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Funding focuses on job retention,

core services

With overwhelming support in the House
and Senate, the omnibus agriculture and
veterans affairs finance law received nearly
full support from the governor.

“We had two goals with the bill: preserve
jobs and protect core services,” said Rep. Al
Juhnke (DFL-Willmar), who sponsors the
law with Sen. Jim Vickerman (DFL-Tracy).
Although the law came in a little under Gov.
Tim Pawlenty’s proposed budget target, the
state’s top official trimmed $130,000 with two
line-item vetoes.

For the 2010-2011 biennium, the law
appropriates approximately $116.8 million to
the Veterans Affairs Department, $75 million
to the Department of Agriculture, $41.7
million to the Military Affairs Department,
$10.4 million to the Board of Animal
Health and $5.6 million for the Agricultural
Utilization Research Institute,

Overall, there is an approximate 3.3 percent
reduction to the departments’ base budget
from the previous biennium. Both the
governor and Legislature aimed to protect
Veterans and Military Affairs departments
from cuts. To do so, money was made available
by delaying $6 million in ethanol producers
payments, and shifting funds from the little-
used state G.I. bill account for other uses
related to veterans affairs.

Pawlenty vetoed $100,000 in sustainable
agriculture grants from the law. The amount
would have been available in each of the two
years of the biennium. His veto eliminates the
funding for the second year,

Also nixed was a $30,000 appropriation
for the development of a star farms program
(similar to the state’s Star City initiative), that
would have recognized farms meeting certain
criteria.

The laws effective date is July 1,2009, unless
otherwise noted.

HF1122%*/SF1779/CH9%4

Agriculture

The law makes several changes to the state’s
noxious weed statutes.

Counties will be on the front lines of dealing
with the vegetation that can quickly get out
of control. Under the law, each county is to
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appoint a person to carry out the state statute
regarding noxious weeds. An account will
be established for grant receipts or private
or public funds that will be used to assist
counties and municipalities in implementing
the noxious weed control program, A state
advisory committee will evaluate species for
invasiveness and assist the commissioner
in developing management criteria for each

noxious weed category. (Art, 1, Secs, 17-43)

Marketing of the state’s agriculture products
and funding for development programming
will see $9.56 million over the biennium.

The Minnesota Grown label is becoming
more familiar to consumers as its use increases
and more local producers are participating

(through a fee) in the Minnesota Grown

program. In the next two fiscal years, the

program will be allocated up to $372,000.

Of that amount, 200,000 is for grants to

farmers setting up sustainable agriculture

demonstration projects and $100,000 is to
increase Minnesota Grown promotional
efforts in retail food establishments, grocery
stores and convenience stores. Producers
and farmers seeking organic certification
will see help from the state in paying the
$350 certification fee. The new law sets aside
$20,000 over the biennium to help fund the

cost-share program. (Art. 1, Sec. 2)

Other areas relating to agriculture receiving
funding include:

+$35 million from bond proceeds to the Rural
Finance Authority to make grants through
several programs including the begin-
ning farmer program, the agricultural
implement loan program and the livestock
expansion loan program;

* $24.3 million for ethanol producer
payments;

+ $1.5 million for continuation of the dairy
development and profitability enhance-
ment program;

+ $1 million to Second Harvest Heartland
for purchase of milk for distribution to
Minnesota food shelves (Art. 1, Sec. 3 and
Art. 2, Sec. 1),

Agriculture policy provisions in the law
include:

+ the ability to seek tenants for vacant or
unused space in the Orville L. Freeman
Building in St. Paul, which houses the
Agriculture and Health departments;

+ a green jobs food production study and
report to identify green job opportuni-
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ties relating to various farming methods,
including organic, local, conventional and
urban farming;

+ new regulations on the sale and distribu-
tion of agricultural pesticides, including
modifications to the fee schedule:

+ establishment of a Noxious Weed Advisory
Committee to advise the commissioner
concerning the noxious weed control
program; and

+anew Feeding Minnesota Task Force is to be
established no later than Jan, 31, 2010, to
study consumption of Minnesota grown
produce and livestock through donations
of harvested products to charities provid-
ing food for hungry people. (Art. 1, Secs.
23, 44-59, 80, 100, 106)

Military and Veterans Affairs

The Veterans Affairs Department was
among the few agencies seeing an increase in
biennial funding; but it took some creative
maneuvering to make it happen.

“To an untrained eye,” it appears that
veterans programming budget would be
cut substantially,” Juhnke said. The law
provides a more than $900,000 increase to
the department’s base funding, and more
than $4.5 million to the biennial base for
the state’s five veterans homes, The increased
funding came by deferring $6 million in
ethanol producer payments, and decreasing
the relatively unused Minnesota G.I. Bill
fund.

Biennial funding provides:

+ $87.5 million for use by the state’s five vet-
erans homes, including nearly $1 million
for increases in pharmaceutical costs,
$420,000 for expanding the mental health
program at the Hastings Veterans Home
and $282,000 to help the veterans homes
receive Medicare certification;

+ $29 million for veterans services, including
$500,000 for homeless veterans program-
ming through the Minnesota Assistance
Council for Veterans; and

+$23.6 million for Minnesota National Guard
enlistment incentives (Art. 3, Sec. 2 and
Art. 4, Sec. 2),

With the increasing number of aging
veterans and service personnel injured in
the current wars, several communities in the
state are seeking construction of new veterans
home or medical facilities for combat-related
injuries and treatment, The law calls for the
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commissioner, along with the Veterans Affairs
Strategic Planning Group and the Veterans
Health Care Advisory Council, to consider
options for placement of new facilities and
what types of treatment and services are
needed, By Jan. 15,2010, a report is mandated
to the Legislature regarding the department’s
construction project priority listing.

The law also calls for indentifying a location
for a state veterans cemetery in northeastern
and southwestern Minnesota, with a location
in Redwood County being given priority (Art,
2, Secs. 23-24).

Policy provisions in the law include:

+ availability of a veteran-designation on a
Minnesota driver’s license or state identi-
fication card;

+ extending interviews to qualifying veterans
who apply for state employment, and
a mandated annual report, beginning
in 2011, containing data regarding the
number of veterans employed by state
agencies;

+ allowing the commissioner to award up to a
6 percent preference in procurement con-
tract bidding for eligible certified veteran-
owned businesses; and

+ availability of “Gold Star License” motor
vehicle plates beginning Oct. 1, 2009, to a
surviving spouse or parent of a person who
has died while serving honorably in active
service. (Art. 2, Secs 3-6, 9, 12).

‘Bare bones’ bonding

Hallmarks of the 2009 capital investment law
include flood mitigation help for communities
in the Red River Valley, asset preservation and
money for any state match needed to acquire
federal stimulus funds. '

“I will tell you that this is one of those
bare-bones, bread and butter bonding (laws)
that takes care of the basics,” said Rep. Alice
Hausman (DFL-St. Paul), who sponsors the
law along with Sen. Keith Langseth (DFL-
Glyndon). “It focuses on both paintbrush- and
shovel-ready projects that can be undertaken
immediately.”

The bill totaled $343.5 million, but Gov.
Tim Pawlenty trimmed $85.16 million before
signing it into law. It is effective May 17, 2009.

Pawlenty had earlier laid out concerns
regarding the bill’s size and scope indicating an
acceptable bill should focus on “maintaining
existing buildings rather than constructing
new ones; funding projects that leverage
available federal matching dollars; and
remaining fiscally responsible.”

HF855*/SF781/CH93

6 ’ New Laws

Disaster Relief

Flood mitigation for the Red River Valley,
disaster assistance money for northwest
Minnesota communities and Hugo, along
with help for the St. Charles School District,
which saw a decline in pupil aid as a result of
an April 2009 fire, are addressed in the law.

“These are important items that need to
be funded this year,” Pawlenty wrote, “While
many of the vetoed projects are meritorious,
they should be considered next year as part of
the larger, regular bonding bill.”

Rep. Paul Marquart (DFL-Dilworth), who
represents an area hard hit by springtime
flooding, said the $54 million for flood
mitigation “is going to go along way to protect
the Red River Valley from future flooding, ...
Those dollars will be saved many times over
in reduced damages in the future,”

Included in the disaster relief appropriations
are:
+$9.18 million to accommodate a state and lo-

cal match for federal disaster assistance to

qualifying individuals, state agencies and

other eligible applicants (Art. 2, Sec. 3);

+ $2.7 million to the Housing Finance Agency
for loans up to $30,000 to qualifying
individuals for repair or replacement of
residential property (Art. 2, Sec. 7);

+ $2 million to leverage federal and other
non-state money to address priority water
management, emergency preparedness or
hazard mitigation plans (Art. 2, Sec. 4);

* $350,000 to the City of Hugo for debris
clearance and other costs incurred as a
result of a May 25, 2008, tornado (Art. 3,
Sec, 1); and

+ $173,000 to mitigate the loss of per pupil
funding for schools in disaster areas. (Art.
2, Sec. 5)

Asset preservation

Although $24 million for improvements
to the Bell Museum at the University of
Minnesota was line-item vetoed, more than
$25 million remains for asset preservation
at the university campuses. Two innovative
projects related to solar energy will receive
funding: $2.15 million for a National Solar
Rating and Certification Laboratory to be
located on the Minneapolis campus and
$350,000 for a demonstration solar thermal
and photo voltaic and monitoring system on
the Morris campus. (Art. 1, Sec. 2)

The Minnesota State Colleges and
Universities system saw nearly $39 million
in targeted projects line-item vetoed, but $40
million remains for asset preservation and to
address safety issues, mechanical systems and
space restoration. (Art. 1, Sec. 3)

Several grants available through the

American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of

2009 will require a state match, and funding

is made available for that purpose. (Art. 1,

Secs. 5, 11).

Other agency allocations include:

+ $51.6 million to the Department of Trans-
portation for intercity passenger rail
projects;

* $22.6 million to the Metropolitan Council
for transit capital improvements; and

+ $2.16 million to the Minnesota Historical
Society for improvements to historic sites.
Of that money, $100,000 may be used for
improvements to the historic Rock Island
Bridge in Inver Grove Heights, which
crosses the Mississippi River. Addition-
ally, the law prohibits demolishing or
removal of any part of the bridge for two
years from the law’s effective date. (Art. 1,
Secs. 18, 45) '

Other line-item vetoes include:

+ $5.78 million for the Red Lake School
District;

+ $3 million for expansion of the St. Cloud
Civic Center;

* $2 million for early childhood learning and
child protection facilities; and

+ $2 million for the Minnesota Shubert
Performing Arts and Education Center in
Minneapolis.

Surplus can be used for spending,
budget to be balanced for
two biennia

If Minnesota is to spend federal stimulus
money during fiscal years 2010-2011, state
law regarding carryover funds needed to be
changed.

Sponsored by Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-
Grand Rapids) and Sen. Richard Cohen
(DFL-St. Paul), a new law effective March 1,
2009, allows money remaining in the General
Fund at the end of fiscal year 2009 to be
appropriated in the next biennium,

According to the nonpartisan House
Research Department, money from the federal
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of
2009 changes federal Medicaid reimbursement
to the state, resulting in a possible positive
General Fund balance at the end of the fiscal
year, June 30, 2009. Federal law prohibits the
state from using the Medicaid reimbursement
for a budget reserve. This conflicted with state
law requiring any surplus to be first used
for shoring up the state’s cash flow account,
paying back any school funding shifts and
funding the reserve account. This account was
depleted as part of the governor’s December
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2008 unallotment to bring the current
biennial budget into balance.

The law also requires a budget, proposed by
the governor and enacted, for the 2010-2011
biennium to provide for a balanced General
Pund budget in fiscal years 2012-2013,

HF886*/SF824/CH5

Deficiency spending approved

Sponsored by Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-
Grand Rapids) and Sen. Richard Cohen
(DFL-St. Paul), a new law effective April 7,
2009, provides a combined $17.06 million
to the Human Services and Public Safety
departments, to cover deficiencies in fiscal
year 2009 spending,

The law provides $16 million for the
Minnesota Sex Offender Program in Moose
Lake and St, Peter and $1,06 million to provide
a final match for federal relief money for
southeast Minnesota areas where flooding
occurred last year.

Of the sex offender money, $14.4 million
comes from the General Fund, with the other
10 percent coming from counties,

The funding requests came from Minnesota
Management and Budget through the
governor’s office.

HF117/SF95*/CH13

Federal stimulus oversight

A last-minute deficiency law includes
funding for oversight of federal stimulus
appropriations,

Sponsored by Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-
Grand Rapids) and Sen. Richard Cohen (DFL-
St. Paul), the law, effective May 22, 2009, will
provide $700,000 to Minnesota Management
and Budget and $384,000 to the Office of the
State Auditor.

The money, available immediately and
carrying over into the next fiscal biennium,
will be used to monitor state and local use of
stimulus funds from the American Recovery
and Reinvestment Act of 2009.

Inaddition, the law, passed by the Legislature
during the final hours of session, includes
some changes to the session’s omnibus higher
education finance law. Notably, it raises the
caps on tuition increases in the second year of
the biennium for the University of Minnesota
and Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
system. For the university, the cap is raised
from $300 to $450; for MnSCU, the cap is
raised from 3 percent to 5 percent.

Rep. Tom Rukavina (DFL-Virginia)
explained that the changes were needed
to give some added financial flexibility for
the university and MnSCU, both of which
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now face possible unallotment by Gov. Tim
Pawlenty.

The law also includes several smaller
provisions making changes to county health
care programs in a way that brings them into
conformity with requirements included in
the federal stimulus legislation. There is also
a provision relating to the small school district
in Deer River, allowing the district to continue
receiving sparsity aid. Solberg said it was
requested by the Education Department.

HF2251*/SF1938/CH177

Helping car dealers move on

The precarious economic situation for
U.S. auto manufacturers is affecting local
car dealerships not only in lower sales, but
through contracts they have with the vehicle
manufacturer,

The goal of a new law, according to House
sponsor, Rep. Joe Atkins (DFL-Inver Grove
Heights), “is to help car dealers survive in this
difficult time.”

A new law effective May 7, 2009, will help
dealerships be adequately compensated if their
franchise is affected by actions of the vehicle
manufacturer.

The law will:

* require successor manufacturers to offer ex-
isting dealers a franchise on similar terms
as the predecessor;

+ have the manufacturer recognize “blue sky”
and compensate the terminated dealer for
the value of the franchise over and above
the physical assets; and

+ allow the dealer to add another brand of mo-
tor vehicle to their existing facility.

Sen, Kevin Dahle (DFL-Northfield) is the

Senate sponsor,

HF1717/SF1711*/CH34

Commercial licensing updated

A new law clarifies and modifies certain
technical licensing and continuing education
requirements regulated by the Commerce
Department for workers such as real estate
agents and appraisers, and insurance agents
and adjusters.

The law modifies or clarifies provisions
related to self-study and classroom- or
Internet-based courses for pre-licensing
or continuing education professional
requirements including payment of fees,
course content and examinations, approved
textbooks, curriculum or materials, course
management and credit hours. For example,

references to “sponsor” are changed to refer
to “education provider.” The sections dealing
with insurance producers now align with
the current version of laws and guidelines
promoted by the National Association of
Insurance Commissioners for insurance
producers and adjusters.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Kurt Zellers
(R-Maple Grove) and Sen, Kevin Dahle (DFL-
Northfield). It takes effect July 1, 2010.

HF2099/SF1910*/CH63

Property interest disclaimers

A new law combines disclaimer statutes to
ease use for practitioners and the public.

Sponsored by Rep. Melissa Hortman
(DFL-Brooklyn Park) and Sen. Linda Scheid
(DFL-Brooklyn Park), supporters said it most
frequently would be used for tax purposes.

The law takes effect Jan, 1, 2010.

There are two disclaimers currently on state
books that are to be combined: one that
handles them during lifetime and another
for those that inherit property after someone
dies. The law also updates provisions relating
to disclaimers. - '

A primary change is clarification that
someone can disclaim an interest even if it
is not within the nine-month limit normally
required for tax purposes.

Other provisions affected include: allowing
disclaimers of future interests, allowing
disclaimers of jointly held property, allowing
a trustee to disclaim property that might be
scheduled to be distributed to a trust, allowing
disclaimers of powers of appointment and
other powers someone might hold over
another’s trust and eliminates the filing
of disclaimers in district court in most
situations,

Any disclaimer involving real estate would
still need to comply with real estate recording
requirements.

HF2082/SF1810%*/CH67

Name-squatters lose their rights

A business forgetting to file its annual
renewal with the Office of the Secretary of
State could fall prey to name-stalkers or
name-squatters. These are people who seek
out business names that are not secured and
try to squeeze the business owner for money
to get the name back.

A new law, sponsored by Rep. Jeremy Kalin
(DFL-North Branch) and Sen. Rick Olseen
(DFL-Harris), will make it more difficult for
people to “hop on the name ... an unethical
practice,” Kalin said,

Effective 30 days after the office certifies

New Laws 7




it has systems in place to implement the
provisions, the office will automatically file
a name reservation to hold the name for
a period of one year from the date of the
business dissolution or termination if an
annual renewal has not been filed.

The new law will also help the office
upgrade its systems and practices, Primarily a
technical law, there are two other provisions of
note: eliminating the need for non-Minnesota
businesses to file duplicate certificates from
other states, as this information is readily
accessible over the Internet; and strengthening
of the so-called bogus filing review act that
was passed by the Legislature four years ago.

HF1532/SF1288*/CH98

Miscellaneous commerce provisions
regulated

Alaw relating to the Commerce Department
can be considered a catchall of technical
changes needed to areas of regulations,
including Medicare, insurance providersand
telecommunications,

The law, sponsored by Rep. Joe Atkins
(DFL-Inver Grove Heights) and Sen. Dan
Sparks (DFL-Austin), will affect people
covered under various Medicare plans by
bringing Medicare statutes into compliance
~ for notice requirements dictated by the
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of
2009. Of significance is one provision laying
out how requests for genetic information from
issuers of supplemental Medicare policies are
tobehandled. The level of coverage for various
Medicare supplement plans is also clarified.

Additionally, the law addresses marketing
insurance or annuities to senior citizens. It
will be considered a “deceptive act” for agents
to mislead a client by implying they have
special certification or training in advising
or servicing seniors.

Minnesota has statutes regarding who can
use “robo calls” or automated telemarketing
phone calls. Under the new law, a nonprofit,
tax-exempt charitable organization can use
this technique if it is “solely for the purpose
of soliciting voluntary donations of clothing
to benefit disabled United States military
veterans.”

The law also sunsets the Minnesota do-not-
call provision Dec. 31, 2012, Atkins said there
isa similar federal law. He favored a sunset two
years out, “just in case something happens
with the federal law.” ,

The law has various effective dates.

HF1853*/SF1653/CH178

8 New Laws

Biodiesel blend specifications

The state’s specifications for biodiesel
blends will conform to those of the American
Society for Testing and Materials, under a new
law effective April 17, 2009.

Sponsored by Rep. Tim Sanders (R-Blaine)
and Sen. Kevin Dahle (DFL-Northfield), the
law clarifies that biodiesel blend is a blend of
diesel fuel and biodiesel fuel between 6 percent
and 20 percent for on- and off-road diesel-
fueled vehicle use and that it must comply
with ASTM specifications.

HF1615/SF743*/CH17

Kids’ cups, baby bottles made safer

Health-conscious parents of babies and
young children can cross one product off
their no-buy list. Baby bottles and sippy cups
containing the chemical Bisphenol-A, or BPA,
will be off Minnesota store shelves within two
years,

A new law, sponsored by Rep. Karen
Clark (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Sandy Rummel
(DFL-White Bear Lake) bans Minnesota
manufacturers from selling cups and bottles
intended for use by children age 3 or younger
that contain BPA after Jan. 1, 2010, and
retailers from selling them after Jan. 1, 2011,
The law is effective May 8, 2009.

Numerous peer-reviewed research studies
have found BPA to be a carcinogen and
endocrine disruptor. The chemical is widely
used in consumer products such as eyeglasses,
sports helmets, electronic toys and lining for
beverage or liquid cans.

HF326/SF247*/CHA40

E-waste law modified for electronics
manufacturers

Under incentives builtinto a 2007 electronics
recycling law, manufacturers collected far
beyond their required amount of discarded
household televisions, computer monitors
and other electronic devices.

A new law, sponsored by Rep. Brita Sailer
(DFL-Park Rapids) and Sen. Linda Higgins
(DFL-Mpls), tweaks the Electronics Recycling
Act so that manufacturers will continue to
have incentives for product stewardship.

The new law:

* removes a three-year expiration for redeem-
ing recycling credits, Although credits will
no longer expire, the manufacturers can
only redeem credits toward 25 percent of
their annual recycling obligation per year.
Previously there was no limit on applied
credits;

+ bases manufacturers’ recycling obligations
on national sales data, using a formula
that multiplies the weight of devices sold
nationally times the quotient of the state’s
population divided by the U.S. popula-
tion; and

+ deletes a provision that retailers must report
local sales data, due to the new calculation
method for determining a manufacturer’s
recycling obligation,

The law takes effect July 1, 2009,
HF1648/5F1486*/CH42

No lost cell phone charges

Lost your cell phone? No need to worry
about being liable for charges the finder may
rack up.

Effective Aug. 1, 2009, a customer will
not be liable for charges resulting from
unauthorized use of their cell phone, if the
wireless provider has been notified that the
phone is lost or stolen, The customer will
have to agree, however, to suspend use of the
wireless device.

The law is sponsored by Rep. John Lesch
(DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Ellen Anderson (DFL-
St. Paul).

HF854/SF298*/CH54

Unfair ticket sales prohibited

A new law aims to create a ticket for those
who unfairly sell tickets.

Sponsored by Rep. Joe Atkins (DFL-Inver
Grove Heights) and Sen. Ron Latz (DFL-St.
Louis Park), the law creates a misdemeanor
offense for unfair ticket sales by requiring
the initial seller of tickets to make available
for sale all tickets under its control, and that
it be done under terms directed by the event
provider. As introduced, the law would have
simply placed restrictions on reselling tickets
over the Internet. '

The new law, effective Aug. 1, 2009, requires
the initial ticket seller to receive permission
from the event or venue provider before
initial ticket sales can be diverted to any other
manner, or under any other terms.

The law also states that anyone with the
intent to defraud or offer for sale altered or
counterfeit tickets will be charged with a
misdemeanor,

HF819*/SF759/CH61

Payday lending protections added

When people don’t have bank accounts or
need cash fast, some turn to “payday lenders”
who charge interest rates higher than standard
bank rates for short-term loans of $1,000 or
less payable within 60 days. However, the
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“serial borrowing” that may occur if lenders
allow customers to keep rolling over their
loans can be like quicksand, sinking cash-
strapped people into deep debt.

A new law adds safeguards to existing
regulations to protect these borrowers
from harm. Sponsored by Rep. Jim Davnie
(DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Kevin Dahle (DFL-
Northfield), it tightens payday lending rules
and creates penalties for lenders who violate
them,

The law requires payday lenders to:

+  keep detailed records about their trans-
actions and to track the dollar amount
collected in interest payments on the
loans, how many borrowers they serve,
the frequency of customer borrowing, the
average rate of interest charged and other
data;

* submitanannual report of that data to the
commerce commissioner; and

+ provide the borrower with a copy of the
loan agreement in the language that was
used to negotiate the loan,

Penalties for noncompliance apply to any
loan made to a Minnesota resident even if
made on the Internet.

Except for certain reporting requirements,
which are effective retroactively from Jan. 1,
2009, the law takes effect Aug, 1, 2009,

HF914/SF806*/CH68

Expansion of U stadium liquor sales

For the University of Minnesota, it’s all or
nothing when it comes to liquor sales at TCF
Bank Stadium that is scheduled to open this
fall.

A provision in the omnibus liquor law
requires the university to change its plans
regarding alcoholic purchases only in the
premium seating area and suites.

Under the new law, mostly effective May
21,2009, a liquor license can be issued for the
facility only if sales are allowed throughout
the stadium. “It should be all or nothing; you
can’t just have a situation that applies only
in the luxury suites. If you’re not in a luxury
suite you can’t have a beer?” said Rep. Leon
Lillie (DFL-North St. Paul), who successfully
offered the amendment on the House floor.

Sponsored by Rep. Joe Atkins (DFL-Inver
Grove Heights) and Sen. Linda Scheid (DFL-
Brooklyn Park), the law is a catchall for the
various liquor-related bills acted on this
session.

The law also addresses an issue Augsburg
College in Minneapolis has regarding alcoholic
sales by permitting the city to consider
issuance of an on-sale license. The college
has been serving alcohol at selected alumnae
events over the years, before finding out that
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it didn’t have a license to do so. This provision

is effective upon approval of the Minneapolis

City Council.

The law also provides for consideration of
liquor licenses by issuing authorities for:

+ the Duluth Entertainment Convention
Center for intercollegiate hockey games;

*+ Sporty’s Pub & Grill in Minneapolis;

+ the Best Western Superior Inn and Suites
and East Bay Suites in Grand Marais;
and

+ private convention centers outside the
seven-county Twin Cities metropolitan
area,

Additional provisions allow for on-sale
liquor hours to be expanded at the Humphrey
and Lindbergh airport terminals; and license
holders selling wine to hold wine-tasting
events,

The law adds a device designed to ensure
safe storage and monitoring of alcohol in the
home to the list of items that can be sold by
liquor stores. '

HF1476*/ SF1313/CH120

Tougher sex trafficker penalties

As part of an overall effort to stop sex
trafficking in the state, the criminal penalties
will become more severe.

“Sex trafficking is not limited to foreign
nationals. Girls and women are regularly
trafficked every day in the state of Minnesota.
The average age of a trafficked individual is 12
years old,” said Rep. Michael Paymar (DFL-St.
Paul), who sponsors the law with Sen. Sandy
Pappas (DFL-St. Paul). The changes are based
on a report commissioned by Minnesota’s
Human Trafficking Task Force.

Effective for crimes committed on or after
Aug. 1, 2009, the law, changes the definition
of sex trafficking and increases the fine. It also
contains a provision for a 25-year sentence
for first- and second-degree cases involving
aggravating factors, such as repeat offenders,
the victim suffering bodily harm during the
offense, more than one victim is involved, or
the time the victim was held in debt bondage
or forced labor was for more than 180 days.

The crime of “prostitution in a public place”
is clarified so it is consistent throughout
statutes, and the law enhances the penalty
for repeat prostitution-related violations in
certain instances.

The law adds language to state statute that
an employer cannot retaliate against a victim
of a violent crime, or the victim’s spouse or
immediate family, for taking reasonable time
off of work to attend criminal proceedings.

HF1505%/SF1514/CH137

Prostitution penalty changes

Prostitution penalties are toughened and
definitions have been clarified.

Effective Aug. 1, 2009, a new law makes
prostitution arrest information more
accessible.

Under current law, a crime of engaging
in prostitution while acting as a patron goes
on a person’s record, but not on a person’s
driving record but it is classified as private
data. That makes it hard for law enforcement
personnel to access the data from their in-car
computer if a person is using a motor vehicle
to patronize prostitutes. The changes to the
law clarify that this private data is accessible
to law enforcement, and a repeat violation is
further classified as public data.

Aloopholeisclosed in thelaw where a second
violation was enhanced if the first violation
was a misdemeanor, but not enhanced if the
first was a gross misdemeanor,

It also makes adds a definitional of change
to “place of public accommodation,” which
applies to the enhanced the penalty for
prostitution in a public place, and amends the
public place prostitution crime by replacing
current Janguage to make it identical to that
in the other prostitution crimes.

Rep. Melissa Hortman (DEL-Brooklyn
Park) and Sen. Patricia Torres Ray (DFL-Mpls)
sponsor the law.

HF1213/SF1009*/CH170 |

Funding for jobs, housing and more

Gov. Tim Pawlenty trimmed a little more
than $1.8 million from a new law that funds
jobs, housing and cultural heritage programs
for the next biennium and also designates ice
hockey as the official state sport.

The law, sponsored by Rep. Tom Rukavina
(DFL-Virginia) and Sen. David Tomassoni
(DFL-Chisholm), authorizes $260.1 million
(after line-item vetoes) in net General Fund
spending.

Major appropriations, reflecting cuts from
earlier projected funding bases, include:

+ $115.9 million to the Department of
Employment and Economic Development
(a 4 percent cut);

* $86.8 million to the Housing Finance Agency
(a 3.5 percent cut);

* $46 million to the Minnesota Historical
Society (a 6 percent cut);

+$20.2 million to Explore Minnesota Tourism
(a 9 percent cut);
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* $17.2 million for the Minnesota State Arts
Board (a 16.6 percent cut); and

+ $4 million for public broadcasting (a one-
time 3 percent increase that includes grant
money for new equipment).

The law prevents deeper cuts to DEED
programs by temporarily increasing a fee
paid by employers into the state’s workforce
development fund. The fee hike is expected
to raise $15.5 million over the next biennium,
It takes effect July 1, 2009, and lasts through
June 30, 2011. (Art. 2, Sec. 23)

Pawlentyline-item vetoed six appropriations.
The largest, a $1.2 million grant to the
Minnesota Film and TV Board, was intended
to nearly double the amount of money
available to the “Snowbate” film production
incentive, In his veto letter, the governor said
that while incentivizing the film industry
creates short-term jobs in the state, funding
should focus on long-term job growth.

Other line item-vetoes include:

*a $280,000 grant to Minnesota Public Radio
to help with its conversion to a digital
broadcast signal;

+ $200,000 for the Indigenous Earthkeepers
environmental and cultural youth educa-
tion program;

* $100,000 for the Southeast Asian Collab-
orative;

* $70,000 to the Legislative Coordinating
Commission to study economic develop-
ment issues; and

* $50,000 to the Department of Administra-
tion for a workers memorial on the Capitol
grounds.

Pawlenty vetoed an earlier version of the
legislation (HF1169/SF2081*/CH39), partially
because it included a provision that would
have forgiven $33 million of a loan St. Paul
owes the state on the Xcel Energy Center. The
loan forgiveness would have allowed the city
to move forward on a proposed new indoor
ice arena across the street from the Xcel.

While St. Paul didn’t get its new ice rink,
hockey fans can still take heart, as the law
establishes ice hockey as the official state
sport. (Art, 6, Sec. 1)

Unless otherwise specified, funding
provisions in the law take effect July 1, 2009,
and policy provisions take effect Aug. 1,
2009.

HF2088*/SF1926/CH78

Employment and economic development

The law adds a number of obligations
and powers to the DEED commissioner’s
statutory duties. The changes generally relate
to planning and promoting the long-term
economic growth and well-being of the state.
(Art. 2, Sec. 6)

A “Minnesota Green Enterprise Assistance”

10 New Laws

provision in the law directs DEED and the
Commerce Department to collaborate on a
program to “advise, promote, market and
coordinate” state help for environmentally
focused enterprises. The objective is to
use existing state resources to expedite the
delivery of grants, licenses, permits and other
authorizations for green economy projects. It
is effective May 15, 2009. (Art. 2, Sec. 13)

Thelaw directs DEED to lead a “Minnesota
Science and Technology Economic
Development Project” to maximize economic
growth and foster job creation and retention,
The initiative will focus on high-tech
industries and will draw on expertise both
from academia and the private sector, (Art.
2, Sec. 16)

Increased accountability requirements for
DEED, effective May 15, 2009, are also in the
law, which directs the agency to develop a set
of measures to evaluate the effectiveness of
its workforce development programs, Annual
reports are required to the Legislature. (Art.
2, Sec. 20)

Thelawestablishesan 18-member bipartisan
Economic Development Strategy Working
Group to create an overall economic growth
strategy for the state. Made up of six senators,
six House members and six public members,
the group will work under the umbrella of
the Legislative Coordinating Commission
and report back to the Legislature by Feb. 15,
2010. (Art, 2, Sec. 41)

Unemployment insurance

The law includes numerous technical and
policy changes to unemployment insurance
statutes.

The standard of proof in matters relating to
unemployment insurance claims is changed
so that the state must apply unemployment
insurance statutes in a way that favors the
awarding of benefits, In other words, the state
will essentially presume that someone is eligible
to receive unemployment insurance benefits
unless a preponderance of the evidence clearly
shows otherwise. (Art. 4, Sec. 1)

The law removes a required step for
government entities and nonprofits switching
from paying unemployment insurance taxes
and reimbursing the state for unemployment
benefits paid. Another provision allows
the commissioner to forgive unpaid
unemployment interest, penalties or fees
if pursuing collection is not in the public
interest, This does not apply to unemployment
insurance taxes or reimbursements due. (Art.
3, Secs. 1-3),

The law clarifies the employment status of
temporary staffing agency workers in certain

situations, and it will allow Delta Airlines flight
attendants taking unpaid furloughs as part
of their contracts to collect unemployment
benefits (Art. 3, Secs. 10, 12).

Labor standards and license fees

The law includes several provisions
that strengthen the state’s prevailing wage
enforcement laws. Among other things, it
requires an employer subject to prevailing
wage laws to furnish a certified payroll report
for each employee, including certain specified
information. (Art, 5, Secs. 1-8)

Public employers will be required to
purchase employee equipment and apparel
made in the United States. The provision
takes effect Jan, 1, 2010, or upon expiration
of contracts entered into before June 1, 2009,
whichever is later. (Art, 5, Sec. 9)

. The law sets out the schedule for building
permit fees. It also provides for a phasing-in of
two-year plumbing licenses from the current
one-year licenses. Two-year licenses for several
other professions are also provided for in the
law. (Art. 5, Secs. 11, 15-33)

Miscellaneous

The law splits the Board of Barber and
Cosmetologist Examiners into two separate
organizations., (Art. 6, Secs. 9-16, 19-20,
25-26)

Effective May 15, 2009, the law establishes
a neighborhood development program at the
University of Minnesota’s Duluth and Twin
Cities campuses. The program will focus
on supporting quality university housing,
encouraging long-term residency of students
and faculty in campus-area neighborhoods
and supporting business development in the
surrounding community. (Art, 6, Sec. 8)

Also effective May 15, 2009, the law directs
the labor and industry commissioner to
appoint an advisory task force on employee
misclassification and “off-the-books” payment
of workers in the construction industry. The
task force will report back to the Legislature
on needed legislation, regulations and policies
to address the issue. (Art. 6, Sec. 17)

Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board

Thelaw provides $97.6 million in funding for
the Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation
Board — an amount of moneyidentical to the
board’s forecasted base budget. The IRRRB’s
funding has no impact on the General Fund;
instead, the board derives its funding from
regional taxes.

Several provisions in the law clarify that
IRRRB projects and expenditures must be
approved by at least seven of the board’s 13
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members, Most of these take effect May 15,
2009. It also establishes an early retirement
incentive program for IRRRB employees.
(Art. 7, Secs, 1-5, 8-18, 21, 22)

McLeod West bonding authority

The McLeod West School District will be
consolidating with neighboring districts,
and a new law gives the district bonding
authority that will minimize the financial
impact on those absorbing McLeod West’s
500 students.

The law, effective April 17,2009, authorizes
a general obligation bond issue without
voter approval for its estimated $3 million
reorganization debt.

On May 5, voters approved the district’s

consolidation among the Gibbon-Fairfax-
Winthrop, Buffalo Lake-Hector and Glencoe-
Silver Lake districts, and that the districts
will be held harmless for any negative fiscal
consequences of the reorganization.

Rep. Ron Shimanski (R-Silver Lake) and
Sen. Steve Dille (R-Dassel) sponsor the law.

HF1040/SEF811*/CH20

Bioscience infrastructure grants

State colleges and universities will be
eligible for bioscience business infrastructure
grants; under a new law.

Sponsored by Rep. Tim Mahoney (DFL-
St. Paul) and Sen. Kathy Sheran (DFL-
Mankato), the law will make the University of
Minnesota and the Minnesota State Colleges
and Universities system eligible to receive
money under the state’s bioscience business
development infrastructure program.

The program, run by the Department of
Employment and Economic Development,
allows state General Obligation bonds to
be used for grants to cover capital costs for
bioscience-related business facilities.

Only local governments were previously
eligible for the grants. The change will address
issues at Minnesota State University, Mankato
and the University of Minnesota, Morris. Both
schools were authorized to receive funding for
bioscience projects, only to learn they could
not accept it because they were not technically
eligible for the program.

In addition, the law specifies that local
governments or institutions receiving grant
money must pay for at least half of the cost
of the completed project from sources other
than state bond funds.

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009.

HF868/SF684*/CH35
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Funding young learners

Funding for public school districts and
charter schools, early learning programs,
special education services and the Education
Department will remain steady at $13.7 billion
for the 2010-2011 biennium. This will increase
to $14.14 billion the following biennium,
under a new law sponsored by Rep. Mindy
Greiling (DFL-Roseville) and Sen. LeRoy
Stumpf (DFL-Plummer).

The law directs $500 million in one-time
stabilization money from the American
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 to
replace state aid that would otherwise have
been used for that purpose.

In a letter to legislative leaders, Gov. Tim
Pawlenty said that he signed the law “with
reluctance,” noting it didn’t increase education
spending as he proposed, nor did it include his
suggested reforms such as his Pay for Progress
incentive or a Q Comp expansion.

HF2*/SF1328/CH96

Education funding

Major appropriations for the 2010-2011

biennium include:

+ $10.72 billion for general education aid;

+ $1.42 billion for regular special education;

+ $220.75 million for special education, excess;

+ $130.8 million for integration aid;

* $44,87 million for nonpublic pupil trans-
portation;

+$35.14 million for nonpublic pupil education
aid (textbooks, standardized tests and sup-
port services);

+ $30.3 million for statewide testing and re-
porting system; and

+ $22 million for inter-district desegregation/
integration transportation grants.

Among smaller appropriations for the two
years are:

+ $1.78 million for consolidating school dis-
tricts;

+$380,000 for American Indian teacher prepa-
ration grants;

+ $136,000 for early childhood programs at
tribal schools; and

+ $130,000 to the Warroad School District to
operate the one-room Angle Inlet school-
house. (Art. 1, Sec. 24)

The $500 million in American Recovery
and Reinvestment Act of 2009 stabilization
fundsisawarded in fiscal year 2010. According
to the law, “Any balance does not cancel but
is available for obligation until September 30,
20117 (Art. 1, Secs. 21, 22, 25)

The law permits adjusting a referendum
allowance for a consolidated district in the
years following a consolidation to reflect
any inflation adjustments to the referendum
authority. (Art. 1, Secs. 3-4)

Only foreign exchange students enrolled in
a district under a cultural exchange program
registered with the Secretary of State’s office
can be counted as resident pupils by a school
district. (Art. 1, Sec. 9)

A school district that closes a school facility
can receive the greater of its sparsity revenue
computed under current law or the amount
of sparsity revenue it received in the previous
year. (Art. 1, Sec. 10)

The portion of basic alternative teacher
compensation revenue that comes from
state aid is clarified. Sets aid percentage
at 73.1 percent of basic alternative teacher
compensation revenue for fiscal years through
2009 and at 65 percent in subsequent fiscal
years. (Art. 1, Sec. 11)

Voter authority to petition to revoke
or reduce an existing levy referendum is
rescinded. (Art, 1, Sec. 14)

A new levy is created for school districts
to fund the annual costs associated with
certain post-employment benefits liability
under General Accounting Standards Board
Statement 45, while eliminating them from
the current collective bargajning agreement
and limiting total levy amounts, Previous
district authorization to issue other post-
employment benefits, without voter approval,
that would fund a trust up to the amount of
the benefit liability, requires voter approval
for obligations sold after Oct. 1, 2009. (Art,
1, Secs. 16, 19)

A district’s Safe Schools Levy maintenance
of effort requirements may be measured by
its total expenditures for employee services
such as social workers, psychologists and
counselors, or by its prior year full-time
equivalent employees in applicable services.
(Art. 1, Sec. 17)

The integration revenue definition is
amended to include its purpose as closing the
achievement gap; school boards must approve
plans before integration revenue is awarded;
and Minneapolis, St. Paul and Duluth
districts’ integration budget plans must be
approved by the Department of Education.
The department is directed to analyze school
district integration plans and outcomes and
report to Legislature by Feb. 1, 2011. The
report section is effective May 17, 2009. (Art.
2, Secs. 52-53, 63)

The 2 percent staff development set-aside is
suspended for the 2010-2011 biennium, (Art.
2, Sec. 64)

The requirement that a district have a five-
year facility plan approved by the education
commissioner before receiving alternative
facilities revenue is eliminated, effective July
1, 2009, (Art. 4, Sec. 3)

The cap on school construction projects
subject to review and comment by the
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Education Department increases from

$500,000 to $1.4 million for all school

districts, except those with outstanding

capital loans. (Art. 4, Sec. 8)

Effective May 17, 2009, intermediate school
districts can receive telecommunications/
Internet access equity aid. (Art. 4, Sec. 11)

A minimum level for regional library basic
system support is set, as are calculations for
allowable reductions in local library support
levels. The law sets absolute minimum levels
of support and defines the revenue base, This
is effective for support in calendar year 2009
and thereafter and for library grants paid
in fiscal year 2010 and thereafter. (Art. 5,
Sec. 10)

Also effective May 17, 2009, four school
districts are permitted to transfer funds
between accounts: Lac Qui Parle Valley,
Mankato, Ortonville and St. Anthony-New
Brighton, (Art. 5, Sec. 12)

The board of the state academies is to report
each Feb. 1 to the Legislature on the amount
of grants and gifts received from public and
nonpublic sources and the purpose for which
it was used. (Art. 7, Sec. 1)

The Education Department is to report
to the Legislature by Feb, 15 each year on
“receipts and payments from public and
nonprofit private agencies for related costs
for partnership or cooperative endeavors
involving education activities that are for the
mutual benefit of the state, the department,
and the other agency.” (Art. 7, Sec. 2)

More than $20.94 million is appropriated
each year of the biennium to the Education
Department for agency operations including
the following annual distributions:

* $632,000 for the Board of Teaching, plus an
additional $30,000 per year for the board’s
licensure by portfolio activities;

+ $260,000 for the Minnesota Children’s
Museum;

+$171,000 for the Board of Administrators;

* $50,000 for the Duluth Children’s
Museum;

* $41,000 for the Minnesota Academy of
Science; and

+$40,000 for an early hearingloss intervention
coordinator.

The law also appropriates $11.91 million per
fiscal year to the Minnesota State Academies
for the Deaf and the Blind and $7.08 million
each year to the Perpich Center for Arts
Education. (Art. 7, Secs. 3-5)

Previous years’ appropriation amounts are
adjusted to match the February 2009 Forecast
amounts. (Art, 9, Secs, 1-25)

Educational excellence
A child’s parent or guardian can designate
a “significant individual” to participate in
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a school conference, with the parent’s prior
written consent provided to the school. This
takes effect with the 2009-2010 school year.
(Art. 2, Sec. 1)

A properly verified mental health diagnosis
or treatment is added to the list of legitimate
exemptions for a student’s excused absence
from school. (Art. 2, Sec. 2)

Minnesota World Language Proficiency
Certificates or Minnesota World Language
Proficiency High Achievement Certificates
recognizing a student’s oral, written, reading
and listening skills in certain languages may
be awarded consistent with elective academic
standards. (Art. 2, Sec. 4)

Commissioner’s school performance
report cards to the Legislature must include
growth indicators, rigorous coursework and
preparation measures indicating readiness
for college level work, school safety and
student engagement as measure of school
performance. The definition and school
accountability portions are effective May 17,
2009. (Art. 2, Secs. 7, 10, 12-13)

Also effective May 17, 2009, students

enrolled in grade 8 in any school year from.

2005-2006 to 2009-2010 who do not pass the
math Graduation Required Assessment for
Diploma may earn a diploma if they meet
all other graduation requirements and take
remedial coursework and retest twice or
subsequently pass the GRAD. The Office of
Educational Accountability is required to
annually report to the Legislature growth-
based value-added data and other data study
effectiveness of GRAD and other measures of
accountability. (Art. 2, Secs. 8, 10)

Pre-kindergarten and elementary teacher
licensure candidates must successfully
complete an assessment of reading instruction,
including practices in five reading skill
components. (Art. 2, Secs. 14, 17)

Teachers seeking relicensure beginning July
1, 2012, must submit evidence of reflective
growth in best teaching practices, including
support for student learning, use of best
practices, collaborative work with colleagues
and continual professional development. This
is effective May 17, 2009. (Art. 2, Sec. 20)

Beginning with the 2009-2010 school year,
districts can have trained observers serve as
mentors or coaches, and have probationary
or continuing contract teachers participate
in professional learning communities as part
of the district’s peer review process. (Art. 2,
Secs. 21-24)

School district Q Comp plans developed
in 2009-2010 and beyond must include a
research- based professional development
system; the education commissioner is to
establish three dates as deadlines for Q
Comp applications, which are to be reviewed

within 30 days of most recent deadline;
and alternative compensation application
assistance is to be offered for rural districts.
(Art. 2, Secs. 25-27)

Districts may approve site-governed
schools proposed by groups of teachers,
parents and community members to provide
innovate or alternative school models. They
are exempt from the same rules and laws
as charter schools, and teachers will retain
district employment, union status, salary and
benefits. (Art. 2, Sec. 33)

Online learning providers must provide
the enrolling school district with a course
syllabus, and the Education Department must
have written assurance that courses meet
nationally recognized professional standards.
An Online Learning Advisory Council is
extended until June 30, 2013. It was previously
set to expire on June 30, 2008. (Art. 2, Secs.
36-40)

A Minnesota Reading Corps program is
established “to provide AmeriCorps members
with a data-based problem-solving model of
literacy instruction to use in helping to train
local Head Start program providers, other
prekindergarten program providers, and
staffin schools with students in kindergarten
through grade 3 to evaluate and teach early
literacy skills to children age 3 to grade 3.”
(Art. 2, Sec. 46)

A college and career-readiness workgroup
is created. Headed jointly by the Education
Department and University of Minnesota,
it is to evaluate and recommend to the
commissioner and Legislature on design
of the state high school assessment system,
levels of and mechanisms for accountability,
postsecondary uses of the assessments and an
implementation timeline. Recommendations
must be reported to the commissioner by Dec.
31, 2009, who must then forward it with any
related commentary to the Legislature by Feb.
15, 2010. (Art. 2, Sec. 62)

A nine-member Innovative School
Advisory Council is established to make
recommendations to the education
commissioner on site-governed schools,
school innovation, improving information
about fostering innovation and learning
from non-education innovators. The council
expires June 30, 2011. (Art. 2, Sec, 65)

Applicable to teaching candidates beginning
Jan. 1, 2012, the Board of Teaching is to
administer an assessment of readinginstruction
for pre-kindergarten and elementary teacher
licensure candidates that is part of the exam
of licensure-specific teaching skills. This is
effective May 17, 2009. (Art. 2, Sec. 66)
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Charter school reform

In addition to providing $85.2 million in
charter school building lease aid and $2.6
million for charter school startup funding,
the law makes a number of changes to charter
school initiatives.

It adds student achievement to the list of
charter school purposes, and makes the list
inclusive, rather than an option of the six
purposes. It also clarifies that the purpose of
charter schools is not to reestablish a school
that would otherwise be closed.

Sponsors are to be called authorizers,
organizations are listed that are eligible
to authorize charter schools, and the law
establishes a process for an eligible authorizer
to apply to the education commissioner for
approval as an authorizer. Among other
requirements, eligible charitable organizations
must be incorporated in Minnesota. Three
single-purpose sponsors are permitted and a
process to obtain commissioner approval for
such sponsors is established.

Charitable organizations under the federal
tax code that are nonpublic sectarian or
religious institutions or their affiliates, and
any charitable organizations that for federal
tax purposes describe activities indicating a
religious purpose, are ineligible.

The law also:

+ disbands the Charter School Advisory
Council;

+strengthens authorizers’ and charter boards’
contractual responsibilities for school
operations and performance;

+increases fees authorizers may charge charter
schools;

* requires commissioner-approved financial
training for charter board members;

* clarifies charter board conflict of interest
clarifications;

+ clarifies charter administrator minimum
qualifications, those without administra-
tive license must have professional devel-
opment plan;

*requires thata board-approved annual report
must be published; and

* lease rules are clarified and provisions for
establishing affiliated nonprofit building
corporation established. (Art. 2, Secs.
41, 42)

Special programs

The law defines a child with a disability
to mean “a child identified under federal
and state special education law as having”
a specified disability or impairment, and
needs special education and related services,
according to Education Department rules.
(Art, 3, Sec. 1)

To be consistent with federal law and state
suspension procedures, school personnel
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will be allowed to suspend children with
disabilities. The law establishes parameters
and procedures, including alternative
education services, for suspensions of children
with disabilities who have been suspended
for more than five or 10 cumulative schools
days.

Procedures are established that a school
district must follow before initiating an
expulsion or exclusion of a child with
disability. School districts will be required
to continue providing special education and
related services to children with disabilities
who are excluded or expelled for misbehavior
that is not a symptom of their disability (Art.
3, Secs. 2-3)

School districts will be required to have,
in effect, an individualized education plan
for each child with a disability at the start of
each school year. (Art. 3, Sec. 7)

Effective Aug,. 1, 2011, school districts are
required to have a publicly accessible plan for
using restrictive procedures with children
with disabilities. This must include that only
qualified and trained professionals can use
restrictive procedures, districts are to make
reasonable efforts to notify parents on the day
restrictive procedures and an individualized
education plan team can plan for using
restrictive procedures in response to behavior
that constitutes an emergency. (Art. 3, Secs.
9-11)

The authority of Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Resource Centers is clarified to ensure that
training programs are offered. In addition, the
advisory committee for the Resource Center
for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing shall meet
atleast four times a year and submit an annual
report to the education commissioner, the
Legislature, and the Commission on Deaf,
DeafBlind and Hard of Hearing Minnesotans,
The report must include recommendations
on aggregate data-based outcomes over
time for deaf and hard-of-hearing children
consistent with state academic standards
and assessments, and a data-based plan that
includes evidence-based best practices known
to improve the educational outcomes of such
children. (Art. 3, Secs. 16-17)

Early childhood education/lifelong learning

The law appropriates $87.2 million for
Adult Basic Education aid; $45.5 million for
early childhood family education aid; $40.2
million for Head Start; $20.2 million for
school readiness programs; and $7.49 million
for health and developmental screening, (Art.
6, Sec. 11)

Effective July 1, 2009, a voluntary, standards-
based quality rating and improvement system
framework is established to ensure children
have access to quality early learning settings

promoting kindergarten-readiness. The
system is based on a 2008 Minnesota Early
Learning Foundation pilot program, (Art. 6,
Sec. 4)

School readiness program criteria are
expanded: a comprehensive assessment of
children is required upon entering and leaving
a program; instruction must be aligned with
kindergarten standards, including social,
emotional, physical and cognitive skills; and
staff-child ratios are specified. (Art. 6, Sec. 5)

The Human Services and Education
departments are to study early learning
children’s services and programs as a basis for
coordinating them in the future. A report is
due the Legislature by Feb. 15, 2010. (Art. 6,
Sec. 10)

Transportation

The maximum vehicle weight of a type
A-1 school bus is increased from 10,000 to
14,500 pounds to reflect industry standards.
These school buses are defined in law as “a
van conversion or bus constructed utilizing a
cutaway front section vehicle with a left-side
driver’s door.” This is effective July 1, 2009.
(Art. 8, Sec. 2)

New school buses purchased after Oct. 21,
2009, must conform to the higher seat back
requirements specified in federal law, which
will raise the seatback height to 24 inches.
Current law is at least 20 inches above the
seating reference point. (Art. 8, Sec. 5)

Effective May 17, 2009, and applied
retroactively to Dec. 31, 2007, through Jan. 1,
2012, a tailpipe can exit a school bus on either
side of the vehicle. (Art. 8, Sec. 6)

The time for the annual evaluation and
license verification of a school bus driver is
increased by 15 days to accommodate the
shifting start days in Minnesota’s school year.
This is effective July 1, 2010. (Art. 8, Sec. 14)

Student lifesavers trained properly

Schools that offer students training in
cardiopulmonary resuscitation and automatic
external defibrillator use will be required to
use certain instruction.

A new law, sponsored by Rep. Carlos
Mariani (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Kathy
Saltzman (DFL-Woodbury), requires districts
that voluntarily offer students training in CPR
ensure that training will be in accordance
with the American Heart Association, the
American Red Cross, or other nationally
recognized, evidence-based guidelines.

“The mandate here isn’t to provide the
instruction,” Mariani said, but “if the
instruction is provided, we want to make sure
they are following these industry standards.”
He said the odds of surviving cardiac arrest
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are only 10 percent without the intervention,
but acquiring the right kind of skills “properly
trains our young people to be lifesavers as they
go out into the world.”
The law is effective Aug. 1, 2009.
HF648/SF567*/CH107

Benefits extended for some
unemployed

Some unemployed will see their
unemployment benefits extended because of
a new law.

Fast-tracked to the governor’s desk, the
new law plugs the gap between the state’s
regular unemployment benefits and a federal
extension enacted earlier. The law is effective
July 1, 2009, and sunsets June 30, 2010,

Sponsored by Rep. Tim Mahoney (DFL-St.
Paul) and Senate President James Metzen (DFL-
South St. Paul), the law changes the way the state
computes the unemployment compensation
eligibility period and sets up a special state
emergency unemployment compensation
program for eligible applicants who do not
qualify for a federally funded extension of
unemployment insurance benefits.

The benefits will be funded from the
Minnesota Unemployment Insurance Trust
Fund.

HF4/SF4*/CH1

Unemployment stimulus dollars

Minnesota can use $130 million in federal
stimulus money from the American Recovery
and Reinvestment Act of 2009 for state
unemployment benefits.

Sponsored by Rep. Tom Rukavina (DFL-
Virginia) and Sen. David Tomassoni (DFL-
Chisholm), the law makes mostly technical
changes to the state’s unemployment insurance
statutes to make way for the money. The
law takes effect Aug. 2, 2009. A provision
authorizing the expenditure of federal funds
is effective April 9, 2009,

In addition to the technical changes, which
put the state’s unemployment insurance
program in conformity with federal law, the
law modifies eligibility requirements and
other parts of the program, Some of these
changes include:

+ granting eligibility to workers who are forced
to quit their jobs due to situations involv-
ing domestic abuse of themselves or family
members;

+ granting eligibility to workers who quit
their jobs to care for an immediate family
member;
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+ allowing a worker who quits their job to
relocate with a spouse whose job has been
moved to be eligible for benefits, if the
commute to work from the new location
is impractical; and

+ calculating an applicant’s unemployment
benefits using more recent wages than are
currently used.

HF1227/SF1197%/CH15

Helping local business ease layoffs

Some businesses could avoid laying off
workers if they apply to participate in the
federally funded Workforce Investment in
Regional Economic Development program.

Through WIRED, employers in certain
businesses can reduce employees’ work hours
while those workers take skills training and
receive unemployment benefits in proportion
to the amount of reduced hours,

A new law, effective April 28,2009, sponsored
by Rep. Kathy Brynaert (DFL-Mankato) and
Sen. Kathy Sheran (DFL-Mankato), allows
eligibility for the program to take effect; it
expires June 30, 2011,

Brynaert said the measure is “a win-win
for both workers and employers” and that the
$680,000 cost in unemployment benefits will
be recouped from employers over a four-year
period.

HF1048/SF643*/CH25

Layoff alternative now law

Some employers facing economic hardship
will have an alternative to laying off their
employees.

A newlaw, effective Aug, 2,2009, will allow them
to participate in a Department of Employment
and Economic Development shared work plan
that allows them to reduce some employees’
hours while those employees become eligible
for unemployment benefits in proportion to the
number of their reduced hours.

Employer plans must be approved by
the DEED commissioner, who may reject a
proposal if it is determined the reason for the
application is not to prevent layoffs. Eligible
employees must have worked for the employer
for one year and, under the plan, must work
between 20 and 32 hours a week.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Dean Urdahl
(R-Grove City) and Sen. Kathy Saltzman
(DFL-Woodbury).

HF2040/SP1454*/CH27

Drug testing change
A simple change in statute will allow certain
state workers to receive required drug and
alcohol testing from the federal government

rather than the state.

Sponsored by Rep. Paul Rosenthal (DFL-
Edina) and Sen. Amy Koch (R-Buffalo), a new
law extends an exemption on drugand alcohol
testing currently applied to local governments
to include the state as well, The change will
allow state-employed drivers with commercial
licenses to be covered by federal regulations
instead of state regulations.

“This relieves the pressure on our
administration, and also keeps in place appeal
processes for employees,” Rosenthal said.

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009,

HF1820/SF1172*/CH55

Better workforce training

Representatives from state colleges and
universities, workforce centers, school
districts and other organizations are being
asked to put their heads together to figure out
a better way to educate low-skilled workers in
Minnesota.

A newlaw directs the Governor’s Workforce
Development Council to consult with
several state agencies and establish four
local collaborative projects to “plan and
coordinate employment, training, and
education programs and services.”

Rep. Larry Haws (DFL-St. Cloud), who
sponsors the law with Sen, Tarryl Clark (DFL-
St. Cloud), said the projects will be located in
four different geographic areas and will focus-
on adults in need of workforce training. He
said the law puts an emphasis on having adult
basic educators play a greater role in workforce
development.

Each collaborative will be required to
include, at a minimum, representatives of:
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities,
local adult basic education, workforce centers,
local school districts, community action
agencies and public housing agencies.

Each local collaborative will have to
implement its plan for at least one year
and then report to the council on progress
made. The council will then report to the
Legislature.

The law is effective May 13, 2009.

HF1850/SF1569*/CH65

Workers comp rates, rules modified
Modifications are made to the workers
compensation statutes under a new law
sponsored by Rep. Mike Nelson (DFL-
Brooklyn Park) and Sen. Tom Bakk (DFL-
Cook).
They include:
+ adjustments to partial disability compen-
sation rates to account for previous gaps in
the rating scale;
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+ changes to the Rehabilitation Review Panel
membership to replace the requirement
for two members from the medical field,
which was determined to be too loosely
defined, with two licensed or registered
health care providers, and removing one
member who represents chiropractors, but
adding an actual chiropractor;

+ changes to the Medical Services Review
Board membership, replacing one member
who represents hospital administrators
with one who represents hospitals, adding
an occupational therapist and removing a
member representing the general public;

+ modifications to these groups’ alternate
membership;

+ allowance for certain group meetings to be
held by telephone or electronically;

* prohibiting medical examinations by an
employer’s physician from being held in
hotel or motel facilities;

+ sharing data, including Social Security
numbers, is allowed between certain state
departments; and

+ application by the labor and industry
commissioner to Ramsey County or the
county where the nearest office of the De-
partment of Labor and Industry is located
for an order compelling production of an
employer’s payroll and business record
documents is permitted.

The law is effective May 13, 2009, except
for the partial disability compensation rate
changes that apply retroactively to dates of
injury on or after Oct. 1, 2000.

HF1678/SF1476*/CH75

Labor contracts ratified

A number of labor contracts negotiated
between Minnesota Management and Budget
and various state employee unions and
compensation plans for non-unionized
employees for the biennium ending June 30,
2009, have been ratified.

Sponsored by Rep. Leon Lillie (DFL-
North St. Paul) and Senate President James
Metzen (DFL-South St. Paul), a new law
ratifies contracts and compensation plans
with workers in organizations as diverse as
the Minnesota Nurses Association, the State
Board of Investment and Minnesota State
Colleges and Universities.

The legislation comprises the work of
the Legislative Coordinating Commission
Subcommittee on Employee Relations, which
approves negotiated labor agreements and
compensation plans. Affected employees or
groups include:

+ the Minnesota State University Association
of Administrative and Service Faculty;
+ the executive directors of the Teachers’
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Retirement Association, Minnesota State
Retirement System and Public Employees
Retirement Association;

+ the SBI;

+ the MNA;

+ the Office of the Legislative Auditor; and

+ the Inter Faculty Organization.

The law caused some controversy on the
House floor, where some members argued the
agreed-to salaries do not reflect the current
economic downturn,

Referringtoa provision that authorizesraises
for certain SBI employees, Rep. Mark Buesgens
(R-Jordan) called it “unconscionable” to raise
state workers’ salaries at a time of record
unemployment.

“We are not a rubber-stamp organization,
members; we're here to do the right thing, And
if you consider voting for a 10 percent increase
for state employees when the rest of the state of
Minnesota is hurting, then I don’t think you
understand the idea of the whole concept.”

Rep. Lyndon Carlson, Sr. (DFL-Crystal)
explained that it is an executive-branch
initiative to retain “top-notch people”
responsible for investing state pension
funds.

Supporters of the legislation note that many
of the contracts were negotiated prior to the
beginning of the recession.

The law has various effective dates.

HF1218/SF1036*/CH85

Contractor or employee?

A newlaw cracks down on misclassification
of some workers in the trucking and courier
industry, which one of the law’s sponsors,
Rep. Sheldon Johnson (DFL-St Paul), called
a “huge problem” in Minnesota.

He said 14 percent of Minnesota employers
— and 35 percent of a sampling of those in
the trucking industry — wrongly misclassify
some workers as independent contractors not
subject to withholding taxes, Social Security
or health insurance benefits, although in
practice they’re treated as employees who
may be required to wear company uniforms,
attend trainings and adhere to a company
schedule.

The law, effective Aug, 1, 2009, also lays out
criteria for when an operator in the trucking
and messenger/courier industry is considered
an employee or as an independent contractor.
There are seven factors that must all be present
for a worker to be considered an independent
contractor, Some of the factors include when
the individual:

» owns the equipment or holds it under a bona
fide lease arrangement;

* is responsible for the equipment’s mainte-
nance;

* pays for the operating costs;
« substantially controls the means and manner
of the service performance; and
+ enters into a written contract specifying that
the relationship is one of an independent
contraction and not that of an employee.
Sen. David Tomassoni (DFL-Chisholm) is the
Senate sponsor,
HF813/SF910*/CH89

Policies focus on renewables,
conservation

A new law lays out policy changes regarding

energy development and usage.
Sponsored by Rep. Bill Hilty (DFL-Finlayson)
and Sen. Yvonne Prettner Solon (DFL-
Duluth), most of the law is effective May 20,
2009.

Beginning July 1, 2009, and appropriated
annuallythrough 2012, $5 million isearmarked
for the Initiative for Renewable Energy and the
Environment at the University of Minnesota.
The funds are to study environmentally
sound production of energy from renewable
sources, energy storage methods, development
of energy conservation and utilization
technologies, and to analyze policy options.
An annual report is due to the Legislature,
(Sec. 2)

When setting utility rates, the Public
Utilities Commission may consider the
impact of energy conservation. The law
removes direct compensation to utilities for
lost revenues because of energy conservation
and instead allows the commission to adopt
new incentive mechanisms, (Sec. 7)

The new law includes policies that enable
state-of-the-art utility planning and designing
of the Central Corridor light rail transit
zone, which extends from the Union Depot
in St. Paul to the proposed multimodal
transit station in Minneapolis, Xcel Energy,
the electric utility provider for the area,
has revealed plans to build a multi-source
infrastructure using renewable energy
delivery methods along the corridor that the
company says will become a national model
for future transit projects. (Sec. 9)

Community-based energy development
gained ground with provisions to standardize
contracts and to allow the Mountain Iron
Economic Development Authority to form
a company to develop a C-BED project.
(Secs. 10, 34)

Various policy changes encourage increased
use of renewable energy by providers and
customers, For example, each utility or
cooperative electric association hasan annual
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energy savings goal. The new law allows them
to carryover energy savings, especially those
earned from electric infrastructure projects,
which may now be carried over for five years,
(Sec. 15)

A natural gas utility will be allowed to
count biomethane purchases toward its energy
conservation credits. (Sec. 17)

A municipal or rural electric association
may request authority from the PUC to use up
to 10 percent of its total energy conservation
expenditures for solar energy installations in
order to meet customer demand. (Sec. 19)

Minneapolis and St. Paul, designated as
solar cities under the U.S, Department of
Energy Solar America Initiative, must submit
reports by Oct. 1,2009, and Oct. 1, 2010, to the
Legislative Energy Commission containing
strategies to accelerate the rate of solar
thermal and solar electric energy installations
in all building types throughout the state.
(Sec. 35)

Each January, the commerce commissioner
must provide a written report to the Legislature
describing what electric transmission
infrastructure is needed in the state for the
following 15 years. The report should also
describe any progress being made to meet
the estimated needs of the state, as well as any
barriers. (Sec. 28)

In addition, annual legislative reports must
include proposals for the use of solar energy
and the combustion of grasses, agricultural
wastes, trees and other vegetation to produce
thermal energy for heating commercial,
industrial and residential buildings, if the
commerce and public utilities commissioners
think it will help the state achieve its goal for
reducing greenhouse gas emissions. (Sec. 29)

The PUC, in consultation with the Office of
Energy Security, is to study alternative forms
of utility rate regulations. The study, due the
Legislature by June 30, 2010, must address
methods to improve customer understanding
of automatic cost-recovery mechanisms. (Sec.
33)

HF863/SF550*/CH110

Energy upgrades planned with
stimulus funds

An unprecedented number of homes
throughout Minnesota will conserve more
energy and hundreds of jobs will be created
as a result of a new state law and federal
funding from the American Recovery and
Reinvestment Act of 2009,

Minnesota is expected to receive $196.75
million in federal stimulus money earmarked
for energy improvements. A law specifying
how the money will be spent is effective May
22, 2009.
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Weatherization of residential units, state
government buildings and public schools,
as well as incentives designed to advance
renewable energy efforts in the state are part
of the law sponsored by Rep. Jeremy Kalin
(DFL-North Branch) and Sen, Ellen Anderson
(DFL-St, Paul).

Hiring people for green jobs to perform
energy upgrades in schools and public housing
is expected to result in savings to the state’s
unemployment and utility coffers. Less than
3,800 homes are weatherized annually, but
that number could increase to 35,000 once
the federal dollars are received.

HF680/SF657*/CH138

Energy efficiency

Funds may be spent to weatherize low-
income rental units, shelters, abandoned and
foreclosed residential properties acquired and
rehabilitated by state agencies, The Housing
Finance Agency will coordinate loans, grants
and rebates for energy improvements to
qualified residents, including energy efficient
window installation. (Art. 2, Secs. 1-2)

Competitive grants will be awarded by
Sept. 1, 2009, to organizations that will
perform energy consetrvation community
outreach; local governments may apply for
block grants to plan for and implement energy
upgrades; Department of Education staff will
help prioritize school district projects that
optimize energy savings and improve the
learning environment for students; and state
government buildings will receive lighting
upgrades, window repair or replacement
and other energy upgrades A report to the
Legislature on state government building
renovations is due by Jan. 15, 2011, and
annually thereafter, (Art. 2, Secs. 5-8).

Minnesota will develop plans for a national
energy efficiency center designed “to test
energy efficiency equipment and systems to
measure actual energy savings performance,
to provide an ongoing assessment of energy
efficiency best practices, and to coordinate
with appropriate public and private entities
to disseminate information and provide
training on technology developments and
best practices.” Stakeholders will include
the Center for Energy and the Environment,
the Minnesota Center for Engineering
and Manufacturing Excellence, and the
Minnesota Technical Assistance Program
at the University of Minnesota. (Art. 2, Sec.
13)

Renewable energy

A combination of grants and rebates
will be used to entice and accelerate the
use of renewable energy sources, including

establishment of a program that will
provide grants to businesses “to assist
in the development of renewable energy
systems, energy storage systems, geothermal
energy systems for heating and cooling, and
businesses that manufacture components for
these type of energy systems in the state.” (Art.
3, Sec. 6)

Rebate programs will be a catalyst to
encourage the use of renewable resources,
such as solar or geothermal production of
electricity. Both homeowners and businesses
may be eligible for rebates on solar energy
installations. (Art. 3, Secs. 2-3) °

Schools, park districts, port authorities
and local governments will be able to submit
financing proposals to the commerce
commissioner to help purchase and install
renewable energy systems or geothermal
heating and cooling systems. Among criteria
used when awarding grants includes projects
that use Minnesota-manufactured parts,
those that will reduce greenhouse gas
emissions and geographic diversity of grant
recipients. Schools that accept these grants
must also include information about their
renewable energy project into their education
curriculum, (Art, 3, Sec. 5)

A grant will be issued to the City of Kennedy
to convert a former school building to use
wind, solar and geothermal energy and to
house a renewable energy business center.
(Art. 3, Sec. 7)

Commercial and industrial sector

The St. Paul Port Authority will receive a
grant to establish a revolving loan fund for
sub-grants to Xcel Energy commercial and
industrial customers in the state “to provide
for the design, financing, and installation
of energy efficiency improvements and
renewable energy systems in commercial
facilities, industrial facilities, and facilities
owned by a nonprofit.” (Art. 4, Sec. 1)

Grants will be made available to economic
development authorities or owners of
commercial and industrial facilities that
want to make energy efficient improvements,
such as installing devices that use renewable
energy sources to generate electricity or to
heat or cool a building. Projects that begin
operation prior to July 1, 2009, are ineligible.
(Art. 4, Sec. 2)

Other provisions

The commerce commissioner must notify
the Legislature when releasing grants greater
than $25,000. Contracts funded by the
federal stimulus dollars must, to the extent
practicable, ensure that bidding contractors
are qualified and participate in apprentice
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and training programs for the work being
performed. (Art. 1, Secs. 1-2)

The commercecommissioner, inconjunction
with the Department of Employment and
Economic Development, the Office of Higher
Education and the Minnesota State Colleges
and Universities systemn, is directed to develop
and implement a plan to train the workforce
that will perform the energy efficient
projects. Hiring practices should target
the unemployed, especially communities
experiencing disproportionately high rates
of unemployment. The commissioner
must ensure access to training for low-
income persons who otherwise would be
unable to afford the training for residential
weatherization jobs. Quarterly progress
reports are due the Legislature by Sept. 1,
2009, Jan. 15, 2010, April 1, 2010, and Sept. 1,
2010, (Art. 5, Secs. 1-2)

Stimulus funds for clean water

A new law, effective April 9, 2009, amends
current laws governing Public Facilities
Authority loans from the Clean Water and
the Drinking Water revolving funds.

The clean water fund is expecting $82.56
- million and the drinking water fund is
expecting $24.57 million in funds from the
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act
of 2009, and the law lays out guidelines for
dispensation of the funds,

According to the law:

+ 50 percent of the total funds must be pro-
vided as grants;

+a minimum of 20 percent of the total funds
must be used for projects that address
“green” infrastructure, energy and water
efficiency improvements or other environ-
mentally innovative activities; and

* projects must be listed on either the Pollution

Control Agency wastewater/stormwater or

Department of Health drinking water project

priority lists.

Rep. Kory Kath (DFL-Owatonna) and Sen.
Dennis Prederickson (R-New Ulm) sponsor
the law.

HF1756/SF1329%*/CH16

Environment and energy law
appropriates $737 million

Gov. Tim Pawlenty signed most of a $737
million environment and natural resources
appropriations law, with the exception of one
line-item veto,

The law helps pay for work performed by,
among others, the Pollution Control Agency,
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Department of Natural Resources and the
Board of Soil and Water Resources and the
Public Utilities Commission It also supports
the Minnesota Zoo and the Science Museum
of Minnesota, and lays a foundation for
recording toxic chemicals found in children’s
products.

The law requires that departments and
agencies that receive state appropriations
display their budgets on a Web site, making
their financing transparent to the general
public.

Pawlenty vetoed a $15 million appropriation
for surface water assessment and monitoring,
saying he recommends a more appropriate
source of funding, “My budget recommended
that these important activities be funded
from the Clean Water Fund, using proceeds
from the new Constitutional Amendment,”
Pawlenty wrote in his veto letter.

The act is effective July 1, 2009, unless
otherwise noted. :

Rep. Jean Wagenius (DFL-Mpls) and
Sen. Ellen Anderson (DFL-St. Paul) are the
$ponsors.

HF2123%*/SF2099/CH37

Natural resources
Nearly $489.13 million was appropriated

to the Department of Natural Resources as

follows::

* $135 million for fish and wildlife
management;

* $134.74 million for parks and trails man-
agement, including $100,000 to provide
downloadable GPS coordinates and river
gauge data interpretation;

+ $77.8 million for forest management, in-
cluding money to prevent forest fires and
invasive species on state forest land;

+ $62.98 million for enforcement activity;

+ $28.35 million for ecological services;

+ $23.46 million for water resources manage-
ment;

+ $20.8 million for land and mineral resources
management; and

+$5.93 million for operations support, includ-
ing $320,000 for grants to both the Como
and Duluth zoos.

By Oct. 1, 2009, the DNR must develop
“an adequate groundwater level monitoring
network of wells in the 11-county metropolitan
area. ... The network must be sufficient to
ensure that water use in the metropolitan
area does not harm ecosystems, degrade water
quality, or compromise the ability of future
generations to meet their own needs.” (Art.
1, Sec. 4)

Other appropriations include $17.76
million to the Metropolitan Council for parks
operation and maintenance; $13.45 million
for the Minnesota Zoo; $2.3 million for the

Science Museum of Minnesota; and $1.89
million for the Minnesota Conservation
Corps. (Art. 1, Secs. 5-9)

Effective May 8, 2009, state recreation land
classified as a unit of the outdoor recreation
system cannot be sold to balance the state
budget. (Art. 1, Sec. 25)

A competitive grant program is established
to help political subdivisions increase
composting, reduce organic waste entering
disposal facilities and reduce waste hauling
costs. Each grant is to have an educational
component on the methods and benefits of
composting. '

Beginning Jan. 1, 2010, residents may not
put yard waste in plastic bags that are not
certified as compostable by the American
Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). A
city whose population exceeds 100,000 people
and has an organized collection system for
source separated compostable materials is
exempt until Jan. 1, 2013,

The manufacture or importation into
Minnesota of a plastic bag for sale labeled
“biodegradable,” “degradable,” or a similar
term, or labeled in any way that implies that
the plastic bag will biodegrade, is prohibited
unless a scientifically based standard for
biodegradability is developed and the plastic
bag is certified as meeting that standard. Bags
labeled “compostable” must meet ASTM
specifications for compostable plastics.
This is effective Jan. 1, 2010, A report on
the mixed municipal solid waste diversion
rates accomplished by the composting grant
program is due the Legislature by Jan. 15,
2012, (Art, 1, Secs. 3, 43, 44, 57)

Effective May 8, 2009, the so-called “Toxic
Free Kids Act” requires the Minnesota
Department of Health, by July 1, 2010,
to generate a list of toxic chemicals of
high concern found in children’s projects.
Minnesota “may cooperate with other states
in an interstate chemicals clearinghouse
regarding chemicals in consumer products.”
The law stops short of requiring the agency to
ban products or require safer alternatives by
manufactures. Two interim reports are due
the Legislature by Jan. 15, 2010 and a final
report is due by Dec. 15, 2010. (Art. 1, Secs.
47-52, 63)

Fish consumption advisory signs must be
displayed in at least four languages, including
English, to “fairly represent the population of
the state.” (Art. 1, Sec. 67)

Licensing and permits

Consumers will be able to purchase gift
cards and certificates from the DNR that may
be used to buy licenses, permits, products or
services. The cards will be valid until used.
(Art. 1, Sec. 11)
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Effective Jan. 1, 2010, the law prohibits a
nonresident from operating an all-terrain
vehicle on a state or grant-in-aid trail unless
carrying a nonresident ATV state trail pass.
Establishes a $20 annual fee for the pass
that will be valid from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31.
Fee proceeds will be deposited in the ATV
account, except for the commission received
by the department from the electronic
licensing system that must be used for grants-
in-aid to counties and municipalities for ATV
organizations to construct and maintain ATV
trails and use areas. An exception is provided
for federal, state or other AT Vs, or those being
operated only on a portion of a trail that is
owned by the ATV operator or that person’s
spouse, child or parent. (Art. 1, Sec, 18)

Any veteran with a total and permanent
service-connected disability, as determined
by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs,
is given free entrance to state parks, (Art. 1,
Sec. 21)

Effective Jan. 1, 2010, commercial horse
riding establishments can purchase annual
trail passes instead of daily passes. The fee for
a commercial annual horse trail pass is $200
and includes issuance of 15 passes, Additional
passes can be bought for $20 each. (Art. 1,
Secs. 22-24)

The following application fees are
established for new permits to mine: $25,000
for a taconite mining operation; $50,000 for
a nonferrous metallic minerals operation;
$10,000 for a scram mining operation; and
$5,000 for a peat operation.,

The law also establishes annual permits
to mine: $60,000 for a taconite mining
operation; $75,000 for a nonferrous metallic
minerals mining; $5,000 for a scram mining
operation; and $1,000 for a peat mine, The
amount of the fee is half the applicable
amount if the mine had no production in the
previous calendar year. (Art. 1, Secs. 27, 31)

Air, water quality

Nearly $4.7 million allocated for the clean
water partnership program. As a condition
of using state funds to prevent further water
degradation, funded recipients must plant
vegetation or sow seed only of alocal ecotype,
whenever possible.

To prevent water pollution on farms
and feedlots, nearly $4.33 million is made
available; $2.5 million is allocated for
assessment and monitoring of lakes, rivers
and streams; counties may be eligible to
receive part of the $750,000 in state grants
to inventory subsurface sewage treatment
systems and individual septic tanks; and
$500,000 is allocated in fiscal year 2010 “to
develop minimal impact design standards for
urban storm water runoff,” (Art, 1, Sec, 3)
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There is also a $24 million biennial
appropriation for air quality projects, such as
studying ambient air for hazardous pollutants
and greenhouse gas emissions, Effective May
8, 2009, the PCA must establish a system for
reporting and maintaining an inventory of
greenhouse gas emissions.

The PCA will receive $7.23 million and work
with the Department of Agriculture to cleanup
soil and water contaminated by leaking
underground storage tanks, a task largely
funded through a dedicated remediation
account. In areas of contamination, $1
million is dedicated to environmental health
monitoring and biomonitoring of a sample of
the population, including “indigenous people
and people of color.” paid for through money
transferred into the Department of Health.
(Art. 1, Sec-. 3)

BWSR is to receive $30.96 million, including
$7.8 million for natural resources block
grants to local governments, $7 million for
soil and water conservation districts, $1
million for feedlot water quality grants for
feedlots under 300 animal units where there
are impaired waters and another $1 million
for implementation and enforcement of the
Wetland Conservation Act. (Art.1, Sec. 5)

The PCA is to develop standards or
other tools to enable and promote low
impact development and other stormwater
management techniques. (Art, 1, Sec, 37)

Energy
Energyappropriationsin thelaw total almost
$61.18 million spread between the Commerce
Department and Public Utilities Commission.
Besides the General Fund, money is derived
from the Petroleum Cleanup Fund, Worker’s
Compensation, Telecommunications Access
Minnesota and special revenue accounts.
Included in the $8.21 million for the Office
of Energy Security is $1.98 million for grants
“to promote renewable energy projects and
community energy outreach and assistance,”
Another $250,000 is available to cover up to
75 percent of the cost of E-85 fuel pumps,
Italso includes $1.25 million for community
energy teéchnical assistance and outreach on
renewable energy; $400,000 for financial
rebates for new solar electricity products;
$300,000 for the Natural Resources and
Research Institute at the University of
Minnesota, Duluth, to develop statewide heat
flow maps that may be used to determine
the state’s geothermal energy potential; and
$25,000 to “manage a stakeholder process on
green jobs that would integrate the work of the
state Green Jobs Task Force and the mayors’
initiative on green manufacturing.”
Halfofthe $1.2 million in telecommunications
access will pay for a Legislative Coordinating

Commission grant to provide captioning of
live streaming of legislative sessions on the
commission’s Web site. The information will
also be supplied in American Sign Language
on the Web site for the Commission of Deaf,
DeafBlind, and Hard-of-Hearing Minnesotans.
The other $600,000 is to supplement ongoing
expenses of the Minnesota Commission
Serving Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing People.
(Art, 2, Secs. 3, 4)

Effective May 8, 2009, the law allows for
multi-state agency collaboration “to advise,
promote, market and coordinate state agency
collaboration on green enterprise and green
economy projects.” The objective is to utilize
existing resources to expedite grants, licenses,
permits and other approvals for green projects.
(Art. 2, Sec. 7)

In addition, effective May 8, 2009, state
agencies will study the feasibility of bulk
installation of solar photovoltaic panels on
school buildings. The study will use a power-
purchase agreement model in which a private
company will pay for, install and own the
panels. A feasibility study, which is to include
whether the proposed model will reduce
carbon emissions and save school districts
money, is due to the Legislature by Jan. 15,
2010. (Art. 2, Sec. 12)

Unused money from a 2008 appropriation
for the rural and energy development
revolving loan fund is reallocated so that $1.5
million goes to the International Renewable
Energy Technology Institute at Minnesota
State University, Mankato “to support
applied research in renewable energy and
energy efficiency to aid in the transfer of
technology from Sweden to Minnesota and
to support technology commercialization
from companies located in Minnesota and
throughout the world.”

The University of Minnesota will receive the
balance of the unused money “to fund start
up costs related to a national solar testing and
certification laboratory to test, rate and certify
the equipment and devices that utilize solar
energy for heating.and cooling air and water
for generating electricity.” (Art. 2, Sec. 13)

Commerce, township mutual fire provisions

The law amends regulations of the
Department of Commerce having to do
with regulation of banks, mortgage lenders,
insurance companies and other financial
institutions,

It makes state banking law the same as the
federal law for national banks on how long a
state-chartered bank can hold onto real estate
acquired through a mortgage foreclosure or
other debt collection process. In addition
to the five years that a bank may now keep
real estate, the law allows keeping it for up
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to five more years, with the approval of the
commissioner of commerce, if the bank has
not been able to sell it or if disposing it within
the first five years would be detrimental to the
bank. (Art. 3, Sec, 5)

The initial education requirement to obtain
and maintain a mortgage originator license is
increased from 15 to 20 hours, and eight hours
of annual continuing education and testing
are added to the licensure requirements.
This is effective for license applications and
renewals made on or after Sept. 1, 2009.
(Art. 3, Sec. 8)

Effective Jan, 1, 2010, the law adopts detailed
auditing requirements as tools to regulate the
financial solvency of insurance companies,
as required by the National Association of
Insurance Commissioners. (Art, 3, Sec. 11)

Seven sections address statutes governing
township mutual fire insurance companies
— small mutual companies that provide
fire insurance in rural areas consisting of
authorized adjoining townships.

It requires that the territories must consist
of adjoining counties, rather than adjoining
townships. A township mutual can operate
in up to 9 adjoining counties, or in up to
20 adjoining counties if it meets the higher
financial reserves requirements. Township
mutuals are permitted to write insurance
in cities of less than 25,000, but if a city in
which it is writing insurance grows to exceed
25,000, it may continue to write both new
and renewal insurance there, Writing new
and renewal insurance in cities of up to
150,000 is permitted with the approval of the
commissioner of commerce,

A township mutual that had insurance
in force on Dec. 31, 2007 in a city with a
population between 25,000 and 150,000
within its authorized territory can continue
to write insurance there by simply filing
amended articles of incorporation by July 31,
2010. (Art. 3, Secs. 18-24)

Debt management services

The law updates laws that regulate debt
management service providers and includes
new regulations on debt settlement services
providers. Such providers manage a debtor’s
debt payments by distributing regular
payments to creditors from debtor-provided
funds, where the primary purpose is to repay
the debts in full over a longer period of time,
These providers try to negotiate with creditors
to get debts reduced, so that debts may be paid
in full satisfaction of the (reduced) debts.

The law makes nonprofit debt settlement
providers subject to the state’s “do not call list,”
regardless of the exemption for other types of
nonprofit organizations. (Art. 4, Sec. 5)

A pair of existing definitions are amended
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in the law. A “controlling or affiliated party”
is updated to better cover relationships
between individuals and entities, where one
controls the other or in which both are under
the common control of another individual or
entity. A “debt services provider” is updated
to include a person to whom duties under a
debt management services agreement or debt
management services plan are delegated. (Art.
4, Secs, 7, 8)

The law requires a debt management services
agreement to show whether the provider is
registered with the Commerce Department,
show the registration number and be written
in the customer’s native language if the debt
management services provider advertised in
that language. (Art. 4, Sec. 15)

Debt settlement service providers are
required to register with the commissioner
of commerce, and a process for doing so is
established. (Art, 4, Secs, 20, 21)

A debt settlement services provider is
required to keep records of its activities and
provide them to the Commerce Department
or the debtor as required. The department
is permitted to investigate the activities of a
debt settlement services provider, including
by requiring a financial audit. (Art. 4,
Secs. 25, 31)

Sewage treatment regulations
modified

Home sellers with subsurface sewage
treatment systems are subject to new
regulations, as are the people who install,
repair or close a system, according to a new law
sponsored by Rep. Jeanne Poppe (DFL-Austin)
and Sen, Lisa Fobbe (DFL-Zimmerman).

It takes effect Aug. 1, 2009.

The definition of an individual sewage
treatment system is redefined as a subsurface
sewage treatment system. Rules that regulate
subsurface sewage treatment systems are
broadened to include closure, in addition
to the design, location, installation and
maintenance of a system. (Sec. 1)

A person who services or abandons all or
part of a system is added to the list of persons
who must comply with applicable state
requirements. The list already includes those
who design, install, alter, repair, maintain,
pump or inspect a system. Additional fraud,
illegal activity, conflict of interest and failure
to resolve an enforcement action with a local,
state or federal agency is added to the list of
reasons for which an SSTS license may be
revoked. (Secs. 4, 12)

Systems will be subject to inspection when
addinga bedroom onto a residence if the local
government requires a building permit. A
certificate of compliance or noncompliance
must be issued by the inspector, which may

be either an inspection business or a certified
local government inspector. Video, electronic
or photographic evidence of an inspection will
notbe accepted as evidence of an inspection, A
certified professional, be they an employee or
contractor with a government agency, may not
use that position to solicit business for their
private enterprise. (Sec. 5)

Home sellers must tell buyers any pertinent
information related to-the residence’s sewage
treatment system and must provide a copy
of a previous inspection report, if available.
(Sec. 8)

The Pollution Control Agency can adopt
new rules containing standards of certification
for individuals and businesses that work
with subsurface sewage treatment systems.
(Sec. 10)

New certification andlicensing requirements
include submission of general liability
insurance, a corporate surety bond of at least
$10,000 and the name of the individual who
will be the designated certified individual
for that business. The bond may be for
both plumbing work and subsurface sewage
treatment work, (Sec, 11)

Any person contracting to perform
plumbing work must post at least a $25,000
bond to the state to work on subsurface sewage
treatment systems. (Sec. 13)

HF1275*/SF1449/CH109

LCCMR projects approved

Each year, the Legislative-Citizen
Comumission on Minnesota Resources makes
funding recommendations for the use of
funds from the Environment and Natural
Resources Trust Fund, which receives funds
from the state’s lottery and other funds, The
commission receives proposals for a number
of environmental projects, reviews them, and
submits its list of recommended projects to
the legislature in the form of a bill that serve
as the basis of a new law.

This new law, sponsored by Rep. Jean
Wagenius (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Ellen
Anderson (DFL-St. Paul), appropriates $26
million for various projects.

More than $12.8 million from the trust
fund is available for partnerships and grants.
For example, the University of Minnesota
and the Department of Natural Resources
will split $500,000 to study the effect that
development has on coldwater springs and
trout streams.

Those receiving funding include Pheasants
Forever, Minnesota Deer Hunters Association,
Ducks Unlimited, National Wild Turkey
Federation and others who purchase
conservation easements and who restore and
maintain wildlife habitats.
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Nearly $2.7 million will pay for conducting
geological atlas surveys to study groundwater,
including the Mt. Simon aquifer in south-
central Minnesota. Though some county
surveys have been completed and paid for
through other funding sources, the LCCMR
money will speed up the data collection of
water, soil and wetlands throughout the state.
Soil surveys also are paid for through local and
federal cost-share programs.

Another $2 million from the trust fund is
available for a demonstration project by the
Center for Energy and Environment, which
is charged with developing a new residential
energy conservation program.

The Renville Soil and Water Conservation
District will receive $1.5 million to purchase
perpetual easements in addition to its current
14,000 acres of conservation easements,
particularly where there are unique
outcroppings of granite rock along the Upper
Minnesota River Valley.

Others receiving funds include:

+  Science Museum of Minnesota for the St
Croix watershed research station; and

+  Metro Blooms, Minnehaha Creek Water-
shed District and the City of Minneapolis
for rain gardens to improve water in Pow-
derhorn Lake.

The new law specifies that plant vegetation
only of native ecotypes to Minnesota and
preferably of the local ecotype be used when
conducting prairie and other restorations.
The use of local stock within a few miles of
the area being restored helps prevent genetic
contamination and leads to more success for
restoration projects, according to scientific
studies relied upon by lawmakers.

HF2049/SF1012*/CH143

Shoreland regulation changes

A new law is designed to address the
longstanding problem of DNR shoreland
regulations preventing owners of property
on legal nonconforming lots from selling or
otherwise using their land as they see fit. Rep.
Mike Nelson (DFL-Brooklyn Park) and Sen.
Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope) are the sponsors,

Local governments are responsible for
implementing DNR shoreland management
standards designed to protect the water
quality of lakes and other environmental
factors. These rules can negatively impact
owners of properties that were legally built but
that no longer conform to current shoreland
regulations.

The new law establishes shoreland rules
based on a 2008 compromise reached by a
working group comprised of DNR officials,
local governments, realtors and others.

Contiguous nonconforming lots under
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common ownership can be sold or purchased
individually, as long as each had a habitable
residential dwelling when it came under
common ownership, under the law. This
addresses a problem of owners of two adjacent
properties being prevented from selling one
of them.

A provision in the law addresses problems
faced when buildings on nonconforming
shoreline lots are damaged to the extent of
more than 50 percent of their market value,
If the lot has less than 50 percent of the
required setback from water, the law states
that the setback may be increased if reasonable
and conditions are placed on the zoning or

- building permit to mitigate impacts on the

adjacent property or water body.
Other provisions in the law include;

» allowing building on nonconforming lots
without variances from lot size require-
ments, under certain conditions;

+ specifying that lots that meet certain re-
quirements are treated as separate parcels
of land even if they are under common
ownership; and

+ requiring property owners to address
water and environmental issues when ap-
plying for a variance, zoning or building
permit.

The law is effective May 22, 2009.
HF519*/SF747/CH149

Better data access for health care

agents

Because the state has not updated its declaration

language to conform with federal Health

Insurance Portability and Accountability Act

(HIPAA) standards, a situation exists where

the person who is to make medical decisions

does not always have access to all medical
information necessary to advise a health care
practitioner on treatment.

Under current law, directory information
about a patient admitted to a public hospital,
when a patient is unable to communicate,
cannot be released until a reasonable effort is
made to notify the patient’s next of kin. The
law adds a health care agent to the notification
standard.

Sponsored by Rep. Joe Mullery (DFL-Mpls)
and Sen. John Marty (DFL-Roseville) the law
that takes effect Aug. 1, 2009, also:

+ provides a health care agent access to medical
data of a deceased patient or client;

+ allows a certified birth or death record to
be provided to a health care agent upon
proper attestation;

+ lets a health care agent enter an isolation

or quarantine area where the patient is
located; and

« requires a health care agent to be notified
if the patient is admitted to a nursing
or boarding care facility prior to being
screened, committed to or discharged from
a treatment facility, transferred from one
treatment facility to another or in the event
a facility operated by the Human Services
Department is modified.

Under the law, a trafficaccident report from
the state or local law enforcement agency
must be provided, upon request, to a person
who is physically injured, suffers damage to
property, loses a means of support or “incurs
other pecuniary loss” due to the accident,

HF1448/SF1887*/CH108

Marriage laws are updated

A person under age 21 can get married in
Minnesota, but someone under that age will
no longer be able to perform the ceremony.

That is one provision in a new law that
makes modifications to the state statutes
governing marriage. It takes effect Aug. 1,
2009.

Current law would allow someone of
any age to potentially become a licensed or
ordained minister of any religion over the
Internet and perform a marriage.

Sponsored by Rep. Debra Hilstrom (DFL-
Brooklyn Center) and Sen, Don Betzold (DFL-
Fridley), the law also removes a requirement
on a marriage application about any children
the couple has together, The confidential
information is currently collected; although
nothing is done with it. Supporters said
there is no point to spending money to
track the information when it is not used for
anything,

If an individual applies for a marriage
license, but does not have a Social Security
number, they must certify they do not have
one,

Premarital education gets a couple a
discount on their license fee. The law requires
that proof of the class must be notarized.
Currently a handwritten note or an e-mail is
sufficient for the reduced rate.

It also makes changes to clarify that the
local registrar is the custodian of marriages,
not the court administrator; clarifies that the
person performing the marriage must ensure
the people getting married are the people for
whom the license is intended; clarifies that
both parties must apply for the marriage
license, but it creates an application process if
one of the parties is not available; and requires
that a consent form be signed by parents ifa
minor is being married.

HF695/SF548*/CH129
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Juvenile data collection uniformity

Data collection about decisions that affect
a child’s status within the juvenile justice
system could occur more uniformly,

A new law requires a criminal and juvenile
justice information policy group to “study
the feasibility of collecting and reporting
summary data relating to the decisions that
affect a child’s status within the juvenile justice
system.” A report is due to the Legislature by
Feb. 15, 2010,

Rep. Debra Hilstrom (DFL-Brooklyn
Center), who sponsors the law with Sen. Mee
Moua (DFL-St. Paul), said current data is
not collected in a uniform way resulting in it
not being very useful, The study will look at
ways to make collection more uniform so that
better decisions can be made on how to use
criminal justice resources with juveniles.

The study must consider data to be collected,
such as age, race, gender, criminal charge and
county of residence; the decision points at
which data must be collected; criminal and
juvenile justice agencies required to supply
data; the repository for data; level of summary
analysis; frequency of reporting; plan to
implement data collection, reporting and
analysis; and costs.

A pilot project to study and report on all state
expenditures “that serve the primary function
of supporting the health, safety, stability,
growth, development and education of children
in this state” is called for in the law.

Hilstrom said current financial tracking
does not allow the state to differentiate
how much money is spent on children and
juveniles within different areas. An electronic
version of the executive summary is due to the
Legislature by Jan. 15, 2010.

The pilot project language takes effect
July 1, 2009; the study language takes effect
Aug. 1, 2009.

HF702*/SF561/CH132

Ratings charitable gaming outlays

Organizations receiving charitable gambling
receipts are suffering their own economic
downturn.

Some changes to statute would help keep
the “struggling organizations afloat,” said
Rep. Joe Atkins (DFL-Inver Grove Heights),
who sponsors a new law with Sen. Tony Lourey
(DFL-Kerrick).

The law makes technical changes to
statutes regarding licensing and auditing
requirements. It also establishes a star-rating
system, “so that people can compare how
much money is actually given to charitable
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organizations through the pull tabs they are

purchasing,” Atkins said.

Beginning July 1, 2009, when most of the
law takes effect, the Minnesota Gambling
Control Board will conduct a 12-month review
of licensed organizations, rating them based
on the percentage of lawful expenditures as
compared to gross profits,

An organization that expends at least 50
percent of gross profits on charitable purposes
will receive the highest rating — five stars. An
organization that fails to expend at least 30
percent of annual gross profits on charitable
purposes is automatically on probation for one
year. The organization must increase its rating
to a minimum of 30 percent or be subject to
sanctions by the board. If an organization
fails to meet the minimum standard after a
one-year probation, the board may suspend
the organization’s license or impose a civil
penalty of up to $10,000. (Sec. 13)

Under the law, the list of allowable
expenditures for charitable gambling receipts
is expanded to include:

* monitoring of surface water quality by
individuals or a nongovernmental orga-
nization, under Pollution Control Agency
guidance and procedures; and

+ construction or acquisition of a replace-
ment licensed organization’s building that
is in compliance with the Americans with
Disabilities Act if the board has specifi-
cally approved the amount. This provision
could extend to an organization-owned
building taken or sold under an eminent
domain proceeding. (Sec. 10)

The law also calls for a licensed charitable
organization to pay a monthly regulatory fee
of 0.1 percent of its gross monthly gambling
receipts. These fees will be deposited into the
state’s lawful gambling regulation account.
Failure to pay the monthly regulatory fees in
a timely manner may result in disciplinary
action by the board.

Licensed organizations will be given more
leeway to conduct lawful gambling at events
off-premise. If approved by the board, an
organization could hold lawful gaming at up to
four events per year in connection with a county
fair, state fair, church festival or civic celebration,
not to exceed three days per event

The law lays out restrictions on who may
participate in lawful gambling. Most notably,
it would be considered a misdemeanor for
any licensed organization or its employee to
allow any person under age 18 to participate in
lawful gambling. An organization’s gambling
managet, employee or volunteer involved with
the lawful gaming activity or the lessor and
the immediate family may not participate in
the activity. (Sec. 45).

HF1511/SF1284*/CH124

Game, fish and forest regulations
updated

The omnibus game, fish and forestry law
includes new regulations related to fishing
and hunting, all-terrain vehicle and watercraft
usage, plus uses for parks and state trails.

Sponsored by Rep. David Dill (DFL-Crane
Lake) and Sen. Satveer Chaudhary (DFL-
Fridley), the law is effective July 1, 2009, unless
otherwise noted.

HF1237*/SF1110/CH176

Natural resources

Effective Aug. 1, 2009, all-terrain vehicle
drivers are subject to new penalties designed
to protect wetlands and other environmentally
sensitive areas. Violations are a gross
misdemeanor and may result in license
suspension and/or the seizure of the vehicle
upon a second offense, A total of $20,000 from
three dedicated funds will pay for developing
the new off-highway vehicle offense process.
(Art. 1, Secs. 4-5)

Off-highway motorcycle riders under age 16
used to be required to ride alongside another
rider age 18 or older, which prevented them
from legally participating in track-style events.
The law is revised so that they may now ride
while simply under adult supervision. (Art. 1,
Secs. 6)

The Casey Jones Trail is extended in Rock
County, and the Des Moines River Valley Trail
is created in Jackson, Cottonwood and Murray
counties. According to the law, “The trail shall
originate in Jackson County at the Minnesota-
Iowa border and connect with the Dickinson
Trail in Mini-Wakan State Park in Iowa. To
the greatest extent possible, the trail shall
follow the Des Moines River Valley, extending
northwesterly through Jackson County to
Kilen Woods State Park, through Cottonwood
County, and into Murray County. The trail
shall terminate at Casey Jones Trail in Murray
County.” (Art. 1, Secs. 10-11)

Several changes were made regarding state
parks. Visitors will now be able to request
multiple vehicle permits beyond the two
previously allowed. Vehicles carrying students
on school-sanctioned trips will not be charged
state park entry fees. A permit is no longer
required for anyone to enter John A. Latsch
State Park or Greenleaf Lake State Recreation
Area. (Art. 1, Secs. 12-15)

Department of Natural Resources’ staff
is given authority to build boater waysides,
with possible services to include sanitation
facilities, picnic and camping grounds,
mooring sites, fishing and swimming areas.
Watercraft operators will be required to safely
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move away from a law enforcement boat
that has its emergency lights activated and
maintain a slow-no wake speed while within
150 feet of the law enforcement watercraft.
(Art. 1, Secs. 17, 20)

Harvest season for wild rice, the official
state grain, will begin Aug, 15, rather than the
previous July 15 start date. The Sept. 30 end
date does not change. (Art. 1, Sec. 2)

The Board of Water and Soil Resources will
grow from 12 to 15 members to include city
and township representation. (Art. 1, Secs.
23-24)

Beginning Aug. 1, 2009, carbon
sequestration capabilities must be considered
when determining the value of wetlands. (Art.
1, Sec. 25)

Less restrictive language is put into law
regarding payments to landowners for
conservation easements, leaving more
discretionary privilege to a state agency. (Art.
1, Sec. 39)

Game and fish policies
The DNR is permitted to open or close a

body of water or portions of a body of water

for nighttime bow fishing as a pilot project,

(Art. 1, Sec. 1)

Dogs that pursue and/or kill big game
subject their owners to fines up to $500. The
law establishes an enforcement and appeals
process for dog owners to appeal any civil
penalties. (Art. 1, Sec. 21)

A licensed peace officer is allowed to kill
a protected wild animal in order to protect
public safety and must report the taking to
a conservation officer within 48 hours of the
taking, (Art. 1, Sec, 22)

Effective March 1, 2010, data collected
electronically for issuing state recreation
licenses is considered private data, although
some data maybe disclosed to law enforcement,
(Art. 2, Secs. 1, 4)

The law updates a number of fishing
policies, including;

* the minimum age of a resident is lowered
from 18 to 16 who may fish free during
“Take a Kid Fishing Weekend” when ac-
companied by a child under age 16;

+ when fishing from shore, anyone may fish
in water that is wholly contained within a
state park, except in waters that require a
trout stamp;

+ effective May 23, 2009, a resident under age
16 may net ciscoes and whitefish for per-
sonal consumption without a license;

+ residents discharged from active federal
military service during the preceding two
years may obtain a free license to hunt deer
of either sex;

*spearing of fish is added to the list of available
lifetime licenses, with exceptions;
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+ a nonresident license may be issued to spear
fish from a dark house; and

* people age 90 and older can fish without a
license, (Art. 2, Secs. 21-30, 33, 35)

The last provision is known as the “Irene
Long Act.” It is named for a 91-year-old Isle
woman who lives on a fixed income but enjoys
annual fishing. Long’s angling highlight is
catching a 43-inch muskie on Lake Mille
Lacs.

The cost of conducting fishing contests
is reduced and the cost-determining factor
switched from participants to the number
of boats. By March 1, 2011, a best practices
certification program for fishing contest
organizers shall be created to ensure the
proper handling and release of fish, (Art. 2,
Secs, 51-55)

The DNR is instructed to establish
minimum size limits for muskellunge and
muskellunge-northern pike hybrids caught
in inland waters. (Art. 2, Sec. 66)

Hunting policies are revised to allow anyone
to transport wild animals by common carrier
through the state if the person has the required
license, and if they are shipped to the person or
to a licensed taxidermist, tanner or fur buyer.
(Art. 2, Sec. 37)

Transporting guns and bows between
locations when hunting becomes easier as
long as the crossbow is not armed with a

bolt or arrow and the firearm is unloaded.

Several exceptions apply to the uncased gun
regulations, however, (Art. 2, Secs. 38-42)

Deer hunters will have a few more days in
2009 to hunt over the winter holidays because
lawmakers added to the season in a specific
zone so that students home on school break
or families together for the holidays could go
hunting together. (Art. 2, Sec, 68)

The time limit exemption is doubled, from
one to two hours beforelawful shooting hours,
for when a person may not place decoys in
public waters or on public lands. The decoys
may not be left unattended for more than
three hours in most cases, a reduction from
four hours. (Art. 2, Secs, 48-49)

Prior to the Saturday on or nearest to Sept.
16, bear hunters with a valid license may leave
their portable stand overnight in a wildlife
management area provided the owner’s name
and address is affixed so it can be read from
the ground. The stand must be within 100
yards of a bear bait site that is legally tagged
and registered. (Art. 2, Sec, 16)

After farmers complained of an abundant
elk population in northwestern Minnesota, the
DNR isrequired to devise an elk management
plan by Nov. 19, 2009, for Kittson, Marshall
and Roseau counties. (Art. 2, Sec. 65)

Grants of $150,000 in both fiscal years
2010 and 2011 will help the Let’s Go Fishing

of Minnesota organization provide outreach
to senior citizens, youth and veterans, The
funds require a match and oversight by the
DNR. (Art. 2, Sec. 70)

State land management

The law allows for the sale or purchase
of certain properties to reconcile trespass
issues; obtain easements, such as the buffer
zone around Camp Ripley; and to add or
detractland in and around state parks, (Art. 3,
Sec. 2)

A county auditor, with the approval of the
county board, may grant permits, licenses
and leases to tax-forfeited lands for facilities
needed to recover iron-bearing oxides from
tailings basins or stockpiles, or for a buffer
area needed for a mining operation for up to
25 years. (Art. 3, Sec. 6)

The DNR can lease land for up to 10 years as
an Iron Range off-highway vehicle recreation
area. (Art. 3, Sec. 7)

By Aug. 30, 2009, the DNR must have a
30-year lease of state land with the Mountain
Iron Economic Development Authority for
installation of up to four wind turbines and
access roads, (Art, 3, Sec. 12)

Between 2010 and 2011, the DNR will
increase the amount of timber products sold
from state lands under permits based solely on
the appraiser’s estimated timber volume. The
department must also evaluate the efficiency
of timber management methods used and
submit a report to the Legislature by Jan. 15,
2011. (Art. 5, Sec. 1)

As a pilot project, the DNR is permitted to
lease up to 10,000 acres of state forestland for
forest management to private investors for
up to 10 years. Each lease must not exceed
3,000 acres and the land must remain open
for public recreation uses. A report is due the
Legislature by Dec. 15, 2009, with details on
implementing the project no later than July 1,
2010. (Art. 5, Sec. 2)

The law provides for the public or private
sale of state-owned land. A legal description of
about 30 properties for sale in various counties
is included. (Art. 4, Secs. 1-31)

Bridge compensation fund modified

The compensation process for survivors of
the Interstate 35W bridge collapse is modified
by a new law.

Rep. Ryan Winkler (DFL-Golden Valley),
who sponsors the measure with Sen. Ron
Latz (DFL-St. Louis Park), said the law
protects members of a special master panel
from legal liability for duties they have been
assigned. It is retroactive to May 8, 2008, the

January 6, 2009




date the governor signed the law creating the

compensation process,

That 2008 law appropriated funds and
established a claims structure for survivors
of the Aug. 1, 2007, collapse that killed 13
people. The panel was charged with making
offers to each claimant by Feb. 28, 2009. In
return for accepting compensation, survivors
released the state from further liability. If they
choose not to accept compensation, they can
pursue a lawsuit against the state that would
be subject to all existing statutory terms and
conditions,

To alleviate some concerns raised by the
panel, the law:

* provides that records and data created by
panel members are not public, except for
the settlement agreement; '

+ prohibits a panel member from testifying in
any civil or administrative action related to
their service, unless testifying on a state-
ment or conduct that could constitute a
crime;

* clarifies the prohibition on third-party
subrogation and recovery claims; and

+ clarifies that panel members are
state employees for the purposes of
indemnification.

HF100/SF94*/CH4

Wasting less paper

Less paperwork without any less
transparency in government is the goal of
a new law that modifies state report and
document requirements,

Sponsored by Rep. Gene Pelowski, Jr. (DFL-
Winona) and Sen. Joe Gimse (R-Willmar),
the law will allow the Legislative Reference
Library to keep fewer print copies of mandated
legislative reports and eliminate certain other
paperwork requirements.

Effective Aug. 1, 2009, the library will be
required to keep on hand two print copies of
each mandated report to the Legislature; the
current requirement is six copies. In addition,
copies will no longer have to be filed with the
chief clerk of the House and the secretary of
the Senate,

Other eliminated mandates include:

+ that a print copy of the library’s monthly
checklist of state documents be distributed
to all legislators, state agencies and public
college and university libraries; and

+ that Minnesota Management and Budget
submit printed daily reports to the library
showing the balances of certain state ac-
counts,

The law will ensure that all documents
affected by the changes are available on the
library’s Web site.

HF801*/SF779/CH32
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Rulemaking by e-mail

A few simple changes to statute will allow
state agencies to give rulemaking notices via
e-mail instead of regular mail,

A new law allows state agencies to save
time, money and effort by using e-mail to give
notices when:

+ the Office of the Revisor of Statutes is pro-
posing style and form revisions of rules;
* a state agency is holding a public hearing on
proposed rules;
* a state agency is proposing to adopt rules
without holding a public hearing;
* a state agency is using an expedited process
to adopt proposed rules; and
+ a state agency is proposing to repeal obsolete
rules.
Rep. Gene Pelowski, Jr. (DFL-Winona) and
Sen. Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope) are the
Sponsors.
The law takes effect Aug, 1, 2009.
HF1857/SF532*/CH71

E-meetings for state agencies

State agencies can hold some meetings
electronically instead of in person — as long
as the public has access to the meetings.

Sponsored by Rep. Sheldon Johnson (DFL-
St. Paul) and Sen. Mee Moua (DFL-St. Paul),
a new law is designed to save state officials
money by allowing them meet via telephone
or other electronic means. It applies to all state
departments, boards, commissions and other
state government entities,

Johnson said the law will be especially
useful to members of boards or commissions
who live in Greater Minnesota and have
difficulty commuting to regular meetings.

“The whole intent is to provide more
openness and more flexibility for people to
participate,” Johnson said.

Under the law, agencies will be authorized
to meet via electronic means as long as the
following conditions are met:

+ allparticipants in the meeting must be able
to hear all discussion and testimony;

+ at least one member of the government
entity must be physically present at the
regular meeting location;

+ members of the public who are present at
the regular meeting location must be able
to hear all discussion and all votes of mem-
bers of the entity and be able to participate
in testimony; and

+ allvotes are conducted by roll call, so each
member’s vote on each issue can be identi-
fied and recorded.

The law also states that the board or agency
shall allow the public to access the meeting
electronically, to the extent practicable.
However, the entity may require a person

to pay for any “marginal costs” associated
with providing that access.

A state entity intending to conduct a
meeting in which members will participate
through electronic means must post public
notice on its Web site at least 10 days prior to
the event.

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009.

HF456/SF764*/CH80

Revising and updating statutes.

The yearly version of what is commonly
referred to as the Revisor’s Law corrects
typographical or grammatical errors, editorial
conflicts, ambiguities, omissions, cross-
references, obsolete or expired references,
miscellaneous drafting errors and any
other changes that need to be made to state
statutes.

Sponsored by Rep. Gail Kulick Jackson
(DFL-Milaca) and Sen. Mee Moua (DFL-St,
Paul), most of the law takes effect Aug. 1,
2009.

During the interim between sessions,
substantial editing and proofreading is done
to the Laws of Minnesota and Minnesota
Statutes. These changes, together with
requests for additional changes from other
state agencies, make up the law.

HF1171/SF1096*/CH86

Divesting from Iran

Companies that may be underwriting Iran’s
nuclear ambitions will no longer get any
business from the state of Minnesota,

A new law requires the State Board of
Investment to divest any assets it currently
holds with companies that do business
with or invest in Iran’s energy sector, The
board, which invests and manages the state’s
retirement funds and other accounts, will
have to sell or otherwise get rid of its stock
and/or bonds in those companies.

Sponsored by Rep. Ryan Winkler (DFL-
Golden Valley) and Sen. Terri Bonoff (DFL-
Minnetonka), the law is part of a broader
campaign to stop Iran from developing
nuclear weapons. The goal is to discourage
companies that could supply them with
the relevant technology and resources. Iran
is currently one of four nations the U.S.
government classifies as a state sponsor of
terrorism.

Under the law, effective Aug. 1, 2009, the
board will have 90 days to identify and compile
a list of companies engaging in “scrutinized
business operations” in Iran, The board will
then notify the affected companies that they
may be subject to divestment. If a company
does not take action within 90 days to cease
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its scrutinized business operations, the board
will begin selling, redeeming, divesting
or withdrawing its stock in the company.
Additionally, the law includes a prohibition
on acquiring new stocks in such companies.

Exemptions are provided to companies
involved in humanitarian and similar work
in Iran. The law would cease to be effective
if Iran was removed from the state sponsors
of terror list, or if the president of the United
States determines the law is interfering with
U.S. foreign policy.

Howard Bicker, the board’s executive
director, said that the bill would affect
approximately $280 million of state
investments, or slightly more than 1 percent
of the state’s total portfolio.

HF111*/SF131/CH90

Funding for state government
operations

Less spending and more accountability are
the hallmarks of a new law that funds state
government operations for the 2010-2011
biennium,

Sponsored by Rep. Phyllis Kahn (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. Don Betzold (DFL-Fridley),
the law funds the Legislature, the state’s
constitutional offices and several state
agencies, including: :

* Minnesota Management and Budget;

* Department of Revenue;

* Department of Administration;

+ Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure
Board;

* State Board of Investment;

* Office of Enterprise Technology;

* Minnesota State Lottery;

* Office of Administrative Hearings;

+ Capitol Area Architectural and Planning
Board;

* various retirement associations, including
the Minnesota State Retirement System;
and

+ various ethnic relations councils.

In all, the law will have a net General Fund
impact of $580 million, which amounts to
a 7 percent reduction from the February
forecasted base. This is made possible
largely through a new tax $41.5 compliance
initiative

HF1781/SF2082*/CH101

Under the law, the Legislature and the
governor’s office will see3 percent cuts from
their forecasted base funding. The Office of
the Secretary of State and the Office of the
Attorney General will be cut 5 percent and
4.5 percent, respectively. The Office of the
State Auditor would actually see a 3.7 percent
budget increase to help oversee and report
on the use of federal stimulus funds from the
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American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of

2009. Most executive agencies would see a 5

percent reduction in their operating budgets.

(Art. 1)

Punding provisions in the law takes effect July

1, 2009, unless otherwise noted.

The law includes several information

technology initiatives supported by Gov. Tim

Pawlenty, including:

« partial funding and lease-purchase autho-
rization for completion of an integrated
tax system (Art. 1, Sec. 15; Art. 2, Secs.
71, 104);

-+ partial funding and lease-purchase authori-

zation for replacing the state’s accounting
and procurement system (Art. 2, Secs.
50-51, 104);

+ funding for preliminary planning to con-
solidate the state’s data centers (Art, 1,
Sec. 12); and

* provisions to establish a statewide electronic
licensing system for commercial and pro-
fessional licenses, paid for by an extension
on a temporary technology surcharge (Art.
2, Secs, 13, 59, 66).

The lease-purchase authorization for the
integrated tax system completion and the
accounting system replacement is effective
May 17, 2009.

The law is designed strengthen
accountability and financial management
in state government. Effective July 1, 2010,
the law establishes a false claims act for
Minnesota, making it a crime to knowingly
make fraudulent financial claims against the
state. The act imposes penalties for violators,
allows prosecuting attorneys to recover any
damages incurred by the state and establishes
protections for whistleblowers. (Art. 2, Secs.
24-39)

Thelaw also clarifies that knowingly misusing
state fundsisa gross misdemeanor and grounds
for employment termination; previously, statutes
were unclear as to whether misappropriating
state fundsisactually a crime. It strengthens the
state’s internal financial controls by requiring
Minnesota Management and Budget to take
responsibility for internal controls across
the executive branch. Additionally, the law
directs the Legislative Audit Commission to
make recommendations to the Legislature on
improving internal controls. (Art. 2, Secs. 3,
44, 47)

Other policy provisions include:

+ adding various long-range planning respon-
sibilities to the Department of Administra-
tion (Art. 2, Secs. 6-7);

+ requiring the state demographer to release
a state demographic forecast to coincide
with the November economic forecast
from MMB (Art. 2, Sec. 7);

+ authorizing the secretary of state to inves-
tigate complaints regarding student ex-
change organizations (Art. 2, Sec. 16);

+ officially changing the name of the Depart-
ment of Finance to the Department of
Management and Budget, which may also
be referred to as Minnesota-Management
and Budget (Art. 2, Secs. 21-23, 40);

* requiring the creation of a Web site with a
searchable database of information on state
contracts, expenditures and appropria-
tions, effective as soon as the state imple-
ments a new accounting and procurement
system (Art. 2, Sec. 43);

* requiring MMB to report certain informa-
tion to the Legislature on the state’s budget
reserve and cash flow accounts (Art, 2,
Secs. 49, 101);

« effective May 17, 2009, allowing state govern-
ment entities to use their buildings to offer
employee fitness and wellness activities
(Art. 2, Sec. 52);

* requiring occupants of state-owned build-
ings to try to turn off building lights
between midnight and dawn during bird
migration seasons (the “bird-safe build-
ings” provision) (Art. 2, Sec. 54);

« effective May 17, 2009, establishing a central
Geospatial Information Office within
the Department of Administration that
consolidates a number of existing state
geographic information services (Art. 2,
Secs. 55, 103, 107);

« granting preferences to certain veteran-
owned small businesses in regard to bids
on state contracts (Art. 2, Secs. 56-58, 69,
93);

+ allowing state employees to donate addition-
al vacation time to cover other employees’
sick leave under certain conditions (Art,
2, Sec. 61);

+ allowing veterans with service-related dis-
abilities to apply to MMB for additional
sick leave under certain conditions (Art.
2, Sec. 62);

* mostly technical changes codifying annual
renewal filing requirements for businesses
with the Office of the Secretary of State
(Art. 2, Secs. 14, 73-85); and

+ requiring municipalities to consider using
the state’s cooperative purchasing venture
for contracts greater than $25,000 (Art.
2, Sec. 92).

Paying out claims
Sponsored by Rep. Lyle Koenen (DFL-Clara
City) and Sen. Ron Latz (DFL-St. Louis Park),
the annual claims law calls for payments
of $53,964.23 from the General Fund and
$13,517 from the Department of Employment
and Economic Development.
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The bulk of the General Fund money
($52,552.23) is for claims against the
Department of Corrections involving 16
individuals injured while doing community
service or sentence-to-service work or inmates
injured while performing assigned duties in
a state prison. Their case claims range from
$750 to $8,733.52. Approximately $5,000
of the total is to settle sentence-to-service
and community work service claims under
$500 and other claims already paid by the
department,

Mary Egge of Forest Lake will receive
$1,412 from the General Fund for her 2005
property tax refund that she claimed to have
mailed, but the Department of Revenue never
received, :

“There had been some vandals in the area
that had damaged her mailbox and the form
disappeared,” Koenen said. “She had a witness
that testified she had actually put the form in
the mail. The department did an audit to make
sure the numbers were correct.”

DEED isto payits share to Nancy Teklenburg
of Solway, who suffered economic loss because
of a departmental error in handling an
unemployment claim.,

When she was laid off from a private
company, Teklenburg received nearly a year of
severance pay, Upon notifying the department
that her severance pay was complete and
she could begin her year of unemployment
eligibility, she received her first check. Because
the department did not adjust the payment
eligibility time to reflect her severance
package, she soon reached the point of one
year since the lay off and the state payments
incorrectly stopped.

The recommendations come from the Joint
House/Senate Subcommittee on Claims,
which, according to its Web site, is “to hear
and recommend to the legislature whether or
not to pay claims against the state by various
persons who cannot proceed against the state
under the State Tort Claims Act.”

HF1193%*/SF1011/CH126

Cancer facility moratorium extended

The moratorium on construction of new
radiation oncology facilities in the Twin Cities
metropolitan area and several regional centers
in Greater Minnesota has been extended from
Aug. 1, 2011, to Aug, 1, 2014,

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009, and is
sponsored by Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-Mpls)
and Sen. Linda Berglin (DFL-Mpls).

“The Legislature has made the decision,
on repeated occasions, that limiting the
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expansion of these machines is the right public
policy for us to be pursuing,” Thissen said
during House debate. _

But opponents, including Rep, Thomas
Huntley (DFL-Duluth), said the law is about
a fight between two oncology groups. He said
both do a good job, but one wants to keep the
other out of business.

HF177/SF162*/CH6

Specialty hospital approved

Imagine having a child needing psychiatric
services, but having to send them hundreds of
miles away because all the hospital beds near
your home are full. That is the impetus for a
new law that will allow a specialty psychiatric
hospital to be built in western Hennepin
County to serve patients under the age of 21,

Sponsored by Rep. Marsha Swails (DFL-
Woodbury) and Sen. Yvonne Prettner Solon
(DFL-Duluth), the law provides an exception
to the hospital moratorium by approving the
construction of a 20-bed facility for young
patients.

As the severe shortage of child and
adolescent beds in the state continues to
worsen, the addition of 20 beds would give
teens and adolescents the inpatient mental
health services they need in a time of crisis,
Swails said.

The law is effective Aug, 1, 2009,

HF665/SF615%/CH51

Volunteer health practitioner

A new law provides technical clarifications
for duties regarding volunteer health
practitioners.

Sponsored by Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. Linda Higgins (DFL-Mpls),
the law defines “volunteer health practitioner”
as one who provides health or veterinary
services, whether or not the practitioner is
compensated for their services.

Typically volunteer health practitioners
perform services for a disaster relief
organization, Thissen said.

The law also extends liability protections
to practitioners from other states unless
their license has been suspended, revoked or
voluntarily terminated.

The law is effective Aug. 1, 2009.

HF521/SF457*/CH72

Human services and public
program cuts
Sponsored by Rep. Thomas Huntley
(DFL-Duluth) and Sen. Linda Berglin (DFL-
Mpls), the law, mostly effective July 1, 2009,

implements a 3 percent reduction in payment
rate to Medical Assistance and General
Assistance Medical Care providers, but it
does not reduce payment rates for primary
care providers, such as pediatricians, family
practice physicians and general internal
medicine. (Art. 5, Secs. 51-52)

“Every one of these cuts is painful and will
hurt somebody,” Huntley said. “We tried to
minimize the damage best we could.”

Gov. Tim Pawlenty line-item vetoed $381
million in GAMC funding, which assists some
of the state’s poorest residents, An attempted
House override failed on an 87-47 party-line
vote.

The disability community services comprise
about 29 percent of the state health and human
services budget, and were cut by that percent,
Huntley said.

HF1362*/SF695/CH79

Children, family programs

_The law makes changes to meet the
federal Children’s Health Insurance Program
Reauthorization Act of 2009 that could result
in an additional $20 million to increase
the number of children on public health
insurance, said Huntley.

The change will add an additional
22,000 children to MinnesotaCare, (Art. 5,
Secs. 60-63)

Child care service and child care technical
assistance grants are to be increasingly
awarded for activities that improve provider
quality. (Art. 2, Secs, 3-4)

Noncitizen children and noncitizen
pregnant women are eligible for Medical
Assistance beginning July 1, 2010. Also, all
pregnant noncitizens who meet MA eligibility
requirements qualify to receive 60 days of
postpartum coverage. (Art. 5, Sec. 23)

The law expands good cause exceptions for
those who fail to comply with the Minnesota
Family Investment Program to include when
documentation is not available to determine if
a participant is eligible for family stabilization
services, but there is information the person
may quality and is cooperating with the
county to obtain proper documents. (Art. 2,
Sec. 22).

An asthma demonstration project will
provide certain medical equipment to reduce
asthma symptoms for 200 American Indian
children in Minneapolis, St. Paul and Duluth,
(Art. 5, Sec. 75)

State services

The human services commissioner
is to determine how much a client can
pay for participation in state-operated
community-based programs, including
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regional treatment centers and nursing homes.
If the commissioner determines the client
can’t afford the full cost for care, the spouse
and then the client’s parents will be asked to
provide documentation on their ability to pay.
(Art.3, Secs, 4-5)

Those admitted into the Minnesota
Sex Offender Program will be assessed
by the human services commissioner on
their ability to pay for the cost of care for
services provided in the program. A client’s
guardian of the estate may be required to
pay, or the commissioner can file a claim.
The commissioner can compromise the claim
if the estate is needed to support a spouse or
dependent children. (Art. 3, Secs.13-15)

In addition to limiting the number of hours
for apersonal care attendant, a recipient must
need help with at least one activity of daily
living — dressing, grooming, bathing or
toileting — to qualify for public assistance.
(Art. 8, Sec. 20)

Adult foster care facilities can expand to
five beds, if the additional beds don’t increase
the overall statewide capacity in homes that
are not a primary residence of the license
holder, over the licensed capacity in such
homes on July 1, 2009, as identified in a
county plan submitted to the human services
commissioner. (Art. 1, Sec. 3)

A state-county chemical health care home
pilot project isincluded in the law to redesign the
state-county relatioriship in serving those using
chemical health services. To be implemented by
July 10, 2010, a report is due to the Legislature
by June 30, 2011, (Art.7, Sec. 26)

A recipient on Medical Assistance and in
long-term care services is required to meet
one of the following nursing facility level of
care criteria: needs assistance to complete
four activities of daily living, toileting or
transferring positions, difficulty with memory
or daily decision making, has a qualifying
nursing home stay of at least 90 days and the
person is at risk for readmission to a nursing
home. This becomes effective on Jan.1, 2011.
(Art.8, Sec. 4)

Other provisions

A dental care pilot project is authorized
that would establish special payment rates
for urgent dental services as an alternative
to emergency room visits, The pilot is
an attempt to reduce the total cost to the
state for dental services for those on public
programs by reducing emergency room costs
for preventable and nonemergency dental
services. (Art. 5, Sec. 10)

Another $4 million is invested to meet
provisions of, and receive funding from,
the federal Health Information Technology
for Economic and Clinical Health Act that
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is designed to help the state convert health
records to electronic form. (Art, 13, Sec. 4)
A Committee on Performance and Outcome
Reforms is established to develop a review
process for essential human services programs,
The committee is to develop reporting and
accountability measures to respond to a county
or human service authority that is not achieving
performance measures, (Art, 9, Sec. 3)

Oversight for rural cooperatives

The Minnesota Rural Health Cooperative
was authorized in 1994 to provide better
health care access to rural communities,
by allowing multiple service providers to
contract jointly with healthcare insurers. A
new law gives the Department of Health more
oversight authority for the 40 hospitals and
clinics and 10 specialty clinics that comprise
that cooperative and others like them.

For a $2,000 initial fee, health care
cooperatives may submit health care service
contracts and other financial arrangements
as part of an application to the department.
The department will have 60 days to review,
approve or deny the application. The fee to
modify, renew or extend an existing contract
or arrangement is $500.

When considering whether to approve an
application, the health commissioner must
consider the potential for antitrust violations
and may revoke approval for noncompliance
with the terms of the application or the
conditions of approval,

The law, which takes effect Aug. 1, 2009,
keeps application data collected on individuals
private. Rep. Larry Hosch (DFL-St. Joseph)
and Sen. Gary Kubly (DFL-Granite Falls) are
the law’s sponsors.

HF120/SF203*/CH97

Electronic data interchange

Sponsored by Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-Mpls)
and Sen. Kevin Dahle (DFL-Northfield), the
law requires the commissioner of health
along with the Minnesota Administrative
Uniformity Committee and the and
human services commissioner to study
and recommend ways to simplify health
care billing transactions through electronic
interchanges.

The study must include recommendations
on establishing a single, standardized system
for all group purchasers for transactions and
notifications; recommendations on technology
relationships regarding e-prescribing laws;
ensuring any use of technologies among
providers and purchasers is consistent
with national standards; analysis of the
readiness of providers and purchasers to

implement technologies; and prioritizing the

implementation of specific technologies.
The law is effective Aug. 1, 2009.
HF384*/SF704/CH155

Licensing changes

Changes to licensing requirements for health
occupations, such as speech pathologists and
occupational therapists, are included in a new
law.

Sponsored by Rep. Maria Ruud (DFL-
Minnetonka) and Sen. John Marty (DFL-
Roseville), the law makes technical changes
related to national standards for speech
pathologists, continuing education changes for
occupational therapists, language permitting
pharmacists to administer. flu vaccines to
people ages 10 or over, and it combines a
biennial licensure fee and surcharge into one
for speech-language pathologists.

The law also repeals some mortuary science
regulations that were inadvertently not
repealed in 2007.

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2011.

HF1745*/SF1445/CH157

Health policy changes

Various health care policy changes to safe
patient handling, adverse health events and a
study on whether local government employees
should be allowed to buy into state long-term
care insurance are included in a new law.

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009, unless
otherwise noted.

Sponsored by Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. Tony Lourey (DFL-Kerrick),
the law requires the Minnesota Management
and Budget commissioner, and representatives
from the American Federation of State,
County, and Municipal Employees, Minnesota
Association of Professional Employees,
League of Minnesota Cities and Association
of Minnesota Counties to study allowing
local government employees to purchase state
long-term care insurance. A report is due the
Legislature by Feb. 15, 2010. (Sec. 108)

Managed care plans and county-based
purchasing plans will be required to provide the
human services commissioner payment data
categorized by inpatientand outpatient payments
further categorized by primaryand non-primary
providers, The law specifies that providers must
give specific information on the methodology
used to establish provider reimbursement rates
paid by the purchasing plans, The commissioner
isthen to analyze the data to assist the Legislature
in providing oversight and accountability
related to state expenditures on public health
care programs. An annual report is due the
Legislature beginning Dec. 15, 2010, and each
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Dec. 15 thereafter, The information must also
be published on the department Web site,
(Sec. 105)

Other provisions include:

* an Alzheimer’s disease study group is cre-
ated to examine the needs and services of
individuals diagnosed with Alzheimer’s
and the state’s role in providing support.
A report is due to the Legislature by Jan.
15, 2011, (Sec, 110);

* a definition of a physician-physician assistant
and delegation of duties agreement affirm-
ing the supervisory relationship and scope
of practice for the physician assistant is
created (Sec. 14-22);

+ by July 1, 2010, every clinical setting that
moves patients in the state will be required
to develop a written safe patient handling
plan to achieve by Jan. 1, 2012, “the goal
of ensuring the safe handling of patients
by minimizing manual lifting of patients
by direct patient care workers and by uti-
lizing safe patient handling equipment.”
(Sec. 83);

* two members from the Minnesota Psycho-
logical Association and the Minnesota
Chiropractic Association are added to the
Health Care Reform Review Council.
(Sec. 5);

+ facilities conducting a root cause analysis
in response to an adverse health care
event must consider staffing levels and
the impact of staffing levels on the event,
(Sec. 7); and

+ dentist certificate application fees for anes-
thesia and sedation are increased from $50
to $250, (Sec. 69).

HF1760%*/SF1526/CH159

Pharmacists changing prescriptions

Pharmacists will be able to change
prescriptions for some legend drugs without
a physician’s signature,

Sponsored by Rep. Erin Murphy (DFL-St.
Paul) and Sen. Kathy Sheran (DFL-Mankato),
anew law adds pharmacists to others, such as
nurses or certain physician assistants, who can
make drug changes under the direction of a
licensed practitioner.

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009.

HF53/SF29*/CH161

Tuition caps, budget cuts focus of
new law

Anhigher education funding package mostly

passed muster with Gov. Tim Pawlenty,

who trimmed nearly $2.6 million from the

legislation before signing it into law. He later
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used is unalloment powers to trim $100
million in fiscal year 2011,

Sponsored by Rep. Tom Rukavina (DFL-
Virginia) and Sen. Sandy Pappas (DFL-St.
Paul), a new law sets higher education funding
in the 2010-2011 biennium at $3.1 billion.
This includes funding for the University of
Minnesota, the Minnesota State Colleges and
Universities system, the Mayo Foundation
and the Office of Higher Education, which
includes student aid and other programs.

The total includes nearly $138 million in
fiscal stabilization funds from the American
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.
Notwithstanding any possible unallotments
by the governor, the $3.1 billion figure
represents a cut of approximately 2 percent
from the forecasted base for total higher
education funding.

The law caps undergraduate tuition
increases at MnSCU institutions to no more
than 3 percent in the first year and 5 percent
in the second year of the biennium, Similarly,
the law asks the university to cap its tuition
increases at $300 in the first year and $450 in
the second year,

More restrictive tuition caps were included
in the law when it was originally signed;
however, after hearing of the governor’s
unallotment plans, the Legislature passed,
and the governor signed, a deficiency law
(HF2251*/SF1938/CH177) that raised the caps
slightly in the second year of the biennium.

Funding provisions in the law take effect July
1, 2009, with the exception of appropriations
from ARRA stabilization funds that are
effective May 17, 2009.

HF869/SF2083*/CH95

Office of Higher Education

OHE programs face a 2.7 percent total cut,
with funding for many programs remaining
essentially flat from the forecasted base. (Art.
1, Sec. 3)

The largest change in OHE funding is a
54 percent reduction ($10.3 million) to the
Achieve Scholarship program. Technical
changes are also made to the eligibility
requirements and scholarship awards for the
program. (Art. 2, Secs. 16-20)

With this exception, student aid programs
get a boost in the law, which raises the
four-year tuition maximum for students in
the state grant program by $650 to $10,488
per individual, It also raises the maximum
allowance for living and miscellaneous
expenses $800 to $7,000 per individual,

Child care assistange grants get an 8 percent
increase ($1 million) and American Indian
scholarship funding is increased 7 percent
($250,000). Work-study funding will get a 20
percent increase ($5 million).

Other funding changes in the law include:
* interstate tuition reciprocity funding is in-

creased 57 percent to $5.5 million;

+ Intervention for College Attendance Pro-
gram grants are increased 50 percent to
$1.5 million;

« the Minnesota College Savings Plan receives
a 31 percent cut ($640,000); and

+ Midwest Higher Education Compact fund-
ing is increased by 6 percent to $190,000.

The governor used his line-item veto
power to cut several programs, The largest,
a $2 million appropriation for a free-tuition
demonstration project called the Power of
You, was nixed, according to Pawlenty’s veto
message, because it would only serve six cities
and is “not a viable option” given the budget
deficit.

Pawlenty also vetoed a $500,000
appropriation to the Teacher Education and
Compensation Helps (TEACH) program for
early childhood care and education providers,
commenting that it received some funding
from the omnibus health and human services
finance law. However, the TEACH program
received no funding in the health and human
services finance law.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities

The MnSCU system will receive a 1.4
percent overall funding reduction in the law.
The system’s total funding for the 2009-2010
biennium stands at $1.34 billion, which
includes $63.9 million in federal stimulus
funds. (Art. 1, Sec. 4)

The law includes some new MnSCU
funding initiatives, including:

+ $9.6 million for the Learning Network of
Minnesota (a transfer from the OHE);

+ $2 million for the Northeast Higher Educa-
tion District for a vocational education
partnership with area high schools; and

*$450,000 for the eFolio Minnesota workforce
development initiative,

The governor vetoed an $80,000
appropriation to the Cook County Higher
Education Board, stating that a county board
“is not the appropriate place to fund higher
education.” :

University of Minnesota

The University of Minnesota will receive
$1.38 billion, which includes $74 million in
federal stimulus funds. This represents a 2
percent cut for the university. (Art. 1, Sec, 5)

State funding for the university may not be
used for research that involves human cloning,
partially defined as “generating a genetically
identical copy of an organism at any stage of
development.” (Art. 1, Sec. 5)

The new TCF Bank Stadium and other
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sports arenas will have to offer liquor for sale
throughout the facilities if they offer it for sale
in certain areas, under a Rukavina-sponsored
provision in the law. Rukavina said the goal is
to make sure ordinary people attending sports
events are not denied the same privileges
afforded to people in premium seating areas.
Or, in the words of the governor, who supports
the provision, “If some get beer, all should get
beer.” (Art. 2, Sec. 37)

Mayo Foundation

The Mayo Foundation for Medical
Education and Research will receive less than
$2.7 million, under the law. This is neither a
reduction nor an increase from the forecasted
base. (Art. 1, Sec. 6)

Other policy provisions

A new class of mid-level dental practitioners
is established by the law: “dental therapists.”
These oral health care practitioners will
serve as a middle option between dentists
and hygienists, and will work in “settings
that serve low-income, uninsured, and
underserved patients,” especially rural areas.
The law lays out educational requirements
for dental therapists and “advanced dental
therapists,” and also establishes licensure
requirements and other regulations. Also,
the Board of Dentistry will receive $110,000
to pay for licensing dental therapists. The
Department of Health also receives a one-
time appropriation of $189,000 to evaluate
the impact of dental therapists. (Art. 1, Sec. 7
and Art. 3, Secs. 1-32)

Campus bookstores at public colleges and
universities must, to the extent possible, offer
clothing for sale that was manufactured in the
United States, under a provision proffered by
Rukavina, A report back to the Legislature on
* attempts made to comply with the provision
is required. (Art. 2, Sec. 4)

Veterinary students can look forward to a
new large animal veterinary loan forgiveness
program that will focus on helping veterinarians
who operate full-time practicesin “underserved”
rural areas and work mostly with food animals,
The law includes $225,000 for the program. (Art.
1, Sec. 3 and Art. 2, Sec. 23)

Other miscellaneous policy provisions
include:

* requiring course equivalency guides pub-
lished by public colleges and universities
to include information on military course
equivalency (Art. 2, Sec. 1);

* requiring postsecondary institutions to
give notice to students regarding the pos-
sible impact of criminal records on their
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ability to get a job in their field of study
(Art. 2, Sec. 2);

+ encouraging high school-to-college devel-
opmental transition programs (Art. 2,
Secs. 5, 13);

+ establishing a “Minnesota Promise” that it is
the policy of the Legislature to ensure that
students from low-income families have
access to enough financial aid to fully cover
the cost of attending a two-year public col-
lege (Art. 2, Sec. 11); and

* requiring postsecondary institutions to help
encourage college applicants to fill out a
Free Application for Student Financial Aid
(Art. 2, Sec, 14),

Written warranty required

A person who buys a newly constructed
home, or has home improvements completed
byalicensed contractor, may not be aware that
there are warranties in state statute applying
to the work or the contractor,

A new law clarifies that warranties required
by state statute gre given directly to the
consumer, in written form, as part of the
construction contract.

The owner’s right to the written warranty
may not be waived or modified; but the law
does not limit the contract or the owner
from entering into other types of agreements
permitted under state law,

Sponsored by Rep. Carolyn Laine (DFL-
Columbia Heights) and Sen. Ron Latz
(DFL-St, Louis Park), the law takes effect
Aug. 1, 2009,

HF420%*/SF776/CHS91

Protecting problem properties

A clarification to rules and regulations
for how cities can secure foreclosed and
abandoned properties so they cannot be used
for improper purposes may help in some
troubled areas.

Rep. JeffHayden (DEL-Mpls), who sponsors
the law with Sen. Linda Higgins (DFL-Mpls),
said that Minneapolis had about 3,000
foreclosed properties in 2008 and is on pace
for about the same this year. However, the
state’s largest city is far from being alone
during the current foreclosure crisis.

When a property is deemed abandoned
by a court, a city is permitted a limited right
of entry to secure the property., The law
limits which city employees can determine
an entrance to the property is necessary,
including a housing official.

In order to get the property sold, the law

‘allows a political subdivision to request

reduction of the mortgagor’s redemption

period to five weeks from six months on a

foreclosed abandoned property.

Other aspects of the law, which has various
effective dates, include:

+ specification of certain notice require-
ments;

+ extension of the deadline for action by a
property owner from six to 14 days from
being ordered to secure the premise, and
specifying that failure to do so could result
in municipal action;

+ classification of the sale or gift of alcohol
in an abandoned property as a public nui-
sance in certain circumstances; and

+ the holder of a sheriff’s certificate of
sale — the official document granted to
the purchaser of real property sold at a
mortgage foreclosure sale — is required
to secure and protect the premise if there
is prima facie evidence the property has
been abandoned. If the locks are changed,
the mortgager must be provided a key.

HF1394/SF1147*/CH123

Mortgage clarification language

A new law cleans up changes made in a
number of 2008 mortgage laws,

Among the changes is that a written notice
to tenants in property subject to mortgage
foreclosure or termination of contract for
deed is to be included in both pre- and post-
foreclosure. The 2008 law did not include the
pre-foreclosure requirement.

A party conducting a foreclosure that
requests a sheriff’s sale must provide certain
notices at the party’s expense.

Other issues addressed include specifying
requirements for vendors under contracts
for deed and foreclosure counseling notices.
It makes a technical change for what needs
to be in an affidavit for purposes of clearing
title. Notice requirements related to the
postponement of a sheriff’s sale are also
modified.

Most of the law takes effect for foreclosures
where the notice of pendency is recorded on
or after Aug. 1, 2009.

Rep. Joe Mullery (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Lisa
Fobbe (DFL-Zimmerman) sponsor the law.

HF995/SF1302*/CH130

Foreclosure consultants accountable

Those teetering on the edge of foreclosure
may welcome outside help to renegotiate their
mortgage, but those promising foreclosure
assistance don’t always follow through.
Homeowners will have more protection
against unscrupulous consultants,
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A new law modifies a 2004 law regulating
mortgage foreclosure consultant contracts.
It clarifies that people classified as mortgage
consultants, including originators of
mortgages who negotiate or renegotiate a
mortgage, and nonprofit agency counselors
who work with people at risk of foreclosure,
may collect a fee for such services only after
the services have been performed.

The law, sponsored by Rep. Joe Mullery
(DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Lisa Fobbe (DFL-
Zimmerman), takes effect June 20, 2009.

HF903/SF708*/CH141

Training for shaken baby syndrome

A new law will increase shaken baby
syndrome training for certain providers
caring for children up to age 5. The law takes
effect Aug, 1, 2009,

Sponsored by Rep. Phil Sterner (DFL-
Rosemount) and Sen. Sharon Erickson Ropes
(DFL-Winona), the law requires 30 minutes of
training for both shaken baby syndrome and
sudden infant death syndrome for licensed
chemical dependency treatment programs
that serve clients with children, licensed child
care centers and providers, and child foster
care providers that care for children. The
training is required at least once every five
years.

Current training is only required for those
caring for infants,

An estimated 1,500 to 3,000 children are
diagnosed with the syndrome each year,
Sterner said, . '

HF782/SF978*/CH26

Adult guardianship jurisdiction

Minnesota will have procedures and
standards for recognizing and interacting
with guardianship and protective order
proceedings and appointments from outside
of the state,

Sponsored by Rep. Gail Kulick Jackson
(DFL-Milaca) and Sen. Mee Moua (DFL-
St. Paul), the Uniform Adult Guardianship
and Protective Proceedings Jurisdiction
Act will establish uniform jurisdiction on
determining a primary residence or other
state of substantive contact, how to transfer
and register guardianships between states so
procedures are not repeated in each state, It
does not change anything regarding minor
guardianship.

Because today’s elderly are very mobile and
often live in other states for periods of time, it
can be problematic between states as to where
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an appropriate venue is for guardianship,
conservatorship or other adult protective
actions, Jackson said.

For example, if a husband and wife live
in Florida six months a year, and the wife
becomes incapacitated, the husband may
become her legal guardian or conservator in
Florida. However, Jackson said, if something
were to happen to the husband and their
child wants to move them here, Minnesota
would not recognize the guardianship. The
law hopes to reduce the number of times a
person has to go through the guardianship
or conservatorship process,

In early May, Jackson estimated 13 other
states had a similar law.

As more states adopt this, she said there
will be a larger group that has uniformity,
meaning easier transfers of registration of
guardianship, conservatorship or protective
provision,

A court may treat a foreign country as if it
were a state for applying provisions of the law,
if the country matches the requirements of
our jurisdiction regarding a protective order,
guardianship or conservatorship.

Most of the law takes effect Jan. 1, 2010,
and will apply to guardianship and protective
proceedings begun on or after that date,

HF632/SF412*/CHA46

Hennepin County rule changes

Hennepin County can streamline its
human resources policies and extend the life
of a task force by two years, because of a new
law.

Sponsored by Rep. Kurt Zellers (R-Maple
Grove) and Sen. Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope),
the law makes technical changes requested by
the county, whose human resources policies
are governed by state law as well as their own
rules,

The legislation, effective upon county
approval, will conform the special law
governing Hennepin County to internal
rule changes recently adopted by the county.
Specifically, department directors and the
county human resources director will be given
more discretion to set policies regarding the
length of probationary periods, compensation
plans and non-disciplinary appeals, Currently,
the authority in such matters resides in the
county board.

In addition, the law extends a sunset date for
the Victory Memorial Drive Historic District
Task Porce by two years to Dec. 31, 2011.

HF940/SF729*/CHS50

Prohibiting drug trial participation

People under state civil commitment will be
prohibited from giving consent to participate
in a clinical drug trial unless the court grants
permission under specific circumstances.

The law, sponsored by Rep. Karla Bigham
(DFL-Cottage Grove) and Sen, Don Betzold
(DFL-Fridley), will allow a patient to
participateif the treating psychiatrist submits
an affidavit citing its benefit to the person.
However, the treating psychiatrist must not
be the psychiatrist conducting the drug trial.
The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009.

Many psychiatric drug trials already
say patients at risk of suicide or of hurting
others should not be recruited, Dr, Carl
Elliott, professor at the Center for Bioethics
at the University of Minnesota, told a House
committee. While participation in a drug
study carries risk, patients under civil
commitment may not understand what they
are signing up for, he said.

Mary Weiss testified in a House committee
that her son, Dan Markingson, committed
suicide when participating in a 2004 drug
trial. She voiced concerns to his case manager
about his deteriorating condition, but was
unsuccessful in pulling him out of the drug
trial. “I have promised Dan that I will fight
for the rights of the mentally ill until the day
I die,” she said. “This bill will protect those
in the future.”

HF388/SF431*/CH58

Creating lifetime communities

Partnerships labeled “communities for a
lifetime,” built with the aging population as
their focus, may be designated in the future.
A new law lays out plans for the Board on
Aging to develop a process for requesting the
designation of “communities for a lifetime.”
It takes effect Aug, 1, 2009.

Sponsored by Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-Mpls)
and Sen. Kathy Sheran (DFL-Mankato), the
law defines the communities as partnerships of
small cities, counties, municipalities, charter
cities and towns that extends supportive
services to those age 65 and older to help them
continue to be contributing, civically engaged
residents.

“This would allow people to stay in their
communities and have access to an array of
services,” Thissen said.

Under the law, “communities for alifetime”
would have to offer opportunities such as:

+ the ability to participate in the paid work-
force with flexible schedules and hours;

+ recreation and wellness activities;

* avariety of affordable, accessible housing
options;
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+ community-wide mobility and access to
public transportation, including door-to-
door assistance and weekend and evening

, access; and

* an array of home and community-based
services to support seniors’ options to
remain in an independent living setting.

The board is to report to the Legislature by

Feb. 28, 2010, with recommendations for

a process to designate “communities for a

lifetime” and funding sources to implement

the communities.
HF936*/SF839/CH60

Foster care benefits extended

Children in foster care who are nearing
their 18th birthday will have the option of
staying in foster care, if they think they are
not yet ready to live on their own.

A new law sponsored by Rep. Jeff Hayden
(DFL-Mpls) and Sen. John Marty (DFL-
Roseville) requires social services agencies
to develop a plan with the child for their
vocational, educational and social needs.
Agencies must also ensure that any foster care,
housing or counseling benefits are consistent
with that plan.

Hayden said nearly 600 children leave
foster care each year when they reach age 18.
However, studies have shown that most young
adults are age 25 or older before becoming
self-sufficient, he said. Extending foster care
options until age 21 gives them “a place to
return for help when things go wrong and
unexpected supports go away.”

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009,

HF985/SF666*/CH106

Sex offender program evaluation

Sponsored by Rep. Terry Morrow (DFL-St.
Peter) and Sen. Tony Lourey (DFL-Kerrick),
a new law requires annual evaluation of the
state’s sex offender prograim.

Under a new law, the human services
commissioner must contract with three
national sex offender experts to evaluate the
treatment of offenders. They are to review and
identify relevant information and evidence-
based best practices and methodologies for
assessing, diagnosing and treating clients.

The executive director of the program is to
establish a grievance policy and procedures to
address client concerns and complaints. Any
client who believes a right has been violated
can file a grievance with the Department of
Health and/or the Office of Health Facility
Complaints.

The executive director must submit a
performance report to the Legislature by
Jan. 15 of each year beginning in 2010, It
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must include the description of the program,
including goals and objectives; a per diem
report; program statistics; and the sex offender
program evaluation report contracted by the
commissioner,

A clients’ employment option is changed to
a vocational work program option to better
reflect that the work opportunity is directly
related to the clinical treatment of a client. The
human services commissioner can collect up
to 50 percent of any payments made to a client
to reduce state costs, The law clarifies that
those working in the program are not subject
to fair labor standards, workers compensation
or certain laws governing state employees,

The law clarifies that those included in the
program are also located at sites other than
the Moose Lake facility and are subject to a
court hold order if they escape while in or
under supervision of a designated facility.

Most sections are effective Aug,. 1, 2009,
HF1639/SF1436*/CH111

Using vouchers for organics

Vouchers for the special supplemental
program for Women, Infants and Children
can be used to purchase organic foods.

Sponsored by Rep. Karen Clark (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. Sharon Erickson Ropes
(DFL-Winona), a new law requires the health
commissioner to evaluate the list of WIC
foods and add any organic foods determined
to be cost-neutral.

“This is a matter of consumer choice,” Clark
said. The cost of organic foods continues to go
down, so they are more affordable, she said.

Tom Petersen, chairman of the Organic
Advisory Task Force, said the proposal is
one the task force has been working on
for a number of years. He said the state of
Washington has a similar program that allows
for the purchase of some fruits, vegetables,
breads, brown rice and legumes.

The law is effective May 21, 2009.

HF285/SF213*/CH114

Vulnerable, elderly adult protection
-A maximum 20-year prison term and
a felony charge for conviction of financial
exploitation of a vulnerable adult when
the stolen amount exceeds $35,000 is one
provision of a new law.

Effective on or after Aug. 1, 2009, a new
law makes various statutory changes based
on recommendations from a working group
comprised of 52 agencies, entities and
organizations The law intends to help
people like a 92-year-old St. Paul man who
was befriended by a neighbor when he became
frail and who bilked him out of almost

$200,000. The woman put his home on the

market without his knowledge, put an ad

in the newspaper for a rummage sale of his
belongings and left him to sitin a chair all day.

She was ultimately sentenced to probation and

repayment of funds,

Sponsored by Rep. Debra Hilstrom (DFL-
Brooklyn Center) and Sen, Mee Moua (DFL-
St. Paul), provisions of the law include:

+ ‘clearing up definitions of financial exploi-
tation;

+ extending the statute of limitations for
criminal financial exploitation from three
to five years when the exploitation exceeds
$35,000;

+ any business or financial institution that
acts on good faith in telling authorities
about suspected maltreatment or financial
exploitation will be granted immunity
from legal liability;

+ the human services commissioner is to
seek federal money to design, implement,
maintain and evaluate a common entry
point for reports of vulnerable adult mal-
treatment;

+ a boarding care home, nursing home or
hospital can submit a report of suspected
maltreatment electronically, instead of
submitting an oral report;

+ the consent defense is removed in cases
where the defendant knew or had reason
to know the victim lacks the capacity to
consent; and

+ acivil cause of action is created for a vul-
nerable adult who is a victim of financial
exploitation, Damages equal to three times
the amount of compensatory damages or
$10,000, whichever is greater, are autho-
rized, as are attorneys’ fees and costs for a
prevailing vulnerable adult.

HF818*/SF758/CH119

Licensing, background changes

Technical changes to human services
licensing programs and background study
requirements are included in a new law.

Sponsored by Rep. Jim Abeler (R-Anoka)
and Sen. Tony Lourey (DFL-Kerrick), the
law makes technical changes to update the
credential for respiratory therapists from
registration to licensure and permits massage
therapists to work in the office of a medical
professional without a license or permit from a
municipality. The law requires inspections for
day training and habilitation programs, and
training about sudden infant death syndrome
for child care providers.

Under the law, licensed child care programs

‘must conduct a background study on former

employees returning to work that have
been absent 45 or more consecutive days,
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and persons having no direct contact for
more than 45 consecutive days must have
a new background check before returning
to a position of providing direct contact
services.

The license holder must notify the human
services commissioner that an employee who
has been absent 45 days or more has returned
to a position requiring a background study.
The license holder must also notify the
commissioner when a program that provides
direct contact services resumes providing
services after discontinuing services for 45 or
more consecutive days.

The human services commissioner will be
permitted to conduct background checks on
persons between the ages of 13 and 23 living
in the homes of child care providers, and can
review juvenile records.

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009.

HF1750/SF1447*/CH142

Parental fee notification
requirements

This new law requires the Department of
Human Services to send a notice to parents
when they receive a credit or actual cash for
any overpaid parental fees for services for
persons with developmental disabilities.
Sponsored by Rep. Patti Fritz (DFL-Faribault)
and Sen, John Marty (DFL-Roseville), the law
is a clarification requested by the Disability
Law Center and ARC of Minnesota.

Under the law, all parental fee
reimbursements must include a notice that
the amount reimbursed may be considered
taxable income if the parent paid for the
parental fees through an employer’s health
care flexible spending account, and the
parents are responsible for paying taxes on
the amount reimbursed.

The law takes effect July 1, 2009

HF266/SF711*/CH145

Medical Assistance expanded

Petal alcohol spectrum disorder will be
added to the list of related conditions that
qualify for Medical Assistance under disabled
children’s services.

Sponsored by Rep. Larry Hosch (DFL-St.
Joseph) and Sen. Ann Lynch (DFL-Rochester),
thelaw, effective Aug, 1,2009, adds the disorder
to the list of others currently defined as related
conditions, such as cerebral palsy, epilepsy,
autism and Prader-Willi syndrome,

The change will only qualify those if other
eligibility requirements are met and would
bring more awareness to the condition, Hosch
said.
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Sara Messelt, executive director of the
Minnesota Organization on Fetal Alcohol
Syndrome, said it would give credibility to
those with FASD and would cause social
workers to give it a second look as a disability.
About 8,500 babies a year are born in
Minnesota with the incurable disorder, she
said.

HF581/SF501*/CH147

Guardianship/conservatorship help
A bill of rights for wards and protected

persons will be in state statute,

That is just one of the provisions in a law
that makes changes related to guardians and
conservators,

Effective Aug, 1, 2009, the law addresses
accountability and transparency in the
system,

Rep. Paul Thissen (DEL-Mpls), who
sponsors the law with Sen. Mee Moua
(DFL-St. Paul), said approximately 22,000
Minnesotans are under a guardianship or
conservatorship, a number that is expected
to increase,

The law does four primary things:

+ establishes conflict-of-interest rules for
attorneys that represent guardians and
wards;

* requires a system of central state registra-
tion of guardians and conservators to be
maintained by the Minnesota Supreme
Court beginning in 2013;

+ puts more eyes on these transactions with
an ombudsman being more involved, along
with more interested persons; and

+ creates the bill of rights to put many related
issues in current law into one place.
Among the 14 listed rights that must be

enforced by the court are treatment with
dignity and respect; due consideration of
personal desires, medical preferences and
religious beliefs; personal privacy; and timely
and appropriate health care “that does not
violate known conscientious, religious,
or moral beliefs of the ward or protected
person.”

Other provisions in the law include:

+ an adult related by blood, adoption or
marriage is placed seventh on the list, and
any other adult or a professional guardian
is eighth on the list in order of who a court
shall consider in appointing a guardian;
and

+ a guardian cannot revoke a health care
directive of a ward or protected person
without a court order.
HF804*/SF951/CH150

Youth violence prevention

Sponsored by Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. John Marty (DFL-Roseville),
anew law requires the health commissioner to
collaborate with other departments to identify
five community-based violence prevention
programs that work to create connections
between at-risk youth and trusted adults;
intervene at the first signs a youth is at risk;
rehabilitate youth who have been involved in
violence; and meet other criteria.

Under the law, Minneapolis and St. Paul
must each be served by one program and three
others must serve youth in Greater Minnesota
communities.

The programs must work with schools
to keep students engaged and help prepare
them for higher education and job training;
teach self-respect and respect for others;
provide mentorship and job placement; and
parent and family intervention while teaching
parenting skills,

HF1328*/SF1235/CH156

Child welfare policy changes

Improving outcomes for children and
families by making changes to American
Indian child welfare, child protection and out-
of-home placement is the goal of a new law.

Sponsored by Rep. Larry Hosch (DFL-St.
Joseph) and Sen. Patricia Torres Ray (DFL-
Mpls), the law makes changes to conform with
the federal Fostering Connections to Success
and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008.

According to the Human Services
Department, the law clarifies the roles and
responsibilities for tribal agencies that choose
to establish a panel to review child fatalities
and near fatalities on the reservation. It also
clarifies mental health screenings for children
receiving child protective services, in out-of-
home placement or for whom parental rights
have been terminated. Tribal agencies can
access state funding for the screenings.

The law defines factors for which children
can be removed from their home to ensure
their safety, and eliminates certain child
behavior, such as running away, as a sole
reason for removal. It also states that “family
group decision-making” can be used asa form
of dispute resolution.

The law makes changes so child welfare
officials have access to child support
enforcement data to establish a father’s
identity and whereabouts. It clarifies when
fathers are notified of proceedings, their
legal rights and responsibilities and sets
requirements for establishing paternity in
certain cases,

Changes to meet federal requirements
include:
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+ applying “reasonable effort” to place
siblings together in foster care and for the
agency to provide frequent visits if the
siblings cannot be placed together;

+ monthly caseworker visits must include
determining whether the child is enrolled
and attending school, and addressing the
issue if not; and

+ requiring due diligence in identifying and
notifying adult relatives prior to placement
or within 30 days after the child is removed
from the parents’ care,

The law takes effect when at least 35 states
have enacted it.
HF1709/SF1503*/CH163

Mental health changes

Some adult and child mental health policies
in the Human Services Department are
changed under a new law.

Sponsored by Rep. Larry Hosch (DFL-St.
Joseph) and Sen. Linda Berglin (DFL-Mpls),
the new law modifies statutes related to drug
and alcohol counselor licensure and county
maintenance of effort provisions, and clarifies
rate setting and reimbursement procedures
for intensive residential treatment services
and certain community treatment.

The law takes effect Aug, 1, 2009, except
for the reimbursement procedures provision,
which is effective with services provided on or
after Jan. 1, 2010, through Dec. 31, 2011.

Under the law, a provision is removed
that would have sunset July 1, 2009. The
provision provided for exceptions for drug
and alcohol counselors integrating dual-
diagnosis treatment for adults in mental
health rehabilitative programs certified by the
department.

How counties establish base level
expenditures is included to simplify
administration and improve budgeting
predictability. The human services
commissioner is instructed to use each
county’s actual prior year revenues to adjust
the county’s minimum required expenditures
for the coming year, and is permitted to use
current information regarding major revenue
changes if the change is known early enough
to allow counties time to adjust their budgets.
If a county doesn’t comply with the changes,
the commissioner can approve a corrective
action plan for the county.

Other clarifying provisions include
definitions of an adult mental health
rehabilitation worker, community health
worker and mental health behavioral aide
services.

HF1708/SF1504*/CH167
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State system eases child care billing

A newlaw will help child care providers who
participate in the basic sliding fee program
to manage billing and payment through a
new automated system administered by the
Department of Human Services.

Basic sliding fee child care assistance is
highly valued by working parents who may
apply if they earn less than 47 percent of the
state’s median income and remain eligible
until earning up to 67 percent of the state’s
median income. For example, a three-person
household with $32,167 of annual income
could apply, and then remain on the program
until they earn $45,855.

The law sponsored by Rep. Diane Loeffler
(DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Patricia Torres Ray
(DFL-Mpls) makes several other technical
changes and clarifications to existing law.

A change to eligibility requirements for
school readiness service agreements will allow
children to keep attending high-quality child
care programs even if their parents’ work
or other authorized activities dip below a
35-hour a week requirement during the first
year. “The idea is to keep children in care
on a continuous basis as long as possible to
help improve the outcome for those kids,”
said Cherie Kotilinek, child care assistance
program manager with the department. Child
care providers in the SRSA program receive
a higher rate of reimbursement for providing
certain early learning services. :

The law also directs the State Advisory
Council on Early Childhood Education
and Care to create an inventory of early
childhood services. The inventory will
identify programs serving children and their
families by geographic and demographic
characteristics, and numbers served plus those
eligible who are not served.

Other provisions allow the commissioner
to charge for development and operating costs
of county-initiated projects, such as those to
facilitate more integrated services to clients
and create more efficient county workflow.

Renewal of overpayment judgments for
certain programs is allowed, which is expected
to save county and court costs.

Foster care providers no longer need to be
re-licensed as adult foster care providers in
order to obtain funding for a disabled child
who has turned age 18,

HF1728%/SF1509/CH175

Resolving a Dakota conflict
One year after the Dakota Conflict of 1862
in Minnesota, President Lincoln signed the

Minnesota Indian Removal law, resulting
in removal of the Dakota people from the
state.

The law is still on the books.

A new law, in the form of a nonbinding
resolution, urges the president and Congress
to repeal the federal legislation.

Rep. Dean Urdahl (R-Grove City), who
sponsors the law with Sen. Steve Dille
(R-Dassel), said the measure is “largely
symbolic, but it is important to the tribes in
Minnesota.”

Itwasn’t until 1924 that all Native Americans
in the United States received full citizenship,
said Rep. Paul Gardner (DFL-Shoreview),
“The law is still on the books, and it basically
says that one group of people are not allowed
to live here. I don’t think that’s right to be on
the books.”

Under the resolution, the secretary of state
is to prepare copies of the memorial to be sent
to the president, Congressional leadership and
its members.

HF1825/SF1623*/CH171

Voter-approved sales tax increase

takes effect

The majority of state voters approved a sales
tax increase in November 2008 with some
uncertainty as to how the anticipated revenue
would be spent. A new law provides clarity.

“This is the best ride I've had in 33 years
at the Legislature. This is the people of
Minnesota’s (law),” said Rep, Mary Murphy
(DFL-Hermantown), who sponsors the
omnibus cultural and outdoor funding
resources finance law with Sen. Richard
Cohen (DFL-St. Paul).

Beginning July 1, 2009, the state’s sales tax
will increase from 6.5 percent to 6,875 percent,
The tax, which expires in 2034, is expected to
generate $396.8 million annually to be divided
into four dedicated funding areas: wildlife
habitat, clean water, parks and trails, and arts
and culture,

HF1231*/SEF1651/CH172

Outdoors and Environment
Natural resources funding for the 2010-2011
biennium includes:

+ $75.7 million to the Department of Natural
Resources split among prairies; wetlands;
forests; and fish, game and wildlife habi-
tat;

+$51.3 million to the Pollution Control Agen-
cy for grants, drinking water protection,
Minnesota River Water Quality testingand
wastewater treatment monitoring;

+ $38.2 million to the Board of Water and Soil
Resources to purchase and restore perma-
nent conservation easements, grants to

January 6, 2009




improve watershed management practices
and shoreland protection;

+$36.9 million to the DNR for grants and the
state parks and trails legacy; and

+$32.7 million to the Public Facilities Author-
ity for grants among small community
wastewater treatment technical assistance
and construction and phosphorus reduc-

tion. (Art, 1, Sec. 2; Art. 2, Secs. 3-4, 6;

Art, 3, Sec. 2)

Gov. Tim Pawlenty line-item vetoed
$200,000 to the Star Lake Board for a
“pilot program focused on engaging citizen
participation and fostering local partnerships
by increasing citizen involvement in water
quality enhancement by designating star lakes
and rivers.”

“This board was created with a $100,000
appropriation as a pilot program last year.
At the time, supporters of the legislation
indicated the need was for one-time money
only,” Pawlenty wrote in his veto message.
“If additional funding is needed for this new
board, it should come from sources other
than constitutionally dedicated dollars, Such
dollars should be used for projects, not process
and bureaucracy.”

Arts and Cultural Heritage

The law also provides a plan to guide
the distribution of the legacy amendment
money over the 25-year life of the tax. All
appropriations are one-time, thus agencies
should not expect to receive the same amount
of funding from the tax every year. Priorities
will be reviewed on a year-to-year basis.

“This is the promise to the future on
enhancement, protection and restoring of
our habitats, This is the promise of the future
for arts and culture and having whole new
groups of people exposed to arts and culture,”

Murphy said.

Funding priorities in this area include:

+ $43 million to the Minnesota Board of the
Arts for grants to Minnesota artists and
arts organizations;

+ $22 million to the Minnesota Historical
Society for a variety of things, including
grants, assistance to local historical societ-
ies and the Minnesota History Educational
Network; and

+ $14.4 million to the Department of
Administration for grants to, among
others, Minnesota Public Television
Association; Minnesota Public Radio;
program development at the Minnesota,
Como and Lake Superior zoos; restoration,
renovations and repair of the State Capitol;
the Minnesota Center for the Humanities;
and the Legislative Coordinating
Commission for a Web site specific to the
dedicated funds. (Art. 4, Sec. 2)
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Efforts to preserve and revitalize use of
Dakota and Ojibwe languages can expect
to see a $150,000 grant underwritten by the
Indian Affairs Council, To strengthen the
program, an additional $500,000 is awarded
to the Niigaane Ojibwe Immersion School and
the Wicoie Nandagikendan Urban Immersion
Project to expand K-12 curriculum, provide
fluent speakers in the classroom, develop
appropriate testing and evaluation procedures,
and community-based training. (Art. 4, Secs.
3-4)

Paying subcontractors promptly

Subcontractors and suppliers working on
residential jobs now have the same assurance
as those working for commercial contractors
that they’ll be paid in a timely manner,

A new law, sponsored by Rep. Larry Howes
(R-Walker) and Sen. Linda Scheid (DFL-
Brooklyn Park), strikes language excluding
residential subcontractors and suppliers from
an existing law requiring prompt payment.
Prime contractors or subcontractors who hire
other subcontractors or suppliers must pay
those they hire within 10 days from the date
payment is requested. The law also stipulates
interest to be paid on late payments. It takes
effect Aug, 1, 2009,

Residential properties are single-family
homes or multi-family buildings with up to
four dwelling units, or developments with up
to 13 attached units,

HF1056*/SF638/CH66

Uniform deduction law cleaned up

A practice already in place between auto
dealers and employees regarding the cost
of some workers’ uniform cleaning and
maintenance will be codified in state law.

Car dealers and some employees’ unions
have agreed that service employees’ uniforms
are picked up, cleaned and returned to
the workplace as part of their collective
bargaining agreement. The law “allows that
practice codified in their collective bargaining
agreement to continue,” said Rep. Jim Davnie
(DFL-Mpls), who sponsors the law with Sen.
David Tomassoni (DFL-Chisholm).

Employers may deduct up to $25 per
month from employee wages for the uniform
maintenance expense. The amount deducted
is not subject to reimbursement upon the
employee’s termination,

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009,

HF1685/SF1431*/CH69

Elevator inspection exemptions

Some elevators and lifts in nonprofit or
nonpublic settings are temporarily exempted
from annual safety inspectionsfor an operating
permit.

Under a new law, effective May 13, 2009,
through July 1, 2010, manlifts in grain
elevators, feed mills and elevators or platform
lifts for wheelchairs in churches are excluded
from an annual inspection requirement.

The Department of Labor and Industry
is directed to establish an advisory group to
study existing rules and laws that relate to the
maintenance and operation of special purpose
lifts, hand elevators and manlifts in facilities
not for public use, and report its findings to
the Legislature by Jan, 30, 2010.

Rep. Al Juhnke (DFL-Willmar) and Sen.
Rod Skoe (DFL-Clearbrook) sponsor the
law.

HF1813/SF1425*/CH76

Short-term coverage for unemployed

Increasing unemployment numbers are
translating to more people losing their health
care coverage. However, thanks to funds
from the federal American Recovery and
Reinvestment Act of 2009, some could see
their coverage continued and their payments
subsidized.

Effective May 6, 2009, a new law ensures
that employers with less than 20 people have
the same benefit as their larger counterparts
do under the federal law, under terms of
Minnesota’s “mini-COBRA” statute.

Qualified employees who have been
involuntarily terminated for reasons
other than misconduct will see the federal
government provide a 65 percent subsidy
toward their COBRA premiums for up to
nine months of coverage, while reducing an
enrollee’s share of the premium to 35 percent.
People terminated between Sept. 1, 2008, and
Feb. 16, 2009, who originally declined COBRA
coverage or unenrolled by Feb. 16, will have
a second chance to accept the coverage now
that the federal subsidy is available.

Rep. Joe Atkins (DFL-Inver Grove Heights)
and Sen. Linda Scheid (DFL-Brooklyn Park)
sponsor the law.

HF2138/SF1904*/CH33

Church benefits board as trustee

Some churches have benefits boards
organized to administer or fund a retirement
or other benefits plan for employees ofa specific
church or an association of churches.
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A new law, effective May 8, 2009, expands
a board’s authority to act as a trustee over a
lawful trust,

Sponsored by Rep. Steve Simon (DFL-St.
Louis Park) and Sen. Gary Kubly (DFL-
Granite Falls), the law applies to trusts no
matter when they were created.
HF1823/SF1754*/CH43

Acupuncturist services
reimbursement

Treatment by licensed acupuncture
practitioners will become more widely
reimbursed by health care plans that already
offer physician-supervised or provided
coverage only.

A new law provides equal access to a
licensed acupuncture practitioner for services
covered under a regulated health plan, If
acupuncture services provided by a physician
are covered, the same services provided by a
licensed acupuncture practitioner must also
be covered. It does not require health plans
that don’t cover any acupuncture services to
begin doing so.

The law is also a memorial to Edith R.
Davis, considered Minnesota’s pioneer
acupuncturist, who brought “the whole area of
acupuncture into the light of day and (made)
sure that we have good standards,” said Rep.
Karen Clark (DFL-Mpls), who sponsors the
law with Sen. Linda Berglin (DFL-Mpls).

Advocates said that a growing body of
scientific evidence supports the benefits of
acupuncture for a variety of conditions and
that the treatment is rarely associated with
complications. They also said only about a
dozen Minnesota physicians or chiropractors
are board-certified in medical acupuncture,

“Acupuncturists licensed under Board
of Medical Practice’s very high standards
ironically are not allowed to get reimbursed,
and often their prices are lower and they are far
more qualified to practice acupuncture than
are physicians, even those with acupuncture
licenses, said Rep. Jim Abeler (R-Anoka).

Thelaw takes effect Aug. 1, 2009, and applies
to coverage issued, renewed or continued on
or after that date.

HF286/SF245*/CH45

STOLI changes become law

A new law prohibits certain contractual’

arrangements and other activities relating to
the purchasing of a life insurance policy that
is essentially a wager on someone’s life.
Effective with policiesissued beginning May
10, 2009, the law codifies insurable interests
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and prohibits procurement of a policy on the
life of another individual unless the benefits
are payable to the insured, representatives of
the insured’s estate or a person who had an
insurable interest at the time the policy was
issued.

“We want to protect life insurance interests,
and not turn it into a financial investment,”
said Rep. Kate Knuth (DFL-New Brighton),
who sponsors the law with Sen. Linda Scheid
(DFL-Brooklyn Park).

In a traditional life settlement, a person
who owns a life insurance policy but no longer
needs it sells the policy for an amount less than
the death benefit.

Under stranger-originated or -initiated life
insurance (called “STOLI”), a third-party
investor or hedge fund with no relationship
to an individual initiates the policy purchase
by paying the premiums and later buying the
policy, hoping to profit upon the death of
the insured. These are often directed toward
senior citizens because the sooner the person
dies, the more the speculator profits.

This is in violation of the insurable interest
law designed to ensure that a person who is
a beneficiary of a life insurance policy has an
economic interest in the continued life— not
death — of the insured.

The law calls for a four-year prohibition on
buying STOLI after a policy is issued, with
the stipulation that an investor could not buy
those policies if there were signs of STOLI
during that time. It also provides for a four-
year rebuttable presumption in civil lawsuits
in which the insured’s estate seeks to receive
the life insurance procceds. “That should be
enough to stop STOLIL,” Scheid said.

A way for a representative of an insured
individual’s estate to recovery policy benefits
paid resulting from a STOLI agreement is also
in the law.

HF704/SF166*/CH52

Nonprofit insurer provisions

Certain self-insuring organizations political
subdivisions and related nonprofit entities are
not subject to federal taxes, A law will extend
the tax exemption enjoyed by these pools
to a similar nonprofit community service
organization pools.

Effective Aug. 1, 2009, the law makes
provisions for these organizations, specifically
Nonprofit Insurance Trust, to incorporate
and insure its nonprofit members within a
self-insured pool.

Rep. Patti Fritz (DFL-Faribault) and Sen.
Dan Sparks (DFL-Austin) sponsor the law.

HF1789/SF1611*/CH53

Sale of life insurance policies

Sometimes people who purchase a life
insurance policy sell it to a third party
before the policy matures. Called a viatical
settlement, a new law sponsored by Rep. Joe
Atkins (DFL-Inver Grove Heights) and Sen.
Chris Gerlach (R-Apple Valley) modifies
statutes regulating the practice.

The law lays out definitions and licensing
guidelines for brokers and life insurance
providers,

Under the law, a broker or provider will
need to be licensed by the state where the
person selling the policy resides. Also, a
licensed insurance producer agent in good
standing will be allowed to operate as a
viatical settlement broker. The law also lays
out grounds for a license to be suspended or
revoked and for refusal to issue or renew the
license of the provider, broker or agent.

The law is effective Aug. 1, 2009; but
a viatical settlement provider, broker or
investment agent doing business in Minnesota
could continue pending application approval
by the commerce commissioner aslong as the
application is filed by Dec. 31, 2009.

HF1719/SF1539*/CH62

Speeding up insurance claims

Let’s say you own a store and a fire destroys
the building and your inventory. You have
insurance, but you may find you have to hire
a lawyer to get the insurance company to pay
up.

A newlaw will allow for a 10 percent interest
charge on the insurance proceeds calculated
from the time the insured requests payment
of the policy amount, plus reasonable attorney
fees and court costs. Effective Aug, 1, 2009,
the law is sponsored by Rep. Joe Atkins (DFL-
Inver Grove Heights) and Sen, Tom Bakk
(DFL-Cook).

Opponents say the legislation will increase
insurance litigation costs and, in turn,
increase insurance premiums. Some say the
law goes beyond similar laws in other states.

The new law also clarifies the term and
usage of “surviving spouse” as it relates to
a business of a deceased professional who
was the sole owner of a firm at the time of
the professional’s death, The law allows
the surviving spouse one year after the
professional’s death to sell the practice; the
prior law allows only 90 days.

HF417*/SF528/CH148

Technical health policy changes
Technical clarifications and corrections
to policies and appropriations needed by the
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Human Services Department became law
elsewhere, after being in the vetoed omnibus
health and human services finance law.

Sponsored by Rep. Erin Murphy (DFL-St.
Paul) and Sen. Linda Berglin (DFL-Mpls), a
new law corrects miscellaneous references,
updates state provisions to meet federal
requirements and makes policy changes
related to state health care programs.

One change includeslimiting state payment
rates for cesarean births and vaginal deliveries
to $3,528 for hospitals and managed care and
county-based purchasing plans beginning Oct.
1, 2009. Another clarifies that a background
study must be completed on an individual
before they begin performing services with
direct contact to seniors and individuals with
disabilities.

Under the law, the human services
commissioner may develop “centers of
excellence” criteria to designate certain
providers of care for those on Medicare. The
commissioner can then make coverage for
certain procedures conditional upon the
facility providing the services and meeting
certain criteria,

The law has various effective dates.

HF1988*/SF1924/CH173

‘Tidying up’ with more specificity

Sometimes legislation isjust alittle “tidying
up.” That is a description given by Rep. Gail
Kulick Jackson (DFL-Milaca) to a new law she
sponsors with Sen. Ron Latz (DFL-St. Louis
Park).

The law makes technical changes to various
real estate provisions, It has varying effective
dates.

Specifically the law addresses 2008 changes
to a statute regarding transfer on death deeds,
and adds some specificity. It clarifies that upon
the death of a property owner whose real
estate was transferred with a transfer on death
deed, an affidavit must include the name and
mailing address of the person to whom future
property tax statements should be sent.,

The law also makes changes in the certificate
of title issued by the county registrar for
common interest communities, such as
condominiums, townhouses or a planned
community. It also specifies a process for cities
to use in responding to a request to grant a
cartway.

HF332/SF261%/CH30
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Garnishment
modifications/remedies

A new law aims to make the garnishment
process more fair and useful to creditors and
debtors.

Sponsored by Rep. Debra Hilstrom (DFL-
Brooklyn Center) and Sen, Linda Scheid (DFL-
Brooklyn Park), the law is the product of three
years of negotiations between creditors, legal
ald representatives and financial institutions.
It modifies the timeline and forms required to
be served related to certain exemptions that
may.be claimed by a judgment debtor.

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009.

“The primary focus of the (law) is to make
sure that the debtors who have exemptions
that are released from garnishment process
have access to their funds as quickly as
possible,” Hilstrom said. “This is in the best
interest of the debtor, but also the creditor and
the banks so that they are not pursuing funds
that are not to be collected.”

To do this, the mainly technical law:

+ ensures that debtors get clear and proper
notice prior to garnishment, including
a second notice after the service of the
summons explaining what they must do
to claim an exemption before their wages
are garnished;

+ simplifies the exemptions claim process for
all parties, including updating necessary
forms to put them into more plain lan-
‘guage; and

+ eases the process for people to protect ex-
empt funds.

All parties that worked on the law asked
Hilstrom to read the following message on the
House floor: “This bill updates the exemption
making changes that reflect their current
names and deleting obsolete old ones. These
changes are not meant to change existing law,
nor are they intended to impact current or
future case law.”

HF334*/SF683/CH31

Probate code changes

Funeral directors should now have more
clarity regarding the disposition of a body
upon death.

Effective May 21, 2009, a new law clarifies
what documents control and what the order
of relationships of the decedent are for whom
has say over what happens to the body after
death,

Rep. Melissa Hortman (DFL-Brooklyn
Park), who sponsors the law with Sen, Linda
Scheid (DFL-Brooklyn Park), said the changes
come from a Health Department request.

When someone dies, the person who decides
what to do with the body is determined by
order of degree of kinship, Previous law had an

order for seven people: whomever is appointed
in a document signed by the decedent; the
spouse; an adult child or majority of the adult
children; the surviving parent or parents, with
each having equal authority; an adult sibling
or majority of adult siblings; person or persons
in the next degree of kinship specified by law;
and the appropriate court authority.

New language adds new numbers six-10:
adult grandchild or majority of the adult
grandchildren; grandparent or grandparents,
with each having equal authority; adult nieces
and nephews, or a majority of them; person or
persons who were acting as guardians; and “an
adult who exhibited special care and concern.”
The person or persons in the next degree of
kinship specified by law and the appropriate
court authority now rank 11th and 12th.

It also states that an advanced directive
no longer has to be notarized; changes the
amount of property that a person could
collect by affidavit from $20,000 to $50,000;
and provides timelines for a probate court to
correct their errors.

HF265*/SF262/CH117

Law enforcers can practice law

Deputy sheriffs can practice law a different
kind of legal service.

Effective May 22, 2008, a law removes a
prohibition of a deputy sheriff practicing
law, provided the deputy has the appointing
sheriff’s approval and the legal counsel
provided is not related to the deputy’s law
enforcement duties. The law also permits a
coroner to practice as an attorney.

Rep. John Lesch (DFL-St. Paul), who
sponsors the law with Sen. Ellen Anderson
(DFL-St. Paul), said it allows deputy sheriffs
to practice law outside their jurisdiction for
cases that do not affect them in their deputy
sheriff job, Violation of the law will be a petty
misdemeanor.

An assistant St, Paul city attorney, Lesch
said he has sometimes provided services for
cases in other jurisdictions.

HF348*/SF297/CH118

Greater attorney fee awards

A new law could help people fight the
state.

Sponsored by Rep. Joe Mullery (DFL-Mpls)
and Sen. Don Betzold (DFL-Fridley), a new
law eliminates a per-hour cap on an award
of attorney’s or agents fees in a civil action or
contested case where the state is a party. The
law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009,

Under current law when a court finds the
state is not justified in bringing forth an
action, the defendant is entitled to an award
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of attorney fees and expenses. However, the
$125 hourly cap, established in 1986, is still
in statute,

Supporters said it is hard to get good legal
representation at that limited price,

The law will allow a judge to issue a
reasonable award based on the prevailing
market rate for the kind and quality of service
received by the defense,

HF1529%*/SF798/CH125

Lien, claims protection

Individuals, other than a spouse, who
have ownership in a property of a person
who died in a nursing home and was on
Medical Assistance will have lien and claims
protection, under a new law,

Sponsored by Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. D. Scott Dibble (DFL-Mpls),
the law requires an approved hardship
waiver, and that an individual, other than the
recipient’s spouse, have ownership interest
in the property and also have occupied the
property for at least 180 days before the date
of the decedent’s death. ‘

If the property is a homestead, Medical
Assistance claims can only be made after the
individual no longer resides in the property
or until it’s sold or transferred.

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009.

HF1482/SF1208*/CH160

Law to help Duluth’s bottom line

A Duluth-specific bill relating to
maintenance of steam-producing boilers is
effective Feb. 19, 2009,

Minnesota statute lays out licensing
requirements for boiler operations and
exemptions, Sponsored by Rep. Roger Reinert
(DFL-Duluth) and Sen. Yvonne Prettner
Solon (DFL-Duluth), a situation faced by
Duluth is added to the list of exemptions.

For several years, the city has owned and
operated a boiler in a building owned by
Minnesota Power, Steam generated from the
boiler provides power for a nearby paper mill,
which employs approximately 300 people.
The city is selling some of its assets in order
to balance an $8.5 million deficit, and the
boiler will bring $2 million to the city, Reinert
said.

However, for the boiler to be sold and
remain in operation, the exemption from
licensing requirements needed to be changed
to apply to the new owner.

HF329/SF212*/CH2
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MOE of effort suspension repeal

Mandates for counties are back in effect,
under a new law.

Sponsored by Rep. Ann Lenczewski (DFL-
Bloomington) and Sen. Tom Bakk (DFL-
Cook), the new law repeals a provision that
suspended all state maintenance of effort
(MOE) and matching fund requirements
for counties while levy limits are in effect.
The law also replaces two employer credits
intended to encourage employers to provide
Section 125 plans with a health care credit for
certain individuals participating in Section
125 plans. Another new law, CH88, includes a
new MOE provision that suspends any new or
increased maintenance of effort or matching
fund requirements on local governments until
July 1, 2011,

The MOE section is effective retroactively
from July 1, 2008. The insurance credit is
effective Feb, 21, 2009.

HF95/SF49*/CH3

County gets parkland money

Stearns County can receive the $492,000
it was slated to get through the 2008 capital
investment law for land acquisition for new
parks and trails.

Effective March 24, 2009, the law, makes a
technical correction to last year’s law that named
the Central Minnesota Regional Parks and Trails
Coordination Board as recipient of the money;
however, the board cannot own land.

Sponsored by Rep. Larry Hosch (DFL-
St. Joseph) and Sen. Michelle Fischbach
(R-Paynesville), the money will now go directly
to Stearns County, so that 23 acres adjacent to
Warner Lake Park can be integrated into the
Central Minnesota Parks and Trails.

HF56*/SE55/CH7

Two companies becoming one

A new law expands who may form a joint
energy company.

Effective April 17, 2009, the law modifies the
definition of “agency agreement” to include an
agreement made between two or more existing
municipal power agencies. Previous law
authorized two or more “cities” to establish a
municipal power agency.

Rep. Leon Lillie (DFL-North St. Paul) and
Sen, Chuck Wiger (DFL-Maplewood) sponsor
the law.

HF951/SF896*/CH19

Sanitary district dissolution
The Central Lakes Regional Sanitary
District will be allowed to dissolve,
Established in 2003, the district was to

construct a wastewater collection system
spanning several townships in north-central
Minnesota; however, it ran into a number
of problems, including opposition from
residents. It now plans to dissolve.
Sponsored by Rep. Torrey Westrom
(R-Elbow Lake) and Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen
(R-Alexandria), the law amends a special
law for the district that puts it on a path to
dissolution. It takes effect upon approval by
the affected townships.
HF1501/SF1489*/CH44

Changes to temporary drawdowns

Cities and counties will no longer need
the approval of every lakefront property
owner along a public water body in order to
temporarily lower the lake’s water level.

A new law, effective Aug, 1,2009, allows the
commissioner of natural resources to issue
public waters work permits to public entities
for a drawdown, if the commissioner deems
it is in the public’s best interest, at least 75
percent of the riparian landowners agree to
the drawdown and the permit applicant holds
a public hearing. The permit applicant must
mail notices of the hearing to affected property
owners and publish the date, time and place
of the hearing in a local newspaper.

Local governments and watershed districts
temporarily drawdown the water level in a lake
as a management tool to prevent or eradicate
invasive species.

The law, sponsored by Rep. Paul Rosenthal
(DFL-Edina) and Sen. Ken Kelash (DFL-
Mpls), excludes public waters that have been
designated by the commissioner for the
protection and management of wildlife,

HF1539/SF640%*/CH48

Minnesota River Board reorganizes

The former Minnesota River Basin Joint
Powers Board is renamed as the Minnesota
River Board and its purpose, duties and
membership are expected to change under a
new law.

Rep, Terry Morrow (DFL-St. Peter) and Sen,
Dennis Frederickson (R-New Ulm) sponsor
the law, which was effective May 8, 2009.

The board was established in 1995 as a
joint powers board comprised of counties
for the purpose of improving and protecting
water quality in the Minnesota River Basin,
Proposed reorganization plans include
collaboration with the Water Resources Center
at Minnesota State University, Mankato and
the creation of an advisory committee to serve
asa forum for issues the board should address.
The committee must convene prior to Dec, 31,
2009.

January 6, 2009




Comprised of representatives from the 12
major watersheds in the area, the board will
be required to compile and submit reports to
the Legislature about the results and progress
of water cleanup efforts within the basin,

HF955/SF275*/CH49

Iron Range sewer district

After a series of mishaps that delayed
its creation for several years, the Central
Iron Range Sanitary Sewer District will be
established,

The district, which will manage the
wastewater needs of a group of cities and
townships northeast of Hibbing, was
originally authorized in 2002; however, a
series of errors in the original and subsequent
legislation, as well as local problems, delayed
its implementation.

A new law sponsored by House Majority
Leader Tony Sertich (DFL-Chisholm) and
Sen. David Tomassoni (DFL-Chisholm)
will fix all the errors, authorize the district
retroactively from Dec. 27, 2003, and set up
governance and operational requirements,

Effective May 21, 2009, a provision in the
law changes the recipient of a $2.5 million
appropriation for mercury treatment facilities
that was made in the 2006 bonding law from
the district to the city of Hibbing. It also
specifies that the money is not available until
an equal amount is committed from other
sources,

HF17/SF79*/CH122

Local government mandate relief

Local governments will have fewer state
mandates to fund.

Sponsored by Rep. Mike Nelson (DFL-
Brooklyn Park) and Sen. Ann Rest (DFL-New
Hope), a new law is the result of legislative
hearings held early in session to determine what
state mandates could be removed to help cities
and counties cope with budget shortfalls.

A number of statutory requirements are
eliminated in the law, including minimum
salary mandates for local officials. These
include:

* counties with populations under 75,000 no
longer have to abide by outdated minimum
salary requirements for auditors, treasur-
ers, recorders and sheriffs;

+ county boards will have the ability to re-
duce commissioners’ salaries at any time;
and

+ cities with populations under 100,000 will
be able to temporarily reduce salaries of
members of their governing bodies at any
time.

The law includes provisions to simplify
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local governments’ compliance with agency
rulemakingauthority. State agencies proposing
rule changes must determine whether local
ordinances will have to be adopted or
amended to comply with the proposed rule, If
so, then the rule cannot become effective until
the next July 1 or Jan. 1 after its adoption.
Effective July 31, 2009, a deputy registrar
can collect the registration fee, taxes and filing
fee with credit or debit cards. A fee surcharge
can be collected to cover the cost of processing
a credit card or debit card transaction.
Other provisions in the law include:

* specifying that a county or town that has
accepted responsibility for an abandoned
cemetery may prohibit further burialsand
cease acceptance of responsibility for new
burials;

+ doubling the annual threshold through
June 30, 2013, for municipalities to report
to the Department of Labor and Industry
on fees collected from developers, builders
and subcontractors to $10,000;

¢ increasing from $300 to $2,000 the thresh-
old for which itemized accounts, claims or
demands allowed by a county board must
be published in the local newspaper;

+ allowing townships to recover the full cost
of employing “fence viewers” to help settle
private land disputes; and

+ striking a cap on booking fees charged to
jailed individuals and allowing counties to
recover the actual costs of booking.

HF1849*/SF1544/CH152

Counties get mandate relief

A variety of health and human services
county mandate reliefs and provisions on how
counties cremate and bury those on public
assistance are included in a new law.,

Sponsored by Rep. Kim Norton (DFL-
Rochester) and Sen. Ann Lynch (DFL-
Rochester), the law includes changes to
residential treatment centers, cremation and
burial of public assistance recipients.

The law allows children to be placed in
treatment centers across state lines if they are
closer than an in-state institution. A county
board can determine the appropriate level of
care when county funds are used to pay for
services.

The law permits counties, as an alternative,
to cremate the remains of any person receiving
public assistance through the Minnesota
Family Investment Program. However, the
county must attempt to contact the next of
kin to determine the wishes of the decedent,
if known, or the wishes of the family, If the
decedent’s wishes or faith tradition does not
approve of cremation, then the county cannot
cremate the remains.

Home health aide qualifications are
changed to include that a person may perform
aide tasks if the person maintains current
registration as a nursing assistant on the
Minnesota nursing assistant registry.

Other provisions include changes to day
training and habilitation alternative inspection
requests and changes to a mailing notice from
a juvenile’s probation officer to a school.

Most of the law takes effect Aug 1, 2009.

HF1276*/SF986/CH174

Medal recipients honored annually

Minnesotans who have served in the United
States military or naval forcés and received the
Congressional Medal of Honor will have their
own day of honor.

A newlaw, effective April 2, 2009, designates
March 25 as Medal of Honor Day in the state,
On that date annually, the governor will issue
a proclamation honoring this observance,
which commemorates the issuing of the first
medal on March 25, 1863.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Mike
Obermueller (DFL-Eagan) and Sen. Jim
Carlson (DFL-Eagan),

HF433/SF236*/CH8

Paying tribute to all Vietnam
veterans

An event to honor the state’s Vietnam era
veterans is planned for June 13, 2009, for the
State Capitol grounds, and legislation effective
April 4,2009, declares that date Honoring All
Vietnam Era Veterans Day in Minnesota,

According to the event’s Web site, www.
mnhonorsvietnamvets.org, the day will begin
with a Gold Star Family prayer service and end
with evening entertainment. A replica of the
Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington
D.C. is expected to be on display, and a Bob
Hope impersonator is scheduled to recreate
the entertainer’s famous skits he would
perform for troops.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Jeremy Kalin
(DFL-North Branch) and Sen. Steve Murphy
(DFL-Red Wing).

HF1400/SF1142*/CH10

Pay differential clarification
Termsandacronyms usedbythemilitaryand
the public sector can differ in interpretation.
For instance, a law relating to pay calculations
for those having to temporarily leave a school
position for active duty has caused some
problems.
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By deleting the term “basic” and substituting
“base,” a new law will help clarify what is
meant by “daily rate of pay,” for calculating
pay differential.

When someone working in the private
sector is called up to active duty, the public
employment entity (such as a school) fills the
financial gap, if the person’s military pay is
less than what they receive from their civil
public employment. The new law will make
the definition consistent.

Sponsored by Rep. Rob Eastlund (R-Isanti)
and Sen. Tarryl Clark (DFL-St. Cloud), the
law is effective May 17, 2009, and applies to
National Guard members and United States
armed forces reservists serving in the active
military on or after that day.

HF1127/SF1794*/CH84

State trail back on track

Work can resume on the Great River Ridge
State Trail in Olmsted and Wabasha counties
now that the project’s paper trail is back on
track.

The 14-mile trail was established during the
2006 session, but because Wabasha County
officials didn’t file some of the required
paperwork with the Office of the Secretary
of State, the project never moved forward.

A new law, retroactive to June 2, 2006,
re-establishes the trail. It also reauthorizes
$1.5 million from the 2008 capital investment
law for trail construction. Originating
in Plainview in Wabasha County, when
completed the trail will extend southwest
through Elgin and Viola before connecting
to the Chester Woods Trail near Rochester in
Olmsted County.

Rep. Andy Welti (DFL-Plainview) and Sen.
Ann Lynch (DFL-Rochester) sponsor the
law.

HF865*/SF983/CH11

Redwood County pavilion to expand

Redwood County residents will have more
space for their summertime class reunions,
wedding receptions and church picnics.

House Minority Leader Marty Seifert
(R-Marshall) and Sen. Dennis Frederickson
(R-New Ulm) sponsor a new law that allows
the upgrade of a popular picnic shelter to
accommodate larger groups. Visitor numbers
to the site and its surrounding grounds of
the historic Gilfillan Estate have more than
doubled in the past decade,

The law, effective May 21, 2009, will allow
an exemption to the state building code so the

38 New Laws

pavilion can be remodeled without a costly
sprinkler system that would ordinarily be
required by state code. The county has raised
$150,000 in private funds and sought no
additional funding, but only a code exemption
to save it the $75,000 sprinkler system price
tag.
HF1946/SF1477*/CH146

Public pension plan changes

Retirement plans for various public
employees will undergo a series of
administrative changes.

Sponsored by Rep. Mary Murphy (DFL-
Hermantown) and Sen. Don Betzold (DFL-
Fridley), the law enacts modifications
recommended by the Legislative Commission
on Pensjons and Retirement. These include:
+ technical changes to disability benefit

programs for state employees, including
allowing disability benefit applications to
be filed 18 months rather than six months
after termination of service;

+ permitting the Minnesota State Colleges
and Universities system to establish an
early separation incentive program for its
employees, and also permitting MnSCU
faculty a second opportunity to elect
Teachers Retirement Association coverage
within one year of achieving tenure; and

+ ‘establishing a voluntary statewide lump-
sum volunteer firefighter retirement plan
through the Public Employees Retirement
Association, and an associated retirement
fund to be invested by the State Board of
Investment,

The legislation originally included
provisions that would have increased teachers’
pension contributions to address deficiencies
in several pension funds; however, the
provisions were removed over concerns that
Gov. Tim Pawlenty opposed the changes and
would veto the bill if they were included.

“We are pushing this issue down the road,
and it’s a huge mistake and it’s going to haunt
us,” said Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-Mpls).

Most of the law takes effect either May 23,
2009, or the first'day of the first full payroll
period commencing after final enactment.

HF723/SF191*/CH169

Alert notification assurance
Just like those with sight, visually impaired
people deserve to know what is happening in
their neighborhood.

A new law, taking effect Aug. 1, 2009,
requires law enforcement agencies that issue
crime alerts to put them in a format that “a
disabled person can access with commercially
available text-based screen reader software.”
Richfield resident Clarence Schadegg brought
forth the idea for the law. He said an alert
formatted as a Word document would
suffice.

Sponsored by Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. Ken Kelash (DFL-Mpls), the
law also classifies as private the names and
contact information of citizens requesting a
crime alert.

HF254/SF265*/CH22

Ignition pilot program extension

Expansion and extension of an ignition
interlock pilot project that helps repeat DWI
offenders get their driver’s license back earlier
received gubernatorial approval.

Beltrami and Hennepin counties were
participants in a pilot project.scheduled to
end on June 30, 2009,

Under the voluntary program, an ignition

.iinterlock device is installed on a vehicle

and hooked up to its starter system. Before
starting the vehicle, an offender must blow
into a breathalyzer tube. If the device detects
alcohol, the vehicle won’t start.

“There’s been a lot of success and we’d like
to expand it,” said Rep. Joe Mullery (DFL-~
Mpls), who sponsors the law with Sen. Ron
Latz (DFL-St, Louis Park). The law takes effect
Aug. 1, 2009. )

According to Jean Ryan, the impaired
driving coordinator with the Public Safety
Department’s Office of Traffic Safety, there
have been about 75 participants in Hennepin
County and three in Beltrami County.

“It’s been extremely effective. There haven’t
been alot of people trying to start their vehicle
with the device after they’ve been drinking,”
she said. “For those people that have jobs
and they want to get a limited license to
get to and from their job, it does provide
that opportunity for them to get a limited
license. But it still instills public safety on
roadways.”

The participant pays a monthly fee of about

$70 for the device, but supporters hope that
cost will decrease if demand increases.
It is up to probation agencies to decide if they
are willing to monitor the device if a person
chooses to use the ignition interlock. “The
probation officer in charge of the program in
Hennepin County said they saved an awfullot
of money by doing this,” Mullery said.

HF525/SF462*/CH29
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‘Brandon’s Law’ is now law

A new law is designed to help find missing
and endangered adults more quickly.
Sponsored by House Minority Leader
Marty Seifert (R-Marshall) and Sen. Dennis
Frederickson (R-New Ulm), “Brandon’s
Law” expands the state’s missing children’s
law to include adults who go missing under
dangerous circumstances. It takes effect
July 1, 2009.

The law is named after Brandon Swanson,
whose car got stuck in a ditch near Taunton
along the Lincoln and Lyon county line in
southwest Minnesota on May 14, 2008. As
his parents were on their way to help, the cell
phone connection went dead at 3:10 a.m. He
hasn’t been heard from since.

Brandon’s parents, Brian and Annette
Swanson, and his sister, Jamine, were in
attendance during the governor’s signing
ceremony. ‘

The law will require law enforcement to
take a missing persons report without delay
after notification of any missing person no
matter the person’s age; immediately conduct
a preliminary investigation to determine if the
person is missing, and whether the person is
endangered; and promptly notify all other
law enforcement agencies of the situation. It
clarifies that the agency taking the report be
the lead agency in the investigation.

Law enforcement will be required to seek
additional information — including DNA
samples, dental records, X-rays, photographs
and fingerprints — if the missing person is
not found within 30 days.

A working group will be convened to create
a standardized form for law enforcement
to use when taking a missing persons
report, and to develop “a model policy that
incorporates standard processes, procedures,
and information to be provided to interested
persons regarding developments in a missing
person case.” Its work is to be complete by
Sept. 1, 2009,

The Jon Francis Foundation has agreed
to pay the approximate $10,000 cost for
the working group. Francis, a 24-year-old
Stillwater native, was missing for more than
a year in Idaho’s Sawtooth Mountains before
his remains were found on July 24, 2007.
The parents of Jon Francis, David and Linda
Francis, were also at the signing ceremony.

HF1242%/SF1146/CH38

Isolation and quarantine
How the state will dispense vaccinations or
prescription drugs to the general public in case
of an emergency is defined in a new law.
Sponsored by Rep. Ryan Winkler (DFL-
Golden Valley) and Sen, Yvonne Prettner Solon

January 6, 2009

(DFL-Duluth), the law creates three dispensing
methods: a designated representative of a
household can pick up prescription drugs or
vaccines for that household; postal carriers
can deliver drugs to households; and it will
create a closed point of dispensing in which
a business, church or other organization will
be a center for dispensing drugs to a limited
number of people. A closed point will not be
open to the public.

The law removes a sunset provision on a
peace officer’s authority to use force ifa person
resists isolation and quarantine required by a
court order.

The health commissioner is authorized
to purchase vaccines, antitoxins, serums,
immunizing agents, antibiotics, antivirals,
antidotes, other pharmaceutical agents and

medical supplies. The commissioner can also’

request Minnesota Responds Medical Reserve
Corps health volunteers to help in case of
emergency.
The law is effective May 8, 2009.
HF1554/SF1462*/CH41

Policy provisions passed

Predatory offenders will be unable to use
electronic devices as a means to sexually solicit
children, and a person required to register as
a predatory offender will be prohibited from
accessing social networking Web sites, instant
messaging and chat room programs.

These are two provisions of the omnibus
public safety policy law, which takes effect
Aug. 1, 2009, unless otherwise noted.

Sponsored by Rep. Debra Hilstrom (DFL-
Brooklyn Center) and Sen, Mee Moua
(DFL-St. Paul), the law also permits tougher
sentencing, allows GPS placement on a
windshield and addresses employment
issues related to an applicant’s criminal
background.

HF1301*/SF993/CH59

Predatory offenders

The law aims to proactively protect children
and Minnesotans from sexual predators.

It expands the computer solicitation of
children crime to include all electronic
communication systems, including texting
and cell phone video. (Art. 1, Sec. 6)

Effective Aug. 1, 2010, it prohibits registered
predatory offenders who are on intensive
supervised release from accessing or using
instant messaging, chat rooms or social
networking Web sites that permit minors to
participate. However, an intensive supervise
release agent can modify the prohibition under
certain circumstances. Such offenders would
also be subject to unannounced searches of
their computer or other electronic device with

Internet capability. (Art. 1, Sec. 2)

The definition of sexual contact applicable
to second- and fourth-degree criminal
sexual conduct is amended to include “the
intentional touching with seminal fluid or
sperm by the actor of the complainant’s body
or the clothing covering the complainant’s
body.” (Art. 1, Sec. 5)

By Oct. 1, 2010, the Corrections and
Public Safety departments are to prepare
training materials on the dangers of predatory
offenders for persons who care for children
and vulnerable adults. Materials must include
a listing of dangers that predatory offenders
pose to children and vulnerable adults,
predator offender registration requirements
and predatory offender community notice
requirements. (Art. 1, Sec. 4)

A provision amended onto the House
bill by Rep. Tom Emmer (R-Delano) that
certain predatory offenders shall receive lime
green license plates failed to make the final
product.

Crime victims

A prosecutor must now provide victims
of domestic assault and harassment with
information on civil protection orders. The
law adds victims of criminal sexual conduct
to that statute.

The law also increases from 12 to 24 hours
the time an officer may arrest a person who
the officer has probable cause to believe
committed domestic abuse. An arrest can be
made even if the officer did not witness the
act,

Both provisions are effective July 1, 2009.
(Art, 2, Secs. 1, 3)

Judicial districts are permitted to establish
a domestic fatality review team “to assess
domestic violence deaths in order to develop
recommendations for policies and protocols
for community prevention and intervention
initiatives to reduce and eliminate the
incidence of domestic violence and resulting
fatalities.” Each team must annually report
recommendations to the Legislature without
reference to specific cases.

Among changes that have been implemented
sincea pilot projectbegan in August 2000 in the
Fourth Judicial District is the establishment
of a domestic court calendar in the district.
A pilot project is also underway at one
Minneapolis Police Department precinct that
enhances investigation techniques, The law
continues to allow the team access to non-
public data, something essential to its work.
(Art, 2, Sec. 2)

The statute of limitations for criminal
sexual conduct involving a child victim is
clarified so that it expires the later of nine
years after the offense is committed or three
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years after the crime was reported to law
enforcement. (Art. 5, Sec. 20)

Courts and public defenders

A state policy is set forth to eliminate racial,
gender and ethnic fairness barriers in the
courts. Rep. Joe Mullery (DFL-Mpls), who
sponsored this as HF1224, said the language
came from the Department of Public Safety,
and without it, the state could risk losing
federal funds. (Art. 3, Sec. 1)

A court is permitted to order a sentence
beyond what is specified in the sentencing
guidelines grid based on an aggravating factor
arising from the same course of conduct. (Art.
5, Sec. 8)

A pilot diversion program for those charged
with driving after suspension or revocation,
but have not yet entered a plea is allowed for
in the law. It is directed at people who want
to get valid, but for various reasons, such as
limited finances, are unable to do so.

In exchange for a diversion driver’s
license, participants will need to maintain
insurance, make regular payments toward the
outstanding fines and complete a class that
teaches life and financial management skills.
Offenders will pay for program costs, which
can be done in installments.

Duluth, St. Paul, South St. Paul, West St.
Paul and Inver Grove Heights are eligible to
take part in the pilot program; however, the
public safety commissioner may permit other
cities to establish a program. A report is due the
Legislature by Feb, 1, 2011, with the program
ending June 30, 2011, (Art. 3, Sec. 4)

Other court provisions include:

+ elimination of a requirement that Henne-
pin County District Court establish and
maintain misdemeanor violations bureaus
in specific locations. The court now has
locations in downtown Minneapolis,
Brooklyn Center, Edina and Minnetonka
(Art. 3, Sec. 2);

+ a statewide expansion of a program in the
second and fourth judicial districts that
allows the authority to appoint a referee
to act in conciliation court (Art. 3, Sec.
3); and

+ creation of a working group to review
changes to the state’s laws and policies on
DWI offenders (Art. 5, Sec. 23).

Corrections and sentencing guidelines

State law is changed to address the detention
and release of probationers, conditional
releases and pretrial releases so that orders to
detain or release someone extend to any peace
or probation officer in the state, not just the
county of issuance. (Art. 4, Secs. 1-3, 5)

Current law requires that juveniles who
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escape from the Red Wing correctional facility
while on furlough status or other corrections
supervision have gross misdemeanor warrants
issued for their arrest. The law is updated to
allow a peace officer to make a warrantless
arrest of a juvenile who escapes from
correction’s custody. (Art. 4, Sec, 7)

A chief executive officer of a correctional
facility is permitted, effective July 1, 2009, to
forward surcharges collected from inmates to
court administrators or other entity collecting
a court-imposed surcharge. (Art. 4, Sec. 4)

Effective July 1, 2009, correctional officers
who are subject to an agreement, merger or
consolidation of correctional facilities must
receive credit for accumulated vacation
and sick leave time. Additionally, if a
correctional officer becomes employed by a
new entity because of the agreement, merger
or consolidation the officer is “considered to
have begun employment with the new entity
on the first day of employment with the
governmental unit employing the correctional
officer immediately preceding the creation of
the new entity.” (Art. 4, Sec. 5)

A study on evidence-based practices
in probation — including recommended
solutions to identified barriers — is due to the
Legislature by Jan. 15, 2011, This is effective
July 1, 2009. (Art 4, Sec. 8)

A stipulation that would further ensure
correctional officer safety did not make the
final law because of a perceived fiscal cost.
Sponsored by Rep. Steve Smith (R-Mound),
HF1039 would further clarify a 1997 state law
that an inmate who assaults a correctional
officer must serve their sentence consecutively,
not concurrently. However, some judges have
not interpreted it properly..

Public safety

GPS systems can be mounted or located
near the bottommost portion of a vehicle’s
windshield. The only devices currently
allowed on the windshield are sun visors,
rearview mirrors and electronic toll devices.
(Art. 5, Sec. 5)

A business that sells over-the-counter
methamphetamine precursor drugs is
required, under the law, to retain a sales
log for three years and make it available
for inspection by law enforcement at all
reasonable times. (Art. 5, Sec. 3)

The Board of Pharmacy must submit an
annual legislative report about changes it
made to the controlled substance schedules
maintained in rules by the board. (Art. 5, Secs.
4,22)

Commercial retailers are prohibited from
selling a toy designed primarily for children
under age 12 that has been recalled for safety
reasons. The law clarifies that “recalled” does

not include corrective actions that involve
safety alerts, parts replacement or consumer
repairs. (Art. 5, Sec. 10)

The state’s trespass law is amended to
include entering any public or private area
lawfully cordoned off by a peace officer. The
authority responsible for cordoning offan area
must identify itself, An affirmative defense is
provided. (Art. 5, Sec. 15)

The Statewide Radio Board is designated as
the state interoperability executive committee.
Among its role, the board must develop a
statewide plan for local and private public
safety communication that integrates with the
state’s emergency operation plan and promote
coordination and cooperation among public
safety agencies. (Art. 5, Secs. 12-13)

The crime of unauthorized law enforcement
practices is expanded to include cases where
a peace officer knowingly allows a non-peace
officer to represent himself or herself as one,
or to perform acts reserved for peace officers.
A first-time violation is a misdemeanor, with
subsequent infractions gross misdemeanors.
(Art. 5, Sec. 19)

Employment

Public employers cannot consider an
applicant’s criminal background history
prior to an interview. This does not apply to
the Corrections Department or to “public
employers who have a statutory duty to
conduct a criminal background check or
otherwise take into consideration a potential
employee’s criminal history during the hiring
process.” (Art, 5, Sec, 11)

The admissibility of information regarding
the criminal history of an employee or former
employee in civil actions against a former
employer based on employee conduct is
limited.

A criminal history record cannot be
introduced if:

+ position duties did not “expose others to a
greater degree of risk than that created by
the employee or former employee interact-
ing with the public outside of the duties of
the position or that might be created by
being employed in general”;

+ a court sealed record of the case or a par-
don was received by the employee before
“occurrence of the act giving rise to the
action”; or

+ therecord is for an arrest or charge where no
conviction resulted. (Art. 5, Sec. 6)

The Minnesota Racing Commission can
issue a license to an applicant otherwise
disqualified based on a prior felony conviction
for an occupation not involving gaming
operations, security, surveillance or the
handling of pari-mutuel or club card revenues
if the applicant has not been convicted of a
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crime involving fraud or misrepresentation
within the past decade and has never been
convicted of a gambling-related offense. (Art.
5, Sec. 7)

Effective July 1, 2009, employees of merging
local public safety organizations must be
credited with their accumulated sick and
vacation time, (Art. 5, Sec. 14)

The commissioner of administration,
University of Minnesota, Minnesota State
Colleges and Universities system and cities
are authorized to adopt policies “that address
the goal of improving employment for local
residents or former criminal offenders.” (Art.
5, Sec. 24)

Other provisions

+ the Minnesota Financial Crimes Oversight
‘Council is reorganized and turned into an
advisory board, Its membership is changed
and duties of the oversight council are
shifted to the public safety commissioner
with advice from the board (Art. 5, Secs.
9, 21);

+ technical changes are made to the POST
Board to reflect languages and standards
in board rules, obsolete references are
deleted and a reference to schools that of-
fer a professional peace officer program is
updated (Art. 5, Secs. 16-18); and

* the law reflects in statute organizational
changes at the Bureau of Criminal Ap-
prehension to reflect the name of a new
organization within the bureau. The two
information service divisions — the CriM-
Net Program Office and Criminal Justice
Information Systems — merged to create
the MN Justice Information Services,
The duties of the Criminal and Juvenile
Justice Information Policy Group are also
amended to include responsibility for the
integration of statewide criminal justice
information. (Art. 6, Secs, 1-25)

Primarily rural for medical

A technical clarification for what constitutes
arural area in emergency medical variances is
included in a new law.

Sponsored by Rep. Dave Olin (DFL-Thief
River Falls) and Sen. Gary Kubly (DFL-
Granite Falls), the new law adds “primarily”
to help define rural service areas, It takes effect
Aug. 1, 2009.

Olin said that the city of Cannon Falls
applied for an ambulance hardship variance,
but was declined because its area overlaps into
the metropolitan counties even though its
area is primarily rural. The technical change
would help similar cities when applying for
variances, he said.

HF842/SF675*/CH70
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No laser pointing at planes

Knowingly pointing a laser at an aircraft
could result in a jail sentence.

A new law makes the action a gross
misdemeanor in Minnesota, punishable by
up to a year in jail and a $3,000 fine, It takes
effect Aug, 1, 2009.

Federal law is designed to secure larger air
carriers, leaving a loophole and forcing states
or local municipalities to prohibit discharging
a laser into the cockpit of an aircraft,

Jim Englin, a state patrol pilot, told at least
two House committees that patrol pilots
suffered three laser illumination events in
2008. Arrests were made in two cases, but
charges were never brought forth,

When the laser hits an aircraft windshield,
it turns the plexiglass opaque, blinding the
pilot. Englin said it is like a bright flash bulb
going off directly in your eyes.

Lasers that run on AAA batteries can be
purchased at many office supply stores or big
box retailers. Some have a range of up to 10
miles.

Thelawexemptssearch and rescue situations
when the person on the ground is indicating
their location,

Rep. Rick Hansen (DFL-South St. Paul) and
Senate President James Metzen (DFL-South
St. Paul) sponsor the law.

HF1097/SF1408*/CH?73

Transport time

Sponsored by Rep. Diane Loeffler (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. Linda Higgins (DFL-Mpls),
a new law states that if a trauma hospital is
not within a 30-minute driving distance,
the patient must be taken to the nearest
hospital.

In cases where the trauma patient’s
breathingis notimpaired, theambulance must
transport a patient to a Level I or II trauma
hospital within 30 minutes transport time,
or the nearest hospital if a trauma hospital
is not within the time frame, An ambulance
service medical director can require, however,
a person be sent to a higher-designated trauma
hospital. This portion of the law is effective
July 1, 2010,

Under current law, a Level I trauma center
can’t be bypassed for a Level I, even ifit’s closer.
The change allows flexibility in determining
which care is more appropriate.

The law also requires that the health
commissioner, in consultation with the
Emergency Medical Services Regulatory
Board, emergency medical servicesand trauma
hospitals, to provide quarterly updates to each
regional trauma advisory council regarding
major trauma scene ambulance transports.
This portion is effective Aug, 1, 2009.

HF1293/SF1217*/CH74

Restraint required for young riders

Effective July 1, 2009, youth in a motor
vehicle must be in a child passenger restraint
system until their eighth birthday or they
reach 4 feet 9 inches tall,

Rep. Melissa Hortman (DFL-Brooklyn
Park), who sponsors the law with Sen, Jim
Carlson (DFL-Eagan), said that an improperly
fitted adult safety belt could cause the lap belt
to ride up over the stomach and the shoulder
belt to cut across the neck. If the shoulder
strap is uncomfortable, children often place it
behind their back, further defeating the safety
benefits of the system. A backless booster seat,
which raises a child so the belt properly goes
across the shoulders and hips, costs less than
$20.

Violation of the law will be a petty
misdemeanor, with the driver fined up to
$50, However, the fine will be waived if within
14 days the operator proves he or she has
purchased a system for use. A peace officer is
permitted to provide information to a violator
on obtaining a free or low-cost child passenger
restraint system.

Because of the new law, the state will become
eligible for federal funds through the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration, which
awards incentive funds to states that enact a
qualifying child restraint law.

HF267/SF99*/CHS82

Public safety, courts and corrections
funding

A strategic approach to preserving public
safety still means a $61 million cut in public
safety and courts funding,

Gov. Tim Pawlenty is OK with that.

A new law, effective July 1, 2009, unless
otherwise noted, contains reforms for the
court system and Corrections and Public
Safety departments.

Rep. Michael Paymar (DFL-St. Paul) and
Sen. Linda Higgins (DFL-Mpls) sponsor
the $2.02 billion law, including $1.81
billion allocated from the General Fund,
to cover corrections, courts, human rights,
victim services and public safety and other
programming,

HF1657/SF802*/CH83

Corrections

Unlike most state agencies and departments
that face a biennial funding decrease, the
Corrections Department will receive a $3.6
million base bump to $941.94 million, The
department is also to receive federal stimulus
dollars.

To help with department efficiencies, the
law requires at least a 1 percent per diem
decrease, or 89 cents per day per prisoner.
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Additional per diem savings must be put
toward treatment beds. If this cannot be
achieved the difference is to be cut from the
department’s operations support division.
A list is included of potential ways the
department can cut costs. The law requires
a 20 percent reduction in the department’s
car fleet — more than 750 now — by Jan. 1,
2010,

The department must report to the
Legislature by Dec. 15, 2009, on alternative
chemical dependency treatinent options;
inmate education, chemical dependency or
reentry programs cannot be cut to achieve
budget savings; and the department must
consider bed impact savings of drug courts
in formulating prison bed projections.

Nearly $633.4 million from the General
Fund will go toward correctional institutions,
but coupled with $38 million in federal
stimulus dollars and $1.16 million in special
revenue funds, equals $672.54 million in
spending,

All Challenge Incarceration Program
beds must be filled, and the department is
required to put an eligible offender’s name
on a waiting list and to offer the person a
chance to participate when space becomes
available if there was insufficient space when
the person originally became eligible. The list
of those ineligible to participate is expanded,
and the law requires program offenders to be
confined at either the Togo or Moose Lake/
Willow River correctional facilities. (Art. 1,
Sec. 14 and Art. 3, Secs. 13-14)

An annual transfer of $1 million from
MINNCOR to the General Fund is required
in the law. MINNCOR operates two types of
inmate work programs: industries that sell
products to state agencies, local governments
and others; and it contracts with private
businesses to use inmates and prison space
to assemble or manufacture products they
sell. MINNCOR employed 16 percent of the
inmate population in fiscal year 2008, (Art. 1,
Sec. 14)

Effective May 16, 2009, a 15-member task
force is established “to advise the governor and
thelegislature on management and operations
strategies that will improve efficiencies
in corrections and reduce the inmate per
diem for the Department of Corrections.”
A report is due the governor and Legislature
by Feb. 15, 2010. The task force expires June
30, 2010. Public mémbers will serve without
compensation or expense reimbursement,
(Art. 3, Sec. 23)

The short-term offender program that
allows offenders with less than six months
remaining on their sentence to serve that time
in a local jail is eliminated, effective for those
sentenced on or after July 1, 2009, meaning
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no state inmates should be in local facilities
after Dec. 31, 2009, The problem was that
state funding was not close to county costs,
thereby putting the onus on local taxpayers.
The law “does not preclude the commissioner
from contracting with local jails to house
offenders committed to the custody of the
commissioner,” (Art, 1, Sec. 14 and Art. 3,
Secs. 19, 24)

The Sentencing Guidelines Commission
is to receive nearly $1.21 million in biennial
funding, a $10,000 biennial reduction, The
commission is prohibited from spending
money for unnecessary motor vehicle
purchases and out-of-state travel. (Art. 1,
Sec. 15)

Any criminal justice agency reports due
the Legislature must be done electronically.
An agency must also submit an electronic
copy to the state library and the Minnesota
Historical Society. The Legislative Reference
Library shall receive one electronic and one
paper copy. (Art. 3, Sec. 2)

A legislative report is due Aug. 31 of each
odd-numbered year on performance measures
and targets the Corrections Department will
include in its biennial performance report.
This must “include a budget target for the next
two years and a history of the department’s
performance for the previous five years.”
Issues to be address include per diem costs
for adult offenders, staffing and salaries,
recidivism and implementation and use of
best practices. (Art. 3, Sec. 6)

A felony DWI report is due the Legislature
by each Jan. 15, It must include offender
demographics, those sentenced to prison time,
those who complete treatment in prison and
treatment costs for offenders incarcerated under
felony sentence provisions. (Art. 3, Sec. 12)

The law addresses recommendations in
a February 2009 report by the Office of
the Legislative Auditor about MINNCOR,
including a requirement that MINNCOR’s
marketing plan address attracting business
from state and local government agencies;
full cost for inmate wages be included in its
annual financial statements; and prohibiting
MINNCOR from working on projects until
a contract or purchase order has been signed
and from continuing work after a contract or
purchase order has expired. A report on the
marketing plan is required to the Legislature
by Sept. 15, 2009. (Art. 3, Secs. 7-10, 20)

A 90-dayincarceration cap will be placed ona
first-time supervised release violator following a
revocation of supervised release, This is effective
May 16, 2009. (Art. 3, Sec. 15)

Counties can develop a pilot project to
house offenders facing probation revocation
I countyjails and workhouses or other secure
facilities, rather than sending them to prison

for execution of their sentences. Among issues
to be addressed are offender programming,
medical care, transportation to and from the
facility and intended pilot program outcomes,
Any county developing a program must report
electronically to the Legislature by Dec. 1,
2009. (Art, 3, Sec, 22)

Courts

After lawmakers heard about potentially
reducing services and hours or not charging
some criminal activity, the law provides the
courts an overall biennial funding decrease
of less than 1 percent,

The Supreme Court is to receive $86,95
million, a $1.03 million reduction from the
2008-2009 biennium. The court is to continue
its criminal justice forum and convene a
civil justice forum. In each case, a report is
requested from the Legislature by Feb. 15, 2010,
regarding efficiencies and cost savings. The
court must also apply for all federal stimulus
fund grants to continue drug court programs,
make technology improvements and it shall
not certify a judicial or referee vacancy “until
it has examined alternative options, such as
temporarily suspending certification of the
vacant position or assigning a retired judge
to fill the position.” (Art. 1, Sec. 3)

Other court biennial spending includes:
+$500.23 million for district courts, a $4 mil-

lion biennial decrease (Art. 1, Sec. 5);

+ $132.06 million for the Board of Public
Defense, a $4 million biennial decrease
(Art. 1, Sec. 9);

+ $20.57 million for the Court of Appeals, a
$170,000 biennial decrease (Art. 1, Sec.
4);

+* $1.64 million for the tax court, a $14,000
biennial decrease (Art. 1, Sec. 6);

+$912,000 for the Board of Judicial Standards,
a $8,000 biennial decrease (Art. 1, Sec.
8); and

+ $102,000 for the Uniform Laws Commis-
sion, a $2,000 biennial decrease (Art. 1,
Sec. 7).

Some of the funding decrease is to be offset

by $38.93 million in fee increases and $7.82

million in revenue adjustments:

+initial filing fee in a district court civil action
($240 to $310);

+ initial filing fee in a marriage dissolution
action ($270 to $340);

+ jury demand fee ($75 to $100);

* motion fees ($55 to $100);

+ certified and uncertified copies of any docu-
ment from a criminal proceeding ($10/$5
to $14/$8);

* subpoena issuance ($12 to $16);

+ issuing an execution or writ ($40 to $55);

+ issuing or docketing a judgment ($30 to
$40);
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+ filing an account in a trusteeship ($40 to
$55);

+ depositing a will ($20 to $27);

+ filing fee in conciliation court ($50 to
$65);

« filing fee for an appeal ($500 to $550); and

* surcharge attached to parking violations
($4 to $12).

It also clarifies that a criminal and traffic
surcharge can only be imposed once per case,
even if the defendant is convicted of more than
one offense, (Art. 2, Secs. 21-25)

The public defender representation co-pay
is increased from $28 to $75. However, it can
be waived by the court. (Art. 2, Sec, 47)

A public defender fee of no more than
$75 or less than the civil legal services fee
established in 1997 is to be assessed on all
licensed attorneys actively engaged in law
practice, The money will be used to help fund
public defenders. Minnesota’s current $217
registration fee is 15th-lowest in the country.
(Art. 2, Sec. 49)

Effective Aug, 1, 2009, the annual interest
rate on a judgment award of more than
$50,000 will be 10 percent. An award of
$50,000 or less remains at the current level
of based on federal yield rates or 4 percent,
whichever is greater. (Art. 2, Sec. 35)

All fines, installment payments and forfeited
bail money collected from persons convicted
of water safety violations and watercraft laws
shall be split between the General Fund and
the Department of Natural Resources’ water
recreation account for boat and water safety
purposes. Previously, the General Fund money
went to the county where the infraction
occurred. (Art. 2, Sec. 5)

A law library fee can only be applied once
per case, (Art. 2, Secs. 6-7)

The 90-day deadline in which the Supreme
Court must certify a judicial or referee
vacancy to the governor is removed in the
law; outdated language relating to the pay
rate for retired justices assigned to hear cases
is deleted; and the law clarifies that the chief
justice of the Supreme Court is to determine
pay and expenses received by a retired judge
or justice acting as a judge on any court. (Art,
2, Secs. 1-4)

Effective May 16, 2009, referees are
permitted to preside over conciliation courts
throughout Minnesota, Previous law required
judges to preside in such cases, except in
Hennepin and Ramsey counties. Supporters
said this is a money-saving idea and that there
have been few, if any, problems where this has
occurred, (Art, 2, Sec, 33)

Instead of applying to the court, a judgment
creditor’s attorney can order disclosure
of assets for judgment enforcement in
conciliation and district court matters. (Art.
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The judicial branch is given authority
to establish uniform court debt collection
policies and procedures. A court is required to
pay for collection services, but can add those
collection costs to the debt, including credit
bureau reporting charges, skip tracing fees
and other fees assessed by a public entity for
necessary information, (Art, 2, Sec, 28)

A courtcan nolonger impose imprisonment
or extend probation for fine nonpayment, but
it can refer unpaid fines, court surcharges,
restitution or fees to a collection process. If
a defendant has agreed to a payment plan
but fails to pay an installment due the entire
remaining amount becomes due. (Art. 2, Secs.
39, 42-43, 46, 50)

It results in no changes to current penalties,
but the crime of possessing methamphetamine
precursors with the intent to manufacture
methamphetamine is restructured to allow
tracking of first and subsequent offense
penalties. Under the law, a first offender could
be sentenced up to 10 years in prison and
fined $20,000, and a subsequent conviction
could result in a $30,000 fine and 15 years
imprisonment. (Art. 2, Secs. 8, 50)

The state’s DW1 law is restructured to track
offenses based on the type of vehicle involved:
motor vehicle, motorboat, snowmobile, all-
terrain vehicle and off-road vehicles. It does
not substantially change current elements or
penalties, (Art, 2, Secs. 9-16, 18-19, 37)

A restorative justice alternative disposition
is created for certain juvenile petty offenders.
Restorative justice programs let an offender,
victim and affected community members
be directly involved in responding to the
crime,

It can only occur in jurisdictions where
suitable provider programs, providers and
space are available, and if a prosecutor
determines restorative justice is appropriate
inacase, “The program or provider and child,
along with other participants, shall agree in
writing to an appropriate sanction for the
child,” according to the law. Charges will
be dismissed if the sanctions are completed;
failure to comply will result in a return to
court. (Art. 2, Sec. 38)

Currently, a court must impose at least 30
percent of the maximum controlled substance
crime fine authorized by law. Seventy percent
of the mandated fine is then forwarded to a
local drug abuse prevention program, such as
DARE or a similar education program, and
the remainder to the General Fund. This law
adds juvenile drug court programs as one of
the programs eligible to receive the minimum
fine proceeds. (Art. 2, Sec. 40)

The fifth-degree controlled substance crime
is amended with technical and substantive

changes. In addition to moving penalty
provisions to statutes addressing possession
and sale, the mandatory minimum sentence
for repeat offenders becomes waivable. This
will allow a court to sentence someone to less
than minimum standards if the court finds
substantial and compelling evidence to do so.
(Art. 3, Secs. 3-4, 24)

Publicsafety

The biennial appropriation for the
Department of Public Safety is $321.12
million, of which $160.93 million is from the
General Fund, $136.9 million is from state
government special revenue, $19.26 million
is from special revenue funds, $3.88 million
is in trunk highway funding and $138,000 is
environmental funds.

In a pair of cost-saving measures, the
department is to reduce its vehicle fleet by
5 percent by Jan. 1, 2010, compared to one
year prior. This does not apply to state patrol
vehicles purchased or maintained with trunk
highway funds. Additionally, no out-of-
state travel is permitted “that is not directly
connected with and necessary to carry out the
core functions of the department,”

Included in the department’s total is
$86.74 million for the Bureau of Criminal
Apprehension, with funding for DWI lab
analysis transferred from the General Fund
to the Trunk Highway Fund.

The Office of Justice Programs is to
receive $71,19 million. It must give priority
to awarding federal stimulus money grants
to the following programs: mentoring grants
for children of incarcerated parents; youth
intervention programs; the Network of
Better Futures; trafficking victim programs;
nonprofit organizations providing resources
to families of persons who have died
traumatically; juvenile detention alternatives;
restorative justice programs; and judicial
branch efficiency programs.

The law further states that the following
victims’ services programs cannot be reduced
by more than 3 percent of their fiscal year 2009
funding: crime victim reparations, battered
women shelters and domestic violence
programs, general crime victim programs,
sexual assault victim programs and youth
intervention programs. (Art. 1, Sec. 10)

The Peace Officers Standards and Training
Board is to receive $8.02 million in the
biennium, of which $5.72 million is for
reimbursements to local governments for
peace officer training costs. The board is
losing $600,000 in grants from a special
revenue fund and $32,000 for central office
activity. (Art. 1, Sec. 11)

The Department of Human Rights is
to receive nearly $7.05 million in biennial
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funding, a $120,000 decrease; and the Private
Detective Board is to receive $246,000 for the
biennium, an $18,000 decline. (Art. 1, Secs.
12-13)

The POST Board, Private Detective Board
and Human Rights Department are prohibited
from making unnecessary motor vehicle
purchases or out-of-state travel,

Discretionary language regarding the
Public Safety Department’s submission of
a performance report to the Legislature is
removed. (Art. 3, Sec. 16)

Effective June 1, 2009, a legislative report
is due Aug. 1 of each odd-numbered year
on performance measures and agency goals
the Public Safety Department will include
in its biennial performance report. Issues to
be addressed include staffing and salaries,
caseloads and responsibilities of BCA agents,
receipt and expenditure of federal grant funds
and assistance provided to crime victims.
(Art. 3, Sec. 17)

Fallen Firefighters Memorial Day

Firefighters who have lost their lives in
the line of duty now have their own day of
remembrance in Minnesota.

A new law designates the first Sunday in
October as Fallen Firefighters Memorial Day.
On that day, each U.S, and Minnesota flag
on the Capitol grounds will be flown at half-
staff,

According to the Minnesota Fallen
Firefighters Memorial Association, there
have been 197 line-of-duty firefighter deaths
in Minnesota, with the first being recorded in
1881 in Minneapolis, and the most recent in
2008 in Pine City.

Rep. Mike Obermueller (DFL-Eagan) and
Sen. Jim Carlson (DFL-Eagan) sponsor the
law, which takes effect Aug, 1, 2009,

HF422/SF237*/CH87

Saying no to REALID
Saying no to REAL ID

Civil liberties and privacy issues versus
national security and federal accessibility are
at the heart of a new law, the provisions of
which were vetoed 12 months earlier.

Effective May 16, 2009, the law prevents the
Department of Public Safety from taking any
steps to implement or plan for implementation
of the federal REAL ID Act 0of 2005, Rep. Carlos
Mariani (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Warren
Limmer (R-Maple Grove) sponsor the law.

A recommendation by the 9/11 Commission,
the federal act’s goal is to create uniform
standards for documents such as driver’s
licenses and state identification cards, making
them harder to forge and thereby reducing
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identity fraud and tightening immigration
standards.

States have called the act an unfunded
mandate, and supporters have questioned
the security associated with the plan and have
concerns with data privacy issues.

Residents of states that do not adopt the
federal standards by the end of this year would
not be able to use their license or identification
cards for federal purposes, such as boarding
commercial aircraft or entering a federal
building. However, supporters say this is
unconstitutional. Mariani said 12 other states
have passed similar laws, and that the federal
government may be backing off on some
requirements.

In an effort to compromise after vetoing
the 2008 bill, Gov. Tim Pawlenty issued an
executive order that would prevent state
compliance before June 1, 2009, unless
legislative approval is first given. He hoped
the time would allow all sides to reach a
compromise on issues such as federal funding,
privacy and state control.

HF988*/SE738/CH92

Safe at Home is more secure

A program that keeps abuse victims safe
will make them even safer,

Safe at Home, an address confidentiality
program administered by the Office of the
Secretary of State, provides extra security for
approximately 226 participants. It provides a
mail forwarding service, whereby participants
receive a mailing address to use and their
correspondence is forwarded to their actual
mailing address, which is not disclosed.

Sponsored by Rep. Steve Simon (DFL-St.
Louis Park) and Sen. Mee Moua (DFL-St,
Paul), a new law, effective May 20, 2009, states
that sex offenders cannot be in the program,
and it supersedes local ordinances that require
a person to post their name outside of an
apartment building where they reside. In some
buildings, a listing in the entryway contains
each tenant’s name and apartment number.

According to its Web site, “The intent of
Safe at Home is to allow its participants to
go about their lives, interacting with public
and private entities, without leaving traces of
where they really live in an attempt to keep
their abuser from locating them.,”

HF1677*/SF1452/CH105

Bus crash reporting requirements

It is hoped a new law will never be used.

Sponsored by Rep. Terry Morrow (DFL-St.
Peter) and Sen. Rick Olseen (DFL-Harris),
the law expands a peace officer’s school bus
accident reporting requirements,

Effective Aug. 1, 2009, a peace officer
responding to an accident involving a school
bus must report the accident to the state
patrol if there is a fatality, there is bodily
injury to a person who requires immediate
medical attention or a vehicle involved suffers
disabling damage.

In addition to conforming state school bus
crash inspection statutes to federal law, the law
simplifies reporting requirements because the
state has two standards, one for commercial
vehicles and one for school bus inspections.

By aligning the two to treat all large-vehicle
crashes the same, Morrow said state patrol
inspections will be more efficient, and the
state will comply with the definition of a
reportable crash under the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration so that accurate
reporting of trend data involving school bus
crashes will occur. School bus operators
testified in support of the law.

HF668*/SF782/CH113

Educator background checks clarified
The Board of Teaching is directed to
disclose to school boards or administrators
all public information included in a teacher’s
disciplinary record, if one exists, and requires
those hiring to ask for that information.

A new law requires candidates for a teaching
position to include in their employment
application any history of disciplinary actions
by the board, or any similar disciplinary
history from other states. Those hiring must
ask the candidates for that information.

The board must release public data about
the disciplinary action. This could include
sexual misconduct or attempted sexual
misconduct, or other forms of misconduct.
It excludes failure to pay court-ordered child
support, spousal support, delinquent state
taxes or information that is reported to the
Board of Teaching but does not reflect any
board disciplinary action taken against a
teacher’s license.

Prospective teachers will also undergo a
criminal history background check.

The law, sponsored by Rep. Karla Bigham
(DFL-Cottage Grove) and Sen. Kathy Saltzman
(DFL-Woodbury), is effective May 20, 2009.

HF523*/SF402/CH115

Mental health 911 assistance
When someone calls 911 it is usually for

- police, fire or ambulance service,

Beginning Aug, 1, 2009, mental health crisis
teams will be added to the list of emergency
911 responders, where available.

Supporters said there is not one number
to call when someone is having a mental
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health crisis and is in need of help, and that
mobile crisis teams can assess a situation
and provide cost-effective ways to stabilize
the individual, including a referral to mental
health centers, clinics or crisis homes. They
said a collaboration that now exists in Grand
Rapids has resulted in a crisis team and
police dispatched for all behavioral health
emergency calls.

Rep. Joe Mullery (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Tom
Saxhaug (DFL-Grand Rapids) sponsor the
law.

HF448/SF707*/CH128

Gun background check conformity

Minnesota will be in compliance with the
National Instant Criminal Background Check
System.

According to the Federal Bureau of
Investigation, “NICS is used by Federal
Firearms Licensees (FFLs) to instantly
determine whether a prospective buyer is
eligible to buy firearms or explosives. Before
ringing up the sale, cashiers call in a check
to the FBI or to other designated agencies to
ensure that each customer does not have a
criminal record or isn’t otherwise ineligible
to make a purchase. More than 100 million
such checks have been made in the last decade,
leading to more than 700,000 denials.”

Sponsored by Rep. John Lesch (DFL-St.
Paul) and Sen. Ken Kelash (DFL-Mpls), the
lawrequires a court to ensure that information
is transmitted as soon as possible to the federal
system when it:

* commits a person under the civil com-
mitment law as being mentally ill, de-
velopmentally disabled, mentally ill and
dangerous or chemically dependent;

+ determinesin a criminal case that a person
is incompetent to stand trial or not guilty
by reason of mental illness; or

* restores a person’s ability to possess a fire-
arm.

This provision takes effect July 1, 2010, to
give the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension
time to incorporate the requirements into its
computer system.

The law amends the delineation of those
ineligible to possess firearms, and it allows
a person to petition a court for the right
to possess a firearm, if a previous judicial
determination found them to be mentally
ill, developmentally disabled, mentally ill
and dangerous or chemically dependent. A
court can consider evidence from a doctor
or clinical psychologist that the person no
longer suffers from the disease or it has been
successfully treated for at least three years.
This section is effective Aug. 1, 2009.

The federal government will make money
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available for the state to input data into the

system; however, it is contingent on legislative

approval of program acceptance.
HF954/SF722*/CH139

Licensing full-time firefighters

Pull-time firefighters hired on or after July
1, 2011, will need a license, and volunteer
and on-call firefighters will have the option
of getting a license by following the same
requirements as full-time firefighters,

To receivea three-yearlicense, a person must
demonstrate competency in fire prevention,
fire suppression and hazardous material
operations. A license will be renewed without
testing, provided the firefighter had at least 72
hours of training during the previous three
years.The approximately 2,000 current full-
time firefighters would be exempted.

To ensure there is no fiscal impact to the
state, a $75 fee is established for the original
license and each renewal.

The new law calls for the Board of
Firefighter Training and Education to
appoint an accredited organization to prepare
and administer firefighter certification
examinations.

Rep. Joe Atkins (DFL-Inver Grove Heights)
and Sen. Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope) sponsor
the law.

An amendment successfully added by Rep.
Larry Howes (R-Walker) provides a two-
week window between Oct. 1, 2009, and Oct.
15, 2009, for people to apply for a restricted
master plumber license, He said the previous
window to apply for a license was limited,
forcing many people to miss the application
opportunity.

HF1805/SF1219*/CH153

Seatbelt use becomes mandatory

Everybody in a motor vehicle will need
to buckle up or they could be paying
financially. :

Sponsored by Rep. Kim Norton (DFL-
Rochester) and Sen. Steve Murphy (DFL-
Red Wing), a new law makes failure to
wear a seatbelt a primary offense, thereby
allowing issuance of citations solely based
on a seatbelt violation. Previously, a person
had to be stopped for another offense before
a no-seatbelt citation could be issued.

The law, effective June 9, 2009, requires
everyone in a passenger vehicle to wear a
seatbelt, and extends the seatbelt law to drivers
and passengers of commercial motor vehicles,
type II school buses and type III Head Start
buses.

A $25 fine is to be assessed to the driver
for failure to wear a seatbelt, and the driver

is subject to a $25 fine per violation for each
unbuckled passenger under age 15. Passengers
age 15 and above are subject to their own fine.
A violation will not appear on the person’s
driving record.

Supporters of the primary seatbelt law say
it is about saving lives, reducing injuries and
saving significant hospital costs. Norton said
children in a vehicle are restrained about 90
percent of the time when a driver buckles up,
compared to 25 percent when a driver does
not fasten his or her seatbelt,

Opponents said the law eliminates personal
choice, can increase racial profiling and
gives law enforcement another reason to pull
someone over,

An estimated 87 percent of Minnesotans
now wear a seatbelt during daytime hours,
with fewer doing so at night. Supporters think
the law will increase compliance to 93 percent
or 95 percent.

Norton said passage of the law puts
Minnesota in line for $3.4 million from the
federal government for transportation safety
programs.

The law also permits a driver to exceed the
speed limit by 10 mph when passing another
vehicle going the same direction on a two-
lane highway with a speed limit of at least
55 mph. The provision comes from HF464/
SF601, sponsored by Rep. Tom Rukavina
(DFL-Virginia) and Sen. David Tomassoni
(DFL-Chisholm).

HF108%/SF42/CH165

Green Acres, federal conformity
Farmers with concerns about the Green Acres
program had some of their concerns resolved
after changes were made to a 2008 law.

A newlaw, with most changes effective in 2011,
creates a rural preserve program, in which
land can be placed if it is classified as “rural
vacant land.”

Rural preserve isa 10-year covenant that runs
with the land, not the person. To qualify for
rural preserve, a conservation plan must be
written, The covenant provision will take
effect in 2013, which means people have until
then to make a decision on what to do with
the land.

Also in the law are new federal tax conformity
pieces that include most changes implemented
between February 2008 and Dec. 31, 2008.
Many of the federal changes adopted at the
state level were effective for tax year 2008;
others take effect for tax year 2009,
HF392*/SF252/CH12
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Not an opportunity to print money

Out-of-state customers don’t have to pay the
state’s business tax just because they provide
paper to printing companies to print materials
for them,

A new law, effective for taxable years
beginning after Dec, 31, 2008, states that
when an out-of-state customer provides paper
or other media to a Minnesota printer for
printing jobs for that same customer, doing
so does not allow Minnesota to impose its
corporate franchise tax on the customer, This
exception does not apply if the out-of-state
customer is part of the same unitary business
as the printing company.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Loren Solberg
(DFL-Grand Rapids) and Sen, Tom Bakk
(DFL-Cook).

HF1073/SF832*/CHI14

Tax law offers help to local govern-
ments facing revenue reductions
The only comprehensive tax bill to receive
gubernatorial approval this session was
the omnibus public finance bill that was
amended to include many noncontroversial

tax provisions.

The law, with various effective dates, and
sponsored by Rep. Ann Lenczewski (DFL-
Bloomington) and Sen. Tom Bakk (DFL-
Cook), includes provisions to conform the
state to federal tax policy; help for local units
of government facing cuts to their state aid;
and home construction assistance for the
flood-ravaged Red River Valley.

HF1298*/SF1257/CHS88

Truth in Taxation

The law makes several changes to the
Truth in Taxation statutes, which lay out how
and when local units of government notify
taxpayers regarding annual budgets and levy
implications.

Effective with taxes payable in 2010, the
most significant change is elimination of the
separate public hearing requirement before
any local government budget is formally
adopted. However, the law specifies that
the taxing authority must announce the
place and time of the regularly scheduled
meeting at which the budget and levy will
be discussed and at which the public will be
allowed to speak on the topic. The meeting
cannot be held before 6 p.m., and budget and
levy supporting information must be made
available on the authority’s Web site. (Art. 1,
Secs. 2-4)
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Local taxing authorities

The law focuses on mitigating any
emergency debt situation cities and counties
may face because of losing local government
aid, market value homestead credit and
county program aid due to unaliotment.

In December 2008, cities saw their state
local government aid payment cut when the
governor used his unallotment authority
to bring fiscal year 2009 into balance. This
forced many to cut their budget during the last
month of their fiscal year, leaving them few
options to consider. If the governor unallots
local government aid payments again, the law
provides some recourse for cities by allowing
them to revise levies by Jan. 15 of the year in
which the levy will be paid. This provision is
effective May 17, 2009. (Art. 2, Sec. 20)

Counties, cities, and towns will see
temporary relief from some state maintenance
of effort and matching fund requirement
mandates. Maintenance of effort (MOE)
is a requirement imposed on a political
subdivision by state law to continue program
or service money at a level based on funding in
prior years. The matching fund requirement
is imposed by state law for local entities to
receive some state grants.

Effective May 17, 2009, changes to these
two state requirements will be temporarily
suspended. Any new or increased MOE or
matching fund requirement enacted after
Jan. 1, 2009, that will require spending by
a political subdivision shall not be effective
until July 1, 2011 (Art. 2, Sec. 21)

Local units of government will have more
flexibility to address budget shortfalls through
the use of emergency debt certificates. If
during a fiscal year the receipts are expected
to be reduced below the amount needed to
sustain the approved budget, the governing
body of the authority (such as a city council
or county board) could authorize and sell
certificates of indebtedness with a maturity
cap of two years. (Art. 2, Sec. 38)

The law permits several cities to either
expand or establish tax-increment finance
zones, Theyinclude: Sauk Rapids, Minnetonka,
South St, Paul, Oakdale, Arden Hills, Duluth,
Mankato and St. Louis Park.

The City of Mountain Iron and Winona
County are each pursuing community-based
energy development projects. The law grants
them the authority to form or become a
member of a limited liability company for
that purpose. (Art. 5, Secs. 12-21)

Miscellaneous tax provisions

Those whose homes were destroyed by
floods in 2008 and decided to rebuild, will see
some temporary property tax relief.

For two assessment years after construction

has begun, the law allows for abatement of the
tax attributable to $200,000 of market value
or the entire market value of the structure,
whichever is less.

Qualifications include that the structure
be located in a county designated with a
presidential declaration of disaster, and
structure construction beings prior to Dec.
31, 2010. (Art. 2, Sec. 49)

The law addresses an issue that emerged
as controversial during the 2009 session
— defining horses as livestock. To those in
the horse industry, it relates to how they are
treated for tax purposes when compared to
other animal producers, and whether they
should qualify for tax breaks targeted toward
agricultural pursuits.

The law requires the commissioner of
revenuein consultation with the commissioner
of agriculture to study the tax treatment of
properties used for horse breeding and horse
boarding, and report the findings to the
Legislature by Feb. 1, 2010. (Art, 2, Sec. 46)

MnDOT can use federal
stimulus dollars

A new law gives the Department of
Transportation authority to spend federal
economic stimulus dollars coming from the
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of
2009.

Effective April 2, 2009, the law creates a
standing appropriation for MnDOT to spend
any initial and future funds. Hundreds of
millions of federal dollars are expected to
be Minnesota bound for transportation
purposes. The law expires June 30, 2013,
MnDOT officials said the law allows them
to spend stimulus money even when the
Legislature is not in session. Current statute
prohibits the department from spending
money for trunk highways without legislative
approval.

Sponsored by Rep. Bernie Lieder (DFL-
Crookston) and Sen. Steve Murphy (DFL-Red
Wing), the law also requires compliance with
all federal requirements for the aid; orders
department officials to “make every reasonable
effort to seek and utilize” all funding available;
permits no more than 17 percent of funds
to be used for program delivery, such as
engineering, right-of-way acquisition or
environmental assessments; and deletes a
local match requirement for any aeronautics
projects. Current state law requires a 5 percent
local match (from nonstate sources) for some
aeronautics projects.

HF1797*/SF1511/CH9
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Vets highway designated

A stretch of northern Minnesota highway
will be designated to honor those that have
protected America,

Effective Aug. 1, 2009, about 1.5 miles
of Trunk Highway 200 from County State-
Aid Highway 39 to its junction with Trunk
Highway 92 at Zerkel, and about 27 miles
of Trunk Highway 92 from that intersection
north to County State-Aid Highway 5 in
Clearbrook will be designated the “Clearwater
County Veterans Memorial Highway.”

The Transportation Department will design
and erect appropriate signs, subject to the
availability of nonstate funds to pay the costs.
Rep. Brita Sailer (DFL-Park Rapids), who
sponsors the law with Sen, Rod Skoe (DFL-
Clearbrook), said the Bagley, Clearbrook and
Gonvick American Legions have agreed to pay
for the signage.

HF121/SF451*/CH18

Collecting a fuel decal fee

The Department of Public Safety will be
able to collect a fuel decal fee, beginning July 1,
2009.

A new law makes conforming changes to
a 2008 law related to decals issued under the
International Fuel Tax Agreement, a program
between the 48 contiguous states and 10
Canadian provinces bordering the United
States that standardizes the reporting of fuel
use taxes by motor carriers operating in more
than one state or province.

Sponsored by Rep. Frank Hornstein (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. Jim Carlson (DFL-Eagan), the
law strikes a reference to the department’s
authority to establish a 50-cent decal fee and
requires collection of a current statutory decal
fee of $2.50 to cover administrative costs of
operating the program,

Under the agreement, a state or province
issues one fuel license and one set of decals
for each qualified motor vehicle registered
in its jurisdiction. The decal is valid for all
member states and provinces. Displaying an
annual fuel decal shows inspectors that those
carriers are abiding by the agreement,

All money collected from the agreement
goes into a central clearinghouse, where it
is reconciled through the IFTA organization
and appropriately redistributed based on
miles. Each licensee is responsible to maintain
detailed mileage and fuel records for all
qualified vehicles.

HF619/SF757*/CH21
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Highway name to honor Anderson

Trunk Highway 53 from Virginia to
International Falls will be designated as
the “Speaker Irvin N, Anderson Memorial
Highway.” The Department of Transportation
will design and erect signs that will be paid for
through nonstate funds.

First elected in 1964, Anderson spent 34
non-consecutive years in the Legislature,
serving from 1964-82 and 1990 until retiring
in 2006. He was House speaker from 1993-96.
He passed away last November,

MnDOT is also given permission to
remove a memorial highway sign if it needs
maintenance and a reasonable attempt has
been made to obtain necessary funds from
nonstate sources for repair or replacement.

Rep. Tom Anzelc (DFL-Balsam Township)
and Sen. Tom Saxhaug (DFL-Grand Rapids)
sponsor the law that takes effect Aug. 1,
2009.

HF110/SF335%/CH23

Type lll bus driver change

A new law corrects an unintended
consequence of a 2008 law.

Sponsored by Rep. John Ward (DFL-
Brainerd) and Sen. Rick Olseen (DFL-Harris),
the law, effective April 24, 2009, makes various
changes in the regulation of Type 111 drivers,
including requiring a background check and
annual license verification for all drivers, and
clarifying that a school district employee with
any class of commercial driver’s license may
operate a Type III vehicle,

Type III vehicles are passenger autos, vans
and buses that hold no more than 10 people,
and whose maximum gross weight is 10,000
pounds. They are used, for example, when
a fine arts coach drives his or her team to a
meet,

Last year’s law required bus drivers to
comply with a number of requirements,
including a physical and drug test. The
previous sponsors intended to exempt
“temporary or incidental Type III school
vehicle drivers” because driving would not
be part of their “normal duties,” However,
the Department of Public Safety interpreted
the law whereby anyone who might drive a
Type III vehicle must meet the bus driver
requirements. With the 2009 change, neither
a physical exam nor drug and alcohol testing
are required for drivers who are not hired
exclusively for operating a Type III vehicle.

Proponents said that without the change,
some schools might have to cut programs
or have students drive themselves to games,
contests or other events.

HF116/SF33*/CH24

Road turnbacks authorized

A pair of road segments previously on the
state’s trunk highway system will be turned
over to local authorities.

Sponsored by Rep. Rob Eastlund (R-Isanti)
and Sen. Rick Olseen (DFL-Harris), the
law removes two short sections of road no
longer needed by the state. In both cases,
local authorities have agreed to take over
maintenance.

The first segment, a stretch of Trunk
Highway 290 south of Walker, is an access
road to the former Ah-Gwah-Ching state
health care facility, which closed in 2007
The second is a stretch of Trunk Highway 293,
an access road to the former Cambridge State
Hospital. The 2003 Legislature authorized the
sale of a large portion of the campus land to
the city, which began redevelopment plans for
residential and commercial use.

Provisions in the law take effect the day
after the transportation commissioner
receives a copy of the respective agreements
with the governing body of Cambridge and
the Cass County Board chair.

Each year, the department reviews the
state’s highway system to assure that each road
still serves specific statewide purposes. As a
result, the department recommends that some
roads be turned back to local communities.

HF486*/SF1183/CH28

Helping transit, for now
Transit will not come to a screeching halt in
some areas, road construction will not get as
much state funding, but the state patrol will
remain whole, '

All-in-all, supporters said an omnibus
transportation finance law is not a bad
product in these tough economic times.

Sponsored by Rep. Bernie Lieder (DFL-
Crookston) and Sen. Steve Murphy (DFL-Red
Wing), the law calls for nearly $4.29 billion
worth of funding, but just $194.27 million
from the General Fund, a $14.8 million
decrease from the 2008-2009 biennium, More
than $3.9 billion comes via user-generated
highway funds, including $2.64 billion from
the Trunk Highway Fund, $1.02 billion from
the County-State Aid Highway Fund and
$275.4 million from the Municipal State-Aid
Street Fund. Three smaller accounts make up
the remainder.

The law, which takes effect July 1, 2009,
unless otherwise noted, contains no property
taxincreases, and a proposed taking of money
designed for a gas tax credit for low-income
Minnesotans is absent.

HF1309*/SF1276/CH36
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Transit funding, policies

The Metropolitan Council —which operates
Metro Transit —needed roughly $76 million to
meet its transit needs and Greater Minnesota
transit needed $6 million. However, no
revenue source exists to help to that extent.

Working with the Metropolitan Council,
Department of Transportation and the
governor’s office, Lieder said a “reasonable
solution” was reached.

Dollars from the motor vehicle sales tax
are currently split so that, in fiscal year 2012,
60 percent of revenue will go to highways,
36 percent to Metro Transit and 4 percent
for Greater Minnesota Transit. None of that
changes, under the law.

However, the law makes minor percentage
changes in the short-term, so that Greater
Minnesota Transit receives 4.75 percent of
motor vehicle sales tax revenue in fiscal year
2010, before dropping back to 4 percent in
future years, while metropolitan area transit
gets 31,5 percent in fiscal year 2010 and 35.35
percent in fiscal year 2011, The additional
funding for transit is made available by
reducing the allocation to the highway user
tax distribution fund (which funds state and
local highways) by 4.5 percent over two fiscal
years, or about $19 million. (Art. 1, Sec. 3and
Art, 3, Sec, 19)

Murphy said it is a short-term fix to a long-
term problem. “Going forward this gap that
is happening there, we need to figure out how
to take care of that,”

Opponents said relying on these funds for
future transit needs, instead of roads, should
be of concern because motor vehicle sales are
decreasing, meaning less sales tax revenue is
coming in, while the transit needs of the state
increase.

Greater Minnesota transit gets help in two
other ways, First, it receives $2.5 million
to fill an immediate short-term need by
shifting money from a future year to fill a
fiscal year 2009 operating shortfall (with
the shifted money backfilled by the increase
in motor vehicle sales tax revenue). Second,
state payments for operating procedures are
adjusted to allow for additional flexibility so
that providers with cash flow issues can receive
payments earlier than under the current
schedule, (Art. 1, Sec. 8 and Art, 3, Sec. 13)

The Metropolitan Council will receive a
$12.8 million General Fund base reduction;
however, to help Metro Transit the agency
is permitted to transfer in fiscal years 2009,
2010 and 2011 a percent of money not
committed to grant or loan awards to its
transit operating budget, from its tax base
revitalization account, metropolitan livable
communities demonstration account and
right-of-way acquisition loan fund. Current
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and future balances in the metropolitan livable
communities fund can also be transferred.
The agency is expected to receive about $13
million in MVST acceleration. (Art. 1, Secs.
10, 11)

The law leaves Metro Transit about $3
million short, but it presumes no price hikes
or service reductions will be needed in the
next year, something assured to a conference
committee by the council president. A
provision to prohibit fare increases through
fiscal year 2011 was removed by conferees.

Free public regular route service for disabled
veterans is required of the Metropolitan
Council, suburban opt-outs and operators
providing contracted route service, Public
providers receiving aid from MnDOT must
also offer free public transit for disabled
veterans, (Art, 1, Sec. 4 and Art. 3, Secs. 12,
14, 20)

The law does permit the Metropolitan
Council to establish a pilot program to sell

. half-price transit fares to eligible charitable

organizations for use by homeless persons.
The program takes effect Sept: 1, 2009, and
terminates March 15, 2011. A program report
is due the Legislature by Jan. 15, 2011, (Art. 3,
Sec. 27) ‘

In preparing bid specifications for bus
purchases, the Metropolitan Council is
required to ensure that the specifications
conform, to the greatest extent possible, to
products manufactured in Minnesota. (Art.
3, Sec, 24)

The Metropolitan Council must convey the
Apple Valley Transit Station to the Minnesota
Valley Transit Authority for a nominal cost
to carry out the “governmental program and
public purpose” for which the station was
constructed. (Art. 3, Sec. 26)

Commuter and passenger rail

Effective May 8, 2009, MnDOT is provided
with powers and authority related to passenger
rail, including:

+ responsibility for planning, designing, de-
veloping, constructing and other activities
related to passenger rail, including entering
into agreements with the necessary entity
to carry out the activities;

« applying for funding from federal, state,
regional, local and private sources;

+ purchasing, receiving by gift or using emi-
nent domain to acquire the needed prop-
erty necessary to preserve future corridors
or construct, maintain or improve current
corridors; and

+ consulting with planning organizations and
regional rail authorities to ensure passen-
ger rail service is integrated with existing
rail and transit services and other trans-
portation facilities to provide connected

and efficient services, (Art, 3, Secs. 16-18)

MnDOT is directed to forgive, or convert to
grants, two loans made to the Buffalo Ridge
Regional Railroad Authority approximately
20 years ago for acquisition and rehabilitation
of 41.4 miles of track in Nobles and Rock
counties. The loans total approximately $2.85
million. Track owners said any profit has gone
back into simply maintaining the line, and
that the loan has been a hindrance to receiving
federal grant money for infrastructure
improvements. (Art. 1, Sec, 3)

A 2008 grant appropriation to the Northstar
Corridor Development Authority to look at
extending rail service from Big Lake to Rice
is amended to include park-and-ride lots to
the list of appropriate grant fund usage. (Art.
3, Sec. 21)

By Feb. 1,2010, areport is due the Legislature
concerning the status of passenger rail
in Minnesota. The report must include a
summary of current projects and recommend,
among other things, a public participation
process, adequate local government
participation and review, future funding
sources and necessary legislative changes, This
is effective May 8, 2009, (Art. 3, Sec. 23)

Airport funding

A $2.25 million increase in airport
development grants is authorized for fiscal
year 2010, The money comes from a balance in
the State Airports Fund; it does not represent
additional money for the fund. (Art. 1, Sec. 3)

The law also attempts to restore some of
what was lost from the State Airports Fund in
2008 by requiring the $15 million transferred
from the fund to balance the state’s budget be
restored once money is available in the state’s
General Fund, but after four other priorities
are addressed: state’s cash flow account,
state budget reserve, aid payment for school
districts and restoration of some net aid
reductions.

Three user taxes compromise the fund
dollars: an aircraft fuel tax, aircraft registration
tax and an airline flight property tax. (Art. 3,
Sec. 1)

Roads

To address an approximately $155 million
decrease in revenues for MnDOT, the law
takes $120 million from its construction
account, $17.25 million in infrastructure
operations and maintenance, $13.58 million
from infrastructure investment support,
$2.97 million from department support and
$1.19 million from department buildings.
However, coupled with an increase in federal
funds the net is a $47.6 million increase for
state road construction.
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The department is permitted to use
previous year trunk highway construction
appropriations in fiscal years 2010 and 2011
if the money is used for its original purpose.
Trunk highway funds cannot be used to pay
personnel costs incurred on behalf of the
governor’s office. (Art. 1, Secs. 3, 5)

Effective May 8, 2009, MnDOT can
create a grant program for rehabilitation or
replacement of fracture-critical bridges on
local road systems. (Art. 3, Sec. 15)

If a transportation authority determines a
construction project is expected to include
“substantial business impacts,” a business
liaison is to be appointed to work with affected
businesses before and during construction
“to investigate means of mitigating project
impacts to businesses.” (Art. 3, Sec, 2)

Effective May 8, 2009, MnDOT can
authorize $40 million in trunk highway bonds
for construction of interchanges to promote
economic development and a local match for
federal grants to the state, split evenly between
the Twin cities metropolitan area and Greater
Minnesota transportation districts, (Art, 2,
Secs. 1, 2)

In addition, effective May 8, 2009, a Design-
Build Project Selection Council is created to
select, evaluate and support local state-aid
projects conducive to the use of design-
build contracting method. The council will
expire the earlier of Oct. 1, 2012, or upon the
completion of nine design-build projects.
(Art. 3, Secs. 28, 29)

An endowment account is created in the
state treasury for operations and maintenance
of the Stillwater lift bridge. (Art. 3, Sec. 5)

Other provisions

State patrol funding was not decreased,
something insisted upon by the governor.
The Office of Pupil Transportation Safety
receives a $250,000 increase for the biennium,
A January 2009 legislative report said that
patrol inspectors review an average of 14,000
school buses annually. (Art. 1, Sec. 5)

A state agency, public official or court
is prohibited from masking, deferring
imposition of judgment or allowing an
individual to enter into a diversion program
that would prevent a traffic control law
conviction, except a parking violation, from
appearing on a commercial driver’s licensee’s
record for an offense committed in any motor
vehicle or on any individual’s driving record
for an offense committed in a commercial
motor vehicle. (Art. 3, Sec. 11)

The Metropolitan Council must provide to
the Legislature by Jan. 15, 2011,a land use and
planning resources report that addresses air
pollution reductions, congestion mitigation
and lower infrastructure maintenance costs.
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Three progress reports are due before the final
report. According to the law, “The report must
emphasize approaches that reduce or manage
travel demand through land use and access
to transportation options.” The council can
enter into a contract up to $375,000 with
the Center for Transportation Studies at the
University of Minnesota to create the report.
(Art. 3, Sec, 22)

Possible lowered speed limit

Beginning Aug. 1, 2009, speed limits on
some roads could drop by as much as 20 mph,
and increase by 5 mph on others.

A new law will change the speed limit to 35
mph along “rural residential districts,” which
are city streets or town roads where visible
homes are spaced 300 feet or less for a distance
of at least one-quarter mile along those roads,
if the new limit is adopted by the local road
authority. Prior to the law change, only a
town road that met the housing distance
requirement could be posted down from 55
mph. The posting down was to 30 mph, as
opposed to the 35 mph limit going into effect
for such roads.

The change comes from a speed limit study
task force formed by the Department of
Transportation. It addresses areas that used
to be primarily rural and are still posted at 55
mph. Because these areas are now developed,
the speed is deemed to be too fast.

Sponsored by Rep. Peggy Scott (R-Andover)
and Sen. Lisa Fobbe (DFL-Zimmerman), the
law also narrows the definition of a “residential
roadway,” clarifies that an “urban district” can
be on a city street or town road, and allows for
a phase-in of the change on town roads that
currently have a 30 mph speed limit,

HF1421/SF1467*/CH56

Housekeeping bill becomes law

A new law modifies and updates a number
of Department of Transportation provisions,
while providing some technical and clarifying
changes.

It clarifies, but does not change, some
language regarding truck size and weight
regulations. A MnDOT representative
previously said one of the truck weight statutes
hasbeen problematic since the 1970s. As part
of the clarification, many of the truck weight
requirements will be based on whether the
road is paved or unpaved.

Beginning with trailers manufactured after
Jan. 11,2011, towed implements of husbandry
that need brakes, must also have “break-away
brakes,” so that the implement automatically
brakes if it becomes detached from the vehicle
towing it,

MnDOT gives waivers for intrastate drivers
who have certain medical conditions, such
as diabetes, A three-year bar currently exists
against giving these drivers a waiver if their
license is suspended, canceled or revoked for
any reason. Under the law, the three-year
waiting period only applies in cases of driving
privilege removal due to driving-related
behavior.

Vehicles operating under a forest products
permit will be permitted to operate a vehicle
or combination of vehicles on unpaved
roads when taking the most direct route to a
paved highway without route designation by
MnDOT.

Sponsored by Rep. Terry Morrow (DFL-St.
Peter) and Sen. Jim Carlson (DFL-Eagan),
most of the law takes effect Aug. 1, 2009,

HF1816/SF1876%/CH64

Keeping trucks off the Stillwater
Lift Bridge

An attempt to keep big trucks off an older
bridge has been accomplished without directly
banning them from the span.

Sponsored by Rep, Matt Dean (R-Dellwood)
and Sen. Ray Vandeveer (R-Forest Lake), the
law prohibits motor vehicle combinations
longer than 55 feet from using Highway 36
between Highway 95 and the Stillwater Lift
Bridge.

Emergency vehicles, vehicles needed for
work on the section of highway or the bridge
and vehicles carrying an oversize permit are
exempt from the law that takes effect the
day signs are erected giving notice of the
prohibition.

City officials initially wanted a weight
restriction on the 1,000-foot long bridge,
but the change was made just for a highway
designation so as not to set a precedent
for other bridges. The law will likely keep
dangerous trucks out of historic downtown
Stillwater. A saturation study found that many
of the large, over-the-road trucks stopped by
law enforcement personnel had major safety
violations, and some were pulled from the
road. Supporters said trucks are often driven
through Stillwater to avoid an inspection
station on Interstate 94.

A 2008 Department of Transportation
review found the bridge to be fracture-critical.
A new span over the St. Croix River is expected
to be open by 2016,

The law states that by July 1, 2009, signs are
to be erected “at appropriate locations” giving
notice of the restriction, It will be requested
that Wisconsin officials do the same on their
side of the river. This section is effective May
22,2009,

HF1204/SF1091*/CH144

January 6, 2009




Mini-truck usage, administrative

fines

Generally sold as off-road vehicles for farms
and construction sites, some people use fuel-
efficient mini-trucks for other everyday needs,
even though the vehicles are not allowed to be
on roads,

Law enforcement is concerned the
approximately 2,200-pound vehicles, that
resemble a pickup truck or van, don’t meet
federal safety standards for highway use, nor
do they meet federal emissions standards.
Small cars, such as a Ford Focus or Honda
Civic, weigh in the 2,600-pound range.

Sponsored by Rep. Brita Sailer (DFL-Park
Rapids}) and Sen. Dan Skogen (DFL-Hewitt),
a new law authorizes mini-truck operation
on local streets and highways, under a
special permit issued by the local unit of
government,

The special permit will be similar to what
is now provided for motorized golf carts and
certain all-terrain vehicles. Unlike operators
of golf carts and eligible all-terrain vehicles,
mini-truck operators must have a driver’s
license and can drive the vehicle at night.

The law also identifies required equipment
for mini-trucks operated under the special
permit, including headlamps and taillights,
turn signals, rear view mirrors, a windshield,
seatbelts and a parking brake.

This section of the law is effective Aug. 1,
2009, and expires on July 31, 2012,

Those same effective dates apply to a
provision prohibiting law enforcement
agencies from mandating a quota for
administrative citations.

The provision is part of HF1517/SF1894,
sponsored by Rep. Larry Hosch (DFL-St.
Joseph) and Sen, Tarryl Clark (DFL-St.
Cloud). It allows peace officers to authorize
administrative citations for certain traffic
violations, Hosch said more than 100 cities now
use the practice with different enforcement
and fine rules,

A person who commits an administrative
violation — such as driving less than 10 mph
over the speed limit, failure to yield, stop sign
violations or equipment violations — will
be fined $60. Two-thirds of the fine will be
credited to the local unit of government and
one-third to the state’s General Fund.

The administrative fine language takes
effect Aug. 1, 2009,

HF571/SF492*/CH158

Agency provisions modified
A new law makes various Department of
Transportation changes relating to filing
highway surveys, state aid calculations and
plat requirements.
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Sponsored by Rep. Melissa Hortman (DFL-
Brooklyn Park) and Sen. Ann Rest (DFL-New
Hope), the law requires the department to file
the centerline of a trunk highway as part of the
permanent public record before it is moved.
The centerline is referenced in some older
property records as a survey monument in
the property description, and the department
believes it is important to officially record the
existing line for cases where the centerline
is to be moved., The law applies in cases
where the department is aware that there are
descriptions of properties that rely on the
centerline.

Three provisions related to primary seatbelt
law are included to make it less restrictive:
exempting newspaper delivery carriers,
providing that only one surcharge can be
applied per stop no matter how passengers are
unbuckled and naming the primary seatbelt law
the “Kathryn Swanson Seat Belt Safety Act.” The
former director of the Office of Traffic Safety
and seatbelt advocate, Swanson died in February
2008 after a two-year battle with amyotrophic
lateral sclerosis (ALS) at age 53.

Representatives from MnDOT and the
Public Safety Department are to study “the
mandatory 24-hour use of vehicle lighting
by vehicles on public highways.” The study
is to include Canadian and European Union
experiences with a 24-hour display of vehicle
lighting requirements, A report is due to the
Legislature by Jan. 15, 2011,

The law also clarifies calculations used to
allocate state-aid dollars to counties, so that
projects funded from the state park road
account do not count against money needs
for the county. State law directs MnDOT
to do this, but it is not followed in current
practice.

Cities with less than 5,000 people are
allowed to arrange a special census for
purposes of determining municipal state-aid.
It eliminates obsolete language on use of the
federal census to determine the population of
a city. Previous language referred to the 1980
census.

MnDOT is provided the ability to review
and comment on preliminary plat proposals
abuttingstate rail bank corridors. Department
officials hope it will help preserve and protect
such corridors for future uses.

All provisions take effect Aug. 1, 2009,
except for language relating to a seatbelt
requirement that takes effect June 9, 2009,

HF878*/SF746/CH168

Competition for telecom providers
Telecommunications customers in Greater
Minnesota, where technology needs are
growing and capacity expansion is seen as an
important factor in economic development,
may now benefit from more competition that
includes regional companies,

A new law eliminates what many regional and
mid-sized telephone and telecommunications
companies consider outdated regulations
affecting their ability to compete with larger
companies, The law, effective May 12, 2009, is
sponsored by Rep. Al Juhnke (DFL-Willmar)
and Sen, Dan Sparks (DFL-Austin).

The modified regulations include:

+ expanding the definition of a competitive
area for four-line business phone lines,
formerly limited to an exchange in the Twin
Cities metropolitan area, St. Cloud or Duluth,
to include all of Minnesota;

+ regulating telecommunications carriers in
the same way as telephone companies with
respect to promotions and bundled services,
such as removing 90-day and nine-month
limits on some aspects of promotions; and

+ eliminating tariff rules that no longer serve
the industry or its customers,

The regional telecommunications industry
says the law is a positive step that eliminates
“artificial constraints” on promotional
practices and provides flexibility to
telecommunications companies while leaving
consumer protections against predatory
pricing in place.

HF1149/SF926*/CH57

Health technology infrastructure
Sponsored by Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-Mpls)
and Sen. Tony Lourey (DFL-Kerrick), the
law aligns state requirements to match
federal stimulus requirements in the Health
Information Technology for Economic and
Clinical Health Act.

The law will help pull down federal money
to state providers by aligning definitions
such as “interoperable electronic health
record” and “qualified electronic health
record” to ensure coordination between state,
regional and national efforts to effectively use
health technology to improve coordination
and patient care among providers. The
change could help reduce medical errors,
improve population health and reduce health
disparities and chronic disease.

The HITECH Act was included in the
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act
of 2009 to help providers create electronic
health records that would be interchangeable
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between health systems.

The health commissioner, in conjunction
with an e-Health Initiative Advisory
Committee, will monitor related national
activity and coordinate statewide input on
developments,

The law has various effective dates.

HF1322/ SF1890*/CH102

Making technology accessible

People with visual or hearing disabilities
may find it easier to access Minnesota
government services online.

A new law will establish accessibility
standards for state information technology,
and require state agencies to consider
accessibility when purchasing new software,
hardware and other technological upgrades.

Sponsored by Rep. Bill Hilty (DFL-
Finlayson) and Sen. Ann Rest (DFL-New
Hope), thelaw is designed to make it easier for
deaf, blind and hard-of-hearing Minnesotans
to access state Web sites, documents and other
information.

The law directs the Office of Enterprise
Technology to develop a set of accessibility
and usability standards for state information
systems. It also sets up an advisory committee
made up of 10 representatives from various
areas of state government to review
accessibility standards and recommend any
needed changes.

Under the law, the office will require all
state agencies to comply with the standards.
An exception is made if the office and the
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advisory committee determine that a standard

would resultin an “undue burden to the state,”

in which case the burdensome standard may
be modified.

The law appropriates $300,000in each year
of the 2010-2011 biennium from the state’s
telecommunications access fund, including:
+  $100,000 eachyear to OET for coordinating

technology accessibility and usability;

+ $100,000 each year to the Commission
on Deaf, DeafBlind and Hard of Hearing
Minnesotans to provide information on
their Web site in American Sign Language
and to provide technical assistance to state
agencies; and

+ $100,000 each year to the Legislative
Coordinating Commission to provide
captioning of live streaming of legislative
sessions,

A separate $276,000 appropriation of
stimulus funds from the American Recovery
and Reinvestment Act of 2009 will go to OET
and the Department of Administration to help
expand “employment outcomes” for people
with disabilities.

The law takes effect July 1, 2009.

HF1744*/SF1600/CH131

Electric vehicle infrastructure
A new law looks to future transportation
options by regulating electric vehicle
infrastructure,
Sponsored by Rep. Frank Hornstein (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. D. Scott Dibble (DFL-Mpls),
it establishes various regulations related

to electric vehicle infrastructure including

preventing companies that create electric

vehicle infrastructure from being regulated
as utilities and modifying the state building
code to accommodate electric vehicles.

Hornstein said there has always been a
conundrum with electric cars: while the
ability to produce them exists, there lacks
much infrastructure to recharge them.

The law also:
¢ adds the new generation of electric vehicles

to existing statute that deals with electric
vehicles, plug-in cars and the like;

« requires the Center for Sustainable Build-
ing Research at the University of Minne-
sota to add electric vehicle infrastructure
to its ongoing research into sustainable
building practices, including looking at
energy use by electric vehicle charging
infrastructure in or adjacent to buildings;
and

+ requires the Department of Transporta-
tion, as part of a current study, to study
the impact of electric cars and the reduced
revenue to fund roads, and make recom-
mendations if any steps should be taken to
mitigate the impacts. Because of its power
source, electric cars do not contribute to
the state’s gas tax revenues,

Many of the definition changes are effective
May 22, 2009; study language and utility
regulation sections take effect Aug. 1, 2009.

HF1250*/SF916/CH134
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No new ice arena for St. Paul

Gov. Tim Pawlenty used his veto pen to dash
— temporarily, at least — St. Paul’s hopes of
building a new ice arena downtown,
Pawlenty vetoed the first version of the
omnibus economic development finance bill
over a provision that would have forgiven
the bulk of a $48 million no-interest loan to
St. Paul for construction of the Xcel Energy
Center. The city had wanted the state to
forgive the decade-old loan so that it could
finance construction of The Pond — a
proposed 120,000-square foot, three-level ice
arena across the street from the Xcel. (Art. 6,
Sec, 27)

In his veto letter, the governor questioned
the city’s funding priorities.

“The city of Saint Paul should not threaten
to reduce police and fire services while
requesting that a loan be forgiven to build an
ice rink,” Pawlenty wrote.

The governor also objected to a provision
in the bill that would have allowed non-
registered alternative medicine practitioners
to be compensated for services provided to
injured workers through the state’s worker’s
compensation system. Pawlenty noted that the
change had not been approved by the Workers’
Compensation Advisory Council. (Art. 6, Sec.
30)

Sponsored by Rep. Tom Rukavina (DFL-
Virginia) and Sen. David Tomassoni (DFL-
Chisholm), the vetoed bill contained biennial
funding for jobs, housing and cultural heritage
programs through several state agencies,
along with numerous policy changes. These
provisions were successfully amended into
HF2088%/SF1926/CH?78, also sponsored by
Rukavina and Tomassoni, which Pawlenty
signed after making several line-item vetoes,

HF1169/SF2081*/CH39

Mulch warning called ‘overreach’

One man’s efforts toward consumers
understanding the potential danger of a
certain mulch met Gov. Tim Pawlenty’s veto
pen.

After it was determined that Terry Hall’s
chocolate Labrador retriever died from
ingesting cocoa bean shell mulch, Hall began
his campaign of consumer awareness. This
resulted in a bill sponsored by Rep. Frank
Hornstein (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. D. Scott
Dibble (DFL-Mpls) that would require a
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posted notice wherever the product is sold
warning that ingestion of the mulch could be
poisonous to pets,

In his veto message, Pawlenty called the
bill “an example of legislative overreach.” He
cited research showing few incidents of cocoa
bean mulch ingestion incidents and wrote that
many items are harmful to pets, and retailers
are not generally required to post warnings at
the point of purchase for those products.

“A better approach would be to require
manufacturers to post warning labels on the
products themselves, where necessary and
appropriate,” Pawlenty wrote, He also added
that the bill language is not clear regarding
the extent a business would be liable for not
properly displaying the warning sign.

HF1306/SF122*/CH47

See CH. 88 -Tax law offers help to
local governments facing revenue
- reductions

Rent control changes vetoed

Legislation intended to help cities enforce
rent-control provisions in subsidized
housing agreements was vetoed by Gov. Tim
Pawlenty.

Sponsored by Rep. Carlos Mariani (DFL-St.
Paul) and Sen. John Marty (DFL-Roseville),
the bill would have clarified that cities have
the right to enforce contracts with property
owners who agree not to raise rents in
exchange for accepting public subsidies.
Under thebill, cities could take action against
property owners who violate their contracts,

In his veto message, Pawlenty expressed
concern about the language of the bill, which
states that a city has the right to “manage or
control property to which it is providing public
assistance and for a period of time consistent
with the term of the public assistance.” The
governor’s letter stated that the language could
be interpreted as providing broad powers for
cities to manage or control properties without
providing notice in the agreements.

In addition, Pawlenty’s message stated
that the bill is unnecessary because parties
to agreements could insert provisions
that address the issue into the agreements
themselves.

HF1670/SF1033*/CHS81

Precinct caucus changes vetoed

When political parties in cities like
Minneapolis and St. Paul hold precinct
caucuses in odd years to endorse candidates
for local office, they don’t have all the same
privileges that caucuses receive in even
years.

Sponsored by Rep. Jim Davnie (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. Linda Higgins (DFL-Mpls),
a bill vetoed by Gov. Tim Pawlenty would
have allowed major political parties in
Minneapolis, St. Paul and Duluth to hold
odd-year caucuses using the same privileges
as even-year caucuses, including:

+ pre-empting certain school and govern-
ment activities after 6 p.m. on caucus
nights;

+ allowing employees to be absent from work
to attend political caucuses;

+ prohibiting school officials from denying
use of public school buildings for caucuses;
and '

+ requiring public agencies to make their
facilities available for holding a precinct
caucus.

In a veto message, Pawlenty objected to
granting “special privileges” for caucus
attendees in three cities. He also wrote that the
state “should not dictate additional mandates
on businesses for what is a local issue.”

HF300/SF284*/CH99

No need for ‘lights-on’

A so-called “lights-on bill” to keep
government operating if session ended
without any appropriations for state agencies
wasn’t needed and therefore vetoed by Gov.
Tim Pawlenty.

House Majority Leader Tony Sertich (DFL-
Chisholm), the bill’s sponsor along with
Senate Majority Leader Larry Pogemiller
(DFL-Mpls), called it “an option of a last
resort.”

When the bill was presented to the
governor in the session’s final week, there
was uncertainty over whether he would enact
any of the omnibus finance bills passed by the
Legislature, This bill’s intent was to cap state
agency spending during fiscal year 2010 at the
fiscal year 2009 spending level, if no budget
resolution was reached by the constitutional
deadline for adjournment,

In his veto letter, Pawlenty wrote that the
bill “overlaps with appropriations found in
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omnibus appropriation bills now signed into
law. As a result this bill is not needed.”
Hfnone/SF2141*/CH100

No displacement reimbursement

Several bills intended to boost homeowners’
protection against defective construction
faced steady opposition on the House floor
from Republicans. They emphasized how
the measures could burden the beleaguered
construction industry by opening the door
to greater contractor liability for damages or
to costly lawsuits,

Gov. Tim Pawlenty vetoed a bill sponsored
by Rep. Paul Gardner (DFL-Shoreview) and
Sen. Ron Latz (DFL-St, Louis Park) that would
have reimbursed temporarily dislocated
homeowners for the cost of short-term
housing, such as a motel, if they were forced to
vacate their homes because of a construction
defect under warranty, or if the conditions of
repairing such a defect, made the property
uninhabitable, ‘

“Although this legislation may be well-
intentioned,” the governor wrote in his veto
message, “we should be cautious about placing
more burdens on the housing sector during
this historic recession.”

The bill specified that homeowners would
be reimbursed for the cost of temporary
lodging at a rate limited to the maximum per
diem rate set by the federal government for the
place where the property is located.

“Under current law,” the veto letter
continued, “a homeowner is entitled to receive
‘the amount necessary to remedy the breach of
the warranty’ or ‘the difference between the
value of the house without defect.” Current
law provides adequate reconciliation for the
homeowner where there has been a violation
of a warranty.”

HF239*/SF6/CH103

No statute of repose clarification

Aplan to update a 2004 law that would have
helped some homeowners was rejected by the
governor,

Sponsored by Rep. Julie Bunn (DFL-Lake
Elmo) and Sen. Sandy Rummel (DFL-White
Bear Lake), the bill was an attempt to clarify
intent of the law to provide when a lawsuit for
a warranty violation must be brought.

“Although this legislation may be well-
intentioned we should be cautious about
placing more restrictions on the housing
sector during this historic recession,” Gov.
Tim Pawlenty wrote in his veto letter.

The statute of repose remained in the bill, so
no one could make a claim after 12 years; but it
contained two different statutes of limitations.
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If the breach were discovered in the first 10
years, the homeowner would still have up
to two years to file the claim once they’ve
reported the breach. Problems discovered in
year 11 or 12 would have just one year to file
a claim,

The 2004 law requires a lawsuit to be
brought within two years of the breach of
the warranty discovery, but not more than
12 years from when the warranty took effect.
However, Bunn said one subdivision in law
has a 10-year maximum and some courts
use that shorter timeframe, thereby catching
homeowners in the middle.

A 2007 court decision went against the
original intent by stating all claims must be
within 10 years — the stated warranty on
many home repairs — even though 12 years
was always the intent of the 2004 state law, she
said.

“The current period of 10 years in current
law seems sufficient,” Pawlenty wrote. “The
legislation also applies not only to future
cases, but current cases as well. Changing the
law in the middle of the game is unfair and
unwise.”

HF412*/SF470/CH104

Home warranty extension vetoed
Minnesota winter weather can postpone
the effects of certain construction defects or
inhibit a contractor’s or inspector’s ability to
determine a problem in a timely fashion.

Lawmakers wanted to extend the time a
homeowner would have to see the effects of a
problem and request remediation from their
builder.

However, Gov. Tim Pawlenty vetoed a bill
that would have extended from six months to
one year the period in which a warranty claim
may be made by a homeowner,

“Not reporting a construction related
problem in a timely manner could exasperate
the problem and increase costs,” he wrote in
this veto message.

The bill, sponsored by Rep. Bev Scalze
(DFL-Little Canada) and Sen. Lisa Fobbe
(DFL-Zimmerman), was one of several
passed this session that sought to strengthen
homeowner warranty rights.

HF330*/SF264/CH112

No notice for felons

A proposal to help felons understand that
their voting rights have been restored after
they serve out their sentence was nixed by
Gov. Tim Pawlenty.

The governor vetoed the bill sponsored by
Rep. Bobby Joe Champion (DFL-Mpls) and
Sen. Mee Moua (DFL-St. Paul) that would

have required the Corrections Department
and court officials to ensure that people
convicted of a felony are aware of their civil
rights status.

Under the proposed legislation, the Office
of the Secretary of State would develop a
publication regarding voting rights of those
who are convicted of a crime and provide it
to corrections and court officials, who would
then inform convicts of when their right to
vote is taken away and when it is restored.

Supporters said that some inmates are
never informed of the restoration of their
rights upon discharge from prison. Although
the information is included in a letter sent to
ex-offenders upon their release, many never
receive the notice because they are frequently
moving and living temporarily with friends
and relatives.

In his veto message, Pawlenty stated the bill
would have placed added mandates on state
and local governments at a time when the state
is trying to reduce mandates, and also that
the purpose of the bill could be accomplished
without statutory requirements.

“Moreover,” the message states, “citizens
should bear some responsibility for being
informed about their own situations and
rights.”

HF545/SF763*/CH116

House paint pilot project vetoed
A product stewardship plan focused on the
sale of house paint was canned by Gov. Tim
Pawlenty.
The bill would have required manufacturers of
architectural paint sold at retail to implement
a statewide paint stewardship pilot program to
promote reuse and recycling. A so-called “paint
stewardship assessment “ — up to 35 cents per
container — would have been included in the
cost of all architectural paint sold to Minnesota
retailers and distributors. The assessment
would have been included in the retail price of
all architectural paint sold in the state.
The revenue would have been used to pay for
a statewide recycling program administered
by a new nonprofit organization comprised of
paint manufacturers and retailers.
Inliquid form, paint is considered hazardous
waste and may not be thrown away with
household trash. Most cities and counties
accept leftover paint at local government
recycling centers.
In his veto letter, Pawlenty said Minnesotans
are already paying about $6 million in taxes a
year to cities and counties for paint recycling
programs. “I would be willing to consider
legislation that creates an industry-managed
paint collection and recycling program aslong
asthe program clearly demonstrates taxpayers
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will not be paying for the same thing twice.”
Sponsored by Rep. Brita Sailer (DFL-Park
Rapids) and Sen. John Doll (DFL-Burnsville),
the goal of the legislation was to minimize the
public’s involvement in managing leftover
paint.

HF569/SF477*/CH121

Reverse mortgage bill vetoed

Available to people 62 or older who borrow
alump sum or receive monthly payments or a
line of credit against the value of their home
while they continue to live there, reverse
mortgages must be paid in full when the
borrower moves or dies.

The loans can provide a safety net for many
older Minnesotans hit hard by the economic
downturn. However, advocates of tighter
standards say some borrowers have become
victims of unscrupulous lenders or financial
counselors who target the product to people
who don’t really need it or who have sold
borrowers other financial products, such as
annuities, paid from the loan proceeds. In
some cases, closing costs have exceeded the
amount of the loan, and interest rates may be
considerably higher than other loans,

Abill sponsored by Rep. Jim Davnie (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. Tarryl Clark (DFL-St. Cloud)
to tighten the rules was vetoed by Gov. Tim
Pawlenty.

The governor’s veto message said he
shares lawmakers’ goal of trying to protect
borrowers from predatory lending practices,
but thinks the legislation could have triggered
unintended consequences and increased costs
to consumers, He singled out a “suitability”
requirement that would have required lenders
to make a determination about whether a
reverse mortgage is suitable for a particular
borrower, as not being clearly defined.

“The suitability criteria in the bill should be
clear and specific,” he wrote. “The standard
set forth in this bill is vague and will spawn
litigation.”

HF528/SF489*/CH127

No automatic voter registration

The governor vetoed abill sponsored by Rep.
Steve Simon (DFL-St, Louis Park) and Sen.
John Marty (DFL-Roseville) that would have
changed Minnesota’s current system from an
opt-in to an opt-out voter registration system.,
Currently, those applying for state IDs can ask
to be registered to vote at the same time; under
the bill, this would have been automatic unless
someone asked not to be registered.

In addition, the bill contained a number
of provisions to keep voter rolls updated and
check for persons who are ineligible to vote,
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including:

* using data from the Department of Pub-
lic Safety to check for any non-citizens
listed in the statewide voter registration
system;

* comparing voter rolls with Social Security
databases to check for any deceased vot-
ers;

+ requiring the Department of Corrections
and the courts to update elections officials
on the convictions and civil rights statutes
of felons; and

+ forwarding information on name changes
from the courts system to the Office of the
Secretary of State and to county auditors,
who would then notify individuals with
changed names that they have to re-register
to vote.

According to his veto message, Pawlenty
vetoed the bill in part because no Republican
legislators voted for it. He wrote that changes
to election law “should be accomplished on a
bipartisan basis.” In addition, Pawlenty wrote
that “registering to vote should be a voluntary,
intentional act.” ‘
HF1053%*/SF660/CH133

Calculating unemployment

The U.S. unemployment rate reached 8.9
percent in April 2009. But what if the real
percentage were nearly twice that much?

In fact, itis, depending on what measures are
used to calculate unemployment. According
to the U.S, Bureau of Labor Statistics, the
most comprehensive set of statistical measures
available, put the actual unemployment rate
at 15.8 percent.

Gov. Tim Pawlenty vetoed a bill that would
have ensured that the state’s unemployment
estimates are always calculated using the more
comprehensive method,

Sponsored by House Majority Leader Tony
Sertich (DFL-Chisholm) and Sen. D. Scott
Dibble (DFL-Mpls), the legislation would
have asked the Department of Employment
and Economic Development to use a method
of calculation known as “U-6.”

The U-6 calculation takes into account
people who are unemployed and no longer
actively seeking work because of impediments
like transportation issues or a lack of child
care, and also those who are working part-
time but who wish to work full-time. The
state’s current method of calculation, known
as U-3, does not include these measures.

Sertich said the new method would allow
DEED, which produces the state’s official
labor market information reports, to give
lawmakers and others a clearer picture of
the employment situation in Minnesota. The
bill would have allowed up to $120,000 from

funds collected for unemployment insurance
administration to be used to implement the
changes.

In his veto letter, the governor called the
U-6 measure “relatively obscure.” He noted
that only two other states use it, and that
neither of them releases the information
publicly, in part because they want to “avoid
misleading comparisons with other states.”

HF925*/SF1368/CH135

No legal fees for warranty suit

Gov. Tim Pawlenty vetoed a bill that would
have made homeowners who successfully sue a
builder or contractor for a warranty violation
eligible to receive reasonable attorney fees and
any other suit-related costs.

“The availability of legal fees can prolong
litigation, and it does little to address the
underlying issue of home defects,” Pawlenty
wrote in his veto letter. “Moreover, attorney’s
fees are typically available only in limited
circumstances, and Minnesota should be
careful not to overreach in that regard.”

Supporters said that builders, contractors
and their insurance companies often drag
out a case, hoping a homeowner will exhaust
their financial resources and settle for less
than needed to repair their home.

The bill also would have required
the commerce and labor and industry
commissioners to work with interested parties
to review homeowner warranty statutes and
find ways to make such agreements more
effective for all parties and report to the

- Legislature. Among the parties that would have

been consulted are the construction section of
the Minnesota State Bar Association, Builders
Association of Minnesota, Association of
General Contractors and homeowner and
consumer representatives,

“I support provisions in the bill that
would bring interested parties together to
develop a timely and prescriptive process
for resolving homeowner warranty disputes
without litigation,” Pawlenty wrote. “My
administration will move forward with that
process even though this legislation was
vetoed.”

Rep. Marsha Swails (DFL-Woodbury)
and Sen. Kathy Saltzman (DFL-Woodbury)
sponsor the bill.

HF211*/SF170/CH136

Put that warranty claim in writing

An 80-year-old Duluth homeowner called
his builder to report a problem with his new
home within the six-month warranty period.
He agreed to the builder’s proposal to defer
an inspection until winter was over and the
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problem could be more easily examined.
The builder’s insurance company extensively
documented the problem, but did not agree
to accept liability. The case went to trial, and
eventually the Court of Appeals upheld a
lower court ruling against the homeowner
based on his failure to give written notice. The
retiree paid $250,000 to repair home damages
resulting from the construction defect.

Gov. Tim Pawlenty vetoed a bill that would
have allowed a phone call or e-mail, besides
a written letter, to serve as adequate “actual
notice” in similar cases.

Rep. Kate Knuth (DFL-New Brighton) and
Sen. Kevin Dahle (DFL-Northfield) sponsor
the bill. Limits would have remained in place
to hold builders reasonably harmless, such as
the six-month claim period, and if the damage
is due to homeowner’s negligence or other
factors unrelated to the contractor’s work,

“There is a high level of ambiguity as to
how a homeowner conveys an actual notice
message, Not having the notice put in writing
will lead to disputes as to whether and how
verbal notice was provided. A requirement for
written notice is a much better approach,” the
governor’s veto message stated.

HF362*/SF362/CH140

Policies not OK with Pawlenty

Rest area prohibitions, highway names,
pedestrian bridge access and high-speed rail
were part of the omnibus transportation
policy bill that failed to receive a green light
from the governor.

“While I support several provisions in
the bill, the Minnesota Department of
Transportation (Mn/DOT) has raised
concerns regarding provisions in this
legislation,” Gov. Tim Pawlenty wrote in his
veto message. “Those concerns were brought
to the attention of the bill’s authors, but the
concerns were ultimately ignored.”

Sponsored by Rep. Frank Hornstein
(DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Steve Murphy (DFL-
Red Wing), the law would have required
the department to work with Wisconsin to
apply for federal economic stimulus funds
for planning and construction of a high-
speed passenger rail line that would connect
Chicago, La Crosse, Wis. And the Twin Cities
metropolitan area. (Sec, 45)

Pawlenty noted that MnDOT has been
working with Wisconsin officials on a line
from the Twin Cities to Chicago, and that the
route is part of a statewide rail study. “We have
cautioned the Legislature on many occasions
about prematurely selecting specific routes,
stops, or endpoints,” he wrote,

In the area of rail, the bill also would have
modified the membership of a MnDOT
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committee that provides commuter rail
advice to include ex-officio members from
labor organizations involved with freight and
commuter rail; required MnDOT to preserve
rail employee rights under federal law if the
department was authorized with passenger

- rail powers; defined “motor carrier of railroad

employees;” and established regulations for

those carriers. (Secs. 29, 30, 32, 34)

A 2009 law that requires mitigation on
transportation construction impacts on
local businesses would have been amended
to include rail transit projects. (Sec. 1)

In the area of highways, the bill would
have:

+ prohibited certain activities at rest stops,
including failure to properly dispose of
trash, dumping household or commercial
trash, leaving an unattended vehicle or
trailer at a rest area and pitching tents or
sleeping overnight outside a vehicle (Sec.
2);

+ designated Highway 200 between Mah-
nomen and the North Dakota border as
“Veterans Memorial Highway,” and parts
of Highways 34 and 87 in Becker County
as the “Becker County Veterans Memorial
Highway” (Secs. 4, 5);

+ named the new Highway 23 bridge over the
Mississippi River in St. Cloud the “Granite
City Crossing” (Sec. 6);

+ allowed use of divided highway shoulders by
buses throughout the state, similar to what
is currently restricted to the seven-county
Twin Cities metropolitan area (Sec. 18);

+ permitted the annual closing of Highway
19 in New Prague one weekend in Sep-
tember for the Dozinky Festival (Sec. 42);
and

+ required MnDOT to complete the final
environmental impact statements for im-
provement on parts of Highway 14. (Sec.
44)

MnDOT already incorporates bicycle and
pedestrian facilities into many planning
documents, but the bill would have required
bicycle and pedestrian facilities on certain
bridges repaired or replaced using the trunk
highway bridge improvement program enacted
last year. It would have applied only to bridges
located in a city or that link to a pedestrian
path, trail or bikeway. The provisions would
nothave applied if MnDOT determined there
is no demand or a “reasonable alternative”
crossing is located within one-quarter mile
of the bridge. (Sec. 7)

A trio of provisions would have affected
deputy registrars. One would have permitted
deputy registrars to accept credit cards and
add a surcharge to cover the costs of the credit
card processing fee. However, this became law
in HF1849*/SF1544/CH152. Another would

have eliminated a 2012 sunset for a private

corporation to be a deputy registrar, Current

law says no private corporation can function
as a deputy registrar after Jan. 1, 2012. The
third would have established an additional

registrar in Farmington. (Secs. 9, 10, 43)

Other provisions would have:

+ removed the household income threshold
from the conditions of allowing a person
to retrieve contents from an impounded
vehicle (Sec. 12); '

+ moved up the effective date to July 1, 2009,
for a 2009 law that expanded a DWI igni-
tion interlock device pilot program to be
statewide (Secs. 22, 23);

+ prohibited driving into an intersection
controlled by a stoplight until a ve-
hicle is able to move completely through
(Sec. 17);

+ added the reduction of greenhouse gases to
MnDOT’s mission (Sec. 27); and

+ created the Minnesota Council on Trans-
portation Access to improve coordination,
availability, cost-effectiveness and safety
of transit services to transit dependent
persons (Sec. 28).

Pawlenty wrote that the council would
overlap the Interagency Committee on
Transit Coordination. “I established ICTC
to coordinate health and human service
programs with public transportation systems.
... I will direct Mn/DOT to expand the
membership of the ICTC to address the
purported need for the new council.”

A number of provisions in the bill regarding
mini trucks —from required equipment on the
vehicle to where it can be driven — became law
in HF571/SF492*/CH158. (Secs. 13, 15, 16, 47)

HF928*/SF1455/CH151

No Homestead-Lender Mediation Act
Minnesota home values are predicted to
plummet by more than $7 billion by 2010,
while 30,000 additional home foreclosures
are predicted this year.

A bill sponsored by Rep. Debra Hilstrom
(DFL-Brooklyn Center) and Sen. Linda
Scheid (DFL-Brooklyn Park) intended to
promote mediation as a tool to prevent some
of those foreclosures was vetoed by Gov. Tim
Pawlenty.

HF354, the Homestead-Lender Mediation
Act of 2009, was modeled after the 1986
Farmer-Lender Mediation Act, which
Hilstrom said helped 14,000 farmers avoid
foreclosure,

The mediation option would have been
available to homeowners who had already
received mortgage counseling as currently
required to be offered, requested the mediation
and demonstrated in good faith that they
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could meet the financial obligations of a
refinanced mortgage, an adjusted repayment
schedule or other arrangements agreed to by
debtor and creditor.

“WhileIam supportive ofa mediation option
for certain foreclosure cases, this bill does
not incorporate my key recommendations,”
Pawlenty wrote in his veto message.

Having a mediator rather than a mortgage
counselor determine who is eligible for
mediation is “nonsensical,” the governor
wrote, If the mediator is making that decision,
“the mediation process would have already
begun.” Instead, “the counselor should
determine eligibility for mediation based on
objective criteria prior to the matter being
referred to a mediator.”

The attorney general’s office would have
appointed and paid for qualified mediators,
but Pawlenty wrote that the office “is not
the proper entity to select neutral dispute
resolution personnel or procedures.” He
preferred the Office of Administrative Hearings
with the use of qualified volunteers.

To fund the program, the fee charged to
lenders for recording a notice of a pending
foreclosure sale would have increased by
$125 per foreclosure, even those not involving
mediation, Pawlenty wanted the program to
fund itself through fees applied within the
mediation transaction.

The governor wanted all meetings to be
available electronically, instead of having
the initial meeting by telephone or video
conferencing with the subsequent option to
meet in person at the mediator’s discretion,
as the bill proposed.

HF354*/SF340/CH154

Election changes vetoed

Minnesota’s political primaries will
continue to be held in September,

Sponsored by Rep. Ryan Winkler (DFL-
Golden Valley) and Sen. Katie Sieben (DFL-
Newport), Gov. Tim Pawlenty vetoed an
omnibus elections bill that would have made
a variety of mostly technical changes to the
state’s election laws.

Among the more significant provisions
included in the bill, primary elections for
the state’s major political parties would have
been held in August instead of September and
absentee ballots would have been processed in
a central location, rather than by the election
judges in each individual precinct. Other
provisions included administrative changes
requested by local governments, the Campaign
Finance and Public Disclosure Board.

Previous versions of the bill included
provisions such as online voter registration,

56 New Laws

early voting and various absentee voting
reforms; however, these were removed by a
conference committee in an effort to make the
bill non-controversial and court the approval
of Republican legislators.

The effort failed, however, and during
floor debate, House Republicans stated that
members of their caucus would not vote
for any elections bill that did not include a
photo ID requirement for voters. The photo
ID measure is opposed by most Democrats as
well as by the Office of the Secretary of State,
and was never included as part of the bill.

In his veto letter, Pawlenty stated that he
would not sign a bill that did not have support
from Republican lawmakers,

“Election laws set forth rules relating
to the fundamental right to vote and the
government’s administration of those rights,”
Pawlenty wrote. “Omnibus election bills
making changes to our election process should
bebipartisan. Unfortunately, this bill fails that
test.”

HF1351/SF1331*/CH162

Safe schools bill is not signed

Abill that would have strengthened schools’
responsibility to intervene and prevent
bullying was vetoed by Gov. Tim Pawlenty.

In his veto message, the governor called
the bill “duplicative of current law,” and that
school boards are already required to adopt
written sexual, religious and racial harassment
and violence policies that conform to the
Minnesota Human Rights Act.

The measure was sponsored by Rep. Jim
Davnie (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. D. Scott Dibble
(DFL-Mpls).

Pawlenty wrote that he agreed with the bill’s
goal, adding that “bullying is a serious issue
that must be vigilantly monitored, prevented,
and addressed by school administration
and staff.” He has instructed the education
commissioner to review the model policy
required by state law and to contact school
districts “to ensure they are meeting the
requirements of Minnesota law relating to
intimidation and bullying” and to encourage
them “to revisit” how policies are enforced.,

HF1198/SF971*/CH164

Medical marijuana use vetoed
Gov. Tim Pawlenty vetoed a measure that
would have allowed doctors to prescribe
medical marijuana to patients suffering from
certain terminal illnesses.

Sponsored by Rep. Tom Rukavina (DFL-
Virginia) and Sen. Steve Murphy (DFL-Red
Wing), the bill would have made Minnesota the

14th state to allow medical use of marijuana.
A regulatory process would have been set up
through the Health Department, requiring
patients to possess special photo identification
cards and providing for registration of
marijuana dispensaries,

The bill passed the House and Senate
with bipartisan support — and bipartisan
opposition — following a series of committee
hearings earlier in the session where advocates
for medical marijuana pressed their case by
emphasizing the benefits to cancer patients
and others. Survivors of cancer victims
gave testimony that marijuana — obtained
illegally — was the only thing that increased
the quality of life for their loved ones during
their final days and weeks.

The bill included a sunset date of Oct. 1,
2011 This was a concession made inan attempt
to assuage concerns from law enforcement,
According to Rukavina, the proposal would
have been much more restrictive than medical
marijuana laws in other states.

Opponents of the measure cited widespread
opposition from the law enforcement
community, who expressed concerns about
whether it would increase the street availability
of marijuana. Many argued it would also send
the wrong message to young people about the
potential dangers of using marijuana.

In his veto letter, Pawlenty echoed these
sentiments, stating the bill posed “serious
public safety and health risks.

“While I am very sympathetic to
those dealing with end-of-life illnesses
and accompanying pain, I stand with law
enforcement in opposition to this legislation,”
the governor wrote,

Noting that the U.S. Food and Drug
Administration has not approved and does
not regulate medical marijuana, Pawlenty
stated that the scientific evidence regarding
the benefits and risks of medical marijuana
is “insufficient.”

HF292/SF97*/CH166

Spending bills with no tax increase

The governor and the Legislature were at
loggerheads all session as to how to fill what
was to be a nearly $3 billion funding gap
to support programming for the 2010-2011
biennium.

The governor’s stand was no new taxes, but
to rely on cuts, shifts and use of appropriation
bonds. The Legislature said that appropriation
bonds would be “borrowing against the
future,” and even with shifts, an increase
in taxes would be necessary to stave off
devastating cuts.

A bill (HF885%/SF681) that would have
raised income taxes and alcohol taxes, and
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imposed a new tax on interest was vetoed
by the governor nine days before session
adjournment, and positions were held firm
right up to the last hour of session., With all
spending bills passed and approved by the
governor (some with a few line-item vetoes),
House DFLers hoped for another chance
at funding them with what they termed
sustainable revenue,

Despite Republican efforts to stall a vote on
the second tax bill (HF2323%*/SF2074), both
bodies hurriedly passed the bill approved in
a conference committee about an hour earlier.
That bill contained the same income, alcohol
and interest tax provisions as the earlier bill
and also included language for the school
finance shift proposed by the governor.

Vetoed by Gov. Tim Pawlenty, the bill
would have closed an approximate $2.7 billion
budget gap by delaying payments to schools,
raising income taxes on joint filers earning
more than $250,000 a year, increasing alcohol
taxes and creating a surcharge on lenders
charging high interest rates.

“I think everyone can be proud of this
bill,” said Rep. Ann Lenczewski (DFL-
Bloomington), chairwoman of the House
Taxes Committee and sponsor of the bill,

Sen. Tom Bakk (DFL-Cook), Senate Tax
Committee chairman, and the bill’s co-
sponsor, was among the 31 senators who
abstained from voting in the final seconds of
session.
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Session-long disagreement

The governor announced May 14 that there
would be no special session to solve the funding
disagreement, and that he would use his
unallotment authority to resolve the deficit.

“A key principle is that the DFL-controlled
Legislature shouldn’t spend more money
than the state has available,” Pawlenty said.
“Unfortunately, they have done just that and
now 'l fix it.”

With negotiations between legislators and
Pawlenty failing to produce an agreement, and
the Legislative Commission on Planning and
Piscal Policy demanding answers about the
potential unallotment scenario, Pawlenty’s
ultimatum forced the Legislature to try to
override an earlier veto.

An override attempt of the first tax bill
(HF885*/SF68), sponsored by Lenczewskiand
Bakk, failed to get the 90 votes needed with a
vote of 85-49 on May 17. Rep. Gene Pelowski,
Jr. (DFL-Winona) and Rep. Jeanne Poppe
(DFL-Austin) joined all House Republicans
in supporting the veto.

That bill was similar to the latter in that

it would have raised more than $1 billion in
taxes in the 2010-2011 biennium, but did not
include the K-12 shift. It was an attempt to save
cuts to schools, hospitals and nursing homes
by creating a new tax bracket for the state’s top
earners, increasing alcohol taxes and adding
a tax for excessive interest rates.

New tax law

Though the Legislature was not successful
with either of its omnibus tax finance bills,
the governor did sign HF1298*/SF1257/CH88,
apolicylaw containing many technical policy
and non-controversial tax provisions.

It includes more federal tax conformity
that Congress has adopted since HE95, the
House federal conformity bill, was signed
into law earlier in the session. The ability to
make levy adjustments is addressed for cities
and counties that may lose local government
aid, market value homestead credit and
county program aid due to unallotment is
provided.

HF2323*/SF2074/CH179
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