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Administration 

Congress 

Medicaid was established by the U.S. Congress in 1965 as Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This federal law requires all states to offer basic health care services to certain categories of low-
income individuals. States are reimbursed by the federal government for part of the cost of 
providing the required services. The federal law also gives states the option to cover additional 
services, and additional categories of low-income individuals, in their Medicaid programs.  
States that provide optional coverage receive federal reimbursement for part of the cost of this 
coverage. 
 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 

Medicaid is administered at the federal level by the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS), an agency within DHHS. CMS issues regulations and guidelines for Medicaid that states 
are required to follow. These regulations and guidelines are found in Title 42 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations, in the state Medicaid Manual, and in State Medicaid Director letters from 
CMS. 
 
States establish operating and administrative standards for their own Medicaid programs. All 
Medicaid programs must stay within the scope of federal rules and regulations, but state 
programs can and do vary widely, due to differences in coverage of optional services and 
eligibility groups. 
 
Minnesota State Legislature 

Medical Assistance (MA), Minnesota’s Medicaid program, was established by the legislature 
and implemented in January 1966. The MA law in Minnesota is found primarily in chapter 256B 
of Minnesota Statutes, which contains the following: 
 

• eligibility requirements, including specific income and asset limits for MA recipients 
• administrative requirements, such as the duties of the state Department of Human 

Services and the counties, and provisions for the central disbursement of MA payments to 
providers 

• a listing of services provided under MA 
• requirements for managed care and county-based purchasing plans  providing services to 

MA recipients 
• provisions for establishing payment rates for MA providers (Provisions relating to 

hospital payment rates are found in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256.) 
 
Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) 

DHS is responsible for administering the MA program at the state level and for supervising the 
implementation of the program by the counties. DHS has adopted administrative rules and 
policies that govern many aspects of the MA program. 
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Counties 

County human services agencies and tribal governments choosing to participate are responsible 
for determining if applicants meet state and federal eligibility standards.1 Individuals apply for 
MA by contacting their county human services agency. Agencies are required to complete 
eligibility determinations for most individuals within 45 days of receiving an application. (This 
time limit is 60 days in the case of disabled individuals and 15 days in the case of pregnant 
women.) 
 
 
Eligibility Requirements 
MA pays for the cost of medical services provided to eligible low-income persons who cannot 
afford the cost of health care. MA can retroactively pay for the cost of health care services 
provided to an individual up to three months before the month of application, if the individual 
would have been eligible for MA at the time the services were provided. Generally, MA is 
available to families, children, pregnant women, the elderly, and persons with disabilities who 
meet the program’s income and asset standards. 
 
Determining eligibility for MA is a complex task. The following discussion provides only an 
overview of the topic. More detailed information can be obtained from intake staff at county 
human services agencies or by referring to the DHS Health Care Programs Manual (available on 
the DHS website). 
 
To be eligible for MA, an individual must meet the following criteria: 
 

• be a citizen of the United States, a qualified noncitizen, or otherwise residing lawfully in 
the United States 

• be a resident of Minnesota 
• be a member of a group for which MA coverage is required or permitted under federal or 

state law 
• meet program income and asset limits, or qualify on the basis of a “spenddown” 
• not reside in a public institution, or in a public or private Institution for Mental Diseases 

(IMD), if age 21 through 642 
 
Eligibility for most enrollees must be redetermined every six to 12 months. 
 
Citizenship 

To be eligible for MA, an individual must be a citizen of the United States or a noncitizen who 
meets specified immigration criteria (see MA Eligibility for Noncitizens table on page 4). The 

                                                 
1 The DHS central office determines MA eligibility for some individuals who lose MinnesotaCare coverage 

due to failure to pay the premium and who want to apply for MA without submitting a new application. 
2 Certain exceptions to this limitation apply (e.g., for individuals placed in an IMD by a managed care plan).  

Individuals may also qualify for state-only funded MA. 
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state has chosen to provide MA coverage for all groups of noncitizens for which MA eligibility 
is mandatory or optional under federal welfare law. The state has also chosen to provide MA 
coverage for noncitizens who would have been eligible for MA except for passage of federal 
welfare reform legislation. MA coverage for this group of individuals is funded solely by state 
dollars, and the coverage is referred to as MA without federal financial participation (FFP). 
Nonimmigrants and undocumented persons are eligible only for MA coverage of emergency and 
pregnancy-related services. 
 

MA Eligibility for Noncitizens 

 
Immigration Status MA with FFP

MA without 
FFP 

Emergency 
MA with 

FFP3

Refugees, asylees, persons granted withholding of deportation, 
veterans/active duty military personnel and families, conditional 
entrants, Cuban/Haitian entrants, Amerasians, American Indians 
born in Canada, American Indians born outside of the U.S. who 
are members of a federally recognized tribe, certain Iraqi and 
Afghani special immigrants, victims of trafficking 

Yes N/A N/A 

The following individuals residing in the U.S. prior to 8/22/96:  
lawful permanent residents,4 noncitizens paroled into the U.S.5 for 
at least one year, battered noncitizens and their children 

Yes N/A N/A 

The following individuals who entered the U.S. on or after 
8/22/96:  lawful permanent residents,6 noncitizens paroled into 
the U.S. for less than one year, battered noncitizens and their 
children 

Yes, for children 
and  pregnant 
women7;  
No for all others, 
until five years 
after entry 

Yes, if not 
eligible for MA 
with FFP 

Yes 

Others lawfully residing in the U.S.8 on 8/22/96 and receiving SSI Yes N/A N/A 
Others lawfully residing in the U.S. Yes, but only for 

children and 
pregnant women9 

Yes Yes 

                                                 
3 Emergency MA with FFP covers MA services necessary to treat an emergency medical condition, including 

labor and delivery. For noncitizens eligible for MA with FFP, the emergency MA with FFP category is not 
applicable because emergency services are included in the regular set of MA services for which FFP is received. 

4 A lawful permanent resident is generally a person who has a “green card,” which means the person has 
permission to live and work permanently in the United States and can apply for citizenship after living for five 
continuous years in the United States. 

5 A person is “paroled into the United States” when the U.S. Justice Department uses its discretion to grant 
temporary admission for humanitarian, legal, or medical reasons. 

6 Until 40 quarters of work are completed, a noncitizen’s income and resources are deemed to include the 
sponsor’s income and resources. 

7 Since July 1, 2010, children and pregnant women who are qualified noncitizens or otherwise lawfully present 
have been eligible for MA with FFP. 

8 Includes lawful temporary residents, family unity beneficiaries, persons whose enforced departure has been 
deferred, persons with temporary protected status, persons paroled for less than one year, applicants for asylum, and 
other groups. 

9  Since July 1, 2010, children and pregnant women who are qualified noncitizens or otherwise lawfully present  
have been eligible for MA with FFP for all MA-covered services. 
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Immigration Status MA with FFP

MA without 
FFP 

Emergency 
MA with 

FFP3

Nonimmigrants10 and undocumented persons Yes, but only for 
MA services 
provided to 
uninsured 
pregnant women 
through the 
period of 
pregnancy, 
including labor 
and delivery and 
60 days 
postpartum11 

No, except as 
described in 
footnote 11 

Yes 

Source: Department of Human Services 

 
Residency 

To be eligible for MA, an individual must be a resident of Minnesota, as determined under 
federal law,12 or a migrant worker as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06,  
subdivision 3. 
 
Eligible Categories of Individuals 

To be eligible for MA, an individual must be a member of a group for which MA eligibility is 
either required by the federal government or mandated by the state under a federal option. In 
Minnesota, those groups eligible for MA coverage include the following:   
 

• parents or caretakers of dependent children  
• pregnant women 
• children under age 21 
• persons age 65 or older 
• persons with a disability or who are blind, as determined by the Social Security 

Administration or the State Medical Review Team (This category includes most persons 
eligible for either the Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA) or Supplemental Security 
Income (SSI) programs.) 

• children eligible for or receiving state or federal adoption assistance payments 
 

                                                 
10 A nonimmigrant is a person who is lawfully present in the United States, but who is not permanently 

residing in the United States (because the person maintains a residence outside the United States). Nonimmigrants 
are generally admitted temporarily and for a limited purpose (e.g., tourists, foreign students).   

11 These services are funded through the federal Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), rather than MA. 
CHIP provides an enhanced federal match of 65 percent for these services. As of October 12, 2010, Minnesota was 
waiting for federal approval to use CHIP to fund services during the postpartum period; these services are currently 
funded through MA without FFP. 

12 Generally, federal law defines residency in terms of being present in a state with an intent to remain and 
specifically prohibits durational residency requirements (see 42 C.F.R. § 435.403). 
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Certain disabled children who would normally not be eligible for MA because of parental 
income are also covered under Minnesota’s MA program. MA also pays for Medicare premiums 
and cost-sharing for certain groups of Medicare beneficiaries. 
 
Individuals with excess income belonging to a group eligible for MA coverage may be able to 
qualify by spending down their income (see page 10). 
 

Medicaid Expansion for Low-Income Adults 
Note: The information below is based upon what is known of federal requirements as of October 
2010 and is subject to revision based upon implementation details to be provided in forthcoming 
federal guidance letters. 
 
New Eligibility Group 
 
The federal health care reform bill—the Affordable Care Act (ACA)—requires state Medicaid 
programs to cover, effective January 1, 2014, individuals with incomes not exceeding 133 
percent of federal poverty guidelines (FPG) who are not: (1) elderly; (2) pregnant; (3) entitled to 
or enrolled in Medicare Part A or Medicare Part B; or (4) described in an already existing group 
for which Medicaid coverage is mandatory, such as certain parents, children, or disabled persons 
receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits. 
 
In Minnesota, these newly eligible individuals will include adults without dependent children—
for example, persons enrolled in General Assistance Medical Care and MinnesotaCare enrollees 
who are adults without children with incomes not exceeding 133 percent of FPG. The newly 
eligible group may also include certain parents and persons with disabilities who are not 
otherwise eligible for services through MA or an MA waiver. Minnesota and other states will 
have a better idea of who specifically qualifies as newly eligible when the federal government 
further defines this new eligibility group. 
 
Income and Asset Methods  
 
When determining Medicaid eligibility for persons in the newly eligible group and certain 
existing Medicaid eligibility groups, the ACA requires states to: (1) use a new income 
methodology based on modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) and household income (this is 
the income methodology used under the ACA to determine eligibility for premium tax credits for 
coverage purchased through state health insurance exchanges); (2) apply a standard 5 percent 
income disregard that would replace any state-specific income disregards; and (3) eliminate the 
use of asset tests. These income and asset requirements do not apply to individuals who are 
disabled, over age 65, or meet other criteria for exemption specified in the federal law. 
 
Benefit Changes  
 
The ACA also requires states to provide individuals in the newly eligible group who are not 
otherwise exempt with benchmark or benchmark-equivalent benefits—an alternative benefit set 
authorized by federal law in 2005 as a state benefit option that can be different than a state’s 
regular Medicaid benefit set. Under this alternative benefit set, coverage provided to Medicaid 
enrollees must be equal to one of three specified benchmark plans, be actuarially equivalent as 
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specified in federal law to one of the benchmark plans, or be coverage that is approved by the 
Secretary of Health and Human Services. One of the options for secretary-approved coverage is 
a state’s regular Medicaid benefit set. The ACA also requires benchmark or benchmark-
equivalent coverage to cover the essential health benefits that will be required for coverage 
offered through state health insurance exchanges, and to meet other specified requirements. 
 
Certain eligibility groups are exempt from the alternative benefit set requirement, including but 
not limited to pregnant women, blind or disabled individuals, dual eligibles (persons eligible for 
both MA and Medicare), and persons who are institutionalized or who qualify for long-term care 
services. 
 
Enhanced Federal Match  
 
The federal government will provide an enhanced federal match for the cost of covering the 
newly eligible group. This federal match is 100 percent of the cost for calendar years 2014 
through 2016. The matching rate phases down over the next four years, such that the federal 
match will be 90 percent for 2020 and future years. This match is not available to states that 
meet the definition of an “expansion state.” Expansion states will instead receive an enhanced 
federal match calculated according to a formula based on a state’s regular matching rate that 
gradually increases over six years, and then is set at 90 percent for 2020 and future years. DHS is 
seeking clarification from the federal government as to whether Minnesota meets the definition 
of an expansion state. 
 
Early Expansion Option  
 
The ACA allows states to expand Medicaid coverage to include newly eligible persons prior to 
January 1, 2014. States that implement early expansion must comply with the prohibition on 
asset tests and the benchmark or benchmark-equivalent benefit requirements. States are not 
required to initially use MAGI and household income for an early expansion group, but must use 
these methods beginning with the January 1, 2014, mandatory expansion date. Under early 
expansion, states are allowed to phase in coverage based upon income, as long as lower-income 
individuals are covered before higher-income individuals. States will at first receive their regular 
federal Medicaid match for individuals covered through early expansion, but will receive the 
enhanced federal match for these individuals beginning January 1, 2014. 
 
The 2010 Legislature authorized the current or succeeding governor to implement early 
expansion for eligible adults without dependent children, with incomes not exceeding 75 percent 
of FPG, by issuing an executive order. Gov. Pawlenty, in a June 22, 2010, letter to the 
Commissioner of Human Services, stated that he would not be issuing an executive order to 
implement early expansion. The succeeding governor may issue an executive order to implement 
early expansion at any time from the start of that governor’s term until January 15, 2011. 
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Income Limits 

To be eligible for MA, an applicant’s net income must not exceed program income limits.  
Different income limits apply to different categories of individuals. For example, the MA income 
limit for most children is higher than the MA income limit for parents. This means that not all 
members of a family may be covered under MA. 
 
MA income limits are based on the federal poverty guidelines (FPG). The federal poverty 
guidelines vary with family size and are adjusted annually for inflation. 
 
In determining whether an applicant meets the program income limits, specified types of income 
such as federal and state tax refunds and Food Stamp benefits are excluded from gross income.  
Work and dependent care expenses, a specified amount of earned income, a monthly personal 
needs allowance for persons residing in certain health care facilities, and other specified items 
may be deducted or disregarded from gross income. 
 
The table on page 11 lists the income standard, asset standard, and covered benefits for each of 
the principal eligibility groups. (Eligibility criteria for other eligibility groups such as disabled 
adult children and disabled widows and widowers can be found in Minnesota Statutes, sections 
256B.055 and 256B.057.) Tables showing allowable income by household size for the various 
eligibility groups are included at the end of this information brief. 
 
Transitional MA13   

Individuals who lose MA eligibility (under the 100 percent of FPG income limit) due to 
increased earned income or the loss of an earned income disregard, or due to increased child or 
spousal support, may be able to retain MA coverage for a transitional period, if: (1) the 
individual’s income did not exceed 100 percent of FPG for at least three of the past six months; 
and (2) the household contains a dependent child and a caretaker. Individuals who lose eligibility 
due to earned income or loss of an earned income disregard remain eligible for an initial period 
of six months and can continue to receive MA coverage for up to six additional months if their 
income does not exceed 185 percent of FPG. Individuals who lose eligibility due to increased 
child or spousal support remain eligible for four months. 
 
Extended Coverage for Children 

On October 31, 2008, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) denied a 
request by the state to allow children age one through 18 who become ineligible for MA due to 
excess income to be eligible for two additional months of MA (in addition to transitional MA 
coverage) and be automatically eligible for MinnesotaCare until the next MinnesotaCare 
renewal. The coverage extension was authorized by the 2007 Legislature. DHS resubmitted the 
request on September 30, 2009. 
 

                                                 
13 Transitional MA is contingent on federal funding. Federal funding is scheduled to expire on January 1, 2011, 

unless reauthorized by the U.S. Congress. 
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Asset Limits 

MA has two main asset limits. One applies to persons who are aged, blind, or disabled and the 
other to parents in MA-eligible families.14 Children under age 21 and pregnant women are 
exempt from any asset limit. In addition, different asset limits apply to some of the smaller MA 
eligibility groups (see table on page 11). 
 
Aged, blind, or disabled. Persons who are aged, blind, or disabled need to meet the asset limit 
specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.056, subdivision 3. This asset limit is $3,000 for 
an individual and $6,000 for two persons in a household, with $200 added for each additional 
dependent. Certain assets are excluded when determining MA eligibility for persons who are 
aged, blind, or disabled, including the following: 
 

• the homestead 
• household goods and personal effects 
• personal property used as a regular abode 
• a burial plot for each member of the household 
• life insurance policies and assets for burial expenses, up to the limits established for the 

SSI program15 
• capital and operating assets of a business necessary for the person to earn an income 
• funds for damaged, destroyed, or stolen property, which are excluded for nine months, 

and may be excluded for up to nine additional months under certain conditions 
• motor vehicles to the same extent allowed under the SSI program16 

 
Parents in MA-eligible families. A uniform asset limit, identical to that used for the 
MinnesotaCare program, applies to parents and caretakers in MA-eligible families (see 
Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.056, subdivision 3c). This asset limit is $10,000 in total net 
assets for a household of one person, and $20,000 in total net assets for a household of two or 
more persons. Certain items are excluded when determining MA eligibility for parents in MA-
eligible families, including the following: 
 

• the homestead 
• household goods and personal effects 
• a burial plot for each member of the household 
• life insurance policies and assets for burial expenses, up to the limits established for the 

SSI program 
• capital and operating assets of a business up to $200,000 

                                                 
14 The Minnesota Long-term Care Partnership (LTCP) program allows individuals with qualified long-term 

care insurance policies to qualify for MA payment of long-term care services, while retaining assets above the 
regular MA asset limit equal in value to the amount paid for care by the policy. For more information on the LTCP 
program, see DHS Bulletin 08-21-08, “DHS Introduces Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP),” August 8, 2008. 

 
15 The SSI program allows recipients to set aside, or designate, up to $1,500 in assets to cover certain burial 

expenses. 
16 The SSI program excludes as an asset one vehicle per household, regardless of value, if it is used for 

transportation by the recipient or a member of the recipient’s household. 
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• funds received for damaged, destroyed, or stolen property are excluded for three months 
if held in escrow 

• a motor vehicle for each person who is employed or seeking employment 
• court-ordered settlements of up to $10,000 
• individual retirement accounts and funds 
• assets owned by children 

 
Minnesota law also has provisions governing the treatment of assets and income for persons 
residing in nursing homes whose spouses reside in the community. These provisions are found in 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.0575 to 256B.0595. 
 
Eligibility on the Basis of a Spenddown 

Individuals who, except for excess income, would qualify for coverage under one of the MA 
categories described above can qualify for MA through a “spenddown.” Under a spenddown, an 
individual reduces his or her income by incurring medical bills in amounts that are equal to or 
greater than the amount by which his or her income exceeds the relevant spenddown standard for 
the spenddown period (see table below for the spenddown standards). Unpaid medical bills 
incurred before the time of application for MA can be used to meet the spenddown requirement. 
There are two types of spenddowns. Under a six-month spenddown, an individual can become 
eligible for MA for up to six months, beginning on the date his or her total six-month spenddown 
obligation is met. Under a one-month spenddown, individuals spend down their income during a 
month in order to become eligible for MA for the remainder of that month. 
 
 

MA Spenddown 
Eligibility Group Spenddown Standard
Families and children 100% of FPG 
Aged, blind, or disabled 75% of FPG 
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MA Eligibility – Income and Asset Limits – Benefits 
Eligibility Category Income Limit Asset Limit Benefits
Children under age two17 < 280% of FPG None All MA services 
Children two through 18 
years of age 

< 150% of FPG None All MA services 

Children 19 through 20 
years of age  

< 100% of FPG None All MA services 

Pregnant women < 275% of FPG None All MA services 
Parents or relative 
caretakers of dependent 
children on MA 

< 100% of FPG Uniform MA/ 
MinnesotaCare asset 
standard ($10,000 for 
households of one and 
$20,000 for households of 
two or more) 

All MA services 

Aged, blind, disabled < 100% of FPG MA asset standard 
($3,000 for households of 
one and $6,000 for 
households of two, with 
$200 for each additional 
dependent)  

All MA services 

Qualified Medicare 
Beneficiaries (QMBs) 

< 100% of FPG $10,000 for households of 
one and $18,000 for 
households of two or 
more 

Premiums, coinsurance, 
and deductibles for 
Medicare Parts A and B 

Service Limited Medicare 
Beneficiaries (SLMBs) 

> 100% but < 120% of 
FPG 

$10,000 for households of 
one and $18,000 for 
households of two or 
more 

Medicare Part B premium 
only 

Qualifying Individuals 
(QI)–Group 118 

> 120% but < 135% of 
FPG 

$10,000 for households of 
one and $18,000 for 
households of two or 
more 

Medicare Part B premium 
only 

Qualified Working Disabled 
Adults 

< 200% of FPG Must not exceed twice the 
SSI asset limit 

Medicare Part A premium 
only 

Disabled children eligible 
for services under the 
TEFRA children’s home 
care option19 

< 100% of FPG20 None All MA services  

Employed persons with 
disabilities 

No income limit $20,000 All MA services 

House Research Department

                                                 
17 Children with incomes greater than 275 percent and less than or equal to 280 percent of FPG are funded 

through the federal State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) with an enhanced federal match. 
18 Eligibility for persons in this group is contingent on federal funding. Federal funding is scheduled to expire 

on January 1, 2011, unless reauthorized by the U.S. Congress. 
19 Authorized by section 134 of the federal Tax Equity Fiscal Responsibility Act (TEFRA) of 1982. 
20 Only the income of the child is counted in determining eligibility. Child support and Social Security 

disability payments paid on behalf of the child are excluded. 
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Institutional Residence 

Individuals living in public institutions, such as secure correctional facilities, are not eligible for 
MA. Individuals living in Institutions for Mental Diseases (IMDs) are also not eligible, unless 
they are under age 21 and reside in an inpatient psychiatric hospital accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO), or they are age 65 or older, 
or otherwise qualify for an exception. An IMD is a hospital, nursing facility, or other institution 
of 17 or more beds that primarily provides diagnosis, treatment, and care to persons with mental 
illness. 
 
 
Benefits 
MA reimburses health care providers for health care services furnished to eligible recipients. The 
federal government requires every state to provide certain services. States may choose whether to 
provide other optional services. 
 
Federally Mandated Services Are Available to All MA Recipients 

The following services are federally mandated and therefore available to all MA recipients in 
Minnesota: 
 

• Early periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) services for children under 
21 

• Family planning services and supplies 
• Federally qualified health center services 
• Home health services and medical equipment and supplies 
• Inpatient hospital services 
• Laboratory and X-ray services 
• Nurse midwife services 
• Certified family and certified pediatric nurse practitioner services 
• Outpatient hospital services 
• Physician services 
• Rural health clinic services 
• Nursing facility services 
• Medical and surgical services of a dentist 
• Pregnancy-related services (through 60 days postpartum) 

 
Optional Services Are Also Provided to Minnesota’s MA Recipients 

The following services have been designated “optional” by the federal government but are 
available by state law to all MA recipients in Minnesota: 
 

• Audiologist services 
• Care coordination and patient education services provided by a community health worker 
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• Case management for seriously and persistently mentally ill persons and for children with 
serious emotional disturbances 

• Case management and directly observed therapy for people with tuberculosis 
• Chiropractor services 
• Clinic services 
• Dental services21 
• Other diagnostic, screening, and preventive services 
• Emergency hospital services 
• Extended services to women  
• Hearing aids 
• Home and community-based waiver services  
• Hospice care 
• Some Individual Education Plan (IEP) services provided by a school district to disabled 

students 
• Some services for residents of Institutions for Mental Diseases (IMDs) 
• Inpatient psychiatric facility services for persons under age 22 
• Intermediate care facility services, including services provided in an intermediate care 

facility for persons with developmental disabilities (ICF/DD) 
• Medical equipment and supplies 
• Medical transportation services 
• Mental health services 
• Nurse anesthetist services 
• Certified geriatric, adult, OB/GYN, and neonatal nurse practitioner services 
• Occupational therapy services 
• Personal care assistant services 
• Pharmacy services22 
• Physical therapy services 
• Podiatry services 
• Private duty nursing services 
• Prosthetics and orthotics 
• Public health nursing services 
• Rehabilitation services, including day treatment for mental illness 
• Speech therapy services 
• Vision care services and eyeglasses 

 
  

                                                 
21  Since January 1, 2010, coverage of dental services for adults who are not pregnant has been limited to 

specified services (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 9 (Supp. 2009)). 
22 Since January 1, 2006, MA has not covered prescription drugs covered under the Medicare Part D 

prescription drug benefit for individuals enrolled in both MA and Medicare (referred to as “dual eligibles”). These 
individuals are instead eligible for prescription drug coverage under Medicare Part D. MA continues to cover certain 
drug types not covered under the Medicare prescription drug benefit, such as over-the-counter drugs for cough and 
colds and certain vitamin and mineral products.  
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Copayments 

MA enrollees are subject to the following copayments: 
 

• $6 for nonemergency visits to a hospital emergency room23 
• $3 per brand-name prescription and $1 per generic prescription, subject to a $7 per-month 

limit. Antipsychotic drugs are exempt from copayments when used for the treatment of 
mental illness. 

 
Children and pregnant women are exempt from copayments; other exemptions also apply. Total 
monthly copayments for persons with incomes not exceeding 100 percent of FPG are limited to 5 
percent of family income. 
 
Health care providers are responsible for collecting the copayment from enrollees; MA 
reimbursement to a provider is reduced by the amount of the copayment. Providers cannot deny 
services to enrollees who are unable to pay the copayment.24 
 
Some Services Are Provided in Minnesota Under a Federal Waiver 

States can seek approval from the federal government to provide services that are not normally 
covered and reimbursed under the Medicaid program. These services are referred to as “waivered 
services.” Minnesota has federal approval for the following community-based waivered service 
programs. 
 
The Elderly Waiver (EW) provides community-based care for elderly individuals who are MA 
eligible. 
 
Minnesota also has a solely state-funded program, the Alternative Care (AC) program, which 
provides community-based care for elderly individuals who are not eligible for MA, but who 
would become eligible for MA within 135 days of entering a nursing home. 
 
The Home and Community Based Waiver for Persons with Developmental Disabilities 
(DD) provides community-based care to persons diagnosed with developmental disabilities who 
are at risk of placement in an ICF/DD. 
 
The Community Alternative Care (CAC) waiver provides community-based care for 
chronically ill individuals who are under age 65 and are either residing in a hospital or at risk of 
inpatient hospital care. 
 

                                                 
23 This copayment will be reduced to $3.50 beginning January 1, 2011. 
24 Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0631, subdivision 4, allowed providers who routinely refused services to 

individuals with uncollected debt to include uncollected copayments as bad debt and deny services to enrollees. The 
Ramsey County District Court in Dahl et. al. v. Goodno, court file number C9-04-7537, ruled that this provision was 
preempted by federal law. The provision was repealed January 1, 2009. 
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The Community Alternatives for Disabled Individuals (CADI) waiver provides community-
based care to disabled individuals under age 65 who are residing in, or are at risk of placement 
in, a nursing home. 
 
The Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) waiver provides community-based care to persons under 
age 65 diagnosed with traumatic or acquired brain injury who are residing in, or are at risk of 
placement in, a nursing home. 
 
For each of the federally approved waiver programs, the costs of caring for an individual in the 
community cannot exceed the cost of institutional care. 
 
 
Medicaid Managed Care 
MA enrollees receive services under a fee-for-service system (described in the next section) or 
through a managed care system. Some managed care programs require federal waivers from 
CMS, others may be operated under the Medicaid State Plan which outlines the MA services 
states are providing under agreement with CMS. 
 
Under the managed care system, MA enrollees who are families and children receive services 
from prepaid health plans through the Prepaid Medical Assistance Program (PMAP) or through 
county-based purchasing initiatives. Enrollees who are elderly (age 65 and over) receive services 
from prepaid health plans through Minnesota Senior Care Plus or through Minnesota Senior 
Health Options (MSHO). Enrollees with disabilities have the option of receiving services 
through the Minnesota Disability Health Options program (through December 31, 2010) if they 
reside in the seven-county metropolitan area or the Special Needs BasicCare (SNBC) program, a 
statewide program for persons with disabilities. 
 
Programs for Families and Children 

Under PMAP, prepaid health plans contract with DHS to provide services to MA enrollees. Plans 
receive a capitated payment from DHS for each MA enrollee, and in return are required to 
provide enrollees with all MA covered services, except for some home and community-based 
waiver services, some nursing facility services, and intermediate care facility services for persons 
with developmental disabilities. PMAP operates under a federal waiver; one of the terms of the 
waiver allows the state to require certain MA enrollees to receive services through managed care. 
 
Enrollees in participating counties select a specific prepaid health plan from which to receive 
services, obtain services from providers in the plan’s provider network, and follow that plan’s 
procedures for seeing specialists and accessing health care services. Enrollees are allowed to 
switch health plans once per year during an open enrollment period. PMAP has contracts with 
prepaid health plans to provide services in all 87 counties. 
 
County-based purchasing provides an alternative method of health care service delivery. County 
boards that elect to implement county-based purchasing are responsible for providing all PMAP 
services to enrollees, either through their own provider networks or by contracting with prepaid 
health plans. DHS payments to counties cannot exceed PMAP payment rates to prepaid health 
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plans. As of January 2010, three county-based purchasing initiatives involving 28 counties were 
operational. 
 
Programs for the Elderly 

The Minnesota Senior Care waiver replaced PMAP for elderly enrollees on June 1, 2005. This 
federal waiver provides continued authority for mandatory enrollment of people age 65 or older 
into managed care. Minnesota Senior Care covered all the same services as PMAP, except that 
prescription drugs for MA enrollees also eligible for Medicare were covered by Medicare Part D 
(see footnote 22 on page 13). 
 
The Minnesota Senior Care benefit package was replaced by a broader Minnesota Senior Care 
Plus benefit package, on January 1, 2009. Minnesota Senior Care Plus first began providing 
services on June 1, 2005, to elderly enrollees enrolled in county-based purchasing initiatives. It 
was expanded to 80 nonmetro counties in January 2008 and was further expanded to include the 
seven metro-area counties in January 2009. In addition to covering all basic Minnesota Senior 
Care services, Minnesota Senior Care Plus also covers elderly waiver services and 180 days of 
nursing home services for enrollees not residing in a nursing facility at the time of enrollment. 
 
Elderly enrollees in Minnesota Senior Care Plus must enroll in a separate Medicare plan to 
obtain their prescription drug coverage under Medicare Part D. However, elderly enrollees also 
have the option of receiving managed care services through the Minnesota Senior Health Options 
(MSHO), rather than Minnesota Senior Care Plus. MSHO includes all Medicare and MA 
prescription drug coverage under one plan. MSHO provides a combined Medicare and MA 
benefit and is available statewide. MSHO was first implemented in 1997 as part of a federal 
demonstration project; the program has operated since 2006 under federal Medicare Advantage 
Special Needs Plan (SNP) authority.25 DHS also contracts with SNPs to provide MA services. 
Enrollment in MSHO is voluntary. As is the case with Minnesota Senior Care Plus, MSHO also 
covers elderly waiver services and 180 days of nursing home services. Most elderly MA 
enrollees are enrolled in MSHO rather than Minnesota Senior Care Plus because of the integrated 
Medicare and MA prescription drug coverage. As of August 2010, MSHO enrollment was 
36,180, compared to enrollment in Minnesota Senior Care Plus of 12,198. 
 
Programs for Persons with Disabilities 
 
The Minnesota Disabilities Health Options (MnDHO) program is a voluntary managed care 
program for persons with disabilities under age 65 that also operates under combined Medicare 
SNP and MA managed care authority. MnDHO provides all Medicare primary, acute, and long-
term care services and also includes all Medicare and MA prescriptions drugs under one plan.  
MnDHO has been operating since 2001 and as of August 2010, served 1,233 enrollees in the 
seven-county metropolitan area. MnDHO will not operate after December 31, 2010. 
 

                                                 
25 A Medicare SNP is a Medicare-managed care plan that is allowed to serve only certain Medicare 

populations, such as institutionalized enrollees, dually eligible enrollees, and enrollees who are severely chronically 
ill and disabled. SNPs must provide all Medicare services, including prescription drug coverage. 
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Special Needs Basic Care (SNBC) is a voluntary integrated Medicare and Medicaid plan for 
persons with disabilities that was implemented statewide beginning January 2008. The program 
also works through contracts with Medicare SNPs and provides all Medicare and Medicaid 
prescription drugs under one plan. SNBC provides some long-term care services. The program 
served 4,290 individuals as of August 2010. DHS continues to work with a stakeholders’ 
advisory group on implementation of the program. 
 
Managed Care Enrollment 

Generally, MA recipients in participating counties who are in families with children are required 
to enroll in PMAP or county-based purchasing. As noted above, recipients who are elderly are 
required to enroll in Minnesota Senior Care Plus, but a majority have chosen to participate 
instead in the voluntary MSHO program. 
 
Most persons who are blind or disabled, and persons belonging to other specific groups, are 
exempt from managed care enrollment. 
 
As of August 2010, 396,044 MA enrollees received services through PMAP, county-based 
purchasing, Minnesota Senior Care Plus, MSHO, MnDHO, or SNBC. 
 
Managed Care Reimbursement Rates 

Prepaid health plans and county-based purchasing initiatives receive a capitation rate for each 
enrollee. Fifty percent of the PMAP capitation rate is based upon the enrollee’s age, sex, 
Medicare status, institutional status, basis of eligibility, and county of residence. The remaining 
50 percent of the rate is risk-adjusted to reflect the overall health status of a plan’s enrollees. 
 
MnDHO and SNBC rates are based on historical fee-for-service costs and are paid through a 
separate risk adjustment system designed for people with disabilities. MSHO, Minnesota Senior 
Care, and Minnesota Senior Care Plus rates are adjusted for age, sex, institutional status, and 
geographical area and are identical across programs.26 Rates for elderly waiver services are based 
on historical fee-for-service costs. 
 
DHS does not regulate prepaid health plan and county-based purchasing payment rates to health 
care providers under contract to serve MA enrollees. These payment rates are a matter of 
negotiation between the health care provider and the prepaid health plan or county boards. 
 
 
  

                                                 
26 Rates for elderly recipients enrolled in Minnesota Senior Care, Minnesota Senior Care Plus, and MSHO are 

determined using historical data and are not risk-adjusted, since most of the services used to determine risk-
adjustment values are covered by Medicare. 
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Fee-for-Service Provider Reimbursement 
Under fee-for-service MA, health care providers and institutions (sometimes called “vendors”) 
bill the state and are reimbursed by the state at a level determined by state law for the services 
they provide to MA recipients. 
 
Under the fee-for-service system, MA recipients, with some exceptions, are free to receive 
services from any medical provider participating in the MA program. As a condition of 
participating in the MA program, providers agree to accept MA payment (including any 
applicable copayments) as payment in full. Providers in Minnesota are prohibited from 
requesting additional payments from MA recipients, except when the recipient is incurring 
medical bills in order to meet the MA spenddown (discussed earlier in the eligibility section). 
DHS has established a central system for the disbursement of MA payments to providers. DHS 
uses different methods to reimburse different types of providers; the reimbursement methods for 
major provider groups are described below. 
 
Basic Care Services 
 
The 2009 Legislature reduced payment rates for basic care services by 3 percent, effective July 
1, 2009, and made proportional reductions in managed care and county-based purchasing plan 
capitation rates. This reduction does not apply to physician and professional services, inpatient 
hospital services, family planning services, mental health services, dental services, prescription 
drugs, and medical transportation. Gov. Pawlenty, as part of unallotment, increased this 
reduction by an additional 1.5 percentage points (to a total of 4.5 percent) for fiscal years 2010 
and 2011.27 The 2010 Legislature voided this allotment reduction and reduced basic care 
payment rates by an additional 1.5 percentage points for fiscal years 2010 and 2011. 
 
The 2010 Legislature prohibited reimbursement for basic care services and physician and 
professional services (see below) from exceeding the Medicare payment rate for the applicable 
services, effective July 1, 2010. Services provided by advanced practice registered nurse 
midwives, traditional midwives, and certain mental health services, were exempted from this 
payment limit. The legislature also reclassified physical therapy, occupational therapy, and 
speech language pathology services as basic care services, effective July 1, 2010 (they had 
previously been classified under physician and professional services). This has the effect of 
applying the lower percentage rate reduction that applies to basic care to these therapy providers. 
 

                                                 
27 This unallotment, and others described in this information brief, was part of a package of unallotment actions 

taken by the governor in 2009. One of these unallotments, related to funding for a special diet program, was the 
subject of a court challenge. The Minnesota Supreme Court ruled, on May 5, 2010, that this unallotment was 
“unlawful and void.” The opinion stated that since the “legislative and executive branches never enacted a balanced 
budget for the 2010-2011 biennium, use of the unallotment power to address the unresolved deficit exceeded the 
authority granted to the executive branch . . . ” (Brayton, et al. v. Pawlenty, et al., 781 N.W.2d 357, 368 (Minn. 
2010). 
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Physicians and Other Medical Services 

Physician services and many other medical services are paid for at the lower of (1) the submitted 
charge or (2) the prevailing charge. The prevailing charge is defined as a specified percentile of 
all customary charges statewide for a procedure during a base year. The prevailing charge for 
physicians is the 50th percentile of 1989 submitted charges, minus either 20 percent or 25 
percent depending upon the type of service. The legislature has at times changed the specified 
percentile and base for different provider types and different procedures. All geographic regions 
within the state are subject to the same maximum reimbursement rate. 
 
MA services reimbursed in this manner include services from a mental health clinic, 
rehabilitation agency, physician, physician clinic, optometrist, podiatrist, chiropractor, nurse 
midwife, physical therapist, occupational therapist, speech therapist, audiologist, 
community/public health clinic, optician, dentist, and services for children with handicaps. 
 
Other MA services are reimbursed at the lesser of the submitted charge or the Medicare 
maximum allowable rate. Services reimbursed using the Medicare rate include those for costs 
relating to a laboratory, a hospice, medical supplies and equipment, prosthetics, and orthotics.  
(DHS uses other payment rates for certain laboratory services and medical supplies and 
equipment if a Medicare rate does not exist.) 
 
The 2009 Legislature reduced physician and professional service payment rates for specialty 
services by 5 percent effective July 1, 2009, and made proportional reductions in managed care 
and county-based purchasing plan capitation rates. The reductions do not apply to office and 
outpatient services, preventive medicine, and family planning services provided by certain 
primary care providers. Gov. Pawlenty, as part of unallotment, increased the percentage 
reduction by an additional 1.5 percentage points (to a total of 6.5 percent) for fiscal years 2010 
and 2011. The 2010 Legislature voided this allotment reduction and reduced payment rates for 
physician and professional services by an additional 1.5 percentage points for fiscal year 2010. 
 
The 2010 Legislature also reduced reimbursement rates for physician and professional services, 
effective July 1, 2010, by an additional 7 percent (over the 5 percent reduction made in 2009). 
 
Prescription Drug Reimbursement 

Under the MA fee-for-service program, pharmacies are reimbursed for most drugs at the lower 
of: (1) average wholesale price (AWP) minus 15 percent28 plus a fixed dispensing fee; (2) the 
maximum allowable cost set by the federal government or DHS plus a fixed dispensing fee; or 
(3) the pharmacy’s usual and customary price charged to the public. The fixed dispensing fee in 
most cases is $3.65 per prescription; higher dispensing fees are allowed for intravenous solutions 
compounded by a pharmacist, cancer chemotherapy products, and total parenteral nutritional 
products (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 13e). 
 

                                                 
28 MA reimbursement based on the AWP was reduced from AWP minus 14 percent to AWP minus 15 percent, 

effective July 1, 2009 (Laws 2009, ch. 79, art. 5, § 30). 
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1. AWP formula. The MA program uses the AWP minus 15 percent formula to reimburse 

pharmacies for most brand-name drugs. AWP is generally a drug wholesaler’s list price to 
pharmacies for a prescription drug. (In practice, most pharmacies purchase prescription drugs 
for an amount less than AWP, at a percentage above the wholesaler’s cost.) The AWP is 
based on national pricing data compiled by drug price publishing companies, using data self-
reported by drug manufacturers. A recent federal district court class action settlement29 has 
modified the formula used to calculate AWP for many brand-name drugs. The settlement 
lowered the AWP for many brand-name prescription drugs effective September 26, 2009, 
and thereby reduced the reimbursement pharmacies receive from MA for those brand-name 
drugs. 

 
The two drug pricing companies involved in the settlement have also voluntarily agreed to 
stop publishing AWP price data within two years of the date of the settlement. The practical 
effect of this will be to require Minnesota, and other states that use AWP in their Medicaid 
drug reimbursement formulas, to modify these formulas by incorporating a measure of drug 
costs that is not based on AWP. 

 
2. Maximum allowable cost. MA reimbursement to pharmacies for multiple-source drugs 

(drugs for which at least one generic exists) may be subject to a maximum allowable cost 
(MAC). The purpose of a MAC price is to set the reimbursement rate closer to the actual 
acquisition cost of the generic drug. Federal law requires CMS to set a MAC (referred to as a 
federal upper limit or FUL) for certain multiple-source drugs. Each state’s Medicaid program 
must meet an aggregate FUL for all drugs for which CMS has set a FUL. States can also set 
state MACs for multiple-source drugs that are lower than any FUL and for drugs for which 
CMS has not set a FUL. Minnesota has chosen to set state MACs for a large number of 
multiple-source drugs. 

 
3. Usual and customary price. MA reimburses pharmacies at the usual and customary price 

charged to the public, if this is lower than the payment rate under the AWP formula or the 
MAC price. This provision allows the MA program to reimburse large chain pharmacies for 
generic drugs provided to MA recipients at their discounted price for the general public (e.g., 
$4.00 per prescription). 

                                                 
29 See New England Carpenters Health Benefits Fund, et al. v. First DataBank, Inc. and McKesson Corp., 602 

F.Supp.2d 277 (D.Mass. 2009) (see also, Final Order and Judgment, March 30, 2009). The terms of the settlement, 
as approved by the court, in part required First DataBank and Medi-Span (two publishers of drug pricing 
information), beginning September 26, 2009, to calculate AWP for a large number of brand-name drugs at the level 
of wholesale acquisition cost (WAC) plus 20 percent, rather than WAC plus 25 percent, as had been their recent 
practice. (WAC is generally a drug manufacturer’s price charged to drug wholesalers for a product.) This has the 
effect of reducing the AWP for those brand-name drugs. Minnesota’s MA program uses First DataBank as its source 
for AWP data. DHS has calculated AWP using the revised lower values since September 29, 2009 (see Provider 
Update PRX-09-02, August 27, 2009).  

A complaint was filed in federal court by several pharmacy groups seeking an injunction to enjoin the use of 
the lower AWP value, and also requesting the court to overturn the July 1, 2009, rate change that reduced 
reimbursement based on AWP from AWP minus 14 percent to AWP minus 15 percent. (See Minnesota Pharmacists 
Ass’n et al. v. Pawlenty et al., complaint for injunctive and declaratory relief filed with the U.S. District Ct. (Minn.), 
October 2, 2009.) The court denied the plaintiff’s request for an injunction and also did not overturn federal 
approval of the payment rate reductions. (See Minnesota Pharmacists Ass’n et al. v. Pawlenty et al., U.S. District Ct. 
(Minn.), 690 F.Supp.2d 809 (D.Minn. 2010).) 



House Research Department Revised: October 2010 
Medical Assistance Page 21 
 
 
 
In addition, the MA program has negotiated payment rates lower than those described above for 
specialty pharmacy products, defined as those used by a small number of recipients or by 
recipients with complex and chronic diseases requiring expensive and challenging drug regimens 
(see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 13e, para. (e)). 
 
Hospitals 

MA uses a prospective payment system to reimburse hospitals for inpatient hospital services.  
Hospitals are paid per admission, but the amount of payment varies depending on the medical 
diagnosis of the patient. 
 
The MA payment to a hospital for an admission is based on the reimbursement amount for the 
diagnosis-related group (DRG) into which the patient has been classified. The reimbursement for 
each DRG is hospital-specific and is intended to represent the average cost to a hospital of caring 
for a patient in that particular DRG classification. Hospitals benefit financially from patient stays 
that cost less than the DRG reimbursement amount. (The DRG reimbursement level is increased 
for hospital stays that exceed the average length of stay by a certain margin; these stays are 
referred to as day outliers.) 
 
Hospital payment rates are not automatically adjusted for inflation, but under Minnesota law are 
required to be rebased (recalculated using more current cost data) at least every two years. 
Rebasing has the effect of adjusting payment rates for inflation.   
 
In response to budget shortfalls, the legislature has at times delayed rebasing or set the rebasing 
formula at less than full value. Most recently, the 2010 Legislature eliminated a provision in 
current law that would have instituted rebasing at less than full value beginning January 1, 2011, 
and full rebasing beginning April 1, 2012. The legislature instead prohibited rebasing until 
January 1, 2013, at which time rebasing would be at full value. The 2010 Legislature also 
exempted a Minnesota long-term care hospital from the delay in rebasing. 
 
The legislature has also at times reduced inpatient hospital payment rates and made related 
changes. The 2009 Legislature reduced inpatient hospital payment rates by 1 percent, effective 
July 1, 2009, and delayed a portion of inpatient hospital payments to the next fiscal year (Gov. 
Pawlenty, through unallotment, delayed the full amount of the payments). The 2010 Legislature 
voided this allotment reduction and authorized a delay in the full June 2011 payment until fiscal 
year 2012. The 2010 Legislature also reduced inpatient hospital rates by an additional 1.96 
percent, effective July 1, 2011. 
 
The hospital prospective payment system is described in Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.9685 
to 256.9695; it is also described in Minnesota Rules, parts 9500.1090 to 9500.1140. 
 
Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with Developmental Disabilities 
(ICFs/DD) 

ICFs/DD are reimbursed by MA under a contract system that was implemented on October 1, 
2000. Under this system, reimbursement to a facility is based on the facility’s current rate, plus 
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any inflation adjustments authorized by the legislature in law. When first implemented, the 
system provided a floor for property reimbursement that was the greater of $8.13 per person per 
day or the facility’s existing property reimbursement rate. Property reimbursement rates can be 
adjusted annually for inflation if an appropriation is made specifically for that purpose. Facilities 
can request variable rate adjustments if the care needs of a resident change and can also request 
temporary rate adjustments when there is a vacancy in the facility. 
 
The reimbursement system for ICFs/DD is described in Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.5011 
to 256B.5015. 
 
The 2009 Legislature reduced ICF/DD payments rates by 2.58 percent, effective July 1, 2009. 
Gov. Pawlenty, through unallotment, prohibited the granting of new variable rate adjustments for 
fiscal year 2010, suspended existing variable rate adjustments for fiscal year 2011, and also 
suspended occupancy rate adjustments for fiscal years 2010 and 2011. The 2010 Legislature 
voided these allotment reductions and prohibited new variable rate adjustments for fiscal year 
2010 and suspended occupancy rate adjustments for fiscal years 2010 and 2011. 
 
Nursing Facilities 

Nursing facilities are reimbursed by MA on a resident-per-day basis. The nursing home 
reimbursement levels are adjusted under the Resource Utilization Groups (RUGS) case-mix 
system to reflect the varying care needs of residents. RUGS classifies nursing facility residents 
into 34 groups based on information collected using the federally required minimum data set. 
The RUGS case-mix reimbursement system for nursing homes is described in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 144.0724 and 256B.438. 
 
MA rates and private pay rates do not vary within a facility. This is due to Minnesota’s 
equalization law, which prohibits nursing facilities from charging private pay residents more 
than residents whose care is paid for by MA. 
 
Since October 1, 2006, all nursing facilities participating in MA have been reimbursed under the 
alternative payment system (APS), sometimes referred to as the contract system. APS was 
developed as an alternative to an existing cost-based system (sometimes referred to as Rule 50). 
Under the cost-based system, reimbursement to facilities was based upon their reported costs, 
and at times, certain limits applied to the rate of increase in operating costs. Under APS, facilities 
are exempt from certain requirements of the cost-based system and are reimbursed at the level of 
their payment rate in effect just prior to entering into an APS contract with the commissioner. 
These payment rates are adjusted annually for inflation, subject to limitations specified in law. 
Effective July 1, 1999, through September 30, 2013, the automatic inflation adjustment has been 
or will be applied only to the property-related rate; inflation adjustments for operating costs must 
be authorized by the legislature. 
 
The 2007 Legislature required DHS to rebase nursing facility rates. Rebasing will allow nursing 
facilities to have new or currently unreimbursed expenditures recognized in the facility payment 
rate, subject to certain limits. The rebased operating cost payment rates took effect October 1, 
2008, and will be phased in over eight years, through the rate year beginning October 1, 2015. 
Property rates will be rebased beginning October 1, 2014. During the phase-in period, facilities 
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will be held harmless—a facility cannot receive an operating cost payment rate that is less than 
what the facility would have received without rebasing. 
 
The 2008 Legislature set a rebasing floor for the rate year beginning October 1, 2008, of 1 
percent, funded by setting a limit on the maximum increase a facility can receive under rebasing. 
The 2008 Legislature also increased nursing facility operating payment rates by 1 percent 
effective October 1, 2008, and also provided a temporary rate increase of an additional 1 percent 
that applies only for the period October 1, 2008, through September 30, 2009. 
 
The 2009 Legislature suspended the phase-in of rebased rates October 1, 2010, through 
September 30, 2013, but retained (and did not delay) the phase-in formula currently in law, so 
that rebasing will resume October 1, 2013, with 65 percent of the payment rate reflecting rebased 
costs. The governor, through unallotment, suspended the phase-in of rebasing for fiscal year 
2010. This had the effect of eliminating an increase of 1 percent (from 13 percent to 14 percent) 
in the proportion of a nursing facility’s payment rate that uses rebased costs. The 2010 
Legislature voided this allotment reduction and eliminated the phase-in of rebasing for fiscal 
year 2010. 
 
 
Funding and Expenditures 
The federal and state governments jointly finance MA. 
 
Federal Share 

The federal share of MA costs for each state, referred to as the federal medical assistance 
percentage (FMAP), is usually determined by a formula included in Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. The formula is based on the state’s per capita income and is recalculated annually.  
Minnesota’s FMAP in recent years has been 50 percent. 
 
For the period October 1, 2008, through December 31, 2010, the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA)—the federal stimulus bill—provided Minnesota with a higher 
FMAP. For the period October 1, 2008, through March 31, 2009, Minnesota’s FMAP was 60.19 
percent, rather than 50 percent as calculated under the regular formula. For the period April 1, 
2009, through December 31, 2010, Minnesota’s FMAP is 61.59 percent. Minnesota’s FMAP was 
projected to return to its regular level of 50 percent beginning January 1, 2011. 
 
The Education, Jobs, and Medicaid Assistance Act, signed into law on August 10, 2010, 
provides states with an increase in their regular FMAP of 3.2 percentage points for the period 
January 1, 2011, to March 31, 2011, and an increase of 1.2 percentage points for the period April 
1, 2011, to June 30, 2011 (after which a state’s FMAP will revert to its regular percentage). In 
order for a state to receive the higher FMAP, the governor of a state must request from the 
federal government the additional funding by September 24, 2010. Gov. Pawlenty requested the 
additional funding in a September 7, 2010, letter to the Secretary of Health and Human Services. 
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Nonfederal Share 

The state, with some exceptions, has been responsible for the nonfederal share of MA costs since 
January 1991.30  
 
MA Expenditures – State Fiscal Year 2009 

In fiscal year 2009, total MA expenditures for services were $6.755 billion. This total was 
distributed between the levels of government as follows: 
 

Actual Expenditures — SFY  2009
Federal  $3.871 billion 
Nonfederal  $2.904 billion 

  
The following chart shows the percentage of MA spending in fiscal year 2009 on the major 
service categories. 
 

• HMO and waivered services were the largest single expenditure categories (each 
representing just over one-fourth of MA spending). 

• Community-based long-term care (waivered services and home care services) accounted 
for about one-third of MA spending. 

• Long-term institutional care (care provided in nursing homes, ICFs/DD, and state 
facilities) accounted for 15 percent of MA spending. 

  

                                                 
30 Through December 1990, the state paid 90 percent of the nonfederal share and the counties the remaining 10 

percent. Counties are currently responsible for the nonfederal share of MA costs for selected services, as follows: 50 
percent of the nonfederal share for the cost of placement of severely emotionally disturbed children in regional 
treatment centers, 20 percent for the cost of nursing facility placements of persons with disabilities under age 65 that 
exceed 90 days, 10 percent of the cost of placements in ICFs/DD with seven or more beds that exceed 90 days, and 
20 percent of the costs of placements in nursing facilities that are institutions for mental diseases (IMDs) that exceed 
90 days. 
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65 or older

Disabled or blind

Families
with Children 70.9%

19.1%

10.0%

Percent of enrollees
by category

28.0%

48.8%

23.2%

Percent of spending
by category

Total enrollees: 557,337 Total spending: $6.778 billion*

*does not include consumer support grant expenditures, pharmacy rebates,  and adjustments

Nursing
Facilities 12.3%

HMO 27.4%

Waivered
Services 
26.1%

ICFs/DD/State 
Facilities 2.7%

Home Care 7.3%

Other Services 12.9%

Inpatient Hospital 6.1%

Prescription Drugs 1.8%

Physicians’ Services 2.2%
Outpatient Services 1.2%

Other 24.2%

 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
Note: The waivered services category includes waiver payments to HMOs. 
 
Source: Department of Human Services, February 2010 Forecast 
 
 

Recipient Profile 
During fiscal year 2009, an average of 557,337 persons were eligible for MA services each 
month. The graph below shows the percentage of MA eligibles in each of the major eligibility 
groups. The table also shows the percentage of MA spending accounted for by individuals from 
each eligibility group. 

 
• Families with children make up the largest eligibility group, constituting 70.9 percent of 

eligibles. However, this group accounted for only 28.0 percent of MA spending. 
• The elderly, and the disabled or blind, accounted for 72.0 percent of MA spending, 

although only 29.1 percent of eligibles are in these two groups. 
 

Minnesota Medical Assistance Eligibles – SFY 2009 
 

 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Source: Department of Human Services   
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MA Income Limit – Federal Poverty Guidelines31 
for 4/1/10 through 6/30/11 – 12-month Standard 

Household 
Size 100% 135% 150% 200% 275% 280% 

1  $10,836 
 

$14,868  $16,248  $21,900   $29,784  $ 30,324 
2  14,580  19,920  21,864  29,388  40,080  40,800 
3  18,324  24,972  27,480  36,876  50,376  51,276 
4  22,068  30,024  33,096  44,364  60,672  61,752 
5  25,812  35,076  38,712  51,852  70,968  72,228 
6  29,556  40,128  44,328  59,340  81,264  82,704 
7  33,300  45,180  49,944  66,828  91,560  93,180 
8  37,044  50,232  55,560  74,316  101,856  103,656 
9  40,788  55,284  61,176  81,804  112,152  114,132 
10  44,532  60,336  66,792  89,292  122,448  124,608 

Each 
Additional 

Person  3,744  5,052  5,616  7,488   10,296  10,476 
 House Research Department 

 

For more information about health care programs, visit the health and human services area of 
our website, www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm. 

                                                 
31 Federal poverty guidelines are updated every year, usually in February.  New DHS income standards based 

on updated guidelines are effective later in the calendar year. 


