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The MinnesotaCare (MNCare) program, administered by the Minnesota
Department of Human Services, provides subsidized health coverage for eligible
Minnesotans. This information brief describes eligibility requirements, covered
services, and other aspects of the program.
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MinnesotaCare is adlninistered by the Minnesota Department of Ruman Services (DRS). DHS
is responsible for processing applications and determining eligibility, contracting with managed
care plans, monitoring spending on the progratn, and developing administrative rules. County
human services agencies are responsible for determining Medical Assistance (MA) eligibility for
MinnesotaCare applicants who apply for MA. Since January 1, 2000, county human services
agencies have had the option of processing applications and managing cases for MinnesotaCare.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals Inust n1eet income limits and satisfy other
requirements related to residency and lack of access to health insurance. MinnesotaCare
eligibility must be renewed every 12 months. Beginning October 1,2004, eligibility will need to
be renewed every six months.

Income Limits

Children l and parents, legal guardians, foster parents, or relative caretakers residing in the satne
household are eligible for MinnesotaCare, if their gross household income does not exceed 275
percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG) and other eligibility requirements are met.
However, parents, legal guardians, foster parents, and relative caretakers are not eligible if their
gross annual income exceeds $50,000, regardless of whether their income exceeds 275 percent of
FPG. Different eligibility requirements and premiums apply to children from households with
gross incomes that do not exceed 150 percent ofFPG.

Single adults and households without children are eligible for MinnesotaCare if their gross
household incomes do not exceed 175 percent of FPG and they meet other eligibility
requirements.

Definition of Income for the Farm Self-Employed

Effective July I,' 2001, the'defiriition'ofincome used to determine MinnesotaCare eligibility for the faml
self-employed was changed to require only reported depreciation to be added back to adjusted gross
inconle. Prior law required carryover loss and net operating loss also to be added back. (See Minn. Stat.
§ 256L.01, subd. 4, para. (b).)

1A child is defined in the law as an individual under 21 years of age, including the unbom child of a pregnant
woman and an emancipated minor and that person's spouse.
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Enrollees whose incomes rise above program income limits after initial enrollment are
disenrolled from the program after an 18-nlonth notice period. Effective October 1, 2003,
families are exempe from this requirement and can remain enrolled in MinnesotaCare if 10
percent of their annual gross income is less than the annual premium of the $500 deductible
policy offered by the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association (MCHA).3 This exemption
does not apply to parents if annual gross household income exceeds $50,000.

The table below lists categories of persons eligible for MinnesotaCare, eligibility criteria, and
enrollee cost (see table on page 11 for sample sliding scale premiums). The table on the
following page lists program income limits for different family sizes.

Table 1
Eligibility for MinnesotaCare*

o 2004

Eligible Categories Household Other Eligibility Cost to Enrollee
Income Limit Criteria

Lower income children 150% of the federal Not otherwise insured Annual premium of
poverty guidelines for the covered services; $48 per person

residency requirement

Other children; 275% of the federal No access to employer- Premium based on
pregnant women poverty guidelines subsidized coverage; no sliding scale

other health coverage;
residency requirement

Parents and relative caretakers 275% of the federal No access to employer- Premium based on
poverty guidelines subsidized coverage; no sliding scale

other health coverage;
residency requirement;
asset limit

Single adults, households 175% of the federal No access to employer- Premium based on
without children poverty guidelines subsidized coverage; no sliding scale

other health coverage;
residency requirement;
asset limit

*Exceptions to these requirements are noted in the text.
... n ,--'I ~-
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2 Prior to October, 1,2003, this exemption also applied to single adults and households without children.
Effective February 1, 2004, the exemption will be limited to children and the notice period will be reduced from 18
to 12 months. Effective on that date, enrollees who are not children will be disenrolled on the last day of the month
following the month in which it is determined that the enrollee's income exceeds the program limits.

3 The MCHA offers health insurance to Minnesota residents who have been denied private market coverage.
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Table 2

Annual Household Income Limits for MinnesotaCare
(Effective July 1, 2003)

Household Lower Income Children Adults Without Children Families and Children
Size* 150% of 2003 FPG 1750/0 of 2003 FPG 275%) of 2003 FPG**

1 $13,476 $15,720 $24,696

2 18,180 21,216 33,336

3 22,896 Not eligible 41,976

4 27,600 Not eligible 50,604

5 32,316 Not eligible 59,244

6 37,020 Not eligible 67,872

7 41,736 Not eligible 76,512

8 46,440 Not eligible 85,140

9 51,156 Not eligible 93,780

10 55,860 Not eligible 102,420

Each Additional 4,716 8,640

Person
* Pregnant women are households of two.
** Parents are not eligible once income exceeds $50,000.

Asset Limits

MiImesotaCare adult applicants and enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to an asset linlit,
identical to the Medical Assistance program's asset limit for parents. This asset limit is $10,000
in total net assets for a household of one person, and $20,000 in total net assets for a household
of two or more persons. Certain items are not considered assets when determining
MinnesotaCare eligibility, including:

• the homestead
• household goods and personal effects
• a burial piot for each I~le~pe[.ri9fthe household
• life ihsurance policies /and:a{s.~ts for burial expenses, up to the limits established for the

Supplemep,~~l.:SpcHritYJ;ncomi (SSI) program
• capit(;l1,,;ind operating assets of a business up to $200,000
• insuiafiq~si~\ttletF~~~~ ~~rd.tlH1aged, destroyed, or stolen property are excluded for three

months 'if held ,iil'~shro«r

• a motor vehicle for each person who is employed or seeking employment
• court-ordered settlements of up to $10,000
• individual retirement accounts and funds, and
• assets owned by children

Pregnant women and children are exempt from the MinnesotaCare asset limit.
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A family or individual must not have access to employer-subsidized health care coverage. A
fanli1y or individual must also not have had access to employer-subsidized health care coverage
through a current employer for 18 months prior to application or re-application. Employer­
subsidized coverage is defined as health insurance coverage for which an employer pays 50
percent or more of the premium cost. This requirement applies to each individuaL For exanlple,
if an elnployer offers subsidized coverage to an employee but not to the employee's dependents,
the employee is not eligible for MinnesotaCare but the employee's dependents are eligible.

The requirement of no current access to employer-subsidized coverage does not apply to:

1. Children from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of the federal
poverty guidelines;

2. Children enrolled in the Children's Health Plan as of September 30, 1992 (the precursor
program to MinnesotaCare) who have maintained continuous coverage; and

3. Children who enrolled in the Children's Health Plan during a transition period
following the establismnent of MinnesotaCare.

Children referred to in clauses (1) and (2) are, in some cases, also exempt from the no other
health coverage requirement (see section below).

Fanlilies or individuals whose employer-subsidized coverage was lost because an employer
terminated health care coverage as an employee benefit during the previous 18 months are also
not eligible for MinnesotaCare.

A family or individual disenrolled from MinnesotaCare because of the availability of employer­
subsidized health coverage, who reapplies for MinnesotaCare within six months of disenrollment
because the employer tenninates health care coverage as an employee benefit, is exempt from
the 18-month enrollment restriction related to access to subsidized coverage.

No Other Health Coverage

Enrollees must have no other health coverage and must not have had health insurance coverage
for the four months prior to application or renewal. For purposes of these requirements:

1. MA, General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC),4 and CHAMPUS (Civilian Health and
Medical Program of the Uniformed Service, also called TRICARE) are not considered
health coverage for purposes of the four-month requirement; and

4 Since January 1, 2000, GAMC adult applicants and recipients, with dependent children and gross family
incomes not exceeding 275 percent ofFPG, or those without children with gross incomes between 75 percent and
175 percent ofFPG, have been referred to the MinnesotaCare program and terminated from GAMC upon enrollment
in MinnesotaCare.
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2. Medicare coverage is considered health coverage, and an applicant or enrollee cannot
refuse Medicare coverage to qualify for MinnesotaCare.

Children from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percentS ofFPG and children
enrolled in the original Children's Health Plan who have maintained continuous coverage are not
subject to the four-month uninsured requirement and may have other health coverage, if this
coverage is considered "under-insurance." Under-insurance means:

1. The coverage lacks two or more of the following:

• basic hospital insurance
• medical-surgical insurance
• prescription drug coverage
• preventive and comprehensive dental coverage
• preventive and comprehensive vision coverage

2. The coverage requires a deductible of $100 or more per person per year; or

3. The child lacks coverage because the maximum coverage for a particular diagnosis has
been exceeded, or the policy of coverage excludes coverage for that diagnosis.

Residency Requirement

Pregnant women, families, and children must meet the residency requirements of the Medicaid
program. The Medicaid program requires an individual to demonstrate intent to reside
permanently or for an indefinite period in a state, but it does not include a durational residency
requirement (a requirement that an individual live in a state for a specified period of time before
applying for the program).

In contrast, enrollees who are adults without children must have resided in Minnesota for 180
days prior to application and must also satisfy other criteria relating to permanent residency.

Benefits

Effective October 1,2003, MinnesotaCare enrollees are covered by one of three benefit sets.
Pregnant women and children have access to the broadest range of services, and are not required
to pay copayments. Parents, and single adults and households without children with incomes not
exceeding 75 percent ofFPG, are covered for most services, but are subject to benefit limitations
and copayments. Single adults and households without children with incomes greater than 75
percent but not exceeding 175 percent of FPG receive coverage for a limited set of services, are
subject to a $5,000 annual limit on outpatient services, and must pay copayments. These
differences are summarized in Table 3 below and are described in more detail in the text.

S The exemption from the four-month uninsured requirement is found only in rule. See Minnesota Rules, part
9506.0020, subpart 3, item A.
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Table 3

Overview - MinnesotaCare Covered Services and Cost-Sharing
Eligibility Category Covered Services6 Benefit Limitations Cost-Sharing

Pregnant women and MA benefit set None None
children

Parents.:::; 175% ofFPG Most MA services -- Limits on dental $25 eyeglasses
services; $500 cap $3 prescriptions
-- Limits on outpatient 50% restorative dental
mental health services

Parents> 175% and Most MA services -- Limits on dental $25 eyeglasses
::; 275% ofFPG services; $500 annual cap $3 prescriptions

-- $10,000 annual limit
for inpatient hospital
-- Limits on outpatient
mental health services

Adults without children Most MA services -- Limits on dental $25 eyeglasses
::; 75% ofFPG services; $500 annual cap $3 prescriptions

-- $10,000 annual limit 10% inpatient hospital,
for inpatient hospital up to $1,000
-- Limits on outpatient 50% restorative dental
mental health services

Adults without children Limited benefit set: --$10,000 annual limit $50 enlergency room
> 75% and:S 175% of inpatient hospital, for inpatient hospital 10°,10 inpatient hospital,
FPG physician, and other -- $5,000 annualliInit for up to $1,000

specified services all other services $5 nonpreventive visits
$3 prescriptions ($20 per
month maximunl)

Covered Services and Benefit Limitations

Pregnant women and children up to age 21 enrolled in MinnesotaCare can access the full range
of MA services without enrolling in MA, except that abortion services are covered as provided
under the MinnesotaCare program.7 These individuals are exempt from MinnesotaCare benefit
limitations and copayments,8 but still must pay MinnesotaCare premiums. Pregnant women and

6 See Table 4 for a list of covered services.

7 Under MinnesotaCare, abortion services are covered "where the life of the female would be endangered or
substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function would result if the fetus were carried to term; or
where the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest" (Minn. Stat. § 2561.03, subd. 1). Under MA, abortion services
are covered to save the life of the mother and in cases of rape or incest (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 16), and
as a result of a Minnesota Supreme Court decision, for "therapeutic" reasons (Doe v. Gomez, 542 N.W.2d 17
(1995)). MinnesotaCare enrollees must enroll in the MA program in order to obtain abortion services under the MA
conditions of coverage. Nearly all MinnesotaCare enrollees who are pregnant women are eligible for MA.

8 This change in MinnesotaCare was approved by the federal government in Apri11995 as part of the state's
health care reform waiver. The waiver, and subsequent waiver amendments, exempt Minnesota from various
federal requirements, give the state greater flexibility to expand access to health care through the MinnesotaCare and
MA programs, and allow the state to receive federal contributions (referred to as "federal financial participation" or
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children up to age two are not disenrolled for failure to pay MinnesotaCare premiums, and can
avoid MinnesotaCare premium charges altogether by enrolling in MA.

All parents, and single adults and households without children with incomes not exceeding 75
percent of FPG, who are not pregnant, are covered under MinnesotaCare for most, but not all,
services covered under MA. These individuals are subject to the following benefit limitations.

• Dental services are limited to diagnostic and preventative services, basic restorative
services, and emergency services, subject to a $500 annual limit. Emergency services,
dentures, and extractions related to dentures are excluded from the annual limit.

• Inpatient hospital services are subject to an annual benefit limit of $10,000. This limit
does not apply to parents with household incomes that do not exceed 175 percent ofFPG.

• Outpatient mental health services are limited to diagnostic assesslnents; psychological
testing; explanation of findings; day treatment; partial hospitalization; individual, fatnily,
and group psychotherapy; and medication management.

Single adults and households without children, with incomes greater than 75 percent but not
exceeding 175 percent of FPG, receive coverage for a limited benefit set of services. This
limited benefit set covers:

• inpatient hospital services, subject to an annual limit of $10,000;

• physician services provided during an inpatient stay; and

• physician services not provided during an inpatient stay, outpatient hospital services,
chiropractic services, lab and diagnostic services, and prescription drugs, subject to an
aggregate $5,000 annual limit.9

FFP) for services provided to MinnesotaCare enrollees who are children, pregnant women, or parents and relative
caretakers of children under age 21.

9 This cap has been increased from the $2,000 amount specified in the authorizing legislation, due to the
receipt of federal Medicaid funds under the federal Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2003. See
Laws 2003, 1st spec. sess., art. 12, sec. 72 and art. BC, sec. 1, subd. 1 - federal contingency appropriation rider.
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Service Children; Pregnant Parents; Adults Adults without
Women without children children >75% and

::: 750/0 of FPG* ::: 1750/0 of FPG*
Alcohol/drug treatment x x
Chiropractic x x x
Dental x x
Emergency room x x x
Eye exams x x x
Eyeglasses x x
Family planning x x x
Hearing aids x x
Home care x x
Hospice care x x
Hospital stay x x x
Immunizations x x x
Interpreters (hearing, x x x
language)
Lab, x-ray, diagnostic x x x
Medical equipment and x x
supplies
Mental health x x x
Outpatient surgical center x x x
Physicians and clinics x x x
Prescriptions x x x
Physicals/preventive care x x x
Rehabilitation/therapy x x
Transportation: x x
enlergency
Transportation: special x
Adult mental health x
rehab/crisis
Child and teen checkup x
Case managenlent x
Common carrier x
transportation
Nursing home/ICF/MR x
School-based services x
*Benefit limitations and cost-sharing requirements apply.
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All parents, and single adults and households without children with incomes not exceeding 75
percent of FPG, who are not pregnant, are subject to the following copayments:

• Copayment of 10 percent of paid charges for inpatient hospital services, up to an annual
maximum of$l,OOO per adult or $3,000 per family (This copayment does not apply to
parents and relative caretakers of children under age 21.)

• $3 copayment per prescription

• $25 copayment per pair of eyeglasses

• Copayment of 50 percent of the MA allowable charge for restorative dental care services
provided to adults who are not pregnant and have household incomes that do not exceed
175 percent ofFPG

Single adults and households without children, with incomes greater than 75 percent but not
exceeding 175 percent of FPG, are subject to the following copayments:

• Copayment of 1°percent of paid charges for inpatient hospital services, up to an annual
maximum of $1,000

• $3 per prescription, subject to a $20/month maximum

• $50 per emergency room visit

• $5 per nonpreventive physician visit

Enrollee Premiums

$48 Annual Premium

Children enrolling in MinnesotaCare are charged an annual premium of $48 per child, if they are
from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent ofFPG.

Subsidized Premium Based on Sliding Scale

Children enrolling in MinnesotaCare who do not qualify for the $48 annual premium described
above, and adults enrolling in the progran1, are charged a subsidized premium based upon a
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sliding scale. The premium charged ranges from 1.5 percent to 9.8 percent of gross family
income. 1o The minimum premium is $4 per person per month.

The following table provides sample monthly sliding scale premiums for different income levels
and household sizes. These premiums apply to both families with children and to single adults
and households without children. Complete prelnium tables are available from DHS.

Table 5

Sample Monthly Household Premiums
(as of July 1, 2003)

Household Size
(assumes all household members enroll)

Gross Monthly
Income 1 2* 3 4 5

$250 $4 $8 $12 $12 $12

$500 9 8 12 12 12

$1,000 31 23 18 18 18

$1,500 89 57 47 35 35

$2,000 176 118 76 62 62

$2,500 N.B. 185 148 120 95

$3,000 N.B. N.B. 222 177 144

$3,500 N.B. N.B. N.B. 259 207

$4,000 N.B. N.B. N.B. 352 296
NOTE: N.B. means not eligible to enroll in MinnesotaCare at this income level.

*The maximum income limits for households without children are $1,293 (household of
one) and $1,742 (household of two). The sample premiums listed in the table reflect the
higher income limits that apply to families with children.

Prepaid MinnesotaCare

The legislature has authorized the Commissioner of Human Services to contract with health
maintenance organizations and other prepaid health plans to deliver health care services to
MinnesotaCare enrollees. Since January 1, 1997, all MinnesotaCare enrollees have received
health care services through prepaid health plans and not through fee-for-service.

Prepaid health plans (sometimes referred to as managed care plans) receive a capitated payment
from DRS for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, and in return are required to provide enrollees with
all covered health care services for a set period of time. A capitated payment is a predetermined,

10 Effective October 1, 2003, the percentage of income paid was increased by 0.5 percentage points for
enrollees with incomes greater than 100 but not exceeding 200 percent ofFPG, and by 1.0 percentage points for
enrollees with incomes greater than 200 percent of FPG. (Laws 2003, 1st spec. sess., ch. 14, art. 12, sec. 84.)
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fixed payment per enrollee that does not vary with the amount or type of health care services
provided. A prepaid health plan reimbursed under capitation does not receive a higher payment
for providing more units of service or more expensive services to an enrollee, nor does it receive
a lower payment for providing fewer units of service or less expensive services to an enrollee.

Under prepaid MinnesotaCare, enrollees select a specific prepaid plan from which to receive
services, obtain services from providers in that plan's provider network, and follow that plan's
procedures for seeing specialists and accessing health care services. Enrollee premiums, covered
health care services, and copayments are the same as they would have been under fee-for-service
MinnesotaCare.

Funding and Expenditures

Total payments for health care services provided through MinnesotaCare were $435 million in
fiscal year 2003. Fifty-eight percent of this amount was paid for through state payments from
the health care access fund. Enrollee premiums and copayments and federal funding received
under the health care reform waiver and a recently approved waiver for the State Children's
Health Insurance Program (SCHIP)l1 pay for the remainder.

Funding for the state share of MinnesotaCare costs, and for other health care access initiatives, is
provided by:

• A tax on the gross revenues of health care providers, hospitals, surgical centers, and
wholesale drug distributors (sometimes referred to as the "provider tax"). The tax
percentage is 1.5 percent of gross revenues for calendar years 1998 through 2003. The
tax will revert back to 2 percent of gross revenues effective January 1, 2004.

• Effective January 1, 2004, a 1 percent premium tax on health maintenance organizations,
nonprofit health service plan corporations, and community integrated service networks.

Medicare, MA, GAMC, and MinnesotaCare payments to providers are excluded from gross
revenues for purposes of the gross revenues taxes. Other specified payments, including
payments for nursing home services, are also excluded from gross revenues.

11 The health care reform waiver is described in footnote 8 on page 7. The SCHIP waiver, approved by the
federal government on June 13,2001, and effective for a five-year period from that date, provides an enhanced
federal match of 66.5 percent for parents and relative caretakers on MinnesotaCare with incomes greater than 100
percent but not exceeding 200 percent ofFPG.
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State Cost
58%

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division

As of October 1,2003,154,790 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program. As of
September 2, 2003, just under one-half of MinnesotaCare enrollees were children.

MinnesotaCare Enrollment
(September 2, 2003)

Adults Without Children
23%

Adults With Children 31%

Children (under 21)
46%

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division
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Application forms for MinnesotaCare, and additional information on the program, can be
obtained from DRS by calling:

1-800-657-3672 or
651-297-3862 (in the metro area)

Application forms are also available through county social service agencies, health care provider
offices, and other sites in the community. Applications are also available on the mtemet at
www.dhs.state.mn.us/RealthCare.

For copies ofthis publication, please call 651-296-6753. For more information about health
care programs, visit the health and human services area ofour web site,
www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/hlt_hum.htm.


