This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp

443 Lafayette Road N. St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 vw.dli.mn.gov



(651) 284-5005 1-800-DIAL-DLI TTY: (651) 297-4198

November 30, 2009

The Honorable Tim Pawlenty Governor

Senator James P. Metzen, Chair Business, Industry & Jobs Committee

Representative Tom Rukavina Chair, Higher Education & Workforce Development Policy & Finance Division

Representative Joe Atkins, Chair

Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller, Chair Legislative Coordinating Commission

Senator David J. Tomassoni, Chair, Economic Development & Housing Budget Division Committee

Michele Timmons Revisor of Statutes

Subject: Annual Report on Obsolete, Unnecessary, or Duplicative Rules, as Required by Minnesota Statutes, Section 14.05, Subdivision 5.

Dear Governor Pawlenty, Senators, Representatives, and Revisor Timmons:

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.05, subdivision 5, directs the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry to report to you by December 1 of each year whether any of its rules are obsolete, unnecessary, or duplicative of other state or federal statutes or rules.

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry at this time cannot identify any new rules that are obsolete, unnecessary, or duplicative and that should be repealed.

Last year the Department of Labor and Industry reported the following as obsolete:

Minn. Rule 5225.1400: Violations: This rule is obsolete because it has been superseded by the new statute on licensing orders. *See* Minn. Stat. § 326B.082, subd. 11 (2008).

Minn. Rule 5225.3100: Insured Coverage Report; and **Minn. Rule 5225.3150**: Insurance Company Inspections. These rules are obsolete because they have been superseded by statute. *See* Minn. Stat. § 326B.99 (2008).

November 30, 2009 Page 2

Minn. Rule 5225.3200: Appeals: This rule is obsolete because it has been superseded by the appeal provisions in the new enforcement statute. See Minn. Stat. § 326B.082, subd. 6(c), 8, 9(e),12(c) (2008).

Minn. Rule 5200.0020: Learners or Apprentices: This rule is obsolete and can be confusing as a training wage is for 90 days and not 300 hours.

Minnesota Rule 5200.0050: Rates For Part Time Employees: A portion of this rule is obsolete because the cross references to Minn. Stat. §177.23 are no longer valid.

Additionally, the Department of Labor and Industry previously reported the following as obsolete: Minn. Rule 5200.0080 Gratuities/Tips Credits.

The applicable provisions listed above have not yet been repealed however, a rulemaking process will be commenced within the year which will include a proposed repeal.

Sincerely,

Rausa Alsides

Laura Alsides Legal Analyst Legal Services Division Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry