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Attached is an amended obsolete rules report. The previous report was filed on June 27, 2007.

The Board’s last rules changes became effective on March 19, 2007 and eliminated all obsolete rules. However,
since that time legislation was passed that has created obsolete rules as noted in the attached report.

If you have any questions regarding this report, please contact:
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Roseville, MN 55113
Phone: 651-639-4030 Email: bernice.caruth@gcb.state.mn.us

Encl.

www.gcb.state.mn.us



Minnesota Gambling Control Board
Obsolete Rules Report — Amended July 1, 2008
The following rules are obsolete or technically inaccurate based on legislative changes that occurred in 2007 and 2008. The Board will delete or
amend the obsolete rules in its next rules process. At this time the Board has not authorized a new rules process, as it completed an extensive
two year rules process on March 19, 2007. Further, the Board is required to conduct a lawful gambling study of the industry and report to the
Legislature by January 15, 2009 with recommendations for changes.

Current Rule

Current Rule Language

Change

7861.0210 Subp. 23

Definitions

Subp. 23. "Fraternal organization" means a nonprofit
organization that is a branch, lodge, or chapter of a national or
state organization and exists for the common business,
fraternal, or other interests of its members. The term does not
include college or high school fraternities and sororities.

Effective August 1, 2007, “fraternal organization” is defined
more specifically in Minn. Stat. 349.12, Subd. 16a, making
this rule obsolete.

7861.0230, Subp. 2,
item E

Gambling manager
qualifications — training

Subp. 2. In addition to the qualifications in Minnesota Statutes,
sections 349.155, subdivision 3, and 349.167, a person does
not qualify for a license if the person is any of the following....
E. a person who failed to complete the education requirements
in subpart 3.

Effective May 2, 2008, training requirements for gambling

managers are contained in Minn. Stat. 349.167.

- Item E points the reader to 7861.0230, Subpart 3,
which is now obsolete because of this legislative
change.

7861.0230, Subp. 3,
item A

Gambling manager
training

A. To qualify for a new gambling manager license, a person
must have attended within the last 12 months a board-
authorized gambling manager seminar and passed a board
examination that tests the person’s knowledge of gambling
manager responsibilities, and lawful gambling procedures, laws,
and rules. This item does not apply to an emergency gambling
replacement as allowed under subpart 6, item E.

Effective May 2, 2008, the training requirement for a new
gambling manager was changed from having received
training within the preceding 12 months to the preceding 6
months, per Minn. Stat. 349.167, Subd. 4, clause (1).
Therefore this rule item is obsolete.

7861.0230, Subp. 3,
item B

Gambling manager
training

B. To qualify for a gambling manager license renewal, the
gambling manager must attend board-authorized continuing
education classes as follows:

(1) For a gambling manager with a two-year license term the
gambling manager must attend a class during each year of the
two-year license term. When no other board-approved training
is available before the end of the 12" or 24™ month of the
gambling manager’s two-year license, the gambling manager
must pass a special gambling manager’s examination
administered by the board.

(2) For a replacement gambling manager whose license term is
13 months or greater but less than 24 months the gambling
manager must attend a class in the last 12 months of the
license term.

(3) For a replacement gambling manager whose license term is
12 months or less, the gambling manager seminar and
examination in item A qualifies as a continuing education class
for the license term.

Effective May 2, 2008, the training requirement for gambling
managers is outlined in Minn. Stat. 349.167, Subd. 4.
Training must now be completed with a calendar year, not
within each year of the license term. Item B is therefore
obsolete.
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Current Rule

Current Rule Language

Change

7861.0230, Subp. 6,
item D

Gambling manager
training

D. A gambling manager whose application was denied for
failing to comply with this part may not apply for a license or
for an emergency replacement gambling manager’s license.
The person may apply for a new gambling manager’s license if
the person attended the board-authorized gambling manager’s
seminar and passed the examination within the 12 months
immediately preceding the effective date of the new license.

Effective May 2, 2008, a person who will be a gambling
manager must have attended a seminar within the previous
6 months, per Minn. Stat. 349.167, Subd. 4, paragraph (1).
Therefore the rule is in conflict with statute and must be
amended.

7861.0230, Subp. 6,
item E, subitems (1)
and (2)

Gambling manager
training

E. If a gambling manager quits, dies, or is unable to perform
the duties, the organization must stop gambling until a
replacement emergency gambling manager has applied for
and received a license from the board.

(1) The replacement emergency gambling manager must
attend the board-authorized gambling manager seminar
and pass the examination within 90 days of being issued a
gambling manager’s license.

(2) If the person fails to pass the examination or fails to
comply with the licensing qualifications contained in
subpart 2, the board may summarily suspend the gambling
manager’s license under Minnesota Statutes, section
349.1641.

Minn. Stat. 349.167, Subd. 4, clause (2) and Subd. 7 contain
training requirements for replacement emergency gambling
managers.

Minn. Stat. 349.167, Subd. 7 requires the board to revoke,
not suspend, a replacement gambling manager’s license for
failing to pass the examination within 90 days of being
issued a license. Therefore the rule language in item E,
subitem (2) pertaining to the examination and summary
suspension is in conflict with statute and is obsolete.

The remaining language in item E, subitem (2) is also
obsolete as Minn. Stat. 349.1641 provides the parameters
for summary suspensions.

7861.0240, Subp. 3,
item A, subitem (6),
unit (d)

Lease information -
participation in bar
bingo

Lease information

Item A, subitem (6), unit (d):

“ the lessor, the lessor’s immediate family, and any agents or
gambling employees of the lessor will not participate as players
in the conduct of lawful gambling on the premises;”

Effective May 2, 2008, the lessor's immediate family and
employees may participate in bar bingo if they are not
involved with the sale or operation of bar bingo, per Minn.
Stat. 349.17, Subd. 7, clause (4). Therefore the rule is in
conflict with statute and needs to be amended.

7861.0260, Subp. 4,
item C

Raffle prizes

C. The total value for all raffle prizes awarded by a licensed
organization must not exceed $100,000 in a calendar year.

Effective May 2, 2008, the Board may not impose an annual
limit on raffle prizes. Therefore the prize limit in rule is
obsolete, per Minn. Stat. 349.211, Subdivision 2d and
Subdivision 3.
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Current Rule

Current Rule Language

Change

7861.0270, Subp. 3,
item E

Linked bingo

Item E. Linked bingo paper sheets must not be included as
part of a packet or package. All linked bingo paper sheets
must be sold as a separate item.

Effective May 2, 2008, electronic bingo devices may be used
for linked bingo games, per Minn. Stat. 349.17, Subd. 8,
paragraph (c). Therefore, the second sentence in item E must
be amended to include “ or facsimiles of bingo paper sheets.”

7861.0270, Subp. 10,
item A.

Linked bingo

A. An organization must not conduct more than one linked
bingo game at each bingo occasion.

Effective May 26, 2007, Minn. Stat. 349.17, Subd. 8,
paragraph (a) was amended to state, “A licensed organization
may conduct or participate in not more than two linked
bingo games per occasion, one of which may be a progressive
game in which a portion of the prize is carried over from one
occasion to another until won by a player achieving a bingo
within a predetermined amount of bingo numbers called.” The
statutory change makes the rule obsolete as the rule is now in
conflict with statute.

7861.0270, Subp. 10,
item B

Linked bingo

B. Linked bingo prize pools must not be carried over from one
bingo occasion to another.

- Effective August 1, 2007, the definition of “linked bingo
prize pool” was amended in Minn. Stat. 349.12, Subd. 25d
to allow for progressive prizes.

- Effective May 26, 2007, Minn. Stat. 349.17, Subd. 8,
paragraph (a) was amended to allow for progressive
linked bingo games.

- These statutory changes make the rule obsolete as it is in
conflict with statute that now allows for linked bingo
games with progressive prizes.

7861.0270, Subp. 10,
items C, H, and |

Linked bingo

C. An organization must only sell approved linked bingo paper
sheets for a linked bingo game. Duplicate linked bingo
paper sheet faces are not allowed in the same linked bingo
game. An electronic bingo device may not be used for a
linked bingo game.

H. Sales of linked bingo paper sheets must be stopped at least
15 minutes before the first bingo number is selected. The
organization must report the sales to the linked bingo
game provider before the first bingo number is selected.

I. After a winning combination of bingo numbers has been
declared by a player, the winning linked bingo paper sheet
face must be verified by the participating organization and
confirmed by the linked bingo game provider.

Effective May 2, 2008, electronic bingo devices may be used
for linked bingo games, per Minn. Stat. 349.17, Subd. 8,
paragraph (c).

- The first sentence in item C must be amended to include
“or facsimiles of bingo paper sheets” after “paper sheets.”

- The second sentence in item C must be amended to
include “or facsimiles of bingo paper sheet faces” after
“sheet faces.”

- The third sentence in item C prohibiting electronic bingo
devices is in conflict with statute, is obsolete, and must be
deleted from rule.

- The first sentence in Item H must be amended to include
“or facsimiles of bingo paper sheets” after “bingo paper
sheets.”

- Item | must be amended to include “or facsimile of a
bingo paper sheet face” after “bingo paper sheet face.”
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Current Rule

Current Rule Language

Change

7861.0290, Subp. 3,
item B

Tipboard game

B. An organization must sell the tipboard tickets for the price
printed on the flare. A tipboard ticket or group of banded
tickets may not be sold for more than $2. A tipboard ticket
may not be given to a player free of charge or for any other
consideration.

Effective May 26, 2007, the maximum tipboard ticket price
was established for the first time in statute and increased to
$5, per Minn. Stat. 349.211, Subd. 2c. Therefore the second
sentence in item B is obsolete as it is in conflict with the
statute.

7863.0220, Subpart
16, item A

Delinquent
organization
(payment to
distributor)

A. If a distributor has not received payment from an
organization within 35 days of the invoice or lease
agreement date, the distributor must report the
delinquency to the board in writing, by e-mail, or by
facsimile. The distributor must ensure that the board will
receive the notice by the 36™ day, or the next business
day, after the invoice date for the sale or lease of the
gambling equipment...

Effective May 2, 2008, the payment must be received by the
30" day, and if not received by the 30" day the board must
receive the delinquency notice by the 31% day. Therefore, the
rule must be amended to change “35” to “30”, and to change
“36™ to “31%.” The rule is currently in conflict with Minn.
Stat. 349.191, Subd. 1a.

7863.0260, Subpart
7, item A

Delinquent
organization
(payment to linked
bingo game provider)

A. If a linked bingo game provider has not received payment
from an organization within 35 days of the invoice date,
the linked bingo game provider must report the
delinquency to the board in writing, by e-mail, or by
facsimile. The linked bingo game provider must ensure that
the board will receive the notice by the 36™ day, or the
next business day, after the invoice date for the sale of the
linked bingo paper...

Effective May 2, 2008, the payment must be received by the
30" day, and if not received by the 30" day the board must
receive the delinquency notice by the 31% day. Therefore, the
rule must be amended to change “35” to “30”, and to change
“36™ to “31%.” The rule is currently in conflict with Minn.
Stat. 349.191, Subd. 1a.

7864.0230, Subp.1,
item F, subitem (2)

Progressive pull-tab
game

F. For a separate progressive jackpot flare, the minimum
information printed on the front of the flare must include:
....(2) cost per play, which may not exceed $2;

Effective May 26, 2007, the maximum pull-tab ticket price was
increased to $5, per Minn. Stat. 349.211, Subd. 2a. Therefore
the rule is in conflict with statute and must be amended.

7864.0230, Subp. 3,
item C, subitem (1)

Tipboard tickets

C. Tipboard tickets must be manufactured and packaged
according to the following:

(1) the standards in subpart 1, item C. The cost per play must
not exceed $2.

Effective May 26, 2007, the sentence “The cost per play must
not exceed $2” is obsolete, as Minn. Stat. 349.211, Subd. 2¢
was amended to state “An organization may not sell any
tipboard for more than $5.” Therefore, the rule must be
amended to be consistent with statute by pointing the reader
to the statutory cite.

7864.0230, Subp. 3,
item D, subitem (7)

Tipboard flare

D. The front of a tipboard flare must include: . . .
(7) cost per play, which may not exceed $2;

Effective May 26, 2007, the maximum tipboard ticket price
was established for the first time in statute and increased to
$5, per Minn. Stat. 349.211, Subd. 2c. Therefore the rule must
be amended to be consistent with statute and point the reader
to the statutory cite.
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Current Rule

Current Rule Language

Change

7864.0240, Subp. 7,
item A

Delinquent distributor
or linked bingo game
provider (payment to
manufacturer)

A. If a manufacturer has not received payment from a
distributor or linked bingo game provider within 35 days of the
invoice or lease agreement date, the manufacturer must report
the delinquency to the board in writing, by e-mail, or by
facsimile. The manufacturer must ensure that the board will
receive the notice by the 36" day, or the next business day,
after the invoice date for the sale or lease of the gambling
equipment...

Effective May 2, 2008, the payment must be received by the
30" day, and if not received by the 30" day the board must
receive the delinquency notice by the 31% day. Therefore, the
rule must be amended to change “35” to “30”, and to change
“36™ to “31%.” The rule is currently in conflict with Minn.
Stat. 349.191, Subd. 1b.

7865.0230, Subpart 1

Board sanctions

Subp. 1. Imposition of civil fine by board. The board may
impose a civil fine upon any licensee for violation of any
provision of Minnesota Statutes, sections 349.11 to 349.23, or
a violation of the board’s rules. The civil penalty may not
exceed $500 per violation.

Effective May 2, 2008, the Board may impose a civil penalty
that exceeds $500 for a violation of the expense limits, per
Minn. Stat. 349.15, Subd. 5, paragraph (c). The current rules
language in Subpart 1 needs to be amended to include this
change.

7865.0230, Subpart 2

Board sanctions

Subp. 2. Imposition of fines and sanctions by board or director
for violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 349.15, subdivision
1 (expense calculations). The following apply to a proposed
fine issued and sanctions imposed by the board or director
under Minnesota Statutes, section 349.16, subdivision 2,
paragraph (h).

If an organization exceeds expense calculations for the 24"
month, the organization is subject to a fine of up to $500 or
suspension or revocation of the organization’s license, in
addition to reimbursing the excess expense as required by part
7861.0320, subpart 11 or 12.

Effective May 2, 2008, the criteria for determining a
suspension or penalty for a violation of the expense limits is
prescribed in Minn. Stat. 349.15, Subd. 5, paragraphs (a) and
(b). This change makes Minn. Rule 7865.0230, Subpart 2,
obsolete.
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