


This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library
as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/Irl/Irl.asp

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Alcohol

and Gambling
Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal
Apprehension

Driver
and Vehicle
Services

Emergency
Communication
Networks

Homeland
Security and
Emergency
Management

Minnesota
State Patrol

Office of
Communications

Office of
Justice Programs

Office of
Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal

Office of Traffic Safety

445 Minnesota Street » Suite 150 » Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5150
Phone: 651.201.7065 « Fax: 651.297.4844 « TTY: 651.282.6555
www.dps.mn.gov

August 2012

Drunk driving accounts for one-third of Minnesota’s traffic deaths each year, which
underscores how this issue remains a number-one public safety concern.

In the last five years, 651 people have been killed in drunk driving crashes. These fatal
crashes involved drivers or pedestrians who were at or above the 0.08 legal limit.

The impact of these preventable fatalities eclipses the fact that our state has made progress to
curb the problem in recent years. A decade ago there were 185 drunk driving deaths; in 2011,
there were 111. Meanwhile, alcohol-related crashes and DW1 arrests are trending downward.
This progress signals motorists are making safer, smarter decisions, and enhanced, targeted
enforcement and education programs are working.

This report, Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts 2011, presents the impaired driving facts and
provides a wide-range view of the problem. This publication also explains Minnesota’s
impaired driving laws. Here are key facts from 2011.:

e 368 people died in traffic crashes in Minnesota and 111 (30 percent) were crashes
involving drunk drivers.

e 2,375 people suffered injuries in alcohol-related crashes.

e 29,257 motorists were arrested for DWIs (an average of 81 DWIs per day).

e 76 percent of motorists arrested for DWI1 resulted in a criminal conviction for driving while
impaired; this percentage will increase as outstanding cases are settled in courts.

e 12,103 (41 percent) of these violators had at least one prior DWI.

e 1,903 (7 percent) of DWIs were issued to drivers less than 21 years of age.

e One out of every seven licensed drivers in Minnesota has at least one DWI.

The Office of Traffic Safety, our law enforcement partners and our Toward Zero Deaths
traffic safety advocates are committed to stopping impaired driving. We need all Minnesotans
to take responsibility and make safe, smart decisions to avoid the dangers and the
consequences of drunk driving.

Sincerely,

/LZW/ %/\/

Donna Berger
Director, Office of Traffic Safety

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER
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I. IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD

Summary

There were 29,257 impaired driving incidents that
occurred in Minnesota in 2011 and then entered onto
people’s driving records. That’s a 2% decrease from the
previous year. Eighty-eight percent of the incidents
involved taking a test for alcohol or drugs;” 12%
involved a test refusal.” A few incidents (13--less than
1%) involved both a test failure and a test refusal (for
example, an alcohol test refusal and a drug test failure).
A small number of the total incidents included a
conviction for “criminal vehicular operation” resulting
in a fatality (12 such incidents) or injury (132 such
incidents).

“Not-a-Drop” and “Disqual” violations

Two types of incidents are reported in Table 1.01 but
not otherwise considered as “impaired driving
incidents” in this report. First, there are “not-a-drop”
violations. (The Not-A-Drop law was passed in 1993
and applies to persons under age 21, making it illegal
for them to drive while having any amount of alcohol in
their blood.) The number of such violations rose
steadily from 1,386, in 1994, to close to 3,700 in 1999,
but then dropped rather sharply in the past decade to
1,097 in 2011.

The second violation type has the jargon-like name
“disqual.”  This refers to an incident where a
commercial vehicle driver is tested and found to have an
alcohol concentration of .04% or higher. Such a driver
will then be disqualified from operating a commercial
vehicle. These incidents are somewhat rare. There
were only 15 in 2011. (Note that if the commercial
driver has an AC over the per se illegal level, then the
incident will be counted as a conviction or an implied
consent violation; it will still trigger the disqualification,
but it will not be counted here as a “disqual.”)

When do incidents occur?

There is high consistency year after year with respect to
when drinking and driving occurs in terms of days of
the week. Year 2011 was similar to past years:
Mondays through Thursdays had comparatively few
incidents. Then Fridays accounted for 16%, Sundays
for 23%, and Saturdays for 27% of all incidents.

“ The tests are usually for alcohol, but they might be for
controlled substances. In 2011, there were 867 incidents
(involving either an implied consent violation or a criminal
conviction, or both) for driving while impaired by controlled
substances.

T Test refusals used to be higher. For example in 1992, 21%
of all incidents involved a test refusal.
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Alcohol concentration levels remain steady

In 1997 the Legislature adopted special sanction
provisions effective in January 1998 for high-AC
offenders (0.20% or higher), and alcohol test results
began to be available starting in 1998. There may be
some decline among high-scoring violators; there were
5,551 in the over 0.20% category in 2002, then 4,768 in
2011. This represents a 14% decline. (Note that the
Legislature adopted special sanction provisions
effective in July 2011 for high-AC offenders (0.16% or
higher).

Average alcohol level among first-time violators
was 0.155% in 2002 and 0.148% in 2011. Second-or-
subsequent violators averaged 0.170% in 2002 and
0.165% in 2011. These lower alcohol concentration
levels are to be expected in some degree due to the
lower .08 per se level that went into effect 08/01/2005.

Who are the violators?

Driver license files provide only limited data on who the
drinking drivers are. However, there is a strong
relationship between age and impaired driving.
Twenty-to-thirty-four year-olds accounted for 55% of
the impaired driving incidents in 2011. In addition,
there were 1,903 impaired driving incidents among
underage drivers. This is especially disturbing since it
is illegal to drink in Minnesota if you are less than 21
years of age.

In addition, there is an exceedingly strong
relationship between gender and impaired driving.
Most succinctly put, the problem is concentrated in the
young adult male population. In 2011, males committed
73% of the impaired incidents (for which gender of the
violator was reported).

Surprisingly, even though the seven-county twin-
cities metro area is growing in population relative to the
non-metro area, a decreasing proportion of DWI
incidents are occurring there: In 1992, 53% of all
incidents occurred in the 7 county metro area, but in
2011, just 51% of all incidents occurred there.

Recidivism: 40% of violators were recidivists
Section IV will look at recidivism more closely. In
general, though, in recent years, about 60 percent of all
violators had no prior alcohol incidents on record, and
40 percent did. There is an interesting violation pattern
among the recidivists: About half of those who incur a
second incident go on to incur a third. About half those
who incur a third go on to incur a fourth, and so on.

Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety



TABLE 1.01
OVERVIEW OF IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, 1992 - 2011

Impaired Driving Incidents (“DWIs”) Related
Incidents
Criminal
Vehicular
Operation
Year Total Im- Crim- Tests Tests Both Fa- In- Drugs Not Com-
plied inal Taken Refused Taken tality  jury A mercial
Con- Con- & Ref. Drop Vehicle
sent  viction
1) 2 3) (4) () (6) ) (8) ) (10) (11)

1992 30,841 30,101 25,338 24,407 6,423 11 34 79 10 20

1993 30,088 29,334 25,107 24586 5,489 13 42 101 10 587 15

1994 29,748 28,855 24,834 24,524 5,208 16 44 92 14 1,386 20

1995 30,402 29,249 25,139 24,869 5,507 26 41 41 25 1,611 17

1996 30,923 29,687 25,718 25,512 5,405 6 43 43 50 2,181 18

1997 31,380 29,940 26,269 26,330 5,024 26 22 209 128 2,865 15

1998 32,422 30,888 27,136 27,483 4,774 165 40 209 218 3,245 21

1999 34,575 32,800 29,314 29,581 4,875 119 27 250 207 3,691 12

2000 35,034 33,329 29,292 30,007 4,886 141 38 250 334 3,607 15

2001 33,532 32,074 27,981 28,611 4,839 82 15 146 397 3,287 14

2002 33,163 31,911 27,447 28,308 4,767 88 29 182 404 3,163 14

2003 32,266 30,991 26,210 27,591 4,489 186 20 262 528 2,737 9

2004 34,202 32,811 27,907 29,501 4,478 223 13 207 681 2,679 7

2005 37,002 35,215 30,534 32,224 4,633 145 25 248 832 2,424 16

2006 41951 40,425 34,528 36,893 4,942 116 20 240 706 2,406 13

2007 38,669 37,278 31,876 33,947 4,664 58 45 203 637 2,052 31

2008 35,794 34,497 29,509 31,492 4,292 10 26 189 625 1,679 10

2009 32,756 31,662 24,198 28,831 3,915 10 27 155 758 1,356 23

2010 29,918 28,838 22,153 26,366 3,545 7 21 146 860 1,177 15

2011 29,257 28,204 22,175 25,713 3,631 13 12 132 867 1,097 15

Column Notes:

(1)  Column 1 counts the total number of impaired driving (7-8) Criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offenses are
incidents in Minnesota. Columns 2 through 9 are divided into CVO resulting in a fatality (column 7) or
subsets of column 1. CVO resulting in any type of bodily injury, all

(2) Almost all incidents include the civil-law “implied collapsed into (column 8).
consent” violation either of (i) taking and “failing” the (9) Incidents counted in (9) involved an implied consent
test for alcohol or controlled substances (“drugs”), or violation or a criminal conviction, or both, for
(i) refusing to take the test. driving while impaired by a controlled substance

(3) In 2011, 76% of all incidents were known to involve a (“drugs”). See additional detail in Table 1.02.
criminal conviction for driving while impaired by (10) The “not-a-drop” law, making it illegal for persons
alcohol or drugs (as of June 01, 2012—the date on under age 21 to drive while having any amount of
which statistics for this report were compiled). This alcohol whatsoever (as opposed to being over the
percentage is understated. As judicial outcomes are per-se illegal level) took effect June 1, 1993.
decided well into the future, the criminal conviction (11) Commercial vehicle drivers found to have an alcohol
percentage will increase to approximately 85%. concentration of .04% or higher, but less than the per

(4-6) An incident may involve taking of a test, and a test se illegal level, are disqualified from operating a

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2011

refusal. For example, a person may take a test for
alcohol, and refuse a test for drugs.
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commercial vehicle.
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TABLE 1.02

“IMPLIED CONSENTS” VERSUS CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS,
VERSUS BOTH, UNDER THREE ARREST SCENARIQS, 1992 - 2011

Incidents Involvinga  Incidents Involving a
Test for Alcohol Test for Drugs

Incidents Involving All Episodes
Refusal of Test for
Alcohol or Drugs

Year IC CC IC+ Total IC CC IC+ Total

IC CC IC+ Total IC CC IC+ Total

only only CC only only CC only only CC only only CC
% % % N % % N % % Y N % %N N
1992 16 3 81 24386 O 86 14 7 23 0 77 6433 18 2 80 30,841
1993 17 3 80 245566 O 78 22 9 16 0 84 5499 16 3 81 30,088
1994 17 3 80 24497 O 92 8 12 16 1 83 5221 16 3 81 29,748
1995 18 4 78 24837 0 100 0 25 16 1 83 5527 17 4 79 30,402
1996 17 ® 78 25457 0 100 0 44 14 1 85 5410 17 4 79 30,923
1997 17 5 78 26,190 18 64 18 123 14 1 85 5048 16 5 79 31,380
1998 16 5 79 27,261 30 39 31 210 15 1 84 4937 16 5 79 32,422
1999 15 6 79 29,363 34 38 28 200 14 1 85 4990 15 5 80 34,575
2000 16 5 79 29,676 32 44 24 325 14 1 84 5024 16 5 79 35,034
2001 16 5 79 28,222 37 21 42 389 14 1 85 4919 16 5 79 33,532
2002 17 4 79 27917 34 21 45 404 14 1 85 4854 17 4 79 33,163
2003 17 5 78 27,152 37 19 44 528 15 1 84 4673 17 4 79 32,266
2004 16 5 79 28,953 39 17 44 674 14 1 85 4702 17 4 79 34,202
2005 17 5 78 31,409 36 15 49 815 17 2 81 4778 17 5 78 37,002
2006 17 4 79 36,203 39 14 47 690 17 1 83 5058 18 4 79 41,951
2007 18 4 79 33327 35 21 45 620 15 1 84 4722 18 4 79 38,669
2008 18 4 79 30,890 38 20 42 602 15 1 84 4302 18 4 79 35,794
2009 26 3 71 28,105 52 14 34 726 21 2 78 3925 26 3 71 32,756
2010 26 3 70 25,528 47 16 37 838 20 1 79 3552 26 4 70 29,918
2011 24 3 73 24,880 50 17 33 833 20 2 78 3544 24 4 72 29,257
Note: By driving, a person implies consent to a test for alcohol, if

A given incident, at the point of arrest, could involve only a
test for alcohol, or only a test for drugs, or tests for both, or a
refusal of both, or a test for one and a refusal of a test for the
other. Incidents were classified into the first arrest scenario
(involving test for alcohol) only if (1) there was no test for
drugs, and (2) there was no refusal. An incident was
classified into the second arrest scenario (involving a test for
drugs) if there was any test for drugs, even if there may also
have been a test for alcohol. No incident that involved any
refusal was classified into the first or second groups. All
incidents where the arrest involved any refusal were classified
into the third scenario (involving a test refusal) above.

In United States law, the term “conviction” refers to a
finding of guilt—either because a person pled guilty or was
found guilty—for an offense under criminal law. Minnesota
first defined driving while intoxicated to be a crime in 1911.
Minnesota first passed the civil Implied Consent law in 1961:
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required to take a test by an officer who has probable cause to
suspect impairment. As amended over the years, the Implied
Consent law now instructs the Commissioner of Public Safety
to withdraw a person’s driver license if the person refuses to
take a test for alcohol, or for controlled substances (“drugs”),
or if the person takes the test and ‘fails’ it by testing over a
defined per-se illegal level (in the case of alcohol, set, since
August 1, 2005, at .08%). Additionally, in 1992, Minnesota
defined test refusal to be a crime, effective January 1, 1993.

The license withdrawal under the civil law occurs
independently of the outcome of proceedings under the criminal
law. Thus, an impaired driving incident for which there is an
arrest may then lead to a revocation under the civil law (an
“implied consent”—“IC” in the table above), or a criminal
conviction (“CC” in the above table), or, most commonly, both
(“IC+CC”).

Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety



TABLE 1.03
IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY MONTH, 1992 — 2011

Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Total

1992 2,460 2,454 2,722 2515 2881 2623 2,748 2885 2558 2,608 2,283 2,104 30,841
1993 2,194 2,156 2460 2505 2959 2436 2,735 2,785 2581 2,689 2246 2,342 30,088
1994 2,101 2,047 2548 2599 2,714 2434 2800 2471 2499 2,618 2,239 2,678 29,748
1995 2,176 2,190 2,441 2,744 2,582 2,393 2,732 2,647 2815 2579 2213 2,890 30,402
1996 2120 2,207 2,625 2448 2875 2,772 2,753 2909 2,632 2,581 2420 2,581 30,923
1997 2,289 2437 2654 2586 2948 2610 2,735 3,033 2353 2454 2608 2673 31,380
1998 2434 2391 2448 2500 2993 2,658 2937 2951 2,782 2,857 2,663 2,808 32422
1999 2,617 2497 2,780 2,746 3,194 2,765 3,029 2936 2974 3,131 2,798 3,108 34,575
2000 2,883 2,724 3,015 2918 2960 2904 3,184 2838 2995 2,997 2,559 3,057 35,034
2001 2822 2426 2989 2600 2869 2,795 2,892 2,798 2,806 2,793 2,616 3,126 33,532
2002 2,722 2,460 2,796 2,582 2,812 2,806 2910 3,045 2,741 2,648 2,693 2,948 33,163
2003 2,464 2321 2,747 2469 2,645 2,714 3,104 2933 2635 2,863 2,738 2,633 32,266
2004 2,796 2,706 2909 2,706 2970 2,769 3,123 3,168 2,814 2918 2583 2,740 34,202
2005 2,587 2857 2843 3,058 3,026 2827 3379 3,496 3215 3328 2968 3,418 37,002
2006 3479 3,184 3604 3,473 3,493 3568 3,722 3,750 3,657 3,141 3,231 3,649 41,951
2007 3,019 2,726 3,408 3,083 3,326 3,363 3,404 3435 3,388 2971 3,079 3,467 38,669
2008 3,065 2916 3,168 2,711 3,180 2,958 3,436 3,020 2,641 2,902 3,042 2,755 35794
2009 2,889 2550 2881 2703 296 2561 2816 3,003 2685 2511 2628 2563 32,756
2010 2,541 2507 2689 2463 2655 235 2623 2,651 2394 2566 2,106 2,367 29,918
2011 2,370 2334 2478 2457 2509 2428 2694 2591 2320 2450 2,068 2558 29,257

TABLE 1.04
IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY DAY OF WEEK, 1992 — 2011

Year Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday  Saturday Total

1992 6,489 2,146 2,463 3,049 3,713 4,963 8,018 30,841
1993 6,202 2,264 2,465 2,905 3,511 5,083 7,658 30,088
1994 6,048 2,302 2,328 2,661 3,535 5,089 7,785 29,748
1995 6,600 2,274 2,476 2,717 3,436 4,977 7,922 30,402
1996 6,413 2,490 2,505 2,799 3,571 5,131 8,014 30,923
1997 6,488 2,331 2,436 3,111 3,426 5,339 8,249 31,380
1998 6,909 2,384 2,490 2,942 3,961 5,398 8,338 32,422
1999 7,470 2,446 2,540 3,116 3,992 6,017 8,994 34,575
2000 7,640 2,375 2,623 3,138 3,872 5,774 9,612 35,034
2001 7,316 2,566 2,564 3,002 3,893 5,558 8,633 33,532
2002 7,098 2,451 2,736 3,116 3,912 5,492 8,358 33,163
2003 6,803 2,391 2,564 3,311 3,607 5,319 8,271 32,266
2004 7,570 2,389 2,593 3,204 4,085 5,468 8,893 34,202
2005 8,105 2,698 2,838 3,252 4,161 6,113 9,835 37,002
2006 9,563 2,854 3,236 3,730 4,684 6,766 11,118 41,951
2007 8,682 2,934 2,853 3,617 4,341 6,147 10,095 38,669
2008 7,991 2,481 2,912 3,115 3,910 5,826 9,559 35,794
2009 7,511 2,275 2,513 2,977 3,864 5,028 8,588 32,756
2010 6,866 2,120 2,227 2,616 3,368 5,069 7,652 29,918
2011 6,715 2,238 2,102 2,461 3,175 4,680 7,886 29,257
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TABLE 1.05
ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION TEST RESULTS ON DRIVERS
WHO INCURRED IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, 2002 - 2011

Year .01- .05- .08- .10- 15- .20- .25-  .30- .35+ Average Total Not Total
-.04 -.07 -.09 -.14 -.19 -.24 -.29 -.34 A.C. Tests Tested Incidents
2002
First 1 6 46 8,083 6,373 2,166 459 100 19 .155 17,253 2,321 19,574
Repeat 0 5 49 3,563 3,979 1,981 626 156 44 170 10,403 3,186 13,589
All 1 11 95 11,646 10,352 4,147 1,085 256 63 .161 27,656 5,507 33,163
2003
First 6 3 35 7830 6,317 2,165 438 83 29 155 16,906 2,272 19,178
Repeat 3 5 30 3,366 3,948 1,968 552 144 38 .170 10,054 3,034 13,088
All 9 8 65 11,196 10,265 4,133 990 227 67 .161 26,960 5,306 32,266
2004
First 2 6 41 8,462 6,639 2,275 489 76 14 155 18,004 2,395 20,399
Repeat 2 2 23 3,659 4,256 2,003 571 150 43  .169 10,709 3,094 13,803
All 4 8 64 12,121 10,895 4,278 1,060 226 57 .160 28,713 5,489 34,202
2005
First 0 13 1,080 9,118 6,857 2,219 457 82 21 150 19,847 2,667 22,514
Repeat 1 5 429 3,839 4,066 2,061 632 155 35 .166 11,223 3,265 14,488
All 1 18 1,509 12,957 10,923 4,280 1,089 237 56 .155 31,070 5,932 37,002
2006
First 2 16 3,055 9,977 7,062 2,403 472 99 27 144 23,113 2,877 25,990
Repeat 0 9 1,095 4324 4,163 2,097 633 149 27 .160 12,497 3,464 15,961
All 2 25 4,150 14,301 11,225 4,500 1,105 248 54 149 35,610 6,341 41,951
2007
First 2 8 2525 9,008 6455 2,215 433 82 8 .145 20,736 2,917 23,653
Repeat 0 4 978 4,006 3,924 2,060 601 160 28 .161 11,761 3,255 15,016
All 2 12 3,503 13,014 10,379 4,275 1,034 242 36 .151 32,497 6,172 38,669
2008
First 0 6 2,168 8,048 5,993 2,085 475 85 21 .146 18,881 2,508 21,389
Repeat 0 2 880 3,775 3,776 1,975 616 137 35 .162 11,196 3,209 14,405
All 0 8 3,048 11,823 9,769 4,060 1,091 222 56 .152 30,007 5,717 35,794
2009
First 1 4 2045 7,130 5,310 1,920 425 95 18 .147 16,948 2,346 19,294
Repeat 0 1 825 3,458 3,488 1,889 5901 157 41 163 10,450 3,012 13,462
All 1 5 2,870 10,588 8,798 3,809 1,016 252 59 153 27,398 5,358 32,756
2010
First 1 4 1,738 6,317 4,687 1,838 446 111 21 .148 15,163 2,319 17,482
Repeat 1 0 710 3,128 3,264 1,807 597 126 43 165 9,676 2,760 12,436
All 2 4 2,448 9,445 7,951 3,645 1,043 237 64 .155 24,839 5,079 29,918
2011
First 1 6 1,746 6,178 4595 1,712 406 91 26 .148 14,761 2,393 17,154
Repeat 0 0 729 3,004 3,186 1,742 593 154 44 166 9,452 2,651 12,103
All 1 6 2,475 9,182 7,781 3,454 999 245 70 .155 24,213 5,044 29,257
Notes: 0.08% since August 1, 2005. Among those arrested,

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2011

(1) The row heading “First” designates alcohol test results on
first-time violators; the heading “Repeat” designates results
on persons with one or more prior incidents on their record.
The column “Not Tested” means no alcohol test result was
reported; tests for specific controlled substances may have
been reported but are not identified on computerized driver
records.

(2) The per se illegal AC was 0.10% (one-tenth of one
percent, or one part per thousand, of a person’s blood, when
expressed as a BAC) from 1971 to July 31, 2005, and is
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concentrations below the per se level are rare, even though,
due to human variation, a person may be quite impaired at
lower levels. An unintended consequence of adopting the per
se law in 1971 was that the alcohol concentration, rather than
actual impairment, became the standard for making an
impaired driving arrest. However, drivers may still be
arrested and may still incur impaired driving violations while
having lower alcohol concentrations. Also, drug-impaired
driving often occurs together with alcohol-impaired driving.
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TABLE 1.06

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY
GENDER OF VIOLATOR, 1992 - 2011

Year Male Female Not Stated Total

1002 24787 5 561 473 30,841 Note: The table at left makes it
1993 24165 5466 457 30,088 ?ppearhthat the d”“”?bef otf \Q'T?OTS
1994 23225 5303 1220 29,748 for whom gender 15 not stated 1S
1995 23,383 5,452 1,568 30,402 increasing over time. This is not so.
1996 23,938 5,449 1,536 30,923 If a person arrested for DWI does not
1997 24,073 5,816 1,491 31,380 have a Minnesota driving record, one
1333 53’823 2’;28 i'ggg gig% is created showing name and date of
2000 26,027 6.823 2184 35034 birth, but not gender. As years pass,
2001 24,771 6,562 2,200 33,532 many of these persons subsequently
2002 24,200 6,626 2,338 33,163 obtain a Minnesota driver license,
2003 23,327 6,589 2,351 32,266 causing gender to be entered on
3882 ;gvﬁi g'igg g?gg g%g; record. The table at left merely takes
2006 20161 9.410 3380 41951 advanta_ge of current information to
2007 26680 8.907 3.082 38.669 categorize the gender of persons
2008 24,426 8,524 2,845 35,794 arrested in prior years.

2009 22,244 7,955 2,558 32,756

2010 20,056 7,446 2,416 29,918

2011 19,851 7,280 2,126 29,257

TABLE 1.07

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS AMONG UNDER-21 DRIVERS,
BY AGE, 1992 - 2011

Year 0-14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Under 21
1992 3 13 112 290 595 824 1,036 2,873
1993 5 6 88 254 500 743 840 2,436
1994 4 7 107 237 545 643 766 2,309
1995 1 20 115 241 518 724 813 2,432
1996 3 11 138 304 617 800 833 2,706
1997 4 18 106 279 639 768 894 2,708
1998 2 17 105 301 679 890 929 2,923
1999 4 18 116 290 744 1,002 1,046 3,220
2000 4 10 127 330 710 991 1,116 3,288
2001 1 15 121 276 643 924 1,042 3,022
2002 7 12 123 306 659 862 1,100 3,069
2003 3 21 117 280 692 914 1,069 3,096
2004 3 13 106 301 679 891 1,014 3,007
2005 5 16 118 345 708 1,032 1,238 3,462
2006 6 24 138 394 859 1,280 1,354 4,055
2007 4 11 126 324 714 1,065 1,210 3,454
2008 6 14 104 269 634 888 1,047 2,962
2009 6 6 75 197 524 801 896 2,505
2010 4 9 54 139 425 667 804 2,102
2011 1 5 55 154 362 578 748 1,903
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TABLE 1.08
IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY AGE GROUP OF VIOLATOR, 1992 - 2011

Year 0-14 15-19 20-24 25-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59 60-64 65-69 70-74 75+ Unk Total

1992 3 1,834 6,933 6,288 5869 3,915 2,499 1479 830 511 360 172 100 48 0 30,841
1993 5 1,591 6,366 5,933 5,822 4,292 2574 1506 871 511 296 184 94 43 0 30,088
1994 4 1,539 5,821 5,604 5816 4,221 2,894 1,756 852 568 342 188 82 60 1 29,748
1995 1 1,618 5,877 5,549 5844 4,554 3,046 1,742 956 553 324 185 92 60 1 30,402
1996 3 1,870 5,806 5,593 5459 4,791 3,180 1,927 1,010 595 318 214 97 60 O 30,923
1997 4 1,810 5,816 5,727 5,082 4,974 3,355 2,112 1,169 621 341 206 97 65 1 31,380
1998 2 1,992 6,256 5,600 4,905 5,224 3,637 2,258 1,155 676 339 195 103 75 5 32,422
1999 4 2,170 7,403 5,853 4,915 5,254 3,853 2,370 1,330 671 404 192 96 60 O 34,575
2000 4 2,168 7,776 5,859 4,831 5116 3,944 2,485 1,399 694 372 194 119 72 1 35,034
2001 1 1,979 7912 5457 4573 4,438 3,910 2,462 1,457 651 338 192 100 61 1 33,532
2002 7 1,962 8,148 5,287 4,374 4,054 3,880 2,502 1,454 752 358 197 105 83 0 33,163
2003 3 2,024 8,209 5,411 4,004 3,632 3,650 2,465 1,378 754 381 188 97 67 3 32,266
2004 3 1990 8,699 5,892 4,253 3,654 3,825 2,709 1,637 789 425 166 93 67 0 34,202
2005 5 2,219 9,615 6,829 4,386 3,790 3,855 2,934 1,669 922 409 213 92 62 2 37,002
2006 6 2,695 11,056 8,067 4,767 4,138 4,026 3,338 1,986 1,029 448 225 108 61 1 41951
2007 4 2,240 9,874 7,398 4,482 3,946 3,627 3,171 1912 1,101 492 262 93 66 1 38,669
2008 6 1,909 8,623 6,880 4,508 3,587 3,280 2,998 1,945 1,110 553 229 101 65 0O 35,794
2009 6 1,603 7,570 6,394 4,097 3,386 2,937 2,873 1,893 1,055 541 225 119 56 1 32,756
2010 4 1,294 6,821 5,776 3,934 2918 2,671 2,565 1914 1,086 543 234 98 60 0 29,918
2011 1 1,154 6,505 5,837 3,895 2,778 2,671 2,393 1,904 1,084 608 231 120 73 3 29,257

TABLE 1.09

IMPAIRED DRIVNG INCIDENTS IN TWIN CITIES METRO AND
NON-METRO AREAS, 1992 - 2011

Twin Cities Non-Metro Area Total
Metro Area
Year number percent number percent number percent

1992 16,311 52.9 14,530 47.1 30,841  100.0
1993 15,587 51.8 14,501 48.2 30,088  100.0
1994 15,471 52.0 14,277 48.0 29,748  100.0
1995 15,716 51.7 14,686 48.3 30,402  100.0
1996 15,952 51.6 14,971 48.4 30,923  100.0
1997 16,153 515 15,227 48.5 31,380  100.0
1998 16,722 51.6 15,700 48.4 32,422  100.0
1999 17,144 495 17,431 50.4 34,575  100.0
2000 16,821 48.0 18,213 52.0 35,034  100.0
2001 16,347 48.8 17,185 51.2 33,532 100.0
2002 16,208 48.9 16,955 51.1 33,163  100.0
2003 16,000 49.6 16,266 50.4 32,266  100.0
2004 16,734  48.9 17,468 511 34,202  100.0
2005 17,867 48.3 19,135 51.7 37,002  100.0
2006 20,532 48.9 21,419 51.1 41,951  100.0
2007 18,764 485 19,905 51.5 38,669  100.0
2008 17,787 49.7 18,007 50.3 35,794  100.0
2009 16,253 49.6 16,503 50.4 32,756  100.0
2010 15,146 50.6 14,772 49.4 29,918  100.0
2011 14,888 50.9 14,369 49.1 29,257  100.0
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TABLE 1.10
IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY COUNTY OF ARREST, 2000 - 2011

County 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011

Aitkin 222 233 245 199 159 215 208 248 159 134 104 138
Anoka 2,172 1,867 1,711 1,708 1,942 2,055 2,159 2,338 2,132 1,912 1,678 1,445
Becker 541 418 465 334 342 438 521 383 325 271 275 255
Beltrami 383 403 447 432 434 354 446 509 536 419 375 430
Benton 259 242 266 273 255 265 344 359 293 246 196 156
Big Stone 15 31 40 40 33 24 47 35 27 20 24 20
Blue Earth 552 592 596 595 544 644 679 614 598 643 468 397
Brown 168 139 151 192 219 149 176 162 149 141 126 118
Carlton 271 301 307 312 344 401 411 252 230 241 258 245
Carver 255 308 337 341 409 415 432 395 375 283 284 331
Cass 250 235 245 193 256 289 398 367 271 245 228 221
Chippewa 68 80 97 107 102 114 145 97 97 49 76 56
Chisago 312 367 301 321 391 374 374 370 317 310 236 214
Clay 608 534 564 615 785 803 743 682 545 576 567 511
Clearwater 101 85 72 66 67 68 57 57 75 81 91 48
Cook 74 72 64 62 44 75 101 61 42 47 38 30
Cottonwood 53 41 61 57 74 55 55 72 75 55 57 69
Crow Wing 519 468 414 431 529 659 716 648 586 509 421 365
Dakota 2,635 2,756 2,775 2,522 2,415 2,652 3,007 2,906 2,520 2,337 2,057 2,035
Dodge 120 168 149 98 103 148 153 163 127 100 83 104
Douglas 254 254 231 213 222 245 258 265 300 266 227 213
Faribault 109 100 106 67 59 69 91 101 79 57 59 64
Fillmore 141 142 145 103 121 111 142 116 102 90 92 88
Freeborn 285 303 279 224 223 243 203 184 168 190 204 198
Goodhue 350 344 298 298 285 387 528 402 444 384 335 347
Grant 27 22 32 46 27 42 53 37 40 40 28 22
Hennepin 6,857 6,439 6,669 7,086 7,355 7,541 8,602 7,790 7,498 6,783 6,307 6,769
Houston 181 208 162 136 134 143 154 170 155 121 108 109
Hubbard 154 121 142 139 108 154 183 165 117 137 111 164
Isanti 194 172 162 158 237 250 363 256 187 161 138 150
Itasca 366 293 272 236 314 497 585 459 342 386 280 319
Jackson 69 63 47 43 46 51 82 97 68 59 65 63
Kanabec 170 112 103 101 103 96 104 150 124 81 104 110
Kandiyohi 274 275 286 245 290 288 321 269 296 279 215 226
Kittson 21 11 11 21 23 24 23 20 24 18 15 22
Koochiching 106 87 124 96 81 64 97 109 97 89 92 81
Lac Qui Parle 33 18 32 27 18 36 45 47 35 38 39 26
Lake 66 40 49 43 63 59 66 71 53 62 72 42
Lake of the Woods 30 32 26 75 64 78 66 39 47 50 38 35
Le Sueur 176 141 156 133 168 151 181 181 151 155 107 107
Lincoln 11 10 13 8 15 29 31 38 25 23 26 22
Lyon 186 233 174 182 159 215 201 166 193 177 173 139
McLeod 265 276 256 268 233 266 366 290 281 222 173 182
Mahnomen 122 121 129 108 118 130 98 113 114 104 96 107
Marshall 33 34 36 38 41 57 50 58 61 35 37 42
Martin 150 135 150 142 135 134 120 181 152 118 126 90
Meeker 131 91 115 86 110 118 147 145 123 95 94 60
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TABLE 1.10 (Continued)
IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY COUNTY OF ARREST, 2000 - 2011

County 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011
Mille Lacs 411 354 302 251 285 301 348 288 236 233 221 189
Morrison 249 219 195 182 165 195 207 211 199 171 186 155
Mower 376 352 344 345 294 321 306 343 414 303 262 275
Murray 29 35 41 39 25 31 35 37 37 25 19 21
Nicollet 263 307 351 287 281 320 362 255 239 188 176 170
Nobles 186 150 182 183 162 190 185 186 175 166 149 115
Norman 26 27 49 23 20 55 55 43 28 37 22 50
Olmsted 855 828 802 695 772 878 832 1,015 998 973 865 943
Otter Tail 321 343 322 342 404 414 428 435 346 299 335 294
Pennington 118 116 117 89 120 125 119 107 96 63 74 66
Pine 253 283 234 250 324 335 349 275 261 200 198 170
Pipestone 74 71 46 42 50 69 60 74 61 45 45 47
Polk 316 310 298 309 324 272 302 282 265 271 254 231
Pope 79 95 79 67 65 84 73 62 56 49 50 39
Ramsey 2,867 2,856 2,659 2,330 2,394 2,634 3,234 2912 2,995 2,862 2,946 2,666
Red Lake 36 46 43 41 34 47 79 71 53 43 36 30
Redwood 79 72 83 79 110 127 148 152 117 139 95 87
Renville 87 83 101 108 127 133 159 111 101 103 136 122
Rice 532 451 415 418 405 338 348 433 408 363 327 329
Rock 45 27 42 59 46 53 63 54 38 29 36 51
Roseau 129 111 128 115 158 159 141 127 145 147 91 113
St. Louis 1661 1465 1,447 1330 1,488 1601 1,724 1561 1590 1,657 1,313 1,262
Scott 698 745 664 683 903 1,119 1,253 1,068 955 816 760 632
Sherburne 471 372 396 386 466 577 801 689 584 534 469 412
Sibley 107 136 121 100 133 112 123 129 84 65 53 41
Stearns 1,033 893 773 937 986 1,145 1,335 1,300 1,067 1,021 968 951
Steele 251 220 175 191 224 254 290 244 210 227 217 189
Stevens 40 31 37 52 50 46 40 44 43 42 27 51
Swift 48 53 44 59 42 42 64 51 57 41 37 66
Todd 158 144 153 112 134 165 241 206 141 147 107 81
Traverse 24 35 33 19 24 21 22 16 15 6 15 8
Wabasha 216 151 163 186 137 152 199 172 178 184 132 131
Wadena 81 90 71 105 81 92 127 112 99 89 70 66
Waseca 116 129 123 143 110 117 151 149 124 88 77 84
Washington 1,337 1376 1,393 1,330 1,316 1,451 1,845 1,355 1,312 1,260 1,114 1,010
Watonwan 52 98 87 76 75 97 103 84 63 60 36 50
Wilkin 66 80 71 71 61 50 72 78 58 42 52 71
Winona 385 329 406 360 492 420 380 359 39 339 350 332
Wright 525, 545 580 570 643 695 881 839 675 512 476 592
Yellow Medicine 95 87 81 82 73 90 135 103 120 78 119 80

Totals: 35,034 33,532 33,163 32,266 34,202 37,002 41,951 38,669 35,794 32,756 29,918 29,257
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TABLE 1.11

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, BY TOTAL NUMBER ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD
Part 1: 1996 — 2003

Total 1996 1996 1997 1997 1998 1998 1999 1999 2000 2000 2001 2001 2002 2002 2003 2003
Number Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per-
ber cent ber cent ber «cent ber cent ber cent ber «cent ber cent ber cent

16,858 54.5 17,258 55.0 18,232 56.2 19,684 56.9 20,304 58.0 19,473 58.1 19,580 59.0 19,189 59.5
6,550 21.8 6,713 214 6,764 209 7,455 216 7,445 213 7,117 212 7,035 212 6,886 21.3
3,657 11.8 3,554 113 3,505 108 3,668 10.6 3,566 10.2 3,438 103 3,249 9.8 3,134 9.7
1,750 57 1,799 57 1861 57 1,782 52 1727 49 1670 50 1574 47 1494 46
916 3.0 885 2.8 891 2.7 848 2.5 870 2.5 789 24 733 2.2 630 2.0
498 0.8 470 15 474 1.5 444 1.3 449 13 422 13 393 1.2 395 1.2
259 0.6 267 0.9 274 0.8 252 0.7 241 0.7 246 0.7 235 0.7 218 0.7
176 0.3 153 0.5 177 0.5 171 0.5 158 0.5 119 04 111 0.3 127 0.4
93 0.2 108 0.3 89 03 101 0.3 95 0.3 81 0.2 89 0.3 68 0.2
10 51 0.1 63 0.2 57 0.2 57 0.2 60 0.2 70 0.2 46 0.1 33 0.1

O oo ~NOoOTE, WN -

11 47 * 43 01 31 01 42 01 39 0.1 38 0.1 34 01 30 0.1
12 29 * 18 01 22 01 27 0.1 31 01 18 0.1 25 0.1 26 0.1
13 14 * 22 01 5 * 13 * 15 * 19 01 23 0.1 9 *
14 7 * 8 * 19 0.1 10 * 6 * 12 * 12 * 9 *
15 5 * 6 * 6 * 11 * 7 * 6 * 11 * 8 *
16 2 * 4 * 6 * 4 * 8 * 5 * 3 * 3 *
17 5 * 2 * 3 * 4 * 3 * 3 * 6 * 3 *
18 4 * 3 * 2 * 1 * 3 * 2 * 1 * 1 *
19 2 * 1 * 1 * 1 * 4 * 0 0 0 0 0 0
20 0 0 2 * 1 * 0 0 1 * 3 * 0 0 1 *
21 0 0 1 * 1 * 0 0 2 * 0 0 1 * 1 *
22 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 * 0 0
23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
24 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 1 *
25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Totals: 30,923 100 31,380 100 32,422 100 34,575 100 35,034 100 33,532 100 33,163 100 32,266 100

Table continues on next page
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TABLE 1.11

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, BY TOTAL NUMBER ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD
Part 11: 2004 — 2011

Total 2004 2004 2005 2005 2006 2006 2007 2007 2008 2008 2009 2009 2010 2010 2011 2011
Number Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per- Num- Per-
ber cent ber cent ber cent ber cent ber cent ber cent ber cent ber cent

1 20,399 59.6 22,514 60.9 25990 62.0 23,653 61.2 21,389 59.8 19,294 589 17,482 58.4 17,154 58.6
2 7,430 21.7 7,965 215 8,974 21.4 8,489 220 8,066 225 7,462 228 6,818 228 6,637 22.7
3 3,313 9.7 3462 94 385 92 3570 9.2 3503 98 3,373 103 3,155 106 3,137 10.7
4 1,495 44 1526 41 1620 39 1558 40 1510 42 1420 43 1366 46 1273 4.4
5 673 2.0 690 1.9 711 1.7 651 1.7 625 1.8 557 1.7 549 1.8 462 1.6
6 353 1.0 353 1.0 344 0.8 329 0.8 293 0.8 264 0.8 224 0.8 253 0.9
7 213 0.6 201 05 185 04 159 04 146 0.4 146 0.4 131 0.4 127 0.4
8 123 0.4 117 0.3 98 0.2 113 0.3 93 0.3 97 0.3 71 0.2 76 0.3
9 77 0.2 72 0.2 65 0.2 58 0.2 66 0.2 47 0.1 46 0.2 54 0.2
10 54 0.2 37 0.1 38 0.1 34 0.1 41 0.1 35 0.1 28 0.1 30 0.1
11 20 0.1 22 0.6 22 * 18 * 25 0.1 24 0.1 16 0.1 19 0.1
12 19 0.1 11 * 12 * 14 * 11 * 18 0.1 16 0.1 8 *
13 10 * 15 * 9 * 7 * 12 * 4 * 7 * 7 *
14 7 * 6 * 8 * 6 * 5 * 5 * 3 * 12 *
15 2 * 5 * 1 * 1 * 3 * 3 * 3 * 2 *
16 4 * 2 * 2 * 3 * 2 * 2 * 1 * 1 *
17 3 * 0 0 4 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 0 0 0 0
18 1 * 1 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 1 * 0 0
19 2 * 1 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 0 0 0 0 1 *
20 1 * 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 1 * 2 *
21 2 * 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
22 0 0 1 * 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
23 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 *
24 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0
Totals: 34,202 100 37,002 100 41,951 100 38,669 100 35,794 100 32,756 100 29,918 100 29,257 100

Table 1.11 counts incidents that occurred in
Minnesota, based on the total number of incidents the
person has on his or her driving record. That is,
incidents counted in row 1 were incurred by first-time
violators who had zero prior impaired driving incidents
on their driving record. For example, Mr. Smith incurs
his first-ever incident anywhere, and that incident
occurs in Minneapolis in January, 2001. Mr. Smith
incurs a second incident in lowa in July, 2002, and a
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third incident, again in Minneapolis, in August, 2004.
In this case, Mr. Smith’s first incident contributes a
count of one to row 1 of the 2001 column. The second
incident is not counted in the above table because it did
not occur in Minnesota. The third incident contributes
a count of one to the third row of the 2004 column
because it did occur in Minnesota and because it is the
third on Mr. Smith’s driving record.
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1. IMPAIRED DRIVING CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATES

This section provides statistics on the number of
impaired driving incidents by county and judicial
district, and the number and percentage of that total
for which there is a criminal conviction on some type
of impaired driving charge. On an infrequent basis,
however, an offense will lead to an impaired driving
conviction, but not be counted as such. This could be
due either:

(1) To the circumstance that the conviction
occurred after the date on which the data used to
compile these statistics were extracted from the state
driver license files, or

(2) To reporting errors.

Timing of conviction

Conviction rates for 2011 were calculated using data
available on June 01, 2012 — five full months after
the end of the 2011 calendar year. However, the
criminal charge sometimes takes longer than that to
resolve. This is especially true for more serious
charges, such as the higher-level impaired driving
offenses. A driver is more likely to challenge such
charges in the courts.

Reporting errors

The second reason a conviction might not be counted
is that errors occur. A court clerk may fail to
accurately record a plea, or a verdict, or a judge’s
sentence. The Court Administrator’s office may not
accurately transmit notice of the conviction to the
Department of Public Safety. The Department of
Public Safety may not accurately record the
conviction on the person’s driving record. The
procedures that underlie the charging, prosecuting,
adjudicating, and recording of impaired driving
offenses are complex enough that there are
opportunities for mistakes. The objective in
reporting the statistics here is to assist in identifying
possible failures so they can be corrected.

Examples of why a conviction may not be counted
Hypothetically, if a county had 100 impaired driving
incidents committed by first-time violators in 2011
and driver license records show that only 85 resulted
in an impaired driving conviction, then the conviction
rate is 85 out of 100, or 85.0%. There was no
impaired driving conviction posted on the driver’s
record for 15 of the incidents. Suppose that John
Smith committed one of those 15 incidents. This
means that Smith was stopped; he took and failed, or
refused to take, tests for alcohol or controlled
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substances, thus incurring an implied consent
violation and triggering the impaired driving incident
to be posted on his record. Here are some reasons
why a criminal conviction might not be reported for
Mr. Smith:

(1) There was a plea bargain: The prosecutor
agreed to allow Smith to plead guilty to careless
driving.

(2) Smith was convicted on some type of impaired
driving charge, but not until after the June 01, 2012
date on which the statistics compiled here are based.

(3) Smith was convicted, but the judge stayed
adjudication of the conviction on condition that
Smith conforms to various requirements. Since
adjudication was stayed, the conviction is held in
abeyance and not transmitted to the Department of
Public Safety.

(4) In addition to impaired driving, Smith had a
felony charge for transporting methamphetamines.
He pled guilty to the felony offense and was
sentenced to five years in prison and a fine of $5,000.
The county attorney waived the charge on the
impaired driving offense.

(5) The judge stayed imposition of the sentence on
condition that Smith conforms to various
requirements. The court clerk accidentally recorded
the stay of imposition as a stay of adjudication,
causing the Court Administrator’s office to not
forward the conviction notice to the Department of
Public Safety.

(6) Smith was convicted of some impaired driving
offense, but the Court Administrator’s office did not
report the conviction to the Department of Public
Safety, or reported it in an incorrect manner that
caused the report to be rejected.*

(7) Smith was convicted and the Department of
Public Safety was properly notified of the conviction
but mistakenly entered the impaired driving
conviction as a conviction for some other type of
violation (e.g., speeding).

* The Department of Public Safety returns incomplete
reports to the Court Administrator’s Office with a
request for a corrected report.
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How the Conviction Rate is Calculated

The conviction rate is expressed merely as a percent:
out of 100 incidents, what number resulted in a
conviction for some type of impaired driving offense.
Two issues require comment: (1) how prior
violations are counted, and (2) the circumstance that
the conviction rate is not a measure of how much
plea-bargaining or sentence bargaining may be
occurring.

1. Counting prior violations

Table 2.01 has separate columns for first- through
fourth-or-subsequent-time violators. The violators
who committed the incidents were put into these
categories based on a lifetime look back period,® not a
ten-year look back period. The current statute MS
169A defines impaired driving offense levels in terms
of certain aggravating factors. Prior incidents in the
last ten years are one type of aggravating factor.”
(Each prior incident augments the count of
aggravating factors by one.) If a ten-year look back
period had been used, there would have been slightly
more incidents counted into the “first-time violators”
column and slightly fewer counted into the second-
through fourth-or-subsequent-time columns.

S The term “lifetime” look back period may be
misleading. Currently, an impaired driving incident
remains on the driver license forever, and there has
always been a rule (for several decades, at any rate)
that a second impaired driving incident causes all
incidents to be kept on record forever. However, at
different points in the past, there were different rules
followed—that a single incident not followed by a
second was eligible to be purged from the driver
record after seven, or ten, or fifteen, years had
passed. However, purging of incidents from records
was not performed systematically; so even when
those rules were in effect, eligibility to be purged did
not mean that an incident was purged. For practical
purposes, as an example, if a person is now in their
forties and had a single impaired driving incident
when they were in their teens or twenties, then that
incident may or may not have been purged from their
driving record.

™ The other two aggravating factors are (1) presence
of children in the vehicle, and (2) having an alcohol
concentration of .16 or higher (as of July 1, 2011).
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2. Not measuring plea bargaining

People are concerned with how much plea-bargaining
takes place in impaired driving cases. The conviction
rates are not good measures of plea-bargaining,
however.  Bargaining take two forms.  Plea
bargaining occurs when a prosecutor initially charges
for one offense (e.g., first-degree impaired driving)
and then accepts a plea of guilty to a lesser offense
(e.g., second-, third-, or fourth-degree impaired
driving, or reckless driving, or speeding, etc.).
Second, there is sentence bargaining: The prosecutor
agrees to accept a sentence less than the maximum
for the offense on which the violator is convicted.
For example, Smith pleads guilty to gross
misdemeanor impaired driving but gets a
misdemeanor impaired driving sentence.

Judicial Districts in Minnesota
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The conviction rates reported here do not measure the
extent of plea-bargaining or sentence bargaining.
They only quantify, for all the incidents that
occurred, the percentage that resulted in some kind of
impaired driving conviction. It cannot be known,
from the driver license data, (1) if the conviction was
for a lesser offense than the one initially charged, or
(2) what the sentence was.

Conviction rates vary by County and District

The state is divided into ten judicial districts.
Ramsey County is District 2, and Hennepin County is
District 4. The other eight districts encompass from
four to 17 counties that are geographically close
together. Conviction rates usually vary by district
and by county. Across districts in 2011, the range of
conviction rates was from 68.2% (District 4: Henepin
County) to 85.0% (for District 8, comprised of 13
counties in West Central Minnesota).
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Some counties had conviction rates at 90% or higher:
Red Lake (93%), Lyon (92%), Wilkin (92%),
Hubbard (91%), and Polk (90%).

Some counties had conviction rates that were lower
than 70%: Lake of the Woods (60%), Lincoln (64%),
Washington (64%), Nicollet (66%), Hennepin (68%),
and Dakota (68%).

Out of 29,257 impaired driving incidents in 2011, the
overall conviction rate for Minnesota was 75.8%. As
mentioned previously, the conviction rate for each
year will increase to approximately 85% as judicial
outcomes are settled. Another reason for the delay in
judicial outcomes is likely because of current
litigation. Defendants arrested for impaired driving
have brought suit regarding the computer source code
which measures alcohol content via breath tests. As
many as 4,000 outcomes from 2009 and onward may
be pending.

Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety



TABLE 2.01

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2011
BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL

ALL 1°"-TIME 2"°-TIME 3*-TIME 4™+ TIME
VIOLATORS VIOLATORS VIOLATORS VIOLATORS VIOLATORS
District All Con- Con- All Con- Con- All Con- Con- All Con- Con- All Con- Con-
and County Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict.
dents tions Rate dents tions Rate dents tions Rate dents tions Rate dents tions Rate
N N % N N % N N % N N % N N %
Judicial Dist 1
CARVER 331 261 789 199 157 78.9 65 53 815 43 35 814 24 16 66.7
DAKOTA 2,035 1,389 683 1,229 824 670 475 319 672 212 154 726 119 92 773
GOODHUE 347 285 82.1 185 147 795 92 77 83.7 52 44 84.6 18 17 944
LE SUEUR 107 86 804 52 42 80.8 28 22 786 15 13 86.7 12 9 75.0
McLEoD 182 147 80.8 100 78 78.0 50 43 86.0 20 16 80.0 12 10 83.3
ScoTT 632 521 824 358 288 804 149 134 899 74 59 797 51 40 784
SIBLEY 41 31 756 26 20 76.9 8 5 625 5 4 80.0 2 2 100.0
SUBTOTAL: 3,675 2,720 740 2,149 1556 724 867 653 753 421 325 772 238 186 78.2
Judicial Dist 2
RAMSEY 2666 1,89 711 1,677 1,139 679 573 428 747 250 191 764 166 138 83.1
Judicial Dist 3
DobpGE 104 90 86.5 47 38 80.9 25 22 88.0 18 17 944 14 13 929
FILLMORE 88 72 818 49 41  83.7 19 18 947 9 7 778 11 6 545
FREEBORN 198 161 81.3 115 102 88.7 42 29 69.0 24 19 79.2 17 11 647
HousToN 109 88 80.7 77 61 79.2 17 16 94.1 11 7 636 4 4 100.0
MOWER 275 226 82.2 154 127 825 70 57 814 26 22 846 25 20 80.0
OLMSTED 943 826 87.6 573 505 88.1 206 176 854 102 90 88.2 62 55 88.7
RICE 329 261 79.3 184 138 75.0 81 69 852 35 31 886 29 23 793
STEELE 189 142 751 105 82 781 44 31 705 24 18 75.0 16 11 68.8
WABASHA 131 111 84.7 71 64 90.1 32 25 781 13 10 76.9 15 12 80.0
WASECA 84 69 821 47 42 894 20 15 75.0 6 5 833 11 7 63.6
WINONA 332 258 77.7 221 171 774 58 47 810 33 25 75.8 20 15 75.0
SUBTOTAL: 2,782 2304 828 1,643 1,371 834 614 505 822 301 251 834 224 177 79.0
Judicial Dist 4
HENNEPIN 6,769 4,615 682 4,163 2,713 652 1,534 1,134 739 631 452 716 441 316 715
Judicial Dist 5
BLUE EARTH 397 334 84.1 250 215 86.0 77 64 83.1 37 28 157 33 27 81.8
BrROwN 118 98 831 68 59 86.8 32 29 90.6 14 9 643 4 1 250
COTTONWOOD 69 59 855 46 39 848 16 14 875 3 2 667 4 4 100.0
FARIBAULT 64 49 76.6 33 25 758 22 18 818 4 3 750 5 3 600
JACKSON 63 45 714 42 27 643 9 8 889 7 6 857 5 4 80.0
LINCOLN 22 14 636 13 7 538 3 2 667 3 2 667 3 3 100.0
LYON 139 128 921 81 75 926 26 25 96.2 16 13 813 16 15 938
MARTIN 90 76 844 45 37 822 21 17 81.0 12 10 833 12 12 100.0
MURRAY 21 16 76.2 9 8 889 5 4 80.0 4 1 250 3 3 100.0
NICOLLET 170 113 66.5 97 60 619 38 25 65.8 18 14 778 17 14 824
NOBLES 115 85 739 83 61 735 21 15 714 6 5 833 5 4 80.0
PIPESTONE 47 37 787 21 19 905 14 11 78.6 5 4 80.0 7 3 429
REDWOOD 87 64 73.6 44 32 727 23 17 739 13 11 846 7 4 571
Rock 51 45 88.2 35 30 857 5 5 100.0 8 7 875 3 3 100.0
WATONWAN 50 42  84.0 34 26 765 10 10 100.0 3 3 100.0 3 3 100.0
SUBTOTAL: 1,503 1,205 80.2 901 720 799 322 264 820 153 118 77.1 127 103 81l.1
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TABLE 2.01 (Continued)

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2011
BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL

ALL 1°"-TIME 2"°-TIME 3*-TIME 4™+ TIME
VIOLATORS VIOLATORS VIOLATORS VIOLATORS VIOLATORS

District All  Con- Con- All Con- Con- All Con- Con- All Con- Con- All Con- Con-
and County Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict.
dents tions Rate dents tions Rate dents tions Rate dents tions Rate dents tions Rate
N N % N N % N N % N N % N N %

Judicial Dist 6
CARLTON 245 212 865 124 105 847 60 52 86.7 27 25 926 34 30 882
Cook 30 26 86.7 19 17 895 6 5 833 4 3 750 1 1 100.0
LAKE 42 37 881 21 19 905 13 11 846 3 2 667 5 5 100.0
ST. LOUIS 1,262 1,010 80.0 742 595 80.2 271 214 790 136 115 846 113 86 76.1
SUBTOTAL: 1579 1,285 814 906 736 812 350 282 806 170 145 853 153 122 79.7

Judicial Dist 7
BECKER 255 225 882 133 119 895 63 56 88.9 24 22 917 35 28 80.0
BENTON 156 128 821 88 76 86.4 34 27 794 27 20 741 7 5 714
CLAY 511 454 888 325 295 90.8 99 89 899 56 45 804 31 25 80.6
DoucGLAs 213 173 812 126 108 85.7 43 33 76.7 19 14 737 25 18 72.0
MILLE LACS 189 154 815 92 82 89.1 40 28 70.0 30 23  76.7 27 21 778
MORRISON 155 124 80.0 74 57 77.0 39 33 846 17 12 706 25 22 88.0
OTTER TAIL 294 261 888 140 126 90.0 90 77 856 31 26 839 33 32 970
STEARNS 951 778 81.8 568 475 836 212 171 80.7 100 81 810 71 51 718
TobD 81 65 80.2 43 36 837 22 17 773 9 7 778 7 5 714
WADENA 66 53 80.3 35 29 829 12 9 750 10 7 700 9 8 889
SUBTOTAL: 2871 2,415 841 1624 1403 864 654 540 826 323 257 79.6 270 215 79.6

Judicial Dist 8
BIG STONE 20 17 85.0 16 13 813 3 3 100.0 1 1 100.0 0 0 0.0
CHIPPEWA 56 49 875 34 31 912 14 11 786 6 6 100.0 2 1 500
GRANT 22 17 773 14 12 857 7 4 571 0 0 0.0 1 1 100.0
KANDIYOHI 226 199 88.1 153 137 895 37 32 865 25 21 840 11 9 818
LAc Qui PARLE 26 22 846 14 11 786 7 7 100.0 3 2 66.7 2 2 100.0
MEEKER 60 53 88.3 25 22 88.0 18 17 944 9 8 889 8 6 75.0
PoPE 39 34 872 28 23 821 6 6 100.0 1 1 100.0 4 4 100.0
RENVILLE 122 96 78.7 61 46 754 29 22 759 18 17 944 14 11 78.6
STEVENS 51 43 843 30 26 86.7 11 10 90.9 6 4 66.7 4 3 75.0
SWIFT 66 57 86.4 36 30 833 17 16 94.1 7 6 857 6 5 833
TRAVERSE 8 6 75.0 3 2 667 3 3 100.0 0 0 0.0 2 1 50.0
WILKIN 71 65 915 47 44 936 16 14 875 6 5 833 2 2 100.0
YELLOW MED 80 62 775 45 37 822 18 15 833 12 6 50.0 5 4 80.0
SUBTOTAL: 847 720 85.0 506 434 858 186 160 86.0 94 77 819 61 49 80.3
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TABLE 2.01 (Continued)

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2011
BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL

ALL 1°"-TIME 2"°-TIME 3*-TIME 4™+ TIME

VIOLATORS VIOLATORS VIOLATORS VIOLATORS VIOLATORS
District All Con- Con- All Con- Con- All Con- Con- All Con- Con- All Con- Con-
and County Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict. Inci- vic- vict.

dents tions Rate dents tions Rate dents tions Rate dents tions Rate dents tions Rate

N N % N N % N N % N N % N N %

Judicial Dist 9
AITKIN 138 104 754 63 46 73.0 32 25 781 24 19 79.2 19 14 737
BELTRAMI 430 361 84.0 229 188 821 118 104 88.1 41 33 805 42 36 857
Cass 221 186 84.2 107 86 804 45 38 844 34 33 971 35 29 829
CLEARWATER 48 43  89.6 15 14 933 12 10 833 10 9 90.0 11 10 90.9
Crow WING 365 280 76.7 191 144 754 80 60 75.0 47 37 787 47 39 83.0
HuBBARD 164 149 909 95 88 926 35 31 886 14 13 929 20 17 85.0
ITASCA 319 273 85.6 166 143 86.1 74 63 85.1 43 36 837 36 31 86.1
KITTSON 22 19 864 11 11 100.0 2 1 500 5 4 80.0 4 3 75.0
KOOCHICHING 81 65 80.2 40 29 725 20 17 85.0 14 13 929 7 6 85.7
LAKE OF WDs 35 21 60.0 18 9 500 11 8 727 4 3 750 2 1 500
MAHNOMEN 107 86 804 54 42 77.8 22 19 864 15 13  86.7 16 12 75.0
MARSHALL 42 37 88.1 19 16 84.2 7 7 100.0 5 4 80.0 11 10 90.9
NORMAN 50 39 780 31 23 742 12 10 833 6 5 833 1 1 100.0
PENNINGTON 66 55 83.3 38 35 921 11 7 63.6 9 7 778 8 6 75.0
PoLk 231 208 90.0 153 140 915 38 33 86.8 24 21 875 16 14 875
RED LAKE 30 28 933 18 16 88.9 6 6 100.0 4 4 100.0 2 2 100.0
RoOSEAU 113 88 779 63 48 76.2 22 17 773 14 9 643 14 14 100.0

SUBTOTAL: 2,462 2,042 829 1,311 1,078 822 547 456 834 313 263 840 291 245 84.2
Judicial Dist 10
ANOKA 1,445 1,083 749 792 588 742 361 281 778 173 133 76.9 119 81 68.1
CHISAGO 214 156 729 124 100 80.6 54 39 722 16 6 375 20 11 55.0
ISANTI 150 110 733 73 56 76.7 35 26 743 24 17 708 18 11 611
KANABEC 110 85 773 58 47 81.0 23 17 739 14 12 857 15 9 60.0
PINE 170 124 729 77 58 75.3 49 36 735 20 13  65.0 24 17 708
SHERBURNE 412 334 811 233 194 833 94 72 76.6 56 44 786 29 24 828
WASHINGTON 1,010 643 63.7 598 351 587 230 165 717 101 67 66.3 81 60 74.1
WRIGHT 592 438 740 319 233 730 144 111 77.1 77 58 75.3 52 36 69.2

SUBTOTAL: 4,103 2973 725 2,274 1,627 715 990 747 755 481 350 728 358 249 69.6
Totals for
Minnesota: 29,257 22,175 75.8 17,154 12,777 745 6,637 5,169 779 3,137 2,429 77.4 2,329 1,800 77.3
NOTE:

(1) There is no restriction on the “look back” period in
counting prior violations. For example, a second-time violator
could have incurred his or her first violation 12 years, or 1
week, prior to the second violation.

(2) Caution regarding interpreting table: The data compiled
here reflect convictions received as of June 01, 2012.
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However, new information is constantly being added to driver
license records. In addition, as offense level increases, violators
face stiffer penalties and have more incentive to fight
conviction through legal proceedings. The conviction rates will
therefore increase as time passes; each year the overall
conviction rate for all offenses will rise to approximately 85%.

Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety



I11.  PERSONS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD

This section reports statistics on Minnesota’s total
population, the population of licensed drivers, and the
population of persons who have impaired driving
incidents on their driving record.

Currently, an impaired driving incident is kept on
record permanently

Current practice is that an impaired driving incident
stays on a person’s driver license record permanently.
However, there were different rules in the past. At
points over the last 25 years, a single incident might
have been eligible to be purged from a driving record
after seven, ten, or fifteen years. However, purging
of incidents from records was not performed
systematically; so, even when the different rules were
in effect, eligibility to be purged did not mean that an
incident was purged. Apart from rules for a single
incident, there has long been (for several decades) in
effect a rule that if a person incurred a second
impaired driving incident, then all impaired driving
incidents were kept on record permanently. The
practical effect of having the different rules over time
is that the number of persons currently shown to have
two or more incidents on record will be close to the
true number of people who ever accumulated two or
more incidents, while the number shown to have only
one incident will understate the true number of
people who ever incurred a single incident. For
example, there are probably many middle-aged or
older persons who incurred a single incident when
they were young, but never incurred a second one,
and, at some point (probably in the early 1990s, or
before); the single incident was purged from their
driving record.

10.7% of Minnesota residents have a DWI

In all, 570,191 Minnesota residents have one or more
impaired driving incidents on their driving record.
That is 10.7% of all people living in Minnesota
(using the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2011 population
estimate for Minnesota).

1in 7 licensed drivers have an incident on record
Now consider that many residents in Minnesota are
too young to drive. Out of the 2011 total of licensed
drivers in Minnesota, 1 in 7 have one or more
incidents on record; 1 in 17 have two or more, and 1
in 37 have three or more.
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In addition to Minnesota residents, there are 102,695
non-residents who have incurred one or more
incidents in Minnesota.

Counties vary

As noted, 10.7% of the state’s population has an
incident on their driving record. There is variation by
county. The five counties with the highest
percentages are: Mahnomen (21.4%), Mille Lacs
(16.2%), Clearwater (15.0%), Cass (14.6%), and
Becker (14.3%) — these counties are north and west
of the Twin Cities.

The five counties with the lowest percentages are
Stevens (7.4%), Rock (7.4%), Lincoln (8.1%), Carver
(8.6%), and Washington (8.8%) -- mostly south of
the Twin Cities. Reasons for the variation might
include: prevalence of chemical dependency
problems in the population, strictness of enforcement
of DWI laws, whether the county is in a vacation, or
recreational, area of the state.

Most offenders have one incident

There is a perception that so much of the drinking
and driving problem is concentrated in a fairly small
subset of the population whose members are
chemically dependent and who drink and drive over
and over again. There is evidence to support such a
perception. Forty-two percent of the 570,191 persons
in the state with incidents on record have two or more
incidents. Some people have an amazing number of
incidents: 1,265 have ten or more. The record is
now 25 incidents. Still, it is possible the perception
distracts attention from the reality that most violators
do not have prior incidents on record. Fifty-eight
percent have only one incident. (As noted earlier,
this understates the true number since a single
incident may have been purged from a person’s
driving record).
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TABLE 3.01
POPULATION OF MINNESOTA BY AGE-GROUP AND GENDER

Age 2000 2000 2000 2010 2010 2010 2011 2011 2011
Census Census Census Census Census Census (Estimated) (Estimated) (Estimated)
Male Female Total Male Female Total Male Female Total
00-04 168,829 160,765 329,594 181,342 174,162 355,504 181,110 173,941 355,051
05-09 182,912 172,982 355,894 181,614 173,922 355,536 181,390 173,698 355,088
10-14 192,118 182,877 374,995 180,356 171,986 352,342 180,285 172,003 352,288
15-19 191,534 182,828 374,362 188,594 179,235 367,829 188,143 178,582 366,725
20-24 164,038 158,445 322,483 180,725 174,926 355,651 181,474 175,768 357,242
25-29 162,132 157,694 319,826 187,562 185,124 372,686 187,996 185,485 373,481
30-34 178,502 174,810 353,312 174,549 168,351 342,900 175,537 169,301 344,838
35-39 207,962 204,528 412,490 165,815 162,375 328,190 164,688 161,230 325,918
40-44 207,355 204,337 411,692 177,234 175,670 352,904 177,191 175,638 352,829
45-49 183,801 180,446 364,247 203,588 202,615 406,203 202,702 201,643 404,345
50-54 150,750 150,699 301,449 200,663 201,032 401,695 200,926 201,322 402,248
55-59 112,203 114,654 226,857 174,321 175,268 349,589 175,400 176,310 351,710
60-64 86,648 91,364 178,012 137,760 142,015 279,775 138,984 143,347 282,331
65-69 72,707 80,462 153,169 97,533 105,037 202,570 98,240 105,729 203,969
70-74 64,646 78,010 142,656 70,840 81,017 151,857 71,325 81,482 152,807
75-79 51,709 70,968 122,677 54,464 67,650 122,114 54,500 67,554 122,054
80-84 33,477 56,686 90,163 40,865 59,0561 99,916 41,081 59,061 100,142
85+ 24,308 61,293 85,601 34,307 72,357 106,664 34,696 72,896 107,592

Totals: 2,435,631 2,483,848 4,919,479 2,632,132 2,671,793 5,303,925 2,635,668 2,674,990 5,310,658

Source: United States Census Bureau.
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Year

TABLE 3.02
MINNESOTA LICENSED DRIVERS' UNDER 21, BY AGE, 1992 — 2011

Year 15 16 17 18 19 20 Total Under 21
1992 18,047 47,600 51,688 53,894 55,417 53,645 280,291
1993 16,031 48,754 54,960 55,472 55,793 56,765 287,775
1994 16,031 48,754 54,960 55,472 55,793 56,765 287,775
1995 20,660 52,205 57,426 58,307 57,139 56,902 302,639
1996 24,783 54,657 60,864 61,788 61,058 58,964 322,114
1997 27,514 55,564 61,052 63,711 63,460 61,875 333,176
1998 24,610 50,028 60,389 64,337 66,023 64,484 329,871
1999 24,944 52,576 59,337 60,177 67,779 67,816 332,629
2000 28,479 55,792 60,724 65,830 68,697 69,306 348,828
2001 27,878 56,361 62,068 64,963 69,232 70,351 350,853
2002 28,880 55,286 63,011 66,876 68,609 70,985 353,647
2003 29,800 55,614 61,329 67,491 69,792 69,385 353,411
2004 31,638 55,812 61,286 66,397 71,026 71,513 357,672
2005 31,161 55,398 61,431 65,440 68,842 71,780 354,052
2006 26,360 53,520 60,695 64,617 67,917 68,826 341,935
2007 26,029 51,499 59,766 64,910 67,664 69,091 338,959
2008 26,141 49,801 57,875 64,337 68,050 68,920 335,124
2009 28,126 49,884 56,554 62,707 67,701 69,074 334,046
2010 28,020 49,634 55,885 61,526 66,272 69,495 330,832
2011 25,422 48,260 54,781 59,722 63,997 67,176 319,358
TABLE 3.03

MINNESOTA LICENSED DRIVERS,” BY AGE-GROUP, 1992 — 2011

15-19 20-24 25-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59 60-64 65-69 70-74

75+

Total

1992
1993
1994
1995
1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011

220,915
226,646
231,010
245,737
263,150
271,301
265,387
264,812
279,522
280,502
282,662
284,026
286,159
282,272
273,109
269,868
266,204
264,972
261,337
252,182

307,139
297,918
290,752
283,027
284,532
291,004
302,019
316,452
327,545
339,486
352,022
352,818
361,589
361,839
353,949
351,877
350,535
347,193
348,937
343,942

345,255
336,007
330,676
331,259
330,844
325,020
318,360
316,642
310,399
309,079
320,420
326,355
339,712
348,538
353,241
360,944
365,501
364,228
366,813
358,738

404,717
401,155
393,253
381,403
368,340
356,278
347,382
346,159
347,932
344,952
343,933
333,363
330,480
319,537
311,685
316,410
324,694
330,073
342,756
351,489

383,109
386,805
396,206
402,366
407,794
407,334
405,914
401,755
391,515
377,905
366,661
354,509
350,988
349,515
342,520
336,604
327,911
319,456
311,858
306,985

335,328
342,988
355,845
364,629
373,405
381,214
389,126
398,519
405,043
408,621
411,413
408,428
403,774
390,439
372,638
358,091
347,387
339,999
340,906
336,514

266,872
276,715
296,176
313,384
323,114
330,259
340,673
352,585
362,105
368,930
379,702
386,086
395,178
400,876
401,715
401,496
399,215
391,392
380,685
365,193

210,453
216,632
225,468
230,114
248,979
260,406
273,059
290,428
306,566
316,321
325,664
335,331
345,855
355,524
361,197
369,195
376,096
382,435
389,685
392,410

169,769
173,423
178,920
183,763
191,853
201,963
210,483
218,555
222,828
238,022
252,631
264,204
280,193
296,390
306,185
314,238
324,589
332,705
343,840
350,359

157,248
156,044
156,192
156,652
158,537
160,789
165,519
170,263
174,735
180,723
192,074
200,322
208,133
212,324
226,262
239,650
251,756
265,450
282,820
293,833

149,867
149,118
148,961
149,004
148,228
146,590
144,903
145,284
145,334
146,107
149,272
154,103
158,035
163,125
168,693
178,918
187,347
193,513
198,777
213,587

128,653
128,828
132,442
132,842
134,127
133,750
134,081
134,225
133,774
133,205
132,368
131,255
131,277
131,383
132,725
136,026
140,879
143,738
149,002
155,347

194,632
191,874
204,674
214,171
223,602
221,862
229,135
239,938
242,146
241,646
248,671
257,379
260,483
260,331
267,241
274,657
276,287
273,186
277,819
287,174

3,273,957
3,284,153
3,340,575
3,388,351
3,456,505
3,487,770
3,526,041
3,595,617
3,647,444
3,685,499
3,757,493
3,788,179
3,851,856
3,872,093
3,871,160
3,907,974
3,938,401
3,948,340
3,995,235
4,007,753

' Source: Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Service Division. Counts include learner's permits.
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TABLE 3.04

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD,
BY AGE AT DATE OF LAST INCIDENT AND BY AGE AT END OF 2011

Age at Date of Last Incident Age at End of Year 2011

Age Female Male  Not Stated  Total Female Male  Not Stated  Total
00-14 15 32 18 65 1 1 5 7
15-19 7,509 21,637 1,056 30,202 351 883 112 1,346
20-24 28,156 92,140 4,419 124,715 5,720 14,464 1,122 21,306
25-29 22,234 80,698 3,731 106,663 12,950 35,273 2,874 51,097
30-34 17,597 60,541 2,455 80,593 14,007 44,071 3,268 61,346
35-39 15,847 49,557 1,715 67,119 11,962 41,143 2,434 55,539
40-44 13,539 41,151 1,151 55,841 16,065 49,698 1,961 67,724
45-49 9,637 31,882 663 42,182 20,148 60,187 1,450 81,785
50-54 5,290 21,617 348 27,255 18,073 59,067 1,172 78,312
55-59 2,643 13,723 167 16,533 10,770 43,011 671 54,452
60-64 1,402 8,193 99 9,694 6,263 29,288 386 35,937
65-69 673 4,515 43 5,231 3,597 17,515 197 21,309
70-74 300 2,266 19 2,585 2,146 11,259 106 13,511
75-79 118 953 6 1,077 1,222 7,946 59 9,227
80-84 39 320 4 363 815 6,130 31 6,976
85 + 7 59 4 70 916 9,349 51 10,316
Unknown 0 1 2 3 0 0 1 1

Totals: 125,006 429,285 15,900 570,191 125,006 429,285 15,900 570,191

Note:

Gender is not stated for many persons. When a person
applies for a driver license, gender is entered on the
record. If a person is arrested for impaired driving and
does not have a driver license, then a record is created
but gender is not entered on that record.
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TABLE 3.05

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA AND NUMBER OF RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED
DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2011, BY COUNTY

Residents with Impaired Driving Incidents on Record

County 2010 Pop. | 2011 Pop. |1 or more| 1lor 1 1 2 2 3or 3or

Census | Estimate | Incident | more | |ncident | Incident | Incidents |Incidents| more | more
Number |Incident.| Number | as % of | Number | as%of | Inc. |Inc.as
as % of ‘11 Pop ‘11 Pop |Number (% of ‘11

‘11 Pop Pop
Aitkin 16,202 16,223 2,212 13.6 1,165 7.2 510 3.1 537 3.3
Anoka 330,844 331,464 36,296 11.0 20,184 6.1 8,422 25 7,690 2.3
Becker 32,504 32,538 4,651 14.3 2,394 7.4 1,014 3.1 1,243 3.8
Beltrami 44,442 44,578 6,185 13.9 3,337 7.5 1,438 3.2 1,410 3.2
Benton 38,451 38,489 4,192 10.9 2,343 6.1 980 25 869 2.3
Big Stone 5,269 5,267 514 9.8 294 5.6 126 2.4 94 1.8
Blue Earth 64,013 64,067 6,702 105 3,836 6.0 1,554 24 1,312 2.0
Brown 25,893 25,884 2,836 11.0 1,621 6.3 658 25 557 2.2
Carlton 35,386 35,398 4,382 124 2,347 6.6 1,030 2.9 1,005 2.8
Carver 91,042 91,358 7,824 8.6 4,754 5.2 1,777 1.9 1,293 14
Cass 28,567 28,631 4,179 14.6 2,141 7.5 970 34 1,068 3.7
Chippewa 12,441 12,459 1,396 11.2 834 6.7 300 2.4 262 2.1
Chisago 53,887 53,905 6,489 12.0 3,586 6.7 1,567 2.9 1,336 2.5
Clay 58,999 59,145 6,561 111 3,927 6.6 1,449 2.4 1,185 2.0
Clearwater 8,695 8,708 1,305 15.0 616 7.1 316 3.6 373 4.3
Cook 5,176 5171 652 12.6 360 7.0 141 2.7 151 2.9
Cottonwood 11,687 11,706 1,139 9.7 678 5.8 266 2.3 195 1.7
Crow Wing 62,500 62,603 7,690 12.3 4,218 6.7 1,797 2.9 1,675 2.7
Dakota 398,552 399,155 39,489 9.9 23,761 6.0 8,732 2.2 6,996 1.8
Dodge 20,087 20,154 2,201 10.9 1,231 6.1 499 2.5 471 2.3
Douglas 36,009 35,996 3,960 11.0 2,230 6.2 878 24 852 2.4
Faribault 14,553 14,514 1,693 11.7 964 6.6 384 2.6 345 2.4
Fillmore 20,866 20,852 2,356 11.3 1,339 6.4 555 2.7 462 2.2
Freeborn 31,255 31,239 3,890 125 2,172 7.0 909 2.9 809 2.6
Goodhue 46,183 46,217 5,503 11.9 3,138 6.8 1,283 2.8 1,082 2.3
Grant 6,018 6,009 733 12.2 402 6.7 191 3.2 140 2.3
Hennepin 1,152,425 1,154,067 122,012 10.6 73,216 6.3 26,367 2.3 22,429 1.9
Houston 19,027 19,021 2,226 11.7 1,333 7.0 484 2.5 409 2.2
Hubbard 20,428 20,431 2,224 10.9 1,195 5.8 513 2.5 516 2.5
Isanti 37,816 37,896 4,417 11.7 2,348 6.2 1,061 2.8 1,008 2.7
Itasca 45,058 45,014 5,970 133 3,107 6.9 1,445 3.2 1,418 3.2
Jackson 10,266 10,267 1,046 10.2 641 6.2 232 2.3 173 1.7
Kanabec 16,239 16,228 2,124 13.1 1,072 6.6 515 3.2 537 3.3
Kandiyohi 42,239 42,251 4,691 11.1 2,717 6.4 1,066 2.5 908 2.1
Kittson 4,552 4,546 466 10.3 248 55 105 2.3 113 2.5
Koochiching 13,311 13,325 1,767 13.3 986 7.4 407 3.1 374 2.8
Lac Qui Parle 7,259 7,233 730 10.1 416 5.8 185 2.6 129 1.8
Lake 10,866 10,881 1,157 10.6 668 6.1 293 2.7 196 1.8
Lake of Woods 4,045 4,042 550 13.6 278 6.9 140 3.5 132 3.3
Le Sueur 27,703 27,696 3,724 134 2,101 7.6 864 3.1 759 2.7
Lincoln 5,896 5,891 478 8.1 280 4.8 121 2.1 7 1.3
Lyon 25,857 25,871 2,716 105 1,640 6.3 592 2.3 484 1.9
McLeod 36,651 36,625 4,307 11.8 2,495 6.8 953 2.6 859 2.3
Mahnomen 5,413 5,429 1,161 214 534 9.8 263 4.8 364 6.7
Marshall 9,439 9,432 1,061 11.2 576 6.1 258 2.7 227 2.4
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TABLE 3.05 (Continued)

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA AND NUMBER OF RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED
DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2011, BY COUNTY

County 2010 Pop. | 2011 Pop.|1or more| 1lor 1 1 2 2 3or 3or
Census | Estimate | Incident | more | |ncident | Incident |Incidents|Incidents| more | more
Number |Incident.| Number | as % of | Number | as%of | Inc. | Inc.as

as % of ‘11 Pop ‘11 Pop |Number |% of ‘11

‘11 Pop Pop
Martin 20,840 20,832 2,336 11.2 1,344 6.5 550 2.6 442 2.1
Meeker 23,300 23,318 2,556 11.0 1,340 5.7 634 2.7 582 25
Mille Lacs 26,097 26,092 4,225 16.2 2,106 8.1 1,003 3.8 1,116 4.3
Morrison 33,198 33,213 3,984 12.0 2,128 6.4 957 2.9 899 2.7
Mower 39,163 39,187 4,844 124 2,712 6.9 1,166 3.0 966 25
Murray 8,725 8,702 791 9.1 476 55 162 1.9 153 1.8
Nicollet 32,727 32,740 3,291 10.1 1,947 5.9 745 2.3 599 1.8
Nobles 21,378 21,375 2,474 116 1,704 8.0 470 2.2 300 14
Norman 6,852 6,861 794 11.6 440 6.4 189 2.8 165 2.4
Olmsted 144,248 144,486 13,159 9.1 7,719 5.3 2,948 2.0 2,492 1.7
Otter Tail 57,303 57,259 6,177 10.8 3,345 5.8 1,472 26 1,360 24
Pennington 13,930 13,949 1,925 13.8 1,010 7.2 449 3.2 466 33
Pine 29,750 29,751 3,898 13.1 2,019 6.8 899 3.0 980 3.3
Pipestone 9,596 9,586 1,025 10.7 577 6.0 250 2.6 198 2.1
Polk 31,600 31,632 4,308 13.6 2,320 7.3 998 3.2 990 3.1
Pope 10,995 10,967 1,177 10.7 636 5.8 276 25 265 2.4
Ramsey 508,640 509,259 50,805 10.0 30,365 6.0 10,948 21 9,492 1.9
Red Lake 4,089 4,081 527 12.9 294 7.2 118 2.9 115 2.8
Redwood 16,059 16,055 1,735 10.8 1,002 6.2 367 2.3 366 2.3
Renville 15,730 15,698 2,045 13.0 1,149 7.3 491 3.1 405 2.6
Rice 64,142 64,254 6,687 104 3,822 5.9 1,511 24 1,354 2.1
Rock 9,687 9,674 713 74 455 4.7 144 15 114 12
Roseau 15,629 15,577 1,915 12.3 1,052 6.8 446 2.9 417 2.7
St. Louis 200,226 200,143 24,122 121 13,484 6.7 5,581 2.8 5,057 25
Scott 129,928 130,485 12,399 9.5 7,448 5.7 2,818 22 2133 1.6
Sherburne 88,499 88,745 9,298 105 5,377 6.1 2,188 2.5 1,733 2.0
Sibley 15,226 15,238 1,746 115 969 6.4 406 2.7 371 2.4
Stearns 150,642 150,749 15,344 10.2 9,069 6.0 3,348 2.2 2,927 1.9
Steele 36,576 36,529 3,933 10.8 2,174 6.0 923 25 836 2.3
Stevens 9,726 9,723 723 74 430 4.4 161 1.7 132 1.4
Swift 9,783 9,769 1,212 124 657 6.7 292 3.0 263 2.7
Todd 24,895 24,887 2,642 10.6 1,474 5.9 624 2.5 544 2.2
Traverse 3,558 3,544 388 10.9 227 6.4 95 2.7 66 1.9
\Wabasha 21,676 21,675 2,592 12.0 1,490 6.9 617 2.8 485 2.2
\Wadena 13,843 13,842 1,671 121 892 6.4 375 2.7 404 2.9
\Waseca 19,136 19,140 2,176 114 1,213 6.3 523 2.7 440 2.3
Washington 238,136 238,983 21,130 8.8 12,918 5.4 4,688 20 3524 15
\Watonwan 11,211 11,227 1,395 124 809 7.2 337 3.0 249 2.2
Wilkin 6,576 6,574 784 11.9 452 6.9 193 2.9 139 2.1
\Winona 51,461 51,395 4,901 9.5 2,970 5.8 1,106 2.2 825 1.6
Wright 124,700 125,148 13,194 105 7,433 5.9 3,121 2.5 2,640 2.1
Yellow Med 10,438 10,438 1,293 124 725 6.9 292 2.8 276 2.6
Minnesota 5,303,925 5,310,658 570,191 10.7 329,896 6.2 128,491 2.4 111,804 2.1
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TABLE 3.06

PERSONS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, BY AREA OF
RESIDENCE, GENDER, AND NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2011

Minnesota Residents Minnesota Residents Non-Minnesota Residents
Twin City Metro Area Non- Metro Area
No.of | Fe- Male Not Sub Fe- Male Not Sub Total Fe- Male Not Total | Total MN
Inc. on | male Stated total | male Stated total MN male Stated and Non
Record Residents MN
Residents
1 48,819 116,596 7,231 172,646/39,124 111,861 6,265 157,250 329,896| 11,966 37,19825,970| 75,134/ 405,030
2 12,889 49,936 927 63,752/11,065 52,821 853 64,739 128,491 2,352 12,238 2,200| 16,790 145,281
3 4571 24,955 202 29,728/ 3,971 27,368 220 31,559 61,287 665 5,299 436| 6,400 67,687
4 1,582 11,419 48 13,049 1,466 13,021 72 14,559 27,608/ 197 2,189 120 2,506 30,114
5 485 4,858 19 5,362 470 5,473 23 5,966 11,328 59 897 25 981 12,309
6 180 2,289 3 2472 144 2,634 14 2,792 5,264 21 389 20 430 5,694
7 81 1,174 1 1,256 66 1,378 6 1,450 2,706 2 185 8 195 2,901
8 25 658 4 687 27 760 4 791 1,478 5 101 3 109 1,587
9 10 378 1 389 16 461 2 479 868 1 59 1 61 929
10 4 233 1 238 4 254 1 259 497 1 26 2 29 526
11 2 139 1 142 0 140 0 140 282 0 19 2 21 303
12 2 83 0 85 2 83 0 85 170 0 19 0 19 189
13 0 54 0 54 1 44 0 45 99 1 5 1 7 106
14 0 35 0 35 0 47 1 48 83 0 4 0 4 87
15 0 16 0 16 0 26 0 26 42 0 7 0 7 49
16 0 14 1 15 0 14 0 14 29 0 1 1 2 31
17 0 13 0 13 0 13 0 13 26 0 0 0 0 26
18 0 7 0 7 0 8 0 8 15 0 0 0 0 15
19 0 2 0 2 0 4 0 4 6 0 0 0 0 6
20 0 3 0 3 0 3 0 3 6 0 0 0 0 6
21 0 2 0 2 0 3 0 3 5 0 0 0 0 5
22 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
23 0 2 0 2 0 1 0 1 3 0 0 0 0 3
24 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1
25 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1
Totals: [68,650 212,866 8,439 289,955|56,356 216,419 7,461 280,236 570,191| 15,270 58,636 28,789|102,695 672,886
Note:

(1) The above table classifies violators based on
current residence, as known at the time data are
compiled from the drivers’ license files. Residence
may be inaccurate since persons with impaired
driving incidents may avoid notifying the Department
of Public Safety of address changes.

(2) Incidents counted may have occurred in
Minnesota or elsewhere. If a person moves to
Minnesota from another state and applies for a driver
license here, he or she will be included, and incidents
incurred in Minnesota or elsewhere will be included.
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(3) Gender is not stated for many persons. When a
person applies for a driver license, gender is entered
on the record. If a person is arrested for impaired
driving and does not have a driver license, then a
record is created but gender is not entered on that
record.
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IV. IMPAIRED DRIVING RECIDIVISM IN MINNESOTA

Is it the case that a fairly small number of chronic,
chemically-dependent persons account for almost all
the impaired driving violations that occur in a year?
Or, are most of the offenders “first-timers?” How
many first-time violators are there? How many
repeat violators (recidivists) are there? Among the
repeat offenders, how many have one, two, three, and
S0 on, prior violations?

It is possible to look at all the incidents, and at
all persons who incurred incidents, in a year, based
on the number of incidents prior to the one being
counted in the year. This will produce measures of
recidivism based on violators’ past histories. (Tables
4.02 and 4.03 do this.)

Age and recidivism

Recidivism measures based on past history could be
misleading, though. Older violators have had much
more time and opportunity to recidivate than young
violators:  24% of violators in their twenties have
prior incidents, compared to 34% of those in their
thirties, 44% of those in their forties, 51% of those in
their fifties, and 52% of those 60 and older.

In the recent past, there has been a mini-
population explosion among persons in their twenties
-- the “echo” of the baby-boom generation. This
dramatic increase in the young-violator population
might make it appear that first-time violators are
increasing, and that recidivism is decreasing, when in
fact those young first-time violators might, as the
years go by, recidivate just as much as older violators
have. It is possible to select cohorts of violators from
past years and follow them forward in time, thus
providing prospective measures of recidivism.
(Tables 4.04 through 4.07 do this.)

RECIDIVISM BASED ON PAST HISTORY

To measure recidivism in terms of prior incidents,
three issues require definition: (1) what is the
definition of “impaired driving incident”? (2) what
is the “look-back period” over which prior incidents
are counted? And (3), what is being counted
--incidents, or the persons who commit them?

(1) Defining an incident: An incident may be
defined more broadly as either an implied consent
violation or an impaired driving criminal conviction,
or, more narrowly, requiring that the incident include
the impaired driving criminal conviction. The ratios
of first-time to repeat violations are similar, but there
were 7,082 fewer incidents in 2011 when the
narrower definition is used.

(2) Length of look-back period: Minnesota
Statute defines impaired driving offenses as
misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies
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based in part on how many prior incidents the person
had over specified lengths of time. But a person may
have had incidents before the specified time periods.

Table 4.02 tabulates incidents, and Table 4.03
tabulates persons, based on prior incidents under both
a lifetime look-back period and a nine-to-ten-year
look-back period.** The total numbers (of incidents
or of persons) are the same, but there are higher
numbers and percentages of first-time incidents (in
Table 4.02) and of first-time violators (in Table 4.03)
when only a nine-to-ten-year look-back period is
used, compared to when a lifetime look-back period
is used.

(3) Counting incidents versus counting persons:
A person may incur multiple incidents in a year.
Table 4.02 counts incidents based on the total number
on the person’s record. Thus, if John Smith incurred
a third incident on January 1, and a fourth on
February 1, the third is counted in row 3 and the
fourth is counted in row 4 of Table 4.02. Table 4.03
counts persons who incurred incidents. In this table,
Smith is counted once, based on his last incident, in
row 4.

Recidivists commit less than half of the violations
If a person arrested for a second or subsequent
offense is defined as a recidivist, then, depending on
other definitions, recidivists committed somewhere
between 31 and 41 percent of the 2011 incidents.
Under the broader definition and using a lifetime
look-back period, recidivists committed 41% of the
incidents (and first-time violators 59%). Under the
narrower definition, and using the nine-to-ten-year
look-back period, recidivists committed 31% of the
incidents (and first-time violators 69%).

Taking a step back, one could say that first-time
violators accounted for well over half the impaired
driving violations in 2011. Since repeat DWI
offenders get so much attention, due to sometimes
accumulating so many arrests and convictions, it is
worthwhile to remember that, currently, the novice is
the more typical offender.

RECIDIVISM MEASURED PROSPECTIVELY
AMONG VIOLATOR COHORTS

*As an example of using a “nine-to-ten-year look-
back period,” the records of all violators who
incurred incidents in 2011 were examined for the
period from 1-1-2002 through 12-31-2011. Thus, the
look-back period could be as short as 9 years and 1
day for a violator who incurred an incident on 12-31-
2002, or as long as 10 years for a violator who
incurred an incident on 1-1-2002.
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Among 13,994 first-time violators from 1996, 40%
incurred a second violation within 180 months (15
years) of their first. The recidivism rate is greatest in
the first months after the first incident, and then
gradually trails off as years go by: 7% incurred a
second incident within the first 12 months of their
first, another 6% recidivated in the second 12
months, another 5% in the third 12 months, and
another 4% in the fourth 12 months. Cumulatively,
23% recidivated by four years out, 32% by eight
year;;)s§ out, 38% by 12 years out, and 40% by 15 years
out.

Among the cohort of 5,769 violators who
incurred a second incident in 1996, a higher
percentage recidivate, but the pattern of higher
recidivism in the early months, then declining
recidivism, is similar to that of the first-timer cohort:
9% incurred a third incident within the first 12
months of their second, another 8% recidivated in the
second 12 months, another 8% in the third 12
months, and another 6% in the fourth 12 months.
Cumulatively, 29% recidivated by four years out,
41% by eight years out, 47% by 12 years out, and
50% by 15 years out.

Recidivism since 1996

First-, second-, and third-time violators from each
year 1996-2007 (making up 36 violator cohorts, three
for each of twelve years) were followed forward in
time for up to 48 months. For first-time violators
recidivism decreased slightly. For 1996 first-time
violators 22.5% recidivated within 48 months,
compared to 18.2% of year 2007 first-time violators.
However, there is evidence that recidivism is
declining at a higher rate when considering multiple
offenders. Twenty-nine percent of 1996 second-time
violators recidivated within 48 months, compared to
21% of year-2007 second-time violators - an eight
percentage-point drop. Finally, 27% of 1996 third-
time violators recidivated within 48 months,
compared to just 19% of year-2007 third-time
violators — a significant eight percentage-point drop.

Another perspective: violators are just older now
Work done separately and not reported here suggests
that the decline in recidivism does not show itself
when violators are examined within age groups.
Specifically, for example, 35-year-old violators in
recent years are just as likely to get a first, second,
third, or fourth impaired driving incident as were 35

55 DWI violators may change residences frequently.
To increase validity of the prospective measures of
recidivism, violators were only accepted into cohorts
if they were shown to currently reside in Minnesota.
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year-old violators in the early 1990s. The same
observation was found to be true for almost all age-
years examined—specifically, for persons at each
year of age from 21 through 49.

There were two exceptions to that rule. One
exception was that, for each year over the last decade,
22, 23, and 24 year-old violators were somewhat
more likely to incur first-time violations. The other
exception was that, over the last decade, violators in
their later twenties appeared slightly less likely to
incur third- and fourth-time incidents than was true of
violators in their late twenties during the early 1990s.

In general however, the decline in recidivism
appears to disappear when age of violators is
controlled for.

This other perspective may suggest that efforts to
change drinking and driving behavior have been
unsuccessful. Two considerations weigh against this
conclusion.  First, the work that looked at first-,
second-, third-, and fourth-time incidents within
same-age cohorts focused on violators as proportions
of the total population of violators. It is possible that
the total number of episodes of drinking and driving
in the state of Minnesota (not just those that end in
arrest) have gone down significantly, but have
decreased almost perfectly equally across all ages and
offense levels, causing the appearance of no change
in recidivism. Second, it is very difficult to believe
that, if no efforts to control drinking and driving were
made, incidence would not greatly increase.
Reducing drinking and driving is a tremendous
challenge, calling for as much energy and creativity
as can be brought to the problem.
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TABLE 4.01

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, BY
TOTAL NUMBER ON RECORD, AND BY AGE AT END OF 2011

Total 0-19| 20-24| 25-29| 30-34| 35-39| 40-44| 45-49| 50-54| 55-59| 60-69 70 +| Total

Incidents
on

Record
1 1,290, 17,783|37,433|41,491| 35,395| 40,168|44,021| 38,513 26,664| 28,180 18,958/329,896
2 61| 2,962|10,306|13,276| 12,333| 14,946|18,553| 18,485| 12,892| 13,708 10,969(128,491
3 3 483 2,761 4,925/ 5,167 7,306|10,060/ 10,618 7,297| 7,479 5,188 61,287
4 0 700 499 1,276| 1,791 3,191| 4,959| 5,453 3,870, 3,971 2,528 27,608
5 0 8 81| 286/ 548/ 1,168 2,039 2,463| 1,768 1,817| 1,150 11,328
6 0 0 15 62| 183 489 1,011 1,223] 867| 889 525| 5,264
7 0 0 1 19 80 224| 489 651 459 484 299 2,706
8 0 0 0 9 24 112 269 371 248 279 166| 1,478
9 0 0 1 1 10 53| 156| 228 149 170 100 868
10 0 0 0 1 2 29 85 132 94 105 49 497
11 0 0 0 0 1 19 62 62 51 51 36 282
12 0 0 0 0 2 6 37 41 35 33 16 170
13 0 0 0 0 2 4 18 20 15 22 18 99
14 0 0 0 0 1 6 10 19 18 22 7 83
15 0 0 0 0 0 2 3 12 8 12 5 42
16 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 11 4 7 4 29
17 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 4 8 2 10 26
18 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 3 1 7 1 15
19 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 2 1 1 0 6
20 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 3 0 6
21 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 3 0 5
22 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
23 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 3
24 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1
25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1

Total 1,354 21,306|51,097|61,346|55,539| 67,724|81,785| 78,312| 54,452| 57,246| 40,030/570,191

Persons
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TABLE 4.02

INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN MINNESOTA IN 2011
BASED ON NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD

Defining an Incident
as a DWI Conviction

Defining an Incident as a DWI Con-
viction or Implied Consent Violation

No Limit on
Look-Back Period

Nine-to-Ten-Year

Look-Back Period
(Defined as

1/1/02--12/31/2011)

No Limit on
Look-Back Period

Nine-to-Ten-Year
Look-Back Period
(Defined as
1/1/02--12/31/2011)

Number Number Per- Number Per Number Per- Number Per-
of Inci- of Inci- cent of Inci- cent of Inci- cent of Inci- cent
dents on dents in dents in dents in dents in
Record 2011 2011 2011 2011
1 13,666 61.63 15,826 71.37 17,154 58.63 20,125 68.79
2 4,913 22.16 4,749 21.42 6,637 22.69 6,603 22.57
3 2,177 9.82 1,327 5.98 3,137 10.72 2,033 6.95
4 786 3.54 233 1.05 1,273 4.35 415 1.42
5 288 1.30 38 0.17 462 1.58 66 0.23
6 160 0.72 2 0.01 253 0.86 14 0.05
7 76 0.34 127 0.43 1 *
8 38 0.17 76 0.26
9 29 0.13 54 0.18
10 14 0.06 30 0.10
11 8 0.04 19 0.06
12 13 0.06 8 0.03
13 3 0.01 7 0.02
14 2 0.01 12 0.04
15 1 * 2 0.01
16 1 *
17
18 1 *
19 1 *
20 2 0.01
21
22
23 2 0.01
24
25
Total 22,175 100.0 22,175 100.0 29,257 100.0 29,257 100.0
Incidents

* An asterisk is used for a percentage that is greater than zero but that, if shown, would round to 0.0%.
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TABLE 4.03

PERSONS WHO INCURRED INCIDENTS IN MINNESOTA IN 2011
BASED ON NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD

Defining an Incident Defining an Incident as a DWI Con-
as a DWI Conviction viction or Implied Consent Violation
No Limit on Nine-to-Ten-Year No Limit on Nine-to-Ten-Year
Look-Back Period | Look-Back Period | Look-Back Period | Look-Back Period
(Defined as (Defined as
1/1/02—12/31/2011) 1/1/02—12/31/2011)
Number |Personswho Per- |Personswho Per |Personswho Per- |Personswho Per-
of Inci- Incurred cent Incurred cent Incurred cent Incurred cent
dents on Incidents Incidents Incidents Incidents
Record in 2011 in 2011 in 2011 in 2011
1 13,357 61.60 15,467 71.33 16,694 58.67 19,577 68.80
2 4,799 22.13 4,641 21.40 6,441 22.63 6,410 2253
3 2,132 9.83 1,304 6.01 3,053 10.73 1,980 6.96
4 775 3,57 232 1.07 1,243 4.37 409 1.44
5 285 131 38 0.18 451 1.58 65 0.23
6 155 0.71 2 0.01 247 0.87 14 0.05
7 73 0.34 122 0.43 1 *
8 38 0.18 69 0.24
9 29 0.13 54 0.19
10 14 0.06 30 0.11
11 7 0.03 18 0.06
12 13 0.06 8 0.03
13 3 0.01 7 0.02
14 2 0.01 12 0.04
15 1 * 0.01
16 1 *
17
18 1 *
19
20 2 0.01
21
22
23 2 0.01
24
25
Total 21,684 100.0 21,684 100.0 28,456 100.0 28,456 100.0
Persons

* An asterisk is used for a percentage that is greater than zero but that, if shown, would round to 0.0%.
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TABLE 4.04

RECIDIVISM OVER 15 YEARS AMONG COHORTS OF FIRST- AND SECOND-TIME
VIOLATORS FROM 1996: CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF VIOLATORS WHO
INCURRED A SUBSEQUENT (SECOND OR THIRD) VIOLATION.

Months First Second Months First Second Months First Second Months First Second
Elapsed Timers Timers Elapsed Timers Timers Elapsed Timers Timers Elapsed Timers Timers

1 0.64 1.07 49 2293 2895 97 3247 4087 145 38.03 4743
2 1.33 2.08 50 2325 2931 98 3261 4101 146 38.10  47.48
3 1.90 314 51 2359 2964 99 3269 4124 147 38.16  47.55
4 2.52 392 52 23.92 30.06 100 32.85 41.45 148 38.24 47.63
5 3.09 470 53 24.20 30.27 101 33.00 41.62 149 38.33 47.74
6 3.62 551 54 24.53 30.53 102 33.14 41.79 150 38.43 47.84
7 4.20 598 55 2481 30.80 103 33.32 42.00 151 38.54 47.88
8 4.79 6.40 56 2498 3129 104 3347 4221 152 38.62  47.93
9 5.38 6.86 57 2524 3167 105 3360 4236 153 38.70  48.00
10 5.94 7.61 58 25.45 31.95 106 33.71 4254 154 38.75 48.03
11 6.44 8.15 59 25.64 32.33 107 33.84 42,71 155 38.82 48.03
12 7.06 8.84 60 2590 3274 108 33.98 4287 156 3891  48.10
13 7.56 9.62 61 26.15 33.09 109 3412 43.02 157 39.01 48.24
14 8.14 10.23 62 26.34 3335 110 3426  43.06 158 39.06  48.33
15 8.65 10.71 63 2655 3358 111 3439 4311 159 39.13  48.38
16 9.18 1128 64 26.78 33.92 112 34.47 43.32 160 39.19 48.45
17 9.67 1198 65 27.04 3420 113 34.66 4351 161 39.25 48.60
18 10.20 12.71 66 27.31 3456 114 34.71 43.75 162 39.35 48.69
19 10.80 13.26 67 27.53 3491 115 34.90 43.94 163 39.42 48.81
20 11.31 1399 68 2772 3514 116 35.09 4410 164 39.48  48.95
21 11.75 1449 69 27.86 35.34 117 35.19 44.22 165 39.57 49.04
22 12.18 1520 70 28.09 3552 118 3528 4438 166 39.65  49.07
23 12.68 1577 71 28.36 3569 119 3539 4450 167 39.68  49.18
24 13.11 16.36 72 28.53 35.86 120 35.57 4453 168 39.73 49.25
25 13.51 16.90 73 28.72 36.11 121 35.75 4469 169 39.77 49.33
26 13.94 1742 74 28.87 36.28 122 35.89 4481 170 39.81 49.42
27 14.38 18.06 75 29.11 36.61 123 35.99 45.02 171 39.83 49.42
28 14.78 1879 76 2929 36.89 124 36.09 4517 172 39.88  49.45
29 15.22 1950 77 2951  37.08 125 36.24 4526 173 39.92 4954
30 15.69 20.25 78 2964 3735 126 36.38 4540 174 39.97  49.58
31 16.06 20.78 79 29.82 3753 127 36.45 4545 175 40.00 49.64
32 16.49 2110 80 30.00 3772 128 3653 4566 176 40.07  49.66
33 16.81 2146 81 30.16 37.79 129 36.62 4581 177 40.12 49.70
34 17.17 2207 82 30.34 3794 130 36.73 4590 178 40.16 49.73
35 17.66 2246 83 30.44 38.19 131 36.81 46.02 179 40.20 49.80
36 18.18 2297 84 30.61 38.39 132 36.87 46.21 180 40.26 49.85
37 18.59 2337 85 30.76 3859 133 36.97  46.35

38 18.96 2413 86 3094 3878 134 37.08  46.46 Percentage not recidi-
39 19.34 2454 87 31.08 3891 135 37.17 46,58 vating within 15 years:
40 19.71 2500 88 31.23 39.05 136 37.27 46.66 First  Second
41 20.08 2541 89 31.42 39.28 137 37.39 46.68 Timers Timers
42 20.57 26.05 90 31.57 39.47 138 37.47 46.75 59.74 50.15
43 20.92 26.45 91 31.72 39.56 139 37.56 46.84

44 21.25 26.87 92 31.82 39.83 140 37.69  47.01 Number persons on which
45 21.60 2728 93 3197 3999 141 37.75  47.18 percentages are based:
46 21.87 2782 94 32.14 40.30 142 37.82 47.20 First  Second
47 22.17 2820 95 32.26 40.49 143 37.92 47.32 Timers Timers
48 22.53 28.67 96 32.35 40.72 144 37.96 47.36 13,994 5,769
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TABLE 4.05
RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF FIRST-TIME VIOLATORS, 1996 - 2010:
CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A SECOND VIOLATION

Months Elapsed 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010

1 0.6 0.7 0.7 0.7 0.5 0.6 0.6 0.6 0.5 0.7 0.7 0.6 0.6 0.6 0.6
2 13 13 14 13 1.1 1.2 11 11 1.2 1.3 1.2 1.2 1.2 1.2 13
3 1.9 2.1 2.0 2.0 1.7 1.8 1.6 1.8 1.6 1.9 1.9 1.7 1.7 1.8 1.8
4 2.5 2.5 2.4 25 2.3 2.4 2.2 2.3 2.1 2.4 24 2.2 2.1 2.3 2.2
5 3.1 3.0 3.1 3.2 2.8 2.9 2.7 2.8 2.6 3.0 2.9 2.6 2.6 2.8 2.6
6 3.6 3.6 3.7 3.8 3.3 3.5 3.2 3.3 3.2 3.5 3.4 3.1 3.3 3.2 3.0
7 4.2 4.3 4.2 44 4.0 4.0 3.8 4.0 3.7 4.1 4.0 3.6 3.7 3.7 3.4
8 4.8 4.8 4.7 4.9 4.5 4.6 4.3 45 4.3 4.7 45 4.1 4.2 4.0 3.8
9 54 53 5.3 5.5 5.0 51 4.9 5.0 4.9 54 5.0 4.6 4.7 4.5 41
10 5.9 5.9 5.9 6.2 5.7 5.7 5.4 5.4 54 5.9 5.4 5.1 5.0 4.9 4.7
11 6.4 6.5 6.5 6.8 6.2 6.1 5.9 6.0 5.9 6.5 6.0 5.7 5.4 5.3 5.1
12 7.1 7.0 7.1 7.4 6.9 6.6 6.4 6.4 6.5 7.2 6.6 6.3 5.8 5.7 5.6
13 7.6 7.5 7.6 7.9 7.3 7.1 6.9 6.9 6.9 7.7 7.0 6.7 6.3 6.1

14 8.1 8.1 8.1 8.5 7.8 7.6 7.4 7.4 7.5 8.2 7.6 7.2 6.8 6.5

15 8.7 8.8 8.7 9.0 8.4 8.1 7.8 8.0 8.1 8.7 8.1 7.7 7.1 6.8

16 9.2 9.3 9.2 9.5 8.8 8.6 8.3 8.4 8.7 9.3 8.6 8.0 7.5 7.2

17 9.7 9.8 9.8 101 9.3 9.1 8.8 8.9 9.2 9.8 9.1 8.4 7.9 7.6

18 102 104 103 10.6 9.8 9.5 9.3 9.4 9.7 102 9.6 8.8 8.3 8.0

19 108 109 108 11.0 103 10.0 9.8 9.8 102 10.7 10.0 9.2 8.6 8.4

20 113 113 113 115 107 105 101 103 108 111 104 9.7 8.9 8.8

21 117 118 118 119 112 109 106 108 112 116 109 10.1 9.4 9.1

22 122 123 123 125 117 113 112 113 117 120 113 104 9.7 9.4

23 12.7 127 128 130 123 117 116 118 122 125 119 108 10.1 9.8

24 13.1 131 133 135 127 122 121 123 127 129 123 112 105 10.2

25 135 136 137 139 130 126 125 127 131 134 127 116 109

26 139 141 141 144 135 131 130 132 135 139 131 119 113

27 144 145 146 148 139 134 134 136 140 144 134 123 116

28 148 150 150 152 142 138 138 141 144 148 137 126 119

29 152 153 154 156 146 142 141 145 149 152 141 129 121

30 157 158 158 16.1 150 146 145 149 153 156 145 132 125

31 161 16.2 162 164 154 150 150 154 158 16.0 149 136 1238

32 165 166 165 168 157 154 153 159 162 164 152 139 131

33 168 170 169 171 161 157 157 163 16.6 16.7 156 143 134

34 1r2 174 172 174 163 162 161 167 170 171 159 145 137

35 1r7 177 176 178 167 166 164 171 174 175 163 149 140

36 182 181 180 181 170 169 168 175 178 178 165 152 143

37 186 185 184 185 174 173 172 178 183 182 168 155

38 190 189 187 189 176 177 175 181 187 184 171 157

39 193 192 191 193 180 181 179 185 19.0 188 174 16.0

40 19.7 196 195 197 183 183 183 189 193 191 177 163

41 201 199 197 200 187 187 187 192 196 195 179 16.6

42 206 203 200 203 191 189 192 197 200 198 182 16.8

43 209 206 203 206 194 192 195 200 204 201 185 171

44 213 209 206 209 196 196 198 204 207 204 187 174

45 216 213 209 212 199 199 202 207 210 20.7 190 176

46 219 216 212 216 202 202 206 210 212 210 193 1738

47 222 220 215 219 205 205 209 213 215 213 194 180

48 225 223 217 222 208 208 213 216 218 216 19.7 182

Percentage not recidivating within 48 months
775 777 783 778 79.2 792 787 784 782 784 803 818
Persons in cohort (number on which percent’s are based)
13,944 14,401 15,274 16,469 17,328 16,632 16,776 16,654 17,859 19,624 22,785 20,939 19,136 17,550 15,919
Average age of persons in cohort
319 321 319 314 316 315 313 309 311 308 305 308 313 313 315
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TABLE 4.06
RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF SECOND-TIME VIOLATORS, 1996 - 2010:
CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A THIRD VIOLATION

Months Elapsed 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010

1 11 11 07 07 07 05 07 08 06 07 07 06 07 07 0.8
2 21 23 13 14 14 11 12 13 11 12 13 11 11 13 1.6
3 3T 33 18 20 18 15 17 17 17 18 18 15 16 19 2.3
4 39 40 25 26 24 19 20 22 21 23 23 21 20 24 2.7
5 47 46 31 33 30 23 24 27 26 28 29 25 23 27 3.1
6 55 54 36 39 35 27 28 31 31 32 33 30 27 30 3.6
7 60 62 42 46 40 32 33 35 36 36 38 34 30 34 4.0
8 64 68 48 52 44 37 36 38 42 41 42 40 34 39 45
9 69 74 53 59 48 43 42 44 46 48 46 45 37 43 4.9
10 76 81 60 64 56 47 48 50 51 53 53 50 42 47 52
11 81 86 67 69 62 52 53 56 56 58 58 53 47 51 5.5
12 88 92 72 77 69 58 57 61 62 64 64 59 53 55 6.0
13 96 100 78 81 77 63 63 66 67 70 68 65 58 6.1

14 102 108 83 86 85 67 69 71 74 77 73 70 63 65

15 107 115 91 92 91 ‘72 74 78 79 83 79 75 67 638

16 113 119 98 100 96 79 79 83 84 88 84 80 71 72

17 120 125 103 108 101 85 84 88 90 94 90 85 76 74

18 127 131 111 115 108 91 90 94 97 101 95 90 81 79

19 133 136 118 121 114 96 97 100 102 104 99 96 85 84

20 140 143 124 129 120 103 103 106 108 109 105 100 9.1 8.8

21 145 148 130 134 128 107 10.7 111 113 114 109 106 94 93

22 152 155 136 139 133 111 111 117 118 120 113 110 99 97

23 158 164 143 143 140 118 117 123 125 125 118 116 104 101

24 164 172 151 147 145 125 124 128 131 130 123 120 108 106

25 169 175 157 153 149 129 128 134 138 135 128 123 111

26 174 182 164 159 154 135 132 139 143 141 134 128 117

27 18.1 188 170 166 158 140 136 145 148 145 139 133 121

28 188 19.2 176 172 162 144 141 152 154 150 144 136 126

29 195 197 181 177 168 149 147 156 159 155 148 139 129

30 202 202 186 181 173 155 152 16.2 164 161 152 142 132

31 208 20.7 19.1 185 177 16.0 156 168 168 165 155 146 134

32 211 210 195 190 182 164 162 173 174 170 158 150 1338

33 215 217 201 196 186 170 166 178 178 174 16.2 155 141

34 221 221 206 199 189 174 172 182 184 179 16.7 159 144

35 225 228 211 204 193 179 176 189 188 182 171 16.2 147

36 230 234 216 210 197 184 180 193 19.0 187 175 165 151

37 234 239 221 213 202 190 184 197 195 192 179 16.9

38 241 243 225 216 207 193 188 201 199 195 183 17.2

39 245 247 229 221 211 197 194 206 203 198 186 17.6

40 250 251 233 225 215 201 200 211 206 202 189 18.1

41 254 254 238 230 220 205 205 215 210 20.6 19.3 183

42 261 259 242 234 224 210 210 218 214 210 19.7 188

43 265 262 246 238 228 214 215 223 218 215 201 191

44 269 266 250 242 232 217 219 226 221 218 205 194

45 273 269 252 245 236 221 221 230 224 221 207 197

46 278 273 254 249 240 225 226 234 229 225 211 198

47 282 276 259 253 243 229 230 237 232 227 213 202

48 28.7 280 262 255 246 233 233 242 236 229 216 205

Percentage not recidivating within 48 months

713 720 738 745 754 76.7 76.7 758 764 771 784 795
Persons in cohort (number on which percent’s are based)

5,769 5,923 6,071 6,705 6,674 6,503 6,372 6,374 6,914 7,399 8,398 8,032 7,690 7,164 6,566
Average age of persons in cohort

340 345 343 341 342 341 344 342 344 343 338 341 339 344 34.7
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TABLE 4.07
RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF THIRD-TIME VIOLATORS, 1996 - 2010:
CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A FOURTH VIOLATION

Months Elapsed 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010

1 12 14 13 06 09 06 05 06 04 09 05 08 07 08 0.8
2 19 23 18 13 14 13 11 12 09 13 14 16 12 13 1.3
3 28 34 27 22 19 20 17 18 14 17 19 19 19 20 2.1
4 35 41 33 24 26 23 20 23 18 23 25 25 23 28 2.3
5 42 46 38 28 32 27 25 27 24 27 30 28 26 32 2.8
6 47 50 44 32 37 29 31 30 27 31 33 35 31 38 3.2
7 55 56 50 36 43 33 34 33 30 35 40 41 33 41 3.4
8 6.1 6.2 55 41 47 39 38 37 34 37 42 46 37 45 3.6
9 6.8 6.8 59 46 53 44 42 42 37 40 48 49 40 48 3.8
10 73 7.7 64 51 58 47 45 47 42 48 52 55 46 52 41
11 80 81 69 57 63 52 48 49 46 52 57 58 51 55 45
12 87 88 74 62 68 59 51 53 52 56 60 63 53 59 4.8
13 9.2 93 79 67 74 62 55 58 55 63 63 65 57 62

14 99 98 85 71 79 66 58 61 58 66 66 69 60 63

15 104 10.6 90 77 83 73 65 65 62 70 71 73 62 67

16 11.0 11.0 94 81 88 80 68 70 67 75 74 77 66 72

17 11.7 117 99 86 94 82 75 74 71 78 78 80 70 75

18 122 121 105 93 99 86 80 77 75 81 84 83 73 78

19 128 127 110 97 104 90 85 83 81 84 88 88 76 81

20 133 133 115 103 110 97 92 88 86 88 93 95 82 85

21 139 139 121 109 115 100 96 94 92 94 96 99 87 88

22 149 145 127 116 121 102 101 97 95 97 100 103 89 91

23 153 150 131 121 128 106 107 102 100 102 104 108 92 97

24 157 156 135 127 132 109 111 107 1:06 106 107 111 96 101

25 163 162 141 132 137 114 113 113 110 111 112 115 938

26 16.7 16.7 146 137 140 118 120 119 113 115 116 119 104

27 172 173 149 141 143 123 126 124 119 120 119 123 1038

28 176 18.0 154 146 148 129 13.0 128 123 124 122 128 111

29 180 185 162 152 152 133 135 133 127 128 123 132 114

30 186 19.0 165 156 155 137 14.0 137 130 133 126 137 116

31 194 195 169 16.2 16.0 141 143 141 135 137 129 140 119

32 19.7 201 175 16.7 16.2 146 147 145 139 141 133 144 123

33 203 205 179 171 168 149 152 149 145 144 139 148 126

34 207 209 183 176 172 154 155 153 148 145 141 152 129

35 213 214 189 180 17.7 158 159 156 151 148 144 154 133

36 217 220 192 183 180 16.0 161 159 153 151 149 158 134

37 221 225 196 188 184 164 165 163 157 154 151 161

38 225 229 199 195 188 16.6 169 16.6 163 157 155 16.4

39 229 234 202 201 19.2 169 173 172 167 162 159 16.7

40 233 237 207 205 197 173 174 175 169 166 163 16.8

41 238 242 214 208 201 177 179 179 172 169 166 171

42 242 245 219 213 205 179 184 184 174 173 170 173

43 247 250 222 217 207 182 186 188 178 176 173 178

44 251 256 226 220 210 186 189 191 182 180 175 181

45 254 260 227 225 214 189 192 195 187 185 17.6 184

46 259 266 231 227 217 192 197 200 188 189 179 1838

47 262 269 234 229 221 196 201 203 19.2 192 182 19.0

48 265 272 238 233 225 199 204 206 194 193 185 193

Percentage not recidivating within 48 months

735 728 762 767 775 801 796 794 806 807 815 80.7
Persons in cohort (number on which percent’s are based)

3,333 3,210 3,171 3,336 3,286 3,161 2,991 2,933 3,120 3,294 3,684 3,440 3,362 3,276 3,068
Average age of persons in cohort

357 363 367 370 369 370 374 376 377 374 378 375 375 378 384
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V. ALCOHOL-RELATED CRASH STATISTICS BY COUNTY

A century of impaired driving and traffic deaths
The automobile was invented around 1900, and the
dangers of drinking and driving were recognized
immediately. The earliest available statistics report 23
traffic deaths in Minnesota in 1910. The state enacted
its first DWI law in 1911. As the baby-boom
generation entered driving age in the 1960’s, more
than half (60%) of all traffic deaths were due to
drinking and driving. It began decreasing around
1980, in response to increased societal consciousness
and to legislation and programs modeled in some part
on the Scandinavian countries’ tough approach to
drinking and driving.

Defining a traffic crash
Minnesota started systematic record-keeping on traffic
crashes in the 1930s. A 1939 law defined the
reporting threshold: Any crash involving a fatality, an
injury, or property damage of $50 or more, had to be
reported. The dollar minimum threshold was raised to
$100 in 1965, then to $300 on August 1, 1977, $500
on August 1, 1981, and $1,000 on August 1, 1994.
Though it is not the normal case, the property
damage involved doesn’t have to be to vehicles. It
might be to a road sign, or shrubbery, for example. It
is unknown how many crashes occur that should be
reported, but are not. Less severe crashes are easier to
conceal and it is not difficult to speculate that there
may be as many crashes that should be, but are not,
reported, as there are that do get reported.

Defining “alcohol-related”

This section uses a broader definition of “alcohol-
related” than might at first be assumed. In particular,
an “alcohol-related” crash might not have involved a
drunk driver. The definition used here is that if a
pedestrian, bicyclist, or motor vehicle driver had any
alcohol,”™ then the crash is classified as “alcohol-

" To be precise, the following procedure is used: If
an alcohol test result is positive for any driver,
bicyclist, or pedestrian, the crash is classified as
alcohol-related. If a test was not performed, but the
reporting officer perceived the “apparent physical
condition” of the driver, pedestrian, or bicyclist to be
“had been drinking” or “under the influence,” then the
crash is classified as alcohol-related. In the (rare)
event that there is a conflict between the officer’s
reported perception and the chemical test result; the
test result is used in place of the officer’s perception.
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related,” and anyone who died or got injured in the
crash is counted as an alcohol-related death or injury.
So, if a pedestrian with only a .01% alcohol
concentration (AC) stumbles in front of a sober driver
and is struck and Kkilled, the crash is defined to be
alcohol-related, and the death is an alcohol-related
traffic fatality. Such cases are not the rule, however.
Most crashes classified as alcohol-related do involve
motor vehicles drivers who consumed a considerable
amount of alcohol.

Defining “impaired-related”

This section also uses a strict definition of “alcohol-
related” when a fatal crash occurs. In particular, a
fatal crash and any resulting fatalities will be
classified as “impaired-related” when at least one
driver or pedestrian in that particular crash tested
positive for alcohol at the .08 legal limit or above.
Note that Tables 5.02 and 5.03 in this Section use both
of these definitions.

‘Known’ alcohol-involved crashes

State law requires a medical examiner to measure the
alcohol content of any driver or pedestrian aged 16 or
older who dies within four hours of a crash. Among
the states, Minnesota has one of the highest
(sometimes the highest) percentage of killed drivers
tested. We make great effort to obtain these test
results, as well as the results on all surviving drivers,
bicyclists and pedestrians in fatal crashes that may
have been tested.

Clearly, if a state tests a smaller percentage of
drivers, then fewer crashes will be classified as
“alcohol-related” or “impaired-related. Thus, states
that have good impaired-driving programs, and good
testing programs, may appear to have higher alcohol-
related death rates than states with lesser programs.

Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety



Non-fatal crashes likely understated for alcohol
The numbers cited in this section for alcohol-related
non-fatal crashes are known to understate the true
parameters for such crashes. For non-fatal crashes,
the officer’s judgment, noted on the crash report, is
the only basis available to classify the crash as
alcohol-related or not.

To test the effect of using only officer perception
compared to also having test result data available,
fatal crashes in 2011 were classified as alcohol-related
or not using both techniques. Using officer perception
alone, 78 (21%) of the 368 fatalities were classified as
alcohol-related.  Using officer perception and test
results together, 136 (37%) of the 368 fatalities were
classified as alcohol-related. "

Crash numbers generally

The number of crashes that get reported has been
declining in recent years, from over 100,000 in year
2000, to about 72,000 in 2011. About one-half of one
percent (about 330) of all reported crashes are fatal,
causing death to one or more persons and perhaps
injury to other persons as well. Then about a third of
all crashes involve injuries to people, but no deaths.
Then the great majority of crashes -- about two-thirds
-- only involve property damage; no one is killed or
injured.

Impairment likely as crash severity increases

Even allowing that alcohol involvement is
underestimated in the less severe crashes, there is still
a strong relationship between crash severity and
impairment. In 2011, 4% of property damage crashes,
8% of injury crashes, and 37% of fatal crashes were
classified as alcohol-related.

Cost of alcohol-related traffic crashes
Cost figures reported are based on the estimated costs
of traffic crashes, deaths, and injuries, as provided
annually by the National Safety Council.

There are two approaches to estimating traffic
crash costs. The one used here attempts to quantify
the direct economic costs. As explained by the
National Safety Council, it has five components: “(1)
wage and productivity losses, including wages, fringe
benefits, household production, (2) medical expenses,
(3) administrative expenses, including insurance,

T 1t would not necessarily be correct, however, to
conclude that if alcohol test data were also available
for non-fatal crashes, then there would be a
comparable increase in the proportion of those crashes
that are classified as alcohol-related. That could be
s0; however, reporting and record-keeping are handled
differently for fatal and non-fatal crashes. Thus, the
statistical patterns may not be similar for fatal and
non-fatal crashes.
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police, and legal costs, (4) motor vehicle damage, and
(5) employer costs for crashes involving workers.”**

Using this approach, for example, the National
Safety Council estimates costs for the 2011 calendar
year as follows:

DEAth ..o $1,410,000
Incapacitating (A) INjury .......c..cceeeveerrenennen, $69,200
Non-incapacitating (B) Injury..........ccoceevnene $22,300
Possible (C) INjUry.....c.cccccevvevieicrceceinn $12,600
Property Damage Crash..........cccccecevevniinnnnnn, $8,900

The other approach estimates the “comprehensive
costs” and attempts to include “a measure of the value
of lost quality of life associated with the deaths and
injuries, that is, what society is willing to pay to
prevent them.”®®  Using that approach yields the
following cost estimates for the 2011 year:

Death ..o $4,360,000
Incapacitating (A) INjury ......ccccoceovveennnes $220,300
Non-incapacitating (B) Injury.........cc.cccce..... $56,200
Possible (C) INjUIY......cccoevvreriiceceea $26,700
NO INJUIY e $2,400

Table 5.04 uses the more narrowly defined estimates
based just on economic costs. The cost estimates are
quite conservative in other respects as well: First,
they make no effort to include the costs of crashes that
were reported, but not classified as alcohol-related,
even though they were. As noted, the number of
crashes classified as alcohol-related is certain to
understate the true number. Second, the cost estimates
make no attempt to include costs from alcohol-related
crashes that were never reported at all.

Using “impaired-related” fatalities, the estimated
cost of all alcohol involved crashes in 2011 was
$226,861,800.

1 National Safety Council: Injury Facts, 2005-2006
Edition: page 91.
5% |bid
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TABLE 5.01
MINNESOTA TRAFFIC FATALITIES, 1910 - 2011

Year Number Year Number Year Number Year Number Year Number

1910 23 1931 622 1952 534 1973 1,024 1994 644
1911 26 1932 486 1953 637 1974 852 1995 597
1912 39 1933 525 1954 639 1975 777 1996 576
1913 46 1934 641 1955 577 1976 809 1997 600
1914 88 1935 596 1956 637 1977 856 1998 650
1915 85 1936 649 1957 684 1978 980 1999 626
1916 143 1937 630 1958 708 1979 881 2000 625
1917 161 1938 609 1959 662 1980 863 2001 568
1918 183 1939 576 1960 724 1981 763 2002 657
1919 171 1940 577 1961 724 1982 581 2003 655
1920 178 1941 626 1962 692 1983 558 2004 567
1921 216 1942 439 1963 798 1984 584 2005 559
1922 260 1943 274 1964 841 1985 610 2006 494
1923 328 1944 356 1965 875 1986 572 2007 510
1924 366 1945 449 1966 977 1987 530 2008 455
1925 361 1946 536 1967 965 1988 615 2009 421
1926 326 1947 572 1968 1,060 1989 605 2010 411
1927 369 1948 552 1969 988 1990 568 2011 368
1928 435 1949 540 1970 987 1991 531

1929 505 1950 532 1971 1,024 1992 581

1930 561 1951 610 1972 1,031 1993 538

Figure 5.01

Minnesota Traffic Fatalities, 1910-2011, and Fatality Rate Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles
Traveled, 1961-2011
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TABLE 5.02
OVERVIEW OF TRAFFIC SAFETY AND ALCOHOL STATISTICS, 1965 - 2011

State Miles Deaths Deaths Deaths Deaths
Total Total Drivers Vehicles Popu- Traveld Fatality DWI ‘Any’ % of .08 + % of
Year Crashes Deaths (million) (million) lation (billion) Rate Arrests Alcohol Col (3) Alcohol Col(3)
1) (2 3 O] O] (6) ) (8 9 (10) (11) (12) (13)
1965 83,329 875 1.85 1.86 3,565,000 16.8 5.21
1966 84,754 977 1.90 194 3,585,000 17.7 5.52
1967 93,819 965 1.95 2.01 3,625,000 18.7 5.17
1968 92,910 1,060 2.00 2.09 3,647,000 19.9 5.33
1969 105,235 988 2.03 215 3,743,291 20.8 4,75
1970 99,404 987 2.05 2.24 3,804,971 224 441
1971 104,030 1,024 2.33 2.36 3,860,000 23.4 4.38
1972 111,180 1,031 2.50 241 3,877,000 24.9 4,14
1973 107,956 1,024 2.38 251 3,890,000 25.2 4.07
1974 102,964 852 2.44 2.67 3,904,100 24.6 3.47
1975 123,206 777 2,51 2.69 3,921,000 25.6 3.03
1976 116,390 809 2.57 2.92 3,954,000 27.0 3.00 19,419
1977 119,754 856 2.63 2,77 3,980,000 28.1 3.05 16,976
1978 118,833 980 2.70 290 4,024,000 28.8 3.40 18,078
1979 120,633 881 2.73 3.00 4,060,000 29.0 3.04 18,092
1980 103,612 863 2.77 3.01 4,075,970 285 3.03 22,788
1981 97,879 763 2.83 3.09 4,099,048 28.6 2.67 27,034
1982 89,443 581 2.87 3.01 4,133,334 29.2 1.98 28,048
1983 97,371 558 2.90 3.03 4,145,667 30.5 1.83 32,155
1984 93,741 584 2.91 3.13 4,161,464 32.2 1.81 36,638 305 52%
1985 99,168 610 3.04 322 4,192,973 33.1 1.84 35,383 261 43
1986 95,460 572 3.07 3.25 4,214,013 34.2 1.67 36,390 264 46
1987 94,095 530 3.10 331 4245870 35.1 151 34,664 224 42
1988 102,094 615 3.13 3.39 4,306,550 36.4 1.69 32,827 277 45
1989 105,996 605 3.16 3.46 4,353,000 37.6 1.61 34,562 275 45
1990 99,236 568 3.18 3,62 4,375,099 38.8 1.47 36,847 235 41
1991 101,419 531 3.22 351 4,432,000 39.3 1.35 32,430 212 40
1992 96,808 581 3.27 355 4,480,034 41.3 141 30,841 229 39
1993 100,907 538 3.28 348 4,517,416 423 1.27 30,088 196 36
1994 99,701 644 3.34 3.67 4,567,267 43.4 1.48 29,748 226 35 144 22%
1995 96,022 597 3.39 3.68 4,609,548 44.1 1.35 30,402 246 41 203 34
1996 105,332 576 3.46 3.70 4,657,800 45.9 1.27 30,923 205 36 169 29
1997 98,626 600 3.49 3.77  4,685549 46.9 1.28 31,380 178 30 151 25
1998 92,926 650 3.53 3.90 4,735,830 485 1.34 32,422 273 42 222 34
1999 96,813 626 3.54 3.92 4,775,508 50.7 1.24 34,575 195 31 156 25
2000 103,591 625 3.65 420 4,919,479 524 1.19 35,034 245 39 212 34
2001 98,984 568 3.69 438 4,977,976 53.2 1.07 33,5632 211 37 167 29
2002 94,969 657 3.76 449 5,033,661 54.4 1.21 33,163 239 36 185 28
2003 NA 655 3.79 456 5,088,006 55.4 1.18 32,266 255 39 205 31
2004 91,274 567 3.85 463 5,145106 56.5 1.00 34,202 177 31 155 27
2005 87,813 559 3.87 4.69 5,205,091 56.5 0.99 37,002 197 35 164 29
2006 78,745 494 3.87 476 5,231,106 56.6 0.87 41,951 166 34 141 29
2007 81,505 510 3.91 482 5,263,493 57.4 0.89 38,669 190 37 170 33
2008 79,095 455 3.94 486 5,287,976 57.3 0.79 35,794 163 36 137 30
2009 73,498 421 3.95 4.87 5,300,942 56.9 0.74 32,756 141 34 112 27
2010 74,073 411 4.00 492 5,303,925 56.8 0.72 29,918 131 32 121 29
2011 72,117 368 4,01 498 5,332,246 56.7 0.65 29,257 136 37 111 30

Note: Column (10) lists the number of alcohol-related deaths resulting from crashes where at least one driver or pedestrian was
known to be drinking. Column (12) lists the number of impaired-related deaths resulting from crashes where at least one driver
or pedestrian tested positive for alcohol at the .08 level or above.
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TRAFFIC CRASHES, FATALITIES, AND INJURIES -- TOTAL AND ALCOHOL-

TABLE 5.03

RELATED BY COUNTY IN MINNESOTA, 2011

TRAFFIC
INJURY CRASHES WITH
FATAL TRAFFIC TRAFFIC PROPERTY TOTAL PERSONS PERSONS
CRASHES CRASHES DAMAGE ONLY CRASHES KILLED INJURED

.08+ Alco Alc Alco .08+ Alco %

COUNTY | All Alc % | All -hol 9% | All -hol % | Al -hol % | All Alc % | All -hol Alc
1) 2 B @lE 6 O] E (9 10)]dl) (12) (13)]| (314 (15 (16)|dA7) (18) (19)
Aitkin 2 1 50.0 59 11 18.6 101 4 40| 162 16 99 2 1 50.0 85 12 141
Anoka 11 1 91|/1082 78 72| 1939 58 30]3,032 137 45/ 11 1 91[/1508 100 6.6
Becker 4 2 50.0[ 119 15 126 156 11 71| 279 28 10.0 4 2 50.0/ 167 17 10.2
Beltrami 4 3 75.0f 160 12 75 309 11 36| 473 26 55 4 3 75.0 260 22 85
Benton 3 1 333 176 14 80| 365 16 44| 544 31 57 4 1 250/ 256 20 7.8
Big Stone 0 0 0.0 24 4 16.7 35 0 00 59 4 68 0 0 00 31 8 258
Blue Earth 6 1 167 347 17 49] 833 31 3.7/1186 49 41 8 1 125 477 24 50
Brown 5 0 00 91 5 BB 233 7 30/ 329 12 36 6 0 00 138 6 43
Carlton 6 5 833 116 9 78 259 7 27| 381 21 55 6 5 833 159 10 6.3
Carver 6 2 333 236 18 76 639 21 33| 881 41 47 6 2 333 330 21 64
Cass 4 1 250/ 115 16 139 152 5 33| 271 22 81 5 1 200/ 161 20 124
Chippewa 3 1 333 41 3 73 78 2 26| 122 6 49 3 1 333 50 8 16.0
Chisago 3 2 66.7| 241 27 112 342 19 56| 586 48 82 5 2 40.0f 347 30 86
Clay 2 1 500/ 203 22 108 629 16 25| 834 39 47 2 1 500 273 39 143
Clearwater 2 2 100 12 1 83 33 0 00 47 3 64 2 2 100 19 4 211
Cook 1 0 00 21 3 143 27 1 37 49 4 82 1 0 00 33 4 121
Cottonwood 3 2 667 39 3 77 87 8 92| 129 13 101 3 2 66.7| 57 3 53
Crow Wing 7 3 429| 244 17 70 421 20 48| 672 40 6.0 7 3 429 361 26 7.2
Dakota 14 2 143|1477 93 63| 3,170 116 3.7| 4661 211 45| 16 2 125[2,029 127 6.3
Dodge 2 0 00 55 4 73 134 8 60/ 191 12 63 2 0 00 68 4 59
Douglas 1 0 00/ 192 13 6.8 417 10 24| 610 23 38 1 0 00] 273 30 110
Faribault 4 1 250| 59 4 68 94 2 21| 157 7 45 4 1 250 91 5 55
Fillmore 3 0 00 66 11 16.7 130 3 23] 19 14 70 3 0 00 92 12 13.0
Freeborn 2 0 00/ 150 11 73] 307 11 3.6 459 22 48 2 0 00| 205 18 88
Goodhue 4 1 25.0] 200 23 115 553 23 42| 757 47 6.2 5 1 20.0f 284 36 127
Grant 1 0 0.0 20 2 10.0 48 0 00 69 2 29 1 0 00 34 2 59
Hennepin 38 9 237(6,111 352 58| 13,732 472 3.4|19881 833 4.2 45 13 289(8,338 493 59
Houston 1 0 00 46 8 174 181 5 28] 228 13 57 1 0 00 55 11 20.0
Hubbard 4 1 250| 59 9 153 92 4 43| 155 14 90 4 1 250, 83 15 181
Isanti 2 0 0.0 116 11 95 207 4 19| 325 15 46 2 0 00] 171 17 99
Itasca 5 1 200 171 18 105/ 347 20 58/ 523 39 75 5 1 200 238 26 109
Jackson 1 0 00| 45 5 111 89 0 00| 135 5 37 1 0 00| 57 7 123
Kanabec 2 0 00| 47 6 12.8 97 7 72| 146 13 89 2 0 00| 73 8 11.0
Kandiyohi 4 0 00| 191 22 115 446 21 47| 641 43 67 6 0 00 291 30 103
Kittson 1 1 100 9 1 111 6 1 167 16 3 188 1 1 100 10 1 100
Koochiching 0 0 00 38 6 158 87 4 46| 125 10 8.0 0 0 00 55 13 23.6
Lac Qui Parle 2 2 100 13 1 77 30 1 33 45 4 89 2 2 100 19 1 53
Lake 6 3 500 41 5 122 62 2 32| 109 10 9.2 7 3 429 68 8 118
Lake Woods 0 0 00 14 3 214 17 0 00 31 3 97 0 0 00 23 6 26.1
Le Sueur 3 0 00 81 10 123 227 4 18| 311 14 45 3 0 00 127 21 165
Lincoln 1 0 00 13 1 77 60 3 50/ 74 4 54 1 0 00| 16 1 63
Lyon 0 0 0.0 85 14 16.5 271 5 18| 35 19 53 0 0 00| 126 17 135
McLeod 1 0 00| 119 8 67| 309 6 19 429 14 33 1 0 00 162 11 68
Mahnomen 0 0 00 23 3 13.0 21 1 48 44 4 91 0 0 00 33 4 121
Marshall 1 1 100 23 7 304 19 0 00| 43 8 18.6 1 1 100 34 10 294
Martin 0 0 00| 80 6 75| 165 4 24| 245 10 4.1 0 0 00 119 9 76
Meeker 6 4 66.7| 78 6 77| 137 3 22| 221 13 59 7 5 714 122 14 115
Mille Lacs 7 3 429 99 13 131] 122 5 41| 228 21 92 7 3 429 151 27 179
Morrison 5 2 40.0f 105 13 124 223 13 58| 333 28 84 8 3 375/ 161 24 149
Mower 2 1 50.0| 127 9 71/ 313 16 51| 442 26 59 2 1 500 160 12 75
Murray 1 0 00 26 6 231 58 5 86 85 11 129 1 0 00 39 9 231
Nicollet 4 0 0.0 118 4 34 308 6 19/ 430 10 23 5 0 00| 184 8 43
Nobles 3 0 00 131 11 84 297 12 40| 431 23 53 3 0 00| 210 12 57
Norman 4 3 750 19 4 211 37 2 54/ 60 9 15.0 4 3 7500 27 5 185
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TABLE 5.03 (Continued)

TRAFFIC CRASHES, FATALITIES, AND INJURIES -- TOTAL AND ALCOHOL-
RELATED BY COUNTY IN MINNESOTA, 2011

INJURY TRAFFIC CRASHES
FATAL TRAFFIC TRAFFIC WITH PROPERTY PERSONS PERSONS
CRASHES CRASHES DAMAGE ONLY | TOTAL CRASHES KILLED INJURED
Alco- Alc- Alco- .08+ Alco- %
COUNTY All .08+ Alc % All hol 9% | All hol % All hol % |[All Alc % All hol Alc

1) (2) 3) @]l 6 ® O ® (9 (10 | (11) (12) (13) |(14) (15) (16) | (17) (18) (19)
Olmsted 8 2 25.0 574 33 5.7 1,198 53 4.4 1,780 88 4.9 9 3 33.3 827 54 6.5
Otter Tail 11 3 273 235 31 132 438 17 3.9 684 51 75| 11 3 273 324 45 139
Pennington 1 0 00 54 5 9.3 69 5 7.2 124 10 81| 1 0 0.0 71 8 113
Pine 6 3 50.0 145 17 11.7 230 10 4.3 381 30 79 6 3 50.0 219 22 10.0
Pipestone 1 1 100 26 4154 64 2 3.1 91 7 77 2 2 100 37 6 16.2
Polk 6 2 333 66 12 18.2 199 7 35 271 21 1.7 7 2 28.6 106 17 16.0
Pope 1 1 100 29 3 10.3 62 2 3.2 92 6 65 1 1 100 40 5 125
Ramsey 14 6 429 2411 181 7.5| 7,966 291 3.7 10,391 478 46| 14 6 429 3,293 258 7.8
Red Lake 1 1 100 4 0 0.0 16 3 1838 21 4 190 2 2 100 6 0 00
Redwood 3 0 00 53 8 15.1 113 3 2.7 169 11 65| 4 0 0.0 80 9 113
Renville 2 0 00 45 6 13.3 105 1 1.0 152 7 46| 2 0 0.0 57 6 105
Rice 2 0 00 214 14 65 436 19 4.4 652 33 51| 2 0 0.0 318 16 5.0
Rock 2 0 00 53 1 19 105 3 2.9 160 4 25| 3 0 0.0 88 1 11
Roseau 2 2 100 28 1 36 50 0 0.0 80 3 38/ 2 2 100 56 1 138
St. Louis 11 3 273 838 92 11.0f 2,252 90 4.0 3101 185 6.0 12 3 250| 1,100 126 115
Scott 9 1 111 378 25 6.6 733 21 2.9 1,120 47 42 9 1 111 559 37 66
Sherburne 3 1 333 326 37 11.3 760 27 36| 1089 65 6.0/ 3 1 333 456 49 107
Sibley 0 0 00 49 4 8.2 101 6 5.9 150 10 67/ O 0 0.0 70 5 71
Stearns 11 3 273 722 54 75| 1,803 50 28| 2536 107 42| 13 5 385 966 75 7.8
Steele 2 0 00 140 8 5.7 343 8 2.3 485 16 33| 2 0 0.0 197 8 41
Stevens 1 1 100 21 3143 76 1 1.3 98 5 51 1 1 100 25 3 120
Swift 0 0 00 21 3143 46 1 2.2 67 4 60 O 0 0.0 32 6 18.8
Todd 1 0 00 76 6 79 137 4 2.9 214 10 47 1 0 0.0 105 9 86
Traverse 0 0 00 14 0 0.0 14 0 0.0 28 0 00/ O 0 0.0 14 0 00
Wabasha 7 3 429 59 5 85 120 5 4.2 186 13 7.0 7 3 429 98 11 112
Wadena 0 0 00 41 4 98 72 1 1.4 113 5 44| 0 0 0.0 66 8 121
Waseca 2 1 50.0 53 7 13.2 123 3 2.4 178 11 62| 2 1 500 75 10 133
Washington 6 0 00 751 55 7.3| 1,586 60 38| 2343 115 49| 6 0 00| 1,079 71 6.6
Watonwan 1 0 00 33 5152 100 6 6.0 134 11 82| 1 0 0.0 49 5 10.2
Wilkin 0 0 00 23 2 87 81 1 1.2 104 3 29/ 0 0 0.0 31 2 65
Winona 6 2 333 222 16 7.2 412 11 2.7 640 29 45| 6 2 333 311 27 87
Wright 6 1 16.7 352 26 74 787 29 3.7 1,145 56 49 6 1 16.7 547 39 71
Yellow Med 1 0 00 33 6 18.2 73 2 2.7 107 8 75 1 0 0.0 53 8 15.1
Minnesota 334 100 29.9| 21,662 1,672 7.7/ 50,121 1,778 35| 72,117 3550 49| 368 111 30.2| 30,295 2,375 7.8
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TABLE 5.04
COST OF ALCOHOL-RELATED TRAFFIC CRASHES,
FATALITIES, AND INJURIES, BY COUNTY, 2011

COUNTY COST COUNTY COST COUNTY COST
Aitkin $1,739,100 Itasca $2,229,300 Pope $1,500,500
Anoka 3,996,300 Jackson 324,300 Ramsey 15,962,900
Becker 3,350,400 Kanabec 295,700 Red Lake 2,846,700
Beltrami 4,936,600 Kandiyohi 917,400 Redwood 196,700
Benton 2,333,200 Kittson 1,441,200 Renville 150,800
Big Stone 299,700 Koochiching 587,500 Rice 495,200
Blue Earth 2,255,100 Lac Qui Parle 2,841,500 Rock 39,300
Brown 270,500 Lake 4,414,900 Roseau 2,842,300
Carlton 7,380,600 Lake of the Woods 114,400 St. Louis 8,261,500
Carver 3,518,900 |_e Sueur 461,900 Scott 2,349,300
Cass 1,953,900 Lincoln 39,300 Sherburne 2,791,600
Chippewa 1,821,300 L yon 609,600 Sibley 239,300
Chisago 3,557,900 McLeod 221,100 Stearns 8,928,300
Clay 2,451,300 Mahnomen 125,600 Steele 201,100
Clearwater 2,983,600 Marshall 1,715,500 Stevens 1,532,700
Cook 59,300 Martin 291,300 Swift 160,500
Cottonwood 2,948,400 Meeker 7,405,100 Todd 291,300
Crow Wing 4,926,400 Mille Lacs 5,051,300 Traverse 0
Dakota 6,447,000 Morrison 5,131,600 Wabasha 4,527,900
Dodge 187,900 Mower 1,799,000 Wadena 271,400
Douglas 817,900 Murray 187,000 Waseca 1,761,600
Faribault 1,576,500 Nicollet 173,600 Washington 2,077,000
Fillmore 253,900 Nobles 306,500 Watonwan 182,700
Freeborn 476,700 Norman 4,320,500 Wilkin 90,700
Goodhue 2,403,000 Olmsted 6,197,100 Winona 3,612,200
Grant 44,600 Otter Tail 5,527,200 Wright 2,398,800
Hennepin 32,649,200 Pennington 307,000 Yellow Med 430,700
Houston 391,700 Pine 4,872,700

Hubbard 1,909,500 Pipestone 3,102,600

Isanti 479,400 Polk 3,287,300

Minnesota Total $ 226,861,800

Note: Costs are calculated using estimates, provided

annually by the National Safety Council, that do

not

attempt to include “comprehensive costs” of traffic

crashes, deaths and injuries, but just direct costs
to medical expense, property damage, and
produc-
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tivity. Other procedures (e.g.; those used by the US
Department of Transportation) that do attempt to
include comprehensive costs result in total cost
estimates about three times as great as those
calculated here.
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APPENDIX A

Terms Describing Impaired Driving Incident in Minnesota

This report is produced by the Office of Traffic Safety
in the Minnesota Department of Public Safety and
provides information about impaired driving in the
state. The report is meant to aid in describing the
parameters of a significant public health threat, but
there are problems in reporting the statistics in a clear
way. The problems are mainly due to (1) the lack of a
clear terminology and (2) the complexity of
Minnesota’s impaired driving laws.

There is no clearly defined set of terms to describe
impaired driving situations.  For traffic crashes,
Minnesota follows the American National Standards
Institute’s “Manual on Classification of Motor Vehicle
Traffic Accidents,” which has been in use (with new
editions periodically) nationwide since the 1940s.
There is no similar manual for describing impaired
driving incidents.

In this report, the term “impaired driving” is used, but
even it has problems. For example, if an officer
arrests a person for DWI, and the person refuses to
take the alcohol test and then plea-bargains the DWI
charge to speeding, the incident is still classified as an
impaired driving incident since the test refusal violates
the Implied Consent Law which is part of the
Impaired Driving Code. But the fact of impairment
was not actually established. Definitions of terms are
shown below, but these definitions are subject to
change in the future.

The second obstacle to clear statistical reporting is the
complexity of the law. Minnesota enacted its first
DWI law in 1911. There are now more than 35,000
DWI arrests annually -- more than for any other
criminal offense in the state. For nearly a century,
defense attorneys have found loopholes in the law,
while the state has sought to tighten the law.

Apart from the DWI laws themselves, there is an
important distinction between criminal offenses and
civil law violations. Minnesota Statute (MS) 609.02
defines “crime” as “conduct ... for which the actor
may be sentenced to imprisonment...” Therefore, a
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crime is committed if a person performs a behavior
the law defines as criminal, regardless of whether the
person is detected, arrested, prosecuted, found guilty,
and sentenced to jail or prison.

In contrast, a civil law violation cannot lead to
incarceration.”  In impaired driving cases under
civil law, when a person refuses or fails an alcohol or
drug test, the police officer acts as agent of the
Commissioner of Public Safety and issues the driver
license revocation form. In some cases the
Commissioner may impose additional requirements
(e.g. treatment), but the Commissioner cannot impose
a jail sentence.

This report uses the following conventions: The terms
“crime,” “offense,” and “criminal offense” are used to
describe violations of the criminal impaired driving
law. The term “violation” is used to describe a
breaking of the civil Implied Consent law.
“Violation” and “violator” are general terms though.
Thus, a crime is a type of violation, and “violator”
refers to a person who breaks a criminal law, a civil
law, or both.

Minnesota’s first DWI law consisted of a single
sentence: “Whoever operates a motor vehicle while in
an intoxicated condition shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor.” The current law takes an entire
chapter (MS 169A) and defines it to be a crime for a
person to “drive, operate, or be in physical control of
any motor vehicle within this state...” when the person
is under the influence of alcohol, or under the
influence of any of a large number of impairing
substances, or when the person has an alcohol
concentration of 0.08 or more, or when a person

" Also, a person is not considered to have violated a
civil law unless it is so determined through a legal
process. Thus, a person can sue another for breach of
contract, but the other person’s behavior is not a
violation unless a court determines that it is. The
defendant might then be ordered to make restitution,
or pay a fine, but cannot be incarcerated.
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refuses to take a test under the Implied Consent Law,
and so on.

In 1961, Minnesota passed the civil “Implied
Consent” law, defining the principle that by driving on
a public roadway, a person by implication gives
consent to a test for alcohol upon being stopped by an
officer having probable cause to suspect impairment.
If the driver refused the test, the State would revoke
the person’s driving license for six months.

In 1971, the criminal law was amended to stipulate
that having an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or higher
was no longer just prima facie evidence of
intoxication, but was in itself (“per se”) a crime.
Thus, Minnesota’s “criminal per se” law dates from
1971.

In 1976, Minnesota became the first state to pass an
“administrative per se” law, authorizing the
Commissioner of Public Safety to revoke a person’s
driver’s license upon refusal to take the alcohol test or
upon taking and “failing” the test.*** The
Commissioner imposes this revocation independently
of whatever happens in the criminal DWI case, and
without the need to prove guilt to the higher level
required in the criminal case. Almost all states now
have an “administrative per se” law. %%

Thus Minnesota pioneered the “two-track system.”
The Commissioner of Public Safety revokes the
driver’s license if a person fails or refuses the test,
even if the person is found not guilty of the criminal
DWI charge. Likewise a court can find a person
guilty of impaired driving even in the absence of a test
failure or refusal.

The complexity of the law often causes more than one
violation to be recorded on a person’s driving record
for a single incident. To make up an extreme
example: Suppose a 20-year-old commercial vehicle
driver is driving while impaired by a combination of
alcohol and marijuana and has a crash killing another
driver and injuring two passengers. Upon arrest, the
driver refuses a urine test for drugs, but takes and fails

" In 2004 the Legislature reduced the per se level to
0.08%, effective August 1, 2005.

3 The District of Columbia had a similar ordinance,
but Minnesota was the first state to pass “administra-
tive per se.”

%588 Though Minnesota was the first state to have such
a law, the District of Columbia had a similar

ordinance prior to the passing of the Minnesota law.

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2011 Page 44

the breath test, with an alcohol concentration of
0.15%.

The driver potentially could incur the following
violations. The alcohol test failure is a criminal
offense under MS 169A.20(1). It is also a civil law
violation under MS 169A.52(4). The drug test refusal
is a criminal offense under MS 169A.20(2) and is also
a civil law violation under MS 169A.52(3). Since the
driver was under age 21, he violated MS 169A.33(2).
As a commercial vehicle driver with an AC over .04,
he violated MS 169A.20(6) and also MS 169A.52(2).
Since the incident caused a death and two injuries, a
felony conviction for criminal vehicular operation
resulting in a fatality is possible under MS 609.21(1),
and two separate felony convictions for criminal
vehicular operation resulting in an injury are possible
under MS 609.21(2). Each of the above violations
could cause an entry to the person’s driver record
(although there can be only one offense under
MS169A.20).

Since a single incident may lead to multiple
violations, a circumstance such as the following could
occur: In a year, there are 35,000 impaired driving
arrests. Five-hundred of those never get recorded as
an impaired driving incident. Among the remaining
34,500 arrests that do lead to an impaired driving
incident on record, there are 34,000 civil Implied
Consent law violations, and 27,000 impaired-driving
criminal convictions, for a total of 61,000 violations.
In addition, Minnesotans may incur violations in other
states and those will be placed on their Minnesota
driving record. Also, non-Minnesotans incur
violations in Minnesota, and the Department of Public
Safety creates a record in the state’s driver license file
to keep track of those violations.

For all these reasons, it is useful to distinguish
between incidents, violations, and violators. The
number of incidents on record in a year should show a
close correspondence to the number of arrests in a
year. Violations will be more numerous, and the types
of violations incurred will help to characterize an
incident. For example, did the incident involve test
failure or test refusal? Was an injury or fatality
involved? It is also useful to think about incidents
separately from the persons who committed them. A
person may go through an irresponsible phase in his or
her life and incur several incidents in a year or two,
and then reform. Thus, in a year, there may be 34,500
incidents on record, but if 1,500 persons were arrested
twice, and 500 were arrested three times in the year,
then 32,000 persons accounted for the 34,500
incidents. In this report, Section | deals with impaired
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driving incidents -- when and where they occurred,
what types of violations were involved, and so on.
Section 11 shows the criminal conviction rates for the
incidents. Section Il deals with persons -- How many
have DWI incidents on record? How many prior
incidents do they have? and so on. Section IV focuses

more specifically on recidivism. Section V reports
statistics on crashes and their costs. For each county,
it shows total crashes, fatalities, and injuries, and the
number and percentage of them of them that were
classified as alcohol-related.

APPENDIX B

DEFINITIONS

Disqualification

A “disqualification” is the action taken by the
Commissioner of Public Safety on a person’s
commercial vehicle driver’s license upon being
notified that the person was operating a commercial
vehicle while having an alcohol concentration of
.04% or higher. The Commissioner “disqualifies” the
driver from operating commercial vehicles. This
action is mandated under the Implied Consent Law,
MS 169A.52. (MS 169A.20 makes it a crime for a
person to operate a commercial vehicle while having
an alcohol concentration over 0.04% and provides for
separate actions upon conviction.)

A disqualification is not counted as an impaired
driving incident unless the driver also had a regular
implied consent law violation or impaired driving
conviction.

DWI

“DWI” appears to be the historic and classic term
to designate impaired driving. It may not have a
precise definition. It could stand for driving while
intoxicated, driving while under the influence,
driving while impaired.

In Minnesota, a usage evolved to some extent that
the term “DWI” refers to an actual conviction under
the criminal statute while the term “implied consent”
or “administrative license revocation” refers to the
revocation by the Commissioner of Public Safety
under the Implied Consent law.

Thus, if John Doe got convicted in court under
MS169A.20, it would be said that he “got a DWL.” If
he did not get convicted but did get revoked under
the Implied Consent law (169A.50 to 169A.53), then
it would not be said that he got a DWI, but that he
“got an implied consent.”

Throughout this report, the term “impaired driving
incident [on record]” (or merely “incident”) is used
as a collective term to designate a “DWIL” or an
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implied consent revocation, or a single incident that
resulted in both an administrative license revocation
and a criminal conviction for an offense specified in
the impaired driving code.

DWI Law

In 2000, the Legislature completely recodified
Minnesota’s DWI law. The changes mostly took
effect January 1, 2001. The law up through year
2000 had become gradually more complex. The
main criminal law was contained in MS 169.121.
Other DWI criminal laws were 169.1211 and
169.129. These laws contained many references to
other laws which had to be consulted to fully
understand the main law. The Implied Consent law
was MS 169.123, and there were many references
between it and the criminal DWI laws.

The 2000 recodification combined all of these into
a new chapter MS 169A, and specified that “this
chapter may be cited as the Minnesota Impaired
Driving Code.”

Thus, the term “DWI law” increasingly appears
obsolete and the preferred term increasingly appears
to be “impaired driving law."
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Implied Consent Law

Minnesota Statutes, sections 169A.50 to 169A.53,
make up the “Implied Consent” law -- the civil law
stating that by implication a person who drives in
Minnesota gives his or her consent to a chemical test
for purposes of gathering evidence as to whether or
not an offense under Minnesota’s impaired driving
law has occurred. The chemical test can be of a
person’s blood, breath, or urine, and the test can be
for alcohol or for any other substance specified in MS
169A.20. Under the Implied Consent Law, the
Commissioner of Public Safety imposes a one-year
license revocation for test refusal, or a ninety-day to
one-year revocation (depending on the prior record)
for a test failure.

Incident
An episode of impaired driving, regardless of
whether it is detected and prosecuted.

Incident on Record

An incident on record is an episode of impaired
driving or an episode in which the Implied Consent
law was violated and the following also occurred:
The incident was detected and a stop was made and
the driver was found in court to have violated the
criminal impaired driving law 169A.20, or it was
established that the driver violated the Implied
Consent law either (1) by taking a chemical test and
“failing” it, or (2) by refusing to take the required
test. Furthermore, the fact of this criminal offense
and/or civil law violation has been recorded on the
person’s Minnesota driving record.

Minnesota Resident

As used in this report, a person for whom records
maintained by the Department of Public Safety show
to be a current resident of Minnesota. Note that the
Department of Public Safety may not be promptly
notified that a person died, or (as may especially be
true of multiple DWI offenders) that a person moved
from the state.
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Non-Minnesota Resident

As used in this report, a person for whom records
maintained by the Department of Public Safety show
as not being a current resident of Minnesota. The
person may have been a resident and moved away, or
may never have been a resident.

Not-a-drop

Minnesota Statute 169A.33 is sometimes referred
to as the “not a drop” law. It provides that a person
under the age of 21 who drives with any amount of
alcohol shall have his or her license revoked by the
Commissioner of Public Safety. In this report, a not-
a-drop violation is not counted as an impaired driving
incident unless the driver also had a regular implied
consent law violation or impaired driving conviction.

Offender

A person who has committed a petty
misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or
felony, regardless of whether it is detected and
prosecuted.

Offense

A petty misdemeanor, misdemeanor, Qross
misdemeanor, or felony. (All DWI offenses are
misdemeanor or higher.) An offense may or may not
be detected and prosecuted.

Violation
A breaking of one of Minnesota’s criminal or civil
laws.

Violator

A person who breaks a criminal or civil law in
Minnesota.

Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety



APPENDIX C

CHRONOLOGY OF MINNESOTA IMPAIRED DRIVING LEGISLATION SINCE 1911

Laws that appear especially significant--to be “landmarks”--are highlighted in bold font. Starting in 1987,
the date on which a law went into effect is shown in parentheses after the description of the law.

Appendix C: Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology

Year
passed

1911
1917

1925

1927

1937

1939
1941

1955

1957

Reference
Number

N RPN R

[y

Description of Amendment

Driving while in an intoxicated condition is defined to be a misdemeanor.
Three-month forfeiture of driver’s license upon conviction for DWI.
Violation of license forfeiture is defined to be a misdemeanor.

A second or subsequent DWI is raised to gross misdemeanor status.

Criminal penalty for repeat offenders shall include license revocation for three months to one
year.

First DWI offense raised to gross misdemeanor status.

Prison for all offenders.
Penalty for all offenders: prison 10 days to 1 year, plus fine of not more than $1,000, plus
license revocation for not longer than two years.
All DWI offenses reduced to misdemeanor status.
Criminal penalties reduced.
Penalty for first offense: Prison 10 to 90 days or fine of $10 to $100, or both.
License revocation.
Penalty for repeat offenders: Prison 30 to 90 days or fine of $25 to $100, or both.
License revocation.

Commissioner shall revoke offenders’ driver’s licenses in accordance with recommendation of
the court.

90 day license revocation.
All offenders shall have driver’s license revoked for not less than 90 days.

Blood alcohol concentration (“BAC”) levels defined for use as evidence.
Results of chemical test for level of alcohol in the blood as measured from blood, breath, urine,
or saliva specimen taken from defendant within two hours of arrest, is admissible as evidence.
= BAC of .000 to .049 is prima facie evidence of innocence.
= BAC of .050 to .149 is relevant, but not prima facie, evidence of intoxication.
= BAC of .150 or greater is prima facie evidence of intoxication.

Two-hour time limit (see 1955:1) changed from two hours from time of arrest to two hours from
time of offense.

License revocation reduced.

License revocation for first offenders reduced from 90 days to not less than 30 days.

Penalty for a repeat offense within three years increased to prison for 10 to 90 days, plus license
revocation for not less than 90 days.
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Year Reference Description of Amendment
passed number

1957 3 Offense causing injury or death.

Penalty for offenders causing grievous injury or death: prison 60 to 90 days, plus license
revocation for not less than 90 days.

1959 1 Open Bottle Law.
It is a misdemeanor to have an open container of alcohol in the passenger compartment of a
vehicle.

1961 1 Implied Consent Law.

Under civil law, a person who drives a motor vehicle on a public roadway is deemed to have
given consent to a test for blood alcohol concentration by means of testing a blood, breath, urine,
or saliva specimen.
2 Commissioner to revoke driver’s license for 6 months for test refusal.

Under the rationale provided by the new civil Implied Consent law, Commissioner shall impose
a 6-month license revocation on persons who refuse to submit to evidentiary BAC test.

The Commissioner shall issue a twenty-day temporary license to give the person time to
appeal, and the license revocation shall take effect at the end of twenty days, barring appeal.

3 Refusal to submit to evidentiary test shall not be admissible as evidence in criminal court.
4 When BAC is measured by test of breath, urine, or saliva, the BAC levels defined as “relevant”
and “prima facie” evidence of intoxication (see 1955:1) shall be increased by 20%.
1967 1 Elimination of use of saliva test to determine BAC.
2 Two-hour time limit on collection of evidence removed.
3 BAC level of 0.10% is prima facie evidence of intoxication.

= A BAC of 0.000--0.049 shall be considered prima facie evidence of innocence.

= A BAC of 0.055--0.099 shall be considered as relevant, but not prima facie, evidence of
intoxication.

= ABAC of 0.100 or greater shall be considered prima facie evidence of intoxication.

4 When BAC is measured by test of breath or urine, the BAC levels defined as “relevant” and
“prima facie” evidence of intoxication (see 1967:3) shall be increased by 10%.

Late 1 The “B-Card” restriction
1960s Commissioner initiates administrative policy (under authority of MS 171.04, in effect since
1957, or before) that the driver’s license of a person convicted of DWI a third time within 5
years, or a fourth or subsequent time within ten years, shall be “cancelled and denied” on the
grounds that the Commissioner has determined that it would be “inimical to public safety” for
the person to hold a driver’s license.
The driver’s license may be reinstated if the person complies with rehabilitation
requirements established by Commissioner.
Included in the administrative procedures is the important restriction now referred to as the
“B-Card restriction.” The person’s driver’s license shows the “B-Card” restriction, which,
specifically, is that the person may not consume any alcohol anywhere under any circumstances.
If the commissioner learns that the person has failed to comply with this restriction, then the
Commissioner re-imposes the “cancel[ed] and deny” action on the person’s driver’s license.

1969 1 Upon medical recommendation, court may stay imposition of criminal penalties on condition
that offender submit to medical treatment.
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Year Reference Description of Amendment
passed number

1971 1 Criminal per se law enacted.

A BAC of .10% is defined to be illegal per se (in itself): If an evidentiary chemical test to
determine BAC shows that one-tenth of one percent (1 part per thousand) of the driver’s blood
is alcohol, then the driver has committed a misdemeanor. It is not necessary to prove that the
driver was “intoxicated” or impaired. The BAC of 0.10% or greater is itself a misdemeanor.

This landmark law facilitated prosecution; however, it had the unintended effect of
causing the BAC level, instead of actual impairment, to become the standard for proving guilt.
Drivers might be very impaired at lower BAC levels, but a BAC below 0.10% would make
prosecution difficult.

2 Preliminary breath test.
Officer may utilize preliminary breath test to help determine if there are probable grounds for
arrest and for request for the evidentiary test.

3 Test at scene of accident, upon probable cause.
When a person is involved in a traffic crash causing property damage, injury, or death, officer
may, upon probable cause to suspect a violation, request preliminary and evidentiary BAC tests
of person (under penalty of license revocation for refusal).

4 The per se illegal BAC level of 0.10% no longer has to be increased by 10% (see 1967:4) when
BAC is measured through test of breath or urine specimen.

Maximum fine for a first offense increased to $300.00.

2 Penalty for offenders causing grievous injury or death reduced to prison for 60 to 90 days, or
fine of not more than $300, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 90 days. (Prison
is no longer mandated; see 1957:3.)

1976 1 “Administrative per se” law enacted.
Important landmark: Though the District of Columbia had a similar ordinance, Minnesota is
the first state to enact the now almost universal “administrative per se” law.

The Commissioner of Public Safety automatically imposes a 90-day license revocation on
drivers found to have a BAC of 0.10% or higher. The Commissioner first issues a 20-day
temporary license, during which time the driver may request a judicial hearing on the
administrative revocation. (Test refusal continues to trigger a six-month license revocation;

1973

[EN

see 1961:1.)
A request for a hearing stays imposition of the revocation.
2 Commissioner may issue limited licenses to persons whose licenses were revoked under the
“administrative per se” law.
3 Alcohol safety programs in counties

Counties of more than 10,000 population shall establish “Alcohol Safety Programs” to conduct
alcohol problem assessments on DWI (and other) offenders. Results of assessments to be
reported to the court.

The court may stay criminal penalties and require the offender to get treatment. The court
may do this on the basis of the “alcohol problem assessment” report; a medical examination of
the offender is no longer required.

4 If a first-time offender complies with treatment program, the commissioner may terminate the
administrative per se revocation after 60 days.
1978 1 Administrative revocation expedited.

Arresting officer shall serve as “agent of the commissioner” and shall confiscate the person’s
driver’s license, forward it to the Commissioner, and shall a issue temporary license, valid for
30 days, to the person.
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1978 2 Person has 30 days to request a judicial hearing on the administrative revocation for test failure
or test refusal. A request for a hearing stays imposition of the revocation.
3 Concept of BAC changed to AC (alcohol concentration).
Per se illegal levels are separately defined for alcohol concentrations in blood, breath, and
urine.
4 Criminal penalties explicitly defined.

= For first offense: prison for not more than 90 days, or fine of not more than $500, or
both, plus license revocation for not less than 30 days.
= Offense within 3 years of a prior offense: prison for not more than 90 days, or fine of
not more than $500 (raised from $300), or both, plus revocation of not less than 90
days.
=  For offenders causing bodily harm or death: prison for not more than 90 days, or fine
of not more than $500, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 90 days.
5 “Aggravated violations” raised to gross misdemeanor status.
(An aggravated violation is the act of driving while under the influence while already under
revocation for driving while under the influence.)

6 Jurisdiction for prosecuting aggravated violations transferred from county court to district
court.

7 Upon conviction, court shall act for commissioner by taking person’s driver’s license and
sending it to the commissioner, if the license has not already been taken by officer at time of
arrest

8 Court shall give due consideration to alcohol problem assessment report.

9 “B-Card restriction” upon implied consent violation.

Commissioner shall “cancel and deny” driver’s license of persons who incur a third incident in
five years, or a fourth or subsequent incident in 10 years, where incident is defined as either an
implied consent violation or an impaired driving conviction. The cancellation shall remain in
effect until rehabilitation requirements imposed by the commissioner are proven to have been
met. Licenses reinstated will include the “B-card restriction” (requiring total abstinence, 24
hour a day). Formerly, license cancellation and denial, and the B-card restriction if reinstated,
was only applied upon a third criminal conviction. (See entry under “late 1960s.”)

1980 1 A request for testimony of person who performed laboratory analysis must be received at least

ten days in advance of judicial hearing on administrative revocation, and, also, at least ten days
in advance of trial.

1981 1 Court may not stay imposition of the license revocation under criminal law (but may still order
a limited license to be issued).
1982 1 At a crash scene, upon probable cause, officer may arrest a person for driving while under the
influence, without warrant, regardless of whether officer witnessed violation.
2 Officer no longer required to offer blood test.
3 Temporary license issued by officer at time of arrest is valid for 7 days (reduced from 30).
4 Request for judicial hearing no longer stays revocation from taking effect.

Defense attorneys had used the mechanism of requesting a judicial hearing on the
administrative revocation as a tactic to delay and weaken the state’s case.

This landmark change, whereby the hearing request no longer stays imposition of the
revocation, caused hearing requests filed with Attorney General’s Office to decrease from
about 1,000 per month to about 100 per month.

5 Judicial hearing procedure expedited.
“The hearing shall be held at the earliest practicable data, and in any event no later than 60
days following the filing of the petition for review.”
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1982 6 Administrative review of the Implied Consent revocation.

Establishes procedure, independent of judicial hearing, for administrative review (by
commissioner) of administrative revocation. A request for administrative review shall not stay
imposition of revocation.

7 A request for testimony of person who drew blood must be received at least ten days in
advance of judicial hearing on administrative revocation, and, also, at least ten days in advance
of trial.

8 Alcohol concentration test result on specimen taken within two hours of offense is deemed to
be alcohol concentration at time of offense. (Ruled unconstitutional; see 1984:4)

9 Absence of alcohol concentration test shall be admissible as evidence. (Compare with 1961:3
and 1983:2.)

10 Repeat offender definition expanded.

Definition of second offender expanded to include those who had a prior conviction within 5
(increased from 3) years of current incident.

11 Repeat offenses raised to gross misdemeanor status.
Second offense within 5 years, and third-or-subsequent offense within ten years, raised to
gross misdemeanor status.

12 Longer revocation lengths, under criminal law, upon conviction for third and subsequent
offenders.

13 Courts may no longer require commissioner to issue limited license.

14 License revocation imposed on second-time offenders to remain in effect until completion of
court-ordered treatment program, if any.

15 0.07--0.09 AC provision.

Upon a report to the Commissioner that a driver had an AC of 0.070 to 0.099, and if this report
is the second such report within two years, the Commissioner shall order the person to submit
to an alcohol problem assessment, and to treatment, if indicated by the assessment. The
Commissioner shall impose a 90-day license revocation if the driver fails to comply.

1983 1 Officer in fresh pursuit may cross geographic limit of his or her jurisdiction to stop and arrest
suspect.
2 Refusal to take evidentiary test is admissible as evidence in trial. (See 1961:3 and 1982:9.)
3 Offenders from other states.

Repeat offenses and aggravated offenses by drivers from other states shall be subject to the
gross misdemeanor charge if driver’s state of residence has statute in conformity with
Minnesota’s criminal DWT statute.

4 Jurisdiction for prosecuting aggravated violations transferred from district court back to county
court. (See 1978:6.)
1984 1 Evidentiary test made mandatory.

New language is added to the Implied Consent Notice, read to the offender at arrest,
stating that Minnesota law requires the test to be performed. (As before, if the offender refuses
the test, the refusal shall trigger license revocation. Language is more explicit now.)

2 Administrative revocation for test refusal increased from 6 months to 1 year.

3 Longer revocation for juveniles.
Juveniles who refuse to take, or who take and fail, the evidentiary test shall experience the
normal administrative revocation, or revocation until 18 years of age, whichever is longer.

Also, adults who had adjudications for impaired driving as juveniles may be subject to the
gross misdemeanor penalties provided for repeat offenders.
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1984 4 Alcohol concentration of 0.10% or greater, as measured within 2 hours of offense, is made a
criminal offense per se. (See 1982:8.)
1987 1 County alcohol safety program expanded.

All counties (not just those over 10,000 population) must establish an Alcohol Safety Program
(see 1976:3) for the purpose of conducting alcohol problem screenings, and for conducting
comprehensive chemical use assessments on persons whom screenings show as having a
possible problem. (Effective 8/1/87)

2 Violators to pay chemical use assessment fee.
All violators shall pay a $75 chemical use assessment fee. Money collected to be credited to
newly created “Drinking and Driving Repeat Offense Prevention Account.” (8/1/87)

3 Snowmobile operation while impaired and ATV operation while impaired made comparable to
normal motor vehicle operation while impaired. (8/1/87)
1988 1 Mandatory License Plate Impoundment Law.

Courts mandated to order certain repeat violators to surrender license plates for all vehicles
which they own or lease. The following shall be subject to mandatory license plate
impoundment:

1. A person who incurs a violation within 5 years of three prior incidents.

2. Aperson who incurs a violation within 10 years or four or more prior incidents.
(8/1/88)

2 Special series license plates.
“Special Series” license plates for vehicles may be issued if the violator obtains a limited
license or if others in violator’s household have a need to operate the vehicle whose plates
have been impounded. (8/1/88)
(The “special series” plates are recognizable by officers, but not by the general public, as
signifying a vehicle whose normal license plates have been impounded.)

3 Mandatory minimum criminal sentences.
Mandatory minimum sentences established for certain repeat violators (a person who incurs an
offence within 5 years of a prior incident, or who incurs an offence within 10 years of two or
more prior incidents): 30 days imprisonment, or 8 hours of community service for each day
less than 30 days served. (8/1/88)

1989 1 Test refusal by repeat violators criminalized.
It is a gross misdemeanor to refuse an alcohol test if the person has one prior incident within 5
years or two or more prior incidents within 10 years of the current incident. (8/1/89)

2 Commercial Driver License “disqualification” introduced.
The Commissioner of Public Safety shall disqualify a person from operating a commercial
motor vehicle (CMV) if the person refuses an alcohol concentration test, or takes the test and
has an AC of 0.04% or greater. Length of disqualification to be as follows:
First violation: 1 year.
If violation involved hazardous materials: 3 years.
If violation is a second or subsequent violation on record: 10 years.
(1/2/90)

1990 1 Administrative license plate impoundment law.
Mandatory license plate impoundment (see 1988:1) changed from judicial implementation to
administrative implementation (by Commissioner of Public Safety), and arresting officer shall
act as agent of commissioner and impound license plates at time of arrest. (1/1/91)

2 Procedure established for administrative review of plate impoundment action. (1/1/91)

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2011 Page 52 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety



Appendix C: Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology

Year Reference Description of Amendment
passed number

1990 3 Impaired driving at a railroad crossing raised to gross misdemeanor status. (8/1/90)

4 Comprehensive chemical use assessment on all violators.
The requirement that all violators submit to a preliminary alcohol problem screening (and then
a comprehensive assessment if the screening indicates that there may be a chemical
dependency problem) is eliminated and replaced by the requirement that all violators submit to
a comprehensive chemical use assessment. (8/1/90)

5 A new level (third in the list below) of criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offense is added.
The categories now are: Criminal Vehicular Operation resulting in
1. death.
2. great bodily harm. 4. death to an unborn child.
3. substantial bodily harm (new). 5. injury to an unborn child.
(8/1/90)
Establishes 1-year pilot program to test efficacy of ignition interlock devices. (8/1/91)
2 Counties authorized to channel offenders “considered to be of high risk to the community” into
a pilot program of intensively supervised probation. (8/1/91)
1992 1 Any test refusal is defined to be a crime (1/1/93).
(Previously, test refusal by a repeat violator was a crime. See 1989:1).
2 Violations triggering mandatory license plate impoundment (see 1988:1) expanded to also
include:
1. any “aggravated violation” (see 1978:5).
2. any violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s driver’s
license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would be inimical to
public safety. (See entry under “late 1960s.”)

1991

[N

(1/1/93)

3 Chemical dependency assessment fee (see 1987:2), required of all violators except those
determined indigent, raised from $76 to $125. (7/1/92)

4 Vehicle Forfeiture law.

If a person is convicted of
1. impaired driving within 5 years of 3 prior incidents, or
2. impaired driving within 10 years of four or more prior incidents, or
3. aggravated impaired driving, or
4. any violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s driver’s
license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would be inimical to
public safety,
then the vehicle used in the offense is subject to impoundment and forfeiture. (1/1/93)

5 “Hard revocation” periods established.
A person shall not be eligible to obtain a “limited license” for a certain length of time (-- the
“hard” period of the revocation). The hard periods are as follows:
= forafirstincident: 15 days.
= for a subsequent incident: 90 days.
= for atest refusal: 180 days.
(2/1/93)

6 Recidivism problem study commission established.
“Commission on Confinement and Treatment of DWI Recidivists.” (1/1/93)
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1992 7 Test may be compelled by force in event of CVO.

Test for alcohol and/or controlled substances may be compelled (by force if necessary) if there
is probable cause to suspect criminal vehicular operation.

Since 1961, an officer may “require” a test, but a person might refuse (triggering license
revocation). Now, in the event of suspected CVO, officer may require, and compel by force if
necessary, the test. (1/1/93)

1993 1 “Not-a-Drop” law enacted.
Upon notification by a court that a person under the age of 21 has been found to have any
quantity whatsoever of alcohol or of a controlled substance, the Commissioner of Public
Safety shall revoke the driver’s license of the under-age person. (6/1/93)
2 Child Endangerment law enacted.
It is a gross misdemeanor for a person to drive while impaired and there is a child in the
vehicle who is under the age of 16 and who is more than 36 months younger than the offender.

(8/1/93)
3 Length of “hard revocation” (see 1992:4) increased to 1 year if the violation includes a
conviction for criminal vehicular operation. (1/1/94)
1994 1 “Habitual Offender” penalties established.

A person who incurs 6 or more incidents in 10 years, or 8 or more in 15 years, must be
sentenced to a minimum of 1 year incarceration or to a program of intensively supervised
probation. (8/1/94)

1996 1 Not-a-drop violation raised to misdemeanor status.
In addition to license revocation by the commissioner of Public Safety, the “not-a-drop”
violation (see 1993:1) is defined to be a misdemeanor offense. (8/1/96)

2 Additional test for controlled substances permitted.
Arresting officer is explicitly authorized to require a blood or urine specimen, even after a
breath test has been performed, if the officer has reason to believe the person was impaired by
a substance not susceptible to analysis by means of a breath test. (8/1/97)

3 Criminal Vehicular Operation expanded.
A new level (fourth in the list below) of criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offenses is added.
The categories now are: Criminal Vehicular Operation resulting in:

1. afatality. 4. bodily harm (new).
2. great bodily harm. 5. death to an unborn child.
3. substantial bodily harm. 6. injury to an unborn child.
(8/1/96)
1997 1 Special provisions for high-AC (0.20% or higher) offenders established.

Driving while having an Alcohol Concentration of 0.20% or higher is defined to be a gross
misdemeanor.

Length of Commissioner’s administrative revocation is doubled from that imposed on
violators who test below 0.20%. Revocation lengths therefore are:

BAC less then 0.20 BAC 0.20+
First incident 90 days 180 days
Second incident within 5 years 180 days 360 days
Incident by violator under 21 6 months one year

(1/1/98)
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1997 2 New offense category, “Enhanced Gross Misdemeanor,” with stricter criminal penalties,
established.
The following violations are defined to be “enhanced gross misdemeanors:”
1. Driving while impaired within 10 years of two prior incidents.
2. Driving with an AC of 0.20% or higher within ten years of a prior incident.
3. Child Endangerment (see 1993:2) within 10 years of a prior incident.
4. Driving while impaired and not stopping at a railroad crossing within 10 years of a
prior incident. (1/1/98)
3 Officer authorized to stop vehicle bearing special plates.
Officer is explicitly authorized to stop a vehicle bearing “special series” plates (see 1988:2) to
determine if the driver “is operating the vehicle lawfully.” (1/1/98)

4 Procedure established for “administrative forfeiture” of violator’s vehicle.
Prior to this, vehicle forfeiture was conducted through a judicial forfeiture procedure. Now,
law enforcement agencies may impound a vehicle and institute forfeiture procedures. The
following violations will cause the vehicle used in the violation to be subject to administrative
forfeiture:
a violation within 5 years of 2 prior incidents.
a violation within 15 years of 3 prior incidents.
a violation that includes child endangerment within 5 years of 1 prior incident.
a violation that includes child endangerment within 15 years of 2 prior incidents.
a violation that includes a high AC within 5 years of 1 prior incident.
a violation that includes a high AC within 15 years of 2 prior incidents. (1/1/98)
5 Violations that trigger license plate impoundment (see 1988:1 and 1992:2) are greatly
expanded to include:
a violation within 5 years of a prior incident.
a violation within 15 years of two or more prior incidents.
an “aggravated violation” (see 1978:6).
a violation that includes a high AC (.20% or higher).
a violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s driver’s
license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would be inimical to
public safety. (1/1/98)
1998 1 Program to use “remote [home] electronic alcohol monitoring” established.
Judges who sentence offenders to a program of intensively supervised probation (see 1991:2)
are authorized to require violators to submit to a program of remote electronic alcohol
monitoring. Unless determined indigent, offenders to pay the per-diem cost of the program.
(8/1/98)

2 Increased fee for special series plates.
Fee for issuing “special series” license plates to violators whose normal license plates have
been impounded is increased from $25 (for an unspecified number of vehicles) to $50 for each
vehicle for which special series plates are issued. (8/1/98)

1999 1 Enhanced gross misdemeanor repealed.
Use of the term “enhanced gross misdemeanor” as a new category of offense (see 1997:2) is
repealed, but the expanded penalty provisions for the offenses that had been identified as
“enhanced gross misdemeanors” are retained.
Also, courts are explicitly authorized to substitute a program of intensively supervised
probation, with electronic home alcohol monitoring, in place of the mandatory incarceration
periods. (5/25/99)

ourwhPE
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Appendix C: Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology

Year Reference
passed number

Description of Amendment

1999 2 Prior violations involving snowmobile, ATV, or motorboat to be counted.

Makes explicit that violations triggering the revocation of snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or
motorboat operating privileges are to be included among the types of prior violations counted
in determining the charge (misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor) made for a current incident.

(8/1/99)

2000 1 All existing impaired-driving statutes are repealed.
All provisions of impaired-driving law, with some amendments, are recodified as
Minnesota Statute 169A, which provides that “this chapter may be cited as the
Minnesota Impaired Driving Code.”
Chief among the statutes repealed are:

1.

2.

3.

MS 168.042, the license plate impoundment law.

(incorporated into 169A.60).

MS 169.121, the main criminal impaired driving law.

(incorporated into 169A.20 to 169A.48).

MS169.1211, “alcohol-related” driving by commercial vehicle operators.
(incorporated into 169A.20, 169A.31, and 169A.50 to 169A.53).

MS 169.122, the “open-bottle law.”

(incorporated into 169A.35).

MS 169.123, the main civil (“Implied Consent™) impaired driving law.
(incorporated into 169A.50 to 169A.53).

MS 169.124 through MS 169.126, mandating counties to provide Alcohol Safety
Programs to conduct chemical use assessments on persons convicted of an offense
(when the arrest that led to the conviction was for an impaired driving offense).
(incorporated into 169A.70).

MS 169.1265, authorizing use of intensively supervised probation programs in lieu of
incarceration.

(incorporated into 169A.73 and 169A.74).

MS 169.1217, providing for vehicle forfeiture, administrative and judicial procedures.
(incorporated into 169A.63).

MS 169.126 defining an “aggravated violation.”

Concept of “aggravated” violations is re-defined in terms of “aggravating factors.”
(incorporated into 169A.20 through 169A.275).

The Not-A-Drop law for underage divers is incorporated into 169A.33.

(1/1/01)

2 First-, Second-, and Third-Degree Impaired Driving offenses introduced, determined by
number of “aggravating factors.”
Concept of aggravating factors introduced. Aggravating factors are defined to be:

1.

2.
3.

Child endangerment (see 1993:2).

Having a high (0.20% or higher) alcohol-concentration (see 1997:1).

Each prior incident within ten years counts as 1 aggravating factor.

A first-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with two or
more aggravating factors, and is a gross misdemeanor.

A second-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with one
aggravating factor, and is a gross misdemeanor.

A third-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with
aggravating factors, and is a misdemeanor.  (1/1/98)
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Appendix C: Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology

Year Reference Description of Amendment
passed number

2000 4 Mandatory license plate impoundment violations (see 1988:1 and 1997:5) further expanded to
also include:

1. any violation involving child endangerment (see 1993:2).
2. anincident within 10 years of a prior incident.

3. acommercial vehicle driver license disqualification (see 1989:2) within ten years of
prior such disqualification.

(1/12/01)

3 Custodial arrest for first-degree impaired driving.
Officer is mandated to make a custodial arrest (the person must be taken into custody) if the
officer has reason to believe the person committed a first-degree impaired driving offense.

(1/1/01)
5 Court is authorized to increase maximum fine by $1,000 if offender has high AC (0.20% or
higher). (1/1/01)
6 A “working group on DWI Felony” law is established and the Commissioner of Corrections is
to develop a plan for how felony level offenders may be processed.
2001 1 Felony DWI law enacted.

A felony impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense within ten years of 3 or more
prior incidents. The felony penalty is stipulated: “The court shall sentence [the offender]... to
imprisonment for not less than three years. In addition, the court may order the person to pay a
fine of not more than $14,000.” (Maximum prison penalty is stipulated as “not more than 7
years”.)
The new categorization of offense levels is as follows:

4. First-degree impaired driving offense: felony.

5. Second-degree impaired driving offense (two or more aggravating factors): gross

misdemeanor.

6. Third-degree impaired driving offense (1 aggravating factor): gross misdemeanor.

7. Fourth-degree impaired driving offense (ho aggravating factors): misdemeanor.
(8/1/02)

2 Driver license reinstatement fees increased.

The total fee had been $250.00 with a $40 surcharge (total $290). That total is increased
to:

1. $395 ($250 fee and $145 surcharge) effective July 1, 2002.

2. $630 ($250 fee and $380 surcharge) effective July 1, 2003.

3 Custodial arrest for first- and second-degree impaired driving.
Officer is mandated to make a custodial arrest (the person must be taken into custody) if the
officer has reason to believe the person committed a first-degree or a second-degree impaired
driving offense. (See 2000:3.) (8-1-02)
4 Two new misdemeanor crimes are defined.
1. Itisamisdemeanor for a person whose vehicles has had its license plates impounded
to drive any vehicle.
2. Itis a misdemeanor for a person who purchases a vehicle, the plates for which have
been impounded, to allow the violator to drive the vehicle.
(8/1/02)
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Year Reference Description of Amendment
passed number

2002 1 License cancellation (and “B-Card restriction” upon reinstatement) triggered earlier.

Under the commissioner’s authority to withhold a driver’s license from persons whose driving
behavior is determined to be “inimical to public safety,” a third impaired driving incident within
5 years, or a fourth or subsequent one within ten years, triggered the Department of Public
Safety to “cancel and deny” the person’s driver’s license, until rehabilitation is established. If
the license is reinstated, it carries the “B-Card restriction,” requiring total abstinence 24 hours a
day.

By administrative rule, the triggering of the license cancellation (and B-Card restriction if
reinstated) is advanced to a third or subsequent impaired driving incident within ten years.

(See entry under late 1960s, and 1978, 9).

(November, 2002).

2003 1 Two inadequate breath samples constitute refusal.
In submitting to the breath alcohol test, if a person fails to provide two samples of breath that
are adequate for the chemical test to be performed, that failure shall “constitute a refusal” to
provide a breath test. (8/1/03)

2 Test refusal increased to gross misdemeanor offense.
A impaired driving incident with no aggravating factors that involves a refusal to take the
alcohol concentration test is made a third-degree impaired driving offense: a gross
misdemeanor. (8/1/03)

3 Prior not-a-drop violations not counted in determining degree.
If an offender had a prior “not-a-drop” law violation (see 1993:1), and that prior violation did
not involve a criminal impaired driving offense or an implied consent violation, then that prior
violation shall not be included as a prior incident for purposes of determining the degree of the
current incident. (8/1/03)

2004 1 The per se illegal alcohol concentration level is reduced from 0.10% to 0.08%.
The new 0.08% illegal per se level applies to criminal offenses and civil law violations.
That is, effective August 1, 2005, driving while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08% or
higher is per se a criminal offense that will trigger criminal penalties. It is also a civil (Implied
Consent) law violation that triggers the Commissioner of Public Safety to impose license
revocation or cancellation actions on the violator. (8/1/05)

2 Commercial Driver License Disqualification made more stringent.

The Minnesota Legislature adopts law that Minnesota shall enforce US Department of
Transportation Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration requirements regarding
disqualifying persons from operating commercial motor vehicles. Those requirements (as of
2006) provide that:

1. if aperson is convicted of test refusal or of impaired driving (in any vehicle, not just a
commercial vehicle), for a first time, he or she shall be disqualified from operating a
commercial vehicle for one year.

2. If the conviction was for an incident involving transport of hazardous materials, the
disqualification shall be for three years.

3. Any second test-refusal or impaired-driving conviction shall trigger lifetime
disqualification.
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Year Reference Description of Amendment
passed number
2010 1 DWI Sanctions Strengthened; Ignition Interlocks Required.

Legislation adopted to strengthen sanctions against DWI offenders and require certain
offenders to use ignition interlock devices. The legislation becomes effective July 1, 2011, and
aims to enhance road safety to prevent alcohol-related crashes which account for one-third of
all Minnesota traffic deaths annually. The legislation gives DWI offenders a chance to regain
driving privileges by ensuring safe and legal driving through the use of interlocks. Interlock
devices are installed in a vehicle and require a driver to provide a breath sample in order for
the vehicle to start. The vehicle will not start if the device detects an alcohol-concentration
level of 0.02 or above after the driver blows into its tube. Interlocks require rolling re-tests
after the initial test, and have features to deter others from starting the vehicle for the intended
user. The legislation includes:

1. DWI offenders with a 0.16 and above alcohol-concentration level will be required to
have ignition interlock devices installed on any vehicle they drive.

2. DWI offenders with a 0.16 and above alcohol-concentration level that choose not to
use ignition interlocks will not have driving privileges ranging from one year to six
years — depending on offense level. Offenders with three or more DWIs in a 10-year
period will be required to use interlocks.

3. Interlock users will regain full driving privileges immediately after the offense,
ensuring they are driving with a valid license and not a threat on the roadway.

4. Interlocks will be used to monitor chronic DWI offenders (three or more DWIs in 10
year period) to verify chemical use.

(05/18/10)

Minnesota law dealing with impaired driving is complex. The chronology above is selective. Not all amendments can
be described in detail. (See the “Overview of Minnesota’s DWI Laws” by Jim Cleary and Rebecca Pirius, reprinted as
Appendix D, for a complete and accurate description of current law and practice). Persons with expertise in this area are
encouraged to notify us if any errors are discovered.
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An Overview of Minnesota’s DWI Laws

This information brief provides a brief overview of DWI laws, which are
mainly
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Prohibited Behaviors

Minnesota’s DWI law stipulates that it is a
crime:

1) to drive, operate, or be in control of any
motor vehicle anywhere in the state while:

e under the influence of alcohol, a controlled
substance, or (knowingly) a hazardous substance,
or any combination of these;

¢ having an alcohol concentration (AC) of .08 (.08
means .08 percent alcohol concentration, which is
8/10,000ths by volume) or more at the time or
within two hours of doing so;

e having any amount or the metabolites of a
schedule | or 11 controlled substance, other than
marijuana, in the body; or

o if the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle,
having an alcohol concentration of .04 or more at
the time or within two hours of doing so; or

2) to refuse to submit to a chemical test of the

person’s blood, breath, or urine under Minnesota
Statutes, section 169A.52 (implied consent law).

Criminal Penalties

Criminal penalties upon conviction for DWI are
tiered, as follows:

* Fourth-Degree DWI — misdemeanor, punishable
by up to 90 days of jail and a $1,000 fine (for the
person’s first impaired driving violation within ten
years without test refusal or any aggravating factors)

« Third-Degree DWI — a gross misdemeanor,
punishable by up to one year of jail and a $3,000 fine
(for the person’s second impaired driving violation
within ten years or first such violation with test
refusal or another aggravating factor)

» Second-Degree DWI — also a gross misdemeanor
(for the person’s third impaired driving violation
within ten years or second such violation with test
refusal or one other aggravating factor, or first such
violation with two aggravating factors)
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e First-Degree DWI — felony, punishable by up to
seven years’ imprisonment and a $14,000 fine
(for the person’s fourth impaired driving violation
within ten years or anytime following a previous
felony DWI or criminal vehicular operation
conviction; other aggravating factors are not
considered)

Aggravating Factor

This includes:

e aqualified prior impaired driving incident within
the preceding ten years;

¢ an alcohol concentration of .20 or more upon
arrest (but not for first-degree DWI); and

o the presence of a child under age 16 in the
vehicle, if more than 36 months younger than the
offender (but not for first-degree DWI).

Qualified Prior Impaired Driving Incident

This includes both:

e prior impaired driving convictions; and
e prior impaired driving-related losses of license

(implied consent revocations) or operating
privileges

for separate driving incidents within the preceding
ten years involving any kind of motor vehicle,
including passenger motor vehicle, school bus or
Head Start bus, commercial motor vehicle, airplane,
snowmobile, all terrain vehicle, off-road recreational
vehicle, or motorboat in operation.

Chemical Testing

Minnesota’s implied consent law assumes that a
person who drives, operates, or is in control of any
type of motor vehicle anywhere in the state has
consented to a chemical test of breath, blood, or
urine for the purpose of determining the presence of
alcohol or controlled or hazardous substances in the
person’s body. The testing is administered at the
direction of a law enforcement officer when there is
probable cause that the person has committed a DWI
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has been arrested for a DWI violation;
e has been involved in a motor vehicle crash;

e has refused to take the DWI screening test; or

e has taken the screening test and it shows AC of
.08 or more.

To build probable cause, the officer generally,
though not always, proceeds as follows:

e observes the impaired driving behavior and
forms a reasonable suspicion of an impaired
driving violation

e stops and questions the driver

e administers a standardized field sobriety test
(SFST)

e administers a preliminary breath test (PBT)

If, based on these screening tests, the officer has
probable cause to believe that a DWI crime has
occurred, he or she may arrest the person and demand
a more rigorous evidentiary test of the person’s
breath, blood, or urine. Before administering the
evidentiary test, the officer must read the implied
consent advisory statement to the person, explaining
that testing is mandatory, test refusal is a crime, and
the person has the right to consult an attorney before
taking the test. If the evidentiary test is requested
without the advisory being given, then the person may
be criminally charged and prosecuted following test
failure or refusal, but the various administrative
sanctions cannot be applied.

If the person is unconscious, consent is deemed not
to have been withdrawn, and the chemical test may
be administered.

The officer chooses whether the test will be of the
person’s breath, blood, or urine. A person who
refuses a blood or urine test must be offered another
type of test (breath, blood, or urine).

Blood and urine tests are analyzed by the Bureau of
Criminal Apprehension (BCA), with results available
within about ten days. The BCA may certify
chemical test results directly to the Department of
Public Safety (DPS).
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Administrative Sanctions

Apart from any criminal penalties that may result
from a DWI arrest, the law provides for three
administrative sanctions, which can commence
immediately upon arrest.

1) Administrative License Revocation (ALR)

Whenever the implied consent law can be invoked
during the arrest process, the person’s driver’s
license can be withdrawn immediately following any
test failure or test refusal. The person is given a
seven-day temporary license to drive before the
withdrawal becomes effective. The period of license
withdrawal is as follows:

e 90 days for a person with no qualified prior
impaired driving incident within the past ten years
and no other aggravating factor was present in the
current incident (reducible to 30 days upon DWI
conviction for a first-time offender)

e six months, if violator is under age 21

e 180 days, if person has had a qualified prior
impaired driving incident within ten years

o double the applicable period above, if the person
was arrested with an alcohol concentration of .20
or more or while having a child under age 16 in
the vehicle

e one year, if the person refused to submit to
the chemical test of blood, breath, or urine
(reducible to 90 days upon DWI conviction
for a first-time violation)

e cancelled and denied indefinitely as inimical to
public safety, pending treatment and
rehabilitation for a third or more impaired driving
incident within a ten-year period

The person may appeal the administrative license
revocation, either administratively to DPS and/or
judicially through the court. (See Minn. Stat. §
169A.53 for the procedural details.)
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2) Administrative License Plate
Impoundment

A plate impoundment violation is an impaired
driving violation involving an aggravating factor,
such as any of the following:

e occurring within ten years of a qualified
prior impaired driving violation by that
person

¢ involving an alcohol concentration of .20 or more
e having a child under age 16 present in the vehicle

e occurring while the person’s license has
been cancelled for the person being inimical
to public safety

Plate impoundment applies to:

o the vehicle used in the plate impoundment
violation,

o as well as any vehicle owned, registered, or leased
in the name of the violator, whether alone or
jointly.

A plate impoundment order is issued by the arresting
officer at the time of arrest and is effective
immediately. The officer also seizes the plates and
issues a temporary vehicle permit valid for seven days
(or 45 days if the violator is not the owner).

The minimum term of plate impoundment is one year,
during which time the violator may not drive any
motor vehicle unless the vehicle displays specially
coded plates and the person has been validly
relicensed to drive. The violator is also subject to
certain restrictions when selling or acquiring a vehicle
during the impoundment period.

Specially coded license plates—signifying to law
enforcement that the regular plates have been
impounded for an impaired driving violation—
may be issued for the vehicle(s), provided that:

o the violator has a properly licensed
substitute driver;
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e a member of the violator’s household is validly
licensed;

o the violator has been validly relicensed; or

¢ the owner is not the violator and is validly
licensed.

It is a crime for a driver whose plates have been
impounded to attempt to evade the plate
impoundment law in certain specified ways, or for
another person to enable such evasion.

As with the driver’s license withdrawal sanction, a
person incurring license plate impoundment may
appeal this sanction both administratively and/or
judicially through the court. (See Minn. Stat. §
169A.60 for the procedural details.)

3) Administrative Vehicle Forfeiture

Minnesota’s DWI law provides for vehicle forfeiture
for a designated license revocation or designated
offense, which is typically the third DWI violation
within a ten-year period, though with one or more
aggravating factors, a person’s second-time or even
first-time violation might qualify as well.

DWI law defines “designated license revocation” as a
license revocation or commercial license
disqualification for an implied consent violation
within ten years of two or more qualified prior
impaired driving incidents. The term “designated
offense” includes a DWI violation in the first or
second degree or involving a person whose driver’s
license is cancelled as inimical to public safety or
subject to B-Card (no alcohol) restrictions.

The law provides that the arresting officer may
seize the vehicle and requires that the prosecuting
authority serve notice to the owner(s) of the intent
to forfeit. The forfeiture is conducted
administratively, unless within 30 days the owner
appeals the forfeiture action by filing for a judicial
determination of the forfeiture.

A vehicle is subject to forfeiture under this law only
if:

e it was used in the commission of a
designated offense and the driver was
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convicted of that offense or failed to appear at
trial on it, or

e itwas used in conduct resulting in a designated
license revocation and the driver either fails to
seek administrative or judicial review of the
revocation in a timely manner or the revocation
iS sustained upon review.

Other vehicles owned by the offender are not subject
to forfeiture. As a protection for an owner who is not
the offender, the law states that a motor vehicle is
subject to forfeiture only if its owner knew or should
have known of the unlawful or intended use of the
vehicle.

Following completion of forfeiture, the arresting
agency may keep the vehicle for its official use.
However, the security interest or lease of the financial
institution, if any, is protected, and the lienholder may
choose to sell the vehicle at its own foreclosure sale or
agree to a sale by the arresting agency. A
proportionate share of the proceeds, after deduction of
certain expenses, goes to the financial institution. The
law provides similar protection to any innocent co-
owner, as well.

Charging the Crime

Updated: November 2008

Mandatory Hold and Conditional
Release Pretrial

DWI violations may be charged by:

e citation (very rarely done, and only if a
misdemeanor);

e tab charge when booking the person into jail;
and/or

o complaint prepared by the prosecutor subsequent
to arrest.

In the case of a blood or urine evidentiary test, the
officer typically tab charges the violator at the time of
arrest for driving under the influence, which is one
category of DWI crime. Then, at the person’s first
court appearance, the prosecutor requests continuation
of the charges, pending return of the test results from
the state crime lab. If the test results indicate an
alcohol concentration of .08 or more, the prosecutor is
allowed to add additional charges orally at the
person’s next court hearing. Any charging complaint
that is subsequently prepared would include all
relevant charges.
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When a person is arrested for a first-degree (felony)
or second-degree DWI crime, the person must be
taken into custody and detained until the person’s
first court appearance, at which time the court
generally sets bail and specifies conditions of
release. Unless maximum bail ($12,000 for gross
misdemeanor DWI) is imposed, a person charged
with any of the following offenses may be granted
pretrial release from detention, but only if the person
agrees to abstain from alcohol and to submit to
remote electronic alcohol monitoring (REAM)
involving at least daily breath-alcohol measurements.
The offenses are:

e athird implied consent or DWI violation within
ten years;

e asecond violation, if under 19 years of age;

¢ aviolation while already cancelled as inimical to
public safety for a prior violation; or

e aviolation involving an alcohol concentration of
.20 or more.

Further conditions apply to a person charged with a
fourth or more violation within ten years, including:

¢ impoundment of the vehicle registration plates, or
impoundment of the off-road recreational vehicle
or motorboat itself, if one was being driven;

e arequirement for reporting at least weekly to a
probation officer, involving random breath
alcohol testing and/or urinalysis; and

e arequirement to reimburse the court for these
services upon conviction for the crime.

Chemical Dependency Assessment and
Treatment

Every person convicted of DWI or a reduced charge
must submit to a chemical use assessment
administered by the county ($125 fee, plus $5
surcharge) prior to sentencing. The court must order
the person to submit to the level of treatment care
recommended by the assessment, if the conviction is
for a repeat offense within ten years or the conviction
was for DWI with an AC of .20 or more. Treatment
requirements are spelled out in DPS rules.
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Rehabilitation Following Driver’s Mandatory Minimum Sentences

License Cancellation and Denial

Upon conviction for DWI, repeat offenders are
subject to the following mandatory minimum

Chemical dependency rehabilitation is statutorily PIe -
criminal penalties:

required following a person’s third or subsequent
impaired driving incident within ten years. Either a o
conviction or an administrative loss of license, or e second DWI offense within ten years:

both, constitutes an impaired driving incident. 30 days incarceration, at least 48 hours of which
must be served in jail/workhouse, with eight
hours of community work service for each day
less than 30 served

Rehabilitation is also required—by DPS
administrative rule, but not by statute—of a person
whose license has been cancelled for violating the no
alcohol provision of a restricted driver’s license—a e third DWI offense within ten years:
B-Card (which can be obtained only upon successful

completion of a prior rehabilitation).

By statute, DPS is authorized to administratively
establish the standards for rehabilitation, and the
periods of rehabilitation must be not less than one

year for the person’s third, and not less than two years

for the person’s fourth or more impaired driving
violation.

Under DPS rules, however, the period of
rehabilitation is tiered from one to six years,
according to whether the violator has successfully
completed rehabilitation previously:

o one year for the first rehabilitation

e three years for the second

e six years for the person’s third or subsequent
rehabilitation

According to DPS rules, rehabilitation requires,
among other things, that the person:

o successfully complete chemical dependency
treatment in a program that requires complete
abstinence from alcohol and controlled
substances;

e actively participate in a recognized chemical
dependency support group;

e completely abstain from alcohol and controlled
substances; and

e obtain sworn affidavits vouching to that
effect from at least five other familiar
witnesses (who are not relatives, an
employer or employees of the person).
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90 days incarceration, at least 30 days of
which must be served consecutively in a local
jail/workhouse

o fourth DWI offense within ten years:

180 days of incarceration, at least 30 days of
which must be served consecutively in a local
jail/workhouse

o fifth DWI offense within ten years:

One year of incarceration, at least 60 days of
which must be served consecutively in a local
jail/workhouse

For All Repeat Offenders

The court may order that the person spend the
remainder (nonjail portion) of the mandatory

minimum sentence under REAM or on home

detention.

An Alternative to the Mandatory Minimum
Period of Incarceration

The court may sentence the offender to a program
of intensive probation for repeat DWI offenders
that requires the person to consecutively serve at
least six days in jail/workhouse and may order that
the remainder of the minimum sentence be served
on home detention.
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Long-term Monitoring Required

Long-term monitoring applies to most third-time DWI
offenders and all those under age 19. When the court
stays part or all of a jail sentence, it must order the
offender to submit to REAM for at least 30 days each
year of probation.

Felony DWI Penalties

If a person is convicted of felony DWI and given a
stayed prison sentence, then that person must be
sentenced in accordance with the local sentencing
provisions described in this section. (For more, see
the Felony DWI section.)

Intermediate Sanctions and Probation

When sentencing a DWI offender, the court may
impose and execute a sentence to incarcerate, or it
may stay impaosition or execution of sentence and:

e order intermediate sanctions without
probation; or

e place the person on probation with or
without supervision and under terms the
court prescribes, including intermediate
sanctions if prescribed.

The term “intermediate sanction” includes but is not
limited to jail, home detention, electronic monitoring,
intensive supervision, sentencing to service, day
reporting, chemical dependency and mental health
treatment, restitution, fines, day fines, community
work service, restorative justice work, and work in
lieu of fines or restitution.

For DWI convictions, the maximum period of the
stay of sentence, is:

e two years, for a misdemeanor conviction;

e six years, for a gross misdemeanor conviction;
and

e seven years, for a felony DWI conviction.

Felony DWI

Minnesota criminal law defines the term felony to
mean any crime for which incarceration of more
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than one year may be imposed. Under Minnesota’s
felony DWI law, a person who commits first-degree
DWI1 is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to:

e imprisonment for not more than seven years (or
more than seven years if the person has other
prior criminal history);

e afine of not more than $14,000;
e or both.

A person is guilty of first-degree DWI if the
person violates DWI law:

e within ten years of three or more qualified prior
impaired driving incidents (defined as prior
convictions or license revocations for separate
impaired driving incidents); or

e has previously been convicted of a felony DWI
crime; or

o has previously been convicted of a felony-level
crime of criminal vehicular homicide or injury
(CVO) involving alcohol or controlled
substances.

Unlike nonfelony DWI crimes, being arrested with a
high alcohol concentration (.20 or more) or under
circumstances of child endangerment are not defined
as aggravating factors for felony DWI; instead, only
qualified prior impaired driving incidents and prior
convictions for felony CVO are considered.

When sentencing a person for a felony DWI
offense, the court:

e must impose a sentence to imprisonment for not
less than three years; and

e may stay execution of this mandatory sentence,
but may not stay imposition of this sentence or
sentence the person to less than three years
imprisonment.

A person sentenced to incarceration in prison for
felony DWI is not eligible for early release unless the
person has successfully completed a chemical
dependency treatment program while in prison.
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The court must also order that after a felony DWI
offender is released from prison, the person must be
placed on conditional release for five years, under any
conditions that the commissioner of corrections opts
to impose, including an intensive probation program
for repeat DWI offenders. If the person fails to
comply with the conditions of release, the
commissioner may revoke it and return the person to
prison.

If the court stays execution of the mandatory prison
sentence, then it must apply the mandatory penalties
for nonfelony DWI offenses (jail and/or intensive
probation, as described in a preceding section) and
must order as well that the person submit to long-term
alcohol monitoring and the level of treatment
prescribed in the chemical dependency assessment. If
the person violates any condition of probation, the
court may order that the stayed prison sentence be
executed.

The Minnesota sentencing guidelines recommend a
stayed sentence of 36 months, 42 months, and 48
months for a felony DWI conviction for a person
with zero, one, or two criminal history points
respectively, and they specify a presumptive
commit-to-prison for a person with a criminal
history score of three or more.

To illustrate, a person convicted of felony DWI who
has had seven qualified prior impaired driving
incidents within the past ten years, but no other
criminal convictions, would likely reach the threshold
for a presumptive commit, as follows:

o three of those priors are used to establish the basis
for enhancing the current DWI offense to a
felony-level crime (but these cannot also be used
to determine the person’s criminal history score)

o the other four priors—provided they involved
DW!I convictions—count as one-half criminal
history point each, for a total of two points
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e one criminal history point—a custody status
point—would result from the current
impaired driving incident occurring while the
person is on probation for a prior impaired driving
incident, as would almost certainly be the case in
this example

Thus, this hypothetical offender would have a
criminal history score of three when facing sentencing
on the current felony-level DWI offense; the person’s
presumptive sentence under the guidelines would be
to commit to prison for 54 months. With one less
qualified prior incident during the preceding ten years,
the guidelines would call for a presumptive stayed
sentence of 48 months.

Criminal Vehicular Homicide and
Injury

Criminal law defines six levels of criminal vehicular
operation (CVVO)—all but one constituting felony
offenses—depending on the level of injury inflicted:

e criminal vehicular homicide (causing death, but
not constituting murder or manslaughter)

e great bodily harm (serious permanent injury)

e substantial bodily harm (temporary substantial
injury)

e bodily harm (pain or injury—a gross
misdemeanor)

e death to an unborn child

e injury to an unborn child

A common element to each of these CVO crimes is
that the person causes the specified harm to another
person as a result of operating a motor vehicle under
any of the following conditions:

e inagrossly negligent manner

¢ inviolation of any of the elements of regular DWI
law

o where the driver who causes the accident leaves
the scene in violation of Minnesota’s felony
fleeing law

e where a citation was issued that the vehicle was
defectively maintained, the driver knew
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remedial action was not taken, the defect created
a risk to others, and injury or death resulted from
the defective maintenance

In practice, most CVVO prosecutions involve
simultaneous violation of DWI law.

Under the sentencing guidelines, conviction for
criminal vehicular homicide or death to an unborn
child carries a presumptive commit to prison for 48
months, for an offender with no other criminal history
points.

Limited Driver’s License — Work
Permit

Updated: November 2008

For the most part, a limited driver’s license may not
be issued to a driver whose license is cancelled and
denied for a third or more DWI violation. However,
Minnesota law authorizes DPS to issue a limited
license to a person whose driver’s license is revoked
or cancelled if the person qualifies for participation in
an ignition interlock program. (Contact DPS Office of
Traffic Safety for more information.)

Restricted Driver’s License — The B-
Card

A person whose driver’s license has been revoked for
an implied consent violation or DWI conviction may
apply for a limited license to drive:

e toandfroma job, or for a job;
¢ to chemical dependency treatment;

e to provide for the educational, medical, or
nutritional needs of the family; and/or

o for attendance at a postsecondary educational
institution.

However, the law requires a waiting period (i.e., hard
revocation) before a suspended or revoked driver may
apply for a limited license. The waiting period is:

e 15 days for a first-time implied consent or DWI
violator;

e 90 days for a second-time or subsequent violator
who complied with the AC test;

e 180 days for a second or subsequent-time violator
who refused the test;

e one year for a person revoked for manslaughter or
criminal vehicular homicide;

o if under the age of 18, for twice the applicable
period above, with a minimum of 90 days;

o for twice the applicable period above, if person’s
AC was .20 or more at the time of violation; and

e an additional 60 days, if the license withdrawal
involved use of the vehicle in commission of a
felony crime or an injury accident involving
failure to stop and disclose identity.
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Driver’s licensing law allows DPS to impose
restrictions on a person’s license to “assure safe
operation.” Under DPS rules, a person whose driver’s
license has been cancelled and denied for a third or
subsequent impaired driving violation and who has
successfully completed treatment and rehabilitation
may apply for a restricted driver’s license, a B-Card,
provided that the person signs a sworn statement to
never again consume any alcohol (not even in a
religious service, in medication, in any other manner
or amount, irrespective of whether the act involves
driving).

Any violation of this “no alcohol” restriction of the
B-Card results in immediate cancellation of that
driver’s license (but is not a crime unless it involves
operation of a motor vehicle). A subsequent
rehabilitation is required to regain the B-Card.

Under DPS rules, the minimum period of time for
establishing rehabilitation for which the person
must prove total alcohol abstinence, is:

o one year for the first rehabilitation,

o three years for the second rehabilitation, and
o six years for the third or subsequent rehabilitation.

It is only following such rehabilitation that the
offender whose driver’s license has been cancelled
may apply for a B-Card license. The rehabilitation
requirements following a B-Card violation are not
mandated by statutes, but have been established
administratively by DPS rules.
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Violation of the “no alcohol” restriction of a B-Card
while operating a motor vehicle is a gross
misdemeanor.

Record Keeping

Records of implied consent license actions and
DWI convictions must be retained permanently on
the official driving record.

The “no alcohol” restriction of a person’s B-Card
also remains in effect and on the person’s driving
record permanently. A temporary law enacted in
2005 allowed B-Card holders who had gone ten
years without a repeat violation to request a
duplicate driver’s license without the “No
Alcohol” verbiage showing under “Restrictions.”
However, that law expired July 31, 2006, and as a
result, there currently is no procedure by which a
B-Card holder can have the “no alcohol” verbiage
removed from the B-Card license.

Driver’s License Reinstatement Fees
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utilizing the installment plan. The driver’s
license expires in two years unless the second
installment is paid. Full payment of the fee and
surcharge is required before a person can renew a
license on the standard schedule or reinstate a
cancelled, revoked, or suspended license.

First-time DWI Violator Using an Off-
road Recreational VVehicle or
Motorboat

Before becoming relicensed to drive after the
period of license withdrawal stemming from an
implied consent violation or DWI conviction, a
person must pass the license examination and re-
apply for a driver’s license and pay the following
fees:

e 3250 — driver’s license (DL) reinstatement fee
(basic fee)

e 3430 - surcharge on the DL reinstatement fee
o $24 — DL application fee

The $250 driver’s license reinstatement fee and
$430 surcharge apply to alcohol-related and CVO-
related license withdrawals only; the standard
reinstatement fee of $30 applies following loss of
license for other reasons.

Effective July 1, 2009, certain persons who are
eligible for a public defender may pay the
reinstatement fee and surcharge in two
installments. A handling fee may be imposed for
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A violator who has no qualified prior impaired
driving incident is subject only to the criminal
penalty (a misdemeanor) and the loss of operating
privileges for that type of vehicle.

The person is not subject to driver’s license
revocation, mandatory chemical dependency
assessment and treatment, mandatory conditions of
release, long-term monitoring, the penalty assessment
fee, or license plate impoundment.

Any person arrested for a DWI violation involving an
off-road recreational vehicle or motorboat and who
has a qualified prior impaired driving incident on
record is subject to the same administrative sanctions
and criminal penalties as the person would be if
arrested while driving a regular motor vehicle.

Commercial Vehicle Driving

DWI law sets a lower per se alcohol concentration
limit for driving commercial motor vehicles, .04
instead of .08, and the implied consent law allows for
a chemical test upon probable cause that the
commercial vehicle driver has consumed any amount
of alcohol.

A person who violates the .04 standard while driving
a commercial motor vehicle is subject to a period of
disqualification (one year for the first violation and
ten years for any subsequent violation) from
commercial motor vehicle driving. The person would
remain validly licensed to drive regular motor
vehicles unless he or she also has violated regular
DWI law by exceeding the .08 per se standard or by
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driving while impaired or with any amount of certain
controlled substances in the body, in which case the
person would be subject to the full range of applicable
penalties and sanctions of regular DWI law. In
addition, a commercial motor vehicle driver who
incurs license revocation or cancellation for an
impaired driving violation in a personal passenger
vehicle receives no special dispensations from the
sanctions and penalties that apply to other drivers—
the person is prohibited from driving any type of
vehicle until becoming validly relicensed to drive.

School Bus Driving

DWI law provides an even stricter standard of zero
tolerance for school bus driving, by making it
unlawful to drive a school bus when there is physical
evidence in the person’s body of the consumption of
any amount of alcohol. In addition to criminal
penalties, such a violation also triggers cancellation of
the person’s school bus driving endorsement and,
upon conviction, disqualification of the person’s
commercial driving privileges. However, as with
other nonbus commercial vehicle DWI violations, the
person would remain validly licensed to drive regular
motor vehicles unless he or she also has violated the
higher standards of regular DWI law.

Flying Airplanes

A special DWI law establishes a .04 per se standard
for alcohol concentration while flying and also
criminalizes test refusal. Violation is always a gross
misdemeanor.

It also is unlawful to fly within eight hours of any
alcohol consumption—a zero-tolerance standard,
but time limited. Violation is a misdemeanor.

Special Laws for Youth

Updated: November 2008

vehicle, broadly defined. However, two additional
alcohol-related laws apply to youth under age
21.

Drivers aged 16 and 17 years old who violate the
DWI laws are under the jurisdiction of the adult court,
not the juvenile court. As such, they are subject to the
full range of adult penalties and consequences.

The drinking age law prohibits a person who is
under the age of 21 from:

e consuming alcohol without parental permission
and supervision;

e purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol;

e possessing alcohol with intent to consume;

e entering a liquor store or bar for the purpose of
purchasing or consuming alcohol; or

e misrepresenting one’s age for the purpose of
purchasing alcohol.

A violation of this statute is a misdemeanor and
carries a mandatory minimum fine of $100.
However, it does not result in suspension of the
driver’s license unless the person has used a driver’s
license, Minnesota ID card, or any type of false
identification to purchase or attempt to purchase
alcohol (90 days suspension).

For purposes of these laws, a person does not attain
the age of 21 until 8:00 a.m. on the day of the

st
person’s 21 birthday.

Underage Drinking Driving — Zero
Tolerance

DW!1 laws apply equally to drivers of all ages. DWI
violations require either evidence of impaired driving
or an alcohol concentration of .08 or higher, or the
presence of certain illegal substances in the person’s
body, during or within two hours of the time of
driving, operating, or being in control of a motor
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Minnesota’s DWI law provides misdemeanor
penalties and driver’s license suspension for any
driver under age 21 who is convicted of driving a
motor vehicle anywhere in the state while consuming
alcohol or while there is physical evidence of such
consumption present in the person’s body. (This law
applies only to the driver and not to any passengers.)

However, a violation of the zero-tolerance law for
underage drinking and driving does not in
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itself constitute a DWI/impaired driving
violation, nor can it be used as an
enhancing factor for any subsequent DWI
violation.

For more information about DWI, visit
the criminal justice area of our web site,
www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/crime.htm
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