This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/Irl/Irl.asp

Participation in the Livable Communities Act Local Housing Incentives Account – 2010

January 29, 2010

A Report to the Legislature Fulfilling Minnesota Statute 473.254, Subdivision 9

Metropolitan Council 390 Robert Street North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Metropolitan Council Members

Peter Bell	Chair
Roger Scherer	District 1
Tony Pistilli	District 2
Robert McFarlin	District 3
Craig Peterson	District 4
Polly Bowles	District 5
Peggy Leppik	District 6
Annette Meeks	District 7
Lynette Wittsack	District 8
Natalie Haas Steffen	District 9
Kris Sanda	District 10
Georgeanne Hilker	District 11
Sherry Broecker	District 12
Rick Åguilar	District 13
Kirstin Sersland Beach	District 14
Daniel Wolter	District 15
Wendy Wulff	District 16
General phone	651-602-1000
Data Center	651-602-1140
TTY	651-291-0904
E-mail	data.center@metc.state.mn.us
Web site	www.metrocouncil.org

Publication No. 78-10-008

Printed on recycled paper with at least 20% post-consumer waste.

On request, this publication will be made available in alternative formats to people with disabilities. Call the Metropolitan Council Data Center at 651 602-1140 or TTY 651 291-0904.

INTRODUCTION

The Metropolitan Livable Communities Act (LCA) requires the Metropolitan Council to report by February 1 of every year which municipalities elected to participate and which did not elect to participate in the local housing incentive account (LHIA) program for that calendar year (Minnesota Statutes 473.254, section 5, subsection 9).

LCA PARTICIPATION

The LCA supports regional policy which calls for the expansion of the opportunities for affordable and life-cycle housing throughout the region, creative planning that links jobs, transportation and housing, and revitalization of the region's older cities. Communities within the seven-county area that participate in the local housing incentives account program may receive grants or loans from the three funding accounts of the LCA Fund. These funds are the tax base revitalization account, livable communities demonstration account, and the local housing incentives account. Only LCA participating communities may apply for and receive grants from the polluted sites clean-up program administered by the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development. In addition, the law says the Council "shall give consideration to a municipality's participation" in the Local Housing Incentives Account program when making discretionary funding decisions.

As of the publication date of this report, 105 communities were participants in the LCA's local housing incentives program. There was no change in the communities participating in the LCA during 2009.

MUNICIPALITIES PARTICIPATING IN THE METROPOLITAN LIVABLE COMMUNITIES ACT LOCAL HOUSING INCENTIVES PROGRAM IN 2010

ANOKA COUNTY

Anoka Blaine Centerville Circle Pines Columbia Heights Columbus Coon Rapids Fridley Hilltop Lexington Lino Lakes Oak Grove Ramsey St. Francis Spring Lake Park

CARVER COUNTY

Carver Chanhassen Chaska Cologne Hamburg Mayer New Germany Norwood/Young America Victoria Waconia Watertown

DAKOTA COUNTY

Apple Valley Burnsville Eagan Empire Twp. Farmington Hastings Inver Grove Heights Lakeville Mendota Heights Rosemount South St. Paul Sunfish Lake West St. Paul

HENNEPIN COUNTY

Bloomington **Brooklyn Center Brooklyn Park** Champlin Crystal Dayton Eden Prairie Edina Excelsior Golden Valley Hopkins Long Lake Loretto Maple Grove Maple Plain Medina Minneapolis Minnetonka Minnetonka Beach Mound New Hope Orono Osseo Plymouth Richfield Robbinsdale Rogers St. Anthony St. Bonifacius St. Louis Park Wayzata

RAMSEY COUNTY

Arden Hills Falcon Heights Lauderdale Little Canada Maplewood Mounds View New Brighton North St. Paul Roseville St. Paul Shoreview Vadnais Heights White Bear Twp. White Bear Lake

SCOTT COUNTY

Belle Plaine Elko-New Market Jordan Prior Lake Savage Shakopee

WASHINGTON

COUNTY Afton Bayport Cottage Grove Forest Lake Hugo Lake St. Croix Beach Landfall Mahtomedi Newport Oakdale Oak Park Heights St. Paul Park Stillwater Willernie Woodbury

MUNICIPALITIES NOT PARTICIPATING IN THE LOCAL HOUSING INCENTIVES PROGRAM IN 2010

Andover Baytown Twp. Belle Plaine Twp. Benton Twp. Bethel Birchwood Blakeley Twp. Camden Twp. Castle Rock Twp. Cedar Lake Twp. Coates Corcoran Credit River Twp. Dahlgren Twp. Dellwood Deephaven Denmark Twp. Douglas Twp. East Bethel Eureka Twp. Gem Lake Grant Greenfield Greenvale Twp. Greenwood Grey Cloud Twp. Ham Lake Hampton Hampton Twp. Hancock Twp. Hassan Twp. Helena Twp. Hollywood Twp. Independence Jackson Twp. Lake Elmo

Lakeland Lakeland Shores Laketown Twp. Lilydale Linwood Twp. Louisville Twp. Marine on St. Croix Marshan Twp. May Twp. Medicine Lake Mendota Miesville Minnetrista New Market Twp. New Trier Nininger Twp. North Oaks Nowthen **Pine Springs** Randolph Randolph Twp. Ravena Twp. St. Lawrence Twp. St. Mary's Point San Francisco Twp. Sand Creek Twp. Scandia Sciota Twp. Shorewood Spring Lake Twp. Spring Park Stillwater Twp. Tonka Bay Vermillion Vermillion Twp. Waconia Twp. Waterford Twp. Watertown Twp. West Lakeland Twp. Woodland Young America Twp. Twin Cities Metropolitan Area

Livable Communities Act Participants, 2010

