

STATE OF MINNESOTA

OFFICE OF GOVERNOR TIM PAWLENTY

Commission on Judicial Selection

130 State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul, MN 55155

CREATED BY: The Commission on Judicial Selection is under Minnesota Statutes § 480B.

PURPOSE: Solicit judicial candidates, evaluate applicants and recommend three to five

nominees to the Governor.

JURISDICTION: District Court and Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals vacancies during

the term of a judge.

MEMBERSHIP: 49 members, including attorneys and non-attorneys;

9 at-large members who address all judicial vacancies;

7 appointed by the Governor; 2 appointed by the Supreme Court;

4 district members representing each of the state's 10 judicial districts who address vacancies that occur in their district;

2 appointed by the Governor;2 appointed by the Supreme Court.

The total membership of the Commission for a particular vacancy is 13.

COMPENSATION: No per diem, no expense reimbursement.

CONTACT: John Hultquist, Director of Judicial Appointments, 651-296-0019 or

john.hultguist@state.mn.us

MEMBERS:

At-large:

Appointed by the Governor:

Ronald J. Schutz, Chair, attorney Loyola Colebeck, non-attorney

Medina Rochester

Rene Diebold, attorney Bernadette Ann Perryman, non-attorney

Marshall Clear Lake

Michael Dougherty, attorney

Burnsville

Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Daniel Lew, attorney Marianne Short, attorney

Duluth Minneapolis

Lenor Scheffler, attorney Karen Himle, non-attorney

Eden Prairie Minnetonka

Voice: (651) 296-3391 or (800) 657-3717 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0056 ♦ TDD: (651) 296-0075 or (800) 657-3598 Web site: http://www.governor.state.mn.us An Equal Opportunity Employer

First Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

vacant, attorney Leo Brisbois, attorney

Eagan

Sonja Faust, non-attorney Judy Henderson, non-attorney

Waconia Burnsville

Second Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Alberto Quintela, attorney Patrick J. Kelly, attorney

St. Paul St. Paul

Paul Gam, non-attorney Stacey Millett, non-attorney

Arden Hills St. Paul

Third Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Jill Frieders, attorney James Forsythe, attorney

Rochester Winona

Rita' Hillmann Olson, non-attorney Kathleen Feldbrugge, non-attorney

New Prague Northfield

Fourth Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Richard Ostlund, attorney Hildy Bowbeer, attorney

Eden Prairie Bloomington

John Delmonico, non-attorney David Adney, non-attorney

Minneapolis Maple Grove

Fifth Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Marcus Christianson, attorney James Manahan, attorney

Mankato Mankato

David Sturrock, Ph.D., non-attorney Donna Holstine, non-attorney

Marshall Fairmont

Sixth Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

John D. Kelly, attorney H. Jeffrey Peterson, attorney

Twig Virginia

Daniel Urshan, non-attorney Inez Wildwood, non-attorney

Duluth Duluth

Voice: (651) 296-3391 or (800) 657-3717 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0056 ♦ TDD: (651) 296-0075 or (800) 657-3598 Web site: http://www.governor.state.mn.us An Equal Opportunity Employer

Seventh Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor:

Melinda Sanders, attorney

St. Cloud

Brenda Elmer, non-attorney

Moorhead

Eighth Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor:

Stephen Stennes, attorney

Montevideo

Susan Kamrath, non-attorney

Canby

Ninth Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor:

Richard Breen, attorney

Brainerd

Victoria White, non-attorney

Walker

Tenth Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor:

Glen Schumann, attorney

Woodbury

Karen Klinzing, non-attorney

Woodbury

Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Richard Pemberton, attorney

Fergus Falls

Mary Ann Baenninger, Ph.D., non-attorney

St. Joseph

Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Gregory Holmstrom, attorney

Granite Falls

Sandra Olson-Loy, non-attorney

Morris

Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Roger Malm, attorney

Hallock

Susan Mills, non-attorney

Crookston

Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Joan Quade, attorney

Blaine

Jermaine Ross, non-attorney

Columbia Heights

Voice: (651) 296-3391 or (800) 657-3717 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0056 ♦ TDD: (651) 296-0075 or (800) 657-3598 Web site: http://www.governor.state.mn.us An Equal Opportunity Employer