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What’s New

A Minnesota Snowmobile State Trail Sticker is now required on all
snowmobiles when riding on any state or grant-in-aid trail
(see page 13).

A new adult snowmobile training course on CD Rom is now
available. The course is designed for multiple users and includes a
written test and send-in certification form (see page 20).

You may ride on two-way snowmobile trails that are located within
the ditches or adjacent to streets or highways during nighttime hours
when specifically permitted by the road authority (see page 22).

This publication is paid for through the sale of advertising. The State of
Minnesota and the Department of Natural Resources can neither endorse
products or services advertised nor accept any liability arising from the use of
these products or services.

Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from programs of the
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources is available to all individuals
regardless of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, sta-
tus with regard to public assistance, age, sexual orientation, or disability.
Discrimination inquiries should be sent to MN-DNR, 500 Lafayette Road,

St. Paul, MN 55155-4031 or the Equal Opportunity Office, Department of the
Interior, Washington, DC 20240.

Copyright 2005, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources. This
DNR summary of the 2005 Minnesota Snowmobile Safety Laws, Rules and
Regulations is printed by permission of the Minnesota Department of Natural
Resources.

RECYCLABLE: This coated paper protects your regulations from water
and the wear and tear of constant use. To recycle, remove the staples, and then

recycle.

This information is available in an alternative format upon request.
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WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING

The sense of freedom you get while riding a snowmobile over Minnesota’s
snow-covered lands and frozen lakes can be exhilarating. Yet with that freedom
comes responsibility. Minnesota’s system of over 20,000 miles of snowmobile
trails depends on the cooperation of landowners, non-motorized trail users, other
recreationists, and local units of government.

Keep in mind that trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have
against snowmobilers. Trespass seriously impacts the ability of clubs to get private
landowners to allow grant-in-aid trails on their property. We recommend that all
recreational users ask first before entering private lands, even if the land is not
posted. That simple courtesy will go a long way to improve relationships between
landowners and snowmobilers.

Please read this booklet to learn your legal obligations as a snowmobiler. By
driving safe, smart and legal, you protect the future of your sport.

Any resident born after December 31, 1976 is required to take a
snowmobile safety training course to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota
(see exception on page 21). Classes are offered throughout the state by
volunteer instructors who have been certified by the Minnesota DNR
Division of Enforcement. Those 16 years of age and older may take a self-
study CD course (see page 20).

Before you ride
e Read your Minnesota snowmobile regulations.
e Read your owner’s manual.
e Check your snowmobile and equipment.
e Wear a helmet, eye protection, and proper clothing.
e Find out about ice and snow conditions.
* Tell someone where you are going and when you expect to return.

Be sure to
= Let weather, lighting and trail conditions determine a safe speed.
= Ride straight—no alcohol or drugs.
* Stay to the right on trails.
e Use your headlight and taillight.
* Maintain adequate spacing between machines to avoid collision.
* Reduce your speed when riding at night to less than 40 MPH.
= Always yield to other motor vehicles.
= Stay clear of thin ice and lake inlets — never cross open water.
e Never ride alone—use the buddy system.
* Stay on groomed area of trails.
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Obey all laws and regulations

e Maximum speed in Minnesota is 50 MPH (see page 26).

* Display current snowmobile registration.

* Display Snowmobile State Trail Sticker if operating on state or grant-in-
aid trails (see page 13).

» Stay off the roadway, shoulder, and inside slope of state and county
roads (see page 14).

e Operate your snowmobile in the same direction as roadway traffic
when riding one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before
sunrise (see page 22).

* Be sure any youth operating your snowmobile has a safety
certificate.

* Stay off the median of four-lane roadways.

* Come to a complete stop and look both ways before crossing a
public roadway whether there is a stop sign or not.

* Cross public roadways at a 90 degree angle.

e Check local ordinances on when and where you may ride.

The following is a message
from your conservation

officers: @\\SEWATION OFF/(,‘&,
WNNESO7,

The best advice we can give a
snowmobiler of any age is to stay away
from alcohol, be cautious when operating
in a road right-of-way or on ice, and
SLOW DOWN, especially at night. Speed ENF ENT
and alcohol are the leading causes of
snowmobile fatalities in Minnesota.

Remember: If you are traveling at 50
mph, you will have traveled 220 feet
before you even apply the brakes! That
equals 2/3 of a football field.
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REGISTERING YOUR SNOWMOBILE

Snowmobiles operated or transported in Minnesota must be registered
with the DNR. If your snowmobile is not registered, you may not operate
it, transport it, or permit it to be operated.

Exceptions are as follows:

e snowmobiles owned and used by the federal government, another
state, or a political subdivision

* snowmobiles registered in a country other than the U.S. being used
temporarily in Minnesota

* snowmobiles currently registered in another state and not kept in
Minnesota for more than 30 consecutive days

+ snowmobiles used exclusively in organized track-racing events

e snowmobiles in transit by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer

* asnowmobile at least 15 years old in transit by an individual for use
on land owned or leased by the individual

* snowmobiles used exclusively for agricultural purposes.

You must be at least 18 years old to register a snowmobile.

A special permit may be issued to a person or organization to operate or
transport a collector snowmobile without registration in parades or organized
group outings, such as races, rallies, and other promotional events and for up to
ten days each year for personal transportation. "Collector snowmobile" means a
snowmobile that is 25 years old or older, was originally produced as a separate
identifiable make by a manufacturer, and is owned and operated solely as a col-
lectors item.

Procedures and Fees

Register your snowmobile in person at any deputy registrar of motor vehicles
or at the DNR License Center in St. Paul (see page 29). When you register your
snowmobile you will need the make, model, year, serial number, engine size, and
sales receipt that shows the proof of sales tax payment. Sales between private par-
ties do not require payment of sales tax.

Snowmobiles purchased from a retail dealer are registered at the place of sale
by the dealer. A person may not sell a snowmobile without furnishing the buyer
with a bill of sale.

Purchase a three-year, $31.00 Snowmobile State Trail Sticker when
registering a snowmobile. See page 13.
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Fees for snowmobile registration are as follows:

Type of License Fee
SNOWMODILE......ccveiieiieiieieieeee e $48.50 every three years
Duplicate Registration Card .........ccccoeververrennennne. $7.50

Duplicate Decal.........ccoocveieiiieieieieeeeeeeee $1.50

DEALCT ...eveeeeeieieieieeeeeee e $53.50 every year
Manufacturer .........coeeevveeeerienieieeeeeseeseenn $153.50 every year
TransSter .....ccoeveoirinciccc e $7.50

Also see Snowmobile State Trail Sticker requirements on page 13.

Certificate and Numbering

When you register your snowmobile, you will be assigned your snowmo-
bile registration number and receive your registration card and decals. When
you receive your registration card, sign it and keep it handy. You do not have to
carry it with you, but if an enforcement officer asks to see it, you must produce
it within a reasonable amount of time. The current registration number and vali-
dation decal must be displayed.

Dealer and Manufacturer Registration

Dealers must register snowmobiles they own and use for demonstration
purposes. A registration plate will be issued along with a registration certificate
that must be displayed conspicuously in the place of business. Additional plates
are available for $4.00, plus filing fees.

Manufacturers must register snowmobiles they own and operate for research
testing, experimentation, or demonstration. A registration plate will be issued along
with a registration certificate that must be displayed conspicuously in the place of
manufacture.

A valid registration number plate must be displayed on snowmobiles oper-
ated, or permitted to be operated, by a dealer or manufacturer.

Dealer and manufacturer registrations are NOT transferable.
Also see Snowmobile State Trail Sticker requirements on page 13.

Display of Registration

Where:

e Display in the 3" x 7" space provided by the manufacturer on the
cowling or pan, or

= If no space is provided, place on each side of the snowmobile on the
upper half, forward of the handlebars in a visible location.

How:

Standard display using only DNR decals:

* Display the DNR registration number decal with the DNR validation
decal immediately following it.



12 « 2005-2006 Winter Season

Custom numbers and letters must be:
e 1-7/8" high

3/16" stroke width

contrasting color of the snowmobile
in the English language

placed to read left to right.

The DNR issued validation

re—— decal must be placed to
—— immediately follow your
custom registration number.

m———— - NOTE: You may choose to
1 |‘J leave the previous

mﬂgﬂg = :T'. registration number

showing, or remove it.

Expiration and Renewal

The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the registra-
tion validation decal. All snowmobile registrations expire on June 30 of the last
year the registration is valid.

Normally, you will receive a notice by mail to renew your registration.
Whether you are notified or not, however, you are responsible for renewing
your snowmobile’s registration.

The renewal fee is the same as the first-time registration fee. When you pay
it, you will receive new validation decals and a registration card. You may
renew your registration on-line at www.dnr.state.mn.us.

Duplicates

To obtain a duplicate registration card or decal contact the DNR License
Center, or your local deputy registrar. For fees see page 11.

Transfer of Ownership

If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered in Minnesota, you may
use a transferred registration for the time remaining on the previous owner’s
registration.

Simply obtain the current registration card from the previous owner and
send it, along with a transfer application and the transfer fee of $7.50, to the
DNR License Center or the deputy registrar. Transfer applications must be
made within 15 days after the transfer or sale actually occurs. A transferred reg-
istration is only valid until the previous owner’s registration expires.

Destroyed, Abandoned, or Stolen Snowmobile

If your snowmobile is destroyed, abandoned, or stolen or you no longer
register it in Minnesota, notify the DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette Rd, St.
Paul, MN 55155-4026, within 15 days.
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@ Snowmobile State Trail Sticker

A new law requires all snowmobiles operating on state and grant-in-aid
trails to have a Snowmobile State Trail Sticker. Revenue generated from
Snowmobile State Trail Stickers will be used exclusively for snowmobile
grants-in-aid, trail maintenance, grooming, and easement acquisition.

An annual Snowmobile State Trail Sticker will cost $16.00 and is valid
from November 1 - April 30.

A $31.00 three-year sticker will be available beginning October 2005. The
three-year sticker can only be purchased when registering a snowmobile or
renewing a registration.

Violation of the Snowmobile State Trail Sticker law will require the
purchase of an annual penalty sticker at a price of $31.00

Sticker Options:

3-Year Sticker 1-Year Sticker Penalty Annual Sticker
(Availabile at time of (Required to purchase if found
registration only) operating on a state or grant-in-aid
trail without a sticker)
$31.00 $16.00 $31.00
Sticker Available At:
* DNR License Center * DNR License Center * DNR License Center
» Deputy Registrars * Deputy Registrars * Deputy Registrars
* Internet (Renewal Only) * Game and Fish License * Game and Fish License
Agents Agents
¢ Phone* e Phone*
 Internet
Duplicates $2.50 Available At:
* DNR License Center * Internet * DNR License Center
* Deputy Registrars * DNR License Center * Deputy Registrars
* Deputy Registrars * Game and Fish License
* Game and Fish License Agents
Agents

* Additional $3.50 service fee for phone purchases.

Display of Snowmobile State Trail Sticker

The sticker must be placed on the forward half of the snowmobile directly
above or below the headlight of the snowmobile.
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RULES OF THE ROAD & TRAIL

Passing -

When overtaking another
snowmobile going in the
same direction, always

pass on the left. - - CE EoCE T

Mmﬂw Meeting

When you meet another

snowmobile, always slow

A .
F.,-—_-L% j down and stay to the right.

A= WIS

ﬂ

Meeting at an

intersection
When meeting at an
intersection, the
operator to the right
has the right of way.

= o -

Operation Along State and County Roads

Public Road Right-of-way

.
Els i \ .
By M.m.“mu“h' Snowmohile Riding Prohibited sl
% |E||_1||'|:E . H'\-dul;__l
= | Permitted Pemmitted
=~
\4/ Roadway
Ditch Diisch

It is illegal to operate on the inside slope,

shoulder, and roadway of state and county roads.

\, Private Property
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SIGNS

Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the
following trail signs.

SHOWMOEILE
THALL

Informational sign:
indicates intersections
or major changes in
trail direction.
Directional blazer:

indicates changes in
trail direction.

Reassuring blazer:
placed at intervals

along the trail to
reassure users that

they are still on the trail.

Stop sign:
placed at a road or
highway crossing
indicates a snowmobile
must come to a
complete stop.

No-snowmobiling sign:

indicates a trail or area where

snowmobiling is prohibited.

No-studded tracks sign:
indicates no metal
traction devices
allowed on trail.

Asphait Trail

No Studded
Tracks

Minnescts Department of atuca Fesouross

Two way trail sign: END
indicates trails with permitted
two-way travel during nighttime
hours.

SRLEROBLLE
TRAIL
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REQUIRED EQUIPMENT

All snowmobiles operated on public lands, waters, or roadways must be
equipped as follows:

Helmet

Operators or riders under 18 years of age must wear a helmet, except
when participating in a parade or operating on parent’s, grandparent’s,
sibling’s, uncle’s, or aunt’s land.

Lights

Headlights & taillights must be on during hours of darkness.

Headlights must be able to reveal people and vehicles 100 feet ahead
and aimed so they will not blind an oncoming snowmobiler.

Colored lenses on headlights are NOT lawful when the snowmobile is
operated on roads or road rights-of-way, including crossing roads and
operating in ditches or outside slopes.

Red taillights must be visible for 500 feet to the rear of the snowmobile.

Brakes

Brakes must be able to control movement and to stop and hold the
snowmobile track.

Reflective Material

Snowmobiles must have at least 16 square inches of reflector material
on each side forward of the handle bars.

Any sled, trailer, or other device that is towed by a snowmobile during
hours of darkness must display visible reflector material on each side
and at the rear.

Mufflers

Snowmobiles must be equipped with mufflers that are in good working
order and that do not produce sharp popping or cracking sounds or
excessive or unusual noise. Some after-market exhaust systems may not
meet this requirement and may not be lawful to operate.

You may not operate or sell a snowmobile built on or after April 1,
1975, that exceeds 78 decibels on the A scale at 50 feet except under a
permit of the DNR or county sheriff.
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TRAINING PROGRAMS

Youth and Adult Training Programs

All residents born after December 31, 1976 must have a snowmobile safety cer-
tificate or snowmobile safety certificate indicator on their driver’s license or on
their Minnesota ID card to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota.

Youth Snowmobile Safety Certificate

To become certified in snowmobile safety, students must pass a

Minnesota snowmobile safety training course.

e The Youth Snowmobile Safety Course is available to youth ages 11
years and older. This course is at least 8 hours in length and is taught by
DNR certified volunteer instructors. The course teaches the basics of
safe and responsible snowmobiling. It covers operating procedures,
machine maintenance, rules and regulations, accident prevention,
outdoor survival, environmental awareness, and a code of ethics. The
course includes both a written test and a riding performance test that
must be passed. A fee will be charged to cover the cost of materials and
certification.

Adult Snowmobile Safety Certificate

e The Adult Snowmobile Safety Training CD is an independent study
course on CD Rom. The course is available to persons 16 years of age
and older. It looks at the cause of accidents, speed and reaction time,
stopping distances, group riding and rules and regulations. The course
is designed for multiple users and includes a written test and send-in
certification form. A fee will be charged to cover costs of material and
certification.

The classes are taught by certified volunteer instructors, usually between
November and March. Courses are announced in communities through schools
and the media. To learn the times and dates of classes in your community or to
receive the Adult Snowmobile Safety Training CD check the DNR web site
www.dnr.state.mn.us; or call the DNR Information Center 1-888-646-6367, metro
area 651-296-6157, or the Snowmobile Safety Training Program Headquarters at
1-800-366-8917.

Nonresidents certified in snowmobile safety
training in another state will be recognized in Minnesota.
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YOUTH OPERATION REQUIREMENTS

The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is jointly
responsible for laws broken by a minor on that snowmobile.

Anyone under 18 years old must wear an approved helmet.

To register a snowmobile you must be at least 18 years old.

Minnesota Residents

Any resident of Minnesota born after December 31, 1976 must have a
snowmobile safety certificate to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. (See
exception below.)

With the snowmobile safety certificate:

* Anyone 12 and 13 years old can operate a snowmobile on public lands,
public waters, and grant-in-aid trails. They may operate on private land
with permission (see trespass laws). They may NOT cross state or county
roads.

e Anyone 14 years old and older can operate a snowmobile in Minnesota,
including crossing state and county roads. Remember you must have
permission to operate on certain private lands (see trespass laws).

Non-Residents of Minnesota

e Anyone 12 and 13 years old must have a snowmobile safety certificate to
operate on public lands, public waters, and grant-in-aid trails. They may oper-
ate on private land with permission (see trespass laws). They may NOT
cross state or county roads.

* Anyone 14 through 17 years old must have a snowmobile safety
certificate to cross state and county roads.

e Anyone 18 years old and older does not need a snowmobile safety
certificate.

* Nonresidents certified in snowmobile safety training in another state
will be recognized in Minnesota.

Certificate Exception for Residents and Non-Residents

Without a snowmobile safety certificate, a person under the age of 14 years
may operate a snowmobile only if they are supervised or accompanied by one of
the following: parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older desig-
nated by the parent or guardian. The supervising or accompanying adult needs to be
close enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile. This
exception does not allow an operator under the age of 14 to cross a public road.

Duplicate snowmobile safety certificates can be obtained at any game and
fish agent for $3.50. They are also available at the DNR Information
Center, 1-888-646-6367 and the Snowmobile Safety Training Headquarters
at 1-800-366-8917 for $5.00 (includes a durable certificate card.)
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GENERAL OPERATION
Where You May Ride:

in the bottom or outside slope of a ditch of a county or state road (see
page 14)

in the same direction as road traffic in the ditch from one-half hour after
sunset to one-half hour before sunrise. Other than this time, you can ride
in either direction (see page 30 for sunrise/sunset table).

one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise on two-way
snowmobile trails that are located within the ditches or adjacent to
streets or highways when specifically permitted by the road authority.
Look for posted two-way signs (see page 18).

on a bridge (other than a bridge that is part of the main-traveled lanes of
an interstate highway) in order to avoid obstructions to travel when
absolutely necessary. But, the snowmobile must be operated in the
extreme right-hand lane, the entrance to the roadway must be made
within 100 feet of the bridge, and crossing must be made as quickly as
possible.

on state and local trails (see page 13 for Snowmobile State Trail Sticker
requirements)

on iced-over waters that have legal access (if not restricted by law or
local ordinances)

on township roads when not restricted by local ordinance

on public lands that are open to motorized vehicles. Land uses vary.

Be sure to check all federal, state, and local ordinances.

Inside the seven-county metro area, you may ride:

Outside the seven-county metro area, you may ride:

on your own land
on land that is posted with signs stating “snowmobiles allowed”

on land other than your own, with written or spoken permission of the
landowner, occupant, or lessee .
on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.

on your own land

on agricultural land that you have been given
permission from the landowner to ride on

on land, other than agricultural land, that you have not been told
verbally, by written warning, or by posted signs, that riding is prohibited
on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.

When making a direct crossing of a street or road, you must:

bring the snowmobile to a complete stop before crossing whether there
is a stop sign or not

yield to all on-coming traffic

have both front and rear lights on when crossing between one-half hour
after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, or during periods of
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reduced visibility (see page 30 for sunrise/sunset table)
» cross at a 90-degree angle with respect to the road
» cross a divided road at an intersection.

Where You May NOT Ride:

on the roadway, shoulder, or inner slope of the ditch of a state or county
road

» on the median of a four-lane roadway

» within the right-of-way of any interstate

» on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic

+ against traffic at night within the road right-of-way

* at airports

* in any state park, state recreation area, state historic site, wildlife
management area, or state scientific and natural area with the exception
of posted snowmobile trails and areas

* in any wildlife management area south of U.S. Highway 2 from Grand
Forks east to Bemidji, then south along U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena,
then east along U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to
the eastern boundary of the state, without written permission from the
DNR

* on any iced-over waters located in a restricted area or iced-over waters
where you don’t have legal access

* in any areas restricted by local ordinances or municipalities

* in a tree nursery or planting area

* on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed

+ in National Wildlife Refuges, Waterfowl Production Areas, or the
Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. For more information
contact your local U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or
state agencies may impose further restrictions on snowmobiling on property
not owned by the operator. Check local ordinances by contacting the city or
municipality where you wish to ride.

Inside the seven-county metro area, you may NOT ride:
* on land that you do not own, unless given
written or oral permission to ride on that
land by the owner, occupant, or lessee, or
unless signs are posted stating _—
“snowmobiling is allowed.” r"'#} —

Outside the seven-county metro area, you may NOT ride:

* on land that you have been told not to orally, in writing, or by posted
signs

= on agricultural land without the permission of the owner.
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Other Prohibitions
You May NOT:

operate your snowmobile in a careless, reckless, or heedless manner
that endangers the operator, or property of another, or causes injury or
damage (Intentionally driving over open water, or water skipping, may
be considered careless or reckless unless done as an authorized event.)

e litter

= enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence

* mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any shelter, comfort station, or
facility of any trail on state land or any state grant-in-aid trail

e post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you
are the landowner, occupant, or lessee of the property

e operate on state forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting,
damages, or destroys trees or growing crops

e operate on state forest lands on a trail that is posted for non-motorized
use

Special Provision - Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest:
Motor vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads
that are not posted closed and on forest trails that are designated for
motorize use. No motorized travel is allowed off of designated trails
under any circumstances.

e operate a snowmobile with metal traction devices on paved public trails
except as specifically allowed by state or local government.

e Metal traction device means any metal device, or array of metal
devices, attached to a snowmobile track to enhance traction. This
includes metal components that extend more than one-fourth inch
from the bottom of the track. Note: Metal cleats affixed
perpendicular to the direction of travel of a 1981 or earlier
snowmobile are not considered a metal traction device.

e A metal traction device sticker is no longer required.

Minnesota Trespass Laws
Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners
have against snowmobilers. Always ask for permission
before entering private land.

Respect
Private
Property

Always respect private lands. ASK FIRST!

* Always ask first before entering private lands even if it's not posted.
You will improve relationships between landowners and snowmobilers.

= Just because property isn't posted that doesn’t mean you have a right to
enter someone else’s private property. The posted signs indicate the
landowner’s intention to prevent unauthorized entry.
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If you violate Minnesota’s trespass laws you will be guilty of a misdemeanor or
gross misdemeanor, or may be charged with a civil penalty. A misdemeanor is
punishable by fines of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days. Civil
penalties range from $50 for a first time violation to $500 and loss of registra-
tion for a third violation.

You are guilty of a gross misdemeanor when you:

knowingly disregard signs prohibiting trespass
trespass after the landowner tells you not to
violate the trespass law twice in three years.

If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor, you will be subject to
fines up to $3,000 and up to one year in jail, your machine’s registration
will be null and void, and you will lose all hunting privileges for two
years.

You must have permission to:

enter posted land

enter land inside the seven-county metro area that you do not own,
unless given written or oral permission to ride on that land by the
owner, occupant, or lessee, or unless signs are posted stating
“snowmobiling is allowed”

enter agricultural land. "Agricultural land" is land that is plowed or tilled;
has standing crops or crop residue; is within a maintained fence for
enclosing domestic livestock; is planted native or introduced hay land or
grassland; or is planted to short rotation woody crops (hybrid poplar and
other woody plants that are harvested for their fiber within 15 years of
planting).

All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody crop land meet the
definition of agricultural land, including grasslands enrolled in the federal
Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve Enhancement
Program (CREP), or the state RIM Reserve Program. These lands do not
need to be posted to prevent unauthorized trespass.

You may NOT:

wound or kill another person’s domestic animal or destroy private
property

pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position
stray off the groomed portions of marked state trails.
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Snowmobiling While Intoxicated (SWI)

Operating a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled
substance, or other hazardous substance is unlawful. Operators who are
impaired may be required to submit to tests by an enforcement officer to
determine the presence of these substances. There is a separate additional
criminal penalty for refusal to submit to the test requests, and the person’s
snowmobiling privileges will be suspended for one year upon refusal. SWI
convictions and refusals are recorded on the violator's driver's license record
and may affect their driver's license privileges.

An operator who is found to be impaired can be charged with a misde-
meanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony level Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).
Persons convicted of a misdemeanor will be subject to: up to $1000 fine (plus
surcharges); possible jail sentence; and loss of snowmobile operating privileges
for one year.

In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following gross
misdemeanor penalty provisions may apply if the person has any prior DWI
violations, has an alcohol concentration of .20 or more, or has a child under 16
years of age with them on the snowmobile:

= up to $3,000 fine

* longer, mandatory jail time

e chemical use assessment and long-term monitoring programs

* loss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges

= motor vehicle plate impoundment of all motor vehicles owned or leased

individually or jointly by the person

= forfeiture of the snowmobile, substantially higher fines, and mandatory

jail time.

If a person has three or more DWI convictions or revocations in the last 10
years, or has a prior felony conviction, they can be sentenced to 3-7 years in
jail, up to $14,000 fine, or both. Longer license revocations would also be
imposed.

Speed Limits

You may NOT operate a snowmobile:

e in excess of 50 MPH on any public lands or waters

e in excess of the posted speed limits on a trail

» at a speed greater than various trail, terrain and visibility conditions
dictate

= in excess of a road’s posted speed limit or 50 MPH, whichever is
LOWER, while operating in the ditch

= in excess of any governmental unit snowmobile speed limit.
Governmental units include any city, county, municipality, township, or
conservation district.
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A county may enact a daytime 65mph speed limit for marked trails on lakes
that are over 10,000 acres. The county would need to pass an ordinance and
receive approval of the ordinance by the Commissioner of DNR. Individual
counties may have more information on the location and status of any designated
65 mph trails.

Training for Offenders

A person who is convicted of two or more speeding violations in a snow-
mobile season, or for careless or reckless operation, must successfully complete
a snowmobile safety training course before operating a snowmobile.

Accidents

Minnesota has worked hard to reduce snowmobiling accidents, injuries, and
fatalities through education and safety training programs. The largest contribut-
ing factor to crashes is excessive speed, followed by alcohol usage. If you are
involved in a snowmobile accident that results in injury requiring medical
attention, death, or damage of more than $500, you must file an official
accident report with the Department of Natural Resources within 48 hours of
the accident.

Enforcement

Conservation officers, deputy sheriffs, police officers and other peace offi-
cers are responsible for the enforcement of Minnesota’s snowmobile laws.
Whenever an enforcement officer signals you, you must stop.

e Fleeing an enforcement officer is a felony and the snowmobile used

may be forfeited.

» Part of a conservation officer’s duty is to ensure your safety while

snowmobiling. If you need an enforcement officer, you may contact one
by phone, in person, or by mail (see page 29).

Ability of Operators

The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is subject to
penalties if he or she knowingly allows the snowmobile to be operated by
someone physically or mentally unable to drive the vehicle safely, or is under
the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Penalties

Violation of most snowmobile statutes and rules are misdemeanors and
carry a fine of up to $1000 and imprisonment for up to 90 days. Youth viola-
tions may result in snowmobile safety certificate suspension. Also, snowmo-
biles used in burglaries, fleeing a peace officer or a second DWI may be subject
to seizure and confiscation or forfeiture.
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A person operating a snowmobile with metal traction devices on any paved
trail is guilty of a petty misdemeanor punishable by a civil penalty or criminal
fine of $50 for the first offense, $200 for the second offense, and $500 for the
third or subsequent offense. Criminal fines will be subject to court surcharges
and fees in addition to this penalty amount.

GAME LAWS RELATED
TO SNOWMOBILING

General Restrictions

You may not:

transport a firearm on a snowmobile unless it is unloaded and
completely enclosed in a case, or is a handgun carried under a valid
permit to carry

transport an archery bow on a snowmobile unless it is unstrung or
enclosed in a case

use a snowmobile to chase, run over, or kill a wild animal

shoot or attempt to shoot an animal from a snowmobile.

To reduce disturbance during prime hunting hours, a person possessing a
valid deer license may operate a snowmobile during the firearms deer
season only:

before legal shooting hours (one-half hour before sunrise)
from 11 a.m. until 2 p.m.

after legal shooting hours (one-half hour after sunset).
See page 30 for sunset/sunrise table.

This regulation applies to all public and private lands and waters
except for people who are using a snowmobile as a part of their
occupation on their own land and are not in possession of a firearm.

Special Permits for Disabled People

A permit to operate snowmobiles during the legal shooting hours for
deer may be issued by your local conservation officer in the event of

an emergency or another unusual condition.

A permit may be issued to shoot from a standing snowmobile to a
licensed hunter who has a permanent physical disability and is unable to
step from a vehicle without the aid of wheelchair, crutches, braces, or
other mechanical support or prosthetic device; or is required to use
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supplemental oxygen to assist breathing because they are unable to walk
any distance because of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal
disease. For more details contact the Department of Natural Resources
Information Center in the Twin Cities (651) 296-6157, or toll free
1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367).

MORE INFORMATION

For information on snowmobile trails; maps of state parks, forests, and state
trails; weekly snow reports; and other information contact:

DNR Information Center

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

Twin Cities: 651-296-6157

Toll free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367)

Hearing impaired
Twin Cities: 651-296-5484
Toll free: 1-800-657-3929

DNR Web Site
www.dnr.state.mn.us

For information about snowmobile registration contact:
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
License Center
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026
651-296-2316 = Toll free: 1-800-285-2000

To report a violation contact:

Your local police department, sheriff’s office, the state patrol, or a DNR
conservation officer. Conservation officers are dispatched through the state
patrol. To reach a conservation officer call your nearest state patrol headquar-
ters.

For information on scheduled snowmobile safety classes in different areas
throughout the state:
e www.dnr.state.mn.us
e DNR Information Center: Twin Cities (651) 296-6157
Toll Free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367)
e Snowmobile Safety Training Program Headquarters
Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN: 1-800-366-8917
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GRANT-IN-AID PROGRAM

The Grant-in-Aid Program is a cooperative effort between the Minnesota
DNR, local governments, local snowmobile organizations, and private landown-
ers who provide the majority of Minnesota’s 20,000 miles of snowmobile trails.
Funded through snowmobile registration and Snowmobile State Trail Sticker
fees and gas taxes, the grant-in-aid program helps local groups and clubs devel-
op and maintain trails and recreation areas.

Many grant-in-aid trails throughout the state run through private property.
Stay on good terms with these landowners by staying on marked trails.
Don’t jeopardize your ability to use private lands.

Remember when operating on grant-in-aid trails to have a Snowmobile State
Trail Sticker.
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