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Q . Purchasi

Licensing and Bonding of Dealers
and Manufacturers

Manufactured home dealers must have a license,
surety bond, and liability insurance. (2) The license
must be prominently displayed on the premises. (3)
Banks, savings and loans, real estate brokers, and
businesses that repossess manufactured homes are not
required to have a license or a bond. (4)

The Commissioner of the Department of Labor and
Industry licenses people who meet the application,
bond, and insurance requirements. (5) Certificates are
issued by the Commissioner to anyone who is granted
alicense. (6) The Commissioner may deny, suspend,
or revoke any license. (7)

Warranties

Every new manufactured home sold in Minnesota has
an implied warranty that the home conforms to
applicable federal and state laws. (8) Every
manufactured home also has an implied warranty of
merchantability and fitness for permanent housing in
Minnesota's climate. (9) Manufacturers or dealers may
also make express warranties on a manufactured
home, but they cannot limit any implied warranties.

(10)

Warranties are valid for one year from the date the

new home is delivered to the consumer. (11) When a

home owner wants to make a claim covered by either
~ anexpress or implied warranty, the home owner must
- - notify the dealer, or the manufacturer, within a
~ Ieasonable time after discovering the problem, but no
 later than 90 days after the expiration of the warranty.
2) Either the manufacturer, or the dealer, or both of
1working together, must repair the manufactured
© at its site within a reasonable amount of time
iving notice from the owner. (13)

Building Codes

Manufactured homes must meet national construction
standards. (14) If the manufactured home is
constructed after July 1, 1972, and before June 15,
1976, the home must meet the American National
Standards Institute code. (15) If the manufactured
home is constructed after June 14, 1976, it must meet
the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban
Development (“HUD”) standards. (16) In order to
be sold, the home must have a label as required by

_the Secretary of HUD. (17) When a home is sold, it

will also contain a seal issued by the Commissioner of
the Department of Labor and Industry. (18) And, if
possible, the home will also have a certificate from the
manufacturer or dealer assuring compliance with these
codes. (19)

Itis amisdemeanor to alter a certified manufactured
home so that it violates building codes. (20) It is also
a misdemeanor to construct or install a home in
violation of the building codes listed above. (21)

The Commissioner enforces the manufactured home
installation rules. (22) The Commissioner may:

¢ Chargereasonable fees for inspections, seals,
and other enforcement costs. (23)

e Adopt rules governing the installation of
manufactured homes. (24)

* Adopt rules governing the construction,
installation, and certification of manufactured
home accessory structures (this means any
factory-built building or structure which is an
addition or supplement to a manufactured
home). (25)

Require any code violation to be corrected
within 40 days. (26)

A person who fails to correct a manufactured home
building code violation in 40 days, or interferes with
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the duties of the Commissioner of the Department of
Labor and Industry, is guilty of a misdemeanor. (27)

Additionally, anyone who violates any of these laws is
liable to the State of Minnesota for a monetary
penalty up to $1,000 for each violation, not to
exceed $1,000,000. (28)




Q Duties of the Park Owner and Manager

Park owners and their designated managers must
perform specific duties required by state law.
Duties include being licensed, complying with state
law and local ordinances, and properly maintaining
the park.

~ License

A manufactured home park owner must have a license
from the Minnesota Department of Health. (29) This
license must be conspicuously displayed in the
office of the manufactured home park. (30)

A park owner or manager must apply for this license
and the Department of Health must inspect the
manufactured home park and grant a license if all
requirements are met. (31)

If the Commissioner of the state Department of Health
denies a license application, the park owner or manager
may appeal the decision. The person who is appealing
the decision must request a hearing by notifying the
Commissioner within 20 days after the license is
denied. (32)

Compliance with
Health Regulations

Ifaperson is injured, or threatened with injury because
a health or safety rule is violated, the person may
contact the Department of Health to file a complaint.
The Department of Health can require the park to
comply, or assist the park in correcting the violation.
An injured person may also file a private lawsuit. (33)

Attendant

An owner or attendant must maintain the park, facilities
and equipment. Ifthe park contains more than 50 lots,
the park owner or the attendant must be available at
all times in case of emergency. (34)

Storm Shelters and Evacuation

Storm shelters or evacuation plans provide residents
with access to safe shelter in cases of bad weather.
(35) Storm shelter plans vary depending on the size
of a park and when the park was originally licensed.
(36)

Parks with fewer than ten homes must provide either
a shelter on the premises or a plan for evacuation to a
nearby shelter. (37) The plan or shelter should be
developed with the assistance and approval of the
park's local municipality.

Parks with ten or more homes, licensed prior to
March 1, 1988, must provide either a shelter on the
premises, or evacuation plans to a storm shelter close
to the park. (38) The shelter or evacuation plan must
have been approved by the park's local municipality
by March 1, 1989, and a copy submitted to the state
Department of Health. The park owner must give all
residents a copy of the evacuation or shelter plan. (39)

Parks with ten or more homes, 1icenseci after
March 1, 1988, must provide a storm shelter within
the park. (40)

Shelters constructed after March 1, 1988, must
comply with the state building code. (41) The state
Department of Labor and Industry enforces the state's
building code and has jurisdiction over the proper




construction of storm shelters. The state
Department of Health has jurisdiction over
whether the shelter or shelter plan is adequate to
meet the needs of park residents.

Drains, Water Supply and Lots

Manufactured home parks must be well drained and
have an adequate supply of safe water. (42) The park
must make sure homes are properly placed within
the park, and the lots are divided correctly. (43)

Tenant's Remedies

Residents of a manufactured home park are
generally afforded the rights of residential tenants
under Minnesota law. (44) Likewise, residents in
a manufactured home park may form a “resident
association,” which is organized for the purpose
of resolving matters relating to living conditions
in the manufactured home park. (45)

In most situations, a tenant or resident association
may request that the Minnesota Department of
Health conduct an inspection for code violations.
(46) Thereafter, the inspector must notify the tenant
or resident association in writing of any code
violations, and provide the park with a reasonable
period of time to correct the violations. (47) If
the violations are not corrected, a tenant or resident
association may bring an action in district court
in the county where the violation exists. (48) The
owner must be informed in writing at least 14 days
before the tenant or resident association may take
action. (49) In general, the issues raised in the
complaint will be tried to the court without a jury
approximately 7 to 14 days after the action has
been filed. (50) If the court finds that a violation
has not been remedied, the court may issue an order
requiring corrective action, as well as including
a judgment against the owner for reasonable
attorney’s fees, not to exceed $500. (51)

If the violation is a case of emergency (i.e., loss of
running water, hot water, heat, electricity, sanitary
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facilities or other essential services) then a
resident or Resident Association can file an
emergency relief proceeding. (52) The resident
or Resident Association must make reasonable
efforts to notify the owner of the emergency relief
proceeding at least 24 hours in advance. (53)




Requirements of a
Rental Agreement

The lease, or rental agreement, is the contract
between the park owner and the resident. Leases
are always negotiable. But, remember, negotiations
must take place before the lease is signed by either

party.

A copy of the rental agreement, the Notice required
by state law, the written procedures and criteria used
to evaluate a prospective tenant, and the mandatory
Safety Feature Disclosure Form must be given to an
applicant to review before the applicant is asked to
sign them. (Text of the Notice and the Safety Feature
Disclosure Form can be found on pages 35-37.)
(54) The Notice required by state law and the
Safety Feature Disclosure Form must be posted in
a conspicuous and public location in the park. (55)

A rental agreement must meet the following criteria:

o It must be in writing. (56)

e Itmust be signed by the resident and the park
owner or the owner's designated person.
(57)

o It must specify the terms and conditions of
the rental of the lot, including:

° thelocation of the lot and its address or

- site number; (58)

the amount of rent per month and a
statement of all personal property,
services and facilities that the park owner
agrees to provide to the resident; (59)

the rights, duties and obligations of the
parties, and all rules applicable to the
resident; (60)

° the amount of any security deposit or
other financial obligation imposed on

the resident by the park owner; (61) and
the name of any person holding a
security interest in the resident's home.
(62)

Park owners are required to give each resident a
signed copy of the rental agreement. (63) In
addition, the Safety Feature Disclosure Form must
be attached to the Notice. (64)

Serving Notice

When a park owner must give notice to residents, the
following is considered "proper notice":

e Personal service.

e Mailing the notice to the last known mailing
address of the resident.

» Delivering the notice to the resident's home.
(The notice must be left with someone of
suitable age and discretion, or placed in a
secure and conspicuous location at the home.)

» Sending certified mail. (This is effective
even if the resident refuses delivery.) (65)




A park "rule" is any rental agreement provision,
regulation, rule or policy established by a park
owner to control or affect the behavior of residents.
(66)

Proper Rules

Under Minnesota law, park leases, rules, and
regulations must:

° Be written in plain language. (67)

o Bereasonable. A "reasonablerule" is one that:
°  Promotes the convenience and safety of

the residents. It also promotes the good

appearance and efficient operation of the

parlk, protects the park premises, and fairly

distributes services and facilities. (68)

Relates to the purpose for which it is

adopted. (69)

Is not retaliatory or discriminatory in

nature. (70)

Informs residents of acceptable and

unacceptable behavior. (71) ’

Unreasonéble Rules

Unreasonable rules are not allowed. (72)
Unreasonable rules include (but are not limited to) the
following:

e Prohibiting a resident from putting a
reasonably-sized "for sale" sign on their
home. (73)

o Requiring a resident to use the services of a
particular dealer or broker for an in-park
sale. (74)

° Requiring a resident or prospective resident
to buy goods or services from a particular
vendor - including the park owner. (75)
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e Requiring more than one occupant of a home

to have an ownership interest in that home.
(76)

Changes to Park Rules

A park can change or modify its rules, but the law
requires that: '

o Thepark give residents 60 days written notice
before the changes take effect. (77)

o  All changes be reasonable. (78)

o Any new rule that "substantially modifies"
previous policies can only be enforced against
new residents. (79)

Substantial Modifications
to Park Rules '

A substantial modification is a rule change that:

°  Significantly diminishes or eliminates the park
owner's material obligations. (80)

° Significantly limits residents' rights, privileges
or freedom of action. (81)

e Involves a significant new expense for a
resident. (82)

If a new rule does not "substantially modify" a rule
that was in effect when a resident signed a lease, the

new rule is enforceable. (83)

The following rule change is an example of a
substantial modification:

e A security deposit increase. (84)

The following are examples of rule changes that




are not substantial modifications:

e A reasonable rent increase with 60 days
written notice and no more than two rent
increases in 12 months. (85) (A reasonable
rent increase is nota "rule" by definition.)

° A rule change required by government
action. (86)

°  Arulechange requiring all residents to maintain
their homes, sheds and other property in good
repair and safe condition. (87)

° A rule change requiring total replacement
of aresident's home, shed, or other property
if repair is impractical, and total
replacement is necessary. (88)

A park may attempt to evict a resident for violating a
new or amended rule. (89) A court may consider
the following factors when deciding if a new rule
is a substantial modification or not:

° Anynew circumstances that have occurred
since the original rule was adopted that make
a rule change necessary. (90)

° Any new benefits that residents receive
because of the rule change. (91)

If a court finds the rule reasonable, and not a
substantial modification of the original agreement, the
court will order the resident to comply with the rule
within ten days. (92) If the resident does not comply,
or violates the rule again, the resident may be evicted.

(See page 15 for eviction information.)

Illegal Rules

Parks cannot make rules that unreasonably conflict
with the following rights of residents:

e Privacy of a resident's home.
A park's owner or employees may only enter
aresident's home to respond to an emergency
or to prevent damage to the manufactured
home park. (93)

The park owner or employees may ‘éome}ﬁ:; .
onto a manufactured home park rental lot

to inspect the lot, to supply necessary or
agreed upon goods, services or repairs, or
to show the lot to buyers, residents, workers,
contractors or mortgagees. (94) Except in
the case of an emergency, the park owner
or employees cannot come onto a lot at
unreasonable times, or in a way that
unreasonably disrupts the resident's use and
enjoyment of the lot. (95)

Guests and additions to a household.
The park cannot require a resident to register
or pay a fee for overnight or other short-term
guests. (96) However, if someone comes
to stay with a resident regularly or
permanently, the park may require that
person to apply to become a resident. (97)
The park cannot deny, without good reason,
an individual's application to join a
household.

The park can set reasonable limits on the
number of people who may permanently live
in a manufactured home. (98) These limits
may be based on the home's size and the
number of rooms it contains. (99)

Freedom of expression.

The park cannot prohibit a resident or
anyone else from peacefully organizing,
assembling, canvassing or distributing
leaflets in the park for non-commercial
purposes. But, just like a municipality, the
park can set reasonable limits on the time,
place and manner of these activities. Also,
the park can prohibit commercial activities
in the park, such as selling products door-
to-door. (100)




Illegal Fees .

The park cannot charge any fees based on:

»  Thenumber or age of the people who are living
or staying with a resident. (101)

» The type of personal property, such as a
washer or dryer, that a home contains. (102)

o The size of a home. (103)

»  The facta home is temporarily vacant. (104)

The law does not prevent a park owner from reducing
or eliminating the rent for a resident with special
needs. (105)

Legal Fees

Manufactured home parks may charge the following
fees:
° Rental fees.
The park may charge a basic lot rental fee
that is the same for all park households.
(106) The park is allowed to charge extra
for:

° A larger lot. (107)

° A better location. (108)

Special services or facilities provided by
the park. (109) .
Each pet a resident owns. (Up to $4 per
month may be charged per pet.) (110)
Late rent, if this is specified in the rental
agreement. (111)

The park must give residents 60 days
written notice of any rent increase. (112)
The park cannot increase the rent more than
twice in 12 months. (113) Also, a rent
increase is not valid if its purpose is to pay
civil or criminal penalties imposed on the
park owner by a court or government
agency. (114)
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Security Deposits.

The park may require a security deposit of
up to two months' rent. (115) By giving this
deposit to the owner, the resident is
providing a guarantee that the resident will
comply with the rental agreement. (116) The
deposit also protects the park owner from
damage caused by the resident, including
damage that may occur during installation
or removal of the home. (117) After the
original security deposit is agreed upon, the
security deposit may not be increased. (118)
This would be a substantial modification
of the original rental agreement and would
not be enforceable. (119)

When a resident moves, the resident must
leave a forwarding address with the park.
The park has 21 days to return the resident's
entire deposit, plus appropriate interest,
or send the resident a letter explaining why
some, or all, of the security deposit is being
withheld. (120)

The park may keep all, or part, of a
resident's security deposit if the resident
has not paid some of the rent owed or has
damaged park property. (121) If the resident
does not agree with the park's reason for
keeping the deposit, the resident may sue
the park owner in Conciliation Court to
recover the money. (122) (The Attorney
General's Office publishes a free guide to
Conciliation Court. Contact the Office to




order a copy.) In court, the park owner must
justify withholding the security deposit.
(123) If the judge decides the owner knew
it was wrong to withhold the money (called
acting in "bad faith"), then the resident may
be awarded the amount withheld, plus
damages up to the amount withheld and up
to $200 in additional other damages. (124)

If a park owner does not provide a written
explanation for keeping the deposit, then the
deposit must be returned to the resident within
two weeks after the resident has filed a
complaint in court or the court will presume
the owner is acting in "bad faith." (125)

" The law does not allow residents to use their
security deposit to pay rent. (126) Those
residents who do may be taken to court and
may have to pay the park owner the amount
of rent withheld plus a penalty. (127)
However, before the park owner can take a
resident to court, the owner must give the
resident a written demand for the rent and a
notice that it is illegal to withhold it. (128)

Utility Fees.

The park may charge residents for utility
services that the park provides. (129) A
"utility service" is defined as any electric, fuel
oil, natural or propane gas, sewer, waste
disposal, or water service. (130) Unless
the park owner has installed measuring
devices which accurately meter each
household's use of a utility, the park has to
charge each household the same amount for
the service. (131)

Under Minnesota law, if a park owner
provides a utility service, the park owner may
charge no more than:

° the rate the resident could pay directly
for the same utility service in that market
area; (132) or

° therate charged within the same market

area to single family dwellings. (133)

There is one exception regarding electricity.
If a park owner provides electricity to
residents by reselling electricity purchased
from a public or municipal utility or
electrical cooperative, and would lose
money by following rate guidelines, the
park owner may charge a higher rate. (134)
This exception allows the park owner to
bill residents at a rate that allows the park
owner to break even. (135) However, the
park owner may only charge residents the
actual amount billed by the public utility or
utility cooperative. Residents may not be
billed for administrative, capital or other
costs. (136)

Installation and Removal Fees.

The park may provide and charge for home
installation and removal services. (137)
The park cannot require a resident to use
these services unless the park offers them
for free. (138) If a resident hires the park
to install or remove the resident's home,
the contract for this service must be in
writing. (139)

Maintenance Fees.

The park can charge a resident for a resident's
lot maintenance if the work is required by the
lease, park rules, or state or local law, and
the resident does not do the work. (140)
The park owner may do the maintenance
and charge the resident a reasonable cost,
plus a fee of up to $10, if: (141)

o

Before doing the work, the park gives
the resident written notice explaining
what work needs to be done, why, and
a deadline. (142) The notice must
explain that if the resident does not do
the work by the deadline, the park will
do the work and send the resident a
written notice or bill. (143)

Failure to do the required maintenance
endangers park facilities or other
residents. In this case the park owner
may give the resident a written notice
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requiring immediate compliance. If
immediate compliance is essential, the
park owner may skip the written notice
and charge the resident a reasonable
cost anyway. (144) The park owner has
the same right to collect these charges
as the owner has to collect rent owed
by the resident. (145)

A written notice for work done by the park
must include:

°  The work performed. (146)

°  The date the work was done. (147)

°  The total cost and the way in which this
cost was computed. (148)

The deadline for the resident's payment
(this cannot be less than 30 days after the
resident receives the notice). (149)

Processing Fees.

The park can charge an application processing
fee, not to exceed $25, to people who want
to buy a home from a park resident and want
the home to remain in the park. (150)

Under Minnesota law a park is prohibited
from charging any other "entrance" or
"transfer" fees for the right to become a park
resident, or for the right to sell or buy a
manufactured home already located in the
park. (151)




Actions For Which
a Resident May Be Evicted

There are eight reasons a resident can be evicted from
a manufactured home park. (152) Minnesota law
allows a park to ask a resident to move for the
following reasons:

A resident is late paying rent or utility
charges owed to the park.

The park has to give the resident, and anyone
the park knows has a mortgage on the
resident's home, a written notice ten days
before taking action. (153) Either the
resident or the mortgage-holder must pay
the amount due within the ten days, or the
park can ask the resident to move. (154)

A resident fails to comply with a law or
government rule relating to manufactured
home parks.

The park must write to the resident and explain
what the resident is doing wrong. (155) The
resident must then begin obeying the law
or regulation within the time allowed or
within a reasonable amount of time. (156)

A resident breaks the terms of the lease
or the park's rules. .

The park must provide a resident with written
notice of the problem which specifies the
date, time and nature of the alleged rule
violation. (157) The resident must comply
with the lease or rules within 30 days after
receiving the written notice. (158) This 30-
day timeframe does not apply to nonpayment
ofrent. (159) Nonpayment of rent requires
compliance within ten days after the
resident receives written notice. (160)

A resident repeatedly breaks important
terms of the lease or park rules, or
repeatedly breaks laws or governmental
rules relating to manufactured home
parks.

The park has to give a resident written
notice of the violations and a written
warning that any future violation could
result in eviction. (161) If the resident
commits a violation within six months of
receiving the notice, the park can ask the
resident to move immediately. (162)

For example, if a resident breaks important
park rules, gets a 30-day warning, obeys the
rules for 30 days, breaks the rules again, and
gets another warning, then the park may give
the resident written notice that future violations
will be cause for eviction. If the resident then
commits another serious violation within six
months, the park can ask the resident to
move. (163)

A resident does something in the
manufactured home park that endangers
other residents or park personnel,
seriously damages park property, or
substantially annoys other residents.
The park can give a resident written notice
and ask the resident to move within 30 days.
(164) The notice must state the time, date
and nature of the annoyance, damage or
endangerment. (165) The park may ask a
resident to move immediately if the resident
again endangers or substantially annoys
people or seriously damages park property
after the resident has received the 30-day
notice. (166) The park owner does not need
to produce evidence of a criminal
conviction to evict a resident. (167)
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All or part of the manufactured home
park is going to close. :

The owner must give remdents nine
months advance notice before the park
will close. (168) The park owner has
additional responsibilities to residents
when closing a park. (169) If part of the
park will remain open, a resident has the
right to move within the park, providing a
lot is available and the home fits the size
and zoning of the lot. (170)

If the park is converting to a condominium,
residents have additional rights under
Minnesota law. (171) The nine-month
advance notice must tell residents the park
is closing to convert to a condominium.
(172) Additionally, 120 days before the
end of the nine months, the park owner
must serve residents with a purchase
agreement for the sale of a condominium.
(173) Subject to certain limitations, these
provisions do not apply to the conversion
of amanufactured home park to a common
interest community incorporated under
Minnesota Statute Chapters 308A or
308B. (174) Condominium sales are
governed by Minnesota Statute § 515A.4-
110(b). (175)

The park owner is making
improvements to the park that will
substantially benefit the health and
safety of the residents and it is
necessary to remove a resident's home
to complete the work.

‘The park must give residents who will be

affected written notice 90 days before
work will begin. This notice must explain
how the improvements will benefit the
residents. (176) Residents have the right
to move within the park, if the homes fit
the size and zoning of the available lots.
(177)

o Aresident gives false information in the
lease application.
The park can ask a resident to move
immediately if the resident has given false
information in the lease application.
However, a park may only evict residents
for this reason if the park acts within one
year of the date the resident started to pay
rent. (178)

If the park asks a resident to move, but the
resident feels he or she has a legal right to
stay, the resident can refuse to move. (179)
In order to evict a resident the park must go
to court. (180) If the court decides in favor
of the park, the court will order the resident
to move. (181)

Defenses to Eviction

There are four defenses a resident can use to respond
to a park owner's eviction action. (182) These
include:

« A resident being evicted for nonpayment of
rent has a defense if the money owed is being
charged illegally by the park owner. (183)

»  Aresident being evicted for nonpayment of
rent has a defense if a park owner did not
give proper notice of a rent increase, or
increased the rent more than two times in
12 months. (184)

«  Aresidentbeing evicted due to arule violation
has a defense if the rule is unreasonable.
(185)

»  Aresident being evicted because the landlord
is retaliating may use the landlord's retaliation
as a defense. (186)

Right to Redemption

A resident has a right to redemption up to two times
each year. (187) This means a resident evicted for
nonpayment of rent may stay in the park if the resident




pays all money owed to the park, including rent
and attorney's fees. (188) A park owner who has
given proper eviction notice does not waive the
notice by accepting rent. (189)

Eviction Proceedings

To evict aresident, a park owner or a court must issue
a "Writ of Restitution," or a "Conditional Writ."
(190) These writs provide different timelines for
eviction:

o Under a Writ of Restitution a resident must -

be allowed a reasonable period of time (up to
seven days) to arrange to remove the resident's
home from the lot. (191)
*  Under a Conditional Writ a resident must be
allowed to reside in the park for a reasonable
- period (up to seven days). However, the
resident's home is allowed to remain on the
lot for 60 days to allow for an in-park sale of
the home. (192)

Parks Cannot Retaliate

A park owner cannot retaliate against a resident for
making a good faith effort to exercise the resident's
rights. (193) The park cannot increase rent,
decrease services, change the rental agreement,
evict the resident, or threaten to do any of these
things simply because a resident has:

»  Complained in good faith to the park owner
or to a government agency or official. (194)

« Attempted in good faith to exercise rights
under the lease, park rules or any law or
government rule. (195)

» Participated in the activities of a resident
association. (196) Resident associations are
organized for the purpose of resolving matters
relating to living conditions in the park.
(197)

If the park tries to evict a resident within 90 days

after the resident has taken any of these actions, the
park has to prove in court that the eviction was not
retaliatory. Even after 90 days have passed, if the
resident can show evidence that the reason for the
eviction is retaliation, the burden is on the park to
prove otherwise. (198)
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An in-park sale occurs when a resident sells the
resident's home to a buyer who wants the home to
remain in the same park. (199) A resident has the
right to sell the home within the park regardless of
the home's age.

The park cannot:

¢ Charge more than a $25 application
processing fee when a resident wants to sell a
home within the park. (200)

« Require a resident to sell the home to the
park. (201)

+ Require a resident to use the park as a
listing or selling agent. (202) If a park
owner is licensed as a dealer, a park owner
may agree in writing to broker the in-park
sale of a resident's home. (203)

The park can:

o Charge up to $25 for processing a
prospective buyer's application to become
a resident. (204)

«  Allow a home to remain vacant for 90 days
or longer as specified by park rules. (205)

o Require rent to be paid on time and the lot to
be properly maintained. (206)

«  Approve a buyer as a resident. (207)

When selling a home through a broker, the broker
must be a licensed manufactured home dealer or a
licensed real estate broker. (208) A resident can
sell the home they own and live in. No person may
sell a manufactured home made after July 1, 1972,
unless the home complies with the manufactured
home building code. (209)

If a home or lot does not meet existing park rules,

the park can require the owner to follow the rules
before the park approves the sale of the home. (210)
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However, the park cannot, as a condition of sale,
impose a new rule that requires major or expensive
changes unless a part of the home or shed is so
dilapidated that total replacement is necessary.
(211)

Park's Approval of A Buyer
For Residency

The park has the right to approve a buyer as a
resident. (212) The seller must tell the prospective
buyer, in writing, that the sale is subject to final
approval by the park. (213)

When the prospective buyer seeks to become a
resident, the park owner may require the prospective
buyer to submit certain information. (214) The
required information may include:

o The purchase price of the home. (215)

" The amount of monthly payments on the
home. (216)

»  Any relevant documentation necessary to
verify the information. (217)

« The creditworthiness of the prospective
buyer. (218)

The park must comply with the following when
processing a buyer's application:

« The park must explain, in writing, its
decision-making process for approving or
rejecting new residents. (219)

o The park must make copies of this explanation
available without charge and include a copy
with rental applications. (220)

« The written policies for approving or
rejecting residents must be reasonable and
apply uniformly to all applicants. (221)

o If the park owner requires a personal




interview, the park owner must be available
for interviews at reasonable times. (222)

»  The park must make a decision within 14
days after receiving the buyer's completed
application. If a delay occurs, the park must
give the seller and the buyer a written
explanation and make a decision as soon as
possible. (223)

*  The park cannot be any stricter in approving
aprospective buyer than it is in approving other
prospective residents. (224)

» Ifthe park denies a buyer's application, the
denial must be reasonable. (225) The park
owner cannot deny residency to a
prospective buyer for any reason prohibited
by federal, state or local law. (226)

» Ifabuyer gives the park a written request for
an explanation of the park’s decision, the park
must provide it within three days. (227)

Safety Disclosure and Repairs

To sell amanufactured home within the park, the seller
~ must fill out a Safety Feature Disclosure Form (see
Appendix Form 2) and give it to prospective
buyers. (228) A park owner must provide a resident
with a copy of this form upon request. (229)

As this Safety Feature Disclosure Form indicates,
Minnesota law requires anyone who buys a
manufactured home through an in-park sale to make
certain repairs: (230)

*  Within 30 days of purchasing the home, the
buyer must install smoke detectors and fire
extinguishers as required by the Minnesota
State Health Department and State Building
Code. (231)

*  Proper exit windows that meet the standards
of the American National Standard Institute,
1972 Standard A119.1, must be installed in
the home within one year of the sale. (232)

°  Aluminum electrical wiring must conform

with the Consumer Product Safety

Commission's recommendations; Gypsum

' board lining or similar fire-resistant

material must be installed in the furnace
enclosure and hot water heater
compartment; any wood stove or fireplace
must be properly installed; and blocking
supports must be provided if old supports
do not meet state and federal standards.
These repairs must be done within three
years of buying the home. (233)

Before beginning work, home owners should find out
what local or state building codes apply and be sure
to obtain the proper permits before installing safety
features.

Following installation of the necessary safety features,
and before approval of an in-park sale, the buyer must
have the home inspected by a building inspector.
(234) The inspector will make sure the home
complies with maintenance standards. (235) The
resident must get a certificate of inspection from
the inspector and give the certificate to the park
owner. The inspector may charge up to $50 for the
inspection. (236) The park owner may not charge
a fee for this inspection. (237) The park owner
may require a resident or prospective buyer to take
action necessary to bring the lot or home into
compliance. (238)

The park owner may require a prospective buyer
to agree to rules different from those that applied
to the resident who is selling the home. (239)
However, the park owner cannot enforce any rule
adopted or amended after the resident entered into
the rental agreement that would:

*  Significantly increase the difficulty or time
involved in selling the home. (240)

»  Significantly decrease the price at which
the home can be sold. (241)

o Involve any other significant cost for either
the resident or buyer, except the cost to
bring the home into compliance with
preexisting maintenance rules. (242)
However, if a home, shed, or other structure
has become so dilapidated that repair is
impractical and total replacement is
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necessary, the park may require
replacement. (243)

Buyers who do not comply with these requirements
are in violation of park rules. (244)

Repossession

A manufactured home can be repossessed under two
circumstances:

o Ifaresident defaults on a security agreement
that holds the manufactured home as
collateral. (245)

o If a resident defaults on the security
agreement for the manufactured home itself.
(246)

A secured party may commence repossession of a
manufactured home by personally serving upon, or
by sending by certified or registered United States
mail and concurrently sending a copy of the notice
by first class mail to, the occupant of the
manufactured home a notice and, if the occupant is
not the debtor, by sending a registered or certified
letter to the last known address of the debtor under
the security agreement. The notice must set forth
the circumstances constituting the default and state
that the secured party will, at the expiration of a
30-day period following receipt of the notice, seek
a court order removing the occupant from the
manufactured home and repossessing the
manufactured home, unless the debtor or the
occupant acting on behalf of the debtor cures the
default prior to that time. (247) The notice of
default must contain the following language: "Your
loan is currently in default. Contact us immediately
at [insert phone number] to discuss possible options
for preventing repossession. We encourage you to
seek assistance from the foreclosure prevention
counseling program in your area. Nearby community
agencies will answer your questions, offer free
advice, and help you create a plan. You can contact
the Minnesota Home Ownership Center at 1-866-
462-6646 or www.hocmn.org to get the phone
number and location of the nearest foreclosure
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prevention organization. Call today. Waiting limits
your options. IF YOU DO NOT BECOME
CURRENT ONYOUR LOAN WITHIN 30 DAY,
WE WILL SEEK A COURT ORDER
REPOSSESSING THE HOME, AND BY COURT
ORDER YOU WILL HAVE TO VACATE THE
HOME." (248)

A debtor, or an occupant of a manufactured home
acting on behalf of a debtor, may within the 30 day
period, cure a default by tendering full payment of
the sums then in arrears under the terms of the
security agreement, or by otherwise remedying the
default, and by paying the reasonable costs, not to
exceed the sum of $100, incurred by the secured
party to enforce the security agreement. Cure of a
default shall suspend the secured party's right to
seek repossession of the manufactured home. (249)

In addition, if the debtor does not cure the default
within the 30-day period, the secured party must
also send a registered or certified letter and
concurrently send a copy of the notice by first class
mail to the occupant of the home and, if the debtor
is different than the occupant, to the debtor, stating
that the debtor has 30 days to reinstate the loan by
paying the defaulted amount plus additional
allowable fees incurred by the secured party in
order to regain possession of the home. (250)
The reinstatement notice shall contain, at a
minimum, the following information: (1) the name
of the secured party, the debtor, each current
assignee of the loan, if any, and the original or
maximum principal amount secured by the loan;
(2) the date of the loan; (3) the amount in arrears
on the loan as of the date of the notice; (4) a
description of the manufactured home upon which
the loan is secured; and (5) the amount of allowable
fees incurred by the secured party in order to regain
possession of the home prior to the court order.
(251) The reinstatement notice must also include
the following language: ""Your manufactured home
is currently being repossessed. Contact us
immediately at [insert phone number] to discuss
possible options for reinstating your loan. We
encourage you to seek counseling with the
foreclosure prevention counselor in your area.
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Nearby community agencies will answer your
questions, offer free advice, and help you create a
plan. You can contact the Minnesota Home
Ownership Center at 866-462-6646 or
www.hocmn.org to get the phone number and
location of the nearest counseling organization. Call
today. Waiting limits your options. If you do not
become current on your loan within 30 days,
including any additional fees, you will no longer
be entitled to reinstate your loan. We are seeking a
court order repossessing the home, and by court
order you will have to vacate the home." (252)

Except in cases of voluntary repossession, upon
expiration of the 30-day period specified in the
notice of default, a secured party must apply to the
district court in the county in which the
manufactured home is located for an order directing
the seizure and delivery of the manufactured home,
so long as the right to reinstate has not been
exercised. (253) The exercise of the right to
reinstatement suspends the secured party's right to
seek repossession of the manufactured home and
shall immediately terminate any court action filed.
(254)

The party repossessing the home has the right to
sell the home through an in-park sale if the
following conditions are met:

o After repossessing the home the secured
party must notify the park owner that the
home has been repossessed. (255)

* The park owner must receive this notice
before the park owner has begun eviction
proceedings. (256) ‘

* The secured party must pay up to three
months of the resident's past due rent. (257)
This liability for past rent does not include
late fees. (258)

* The secured party must make monthly rent
payments until the park owner approves a
buyer for the repossessed home. (259)

*  The secured party must comply with all park
rules relating to lot and home maintenance.
(260)

A secured party offering a home for an in-park sale
may be evicted for the same reasons a resident could
be evicted. (261)

To repossess a home, the repossessor must bring
the resident to court in the county where the home
is located, rather than any county the repossessor
might choose. (262)

Removal of a Home
After Repossession

When a secured party repossesses a manufactured
home and removes the home from the park, the
secured party owes the park owner rent for the
period beginning with repossession and ending on
the last calendar day of the month the home is
removed. (263) However, the secured party would
not owe past due rent prior to the time the secured
party accepted voluntary repossession or took
action if: (264)

Within seven days after accepting
repossession, the secured party notifies the
park owner in writing that the home is being
repossessed. (265)

»  The secured party pays each month's lot rent
as it becomes due. (266)

*  The secured party removes the home from
the park within seven days after
repossessing it. (267)

If the secured party fails to meet any of these
conditions, the secured party would owe the park
owner up to three months of past due rent, excluding
late fees or other charges. (268)
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A park owner must follow certain steps before
closing a park. (269) The park owner must provide
a "closure statement" to the commissioners of health
and the housing finance agency, the local planning
agency and each resident at least nine months before
the planned closing. (270) The "closure statement"
says the park is closing, lists replacement housing
within 25 miles of the park, and gives cost estimates
for moving homes from the park. (271) The "closure
statement" must include the following language in
a font not smaller than 14 point: "YOU MAY BE
ENTITLED TO COMPENSATION FROM THE
MINNESOTA MANUFACTURED HOME
RELOCATION TRUST FUND ADMINISTERED
BY THE MINNESOTA HOUSING FINANCE
AGENCY." (272)

A public hearing will be held to review the closure
statement and determine the impact of the park
closing. (273) The municipality must mail residents
anotice, at least ten days before the hearing, stating
the time, place, and purpose of the hearing. (274)
Residents may not be required to move until 60
days after the conclusion of the public hearing. (275)
At the time of the public hearing, displaced residents
must be informed that they may be eligible for
payment from the Minnesota Manufactured Home
Relocation Trust Fund as compensation for
reasonable relocation costs. (276) In some
instances, the municipality may have other parties,
including the municipality, pay relocation costs for

the displaced residents. (277) A "displaced

resident” includes residents and members of the
resident's household as of the date the closure
statement is submitted. (278)

If a person purchasing a manufactured home park
intends to close or change it within one year of the
purchase agreement, the person must notify the park
owner in writing. (279) The park owner must then
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give each resident a 45-day notice of the purchaser's
intent to close or convert the park. (280) The 45-
day written notice must:

o State the park owner will provide information
on the price, terms and conditions of the
buyer's offer. (281)

« Be sent by first class mail to all residents.
(282) '

+ Indicate that the notice to residents begins
on the postmark date and runs for 45 days.
(283)

During the notice period, 51 percent of the residents
in the park may work together to meet the buyer's
cash price and purchase the park themselves to keep
it as a manufactured housing community. (284) The
park owner must accept the counter offer from the
residents if it meets the cash price of the first offer.

(285)

Notice of Sale

If a park owner is selling a manufactured home
park and advertising it for sale through a
publication, newspaper or Realtor, the park owner
must, at the same time, give a written notice to all
residents of the park. (286) If time is required to
sell the park, the owner is only required to provide
residents with written notice once each year. (287)



If a manufactured home owner is required to
relocate due to the closure or conversion of a
manufactured home park, the manufactured home
owner may be entitled to payment from the
Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation Trust
Fund. Any such payment is equal to the actual
relocation costs for relocating the manufactured
home to a new location within a 25-mile radius, up
to a maximum of $4,000 for a single-section and
$8,000 for a multi-section manufactured home.
Relocation costs include the reasonable cost of
taking down, moving, and setting up the
manufactured home, including equipment rental,
utility connection and disconnection charges, minor
repairs, modifications necessary for transportation
of the home, necessary moving permits and
insurance, and moving costs for certain
appurtenances. (288)

Among other eligibility requirements, manufactured
home owners who rent lots in a manufactured home
park must make an annual $12 payment to the park
owner by August 15th each year, which then must
be deposited by the park owner into the Minnesota
Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund. (289)
A manufactured home owner is not entitled to
recover from the Minnesota Manufactured Home
Relocation Trust Fund if this annual $12 payment
is not made. (290)

In order to recover from the Minnesota
Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund, a
manufactured home owner must submit the
following materials: (1) a copy of the closure
statement; (2) a copy of the contract with the moving
contractor for relocation costs; (3) a statement and
supporting materials for any other permissible
relocation costs; (4) a statement certifying that
certain exceptions to recovery do not apply; (5) a
statement from park owner that the lot rental is
current and the manufactured home owner made

the annual $12 payments when due; and (6) a
statement from the county certifying that personal
property taxes for the manufactured home are paid
through the end of that year. (291) Copies of these
materials must be provided to the neutral third-
party appointed at the public hearing, the Minnesota
Housing Finance Agency, and the park owner. (292)

If an application for relocation expenses is
approved, the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency
must pay the moving contractor directly in two
payments, one for 50% of the contract price at the
time the contract is signed, and the remaining 50%
upon completion of the relocation and approval by
the manufactured home owner. (293) A check is
made payable to the manufactured home owner for
any other approved relocation costs. (294)

If an owner cannot relocate the manufactured home
due to its age or condition, or if there are no parks
willing or able to accept the manufactured home
within the 25-mile radius, the manufactured home
owner may still be eligible for recovery. The law
allows the owner to tender title of the manufactured
home to the park owner and collect an amount to
be determined by an independent appraiser, up to a
maximum of $5,000 for a single-section, and $9,000
for a multi-section manufactured home. (295)
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This section is designed to provide additional Minnesota Housing Finance Agency

resources to manufactured home park owners, 400 Sibley Street, Suite 300
managers, residents and dealers. The following St. Paul, MN 55101
agencies provide varying services to those involved (651) 296-7608 or 1-800-657-3769
with manufactured home parks. TTY: (651) 297-2361
www.mhfa.state.mn.us
General Resources For a copy of “The Manufactured Home Parks
Handbook,” or assistance with a consumer
Minnesota Department of Health complaint or problem:
Environmental Health Services
Orville L. Freeman Building Minnesota Attorney General’s Office
625 Robert Street North Consumer Division
P.O. Box 64975 445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975 - St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 201-5000 (651) 296-3353 or 1-800-657-3787
www.health.state.mn.us TTY: (651) 297-7206
TTY: 1-800-366-4812
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry www.ag.state.mn.us
Building Codes and Standards Division
Manufactured Structures Section Forms and sample letters for park owners:
443 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, MN 55155-4341 Minnesota Management and Budget
(651) 284-5068 Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation
www.doli.state.mn.us/buildingcodes.html Trust Fund

www.finance.state.mn.us/treas-homes-trust
All Parks Alliance for Change (APAC)

970 Raymond Avenue, Suite 105 Complaint information about retail sales of
St. Paul, MN 55114 \ manufactured homes, dealers, manufacturers, and
(651) 644-5525 or (866) 361-2722 parks:
www.allparksallianceforchange.org Better Business Bureau
2706 Gannon Road
Minnesota Manufactured - St. Paul, MN 55116
Housing Association (651) 699-1111
1540 Humboldt Avenue, Suite 205 1-800-646-6222
West St. Paul, MN 55118 www.bbb.org
1-800-696-3721
www.mnmfghome.org
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Conciliation Courts

Currently, claims of up to $7,500 may be brought
in Conciliation Court; you can obtain legal forms
for conciliation court by calling or visiting the
respective courthouse that you intend to file your
claim in. Forms are also available online at
www.courts.state.mn.us/forms:

AKIN ©eevceccee (218) 927-7350
ANOKa ... (763) 422-7350
Becker ....vvvviiiiiieiieeiieeiee (218) 846-7305
Beltrami ........cccoeeeeveeniiennn (218) 333-8431
Benton ........oooeeiviiiiniiicnnn (320) 968-5205
Big Stone ......ccoceeeveeeiniennnn (320) 839-2536
Blue Earth ........cccocoveriennene (507) 304-4050
Brown ... (507) 233-6670
Carlton ......ccooeeeeceeenirenieenn, (218) 384-4281
Carver ....oovveeereeeeeeiieeiiees (952) 361-1420
CaSS .eoiieeriiee et (218) 547-7200
Chippewa ......ccccoeevvveveeeneennnn. (320) 269-7774
ChiSago .....ccevvevvivveeneeneenn, (651) 213-8650
Clay ..ooveeveeieeee e (218) 299-5065
Clearwater ........ccceevuervvrnne (218) 694-6177
COO0K . (218) 387-3610
Cottonwood .......ccoveevuveeneenne (507) 831-4551
Crow Wing ......ccccovevvneecenncns (218) 824-1310
Dakota ......coovvvveiiiiciiiicn (651) 438-8100
Dodge ....oovveeeeciecce (507) 635-6260
Douglas ......ccoveevveeirienenneen. (320) 762-3033
Faribault........ccooeeiiiniiencns (507) 526-6273
Fillmore .....ccoeeveeveeeiieeee (507) 765-3356
Freeborn .......coccevvevneciiincnn (507) 377-5153
Goodhue ......cocvevveeeeierericnen. (651) 267-4800
Grant ........ccceveveveerveneencnn. (218) 685-4825
Hennepin .......o.oeevveeveenennn. (612) 348-2713
Houston .......cccccoeeieciieeninens (507) 725-5806
Hubbard .......coceevveiieienenn (218) 732-5286
Isanti..cccevveeceevienieneeccen (763) 689-2292
Ttasca ...ccoveeeineeciieecccce (218) 327-2870
Jackson .......coocvvveveeiinincs (507) 847-4400
Kanabec ........cccceevieiiienenne (320) 679-6400
Kandiyohi .......c.cecceeerennenne. (320) 231-6206
Kattson ...eeeeeeeeiieieeee (218) 843-3632
Koochiching .........ccccovvvenennne (218) 283-1160
Lac qui Parle ..........ccocvnene. (320) 598-3536

(218) 834-8330

Lake of the Woods ................ (218) 634-1451

Le Sueur ....coccevvvevnienennns (507) 357-2251
Lincoln ......cocevvvveniiieninnnn (507) 694-1355
LYON c.coveeeeeeeseeeeeseeeeeee (507) 537-6734
Mahnomen ..........cccoeeeverneenne. (218) 935-2251
Marshall ......cccooveriiiiniecnn (218) 745-4816
Martin.....oc.ovvereeeeneereneenne. (507) 238-3205
McLeod .....ooovvieeiiiiieiinnee (320) 864-1281
MEEKET ....vveevvererereiercierares (320) 693-5230
Mille Lacs ....ccccevveernivenneenn. (320) 983-8313
MOLTISON ..oovveieeeiereeiieienne. (320) 632-0327
MOWET .ccvvieiiiiiiieiiccee (507) 437-9465
MUITAY ..o (507) 836-6163x134
Nicollet ..ocvevvnieiririerinene (507) 931-6800
NODIES ..vovvvereieieeeiee e (507) 372-8263
NOIMAN ... (218) 784-5458
Olmsted ....cccoovveeierineenennnn (507) 206-2499
Otter Tail ....c.cocvvvevrrenirenene (218) 998-8420
Pennington ..........cceeeeeennenne (218) 683-7023
Pine .ooeviiieiicecee (320) 591-1500
Pipestone .......cccocveeevvennenne. (507) 825-6730
POLK .ot (218) 281-2332
POPE v (320) 634-5222
Ramsey ......coocevvvereniecninees (651) 266-8230
RedLake ......cooooeeieeviiencnns (218) 253-4281
Redwood ......cccooveivicninennn. (507) 637-4020
Renville.....ccccoovvenineninncn (320) 523-3680
RiCE v (507) 332-6107
ROCK oo (507) 283-5020
ROS€AU.....vvviviciiiiieee (218) 463-2541
SCOE e (952) 496-8200
Sherburne .........cccocvevevernenns (763) 241-2800
SibIEY vveveereiiiieeeei (507) 237-4051
St. Louis (Duluth) ................. (218) 726-2460
St. Louis (Hibbing)............... (218) 262-0105
St. Louis (Virginia)............... (218) 749-7106
STEAINS ..o (320) 656-3620
Steele .vvvvvereeiieiiieceeee (507) 444-7700
StEVENS ...eevvvreiriiieiceeiiens (320) 589-7289
SWIft..vevieieiiccreee (320) 843-2744
Todd ..o (320) 732-7802
Traverse ...cccooeevveeerceecnneen. (320) 563-4343
Wabasha ........ccccoeeeerrircnennnne. (651) 565-3012
Wadena .......cccceeeevecneennennnn. (218) 631-7633
Waseca ...cceevevvevveniiennicnnn. (507) 835-0540
Washington .........cccceeeeruenunene (651) 430-6263
Watonwan ..........coceeveennennenn. (507) 375-1236
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WILKIN e (218) 643-7172

WNODA .voovevivenveeenieneenneneees (507) 457-6385
WIEhE oo (763) 682-7539
Yellow Medicine.......cccooveene. (320) 564-3325
Legal Aid Services

Legal Aid Services provide legal assistance to -

financially disadvantaged persons. Each Legal
Aid office has criteria to determine when a person
qualifies for legal assistance at minimum to no
cost. Some Legal Aid offices provide assistance
only within certain areas of the state or to certain
groups of individuals — see specific listings for
more information. Brochures and other resources
may be obtained at most Legal Aid offices:

Legal Aid Service of Northeastern
Minnesota

Administrative office

Duluth

302 Ordean Building

424 West Superior Street

Duluth, MN 55802

(218) 726-4800

(218) 726-4826 (TTY)

1-800-622-7266

www.lasnem.org

(Serves Carlton, Cook, Lake, and southern St. Louis
counties)

Local offices

Brainerd

14091 Baxter Drive, Suite 116

Baxter, MN 56425

(218) 829-1701

1-800-933-1112

(Serves Aitkin, Cass, and Crow Wing counties)

Grand Rapids

350 NW 1st Avenue, Suite F

Grand Rapids, MN 55744

(218) 322-6020

1-800-708-6695

(Serves Itasca and Koochiching counties)
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Pine City

235 Main Street South

Pine City, MN 55063

(320) 629-7166 (voice/TTY)
1-800-382-7166

Virginia

Olcott Plaza, Suite 150

820 North Ninth Street
Virginia, MN 55792

(218) 749-3270 (voice/TTY)
1-800-886-3270

Legal Services of Northwest Minnesota, Inc.
Administrative Office

Moorhead

1015 Seventh Avenue North

P.O. Box 838

Moorhead, MN 56560

(218) 233-8585

~ 1-800-450-8585

legalaid@lsnmlaw.org

(Serves Becker. Clay, Kittson, Marshall, Norman,
Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau, and Wilkin
counties)

Alexandria Legal Services

1114 Broadway

Alexandria, MN 56308

(320) 762-0663

1-800-450-2552

(Serves Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens,
Traverse, and Wadena counties[seniors living in
Wadena county are served by St. Cloud Area Legal
Services].)

Bemidji

215 Fourth Street N.W.

P.O. Box 1883

Bemidji, MN 56619

(218) 751-9201

1-800-450-9201

(Serves Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, Lake of
the Woods, and Mahnomen counties)




Anishinabe Legal Services

P.O.Box 157

Cass Lake, MN 56633

(218) 335-2223

1-800-422-1335

(Serves Indian and non-Indian residents of Leech
Lake, Red Lake, and White Earth reservations)

Judicare of Anoka County
1201 89th Avenue N.E., Suite 310
Blaine, MN 55434

~(763) 783-4970

www.anokajudicare.org

Mid-Minnesota Legal Assistance
Cambridge

East Central Legal Service

1700 East Rum River, Suite B

Cambridge, MN 55008

(763) 689-2849

1-800-622-7772 (clients only)
www.midmnlegal.org

(Serves Chisago and Isanti counties; also serves
senior citizens in Anoka, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, and
Pine counties)

St. Cloud

St. Cloud Area Legal Services

830 West St. Germain, Suite 300

P.O. Box 886

St. Cloud, MN 56302

(320) 253-0121 (voice/ TTY)

new clients: 1-800-622-7773

1-888-360-2889 (voice/TTY clients only)
www.midmnlegal.org

(Serves Benton, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Sherburne,
Stearns, Todd, and Wright counties [also seniors
living in Wadena county].)

Willmar

Western Minnesota Legal Services

415 Seventh Street SW

Willmar, MN 56201

(320) 235-9600

(320) 235-9602 (TTY)

new clients: 1-800-622-4011

1-888-360-3666 (clients only)
www.midmnlegal.org

(Serves Big Stone, Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui
Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, Meeker, Renville, Swift,
and Yellow Medicine counties)

Legal Aid Society of Minneapolis
Downtown Minneapolis

430 First Avenue North, Suite 300
Minneapolis, MN 55401-1780

(612) 332-1441

(612) 334-5970 (new clients)
(612)332-4668 (TTY)
www.midmnlegal.org

(Serves Hennepin County)

‘Northside Office

125 West Broadway, Suite 105
Minneapolis, MN 55411
(Serves North and Northeast Minneapolis)

Southside Office

2929 Fourth Avenue South, Suite 201
Minneapolis, MN 55408

(Serves South Minneapolis)

Legal Assistance of Olmsted County
1136 Seventh Street N.W.

Rochester, MN 55901

(507) 287-2036

www.laocmn.org

Legal Services Advocacy Project
Midtown Commons

2324 University Avenue West, Suite 101
St. Paul, MN 55114

(651) 222-3749

www.lsapmn.org




Southern Minnesota Regional Legal

Services
Administrative office
166 East 4th St., Suite 200
St. Paul, MN 55101

(651) 228-9823

smrls.administration@smrls.org
www.smrls.org

Local offices

Albert Lea

132 North Broadway

Albert Lea, MN 56007

' (507) 377-2831

| | 1-800-223-0280 (clients only)
] 1-888-575-2954 (new clients)

Steele counties.)

| Mankato

12 Civic Center Plaza, Suite 3000
| P.0. Box 3304

Mankato, MN 56002-3304
(507) 387-5588

i 1-800-247-2299 (clients only)

i 1-888-575-2954 (new clients)

Rochester Office

003 West Center Street, Suite 130
Rochester, MN 55902

(507) 292-0080

1-866-292-0080 (for clients)
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St. Paul Telephone Intake : 651-222-4731
St. Paul Seniors Intake : 651-224-7301
Rural Counties Telephone Intake: 1-888-575-2954

[f (Serving Faribault, Freeborn, Mower, Rice, and

(Serves Blue Earth, Brown, Martin, McLeod,
Nicollet, LeSueur, Sibley, Waseca, and Watonwan
counties [also seniors living in Faribault county].)

Rochester office: citizenship.rochester@smrls.org

St. Paul Central Office

166 East 4th Street, Suite 200

St. Paul, MN 55101

(651) 222-5863

(651) 222-4731 (new clients)

(651) 224-7301 (new senior clients)

(Serving Carver, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington

counties [also seniors living in Dakota county].)

Shakopee Office

712 Canterbury Road South

Shakopee, MN 55379

(952) 402-9890

(651) 222-4731 (new clients)

(Serves Carver, Dakota, and Scott counties)

Eastside and American Indian Branch Office
579 Wells Street, #100

St. Paul, MN 55130

(651) 222-5863

(651) 222-4731 (clients only)
eastside@smrls.org

Winona

66 Bast Third Street, Suite 204
Winona, MN 55987-3478

(507) 454-6660 (voice or TTY)
1-800-372-8168 (clients only)

. 1-888-575-2954 (new clients)

(Serves Dodge, Fillmore, Goodhue, Houston,
Olmstead, Wabasha, and Winona counties)

Worthington

421 Tenth Street

Worthington, MN 56187

(507) 372-7368

1-800-233-0023 (clients only)
1-888-575-2954 (new clients) :
(Serves Cottonwood, J ackson, Murray, Nobles,
Pipestone, Redwood, and Rock counties)

Minnesota Family Farm Law Project
12 Civic Center Plaza, Suite 3000

P.O. Box 3304

Mankato, MN 56002-3304

(507) 387-1211




Refugee, Immigrant, and Migrant Services
St. Paul

450 North Syndicate Street, Suite 285

St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 255-0797

1-800-652-9733 (clients only)

rims@smrls.org

Rochester

2500 Valleyhigh Drive N.W.
Rochester, MN 55901

(507) 289-6199
citizenship.rochester@smrls.org

Fargo

118 Broadway, #616

Fargo, ND 58102-4944

(701) 232-8872
1-800-832-5575 (clients only)
fargo.migrant@smrls.org

Housing Alliance Law Office (HALO)
798 East 7th Street

St. Paul, MN 55106

(651) 771-9323

Legislature

Contact your legislators if you have questions
about changes in the law or wish to propose
changes to state law:

House Information

(651) 296-2146
1-800-657-3550
www.house.leg.state.mn.us

Senate Information

(651) 296-0504
1-888-234-1112
www.senate.leg.state.mn.us

Mediation and Dispute Resolution

The following agencies provide Alternative
Dispute Resolution mechanisms for resolving
problems. The costs and fees vary:

Alternative Dispute Resolution Services
Rochester
(507) 287-2249

Dispute Resolution Center

91 East Arch Street

St. Paul, MN 55130

(651) 292-7791

(Serves Ramsey, Dakota, and Washington counties)
www.disputeresolutioncenter.org

Mediation Services for Anoka County
2520 Coon Rapids Boulevard, Suite 100
Coon Rapids, MN 55433

(763) 422-8878

(Serves Anoka County)
www.mediationservice.org

Conflict Resolution Center

2101 Hennepin Avenue South, Suite 100
Minneapolis, MN 55405

(612) 822-9883

www.mplsmediationprogram.org
mplsmediation@mtn.org

(Serves Minneapolis, St. Anthony, Edina,
Bloomington, Burnsville, Richfield, and Eden
Prairie)

Community Mediation Services, Inc.

9220 Bass Lake Road, Suite 270

New Hope, MN 55428

(763) 561-0033

(Serves Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park,
Champlin, Corcoran, Golden Valley, Hopkins,
Maple Grove, Minnetonka, Mound, New Hope,
Orono, Plymouth, Robbinsdale, and St. Louis Park)
www.mediationprogram.com
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U.S. Department of Housing
and Urban Development (HUD)

Provides brochures and housing programs. HUD
also handles most low-income public housing
assistance claims and programs:

HUD

Minnesota State Office
International Centre

920 Second Avenue South, Suite 1300
Minneapolis, MN 55402-4012

(612) 370-3000

www.hud.gov

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Provides information, loans and insurance to
veterans who wish to purchase manufactured
homes.

Department of Veterans Affairs
810 Vermont Ave. N.W.
Washington, DC 20420
1-800-827-1000

WWW.va.gov

Statutory Cites

Copies of all Minnesota statutes may be available
at your nearest public library and are available on

the internet at www.leg.state.mn.us.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.04, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.09, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.04, subd. 1;
Minn. Stat. § 327B.04, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.04, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.04, subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.05, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.02, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.02, subd. 1.
0 Minn. Stat. § 327B.02, subd. 2.
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Minn. Stat. § 327B.03, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.03, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.03, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327.32.

Minn. Stat. § 327.31, subd. 3.

Minn. Stat. § 327.31, subd. 3.

Minn. Stat. § 327.32, subd. 1(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327.32, subd. 1(a).
Minn. Stat. § 327.32, subd. 1(a).
Minn, Stat. § 327.32, subd. 3;

Minn. Stat. § 327.34.

Minn. Stat. § 327.34.

Minn. Stat. § 327.33, subd. 1.

Minn. Stat. § 327.33, subd. 2.

Minn. Stat. § 327.33, subd. 4.

Minn. Stat. § 327.33, subd. 5.

Minn. Stat. § 327.34, subd. 1(d).
Minn. Stat. § 327.34, subd. 1(d), (e).
Minn. Stat. § 327.35.

Minn. Stat. § 327.15;

Minn. Stat. § 327.16.

Minn. Stat. § 327.15.

Minn. Stat. § 327.16, subd. 3.

Minn. Stat. § 327.16, subd. 6;

Minn. Stat. § 144.99, subd. 10.
Minn. Stat. § 327.14-.28.

Minn. Stat. § 327.20, subd. 1(1).
Minn. Stat. § 327.20, subd. 1(6), (7).
Minn. Stat. § 327.20, subd. 1(6), (7).
Minn. Stat. § 327.20, subd. 1(6).
Minn. Stat. § 327.20, subd. 1(7).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 1c.
Minn. Stat. § 327.205.

Minn. Stat. § 327.205.

Minn. Stat. § 327.20, subd. 1(2), 1(4).
Minn. Stat. § 327.20, subd. 1(3).
Minn. Stat. § 504B.001, subds. 11 and 12
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 9a.
Minn. Stat. § 504B.185, subd. 1;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.001, subd. 6.

~ Minn. Stat. § 504B.185, subd. 2.

Minn. Stat. § 504B.395, subd. 1;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.425.

Minn. Stat. 504B.395, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. 504B.401;

Minn. Stat. 504B.421.

Minn. Stat. 504B.425.
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Minn. Stat. § 504B.381, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 504B.381, subd.4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 1, 5;
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07, subd. 3a.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 1(a).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 1(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 1(c).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 1(d).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 1(e).
Minn, Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 1c;
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 1.
Minn, Stat. § 327C.07, subd. 3a.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 10.
Minn. Stat. § 325G.31.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 8(a).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 8(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 8(c).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 8(d).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.05, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.05, subd. 2(a).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.05, subd. 2(c).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.05, subd. 2(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.05, subd. 2(d).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 11(a).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 11(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 11(c).

Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.06.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2(a).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2a.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.14, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.14, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.14, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.
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119

120
121
122
123

124

125

126
127
128
129
130

131
132

Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 9.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.05, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.05, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.13.

- Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat, § 327C.03, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat, § 327C.03, subd. 1;
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.
Minn, Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.
Minn, Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.06, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.06, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.06, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2;
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.178.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.178.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.178.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.178.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.178.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.178.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.178.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.178.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 4;
Minn. Stat. § 504B.178.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.04, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 12.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.04, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.04, subd. 3(a).
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133
134
135
136
137
138
139
140
141
142
143
144
145
146
147
148
149
150
151
152
153
154
155
156
157
158
159
160
161
162
163
164
165
166
167
168
169
170
171
172
173
174
175

176

177
178
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Minn. Stat. § 327C.04, subd. 3(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.04, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.04, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.04, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 5(a), (b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 5(¢).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.03, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07, subd. L.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 5;
Minn. Stat. § 515A.4-110(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 8.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 8.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 7.

179
180
181
182
183
184
185
186
187
188
189
190
191
192
193
194

195 |

196
197
198
199
200
201
202
203
204
205
206
207
208
209
210
211
212
213
214
215
216
217
218
219
220
221
222
223
224
225

Minn. Stat. § 327C.11,subd. 1.,
Minn. Stat. § 327C.11.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.11, subds. 3 and 4
Minn. Stat. § 327C.10.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.10, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.10, subd. 2(a), (b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.10, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.10, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.11, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.11, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.11, subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.11, subds. 3 and 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.11, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.11, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.12.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.12 (a).

Minn. Stat. § 327C.12 (b).

Minn. Stat. § 327C.12 (c).

Minn. Stat. § 327C.01 subd. 9a.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.12 (b).

Minn. Stat. § 327C.01 subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327B.04 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327.32 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 2 (a).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 2(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 2(d).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 2(c).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 2(g).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 2(¢).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 2(i).




226
227
228
229
230
231
232
233

234
235
236
237
238
239
240
241
242
243
244
245

246

247
248
249
250
251
252
253

254
255
256
257
258
259
260
261
262
263
264
265
266
267
268
269
270

Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 2(f).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 2(h).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3a.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 8.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 8.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 8.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 8 (a), (b),

(c), (d).

Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 8.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 8.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 8.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 8.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 8.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 4(a).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 4(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 4(c).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327.64 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327.64 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327.64, subd. 2(a).
Minn. Stat. § 327.64, subd. 2(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327.66.

Minn. Stat. § 327.665, subd. 1(a).
Minn. Stat. § 327.665, subd. 2(a).

Minn. Stat. § 327.665, subd. 2(b).

Minn. Stat. § 367.65;

Minn. Stat. § 367.665, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327.665, subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 7(a).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 7(b).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 7(c).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 7(d).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 7(d).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 7(e).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 7.
Minn. Stat. § 327.65 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.08.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.08.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.08 (a).

Minn. Stat. § 327C.08 (b).

Minn. Stat. § 327C.08 (c).

Minn. Stat. § 327C.08.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.095.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 1.

271
272
273
274
275
276
277
278
279
280
281
282
283
284
285
286
287
288
289
290
291

292
293
294
295
296
297

298

299
300
301
302
303
304

Minn. Stat. § 327C.01 subd. 1a.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 2.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 1.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 4.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01 subd. 1b.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095 subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.096.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.096.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subds. 12 and 13.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 12(c).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 13(b), (e).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 12(b) and
13(c).

Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 13(c).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 13(d).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 13(d).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.095, subd. 13(e).
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01 subd. 3.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01 subd. 4;
Minn. Stat. § 327B.01 subd. 13.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01 subd. 5;
Minn. Stat. § 327.14 subd. 3.

Minn. Stat. § 327C.01 subd. 6.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01 subd. 9.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.01 subd. 9a.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.02 subd. 5.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3a.
Minn. Stat. § 327C.07 subd. 3a.
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Glossary

Lot
An area within a manufactured home park designed or used for a manufactured home. (296)

Manufactured Home

A structure that is not a part of real estate, and that has one or more sections that may be transported. The
home (or a section of the home) has a width of eight body feet or more and a length of 40 body feet or
more. On site the home is 320 square feet or more. The home must be built as a permanent chassis. The
home may or may not have a permanent foundation. The home must be designed as a dwelling when
connected to the required utilities. (297)

Manufactured Home Park

Any site, lot, field or tract of land where two or more occupied manufactured homes are located, either
free of charge or for compensation. This includes any building, structure, tent, vehicle, or enclosure
used, or intended to be used, for the manufactured home park. This does not include facilities open three
or fewer seasons each year. (298)

Park Owner
The owner of a manufactured home park or any person acting on behalf of the owner to operate the park.
(299)

Resident
A manufactured home owner who rents a lot in a manufactured home park. This includes all members of
the resident’s household. (300)

Resident Association

An organization formed to resolve matters related to living conditions in the manufactured home park.
The organization must have written permission from at least 51 percent of the home owners in the park to
represent them. (301)
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Forms Required by State Law

E

|
There are two forms that people buying and selling manufactured homes will use. These are the Notice
required by state law (Form 1) and the Safety Feature Disclosure Form (Form 2). The notice and the

1 safety feature disclosure form required under section 327C.07 subd. 3a, must be posted in a conspicuous

1 and public location in the park: The full text of these forms follows.

l

Form 1: Notice Required by State Law
The following notice must be printed in minimum size of ten point, boldface print, and posted in a
conspicuous and public location in the park: (302)

IMPORTANT NOTICE ; c ; - -
State law provrdes spec1al rules for the owners, residents, and pr‘ospective residents of manufactured home parks.

You may keep your home in the park as long as the park isin operatlon and you meet your financial obligations, obey
state and local laws which apply to the park, obey reasonable park rules, do not substantially annoy or endanger the
other residents or substantially endanger park personnel and do not substantially damage the park premises. You may
not be evicted or have ; your - rent increased or your services cut for complammg to the park owner or to a governmental
ofﬁcral ‘ ‘ ‘ ~

If you rec‘eiye an eintiOn notice and do not leave the park, the park owner may take you to court. If you lose in court, 2
sheriff may remove you and your home from the park within seven days. Or, the court may require you to leave the park
‘ Wlthm seven days but glve you 60 days to sell the home within the park

It you receive an eviction notice for a new or amended rule and the court finds the rule to be reasonable and not a
substantial modification of your original agreement, the court will not order you to leave but will order you to comply
with the rule within ten days. If you do not. comply wrthm the time given or if you violate the rule ata later time, you will
be subject to evrctron ~ -

All park rules and solicies must be reasonable. Your rent may not be 1ncreased more than twice a year. Changes made in
parkrules after you become ark resident will not apply to yOu if they substantially change your original agreement

The park may not charge you an entrance fee.

The park may requlre a secunty deposrt but the deposrc must not amount to more than two months rent.

You havea r1ght to sell the home in the park. But the sale is not final unt1l the park owner approve s the buyer asa new‘
resident, and you must advise in writing anyone who wants to buy your home that the sale is subject to final approval
by the park owner. The park must provide to you, in writing, the procedures and criteria used to evaluate a prospectlve‘
resident. If your apphcatmn is denied, you can request, in writing, the reason why. You must also disclose in wrltmg‘
certain safety information about your home to anyone who wants to buy it in the park. You must give this information to ‘
the buyer before the sale, in writing, on the form that is attached to th1s notice. You must completely and accurately ﬁll
out the form and you and the buyer should each keep a copy

Your rental agreement and the park rules contain important mformatmn about your rights and duties. Read them carefully
and keep a copy

‘ You must be givena copy of the shelter or evacuatlon plan for the park. This document contains information on where
‘to seek shelter in times of severe weather condrtrons You should carefully review the plan and keep a copy

‘By February 1 of each year the park must. glve you a certrﬁcate of rent constrtutlng property taxes as requrred by
anesota Statutes sectron 290A l9 ~ ; - ‘

. kc For further information concerning your nghts consult a prrvate attomey Fhe state law govermng the rental of lots in
. manufactured home parks may also be enforced by the anesota Attorney General.
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Form 2: Safety Feature Disclosure Form

A resident or a resident’s agent shall disclose information about safety features of the home to the
prospective buyer. The information must be given to the buyer before the sale, in writing, in the following
form: (303)

This form is required by law to be completed and given to the prospective buyer of any used manufactured home by all
private parties, dealers, and brokers.

ThlS home has at least one egress window in each bedroom, or a window in each bedroom that meets the specifications
of the American National Standard Institute 1972 Standard A119.1 covering manufactured homes made in Minnesota. ‘
This standard requires that the window be at least 22 inches in least dimension, and at least five square feet in area, and
that the window be not more than four feet off the floor. Egress windows installed in compliance with the United States
Department of Housing and Urban Development Manufactul ed Home Standards or the State Building Code are deemed
to meet the requirements of this section. ~

Yes © No

This home has (number) of exits. They are located

This home is equipped with fire extinguishers as required by the Minnesota state Health Department.
Yes No

They are located

This home is equipped with at least one listed automatic smoke detector outside each sleepmg area as 1eqmred in homes
built in accordance with the State Building Code. ‘
Yes . No

This home has aluminum electrlcal Wu’ing
Yes No

Aluminum electrical wiring can present a fire hazard in homes. The special hazards presented by aluminum electrical
wiring can be eliminated by certain repairs, as recommended by the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission.

A.  The wiring connections to the outlets in this home have been crimped, and the connection point is now copper.
Yes No - : . ~

B.  This home has electrical outlets and switches compatible with aluminum electrical wiring.

Yes = No
C. Other action has been taken to eliminate or reduce the danger caused by aluminum electrical wiring in thls home
(Descrlbe) .

;: ‘ (The buyer may check the effectiveness of these methods by contacting the United States Consumer Product Safety
| Commission.) ~

The furnace compartment in this home is lined with gypsum board, as specified in the 1976 United States Department of
Housing and Urban Development codes governing manufactured housing construction.
Yes  No
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Safety Feature Disclosure Form, continued

The water heater enclosure in this home is lined with gypsum board, as specified in the 1976 United States Department
of Housing and Urban Development codes governing manufactured housing construction.
Yes No :

This home contains a solid fuel burning stove. This stove was installed by the manufacturer of the home after June 15,
1976, and was inspected for compliance with the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development
Manufactured Home Standards.

Yes No

This home contains a solid fuel burning stove. This stove unit is approved for installation in manufactured homes. It

was installed by in accordance with the manufacturer’s guidelines. A building
permit for this stove was issued by the city of , and this stove installation has been approved
by the building official.

Yes No

This home contains a solid fuel burning fireplace. The fireplace was installed by the manufacturer of the home after June
15, 1976, and was inspected for compliance with the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development
Manufactured Home Standards.

Yes No

This home contains a solid fuel burning ﬁreplace. This fireplace unit is approved for installation in manufactured homes.

It was installed by in accordance with the manufacturer’s guidelines. A building
permit for this fireplace was issued by the city of , and this fireplace installation has been
approved by the building official.

Yes No

This home is supported by a support system, as required by state code since September 1, 1974.
Yes No

It is also recommended that the buyer check the home’s heat tape. Old and worn heat tape, and improper installation of
heat tape, can cause a fire hazard. : :

It is recommended that the buyer have a qualified utility representative check the furnace and water heater to see that
they are both in good working order. If this home was converted from oil to natural gas heat, there could be safety
problems if the conversion was not done correctly. A utility representative or building official can inspect the condition .
and installation of this equipment. They may charge a reasonable fee to do so. It is also recommended that the buyer
check the floor area around the water heater and furnace compartments. A weakened floor can create a fire hazard.

It is also recommended that the buyer have a utility approved energy audit of the home.
If you purchase the home, you will be required to install egress windows within one year and smoke detectors and fire
extinguishers within 30 days. You will be required to comply with all of the safety features contained in this form within

three years.

L , the undersigned, hereby declare that the above information is true and correct to the best of my
knowledge. '

Signature

Date

This safety feature disclosure form must be filled out and given to any prospective buyer. (304)




Consumer Questions or Complaints

The Attorney General’s Office answers questions regarding numerous consumer issues. The Attorney
General’s Office also provides mediation to resolve disputes between Minnesota consumers and businesses
and uses information from consumers to enforce the state’s civil laws.

If you have a consumer complaint, please contact the Attorney General’s Office in writing:

Minnesota Attorney General’s Office
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400
St. Paul, MN 55101

Citizens can also receive direct assistance from a consumer specialist by calling:
651-296-3353 or 1-800-657-3787

TTY: 651-297-7206 or TTY: 1-800-366-4812

(TTY numbers are for callers using teletypewriter devices.)

Additional consumer publications are available from the Attorney General’s Office. Contact us to receive
copies or preview the publications on our website: www.ag.state.mn.us.:

The Car Handbook - Managing Your Health Care

Citizen’s Guide to Home Building and - The Manufactured Home Parks Handbook
Remodeling - Minnesota’s Car Laws

Conciliation Court - The Phone Handbook

The Credit Handbook -~ Private Mortgage Insurance Fact Sheet
Credit Reports - Probate and Planning: A Guide to Planning
Guarding Your Privacy: Tips to Prevent ID for the Future

Theft - Reducing Unwanted Calls and Junk Mail
The Home Buyer’s Handbook - Seniors’ Legal Rights

The Home Seller’s Handbook - Veterans and Service Members

Landlords and Tenants: Rights and - Other Consumer Bulletins
Responsibilities

s OR v, From the Office of
4 r""\-\? 4+ Minnesota Attorney General
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www.ag.state.mn.us

Consumer Protection
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400
St. Paul, MN 55101
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