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Traditionally, cable companies have had to negotiate with local municipalities in order to obtain 
a franchise authorizing them to provide cable services in a community.  Since 2005, seven states 
have passed laws that allow cable service providers to apply for a franchise at the state level: 
California, Indiana, Kansas, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Texas.  Virginia’s 
new statute still requires cable operators to negotiate with municipalities, but provides that a 
standardized “default” franchise be awarded if no agreement is reached within 45 days.  These 
new procedures expedite the application process and virtually guarantee the cable service 
providers will be granted a franchise.  
 
The first portion of this information brief discusses factors motivating the enactment of these 
new laws, including the state of competition for providing cable services and its effect on cable 
rates, and the development of innovative technology to deliver cable television. 
 
The second portion discusses the major controversial issues that surrounded the new cable laws, 
including the treatment of current local franchises, franchise fees, fees to support public, 
educational, and governmental (PEG) access channels, geographic scope of service (build-out 
requirements), municipal services, and PEG channel requirements. The final portion of the 
information brief compares in table form how individual states addressed these issues in their 
laws. 
 
 
Background 
 
Cable TV Competition Has Been Minimal to Date 

In 2006, seven states—California, Indiana, Kansas, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Carolina, 
and Virginia1—joined Texas, which acted in 2005, in enacting legislation designed to promote 
effective competition among cable service providers.  The absence of competition is cited as a 
major contributor to continually escalating monthly cable rates,2 estimated by the Federal 
Communications Commission (FCC) to have risen 7.5 percent annually between 1998 and 
2004.3   
 
While Congress prohibited the awarding of exclusive cable franchises in 1992, and allowed 
telephone companies and electric utilities to enter video markets in 1996, relatively little direct 
competition resulted.  Although direct broadcast satellite (DBS) companies currently account for 
27.2 percent of all subscribers to multichannel video programming,4 their presence appears to 
have little effect on cable pricing.5  In contrast, cable rates are approximately 15 percent lower in 
areas where a wire-based competitor (using either traditional copper wire or new fiber-optic lines 
made of glass or plastic threads) is present, but this only occurs in about 2 percent of markets.6   
 
The new laws, which represent a major change in the way cable television is regulated, aim to 
expand the number of markets with wireline competition and thereby lower cable rates.  The 
means to achieve this objective is to relieve cable providers of the requirement to negotiate 
individually with each municipality in which they seek to offer service, negotiations that 
providers claim are unjustifiably lengthy, amounting to a significant barrier to entry.  Providers 
in these states will now apply at the state level to offer service in as many communities, or 
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portions of communities, as they wish.  Under the new laws, they are virtually guaranteed 
issuance of a franchise within as few as 15 or as many as 85 days after a completed application 
has been filed. 
 
 
Advances in Technology Allow Telecommunications Companies to Diversify Their Services 

The main advocates of these regulatory changes have been telephone companies, such as AT&T 
and Verizon,7 seeking to take advantage of competitive opportunities made possible by 
technological advances that allow voice (including Internet-based VoIP, or Voice over Internet 
Protocol), video, and data (high-speed Internet service) to be carried over a single fiber-optic 
line, giving both cable and phone companies the ability to offer customers all three services.   
 
To exploit these business opportunities, both telephone and cable companies have made large 
investments to upgrade their networks.  Verizon has invested $18 billion in fiber-optic lines that 
extend into customers’ homes, reaching more than three million households in 18 states; AT&T 
has spent $4.6 billion to install fiber-optic lines to carry these services to neighborhood nodes 
that connect to homes via existing copper cable.8  By the end of 2004, BellSouth had laid five 
million miles of fiber passing by one million homes.9  Cable companies have reportedly invested 
$85 billion in recent years to enable them to offer not only high-speed Internet connections and 
telephone service, but also high-definition TV and video-on-demand.10   
 
The results of these investments are most readily seen among cable operators.  By May 2006, 
Comcast, the nation’s largest cable TV provider, also boasted nine million broadband and 1.5 
million phone customers, adding 211,000 digital voice customers in the first quarter of 2006.11  
At the end of 2005, Time Warner Cable had 1.1 million phone customers, while Cablevision 
Systems Corp. passed the one-million mark by July 2006.12  A 2006 survey estimated that the 
number of VoIP subscribers grew from 1.9 million in March 2005 to 5.5 million a year later, and 
is projected to reach 9.6 million by the end of 2006.  Cable companies accounted for 57 percent 
of VoIP subscriptions in 2006, up from 47 percent a year earlier.13

 
So far, the telephone companies have been slower at marketing video services.  “It’s been much 
easier and much less expensive for the cable companies to add voice to their networks than for 
the Bells to add TV to theirs,” according to an industry analyst.14  Verizon only began offering 
TV service in a few selected communities in six states in early 2006.15

 
In Minnesota, Qwest Communications has so far preferred to offer cable to its phone customers 
by reselling DirecTV, a satellite system, rather than building its own fiber-optic network, a costly 
prospect.  One Wall Street analyst suggested that Qwest might be waiting to see how Bell 
companies that have elected to build a fiber-optic system, such as AT&T, fare before deciding to 
do so.16  Qwest currently offers cable over fiber-optic lines or copper video digital subscriber 
lines in Omaha, Phoenix, and parts of Colorado, and is considering supporting a state franchise 
law in Colorado like those discussed here.17  
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Statutory Analysis 
 
The table beginning on page 10 summarizes the major issues that engendered great controversy 
during the legislative process regarding the degree to which regulatory requirements under the 
new statewide franchises differ from those under current municipal franchises, and whether those 
differences might harm some subscribers or place incumbents, or current cable franchise license 
holders, at a competitive disadvantage. Proponents and opponents of these laws wrestled with the 
following questions: 
 

• Treatment of current local franchises: Are the current cable providers, or incumbents, 
required to operate under their local franchise agreements until those agreements expire, 
or can they convert to a state-issued franchise and face the same regulatory regime as 
their new competitors? 

• Franchise fees: Will the level of franchise fees paid to municipalities by cable providers 
utilizing public rights-of-way to install their equipment be reduced from current levels?  
These revenues—calculated as a percentage of gross revenues from cable operations18—
are utilized to help support the public, educational, and governmental (PEG) access 
channels.   

• PEG support fees:  Will state franchises require direct operator support of PEG 
operations, either through grants or in-kind contributions of equipment and training, as 
many local franchise agreements do? 

• Build-out requirements: Are operators holding state franchises required to provide 
service to all parts of a municipality, as under most negotiated franchises, or can they 
choose to operate only in certain areas whose density or income level will generate the 
greatest amount of revenues? 

• Municipal services: Are providers holding statewide franchises required to provide cable 
services to schools, libraries, and other public buildings as they are under many local 
franchise agreements? 

• PEG channel requirements: Are statewide franchisees required to provide a different 
number of PEG channels than incumbents? 

 
 
Treatment of Current Local Franchises 

Several of these statutes allow existing operators the option to terminate the local franchise and 
replace it with a state franchise. This was an accommodation made to defuse opposition from 
incumbents who claimed that the new laws gave new entrants a regulatory advantage. 
 
Only the Texas statute prevents local franchisees from applying for a state franchise until the 
local franchise expires.19   Indiana, New Jersey, and Virginia allow operators to make this choice 
at any time and under any conditions; other states require that wireline competition be present in 
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order for this option to be available.  In South Carolina, North Carolina, and California, an 
incumbent can apply for a state franchise once a competitor holding a state franchise enters the 
incumbent’s service area.  North Carolina also allows that option if a second incumbent in the 
service area passes by 25 percent of the households, or if a wireline competitor that does not 
require a franchise offers service in the area.   
 
California’s law allows an incumbent to apply for a state franchise when the local franchise 
expires or if the local franchising authority agrees to it, and gives a local franchiser authority to 
require all local franchisees to apply for a state franchise.  Kansas allows an incumbent facing 
competition to request modification of its local franchise terms and agreements to those of a state 
franchise, a request that the local franchiser must grant within 180 days.20

 
 
Franchise Fees  

Laws in seven states rescind the authority of municipalities to set the level of the franchise fee.  
Only Kansas fully preserves municipalities’ authority to set the fee, subject to the 5 percent 
ceiling established by federal law.  In Indiana, this authority is reserved for areas with an 
incumbent provider.  In unserved areas, the fee is set at 5 percent of gross revenues.  In the six 
other states, the fee is set in statute and applies to all municipalities.   
 
In California, South Carolina, and Virginia, the fee is the lesser of the existing fee or 5 percent.  
Texas set its fee at 5 percent.  In New Jersey, local franchisees pay municipalities 2 percent of 
gross revenues, but once a provider operating under a state franchise becomes capable of serving 
60 percent of households in a local service area, the local franchisee pays the same fee as a state 
franchisee: 3.5 percent of gross revenues, plus a payment to the state equal to the gross revenues 
paid by seniors for basic cable service.  These payments are used to reduce the price of that 
service for seniors. 
 
North Carolina features a different type of fee structure, which predates the 2006 statute.  The 
state collects revenues from a state tax on video services—currently set at 4.5 percent of gross 
revenues, to be reduced to 4 percent in July 2007—and then rebates 22.61 percent of the net 
revenue to cities and counties, proportional to their population.   
 
 
PEG Support Fees 

Laws in five of the eight states require payments to cities specifically to support PEG channel 
operations, even after the local franchise expires.21  A Texas provider under a state franchise 
must pay the same per-subscriber fee as an existing provider (“in lieu of in-kind compensation 
and grants”) until the local franchise expires, after which it must pay 1 percent of gross revenues, 
unless the city prefers to continue collecting the per subscriber fee.  Indiana requires a provider 
holding a state franchise to make the same PEG payments as an incumbent, on a per-subscriber 
basis, even after the local franchise has expired. 
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North Carolina’s statute specifies that the state rebate to cities and counties, in addition to the 
amount cited above, must include “supplemental PEG channel support” of $25,000 per year for 
each PEG channel (up to three).  These funds may not exceed $2 million statewide.22   
 
In California, after January 1, 2007, and until an incumbent franchise expires, a provider with a 
state franchise must support PEG channels at the incumbent’s current per-subscriber level.  After 
an incumbent franchise expires, a municipality may establish a PEG support fee of up to 1 
percent of gross revenues.  If a higher fee already exists on December 31, 2006, it may be 
retained, up to a maximum of 3 percent. 
 
Virginia’s law provides that a PEG capital fee (the lowest existing charge on a per-subscriber or 
percentage-of-gross-revenue basis) and a PEG capital grant surcharge fee (the lower of 1.5 
percent of gross revenues or the lowest amount of paid or in-kind capital contribution made by a 
provider) be collected until the earliest existing local franchise expiration date.  If, at that time, 
the locality and the provider cannot agree on a recurring capital cost fee, the locality may impose 
one by ordinance “to support the reasonable and necessary capital costs” of PEG channels, but 
no greater than the earlier PEG capital fee.  A PEG capital grant surcharge fee cannot be charged 
once the original franchise expires.  
 
No financial support for PEG channels is required by the statutes enacted in Kansas, New Jersey, 
or South Carolina. 
 
 
Build-out Requirements 

Typically, cable franchise agreements with municipalities require providers to offer service 
throughout an entire city, including low-income or low-density neighborhoods that might not 
otherwise be served because the capital investment required to extend service to those areas may 
not generate a sufficient return.  A major objection of cities and incumbent cable operators to the 
laws establishing state-issued cable franchises is that they allow companies to select only more 
lucrative geographic areas for their operations, denying service to low-income communities and 
giving an unfair regulatory advantage to state franchise operators.  On the other hand, it has been 
argued that a requirement to provide complete coverage may cause an entrant to abandon a 
decision to offer service at all, denying competition to the community altogether, or can result in 
higher prices.23

 
All eight statutes prohibit income discrimination against groups of potential residential 
subscribers in language virtually identical to that of federal law, which requires franchise 
authorities to insure that “access to cable service is not denied to any group of potential 
residential subscribers because of the income of the local area in which such group resides.”24   
However, this prohibition refers only to residents within the operator’s chosen service area.  The 
statutes clearly allow operators to designate selected portions of cities and counties in which to 
offer service.25  Only New Jersey’s statute gives its franchise-issuing agency authority to deny a 
franchise based on a company’s selection of a service area.26

 
California’s statute addresses economic discrimination most directly in its build-out 
requirements.  A provider with more than one million telephone customers in the state must 
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insure that within three years, at least 25 percent of households with access to its video service 
have an annual household income below $35,000, a proportion that increases to 30 percent after 
five years.27  Telephone companies with fewer than one million customers in the state must 
“offer video service to all customers within their telephone service area within a reasonable time, 
as determined by the commission.”  An exception is allowed for areas where the cost of 
providing service is “substantially above” the average cost of providing service in the company’s 
telephone service area.28

 
California’s Public Utilities Commission also has authority, in certain cases, to review a 
provider’s chosen service area to insure that it was not drawn in a discriminatory manner.  This 
may take place under any of three conditions, which otherwise provide operators with a 
rebuttable presumption that discrimination has not occurred: 
 

• Service is provided outside a company’s telephone service area 
• A provider enters an area not served by a wireline competitor 
• The company is not a telephone company 

 
In contrast to California, five states—Indiana, Kansas, North Carolina, South Carolina, and 
Texas—flatly prohibit build-out requirements.   
 
Build-out provisions in other states appear to have less potential to prevent economic 
discrimination than do California’s.  Virginia allows municipalities to require that video service 
be provided to up to 65 percent of the residential dwelling units in a company’s telephone service 
area within seven years after service has begun; this can be increased up to 80 percent after ten 
years.  The effectiveness of such thresholds depends, obviously, on the target percentage a 
municipality requires a provider to meet and the proportion of lower income residents in a 
telephone company’s service area.  For example, if 20 percent of the households in a telephone 
service area are categorized as low-income, Virginia’s law would not require that service be 
provided to them. 
 
New Jersey’s build-out requirements are also somewhat circumscribed in their ability to prohibit 
economic discrimination.  Within six years of beginning to offer service, a telephone company 
providing local exchange service to more than 40 percent of the state’s telephone customers must 
make video service available “throughout the residential areas” of each municipality within its 
service area with a population density greater than 7,111 persons per square mile,29 which 
includes about 10 percent of the state’s municipalities, according to a staff member of New 
Jersey’s Office of Legislative Services.  While this provides some protection to customers, it 
does not address those living in less dense areas, nor customers of telephone companies with a 
smaller market share. 
 
 
Municipal Services 

Many municipally negotiated franchises require the provision of cable services and institutional 
network capacity30 to public buildings, including schools, at no charge.  Of the new laws, only 
those in three states—New Jersey, North Carolina, and Virginia—require holders of a state 
franchise to provide these services free of charge in perpetuity as a condition of receiving a 
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franchise.  North Carolina’s statute stipulates that basic cable service must be provided to all 
public buildings located within 125 feet of the system.  New Jersey’s and Virginia’s requirement 
is broader, applying to all government buildings without reference to proximity to equipment, 
although Virginia’s requirement to provide institutional network capacity ends when the earliest 
local franchise expires.  New Jersey includes Internet service as well. 
 
Three states place time limits on the continued provision of these services.  In Texas, Indiana, 
and California, provision of municipal services required under a local franchise must continue, 
even if the local franchise converts to a state franchise, until the later of the local franchise 
expiration date or until January 1, 2008 (Texas), or January 1, 2009 (Indiana and California).  
Once that date has passed, a converted franchise in Texas and California must continue to 
provide these services only if paid by the municipality.  Indiana’s law is silent regarding whether 
a local franchise that has been converted to a state franchise must continue to provide these 
services free of charge. 
 
New, as opposed to converted, state franchises are not required to provide municipal services in 
Texas, California, and in previously unserved areas in Indiana.  Neither state franchise type is 
required to do so in Kansas and South Carolina. 
 
 
PEG Channel Requirements 

Laws in four states insure that subscribers suffer no loss of PEG channels under a state-issued 
franchise:  
 

• South Carolina requires operators to provide the same number of channels activated by 
the incumbent.  If no incumbent provides service, a municipality may request, and the 
operator must provide, up to three channels.   

• California specifies that a city must receive the largest number of channels activated by 
any incumbent, with the same alternative as South Carolina if no incumbent exists on 
January 1, 2007.   

• The Texas statute requires no fewer channels than were activated by an incumbent.  
Cities without an incumbent operator must be provided with three channels if the 
population exceeds 50,000, or two channels if it is below that level. 

• North Carolina provides that a municipality be provided with the same number of 
channels activated by an incumbent as of July 1, 2006, and has identical provisions to the 
Texas law if no incumbent was present on January 1, 2005.  The statute also allows for 
areas with fewer than seven PEG channels to gain one additional channel if all existing 
channels are utilized at least eight hours daily. 

 
Virginia requires a franchise to provide the lowest number of PEG channels presently offered 
under a local franchise.  If this is less than three, a city may require up to three.  If existing PEG 
channels are utilized more than 12 hours daily, a city may require provision of up to three 
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additional channels, so long as that requirement applies to all providers in the city, and a total of 
seven channels is not exceeded. 
 
Two states specify the number of PEG channels to be provided without reference to those of an 
incumbent: New Jersey provides for two (if a city desires additional channels, it must 
demonstrate need), while Kansas prescribes no more than two.31  In Indiana, the Utilities 
Regulatory Commission sets the number of PEG channels. 
 
 
Statutes Providing for State-Issued Franchises for Cable 
Video Service 
 
The table beginning on pages 10 and 11 describes aspects of the states’ laws for state-issued 
cable franchises. It includes the following information:  
 

• The effective date of the statute 
• Who grants the franchise 
• The deadline for issuing the franchise 
• How current local franchises are treated 
• The amount of franchise fees 
• The amount of PEG support fees 
• What build-out requirements are specified 
• What municipal services are required 
• The customer service standards 
• The number of PEG channels required 

 



House Research Department November 2006 
Cable TV Franchises Page 10 
 
 
Statutes Providing for State-Issued Franchises for Cable Video Service 
(Texas, Kansas, Indiana, Virginia, South Carolina, North Carolina, New Jersey, and California) 

 
 TEXAS KANSAS INDIANA VIRGINIA 

Effective Date September 1, 2005 July 1, 2006 July 1, 2006 July 1, 2006 
 

Franchise Grantor Public Utilities 
Commission 

Corporation 
Commission 

Utilities Regulatory  
Commission 
 

Municipalities 

Franchise Issuance 
Deadline 

16 days after 
application is 
complete 

30 days after 
application is 
complete 

15 days after 
application is 
complete 

If franchise 
agreement not 
negotiated within 45 
days after 
application received, 
applicant may begin 
service 30 days later, 
and municipality 
must award 
retroactive default or 
“ordinance” 
franchise 90 days 
after service begins 

Treatment of 
Current Local 
Franchises 

Incumbent may not 
apply for state 
franchise until local 
franchise expires 
 
Nonincumbent 
serving less than 
40% of market may 
choose to terminate 
local franchise and 
apply for state 
franchise before 
1/1/06 

Incumbent may 
continue local 
franchise until 
expiration, or, if 
multiple providers 
exist, may request 
modification of local 
franchise terms and 
conditions identical 
to those of state 
franchise, which 
request municipality 
must grant within 
180 days 
 
 
 
 
 

Incumbent may 
continue local 
franchise until 
expiration or apply 
for state franchise 
before 11/1/06 

Incumbent may 
continue local 
franchise or apply 
for ordinance 
franchise 
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SOUTH CAROLINA NORTH CAROLINA NEW JERSEY CALIFORNIA 
May 23, 2006 January 1, 2007 November 2, 2006 January 1, 2007 

 
Secretary of State Secretary of State (but see 

cell below) 
Board of Public Utilities 
(BPU) 

Public Utilities 
Commission 
 

85 days after application is 
received32

Applicant can offer 
service immediately after 
filing notice of franchise 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

45 days after application is 
received 

43 days after application is 
complete 

Incumbent may terminate 
its franchise and apply for 
state franchise when a 
competitor holding a state 
franchise gives notice that 
it will enter the same 
service area 
 

Incumbent with local 
franchise on 1/1/07 may 
terminate it if: 
• any household is also 

passed by holder of a 
state franchise; 

• at least 25% of 
households are passed 
by another provider 
with a local franchise; 
or 

• wireline competition  
is present 

Incumbent may continue 
local franchise or 
automatically convert to 
state franchise 
 
Local franchises (through 
BPU) continue to be 
available 

Local franchise authority 
may extend expiring 
franchise to 1/2/08, date 
state franchise is 
operational 
 
Incumbent may apply for 
state franchise when local 
franchise expires, when 
local authority agrees to 
termination, or when 
provider with state 
franchise gives notice that 
it will enter same service 
area  
 
Local authority may 
require all incumbents to 
apply for state franchise  
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 TEXAS KANSAS INDIANA VIRGINIA 
Franchise Fees 33 5% of gross 

revenues 
5% of gross 
revenues 

Areas previously 
unserved: 5% of 
gross revenues 
 
Municipality sets fee 
in other areas, not to 
exceed 5% of gross 
revenues 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Lowest fee paid by 
existing local 
franchise, not to 
exceed 5% of gross 
revenues 

PEG Support Fees Same per-subscriber 
fee as incumbent 
until expiration of 
incumbent franchise.  
After expiration, 
state franchisee may, 
at city’s discretion, 
continue per-
subscriber fee or pay 
1% of gross 
revenues 

None Same per-subscriber 
fee as incumbent 
 
If no incumbent, and 
commission requires 
provision of PEG 
channels, it may also 
set level of PEG 
support 

PEG capital fee: 
lowest existing per- 
subscriber fee or 
gross revenues 
percentage fee to 
support PEG capital 
costs34

 
PEG capital grant 
surcharge fee, if 
existing local 
franchise paid lump-
sum capital grant or 
provided equipment: 
lower of latter or 
1.5% of gross 
revenues 
 
PEG fees collected 
until earliest existing 
local franchise 
expiration date, after 
which new fee may 
be negotiated or set 
by ordinance 
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SOUTH CAROLINA NORTH CAROLINA NEW JERSEY CALIFORNIA 
Lesser of fee paid by 
existing local franchise or 
5% of gross revenues 

State rebates to cities and 
counties 22.61% of net 
proceeds of state tax on 
cable video services (set at 
4.5% prior to 7/1/07 and 
4% thereafter) 
proportional to 
population35

 

Local franchise: 2% of 
gross revenues; city may 
petition BPU for higher 
rate. Once state franchise 
is capable of serving 60% 
of households, rate is 
same as state franchise 
 
State franchise:  
1) 3.5% of gross revenues; 
and 
2) amount of gross 
revenues paid by seniors 
for basic cable36

Lesser of fee paid by 
existing local franchise or 
5% of gross revenues 
 
If provider leases access to 
network owned by local 
franchise authority, latter 
may establish a different 
fee 
 

None State rebates $25,000 
annually for each PEG 
channel (up to 3), not to 
exceed $2 million 
statewide37

None 
 
 

Between 1/1/07 and later 
of 1/1/09 or expiration, 
level of PEG support must 
be maintained through 
identical per subscriber fee 
on all providers. After 
expiration, city may set fee 
up to 1% of gross 
revenues.  If higher fee 
existed on 12/31/06, city 
may retain it, up to 3% 
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 TEXAS KANSAS INDIANA VIRGINIA 
Build-out 
Requirements 

Prohibited 
 
 

Prohibited 
 
Applicant must be 
capable of providing 
service to entire 
service area within 5 
years 

Prohibited 
 
 

Municipalities set 
requirements: up to 
100% of initial 
service area in 3 
years; up to 65% of 
area where telephone 
service is provided 
in 7 years, which 
may be increased to 
80% after 10 years.  
Service not required 
outside of a telco’s 
service area, or 
where density is less 
than 30 units/mile 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Municipal Services 
Required 

Until later of 1/1/08 
or existing franchise 
expiration date, a 
local franchisee that 
converts to a state 
franchise must 
maintain 
institutional network 
capacity and cable 
service to public 
buildings and 
schools as required 
under local franchise 
 
Afterward, a state 
franchisee must 
continue service 
only if compensated 
by city. A new state 
franchisee is not 
required to provide 
municipal services.  

Incumbent franchise 
unaffected. A 
converted or new 
state franchisee is 
not required to 
provide municipal 
services. 

Until later of 1/1/09 
or existing franchise 
expiration date, a 
local franchisee or 
one that converted to 
a state franchisee 
must provide 
institutional network 
capacity and cable 
service to public 
buildings and 
schools.  Afterward, 
service must 
continue if requested 
by city 
 
State franchisee in 
previously unserved 
area is not required 
to provide municipal 
services 
 
 
 

All operators must 
provide basic cable 
service to fire and 
police stations, 
public schools and 
libraries, and other 
local government 
buildings, at no 
charge 
 
Institutional network 
service must be 
provided until 
earliest local 
franchise expiration 
date 
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SOUTH CAROLINA NORTH CAROLINA NEW JERSEY CALIFORNIA 
Prohibited 
 
Deployment in each city 
and unincorporated areas 
of counties in service area 
must begin within one 
year of receiving franchise 

Prohibited 
 
Deployment must begin 
within 120 days of filing 

For cable providers 
providing > 40% of local 
exchange telephone 
service in state: Within 3 
years, must begin 
servicing each county seat 
and each city with 
population density > 7,111 
per sq/mi.  Within 6 years, 
must serve all residential 
areas in such cities that 
have a central office38

 
Must match incumbent’s 
extension policy and serve 
all customers within 100 
feet of existing plant.  
Service not required 
where density is less than 
35 units/mile   

Telco with > 1 million 
telco customers: If using 
fiber-optic cable, must 
provide access to at least 
25% of homes in telco 
service area within 2 
years, 40% within 5 years; 
nonfiber: 35% in 3 years, 
50% in 5 years39  
 
Also, within 3 years, at 
least 25% of homes with 
access must have incomes 
below $35,000; 30% after 
5 years 
 
Smaller telcos must offer 
video to all telco 
customers within “a 
reasonable time,” except 
service not required in 
areas where cost 
“substantially” exceeds 
average 

Incumbent franchise 
unaffected. A converted or 
new state franchisee is not 
required to provide 
municipal services. 

All operators must provide 
basic cable service to 
public buildings located 
within 125 feet of cable 
system, if requested, at no 
charge 
 
 

State franchisee must 
provide basic cable and 
Internet service to police 
and fire stations, public 
schools and libraries, and 
other local government 
buildings at no charge, 
and must contract with 
city to provide free 
training and equipment to 
PEG access users 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Until later of 1/1/09 or 
expiration, local franchisee 
must maintain obligation 
to provide institutional 
networks and cable service 
to public buildings, which 
state franchisee must 
match.  Afterward, 
customers must pay for 
service 
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 TEXAS KANSAS INDIANA VIRGINIA 
Customer Service 
Standards 40

Must comply with 
standards consistent 
with federal 
standards until 
another service 
provider (excluding 
satellite) enters 
market 

Municipality may 
require franchisee, 
on 90 days notice, to 
comply with 
standards consistent 
with federal 
standards 

Must comply with 
federal standards 

Must comply with 
federal standards.  If 
municipality 
prescribes more 
stringent standards, 
they must be applied 
to all franchisees 
 

Number of PEG 
Channels Required  

No fewer than 
activated under local 
franchise on 1/1/05.  
If none, up to 3 
channels if 
population exceeds 
50,000; otherwise, 
up to 2.  To activate 
additional channel, 
existing channels 
must be utilized 12 
hrs/day with less 
than 40% repeat 
programming 
 
Access to PEG 
channels used less 
than 8 hrs/day may 
be denied to city and 
programmed by 
provider 

No more than 2 At least number of 
channels activated 
by incumbent.  If no 
incumbent, 
commission can 
require provision of 
PEG channels.  
Commission may 
require provision of 
additional channels 

Lowest number 
required of any other 
franchisee; if less 
than 3, city may 
require up to 3 
 
If existing PEG 
channels are used 12 
hrs/day, with at least 
33% nonrepeat 
programming, city 
may require up to 3 
additional channels 
in basic service tier, 
with a total cap of 7.  
Additional channels 
may be agreed to by 
operator and city, but 
if used less than 8 
hrs/day, shall be 
denied to city and  
may be programmed 
by provider 

 
 
 
For more information about cable television regulation, visit the utility regulation area of our 
web site, www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/pubutil.htm. 
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SOUTH CAROLINA NORTH CAROLINA NEW JERSEY CALIFORNIA 
Must comply with federal 
standards 

Must comply with federal 
standards and FCC 
emergency alert 
requirements 

Must meet any consumer 
protection provisions 
required of local 
franchisees 

Must comply with federal 
and state standards and 
FCC emergency alert 
requirements 
 
 
 
 

Same number activated by 
incumbent.  If no 
incumbent, municipality 
may request, and operator 
must provide, up to 3 
channels, one of which 
may be used by 
municipality without 
repeat program 
restrictions.  In both cases, 
one additional channel 
must be provided for 
transmissions of 
Educational Television 
Commission 
 
Access to PEG channels 
used less than 8 hrs/day 
may be denied to city and 
programmed by provider 
 
 
 

City larger than 50,000: 
greater of 3 or number of 
channels activated as of 
7/1/06 
 
City under 50,000 or 
county: greater of 2 or 
number of channels 
activated as of 7/1/06 
 
Areas with fewer than 7 
channels may obtain one 
additional channel if all 
existing channels used at 
least 8 hrs/day and no 
more than 15% of content 
is repeat or character-
generated programming 

Two 
 
If municipality desires 
more, it must demonstrate 
its cable needs require 
more channels 
 
 
 

 

Largest number activated 
(used 8 hrs/day) by 
incumbent on 1/1/07.  If 
less than 3, local 
government may request 
up to 3.  One additional 
channel shall be provided 
to carry state public affairs 
programming.  If 
nonduplicated local 
programming exceeds 56 
hrs/wk, 1 additional 
channel shall be provided 
 
Access to PEG channels 
used < 8 hrs/day may be 
denied to city and 
programmed by provider 
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subscribers of only 15 cents.  (U.S. General Accounting Office, Issues related to competition and subscriber rates in 
the cable television industry, GAO-04-8, October 2003), 11.  An FCC study issued in February 2005 found that 
cable rates were about 3.5 percent less in areas with satellite competition. (Report on Cable Industry Prices, 
Attachment 7) 

6 GAO, Issues related to competition, 9, 11; FCC, Report on Cable Industry Prices, Attachments 1 and 7. 
7 Telephone companies are pursuing these regulatory changes in two other public policy arenas: the Federal 

Communications Commission (FCC), which in November 2005 initiated a proposed rulemaking seeking comment 
on whether local franchising procedures are unreasonable and stifle competition, and the U.S. Congress, where the 
House of Representatives passed a bill in June 2006 that would award cable franchises at the national level.  See, 
respectively, Federal Communications Commission, Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, In the Matter of 
Implementation of Section 621(a)(1) of the Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984 as amended by the Cable 
Television Consumer Protection and Competition Act of 1992, Docket No. MB05-311, adopted November 3, 2005; 
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13 Jeff Baumgartner, “Study: VoIP revenues eclipse $1 B,” CED Magazine, May 22, 2006. 
14 Jim Hu, “Verizon’s salvo on cable TV,” c/net news.com, April 20, 2005, quoting James Penhune, of Strategy 

Analytics.  One source suggests that telephone companies may have lagged in deploying fiber-optic lines because 
they profited from the growth of dial-up Internet services, which require an expensive second phone line if the 
primary voice line is to remain open.  Only when cable companies began successfully offering cable modem service 
as an alternative to dial-up were phone companies compelled to offer high-speed Internet services, which make 
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telecommunications policy in the Internet age (Cambridge: MIT Press), 2005: 143. 
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October 3, 2006, http://www.rockymountainnews.com/drmn/tech/article/0,2777,DRMN_23910_5038185,00.html. 

18  Municipalities opposing these bills asserted that the definition of gross revenues in some bills is narrower 
than that contained in current local franchise agreements, which could reduce the revenues municipalities receive 
from cable providers operating under state franchises.  This publication makes no attempt to analyze those claims. 

19 That is one reason the law has been challenged by the Texas Cable and Telecommunications Association in 
both state and federal court.  TCTA press release, “TCTA files second telecom lawsuit against State of Texas,” 
January 27, 2006. 

20 If the parties have not reached an agreement after 60 days, the incumbent may again request such a 
modification where there are material differences between a local and state franchise, and the municipality is 
required to grant the request within 120 days. 

21 Kansas allows providers to recover from subscribers “costs in providing capacity for retransmitting 
community programming,” but requires no payments to municipalities.  Substitute for Senate Bill No. 449, section 
4, subsection (g). 

22 State grants of up to $25,000 annually are also available to cities and counties. The grants must be used for 
PEG capital expenditures and must be matched dollar-for-dollar by the applicant. 

23 U.S. Department of Justice, In the Matter of Implementation of Section 621(a)(1) of the Cable 
Communications Policy Act of 1984 as amended by the Cable Television Consumer Protection and Competition Act 
of 1992, Federal Communications Commission Docket No. MB05-311, Ex Parte Submission, May 10, 2006, 5. 

24 U.S. Code §541(a)(3).  North Carolina’s statute also prohibits discrimination on the basis of race. 
25 This option is not prohibited in any state and is made explicit in laws in three states.  South Carolina requires 

applicants to supply “a written description of the municipalities and . . .counties to be served, in whole or in part. . .” 
[Emphasis added] (House Bill 4428, section 58-12-310(B)(2)).  Kansas requires a “description of the service area 
footprint to be served . . . , including any municipalities or parts thereof . . . ”  [Emphasis added]  (Substitute for 
Senate Bill, No. 449, section 3(a)(5)). Texas requires an affidavit affirming “description of the service area footprint 
to be served within the municipality, . . . ” [Emphasis added]  (Texas Utilities Code, Section 66.003(b)(4)). 

26  “All of the elements required to be included in the franchise application . . . shall form, in part, the 
foundation for the board’s decision as to the . . . system-wide franchise.”  Assembly Committee Substitute for 
Assembly No. 804, section 25, paragraph (a).  

27 The cable operator must also provide service to community centers in “underserved” areas, as determined by 
the operator, at a ratio of one center for every 10,000 video customers.  A “community center” is a 501(c)(3) or 
501(d) nonprofit organization offering health care, job training or placement, or education to community residents. 

28 Assembly Bill 2987, section 5890, paragraphs (a) through (c). 
29 Assembly Committee Substitute for Assembly, No. 804, section 20, paragraph a.  New Jersey’s law also 

establishes that service is not required to be provided where density is less than 35 units per mile. 
30 “Institutional network capacity” provides for one- and two-way communications services on the cable 

network among institutional subscribers. 
31 According to Kansas Legislative Services Department staff, very few municipalities currently have as many 

as two PEG channels. 
32 A state franchise is denied if a municipality or county in which the service is to be provided does not consent. 

The reason is that article 8, section 15 of the South Carolina Constitution prohibits the passage of any law granting 
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the right to build infrastructure in a public right-of-way without consent of the local governing body.  The statute 
provides that an applicant may seek relief from such a denial of consent in state or federal court. 

33 Federal law caps cable service franchise fees at 5 percent of gross revenues. 
34 The PEG capital fee is also applied to the cost of institutional networks. 
35 Cities and counties that imposed subscriber fees during the first half of fiscal year 2006-07 must allocate, 

from the amount rebated, twice the amount of subscriber-fee revenue received during that period to operate and 
support PEG channels.  A city or county that used part of its franchise tax in fiscal year 2005-06 to support and 
operate PEG channels must allocate that same level of support from the rebated amount for those purposes. 

36 This amount is paid to the state, which uses it to discount the costs of these services to seniors. 
37 Cities and counties may apply to a PEG Channel Fund created in the same statute for 50 percent matching 

grants of up to $25,000 annually to be used for capital expenditures necessary to provide PEG channel 
programming. 

38 A building that houses switching and related equipment. 
39 The five-year requirements may be delayed if fewer than 30 percent of households subscribe for six 

consecutive months. 
40 Existing federal cable TV service standards (47 CFR § 76.309) may be enforced at franchise authority’s 

discretion. 
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