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Minnesota Care 

MinnesotaCare is a jointly funded, federal-state program administered by the 
Minnesota Department of Human Services that provides subsidized health 
coverage to eligible Minnesotans. This information brief describes eligibility 
requirements, covered services, and other aspects of the program, and reflects 
significant changes to the program that took effect January 1, 2014. 

Note: Individuals who have questions about MinnesotaCare eligibility or are interested in 
applying for Minnesota Care should call the Minnesota Department of Human Services at 
651-297-3862 (in the metro area) or 1-800-657-3672, or MN sure, the state's health insurance 
exchange, at 1-855-366-7873. 
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MinnesotaCare is administered by the Mill1esota Department of Human Services (DHS). DHS, 
in cooperation with MNsure, the state's health insurance exchange, is responsible for processing 
applications and determining eligibility for MiJUlesotaCare. DHS is also responsible for 
contracting with managed care plans, monitoring spending on the program, and developing 
administrative rules. 

Applicants can apply for MinnesotaCare coverage online through the MN sure eligibility 
determination system. Paper applications may also be submitted, and application assistance is 
available from county agencies, community organizations serving as navigators, and other 
entities. 

MinnesotaCare as Basic Health Program 

Under the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA), states have the option of operating a basic health 
program to provide health coverage to persons with incomes greater than 133 percent but not 
exceeding 200 percent of FPG, begiJUling January 1, 2015. States will receive 95 percent of the 
amount the federal government would otherwise have spent on premium tax credits and cost­
sharing subsidies for these individuals for coverage provided through the state's insurance 
exchange. 

The 2013 Legislature directed the Commissioner of Human Services to seek federal approval to 
operate the Mill1esotaCare program as a basic health program. The legislature also authorized 
changes in Mill1esotaCare eligibility, covered services, and service delivery that are consistent 
with federal requirements for a basic health program. Many of these Mill1esotaCare changes 
became effective January I, 2014. (Laws 2013, ch. 108/H.F. 1233, art. 1) 

DHS submitted its proposal to operate MinnesotaCare as a basic health program to the federal 
govenunent for approval in November 2014. 

Eligibility Requirements 

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals must meet income limits, not be eligible for MA, 
and satisfy other requirements related to residency and lack of access to health insurance. 
MiJUlesotaCare eligibility must be renewed every 12 months. 

Since Jaimary 1, 2014, most MinnesotaCare enrollees are parents and cai·etakers, children ages 
19 to 20, and adults without children. Most children under age 19, and pregnant women, who 
would have been eligible for Minnesota Care prior to January 1, 2014, are eligible for Medical 
Assistance and therefore, under the new MinnesotaCare eligibility rules, are not eligible for 
Minnesota Care. 
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MinnesotaCare coverage is available to persons wjth incomes greater than 133 percent of FPG 
but not exceeding 200 percent of FPG, if other program eligibility requirements are met. 
Children under age 19 with household incomes not exceeding 200 percent of FPG are eligible for 
MinnesotaCare (even iftheirincome does not exceed the 133 percent ofFPG income floor), if 
they are ineligible for Medical Assistance solely due to application of the household composition 
rule for MA. 1 In addition, legal noncitizens ineligible for MA due to immigration status, with 
household incomes not exceeding 200 percent of FPG, are eligible for MinnesotaCare.2 

Before January 1, 2014, parents and caretakers were eligible if their household income did not 
exceed 275 percent ofFPG (subject to a maximum income of $57,500), and adults without 
children were eligible if their income did not exceed 250 percent of FPG. There was no upper 
income limit for children. 

The table below lists the minimmn and maximum program income limits for different family 
sizes. 

Table I 

Annual Household Income Limits for MinnesotaCare 
(effective January 1, 2014) 

Household 
Size 133% ofFPG 200% ofFPG 

I $15,521 $22,980 

2 20,920 31,020 

3 26,320 39,060 

4 31,720 47,100 

Each additional person add $5,399 $8,040 

House Research Department 

1 The MA household composition rule counts the income of both unmarried parents when determining 
eligibility for a minor child in the household. Beginning January l, 2014, MinnesotaCare, as part of the switch to 
the modified adjusted gross income (MAGJ) income methodology, uses the tax definition of household, under which 
only the income of one unmarried parent is counted when detennining el igibility for a minor child (this is the 
income of the parent claiming the child as a dependent). This difforence in methodology could lead to situations in 
which a child's income under MA (given the counting of income of both unmarTied parents) is too high for that 
program, but is too low to qualify for MinnesotaCare (given the counting of income of only one parent and the 
program's income floor). This MinnesotaCare e ligibility provision is intended to allow children in this situation to 
be eligible for MinnesotaCare. 

2 These legal noncitizens are generally nonpregnant adults falling under certain immigration classifications 
who have resided in the United States for less than five years. The cost of health care services provided to these 
individuals is funded through M innesotaCare without a federal match (state-only MinnesotaCare). 
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Since January 1, 2014, modified adjusted gross income (MAGI)3 has been the income 
methodology used to determine eligibility for Mim1esotaCare applicants and enrollees. The use 
of MAGI is required by the ACA for state basic health programs. Prior to this date, a state­
specific gross income calculation was applied. 

Asset Limits 

There are no asset limits for MinnesotaCare enrollees. 

Before January 1, 2014, parents and caretakers and adults without children were subject to an 
asset limit of $10,000 in total net assets for a household of one person, and $20,000 in total net 
assets for a household of two or more persons. Certain items were not considered assets when 
determining MinnesotaCare eligibility. Pregnant women and children were exempt from the 
MinnesotaCare asset limit 

Not Eligible for Medical Assistance 

Persons who are eligible for Medical Assistance are not eligible for MinnesotaCare. Before 
January 1, 2014, persons eligible for both MA and MinnesotaCare could enroll in either 
program. This change has the effect of shifting the vast majority of pregnant women and 
children under age 19 from MinnesotaCare to MA, since the MA income limit for these 
eligibility groups (275 percent of FPG)4 is higher than the MinnesotaCare income limit (200 
percent of FPG). 

No Access to Subsidized Health Coverage 

In order to be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a family or individual must not have access to 
employer-subsidized health coverage that is affordable and provides minimum value, as defined 
in federal regulations.5 These regulations define coverage as "affordable" for an employee and 
related individuals, if the portion of the ammal premium the employee must pay for self-only 
coverage does not exceed 9 .5 percent of income. Coverage provides "minimum value" if it pays 
for at least 60 percent of medical expenses on average. 

Before January 1, 2014, in order to be eligible, a family or individual must not have had access 
to employer-subsidized health care coverage, and also must not have had access to employer­
subsidized health care coverage through a current employer for 18 months prior to application or 
reapplication. Employer-subsidized coverage was defined as health insurance coverage for which 
an employer pays 50 percent or more of the premium cost. The requirement of no access to 
employer-subsidized coverage did not apply to certain low-income children. 

3 MAGI is defined as adjusted gross income increased by: (1) excluded foreign earned income; (2) tax-exempt 
interest; and (3) an amount equal to the value of Social Security benefits not subject to tax. (I.R.C. § 36B) 

4 The 201 3 Legislature increased the MA income limit for children ages 2 through 18 from 150 percent to 275 
percent of FPG, effective January J, 20 14. 

5 See Code of Fed era I Regulations, title 26, section l.36B-2. 
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In order to be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a family or individual must not have minimum 
essential health coverage, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code. 6 The Internal Revenue Code 
defines minimum essential coverage as coverage under government-sponsored programs 
(including but not limited to Medicare, Medicaid, TRI CARE and other coverage for members of 
the armed services, and veterans health benefits), coverage under an employer-sponsored plan, 
individual market coverage, coverage under a grandfathered health plan,7 and other coverage 
recognized by the federal government. 

Before January l, 2014, enrollees must not have had other health coverage and must not have 
had health coverage for the four months prior to application or renewal. Low-income children 
and children meeting other specified criteria were exempt from these requirements. 

Residency Requirement 

Minnesota Care enrollees must meet the residency requirements of the Medicaid program. The 
Medicaid program requires an individual to demonstrate intent to reside permanently or for an 
indefinite period in a state, but it does not include a durational residency requirement (a 
requirement that an individual live in a state for a specified period of time before applying for the 
program). 

6 See Internal Revenue Code, section 5000A. 

7 Under the ACA, most health insurance plans that existed on March 23, 2010, are eligible for grandfathered 
status. Grandfathered plans do not have to meet all of the ACA requirements related to the regulation of health 
insurance. However, grandfathered status is lost and compliance with the ACA is required, if significant changes 
are made to the plan's benefi ts or premiums and cost-sharing . 
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Parents and adults without children who are not pregnant are. covered under MinnesotaCare for 
most, but not all, services covered under MA. The $10,000 annual limit on inpatient hospital 
benefits that applied to certain parents and caretakers, and adults without children, was 
eliminated on January 1, 2014.8 Covered services are summarized in Table 2. 

Children ages 19 and 20, and children under age 19 not eligible for MA solely due to the MA 
household composition rule (described in footnote 1), can access the full range of MA services 
without enrolling in MA, except that abortion services are covered as provided under the 
MinnesotaCare program.9 These individuals are exempt :from MinnesotaCare benefit limitations 
and cost-sharing. 

Table 2 

Covered Services Under MinnesotaCare 

Parents; 
Service Children Adults without children" 

Acupuncture x x 
Adult mental health rehab/crisis x x 
Alcohol/drug treatment x x 
Child and teen checkup x 
Chiropractic x x 
Common can-ier transportation x 
Dentalb x x 
Emergency room x x 
Eye exams x x 
Eyeglasses x x 
Family planning x x 
Hearing aids x x 
Home carec x x 
Hospice care x x 
Hospital stay x x 
Hospital care coordination x x 
Immunizations x x 

8 The Healthy Minnesota Contribution Program, a defined contribution program under MinnesotaCare for 
ce11ain adults without children, was also eliminated January 1, 2014. This program provided enrollees with a 
defined contribution on a sliding scale to purchase private sector health coverage. 

9 Under MinnesotaCare, abortion services are covered "where the life of the female would be endangered or 
substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function would result if the fetus were carried to term; or 
where the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest" (Minn. Stat § 256L.OJ, subd. l ). Under MA, abm1ion services 
are covered to save the life of the mother and in cases of rape or incest (see Minn. Stat. § 2568.0625, subd. 16) and, 
as a result ofa Minnesota Supreme Court decision, for "therapeutic" reasons (Doe v. Gomez, 542 N.W.2d 17 
( 1995)). M innesotaCare enrollees must enroll in the MA program in order to obtain abortion services under the MA 
conditions of coverage. 
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Parents; 
Service ChiJdren Adults without children3 

Interpreters (hearing, language) x x 
Lab, x-ray, diagnostic x x 
Medical equipment and supplies x x 
Mental health x x 
Mental health case management x x 
Nursing facility care x 
Outpatient surgical center x x 
Physicians and clinics x x 
Physicals/preventive care x x 
Prescriptions x x 
Rehabilitative therapies x x 
School-based services x 
Transportation: emergency x x 
Transportation: special/common carrier x 
•Benefit limitations and cost-sharing requirements apply. 

b Minnesota Care covers the dental services covered under MA. MA coverage of dental services for adults who are 
not pregnant (and therefore MinnesotaCare coverage of dental services for this category of individuals) is limited to 
specified services (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 9). 

c Personal care attendant and private duty nursing services are covered for children, but are not covered for parents 
and adults without children. 

House Research Department 

Cost-sharing for Adults 

Parents and adults without children, who are not pregnant, are subject to the following cost­
sharing requirements: 

• $3 copayment per prescription 
• $25 copayment per pair of eyeglasses 
• $3 per nonpreventive visit (does not apply to mental health services) 
• $3.50 for nonemergency visits to a hospital emergency room 
• A monthly family deductible of $2.75 

The family deductible is waived for MinnesotaCare enrollees served by managed care and 
county-based purchasing plans. 

Children under age 21 are not subject to cost-sharing under MinnesotaCare. 
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MinnesotaCare enrollees age 21 and older pay monthly, per-person premiums based upon the 
following sliding scale. 

Table 3 

Sliding Premium Scale 

Federal Poverty Guideline and Individual Premium 
Greater than or Equal to Less than Amount 

0% 55% $4 

55% 80% $6 

80% 90% $8 

90% 100% $10 

100% 110% $12 

110% 120% $15 

120% 130% $18 

130% 140% $21 

140% 150% $25 

150% 160% $29 

160% 170% $33 

170% 180% $38 

180% 190% $43 

190% $50 
See Minn. Stat. § 2561.15, subd. 2. 

This premium scale is intended to reduce average premiums paid by enrollees. Under the 
premium scale in effect before January 1, 2014, households paid premiums ranging between $4 
per person per month and 7.2 percent of income, with household premiums varying with the 
number of persons covered. Children with incomes under 200 percent of FPG paid no 
premrnms. 

Premium Exemptions 

American Indians and Alaska Natives, and members of their households, are exempt from 
MinnesotaCare premiums. 

Members of the military and their families who are determined eligible for Minnesota Care 
within 24 months of the end of the member's tour of active duty are exempt from premiums for 
12 months. 
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Unless an exemption applies, nonpayment of premiums results in disenrollment from 
MinnesotaCare coverage, effective the calendar month for which the premium was due. 
Enrollees who are disenrolled due to nonpayment of premiums may reinstate their coverage 
retroactively to the first day of disenrollment by paying all billed premiums within 20 days of 
disenrollment. 

Prepaid MinnesotaCare 

The Commissioner of Human Services contracts with health maintenance organizations and 
other prepaid health plans to deliver health care services to MinnesotaCare enrollees. 
MinnesotaCare enrollees receive health care services through these prepaid health plans, rather 
than through fee-for-service. 

Prepaid health plans (sometimes referred to as managed care organizations) receive a capitated 
payment from DHS for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, and in return are required to provide 
enrollees with all covered health care services for a set period of time. Five percent of each 
plan's capitation rate is withheld annually and returned pending the plan's completion of 
perfonnance targets related to various process, quality, and clinical measures. 

Under prepaid MinnesotaCare, enrollees select a specific prepaid plan from which to receive 
services, obtain services from providers in that plan's provider network, and follow that plan's 
procedures for seeing specialists and accessing health care services. 

The 2011 Legislature authorized a two-year competitive bidding pilot to serve nonelderly, 
nondisabled adults and children in the seven-county metropolitan area beginning January 1, 
2012. The 2012 Legislature allowed the commissioner to continue the use of competitive 
bidding for managed care contracts effective on or after January 1, 2014. The 2013 Legislature 
directed the commissioner to establish a competitive process, based on ACA requirements for 
basic health programs, to enter into contracts with participating entities to offer health coverage 
to MinnesotaCare enrollees, beginning January 1, 2015. 

Funding and Expenditures 

Total payments for health care services provided through MinnesotaCare were $570 million in 
fiscal year 2013. Forty-nine percent of this amount was paid for through state payments from the 
health care access fund. The remainder is paid from enrollee premiums (this category also 
includes enrollee cost-sharing), federal funding received under the Prepaid Medical Assistance 
Project Plus (PMAP+) waiver,i0 and the Minnesota's Children's Health Jnsurance Program 
(CHIP) 11 allotment. 

10 The state 's health care reform waiver (now referred to as the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus or 
PMAP+ waiver) was approved by the federal government in April J 995. The waiver, and subsequent waiver 
amendments, exempted Minnesota from various federal requirements, gave the state greater flexibility to expand 
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Beginning January 1, 2015, the state expects to receive, for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, a 
payment under the basic health program payment equal to 95 percent of the subsidy the person 
would have received through MN sure, the state's health insurance exchange, had the state not 
operated MinnesotaCare as a basic health program. This basic health program payment will 
replace the federal match currently received for MinnesotaCare enrollees under the PMAP+ 
waiver. 

Funding for the state share of MinnesotaCare costs, and for other health care access initiatives, is 
provided by: 

• A 2 percent tax on the gross revenues of health care providers, hospitals, surgical centers, 
and wholesale drug distributors (sometimes referred to as the "provider tax"); and 

• A I percent premium tax on health maintenance organizations and nonprofit health 
service plan corporations. 

Medicare payments to providers are excluded from gross revenues for purposes of the gross 
revenues taxes. Other specified payments, including payments for nursing home services, are 
also excluded from gross revenues. 

Federal Share 
Under Waiver 

44% 

MinnesotaCare Funding 
(FY 2013) 

Enrollee Premiums 
and Cost Sharing 

7% 

State Cost 
49% 

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division 

The tax rate on health care providers can be reduced, if the Commissioner of Management and 
Budget determines by December 1 of each year that the ratio of revenues to expenditures and 
transfers for the health care access fund for the biennium will exceed 125 percent. If this 

access to health care through the MinnesotaCare and MA programs, and allows the state to receive federal 
contributions (referred to as "federal financial participation" or FFP) for services provided to MinnesotaCare 
enrollees. The PMAP+ waiver was most recently reauthorized by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services through December 31, 2014. DHS is seeking reauthorization of the waiver for the period January J, 2015, 
through December 31, 2017, revised as necessary to reflect the operation of Minnesota Care as a basic health 
program. 

11 The state may make a claim against its CHIP allotment for the difference between the CHIP federal 
matching rate for Minnesota (65 percent) and the Medicaid federal matching rate for Minnesota, for the cost of 
services provided to children under age 21 whose family income is greater than 133 percent of fPG. 
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determination is made, the commissioner must reduce the rate so that the projected ratio of 
revenues to expenditures and transfers for the biennium will not exceed 125 percent. Any rate 
reduction expires after one year and the future rate is subject to annual redetermination by the 
comm1ss1oner. 

The MinnesotaCare provider taxes are scheduled to be repealed, effective for gross revenues 
received after December 31, 2019. 

Recipient Profile 

As of June 2014, 54,956 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program. Just over 
one-half of enrollees are adults without children. The remaining group of enrollees is composed 
mainly of parents and children ages 19 and 20 (most children 18 and under being eligible for 
Medical Assistance). 

MinnesotaCare Enrollment 
(June 2014) 

Adults without Children 
52% 

Application Procedure 

Families with Children 
48% 

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division 

There are several ways to obtain MinnesotaCare application forms and to apply for 
MinnesotaCare coverage. These include the following: 

• Applying for MinnesotaCare through MNsure, the state's health insurance exchange (1-
855-366-7873 or online at www.mnsure.org) 

• Calling DHS directly at 1-800-657-3672 or 651-297-3862 (in the metro area) 
• Obtaining application forms through county social service agencies, health care provider 

offices, and other sites in the community, or from the DHS website 


