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WELCOME TO THE 2014 MINNESOTA HUNTING SEASONS. 
New regulations are listed below. Have a safe and enjoyable hunt. 

NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2014NEW

General hunting
• Persons age 60 or over may take deer or turkey by crossbow under an archery 

license during the respective regular archery seasons. See pages 23, 61 and 
76. 

Bear hunting 
• Bear licenses for resident and nonresident youth ages 10-12 are now free 

(does not include $1 agent issuing fee) and bear licenses for resident and 
nonresident youth ages 13-17 are $5. 

Crow 
• Crow season dates have changed. See page 43.

Deer hunting
• A bucks-only management strategy has been implemented in a number of 

northern permit areas this year. No antlerless deer may be taken in any of 
these areas by any hunters during any season with all license types (including 
youth, bow hunters, and individuals with disabled permits).

• There are no disease management areas in Minnesota this year. Deer permit 
area 602 has reverted back to the former permit areas (341 and 343).

•   Telephone and internet registration will be available in series 300 permit 
areas, except areas subject to CWD surveillance sampling during the 
firearms season.

•   An early antlerless season will be held in sub-permit area zones within 
permit areas 346 and 349 (consult large fold-out Dear Season Map). 

Trespass
• A person may not remain or return within one year to any land for outdoor 

recreation purposes after being personally notified not to do so by the owner, 
occupant or lessee.

• On another person’s private land or a public right-of-way, a person may not 
discharge a firearm within 500 feet of a building occupied by humans or 
livestock without written permission of the owner, occupant or lessee of the 
building. See page 6.

Dogs or other domestic animals
Dogs or other domestic animals that are incidentally caught in traps may 

now be reported to a conservation officer. See page pages 38 and 47.
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TRESPASS LAW 
Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against hunters. 

Trespassing is illegal and can ruin hunters’ and the DNR’s re la tions with land-
own ers. This could hamper habitat programs, cut off land access, and elim i nate 
future hunting in many areas of Minnesota. 

Always ask per mis sion before en ter ing pri vate land. Any entry onto 
private property without permission is considered trespass. Landowners 
may be able to pursue court action against trespassers whether the property 
is posted or not. Persons caught trespassing, may be issued a citation and 
assessed a fine under civil penalties. Repeat violators can lose their license 
or registration. Persons convicted of violating trespass laws under criminal 
procedures, may lose hunting privileges for up to 2 years, lose hunting 
equipment, and be subject to fines and possibly a jail sentence. DNR 
conservation officers and all other licensed peace officers enforce trespass laws 
and may issue a citation to trespassers or anyone who removes a sign without 
authorization.

RESTRICTIONS
• A person may not enter legally posted land for outdoor recreation purposes 

with out permission.
• A person may not enter agricultural land for outdoor recrea tion purposes 

without permission. 
• A person may not remain on or return within one year to any private land 

for outdoor recreation  purposes after being told to leave by the owner, 
occupant or lessee.

• On another person’s private land or a public right-of-way, a person may not 
discharge a firearm within 500 feet of a building occupied by humans or 
livestock without written permission of the owner, occupant or lessee of the 
building. 

• A person may hunt from the water or from public land that is within 500 
feet of a building occupied by humans or livestock.

• A person may not discharge a firearm within 500 feet of a corral con fin ing 
livestock for the purpose of normal livestock holding or sorting operations 
without permission. This does not apply to persons hunting during an 
established season on state or local government-owned land that is not road 
right-of-way.

• A person may not take a wild animal on any land where the person is pro-
hibited from lawfully entering by this law. This prohibition includes coyote 
hunters intentionally running their dogs on posted or agricultural land 
without permission of the landowner, occupant, or lessee.

NEW

NEW

NEW
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Trespass Law

• A person may not wound or kill another person’s domestic  an i mal, destroy 
private property, or pass through a closed gate without returning it to the 
original position.

Exceptions
• A person on foot may, without permission, enter land that is not posted to 

retrieve a wounded animal that was lawfully shot, but may not remain on the 
land after being told to leave.

• A person on foot may, without permission, enter private land without a 
firearm to retrieve a hunting dog. After retrieving the dog, the  person must 
immediately leave the premises. This exception does not au tho rize the taking 
of the wild animal.

• A person on foot may, without permission, enter land that is posted with 
“Walk-In Access” signs.

Definitions and Posting Requirements 
“Outdoor Recreation” means any activity including hunting, fishing, 

trapping, boating, hiking, camping, and engaging in winter sports which is 
conducted primarily for the purposes of pleasure, rest or relaxation and is 
dependent on or derives its principal benefit from natural  surroundings.

“Agricultural land” is land that: 1) is plowed or tilled; 2) has standing crops 
or crop residues; 3) is within a maintained fence for enclosing domestic live-
stock (including horses); 4) is planted to native or introduced grassland or hay 
land; or 5) is planted to short-rotation woody crops (hybrid poplar and other 
woody plants that are harvested for their fiber within 15 years of planting).

 
Important: 

All planted grassland and hayland and all hybrid poplar and other 
woody plants that are harvested for their fiber within 15 years of planting 
are considered agricultural land, including grasslands enrolled in the 
federal Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve 
Enhancement Program (CREP), or the state Reinvest In Minnesota 
(RIM) Reserve program. These lands do not need to be posted to prevent 
unauthorized trespass. However, land that is brush or trees, must be 
posted or verbal notice given to trespassers for criminal enforcement to 
occur.

Hunters and Trappers: Always respect private lands. Ask first before enter-
ing lands not posted as being open to hunting and trapping. You will improve 
relationships between landowners and recreationists, and you will have a more 
enjoyable time in the field. 

To be legally posted, land must have signs:
 • posted once each year that state “no trespassing” or similar terms either: 

> along the bound aries every 1,000 feet or less, or in wooded areas where 
boundaries are less clear, at intervals of 500 feet or less; or 
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> at the primary corners of each parcel of land and at access roads and trails 
at points of entrance to each parcel, except corners only accessible through 
agricultural land need not be posted.

 • with lettering at least 2 inches high and the signature or the legible name 
and telephone number of the own er, oc cu pant, lessee, or author ized manager. 
An un au tho rized person may not post land with signs prohibiting outdoor 
recreation or trespass.

Notification to stay off private land, authorization to remove a sign posted 
to prevent trespass, or legal permission to enter pri vate land or to take wild 
an i mals near oc cu pied buildings or corrals, may only be given by the own er, 
oc cu pant, or lessee.
Penalties

Violating the Minnesota Trespass Law can make you subject to either civil 
or criminal penalties:

•  Civil penalties are: 1) $50 for the first violation; 2) $200 for the  second 
violation in a 3-year period; 3) $500 and loss of every license and registration 
being used for a third or subsequent  violation in a 3-year period; and 4) $50 
for unauthorized removal of a sign posted under this law.

• Criminal penalties are at least a misdemeanor for violation of this law. In 
addition, it becomes a gross misdemeanor to: knowingly  disregard signs 
prohibiting trespass, trespass after being told not to do so, or to violate 
the trespass law twice within a 3-year period. Anyone convicted of a gross 
misdemeanor violation of the trespass law while hunting, fishing, trapping, 
or snowmobiling will have the applicable license and registration for that 
activity revoked and will have all hunting privileges suspended for 2 years.

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use
These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all water 

access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about whether you 
may be trespassing on private land, we recommend that you ask the land-
owner for permission.

1. What is lawful access?
A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or if 

public land or a public road right-of-way abuts the surface of the water, or if 
you have permission to cross private land to reach the surface of the water.
2. What is recreational use?

Recreational use includes boating, swimming, fishing, hunting, trap-
ping, and similar activities. It includes walking in the water in connection 
with such activities regardless of who owns the land beneath the surface of 
the water.
3. What waters are open to recreational use?

A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it is 
capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water that will 
float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters may also qualify 
depending upon the circumstances.
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Trespass Law

FYI…
Public Hunting Land Maps

Find the exact boundaries of WMAs, WPAs, state forests, national 
forests, and national wildlife refuges on DNR Public Recreation 
Information Maps (PRIM). The maps are available at major sports retail-
ers and the DNR Gift Shop in St. Paul.

Landowner Liability (Minn. Stat. 604A.20-604.27)
An owner who gives written or oral permission for the use of the land for 

recreational purposes without charge does not, by that action:
• extend any assurance that the land is safe for any purpose,
• confer upon the person the legal status of an invitee or licensee to whom a 

duty of care is owed, or
• assume responsibility for or incur liability for any injury to the person or 

property caused by an act or omission of the person.
Road Right-of-Way

Some road right-of-ways are not owned by a unit of government. In these 
instances the landowner has granted an easement for vehicle and foot travel. 
The landowner generally retains authority to restrict access for hunting or 
trapping and may prohibit trespass by posting the land or by verbally directing 
hunters and trappers to leave the easement. It’s always best to ask permission if 
in doubt about the ownership of a road ditch area. County or township offices 
also may be able to help determine the ownership status of a road ditch. 

Helpful examples of road right-of-way ownership and public use include:
• Interstate highways are normally owned by the government, but hunting is 

not allowed. 
• State highways are most often owned by the state, but there may be a mix of 

easements and state ownership.
• County roads may be owned by the county, or there may be easements. 

Roadways with easements tend to be gravel, while roads owned by the county 
tend to be paved. Road surface is a visual indicator of the ownership but is not 
an absolute condition.

• Township roads are generally easement and not owned by the township, but 
some township roads are owned by the township.  As is the case with county 
roads, road surface can be a visual indicator of the ownership.

• The ownership or easement status can vary on any one stretch of road, and 
can vary from road to road.

Visually, the road right-of-way is improved and maintained, and you will 
normally notice a change in the property – including such things as ditches, 
fence lines, etc. The actual distance from the center of the road that is improved 
and maintained can vary under ownership or easement, and from one location 
to another.
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A license to take wild animals that was lawfully obtained continues to be 
valid for the balance of the license period if the licensee’s age, residency, or 
student qualification status changes.Prices do not include additional issuing 
fees. 

Youth licenses for wild turkey, wolves and big game (deer, bear and elk) 
are qualified by the age of licensee on the opening day of the season. Youth 
licenses for species that may be taken under a small game license are qualified 
by the age of the licensee on Sept. 1. 

License Requirements

Resident Hunting
Code Fee

APPRENTICE 
Validation

199 Born after 12/31/79 
age 12 or over

Validation to allow an individual to hunt small game, 
bear, and deer without having completed hunter 
education firearms safety, must purchase additional 
required licenses, good for two license years in a lifetime

$3.50

SPORTS 216 Individual Sports Individual Angling and Small Game ($31.50 plus 
$6.50 surcharge “paid by hunters for the acquisition 
and development of wildlife lands”)

$38

142 Individual Super 
Sports

Individual Angling including Trout/Salmon Stamp, 
Small Game including pheasant and waterfowl, a 
deer tag (archery, firearms or muzzleloader) ($86.50 
plus $6.50 surcharge “paid by hunters for the 
acquisition and development of wildlife lands”)

$93* 

217 Married Combination 
Sports

Two Angling and One Small Game ($45.50 plus 
$6.50 surcharge “paid by hunters for the acquisition 
and development of wildlife lands”)

$52

143 Married Combination 
Super Sports

Combination Angling including Trout/Salmon Stamp, 
Individual Small Game including Pheasant and 
Waterfowl, Individual Deer tag (archery, firearms or 
muzzleloader) ($110.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid 
by hunters for the acquisition and development of 
wildlife lands”)

$117*

SMALL 
GAME & 
TRAPPING

NA Youth under age 16 
Annual

Small Game License Not
Required

208 Youth age 16-17 
Annual

Small Game License $5

211 Adult age 18 or over 
and under age 65 
Annual

Small Game License ($15.50 plus $6.50 surcharge 
“paid by hunters for the acquisition and development 
of wildlife lands”)

$22

100 Senior Age 65 and 
over Annual

Small Game License ($7 plus $6.50 surcharge 
“paid by hunters for the acquisition and development 
of wildlife lands”)

$13.50

144 Adult Age 18 and over 
Consecutive 72-Hour

Small Game License (72-hour state waterfowl and 
pheasant stamps included)

$19**
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License Requirements

671 
672

Furbearer site 
validation coupons

Fisher/Marten (671) or River Otter (672) Free

218 Junior Trapping 
Annual age 13 to 17

Age 13 to 17 trapping license, small game license 
also required for 16-17

$5

214 Adult Trapping Annual 
age 18 or over and 
under 65

Age 18 and over trapping license, small game 
license also required

$23

101 Senior Trapping Annual 
age 65 or over

Age 65 and over trapping license, small game 
license also required

$11.50

STAMPS 229 Pheasant Age 18 to 64 state pheasant validation, small game 
or sports license required

$7.50

226 State Waterfowl Age 18 to 64 state waterfowl validation, small game 
or sports license required, federal migratory bird 
hunting validation also needed

$7.50

TURKEY 600 Adult Lottery 
Application

Turkey Lottery Application Fee when needed $4

619 Youth under age 13 Turkey License Spring Any Weapon (any permit area 
and time period)

Free

641 Youth under age 13 Turkey License Fall Any Weapon (any permit area 
and time period)

Free

601 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Turkey License Spring Any Weapon (any permit area 
and time period)

$5

655 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Turkey License Fall Any Weapon (any permit area 
and time period)

$5

610 Adult age 18 or over Turkey License Spring Any Weapon (lottery) $26

607 Adult age 18 or over Turkey License Spring Archery (non-lottery, seasons 
D-H)

$26

650 Adult age 18 or over Turkey License Fall Any Weapon (no lottery) $26

597 Change Area Turkey Spring Change Area License Adult $5

638 Change Area Turkey Fall Change Area License $5

613 Surplus Spring Adult over 18 Spring Surplus, D-H over the counter, 
or extra lottery permits

$26

WALK-IN 
ACCESS

190 Access Validation ALL 
ages

Walk-In Access Hunter Validation $3

102 
103 
104

Donation Voluntary donation on small game and deer licenses
"The small game license donations are being paid by 
hunters for administration of the Walk-In Access program"

$5.00 
$3.00 
$1.00

DEER 246 
247 
248

Youth age 10 or over 
and under 13

Must obtain a free license to take big game 
(code 246 ARCHERY, 247 FIREARMS, 248 
MUZZLELOADER)

Free

210 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Deer by FIREARMS ($0.50 is credited to the wolf 
management and monitoring account, $2 credited to 
deer management)

$5*

209 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Deer by ARCHERY ($0.50 is credited to the wolf 
management and monitoring account)

$5*

204 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Deer by MUZZLELOADER ($0.50 is credited to the 
wolf management and monitoring account)

$5*
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212 Adult age 18 and over Deer by FIREARMS ($0.50 is credited to the wolf 
management and monitoring account)

$30*

213 Adult age 18 and over Deer by ARCHERY ($0.50 is credited to the wolf 
management and monitoring account)

$30*

203 Adult age 18 and over Deer by MUZZLELOADER ($0.50 is credited to the 
wolf management and monitoring account)

$30*

312 Zone Change Deer Firearms Zone Change $5

422 Early Season Antlerless Deer Early Season Antlerless $7.50

430 Bonus Bonus Permit (of which $1.00 goes to the venison 
donation program)

$15*

WOLF 680 Application Wolf Application $4

681 License Wolf Early Firearm $30

683 License Wolf Late Firearm $30

685 Trapping Wolf Trapping License $30

686 License Wolf Surplus Early Firearm $30

688 License Wolf Surplus Late Firearm $30

690 Trapping Wolf Surplus Trapping $30

691 License Military On Leave Wolf Early Firearm Free

692 License Military On Leave Wolf Late Firearm Free

693 Trapping Military On Leave Trapping Free

694 License Military Discharge Wolf Early Firearm Free

695 License Military Discharge Wolf Late Firearm Free

696 Trapping Military Discharge Wolf Trapping Free

ELK 625 Application Elk Application $4

BEAR 662 Application Bear Application $4

659 Youth age 10 or over 
and under 13

Bear License. Must obtain a free license to take 
big game.

Free

674 Youth age 10 or over 
and under 13

Surplus Bear License. Must obtain a free license to 
take big game.

Free
***

676 Youth age 10 or over 
and under 13

No Quota Bear License. Must obtain a free license 
to take big game.

Free

643 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Bear License $5

644 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Surplus Bear License $5

642 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

No Quota Bear License $5

660 Adult age 18 and over Bear License (of which $1.00 goes to the deer/bear 
management accounts)

$44

664 Adult age 18 and over Surplus Bear License (of which $1 goes to the deer/
bear management accounts)

$44

224 Adult age 18 and over No Quota Bear License (of which $1.00 goes to the 
deer/bear management accounts)

$44

PRICE
CHANGE

PRICE
CHANGE

PRICE
CHANGE

PRICE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

PRICE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

PRICE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE
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License Requirements

 * Of this price, credits go to; $0.50 wolf management, $1.00 deer/bear management account, $0.50 emergency feeding and 
wild cervidae-deer family health, and $2.00 deer management. 

 ** Of this price, credits go to; $3.75 Pheasant stamp account, $3.75 waterfowl stamp account, and $3.25 small game surcharge.
There is a $1 agent fee associated with licenses, including some free licenses. See page 15.

Nonresident Hunting
Code Fee

APPRENTICE 
Validation

199 Born after 12/31/79 
age 12 or over

Validation to allow an individual to hunt small game, 
bear, and deer without having completed hunter 
education firearms safety, must purchase additional 
required licenses, good for two license years in 
a lifetime

$3.50

WALK-IN     
ACCESS

190 Access Validation 
ALL ages

Walk-In Access Hunter Validation $3

SMALL 
GAME & 
TRAPPING 
Nonresident

146 Youth under age 16 
Annual

Small Game License Not
Required

206 Youth age 16 or 
over and under 18 
Annual

Small Game License $5

221 Adult age 18 or over 
Annual

Small Game License ($90.50 plus $6.50 
surcharge “paid by hunters for the acquisition and 
development of wildlife lands” plus $5 surcharge 
for Walk-In Access program)

$102

145 Adult age 18 or over 
Consecutive 72-Hour

Small Game License (72-hour state waterfowl and 
pheasant stamps included)

$75**

207 Trapping Trapping (landowner only) $84

TURKEY 
Nonresident

600 Adult Lottery 
Application

Turkey Lottery Application Fee when needed $4

594 Youth under age 13 Turkey Spring Any Weapon License (any permit 
area and time period)

Free

593 Youth under age 13 Turkey Fall Any Weapon (any permit area and 
time period)

Free

602 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Turkey Spring Any Weapon License (any permit 
area and time period)

$5

PRAIRIE 
CHICKEN

616 Application Prairie Chickens Application $4

617 License Prairie Chickens License $23

SANDHILL 
CRANE

250 Permit Sand hill Crane Permit $3

GOOSE 520 License Canada Goose during a special season $4

521 License Light Goose during a special season spring $4

WILD RICE 331 Season Permit Wild Rice Season Harvest for age 18 and older $25

332 One-Day Permit Wild Rice One-Day Harvest for age 18 and older $15
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656 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Turkey Fall Any Weapon (any permit area and 
time period)

$5

611 Adult age 18 or over Turkey Spring Any Weapon License ($91 plus $5 
surcharge for Walk-In Access program) (lottery)

$96

608 Adult age 18 or over Turkey Spring Archery License ($91 plus $5 
surcharge for Walk-In Access program) (non-lottery, 
time periods D-H)

$96

651 Adult age 18 or over Turkey License Fall ($91 plus $5 surcharge for 
Walk-In Access program) (no lottery)

$96

639 Change Area Youth Turkey Fall Change Area/Season License Youth $5

597 Change Area Adult Turkey Spring Change Area/Season License Adult $5

614 Turkey Surplus 
Spring

Adult over 18 Spring Surplus, D-H over the 
counter, or extra lottery permits ($91 plus $5 
surcharge for Walk-In Access program)

$96

DEER 
Non-
resident

247 Youth age 10 and 
over and under 13

Must obtain a license to take big game Free

231 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Deer Firearms $5*

230 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Deer Archery $5*

236 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Deer Muzzleloader $5*

222 Adult age 18 or over Deer Firearms ($160 plus $5 surcharge for Walk-
In-Access program)

$165*

223 Adult age 18 or over Deer Archery ($160 plus $5 surcharge for Walk-In 
Access program)

$165*

237 Adult age 18 or over Deer Muzzleloader ($160 plus $5 surcharge for 
Walk-In Access program)

$165*

322 Zone Change Deer Firearms Zone Change $5

423 Early Season 
Antlerless

Deer Early Season Antlerless $40

431 Bonus Bonus Permit ($80 of which $1.00 goes to the 
venison donation program)

$80*

WOLF
Nonresident

680 Application Wolf Application $4

682 License Wolf Early Firearm $250

684 License Wolf Late Firearm $250

687 License Wolf Surplus Early Firearm $250

689 License Wolf Surplus Late Firearm $250

BEAR
Nonresident

662 Application Bear Application $4

659 Youth age 10 or over 
and under 13

Bear License. Must obtain a free license to take 
big game.

Free

674 Youth age 10 or over 
and under 13

Surplus Bear License. Must obtain a free license to 
take big game.

Free

PRICE
CHANGE

PRICE
CHANGE
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License Requirements

 * Of this price, credits go to; $0.50 wolf management, $1.00 deer/bear management account, $0.50 emergency feeding and 
wild cervidae-deer family health, and $2.00 deer management. 

 ** Of this price, credits go to; $3.75 Pheasant stamp account, $3.75 waterfowl stamp account, and $3.25 small game surcharge.
 *** Of this price, credits go to; $3.75 Pheasant stamp account, $3.75 waterfowl stamp account, and $3.25 small game surcharge. 

Lifetime license application forms are available online or by calling 
the DNR Information Center at 888-646-6367.

676 Youth age 10 or over 
and under 13

No Quota Bear License. Must obtain a free license 
to take big game.

Free

646 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Bear License $5

647 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

Surplus Bear License $5

645 Youth age 13 or over 
and under 18

No Quota Bear License $5

661 Adult age 18 or over Bear License ($225 of which $1.00 goes to deer 
and bear management accounts plus $5 surcharge 
for Walk-In Access program)

$230

664 Adult age 18 or over Surplus Bear License ($225 of which $1.00 goes 
to deer and bear management accounts plus $5 
surcharge for Walk-In Access program)

$230

225 Adult age 18 or over No Quota Bear License ($225 of which $1.00 
goes to deer and bear management accounts plus 
$5 surcharge for Walk-In Access program)

$230

RACCOON or 
BOBCAT
Nonresident

228 License Raccoon or Bobcat ($178 of which $1.00 goes 
to deer and bear management accounts plus $5 
surcharge for Walk-In Access program) Small game 
license also required.

$183

SPECIAL 
GOOSE
Nonresident

520 License Canada Goose during a special season $4

521 License Light Goose during a special season spring $4

WILD RICE
Nonresident

333 One-Day Permit Wild Rice One-Day Harvest for age 18 and older $30

PRICE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

PRICE
CHANGE

PRICE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

PRICE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

AGE
CHANGE

Agent fee for free licenses

The $1 agent issuing fee is waived for licenses issued without a fee for these 
license types: disabled residents, foreign exchange students, residents of state 
institutions, developmentally disabled residents, disabled veterans, military 
personnel (residents on leave, spouses of resident on active duty, resident dis-
charged from active service, Camp Ripley personnel, nonresidents stationed in 
the state, discharged resident obtaining deer license during season).There is a 
$1 agent fee associated with licenses, including some free licenses.

NEW



2014 Minnesota Hunting Regulations

16

LICENSE PURCHASE AND POSSESSION 
•  A person may not take, buy, sell, transport, or possess protected wild animals 

without a license, except as provided in this booklet. 
• All persons who are required to have a license must have it (including stamp 

validations) in their possession while hunting or trapping and while travel-
ing from an area where they hunted or trapped. (See chart on  page 35 for 
license requirements)

• Any person ticketed for failure to possess a license will not be convicted if 
they provide to the court or arresting officer a license that was valid at the 
time of arrest. 

Changing Deer Licenses
A person who has purchased a regular firearm deer license and wishes to 

change their season option (A or B) must submit their original license and all 
tags issued with the original license (must be unused) to obtain a replacement 
license. There is a fee of $5 (plus a $1 issuing fee) for the replacement license. 
Replacement licenses are available from any ELS license agent. Any replace-
ment license must be issued before the season for the original license opens. 

LIFETIME HUNTING Resident Individual
413 Lifetime Sports RENEWAL One Angling, One Small Game (excluding wolf) No

Charge

Lifetime Sports Purchase age 3 and under $485

Lifetime Sports Purchase age 4 to age 15 $659

Lifetime Sports Purchase age 16 to age 50 $861

Lifetime Sports Purchase age 51 and over $560

412 Lifetime Small Game RENEWAL One Small Game (excluding wolf) No
Charge

Lifetime Small Game Purchase age 3 and under $223

Lifetime Small Game Purchase age 4 to age 15 $301

Lifetime Small Game Purchase age 16 to age 50 $430

Lifetime Small Game Purchase age 51 and over $274

414 Firearm
410 Archery
409 Muzzle

Lifetime Deer Hunting RENEWAL Deer ($0.50 is credited to the wolf management 
and monitoring account)

No
Charge

Lifetime Deer Hunting Purchase age 3 and under $406

Lifetime Deer Hunting Purchase age 4 to age 15 $538

Lifetime Deer Hunting Purchase age 16 to age 50 $656

Lifetime Deer Hunting Purchase age 51 and over $468

LOWER
PRICE

LOWER
PRICE

LOWER
PRICE
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•  Hunters may also change 
from a regular firearms 
deer license to a youth deer 
license, if the qualifying 
youth purchased the incor-
rect license.

• Archery licenses may be 
changed to firearm or 
muzzleloader licenses prior 
to the beginning of archery 
season. 

• Regular firearm licenses may 
be changed to a muzzle-
loader or archery license 
prior to the beginning of the 
firearm season. 

Electronic Licensing
The Department’s Electronic 

Licensing System (ELS) issues 
licenses through 1,500 license 
agent locations throughout 
Minnesota or via the DNR 
website at mndnr.gov or via 
a toll free telephone number 
(888-665-4236). Additional fees apply.
License Requirements

To purchase noncommercial game licenses, nonresidents and residents 
must have their social security number on file with DNR or must provide it.

Residents
•  To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence in 

Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a license. In 
addition, residents 21 or older must provide a current Minnesota Driver’s 
License or ID card, unless exempt under the Religious Freedom Act.

•  A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident is con-
sidered a resident. 

• HIP Certification for legally taking migratory game birds, including 
mourning doves, must be printed on your license (see page 38). 

• Buy early: Customers are advised to avoid delays by buying early and far 
ahead of license or application deadlines.  

NEW

NEW
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License Year
Hunting licenses are valid during legal seasons between March 1 and the 

end of February. 
Border Waters

On all border waters with adjacent states or provinces, persons acting under 
a Minnesota hunting or trapping license may only take wild animals on the 
Minnesota side of the border.
Revocation of Hunting Privileges 

•  A person convicted of two or more violations under a small game or trap-
ping license within a 3-year period will have their small game hunting or 
trapping privileges revoked for 1 year.

•  Big game hunting privileges are revoked for 3 years for any of the fol lowing 
violations: 
1. Two or more convictions of any violation relating to big game animals 

within a 3-year period. 
2. One conviction of any of the following: shining while in possession of 

a firearm or bow; knowingly transporting an illegally taken big game 
animal; hunting, taking, transporting or possessing big game without the 
required license; over limit of big game; hunting, taking or pos sessing big 
game in closed season; buying or selling big game animals (revocation of 
all privileges if sale is over $300).

•  Hunting deer with the aid of bait results in a 1-year revocation
•  The revocation period doubles in convictions involving a trophy deer scoring 

higher than 170.
•  Under gross overlimits penalty provisions, license privileges can be revoked 

for 3 or 5 years, depending on the violation.
•  Big game and small game hunting privileges are revoked for 5 years for 

hunting while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance. 
•  Failure to pay game and fish fines or failure to appear in court can result in 

suspension of licenses privileges until fines are paid.
•  Certain trespass convictions (see page 8).
•  Violations of hunting laws in other states may affect your hunting privi leges 

in Minnesota.
•  Violators of wildlife feeding bans may not obtain any hunting license for 

2 years after the date of conviction.
Lost License 

You may obtain a duplicate license at any ELS license agent or from the 
DNR License Center in St. Paul. The fee is $5.75 for a duplicate Big Game 
License and $2.50 for all others.
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Apprentice Hunter Validation
• The Apprentice Hunter Validation is a short-term exclusion to the requirement 

for completing hunter firearms safety training. The validation may be purchased 
in two license years in a lifetime.  The apprentice hunter must also obtain all 
applicable licenses and stamps.

• An individual utilizing an Apprentice Hunter Validation must be accompanied 
(within unaided verbal and visual contact) by an adult who has a valid license to 
hunt the same species of game, the accompanying adult cannot be utilizing an 
Apprentice Hunter Validation.

• When hunting turkey or prairie chicken, the accompanying adult must be 
licensed for the same season, but may be licensed for another permit area or time 
period. If the accompanying adult is not licensed for the same permit area or time 
period, the accompanying adult may not shoot or possess a firearm or bow.

Refunds
Please check your license and/or receipt for accuracy before leaving the 

license agent location. License sales are final. A refund can only be issued 
if the licensee is unable to participate due to active military duty, cancelled 
military leave, death prior to opening of the season, if the licensee buys two 
licenses for the same season or if the licensee was not legally required to 
purchase the license to participate in the activity or if the licensee provides 
evidence the license was issued incorrectly by the department or license agent. 
The request for a refund must be received within 90 days of the original 
license purchase. 
Firearms Safety Certificates

• A person born after 12-31-1979 must have completed firearm safety training to 
obtain a license to hunt with a firearm.

• See table on page 35 for youth requirements and exceptions.
• A person on active duty who has successfully completed basic training in the U.S. 

Armed Forces, Reserves, or National Guard may purchase a license or obtain 
approval that authorizes hunting without possessing a Firearms Safety Certificate. 
Once discharged, they must obtain a Firearms Safety Certificate.

• A replacement for a lost or destroyed Minnesota Firearms Safety Certificate can 
be obtained at any ELS license agent for a $3.50 fee.

• Conceal carry permits do not meet requirements for firearms safety.

RESIDENTS
A Minnesota resident is defined as follows:
•  A United States citizen or resident alien who has maintained a legal residence in 

the state for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a license, or
•  A person in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed in the state, or
•  A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident.  See page 17 

for more information.

NEW
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Military Personnel
•  Residents who have maintained legal residency in Minnesota and who are serving 

in the U.S. Military and stationed outside the state may hunt small game without 
a license while on leave. They do not need a Minnesota Waterfowl Stamp or 
Pheasant Stamp but must have a Federal Duck Stamp to hunt waterfowl. They 
may hunt deer, bear, and wild turkeys without charge after obtaining the appropri-
ate licenses and tags from an ELS license agent by presenting official leave papers, 
except they may not obtain moose and elk licenses. Deer bonus permits may be 
purchased. Such ser vice personnel must carry proof of residency and official leave 
papers on their person while hunting. Residents must possess a current Minnesota 
driver license or public safety identification.

•  Nonresident spouses of residents on active military duty may purchase resident 
hunting and fishing licenses. Nonresidents must provide proof of spouse’s 
residency and active military duty.

•  A resident who has served at any time during the preceding 24 months in federal 
active service outside the United States and has been discharged from active 
service may take small game and fish without a license. Discharged residents must 
carry proof of residency and official military discharge papers. All tags required of 
a licensee must be obtained at no fee. 

•  A free deer license, valid for a deer of either sex, except in bucks-only areas, will be 
issued to residents who have served at any time during the preceding 24 months 
in federal active service outside the United States and have been discharged 
from active military service. Eligibility is limited to one deer license per person. 
Discharged residents must provide proof of residency and a copy of their official 
military discharge papers. 

•  Resident veterans with proof of a 100 percent service-related disability may obtain 
a free Small Game License and one free Firearms, Muzzleloader, or Archery 
Deer License from an ELS license agent (state stamps not required).

NONRESIDENTS
General

•  All nonresidents, regardless of age, must have an appropriate hunting license 
to hunt in Minnesota. A nonresident under age 18 may obtain a small game 
license at the resident fee if the nonresident possesses a firearms safety certificate. 
Non-residents under age 16 are not required to possess a small game license. A 
nonresident under age 14 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian to take 
small or big game. 

•  Purchase hunting licenses by telephone or internet: Call 888-MNLicense (888-
665-4236) or go to mndnr.gov. 

•  Nonresidents may trap in Minnesota only on their own land and with a nonresi-
dent trapping license. 
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•  Nonresidents may not take raccoon or bobcat without a nonresident Furbearer 
Hunting License and a nonresident Small Game License. 

Note to deer hunters: A Deer License issued after the opening day of the 
respective season (archery, regular firearms, or muzzleloader) is not valid until 
the second day AFTER it is issued. See page 66 for addi tional information.
Students

•  Nonresident, full-time students at a Minnesota educational institution who live 
in the state during the school year may purchase a resident Small Game, Deer, or 
Bear License with proof of full-time student status. 

•  A full-time foreign exchange student who resides with Minnesota residents may 
buy a resident license to take deer or bear. Students must provide a letter from 
their school confirming their attendance.

 

STAMPS
STATE PHEASANT AND MIGRATORY WATERFOWL STAMPS

Residents age 18-64, and all non-resident hunters, must have a Minnesota 
Pheasant Stamp validation or Minnesota Migratory Waterfowl Stamp vali-
dation (State Duck Stamp) in possession while hunting or taking pheasants 
or migratory waterfowl respectively, except: a) residents hunting pheasants 
on land occupied as their principal resi dence, b) persons hunting waterfowl 
on their own property, c) persons hunting on a licensed commercial shooting 
preserve, d) persons taking only marked waterfowl released on a commercial 
shooting preserve, or e) residents on military leave.
Federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamp

Waterfowl hunters age 16 and over must have a valid Federal Duck Stamp 
in possession while hunting or taking migratory waterfowl. Federal Duck 
Stamps can be purchased at post offices or license agents. Electronically 
issued Federal Duck Stamps are available at all of Minnesota’s 1,500 elec-
tronic license vendors, beginning July 1.
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* An “unloaded” firearm is defined as a firearm without am mu ni tion in the barrels and 
magazine, if the magazine is in the firearm. A muzzle-loading firearm with a flintlock 
ignition is unloaded if it does not have priming pow der in a pan. A muzzle-loading fire-
arm with percussion ignition is  unload ed if it does not have a percussion cap on a nipple.

GENERAL HUNTING INFORMATION 
The following are general hunting regulations. Specific regulations for 

various game species are in the Big Game, Small Game, Trapping, Waterfowl, 
and Wild Turkey sections of this booklet.

FIREARMS TRANSPORTATION
Unless transporting under the exceptions listed below, a person may not 

transport a firearm, including a handgun, in or on a motor vehicle unless the 
fire arm is:

•  unloaded* and in a case made expressly for that purpose; 
• unloaded* and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or
• carried under a valid permit to carry a pistol or handgun.
Under the following circumstances, a person may transport unloaded, 

uncased firearms (excluding pistols) in a motor vehicle, including ATVs:
• while at a shooting range with permission
• while lawfully hunting on private or public land or while travelling to or 

from a site the person intends to hunt or trap or has lawfully hunted that day.
Firearms must be transported unloaded and cased:
•  within Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties.
•  within the boundaries of a home rule, charter, or statutory city with a popu-

lation of 2,500 or more.
•  on school grounds
• as otherwise restricted in game refuges, shining, thermal imaging or night 

vision laws.

TRANSPORTATION OF BOWS
Archery bows and crossbows may be transported uncased in a motor 

vehicle but the bow cannot be armed with a bolt or arrow.

HANDGUNS
Persons age 18 or older may carry a handgun in the woods and fields or 

upon waters to hunt or target shoot. Persons under age 18 may carry hand-
guns for hunting if in the actual presence or under the direct supervision of 
the person’s parent or guardian, and if they meet firearms safety requirements 
(see page 35). Except those licensed to carry a concealed weapon, a person 
may not possess a firearm while bowhunting for deer. A person may take 
bear, elk and moose by archery while in possession of a firearm. Questions 
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re gard ing hand guns should be di rect ed to local law en force ment au thor i ties.
The “Concealed carry or permit to carry” provisions apply to certain hunt-

ing activities. Persons with a permit under this law generally may carry their 
handguns uncased and loaded while hunting, and while traveling to or from 
hunting locations by motor vehicle under the hunting firearms transportation 
laws. However, possession of the handgun while “shining” would still subject 
the possessor to the provisions of these laws (see page 30,  artificial lights, for 
more information).

CROSSBOWS
•  Persons age 60 and over with a valid archery license may take deer or turkey 

during the respective regular archery seasons.
•  Persons hunting under a regular firearms license may take deer, bear or 

turkey during the respective firearms seasons.
• Disabled persons with a valid permit and archery license may also hunt with 

crossbows or use a bow with a mechanical device that draws, releases, or 
holds the bow at full draw (page 61). 

At other times, a person may not hunt with a crossbow, or possess a cross-
bow in a motor vehicle when any hunting season is open unless the crossbow 
is not armed with a bolt or arrow.

POSSESSION OF FIREARMS BEFORE, DURING, AND AFTER 
THE FIREARMS DEER SEASON

(Note: This section does not apply to the Muzzleloader Season, see page 
87, except that muzzleloaders legal for deer may be possessed only by persons 
with a muzzleloader or firearms deer license during that season.)

No person may possess a firearm or ammunition outdoors during the 
period beginning the fifth day before the open firearms season and end ing 
the second day after the close of the season within an area where deer may be 
legally taken by firearms, except:

• A person who has a valid firearms big game license in possession may hunt 
big game during the open season with a firearm and am mu ni tion au tho rized 
for big game.

•  Possession is also legal under these conditions:
> An unloaded firearm that is cased or in a closed trunk of a motor vehicle.
> A shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller di am e ter lead 

shot or nontoxic shot.
> A .22 caliber rimfire handgun or rifle with .22 caliber short, long, or long 

rifle car tridg es, .22 magnum or .17 caliber rimfire.
> Handguns possessed by a person with a carry permit.
> On a target range or under a target range permit issued by a conservation 

officer.

NEW
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PARENT/GUARDIAN RESPONSIBILITY
A parent or legal guardian may not knowingly direct, allow, or permit the 

minor to hunt without the required license, permit, training or certification or 
in violation of game and fish laws.

“TAKING” DEFINED
“Taking” means pursuing, shooting, killing, capturing, trapping,  snar ing, 

an gling, spearing, or netting wild animals; or placing, setting, draw ing, or 
using a net, trap, or other device to take wild animals.       Tak ing also includes 
at tempt ing to take wild animals or assisting another person in taking wild 
animals.

“POSSESSION” DEFINED
Game animals are in a person’s possession whether on hand, in cold storage, 

in transport, or elsewhere.

PROTECTED ANIMALS
The following birds and mammals are protected in Minnesota by state or 

federal laws:
Protected Birds

• All birds for which seasons are established in these regulations are pro tect ed 
birds but may be taken as authorized.

•  There is no open season on bobwhite quail, swans, hawks, owls, eagles, 
herons,  bitterns, cor mo rants, loons, grebes, or any other species of birds 
except unprotected birds.

Crows
•  Crows may be taken without a license in season or at any time when they are 

doing or are about to do damage. 
• Electronic calls or sounds may be used for crow hunting. 
• Crows may be taken with a legal firearm (shotgun not larger than 10 gauge, 

rifle, or handgun), bow and arrow, or by falconry.
Mammals

•  All mammals for which seasons are established in these reg ula tions are 
protected mammals, but may be taken as authorized.

•  There is no open season on caribou, antelope, lynx,  wolverine, cougar, or 
spotted skunk (“civet cat”).

•  A person may not export or import a live coyote into the state unless autho-
rized by the Commissioner.

Taking Protected Species
•  No protected species may be taken in any manner in any area of the state 

except in accordance with these regulations.
•  All protected species must be killed before being removed from the site 

where taken.
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UNPROTECTED ANIMALS
Residents and nonresidents are not required to have a license to hunt 

unprotected spe cies including coyote. Nonresidents do not need a furbearer 
hunting license in addition to their small game license to hunt fox.
Unprotected Mammals

Weasels, coyotes, go phers, por cu pines, striped skunks, and all other mam-
mals for which there are no closed seasons or other pro tec tion are un pro tect ed 
animals. They may be taken in any manner, except with the aid of artificial 
lights or by using a motor vehicle to drive, chase, run over, or kill the animal. 
Poisons may be used only when the safety of humans and domestic livestock 
can be ensured and in accordance with all label  regula tions of the state Dept. 
of Agriculture and federal   En vi ron men tal Pro tec tion Agency.
Unprotected Birds

House sparrows, starlings, common pigeons, Eurasian collared dove, chukar 
partridge, quail, other than northern bobwhite, and monk par a keets are 
un pro tect ed and may be taken at any time.

HUNTING WITH DISABILITIES
Persons with disabilities may be granted special permits or exceptions to 

some hunt ing regulations:
• Crossbows: See pages 59 and 61.
• Motor Vehicles: See below.
• Special Seasons: See page 69.
• Blinds at some major WMAs: See page 101.
• Deer Stands, Agassiz, Rydell, Minnesota Valley and Big Stone NWR: See 

pages 116-118.
• Muzzleloader scope permit, page 87.

MOTORIZED VEHICLES 
MOTOR VEHICLES

•  No person may take a wild animal with a firearm or by archery from a motor 
vehicle except a disabled person with an appropriate permit. Except in 
bucks-only areas, a disabled person with a permit to shoot from a stationary 
motor vehicle may take a deer of either sex without an antlerless permit. 
Other members of the hunting party may not shoot antlerless deer for the 
disabled person. 

• Permits to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may be issued by DNR 
Enforcement to a person who obtains the required licenses and who has a 
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* ATVs are defined for the purposes of these regulations as all vehicles not  re quir ing 
Min ne so ta De part ment of Public Safety licensing, in clud ing trail bikes, 3-wheelers, 
4-wheelers, 6-wheelers, tracked vehicles, and other similarly man u fac tured or home-
made vehicles.

permanent physical disability that is more substantial than discomfort from 
walking. The permit recipient must: be unable to step from a vehicle without 
aid of a wheelchair, crutches, braces, or other mechanical support or pros-
thetic device; or be unable to walk any distance because of a permanent lung, 
heart, or other internal disease that requires the person to use supplemental 
oxygen to assist breathing. The permanent disability must be verified in writ-
ing by a licensed physician, certified nurse practitioner or certified physician's 
assistant acting under the direction of a licensed physician or chiropractor. In 
addition to providing the medical evidence of permanent disability, the appli-
cant must  possess a valid disability parking certificate or license plates issued 
by the Department of Public Safety. Permit ap pli ca tions are avail able from 
any DNR re gion al office or by  calling the in for ma tion num bers on page 122. 

•  No person may use a motor vehicle to intentionally drive, chase, run over, or 
kill any wild animal. 

•  Shooting from a motorized vehicle is unlawful.

OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES (OHVS), INCLUDING ALL-TERRAIN 
VEHICLES (ATVS)*

A person may not intentionally operate an off-highway vehicle:
•  in most wildlife management areas, a state park, or a scientific and  natural 

area, except as specifically authorized by law or rule;
•  in unfrozen public waters (lakes, rivers, streams and certain wetlands), or in 

calcareous fens as identified by the commissioner;
•  on a trail on public land that is designated or signed for non-motorized use 

only; 
•  on restricted areas within public lands that are posted or where gates or other 

clearly visible structures are placed to prevent un authorized motorized vehicle 
access; or

•  shoot at a wild animal from an OHV.

USING MOTOR VEHICLES DURING DEER SEASON
To reduce disturbance during the prime deer hunting times, operation of 

off-highway vehicles and snowmobiles is restricted during the regular firearms 
deer season: 
Licensed Deer Hunters

A person licensed to take deer must not operate an off-highway vehicle or 
snowmobile on public or private property in an area open for the taking of 
deer by firearms on a day that they are licensed to take deer in that area except:
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• Before legal shooting hours (½ hour before sunrise)
• From 11am until 2pm.
• After legal shooting hours (½ hour after sunset).
• On property that they own.
• On someone else’s private property with the landowner’s permission.
• Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles in 

an emergency, medical, or other unusual situation during the restricted hours.
Motor vehicles licensed for and being operated on public highways, or farm 

tractors being used for agricultural purposes, are exempt from this restriction.
Recreational OHV Riders

 OHV trails and routes on state forest lands are closed to ALL recreational 
off-highway vehicle riding (ATV, OHM, and ORV and snowmobiles) during 
the firearms deer season where deer may be taken by rifle (see all legal fire-
arms area versus shotgun area descriptions on page 81 and on the large deer 
zone map available separately), during the A Season only: 

• Series 100 permit areas—November 8–23, 
• Portions of Series 200 permit areas—November 8–16, 
Forest roads remain open to OHV use.

OHV Operation in Parks, Refuges, and Other Managed Areas
ATVs and snowmobiles are not allowed in State Parks, National Wildlife 

Refuges (see page 115), Scientific and Natural Areas, or most Wildlife 
Management Areas (see page 96). ATV use is regulated in state and national 
forests. (See rules on using public lands, pages 107–111.)

OHVS AND WETLAND DISTURBANCE
A person may not operate an OHV in a manner to:
•  indicate a willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for the safety of persons or 

property;
•  carelessly upset the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or public 

waters wetland; or
•  impact a wetland or public waters wetland in excess of minimum amounts 

established under law (These vary by area of the state and other criteria. 
More information is available online at mndnr.gov.)

See the Following Additional Regulations:
•  OHV operation on WMAs, pages 100-101
•  OHV operation on state forests, pages 107-109
•  Motor vehicles on federal lands, page 115-120
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DOG TRAINING
Except as authorized by permit, a person may not train hunting dogs afield 

on DNR administered lands from April 16 to July 14. A person may train 
hunting dogs afield on other lands.

A person training a dog afield and carrying a firearm may only have blank 
cartridges and shells in possession when the season is not open for any game 
bird, except by permit. An organization or individual may obtain permits to 
use firearms and live ammunition on domesticated birds or banded game 
birds from game farms for holding field trials and training hunting dogs.

DOGS PURSUING BIG GAME
No persons may allow their dog to chase or kill big game. 
Between January 1 and July 14, a dog that is observed wounding, killing, 

or pursuing in a way that endangers big game may be killed by any person. A 
peace officer or conservation officer may kill a dog that endangers big game at 
any time of the year. The officer or person is not liable for damages for killing 
the dog.

Important: 
Other hunting seasons are open before, during, and after the deer season. 

Many hunters use dogs to hunt upland game, wa ter fowl, rabbits, raccoons, 
foxes, and coyotes. Dogs may not be shot if seen pursuing big game during 
the fall hunting seasons, except by a conservation or peace officer.
 

HUNTING WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE
A person may not take protected wild animals with a firearm or by ar chery 

or be afield with a loaded or uncased firearm or an uncased bow while under 
the influence of a controlled substance or with a blood-alcohol level of .08 or 
higher.

WANTON WASTE
A person may not wantonly waste or destroy a usable part of a  pro tect ed 

wild animal unless authorized.

RADIOS AND OTHER WIRELESS DEVICES
• Using walkie talkies, cell phones, remote control or other radio equipment to 

take big game or small game is un law ful.
• A DNR permit is required to take unprotected animals with the aid of radio 

equipment, see page 25.
• Dog training collars are allowed without a permit.
• Motorized decoys controlled by remote may be used for taking migratory 

waterfowl or mourning doves where and when they are otherwise legal.
• A remote controlled animal noise caller can be used for crows, furbearing 

animals and unprotected animals.
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DATES AND TIMES INCLUSIVE
All dates, times and ages specified in these regulations are inclusive unless 

specified otherwise.

GAME FOR CONSUMPTION AT FUND RAISING EVENTS
Nonprofit organizations may charge a fee for admission to fundraising 

events when lawfully taken and possessed big game and small game (exclud-
ing migratory game birds that cannot be sold under federal law), is donated 
to the organization and is served for consumption on the premises where the 
fundraising event is held. Records of donations must be kept for 2 years. 

GIFTS
 Lawfully taken wild animals may be transferred as a gift if ac com  pa nied by 

a receipt containing: name and address of the owner; name and address of the 
re cip i ent, date of transfer, description of the gift (for  example: “Three 1-pound 
venison steaks”) and the license num ber under which the animal was taken. 
The receipt must remain with the gift.

STORAGE
A person who stores protected wild animals for others must plainly mark 

the package, in ink, with the name and address of the owner, the license 
number of the person taking the animal, and the number and species in the 
package.

CAR KILLS
A person must have a permit to possess protected wild animals, including 

deer, that have been killed by a vehicle. Permits are available from conserva-
tion officers and many local law enforcement agencies.

HUNTER/TRAPPER HARASSMENT PROHIBITED
A person may not prevent or disrupt another person from taking or prepar-

ing to take a wild animal. A person may not disturb wild animals with the 
intent to prevent or disrupt another person from hunting. Placing bait for the 
purpose of preventing or disrupting another person from lawfully hunting 
deer would be considered unlawful under the hunter harassment laws.

SALE OF ANIMAL PARTS 
Except as otherwise provided in these regulations, a person may   possess, 

transport, buy, or sell the following inedible portions of lawfully taken or 
acquired big game, furbearers, and game birds (other than  migra to ry birds): 
bones (including skulls), sinews, hides, hooves, teeth, claws, and antlers. A 
person may not sell meat or organs, including bear gall bladders, and may not 
sell bear paws unless attached to the hide. The flesh of legally-taken beaver, 
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muskrat, raccoon, rabbits, and hares may be bought, sold, and transported at 
any time.

A hunter or trapper may sell the pelts of lawfully taken furbearers only 
to a licensed fur buyer. A person may not buy raw furs without a fur buyer’s 
license, except a fur manufacturer or licensed taxidermist may buy raw furs 
from a licensed fur buyer. 

INDIAN BAND HUNTING SEASONS
Indian bands may be hunting big game by fire arms before and after state 

firearms seasons. The Fond du Lac band may be hunting big game from late 
September until mid-December in the 1854 ceded territory (Cook, Lake, 
east ern and southern St. Louis, most of Carlton, and extreme northern Pine 
coun ties). Bands  signatory to the 1837 Treaty (east-central Minnesota from 
Pine and Chisago counties west to the Mississippi River) may be  hunting 
deer from the day after Labor Day through the end of December. 

DUTY TO RENDER AID
A person who shoots and injures another person with a firearm, or has 

reason to believe that an oth er person might have been in jured, and any 
wit ness es to such a shooting, must im me di ate ly in ves ti gate the extent of 
the person’s injuries and give reasonable assistance, including calling law 
en force ment or med i cal personnel to the scene. Failure to do so can result in 
im pris on ment and a fine for the shooter and witnesses.

ARTIFICIAL LIGHTS 
With a Firearm or Bow

A person may not cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artificial 
light onto a highway or into a field, woodland, or forest to spot, locate or 
take a wild animal while possessing either individually or as one of a group, a 
firearm, bow or other implement that could be used to take big game, small 
game or unprotected species. 
Shining Lights Generally 

Without implements to take wild animals, from 2 hours after sunset until 
sunrise, no person may cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artificial 
light on a highway or into a field, woodland or forest to spot or locate a wild 
animal.

A person may not cast rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artificial 
light on land that is marked with signs prohibiting the shining of lights. The 
signs must: 1) display letters that are at least 2 inches in height and state “no 
shining” or similar terms; and 2) be placed at intervals of 500 feet or less along 
the boundary of an area.

A person may not cast an artificial light onto fenced agricultural land or a 
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residential property or building sites from a motor vehicle.
Exceptions

Without a firearm or a bow, a person who is on foot may use a handheld 
artificial light to retrieve wounded or dead big game  animals.

A person taking raccoons or tending traps in accordance with all other 
regulations in this booklet. (See page 45.)

A person hunting for coyote or fox from January 1 to March 15 may use an 
artificial handheld light under all of the following conditions:

• While on foot and not within a public right of way
• Using a shotgun
• Using a calling device
• Not within 200 feet of a vehicle
It is not a violation of this law to use laser range finders, shine lights 

without a firearm while doing any agricultural, safety, emergency response, 
normal vehicle operation or occupational-related activities or recreational 
activity, including snowmobiling, not related to spotting, locating or taking a 
wild animal. 
 
NIGHT VISION EQUIPMENT

A person may not possess any kind of night vision or thermal imaging 
equipment while taking wild animals or while possessing a firearm, bow, or 
other implement that could be used to take wild animals. 

 This regulation does not apply to 1) a firearm that is unloaded, cased, and 
in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or 2) a bow that is cased or unstrung, 
and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle. If the motor vehicle does not have 
a trunk, the firearm or bow must be placed in the rearmost location of the 
vehicle.

ENFORCEMENT
• DNR conservation officers and other peace officers may arrest, with out a 

warrant, any person detected in the actual violation of wildlife, fish, or water 
laws and may enter any lands to carry out these duties. 

•  No person may hinder, resist, or obstruct an en force ment officer or autho-
rized DNR agent in the per for mance of official duties.

•  A person must allow inspection in the field of firearms, licenses, wild 
animals, motor vehicles, boats, or other con vey ances used while taking or 
transporting wild animals.

• Wild animals that are unlawfully taken, bought, sold or possessed may be 
seized and confiscated. The person may be liable for wildlife restitution in 
addition to criminal fines. Personal property such as firearms, traps and 
archery equipment that were unlawfully used may be seized and confiscated.

NEW
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Season Date

Firearm Option Statewide (A) 

100 Series Nov. 8–23

200 Series Nov. 8–16

300 Series Nov. 8–16

Firearm Option Late Southeast (B) Nov. 22–30

Muzzleloader Nov. 29–Dec. 14

Metro Deer Management Area (601) Nov. 8–30
(Any 2014 firearms or muzzleloader.)

Youth Season and Early Antlerless 
(See pages 34, 64, and 71.) Oct. 16–19

Deer Season Dates for Blaze 
Orange Requirements 

Note: Consult the deer regulations section for restrictions within the dates in the box or see the large 
fold-out Deer Zone/Area Map (available anywhere hunting licenses are sold) for additional details. 

BLAZE ORANGE REQUIREMENTS
Small Game Seasons: At least one visible article of clothing above the 

waist must be blaze orange when taking small game, except when hunting 
wild turkeys, migratory birds, raccoons, predators, when hunting by falconry, 
trapping or while hunting deer by archery while stationary.

Deer Season: The visible portion of at least one item of a cap and outer 
clothing above the waist, excluding sleeves and gloves, must be blaze orange 
when hunting or trapping during any open season where deer may be taken 
by firearms (including special hunts, early antlerless, youth seasons and 
muzzleloader). Red is not a legal color, except for those who qualify under the 
Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993. Blaze orange includes a camou-
flage pattern of at least 50 percent blaze orange within each square foot. This 
restriction does not apply to migratory bird hunters on waters or in stationary 
shooting locations or to trappers on waters. See the map below for times and 
zones. 
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YOUTH HUNTING INFORMATION
YOUTH SMALL GAME HUNTS

Take-a-Kid Hunting Weekend (September 20-21)—During Take-a-Kid 
Hunting Weekend adult residents accompanied by a youth under age 16 may 
hunt small game without a license, but must comply with open seasons, limits 
and other regulations.

Youth Waterfowl Day—Waterfowl information will be announced 
through news releases and in the Waterfowl Hunting Synopsis, available in 
mid August.

Mentored Youth Upland Bird Hunt (October 18)—Partnering with 
Pheasants Forever, and Ruffed Grouse Society, the DNR is offering mentored 
upland bird hunts designed to introduce youth to upland bird hunting. All 
hunting regulations apply. Applications will be available through September 2 
online at: mndnr.gov/discover

Other Special Youth Hunts 2015—Youth turkey hunts are tentatively 
scheduled for April 2015. Applications will be accepted from January through 
mid-February. Visit mndnr.gov/discover for information.

SPECIAL YOUTH DEER HUNTS 
See page 36 for a list of hunts.

YOUTH DEER HUNT REGULATIONS
All participating youth must attend a mandatory orientation prior to 

the hunt (details will be included in notices to successful applicants). An 
adult mentor, who may not hunt, must accompany participants during the 
orientation and the hunt. Each person must apply at an ELS agent or the 
DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette Road in St. Paul. Group applications 
and party hunting are not allowed. A drawing will be held if applications 
exceed available permits for each hunt. Unsuccessful applicants will receive 
preference for future youth hunt lotteries of the same type. Applicants 
may only apply for one youth archery hunt and one youth firearms hunt. 
Participation in a youth hunt does not affect one’s eligibility to participate in 
the regular deer seasons, but harvested deer count against a youth’s annual bag 
limit. The application deadline is August 15.

YOUTH FIREARMS DEER HUNTS
Applicants for youth firearms special deer hunts must be 12–15 years old 

at the time of the hunt. Participants must have a firearms safety certificate 
and must obtain a license for taking deer by firearms, valid for any zone or 
season option, by the beginning date of the respective hunt. Blaze orange 
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requirements are in effect in areas open during firearms youth deer hunts. The 
rifle-shotgun boundary is in effect (see back of large deer zone map, available 
separately).

YOUTH ARCHERY HUNTS
Applicants for special youth archery hunts must be at least 12–17 years 

old at the time of the hunt. Persons participating in youth archery deer hunts 
must obtain a valid license for taking deer by archery at least 2 days prior to 
the start of the hunt.

Sand Prairie WMA (Sherburne County)—Open during the regular 
archery season for youths 10 through 17 except from Nov. 8-16 for a special 
hunt for disabled individuals. Regular archery deer rules apply.

SPECIAL YOUTH DEER SEASON
Youth age 10–15 may take either-sex deer by firearms Oct. 16–19 in the 

following areas: 101, 105, 111, 114, 201, 203, 208, 209, 256, 257, 260, 263, 
264, 267, 268, 338, 339, 341, 342, 343, 344, 345, 346, 347, 348, 349 and 601. 
Participant numbers are not limited and there is no special permit. 

The following regulations apply to this hunt:
• An adult parent/guardian/mentor aged 18 or older must accompany the 

youth hunter at all times during the hunt. The adult does not need to be 
licensed.

• The blaze orange requirements apply to all hunters and trappers and all adult 
mentors of youth hunters in areas open to youth firearm deer hunting during 
this season.

• The accompanying adult cannot hunt and party hunting is not allowed 
(youth must tag their own deer), except in early antlerless zones with the 
correct license.

• Participating youth 12 years of age and older must have a firearm safety 
certificate or apprentice hunter validation. Participating youth must possess 
a valid firearm deer license. Youth age 10, 11, and 12 must possess a free 
license.

• The bag limit is one deer. In lottery areas and hunter choice, youth hunters 
must use their regular license. In managed or intensive areas, they may use 
their regular license or 1 bonus permit if they take an antlerless deer.

• If the youth harvests a buck, the deer must be tagged with their regular 
license.

• Participation in the youth season does not affect eligibility to participate 
in the regular deer season; however, the harvested deer counts against the 
annual bag limit for that area.

YOUTH HUNTING LICENSES
Free or reduced price individual youth licenses are available for residents 

and nonresidents under age 18 for firearms deer, archery deer, muzzleloader 

NEW
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FYI…
Youth and Small Game Hunting

Did you know that resident youth under age 13 are allowed to hunt 
small game without a firearms safety certificate? The only requirements 
are that they be accompanied by a parent or guardian. You as a respon-
sible parent are the best judge of when your child is mature enough to 
safely handle firearms and go hunting. 

FEDERAL AID IN WILDLIFE RESTORATION
Minnesota’s rich outdoor heritage is enjoyed by all.  

When you purchase a rifle, ammunition, archery equipment, and other 
sporting gear, you pay a federal excise tax and import duties. Since 1937, 
this money has been collected by the federal government and redistrib-
uted to the states using a formula based on hunting license sales and 
the state’s land area. These funds support projects, habitat management, 
Wildlife Management Areas, technical guidance, population manage-
ment, wildlife inventory and surveys, wildlife land acquisition, and hunter 
education, recruitment and retention. 

deer, and small game (see page 10–16). The individual youth firearms license 
is valid during the Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B) season but not the 
Muzzleloader Season.

YOUTH ANTLERLESS PRIVILEGE IN LOTTERY DEER AREAS
Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 may take a deer of either 

sex in lottery deer areas without having to apply for or obtain an either-sex 
permit. Youth age 10 to 17 should not apply for an either sex permit. Only 
the youth licensee may take and tag an antlerless deer in a lottery deer area 
without an either-sex permit. Other members of the hunting party cannot 
take antlerless deer for the youth. Youth may not tag antlerless deer taken by 
another individual. Youth hunters must take and tag their own antlerless 
deer. Important: There is no youth antlerless privilege in Bucks-only deer 
areas.

FIREARMS SAFETY TRAINING
Demand for Firearms Safety Training Classes is high, and many classes 

fill very rapidly or have waiting lists. Finding a class well in advance of the 
hunting season is highly recommended. Youth may attend a class at age 11. 
Information on classes can be found online at mndnr.gov

NEW
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Important: Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP)
All hunters of migratory game birds (mourning doves, ducks, geese, 

mergansers, woodcock, snipe, rails, coots, or gallinules) must identify 
themselves as migratory bird hunters when they purchase a small game or 
sports license. If you are exempt from needing a small game license, you 
are not required to complete HIP certification. 

Evidence of compliance, which will be noted on your small game 
license as “HIP Certified,” must be carried while hunting migratory game 
birds.

Anyone who has hunted or intends to hunt migratory game birds 
must answer “yes” to the question on the license. If the license agent does 
not ask you this question at the time of license purchase, please remind 
them to do so. If you did not answer “yes” at the time you purchased your 
license, you may do so later at no cost and get a receipt showing you are 
HIP certified at any ELS agent.

SMALL GAME 
Important Dates: 

See hunting and trapping season chart, pages 43-44.
A license year runs from March 1 through the end of February. 

Domestic animals
If you find a dog in a trap, or if your dog was caught in a trap – please con-

tact your local Conservation Officer and report the incident.  Please see page 
123 for information on how to locate your local Conservation Officer. 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
Small Game Hunting

•  All residents and nonresidents, 16 and older, must have a valid Small Game 
License in their possession to take small game, except residents may hunt 
small game without a license on their own land if they occupy it as their 
prin ci pal residence. There are also exemptions for military personnel, see 
page 20.

• All residents age 18 or over and under age 65, and all nonresident hunters, 
must have a Minnesota Pheasant Stamp validation in their possession to 
take pheasants. For exceptions, see page 21.

NEW
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Although an uncommon occurrence domestic animals have at times been accidentally caught in 
body gripping traps set for raccoons and other similar sized fur animals. Sadly in most cases, the 
reason that animals were ultimately lost was due primarily to a lack of familiarity with these devices 
by the person attempting to free the animal. This handout is an attempt to educate the outdoor 
enthusiast in the proper method of releasing an accidentally caught animal.

Do not attempt to pry the jaws apart as the springs will prevent the trap from being 
forcefully opened in this manner in most cases,

If a domestic animal is accidentally captured in a body gripping trap- don’t panic. The animal can be 
safely released in a very short period of time if you follow these simple steps and remain rational.

Step One: Remain Calm and speak soothingly to the animal. This will help reassure the 
animal and make your job easier.

Step Two: Taking a spring in each hand squeeze the springs enough that you can twist the 
trap so the trap jaws are not placing pressure on the animal’s windpipe.

This virtually eliminates the chances of the animal being 
lost and provides a considerable amount of time to 
release the animal. The animal can now breathe freely 
which helps to calm both the animal and the aide.

Step Three: Squeeze together one of the springs using both hands if 
necessary until you’re able to fasten the safety hook over the spring.

Step Four: Repeat the same process for the other spring. 
Release animal.

Zip Tie Method
MTA has developed light weight Body Gripper Release Kits 
complete with photo instructions that can easily be stored in the 
pocket of your hunting vest. These Kits utilize heavy-duty nylon 
zip ties (cable ties) to quickly compress the springs with minimal 
effort in the case of an accident. If you or your sporting club or 
organization would like to secure 
one of these kits or to learn 
more about trapping and release 
techniques specifically, please do 
not hesitate to contact us.  

Minnesota Trappers Association
www.mntrappers.org

Paid Advertisement

HOW TO RELEASE A DOMESTIC ANIMAL FROM A BODY  
GRIPPING (RACCOON) TRAP
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•  A nonresident must have a nonresident Fur bear er Hunting License and a 
non res i dent Small Game License to take raccoon and bobcat. A nonresident 
Furbearer Hunting License is not required to take fox and coyote. However, 
a Small Game License is still required to take fox and other small game.

SMALL GAME HUNTING
GENERAL RE STRIC TIONS
Blaze Orange

Party Hunting for Small Game
A “party” is defined as a group of two or more persons main tain ing unaided 

visual and vocal contact with each other while taking non- migratory small 
game. “Party hunting” means that members of a party may take animals for 
other members’ limits. A party may lawfully take small game in accordance 
with the following reg u la tions:

•  A member of the party may take more than an individual limit, but the total 
number of small game taken and possessed by the party may not exceed the 
combined limits of members of the party. 

•  Each party member may transport only an individual limit of small game.
•  Party hunting is not allowed for migratory game birds (doves, ducks, geese, 

mergansers, coots, woodcock, rail, sandhill cranes, snipe, and gallinules).

Blaze orange is required 
for most small game 
hunting. See page 32 
for specifics. 

Closed Sharp-tailed 
Grouse Area

The shaded area on the 
map at right is closed to 
sharp-tailed grouse hunt ing, 
except for licensed prairie 
chicken hunters within their 
selected zone. Few sharptails 
live in the area, and the 
clo sure pro tects rem nant 
pop u la tions of sharptails and 
prairie chickens (a similar-
looking species). 
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Use of Lead Shot
•  No person may take ducks, geese, mer gan sers, coots, sandhill cranes or 

gallinules with lead shot or while having lead shot in possession.
•  Lead shot may be used statewide for hunting other small game in ac cor-

dance with firearms re stric tions in this booklet, except in federal Wildlife 
Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas.

Prairie Chickens
Prairie chicken licenses are allocated to Minnesota residents only by 

drawing for the hunting season (September 27–October 5). Hunters must 
have a prairie chicken hunting license; no small game license is required. 
Applications ($4) are due Friday, August 15 and may be made online or 
anywhere hunting and fishing licenses are sold. 

Persons who do not have a prairie chicken license may not aid or assist 
prairie chicken hunters in any way. For example it is illegal for someone with-
out a prairie chicken license to work dogs for someone with a prairie chicken 
license even if that person is licensed to take other small game. However, 
party hunting for prairie chickens is legal. That means that licensed prairie 
chicken hunters can shoot birds for other licensed prairie chicken hunters 
as long as they are together and they have not exceeded the total number of 
birds allowed for the party. 
Woodcock, Rails, Snipe, and Doves

•  Duck Stamps (state or federal Mi gra to ry Waterfowl Stamps) are not 
required to hunt wood cock, rails, snipe, sandhill cranes, or mourning doves.

• Compliance with the migratory bird harvest information program is 
required by indicating “yes” in response to the migratory bird hunting ques-
tion on the license (see page 38).

•  Shotguns used to hunt these birds must not be capable of holding more than 
three shells, unless plugged with a one-piece filler that cannot be re moved 
without dis as sem bling the gun, so its total capacity does not exceed three 
shells.

Partridge and Pheasant
A person may not shoot pheasants or Hungarian partridge with a rifle 

or handgun other than a .22 caliber rimfire using short, long, or long rifle 
am mu ni tion.
Furbearers

•  A person may not disturb the bur row or den of any wild an imal be tween 
No vem ber 1 and April 1, without a permit.

•  A person may not take pine marten, fisher, mink, muskrat, beaver, or otter by 
firearms or archery hunting. However, a firearm may be used to dispatch an 
animal already taken in a trap.
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COYOTE HUNTERS—KNOW YOUR TARGET!
Wolf and Coyote Identification

Wolves have been mistakenly 
shot outside Minnesota’s primary 
wolf range because hunters thought 
they were coyotes. Wolves were once 
restricted to the northern part of 
Minnesota, but they have expanded 
their range and could show up in any 
part of the state. Do not assume that 
because you are outside Minnesota’s 
primary wolf range that the animal 
in your sights is a coyote. Wolves and 
coyotes are closely related, but are 
well distinguished by their difference 
in size and physical characteristics. 
Shooting a wolf because you think it 
is a coyote is illegal and punishable by 
Minnesota Game and Fish laws. 
Always Know Your Target!
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GRAY WOLF (Canis lupus) AKA—Timber wolf
Height: 30 inches average. Length: 5½ feet. Weight: 50–110 lbs. 
Color—shades of gray or tan, sometimes black, rarely white.

COYOTE (Canis latrans) AKA—Brush wolf.
Height: 18 inches maximum. Length: 3 feet. Average weight: 25–35 lbs. 
Color—all shades of gray, tan, buff, rarely black or white.  
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Fully-feathered head 
and fully-feathered wing 
attached. (Geese need only 
a fully feathered wing.)

Fully-feath ered 
wing attached.

Raccoons
Night Hunting

A person may take raccoons between ½ hr. after sunset and ½ hour before 
sunrise only in ac cor dance with the following regulations:

•  Hunters must be on foot.
•  Artificial lights may be used to locate, attempt to locate, or shoot a rac coon 

only if the raccoon has been treed or put at bay by dogs.
•  Rifles and handguns used must be .17 or .22 caliber rimfire (including .22 

magnum).
•  Shotgun shells may not contain shot larger than No. 4 bird shot.

Other Restrictions
•  A person may pursue and tree raccoons with dogs, during the closed season 

and without a license.
•  A person may not take a raccoon in a den or hollow tree, or by cutting down 

a tree occupied by a raccoon.
Fox and Coyote Night Hunting

A person hunting for coyote or fox from January 1 to March 15 may use an 
artificial handheld light if they meet ALL of the following conditions—you are:

•  on foot and not within a public right-of-way,
•  using a shotgun,
•  using a calling device, and
•  more than 200 feet from a vehicle.

TRANSPORTATION OF GAME BIRDS
Game birds possessed in the field must be transported as follows: 
•  Except for ducks, all game birds must have a fully-feathered wing attached.
•  Ducks must have a fully-feathered wing and the fully-feathered head attached.
• Turkey, pheasant, and 
 Hungarian Partridge 
 may have one leg 
 attached or a 
 fully-feathered 
 wing attached.
• Doves may be 
 transported fully 
 dressed. 

All Other Game Birds
(Doves may be transported 
fully dressed.)

Ducks

Sharp-tailed grouse/greater prairie chicken study
If you would like contribute to research on Sharp-tailed Grouse and 

Greater Prairie-chickens in Minnesota, you can donate wings from the 
birds you harvest to the study.  Please email eric.nelson@ state.mn.us or call 
218 833-8630 for more information before hunting season opens.
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Scan this 
code with 
your smart 
phone for 
more on 
WIA.

WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM 2014-2015 
Walk-in Access (WIA) provides public hunting on private land and com-

pensates landowners for providing that access through an agreement with DNR 
Wildlife. Through WIA, 21,100 acres of private land at 181 sites in western and 
west/south-central Minnesota will be open for public hunting from Sept. 1 to 
May 31 where boundary signs are present. Most WIA land is also enrolled in 
a conservation program (e.g., CRP, RIM Reserve, CREP) or has natural cover. 
Small inclusions of cropland or hay land may be present. 

Hunters must have a Walk-in Access Validation (ELS Privilege Code 190; 
$3.00) to legally access WIA land. WIA Access Validations are available at ELS 
license vendors. The purpose of this validation is to provide legal authorization for 
the holder to access WIA lands, while also allowing DNR to create a database of 
hunters who use the WIA areas to help us further develop a long-term program. 
Currently, modest revenue to support the program comes from a surcharge on 
nonresident hunting licenses and any hunter can donate $1, $3 or $5. 

Visit the WIA website at www.mndnr.gov/walkin for a printable atlas of the 
sites by county, aerial photos of each site and interactive maps such as Google 
Earth, Google Maps and DNR Recreational Compass. GPS and GIS downloads 
are also available. Printed copies of the 2014 WIA Atlas are available at area DNR 
Wildlife offices, SWCD offices and local commerce and tourism information 
outlets in the 35-county WIA area. 

WIA sites provide for public hunting only. Individuals with a WIA Access 
Validation can hunt during legal hunting hours, during any open hunting season 
(including spring turkey), with no landowner contacts necessary. No target prac-
tice, trapping, dog training, camping, horseback riding or fires are allowed by the 
public. The landowner retains the right to engage in, or give permission to engage 
in, hiking/dog walking on leash, trapping, camping, horseback riding, or campfires, 
and other limited activities that do not impede public hunting.  No vehicles or 
OHVs are allowed. Parking is along roads or in designated parking areas – check 
twice to make sure vehicles don’t block field entrances. DNR conservation officers 
will address trespass and hunting violations. Scan this code with your smart phone 

for more on WIA. The ongoing success of this 
program depends on landowners’ interest in open-
ing up their property to public hunting. Please be 
respectful and follow the Code of Conduct while 
using WIA land (the Code can be found on the 
WIA website. www. mndnr.gov/walkin
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TRAPPING 
Become a better trapper. Review Best Management Practices for trapping 

in the United States online at: fishwildlife.org

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
•  All residents and non-residents, 16 and over must have a Small Game 

License in possession to take small game (including  fur bear ers) with traps, 
except that persons may trap without a Small Game License on their own 
land if they occupy it as their principal res i dence. That person may still need 
a Trapping License.

• Residents age 13 through 17 must have a Jr. Trapping License and resi dents 
age 18 through 64 must have a regular trapping license to trap. Residents age 
65 and over must have a regular or reduced-fee trapping license. Res i dents 
under age 13 do not need a trapping license.

•  Any fisher, otter, bobcat, or pine marten taken by a resident under age 5 must 
be included in the limit of the accompanying parent or guardian.

•  Nonresidents may trap only on land they own in Minnesota with nonresi-
dent trapping and small game licenses.

Persons born after December 31, 1989, who have not been issued a 
trapping license in a previous license year may not obtain a trapping license 
without a trapper education certificate. The Minnesota Trappers Association 
will conduct trapper education courses statewide, free of charge to the partici-
pants, and issue certificates that satisfy this trapping license requirement. 

Contact the MTA at www.mntrappers.org for class information. These 
courses include a mandatory field training portion that must be completed 
before certification. Please plan to take certification courses well in advance of 
the fur trapping season.

Important:
Other outdoor enthusiasts are afield with dogs during trapping seasons. 

Although accidental captures of dogs by trappers are rare, the occasional 
accidents that occur lead to calls for increased regulation of trapping activi-
ties. Trappers must be aware of their responsibility to set and tend traps 
in strict adherence to all trapping and trespass regulations, and take great 
care to avoid areas and sets that may accidentally capture dogs. If you find 
a dog in a trap, or if your dog was caught in a trap – please contact your 
local Conservation Officer and report the incident.  Please see page 123 for 
information on how to locate your local Conservation Officer.  
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TRAP AND SNARE IDENTIFICATION
A person may not set or place a trap or snare, other than on prop  erty owned 

or occupied by the person, unless the following information is affixed to the 
trap or snare in a way that ensures the information remains legible while 
the trap or snare is on the land or in the water: 1) The number and state of 
the person’s driver’s license; or 2) The person’s Minnesota identification card 
number; or 3)The person’s name and mailing address; or 4) The person’s 
MNDNR number as printed on their license.

Note: From April 1 to August 31, the trap identification provisions listed 
above do not apply to traps set for the taking of  unprotected wild animals.

TRAPS 
Modified trapping regulations are in place in the lynx management zone. 

See pages 53 and 54.
A person may not set, place, or operate:
•  any foot or leghold trap with a jaw opening greater than 8¾ inches;
•  any body-gripping trap with a jaw opening greater than 7½ inches, except as 

a waterset*; or
• any body-gripping trap with a jaw opening greater than 6½ inches and less 

than 7½ inches  
on public lands and waters unless  
the trap meets one of the following:
> recessed 7 inches or more from  

the top and front of an enclosure  
(see diagram at right)

> no bait, lure or other attractants are within 20 feet of the trap or
> the trap is elevated at least 3 feet from the ground or surface of the snow 

pack. 
•  any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening greater than 

6½ inches in or within 3 feet of the opening of a 6-foot wide or smaller 
culvert, except as a com plete ly submerged waterset**; or

•  any body-gripping trap with a jaw larger than 6½ inches in the road right-
of-way within 500 feet of a building occupied by human or livestock without 
written permission of the landowner, except as a completely submerged 
waterset.**
Note: The diagram above is for illustration only. Cubbies constructed so 

the trap is recessed at least 7 inches from all sides of the opening may also 
be used. Cubbies made from natural materials that comply with regulations 
may also be used. 

*  A waterset is defined as any body-gripping trap or snare set so that the trap jaws or 
the snare loop are at least half-submerged in water.

**  A completely submerged waterset is any set in which the body-gripping portion of 
the jaws is completely submerged in water.
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TRAP SETTING AND TENDING
•  A person may set or tend traps only 

from 5am to 10pm, except opening 
day for some species. See page 44.

•  A person on foot may use an artificial 
light to set or tend traps during the 
legal hours. However, that person may 
not possess or use a bow and arrow 
or a firearm other than a handgun or 
rifle of .17 or .22 caliber with short, 
long, or long rifle rim fire am mu ni tion 
(including .22 magnum) while using 
the light in the field.

•  A person may not set a trap within 50 
feet of any water other than tem po rary surface water within 30 days before 
the open season for mink and muskrat in that area, except by permit.

•  Any trap capable of capturing a protected animal and not capable of drown-
ing the animal must be tended at least once each calendar day, except for 
body-gripping traps. Any trap capable of drown ing the cap tured animal and 
any body-gripping trap must be tended at least once each third  calendar day, 
except for traps set under the ice. A trap may not be left untended for more 
than 3 consecutive days (for example, a trap set or tended on Saturday would 
have to be tended again by 10pm Tuesday). When a trap is tended, any 
animal cap tured must be removed.

 • Foothold traps with a jaw spread of 4¾ inches or less or a rat trap type snap 
trap that are entirely contained in a container with an opening of no more 
than 2 inches in height and/or width that are designed to kill an animal need 
not be tended more frequently than once every third calendar day (these are 
often referred to as weasel boxes).
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TRAP TAMPERING
• No per son may remove or tamper with a trap or snare le gal ly set to take fur-

bear ing or un pro tect ed wild an i mals without authorization by the trapper, a 
DNR agent, or the owner or lessee of the land where the trap is located. 

•  A trapper may au tho rize, in writing, an agent who possesses all nec es sary 
licenses to tend traps set by the trapper, in clud ing  re set ting the trap at the 
same set. The agent may remove animals from a trap.

GENERAL TRAPPING RESTRICTIONS
Modified trapping regulations are in place in the lynx management zone. 

See pages 53-54.
• No trap, either set or unset, may be placed or staked, and no flag, stake, or 

other device may be placed to mark or pre-empt a trap ping site before the 
opening of any trap ping season. 

•  During the muskrat trapping season, no flag, stake or other device may be 
placed in or on a muskrat house for the purpose of marking or pre-empting 
a trap site unless an operational trap is set at the site at the time it is first 
staked or marked.

•  No person may leave any trap for a protected wild animal in place, either set 
or unset, after the close of the applicable trapping season.

•  No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any muskrat house or den, except 
that traps may be set at natural entrances to muskrat burrows and open-
ings may be made in muskrat houses for trapping if all material removed is 
wetted and used to plug the opening.

•  Animals must be killed before being removed from a site.
•  No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any beaver house, dam, burrow, or 

den.
•  No person may set a trap inside any beaver house or upon the  outside of any 

beaver house above the waterline.
•  Mink may not be taken by digging or with the aid of dogs.
•  Unattended electronic devices may not be used for taking wild an i mals.
•  No person may set or maintain any foothold trap within 20 feet of bait 

located in such a way that it may be seen by soaring birds. “Bait” is any 
animal or animal parts, including live or dead fish, except that small pieces of 
fur and feathers may be used for flag ging.

•  No person may take a bird with a foothold trap, except by special permit.
• No person may trap beaver or otter on a state Wildlife Man age ment Area 

without a permit from the wildlife manager.

SNARING REGULATIONS
Snares may be used by licensed trappers for taking all species of  protect ed 

wild mammals that may be taken by the use of traps. The use of snares is 
subject to the   following regulations and all trapping reg u la tions not in con sis-
tent with these snaring re stric tions. 
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General Restrictions for Snares
•  Bears can not be tak en with snares.
•  In the farmland Furbearer Zone no person may set, place, or operate any 

snare except as a waterset, other than from October 25–March 31 (north 
mink/muskrat/beaver/otter zone) and November 1–March 31 (south mink/
muskrat/beaver/otter zone), when snares are allowed on land except on 
public lands, road rights-of-way, or in fence lines along road rights-of-way. A 
waterset is any snare set so that the snare loop is at least half submerged.

Use of Snares
•  The diameter of the snare loop may not exceed 10 inches.
•  Snare cable or wire may not have a diameter exceeding ⅛ inch.
•  No person may set, place, or operate a snare in a culvert, except as a com-

plete ly sub merged waterset.
•  Snares may not be set in deer trails.
• Snares may not be used with spring poles or other devices that wholly or 

partly lift from the ground an an i mal caught in the snare.
•  Snares that operate with springs but do not lift the animal wholly or partially 

off the ground are allowable.
•  No snare may be set in such a way that the top of the loop is more than 20 

inches above the first surface beneath the bottom of the set snare loop.
•  All snares not capable of drowning the captured animal must be tended at 

least once each calendar day.
•  No snare set for a protected animal may be left in place after the applicable 

trapping season has closed. 

SITE VALIDATION COUPONS FOR FISHER, PINE MARTEN AND 
RIVER OTTER

• Site validation coupons for fisher, pine marten and river otter are available 
for free upon request at license vendors. Trappers will receive one site valida-
tion coupon for each animal they could potentially harvest. For example, 
a trapper who intended to target fisher, pine marten, and river otter would 
receive a total of six coupons (two fisher/marten and four river otter).

• Each person age 5 or older who takes a river otter, fisher, or pine marten 
must validate their site validation coupon at the site of the kill by cutting 
out the appropriate notches with a sharp knife or similar sharp object. The 
notches indicate the month, date, time (am/pm) and species (fisher/marten). 

• Site validation coupons do not need to be attached to the animal, but 
trappers must have their coupons in possession while taking or transporting 
fisher, pine marten or river otter. 

• Fisher, river otter, bobcat or pine marten taken by a resident under age 5 
must be included in the limit of the accompanying parent or guardian. 
Fisher, pine marten and river otter must be validated on one of the parent or 
guardian’s site validation coupons. 
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• Fisher, pine marten and river otter must not be removed from the kill site 
without the trapper’s validated site coupon in possession. Authorized agents* 
may remove trapped fisher, pine marten, and otter from the trap and the 
agent must validate their own site validation coupon at and prior to remov-
ing the animal from the site of the kill. 

• Site validation coupons are not transferrable. Trappers may acquire site 
validation coupons at any time before or during the trapping season. 
Replacements for site validation coupons that are lost or destroyed are 
available upon request from any license vendor. Replacement site validation 
coupons are clearly marked as replacements. 

• Trappers must present completed site validation coupons for each fisher, pine 
marten and river otter when they present the pelts for furbearer registration. 

 * An authorized agent is an individual that a trapper has authorized in writing and who 
possesses all necessary licenses to tend traps set by the trapper, including resetting the 
trap at the same set. 

FURBEARER REGISTRATION
•  The pelt of each bobcat, fisher, pine marten, and otter, must be removed from 

the carcass and presented for registration by the person taking it. The entire 
carcass of each bobcat and the head of each pine marten and fisher must also 
be presented.

• Pelts, carcasses, and heads must be presented for registration at a DNR 
registration station (complete list on page 56) or area wildlife office (by 
appointment) before the pelt is sold or removed from the state and no more 
than 24 hours after the close of the season for fisher and marten and 48 
hours after the season closes for otter and bobcat.

• To speed up registration, please bring the following written information for 
each animal to be registered: species, sex, method of take, date taken and 
county, township and range where taken. Include your MDNR number, as 
shown on your license. Forms are available at wildlife offices and online.

•  Plastic registration tags must remain affixed to the raw pelt until the pelt 
is tanned or mounted. Site validation coupons need not be attached to the 
animal.

•  Tanning a pelt does not eliminate the need for registration of otter, martin, 
fisher or bobcat.

RELEASING PROTECTED SPECIES
Every effort should be made to avoid catch ing fully protected species. If 

pos si ble, a trapper should release accidentally captured protected species back 
into the wild. If a fully protected species is caught out of season or a daily 
or possession limit has been reached and the animal is dead in the trap or 
oth er wise cannot be released, you must notify a DNR con ser va tion officer. 
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Without authorization from a conservation officer, a person may not possess 
or transport a lynx that was accidentally killed or lawfully killed.

FURBEARER PELTING AND TRANSPORTATION
• A person who performs a service by recovering and preserving the pelt of a 

protected furbearer (except muskrat) that was accidentally killed or law-
fully killed while doing damage, may be entitled to a pelting fee of up to 50 
percent of the proceeds from the sale of the pelt not to exceed $25 per pelt. 
Contact a local DNR conservation officer or regional DNR Enforcement 
office within 24 hours for au tho ri za tion to pelt the animal. 

• Pelts or unpelted furbearers that were lawfully taken may be sold only to a 
licensed fur buyer. 

LYNX MANAGEMENT ZONE REGULATIONS
Trapping regulations in northeast Minnesota have been modified to 

restrict, modify or eliminate the incidental take of Canada Lynx. The follow-
ing regulations apply only to that part of Minnesota lying east and north of 
U.S. Highway 53, as shown on the map:

1. All snare cable or wire must be at least 5⁄64 inch in diameter when set on 
land.

2. Snare loops must be at least 8 inches in diameter and may not exceed 10 
inches in diameter when set on land.

3. All foothold traps, except those set as water sets, must be staked or otherwise 
secured by tethering chains or cables not more than 18 inches long with at 
least two swivel points.

4. All traps and snares must be secured in a manner that prevents captured 
animals from removing the trap from the trap site (no drags allowed). 

5. Fresh meat, hare or rabbit or parts of hare or rabbit may not be used as bait. 
Other meat may be used as bait if it has been unfrozen and exposed to air 
for at least 24 hours. 

6. No suspended flagging or other sight attractant may be used  within 20 feet 
of the trap or snare. 

7. Any incidentally caught lynx should be immediately released, if possible. 
Any trapper who acciden-
tally takes a lynx is required 
to notify their local con-
servation officer as soon as 
possible or within 24 hours. 
Persons who know about 
the take of a lynx can report 
it by calling 800-652-9093.

8. Body-gripping traps that 
have a maximum jaw open-
ing, when set, of greater than 
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Opening not to 
exceed 50 square 
inches

5 inches and less than 7½ inches measured from the inside edges of the jaws 
(generally 160 and 220 conibears), except those set as water sets, must be set 
in one of two ways:
a. In a tree of any diameter or on a pole no larger than 6 inches in diameter 

at least 3 feet off the ground or surface of the snow. 
b. If used on the ground, they must be set in a cubby with the trap inserted 

a minimum of 7 inches from the front, with the cubby opening no more 
than 50 square inches in area as illustrated. 

For general questions about trapping in the lynx management zone, call the 
DNR Information Center at 888-646-6367 (MINNDNR).

This diagram is for illustration purposes only. Cubby boxes may be 
constructed of any material and openings may be restricted with wire mesh, 
wood strips or other material.
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Furbearer Registration Stations
Furbearers may be registered between noon and 7pm on December 5 (all 

species), and between 3pm and 6pm on January 6 (bobcat and otter only) at 
the  locations listed on the next page or with any DNR area wildlife office 
throughout the season by  appointment only. A complete list of wildlife 
office locations is available online at mndnr.gov

REPORTING INCIDENTALLY TAKEN FURBEARERS:
The following regulations apply for reporting incidentally trapped 

furbearers:
• A person may not possess or transport a lynx that was accidentally killed or 

was lawfully killed until the person notifies the local conservation officer, 
other authorized department employee, or regional enforcement office of the 
killing and receives authorization to possess, transport, or skin the animal.

• A person may possess and transport mink, muskrat, beaver, badger, opossum, 
fox or raccoon accidentally killed or lawfully killed while causing damage or 
threatening injury or damage only if the local conservation officer or other 
authorized employee of the department is notified within 24 hours of such 
killing and before any skinning has begun. 

•  A person may possess and transport fisher, otter or pine marten that were 
accidentally killed, or bobcat or wolf that were accidentally killed or lawfully 
killed while causing or threatening injury or damage, only after the species is 
reported to a local conservation officer or by calling 888-646-6367 (option 
9) and providing the required information. After making the required notifi-
cation and taking possession of the animal, the person may not skin, transfer 
possession or otherwise dispose of the animal without authorization from a 
conservation officer. 

Trappers should be prepared with the following information when calling 
888-646-6367 (option 9):

• The trapper’s name and DNR number as it appears on the trapping license.
• Date and time that the catch was discovered.
• The number and species taken (example: one otter).
• General location of the catch (example: 5 miles south of Ely off County 

Road 21).
• Complete address of the location where the carcass is being kept. 
• A telephone number where you can easily be reached.
See page 123 for information on how to locate your local conservation 

officer.
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Furbearer Registration Stations
Aitkin DNR Wildlife Office 218-927-6915

Backus DNR Forestry Office 218-947-3232 

Baudette DNR Wildlife Office 218-634-1705x222 

Bemidji DNR Area Fish & Wildlife Office 218-308-2339

Big Falls DNR Forestry Office 218-286-5434

Brainerd DNR Area Wildlife Office (1601 Minnesota Dr) 218-828-2550 

Cambridge DNR Wildlife Office 763-689-7100x224 

Cloquet DNR Wildlife Office 218-878-5662

Duluth DNR Forestry Office (4805 Rice Lake Rd) 218-723-4791 

Effie DNR Forestry Office 218-999-7939

Eveleth DNR Forestry Office 218-753-2580x221

Finland DNR Forestry Office (Dec. 6 only) 218-353-7397 

Forest Lake DNR Carlos Avery Game Farm Office 651-296-5200 

Grand Marais DNR Wildlife Office (Dec. 6 only) 218-387-3034 

Grand Rapids DNR Regional Headquarters 218-327-4455 

Hibbing DNR Forestry Office 218-753-2580x240

International Falls DNR Wildlife Office 218-286-5434 

Shakopee 7050 East Hwy 101 952-496-4141 x257 

Middle River DNR Thief Lake Wildlife Office 218-222-3747 

New London DNR Wildlife Office (398 Sibley Park Rd NE) 320-354-2154 

Nicollet DNR Wildlife Office 507-225-3572 

Northome DNR Forestry Office 218-999-7939

Onamia DNR Mille Lacs Wildlife Area Office 320-532-3537 

Orr DNR Forestry Office 218-757-3274 

Park Rapids DNR Wildlife Office 218-732-8452 

Roseau DNR Roseau City Center Library 218-463-2825 

Roosevelt DNR Red Lake WMA Office 218-783-6861 

Rochester DNR Area Wildlife Office 507-206-2859 

Sauk Rapids  DNR Office (940 Industrial Dr, Suite 103) 320-223-7840 

Tower DNR Wildlife Office 218-753-2580 x 221 

Two Harbors DNR Wildlife Office (Dec. 6 only) 218-834-1452/1453 

Wadena National Guard Armory (517 Jefferson St W) 218-631-1701 

Warroad DNR Forestry Office 218-386-1304

Willow River DNR Forestry Office 85894 County Hwy 61 218-423-6026

NEW
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Mourning Dove

MOURNING DOVE 
SEASON DATES, LIMITS AND HOURS

September 1 to November 9, from ½ hour before sunrise to sunset. Daily 
bag limit is 15; possession limit 45.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
All residents and nonresidents age 16 and over must have a valid small 

game license in their possession. Residents may hunt doves without a license 
on property they occupy as their principal residence. All licensed dove hunters 
must be HIP certified (see page 38).

PARTY HUNTING
Party hunting for mourning doves is prohibited. Individual hunters may not 

shoot migratory game birds for other hunters.

FIREARM RESTRICTIONS
Only shotguns not capable of holding more than three shells may be used 

to take doves.

AGRICULTURAL LANDS AND BAITING
Bait, seeds, or grain may not be placed or brought into a field. Doves may 

be hunted on, over, or from:
•  Lands or areas where seeds or grains have been scattered solely  

as the result of normal agricultural operations, which include  normal agricul-
tural harvestings, normal agricultural post-harvest manipulations, or normal 
agricultural practices.

•  Lands planted by top-sowing or aerial seeding where seeds have been 
scattered solely as the result of a normal agricultural planting, a planting 
for agricultural soil erosion control, or a planting for post-mining land 
reclamation.

•  Standing crops, and standing or manipulated natural vegetation
•  Lands planted as wildlife food plots, provided the seed is planted in a 

manner consistent with Cooperative State Research, Education, and 
Extension Service recommendations for the planting of wildlife food plots.

•  Lands planted as pasture improvements or for the purpose of grazing 
livestock.

•  A blind or other place of concealment camouflaged with natural vegetation.
•  Lands or areas where grain or feed has been distributed or scattered solely by 

manipulation of an agricultural crop or other feed on the land where grown. 
Manipulation means the alteration of natural vegetation or agricultural crops 
by activities such as mowing, shredding, discing, rolling, chopping, trampling, 
flattening, burning, or herbicide treatments. Manipulation does not include 
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FYI…
Dove Hunting 

This information is provided to help you avoid common mistakes.
•  Pre-season scouting is best in the morning and late afternoon, when 

doves are most active.
•  Doves are most abundant in agricultural areas of western and  southern 

Minnesota.
•  Hunt in areas between food, water, grit and roosting locations.
•  Doves often feed in wheat, oat and sunflower fields. Landowner 

 permission is required to hunt private agricultural fields.
•  Doves fly 30 to 40 mph and can reach 60 mph. Practice estimat ing 

extra wingshooting lead distance.
•  Downed doves blend well with vegetation. Mark and retrieve birds 

immediately. Dogs can be very useful in retrieving doves.
•  Hunters who disrupt or damage utility lines taking resting doves could 

face legal action.
•  Motorized decoys controlled by remote may be used to take doves.

the distri buting or scattering of seeds, grains, or other feed after removal 
from or storage on the field where grown.

Note: Although doves may be hunted over manipulated agricultural crops, 
waterfowl may not, except after the field has been subject to a normal harvest 
and at least 10 days has elapsed since the complete removal of all manipulated 
grain.

PRIVATE LANDS ASSISTANCE 
Want to improve habitat on your 

land? The DNR Private Lands 
Program assists private landown-
ers in developing and maintaining 
wildlife habitat. More information 
is available online at mndnr.gov/
privatelandsprogram ©
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WILD TURKEY 

Important Dates:
Fall Season
 October 4–November 2: Fall turkey licenses may be purchased online, by 

telephone and wherever hunting and fishing licenses 
 are sold.
Spring (2015)
 December, 2014: Applications available.
 January 9, 2015: Application deadline.
 April 15, 2015: First Spring Season opens. 

SPRING HUNTING
Licenses for early-season spring wild turkey hunts are awarded in a 

preference drawing. Application materials and full regulations are available 
online at www.mndnr.gov/hunting/turkey

Spring turkey permits that are valid for the final five seasons (D–H) 
may be purchased over-the-counter, without participating in the lottery or 
drawing. Firearms hunters who purchase an over-the-counter permit must 
select and hunt in one permit area. Archery hunters may hunt throughout 
the combined time periods and in any permit area. 

FALL HUNTING
Fall turkey hunters who purchase an over-the-counter license must select 

a zone and the following regulations apply:
•  One either sex turkey may be taken
•  Shotguns or muzzleloader shotguns must be 20 gauge or larger.
•  Shot must be No. 4 or smaller in diameter

Crossbows are  legal for archery turkey license holders who are age 60 or 
over or who are disabled hunters with a permit. Crossbows may be used with 
any turkey firearm license. Hunters may not purchase both a firearm and an 
archery license.

NEW
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* Hunters are reminded to select bullets that are suitable for taking big game. Most 
major manufacturers offer either bonded or all-copper bullets that are appropriate for 
taking big game. Hunters are advised to select a proper bullet design and weight that 
is suitable for humanely taking big game.

BIG GAME
LEGAL FIREARMS (INCLUDES HANDGUNS) FOR BIG GAME

• It is at least .220 caliber and has center fire ignition;
•  It is loaded only with single projectile ammunition;
•  The projectile used has a soft point or is an expanding bullet type;*
• The muzzleloader (long gun or handgun) used cannot be loaded at the 

breech (muzzleloading revolvers are not legal for taking big game);
•  The smooth-bore muzzleloader used is at least .45 caliber and
•  The rifled muzzleloader used is at least .40 caliber;
•  Muzzleloaders with scopes are legal during the regular firearms deer seasons, 

but are not allowed during the muzzleloader season except by special permit 
for hunters with a medically certified visual  impairment. Applications are 
available from the DNR Information Center, see page 122.

OTHER RESTRICTIONS
•  No person may discharge a firearm or an arrow from a bow on, over, across, 

or within the right-of-way of an improved public highway (including but 
not limited to federal, state, county, and township roadways) at a big game 
animal or a decoy of a big game animal that has been set out by a licensed 
peace officer.

•  A person may not use a dog or horse to take big game.

LEGAL BOWS AND ARROWS FOR BIG GAME
•  Bows must have a pull no less than 30 pounds at or before full draw. 
•  Arrowheads used for taking big game must be sharp, have a minimum 

of two metal cutting edges, be of barbless broadhead design, and have a 
diameter of at least ⅞ inch.

•  “Expandable” broadheads may be used to take big game if they meet the 
requirements above and: 1) are at least ⅞ inch in width and no more than 2 
inches in width at or after impact; and 2) are of a barbless design and func-
tion in a barbless manner.

•  No person may hunt with a bow drawn, held, or released by a mechanical 
device, except disabled hunters who have a crossbow permit.

•  A hand-held mechanical release attached to the bowstring may be used if 
the person’s own strength draws and holds the bowstring.
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• A person may hunt with a crossbow under the following conditions,
›  Big game and small game by special permit issued to hunters unable to 

hunt by archery because of a temporary or permanent disability. The dis-
ability must be verified in writing by a licensed physician or chiropractor. 
The permit application is available from any DNR regional office or by 
calling the DNR Information Center (See page 122), or online at www.
mndnr.gov/permits/enforcement.

› A licensed hunter age 60 or over may use a crossbow as a choice of arms 
during the regular archery season with the respective archery license. 

›  A licensed hunter may use a crossbow as a choice of arms for bear or 
deer with a regular firearms license or a crossbow disability permit and an 
archery license.

SHOOTING HOURS
Shooting hours for big game are ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after 

sunset.

POSSESSION OF BIG GAME
Any person who takes a big game animal must retain the license, site tag, 

permit, and possession (registration) tag for as long as any part of the meat is 
in possession.

NEW

FYI…
Lead in Ammunition

Because of its toxicity the use of lead shot for waterfowl hunt-
ing has been illegal in Minnesota since 1987 and nationally since 
1991. Additionally, all types of hunting with lead fine shot on Federal 
Waterfowl Production Areas has been illegal in Minnesota since 1999. 
State Wildlife Management Areas contain abundant wetlands, and lead 
shot continues to be deposited in theses wetland as a result of upland 
game bird hunting. Lead is toxic, can affect wildlife health and reproduc-
tion, and at higher levels is fatal. Effective nontoxic loads are now widely 
available and cost about as much as a box of premium lead. Hunters are 
encouraged to consider using non-toxic alternatives for all of their hunt-
ing. Using non-toxic shot also eliminates the potential risk of ingesting 
lead in game consumed by hunters and their families. For more informa-
tion on this issue, please visit our website at  
mndnr.gov/lead.
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FYI…
Chronic Wasting Disease

Chronic Wasting Disease occurs in deer, elk, and moose. It belongs 
to a group of infectious diseases known as “transmissible spongiform 
encephalopathies” (TSEs). It is caused by an abnormal protein, called 
a prion, that affects the animal’s brain and is invariably fatal. Usually, 
months to years pass from the time an animal is infected to when it 
shows signs of the disease.

Typical signs of the disease include drooping head or ears, poor body 
condition, tremors, stumbling, increased salivation, difficulty swallowing, 
or excessive thirst or urination. 

A good source for national CWD information can be found at   
www.cwd-info.org. Minnesota-specific CWD information begins on 
page 65.
Carcass Import Restrictions

To help prevent the spread of CWD, hunters cannot bring whole 
cervid (deer, elk, moose, caribou) carcasses into Minnesota from areas of 
other states or provinces where CWD has been found. A list of known 
areas from which carcass import is restricted can be found at mndnr.
gov/mammals/deer/cwd or by calling the DNR Information Center (see 
page 122). From these areas, hunters may bring only the following parts 
into Minnesota:

• Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either commercially 
or privately)

• Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal column or 
head attached

• Hides and teeth
• Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers 

attached
• Finished taxidermy mounts
• Nonresidents transporting whole carcasses on a direct route through 

Minnesota are exempt from this regulation.
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FYI…
Lead in Venison

What hunters should know:
• Lead particles found in hunter-harvested venison have not been linked 

to any illnesses.
• Lead is a neurotoxin but toxicity depends on the level and frequency 

of exposure. It is particularly harmful to children 6 and younger and 
pregnant women.

• Lead can have physiological effects on human bodies and brains at 
levels below that which would cause any noticeable signs of sickness.

The following guidelines and suggestions can eliminate or reduce and 
minimize the potential risk of consuming lead fragments, depending on 
the risk tolerance of the hunter.

• Consider alternative expanding non-lead ammunition such as copper 
or other high weight-retention bullets, such as bonded bullets. These 
are available in a wide range of calibers as well as in shotgun slugs and 
muzzleloader bullets. 

• Lead particles in venison will likely be too small to detect by sight, feel, 
or when chewing the meat.

• If you process your own meat, do not use deer with excessive shot 
damage. Trim a generous distance away from the wound channel and 
discard any meat that is bruised, discolored or contains hair, dirt, bone 
fragments or grass.

• Avoid consuming internal organs.
• Practice marksmanship and outdoors skills to get cleaner, closer shots 

and better shots.

Ultimately, individual hunters need to make the decisions. The DNR 
and the Minnesota Department of Agriculture fully support deer hunt-
ing and the venison donation program. Venison is a healthy, high quality 
source of protein. Lead contamination can be avoided by using non-toxic 
ammunition or reduced by using ammunition with high weight reten-
tion, such as bonded bullets, and placing shots in vital areas away from 
major muscle groups and liberally trimming meat around the wound 
channels. 
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DEER

Important Dates:
• September 4 (Thursday): Either sex Deer and Special Area Permit   

ap pli ca tion deadline. 
•  September 13: Archery opening date . 
• October 16–19: Early Antlerless Season.
•  November 8: Statewide (A) Firearms opening date.
• November 22: Late Southeast (B) Firearms opening date.
•  November 29: Muzzleloader opening date.
•  November 7: Firearms Deer opening date for 2015. 

NEW 2014 DEER SEASON INFORMATION
• A bucks-only management strategy has been implemented in a number of 

northern permit areas this year.  No antlerless deer may be taken in any of 
these areas by any hunters during any season (including youth, bowhunters, 
and individuals with disabled permits).

• There are no disease management areas in Minnesota this year. Deer permit 
area 602 has reverted back to the former permit areas (341 and 343). 

Note: Consult the deer regulations section for restrictions within the dates in the box or see the large 
fold-out Deer Zone/Area Map (available anywhere hunting licenses are sold) for additional details. 

Season Date

Archery Sept. 13–Dec. 31

Firearm Option Statewide (A)

100 Series Nov. 8–23

200 Series Nov. 8–16

300 Series Nov. 8–16

Firearm Option Late Southeast (B) Nov. 22–30

Muzzleloader Nov. 29–Dec. 14

Metro Deer Management Area (601) Nov. 8–30
(Any 2014 firearms or muzzleloader.)

Youth Season and Early Antlerless 
(See pages 34, 70, and 71.) Oct. 16–19
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• Telephone and internet registration will be available in series 300 permit 
areas, except areas subject to CWD surveillance sampling during the 
firearms season.

• An early antlerless season will be held in sub-permit area zones within 
permit areas 346 and 349 (consult large fold-out Dear Season Map). 

• A licensed hunter age 60 or over may use a crossbow as a choice of arms 
during the regular archery season with an archery license.  

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE MANAGEMENT
Permit area 602, the former chronic wasting disease (CWD) manage-

ment area in southeastern Minnesota, has been dissolved as a result of three 
consecutive years of testing without a sample testing positive for CWD.  
Management has reverted to former permit areas (341 and 343).
Southeastern Minnesota Surveillance

Due to the discovery of CWD in Northeast Iowa (Allamakee County), 
DNR will be conducting surveillance in deer areas 348 and 349 starting with 
the opening day of the firearm season. As of publication, the final surveillance 
plan has not been finalized.  Hunters in southeastern Minnesota will need 
to check the DNR website for complete surveillance information and where 
harvested deer can be registered. For permit areas under surveillance, 

• The phone and internet registration options will be deactivated on 
November 7th and will remain off until sampling goals have been achieved.  
Deer must be brought to walk-in registration stations and hunters are 
strongly encouraged to allow sampling of their deer.  Phone and internet 
registration will be turned back on after surveillance goals are met.

• Submission of a sample is voluntary and there are no carcass movement 
restrictions.  This surveillance is being conducted because the disease was 
found in close proximity to the Minnesota state line.  The DNR’s CWD 
management plan calls for surveillance when a new infection is discovered 
near Minnesota.

• A hunter will only be notified if a deer is found positive.  Look for a DNR 
news release for complete sampling results after the deer season ends and 
results are reported back.

• More information, including the stations where deer will be sampled, will be 
posted on the DNR website this fall.

Metro CWD surveillance
Due to the discovery of CWD in a captive European red deer farm in 

Ramsey County, DNR will attempt to obtain CWD samples from the 
immediate area. Because the area does not have a traditional firearm deer 
season, most collections will come from vehicle-killed deer, metro archery 
hunts, city deer reduction permits, and opportunistic sampling. Additional 
information will be available on the DNR website prior to the 2014 archery 
deer season.

NEW

NEW
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DEER – GENERAL
Legal Buck and Antlerless Deer

•  A “buck” is a deer having at least one antler at least 3 inches long. See page 
75 for a description of a “legal buck” (at least one antler with 4 points) for 
300 series deer areas. Fawn bucks, sometimes called button bucks, are not 
legal bucks.

• “Antlerless deer” are those deer without an antler at least 3 inches long.
License Purchase and Validity

All deer licenses (archery, firearms, muzzleloader) may be purchased at any 
time before or during the season. However, a license purchased on or after the 
day the respective season opens is not valid until the second day after the day 
it is issued (for example, a license issued on Saturday would not be valid until 
Monday). A “day” means midnight to midnight. The “respective season” refers 
to the first season for which the license is valid. The exceptions are bonus 
permits, which are valid when issued if the appropriate regular license is valid.

• Residents under 18 or a disabled person who has a permit to shoot from a 
stationary vehicle may not take antlerless deer in a bucks-only deer area.

•  Residents under 18 or a disabled person who has a permit to shoot from a 
stationary vehicle and a valid deer license may take a deer of either sex in 
a lottery deer area without an either-sex permit. Only authorized youth or 
disabled hunters may shoot and tag the antlerless deer in a lottery deer area 
(no party hunting).

•  A person may purchase no more than one Firearms, Muzzleloader, and 
Archery deer license in a calendar year. 

• Bonus and early antlerless season permits may be purchased in addition to 
regular licenses. Bonus permits may be purchased throughout the season, 
but must be in possession when taking deer. The permit is valid when your 
regular license in that season is valid. Regular licenses and antlerless tags may 
be used in any order.

•  A person may not take or tag deer without the appropriate license or permit. 
The term “take” includes attempting to take deer, and driving, spotting, or 
otherwise assisting another person in taking deer.

Deer Licenses and Permit Types
Licenses

• Hunters may buy an archery, firearm, and muzzleloader license.
• License choices are:

› Statewide (A): Valid in any open area during the firearm season that 
begins November 8; or

› Late Southeast (B) Season: Valid only during the zone 3B season in 
southeastern Minnesota that begins November 22.

• Individuals cannot buy both a Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B) Season 
license; however, both may purchase a muzzleloader license.

NEW
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Youth Archery License—Residents and non-residents ages 10 to 17 as of 
September 13 must obtain a youth archery deer hunting license. Residents 10 
to 12 years old must obtain a free license before hunting big game. 

Youth Firearm License—Residents and non-residents ages 10 to 17 as 
of November 8 must obtain a youth firearm license. Residents 10 to 12 years 
old are required to obtain a free license before hunting big game. The youth 
license may be used in both the Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B) seasons 
but not the Muzzleloader Season. 

Youth Muzzleloader License—Residents and non-residents ages 10 to 17 
as of November 29 must obtain a youth muzzleloader license. Residents 10 to 
12 years old are required to obtain a free license before hunting big game. 

  IMPORTANT: With the exception of bucks-only permit areas, youth 
licenses are valid for either-sex deer statewide. 

Regular Archery License— With the exception of bucks-only permit 
areas, a regular archery license is valid for an either-sex deer statewide in any 
open area. Season dates are listed on page 89. 

Regular Firearm License—A firearm deer hunter may purchase either a 
Statewide (A) or Late Southeast (B) Season license. Statewide (A) licenses 
are valid in all areas that open November 8 and Late Southeast (B) Season 
licenses are valid only during the 3B season. The season choice will be printed 
on the license.

• Both Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B) Season licenses are valid in the 
metro (601) area.

• The license is valid for either sex deer in any hunter choice, managed, or 
intensive area or in a lottery area if successful in the lottery. 

Regular Muzzleloader License—Any hunter can buy a muzzleloader 
license, including people who have purchased a firearm license. The license is 
valid for either-sex deer in any hunter choice, managed, or intensive area. In 
lottery areas, you must have an either-sex permit to take an antlerless deer. 

Landowner Deer License—This free license allows the taking of one 
antlerless deer in selected areas.

NEW

NEW

Statewide (A) Licenses
Statewide (A) season licenses are valid in any area that opens November 

8. Hunters are not obligated to stay in any one zone. For example, you can 
hunt in deer area 346 (9-day season) opening weekend, move to deer area 
235 (9-day season) the second weekend, and finish up your season in 184 
(16-day season) on the last weekend.

Statewide (B) Licenses
This license is only valid in southeast Minnesota (November 22–30). 3B 

hunters can also buy a muzzleloader license.
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Landowner licenses are valid during any open season; however, the land-
owner must use the appropriate weapon for that season and adhere to blaze 
orange restrictions. This license allows the taking of one antlerless deer per 
farm (in hunter choice, managed, and intensive deer areas). A resident owner 
or tenant or a non-resident owner who is actively farming at least 80 acres of 
agricultural or grazing land in deer areas: 114, 157, 182, 201, 209, 210, 214, 
215, 218, 219, 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 227, 230, 232, 233, 236, 239, 240, 241, 
248, 249, 254, 255, 256, 257, 292, 293, 338, 339, 341, 342, 343, 344, 345, 346, 
347, 348, 349, 601 (applies to both A and B seasons) may obtain a free license 
from any ELS license agent. A person may receive only one landowner deer 
license per year. For land with co-owners or co-tenants, only one co-owner 
or co-tenant may receive a landowner deer license per year. The license is 
valid only on the land owned or leased for agricultural purposes by the license 
holder within the deer area where the qualifying land is located. The license 
holder may give the license to a spouse or dependent. A license issued under 
this provision does not affect the license-holder’s eligibility to purchase 
additional deer licenses or permits. A landowner deer license can be used to 
purchase bonus permits in managed or intensive deer areas. Landowners who 
obtain this license must allow public deer hunting on their land during the 
deer hunting season, except for the first Saturday and Sunday of the season. 
Hunters must obtain permission, and it is up to the landowner how much 
public hunting is appropriate.
Permits

Important Application deadlines: 
   The application deadline for Lottery either-sex and Special Area Permits 

is Thursday, September 4.The deadline for special youth hunts is Friday, 

HOW TO… Buy a Firearms Deer License:
1. Choose either the Statewide (A) or Late Southeast (B) Season option. 

The option will be printed on your license; and
2. Tell the agent which deer area you hunt most often or if applying for a 

lottery, which area you plan to hunt. Note: This is collected for informa-
tion purposes and will not print on the license. You are not obligated to 
stay in the area you say you hunt most often.

 OR

Regular 
Firearms License
(choose one option)

Late Southeast (B) Season:
300 Series: Nov. 22–30

Statewide (A)—Valid in Areas:
100 Series: Nov. 8–23
200 Series: Nov. 8–16
300 Series: Nov. 8–16
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August 15. Applications must be made at an ELS license agent, the DNR 
License Center, or by telephone, by these dates. To apply, you must first 
purchase a deer license.

Participation in a special hunt does not preclude hunters from taking a 
deer in a regular deer permit area, although statewide bag limits and license 
requirements apply (page 71). 
Special Hunt Area Permits 

•  Special hunt permits are required to hunt deer in special permit areas 
where the number of hunters must be limited to control the harvest or for 
public safety.

•  Special hunt permit areas for regular firearms hunters are listed on pages 
85 and 86 and on the DNR website at www.mndnr.gov/hunting/deer

•  Those who receive a special hunt area permit may also hunt deer outside 
that special hunt area during the season indicated on the license.

•  Parties of up to four hunters may apply. See instructions on page 70. 
Selection and Notification of Successful Applicants 
• If permit applications exceed quotas, computerized drawings will be used to 

determine who will be issued permits. 
• Drawings for either-sex or special area permits are based on a preference 

system. Applicants for either-sex or special area permits accumulate prefer-
ence by applying without getting drawn. A person’s preference is the same 
whether applying for an either-sex permit or a special area permit. 

• Preference is not affected by applying for a different area than the year before 
or by not applying for one or more years. 

• Preference for group applications is based on the individual in the group 
with the lowest preference. 

• Only successful applicants will be notified. 
• Permits are mailed in mid-October. Information about the drawings and 

individual applications is not available until after this date. Applicants may 
check the DNR website (mndnr.gov) in mid-October to view results. 

• Hunters who are not notified can assume your application was not selected, 
and that your preference will increase. 

• All hunters must apply if they wish to participate in a special hunt. 
Bonus Permits 
• Bonus permits are available to archery, firearms, and muzzleloader hunters to 

take antlerless deer in designated areas. 
• Bonus permits may be used in managed and intensive areas, the metro (601), 

early antlerless sub-permit areas, and some special hunts. 
• Bonus permits are valid for archery, muzzleloader or firearms, but hunters 

must have the appropriate regular license for the area, season, and method 
they are using. 

• Bonus permits are not valid in bucks-only, lottery or hunter choice deer 
areas. 
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Early Antlerless Permits 
• Early Antlerless Permits are available to archery, firearms, and muzzleloader 

hunters in designated areas during the early antlerless season. Up to five 
permits may be purchased. 

HOW TO… Apply for Permits
The drawings for all special hunt area permits are combined as part of 

the either-sex permit preference system.
General Instructions
•  Applications for either-sex permits and special hunt area permits must 

be made at one of the 1,500 ELS agents at the DNR License Center, 
by telephone, or by internet by the September 4 deadline. Applications 
can be completed as part of the process of purchasing your regular deer 
license.

•  You can apply for one firearm hunt and one muzzleloader hunt.
•  Residents and nonresidents are eligible for permits.
•  A permit is not transferable between persons or between areas.
•  Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 as of November 8 do 

not need to apply for an either-sex permit in lottery areas. They must 
apply for special hunts. The deadline is September 4. The deadline for 
youth-only hunts is August 15.

•  All residents 21 or over must present their Minnesota Driver’s License 
or Public Safety Identification Card at time of application.

• Special hunt tables are available online at mndnr.gov/hunting/deer
Antlerless and Special Area Permit Application Instructions
The ELS license agent will ask you a series of questions in order to 

complete the transaction. The questions will be related to the type of 
license you are purchasing and the deer area you are interested in hunt-
ing. You can apply individually or as a group of up to four people. Make 
sure you check the large map and/or the tables online to ensure you are 
applying for the correct area. After completing the transaction, immedi-
ately check your receipt and deer license to make sure the agent entered 
your information correctly. This is the only time it can be changed. 
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Statewide Bag Limits for Deer
A hunter may tag one legal buck per year, without exception. Although 

hunters can buy all three licenses, the bag limits may not allow all three tags to 
be filled in a single deer area. It is the hunter’s responsibility to know the bag 
limit for the areas they hunt. The statewide bag limit for deer is five.

Bucks-only Deer Areas—The bag limit is one legal buck total per year 
(see page 72), regardless of license type or season.  No antlerless deer may be 
harvested, by anyone, in a bucks-only area. If you take a deer in a bucks-only 
deer area, you cannot take another deer in another bucks-only, lottery or 
hunter choice deer area. However, you can take antlerless deer in managed 
or intensive deer areas, as well as some special hunt areas with a valid permit, 
provided you adhere to the regulations and bag limits for those areas. Bonus 
permits are not valid in bucks-only deer areas. 

Lottery Deer Areas—The bag limit is one deer total per year, regardless of 
license type. An either-sex permit is required to take antlerless deer in lottery 
deer areas. If you take a deer in a lottery deer area, you cannot take another 
deer in another bucks-only, lottery or hunter choice deer area. However, you 
can take deer in managed or intensive deer areas, as well as some special hunt 
areas with a valid permit, provided you adhere to the regulations and bag 
limits for those areas. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas. 

Hunter Choice Deer Areas—The bag limit is one either-sex deer total per 
year, regardless of license type. If you take a deer in a hunter choice deer area, 
you cannot take another deer in another bucks-only, lottery, or hunter choice 
deer area. However, you can take deer in managed or intensive deer areas, as 
well as some special hunt areas with a valid permit, provided you adhere to 
the regulations and bag limits for those areas. Bonus permits are not valid in 
hunter choice deer areas.

Managed Deer Areas—The bag limit for managed deer areas is two deer 
and hunters can use any combination of licenses and bonus permits to tag 
both deer. 

Intensive Deer Areas—Using any combination of licenses and permits, the 
bag limit for intensive deer areas is five deer.

Exceptions to the Statewide Bag Limit:
Metro Deer Management Area—There is no limit to the number of 

antlerless deer that may be taken in this area. 
Landowner Licensee Farms—Landowner Licensees may take one 

antlerless deer in addition to the statewide bag limit for hunter choice, man-
aged, or intensive deer areas. 

Subpermit Early Antlerless Areas—Hunters must possess an early 
antlerless permit in addition to an archery, firearms, or muzzleloader license. 
Early antlerless permit holders may take up to five antlerless deer in addition 
to the statewide bag limit.
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Statewide Antlerless Deer Information
Important: No antlerless deer may be taken in bucks-only deer areas. 

Antlerless Deer areas are divided into four categories: 1) Lottery; 2) Hunter 
Choice; 3) Managed; and 4) Intensive. In lottery deer areas, hunters need to 
apply for either-sex permits. The deadline is September 4, 2014. In hunter 
choice, managed and intensive deer areas, applications are not necessary. In 
these areas, licenses are either-sex. Bonus permits for antlerless deer are avail-
able over the counter for use in managed and intensive areas.

At the time of license purchase, all hunters will indicate which deer area 
they primarily hunt. This information is being collected for survey purposes 
only. Firearms hunters may hunt bucks throughout the season where licensed 
or may hunt antlerless deer on their regular license in any hunter choice, 
managed, or intensive deer area. For more information, see details in this 
section of the handbook and the color map and table on the back of the large 
deer season map (available separately).

Bucks-only Deer Areas—Without exception, no antlerless deer may be 
taken in any bucks-only deer area. 

 2014 Bucks-only Deer Areas—108, 117, 118, 119, 122, 126, 127, 169, 176, 
177, 178, 180, 181, 199

Lottery Deer Areas—ALL firearm and muzzleloader hunters age 18 and 
older must apply for an either-sex permit if they want to harvest an antler-
less deer in a lottery deer area. A hunter can apply using both a firearm and 
muzzleloader license. The application deadline is Thursday, Sept. 4. 

Note: There is no exemption for a person who only hunts the muzzleloader 
season. Information regarding permit allocations is on page 83. 

Leftover either-sex deer permits will be available first come, first served 
beginning at 5pm on Oct. 6. Any hunter who has not already been selected 
can pick up a permit; however, you must have a valid license or purchase one 
at the same time.

2014 Lottery Deer Areas—101, 103, 105, 110, 111, 152, 155, 156, 159, 
171, 172, 173, 179, 183, 184, 197, 203, 208, 213,  229, 234, 237, 238, 242, 246, 
247, 250, 251, 252, 253, 258, 259, 260, 261, 262, 263, 264, 265, 266, 267, 268, 
269, 270, 271, 272, 273, 274, 275, 276, 277, 278, 279, 280, 281, 282, 283, 284, 
285, 286, 288, 289, 290, 291, 294, 295, 296, 297, 298, 299 

Hunter Choice Deer Areas—If you hunt in a hunter choice deer area, 
you may take one either sex deer per year.  No application for an either-sex 
permit is necessary and bonus permits cannot be used.  

2014 Hunter Choice Deer Areas—157, 201, 209, 210, 214, 215, 218, 219, 
221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 227, 230, 232, 233, 235, 236, 239, 240, 241, 248, 249, 
254, 255, 256, 257, 292, 293,338*, 339*, 341*, 342*, 344*, 345*, 347*, 348* 

*Denotes both seasons
Managed Deer Areas—If you hunt a managed deer area, you may take a 

deer of either sex. No application for an either-sex permit is necessary. 
In the following areas, firearm, archery, and muzzleloader hunters may take 
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with, or agreed to baiting or feeding wildlife on the adjacent property.
Removal of Bait—All bait must be completely removed for ten days 

prior to hunting.
Agricultural crops from normal or accepted farming, forest management, 

wildlife food plantings, orchard management, or other similar land manage-
ment activities are not bait. Important—this exclusion does not apply to 
agricultural crops that have been reintroduced and concentrated where a 
person is hunting. See Example.

Example—A person has an abundance of an agricultural crop and 
intends to use it as “green manure” or fertilizer. A person may reintroduce 
the agricultural crop to the field by spreading it out over a previously planted 
field. If the landowner piles or concentrates the agricultural crop where they 
hunt deer, it would be considered bait.

deer of either sex on their regular license and purchase bonus permits to take 
antlerless deer. 

2014 Managed Deer Areas—114, 287§, 343* 
*Denotes both seasons ; §No archery hunting
Intensive Deer Areas—If you hunt an intensive deer area, you may take a 

deer of either sex. No application for an either-sex permit is necessary. In the fol-
lowing areas, firearm, archery, and muzzleloader hunters may take a deer of either 
sex on their regular license and purchase bonus permits to take antlerless deer. 

2014 Intensive Deer Areas—182 , 346*, 349*
* Denotes both seasons

IMPORTANT: HUNTING METHOD RESTRICTIONS—
HUNTING DEER WITH BAIT IS ILLEGAL

Hunters are not allowed to take deer with the aid or use of bait. “Taking” 
includes attempting to take.

Definitions
• Bait—includes grains, fruits, vegetables, nuts, hay, or other food that is 

capable of attracting or enticing deer and has been placed by a person.
• Baiting—means placing, exposing, depositing, distributing, or scattering bait 

that is capable of attracting or enticing deer. 
Important—Liquid scents (example: doe in heat), sprays, salt, and minerals 

are not bait if they do not contain liquid or solid food products. 
Note: read the ingredient label on all products prior to use. Many products 

contain food or attractants such as grains, fruits, and sugar derivatives (glucose, 
dextrose, and fructose). If a salt or mineral product has anything other than 
salt or mineral in it, it is illegal to use for hunting. 

A person otherwise in compliance with this section who is hunting on 
private or public property that is adjacent to the property where bait or food is 
present is not in violation if the person has not participated in, been involved 
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Penalties for Baiting Violations—Revocation and Confiscation
• A person may not obtain any deer license or take deer under a lifetime 

license for 1 year after the person is convicted of hunting deer with the aid 
or use of bait. A second conviction within 3 years would result in a 3-year 
revocation. The revocation period doubles if the conviction is for a deer that 
is a trophy deer scoring higher than 170 inches.

• Firearms and bows used to take deer with the aid or use of bait will be seized 
and are subject to confiscation upon conviction.

Baiting Versus Food Plots
• Baiting significantly increases the risk of disease transmission by concentrat-

ing animals and promoting nose-to-nose contact.
• Baiting attracts and holds large numbers of deer on private parcels creating a 

privatization of the deer herd.
• Food plots are dispersed over a much larger area than bait piles and allow 

animals to use them at more natural intervals. Food plots become part of 
an animal’s natural habitat. Bait piles can be replenished over and over in 
the same location and alter a deer’s natural movement. By placing bait, one 
hunter can effectively nullify another hunter’s attempt to harvest a deer.

• Food plots can be sustainable throughout the season—they don’t disappear 
after a person has harvested a deer and they provide food and shelter for a 
variety of other wildlife.

Special Regulations in 300-Series Deer Areas 

Antler Point Restriction 
• A buck must have at least one 4-point antler in order to be legally harvested. 

Bucks with less than one 4-point antler are not legal to harvest. Refer to page 
75 for examples of a legal buck. 

• The regulation is in effect during the archery, 3A, 3B, and muzzleloader 
seasons. 

• Adult hunters CANNOT tag a buck for a youth hunter. 
• Youth hunters aged 10–17 are exempted from this regulation. They can take 

any antlered buck. 

Buck Cross-Tagging in 300-Series Deer Areas * 
        This is most commonly referred to as party hunting. The intent of this 

regulation is not to break up the hunting party or force hunters to leave the 
field once they are successful. This regulation simply requires the hunter to 
shoot and tag their own antlered buck. Specifically: 

• A person cannot take and tag an antlered buck for another member of their 
party.  This applies to all hunters, license types, and seasons. 

• It remains legal to take and tag antlerless deer for members of the party.This is 
a population management strategy and may lead to slight increases in antler-
less deer harvest.  *See page 76 for party hunting regulations in other areas
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Hunting in Areas with Antler Point Restrictions

HOW TO… Count Points 
A deer must have a minimum of four points on one side to be taken. 
1. An antler point, if it is at least1-inch long
2. The brow tine, if it is at least1-inch long 
3. The end of the main beam 
4. Any broken tine that is at least1-inch long 

Hunting Tips and How to Field Judge a Buck 
The antler point restriction regulations are 

designed to protect at least half of the yearling 
(1½-year old) buck population. 
• When field judging a buck, if it has a small body 

and thin neck, it may be a yearling. 
• Bring binoculars and take the time to look at the antlers and count the points 

before you take a shot. 
• Wait for the deer to turn broadside, it will make it easier to count points. 

Registration 
Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is registered. 

Hunts With a 4-point Regulation 
(including all 300 series deer areas, 338–349, and 921, 927, 929, 977). 

Legal Bucks 
    The following bucks meet the minimum standards for harvest. 
Bucks with more points than shown in the illustrations are also legal to harvest. 

Bucks with at least four points on one side. 

Seven point buck 
with four points on 
one side.

   Side view of a buck with 
four points on each side.

13

2

4
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Elevated Stands
•  In Wildlife Management Areas and State Parks open to hunting, only por-

table stands may be used. Portable stand use is encouraged in State Forests 
(see page 107).

• See pages 76 and 113 for more information on tree stands in state parks.
•  In Scientific and Natural Areas open to hunting, portable stands and 

elevated scaffold may be used if removed each day at the close of shooting 
hours and no damage to trees or other vegetation is done. Nails, spikes, 
screws, or other devices that damage the bark of trees are prohibited. 

• See pages 97, 115 and 118 for information on wildlife management areas, 
county lands, and federal lands.

•  Any unoccupied permanent stand or blind on public land is public and not 
the property of the person who constructed the stand. Any use of threat or 
force against another person to gain possession of a stand is unlawful.

Party Hunting
• A “party” is defined as any group of two or more licensed deer hunters who 

are all afield; hunting together at the same time; AND all using firearms 
(including muzzleloaders) or all using archery.

•  A mixed group of firearms and archery hunters is considered two separate 
parties.

• Crossbow hunters may not party hunt with firearms or archery hunters.
• Crossbow hunters may party hunt with archery hunters if they possess an 

archery license with a crossbow disability or are age 60 or over and hunting 
with a crossbow.

•  Any member of a party meeting this definition may kill a deer for any other 
member of the party who has an unused tag valid for that deer.

• Some restrictions apply to 300 series deer areas. See page 74.
• Party members MAY NOT kill an antlerless deer in a lottery deer area for: 

1) a member of the party who is a resident under age 18; or 2) a disabled 
person authorized to take antlerless deer under a permit to shoot from a 
motor vehicle.

Important! 
The intent of the party hunting regulation is to prevent parties from 

shooting more deer than the available number of tags. The party hunting 
regulation requires that all hunters who intend to tag deer for each other 
be hunting together, in the field, at the time the deer are taken. Party 
members who are not afield hunting with the individual who takes a deer 
at the time it is taken may not legally tag that deer. Hunters may not lend 
licenses to or borrow licenses from other hunters.
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Hunters with Disabilities and Youth Hunters—Either-Sex Deer 
Hunting: 

Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 as of November 8 and 
disabled persons with a permit to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may 
take a deer of either sex in lottery deer areas without having to apply for or 
obtain an either-sex permit. Without exception, antlerless deer may not 
be taken by youths or disabled hunters with permits in a bucks-only area.  
Resident youth ages 10–17 who qualify under this provision may not apply 
for an either-sex permit or accrue additional preference for these areas. 

NEW
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HOW TO… Tag Your Deer and Validate Your Site Tag 
Your Deer License and Site Tag comes as a 2-part form. The upper half is 

the Site Tag for tagging the deer in the field. The lower half is the Deer License 
and Registration Slip. 

1. At the kill site you must: 
a. Detach the Site Tag from the Deer 

License/RegistrationSlip.
b. Before moving the deer, validate the 

tag by using a knifeor similar sharp 
object to cutout the appropriate 
notches indicating:

• Month the deer was killed, 
• Date it was killed, and 
• Time of day it was killed(am or 

pm). Mark carefully—if more than 
onemonth, date, or time iscut out or 
marked, the tagbecomes invalid. 

2. A person may move a lawfully taken 
deer from the site of the kill without 
attaching the validated tag to the 
animal only while in the act of manu-
ally or mechanically dragging, carrying, 
or carting the animal across the ground 
and while possessing the validated tag 
on their person. 

3.  The validated tag must be attached to the deer when the deer is placed on 
a motor vehicle or an ATV, a vehicle or a trailer being towed by an ATV or 
brought into a camp, yard or other place of habitation. 

4.  To apply the tag to the deer: 
• Tie or attach a 10- to 12-inch twine, zip tie or wire securely to the deer 

around the base of an antler, through a slit cut in either ear, or between the 
tendon and bone of a hind leg, leaving the two long ends of the string or wire 
free. Note that this will require you to bring a cable tie, piece of wire or string 
into the field with you. 

• Pull one end of the twine or wire through one of the pre-cut holes on 
the Site Tag and tie it together. Note that tags no longer fold and are not 
adhesive. 

• The tag must remain attached to the deer until processed for storage. 

Part 1:  
Site Tag

Notch 
time, 
date, 
and 
month 
here

Part 2:
License
Always  
retain

Part 3: 
Registration 
Slip 

Detach 
here

Tagging
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Registration and Transportation
Registration

Every deer taken must be registered and antlers must remain attached 
until the deer is registered. In all cases, the deer must be registered within 
48 hours after the deer was taken and before the deer is processed either 
privately or commercially. Deer may be transported out of the area where 
taken without first being registered. There are three registration options: 
1. Walk-in Big Game Registration Stations—This process is unchanged 

from previous years. Registration stations display large, orange “Big Game 
Registration” signs. The person whose tag is on the deer must personally 
present the deer at an official registration station and receive a big game pos-
session tag. The tag must be attached to the hind leg, ear, or antler where the 
site tag was attached. You can find a complete list of all stations at any DNR 
wildlife office or on the DNR website. 

2. Telephone—This is typically called Interactive Voice Response (IVR). The 
system will accept either key punch or voice (e.g., press or say one). You will 
be asked to record a confirmation number so you must have a pen to com-
plete the registration process. To register your deer using the IVR system, 
following the steps below. These steps are also printed on your deer license.
a. Dial 888-706-6367 to get into the system.
b. Enter the Harvest Registration Number that appears on the license. It’s 

a 9-digit number that links back to the person and license type. This is 
the large and bold number printed on your deer license and is NOT your 
MDNR number. 

c. Enter the 3-digit area where the deer was killed. The system will only 
accept valid deer permit areas.

d. Enter the date the deer was killed.
e. Enter the type of deer—adult male, adult female, fawn male, fawn female.

FYI…
Deer Carcass Disposal 

Hunters who process their own deer may not dispose of carcasses 
on public land, including wildlife management areas, state forests, road 
rights of way, or in any water body. Deer carcasses may be disposed of in 
the following ways: 

• On private land with the permission of the landowner. 
• Through your refuse hauler after checking on how to properly bag the 

carcass. 
• At a local landfill. 
The use of bait for trapping (carcasses or parts of carcasses) remains 

legal within applicable laws, however, the unlawful deposit of carcasses 
not associated with legal baiting or field dressing constitutes litter.
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f. The system will then give you a confirmation number that must be writ-
ten on the license and site tag in the appropriate area.

3. Internet—Go to mndnr.gov/hunting to register your deer. The questions 
will be identical to phone registration. You will be given a confirmation 
number, which must be recorded on the license and site tag (termed “harvest 
report tag” in the online system) in the appropriate area.

Specific Information for Telephone and Internet Deer Registration:
• Persons who register by phone or internet do not receive a separate big game 

possession tag
• The site tagging regulations have not changed. Refer to page 78 for site tag-

ging information.
• When the system asks for deer type, please use the following information:

> Adult male—male deer with antlers at least 3" long
> Fawn male—this is a 6-month-old male deer, more commonly known as 

a “button buck” and weigh less than 75 pounds dressed.
> Adult female—this is an adult doe at least 18 months old. Typically, they 

have a longer nose and larger body (over 75 pounds dressed weight) than 
younger antlerless deer.

> Fawn female—this is a 6-month-old female deer. They typically have a 
short nose and weigh less than 75 pounds dressed.

• A harvest registration number can only be used once. The system will not 
accept multiple registrations using the same number. 

• In the CWD surveillance area, you must register your deer at a walk-in 
registration station until an adequate number of samples have been col-
lected. In all cases, the deer must be presented for registration at a walk-in 
station. Telephone and internet registration system will not work in the 
CWD area while sampling is underway.

• Since the system will recognize the license type, it will only ask questions 
valid to that license. Here are a few examples:
> Regular Firearms License—Will ask all 4 deer types but will not ask 

season because it’s only valid during the firearm season. The same applies 
to muzzleloader, archery, lifetime, etc.

> Bonus Permits—Will only ask 3 deer types (adult female, fawn male, fawn 
female) but will also ask season (archery, firearm, muzzleloader).

FYI…
Big Game Registration Stations

Big game registration provides essential information for managing 
deer populations. Registration station owners in the state donate the 
use of their business and the time of their staff to help collect this 
information. 

Station operators are not required to inspect deer or verify 
registration information. This is the hunter’s responsibility.
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DEER—FIREARMS 
•  Season dates:

November 8-23 (100 series)
November 8-16 (200 series) 
November 8-16 (300 series - Season A)
November 22-30 (300 series - Season B)

Rifle/Shotgun Boundary 
In the shotgun zone (see map on the back of the large, deer zone map, 

available separately), deer hunters may use only legal shotguns loaded with 
single-slug shotgun shells, legal muzzleloading long guns, or legal handguns.
Metro Deer Management Area (Deer Area 601) 

•  The metro deer area is comprised of deer area 601.
•  The intent of deer area 601 is to increase hunting opportunity around the 

greater Minneapolis–St. Paul area. The season has been implemented to help 
landowners and local governments control local deer populations. The area is 
comprised of nearly all private land and access is limited. Hunters interested 
in pursuing deer in this area are cautioned to acquire permission first.

•  The season dates are:
›  Archery: September 13 to December 31
›  Youth: October 16 to 19 
›  Firearm: November 8 to 30
›  Muzzleloader: November 29 to December 14

•  Any firearms or muzzleloader license is valid in this area.
•  At the time of license purchase, hunters should indicate the area they 

Transportation
•  A legally registered animal may be transported any time during and after the 

deer hunting season.
•  The licensee must accompany the deer in transport except as follows: 

A deer that has been registered may be transported by another person, if 
the signature, address, and license number of the licensee and the origin and 
destination of the transport are written on the back of the possession tag, the 
site tag, or a separate tag the licensee provides. 

•  All deer in transport must be readily accessible for inspection by DNR 
conservation officers.

•  The head of a deer must remain attached to the carcass until the deer is 
registered. Skin and entrails may be removed before registration. Deer may 
be quartered before being registered, but the animal’s head must remain 
attached to one of the quarters.

•  Whole deer, elk, caribou, or moose carcasses from other states or provinces 
may not be brought into Minnesota from areas known to have CWD in 
wild deer, elk, or moose (see page 62).
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typically hunt during the regular deer season. The license is automatically 
valid in the metro deer management area. 

•  An unlimited number of bonus permits are available for use in 
this area.

Itasca State Park
Itasca State Park (deer area 287) is open during the general firearm season 

and the muzzleloader season. No archery hunting is allowed.
Some state parks are open to general hunting. See pages 113-114 

for details.

Elevated Stands in State Park Areas
In state parks, state recreation areas and other lands administered by the 

Division of Parks & Trails, opened to hunting by special permit, or by legisla-
tion, early placement of portable stands is allowed according to the criteria 
below:

• Portable stands may be placed in the unit during normal business hours 
only and no more than 7 days prior to the hunt. Stands must be removed no 
more than 1 day after the hunt.

• All stands must have owner/hunter identification on them.
• Only portable stands that do no damage to trees or other vegetation are 

allowed. Nails, screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees are 
prohibited.

• Only clamp-on or strap-on devices for climbing are allowed, no screw-in 
steps.

• Hunters may not place multiple stands.
• Other hunters or the general public may not occupy stands legally placed by 

a hunter.

FYI…
Venison Donation Program

The venison donation program, established in 2007, will continue for 
this season. The program allows hunters to donate deer that they have 
shot for distribution to food shelves at no cost to the hunter. To partici-
pate, you can drop off a deer at any of the participating processors. A 
list of eligible processors is posted on the DNR website. Please refer to 
DNR new releases and the website as information is updated throughout 
the year. Processing fees are paid from a $1 fee collected from the sale of 
bonus permits. The DNR is working with the Minnesota Departments 
of Health and Agriculture to minimize the risk of lead contamination 
in donated venison. Processors may reject deer carcasses with multiple 
wound channels. Hunters should also consider using non-lead ammuni-
tion if they are planning to donate deer to the program. 
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Bag Limit and Permit Area Reminder
Important: Remember to check the 2014 management designations and 

associated bag limits for your permit area on the large, enclosed fold-out map 
or on pages 71–73.  If you hunt in a hunter choice, managed, or intensive deer 
area, your license is valid for an either-sex deer. Bonus permits may only be 
used to take antlerless deer in managed or intensive deer areas.
Lottery Deer Areas

 All adult firearm and muzzleloader hunters must apply for an either-sex 
permit if they want to take antlerless deer in a lottery area. Hunters can apply 
using both their muzzleloader and firearm license. After the application 
period ends, the permits will be allocated in proportion to the license types in 
the lottery. For example, if 100 either-sex permits are allocated and 25% of the 
applicants are muzzleloader hunters then 25% of the permits will go towards 
the muzzleloader season. This has the benefit of having muzzleloader-only 
hunters compete with other muzzleloader-only hunters. They will not com-
pete with firearm hunters who likely have more preference points. 

The number of deer hunters may kill in a lottery deer area is one, regard-
less of license type or whether you were successful in both lotteries. All adult 
hunters who hunt a lottery deer area must apply for an either-sex permit by 
Thursday, September 4, 2014. 

Successful applicants will receive a postcard in the mail authorizing them to 
take an either-sex deer using their regular license in that lottery deer area. The 
authorization will be valid for both the firearm or muzzleloader season; how-
ever, you must still have a valid license for that season. Specific instructions on 
how to apply for an either-sex permit are listed in the box on page 70. 

Bonus permits cannot be used in lottery areas. 
• Either-sex permits allow a person to take a deer of either sex within the 

specified lottery deer area. 
• Areas and permit quotas are shown on the large deer zone map, available 

separately. 
• Either-sex permit holders may take antlerless deer only in the area specified 

on the permit, but they may hunt deer anywhere during the season indicated 
on the license. 

• Regular firearm—can take a buck or an either-sex deer if successful in the 
lottery. 

• Youth firearm and persons with a disability permit to shoot from a stationary 
motor vehicle—can take an either-sex deer without applying in the lottery. 

• Muzzleloader—can take a buck or an either-sex deer if successful in the 
lottery.

Antler Point Restriction and Earn-a-Buck Regulations
On several State Parks and in all 300-series deer areas (southeast 

Minnesota), special regulations are in effect this season. For State Parks, 
please refer mndnr.gov/deer to determine if your hunt has a special regulation. 
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Successful applicants will be mailed additional information prior to the 
hunting season.
Hunting in Areas with Antler Point Restrictions

Regulations associated with antler point restrictions in the 300-series are 
described on pages 74–75.
Hunting in Parks With Earn-a-Buck Regulations

General Information
•  In order to tag a buck, you must tag an antlerless deer in the park first. 
•  You do not have to register the antlerless deer prior to taking the buck, but 

you do need to validate your deer license and tag and have them available 
for inspection by a conservation officer. If you are found with a buck and 
no antlerless deer, you will be in violation of the hunt rules and subject to a 
citation.

•  There will be no special validation for buck hunting. It will be the respon-
sibility of the hunter to observe the rules and take their deer in the proper 
order. 

•  If you have already filled your buck license, you may still hunt antlerless 
deer at the park.

•  Deer taken at the park must be registered at the park.
• Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is 

registered. 
Licenses and Permits

•  Hunters may want two tags in possession. One tag must be valid for 
taking an antlerless deer and the other for taking a buck.

•  Hunters who are only interested in taking an antlerless deer need only 
bring one tag.

Party Hunting (Cross-Tagging)
•  Party hunting is legal in Earn-a-Buck areas.
•  You can shoot a deer for a member of your party; however, only the person 

whose tag is on the antlerless deer will be authorized to tag a buck.
•  If you shoot an antlerless deer that is tagged by someone else, you cannot 

tag a buck with your license. An antlerless deer must be first tagged with 
your license before you tag a buck.

•  Party hunters should tag their first antlerless deer with their own license. 
If they have the opportunity to harvest another antlerless deer, they should 
then tag it with another person’s license.

Special Firearm Deer Hunts
The complete list of special firearm deer hunts including updates and 

corrections is available online. A list of hunts is found on the following 
pages and on the deer hunting page of the DNR website, mndnr.gov/deer. 
While season dates vary depending on hunt, the application procedures 
have not changed and the deadline for all hunts is Thursday, September 4. 
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DEER—MUZZLELOADER 
Season Dates: November 29–December 14, statewide
Open Areas: Muzzleloader hunters may hunt statewide except for the 

closed areas listed below.
• Deer area 224 (Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge).
• Rice Lake, Sandstone, and Rydell National Wildlife Refuges. 
• Refuges and other areas closed to firearms hunting are also closed to 

muzzleloader hunting.
Muzzleloader Regulations

• In lottery deer areas (where either-sex permits are limited), 
muzzleloader hunters must apply for and receive an either-sex permit. The 
application deadline is Thursday, September 4. If you are successful in the 
lottery, your permit will be valid for an either-sex deer.

• Hunters may buy both a firearm and muzzleloader license.
•  Only open and “peep” type sights (including those with fiber optic mate-

rial) are legal during the muzzleloader deer season. Scopes, including 
holographic or “red dot” scopes, are not legal for this season.

• The use of non-magnifying scopes is allowed by special permit for persons 
with medically verified visual impairments. A permit application is avail-
able by calling the DNR Information Center (see page 122).

Bag Limit and Permit Area Reminder
Important: Check the 2014 management designations and associated bag 

limits for your permit area on the large, enclosed fold-out map or on pages 
71–73.  If you hunt in a hunter choice, managed, or intensive deer area, your 
license is valid for an either-sex deer. Bonus permits may only be used to take 
antlerless deer in managed or intensive deer areas.
Lottery Deer Areas

A list of lottery deer areas is on page 72. All hunters are limited to taking 
one deer total and hunters can only take an antlerless deer if successful in the 
lottery. The application deadline is Thursday, September 4, 2014. 
Other Firearms 

   Muzzleloading firearms lawful for the taking of deer may be possessed 
only by persons with a valid license to take deer by muzzleloader. While 
muzzleloader hunting, a person may not possess a firearm other than the 
following: an unloaded firearm in a case or closed trunk of a motor vehicle, a 
shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller, a handgun or rifle 
capable of firing only rimfire cartridges of .17 or .22 caliber, including .22 
magnum or handguns by persons authorized under a permit to carry.
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Special Muzzleloader Deer Hunts
The following are special permit areas open during the muzzleloader season. 

Application instructions are on page 70.

2014 Special Permit Areas For Muzzleloader Hunters
Hunt Area Name County Hunt Season Dates No. of 

Permits
Bag 
Limit

Bonus 
Permit

Jay Cooke State Park (includes 
Hemlock Ravine SNA)

Carlton 935 12/6-12/10 120* 2 Yes 
- 1

Crow Wing State Park Crow 
Wing

936 12/5-12/7 25* 1 No

Soudan Underground Mine and 
Lake Vermilion State Parks

St. Louis 937 11/29-12/14 20* 2 Yes 
- 1

City of Tower St. Louis 938 11/29-12/14 20* 2 Yes 
- 1

Lake Shetek State Park Murray 939 12/6-12/7 15** 2 Yes 
- 1

Lake Maria State Park Wright 940 12/6-12/8 25*** 2 Yes 
- 1

Nerstrand Big Woods State 
Park (includes Prairie Creek 
SNA)

Rice 941 12/6-12/7 50*** 2 Yes 
- 1

Rice Lake State Park Steele 943 12/6-12/7 20** 1 Yes 
- 1

Vermillion Highslands 
Research, Recreation and 
WMA

Dakota 944 11/29-12/14 20*† 2 Yes 
- 1

Grand Rapids Itasca 946 11/29-12/14 Unlim-
ited*

5 Yes

Lake Bemidji State Park Beltrami 947 12/5-12/7 30* 2 Yes 
- 1

The statewide bag limit is five deer (exceptions page 71). Hunters who hold a special hunt permit may 
purchase bonus tags for use in special hunts.

*Either Sex **Antlerless Only  ***Earn-a-Buck hunt      †Mandatory Orientation
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2014 Special Permit Areas For Muzzleloader Hunters
Hunt Area Name County Hunt Season Dates No. of 

Permits
Bag 
Limit

Bonus 
Permit

Jay Cooke State Park (includes 
Hemlock Ravine SNA)

Carlton 935 12/6-12/10 120* 2 Yes 
- 1

Crow Wing State Park Crow 
Wing

936 12/5-12/7 25* 1 No

Soudan Underground Mine and 
Lake Vermilion State Parks

St. Louis 937 11/29-12/14 20* 2 Yes 
- 1

City of Tower St. Louis 938 11/29-12/14 20* 2 Yes 
- 1

Lake Shetek State Park Murray 939 12/6-12/7 15** 2 Yes 
- 1

Lake Maria State Park Wright 940 12/6-12/8 25*** 2 Yes 
- 1

Nerstrand Big Woods State 
Park (includes Prairie Creek 
SNA)

Rice 941 12/6-12/7 50*** 2 Yes 
- 1

Rice Lake State Park Steele 943 12/6-12/7 20** 1 Yes 
- 1

Vermillion Highslands 
Research, Recreation and 
WMA

Dakota 944 11/29-12/14 20*† 2 Yes 
- 1

Grand Rapids Itasca 946 11/29-12/14 Unlim-
ited*

5 Yes

Lake Bemidji State Park Beltrami 947 12/5-12/7 30* 2 Yes 
- 1

DEER—ARCHERY
Season Dates: September 13–December 31
Open Areas: Archery hunters can hunt permit areas statewide except in 

Itasca State Park (deer area 287).
October 16–19: Blaze orange is required in deer areas open for the youth 

deer and early antlerless seasons.
•  Archery hunters in deer area 601 may take an unlimited number of antler-

less deer.
• Except those licensed to carry a concealed weapon, a person may not take 

deer by archery while in possession of a firearm.
• In all 300-series deer areas, including special hunts, antler point restrictions 

are in effect for bowhunters. Refer to page 74 for information.
Bag Limit and Permit Area Reminder

Important: Check the 2014 management designations and associated bag 
limits for your permit area on the large, enclosed fold-out map or on pages 
71–73.  If you hunt in a lottery, hunter choice, managed, or intensive deer area, 
your license is valid for an either-sex deer. Bonus permits may only be used 
to take antlerless deer in managed or intensive deer areas.
Bucks-only Areas

Without exception, no antlerless deer may be taken in a bucks-only deer 
area. An archery license is only valid for legal bucks in these areas.  

Archery Special Hunt Areas
• Application dates and methods vary by special hunt. Please refer to the table 

on pages 91 and 92 for basic information regarding the hunt.
• Please refer to the website (mndnr.gov/deer) for hunt administrator contact 

information. All questions related to archery special hunts should be directed 
to the municipality conducting the hunt.

• Prior to making application, please check with the location you are inter-
ested in hunting. Different municipalities have different regulations such as 
requiring bonus permit use, taking an antlerless deer first, written permis-
sion, and/or proficiency tests. 

NEW

HOW TO…  Apply for Archery Special Area Permits
An application for an archery special area permit must be made on a 

form supplied separately by each special area. No other form of applica-
tion will be accepted. Send your request for an application form with a 
stamped, self-addressed, business-sized envelope to the address listed for 
the special area where you wish to hunt. A person may apply for more 
than one special area, but not more than once for a specific hunt. There 
may be restrictions regarding applications. Please read material carefully 
before applying.
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FYI…
Transporting Firearms

Although firearms transportation laws relating to hunting have 
changed, hunters are reminded the safest way to transport firearms is 
unloaded and cased. Not only does a case provide an extra measure of 
protection for your firearm but it is reminder to ensure that firearms are 
unloaded before transporting in or on a motor vehicle.
Special Seasons for Hunters With Physical Disabilities

Special deer hunts for hunters with physical disabilities are tentatively 
scheduled at a number of sites. Additional hunts for disabled archers 
may be organized by Capable Partners and Midwest Outdoors 
Unlimited, and are not listed here. For more  in for ma tion call the DNR 
In for ma tion Cen ter at 888-MINNDNR (646-6367).

Persons who are totally blind may use a laser sight to participate in 
permitted assisted special hunting opportunities.

TAX TIME IS YOUR TIME TO HELP WILDLIFE 
Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota tax form and 

donate to the Nongame Wildlife Checkoff. It’s fast, easy, and tax deduct-
ible. Be part of the wildlife success story.
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BEAR

Important Dates:
• August 15: Start of baiting.
• September 1–October 12: 2014 Bear Season.
• Late March 2015: Applications available.
• May 1, 2015: Application deadline for the 2015 season.

LICENSING
Residents and nonresidents can participate in a drawing for licenses within 

bear permit areas, and they may purchase a license over the counter for the 
No-Quota Area. 

• Bear lottery winners must purchase their license by August 1, 2014. Unsold 
and any surplus licenses will then become available for purchase starting at 
noon on August 6, 2014.

• Bear hunters who use online or telephone options to purchase licenses 
should use extra care to assure their selections are correct.

REGULATIONS
Bear hunting regulations booklets are available online at mndnr.gov.
• No more than three bait stations may be placed at one time for each licensed 

bear hunter.
• A private landowner or person authorized by the private landowner may use 

a drum to bait bear on the person’s private land. The drum must be secured 
to a tree so that it cannot be moved from the site by a bear and may not 
include a mechanical device for dispensing feed.

• The bag limit for bears is one per hunter statewide. Hunters may purchase 
both quota and no-quota licenses.

•  White bears may not be taken. 
• Cub bears may not be taken.
• Hunters are asked not to shoot radio collared bears, with brightly colored 

streamers or ear tags.
• A tooth must be submitted for all bears harvested.
• See bear hunting regulations  booklet for additional information and 2014 

bear quotas.
• A map of bear permit areas will be available at license agents.
• Prior to the opening day of archery deer season, portable stands may be left 

overnight in a wildlife management area by a person with a valid bear license 
who is hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site that is legally tagged and 
registered. The licensee’s name and address or driver’s license number or 
MNDNR number must be affixed to the stand in such a manner that it can 
be read from the ground.
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FYI…
Advanced Hunter Education Clinics and Seminars  

Did you know that the DNR offers a number of clinics and seminars 
for adults and youth? It’s a great way to learn about biology and behavior 
of certain game species, brush up on skills or become an instructor. 

For a listing of class offerings or instructor training: go to            
www.mndnr.gov and click on Education/Safety.

MOOSE
There will be no State Moose Season in 2014. More information is avail-

able online at mndnr.gov/moose.

ELK
The application deadline for the 2014 elk hunt has passed. In total, 9 

licenses were issued in Kittson County. 
Season dates are September 13–21, and September 27–October 5.
The application deadline for next year’s elk hunt is June 12, 2015. There is 

a $4 application fee per hunter and a license for a party of up to two hunters 
costs $287. Applications will be accepted at ELS agents statewide.

N
R

M
 8.3.25D

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

NOTICE

This area is being grazed to benefit wildlife habitat

YOU ARE ENTERING A
LIVESTOCK GRAZING AREA

Do not startle livestock. Livestock may behave upredictably. 
Cattle can weigh over 1000 lbs and run at 25mph.
Cautiously walk around or away from livestock.
Hunting is permitted. Leave gates as you found them.
Report any injured or escaped livestock to :

( _____) _____-________ or (_____) _____-________

Livestock may be dangerous - KEEP YOUR DISTANCE!

Livestock may view dogs as predators.
Keep dogs under control when livestock are nearby.

M.S. 604A.12 Any person or entity grazing livestock on state lands under an agreement 
with the commissioner of natural resources is not liable for damage to property or the
death of or an injury to a person due to the inherent risks of livestock activities.

ATTENTION PET OWNERS :

CONSERVATION GRAZING ON WILDLIFE 
MANAGEMENT AREAS—GOOD FOR 
THE RESOURCES

Conservation grazing is an excellent grassland 
management tool.  Planned grazing can improve 
plant diversity and habitat structure which benefits 
wildlife.  Hunting is allowed when livestock are on a WMA.  In most 

cases livestock will be removed by mid-August.  For more information see:  
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/publications/wildlife/index.html
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Waterfowl

WATERFOWL 
Because waterfowl seasons and limits aren’t approved until late summer, 

final in for ma tion on waterfowl was not avail able when this booklet was 
printed. Consult the Wa ter fowl Hunting Reg u la tions Supplement available 
online and wherever hunting and fishing licenses are sold in August. 

SPECIAL GOOSE HUNTS
A special $4 permit is required to hunt Canada geese during the special 

August and September seasons. All persons must have the permit to par-
ticipate in the hunts, except residents under age 18 or age 65 and over, and 
persons hunting on their own property. The August goose hunt is open in a 
limited portion of west-central Minnesota Maps and further details on both 
are available online at mndnr.gov/regulations/hunting.

SANDHILL CRANE PERMIT
A special $3 permit and a small game license is required to hunt sandhill 

cranes. All residents and non-residents must have the permit to participate in 
this hunt. Migratory waterfowl stamps are not required to hunt sandhill crane. 
Look for additional details about the 2014 sandhill crane hunt in northwest 
Minnesota in the waterfowl supplement, available in mid-August.

WILD RICE
Harvesting wild rice is open to Minnesota residents and nonresidents. 

All harvesters are required to be licensed unless they are residents under 
18 years of age and accompanied by a licensed harvester. Season dates, hours 
and regulations on equipment are available online at mndnr.gov/regulations/
hunting.

SAVE THE WETLANDS
Protecting wetlands is crucial to ensuring healthy populations of ducks, 

pheasants, herons, and even deer. Minnesota leads the nation in protect-
ing  wetlands. Let’s not lose that honor.
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PUBLIC LANDS & WILDLIFE REFUGES 
STATE LANDS

AQUATIC MANAGEMENT AREAS
The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and 

streams to provide fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat. 
These areas, known as Aquatic Management Areas (AMAs), are posted with 
signs to indicate allowable uses. Each sign is marked with a letter to easily 
identify permitted activities. It is always unlawful to leave personal equipment, 
such as tree stands, unattended on AMAs. 

WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS 
All public land in state-owned Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) 

is open to the hunting of all species of protected wild animals and trapping 
of mammals during the established seasons found in this booklet, except as 
follows:
General Restrictions

• Trespass: Portions of WMAs posted closed to trespassing may not be 
entered without DNR authorization.

• Closed Hours: WMAs may not be entered or used during closed hours if 
posted with these restrictions at major access points, except by permit.

• Camping: Camping is prohibited except in designated overnight-use areas 
or with a permit from the wildlife manager. A vehicle, trailer or tent lawfully 
left overnight must be occupied or attended.

• Alcohol: Alcoholic beverages may not be consumed, except by persons law-
fully occupying an overnight-use area.

• Firearms and Target Shooting: Target, skeet, trap, or in dis  crimi nate shoot-
ing is prohibited. A person may not possess an uncased or loaded firearm or 
an uncased or strung bow, except when lawfully taking a wild animal or by 
permit.

• Destruction or Removal of Property: Signs, posts, fences, gates, build-
ings, trees, shrubs, vines, plants, or other prop erty may not be destroyed or 
removed (including use of metal detectors to remove property), except as 
follows: Wetland veg e ta tion may be used to build blinds on the area, and 
edible fruits and seeds, or decorative por tions of plants may be removed for 
 person al use.

• Garbage Disposal and Animal Abandonment: Disposing of or aban don -
ing live animals, carcasses, garbage, trash, spoil, sludge, rocks, vehicles, or 
other debris or personal property on any WMA is pro hib it ed.
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Public Lands & Wildlife Refuges

• Hunting, Fishing, and Trapping Equipment: Boats, decoys, and other 
equipment must not be left un at tend ed overnight, with the exception of 
traps in areas open to trapping and fish houses or dark houses in certain 
designated WMAs.

• Blinds and Structures: A person may not construct or maintain any build-
ing, dock, fence, billboard, sign, or other structure on any WMA, except that 
temporary waterfowl blinds may be  erected, but may not become private 
property or be used to  preempt hunting rights. Any materials brought into a 
WMA for the construction of a blind must be re moved each day at the close 
of hunting hours. 

• Elevated Stands: A person may not construct, occupy, or use any elevated 
scaffold or other elevated device for the purpose of hunting, watching, or 
killing wild animals, except that portable stands may be used if they are 
removed each day at the close of hunting hours and do no permanent 
dam age. Prior to the opening day of archery deer season, portable stands 
may be left overnight in a wildlife management area by a person with a valid 
bear license who is hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site that is legally 
tagged and registered. The licensee’s name and address, or drivers license 
number, or MNDNR number must be affixed to the stand in such a manner 
that it can be read from the ground.

• Dogs: Dogs are permitted on WMAs only when accompanied by or under 
the control of the owner. From April 16 through July 14, dogs must be on a 
leash. A person training a dog on a WMA may not use live ammunition or 
blank cartridges, including the use of blanks in dummy launchers or similar 
devices. 

• Other Domestic Animals: Livestock, horses, and other domestic animals, 
are not permitted on WMAs except under cooperative agree ment or permit 
approved by the wildlife man ag er.

• Unprotected Animals: Unprotected wild animals may be taken from Sep-
tem ber 1 through the last day of February, or by any person legally hunting a 
protected species, unless the area is specifically closed.

• Beaver and Otter: Beavers and otters may only be taken by permit issued by 
the wildlife manager.

• Crows: Crows may be taken during established seasons, unless the area is 
specifically closed.

WMAs with Special Restrictions
Becklin Homestead Park WMA (Isanti County)—Is only open to special 

disabled hunts.
Bass Brook WMA (Itasca County) St. Michael Meadow WMA (Wright 

County)—These areas are closed to firearms hunting and trapping but open 
to archery deer hunting.

Bayport WMA (Washington County), Hastings WMA (Dakota County), 
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and Raguet WMA (Scott and Carver counties)—These areas are closed to 
the trapping of un pro tect ed mam mals except when there is an open trapping 
season for any protected species. Firearms may not be possessed unless they 
are unloaded and contained in a case, except in designated hunting areas 
during the season for the taking of small game when shot gun with No.4 or 
smaller shot only is permitted. The possession and use of bows and arrows are 
limited to the des ig nat ed hunting areas during established hunting seasons.

Boerner WMA (Sibley County), Buelow WMA (Steele Coun ty), Bryson 
WMA (Freeborn County), Chapa Kak-Say-Za WMA (Steele County), and 
Hutchinson WMA (McCleod County)—These areas are closed to the hunt-
ing and trapping of all species. Carl and Verna Schmidt WMA (LeSueur 
County) Bur Oak WMA (LeSueur County) and Pine City WMA (Pine 
County)—Closed to hunting of all species. 

Carlos Avery WMA Controlled Hunt Zone—Two blinds will be avail-
able by draw ing on Saturday and Tuesday mornings through the waterfowl 
season. Minnesota Waterfowl Association will conduct drawings for blinds 2 
weeks prior to each week of hunting. For rules, application form and dates go 
to: www.mndnr.gov/averyhunt, www.mnwaterfowl.com, or call Carlos Avery 
WMA Headquarters at 651-296-5200.

Gold Portage WMA (Koochiching and St. Louis coun ties)— 
This area is open only to waterfowl hunting.

Gun Lake WMA (Aitkin County)—A 20-acre posted wildlife sanctuary 
in the northwest corner of the unit is closed to trespass from September 1–
March 31.

Hearding Island WMA and Interstate Island WMA (St. Louis County) 
are closed to the hunting of all species.

Uppgaard WMA (Crow Wing County)—This area is open to hunting 
be gin ning on the opening day of wa ter fowl hunt ing.

Gordon W. Yeager WMA (in the Rochester Refuge, Olmsted County) 
Eastside WMA (Olmsted County), and Clare Johnson–Carl Schmidt 
WMA (Morrison County)—These areas are closed to waterfowl hunting. 
Firearms are restricted to shotgun with fine shot only for small game hunting. 
Gordon W. Yeager WMA—Open to archery deer hunting only.

Lac qui Parle, Thief Lake, Talcot Lake, and Orwell WMAs—Small  
game hunting is restricted in the Controlled Goose Hunting Zones.

Lake Blanche WMA (Ottertail County)—This area is closed to firearms 
deer hunting.

Mentel WMA (Mower County) is closed to all firearms hunting, but it is 
open for trapping and archery hunting.

Moose Willow WMA (Aitkin County)—The south portion of the Moose 
Pool has been posted as a wildlife sanctuary, closed to access, hunting or trap-
ping from September 1-March 31.
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Talcot Lake WMA—Small and big game hunting is restricted in the 
controlled hunting zone.

Ricehaven WMA (St. Louis County)—The posted area is closed to all 
trespass from September 15 through November 24. Canoeing, birdwatch-
ing, and wild rice harvest (during the wild rice season) is allowed from May 
1–September 14. Hunting and trapping for any species for which there is an 
open season is allowed from Nov. 25 through April 30 in the posted area. .

Sand Prairie WMA (Stearns County)—is open during the regular archery 
season for youth ages 10 through 17 except from November 9–17, when a 
special deer hunt for disabled individuals will be held. 

Sandstone WMA (Pine County) —is closed to firearms hunting for deer, 
bear and wolf hunting but open to hunting of all other species by legal means 
during designated seasons. 

Timber Lake WMA ( Jackson County)—A portion of this area is closed to 
firearms deer hunting (as posted).

Pike Bay WMA (St. Louis County)—This area is closed to  trapping of all 
species.

Schrafel WMA (Mower County)—This area is closed to  trapping and fire-
arms hunting. Open to falconry and archery hunting for deer and small game.

Dr. Johan C. Hvoslef WMA (Fillmore County)—This area is open to 
archery hunting only from September 1 through October 31 and during the 
spring turkey season. Firearms hunting (no centerfire rifles) is allowed from 
November 1 through December 15.

Wesley E. Olson WMA (Big Stone County), Tom Cliff WMA (Waseca 
County), Somsen WMA (Brown County)—Are closed to hunting.

Lac Qui Parle WMA (Lac Qui Parle County), Moonan WMA (Waseca 
County), Two Rivers WMA (Redwood County), and the Perched Valley 
WMA (Goodhue County), and Walnut Lake WMA (Faribault county)—
Have buffer areas posted closed to hunting.

Roseau River WMA (Roseau County), The Pool 1 Sanctuary is open for 
deer hunting during the muzzleloader season (including archery hunting).

Vermillion Highlands—A Research, Recreation and Wildlife 
Management Area (Dakota County) is open to archery, firearms and muzzle-
loader deer hunting by special lottery only and is open to late season goose 
hunting and spring turkey hunting. Pheasant hunting is open from December 
8, 2014–January 4, 2015. Predator hunting is allowed from the end of muzzle-
loader season to March 31 by special permit only. Contact the Vermillion 
Complex Wildlife Office for questions at 651-322-4643.



2014 Minnesota Hunting Regulations

100

Trapping Permits Required
All trappers must, regardless of furbearers taken, obtain a permit from the 

area manager on the fol low ing WMAs: Carlos Avery (Anoka and Chisago 
counties), Hubbel Pond (Beck er County), Red Lake (Beltrami and Lake 
of the Woods counties), Lac qui Parle (Big Stone, Lac qui Parle, Swift, and 
Chippewa counties), Mille Lacs (Mille Lacs and Kanabec counties), Roseau 
River (Roseau County), Talcot Lake (Cottonwood and Murray counties), 
Thief Lake (Marshall Coun ty), Vermillion Highlands (Dakota County) and 
Whitewater (Olmsted, Wabasha, and Winona coun ties).
Wild Rice

A person may harvest wild rice in a WMA, except where specifically closed. 
(See page 95 for more information.)
Ginseng 

A person may not harvest wild ginseng in a WMA, except by permit. The 
season opens September 1.
Motor Vehicles

The following regulations apply to motor vehicle use on WMAs other than 
on federal, state, county, or township roads:

•  Motor vehicles licensed for use on a public highway may be oper ated on 
established roads on the following WMAs, but not at speeds over 20 mph. 
unless posted otherwise. No vehicles may be driven beyond a sign prohibit-
ing vehicular use, beyond any con structed vehicle barrier, or in a reckless or 
careless manner. The areas are: Carlos Avery (Anoka and Chisago coun ties), 
Hubbel Pond (Becker County), Mille Lacs (Kanabec and Mille Lacs coun-
ties), Red Lake (Beltrami and Lake of the Woods coun ties), Roseau River 
(Roseau Coun ty), Spring Lake Islands (Dakota County) for the purpose of 
ice fishing, and Thief Lake (Marshall Coun ty).

•  Vehicles are prohibited on all other WMAs. The exception is that vehicles 
may be operated at speeds of 20 mph or less, on travel routes des ig nat ed 
with signs for travel purposes.

•  No vehicle may be parked in front of any gate or where it obstructs travel.
•  No person may operate an all-terrain vehicle (ATV), all-terrain cycle (ATC), 

hang glider, air boat, personal watercraft (jet-ski), or hovercraft in a WMA 
unless specifically authorized.

• On Wildlife Management Areas north and west of the line described 
below an ATV may be used by a licensed firearms deer hunter who does not 
possess a firearm (cased or uncased) to retrieve and transport a deer that is 
known to be dead from the close of shooting hours to 2 hours after the close 
of shooting hours during the regular firearms deer season and for 1 day after 
the season: beginning at State Highway 1 from the west boundary of the 
state to State Highway 89, then north along State Highway 89 to Fourtown, 
then north on County State Aid Highway 44 to County Road 704, 
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Beltrami County, then north on County Road 704 to Dick’s Park way State 
Forest Road, then north on Dick’s Parkway to County State Aid Highway 
5, then north on County State Aid High way 5 to Warroad, then north on 
State Highway 11 to State Highway 313, then north on State Highway 313 
to the north bound ary of the state. 

• On wildlife management areas within the area described as follows, a 
licensed deer hunter may operate an all-terrain vehicle during the fire-
arms deer season before and after shooting hours and from 11am to 2pm: 
from State Highway 1 and the west boundary of the Red Lake Indian 
Reservation; then west to State Highway 219; then north on State Highway 
219 to State Highway 89; then north to State Highway 89 to County 
Highway 6; then east on County Highway 6 to County Highway 54 and 
County Highway 1 (Beltrami/Marshall county line); then north along 
the Beltrami/Marshall county line to the Roseau county line; east on the 
Beltrami/Roseau county line to Dick’s Parkway, then south on Dick’s 
Parkway to County Road 704, Beltrami county; then south to County 
State-aid Highway 44 to Fourtown; then south on State Highway 89 to 
the north boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation, then west and 
south following the boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation to the 
beginning.

•  Without written permission from the DNR, no person may operate a 
snowmobile in a WMA south of a line described as  follows: U.S. High way 
2 from Grand Forks east to Bemidji, then south along U.S. High way 71 to 
Wadena, then east along U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 
to the eastern boundary of the state.

•  No person may use aircraft over a WMA in a manner that chases, herds, 
scares, or otherwise disturbs wildlife, except in emergencies or by authoriza-
tion of the wildlife manager.

Blinds for Hunters With Disabilities 
The Carlos Avery, Lac qui Parle, Roseau River, Talcot Lake, and 

Whitewater Wildlife Management Areas have a limited number of goose 
hunting blinds for hunters with disabilities. Talcot Lake WMA and Roseau 
River WMA each have a wheelchair accessible deer blind for firearms hunt-
ing. Reservations are required for the Roseau River WMA blind. For more 
information, write to: Carlos Avery WMA, 5463-C W. Broadway, Forest 
Lake, MN 55025; Lac qui Parle WMA, 14047 20th St. NW, Watson, MN 
56295; Talcot Lake WMA, 40249 Co. Rd. 7, Dundee, MN 56131; Roseau 
River WMA, 27952 400th St., Roseau, MN 56751; or Whitewater WMA, 
15035 Highway 75, Altura, MN 55910.
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 * Motor size is restricted to 10 horsepower or less on these units.
 ** There are no motor limits on the main channel and oxbows of the Roseau River. Elsewhere on 

the Roseau River WMA, motors of 10 horse pow er or less may be used only on days that the 
waterfowl sea son is open.

 *** On the Talcot Lake WMA, motors are permitted on the lake (except on any day that the waterfowl 
season is open) but are prohibited on the river and marsh es at any time of year.

Motorized Watercraft Permitted
Area County

Gold Portage WMA Koochiching and St. Louis

Gores (Mississippi River Pool 3) WMA Goodhue and Dakota

Hubbel Pond (Hanson Lake) WMA Becker

Lac qui Parle WMA (except where posted) Big Stone, Lac qui Parle, Chippewa, and Swift

Mud-Goose WMA* (except during the  
waterfowl season)

Cass

Orwell Reservoir* Otter Tail

Roseau River WMA** Roseau

South Walnut Lake WMA* Faribault

Swamp River WMA Cook

Spring Lake Islands WMA Dakota

Talcot Lake WMA*** Cottonwood and Murray

Thief Lake WMA* Marshall

Motorized Watercraft 
The use of outboard motors (including electric trolling motors)  

or mo tor ized water vehicles (including amphibious vehicles) is  prohibited on 
waters within the boundaries of most state WMAs, except as follows:

STATE REFUGES
Game Refuges

A state game refuge is closed to the hunting and trapping of wild  animals 
unless listed below or in the table (pages 103-105). Even though a refuge 
may be open, it could contain privately owned land on which the land-
owner may prohibit hunt ing. 
General Restrictions

•  A person may not trap beaver or otter within any state-owned game refuge 
without first obtaining a permit from the appropriate wildlife manager. 

•  Unprotected wild animals may be taken when there is an open season for 
any protected species, but only during the hours and by methods allowed for 
the protected species.

•  Firearms must be cased and unloaded unless lawfully hunting in a refuge.
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Lac qui Parle Game Refuge (Chippewa and Lac qui Parle Counties)—Is 
open under the following restrictions: The portions of the refuge within the 
Lac qui Parle State Park, Lac qui Parle Mission Site, Rosemoen Island, or 
portions that are posted with “State Wildlife Sanctuary—Do Not Trespass” 
signs are closed to hunting except for permitted participants in disability 
hunts or those with specific authorization.

The remainder of the refuge is open to: 
• Deer hunting.
• Waterfowl hunting at designated hunting stations only from October 16 

through the close of the Canada goose season.
• Small game other than waterfowl, except from October 11-November 30. 

Small game hunting is not allowed on closed Canada goose hunting days 
during a split goose season. 

No unauthorized person may trespass during the dates posted on any part 
of the refuge posted with “State Wildlife Sanctuary—Do Not Trespass” signs. 
The exceptions are as follows: 

• Ice fishing
• Open water fishing is permitted in the posted closed area except from 

October 11 through the close of the open Canada goose season.
Rochester Refuge (Olmsted County)—Unprotected animals may be 

taken at any time and by any legal meth od.
Talcot Lake Game Refuge (Cottonwood County)—The Talcot Lake 

Game Refuge is open to waterfowl hunting only at designated hunting 
stations only during the Canada goose season. The Talcot Lake Waterfowl 
Refuge is closed to waterfowl hunting, except for persons with disabilities 
hunting geese at  designated hunting stations.

Ogechie Lake (Mille Lacs County)—The majority of Ogechie Lake lies 
within Mille Lacs Kathio State Park, and the remainder lies within tribal 
land. As such, ALL of Ogechie Lake is closed to public hunting.
Duck Refuges and Duck Sanctuaries

From September 1 through the final day of the duck season, or as other-
wise posted, a person may not hunt, trap, fish, or trespass on portions of state 
wild life man age ment areas or federal waterfowl production areas that are 
posted to pro hib it trespass.
Goose or Waterfowl Refuges

State goose refuges are closed to goose or waterfowl hunting (as posted) 
except when specifically opened during special seasons (see the Waterfowl 
 Hunting Regulations Supplement available in August). Other forms of 
hunting and trapping are permitted during the established  seasons.
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State Forests
State forest lands are generally open for hunting and other types of 

outdoor recreation. Hunting on private land within a state forest is subject 
to state trespass laws. A partial summary of state forest use regulations is 
included below. A complete listing is available from the DNR.

Elevated Stands
•  The use of portable tree stands is recommended, especially those which 

can be secured without driving nails into trees. Nails are a safety hazard 
for woodcutters and harm the forest. 

• Personal property must be removed from State Forest lands. 
• It is illegal to destroy state property, including the cutting of trees for 

shooting lanes. 
• Littering and erecting permanent buildings are prohibited.
• Any permanent unoccupied stand or blind on public land is public and 

not the property of the person who constructed the stand.
Firewood

Wood that is dead and lying on the ground may be gathered for campfire 
use on site. Only approved firewood is allowed to be brought onto DNR 
lands, see page 114.
Campfires

No permit is required for recreational campfires of less than 3 feet in 
diameter, in an area cleared of combustible materials for 5 feet around 
the fire.
Firearms

•  Firearms may be discharged in compliance with the law on forest lands 
that are not posted closed to firearm discharge.

•  Firearms must be unloaded and cased while in or within 200 feet of a 
forest recreation area (campground, day use area, parking area), except that 
during open hunting seasons a person may carry an unloaded, uncased 
firearm or a strung, uncased bow to hunt outside the recreation area.

Camping
Camping on forest lands outside of developed campgrounds is permit-

ted, with some conditions.
Personal Property

Personal property may not be left or positioned so as to obstruct use of a 
road or trail. Personal property left unattended for 14 days shall be deemed 
abandoned.
Motor Vehicle and Off-Road Rules

State forest lands are classified by the commissioner for purposes of 
motor vehicle use. Motor vehicle use is regulated as follows:
State Forest Lands Classified as “Managed”

Motor vehicles may use forest roads and routes unless they are posted or 
designated closed.
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Unmarked/Unsigned Access Routes
In a MANAGED forest, motor vehicles may operate on all pre-existing, 

unsigned access routes on state forest lands. In a LIMITED forest, motor 
vehicles may not operate on pre-existing unsigned routes except persons 
with a valid hunting, trapping or commercial trapping license may use 
routes not specifically designated for other uses per the hunting and trap-
ping exceptions below.

However, when operating on unsigned routes in Minnesota’s state forests, 
it is illegal to cause erosion, rutting, or damage to trees. 
State Forest Hunting/Trapping Exceptions

Traveling off roads and trails (cross-country travel) in a LIMITED state 
forest or off roads, trails and access routes in a MANAGED state forest 
is prohibited except persons with a valid hunting, trapping, or commer-
cial trapping license in possession may use Class I ATVs to travel cross 
country to:

• Retrieve big game (September through December).
• Hunt for big game and construct stands (October through December).
• Trap during the open season for protected furbearers.
• Trap for minnows under certain conditions.

State Forest Lands Classified as “Closed”
Motor vehicles are not allowed except:
•  Vehicles licensed for highway use may only use signed forest roads unless 

they are posted or gated closed.
•  Vehicles may operate on frozen public waters where it is not otherwise 

prohibited.
Limited, Closed, and Managed State Forests

The following state forests are classified as LIMITED: Badoura, Bear 
Island*, Bowstring, Buena Vista (portions), Burntside* (portions outside 
BWCAW), Chengwatana, Cloquet Valley** (portions), Crow Wing, 
D.A.R.*, Emily, Finland (portions), Fond du Lac, Foothills, General 
C.C. Andrews, George Washington** (portions), Golden Anniversary, Hill 
River*, Huntersville, Land O’ Lakes*, Lake Jeanette* (portions outside 
BWCAW), Lyons, Mississippi Headwaters, Nemadji, Pat Bayle, Paul 
Bunyan, R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood (no areas where big game 
hunter/trapper exemption applies), Remer, Rum River, Savanna*, St. 
Croix, Smoky Hills, Snake River* (portions), Solana, Sturgeon River** 
(portions inside SNF), Two Inlets, Wealthwood, White Earth**, 
Waukenabo*. 
The following state forests are classified as CLOSED:

Battleground, Birch Lakes, Buena Vista (portions), Burntside 
( portions inside the BWCAW), Cloquet Valley** (portions), Finland 
(portions), George Washington** (portions), Insula Lake, Lake 
Isabella, Lake Jeanette (only portions in BWCAW), Pillsbury, Sand 
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Dunes, Snake River** (portions), Welsh Lake, Whiteface River. 
Note: these lists are subject to change as additional forest review is 
completed. See the following link for the most current status, or con-
tact the DNR Information Center (see page 122): mndnr.gov/input/
mgmtplans/ohv/designation/status.html
The following state forests are classified as MANAGED:

Beltrami Island, Big Fork, Blackduck, Cloquet Valley (portions), Finland 
(portions), George Washington (portions), Grand Portage, Kabetogama, 
Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Lost River, Northwest Angle, Pine 
Island, Red Lake, Smokey Bear, Sturgeon River (portions outside Superior 
NF).

Motor Vehicle Restrictions 
(On state forest and county lands within state forests where motor vehicles 

are allowed.)
•  No motor vehicle operation is allowed on designated nonmotorized trails, 

unless also posted open for a motorized use.
•  Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate on forest lands in a manner 

that causes erosion or rutting, or that damages or destroys trees or growing 
crops. The no-rutting provision does not apply on designated motorized 
trails.

•  Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate within the boundaries of an 
area that is posted and designated as closed to such use.

•  Motor vehicles on state forest roads must: travel at a reasonable speed; 
obey posted speed limits, parking and traffic regulation signs; observe road 
closures; and may not damage the road, land or other natural resources.

•   Cross country travel (off roads and trails) is prohibited. Exceptions to the 
ban (for both limited and managed forests) are:
›   ATV use for big game hunting or constructing stands from October 

through December is allowed;
›   ATV use for retrieving harvested big game is allowed from September 

through December; and
›  ATV use for trapping is allowed during open seasons fo r  protected 

furbearers.
Note: These exceptions apply only to Class 1 All-Terrain Vehicles 

(ATVs) less than 1200 cc engine displacement and 1200 pounds total 
weight—motorcycles, trucks, and class 2 are not allowed to travel 
cross-country.

•   Construction of unauthorized permanent trails on forest lands is prohibited.
•   Areas with Limitations are areas within state forests where the big game 

hunter/trapper exceptions do not apply. These are areas of no motorized 
travel and provide walk-in hunting  opportunities. All ingress points are 
signed with the orange sign “Area with Limitations.” 

•  In the Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest, motor  vehicles and 
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snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads that are not posted closed and 
on forest trails that are designated for motorized use. No motorized travel is 
allowed off of designated trails under any circumstances. Motorized trails 
are open to ATVs and OHMs from May 1 to November 1.

Non-motorized Trails
Non-motorized trails are open to non-motorized uses, but may be 

limited by postings. In the Richard J. Dorer Forest, horses and bicycles may 
travel only on designated trails.

SCIENTIFIC AND NATURAL AREAS
State Scientific and Natural Areas (SNAs) listed here are open to hunting 

and trapping as noted below. Also, check the DNR website for changes in 
SNAs open to hunting. In these SNAs open to hunting, portable stands and 
elevated scaffold may be used if it is removed each day at the close of shooting 
hours and does no damage to trees or other vegetation. Nails, spikes, screws or 
other devices that damage the bark of trees are prohibited. No motor vehicles 
are allowed in SNAs.

SNAs Open to Hunting and Trapping in 2014
County Area Open For

Aitkin McGregor Marsh SNA All hunting

Beltrami Maurice O’Link SNA All hunting

Brown Joseph A. Tauer Prairie SNA All hunting and trapping

Carlton Hemlock Ravine Deer only by permit, in conjunction 
with Jay Cooke State Park

Carver Seminary Fen SNA Deer only, by archery

Chisago Franconia Bluffs SNA All hunting 

Clay Felton Prairie SNA, Bicentennial Unit only Deer hunting only

Clearwater Iron Springs Bog SNA Deer hunting only  

Itasca Wilderness SNA Firearms deer only, including 
muzzleloader season

County Area Open For

Cook Hovland Woods SNA All hunting

Lutsen SNA All hunting; except only deer hunting 
in Scherer Conservation Unit

Cook Myhr Creek Ridge SNA All hunting

Spring Beauty Northern Hardwoods SNA All hunting

Crow Wing Mille Lacs Moraine SNA All hunting
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Fillmore Rushford Sand Barrens SNA All hunting

Goodhue Cannon River Turtle Preserve SNA All hunting

Houston Mound Prairie SNA (Only portion north 
of Hwy 16)

All hunting 

Hubbard La Salle Lake SNA All hunting and trapping

Lester Lake SNA All hunting and trapping

Itasca Boltuck-Rice Forever Wild SNA All hunting

Chisholm Point Island SNA Deer only, by archery 

Ladies Tresses Swamp SNA All hunting

Little Too Much Lake SNA All hunting

Itasca Lost 40 SNA All hunting

Potato Lake SNA All hunting

Wabu Woods SNA                                All hunting

Koochiching Caldwell Brook Cedar Swamp SNA All hunting

Lac qui Parle Yellow Bank Hills SNA All hunting and trapping

Lake of the 
Woods

Gustafson’s Camp SNA All hunting and trapping

Pine and Curry Island SNA Waterfowl only

Mahnomen Santee Prairie SNA All hunting and trapping

Morrison Lake Alexander Woods SNA Deer hunting by permit only 

Norman Prairie Smoke Dunes SNA Antlerless deer hunting by permit 
only

Pine Black Lake Bog SNA All hunting and trapping

Pipestone Prairie Coteau SNA All hunting and trapping

Polk Gully Fen SNA Deer only, by archery

Redwood Cedar Rock SNA All hunting and trapping

Cedar Mountain SNA Deer only, by archery  

Rice Prairie Creek Woods SNA Muzzleloader deer only by permit, 
in conjunction with Nerstrand Big 
Woods State Park

County Area Open For

Roseau Two Rivers Aspen Prairie Parkland SNA     All hunting

Scott Savage Fen SNA Archery only

Sherburne Uncas Dunes SNA                                         All hunting

St. Louis Big Island SNA Waterfowl only.

Moose Mountain SNA Deer only; archery 9/13 –11/23, 
firearm 11/8–11/23
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Stearns 
 

Avon Hills Forest SNA Deer only, by archery.

St. Wendel Tamarack Bog SNA All hunting.

Winona King’s and Queen’s Bluff SNA Youth deer hunt only, in conjunction 
with Great River Bluffs State Park

Yellow Medicine Mound Spring Prairie SNA All hunting and trapping.

Peatland SNAs Open to All Trapping and Hunting
County Peatland SNA

Beltrami Red Lake Peatland

Cass Hole-in-the-Bog Peatland (Except Hole-in-the-Bog Lake, which is 
a waterfowl refuge)

Koochiching East Rat Root River Peatland

Lost River Peatland

Myrtle Lake Peatland

North Black River Peatland

South Black River Peatlland

West Rat Root River Peatland

Lake Sand Lake Peatland

Lake of the Woods/Beltrami Muligan Lake Peatland

Lake of the Woods Norris Camp Peatland

Winter Road Lake Peatland

Roseau Luxemburg Peatland

Pine Creek Peatland

Sprague Creek Peatland

St. Louis Lost Lake Peatland
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STATE PARKS AND STATE RECREATION AREAS OPEN TO 
PUBLIC HUNTING

All or portions of the state parks and state recreation areas (SRA) listed on 
the following page are open to public hunting, or public hunting and trapping 
according to Minnesota regulations unless otherwise noted. Maps showing 
the areas where hunting and trapping is allowed within each of these units 
are available online at mndnr.gov/parksandtrails. Hunters and trappers should 
refer to these maps in the field to ensure they are within the portion of the 
state park or state recreation area where these activities are permitted.

With the exception of restrictions on firearms and traps, all state park rules 
remain in effect throughout the hunting and trapping seasons. 

In state parks, state recreation areas and other lands administered by the 
Division of Parks & Trails, opened to hunting by special permit, or by legisla-
tion, early placement of portable stands is allowed according to the criteria 
below:

• Portable stands may be placed in the unit during normal business hours 
only and no more than 7 days prior to the hunt. Stands must be removed no 
more than 1 day after the hunt.

• All stands must have owner/hunter identification on them.
• Only portable stands that do no damage to trees or other vegetation are 

allowed. Nails, screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees are 
prohibited.

• Only clamp-on or strap-on devices for climbing are allowed, no  screw-in 
steps.

• Hunters may not place multiple stands.
• Other hunters or the general public may not occupy stands legally placed by 

a hunter.

FYI…
Habitat Money Available

The Conservation Partners Legacy Grant Program is looking for 
organizations to submit grant proposals to enhance, restore, or protect 
habitat for fish, game, and wildlife in Minnesota. Visit our webpage at 
www.mndnr.gov/cpl for more information. 
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Big Bog State Recreation Area—Most of the northern portion of Big Bog SRA is open to public 
hunting and trapping. Hunting and trapping is not allowed on Ludlow Island and vicinity or the 
boardwalk. 

Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area—Much of Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area is open to 
public hunting, but closed to trapping. 

Forestville Mystery Cave State Park—Approximately 430 acres of the park is open to public 
hunting but closed to trapping.

Garden Island State Recreation Area—Much of Garden Island State Recreation Area is open to 
public hunting but closed to trapping.

George H. Crosby Manitou State Park—The portion of the park which is east of the Manitou River 
and north of Minnesota Highway 61 (approximately 3,000 acres) is open to public hunting but 
closed to trapping.

Greenleaf State Recreation Area—Is open to archery hunting deer during the archery deer season. 
No bonus permits are allowed.

La Salle State Recreation Area—Most of La Salle SRA is open to public hunting and trapping of 
protected species during open trapping seasons. Hunting and trapping is not allowed in the vicinity 
of the campground and cabins.

Split Rock Lighthouse State Park—Approximately 50 acres in the far northern part of the park is 
open to public hunting but closed to trapping. See map for location.

Temperance River State Park—Approximately 600 acres of Temperance River state park is open 
to public hunting but closed to trapping. The area is located north of Minnesota Highway 61 and 
adjacent to the Cross River on both sides. 

Tettegouche State Park—Much of the southern half of the park (approximately 3,700 acres) known 
as the Palisade Valley unit is open to public hunting and trapping. 

FYI…
Only Approved Firewood is Allowed on DNR Lands

Approved firewood is:
• Firewood purchased from the DNR,
• Firewood purchased from an approved vendor (check out mndnr.gov/

firewood for a list of approved vendors)
• Kiln-dried wood, such as unstained, unpainted dimensional lumber free 

of metal or other foreign objects.

These restrictions are needed to help prevent the introduction, or 
slow the spread, of damaging forest pests, including emerald ash borer, 
gypsy moth, and oak wilt. Help protect Minnesota’s forests by leaving 
firewood at home! Check with the state park, state forest campground, 
or other state recreational facility you will be visiting to get the latest 
recommendations and restrictions on firewood movement to and within 
Minnesota.
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Big Bog State Recreation Area—Most of the northern portion of Big Bog SRA is open to public 
hunting and trapping. Hunting and trapping is not allowed on Ludlow Island and vicinity or the 
boardwalk. 

Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area—Much of Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area is open to 
public hunting, but closed to trapping. 

Forestville Mystery Cave State Park—Approximately 430 acres of the park is open to public 
hunting but closed to trapping.

Garden Island State Recreation Area—Much of Garden Island State Recreation Area is open to 
public hunting but closed to trapping.

George H. Crosby Manitou State Park—The portion of the park which is east of the Manitou River 
and north of Minnesota Highway 61 (approximately 3,000 acres) is open to public hunting but 
closed to trapping.

Greenleaf State Recreation Area—Is open to archery hunting deer during the archery deer season. 
No bonus permits are allowed.

La Salle State Recreation Area—Most of La Salle SRA is open to public hunting and trapping of 
protected species during open trapping seasons. Hunting and trapping is not allowed in the vicinity 
of the campground and cabins.

Split Rock Lighthouse State Park—Approximately 50 acres in the far northern part of the park is 
open to public hunting but closed to trapping. See map for location.

Temperance River State Park—Approximately 600 acres of Temperance River state park is open 
to public hunting but closed to trapping. The area is located north of Minnesota Highway 61 and 
adjacent to the Cross River on both sides. 

Tettegouche State Park—Much of the southern half of the park (approximately 3,700 acres) known 
as the Palisade Valley unit is open to public hunting and trapping. 

FEDERAL LANDS
NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES & WATERFOWL 
PRODUCTION AREAS

Federal Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA’s) are open to public hunt-
ing except where prohibited. National Wildlife Refuges (NWR’s) are closed 
unless expressly permitted. Please consult the appropriate NWRs and 
Wetland Management District (WMDs) managers or www.fws.gov/refuges 
for specific regulations. 
General Restrictions

• Small game hunters using shotguns, including turkey hunters, are required to 
use and possess only non-toxic shot.

• Small game hunters must wear an article of blaze orange consistent with 
state regulations.

• Target shooting is prohibited.
• During the small game season, hunting dogs must be under the immediate 

control of the hunter. Training and allowing pets off leash are prohibited. 
• Motorized vehicles are prohibited on all NWRs and WPAs except on 

designated parking areas, access roads, and public roads. Permits to operate 
vehicles on other roads may be available for hunters with disabilities. 

• Motorized watercraft are prohibited on all WPAs and are restricted on most 
NWRs. Motorized watercraft are allowed without a permit on designated 
portions of the Tamarac and Upper Mississippi National Wildlife Refuge. 

• Camping, campfires and overnight parking are prohibited on all WPAs 
including designated parking areas. Camping, campfires, and overnight park-
ing are restricted on most NWRs. 

• No permanent stands are permitted. Also prohibited are the use of nails, 
wire, screws, or bolts to attach a stand to a tree or hunting from a tree, into 
which a metal object has been driven to support a hunter. Portable hunting 
stands MUST BE set up and removed each day.  

• All property brought onto a NWR or WPA must be removed after each day. 
This includes all vehicles, boats, decoys and trash.

• The use or possession of alcoholic beverages while hunting is prohibited.
• The destruction, defacement, disturbance or unauthorized removal of any 

natural object or government property is prohibited.
• Plants and animals cannot be introduced, liberated or placed on NWRs or 

WPAs. 
• Disposing of animal carcasses, trash, refuse rocks, wood or other debris is 

prohibited. 
• Cutting, mowing, sawing, digging, collecting, injuring or removing vegeta-

tion is prohibited. 
• Distribution of feed or bait, or hunting over bait is prohibited. This includes 

salts and minerals. 
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Trapping
A person may not trap in a National Wildlife Refuge without a permit 

from the refuge manager. Waterfowl Production Areas (WPAs) are open to 
trapping per state regulations unless specifically prohibited.
Artificial Lights

A person may not use a spotlight, headlight, or other artificial light to spot, 
locate, or take any wild animal in a NWR or WPA.
Specific Restrictions 

Agassiz National Wildlife Refuge (Marshall County) 
22996 290th Street NE, Middle River, MN 56737-9754, 218-449-4115. 

Limited small game and deer hunting are allowed as shown on maps 
available at refuge headquarters, parking areas, and kiosks along Marshall 
County Road 7 or online at www.fws.gov/refuge/agassiz 
Big Stone National Wildlife Refuge (Big Stone and Lac qui Parle 
Counties)

44843 County Rd 19, Odessa, MN 56276, 320-273-2191. Small Game 
and deer hunting are open as posted with “Public Hunting Area” signs or 
shown on maps available at parking areas and at the Refuge Headquarters.

The refuge is closed to migratory bird and coyote hunting. 
Big Stone Wetland Management District (Lincoln and Lyon Counties)

44843 Co. Rd. 19, Odessa, MN 56276, 320-273-2191. Hunting is allowed 
throughout the district.
Crane Meadows National Wildlife Refuge (Morrison County)

19502 Iris Rd, Little Falls, MN 56534 320-632-1575. Closed to all 
general public hunting and trapping. Contact refuge headquarters for 
information on turkey and deer hunting opportunities for persons with 
disabilities. 
Detroit Lakes Wetland Management District (Becker, Clay, 
Mahnomen, Norman, and Polk Counties)

26624 N Tower Rd, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-7959, 218-847-4431. 
Hunting is allowed throughout the district, except on the Headquarters 
Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Becker County, the Hitterdal WPA 
in Clay County, and the McIntosh WPA in Polk County. 
Fergus Falls Wetland Management District (Otter Tail, Grant, Douglas, 
and Wilkin Counties) 

18965 County Hwy 82, Fergus Falls, MN 56537-7627, 218-739-2291. 
Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the Townsend, Mavis, 
Gilmore and designated portions of Knollwood Waterfowl Production 
Areas (WPA) in Otter Tail County, and Larson WPA in Douglas County. 
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Glacial Ridge National Wildlife Refuge (Polk County) 
Contact Rydell NWR, 17788 349th St SE, Erskine, MN 56535 218-

687-2229 or 800-841-0172.
Deer: Maps showing open areas for hunting are available in parking lots 

throughout the refuge and at refuge Headquarters. 
Upland and Migratory Bird: Open areas are also posted with Migratory 

Bird Hunting Area signs. 
Hamden Slough National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)

21212 210th Street, Audubon, MN 56511, 218-847-4431.
Waterfowl: The refuge is open for Youth Waterfowl Day. Contact the 

Detroit Lakes WMD 218/847-4431 for information. Deer hunting is only 
allowed during the state muzzleloader season.
Litchfield Wetland Management District (Meeker, Kandiyohi, Stearns, 
McLeod, Todd, Renville, and Wright Counties)

22274 615th Avenue, Litchfield, MN 55355, 320-693-2849. Hunting is 
allowed throughout the district except on part of the Phare LakeWPA in 
Renville County that lies within the State Game Refuge. 

Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge (Hennepin, Ramsey, 
Dakota, Scott, Carver, Sibley, and Le Sueur Counties) 

3815 American Blvd E, Bloomington, MN 55425-1600, 952-854-5900. 
Hunting information is available online at fws.gov/midwest/minnesotaval-
ley and at the refuge headquarters. 

Minnesota Valley Wetland Management District (Hennepin, Dakota, 
Scott, Carver, Rice, Sibley, Blue Earth, Steele, Le Sueur, Waseca, 
Chisago, Goodhue, Washington, Nicollet, and Ramsey Counties) 

3815 American Blvd E, Bloomington, MN 55425-1600, 952-854-5900. 
Hunting and trapping is allowed. Single projectile ammunition prohibited 
on Soberg WPA, Dakota County.  
Morris Wetland Management District (Stevens, Traverse, Big Stone, 
Lac Qui Parle, Yellow Medicine, Lincoln, Pope and Swift Counties)

43875 230th Street, Morris, MN 56267, 320-589-1001. Hunting is 
allowed throughout the district except on the designated portions of the 
Edward-Long Lake Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Stevens 
County.
Northern Tallgrass Prairie National Wildlife Refuge

44843 County Rd 19, Odessa, MN 56276, 320-273-2191. Call for 
refuge specific regulations and maps.

Rice Lake National Wildlife Refuge and Sandstone National Wildlife 
Refuge (Aitkin and Pine Counties)

36289 State Hwy 65, McGregor, MN 55760 218-768-2402. Open areas 
are posted with “Public Hunting Area” signs or shown on maps available 
at Refuge Headquarters. The Refuge will be open for a special deer hunt 
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for persons with disabilities Oct. 3-6. Contact the refuge headquarters for 
applications and information.
Rydell National Wildlife Refuge (Polk County) 

17788 349th St SE, Erskine, MN 56535 218-687-2229 or 
800-841-0172. 

Small Game: Small game hunting is closed on the refuge. Deer: 
Information about special hunts for persons with disabilities is available 
at 800-726-3692.  Portions of the refuge are opened annually for antler-
less deer hunting during the regular firearms season. Contact the Refuge 
headquarters for information. 
Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge (Sherburne County)

17076 293rd Ave, Zimmerman, MN 55398 763-389-3323. Hunting 
brochures are available at refuge kiosks, and online at fws.gov/refuge/sher-
burne or at the refuge headquarters. 
Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)

35704 County Rd 26, Rochert, MN 56578, 218-847-2641, refuge 
hours—5am to 10pm. Areas open for small game, waterfowl, and deer 
hunting are marked on maps available at Refuge Headquarters or at www.
fws.gov/refuge/tamarac. 
Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuge (Wabasha, 
Winona, and Houston Counties)

Working a dog in refuge waters by tossing a retrieval dummy or object 
for out-and-back exercise is allowed. Trapping, including otter, is allowed 
only by special use permit issued by the refuge manager. Except for spring 
turkey hunting the refuge is closed to hunting from March 16-August 
31. Portions of the refuge are open to fall hunting. For more information, 
contact refuge headquarters. 
Windom Wetland Management District (Brown, Cottonwood, 
Faribault, Freeborn, Jackson, Martin, Murray Nobles, Pipestone, 
Redwood, Rock, and Watonwan Counties) 

49663 County Rd 17, Windom, MN 56101, 507-831-2220. Hunting 
is allowed throughout the district except on the designated portions of the 
Wolf Lake Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Cottonwood County.

NATIONAL FOREST LANDS IN MINNESOTA
National forest lands in Minnesota are open to many public uses, including 

camping, hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and off-highway vehicle 
(OHV) use with some restrictions.

• Minnesota State hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and OHV regula-
tions apply on national forest lands, except as otherwise stated below or in 
national forest regulations, 36 CFR Part 261. 

• Special designation areas within national forests, such as designated 
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Wilderness Areas, Semi-Primitive Nonmotorized Areas, and Research 
Natural Areas may have additional restrictions:
›  Only portable stands or blinds that do not damage natural features and 

are removed at the end of the hunting season are permitted. 
›  Portable stands and blinds left unattended on national forest lands after 

the close of the hunting season are subject to impoundment.
›  Cross-country or off-road OHV use for any purpose is prohibited. 

This includes the use of OHV’s for big game retrieval, bear baiting and 
trapping.

›  Commercial activities such as outfitting and guiding may not be con-
ducted without a Special-Use Authorization issued by national forest 
management.

›  Cutting or damaging of trees, including the cutting of shooting lanes, is 
prohibited.

›  Constructing, placing, or maintaining any kind of road, trail, structure or 
other improvement is prohibited. This includes the use or occupancy of a 
permanent stand, blind or OHV trail.

›  Storing or abandoning any personal property on national forest lands is 
prohibited.

›  Discharging a firearm within 150 yards of a residence, building, campsite, 
developed recreation site, or occupied area is not allowed on national forest 
land.

›  Dumping of any refuse, debris, trash or litter on national forest lands is 
prohibited.

›  Damaging or removing any natural/cultural feature or federal property is 
prohibited.

›  Fire restrictions must be observed when in effect.
Chippewa National Forest (Beltrami, Cass, and Itasca Counties)

• The Motor Vehicle Use Map (MVUM), is the legal guide for Motor Vehicle 
use on Forest Roads, it is updated annually, which could affect your riding. 
Forest Roads are identified on the MVUM and on the ground with a three- 
or four-digit numbered sign. 

• Off-highway Vehicles (OHV) and Highway Licensed Vehicles (HLV), may 
only operate on Forest Roads designated open on the MVUM map, which 
are available FREE at the Forest Supervisors or District Ranger Offices.

• Roads that are signed, gated, bermed with dirt, rocks, trees etc. or not desig-
nated open on the MVUM map are closed to motor vehicles. 

• Snowmobiles may operate on any unplowed Forest Service roads with 4 or 
more inches of snow accumulation.

• Camping within a developed recreation fee area for a period longer than 14 
days is prohibited. Campers must leave campground for a minimum of 24 
hours before returning.

• Camping for a period longer than 21 consecutive days at a single location, 
anywhere on National Forest lands (non-fee areas), is prohibited.
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• Launching or retrieving a boat with a trailer is prohibited except at a desig-
nated boat ramp.

Superior National Forest (Cook, Lake, and St. Louis Counties)
• Motorized travel on the Superior National Forest is only allowed on roads 

and trails as designated by an annual Motor Vehicle Use Map.  Copies of 
the map are available at Superior National Forest offices and online at the 
Forest website: www.fs.usda.gov/superior

• Snowmobiles may operate off-road in certain areas and on unplowed Forest 
Service roads with 4 or more inches of snow accumulation.

• Camping within a developed recreational site for a period longer than 14 
days, except as otherwise posted, is prohibited.

• Camping for a period longer than 14 consecutive days at a single location, 
or longer than 30 consecutive days anywhere on National Forest lands, is 
prohibited.

• Permits are required year-round for entry into the Boundary Waters Canoe 
Area Wilderness. Wilderness rules and regulations apply to all visitors.

• Motor vehicles and all other types of motorized and mechanized equipment 
are prohibited in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness except in 
specified areas.

For additional information, contact: Chippewa National Forest, 200 Ash 
Ave. NW, Cass Lake, MN 56633, 218-335-8600, fs.usda.gov/chippewa; or 
Superior National Forest, 8901 Grand Ave. Place, Duluth, MN 55808, 218-
626-4300, fs.usda.gov/superior
St. Croix National Scenic Riverway

For information on trapping, which is restricted at the Riverway, see http://www.
nps.gov/sacn/planyourvisit/trapping.htm.

COUNTY LANDS
Cass County Managed Forest Lands

 • Tree stands that damage trees are not allowed; no nails, bolts, or screws. 
All new tree stands that damage trees will be removed; old tree stands 
will be removed as timber sales take place in an area.

• The county encourages portable tree stands, freestanding stands, and any tree 
stands that do not damage trees.

Crow Wing County Managed Forest Lands
Permanent hunting stands are prohibited by ordinance.
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TRIBAL LANDS
Lands of The Red Lake Chippewa Band

Lands belonging to the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians in  Bel tra mi, 
Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, and Roseau counties are closed to 
non-band members except by special authorization of the tribal council. 
Persons taking, tagging, and transporting deer from reservation lands on the 
Northwest Angle in accordance with the Red Lake Band Code do not need a 
state license.
Other Tribal Lands

•  Nett Lake in Koochiching and St. Louis counties is closed to hunt ing by 
non-band members, except for duck hunting when accompanied by a band-
mem ber guide.

•  Other reservation lands may be open for hunting or trapping to   
non-band members by authorization of the reservations. All non-band 
members who are hunting or trapping on reservation lands must  comply 
with all state reg u la tions, including licensing.

FYI…
Moved or Driver’s License Number Changed?

If you have recently moved, please request the license agent to update 
your address when you purchase your license. If your driver’s license 
number or name has changed, please contact the DNR License Center 
at 877-348-0498 or 651-297-1230.
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Contact information
DNR Information Center
500 Lafayette Road  •  St. Paul, MN 55155-4040
Metro: 651-296-6157  •  Toll-free: 888-646-6367
Telecommunications for the Deaf: 651-296-5484  •  Toll-free: 800-657-3929  •  mndnr.gov

NORTHWEST REGION
Bemidji Headquarters
(218) 308-2651
Baudette Area Office 
(218) 634-1705 Ext 222
Bemidji Area Office 
(218) 308-2339
Crookston Area Office
(218) 281-6063
Detroit Lakes Area Office
(218) 846-8374
Fergus Falls Area Office
(218) 739-7576 Ext 238
Glenwood Area Office
(320) 634-0342
Karlstad Area Office
(218) 436-2427
Park Rapids Area Office
(218) 732-8452
Red Lake WMA
(218) 783-6861
Roseau River WMA
(218) 463-1130
Thief Lake WMA
(218) 222-3747
Thief River Falls Area Office
(218) 681-0946 Ext 222

NORTHEAST REGION
Grand Rapids Headquarters
(218) 999-7937
Brainerd Area Office 
(218) 828-2550
Brainerd/Aitkin Field Office
(218) 927-6915 Ext 221
Cloquet Area Office
(218) 878-5662

Cloquet/Duluth Field Office
(218) 723-4768 Ext 224
Cloquet/General Andrews 
Field Office
(218) 423-6026
Eveleth Area Office
(218) 744-7449 Ext 221
Grand Rapids Area Office
(218) 999-7939
International Falls Area 
Office 
(218) 286-5434
Orr Field Office
(218) 757-3274
Tower Area Office
(218) 753-2580 Ext 221
Two Harbors Area Office
(218) 834-1453
Two Harbors/Grand Marais 
Field Office
(218) 387-3034

CENTRAL REGION
Regional Headquarters 
(651) 259-5756
Cambridge Area Office 
(763) 689-7100 Ext 224
Carlos Avery WMA
(651) 296-5290
Little Falls Area Office 
(320) 616-2450 Ext 238
Mille Lacs WMA 
(320) 532-3537
North Metro Area Office
(651) 296-5200

Rochester Area Office
(507) 206-2859
Sauk Rapids Area Office
(320) 223-7840
South Metro Area Office
(952) 496-4141 Ext 257
Vermillion Highlands WMA
(651) 322-4643
West Metro Area Office
(952) 496-4141
Whitewater WMA
(507) 932-4133 Ext 221

SOUTH REGION
New Ulm Headquarters 
(507) 359-6032
Lac qui Parle Area Office
(320) 734-4451 Ext 222
Marshall Area Office
(507) 537-7240
New London Area Office
(320) 354-2154
Redwood Falls Field Office
(507) 637-4076
Nicollet Area Office 
(507) 225-3572
Owatonna Area Office 
(507) 455-5841
Slayton Area Office
(507) 836-6919
Talcot Lake Field Office
(507) 468-2248
Windom Area Office 
(507) 831-2900 Ext 222

DNR Wildlife Offices
TDD (651) 296-5484 or MN Toll free TDD (800) 657-3929
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Contact Information

Connect instantly to the conservation officer locator web page 
by scanning this code with your smart phone.

FIND YOUR LOCAL CONSERVATION OFFICER ON THE WEB
 The DNR has developed a new web page to make finding your local 

conservation officer easier than ever at: www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas
For your convenience, complete this page and take it with you when you are 

in the field.

Officer’s name:

Telephone Number:

If you witness a violation in progress or need to contact a conservation officer 
immediately, call Turn in Poachers (TIP) at 800 652-9093 or the nearest 
state patrol dispatch center:

Turn in Poachers
24-Hour Hotline
800-652-9093

Brainerd 
651-582-1543 
Detroit Lakes 
651-582-1415  
Duluth 
651-582-1455 

State Patrol Dispatch Centers
Metro East
651-582-1500    
Metro West 
651-582-1502 
Mankato
507-285-7410

Marshall 
507-285-7410 
Rochester
507-285-7410 
St. Cloud
651-582-1292 

Thief River Falls
651-582-1341 
Virginia
651-582-1544 

Conservation Officer Locator Web Page
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sunrise/sunset ta ble
Nine hunting time zones are shown on the map to the right. Sunrise  

and  sunset times to be used for hunting  purpos es in the “In Ta ble” zone are 
shown in the table below and at right. To de ter mine times for other zones, 
add or  sub tract, as ap pro pri ate, the minutes shown at the top of the map to 
the times shown in the table. Times shown are  Central Daylight Saving Time 
through November 1, 2014 and Central Stan dard Time there af ter.

 5:30 9:04 5:58 8:40 6:35 7:51 7:11 6:54 7:51 6:02 7:31 4:33 1
 5:31 9:03 5:59 8:39 6:36 7:49 7:12 6:52 6:51 5:01 7:32 4:33 2
 5:31 9:03 6:00 8:38 6:37 7:47 7:13 6:51 6:54 4:59 7:33 4:33 3
 5:32 9:03 6:01 8:36 6:38 7:45 7:14 6:49 6:55 4:58 7:34 4:32 4
 5:32 9:02 6:03 8:35 6:39 7:44 7:16 6:47 6:57 4:56 7:35 4:32 5
 
 5:33 9:02 6:04 8:34 6:41 7:42 7:17 6:45 6:58 4:55 7:36 4:32 6
 5:34 9:02 6:05 8:32 6:42 7:40 7:18 6:43 6:59 4:54 7:37 4:32 7
 5:35 9:01 6:06 8:31 6:43 7:38 7:19 6:41 7:01 4:53 7:38 4:32 8
 5:35 9:01 6:07 8:29 6:44 7:36 7:21 6:40 7:02 4:51 7:39 4:32 9
 5:36 9:00 6:08 8:28 6:45 7:34 7:22 6:38 7:04 4:50 7:40 4:32 10
 
 5:37 9:00 6:10 8:26 6:47 7:32 7:23 6:36 7:05 4:49 7:41 4:32 11
 5:38 8:59 6:11 8:25 6:48 7:30 7:25 6:34 7:06 4:48 7:42 4:32 12
 5:39 8:59 6:12 8:23 6:49 7:28 7:26 6:32 7:08 4:47 7:43 4:32 13
 5:39 8:58 6:13 8:22 6:50 7:27 7:27 6:31 7:09 4:46 7:44 4:32 14
 5:40 8:57 6:14 8:20 6:51 7:25 7:28 6:29 7:10 4:45 7:44 4:32 15

 5:41 8:56 6:16 8:18 6:53 7:23 7:30 6:27 7:12 4:44 7:45 4:32 16
 5:42 8:56 6:17 8:17 6:54 7:21 7:31 6:25 7:13 4:43 7:46 4:33 17
 5:43 8:55 6:18 8:15 6:55 7:19 7:32 6:24 7:14 4:42 7:46 4:33 18
 5:44 8:54 6:19 8:14 6:56 7:17 7:34 6:22 7:16 4:41 7:47 4:33 19
 5:45 8:53 6:20 8:12 6:57 7:15 7:35 6:20 7:17 4:40 7:48 4:34 20

 5:46 8:52 6:22 8:10 6:59 7:13 7:36 6:19 7:18 4:39 7:48 4:34 21
 5:47 8:51 6:23 8:09 7:00 7:11 7:38 6:17 7:20 4:39 7:49 4:35 22
 5:48 8:50 6:24 8:07 7:01 7:09 7:39 6:16 7:21 4:38 7:49 4:35 23
 5:49 8:49 6:25 8:05 7:02 7:08 7:40 6:14 7:22 4:37 7:50 4:36 24
 5:50 8:48 6:26 8:03 7:03 7:06 7:42 6:12 7:24 4:36 7:50 4:37 25

 5:51 8:47 6:28 8:02 7:05 7:04 7:43 6:11 7:25 4:36 7:50 4:37 26
 5:52 8:46 6:29 8:00 7:06 7:02 7:44 6:09 7:26 4:35 7:51 4:38 27
 5:54 8:45 6:30 7:58 7:07 7:00 7:46 6:08 7:27 4:35 7:51 4:39 28
 5:55 8:44 6:31 7:56 7:08 6:58 7:46 6:07 7:28 4:34 7:51 4:39 29
 5:56 8:43 6:32 7:55 7:09 6:56 7:48 6:05 7:30 4:34 7:51 4:40 30

 5:57 8:41 6:33 7:53   7:50 6:03   7:51 4:41 31

 Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set
 AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM

 JULY 2014 AUG 2014 SEPT 2014 OCT 2014 NOV 2014 DEC 2014 

DAY
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Sunrise/Sunset Table

Note: Times shown in the 
tables below may vary by 
specific location. For the exact 
time in your area consult a 
local airport or check online at  
mndnr.gov/sunrise-sunset.

JAN. (2015) FEB. (2015) MAR. (2015) APR. (2015) MAY (2015) JUNE (2015)

DAY
 Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set
 AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM

 1 7:52 4:42 7:33 5:21 6:52 6:00 6:55 7:41 6:03 8:18 5:30 8:52
 2 7:52 4:43 7:32 5:22 6:50 6:02 6:53 7:42 6:02 8:20 5:29 8:53
 3 7:52 4:44 7:31 5:24 6:48 6:03 6:51 7:43 6:00 8:21 5:29 8:54
 4 7:52 4:45 7:30 5:25 6:46 6:04 6:49 7:44 5:59 8:22 5:28 8:55
 5 7:51 4:46 7:29 5:27 6:45 6:06 6:47 7:46 5:57 8:23 5:28 8:56

 6 7:51 4:47 7:27 5:28 6:43 6:07 6:45 7:47 5:56 8:24 5:28 8:56
 7 7:51 4:48 7:26 5:29 6:41 6:08 6:43 7:48 5:55 8:26 5:27 8:57
 8 7:51 4:49 7:25 5:31 7:40 7:10 6:42 7:49 5:53 8:27 5:27 8:58
 9 7:51 4:50 7:23 5:32 7:37 7:11 6:40 7:51 5:52 8:28 5:27 8:58
 10 7:50 4:52 7:22 5:34 7:36 7:12 6:38 7:52 5:51 8:29 5:26 8:59
 
 11 7:50 4:53 7:20 5:35 7:34 7:14 6:36 7:53 5:49 8:30 5:26 8:59
 12 7:50 4:54 7:19 5:37 7:32 7:15 6:34 7:54 5:48 8:32 5:26 9:00
 13 7:49 4:55 7:18 5:38 7:30 7:16 6:33 7:56 5:47 8:33 5:26 9:01
 14 7:49 4:56 7:16 5:39 7:28 7:18 6:31 7:57 5:46 8:34 5:26 9:01
 15 7:48 4:58 7:15 5:41 7:26 7:19 6:29 7:58 5:45 8:35 5:26 9:01
 
 16 7:48 4:59 7:13 5:42 7:25 7:20 6:27 7:59 5:43 8:36 5:26 9:02
 17 7:47 5:00 7:12 5:44 7:23 7:21 6:26 8:01 5:42 8:37 5:26 9:02
 18 7:46 5:01 7:10 5:45 7:21 7:23 6:24 8:02 5:41 8:38 5:26 9:03
 19 7:46 5:03 7:08 5:46 7:19 7:24 6:22 8:03 5:40 8:40 5:26 9:03
 20 7:45 5:04 7:07 5:48 7:17 7:25 6:21 8:05 5:39 8:41 5:26 9:03

 21 7:44 5:05 7:05 5:49 7:15 7:27 6:19 8:06 5:38 8:42 5:26 9:03
 22 7:43 5:07 7:04 5:51 7:13 7:28 6:17 8:07 5:37 8:43 5:27 9:04
 23 7:42 5:08 7:02 5:52 7:11 7:29 6:16 8:08 5:36 8:44 5:27 9:04
 24 7:42 5:10 7:00 5:53 7:10 7:30 6:14 8:10 5:36 8:45 5:27 9:04
 25 7:41 5:11 6:59 5:55 7:08 7:32 6:12 8:11 5:35 8:46 5:27 9:04

 26 7:40 5:12 6:57 5:56 7:06 7:33 6:11 8:12 5:34 8:47 5:28 9:04
 27 7:39 5:14 6:55 5:58 7:04 7:34 6:09 8:13 5:33 8:48 5:28 9:04
 28 7:38 5:15 6:53 5:59 7:02 7:35 6:08 8:15 5:32 8:49 5:29 9:04
 29 7:37 5:17   7:00 7:37 6:06 8:16 5:32 8:50 5:29 9:04
 30 7:36 5:18   6:58 7:38 6:05 8:17 5:31 8:51 5:30 9:04

 31 7:35 5:19   6:56 7:39   5:30 8:52 
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AVOID SPREADING AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES
Aquatic invasive species (AIS) such as curly-leaf pondweed, Eurasian 

watermilfoil, and zebra mussels can do irreparable damage to wetlands and 
wildlife habitat – and faucet snails carry parasites that infect and eventually 
kill waterfowl. It is illegal to transport aquatic plants, zebra mussels, and other 
prohibited invasive species in or on boats, trailers, or other equipment, such as 
decoys and waders. 

However, waterfowl hunters may use emergent aquatic plants, such as 
cattails and bulrushes, cut above the waterline, for blinds or camouflage. Take 
these steps to prevent the spread of AIS:

• Clean aquatic plants, zebra mussels, snails, and mud from boat, motor, 
trailer, waders or hip boots, decoy lines, anchors, push poles, hunting dogs,  
and ATVs.

• Use elliptical, bulb-shaped, or strap decoy anchors to help reduce snagging 
submergent aquatic plants.

• Drain the water from boats and equipment and leave drain plugs out when 
transporting.

GIVE INVASIVE SPECIES
THE BRUSH OFF.

Help Prevent The Spread 
Of Invasive Plants and 
Animals.
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Unsinkab le Molly Brown.

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources.

Children  under 10 years old are now required to wear a life jacket 
while boating in Minnesota.* It’s smart, it’s safe, it’s the law.
*Except when boat is anchored and being used as a swimming platform or the child is below decks or in an enclosure or cabin on the craft.

DNR “Molly” 
Fishing Regs. Ad/Full Pg.
Trim Size: 5’x 8 1/4”
8/10/05
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NOTES
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Take Part In a

mndnr.gov  |  www.leskoubaoutdoors.com

Show Your Support
For Minnesota's Natural Resources
The new Critical Habitat license plate features previously 
unpublished work by Minnesota wildlife artist Les Kouba. 

When you purchase any of Minnesota's eight Critical Habitat 
license plates, your $30 annual contribution is matched 

dollar-for-dollar with private donations and DNR nongame 
wildlife checkoff funds. 

Call of the Moose Minnesota is a partnership between MN 
DNR and Les Kouba Outdoors. Portions of the proceeds from 
sales of Call of the Moose artwork and licensed products 
support DNR moose management and research.




