This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp

443 Lafayette Road N. St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 www.doli.state.mn.us



(651) 284-5005 1-800-DIAL-DLI TTY: (651) 297-4198

November 26, 2008

	T	h	Э	H	łc	r	C	1(ę	ıŁ	١	е	 T	İI	Υ	1	F	2	a	۷	۷	le	9	r	١t	Ŋ	1
				115,5																							
	$\overline{}$			~																							
15	G	U	٧	е	Н	ıc)																				

Representative Joe Atkins, Chair Commerce & Labor Committee

Senator James P. Metzen, Chair Business, Industry & Jobs Committee Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller, Chair Legislative Coordinating Commission

Representative Tom Rukavina Chair, Higher Education & Workforce Development Economic Development Budget Committee Policy & Finance Division

Senator David J. Tomassoni, Chair,

Michele Timmons Revisor of Statutes

Subject:

Annual Report on Obsolete, Unnecessary, or Duplicative Rules, as

Required by Minnesota Statutes, Section 14.05, Subdivision 5.

Dear Governor Pawlenty, Senators, Representatives, and Revisor Timmons:

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.05, subdivision 5, directs the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry to report to you by December 1 of each year whether any of its rules are obsolete, unnecessary, or duplicative of other state or federal statutes or rules.

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry reports that the following rules are obsolete, unnecessary, or duplicative and should be repealed.

Minn. Rule 5225.1400: Violations: This rule is obsolete because it has been superseded by the new statute on licensing orders. See Minn. Stat. § 326B.082, subd. 11 (2008).

Minn. Rule 5225.3100: Insured Coverage Report; and Minn. Rule 5225.3150: Insurance Company Inspections. These rules are obsolete because they have been superseded by statute. See Minn. Stat. § 326B.99 (2008).

Minn. Rule 5225.3200: Appeals: This rule is obsolete because it has been superseded by the appeal provisions in the new enforcement statute. See Minn. Stat. § 326B.082, subd. 6(c), 8, 9(e),12(c) (2008).

Minn. Rule 5200.0020: Learners or Apprentices: This rule is obsolete and can be confusing as a training wage is for 90 days and not 300 hours.

Minnesota Rule 5200.0050: Rates For Part Time Employees: A portion of this rule is obsolete because the cross references to Minn. Stat. §177.23 are no longer valid.

Last year the Department of Labor and Industry reported the following as obsolete:

Minn. Rule 5200.0080 Gratuities/Tips Credits. The applicable provisions have not yet been repealed however, they will be repealed within the next year.

Sincerely,

Laura Alsides Legal Analyst

Legal Services Division

Jaura alsides

Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry