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What Is Conciliation Court?

Conciliation court is often called “people’s court” or “small claims court” be-
cause its basic purpose is to help people recover relatively small sums of
money without having to hire a lawyer.  Conciliation court allows you to bring
your legal disputes to a court without the hassles of confusing legal procedures
and high costs.  Court rules are generally simple and informal, and the cost of
filing in conciliation court is low.

This brochure is intended to give you general information about the concilia-
tion court process.  The information is not intended as legal advice but as a
guide to the legal process.  Questions related to your specific situation can
best be answered by the county court administrator.
This publication contains some legal or technical words that may need further
explanation.  You may want to scan the Conciliation Court Definitions lo-
cated on page 11 before reading ahead.

Conciliation Court: A User’s Guide to Small Claims Court is written and
published by the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office.  This brochure was
originally published in August 1992.  This revised version was published in
March 2007 in St. Paul, Minnesota.  This handbook is available in alternate
formats upon request.

The Attorney General’s Office answers questions about consumer issues.  If
you have a consumer question or complaint, contact the Office in writing or by
phone:

Minnesota Attorney General’s Office
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 296-3353 or 1-800-657-3787
TTY:  (651) 297-7206 or 1-800-366-4812
(TTY numbers are for callers using teletypewriter devices.)

The Attorney General’s Office is an equal opportunity employer which values
diversity.
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Who May Use
Conciliation Court?
Any person (18 years or older), company, gov-
ernment agency or organization may sue or be
sued in conciliation court. A person under 18 may
sue, or be sued, but they must be represented in
court by a parent or guardian.

How Much Money
Can You Recover?
The maximum amount you may recover through
conciliation court is $7,500. (The maximum for
consumer credit transactions is $4,000.)

You cannot file a claim in conciliation court that
exceeds the monetary limit set by law. If you re-
duce your claim to the limit of conciliation court,
you cannot claim more later. This rule may apply
to any other claims related to the same incident.
Obtaining a judgment in conciliation court may
prevent you from bringing any other claims based
on the same transaction or occurrence.

Do You Need An Attorney?
No.  However, you may have an attorney if the
judge lets you.  Also, the judge can decide in which
ways the attorney can help.  Court procedures
are simplified to allow you to represent yourself.

Are There Any Drawbacks
To Conciliation Court?
Conciliation court doesn’t offer the best course
of action in every situation. Generally, you may
sue only for money.  Items and disputes involving
over $7,500 cannot be determined in conciliation
court.  However, lost or destroyed property or
merchandise usually cannot be recovered. For
example, if a dry cleaner loses your jacket, a con-
ciliation court might order the dry cleaner to pay
you money for your loss rather than order the

cleaner to replace the jacket. In addition, conciliation
court usually cannot be used to force delivery or
completion (such as redoing a repair job or delivering
merchandise). This kind of problem must usually be
translated into financial terms, such as how much it
will cost to have someone else make the repair.

Be aware of these facts:
• You must be prepared to appear in conciliation

court when your case is set.
• Expenses such as time lost from work are usually

not recoverable.
• In Minnesota, the largest amount for which you

can sue in conciliation court is $7,500. The judge
cannot award more than this amount.

• If you win your case, the defendant usually will
not have to pay more than the amount the court
awards you. Don’t expect the defendant to be sent
to jail or required to pay a fine.

• Delays occur frequently for various reasons.
(When these delays change the day set for a hear-
ing, they are called “continuances.”)

• Conciliation court may not be very effective in re-
solving disputes with companies that don’t have
property located in the area or with people who
live outside the court’s jurisdiction. It is especially
difficult if the company or person is located in an-
other state.

• In some situations, it may be quicker, more effec-
tive, and less troublesome to hire an attorney.

What Types Of Complaints
Do Conciliation Courts Handle?
In general, the types of cases handled are  for prop-
erty damage, money disputes arising out of a tenant/
landlord relationship, personal injury (actual medical
bills only), losses due to bad checks, nonpayment for
goods or services, or other bad debts. You cannot
use conciliation court to file a claim involving real es-
tate titles.

Introduction
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You may file a complaint in conciliation court when
you can show that a person or business owes you
money but won’t pay you.

Conciliation court may be used when:
• You believe someone owes you money;
• That person or business refuses to pay;
• The amount owed is $7,500 or less; and
• You believe the person or company you are suing

will be able to pay you (because it will cost you
some money to make your claim).

Examples of situations in which you might con-
sider using conciliation court include:
• You may want a snowmobile returned that you

sold but were not paid for.

• You performed work for someone, but the per-
son refuses to pay you.

• Your former landlord won’t refund your security
deposit, even though you have not damaged the
rental property.

• A repair shop does defective work on your car
and won’t correct it or reimburse you.

• Your neighbor backs his motorcycle into your car
and refuses to pay the repair bill.

• A dry cleaner loses your new jacket and offers
you only a fraction of its worth.

If you are uncertain about whether you can bring your
claim, talk to your county’s conciliation court admin-
istrator. The court administrator will tell you if your
claim can be heard there.

Where May Claims Be Filed?
You must file your conciliation court claim in the right
county. This is the county where the person against
whom you are making a claim (the defendant) lives. If
the defendant is a business, you should sue in the county
where the business or branch office is located. There
are some exceptions to this. You may want to call the
conciliation court in your county for more information
about those exceptions.

If you are seeking recovery for a dishonored check,
or are making a claim for a security deposit on rental
property, then you should file your claim in the county
where the check was issued, or where the rental prop-
erty is located.

How Do You File A Claim?
If you file a claim, you are the “plaintiff” and the party
you are suing is the “defendant.” As the plaintiff, you
begin the process by contacting the court
administrator’s office in the county where you are fil-
ing the claim. (The phone numbers of the conciliation

courts in several Minnesota counties are located on
pages 11 and 12 of this brochure.) You will be charged
a filing fee and law library fee.  The total fees vary by
county, but are generally between $55 and $65.

Completing The
Complaint Form
You will be required to fill out a uniform conciliation
court form. If you ask, a person from the court
administrator’s office will help you complete the form.
See the page 13 of this book for a sample form. Forms
are available online at www.courts.state.mn.us/forms.

In addition to putting your name and address on the
form, you must provide the following information:

• The name (no abbreviations or nicknames) and
address of the defendant. (Use the home address
if the defendant is an individual.) If this informa-
tion is incorrect or incomplete, your case may be
dismissed. To learn the proper name and address
of a company doing business in Minnesota,

Filing a Claim
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contact the Secretary of State, 180 State Office
Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
Blvd., St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-1299; (651)
296-2803. Information is also available on their
website at: www.sos.state.mn.us.

• The amount of your claim and a reason (one or
two paragraphs) for requesting it. Include specific
dates, times, and places.

You must verify the claim by signing the form before a
notary or court deputy. You will also pay the court
fees. If you win your case, the court may order the
defendant to pay you for the fees.

Notification
Of The Trial Date
It is possible that two to six weeks may pass between
the time you file your claim and the day you have your
hearing.  The court administrator’s office will mail, by
first class mail, notices to you and the defendant indi-
cating the date and time for the hearing, except if the
claim exceeds $2,500, then the plaintiff must serve
the summons upon the defendant via certified mail.
Service by certified mail must be proven by filing an
affidavit of service with court.  An affidavit of service
should be in the form of Form 508.1 on page 15 of
this brochure.

Many cases settle when the defendant receives notice
of the hearing. It is your responsibility to tell the court
administrator in writing if you and the defendant settle
your case. Do this by signing and returning to the court
your copy of the hearing notice.

The Defendant May File
A Counterclaim
If you are the party being sued (the defendant) in the
case, and you have a claim against the party suing you
(the plaintiff), you may be able to file a counterclaim.
The procedure is similar to that for filing a claim, but it
must be filed at least five business days prior to the
court date (Saturday, Sunday, and holidays are not
included).

The court will notify the plaintiff that a counterclaim
has been filed. The counterclaim will be heard by the
court at the same time the original claim is scheduled
to be heard.

The claim will be transferred to district court if the
counterclaim is above the legal limit for conciliation
court ($7,500). If the defendant fails to file the coun-
terclaim in district court after giving notice of intent to
do so, the plaintiff may have the claim reinstated in
conciliation court. The plaintiff may do this any time
after 30 days and before three years by filing an affi-
davit with the court administrator. The affidavit must
say that the defendant has not served you with a sum-
mons to district court.

Settlement Prior To The Hearing

If the parties agree on a settlement prior to the
hearing, each party who has made a claim or
counterclaim must promptly tell the Court in writ-
ing that the claim or counterclaim has been settled
and that it may be dismissed.
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What If You Can’t Appear
On The Court Date?
If you are the defendant in a case, or if you are the
plaintiff and the defendant has filed a counterclaim,
it is absolutely essential that you appear in court
to tell your side of the story. Failure to do so will
probably result in a judgment against you.

However, if for some reason you will not be able
to appear in court on the scheduled hearing date,
notify the court administrator immediately and re-
quest that the date and/or time be changed. If you
have a good reason, a continuance may be granted.
That is, the hearing will be rescheduled for a later
date. The request for a continuance must be made
in writing at least five business days prior to the
hearing date. You may be ordered by the court to
pay additional costs.  Court administrators can only
give one continuance to you.

If you miss the court hearing, you may  be sent a
notice that a default judgment will be entered
against you if you do not reopen the case before
the judgment becomes final.

How Do You Prepare
For The Hearing?
Although conciliation court hearings are informal,
be adequately prepared to present your case.
Before you go to court:

• Organize your presentation to make it as clear
and complete as possible. Remember, your
testimony may be the most important infor-
mation you have.

• Prepare a list of facts you wish to present.
• Make a detailed chronological history of the

problem.
• Contact people who have witnessed impor-

tant aspects of the problem, and ask them to
be present at the hearing and ready to testify

under oath. (If a witness is unwilling to appear,
you may subpoena the witness. You can get a sub-
poena from the court administrator by paying a
fee for each person you would like subpoenaed.
It is your responsibility to see that the subpoena is
delivered to the witness by someone other than
yourself. Subpoenas may not be delivered on a
Sunday or a legal holiday. Further, you may have
to pay a basic fee plus round trip mileage to the
courthouse to any witness you subpoena).

• Understand that written statements and affidavits
of persons not present in court have very little
value.

• You can also subpoena documents relating to your
claim which the defendant or some other person
possesses but will not give to you.

What Should You Bring
To Court?
Bring all evidence (and witnesses) necessary to prove
your case.

Be prepared to show the judge:
• Contracts or agreements you made with the de-

fendant. (Example: If your claim is against a land-
lord for recovery of a security deposit, bring the
lease.)

• Letters you and the defendant have exchanged
relating to the problem. (Example: If you wrote to
the defendant asking for the money, or if the de-
fendant wrote to you admitting the debt, bring these
letters.)

• Bills, canceled checks, warranties, receipts, or
written estimates having to do with your claim.
(Example: If you are claiming your television set is
defective beyond repair, bring original receipts, a
copy of the warranty, and estimates from repair
shops.)

• Photographs of the damaged property. (Example:
If your car was damaged by the defendant, bring
photos that show the extent of the damage.)

The Hearing
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What Happens
At The Hearing?
You and the defendant will appear before a judge (or
in some counties, a referee). The judge may encour-
age you to settle the case.  The judge will first ask
you, the plaintiff, to state your case. Tell your story
calmly, clearly and concisely. Use the notes you’ve
prepared ahead of time to make sure you have all of
your main points. Be sure to explain how you arrived
at the specific damage figure you are claiming and show
the judge evidence which supports your claim, such
as bills, receipts, estimates, contracts, photos, etc.

When it is the defendant’s turn, do not become angry
or interrupt. Be courteous at all times.  If you disagree
with something the defendant says, ask the judge if
you may respond to the defendant’s statement. The
judge may ask questions of you, the defendant, or
witnesses who are present.

If you have never been to conciliation court, you may
want to attend another hearing ahead of time to see
what happens. Conciliation court hearings are open
to the public. Your visit should help you know what to
expect and how to prepare your own case.

What If You Don’t Appear
For The Hearing?
All parties should appear! If you appear and the de-
fendant does not, the judge may enter a default judg-
ment for you. It means that you have won (the “judg-
ment” is in your favor) by default. If you do not ap-
pear for the hearing, the court may dismiss your claim
or award a default judgment against you. This may
happen even if you originally brought the claim.

The Judgment

When Will You Hear
The Court’s Decision?
The court may help you and the defendant reach an
agreement at the hearing. If not, the court will decide
the case and you will be notified by mail of the deci-
sion. (The court usually does not rule on claims at the
time of the hearing.) The judgment will not become
effective until 20 days after the notice is mailed. The
court administrator will tell you the date in this notice.
This 20-day period is called the “stay period” and it
allows you to appeal or make a motion to vacate the
judgment.

What If You Lose?
If either the plaintiff or the defendant is dissatisfied with
the judge’s decision, the 20-day stay period allows
the unhappy party to appeal or bring a motion to va-
cate the judgment. This is discussed further on page

10 in Removing the Case. The court may also vacate
the judgment and order a new hearing if a party that
did not appear had a good reason for not appearing.
Before it grants a new hearing, the court may require
the party who did not appear to pay costs to the other
party.

Application for “vacation of judgment” must be made
within the 20-day stay period. You must show:

• You were not given proper notice of the trial;
• You were mistaken about the time of the trial; or
• You missed the trial for some other valid reason.

The court will only reopen the case if it decides that
your absence was unavoidable and unintentional. You
will be notified by mail of the new trial date.
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How Do You Pay
The Judgment?
If you are within the metropolitan counties, make pay-
ment directly to the conciliation court by the date the
judgment becomes final. The court records will then
reflect that payment was made. For Greater Minne-
sota areas, check with the court administrator for pay-
ment guidelines.

How Do You Collect
Your Money If You Win?
The conciliation court cannot and will not collect the
judgment for you. It is not always easy to collect a
judgment; therefore, it may be necessary for you to
take additional measures to enforce the judgment.
Remember, you may not try to collect the judgment
until 20 days after the notice of judgment is postmarked.

In the collection process, you are the judgment credi-
tor, or collector. The person you are trying to collect
from is called the debtor, or judgment debtor. The fol-
lowing procedural steps must be taken when a debtor
refuses to pay and the location of collectible assets is
known. The costs associated with these procedures
will be added to the amount of your claim.

1. Have the conciliation court judgment transcribed
to the district court. Your district court adminis-
trator can help you with this.

2. File an affidavit of identification with the court ad-
ministrator. This creates a lien against real estate
the debtor owns in the county.  If he or she went
to sell any of that property, you might have to be
paid first. It also affects the debtor’s credit rating.

3. If you intend to serve the party with a writ of ex-
ecution, you must first notify the party. (A writ of
execution is an order which enforces the decision
of the conciliation court.) Notification must take
place at least 10 days before the execution may
be served. The sheriff will not accept the first writ
of execution without proof that you complied with
the 10 day notice.

4. Request the court administrator to issue a writ of
execution.

5. If you know where the party banks or works,
deliver the writ of execution to the sheriff’s office

with a specific list of property or bank accounts
which belong to the debtor, or the name of the
debtor’s employer. (Some assets are exempt from
collection.) With sufficient information and the writ
of execution, the sheriff can “levy” the debtor’s
property. This means the sheriff will actually take
the items you have identified. However, the sheriff
cannot break into the debtor’s home to collect an
item subject to levy. If the sheriff is unable to levy
the assets within 180 days after the sheriff receives
the writ, the writ will be returned to you “unsatis-
fied.”

6. If you are unable to determine what assets the
debtor owns, request the court administrator to
issue an order for disclosure. This order requires
the debtor to reveal all non-exempt property and
financial information to you within 10 days.

7. If the debtor fails to respond, request the court to
issue an order to show cause. This requires the
judgment debtor to appear in court and explain
why the order for disclosure was disobeyed.

Despite all of these legal actions, there will still be some
cases where the debtor is “judgment proof.” The
debtor may possess only minimum viable assets and
may be unemployed with public assistance as the only
source of income. In that case, there is little you can
do. However, a conciliation court judgment is valid
for 10 years. Over that time, a person’s financial cir-
cumstances will often change.
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Can You Remove
Your Case?
Your case may be removed to the district court for a
new trial if you or the defendant are dissatisfied with
the conciliation court judgment and all parties appeared
at the conciliation court hearing. Default cases may
not be removed. (This does not leave a defaulting party
without recourse. See Pages 8-9 for vacation of judg-
ment proceedings.)

Rules of civil procedure apply to cases removed to
district court, where proceedings are more formal and
more complex. Although it is not required, it is sug-
gested that parties be represented by an attorney in
district court.

To remove, file and pay fees for the following within
20 days of the date the judgment was mailed:

1. Demand for removal;
2. Affidavit of good faith; and
3. Affidavit of service.

What Happens
Upon A Removal?
Filing a removal means a completely new trial will take
place. You may file a jury trial demand if you wish the
case to be heard before a jury. Both parties may have
attorneys. Again, you should prepare to present your
case, have your witnesses ready to testify, and have
all of your other evidence available.

If you remove your case and do not win, you will have
to pay the other party $50 for costs. You will not have
to pay the other party $50 for costs if:

• You win your case in district court and get either
50 percent of what you asked for or more than
$500 in money or goods, whichever is less;

• The other party wins some amount in conciliation
court but nothing in district court;

Removing the Case

• You receive 50 percent more in district court than
you got in conciliation court or at least $500 in
money or goods, whichever is less.

• The other party has the amount recovered from
you in conciliation court reduced by at least $500
or 50 percent by the district court, whichever is
less.
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Appendix

Conciliation Court Listings
Aitkin ........................................ (218) 927-7350
Anoka ....................................... (763) 422-7350
Becker ...................................... (218) 846-7305
Beltrami ..................................... (218) 333-8431
Benton ...................................... (320) 968-5205
Big Stone .................................. (320) 839-2536
Blue Earth ................................. (507) 304-4050
Brown ....................................... (507) 233-6670
Carlton ...................................... (218) 384-4281
Carver ....................................... (952) 361-1420
Cass .......................................... (218) 547-7200
Chippewa .................................. (320) 269-7774
Chisago ..................................... (651) 213-8650
Clay .......................................... (218) 299-5065
Clearwater ................................ (218) 694-6177
Cook ........................................ (218) 387-3610
Cottonwood .............................. (507) 831-4551
Crow Wing ................................ (218) 824-1310
Dakota ...................................... (651) 438-8100
Dodge ....................................... (507) 635-6260
Douglas ..................................... (320) 762-3033
Faribault .................................... (507) 526-6273
Fillmore ..................................... (507) 765-3356
Freeborn ................................... (507) 377-5153
Goodhue ................................... (651) 267-4800
Grant ......................................... (218) 685-4825
Hennepin ................................... (612) 348-2713
Houston .................................... (507) 725-5806
Hubbard .................................... (218) 732-5286
Isanti ......................................... (763) 689-2292
Itasca ........................................ (218) 327-7454
Jackson ..................................... (507) 847-4400
Kanabec ................................... (320) 679-6400
Kandiyohi .................................. (320) 231-6206
Kittson ...................................... (218) 843-3632
Koochiching .............................. (218) 283-1160
Lac qui Parle ............................. (320) 598-3536
Lake ......................................... (218) 834-8330
Lake of the Woods .................... (218) 634-1451
Le Sueur ................................... (507) 357-2251
Lincoln ...................................... (507) 694-1355

Conciliation Court
Definitions
Continuance
The postponement of a court trial or hearing to a later
date.

Counterclaim
A separate claim made against the plaintiff by the de-
fendant.

Default
Failure to appear in court.

Defendant
The party who is being sued.

Demand for Removal
A request to move a case to district court.

Judgment
The final decision made by the court.

Judgment Debtor
The party who loses the case and owes money to the
other party.

Plaintiff
The party who is suing; the party seeking
damages.

Stay Period
A halt in the proceedings during which no action can
be taken.

Subpoena
A court order requiring that a witness appear in court,
or requiring that documents be brought to court.

Writ of Execution
A court order authorizing a sheriff to seize property of
the defendant.
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Legal Forms

You can obtain legal forms for conciliation court by
calling or visiting the respective courthouse that you
intend to file your claim in. Forms are also available
online at www.courts.state.mn.us/forms.  You may want
to consider using the sample Statement of Claim and
Summons form located on the main
Conciliation Court section of our website.

When you fill out the form, remember to state the
plaintiff(s) correct name and address, the defendant(s)
correct name and address, and the exact amount you
are seeking. Describe the incident and a basis for the
estimated loss. Include the last day you were billed
and indicate the type of goods/services involved. If
you are filing for an auto accident, indicate the year
and make of the vehicle and the location and date of
the accident. Reduce your statement to the area
provided for on the form. Sign the form in front of a
Notary Public or go to the court and sign it there in
front of a clerk.

Remember, the defendant and court should each re-
ceive copies of your completed Statement of Claim
and Summons form.

Other legal forms, for things such as removing your
case or expunging a ruling, are available by contacting
the county court you wish to file a claim in or online at
www.courts.state.mn.us/forms.

The forms included in this section are the following:

Statement of Claim and Summons (page 13-14)
Affidavit of Service Form 508.1  (page 15-16)

Lyon ........................................... (507) 537-6734
Mahnomen ................................. (218) 935-2251
Marshall ..................................... (218) 745-4816
Martin ........................................ (507) 238-3205
McLeod ..................................... (320) 864-1281
Meeker ...................................... (320) 693-5230
Mille Lacs .................................. (320) 983-8313
Morrison .................................... (320) 632-0327
Mower ....................................... (507) 437-9465
Murray ................................ (507) 836-6163x135
Nicollet ...................................... (507) 931-6800
Nobles ....................................... (507) 372-8263
Norman ...................................... (218) 784-5458
Olmsted ..................................... (507) 285-8108
Otter Tail .................................... (218) 998-8420
Pennington .................................. (218) 683-7023
Pine ............................................ (320) 629-5634
Pipestone ................................... (507) 825-6730
Polk ................................. (218) 281-2332 x1312
Pope .......................................... (320) 634-5222
Ramsey ...................................... (651) 266-8230
Red Lake ................................... (218) 253-4281
Redwood ................................... (507) 637-4020
Renville ...................................... (320) 523-3680
Rice ........................................... (507) 332-6107
Rock .......................................... (507) 283-5020
Roseau ....................................... (218) 463-2541
Scott .......................................... (952) 496-8200
Sherburne ................................... (763) 241-2800
Sibley ......................................... (507) 237-4051
St. Louis (Duluth) ....................... (218) 726-2460
St. Louis (Hibbing) ..................... (218) 262-0105
St. Louis (Virginia) ...................... (218) 749-7106
Stearns ....................................... (320) 656-3620
Steele ......................................... (507) 444-7706
Stevens ...................................... (320) 589-7289
Swift .......................................... (320) 843-2744
Todd .......................................... (320) 732-7802
Traverse ..................................... (320) 563-4343
Wabasha .................................... (651) 565-3012
Wadena ...................................... (218) 631-7633
Waseca ...................................... (507) 835-0540
Washington ................................. (651) 430-6263
Watonwan .................................. (507) 375-1238
Wilkin ......................................... (218) 643-7172
Winona ....................................... (507) 457-6385
Wright ........................................ (763) 682-7539
Yellow Medicine ......................... (320) 564-3325
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State of Minnesota Conciliation Court
County Judicial District                          Case No.

 
 

STATEMENT OF CLAIM AND SUMMONS 
Plaintiff #1  Plaintiff #2 
Name Name 
Address Address 

 
City/State/Zip City/State/Zip 

VS. VS. 
Defendant #1 Defendant #2 
Name Name 
Address Address 

 
City/State/Zip 

P 
L 
E 
A 
S 
E 
 

P 
R 
I 
N 
T 
 City/State/Zip 

 

PLAINTIFF’S STATEMENT OF CLAIM 
 1.  The Defendant(s) owe(s) me $________________, plus filing fees and costs of $ ________________, for a total

of $ _______________________ because (state what happened and when it happened): 
   
  
  
  
  

 2.  The Defendant(s) has/have the following property that belongs to me (list property), ______________________
__________________________________________________________________________________ valued at  
$ __________________, plus filing fees and costs of $________________, for a total of $ ________________. 
I want the Court to order this property returned to me or make the Defendant(s) pay me money for the value of 
the property. 

3.  I believe the person(s) I am suing is/are at least 18 years old and not in the military service. 
4.  I understand that if I do not come to court on my hearing date, my case will be dismissed and I may have to pay 

money to the Defendant(s) on any counterclaim that has been filed. 

NOTARY STAMP OR COURT SEAL SWORN TO BEFORE ME ON: THE ABOVE STATEMENT OF CLAIM IS TRUE AND 
  CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE 
 Date: _____________________________________ Signature: ____________________________________________ 
   
 Signature: _________________________________ Name:   ______________________________________________ 
  Title (if representative):    ________________________________ 
  Telephone:  ___________________________________________ 

C
ase N

o. __________________________________ 

Notice of Settlement 

The above-entitled case having been settled, the same may be and hereby is dismissed with my consent.
 
Date: Plaintiff’s Signature: 

SUMMONS:  IMPORTANT NOTICE TO THE PARTIES 
 

You must come to court for  a hearing on  at    .m. at 
 Date  Time    

 .  
Location/Address  

If you do not come to court for this hearing, you may lose the case and have to pay money to the other party. 
 

Dated:  Court Administrator/Deputy  
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MEMORANDA OF PROCEEDINGS 

Judgment becomes final and time for removal expires on  . 
 Action Date Action Date  
 Claim filed  Notices Mailed   
 Hearing set for  Stricken-Settled   
 Notices Mailed  Order of Dismissal   
 Notice returned/not delivered  Judgment Entered   
 Notice re-mailed  Notice of Judgment mailed   
 Answer/Offer filed  Judgment satisfied   
 Counterclaim filed  Removal/Appeal perfected   
 Notices mailed  Order Vacating Judgment   
 Hearing continued/reset to  Transcript issued   
 Notices mailed  Exhibit Inf.  (Date filed)   
 Hearing continued/reset to  Exhibits returned   
      
 SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT  
 Minn. Gen. R. Prac. 512(e)  
 Plaintiff(s) and Defendant(s) have agreed upon a settlement of this case, which agreement is as follows:  
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 Plaintiff(s) and Defendant(s) further agree that they will abide the judgment to be entered based upon this 

agreement, without removal, appeal or further litigation. 
 

   
     
 Plaintiff  Defendant  
     
 Plaintiff  Defendant  
     
Dated:     
   Judge  
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From the Office of
Minnesota Attorney General
Lori Swanson

Consumer Protection
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400
St. Paul, MN 55101

www.ag.state.mn.us

Conciliation Court


