This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp

OFFICE ON THE ECONOMIC STATUS OF WOMEN

Status Report

# Women in Minnesota Executive Offices 2002 General Election Results

Three of the five\* (60.0%) statewide offices are held by women as a result of the 2002 general election. When executive offices were last on the ballot in 1998, women were elected to four of the six\* (66.7%) statewide offices.

\*The number of statewide offices decreased from six to five due to the abolishment of the Office of the State Treasurer effective January 6, 2003.

### **Governor and Lieutenant Governor**

No woman has been elected to the position of Governor in Minnesota. Five women have served in the position of Lieutenant Governor. The office of lieutenant governor in Minnesota has been filled continuously by a woman since 1983.

- The first female Lieutenant Governor, Marlene Johnson (DFL), was elected in 1982. Johnson was re-elected in 1986 and served a total of two terms.
- The second female Lieutenant Governor, Joanell Dyrstad (IR), was elected in 1990 and served for one term.
- Joanne Benson (R), the third female lieutenant governor, was elected in 1994 and served for one term.
- Mae Schunk (elected as Independence Party, changed to Reform Party) was elected in 1998 and served for one term as the fourth female lieutenant governor.
- Carol Molnau (R), the state's fifth female and current lieutenant governor, was elected with Governor Tim Pawlenty in the 2002 general election.

### **Attorney General**

No woman has been elected to the position of Attorney General in Minnesota.

# Secretary of State

Three women have been elected to the position of Secretary of State in Minnesota.

- The first female Secretary of State was Mrs. Mike Holm (R). Mrs. Holm was appointed to fill her husband's position after his death in 1951 until the November 1952 election. In the 1952 election, Mrs. Holm was elected to serve out the remainder of the term ending in January 1953 as well as the two-year term ending in January 1955.
- Joan Growe (DFL) was the second female Secretary of State. Growe was first elected to the position in 1974 and served in that capacity for more than 20 years from 1975 to 1998.
- Mary Kiffmeyer (R), the third female and current Secretary of State in Minnesota, was first elected in 1998 and was re-elected in 2002.

# **State Auditor**

Two women have been elected to the position of State Auditor in Minnesota.

- The first female State Auditor in Minnesota, Judy Dutcher (elected as R, changed to DFL in 2000), was first elected in the 1994 general election. Dutcher was re-elected in 1998 and served a total of two terms.
- Patricia Anderson\*\* (R), the second female and current State Auditor, was elected in the 2002 general election. \*\*elected as Patricia Anderson Awada

#### **State Treasurer**

One woman has been elected to the position of State Treasurer in Minnesota.

• The first and only woman elected to the position of State Treasurer, Carol Johnson (DFL), was elected in the 1998 general election and served one term until the office was abolished effective January 6, 2003.

Notes: Executive office terms are for four years. All executive offices in Minnesota will be on the ballot in November of 2006. DFL = Democratic-Farmer-Labor, IR = Independent Republican (the name of the Republican Party in Minnesota at that time), R = Repulican

Posted April 18, 2006