This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp INFORMATION BRIEF Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Joel Michael, Legislative Analyst 651-296-5057

September 2010

Survey of State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes

There are a variety of ways states impose taxes on estates, inheritances, and gifts. The District of Columbia and 19 states, including Minnesota, all impose estate, inheritance, and gift taxes. Of these, 11 states, including Minnesota, impose estate taxes, six states impose inheritance taxes, and two states impose both estate and inheritance taxes. Two states (one with an estate tax and one with an inheritance tax) also impose gift taxes. This information brief provides some basic background information on the details of these state transfer taxes.

Contents

Executive Summary	2
Introduction	
Estate Taxes	
State Inheritance Taxes	
Gift Taxes	
State-Only QTIPs	

Copies of this publication may be obtained by calling 651-296-6753. This document can be made available in alternative formats for people with disabilities by calling 651-296-6753 or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 711 or 1-800-627-3529 (TTY). Many House Research Department publications are also available on the Internet at: www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm.

Executive Summary

Estate, inheritance, and gift taxes are imposed on transfers of property They differ in the types of transfers to which they apply. Estate and inheritance taxes are imposed when the property transfer is caused or triggered by the owner's death. Gift taxes are imposed when the property owner is still living and transfers the property.

State estate, inheritance, and gift taxation have undergone significant changes since Congress repealed the federal credit for state death taxes in 2001. That credit effectively paid a large portion of these taxes for states. For deaths in 2010, 41 states do not impose these taxes. Table 1 and the map show the states that impose these taxes.

Table 1				
State Estate, Inher	itance, and Gift Taxes			
States with Estate T	axes – 11 States and DC			
Connecticut	New York			
Delaware	Ohio			
District of Columbia	Oregon			
Hawaii	Rhode Island			
Massachusetts	Vermont			
Minnesota Washington				
States with Inheri	tance Taxes – 6 States			
Indiana	Nebraska			
Iowa	Pennsylvania			
Kentucky	Tennessee			
States with Both Estate an	d Inheritance Taxes – 2 States			
Maryland New Jersey				
States with Gift Taxes – 2 States				
Connecticut	Tennessee			



State Estate and Inheritance Taxes

The exemption amounts for these state taxes are typically lower than the exemption under the federal estate tax (\$3.5 million for 2009 deaths; no federal tax applies for 2010 deaths). Of the states with estate taxes, three have \$3.5 million exemptions (same as the 2009 federal amount), two have \$2 million exemptions, and the rest \$1 million or lower exemptions. Eleven states allow state QTIP (qualified terminable interest property) elections that differ from the federal QTIP election. When a state has a lower exemption than allowed under federal law, these state-only QTIP elections allow married couples to defer paying state tax until the second spouse dies without forgoing or "wasting" part of the higher federal exemption when the first spouse dies.

Introduction

State estate, inheritance, and gift taxation have undergone significant changes since Congress repealed the federal credit for state death taxes in 2001 (fully effective for 2005 deaths). In the aftermath of the credit's repeal, many states allowed their state estate taxes to expire, while others acted to repeal or reduce their taxes. The Great Recession, as the most recent economic recession is being called, and its impact on state revenues and budgets have resulted in two states reinstating their taxes. This information brief provides a survey of state estate, inheritance, and gift taxes in the 50 states, providing some detail on their exemption amounts, rates, and whether they allow state OTIP elections that differ from the federal elections.

A Taxonomy of the Taxes

Estate and inheritance taxes are imposed on transfers that occur upon the death of the owner of the property, while gift taxes are imposed on gifts made during the transferor's lifetime ("inter vivos" gifts).

- **Estate taxes** generally apply a single rate schedule to the taxable value of the decedent's total estate (bequests to charities and surviving spouses are typically exempt).
- Inheritance taxes apply varying rate schedules to bequests made to different classes of beneficiaries. Bequests to surviving spouses and lineal heirs typically enjoy lower rates or are totally exempt, while bequests to more distant or unrelated heirs (collateral heirs) are usually taxed at higher rates.
- **Gift taxes** complement estate and inheritance taxes, preventing property owners from avoiding tax by making lifetime gifts. Some states impose tax only on gifts made a short time before death or "in contemplation of death." These provisions are administered as part of the estate or inheritance tax.

Estate Taxes

Prior to repeal of the federal credit for state death taxes, all states imposed pickup estate taxes

In 2001, all 50 states imposed estate taxes to take advantage of the federal estate tax's credit for state death taxes. This credit was essentially a federal revenue-sharing provision for states, allowing a state to impose an estate tax at no cost to its residents. Each dollar of state estate tax (up to the limits of the federal credit) reduced federal tax, dollar for dollar. Federal tax increased by any amount a state's tax was lower than the maximum federal credit. In 2001, 38 states and the District of Columbia imposed taxes that were limited to the amount of the federal credit. The remaining 12 states imposed estate or inheritance taxes that exceeded the federal credit, although two of these states (Connecticut and Louisiana) had enacted scheduled reductions in their taxes down to the level of the federal credit.

Congress repealed the federal credit in the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Act of 2001 (EGTRRA). The repeal was effective for decedents dying in 2005. With the repeal of the federal credit, many states whose taxes were directly linked to the federal credit allowed their taxes to expire, while other states "decoupled" their taxes from the federal tax and allowed them to continue, or reenacted the taxes to preserve the state revenues.¹ Since the onset of the state

budget problems associated with the Great Recession from 2007 through 2009. Delaware and Hawaii have reenacted estate taxes that they had allowed to expire.

Thirteen states impose estate taxes on 2010 deaths

For decedents dying in 2010, 13 states and the District of Columbia impose estate taxes. (See the box for the special situations in Illinois and North Carolina, which are not among the 13 states.) The details of these estate taxes vary somewhat, but they tend to follow the pattern of equaling the amount of the old federal credit for state death taxes with varying exemption amounts. Three states have stand-alone estate taxes with their own rate schedules (i.e., rate schedules that vary from the federal credit schedule). One of these states, Ohio, had a stand-alone tax with its own rate and exemption schedule that predated repeal of the federal credit.

Ohio is also somewhat unique in its combination of a low exemption amount (\$338,333) and low top tax rate (7 percent). These amounts are less than half of the levels under any of the other state taxes.

The tax base for these taxes (aside from the exemption amounts) generally parallels the federal estate tax. The most common exemption amount is \$1 million. Three states have \$3.5 million exemptions (the level under the federal estate tax for 2009 deaths, the last year in which it applied), and two states, \$2 million exemptions. Only three states

Illinois and North Carolina: Special Cases

EGTRRA repealed the federal estate tax for 2010. The tax, however, will return (in its 2001 version) in 2011 unless Congress acts. It was widely expected that Congress would reinstate the tax in 2010. However, as of August 1 that had not occurred. Expiration of the federal tax has caused state taxes in Illinois and North Carolina to also expire. If Congress reimposes the federal estate tax for some or all 2010 deaths, this would also cause the North Carolina estate tax to be revived, while the Illinois tax appears to require reinstatement of the federal credit for state death taxes to be revived without state legislative action.

(Connecticut, Ohio, and Washington) deviate from the top rate under the old federal credit rate for state death taxes (of 16 percent). Table 2 provides detail on exemption amounts and top tax rates for these taxes.

	Tabl	e 2				
Sta	State Estate Taxes Applicable to 2010 Deaths (as of July 1, 2010)					
StateExemption AmountBasis for Rate ScheduleTop Statutor Rate						
Connecticut ²	\$3.5 million	State specific	12%			
Delaware ³	\$3.5 million	Federal credit	16%			
District of Columbia ⁴	\$1 million	Federal credit	16%			
Hawaii ⁵	\$3.5 million	Federal credit	16%			
Maryland ⁶	\$1 million	Federal credit	16%			
Massachusetts ⁷	\$1 million	Federal credit	16%			
Minnesota ⁸	\$1 million	Federal credit	16%			

	Tab	le 2				
State Estate Taxes Applicable to 2010 Deaths (as of July 1, 2010)						
StateExemption AmountBasis for Rate ScheduleTop Statutory Rate						
New Jersey ⁹	\$675,000	Federal credit	16%			
New York ¹⁰	\$1 million	Federal credit	16%			
Ohio ¹¹	\$338,333	State specific	7%			
Oregon ¹²	\$1 million	Federal credit	16%			
Rhode Island ¹³	\$850,000	Federal credit	16%			
Vermont ¹⁴	\$2 million	Federal credit	16%			
Washington ¹⁵	\$2 million	State specific	19%			

Most states base their taxes on the amount of the federal credit under prior federal law; these taxes have "bubble" marginal rates on estates valued just above the exemption amount

Table 3 shows the rate schedule for the federal credit for state death taxes. For states, like Minnesota, that base their state estate taxes on the old federal credit, this is essentially the state estate tax rate schedule.

	Table 3				
Federal Credi	Federal Credit for State Death Schedule				
Taxable estate equal	Taxable estate is	Credit			
to or more than:	less than	rate:			
0	\$100,000	0.0%			
\$100,000	150,000	0.8%			
150,000	200,000	1.6%			
200,000	300,000	2.4%			
300,000	500,000	3.2%			
500,000	700,000	4.0%			
700,000	900,000	4.8%			
900,000	1,100,000	5.6%			
1,100,000	1,600,000	6.4%			
1,600,000	2,100,000	7.2%			
2,100,000	2,600,000	8.0%			
2,600,000	3,100,000	8.8%			
3,100,000	3,600,000	9.6%			
3,600,000	4,100,000	10.4%			
4,100,000	5,100,000	11.2%			
5,100,000	6,100,000	12.0%			
6,100,000	7,100,000	12.8%			
7,100,000	8,100,000	13.6%			

	Table 3	
Federal Credi	t for State Death Sched	ule
Taxable estate equal	Taxable estate is	Credit
to or more than:	less than	rate:
8,100,000	9,100,000	14.4%
9,100,000	10,100,000	15.2%
10,100,000		16.0%
Source: I.R.C. § 2011 (com	bines credit table and define	nition of
adjusted taxable estate, whi	ch is taxable value less \$60	,000)

Although the Table 3 rates are essentially the rate schedule for these state taxes based on the old federal credit, an important qualifier applies to estates with taxable values modestly above the applicable state exemption amount—higher tax rates apply to a small range of values. This somewhat counterintuitive result follows from the nature of the federal credit computation, which determines the tax liability. The allowable federal credit equaled the lesser of:

- 1. Federal credit amount (i.e., the amount calculated under Table 3's schedule) or
- 2. The amount of the federal estate tax calculated under the federal rate schedule.

Factor #2 (the limitation to the amount of federal tax liability) results in higher marginal rates until the computation under #1 is larger. Since the federal tax rates ranged from 18 percent to 55 percent, higher marginal rates apply to values just over the exemption amount than the credit rates in Table 3. For example, the rate on taxable values between \$1 million and \$1.25 million is 41 percent for a state tax with a \$1 million exemption. The full amount of the federal tax above the exemption/credit amount qualified for the credit for state death taxes, so as estate values increase the credit (state tax) rises at the federal tax rate, not the credit rate in Table 3. This includes the credit amount on the estate value below the exemption amount. As a result, the marginal tax rate for a state, like Minnesota, with a \$1 million exemption is 41 percent on values of an estate just over \$1 million until the full state death tax credit amount is reached for that value estate.¹⁶ For estate taxes with \$2 million exemptions or \$3.5 million exemptions, the marginal rates would be higher (generally 45 percent or 55 percent, depending upon which version of federal tax computation is used—the 2009 or the 2001), because the applicable federal estate tax rates for those estates are also higher.

In essence, this peculiar feature of these state taxes takes away the benefit of the exemption amount as estate values increase for these estates. It is worth noting that tax always continues to rise as the value of the estate increases. Put another way, this "bubble" rate for certain value estates never causes the tax (or the average or effective rate of tax) on a lower valued estate to exceed that on an estate with a higher taxable value.¹⁷

Marginal rates are important considerations in the design of an income tax, since they directly affect the incentive to earn (or report) income. It is less clear that these bubble marginal rates under estate taxes are important as a policy matter. These rates apply across a relatively narrow range of taxable value of estates. The tax is a one-time tax and most individuals will not know whether their estates will fall into this narrow range of values on the (unknown) date in the future when they die. Thus, these high marginal rates probably do not affect behavior much, if at all, in

setting up estate plans, making domicile decisions, or similar. The average or total rate of tax is probably the more important effect on behavior or planning in the context of estate and inheritance taxes.¹⁸

Stand-alone state estate taxes (Connecticut, Ohio, and Washington) do not have this peculiar feature. Maryland has limited its tax so that the marginal rates do not exceed the top 16 percent credit rate, unless the federal death tax credit applies.¹⁹

State Inheritance Taxes

Eight states impose inheritance taxes on 2010 deaths (two of these supplement estate taxes)

In 2001, 11 states imposed inheritance or succession taxes in addition to pickup estate taxes. Since 2001, three of these state taxes (Connecticut, Louisiana, and New Hampshire) have been repealed or expired under previously enacted legislation. For 2010 deaths, eight states have inheritance taxes. Table 4 lists the states with inheritance taxes, the exemption amount, and top rates for lineal heirs and collateral heirs.

	State Inheritance Taxes for 2010 Deaths				
State	Exemption – lineal heirs ²⁰	Top rate – lineal heirs	Exemption – collateral heirs ²¹	Top rate – collateral heirs	
Indiana	\$100,000 ²²	10% ²³	\$100 ²⁴	20% ²⁵	
Iowa	unlimited ²⁶	N.A.	\$25,000 ²⁷	15% ²⁸	
Kentucky	unlimited ²⁹	N.A.	\$500 ³⁰	16% ³¹	
Maryland*	unlimited ³²	N.A.	\$1,000 ³³	10% ³⁴	
Nebraska	\$40,000 ³⁵	1% ³⁶	\$10,000 ³⁷	18% ³⁸	
New Jersey*	unlimited ³⁹	N.A.	$$500^{40}$	$16\%^{41}$	
Pennsylvania	\$3,500 ⁴²	4.5% ⁴³	0	15% ⁴⁴	
Tennessee	\$1,000,000 ⁴⁵	$9.5\%^{46}$	\$1,000,00047	9.5% ⁴⁸	
* States with estate taxes in addition to the inheritance tax.					

Table 4

Several observations about the characteristics of the inheritance taxes relative to the state estate taxes can be made:

• The exemptions for surviving spouses and lineal heirs (typically parents, children, and grandchildren of the decedent) in four states eliminate tax liability altogether for what are likely the most common heirs of many estates. This dramatically reduces the burden of these taxes.

- The exemptions for these taxes are typically quite a bit lower than for the estate taxes. Putting aside the four states with unlimited exemptions for lineal heirs, this should result in many more estates being subject to the taxes.
- The tax rates on bequests to collateral heirs, by contrast, tend to be comparable to the rates under the estate tax or even higher.
- Two states, Maryland and New Jersey, have both inheritance and estate taxes. This seeming quirk resulted from the history of these states having an inheritance tax and a pickup estate tax to take advantage of the federal credit for state death taxes. When the federal credit was repealed, these two states (unlike the other six states with inheritance taxes) chose to maintain their estate taxes, rather than allowing them to expire or repealing them. As a result, these two states still impose both taxes. The estate tax, however, is reduced by the amount of the inheritance tax paid, so the two taxes are not additive.

Gift Taxes

Two states impose stand-alone gift taxes

Few states impose stand-alone gift taxes; that is, those that apply regardless of when the gift is made. When EGTRRA was enacted in 2001, four states imposed true gift taxes. Louisiana repealed its gift tax in 2007 after it repealed its inheritance tax.⁴⁹ North Carolina also repealed its gift tax in 2008.⁵⁰ This leaves two states, Connecticut and Tennessee, with gift taxes. (Minnesota repealed its gift tax in 1979, as part of the transition to imposing only a pickup estate tax.⁵¹)

Eight states impose their estate or inheritance tax on gifts made in contemplation of death

Eight states have provisions designed to tax gifts that are made in contemplation of death or within a period of time before the donor's death. These rules are intended to prevent the use of "deathbed" or similar gifts to avoid paying estate or inheritance tax on these transfers. All of the states with these rules had stand-alone inheritance or estate taxes when EGTRRA was enacted. States relying exclusively on pickup taxes had little reason to maintain these rules, since the structure of the federal estate tax discouraged use of deathbed gifts. Now, states with estate taxes based on the federal credit are subject to deathbed gift-planning strategies.⁵²

Table 5 summarizes the state gift tax and gift in contemplation of death rules.

		Tabl				
	Taxation of Gifts					
State	Type of death tax	Gift tax	Top rate of gift tax	Gifts in contemplation of death rule		
Connecticut	Estate	Unified with estate tax	12% ⁵³	N.A.		
Indiana	Inheritance	N.A.	N.A.	Transfer made one year before date of death presumed in contemplation of death ⁵⁴		
Iowa	Inheritance	N.A.	N.A.	Transfers above the federal gift tax exclusion within three years of death, other than bona fide sales, are taxable ⁵⁵		
Kentucky	Inheritance	N.A.	N.A.	Transfers of material part of estate made three years before death construed prima facie to be made in contemplation of death ⁵⁶		
Maryland	Inheritance and estate	N.A.	N.A.	Gifts made within two years of the date of death are taxable under the inheritance tax ⁵⁷		
Nebraska	Inheritance	N.A.	N.A.	Gifts made within three years of the date of death subject to inheritance taxation ⁵⁸		
New Jersey	Inheritance	N.A.	N.A.	Transfers within three years of death deemed made in contemplation of death, absence proof to the contrary ⁵⁹		
Ohio	Estate	N.A.	N.A.	Transfers made within three years of death presumed to be made in contemplation of death ⁶⁰		
Pennsylvania	Inheritance	N.A.	N.A.	Transfers greater than \$3,000 made within one year of date of death are taxable ⁶¹		
Tennessee	Inheritance	Gift tax	16%	Transfers made within three years of decedent's death, except bona fide sales ⁶²		

State-Only QTIPs

Allowing a state QTIP election that differs from the federal election allows a married couple to defer paying state tax without forgoing the full federal exemption when the first spouse dies

The exemption amounts under most state inheritance and estate taxes differ from that allowed under the federal estate tax—that is, the state exemptions are lower. These differences create difficult choices for married couples and their estate planners. For example, a standard planning strategy for married couples was to fund a credit shelter trust up to the federal and state exemption amount on the death of the first spouse with the remainder of the estate passing to the surviving spouse and qualifying for the marital deduction. In a regime where the federal and state exemption amounts are equal, this approach avoided both federal and state estate tax on the first death and avoided wasting any of the first spouse's exemption (which would have occurred if the whole estate simply passed to the surviving spouse). If the exemption amount increased later (or tax rates were reduced), as occasionally occurred, these changes would operate to reduce the taxes on the combined estate of the married couple. Thus, the choice was relatively easy.

A state exemption amount that is lower than the federal exemption presents a sort of Hobson choice when the first spouse dies. The executor can opt to defer both federal and state tax by putting only the amount of the state exemption in the credit shelter trust. But this wastes part of the federal exemption and, thus, potentially subjects the estate to a higher federal estate tax on the death of the second spouse.⁶³ On the other hand, the executor could opt to fund the credit shelter trust at the higher federal exemption amount and pay the (lower) state tax to avoid this risk. However, it is possible that the federal exemption will increase to exempt the entire remaining estate or the entire federal tax will be repealed by the time the second spouse dies. In

this circumstance, payment of state tax to avoid the possibility of a higher federal tax later would have been unnecessary. Obviously, there is no "right" answer given the uncertainty as to: (1) when the second spouse will die, and (2) what the federal and state estate taxes will look like when that happens.

To provide more flexibility to planners, many states with estate or inheritance taxes allow differing qualified terminable interest property (QTIP) elections for state and federal tax purposes. QTIP trusts are a standard estate tax planning tool for married couples. See the box to the right for the definition of the QTIP property. They allow electing the amount of the trust that will qualify for the marital deduction. The rest or nonelected part of the QTIP trust can be used to remove property from the estate of the surviving spouse for estate tax purposes, while still providing

QTIP Rules

A primary advantage of QTIP property is that the full value of the property qualifies for the marital deduction (avoiding tax on the death of the first spouse), although only a limited income interest is left to the surviving spouse. To be QTIP property, the following criteria must be met:

- The property must be owned by the decedent
- The surviving spouse must have a right to all of the income, payable at least annually, from the property for life
- No one else may have a power of appointment over the property until the surviving spouse dies
- A QTIP election must be made

income to the surviving spouse and limiting to whom the property will ultimately go. By allowing a different QTIP amount for state and federal tax purposes, the full exemption amounts for both taxes can be claimed, while also deferring tax under both taxes.

How this works can be most easily explained with an example. Assume a married couple has a combined estate of \$4 million (\$2 million owned by each spouse), and their estate plan includes a QTIP trust. The first spouse dies in 2008, when the state exemption is \$1 million and the federal exemption is \$2 million. If the OTIP election must be identical for federal and state purposes, the personal representative must choose whether to elect a marital deduction of zero (thereby maximizing the federal exemption by allowing the full \$2 million to pass into the credit shelter trust) or \$1 million (thereby deferring state tax, but "wasting" \$1 million of the federal exemption). By contrast, allowing different QTIP elections will allow the personal representative to elect a marital amount of zero for federal purposes and \$1 million for state purposes. This allows deferring both taxes without wasting the federal exemption.⁶⁴ Table 6 below shows the different taxable estates under the alternative approaches using simplifying assumptions: both spouses die in 2008, there are no other deductions, and so forth. As can be seen in the table, allowing differing state and federal elections allows an alternative to the difficult choice of paying state tax now to avoid a potentially higher federal tax on the second death. Ignoring appreciation in assets between the two deaths and the time value of money, the state taxable amount remains the same, while the estate is permitted to avoid the maximum amount of federal tax.

			Table 6			
Tax	Taxable Estates Under Alternative QTIP Election Scenarios					
	First	t spouse	Second Spouse		Combined	
	Federal	State	Federal	State	Federal	MN
Uniform election of	0	\$1 million	0	\$1 million	0	\$2 million
federal exemption						
amount						
Uniform election of	0	0	\$1 million	\$2 million	\$1 million	\$2 million
state exemption						
amount						
Differing elections*	0	0	0	\$2 million	0	\$2 million
*Election of state exemption amount; federal election of federal exemption.						
Assumptions: Each spouse has \$2 million in property, no other deductions (beside marital deduction) apply, and						
the exemptions for 2008 a	pply to both	n deaths.				

Table 6	

A number of states with estate or inheritance taxes allow differing OTIP elections, under legislation, rulings by the state tax administrators, or administrative policies. Table 7 lists the states, broken down by whether it was done by administrative ruling or legislation.

	Table 7	
States Allow	ving Separate QTI	P Elections
	Auth	norized by:
State	Legislation	Administratively
Indiana	x ⁶⁵	
Kentucky		x ⁶⁶
Maine	x ⁶⁷	
Maryland	x ⁶⁸	
Massachusetts		x ⁶⁹
Ohio	x ⁷⁰	
Oregon	x ⁷¹	
Pennsylvania	x ⁷²	
Rhode Island		x ⁷³
Tennessee	x ⁷⁴	
Washington	x ⁷⁵	

Minnesota⁷⁶ and New York⁷⁷ have allowed state QTIP elections during the period in which no federal estate tax return is required to be filed. These options, however, do not address the situation in which estate planners wish to use a separate state QTIP election to use the full federal exemption amount and avoid paying state tax on the death of the first spouse.

Revenues Yielded by the Taxes

Table 8 shows the annual revenues for the last decade yielded by the state taxes and the Minnesota estate tax. As can be seen, national revenues declined fairly dramatically over this period (from \$8 billion to \$4.7 billion) with the repeal of the federal credit and by most states allowing their taxes to expire or repealing them. The credit net of the federal credit for state death taxes is even more dramatic, but in the opposite direction, going from a net state tax burden of \$1.5 billion to \$4.7 billion. Minnesota's revenues fluctuate significantly from year to year, but have grown over the period, reflecting the stability of its tax parameters and general growth in asset values.

	Table 8						
	State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Tax Revenues 2000 – 2009						
		(a	mounts in thous	ands)			
YearTotal state%Federal credit for state deathRevenues net of federalMinnesota%Yearrevenueschangetaxescreditrevenueschangechange							
2000	\$7,998,210		\$6,500,641	\$1,497,569	\$82,516		
2001	7,499,439	-6.2%	6,318,812	1,180,627	53,377	-35.3%	
2002	7,384,434	-1.5	5,751,539	1,632,895	66,291	24.2	
2003	6,685,304	-9.5	4,745,610	1,939,694	127,687	92.6	

Table 8													
State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Tax Revenues 2000 – 2009 (amounts in thousands)													
							2004	5,731,709	-14.3	3,178,663	2,553,046	87,022	-31.8
							2005	5,339,548	-6.8	1,861,784	3,477,764	68,952	-20.8
2006	4,960,948	-7.1	261,535	4,699,413	212,881	208.7							
2007	4,923,712	-0.8	Not reported	4,923,712	107,599	-49.5							
2008	5,100,680	3.6	Not reported	5,100,680	115,523	7.4							
2009	4,669,184	-8.5	Not reported	4,669,184	129,811	12.4							
Sources: State revenues from U.S. Census Bureau, http://www.census.gov/govs/statetax/													
Federal credit amounts from Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income Division,													
http://www.irs.gov/taxstats/indtaxstats/article/0,,id=210646,00.html													

For more information about estate taxes, visit the miscellaneous taxes area of our website, www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm.

Endnotes

¹ Some state taxes were automatically linked to changes in federal law. For these states repeal of the federal credit reduced the state tax, unless the state legislature took action to "decouple" from the federal law. Thus, legislative inaction would cause the tax to expire. Other states linked their taxes to the federal tax as it existed on a specific date or as it applied to decedents dying up to a specific date. For these states, elimination of the tax would take positive legislative action. Most states fell into the former category, while a few states (including Minnesota) were in the latter. Some states, like Minnesota, are prohibited constitutionally from delegating to Congress the ability to modify their tax laws, so they cannot automatically adopt most future changes in federal law. See, e.g., *Wallace v. Comm'r of Taxation*, 184 N.W.2d 588 (Minn. 1971).

² Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-391, http://www.cga.ct.gov/2010/sup/chap217.htm (accessed July 13, 2010).

³ Del. Code Ann. tit. 30, ch. 30, http://delcode.delaware.gov/title30/c015/index.shtml (accessed July 13, 2010).

⁴ D.C. Code Ann. § 47-3701.

⁵ Hawaii Rev. Stat. §§ 236D-A, 236D-B, http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2010/bills/HB2866_CD1_.pdf (accessed July 23, 2010).

⁶ Md. Code Ann. §§ 7-301 – 7.309, http://www.michie.com/maryland/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&2.0 (accessed July 13, 2010).

⁷ Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 65c, http://www.mass.gov/legis/laws/mgl/gl-65c-toc.htm (accessed July 14, 2010).

⁸ Minn. Stat. ch. 291, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291 (accessed July 13, 2010).

⁹ N.J. Stat. Ann. § 54:38-1, http://bit.ly/aQG7Ou (accessed July 14, 2010).

¹⁰ N.Y. Tax Law §§ 951–961, http://bit.ly/bO23Fh (accessed July 13, 2010).

¹¹ Ohio Rev. Code Ann. ch. 5731, http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5731 (accessed July 13, 2010).

¹² Or. Rev. Stat. ch. 118, http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/118.html (accessed July 13, 2010).

¹³ R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-22-1.1, http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE44/44-22/44-22-1.1.HTM (accessed July 13, 2010), as amended by 2009 R.I. Pub. Laws 068, art. 16 § 14,

http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/PublicLaws/law09/law09068-16.htm (accessed July 13, 2010).

¹⁴ Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, ch. 190, http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutes/sections.cfm?Title=32&Chapter=190 (accessed July 13, 2010).

¹⁵ Wash. Rev. Code ch. 83.100, http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=83.100 (accessed July 13, 2010).

¹⁶ Thus, in a state with a \$1 million exemption, a 41 percent rate would apply to the first about \$58,000 of the estate's value above \$1 million. At that point the additional tax for added value would be determined under the rates in Table 2.

¹⁷ As a result, despite the peculiar shape of curve of the marginal rates (rising and, then, falling), this does not undercut the progressivity of an estate tax using this computational method. The tax burden and average tax rates consistently rise under these taxes as estate values rise. Similar rising and falling effective marginal rates apply

under the federal and state income taxes. These rising and falling marginal rates result from phaseouts of exemptions, deductions, and credits that cause tax to rise more rapidly than the statutory rate as income increases. For a discussion of these effects, see, for example, Daniel N. Shaviro, "Effective Marginal Tax Rates on Low-Income Households," Tax Notes 84 (1999): 1191.

 18 The bubble rates could, however, encourage the personal representatives for an estate with a value in the narrow range to incur higher deductible costs of administration, because these expenses would have a lower effective price as a result of the high estate tax rates.

¹⁹ Md. Ann. Code § 7-309(b)(3)(ii), http://www.michie.com/maryland/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=mainh.htm&2.0 (accessed July 14, 2010).

 20 Lineal heirs are typically children, grandchildren, and parents. Practices vary as to whether spouses (e.g., sons-in-law or daughters-in-law) are included.

²¹ Collateral heirs include cousins, aunts, uncles and unrelated individuals. Some states have intermediate classes of beneficiaries—e.g., typically brothers and sisters (who in other states may be class A or C beneficiaries).

²² Ind. Code § 6-4.1-3-10, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch3.html (accessed August 6, 2010).

²³ Ind. Code § 6-4.1-5-1(b), http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch5.html (accessed August 6,

2010). ²⁴ Ind. Code. § 6-4.1-3-12, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch3.html (accessed August 6, 2010).

²⁵ Ind. Code § 6-4.1-5-1(d), http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch5.html (accessed August 6, 2010). ²⁶ Iowa Code § 450.10 (6), http://coolice.legis.state.ia.us/Cool-

ICE/default.asp?category=billinfo&service=IowaCode&ga=83 (accessed August 10, 2010).

²⁷ This exemption is for the entire estate, not an individual bequest. Iowa Code § 450.4(1),

http://coolice.legis.state.ia.us/Cool-ICE/default.asp?category=billinfo&service=IowaCode&ga=83 (accessed August 10.2010).

²⁸ Iowa Code § 450.10 (2), http://coolice.legis.state.ia.us/Cool-

ICE/default.asp?category=billinfo&service=IowaCode&ga=83 (accessed August 10, 2010). The top rate on bequests to a brother, sister, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law is 10 percent. Iowa Code § 450.10 (1).

²⁹ Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.080(1)(c)(4), http://www.lrc.state.ky.us/KRS/140-00/080.PDF (accessed August 9, 2010).

³⁰ Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.080(1)(e), http://www.lrc.state.ky.us/KRS/140-00/080.PDF (accessed August 9, 2010).

³¹ Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.070(3), http://www.lrc.state.ky.us/KRS/140-00/070.PDF (accessed August 9, 2010).

³² Md. Code § 7-203(b)(2), http://www.michie.com/maryland/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=mainh.htm&cp=mdcode (accessed August 10, 2010).

³³ Md. Code § 7-203(g), http://www.michie.com/maryland/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=mdcode (accessed August 10, 2010). In addition, to the \$1,000 exemption per recipient, the tax does not apply to an estate with a value of less than \$30,000. Md. Code §§ 7-203(h); 5-601(a),

http://www.michie.com/maryland/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=mdcode (accessed August 10, 2010). ³⁴ Md. Code § 7-204(b), http://www.michie.com/maryland/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=mdcode

(accessed August 10, 2010).

³⁵ Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-2004, http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2004 (accessed August 9, 2010). These reduced rates also apply to brothers and sisters.

 36 Id.

³⁷ Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-2006, http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2006 (accessed August 9, 2010).

³⁸ Id.

³⁹ N.J. Stat. § 54:34-2.a(2), http://bit.ly/am2XG8 (accessed August 11, 2010).

⁴⁰ N.J. Stat. § 54:34-1, http://bit.ly/aupmF7 (accessed August 11, 2010).

⁴¹ N.J. Stat. § 54:34-2.d, http://bit.ly/am2XG8 (accessed August 11, 2010).

⁴² This is the family exemption amount, which may not apply in all circumstances (e.g., if the recipient is not a member of the decedent's household). 20 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 3121; 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. §§ 9127.

⁴³ 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9116(a)(1).

⁴⁴ 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9116(a)(2).

⁴⁵ Tenn. Code § 67-8-316 (b), http://www.michie.com/tennessee/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-

h.htm&cp=tncode (accessed August 10, 2010). This exemption applies to the bequests made to all beneficiaries

(i.e., it is not a per beneficiary exemption). This makes the Tennessee inheritance tax structurally like an estate tax. The exemption amount and tax rates and brackets apply to the value of the estate and do not appear to vary based on the recipients of bequests or gifts.

⁴⁶ Tenn. Code § 67-8-314 (b), http://www.michie.com/tennessee/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=mainh.htm&cp=tncode (accessed August 10, 2010).

⁴⁷ See note 45.

⁴⁸ Tenn. Code § 67-8-314 (b) http://www.michie.com/tennessee/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=mainh.htm&cp=tncode (accessed August 10, 2010).

⁴⁹ 2007 La. Act 371, available here: http://www.legis.state.la.us/billdata/streamdocument.asp?did=451028 (accessed July 9, 2010).

⁵⁰ 2007 N.C. Sess. Laws 2008-107 § 28.18.(a), available here:

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2007/Bills/House/PDF/H2436v9.pdf (accessed July 9, 2010).

⁵¹ 1979 Minn. Laws ch. 303, art. 3 § 41.

⁵² As states decoupled, estate planners began suggesting deathbed gift strategies as a way to minimize state estate taxes. See, e.g., Andy Kremer, "New Gifting Incentives: Return of the Deathbed Transfer," *Bench & Bar of Minnesota* 61 (September 2004); Debra L. Stetter, "Deathbed Gifts: A Savings Opportunity for Residents of Decoupled States," *Estate Planning* 31 (2004): 270. A deathbed gift removes the gifted property from the taxable estate and can provide a significant reduction in state tax. Because the recipient takes a carryover basis, however, this could have adverse individual income tax consequences if appreciated property is given. Giving cash avoids this problem, of course. If the donor does not have cash, it may be possible to borrow on margin to fund the gift.

⁵³ Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-642, http://www.cga.ct.gov/2010/sup/chap228c.htm (accessed August 11, 2010).

⁵⁴ Ind. Code § 6-4.1-2-4, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch2.html (accessed August 10, 2010). The presumption is rebuttable.

⁵⁵ Iowa Code § 450.3(2), http://coolice.legis.state.ia.us/Cool-

ICE/default.asp?category=billinfo&service=IowaCode&ga=83 (accessed August 10, 2010).

⁵⁶ Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.020(2), available here: http://www.lrc.state.ky.us/KRS/140-00/020.PDF (accessed August 9, 2010). For transfers made more than three years before death, it is a question of fact whether a gift was made in contemplation of death.

⁵⁷ Md. Code § 7-201(d)(iii), http://www.michie.com/maryland/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=mainh.htm&cp=mdcode (accessed August 10, 2010). This appears to be a bright-line rule. In addition, other transfers shown to be in contemplation of tax are taxable.

⁵⁸ Rule applies only if a federal gift tax return is required to be filed. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2002 (2),

http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2002 (accessed August 10, 2010).

⁵⁹ N.J. Rev. Stat. § 54:34-1.c, http://bit.ly/aupmF7 (accessed August 11, 2010).

⁶⁰ Ohio Rev. Code § 5731.05, http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5731.05 (accessed August 10, 2010). Transfers outside of the three-year period are not subject to tax. An exception is made for the first \$10,000 of transfers made to each transferee.

⁶¹ 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9107(c)(3).

⁶² Tenn. Code § 67-8-304(3), http://www.michie.com/tennessee/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=tncode (accessed August 10, 2010).

⁶³ This could also result in higher state tax. In some circumstances, the tax on the first estate would be at a lower rate than the value that is added to the second estate by deferral. This potential rate differential may be offset by the time value of the money, depending upon when the second death occurs.

⁶⁴ It is likely that in most cases this strategy will minimize the total tax burden. However, it is also possible to imagine scenarios in which it could result in higher total state taxes. One side benefit of the approach—not applicable in the example used because there is no federal estate tax obligation—is that it concentrates payment of state estate tax in a year in which it can be used to reduce the amount of federally taxable estate.

⁶⁵ Ind. Code § 6-4.1-3-7 available at http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch3.html (accessed July 12, 2010).

⁶⁶ Robert M. Arlen and David Pratt, "The New York (and Other States) Death Tax Trap," *The Florida Bar Journal* (October 2003): fn. 25, reports that Kentucky allows this practice. An email response from an official at the Kentucky Department of Revenue confirmed that Kentucky does this, but has no formal statute or ruling on the issue.

⁶⁷ Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36 § 4062 (2-B),

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36sec4062.html (accessed July 12, 2010).

⁶⁸ Md. Code Ann. § 7-309(b)(5)(ii), http://www.michie.com/maryland/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&2.0 (accessed July 12, 2010).

⁶⁹ Mass. Dept. of Revenue, "Estate Tax Issues Arising from Decoupling the Massachusetts Estate Tax from the Federal Estate Tax," DOR Directive 03-2 (February 19, 2003), http://bit.ly/9g7UWa (accessed July 12, 2010).

⁷⁰ Ohio Rev. Code § 5731.15 (B), http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5731.15 (accessed July 12, 2010). The interpretation that this allows a different amount than the federal election was confirmed by email response from the Ohio Department of Revenue, dated January 1, 2004.

⁷¹ Or. Rev. Stat. § 118.016 (special property election); http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/118.html (accessed July 12, 2010).

⁷² 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9113.

⁷³ R.I. Div. of Taxation Declaratory Rulings, Ruling Request No. 2003-03 (April 16, 2003),

http://www.tax.state.ri.us/declaratoryrulings/r2003-03.php (accessed July 12, 2010). 74 Term Code \$5.67.8, 204 (10)(A)(i): 67.8, 215(c)(6)

⁷⁴ Tenn. Code §§ 67-8-304 (10)(A)(i); 67-8-315(a)(6),

http://www.michie.com/tennessee/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=tncode (accessed July 12, 2010). ⁷⁵ Wash. Rev. Code § 83.100.047, available here: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=83.100.047 (accessed July 12, 2010).

⁷⁶ Minn. Stat. § 291.03, subd. 1b (2010 Suppl) (prohibiting the election from the reducing the estate below \$3.5 million, which essentially prevents use of the provision to defer tax on all amounts over the state exemption of \$1 million).

⁷⁷ New York provided administrative guidance that an estate that is not subject to federal tax (either because the federal tax is not in effect or because the value of the estate is less than the exemption amount) could elect a New York QTIP amount. N.Y. State Dept. of Taxation and Finance, "Qualified Terminal Interest Property (QTIP) Election for New York State Purposes When No Federal Return is Required," (March 16, 2010), http://www.tax.state.ny.us/pdf/memos/estate_&_gift/m10_1m.pdf (accessed July 12, 2010).