1994.  This action was in response to low compliance with the use tax after the use tax line first 
appeared on the income tax return.  The mailings resulted in negative publicity and have not been repeated. 

15 California, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, North 
Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and Vermont provide lookup tables for estimating use tax liability.  
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taxpayer’s Michigan adjusted gross income.  Taxpayers with incomes over $100,000 are 
instructed to multiply their income by 0.0008 to obtain an estimate of use tax liability. 

Table 2 summarizes the characteristics of the various state lookup tables.  Note that in four 
states, the percentages implicit in the tables vary with income.  In Maine, New Jersey, and New 
York, the percentage decreases as income increases, while in Vermont it increases with income.

Table 2 
Characteristics of State Use Tax Lookup Tables 

State Income base 
Lookup table 

percentage 

Use of lookup table 
limited to purchases 

less than $1,000 
California State adjusted gross income 0.05% Yes 
Illinois Federal adjusted gross income 0.06% No* 
Kansas State adjusted gross income 0.081% No 
Maine State adjusted gross income 0.17% to 0.08% Yes 
Massachusetts State adjusted gross income 0.0625% Yes 
Michigan State adjusted gross income 0.08% Yes 
New Jersey State adjusted gross income 0.187% to 0.0852% Yes 
New York Federal adjusted gross income 0.1% to 0.044% Yes 
North Carolina State taxable income 0.0675%** Yes 
Oklahoma Federal adjusted gross income 0.056% Yes 
Pennsylvania State taxable income 0.07% to 0.03%** Yes 
Vermont Federal adjusted gross income 0.06% to 0.08% Yes 
* Does not allow taxpayers to use table for “major purchases”
** Note that North Carolina and Pennsylvania’s lookup table percentages are applied to a narrower tax base—
taxable income, which is income after all deductions and exemptions, rather than adjusted gross income, which is 
typically income before deductions and exemptions. 

States that provide lookup tables for estimating liability have higher participation rates.  
About 1.9 percent of taxpayers report use tax across all states with use tax reporting on income 
tax returns.  The participation rate is 2.2 percent for states with lookup tables and only 1.3 
percent for those without.  Nine states16 have higher than average participation rates, led by 
Maine at 10.2 percent and Vermont at 5.9 percent.  All but two of the states with higher 
participation rates provide taxpayers with the option of estimating use tax liability using a lookup 
table.17  Maine’s exceptionally high participation rate in this and earlier years may be the result 
of its previous practice (through 1999) of assuming liability equal to 4 percent of income if none 
was reported.  Maine has had a higher participation rate than other states since then.  Maine’s 
aggressive 2006 publicity program for the use tax may have also contributed to the high 
participation rate. 

16 Illinois, Maine, Michigan, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Vermont, and Wisconsin 
all have participation rates above the 1.9 percent average for all states. 

17 South Carolina and Wisconsin do not provide lookup tables for estimating liability. 
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States with lookup tables collect slightly less use tax per return than do states without 
lookup tables.18  Individuals who report use tax liability pay $77 on average across all states 
with use tax reporting on the income tax return.  The amount collected per return reporting use 
tax is lower in states that provide a lookup table than in those that do not:  $73 compared with 
$91.  In past years it was also the case that states with lookup tables collected less per return, but 
from more returns, than did states without lookup tables.  

Pennsylvania, which in 2012 was in its second year of collecting use tax on the income tax 
return, collected $39 on average from returns reporting use tax, the lowest per return of any state.  
States with per-return collections in excess of $100 in 2012 were Connecticut, at $876 per return, 
California, at $154 per return, New Jersey, at $117 per return, Massachusetts, at $108 per return, 
and Rhode Island, at $103 per return.19 

Twelve states collect local as well as state use tax on the income tax return (California, 
Kansas, Louisiana, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South 
Carolina, Utah, and Wisconsin).  Most of these either provide listings of local rates or a table of 
combined state and local rates.  Kansas and Oklahoma direct taxpayers to a web page showing 
local rates for various jurisdictions.  Louisiana instructs taxpayers to multiply taxable purchases 
by 8 percent, of which 4 percent represents state use tax liability, and the remaining 4 percent is 
in lieu of the actual local rate, which varies. 

Most states that collect local use tax on the income tax return distribute a portion of collections 
to the local jurisdictions.  California, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Pennslyvania, South Carolina, 
and Wisconsin distribute amounts collected to counties and other jurisdictions based on 
taxpayers’ residence as reported on the income tax return.20  Kansas distributes 50 percent of 
local use tax to cities and counties based on their proportional share of population, and 50 
percent based on their share of property tax levies.  Louisiana distributes the local share of use 
tax collections to all 64 parishes, including the one parish that does not impose a sales/use tax, on 
a per-capita basis.  The parish tax collectors then distribute their share of use tax collections to 
tax-levying authorities within the parish, based on the previous year’s pro-rata share of actual 
sales tax collections.  North Carolina distributes local use tax collections 75 percent based on 
point-of-sale for local sales tax collections, and 25 percent based on population. Oklahoma 
distributes use tax collected on the income tax return to counties based on each county’s 
proportionate share of use tax collections. Utah distributes local use tax proportionately based on 
distribution of local sales taxes resulting from direct sales, which are distributed 50 percent based 
on point-of-sale, and 50 percent based on population. 

18 While states with lookup tables tend to have a higher share of returns reporting use tax and a lower average 
amount reported, the average amount reported will vary depending on the combined state and local sales/use tax rate 
and the state’s sales/use tax base. 

19 It’s impossible to determine to what extent average amounts per return are skewed upward because of a 
small number of returns reporting very large liability, such as for purchases of artwork.  In the case of Connecticut, a 
history of past compliance initiatives may have educated taxpayers and preparers in reporting use tax. 

20 Amounts for which North Carolina is unable to determine the taxpayer’s county of residence are distributed 
to counties based on each county’s proportionate share of sales tax collections. 
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Options for Minnesota 
This section discusses three options that could increase use tax collections in Minnesota: 

• Eliminate the $770 de minimis exemption and provide for use tax reporting on the
income tax return (either with or without a lookup table)

• Eliminate the $770 de minimis exemption and require taxpayers with purchases below
that amount to file use tax returns

• Retain the de minimis exemption and provide for use tax reporting on the income tax
return

Option #1: Eliminate de minimis exemption and require reporting on the 
income tax return 

Experience in other states suggests that Minnesota could increase use tax collections by 
repealing its de minimis exemption requirements and placing a use tax reporting line on 
the individual income tax return.  Additional collections could equal about $3.7 million if 
Minnesota included a lookup table for taxpayers to use in estimating liability, and about $3.1 
million without a lookup table.  Estimates depend on Minnesota taxpayers reporting use tax 
liability at similar rates to taxpayers in other states.  Use tax collected in other states was divided 
by the state’s typical combined state and local sales/use tax rate to determine total purchases 
subject to use tax, and then the total from other states that apply the sales tax to clothing was 
adjusted to reflect Minnesota’s exclusion of clothing from the sales tax base.21 

Table 3 shows the participation rate and average purchases reported per return (adjusted for 
states that apply the sales/use tax to clothing) for each state collecting use tax on its income tax 
return, with the exception of Connecticut.22  The final column shows the amount of use tax that 
Minnesota would collect through the income tax system if it experienced the same participation 
rate and average amount of purchases in each of the states listed.  The estimated collections for 
Minnesota assume 2.7 million returns filed annually by resident taxpayers, the total for tax year 
2012. 

21 Average purchases reported in states that tax clothing were adjusted downward by 14.5 percent, to reflect 
Minnesota’s exclusion of clothing from the tax base.  The adjustment was calculated based on the share that clothing 
makes up of e-commerce, as reported by U.S. Census Bureau’s 2012 E-Stats report. 

22 See footnote 11, supra. 
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Table 3 
Estimated Use Tax Collected on Income Tax Returns in Minnesota 

if de minimis exemption repealed and income tax reporting implemented 
(based on data from other states) 

Participation rate 
Average purchases 

per return 

Estimate of use tax 
collections for Minnesota 

(in millions) 
States without lookup tables 
Alabama 1.3% $418 $1.0 
Connecticut23 0.9 13,790 22.3 
Idaho 1.4 797 2.0 
Indiana 0.9 835 1.5 
Louisiana 0.6 956 1.1 
Mississippi 0.2 1,165 0.5 
Nebraska 1.2 601 1.3 
Ohio 0.9 760 1.3 
Rhode Island 0.2 1,467 0.5 
South Carolina 2.7 501 2.5 
Utah 1.0 790 1.4 
Virginia* 0.8 1,192 1.7 
West Virginia 0.5 1,023 1.0 
Wisconsin 3.1 844 4.8 
States with lookup tables 
California 0.7 1,621 2.1 
Illinois 4.1 512 3.9 
Kansas 1.2 525 1.2 
Kentucky 0.8 1,034 1.6 
Maine 10.2 1,020 19.3 
Massachusetts 1.8 1,729 5.9 
Michigan 2.4 750 3.4 
New Jersey 0.7 1,677 2.0 
New York 4.3 966 7.7 
North Carolina 2.7 646 3.2 
Oklahoma 4.0 531 3.9 
Pennsylvania 1.6 620 1.8 
Vermont 5.9 936 10.4 
All states 1.9% $988 $3.5 
States without 
lookup table 

1.3% $1,314 $3.1 

23 Connecticut regularly reports large amounts of use tax relative to the number of returns reporting tax; see 
also footnote 11, supra. 
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Participation rate 
Average purchases 

per return 

Estimate of use tax 
collections for Minnesota 

(in millions) 
States with lookup 
table 

2.2% $902 $3.7 

* Virginia exempts annual mail-order catalog purchases of under $100 from use tax.

The final rows of Table 3 show the aggregate results for all states with use tax reporting on the 
income tax return, and the aggregates for states that do and do not provide a lookup table.  While 
average purchases per return is higher in states without a lookup table—$1,314 compared with 
$902—participation rates are higher in states that do provide a lookup table—2.2 percent of 
returns, compared with 1.3 percent. 

Applying experience in other states to Minnesota gives a wide range of estimates.  Use tax 
collections in Minnesota would equal $22.3 million if Minnesota’s experience corresponded to 
Connecticut’s, in which a relatively small share of returns report large amounts of use tax, or 
$19.3 million if Minnesota’s experience was like Maine’s with 10.2 percent of returns reporting 
average purchases of about $1,020.  However, collections would only equal about $500,000 if 
Minnesotans behaved more like Rhode Islanders or Mississippians, with lower participation rates 
and average purchases.  What would actually happen in Minnesota would depend on how many 
Minnesotans make purchases subject to use tax, how much they purchase, and how well they 
comply with reporting use tax liability on the income tax return.  To the extent those factors vary 
with geography, Minnesota results might be expected to be similar to the experience in Michigan 
and Wisconsin.  Applying participation rates and average purchases from these two states 
suggests collections of between $3.4 million and $4.8 million in Minnesota. 

Repealing the de minimis exemption and placing a reporting line on the income tax return, 
but not providing a lookup table for estimating use tax liability, could result in an 
additional $3.1 million in use tax collections in Minnesota.  The amount of revenue Minnesota 
would collect by repealing the use tax de minimis exemption and placing a use tax reporting line 
on its income tax return would depend on the participation rate and the average amount of use 
tax purchases reported by return.24  If Minnesota’s experience was like that of the 13 states listed 
in Table 3 without lookup tables, collections would be close to the estimated $3.1 million per 
year. 

Use tax collections could be higher—up to $3.7 million—if Minnesota provided a lookup 
table for taxpayers to use in estimating liability.  States with lookup tables tend to experience 
a higher participation rate and higher overall collections than states without lookup tables. If 
Minnesota were to employ a lookup table for use tax liability in the income tax instructions, 
collections could reach $3.7 million if Minnesota taxpayers behaved similarly to taxpayers in 
other states with lookup tables.  The actual amount collected would depend on whether 

24 Connecticut is omitted from the analysis (see footnote 11, supra). 
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Minnesota taxpayers complied with the reporting requirement at a similar rate to taxpayers in 
other states. 

Option #2: Eliminate the de minimis exemption and require taxpayers to file 
use tax returns 

Simply repealing the exemption without requiring reporting on the income tax return 
could result in about $100,000 per year in additional use tax collections.  This would be a 
return to individual use tax reporting requirements as they existed prior to enactment of the de 
minimis exemption.  Each individual would be required to file a use tax return if he or she made 
any purchases subject to use tax—through a catalog, on-line, or while traveling out of state.  
Many taxpayers would remain unaware of the use tax obligation, though technically even those 
with only small amounts of purchases would owe the tax.  At the time the exemption was  
enacted, the Department of Revenue estimated the loss of about $100,000 annually through 
exempting the first $770 of purchases from the tax.25 

Option #3: Retain the de minimis exemption and allow for use tax payment on 
the income tax return 

Minnesota might collect over $1 million in use tax by placing a line on the income tax 
return and retaining the $770 de minimis exemption.  Returns reporting use tax in other states 
in 2012 reported $873 on average—about $100 more than Minnesota’s de minimis exemption. 
Minnesota’s de minimis exemption is written so that a taxpayer who makes more than $770 in 
purchases subject to use tax is taxed on the full amount of purchases, not just the amount over 
$770. Assuming that more or less half the returns reporting liability in other states had purchases 
over $770 (which seems reasonable given an average of $873), translating that experience to 
Minnesota returns would result in, collections that would be somewhat higher than $1 million. 
This assumes, of course, that those with purchases over the de minimis amount would report 
their liability and that the presence of the de minimis exemption itself would not affect behavior 
(e.g., by causing individuals who otherwise would estimate that their purchases are modestly 
above the de mimimis amount to assume that they are at or below it). 

House File 2682, introduced during the 1998 legislative session, proposed adding a line to the 
income tax return for use tax reporting, but left the exemption in place.  The Department of 
Revenue estimate for this bill indicated that the revenue gain was “indeterminable, [but] it 
appears any impact would be small.”26 At the time, average purchases per return in states 
requiring use tax reporting on income tax returns was well below Minnesota’s $770 de minimis 
exemption. 

Revenue gains from adding a use tax line to the income tax return would be offset by 
administrative costs to the Department of Revenue.  Inclusion of the use tax line would 

25 Minnesota Department of Revenue, Analysis of 1996 Tax Conference Committee Report, April 11, 1996; 
see footnote 4, supra.   

26 Minnesota Department of Revenue, Analysis of House File 2682, January 29, 1998. 
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require an additional line on the individual income tax return and additional instructions in the 
booklet.  The change would also require programming changes to account for the amount of use 
tax paid via the income tax return.27  Earlier estimates prepared by the department did not detail 
the amount of these administrative costs. 

For more information about taxes, visit the income tax area of our website, 
www.house.mn/hrd/hrd 

27 Ibid. 
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