



LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE LIBRARY
STATE OFFICE BUILDING

# **Legislative Coordinating Commission**

85 State Office Building

St. Paul, MN 55155-1201

(651) 296-9002

TDD (651) 296-9896

#### **Compensation Council**

April 7, 1999

The Honorable Steve Sviggum Speaker of the House of Representatives

The Honorable Allan H. Spear President of the Senate

Dear Mr. Speaker and Mr. President:

In accordance with the duties assigned to it by Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 15A.082, the Minnesota Compensation Council offers the following recommendations:

1) Increase the salaries of Judges in 2001 and 2002. The Council recommends that salaries of judges be increased by 3.5% on January 1, 2001, and 3.5% on January 1, 2002.

In addition, the Council recommends that the salaries of judges be increased in 2001 and 2002 by the average of the across the board increases received by state employees in their collective bargaining agreements and arbitration awards.

Specifically, the salaries of judges should be increased on January 1, 2001, by the average of the across the board increases for the fiscal year ending on June 30, 2000, included in collective bargaining agreements and arbitration awards that have been ratified by the Legislature in regular session in 2000. The salaries of judges should be increased on January 1, 2002, by the average of the across the board increases for the fiscal year ending on June 30, 2001, included in collective bargaining agreements and arbitration awards that have been ratified by the Legislature in regular session in 2000.

2) Increase the salaries of Constitutional Officers in 2001 and 2002. The Council recommends that the salary of the Governor be increased by 7.5% on January 1, 2001, and by 2.5% on January 1, 2002.

In addition, the Council recommends that the salaries of the other constitutional officers be fixed as a percentage of the salary of the Governor, as follows:

Constitutional Officer	% of the Governor's salary
Attorney General	85%
State Auditor	75%
Secretary of State	65%
Lt. Governor	55%
State Treasurer	55%

If the Legislature rejects our recommendation to change the compensation relationships among the constitutional officers, the Council recommends that each constitutional officer receive a salary increase of 7.5% on January 1, 2001, and an increase of 2.5% on January 1, 2002.

3) Increase the salaries of Legislators in 2001 and 2002. The Council recommends that salaries of Legislators be increased by 5% on January 1, 2001, and by 2.5% on January 1, 2002.

In addition to the recommendations required by law, the Compensation Council urges the following:

4) Allow the Governor to approve increases in agency head salaries without legislative approval. Under current law, the Governor may set the salary of an agency head within a statutory range, but a new salary rate does not take effect until approved by the Legislative Coordinating Commission and is not final until ratified by the Legislature. The Compensation Council recommends that the requirement for approval by the Legislative Coordinating Commission and the Legislature be eliminated for heads of state agencies appointed by the Governor.

I have included a list of the members of the Council at the end of this recommendation. The members worked diligently and thoughtfully to develop these recommendations for consideration by the Legislature.

Respectfully submitted,

Chair, Compensation Council

Governor Jesse Ventura c:

Lt. Governor Mae Schunk

Chief Justice Kathleen Blatz

Attorney General Mike Hatch

State Auditor Judith Dutcher

Secretary of State Mary Kiffmeyer

State Treasurer Carol Johnson

Senator Roger Moe Senator Dick Day

Representative Tim Pawlenty

Representative Tom Pugh

## **Members of the Compensation Council**

### Appointed by the Governor

### Appointed by the Supreme Court

Mr. Richard McCluhan

Mr. Verne Meyer

Ms. Polly Bowles

Mr. Thomas Triplett

Mr. Richard Jefferson

Mr. Gene Merriam

Ms. Cynthia Bigger

Mr. Buford Johnson

Appointed by the House of Representatives

Representative Bruce Anderson Representative Torrey Westrom

Representative Joe Mullery

Mr. Thomas Swain

Mr. George Soule

Appointed by the Senate Senator Allan Spear Senator Jerry Janezich Senator Martha Robertson